GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Main Street on March 31, 2016, 12:50:41 AM

Title: Monaghan v Donegal 03/04 Blaney 2pm
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2016, 12:50:41 AM
The Battle of the  Depressed and it's being played in Blayney.
Donegal on a relative downer, Monaghan already in the pits.
As it stands, Donegal should have too much of whatever they have, for Monaghan.
But maybe we will play a midfielder in midfield instead of being sterilised at FF. We always have hope.

Title: Re: Monaghan v Donegal 03/04 Blaney 2pm
Post by: Conallach on March 31, 2016, 02:50:00 PM
That last sentence could just as easily have been written by a Donegal man!

The full forward line is very thin at the moment, largely due to injuries that have halted the progress of the young lads coming through.

The goalkeeper rotation is starting to look a bit like placeholding until Michael Boyle is fit. That mighn't be a bad thing, he's probably an above average intercounty keeper anyway.

It's tempting to be very down on how the team's shaping up right now, and it looks like they're shaping up to be at around the same level as last year. I'd love to think that Gallagher has something up his sleeve, particularly something to play against blanket defences, but, well, we'll see...
Post by: BluestackBoy on March 31, 2016, 05:47:22 PM
I would hope that now the maths are with Donegal, Gallagher will allow the players open out a bit & try to win the game playing open football.

The fact that Monaghan must win this means that I will give them the nod as, sadly,  I don't think Gallagher wants to progress.

At any rate I am sitting this one out, it will take me a long time to get over last Sat night.
Post by: J70 on March 31, 2016, 06:09:34 PM
Surely Gallagher would like to make the semis to have another competitive game? We don't play the winners of Antrim-Fermanagh until the second week of June.

As for this game, given our regular inability to make any headway against Monaghan, I don't see us getting a result. Even if we don't pack the defence (and let McManus go one-on-one??), Monaghan probably will, as its a proven, effective strategy against us.
Post by: Rossfan on March 31, 2016, 07:24:04 PM
Monaghan win and the expected Rhus win I believe leaves 3 teams on 6 ( 4 if Kerry bate Cork). Calculator time.
Post by: BluestackBoy on March 31, 2016, 07:36:15 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 31, 2016, 07:24:04 PM
Monaghan win and the expected Rhus win I believe leaves 3 teams on 6 ( 4 if Kerry bate Cork). Calculator time.

Donegal are safe barring a trouncing of epic proportions due to their much better scoring difference.

Should allow them come out & play.........
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2016, 10:23:55 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 31, 2016, 06:09:34 PM
Surely Gallagher would like to make the semis to have another competitive game? We don't play the winners of Antrim-Fermanagh until the second week of June.

As for this game, given our regular inability to make any headway against Monaghan, I don't see us getting a result. Even if we don't pack the defence (and let McManus go one-on-one??), Monaghan probably will, as its a proven, effective strategy against us.
It's not for sure that's the way Gallacher sees it.
Remember in 2014, Donegal had already moved into a different mode when they met Monaghan in the div 2 final and ithat game was not an obvious part of their preparations.
But possibly  he is under pressure to get a result in this game.
Post by: Conallach on April 01, 2016, 12:36:45 AM
There's little there to suggest that Gallagher would prefer another game to another training camp to be honest, for better or worse.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 01, 2016, 02:44:43 AM
Quote from: Conallach on April 01, 2016, 12:36:45 AM
There's little there to suggest that Gallagher would prefer another game to another training camp to be honest, for better or worse.
Donegal were playing well until they went on that last training camp.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 01, 2016, 11:39:00 AM
http://www.hoganstand.com/Monaghan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=252897 (http://www.hoganstand.com/Monaghan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=252897)

Diminutive stature and speed (in the form of McAnespie and D McKenna) over size and experience (in the form of K Hughes and Corey) to start for Monaghan..

We need to get a much greater return from our mid-field than we did last week, and that includes Beggan producing a much improved kickout strategy. Monaghan persisted with the short kickouts last week which were suicidal when the team were clearly flagging. The long kickouts were mostly put on top K Donaghy's head which was bizarre. Also, this complete over elaboration when trying to work the ball past the half-way line is extremely frustrating to watch, allowing opposition defences to re-shape themselves and preventing quick ball into our FFs.

