Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Longshanks on May 12, 2016, 09:32:00 AM

Title: Northwest 200
Post by: Longshanks on May 12, 2016, 09:32:00 AM
Many of you guys much of a fan of the bikes or would go down over the week to see the racing? on a week like this it's going to be busier than ever!
I remember going down every year as a kid and loving it but have lost much of the interest now.
Title: Re: Northwest 200
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 12, 2016, 09:36:40 AM
yin yin yin yin yin yin yin!!!  ;D
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 12, 2016, 09:53:58 AM
Quote from: Longshanks on May 12, 2016, 09:32:00 AM
Many of you guys much of a fan of the bikes or would go down over the week to see the racing? on a week like this it's going to be busier than ever!
I remember going down every year as a kid and loving it but have lost much of the interest now.

Never had any interest in motorbikes at all, just is something I dont really get.
TBH honest round our part of the word it was always viewed as a bit of a mini 12th July.
That could be completely wrong, but was always the perception growing up.
Post by: Orior on May 12, 2016, 09:59:52 AM
It is in the north yes, but west?
Post by: Longshanks on May 12, 2016, 10:06:59 AM

Never had any interest in motorbikes at all, just is something I dont really get.
TBH honest round our part of the word it was always viewed as a bit of a mini 12th July.
That could be completely wrong, but was always the perception growing up.

Yeah I know what you mean regarding mini 12th although I think thats just because of the area it takes place in and the fact a few DUP faces support it, never any sign of anything like that when I have been there or even seen it. Infact because the crowd that come in from around the world to see the bikes and enjoy the week there is nothing like that cause it isn't all locals.
Post by: screenexile on May 12, 2016, 10:16:41 AM
Apart from the mini 12th thing my problem with it is the fact it's a complete death trap.

There's been 4 deaths in the past 8 years and that's not counting the serious injuries!!! I think road bike racing should be scrapped!
Post by: lurganblue on May 12, 2016, 10:25:08 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 12, 2016, 10:16:41 AM
Apart from the mini 12th thing my problem with it is the fact it's a complete death trap.

There's been 4 deaths in the past 8 years and that's not counting the serious injuries!!! I think road bike racing should be scrapped!

but it's a part of our kulture hi
Post by: snoopdog on May 12, 2016, 11:05:44 AM
Didn't guy Martin say it was a crap event. Bbc norn iron were non too pleased at that.  Steve Watson nearly had a coronary
Post by: snoopdog on May 12, 2016, 11:07:53 AM
Brave men though. Through in a bike around a road at 180mph knowing certain death if you hit anything. Great documentary on the TT few years ago . I'm no fan of it but it takes a lot of balls. 
Post by: Longshanks on May 12, 2016, 11:14:51 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 12, 2016, 11:07:53 AM
Brave men though. Through in a bike around a road at 180mph knowing certain death if you hit anything. Great documentary on the TT few years ago . I'm no fan of it but it takes a lot of balls.

That would be my opinion on it, if they love it and want to it who am I to stop them? there is danger in everything and they take as many measures to lessen the danger as possible..

Still takes a slightly mad person to do 200mph on a road circuit, and so respect for that..
Post by: themac_23 on May 12, 2016, 11:20:16 AM
i go to the NW200 every year, always enjoy the atmosphere. To even link it to the 12th is wrong imho I've never seen anything that would suggest that. Yes road racing is mostly done by protestants over here but they do have a real passion for the sport.
Post by: Hound on May 12, 2016, 11:30:09 AM
Quote from: themac_23 on May 12, 2016, 11:20:16 AM
i go to the NW200 every year, always enjoy the atmosphere. To even link it to the 12th is wrong imho I've never seen anything that would suggest that. Yes road racing is mostly done by protestants over here but they do have a real passion for the sport.
Road racing very popular in parts of North County Dublin too. When I was young I used to go to the North West and the Ulster every year, along with the Skerries and Killalane races in Dublin. Never saw a hint of sectarianism.

I used to love the racing, and going round the paddocks getting the autographs of the racers is a great memory from my youth. But haven't gone in well over a decade (maybe 2) as I got disillusioned with so many of the lads dying in accidents/crashes.   
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 12, 2016, 11:41:18 AM
They all talk funny at it.
And Watson & co at the BBC creamin themselves over it would alone put you off it.
Brum brum brum brum brum. A petrolhead's wet dream.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 12, 2016, 12:07:25 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 12, 2016, 11:41:18 AM
They all talk funny at it.
And Watson & co at the BBC creamin themselves over it would alone put you off it.
Brum brum brum brum brum. A petrolhead's wet dream.

