GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: moysider on February 29, 2016, 03:06:04 PM

Title: Round 4: Monaghan v Mayo: St Tiernach's Park, Clones, 6/3/2016
Post by: moysider on February 29, 2016, 03:06:04 PM
Looks like Mayo could be heading into last 3 rounds without any points on the board. Monaghan unlucky not to take anything from Dublin. Last years game was a testy affair. Mayo were bullied to an extent in last quarter in Ballybofey and that won't have gone unnoticed.
Title: Re: Round 4: Monaghan v MAYO : St Tiernach's Park, Clones, 6/3/2016
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 29, 2016, 08:51:24 PM
Maybe Rochford should leave well enough alone from now on as I thought the subs disrupted Mayo's rhythm yesterday. I know SOS et al were out injured and stufg, but subs are there to augment the team. Yesterday the opposite happened. Loftus did ok, but he is given the benefit of the doubt seen as it's his first proper year senior.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 29, 2016, 09:31:16 PM
If Mayo can curtail Mc Manus` influence, I wouldn`t be one bit surprised to see them
beat Monaghan in this game.
Post by: moysider on February 29, 2016, 11:40:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 29, 2016, 08:51:24 PM
Maybe Rochford should leave well enough alone from now on as I thought the subs disrupted Mayo's rhythm yesterday. I know SOS et al were out injured and stufg, but subs are there to augment the team. Yesterday the opposite happened. Loftus did ok, but he is given the benefit of the doubt seen as it's his first proper year senior.

Loftus replaced Higgins. His hamstring could see him gone a while now.
Loftus has the quality. At the moment he's possibly trying too hard to impress when he gets on the field but you get that.

I think we need Barrett and Seamie around. Both leaders imo. Have great time for Gibbons and Parsons but not convinced they compliment each other. I thought that the game had gone away from us anyway with a good bit to go.

I realise that the Mayo backroom is full of stats men. The glaring stat for them must be inability turning possession into scoring chances. If they can find a way to improve that we could be going places. I suspect most stats are fairly good.
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2016, 01:55:24 AM
This is a tough one. Monaghan have proven to be better than Donegal so even last weekend's performance won't be enough for Mayo. And if this one ends in another loss the tailspin will be well and truly complete.
Post by: maigheo on March 01, 2016, 02:32:13 AM
I see Tommy Tom Carr has written Mayo off as a busted flush and will absolutely go no where this year.Maybe he will be right but I doubt it.I think Mayo will beat Monaghan next sunday as its a must win game win for us.I am still disappointed in Evan Regan as he has shown nothing to suggest that he will ever be a top class inter county forward that so many  were touting him to be. Shane Nally has played very well up to now but I suspect pace may be an issue with him when the summer comes.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 01, 2016, 06:56:44 AM
Has this game been moved? Was supposed to be in Castleblaney.
Post by: ballinaman on March 01, 2016, 07:29:05 AM
Not overly concerned about the result of this one to be honest. Performances have been on an upward trajectory and have been fierce unlucky with the type of injuries sustained. Collective training is always difficult for Mayo this time of year with the amount of lads in Dublin, nevermind the lost 6 weeks before Christmas with no manager and training at all.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2016, 08:13:20 AM
Donegal were very close to a full team on sunday - way more than Mayo - so while it was a good win for Donegal I wouldn't read too much into it from a Mayo perspective.
Post by: cluaineois on March 01, 2016, 08:29:41 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 01, 2016, 06:56:44 AM
Yes game was moved due to the large number
of Mayo season ticket holders. The Donegal game has now been fixed for 'blaney.
Post by: Main Street on March 01, 2016, 11:14:13 AM
Quote from: cluaineois on March 01, 2016, 08:29:41 AM
I thought it was moved because of better parking for tractors in Clones.
Post by: armaghniac on March 01, 2016, 11:29:52 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 01, 2016, 11:14:13 AM

I think you mean that much of the parking in Clones is only suitable for tractors, especially at this time of year.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 01, 2016, 07:24:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 01, 2016, 08:13:20 AM
Donegal were very close to a full team on sunday - way more than Mayo - so while it was a good win for Donegal I wouldn't read too much into it from a Mayo perspective.
Going on the last championship meeting between the two Donegal were missing P Durcan,K Lacey,M McHugh,C McFadden on Sunday and C Toye,N Gallagher came on as subs.

Mayo were missing D Clarke,B Moran,T Cunniffe,C O Connor while the other starters from last August all featured on Sunday.

If I were to make one excuse for Mayo it would panel fitness which is not at the level it should be and understandable so.
Post by: Main Street on March 01, 2016, 08:55:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 01, 2016, 11:29:52 AM

I think you mean that much of the parking in Clones is only suitable for tractors, especially at this time of year.
Things have changed much since your county was last there :)
Post by: J70 on March 01, 2016, 09:04:11 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 01, 2016, 07:24:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 01, 2016, 08:13:20 AM
Going on the last championship meeting between the two Donegal were missing P Durcan,K Lacey,M McHugh,C McFadden on Sunday and C Toye,N Gallagher came on as subs.

Mayo were missing D Clarke,B Moran,T Cunniffe,C O Connor while the other starters from last August all featured on Sunday.

If I were to make one excuse for Mayo it would panel fitness which is not at the level it should be and understandable so.

Anthony Thompson, Leo McLoone and Martin McElhinney came on as subs too. All regulars over the past few years (Leo missed league and early championship last season)
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2016, 09:12:13 PM
Lol. Ok it felt like they had more looking at it on tv. Not from mayo so wasn't an excuse!!