Monaghan are currently being curtailed by their own system, in my opinion. If they played more openly, like they have done in the past, they would be in a better place..
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on April 01, 2016, 12:40:29 PM
Mc Anespie had a great game in lasts years league (the worst game of county football i`ve ever seen). He was impressive for the U21s in Newry on Wednesday night too. I hope next Wednesdays final takes priority. Cant see him playing the full 70 anyway.

Corey religiously marks Murphy in these games so he`ll start. Kieran will too - we need to see a resemblance of a fielder round the middle before summer and this is the last chance. Hopefully Darren plays out the field too as the FF plan hasn't worked. On kick outs, the more we persist with short ones, the more focus the odd long one gets, which we inevitably lose and revert to type. You can feel the zero confidence we have in midfield which badly needs overhauling.

Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 01, 2016, 11:39:00 AM
preventing quick ball into our FFs FF.

Thats half the problem!..

Post by: Fuzzman on April 01, 2016, 01:04:05 PM
What do the Donegal fans think of Gallagher at this stage?

I was at the game last weekend in Croker and whilst it's always hard to know how to play the Dubs I was a bit surprised how defensive he had ye lined out. I think ye have good ball winning forwards to hit in a few long high balls the odd time but it very rarely happens.
Post by: J70 on April 01, 2016, 01:42:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 01, 2016, 02:44:43 AM

I think Donegal have come out of the league so far exactly how they would have been expected to, with the exception of the Roscommon game. Dublin away and Kerry away are always nailed-on defeats. Mayo at home was 50/50, and we shaded it. Cork never bother their asses when they come north and its almost always a handy Donegal win. Down have been hammered by almost everyone.

The training camp has littled to do with it. The sequencing and location of the fixtures has a lot to do with it.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 01, 2016, 03:29:12 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 01, 2016, 01:42:55 PM

I think Donegal have come out of the league so far exactly how they would have been expected to, with the exception of the Roscommon game. Dublin away and Kerry away are always nailed-on defeats. Mayo at home was 50/50, and we shaded it. Cork never bother their asses when they come north and its almost always a handy Donegal win. Down have been hammered by almost everyone.

The training camp has littled to do with it. The sequencing and location of the fixtures has a lot to do with it.
So what would be the expectation for this one?
Post by: J70 on April 01, 2016, 05:51:46 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 01, 2016, 03:29:12 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 01, 2016, 01:42:55 PM

So what would be the expectation for this one?

Tight game, probable Monaghan win.
Post by: Conallach on April 01, 2016, 06:49:21 PM
Excellent point, J70. For this weekend, well a tight game, to be just about won by the team better prepared to play their way through the other.
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2016, 07:21:02 PM
I'd take a grubby undeserved win.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 01, 2016, 11:47:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 31, 2016, 07:24:04 PM

If that does happen and kerry beat cork, Cork are almost certainly relegated.
Post by: Main Street on April 01, 2016, 11:53:40 PM
In that circumstance, Cork would most definitely be relegated, unless Monaghan beat Donegal by at least  8 goals.

Monaghan have to win to survive, Cork don't, therefore Cork are favoured to survive.
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 02:17:12 PM
0-3 to 0-0 after 15. Donegal up.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 02:23:01 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 02:17:12 PM
0-3 to 0-0 after 15. Donegal up.

Someone tell the Monaghan lads Kerry are leading Cork by 8 so if they win they will survive
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 02:23:14 PM
Goal each in a minute.

1-4 to 1-0.

Donegal caught out after McElhinney scored
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 02:24:04 PM
1-5 to 1-1
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 02:40:29 PM
3 points game at half time. Monaghan have come back into it well after being 1-4 to 0-0 down after 20 minutes (they got a goal straight away after Donegal goal). Changed their kickouts, hitting Hughes down the field instead of the short ones which were leading to turnovers under Donegal pressure.

1-7 to 1-4
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 03:15:30 PM
Halfway through second. Not much happening.

1-8 to 1-6 to Donegal
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 03:28:26 PM
1-9 apiece with five minutes left.

Martin McHugh lamenting refereeing! ;D
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 03:36:24 PM
Monaghan ahead in injury time.

Donegal getting turned over again and again
Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 03:39:30 PM
Phew  ;D

A good day for the Monaghan Cavan alliance.
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 03:41:08 PM
1-10 to 1-9 it finishes.

Fair fucks to Monaghan. Held Donegal to 2 points in the second half after trailing by seven early on.