I think that's probably part of it too.
As I said, my preconception of it could be completely misplaced.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on May 12, 2016, 01:08:05 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on May 12, 2016, 11:20:16 AM

over here?  ::)
Post by: doodaa on May 12, 2016, 05:00:42 PM
They ruined the circuit when they made them go around Mill Road roundabout the wrong way and also when they introduced the chicane at Mathers Cross IMO.
In saying that its still mental seeing them full chat down the backroad out of Portstewart. TV does them no justice.
Post by: GJL on May 12, 2016, 05:20:26 PM
I've never been but must make a point of going once to experience it live. I love motorsport of the 4 wheel type but also enjoy the bikes too.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 12, 2016, 07:58:20 PM
The North West reminds me of exams when I was at NUU...yes I'm that old! During a break in studying I used to go out and watch the mad bastards.
Post by: Gonzalo15 on May 13, 2016, 09:18:19 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/northern-ireland/36279582
Post by: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 11:57:58 AM
Quote from: Gonzalo15 on May 13, 2016, 09:18:19 AM

BAN f**king ROAD RACING!!!
Post by: GJL on May 13, 2016, 12:04:40 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 11:57:58 AM

It is the rider's choice. They are grown adults who know the risks. No business of yours to tell them how to live their lives.
Post by: mikehunt on May 13, 2016, 12:17:26 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 13, 2016, 12:04:40 PM

It is the rider's choice. They are grown adults who know the risks. No business of yours to tell them how to live their lives.

Not sure their families would agree. It's those left behind I feel sorry for. People die every year at these races.
Post by: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 12:20:39 PM

But sure it's people's choice to take drugs when they know the risks... should we just let them at it as well because they're grown adults?

There comes a point when something is too dangerous and something needs to be done about it. There have been gluts of deaths at the North West since it's inception but there have been 4 now in 8 years and it doesn't look like the rate of death or serious injury is falling. Either ban the f**king thing altogether or make the track/bikes safer because people shouldn't be dying at this thing every other year!
Post by: doodaa on May 13, 2016, 12:36:05 PM

Agreed.
Post by: Longshanks on May 13, 2016, 12:39:50 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 12:20:39 PM

But sure it's people's choice to take drugs when they know the risks... should we just let them at it as well because they're grown adults?

There comes a point when something is too dangerous and something needs to be done about it. There have been gluts of deaths at the North West since it's inception but there have been 4 now in 8 years and it doesn't look like the rate of death or serious injury is falling. Either ban the f**king thing altogether or make the track/bikes safer because people shouldn't be dying at this thing every other year!

Thousands die from smoking each year and millions are fine, nobody denies its dangerous or bad for you but people have to be given the choice.

Its up to each individual how they live their life and the organisers try each year to make it the safest event they can.
Post by: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 01:22:02 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on May 13, 2016, 12:39:50 PM

Thousands die from smoking each year and millions are fine, nobody denies its dangerous or bad for you but people have to be given the choice.

Its up to each individual how they live their life and the organisers try each year to make it the safest event they can.

Bullshit... if smoking didn't exist and was invented today it would be outlawed!!!
Post by: GJL on May 13, 2016, 01:47:10 PM

Will we ban scuba diving? mountain climbing? Big wave surfing? White water rafting? Rallying?  I could go on..

Dangerous sports exist and people will always crave the excitement and adrenalin rush they bring. It is up to the individual who takes part to make their own decisions.
Post by: Orior on May 13, 2016, 01:55:34 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 13, 2016, 01:47:10 PM

Will we ban scuba diving? mountain climbing? Big wave surfing? White water rafting? Rallying?  I could go on..

Dangerous sports exist and people will always crave the excitement and adrenalin rush they bring. It is up to the individual who takes part to make their own decisions.

Difference is the probabilty of death or injury. I'm also not comfortable with parents taking children to see a motor cyclist wrap himself around a tree or lamppost at 120mph
Post by: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 01:57:47 PM

Compare the deaths in all those sports around the world with the mortality rate at the Northwest.

People die playing sports I get that and there are some more risky than others my point is the frequency of deaths through road bike racing is much too high to consider it as being in any way safe.

Plus it's not just novices. How many lads at the top of the sport have died or seriously injured themselves doing it?
Post by: GJL on May 13, 2016, 02:03:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 01:57:47 PM

Compare the deaths in all those sports around the world with the mortality rate at the Northwest.

People die playing sports I get that and there are some more risky than others my point is the frequency of deaths through road bike racing is much too high to consider it as being in any way safe.