Post by: J70 on March 01, 2016, 09:24:18 PM
It WAS a strong team, apart from young Carroll. Eoin McHugh will be a starter. The likes of McFadden, Toye, Kavanagh and maybe even Lacey, Mark McHugh and Thompson will not be guaranteed starting spots in June. Durcan may not be back at all. They have to move on with younger lads eventually.
Post by: armaghniac on March 01, 2016, 10:04:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 01, 2016, 08:55:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 01, 2016, 11:29:52 AM

Things have changed much since your county was last there :)

No doubt some popular locations flooded entirely and you'd now need a boat.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 02, 2016, 04:46:34 PM
I think Mayo could win this one there is always one league fixture that goes against the form and there is nothing between these two...Lasts weeks match will have taken a lot out of the Monaghan Legs
Post by: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 06:09:14 PM
With this being a must win game for Mayo i would like to see us being a little more adventurous with our forward play.We need to decide what  were doing with AOS for a start.Is he a target man ff or not.Would like to see Regan and Freeman in the corners playing off him.Freeman needs to be given a run and soon he has his faults that have been well discussed on here but on form hes a better option than Sweeney and Ronaldson.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 02, 2016, 06:20:16 PM
If Mayo win this game I could see them going on to reach the league semi final. The real must win will be Kerry at home in round 5 but only if Mayo lose on Sunday.
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2016, 06:37:43 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 06:09:14 PM
With this being a must win game for Mayo i would like to see us being a little more adventurous with our forward play.We need to decide what  were doing with AOS for a start.Is he a target man ff or not.Would like to see Regan and Freeman in the corners playing off him.Freeman needs to be given a run and soon he has his faults that have been well discussed on here but on form hes a better option than Sweeney and Ronaldson.

With the emergence of Diarmuid, and possibly the 2 Conors, and of course McLaughlin all to go in the half forward line, we could put Jason Doherty back to his proper position in the FF line.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2016, 06:41:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2016, 06:37:43 PM

With the emergence of Diarmuid, and possibly the 2 Conors, and of course McLaughlin all to go in the half forward line, we could put Jason Doherty back to his proper position in the FF line.
Muppet, this is a politics free zone,
not the war room.
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2016, 07:53:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2016, 06:41:31 PM

Muppet, this is a politics free zone,
not the war room.

Jaysus poor Jason has done nothing to deserve being put in the FF line.

I take it back.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 02, 2016, 08:41:22 PM
Regan would want to be involved more in open play. Just as he was when he ran for the penalty the last day. Maybe he was trying his damndest but the supply was poor, if that was the case, the outfield players obviously deserve slack.
Post by: moysider on March 02, 2016, 09:45:25 PM

Doherty has been back in the ff line in league and doul FBD.
I think Doherty's best times for Mayo has been as a water carrier around the field chipping in with the odd point as well.
So far this year when he s played inside it looks like he s trying to prove himself all over again and taking too much on and making poor decisions. At this stage I thought he would be giving shape to the inside line and providing leadership and bringing younger lads into the game but that did not happen. The working half forward role might be the best option for him. A team needs at least 4 of those for 70 minutes in championship. We know McLoughlin, Diarmuid and McLoughlin can do it. Not sure Conor O Shea has the radar for it. I m sure the last day his running stats would be A+ but how often did he get on the ball? Pity Keith is becoming injury prone (maybe it's just bad luck though). Donegal had no answer to him and we may well have won if he didn't pull up. It could turn out that we could have enough at the back to allow him play in attack.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2016, 09:55:51 PM
One of the positives when we play Mayo is that we don't have to write any posts in order to keep the match thread on page 1.

Post by: moysider on March 02, 2016, 10:12:32 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2016, 09:55:51 PM
One of the positives when we play Mayo is that we don't have to write any posts in order to keep the match thread on page 1.

;D You may have noticed though that the Mayo threads are getting shorter lately.
Roscommon are the only show in town right now. 
Post by: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:16:14 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2016, 09:45:25 PM

I think Doherty's best times for Mayo has been as a water carrier around the field chipping in with the odd point as well.
So far this year when he s played inside it looks like he s trying to prove himself all over again and taking too much on and making poor decisions. At this stage I thought he would be giving shape to the inside line and providing leadership and bringing younger lads into the game but that did not happen. The working half forward role might be the best option for him. A team needs at least 4 of those for 70 minutes in championship. We know McLoughlin, Diarmuid and McLoughlin can do it. Not sure Conor O Shea has the radar for it. I m sure the last day his running stats would be A+ but how often did he get on the ball? Pity Keith is becoming injury prone (maybe it's just bad luck though). Donegal had no answer to him and we may well have won if he didn't pull up. It could turn out that we could have enough at the back to allow him play in attack.

I think when everyone is fit our half forward line will be

D O Connor          Higgins           Mc Loughlin
Aido and Cillian in the ff line with one spot open for Regan Freeman Andy or Sweeney depending on injury and form. Doherty is wasted in the ff line better as a hard working half forward chipping in with a score or 2.Keeping Higgins up here depends on keeping fellas fit at the back.Barrett Cunniffe Harrison and Hall are good options for fighting it out for the corner back spots
Post by: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:17:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 02, 2016, 08:41:22 PM
Regan would want to be involved more in open play. Just as he was when he ran for the penalty the last day. Maybe he was trying his damndest but the supply was poor, if that was the case, the outfield players obviously deserve slack.

