Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: passedit on April 30, 2007, 12:23:39 PM

Title: Boxing
Post by: passedit on April 30, 2007, 12:23:39 PM
Working from home today and Ali Frazier 1971 is on ESPN in the 'background'. Jazus that was some fight, both fighters hospitalized afterwards. Couldn't believe their weights just over 15st for Ali under 15st for Frazier.

Carpenter commentating, what a useless p***k he was, keeps calling Ali, Clay. Reminds me of the story of lads listening to one of his radio commentaries,  english fighter v Johnnie foreigner. 14 rounds of 'get in there frank' type commentary then the englishman gets KO'd. Oul fella in the pub pipes up 'Jazus he musta hit himself'.

Title: Re: Boxing
Post by: full back on April 30, 2007, 12:38:09 PM
Doing exactly the same myself Passedit
Carpenter is doing my head in
Ali was one patrinising fcuker :D
Post by: passedit on April 30, 2007, 12:43:06 PM
'he hasn't been on the floor since 1963 and it was Henry Cooper who put him there then' ::) ::) ::)

A whole career on one lucky punch.
Post by: full back on April 30, 2007, 12:51:06 PM
Heard 'Arry saying it is being shown in 360 odd movie theatres & sports halls. Whats the story with that?
Fcuk, Ali is taking some punishment in the last
Post by: passedit on April 30, 2007, 12:56:17 PM
No sky sports subsciptions in them days. Shockin judging. No more than a round in it either way imo. Vietnam factor costing ali a few rounds. some fight, I'm tired just watching it
Post by: Declan on April 30, 2007, 01:07:52 PM
Great left hook by Frazier to floor Ali as well. Despite winning Frazier spent longer in hospital recovering than Ali!!!!

Great fight and Ali thumped him in the rematch over 12 rounds in MSG before the final leg in Manila.
Post by: Hardy on April 30, 2007, 02:16:06 PM
I remember at the time thinking Ali was robbed - thought he won it clearly, even allowing for the knockdown. Does it still look that way? I haven't seen it since.
Post by: passedit on April 30, 2007, 02:35:32 PM
QuoteI remember at the time thinking Ali was robbed - thought he won it clearly, even allowing for the knockdown. Does it still look that way? I haven't seen it since.

I was of that opinion myself Hardy and myself and the brother staged many a rematch over the result at the time. Having just watched it again it was a lot closer to call than my (very young) Ali tinted specs called it the first time. Ali bossed the early rounds while Frazier had huge 11th and last rounds. The fight was scored on rounds and on that basis I still think ali shaded it but the three judges had it 8-6-1, 9-6 and 11-4 frazier. That's just bollix.
Post by: Hardy on April 30, 2007, 02:48:14 PM
As you say - the Vietnam factor was probably the difference.
Post by: Jack Dempsey on April 30, 2007, 03:22:51 PM
Anyone see David Haye the other night. He is going to be a very big name is boxing soon enough. Mark my words
Post by: CiKe on April 30, 2007, 04:43:56 PM
Haye seems to have the power and is a slick enough boxer but tends to carry his hands too low from the little I have seem of him. Certainly there have been questions about his stamina and ability to take a shot, but can't say I've seen enough of him to be able to judge properly.
Post by: passedit on April 30, 2007, 04:56:40 PM
I'd always be wary of any boxer who i've seen on the couch of soccer am before i've seen him in the ring. Bit of a hype machine getting going about him. Heard Steve Bunce raving about him on 5Live at the weekend as well. Demolished some lad Fraudley Harrison struggled to put away, hmmm.

In fairness i'll wait till the 'Hayemaker' fights someone decent.
Post by: Square Ball on April 30, 2007, 06:18:35 PM
Quote from: passedit on April 30, 2007, 04:56:40 PM
I'd always be wary of any boxer who i've seen on the couch of soccer am before i've seen him in the ring. Bit of a hype machine getting going about him. Heard Steve Bunce raving about him on 5Live at the weekend as well. Demolished some lad Fraudley Harrison struggled to put away, hmmm.

that would be nearly everyone he fought
Post by: gallsman on April 30, 2007, 08:55:37 PM
De La Hoya v Mayweather this weekend! It's probably disappeared amid all the overblown hype, but there should be a very good fight lying underneath there somewhere! As great a fighter as Mayweather is, he's an obnoxious little turd and hope Oscar puts him in his place. If Mayweather can bring any sort of power to light middle he should win however, he's just too quick and an ageing de la Hoya might have trouble hitting him.Haye is a very fast, slick boxer but I'd be suspicious of a fella a 40 year old Carl Thompson demolished a few years ago. Haye insists that he plans to go back down to cruiser to take on Mormeck, but apparently there's word of a rubber match between Mormeck and O'Neil Bell
Post by: Declan on May 01, 2007, 07:31:04 AM
QuoteDe La Hoya v Mayweather this weekend

Should be a cracker alright. Think Mayweather may have the edge though
Post by: lurganblue on May 01, 2007, 08:46:54 AM
Quote from: Declan on May 01, 2007, 07:31:04 AM
QuoteDe La Hoya v Mayweather this weekend

Should be a cracker alright. Think Mayweather may have the edge though

i hope mayweather wins and does not retire after, in the hope that he'll go ahead and fight hatton next
Post by: thejuice on May 03, 2007, 08:16:46 AM
i think he does plan on fighting Hatton, he said he would retire form boxing in the US but he would still fight one last time against Hatton.
Post by: CiKe on May 03, 2007, 07:55:46 PM
whatever about him beating De La Hoya, he would destroy Hatton. De La Hoya is considerably bigger than Mayweather and has one of the best left hooks in the business, if he can simply outmuscle Mayweather we might be in for an interesting fight as I don't think Mayweather has anywhere near the power to cause a stoppage. That said, bullying Floyd will be no easy task as his ring generalship is just about the best there is.