Plus it's not just novices. How many lads at the top of the sport have died or seriously injured themselves doing it?

I understand your point but I still maintain it should be up to the competitors. There are hundreds of riders who want to race and there are 10s of thousands of spectators who want to watch so it won't be changing anytime soon. If you don't like it then don't watch it. Simples.
Post by: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 02:09:21 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 13, 2016, 02:03:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 13, 2016, 01:57:47 PM

I understand your point but I still maintain it should be up to the competitors. There are hundreds of riders who want to race and there are 10s of thousands of spectators who want to watch so it won't be changing anytime soon. If you don't like it then don't watch it. Simples.

I don't watch it and have no intention to but it's hard to escape when Watson's all over it!

If you had 2 lads fight to the death you would have hundreds of thosands/millions watching it... doesn't mean it should be allowed!!
Post by: Hound on May 13, 2016, 02:17:54 PM
The riders love it. Nobody does it because they have to, they do it because they feckin love it.
There's very little money it, even the very top guys wouldn't be anything approaching wealthy.
There must be something addicitive about it to make them want to go out race after race. Or else they're all just mental.

They do try and make it as safe as possible. Every pillar and post will have protection, but doesn't get away from the fact that every time a lad comes off his life is in serious danger. And unlike the Isle of Man TT, the Irish events are generally races rather than time trials, so far more exciting (IMO) but clearly more dangerous
Post by: doodaa on May 13, 2016, 03:56:34 PM

Why do you care what other people do with their lives?
If you were a family member/ close friend of a racer I could understand your stance but by the sounds of it you've never been to a race or are even particularly interested in it....except when something bad happens.

I can imagine the response you would get from the riders, mechanics, families et al if you headed down to the pits tomorrow morning asking for it to be banned. I doubt if it would be polite.
Post by: armaghniac on May 13, 2016, 09:23:57 PM
Let them ride away as long as they don't block the road.
Post by: SHEEDY on May 14, 2016, 05:28:21 PM
 A rider has been killed at the north west this afternoon, racing has been stopped as a result of the accident. His name hasn't been released yet.
Seems to be someone killed or badly hurt every year at this event. Another sad day for motor bike racing.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 14, 2016, 05:37:04 PM
RIP.
Maybe speed limiters on the bikes could help. It's a sport where the safety record hasn't improved with technology.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 14, 2016, 07:20:47 PM
Sad to hear of tragedy. I always watch the Northwest and some great displays over the years.
Often had a big fry in Ballyclare on way
Post by: screenexile on May 14, 2016, 10:24:08 PM
RIP

Horrible for the lads family... Surely something has to be done the situation has deteriorated in the last 10 years!!!
Post by: mouview on May 14, 2016, 10:29:52 PM
By sad irony, the deceased was the subject of an interview piece on the Beeb program last night. I remember the double-barrel name..
Post by: Orior on May 14, 2016, 10:32:42 PM
RIP.

Was he one of the ones that visited the primary school earlier in the week?
Post by: Orior on May 15, 2016, 09:08:56 AM
To those who promote the race on GAAboard - why bother cancelling all the races after the rider was killed?
Post by: GJL on May 15, 2016, 09:41:49 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 15, 2016, 09:08:56 AM
To those who promote the race on GAAboard - why bother cancelling all the races after the rider was killed?

As a mark of respect. RIP to the young lad who died.
Post by: Orior on May 15, 2016, 01:02:01 PM
Doesn't someone die or seriously injured every year? Why not just cancel it every year out of a mark of respect?
Post by: theskull1 on May 15, 2016, 01:08:50 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 14, 2016, 10:32:42 PM
RIP.

Was he one of the ones that visited the primary school earlier in the week?

Don't know about anyone else, but that's a WTF for me.
Post by: GJL on May 15, 2016, 02:01:23 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 15, 2016, 01:02:01 PM
Doesn't someone die or seriously injured every year? Why not just cancel it every year out of a mark of respect?

Because it is the last thing he or any other riders would want. If you don't understand it just leave it to those that do.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 15, 2016, 02:33:58 PM
Malachi Mitchell Thomas was his name. Just 20 years old.
Post by: Orior on May 16, 2016, 09:03:44 AM
There is some parallel here between the NW200 and the US Gun Lobby.