The supply has been very poor very hard to judge the new forwards on what we have seen thus far.
Post by: moysider on March 02, 2016, 10:38:16 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:16:14 PM

Aido and Cillian in the ff line with one spot open for Regan Freeman Andy or Sweeney depending on injury and form. Doherty is wasted in the ff line better as a hard working half forward chipping in with a score or 2.Keeping Higgins up here depends on keeping fellas fit at the back.Barrett Cunniffe Harrison and Hall are good options for fighting it out for the corner back spots

Agree. Hard to know about Aido. Can t see a scenario where he is played as an out and out 14. Donegal use Murphy in different roles but it is very difficult to get a team to switch and play different set ups in a match where a big player is flitting about from one role to another. Not only does he have to do different things but the other players have to cope with changing shape as well.
Diarmuid O Connor and McLoughlin probably first choice half forwards but over 70 minutes 4 players are needed there.
There is the notion out there that Mayo are an older, settled team on the circuit. We are well into transition. We d do well to get 10 out of 15 places predicted now for championship.
Post by: babarino on March 02, 2016, 10:50:52 PM
Hope the queue for tea isn't as slow during half time as it was at the Down game.
Post by: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:57:25 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2016, 10:38:16 PM

Agree. Hard to know about Aido. Can t see a scenario where he is played as an out and out 14. Donegal use Murphy in different roles but it is very difficult to get a team to switch and play different set ups in a match where a big player is flitting about from one role to another. Not only does he have to do different things but the other players have to cope with changing shape as well.
Diarmuid O Connor and McLoughlin probably first choice half forwards but over 70 minutes 4 players are needed there.
There is the notion out there that Mayo are an older, settled team on the circuit. We are well into transition. We d do well to get 10 out of 15 places predicted now for championship.

If done correctly this could be a huge benefit to us.We need 3 or 4 subs that can contribute when you go up against the Dublins and Kerrys. 1 or 2 of the more established players might be warming the bench this year.Theres huge competition for places and that can only be a good thing
Post by: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:59:33 PM
Quote from: babarino on March 02, 2016, 10:50:52 PM
Hope the queue for tea isn't as slow during half time as it was at the Down game.

If thats your biggest worry right now your a lucky man 8)
Post by: moysider on March 02, 2016, 11:18:55 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:57:25 PM

If done correctly this could be a huge benefit to us.We need 3 or 4 subs that can contribute when you go up against the Dublins and Kerrys. 1 or 2 of the more established players might be warming the bench this year.Theres huge competition for places and that can only be a good thing

Yeah. I know players always like to start but it's a 20 man game. Fellas coming on are as vital as those that start. The team that finishes should be as strong as the one that started.
I d like to see us with a set up that can convert our often dominance of possession into scores and have subs that can come in and do the same job as those they replace. 
Post by: moysider on March 02, 2016, 11:24:21 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 02, 2016, 10:59:33 PM
Quote from: babarino on March 02, 2016, 10:50:52 PM

If thats your biggest worry right now your a lucky man 8)

Bring a flask of tay barbarino ;D
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on March 02, 2016, 11:51:57 PM

Disagree on this Moysider. While a team will have to work harder to accommodate that sort of roving commission, they can practice in training and get it right. It's the opposition for whom it has to be nightmare, as nobody can replicate what O'Shea does in training. He's a one-of-a-kind sort of presence. Also, what could be better than having an opposition distracted by trying to figure out what you're trying to do than working on their own game plan? On the back foot already.

When the Castlebar players return Mayo could have three men who could all alternate between midfield and full-forward - Aidan, Barry Moran and Danny Kirby. When they start to move, what does the opposition do to counter? Mark the position, or mark the man? Have they got markers who can play in those different positions? If they mark the spaces, players can get lost and next thing you know there's one in the onion sack.

I'll tell you now lads. We'll have them nicely bewildered and bamboozled below in Division 2 next year. Heads spinning every which way.
Post by: BennyCake on March 02, 2016, 11:56:26 PM
Why is Mayo in capitals?
Post by: muppet on March 03, 2016, 12:10:56 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 02, 2016, 11:56:26 PM
Why is Mayo in capitals?

Some curse or other.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2016, 12:18:11 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on March 02, 2016, 11:51:57 PM

Disagree on this Moysider. While a team will have to work harder to accommodate that sort of roving commission, they can practice in training and get it right. It's the opposition for whom it has to be nightmare, as nobody can replicate what O'Shea does in training. He's a one-of-a-kind sort of presence. Also, what could be better than having an opposition distracted by trying to figure out what you're trying to do than working on their own game plan? On the back foot already.

When the Castlebar players return Mayo could have three men who could all alternate between midfield and full-forward - Aidan, Barry Moran and Danny Kirby. When they start to move, what does the opposition do to counter? Mark the position, or mark the man? Have they got markers who can play in those different positions? If they mark the spaces, players can get lost and next thing you know there's one in the onion sack.

I'll tell you now lads. We'll have them nicely bewildered and bamboozled below in Division 2 next year. Heads spinning every which way.

Y'know, I was factoring that in while I was typing the earlier post. You are right of course. It should be a nightmare for the opposition. But Donegal and Murphy and maybe to a lesser extent Tyrone and Cavanagh appear to be the only teams that can pull that move off. Both highly coached systems. Not sure our culture lends itself to that high level of disciplined approach to things. Even from posters on here it's more about individuals starting and what the starting 15 should be approach. It remains to be seen if new management can effect a change here. Change of culture basically where everybody buys into a system. We all knew Liam McHale never bought into playing ff and worryingly Aido expresses misgivings about playing ff when asked about it. Going forward the challenge for Rochford is to set the team up and players buy into how he wants to play the game.
If Mayo are still going to be about who starts, who is dropped and who is first sub......... we're bunched.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2016, 12:24:58 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 02, 2016, 11:56:26 PM
Why is Mayo in capitals?