See youse in late June (hopefully!)  :P
Post by: Conallach on April 03, 2016, 03:48:24 PM
Losing and still making the league semis is truly the cruelest of jokes.
Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 03:55:50 PM
We needed to win this game much more than Donegal did, you'd wonder just how much that fact had effect on Donegal.
Still, seeing that we were coming from 4 straight defeats, any win over Donegal is no mean feat.
We are almost Brothers in Arms. ;D
Post by: Schkite on April 03, 2016, 05:41:51 PM
Fair play to the lads, it's not often you come back from 7 pts behind against Donegal, and it could easily have been more. Great to see them grinding out the result when it mattered, but it was clear we needed the win more. Staying in Division 1 is important for the development of the young lads coming through so it was a big win.

Second time in a year that Walshe has scored an injury time winner for us! - the other being Cavan last summer.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 05:57:18 PM
Quote from: Conallach on April 03, 2016, 03:48:24 PM

4 losses in a row and heading into a semi-final against a side who are 7 wins from 7.

I suppose Donegal will have to go a bit defensive to have any chance.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 03, 2016, 07:47:04 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 05:57:18 PM

4 losses in a row and heading into a semi-final against a side who are 7 wins from 7.

Wouldn't be in our nature twohands ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 07:52:57 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 05:57:18 PM

Depends on what they want from it.

They didn't give a shite about the league semi-final last year and conceded four goals to Cork in a very loose, open game, losing 4-11 to 0-19.

But... they were out in mid-May against Tyrone. This year they're last up in Ulster in mid-June to play the winners of Fermanagh and Antrim.

That said, losing by ten or fifteen points to Dublin won't be of much benefit, no matter what way you look at it. But, on the other hand, keeping it tight for 50 minutes, only to lose by six or seven won't mean much either.

In other words, we're fucked either way! ;D

So I'd like to see Gallagher use it to give some of the newer players a taste of Croke Park against the Dubs.

Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 07:57:31 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 03:55:50 PM
We needed to win this game much more than Donegal did, you'd wonder just how much that fact had effect on Donegal.
Still, seeing that we were coming from 4 straight defeats, any win over Donegal is no mean feat.

Then we're the wee brother you never fail to best, no matter what the circumstances!

Whereas you lot curl up in the foetal position at the sight of Tyrone, who we usually beat no matter what (may change this year).

The little love triangle makes no sense at all!
Post by: babarino on April 03, 2016, 09:14:12 PM
Great to win this having gone 7 points down at the start. A small county going through a transition period, maintaining top flight status is a great achievement. We'll be all the more competitive for the coming championships.

Donegal still rank higher than us by virtue of going to semi final stage.

Down will have nothing to lose come Championship 1st round. If we beat them it's Dún na nGall arís.

And them Tyronie hoors will wait in the wings, while we tear strips of one another.
Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 09:19:11 PM
It's going to be a  Monaghan Cavan ulster final,  the first since ??
Post by: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 10:26:32 PM
Great to come away with that result. It didn't look promising at the start and the second week in a row that we conceded a goal as a result of the short kickout. Lucky to respond so quickly with a goal of our own as another Donegal point at that stage and it may have been past saving.

Great atmosphere towards the end and a big crowd. Not convinced Blaney is up to these big games though.

Some interesting games in D1 next year with Cavan and Tyrone up.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 10:52:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 07:57:31 PM

Then we're the wee brother you never fail to best, no matter what the circumstances!

Whereas you lot curl up in the foetal position at the sight of Tyrone, who we usually beat no matter what (may change this year).

Apart from the 2013 and 2015 Ulster Finals, the 2014 D2 Final, the 2015 league game and today...

We beat Tyrone in the 2014 Championship and 2015 League. But they're definitely our bogey team we're probably yours.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 10:59:53 PM
Will Donegal have a go at winning the league? I know the last number of years it has been a awkward distraction to their first round Championship games v Tyrone. But this year they have a bye to the Quarters and the lesser lights of Fermanagh/Antrim await. Last year they had no interest in winning their semi final.
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 11:15:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 10:52:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 07:57:31 PM

Apart from the 2013 and 2015 Ulster Finals, the 2014 D2 Final, the 2015 league game and today...

We beat Tyrone in the 2014 Championship and 2015 League. But they're definitely our bogey team we're probably yours.

Uh... Yeah... That was my point!