All motorbike racing should be on purpose built tracks but that won't happen because of the crowd that follow it.
Post by: general_lee on May 16, 2016, 10:34:33 AM
Think we should ban cars from our roads. You might crash and die. There are too many deaths each year
Post by: longballin on May 16, 2016, 10:39:22 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 16, 2016, 10:34:33 AM
Think we should ban cars from our roads. You might crash and die. There are too many deaths each year

not if drivers stay within the rules... but rules for motorbike road racing?
Post by: general_lee on May 16, 2016, 10:43:31 AM
Quote from: longballin on May 16, 2016, 10:39:22 AM

Drivers can stay within the rules and still be involved in a fatal accident.
Post by: Gonzalo15 on May 16, 2016, 10:59:02 AM

ridiculous argument
Post by: general_lee on May 16, 2016, 11:24:15 AM
Quote from: Gonzalo15 on May 16, 2016, 10:59:02 AM

ridiculous argument
Well I think it's no more ridiculous than banning motorcycle racing because someone has a crash. I hate motorcycles and have no interest in the North West. But these guys are incredibly passionate about what they do. If they unfortunately lose their life, at least it was doing something they loved
Post by: doodaa on May 16, 2016, 11:39:50 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 15, 2016, 09:08:56 AM

I've heard that the PSNI come in and treat it like they would any other RTA fatality. Ie measurements, witness statements etc. As you can imagine that isn't a 5min job so racing was then cancelled.
I cant verify 100% if that's true but it seems plausible.
Post by: longballin on May 16, 2016, 12:27:35 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 16, 2016, 10:43:31 AM
Quote from: longballin on May 16, 2016, 10:39:22 AM

Drivers can stay within the rules and still be involved in a fatal accident.

not much
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on May 16, 2016, 01:17:05 PM
I think what perplexes people on the 'anti-road racing' side (for want of a better term) is that the deaths from road racing seem so avoidable. By racing on a track I am certain many, if not most, of these deaths/injuries would be avoided.

Rosberg and Hamilton crashed during yesterdays F1 at 150+ mph; the cars slid off the track and hit a tyre wall with both able to get out and walk away. I appreciate it's a 4-wheel race rather than 2-wheel, but the benefits of track racing I feel were exhibited in this instance.

Post by: TabClear on May 16, 2016, 02:00:01 PM
Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on May 16, 2016, 01:17:05 PM
I think what perplexes people on the 'anti-road racing' side (for want of a better term) is that the deaths from road racing seem so avoidable. By racing on a track I am certain many, if not most, of these deaths/injuries would be avoided.

Rosberg and Hamilton crashed during yesterdays F1 at 150+ mph; the cars slid off the track and hit a tyre wall with both able to get out and walk away. I appreciate it's a 4-wheel race rather than 2-wheel, but the benefits of track racing I feel were exhibited in this instance.

As someone who doesn't follow the sport, what is the attraction of road racing as opposed to a track? Is it quicker/easier to overtake?
Post by: Gonzalo15 on May 16, 2016, 02:20:42 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 16, 2016, 11:24:15 AM
Quote from: Gonzalo15 on May 16, 2016, 10:59:02 AM

ridiculous argument
Well I think it's no more ridiculous than banning motorcycle racing because someone has a crash. I hate motorcycles and have no interest in the North West. But these guys are incredibly passionate about what they do. If they unfortunately lose their life, at least it was doing something they loved

I get your point that they obviously love it and are willing to do it, so you can't really have a ban. But don't think you can compare high speed motorbike racing to driving in a car which is clearly safer
Post by: guy crouchback on May 16, 2016, 02:44:43 PM
maybe this is a stupid question but where do these guys train (practice) they obviously can't do it on ordinary open roads so is it a case of just turning up at races with little of no training on the road at these speeds. do they train on tracks and then race on the roads?
Post by: doodaa on May 16, 2016, 04:29:56 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on May 16, 2016, 02:44:43 PM
maybe this is a stupid question but where do these guys train (practice) they obviously can't do it on ordinary open roads so is it a case of just turning up at races with little of no training on the road at these speeds. do they train on tracks and then race on the roads?

Most, if not all, road racers would also race short circuits as well.
So, no, it isn't a case of just turning up with no training and racing.
It wouldn't be in the interests of the other road racers to allow any Joe Soap with a bike to land up and compete.
Post by: doodaa on May 16, 2016, 04:35:04 PM
Quote from: TabClear on May 16, 2016, 02:00:01 PM

As someone who doesn't follow the sport, what is the attraction of road racing as opposed to a track? Is it quicker/easier to overtake?