Because I fucked up typing it in! ;D
Title: Re: Round 4: Monaghan v Mayo: St Tiernach's Park, Clones, 6/3/2016
Post by: Main Street on March 03, 2016, 10:23:47 AM
Considering that we are playing well, not to mention going all the way to Ballymagash to beat Connacht's hot shot team, we're in as good position we have ever been in, to do a number on Mayo.
Last time we beat Mayo it was played in Iniskeen (2011), but afair  the result didn't matter for Mayo.
Now we are supposed to look after the comfort concerns of a horde of Mayo season ticket holders? Well, you can bring your own effin cushion.
Post by: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 10:59:34 AM
Aidan O Se is a midfielder out and out , he can get lost when they are swapping him in and out of CHF FF and Midfield. the only question should be do you want jersey 8 or 9.Mayo have a potential 6 or 7 other  midfielders
Gibbons ,S o Se,Parsons, Barry Moran,  Vaughan and Kirby at a pinch maybe even caolan crowe if needed
only one Jersey left, Id give it to Parsons but its easy to see why they keep aidan out of there
SOme one mentioned  the summer team , this is the one id like to see
               D Clarke
Harrison    Caff         Higgins
barrett      Cunniffe  p durkan
          a o se  parsons
D oconnor  DoC          Coen
K McLaughlin  B moran  Cillian

Post by: muppet on March 03, 2016, 01:08:52 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 10:59:34 AM
Aidan O Se is a midfielder out and out , he can get lost when they are swapping him in and out of CHF FF and Midfield. the only question should be do you want jersey 8 or 9.Mayo have a potential 6 or 7 other  midfielders
Gibbons ,S o Se,Parsons, Barry Moran,  Vaughan and Kirby at a pinch maybe even caolan crowe if needed
only one Jersey left, Id give it to Parsons but its easy to see why they keep aidan out of there
SOme one mentioned  the summer team , this is the one id like to see
               D Clarke
Harrison    Caff         Higgins
barrett      Cunniffe  p durkan
          a o se  parsons
D oconnor  DoC          Coen
K McLaughlin  B moran  Cillian

Interesting team.

I'd have Keegan for Barrett though.

Also I'd start Regan at 13 with maybe K Mc at 10 or 12. DOC and Doc would also start.

That would leave Boyler and Vaughan as high profile subs along with Barrett. We could put one of them in for Higgins and play him high up the field also. K Mc is a terrific player but needs to find his best form. Also if Danny Kirby makes an impact again on Paddy's Day I think he is worth a look in the FF line.
Post by: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 01:50:30 PM
im not convinced by Kirby. he has all the attributes need for a top player but some how hes not or at least shown it yet  , a bit like a six foot guy under 12 who they shove in goal. Maybe it the hair far too bouncy

i think Boyler and Vaughan are better athletes than footballers and their skill level not quiet up to the level it should be and as they age a bit they lose that physical advantage  they has. Great heart in both of them though.
regan just has not shown enough in the league to convince me he top notch yet.I know neither has Coen but he count get a free ride from missing the league.
and Mclaughlin even at hes worst is always  worth a place in the lean for his overall skill stamina and agression, its that bit of nasty Knockmore  in him mayo need
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on March 03, 2016, 01:53:49 PM
Why are we the only county in Division 1 or 2 that tickets for home matches can`t be bought online?
Post by: muppet on March 03, 2016, 02:14:08 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 01:50:30 PM
im not convinced by Kirby. he has all the attributes need for a top player but some how hes not or at least shown it yet  , a bit like a six foot guy under 12 who they shove in goal. Maybe it the hair far too bouncy

i think Boyler and Vaughan are better athletes than footballers and their skill level not quiet up to the level it should be and as they age a bit they lose that physical advantage  they has. Great heart in both of them though.
regan just has not shown enough in the league to convince me he top notch yet.I know neither has Coen but he count get a free ride from missing the league.
and Mclaughlin even at hes worst is always  worth a place in the lean for his overall skill stamina and agression, its that bit of nasty Knockmore  in him mayo need

And Leroy????
Post by: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 02:32:57 PM
ok mea cupla  i forgot Keegan :o

but if higgins is out im sure i could swap barrett to LCB
Post by: muppet on March 03, 2016, 02:40:22 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 02:32:57 PM

I like the idea of a HB line with Keegan and Durcan flying up the wings. I think that will require a very hard working HF line and a CHB who holds his position.
Post by: Main Street on March 03, 2016, 08:03:57 PM
This won't be the game after the lord mayor's show for Monaghan, which is  exactly what we need.

I'd like to see a couple of changes, let McKenna and McAnespie start this game and possibly hold Dessie Mone to come on in the 2nd half even though  he impressed v Dublin.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2016, 10:12:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 03, 2016, 02:40:22 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 03, 2016, 02:32:57 PM

I like the idea of a HB line with Keegan and Durcan flying up the wings. I think that will require a very hard working HF line and a CHB who holds his position.

