GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: cornetto on May 22, 2016, 09:02:13 PM

Title: Galway v cork senior football challenge(Sun 22may)
Post by: cornetto on May 22, 2016, 09:02:13 PM
Galway 2-18 Cork 3-18.
Anyone at the game?
Title: Re: Galway v cork senior football challenge(Sun 22may)
Post by: moysider on May 22, 2016, 10:21:52 PM

I doubt it. Sure if it was a competitive game there wouldn't be many at it.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 10:53:34 PM
No doubt Seafoid was there taking notes.
Post by: galwayman on May 22, 2016, 10:59:25 PM
Why am I not surprised that we conceded 3-18.
Title: Re: Galway v cork senior football challenge(Sun 22marc
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2016, 11:31:41 PM
We beat them by a cricket score in a competive match in Cork. Worrying times for Galway football. Walsh was never the answer. I don't know if anyone really is. Apathy has taken root in Galway football by the looks of things.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 23, 2016, 12:23:16 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 22, 2016, 11:31:41 PM
We beat the, by a cricket score in a competive match in Cork. Worrying times for Galway football. Walsh was never the answer. I don't know if anyone really is. Apathy has taken root in Galway football by the looks of things.

I doubt many people are fretting over the result of a challenge match at a pitch opening to be honest. There are plenty of other more serious games to be worrying about.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 23, 2016, 12:29:49 AM
Quote from: galwayman on May 22, 2016, 10:59:25 PM
Why am I not surprised that we conceded 3-18.

In fairness the intensity of such a game would be a lot of levels down. Players would be minding themselves. Don't base anything on a game like this!
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 01:08:05 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 23, 2016, 12:23:16 AM
We beat the, by a cricket score in a competive match in Cork. Worrying times for Galway football. Walsh was never the answer. I don't know if anyone really is. Apathy has taken root in Galway football by the looks of things.

I doubt many people are fretting over the result of a challenge match at a pitch opening to be honest. There are plenty of other more serious games to be worrying about.

It's yer performances in the rest of the games that's the worry GBB. Walsh has done nothing to improve Galway since Mulholland was ran. Connacht like a wizard of oz fan fict at this stage with all the players missing a key part.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 12:22:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 01:08:05 AM

It's yer performances in the rest of the games that's the worry GBB. Walsh has done nothing to improve Galway since Mulholland was ran. Connacht like a wizard of oz fan fict at this stage with all the players missing a key part.
I dunno Syf. They could get the mojo this year. I wouldn't be saying anything provocative.
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 12:53:02 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 12:22:05 PM

I dunno Syf. They could get the mojo this year. I wouldn't be saying anything provocative.

The only Mojo Galway players are getting is on a newsstand.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 23, 2016, 01:03:13 PM
Would losing to cork by a goal not be more impressive than beating New York by a point?
Just asking like......
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 01:09:17 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 23, 2016, 01:03:13 PM
Would losing to cork by a goal not be more impressive than beating New York by a point?
Just asking like......

Ok
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 01:21:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 23, 2016, 12:53:02 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 12:22:05 PM

The only Mojo Galway players are getting is on a newsstand.
Like a dog lying in a corner, they'll bite you and never warn you. They'll tear your insides out
especially one they see the primrose.

Post by: cornetto on May 23, 2016, 01:47:33 PM
Very hard to find anyone that Was at the game,borrowed this piece from a poster on hoganstand.
Was at the match. Good open game all through, at good intensity. David Cunnane started at full back, possibly should have been given a few league games last Spring. Great performances from Manus, Silke, Bradshaw at 6, Conroy, Walsh, Varley and Cummins. The Mayo match will not be the formality people seem to think
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2016, 02:10:28 PM
If you ask me, Galway would be better off with less fancy dans and more desperate dans.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 03:10:25 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 23, 2016, 02:10:28 PM
If you ask me, Galway would be better off with less fancy dans and more desperate dans.
Back in the 80s Sylvie used to say to the dressing room " lads ye will never win anything without a few tinkers". And the lads would laugh and someone would say "sure at least we have you, Sylvie"
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2016, 03:34:12 PM
No shortage of them in Galway, I would have thought.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2016, 03:47:28 PM
Not a t**ker in the strict sense, but by Jaysus Brendan Lynskey was one tough hombre.
Post by: Duine Eile on May 23, 2016, 03:59:42 PM
Im worried about the Mayo game to be honest. I was giving Kevin the benefit of the doubt but the more stories I hear the less confidence I have, 52 players won't join the panel, they can't all be unwilling to give the commitment you'd think.  :-\
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 04:01:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 23, 2016, 03:47:28 PM
Not a t**ker in the strict sense, but by Jaysus Brendan Lynskey was one tough hombre.
I was thinking of him as well. Gerry Mac was able to take care of himself too.
He has a sports shop in Oranmore now and is a great man to talk hurling with
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2016, 04:11:52 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 23, 2016, 01:47:33 PM
Very hard to find anyone that Was at the game,borrowed this piece from a poster on hoganstand.
Was at the match. Good open game all through, at good intensity. David Cunnane started at full back, possibly should have been given a few league games last Spring. Great performances from Manus, Silke, Bradshaw at 6, Conroy, Walsh, Varley and Cummins. The Mayo match will not be the formality people seem to think
Obviously not. And all this 2013 all over again is stretching it a lot imo. Anyway we have to get by this Sunday first.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 24, 2016, 09:47:12 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 23, 2016, 03:47:28 PM

Not the most mild mannered of fellas off the field either.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 24, 2016, 11:18:22 AM
Just asking like......

;D ;D ;D
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on May 24, 2016, 11:49:14 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on May 23, 2016, 03:59:42 PM
Im worried about the Mayo game to be honest. I was giving Kevin the benefit of the doubt but the more stories I hear the less confidence I have, 52 players won't join the panel, they can't all be unwilling to give the commitment you'd think.  :-\
There are hardly another 52 IC standard senior footballers in Galway on top of the panel that are there already.  I know a few that wont join for sure but that is mainly down to their current work / career commitments and of course there are a few that are unwilling to sacrifice the time and commitment now required for IC football.  I would say it not hugely different to many other counties in fairness.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2016, 05:09:30 PM

Jebus, are you planning to beat us, or invade us?
Post by: Duine Eile on May 24, 2016, 05:52:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2016, 05:09:30 PM

Whatever it takes muppet!  ;D
Post by: twohands!!! on May 24, 2016, 10:19:32 PM
Just asking like......

The same Cork that Roscommon beat by 18 points in the league in Cork and that Kildare put out of the championship last year.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 24, 2016, 10:28:41 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 24, 2016, 10:19:32 PM
Just asking like......

The same Cork that Roscommon beat by 18 points in the league in Cork and that Kildare put out of the championship last year.

Or the same Cork that hammered Mayo in the league and probably should have beaten Kerry in the Munster final last year.

You can go round in circles all day at that craic.
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2016, 06:09:00 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2016, 05:09:30 PM

the invasion as the other way around. There must be upwards of 5000 Mayo people living in Galway now. We should get a few footballers  out of them eventually to add to the local production