Having heard a few road racers in various documentaries it seems its line of thinking that one small mistake could mean the end. The thrill of surviving that is the pleasure I suppose.
I don't think its within the bounds of a normal 9-5er to comprehend that.
Similar to why would someone want to climb Mount Everest?
Post by: Orior on May 16, 2016, 06:47:41 PM
Quote from: doodaa on May 16, 2016, 04:35:04 PM

Having heard a few road racers in various documentaries it seems its line of thinking that one small mistake could mean the end. The thrill of surviving that is the pleasure I suppose.

Similar risks perhaps, but you don't have 10,000 people watching the mountain climbers. I would like to see stats on participants to death ratio
Post by: king of leon on May 16, 2016, 08:27:24 PM
Thrilling sport and all that it is, I think it's had its day and should be banned!
Such a waste of life the young rider that was killed at the weekend!
Closed circuit could still provide enough thrills for these guys and the fans.

It is mind boggling that there is even a debate here!
Post by: GJL on May 16, 2016, 10:54:59 PM
Quote from: king of leon on May 16, 2016, 08:27:24 PM
Thrilling sport and all that it is, I think it's had its day and should be banned!

To be honest I've never owned a bike and I never will. I have however competed in rallying since about 2001. I have raced on circuits and on closed roads. There is no comparison. The thrill on the closed roads is 100 times better than the circuit. It is a buzz that cannot be described or replicated. I guess it is similar with bikes and probably a bigger buzz. Everyone knows the dangers but it is and will remain the choice of the individual.
Post by: Orior on May 16, 2016, 11:43:51 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 16, 2016, 10:54:59 PM

To be honest I've never owned a bike and I never will. I have however competed in rallying since about 2001. I have raced on circuits and on closed roads. There is no comparison. The thrill on the closed roads is 100 times better than the circuit. It is a buzz that cannot be described or replicated. I guess it is similar with bikes and probably a bigger buzz. Everyone knows the dangers but it is and will remain the choice of the individual.

Big difference between cars and bikes is the level of protection. There is just something wrong about bike racing. I still remember day, standing in Casement when I heard about Joey Dunlop. Because of the thrill isn't a good enough argument for me.
Post by: Franko on May 16, 2016, 11:51:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 16, 2016, 11:43:51 PM

Big difference between cars and bikes is the level of protection. There is just something wrong about bike racing. I still remember day, standing in Casement when I heard about Joey Dunlop. Because of the thrill isn't a good enough argument for me.

Nobody's asking you to do it though Orior, so it doesn't have to be enough for you.  If it wasn't for road racing you wouldn't even have heard of Joey Dunlop, never mind his untimely passing being announced over the PA system in CP.
Post by: Orior on May 16, 2016, 11:55:22 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 16, 2016, 11:51:15 PM

Nobody's asking you to do it though Orior, so it doesn't have to be enough for you.  If it wasn't for road racing you wouldn't even have heard of Joey Dunlop, never mind his untimely passing being announced over the PA system in CP.

Could Joey not have been a top class biker on the race track?
Post by: Franko on May 16, 2016, 11:57:23 PM
Possibly, but he wasn't.  Road racing made Joey and he made it.
Post by: Nigel White on May 17, 2016, 12:11:47 AM
In the 60s/ early70s era when deaths in Formula 1 were commonplace the lobby for improved safety came from the drivers led by Jackie Stewart.  There doesn't seem to be any such lobby coming from the road racer motor cyclists
Post by: Orior on May 17, 2016, 08:54:34 AM
The government has a duty to protect citizens, and to protect citizens from themselves. That's why they introduced speed limits, speed ramps, gun licence laws, etc.
Post by: johnneycool on May 17, 2016, 09:22:24 AM

That would be my take on it as well TBH. If the lads know the risks and are willing to take them for the thrill then its really up to them. They certainly aren't in it for the money.

In saying that, a friend of mine who is into road racing since he was young put a post on facebook after this years North West where even he felt the danger element is now just too much with these bikes hitting over 200MPH on everyday roads and now isn't sure if its the right thing to do!!
Post by: doodaa on May 17, 2016, 09:37:58 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 16, 2016, 06:47:41 PM
Quote from: doodaa on May 16, 2016, 04:35:04 PM

Similar risks perhaps, but you don't have 10,000 people watching the mountain climbers. I would like to see stats on participants to death ratio

Why do you think the nr of spectators is relevant to this discussion?
I would say the riders wouldn't give a fiddlers if no one watched them, that isn't why they do it.
Post by: haranguerer on May 17, 2016, 09:40:54 AM
Joey tried the track, didn't make it. It seems to me these lads road race rather than track race because they wouldn't get to the same level at track...Personally I think the fatality and serious injury incidence is too high in road racing - I don't know how they can make the circuits safer, but they do need to look at doing something, it can't be compared with other 'dangerous' sports, its out on its own.
Post by: doodaa on May 17, 2016, 09:43:45 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 16, 2016, 11:55:22 PM

Could Joey not have been a top class biker on the race track?