Maybe Boyle at 6. Really like the way Harrison is going. Hopefully all will be fit and well come summer. Cunniffe, Harrison, Cafferkey, Keane, Higgins, Hall,  Boyle, McHale, Keegan, Crowe, Barrett, Vaughan and Durkan is not bad material to be getting on with for the backs. I think the option of playing Keith away from the corner may be a runner for the first time. Harrison, Barrett and Cunniffe should be able to man the corners. I d love to see Barrett get a spell free of injury. He has been brilliant for us when he has played. Unfortunately when he does get injured it always a tricky one.

I expect Parsons and Seamie to be first choice midfielders but Gibbons and Barry hugely important too. Hard to see Aido starting midfield because I cant see us having the luxury to leave a fit Barry, Gibbons and Seamie off at the start.

In the forwards Aido, Diarmuid, Kevin Mac and Cillian are automatic if fit imo. After that it is down to who puts their hands up now and performs.

Is Adam Gallagher in the squad anybody?
Post by: REDCOL on March 03, 2016, 10:21:42 PM
Moysider, 13 backs named and no mention of Shane Nally who has started every game.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2016, 10:39:21 PM
Quote from: REDCOL on March 03, 2016, 10:21:42 PM
Moysider, 13 backs named and no mention of Shane Nally who has started every game.

Meh! peccatum meum :o

Playing well too. That's 14 so and I ve probably omitted others?
Post by: rosnarun on March 04, 2016, 09:57:54 AM
definitely, CHB has been mayos big weakness over the last few years , esp V dublin their half backs midfielders just come plowing through putting the whole dense literally on the back foot and i always feel as though goals are their for the taking.
diarmukd o connor has become am extremely hard working dependable playing now one of the 1st names rochford puts down i reckon  but that doesnt leave much time for scoring same with 
Post by: charlie linkbox on March 04, 2016, 09:11:55 PM
Do yous Mayo boys go through this rigmarole before every game?

Yous must have it all said by now!
Post by: mayoman dan on March 04, 2016, 09:16:05 PM
Quote from: charlie linkbox on March 04, 2016, 09:11:55 PM

To be honest we dont have much interest in the game itself.Its the arguing and fighting among ourselves and the rossies that keeps most of us interested
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 04, 2016, 09:18:36 PM
Mayo team for Sunday.  Hennelly, Harrison, Cafferkey, Barrett, Keegan, Boyle, Nally, Parsons, Gibbons, DOC, AOS, McLoughlin, Regan, Doherty, COS
Post by: mayoman dan on March 04, 2016, 09:35:58 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 04, 2016, 09:18:36 PM
Mayo team for Sunday.  Hennelly, Harrison, Cafferkey, Barrett, Keegan, Boyle, Nally, Parsons, Gibbons, DOC, AOS, McLoughlin, Regan, Doherty, COS

Good to see Barrett back but its hard to see where the scores are going to come from.Hopefully Regan or COS can announce themselves on the scene
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2016, 10:13:23 PM

The uppity Rossies are whipping them on the word count.
Post by: larryin89 on March 04, 2016, 10:56:32 PM
It's all about the Rossies, evry paper, every pundit and supporter are talking up de Rossie  and rightly so , they are the form team . Can't believe they've only came in from 10/3 to 5/2 to win Connacht , has to be the value bet of the year.

Post by: Rossfan on March 05, 2016, 12:18:24 AM
Shtawp yer oul plamàs Larry.
We all know you hold us in total contempt and are setting us up for the big fall :-*
Post by: Syferus on March 05, 2016, 02:47:17 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 04, 2016, 10:13:23 PM

The uppity Rossies are whipping them on the word count.

As opposed to aristocratic Monaghan with their zero AI titles at the major grades?  ;D
Post by: larryin89 on March 05, 2016, 08:49:46 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 05, 2016, 12:18:24 AM
Shtawp yer oul plamàs Larry.
We all know you hold us in total contempt and are setting us up for the big fall :-*

Not at all mo chara , bad health and old age has seen my online personality soften . Roscommon have worked hard for this and they will deserve their reward . I still hold hope for our lads but time waits for no man , the legs are starting to give in some of our seasoned campaigners . We won't be long admiring Ye though.
Post by: Main Street on March 05, 2016, 01:05:40 PM
Time to squeeze in a bit of news about Monaghan, seeing as our Mayo brethren are taking a pause.

This is alleged Monaghan starting team
Rory Beggan; Colin Walshe, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Kieran Duffy, Fintan Kelly, Karl O'Connell; Neil McAdam, Darren Hughes; Shane Carey, Dermot Malone, Thomas Kerr; Owen Duffy, Daniel McKenna, Conor McManus.

Subs: Mark Keogh, Conor Boyle, Niall McKeown, Paudie McKenna, Dessie Mone, Mark Thornton, Gavin Doogan, Padraic Keenan, Ryan McAnespie, Conor McCarthy, Barry McGinn.

Kieran Hughes hasn't recovered from his ankle injury, any news about that?
Post by: charlie linkbox on March 05, 2016, 03:28:41 PM
We're light at No.10 and No.12, especially with the way Mayo's wing backs like to go forward.
I'd bring Owen Duffy to No.10 and give Conor McCarthy a start at corner forward. It'd be good to see three proper inside forwards, McCarthy, McKenna and McManus, in the full forward line but that won't happen.
Post by: maigheo on March 06, 2016, 02:25:51 PM
Three changes for Mayo.Hall , OShea and Loftus in for Barret,Gibbions and Docherty
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 02:40:37 PM
Aidan O'Shea black carded for a rugby tackle. 7 minutes gone

Mon lead by a point.
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 03:11:21 PM
Mayo by a point at ht
1-06 to 1-05