"You never fail to best us..."
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2016, 11:17:12 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 10:59:53 PM
Will Donegal have a go at winning the league? I know the last number of years it has been a awkward distraction to their first round Championship games v Tyrone. But this year they have a bye to the Quarters and the lesser lights of Fermanagh/Antrim await. Last year they had no interest in winning their semi final.

Is there any realistic chance of us beating Dublin?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 11:19:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 11:17:12 PM

If we can run them to a point, why not?
Post by: straightred on April 03, 2016, 11:24:03 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 11:19:26 PM

Dubs will be up for it - they need competitive games including a final as then they face into the leinster turkey shoot. 1 Div 1 team and 2 Div 2 teams (this year and next year) That's really poor form for Leinster
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2016, 12:25:41 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 11:19:26 PM

There are such things as anomalies to explain us running Dublin to a point:)

Donegal don't take this semi final part of the league seriously and I do not blame them, it's as if the players are being asked to do overtime without pay, after working their bollix off since January. They have already cut back on training schedule.
"I said after the first three games we have not done a lot of work given the age profile of the players," Gallagher said afterwards. "I think that is definitely a factor but I wouldn't say it is the only factor that we have tired in the last 10 or 15 minutes.
"Monaghan were up for the game and in front of their own supporters and you could hear the roar going up every time they scored or turned over the possession. We are just disappointed that we did not produce the level of performance in the second half after what I thought was an excellent first half performance."
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 04, 2016, 02:07:18 PM
Delighted with the win given the nature of the game. I'm delighted also for the players/management that they will be playing division 1 football for another year. As stated, this is a massive achievement for a small county like ourselves who are in transition. MOR has came in for some criticism of late but to be fair to him he has tried to blend youth with experience which is a challenge.

The never say die attitude within the team was there in abundance yesterday and was typified by Walshe getting up the field to pop the winner over.

Monaghan only got into the game when the kickouts were put down the middle to K Hughes; two kickouts, two scores.. The short kick-out experiment needs to happen less often, especially against the likes of Donegal who will push up on them and have a tight defensive unit.

Drew Wylie was excellent I thought and stopped a number of Donegal attacks. Darren Hughes was largely anonymous in the first half but came into the game in the second. McManus kept the scoreboard ticking over but missed some frees that would be bread n butter to him normally. The free taking has been well below par this league campaign in general.. K Hughes attempt looked over from where we were standing.

If they'd have been beaten it would have been 5 on the bounce which would no doubt have been deflating for the team. So, good to finish with a win and stay in the division.

Down on June 5th next; they'll come to that game with little pressure and will no doubt throw everything at Monaghan (memories from 2012 in the Athletic Grounds come flooding back...)
Post by: SouthDublinBro on April 04, 2016, 05:47:25 PM
Donegal don't deserve another match against Dublin. Would have preferred Mayo to grab the last playoff spot.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 04, 2016, 05:57:55 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 04, 2016, 02:07:18 PM
Delighted with the win given the nature of the game. I'm delighted also for the players/management that they will be playing division 1 football for another year. As stated, this is a massive achievement for a small county like ourselves who are in transition. MOR has came in for some criticism of late but to be fair to him he has tried to blend youth with experience which is a challenge.

The never say die attitude within the team was there in abundance yesterday and was typified by Walshe getting up the field to pop the winner over.

Monaghan only got into the game when the kickouts were put down the middle to K Hughes; two kickouts, two scores.. The short kick-out experiment needs to happen less often, especially against the likes of Donegal who will push up on them and have a tight defensive unit.

Drew Wylie was excellent I thought and stopped a number of Donegal attacks. Darren Hughes was largely anonymous in the first half but came into the game in the second. McManus kept the scoreboard ticking over but missed some frees that would be bread n butter to him normally. The free taking has been well below par this league campaign in general.. K Hughes attempt looked over from where we were standing.

If they'd have been beaten it would have been 5 on the bounce which would no doubt have been deflating for the team. So, good to finish with a win and stay in the division.

Down on June 5th next; they'll come to that game with little pressure and will no doubt throw everything at Monaghan (memories from 2012 in the Athletic Grounds come flooding back...)

What is darren hughes's proper / best position? Is he a midfielder, defender or a forward?? It is very hard to tell.
Post by: Schkite on April 04, 2016, 07:54:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 04, 2016, 05:57:55 PM

What is darren hughes's proper / best position? Is he a midfielder, defender or a forward?? It is very hard to tell.