No.
He did compete in track racing but could never be described as elite in it.

Similarly the present day road racers wouldn't come within an inch of Rossi/ Marquez/ Lorenzo from MotoGP on a track.
Alistair Seeley is predominantly a short circuit racer (and has won countless NW's) but competes in the NW200 as he believes its the safer of all the road races. Doesn't do the TT for example. Even he is only mediocre in the British Superbikes.

Post by: doodaa on May 17, 2016, 09:55:54 AM

I think that's the point a lot of people who don't agree with it are missing.
Its the opinions of the riders that matter, those who want to compete.

If the races started to have an impact on the general public ie spectator deaths then it would become an issue where the likes of Oriors opinion would count.
Thankfully spectator injuries and deaths have been limited so this isn't an issue at present.
Post by: Hound on May 17, 2016, 10:23:20 AM
Road racing is a similar, but different sport to track racing. 

Of course the likes of Rossi, Lorezno are extremely talented, but if you put the next tier of riders into an Ulster Grand Prix / North West 200, I wouldn't count on them winning.

So much is about the equipment too. Eddie Laycock was a Dublin rider who had a go at the MotoGP (still called Formula 1 back then) when Eddie Lawson, Kevin Schwantz, Freddie Spencer were the top guys. Laycock wasn't in Joey Dunlop's class - but was a multiple road race winner - probably around Robert's class. He acquitted himself well in F1, plenty of Top 10s, but was only on a private bike (Yamaha I think), never had the works model that the top guys were on, so it was impossible to win.

For Joey to have to move to F1, he would have had to do it on a sub-par bike too and accept being mid tier for a few years in the hope of working his way to a top bike. So for him I'd imagine he thought it wasn't worth his while walking away from being top dog in the sport he loved most.
Post by: TabClear on May 17, 2016, 11:35:50 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 17, 2016, 08:54:34 AM
The government has a duty to protect citizens, and to protect citizens from themselves. That's why they introduced speed limits, speed ramps, gun licence laws, etc.

I don't think that's a valid comparison as those laws are designed to protect the wider population rather than just the individual?
Post by: Orior on May 17, 2016, 12:01:52 PM
Quote from: TabClear on May 17, 2016, 11:35:50 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 17, 2016, 08:54:34 AM

I don't think that's a valid comparison as those laws are designed to protect the wider population rather than just the individual?

Is is illegal not to wear a seat belt. It used to be illegal not to have an anti-roll bar on tractors. Soon, it will be illegal not to wear a helmet on a push bike.
Post by: thebigfella on May 17, 2016, 12:21:39 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 17, 2016, 10:23:20 AM

Of course the likes of Rossi, Lorezno are extremely talented, but if you put the next tier of riders into an Ulster Grand Prix / North West 200, I wouldn't count on them winning.

So much is about the equipment too. Eddie Laycock was a Dublin rider who had a go at the MotoGP (still called Formula 1 back then) when Eddie Lawson, Kevin Schwantz, Freddie Spencer were the top guys. Laycock wasn't in Joey Dunlop's class - but was a multiple road race winner - probably around Robert's class. He acquitted himself well in F1, plenty of Top 10s, but was only on a private bike (Yamaha I think), never had the works model that the top guys were on, so it was impossible to win.

For Joey to have to move to F1, he would have had to do it on a sub-par bike too and accept being mid tier for a few years in the hope of working his way to a top bike. So for him I'd imagine he thought it wasn't worth his while walking away from being top dog in the sport he loved most.

I'd guarantee Rossi would find a way of winning. Rossi's a bit like Senna, Schumacher, McRae etc.... as they always found a way to be right on the limit.

During the F1 tes.ts Rossi did for Ferrari (like McRae's with Jordan) he set very impressive times; particularly as he never really had equal equipment
Post by: doodaa on May 17, 2016, 01:19:21 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 17, 2016, 10:23:20 AM

I agree its very hard to compare the two sports but I think any of the top road racers would struggle with most of the riders in Moto GP on a short circuit purely down to talent. On a road circuit is a different matter.....

Post by: Hound on May 17, 2016, 02:56:46 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on May 17, 2016, 12:21:39 PM
I'd guarantee Rossi would find a way of winning. Rossi's a bit like Senna, Schumacher, McRae etc.... as they always found a way to be right on the limit.