Post by: SouthDublinBro on March 06, 2016, 03:14:27 PM
This match should be on TG4 rather than the Kerry/Donegal "game". I take it there is actual football being played here?
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 03:39:26 PM
Mayo by 4 points and sound as if they are in control of the game
2-08  to 1-07
Post by: Schkite on March 06, 2016, 03:46:13 PM
Sounds like a very disappointing performance, done sweet fook all since the first 20 minutes.
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 03:57:29 PM
a bit of a comeback 5 mins left
scores level.
Monaghan with the bit between their teeth.
Post by: maigheo on March 06, 2016, 04:06:51 PM
Monaghan 1.12 Mayo 2.11 FT.
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 04:07:56 PM
A good 2nd half for Mayo.
Post by: Jinxy on March 06, 2016, 06:36:24 PM

Leave them alone.
It's a form of therapy.
Post by: Mayo Border on March 06, 2016, 07:13:26 PM
Is that how you get your therapy jinxy bullshitting on a Mayo discussion thread
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 07:39:20 PM
Quote from: Mayo Border on March 06, 2016, 07:13:26 PM
Is that how you get your therapy jinxy bullshitting on a Mayo discussion thread
Arrogant Mayo .....,
this is a Monaghan Mayo  thread  and  Jinxy is our neighbour.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 06, 2016, 08:06:52 PM
Disappointing to leave another game with nothing. Relegation battle now. Too many unnecessary mistakes, and a total inability to score from play.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 08:18:36 PM
Well we got through it with two points. Left the damp and drizzly rain of the west this morning for the calm and sunny skies of Clones in the afternoon. A brilliant day for football and supporters. Anyway happy with the result. Fair dues to Hennelly for the two points at the end. Mayo's top performers - Parsons, Boyler, Caff (held McManus scoreless from play)and DOC. Diarmuid has some engine. Every time he got the ball something happened.

Players who had a bit of a wobbly time today - Nally, had a dodgy brain fart 3 minutes, but got back on the horse and did ok. Sheamie ran and ran into trouble, but he's a bit off the pace yet! Black cards for Leeroy and Aido meant we had to look at different options. Regan, well the Jury is still out. No doubt his free taking ability and he scored a superb point out on the left wing in the first half. Loftus took his goal (very) well but like Regan was caught a lot in possession. Conor O'Shea had a decent game. Needs a bit of coaching on running into space. But that will come in time (I hope!)

McQuillan was all over the place with decisions for both sides, as were the lines men and umpires. There seemed to be many times where he realised he made the wrong decision earlier and tried to balance it up later on. And the advantage rule seemed to be never used when there was an actual advantage. Leaving many players and supporters very frustrated.

Post by: Cunny Funt on March 06, 2016, 09:20:04 PM
That win for Mayo especially the manner of it will bring them on a ton and are in a good place to face and beat Kerry next.
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2016, 09:20:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 08:18:36 PM
Well we got through it with two points. Left the damp and drizzly rain of the west this morning for the calm and sunny skies of Clones in the afternoon. A brilliant day for football and supporters. Anyway happy with the result. Fair dues to Hennelly for the two points at the end. Mayo's top performers - Parsons, Boyler, Caff (held McManus scoreless from play)and DOC. Diarmuid has some engine. Every time he got the ball something happened.

Players who had a bit of a wobbly time today - Nally, had a dodgy brain fart 3 minutes, but got back on the horse and did ok. Sheamie ran and ran into trouble, but he's a bit off the pace yet! Black cards for Leeroy and Aido meant we had to look at different options. Regan, well the Jury is still out. No doubt his free taking ability and he scored a superb point out on the left wing in the first half. Loftus took his goal (very) well but like Regan was caught a lot in possession. Conor O'Shea had a decent game. Needs a bit of coaching on running into space. But that will come in time (I hope!)

McQuillan was all over the place with decisions for both sides, as were the lines men and umpires. There seemed to be many times where he realised he made the wrong decision earlier and tried to balance it up later on. And the advantage rule seemed to be never used when there was an actual advantage. Leaving many players and supporters very frustrated.

It's a learning curve for likes of these. They re gonna have to adapt playing against these top defenders. The best thing for them is an injury free run. Both lost important development time with bad injuries. If management believe they have the quality then they will probably persevere with them. As you pointed out a top international forward at the top of his game is held scoreless at the other end.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2016, 09:27:31 PM
Pleasing win. Yes Monaghan were well on top early on, but I thought Mayo's attacking options opened up and they were getting the better of the Monaghan defence. Would agree with Bunker's analysis of Mayo's best performers. DOC would have been my man of the match. Boyle had a mighty game as captain as well. It's two points in the bag anyway. I thought Monaghan were going to do it when they drew level at the end. Hennelly scored two beauties though to win the game and I thought it was a fair result to give Mayo the win.

Of the newbies Regan and Loftus are worth persisting with. I thought Nally was good today too. Harrison was solid too and Michael Hall was able to step into Barrett's shoes as well.

It's nice to be writing after a win after 2 'nearly wins'.
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 10:01:42 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 06, 2016, 09:20:40 PM

It's a learning curve for likes of these. They re gonna have to adapt playing against these top defenders. The best thing for them is an injury free run. Both lost important development time with bad injuries. If management believe they have the quality then they will probably persevere with them. As you pointed out a top international forward at the top of his game is held scoreless at the other end.
Let's not get too carried away  A top  forward  nationally will do.
But scoreless is not quite an accurate description, is it?
Post by: Maguire01 on March 06, 2016, 10:14:39 PM
McManus played half the game well out the field. Don't know why, as it didn't seem to add anything.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 10:21:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 06, 2016, 10:14:39 PM
McManus played half the game well out the field. Don't know why, as it didn't seem to add anything.