That's a tough one, given he's literally played in every position from goalkeeper to full forward! I used to think it was centre-back, then he settled into midfield for a while and that seemed to suit him. Then after him doing well for Scotstown at full-forward there was a thought he could be tried there. Personally I'd have him in the half-forward line where he can drop back to help out midfield(where I'd play the brother), and Darren could also go forward to hit the odd score.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 04, 2016, 07:58:27 PM
He strikes me as a midfielder who's perhaps a bit small for midfield so better round half forward line roving.

I know he was great in ff for scotstown but i still think he's more natural out the field and very good at running at defenses from out the field.

Always wondered as he always seems to play somewhere different every time i see him.
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2016, 09:23:55 PM
Quote from: Schkite on April 04, 2016, 07:54:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 04, 2016, 05:57:55 PM

That's a tough one, given he's literally played in every position from goalkeeper to full forward! I used to think it was centre-back, then he settled into midfield for a while and that seemed to suit him. Then after him doing well for Scotstown at full-forward there was a thought he could be tried there. Personally I'd have him in the half-forward line where he can drop back to help out midfield(where I'd play the brother), and Darren could also go forward to hit the odd score.
i'd agree with that to an extent, but half forward for Monaghan means somewhere between half back and midfield. I thought one of  Darren's valuable strengths was breaking through the line as  O'Connell can do.  Darren is a player who' suffers because of his" total footballability".

What's Kieran's best position? I'd have though it was in the half forward to full forward line.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 04, 2016, 10:08:11 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 04, 2016, 05:47:25 PM
Donegal don't deserve another match against Dublin. Would have preferred Mayo to grab the last playoff spot.

4th in the league, they deserve it.
Post by: timmyot501 on April 04, 2016, 10:15:08 PM
Considering the lack of alternatives I think Kieran should be midfield. Darren is a tough one. I always liked him at centre back. But he was worth a go at ff after his club form last year. It hasn't really worked. Some of that is due to the supply and some due to being marked by better players and systems. I'd play him at 12.
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2016, 10:17:51 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 04, 2016, 10:08:11 PM

4th in the league, they deserve it.
Don't mind that gobs, Donegal haven´t been forgiven for  having the temerity of actually beating the Dubs  on merit in the AI semi final.
Post by: Main Street on April 04, 2016, 10:32:02 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on April 04, 2016, 10:15:08 PM
Considering the lack of alternatives I think Kieran should be midfield. Darren is a tough one. I always liked him at centre back. But he was worth a go at ff after his club form last year. It hasn't really worked. Some of that is due to the supply and some due to being marked by better players and systems. I'd play him at 12.
I think Darren at FF is a woeful choice due to being marked by better defenders than at club level.
Not that Darren is woeful at FF,  but he is more effective out the field for Monaghan.
I suppose the question is more, who is best to play at FF to support McManus.

Post by: Schkite on April 04, 2016, 11:31:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 04, 2016, 10:32:02 PM
I think Darren at FF is a woeful choice due to being marked by better defenders than at club level.
Not that Darren is woeful at FF,  but he is more effective out the field for Monaghan.

I'd say Kieran's best position is up front with McManus, he has a great pair of hands and can score well. But I think we need him in midfield given our current options. It's like Vinny in 2007, we could do with two of him.

I thought after seeing Darren in the Ulster club that they could swap and Darren could play off Conor, but it hasn't worked so far anyway. I'd have Darren as a roaming half-forward so long as he doesn't get too defensive as you say. His best play has often come from running at the opposing defence and either shooting or creating space for others to get a shot off.
Post by: J70 on April 05, 2016, 01:32:04 AM

Don't worry, we'll tiptoe along, caps in hand, being careful not to make any noise, bowing down before our superior city masters. ::)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 05, 2016, 03:24:49 PM
Quote from: Schkite on April 04, 2016, 11:31:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 04, 2016, 10:32:02 PM

I'd say Kieran's best position is up front with McManus, he has a great pair of hands and can score well. But I think we need him in midfield given our current options. It's like Vinny in 2007, we could do with two of him.

I thought after seeing Darren in the Ulster club that they could swap and Darren could play off Conor, but it hasn't worked so far anyway. I'd have Darren as a roaming half-forward so long as he doesn't get too defensive as you say. His best play has often come from running at the opposing defence and either shooting or creating space for others to get a shot off.

Exactly, so I'd have him on the half-forward line, in an ideal world. We don't have the luxury of an abundance of mid-fielders so he'll likely feature there IMO.