Ah yeah, Rossi is a genius.

Quote from: doodaa on May 17, 2016, 01:19:21 PM

I agree its very hard to compare the two sports but I think any of the top road racers would struggle with most of the riders in Moto GP on a short circuit purely down to talent. On a road circuit is a different matter.....

Well I think you're underestimating the talent on these shores as often happens.
Its a bit like saying, if the Gooch, Canavan, etc. were genuinely talented, they would have been off playing soccer.

I accept there's some hugely talented guys like Rossi, Lorenzo who would probably excel at any motor sport, particularly on a bike. But for example, Michael Dunlop won the Superbikes race in the North West, with an average speed of over 120mph on Northern Ireland roads, with many slow corners, and at the speedtrap (presumably placed at one of the fastest parts of the course, but still a secondary road with a corner not too far away) he was hitting between 201 and 205 mph. I doubt very much that all the MotoGP lads would have the talent to do that, while staying between the hedges.
Post by: Hardy on May 17, 2016, 03:31:02 PM
What IS the talent or skill involved here? What distinguishes a winning rider from a mediocre one?
Post by: Longshanks on May 17, 2016, 04:10:47 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 17, 2016, 02:56:46 PM

Well I think you're underestimating the talent on these shores as often happens.
Its a bit like saying, if the Gooch, Canavan, etc. were genuinely talented, they would have been off playing soccer.

I accept there's some hugely talented guys like Rossi, Lorenzo who would probably excel at any motor sport, particularly on a bike. But for example, Michael Dunlop won the Superbikes race in the North West, with an average speed of over 120mph on Northern Ireland roads, with many slow corners, and at the speedtrap (presumably placed at one of the fastest parts of the course, but still a secondary road with a corner not too far away) he was hitting between 201 and 205 mph. I doubt very much that all the MotoGP lads would have the talent to do that, while staying between the hedges.

The only rider I can think of that comes to mind who has crossed with relative ease between road and track racing is Carl Fogarty, that said I doubt many track racers would take the risk as its just not worth it.
I think if you grow up road racing you seem to want to stay there, I know Joey Dunlop tried the track racing but think he was homebird as such and probably missed his family and enjoy working on his own bike etc and doing it his way which worked for him no doubt.
Post by: doodaa on May 17, 2016, 04:36:33 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 17, 2016, 02:56:46 PM

You could be right, perhaps I am underestimating them a bit.

However the more I think about the less likely I think they can be compared.
We may as well be comparing a footballer and a golfer lol

It would be unfair to dump Michael Dunlop into a MotoGP race and to dump Andre Iannone into the NW200 and expect them to compete at the top.
Post by: Atticus_Finch on May 17, 2016, 11:25:55 PM
I've never been a big fan of motor sports. Rightly or wrongly I feel that in comparison to other sports, the best machine rather than the best man wins the race more often than not. I know that is a simplistic view and there is a lot more too it.  How those guys competing in the north west can reach those speeds on back roads and control a bike has to be admired. As for it being banned, I can't ever see it happening. There is talk of it every year.  Any racer knows the risks full well when they sign up to compete, for many the high risk nature of their craft is what adds to the buzz they experience. 

One thing I've wondered and would be clueless about is the money involved. I'm assuming it would be a lot less than what is involved in MotoGP. Would there be much in the way of prize money involved in the north west ?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 17, 2016, 11:50:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 17, 2016, 03:31:02 PM
What IS the talent or skill involved here? What distinguishes a winning rider from a mediocre one?

Would say  knowledge of the machine, knowledge of track and conditions and being able to make correct judgements combining everything together to get yourself around the circuit as quickly as possible, the whole while being considerate that a wrong decision and its lights out.
Post by: doodaa on May 18, 2016, 10:57:00 AM
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on May 17, 2016, 11:25:55 PM
I've never been a big fan of motor sports. Rightly or wrongly I feel that in comparison to other sports, the best machine rather than the best man wins the race more often than not. I know that is a simplistic view and there is a lot more too it.  How those guys competing in the north west can reach those speeds on back roads and control a bike has to be admired. As for it being banned, I can't ever see it happening. There is talk of it every year.  Any racer knows the risks full well when they sign up to compete, for many the high risk nature of their craft is what adds to the buzz they experience. 

One thing I've wondered and would be clueless about is the money involved. I'm assuming it would be a lot less than what is involved in MotoGP. Would there be much in the way of prize money involved in the north west ?

£5k for a race win is a figure I heard quoted for the NW200.
NW200 = Irish League
MotoGP = Premier League in terms of pay etc.