He was moved out to get away from Cafferkey who had his number (today). It was the right thing to do.
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2016, 10:43:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 10:01:42 PM

;D ;D I know, I know. Just that I couldn t make the game today (funeral) and while listening to Madwest radio report I heard that our 2 'current all stars and internationals' were black carded :o. That kinda set the theme for me ;D

The other bit I should have said scoreless from play. The point I was trying to make is that some Mayo fans are expecting novices to shoot the lights out against top teams while even the very best can be held sometimes.
Post by: larryin89 on March 06, 2016, 10:52:07 PM
Decent win but I wouldn't get carried away at all . We are in a dog fight because of poor results so far . Kerry game will be a massive test next week, it will be intense and Kerry done mighty today to get a victory .will someone take sos aside and tell him one solo  Max and rid . DOC is the greatest thing to happen since his brother .
Post by: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 11:00:40 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 06, 2016, 10:52:07 PM
Decent win but I wouldn't get carried away at all . We are in a dog fight because of poor results so far . Kerry game will be a massive test next week, it will be intense and Kerry done mighty today to get a victory .will someone take sos aside and tell him one solo  Max and rid . DOC is the greatest thing to happen since his brother .

Kerry will be under the spotlight this week from the CCCC. Actually what am I talking about, the Kerry Mafia media will step in and blame Donegal as sole culprits.
Post by: timmyot501 on March 06, 2016, 11:07:05 PM
The other bit I should have said scoreless from play."

Was the goal not from play?  Pen missed. Rebound dispatched. The papers tomorrow shoild show c McManus 1-8 (0-8f)
Pedantic I know!
Post by: larryin89 on March 06, 2016, 11:07:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 11:00:40 PM

Kerry will be under the spotlight this week from the CCCC. Actually what am I talking about, the Kerry Mafia media will step in and blame Donegal as sole culprits.

Watched it there earlier , Magee is an absolute tr**p but Kerry bucks were at it from the start too .By jeez they are unbelievable at it , how Donaghy manages to get away with so much all the time is truly beyond me , it's simply incredible , he never friggin stops .
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 11:20:39 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 06, 2016, 11:07:38 PM

Watched it there earlier , Magee is an absolute tr**p but Kerry bucks were at it from the start too .By jeez they are unbelievable at it , how Donaghy manages to get away with so much all the time is truly beyond me , it's simply incredible , he never friggin stops .
That's for another thread, but
but one thing for sure, Monaghan will attempt to go toe for toe against Kerry when they visit and if I only had one game to attend, Kerry and Donaghy at home in Monaghan would be that game.   
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2016, 11:30:01 PM

Privilege of birth. Donegal were never going to be let throw their weight around today though in Tralee without a response in kind. Kerry were forewarned.
So should the ref for Mayo match next weekend. No reason likes of Donaghy and Mahony should be beyond reproach.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 11:34:21 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 06, 2016, 11:30:01 PM

Privilege of birth. Donegal were never going to be let throw their weight around today though in Tralee without a response in kind. Kerry were forewarned.
So should the ref for Mayo match next weekend. No reason likes of Donaghy and Mahony should be beyond reproach.

Why do you think Donaghy and O'Mahony are beyond reproach? History has proven otherwise. What makes you think things will change now?
Post by: sans pessimism on March 06, 2016, 11:42:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 06, 2016, 10:01:42 PM

Still-there's no man in mainland Europe to mark him.......
Post by: moysider on March 07, 2016, 12:05:14 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 11:34:21 PM

Why do you think Donaghy and O'Mahony are beyond reproach? History has proven otherwise. What makes you think things will change now?

So, you think they don t get away with stuff? Fair enough.
Was Donaghy carded for the drag down of Murphy around the neck? He may have been, I dunno. Mahony though was as much entitled to walk as McLoone in the other spat imo.
The black card was also brought in to punish verbal abuse/sledging and yet Donaghy gets away with constant bitching and dogging of officials.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 07, 2016, 12:08:59 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 07, 2016, 12:05:14 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 06, 2016, 11:34:21 PM

So, you think they don t get away with stuff? Fair enough.
Was Donaghy carded for the drag down of Murphy around the neck? He may have been, I dunno. Mahony though was as much entitled to walk as McLoone in the other spat imo.
The black card was also brought in to punish verbal abuse/sledging and yet Donaghy gets away with constant bitching and dogging of officials.
Sorry worded that wrong.  Totally agree with you.
Post by: rosnarun on March 07, 2016, 10:34:05 AM
Donegal were at the same crap against mayo.  only difference is mayo did not respond in kind and the Ref saw nothing .
they are a lot of scumbags on that Donegal team  certain players  you'd mcgees McGrath Mcloone etc,.. expect but the worst offenders yesterday were Kavangh and Murphy
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 07, 2016, 01:57:28 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 07, 2016, 10:34:05 AM
they are a lot of scumbags on that Donegal team  certain players  you'd mcgees McGrath Mcloone etc,.. expect but the worst offenders yesterday were Kavangh and Murphy

Illiterate keyboard warrior  :o
Post by: rosnarun on March 07, 2016, 02:12:50 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on March 07, 2016, 01:57:28 PM

Illiterate keyboard warrior  :o
my apologies for speaking in the Colloquial .
please select the one  you think is Correct

1)there are many scumbags on the Donegal team
2)most of the Donegal team are scumbags
3)Some of the Donegal team are not Scumbags
4)all of the Donegal team are scumbags
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on March 07, 2016, 03:14:11 PM
We're now looking back down the table after yesterdays loss.  Another mixed bag performance that leaves me wondering is the glass half full or half empty.

First thing of note from yesterday was the sheer difference in size between the two teams. The strength and power of Mayos middle 8 crippled us and I really thought the game would have been sown up much earlier only for their inability to convert that dominance into scores throughout the game. That said Karl o Connell put in a MoM performance for us and caused problems for Mayo down the middle. But when our kick out for Mayo's second goal was landed on top of him and Ryan mc anespie against 3 Mayo bruts our big problem was shown up so clearly.  We've no midfield... We did ok with getting kick outs out short but anything played long was a mess. Parsons and o shea cleaned anything that came near them with Parsons particularly having a great game. Was surprised Mayo didn't focus on getting him moving forward more often.

That said I suppose we were missing Kieran and maybe Vinny round the middle and Darren will get stronger, but without all of those we'll struggle against any top team. Again our full back line was solid. A mix up with two going for the same ball for the first goal and it looked like no one calling for the second with Rory. Our defence has been too solid to start picking at isolated errors no matter how costly they were. We did get cut open through the middle a few times but a lot of credit goes to Mayo for that.

Up front we were sharp for the first half half with Daniel showing up well in the inside line practically winning the penalty. Carey and Kerr had good periods too. Cafferkey had Conor well marshalled throughout. We lost/ran out of that potency relying on frees for all of the second half. Yet like the Roscommon and Dublin games we showed a grit to come back so strong from 5 down and worked our way back into it.  It was also good to see mc carthy mc ginn playing for a good 20min.  I havent seen much of either before but hopefully between them Yankey Kerr and Carey we'll get more scores from play.  Also I have to say I thought the mayos fans were a credit to their team. The numbers they turned up in with a feverish excitement was something to witness.

So off to Cork next Sunday. Hopefully we have another win in us. It's gonna take at least one....
Post by: Main Street on March 07, 2016, 03:59:39 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on March 07, 2016, 03:14:11 PM

First thing of note from yesterday was the sheer difference in size between the two teams. The strength and power of Mayos middle 8 crippled us a

......Ryan mc anespie against 3 Mayo bruts our big problem was shown up so clearly.  We've no midfield...
Monaghan is where the  runts of the irish litter are born.
Myself, I was fortunate to have a 50% Kerry bloodline which completly dominated the poorly Monaghan gene and ended up 6ft 4" tall.

We just need to sent the women out to Mayo, Donegal and Kerry to get impregnated.
Post by: highorlow on March 07, 2016, 04:36:57 PM
QuoteMcloone etc

Ah now, you shurley have only based this on yesterday's incident? Tidy enough player imo. O'Mahoney is and always has been a pup. He deserves a broken nose before the year is out as much as McGee deserved one yesterday.
Post by: J70 on March 07, 2016, 06:07:25 PM
Donegal were at the same crap against mayo.  only difference is mayo did not respond in kind and the Ref saw nothing .

What have the likes of Paddy McGrath or Leo McLoone ever done to be labeled a "sc**bag"?

Leo got the line yesterday when a multitude of other players could have instead. The only other nasty incident he's been involved with was when he hit Joe McMahon the slap in 2011, which was during a tussle for the ball. Even if you maintain that one was deliberate, he's done nothing in the five years since or the couple of years he was on the team beforehand.

As for Mayo, they're no angels either. There were a couple of boys lucky to stay on the field in the early stages of the 2012 final when the likes of Karl Lacey were targeted with late, high tackles.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on March 07, 2016, 06:12:06 PM
There's lamenting going on here... Take your donegal mayo talk elsewhere.
Post by: Main Street on March 07, 2016, 07:16:37 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on March 07, 2016, 06:12:06 PM
There's lamenting going on here... Take your donegal mayo talk elsewhere.
Donegal are the new Tyrone, it's official.
That means any thread, any time, can just combust into a discussion about Donegal.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 07, 2016, 07:45:39 PM
Mcgrath is not a dirty player. Eamon mcgee isn't too saintly, neilly gallagher is dirty enough, murphy gets too involved, kavanagh seems to have an edge these days but that aside they aren't that bad. Neil mcgee isn't that bad at all.

For a top team that is not that many. Mcmahon is as bad as mcgee, bastick as bad as gallagher when he plays and donaghy is way worse than murphy.

Post by: larryin89 on March 07, 2016, 09:31:36 PM
Ya can take the man outa Glasgow but you'll not take the Glasgow outa de man
Post by: rosnarun on March 08, 2016, 12:10:53 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 07, 2016, 07:45:39 PM
Mcgrath is not a dirty player. Eamon mcgee isn't too saintly, neilly gallagher is dirty enough, murphy gets too involved, kavanagh seems to have an edge these days but that aside they aren't that bad. Neil mcgee isn't that bad at all.

For a top team that is not that many. Mcmahon is as bad as mcgee, bastick as bad as gallagher when he plays and donaghy is way worse than murphy.

is that what the the nordies Love to call  whataboutery
every county is involved in incidences every now and again , but the difference it it sporadic and can be any player from the team , But   donegal This year are going out with a plan to agitate and bully other teams . they dispute every call always in players faces never retreating for frees etc. The nastier incidents are there for all to see but are often as a result of the looked for retaliation , like the  fitzgerald sending Off
May its the manager who should take the blame , but its an attitude that been taken up with Gusto by certain players