The reason it hasn't been banned is little to do with the riders and their wishes and more to do with how much money it brings to the areas economy. Money makes the world go around.....
Post by: doodaa on May 18, 2016, 11:04:01 AM

Difficult question to answer.
Similar traits to all winners I suppose in most sports.
A good eye, quick reactions, determination, balls, being able to push the bike to the absolute limit of its capability without crashing and knowing/feeling where that limit is.

Its like asking what distinguishes a great footballer from a mediocre footballer?
Post by: Orior on May 18, 2016, 11:36:06 AM

Hardy, unless that is a loaded question, I would have expected more from you. As another poster said, it is the same answer for most sports I.e speed of thought, reaction, anticipation, spacial awareness etc
Post by: Atticus_Finch on May 18, 2016, 01:09:25 PM
Quote from: doodaa on May 18, 2016, 10:57:00 AM

NW200 = Irish League

The reason it hasn't been banned is little to do with the riders and their wishes and more to do with how much money it brings to the areas economy. Money makes the world go around.....

Was more the impact of the ban I was talking about DooDaa.  If the main motive of a ban was to prevent rider's death what i was saying is that rider's nobody knows the risks better than the riders.

I have no doubt about the economic benefits it brings to the local area.  Morelli's and the local chipperies are fulled with "Wah-Wahs" down from Belfast for the day getting their fill whether the sun is shining or whether it is bucketing.

I'm surprised about was how little it rubbed off on the Gaelic club down there.  I mean none of the gaelic lads down there would even own a leather jacket (apart from that guy Ricky Douglas maybe) never mind go near a motorbike. 
Post by: doodaa on May 18, 2016, 01:14:20 PM
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on May 18, 2016, 01:09:25 PM
Quote from: doodaa on May 18, 2016, 10:57:00 AM

NW200 = Irish League

Was more the impact of the ban I was talking about DooDaa.  If the main motive of a ban was to prevent rider's death what i was saying is that rider's nobody knows the risks better than the riders.

I have no doubt about the economic benefits it brings to the local area.  Morelli's and the local chipperies are fulled with "Wah-Wahs" down from Belfast for the day getting their fill whether the sun is shining or whether it is bucketing.

I'm surprised about was how little it rubbed off on the Gaelic club down there.  I mean none of the gaelic lads down there would even own a leather jacket (apart from that guy Ricky Douglas maybe) never mind go near a motorbike.

Agreed.

Ricky is settling down these days....we may have seen the last of the leather jacket  :'(

Also all the ER ones prefer the more laid back surfer outlook if our South Derry cousins are to be believed  8)
Post by: Hardy on May 18, 2016, 06:36:17 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 18, 2016, 11:36:06 AM

Hardy, unless that is a loaded question, I would have expected more from you. As another poster said, it is the same answer for most sports I.e speed of thought, reaction, anticipation, spacial awareness etc

I didn't ask what physical attributes, mental acuities or resources of character were required. As you say, I expect these would be much the same for most sports. Some people seem to be suggesting that recklessness should be added to this mix as a determining factor in who wins.

I asked what is the distinguishing SKILL, because I have no idea what it might be, in the way that I can see the footballing genius of a Cooper, or understand what made Shefflin a great hurler.
Post by: doodaa on May 19, 2016, 02:02:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 18, 2016, 06:36:17 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 18, 2016, 11:36:06 AM

I didn't ask what physical attributes, mental acuities or resources of character were required. As you say, I expect these would be much the same for most sports. Some people seem to be suggesting that recklessness should be added to this mix as a determining factor in who wins.

I asked what is the distinguishing SKILL, because I have no idea what it might be, in the way that I can see the footballing genius of a Cooper, or understand what made Shefflin a great hurler.

You can see the footballing genius of Cooper but can you define/ put into words what that is?
I can see Valentino Rossi is a complete genius on any bike but I couldnt really define what makes him a genius....he just is lol
Post by: GJL on May 23, 2016, 03:18:03 PM
http://news.sky.com/story/1700687/three-die-30-fall-sick-while-climbing-everest (http://news.sky.com/story/1700687/three-die-30-fall-sick-while-climbing-everest)

Any calls to ban it?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2016, 03:59:42 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/28/mount-everest-to-be-declared-off-limits-to-inexperienced-climbers
Post by: Canalman on May 23, 2016, 04:34:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2016, 03:59:42 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/28/mount-everest-to-be-declared-off-limits-to-inexperienced-climbers

Seen a documentary there at the weekend called Sherpa about the whole Mount Everest thing. Excellent show.