Hatton's not fit to lace his boots, and his face would be cut up as badly as Gatti's by the end of the fight - probably worse actually as I'm not sure Mayweather could stop him, which would mean slicing him up for a full 12 rounds.

If Mayweather keeps fighting the biggest fight out there for him after this is Shane Mosley. I think he has more of a chance than De La Hoya as he is as strong, if not stronger than De La Hoya and as fast if not faster than Mayweather himself.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 03, 2007, 07:59:00 PM
I'm pulling for the Golden Boy
Post by: Declan on May 04, 2007, 08:34:38 AM
QuoteI'm pulling for the Golden Boy

Bad mental image there GH ::)
Post by: Imposerous on May 04, 2007, 01:22:44 PM
Should be a very interesting fight.  Two contrasting individuals.  I love Mayweather's speed, but this is big step-up in weight.  De la Hoya has been sparring with Mosely, which is ideal preparation for him.  Looking forward to it.
Post by: thejuice on May 04, 2007, 01:55:08 PM
Should be a good bout. But I expect Mayweather to win, he's younger and undefeated. De La Hoya will tire more if it goes beyond 8-9 rounds. But nothing can be taken for  granted.
Post by: Tyrones own on May 05, 2007, 01:12:38 AM

I'll take De La Hoya to knock him out in the 6th 8)
Post by: stew on May 05, 2007, 01:26:43 AM
De La Hoya is old in boxing terms and as great as he was this fight is a reach, Mayweather to win  by TKO in 7. I hope I am wrong though.

This might be the fight that defines De La Hoya as a fighter, a win here will elevate him among the boxing immortals.
Post by: Tyrones own on May 05, 2007, 02:21:48 AM
Quote from: stew on May 05, 2007, 01:26:43 AM
De La Hoya is old in boxing terms and as great as he was this fight is a reach, Mayweather to win  by TKO in 7. I hope I am wrong though.

This might be the fight that defines De La Hoya as a fighter, a win here will elevate him among the boxing immortals.

Exactly Stew but i feel this may well play into his hands, its been played fairly well in the media at this point.
  He's crafty, has serious power, taller and a longer reach, if he can keep the straight left jab in his face to keep him out
  the big right may well start finding its target.
  Has Mayweather's chin been tested to date against the power of a De La Hoya?
Post by: CiKe on May 05, 2007, 09:58:58 AM
Mayweather's chin hasn't been tested by anything like De La Hoya's power, the biggest puncher that I can think of that he has faced was Judah, but De la Hoya is a whole different animal. He may well only have outweighed Mayweather by 4lbs at the weigh in but i'd be surprised if it wasn't between 10-15lbs come fight time - he was on the limit and will bulk up considerably whereas if Floyd was going to bulk up any more he wouldn't have come in so low ie I expect Mayweather to enter the ring at or around the 150lbs he weighed for the weigh in.

Mayweather does not have the power to stop De La Hoya unless it's on cuts, and I don't recall Oscar ever cutting that badly. Oscar has been in with the biggest punchers at or around this weight level for the last 6-7 years including Quartey and Tito who are both much more powerful than Mayweather and also Mosley and Mayorga.

I'll go for Mayweather on points. If it's a KO then there is only one winner.
Post by: corn02 on May 05, 2007, 11:14:11 AM
Mayweather is not as cocky as he seems, as he said himself his trash talking is just a way to relax him before the fight. A bit of sportsmanship with no intent.

Anyone else sick of all the sky hype? I am sick hearing about the fight of the century and the build up shows every hour or so. Let us just enjoy the fight.
Post by: CiKe on May 05, 2007, 12:11:50 PM
Agreed Corn with all they hype it really is setting the fight up to be a real let down. Fingers crossed that won't be the case - hope it turns out that Mayweather can take DLH's best punches with relative ease, because if he cant we could have him backpedalling into a defensive shell very quickly - something that no one is better than him at.
Post by: stew on May 05, 2007, 05:18:05 PM
Baies if they dont hype the bloody thing up no one watches it, thats why they do it.

The last fights to really live up to the hype were when the hitman was knocking about, the fights he was involved in were the best ever, end of.

Three great fighters and a decent quitter in that era.

Hearns.

Hagler.

Leonard.

And duran the quitter.
Post by: slievegullion on May 05, 2007, 05:36:57 PM
Yes Stew, promotion is essential. But there is such a thing as over hping it.
Post by: CiKe on May 05, 2007, 06:11:40 PM
Very unfair comment on Duran Stew as I'm sure you're aware. Much the smaller man when he fought any of the other three you mentioned, he fought them between 10 and 20lbs above his best weight - he isn't after all widely recognised as the the best lightweight ever for nothing
Post by: gallsman on May 06, 2007, 01:45:58 AM
Was that actually a dig at a legend such as Duran Stew? You seem to be implying that not wanting to be beaten up by one of the greatest fighters of all time was something to be ashamed of! Even after the "No Mas" fight he went the distance with one of the two greatest Middleweights of all time and in beating Barkley at the age of 37, he took out one of the most feared punchers of the day, while in his prime!
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 06, 2007, 04:26:08 AM
Anyone up for the De La Hoya vs Mayweather fight?  Boxing is THE sport, and there isnt any better.  I hope tonights fight does not disapoint.  Mayweather seems to be the favourite but I hope De La Hoya beats him.  Come on De La Hoya!
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 06, 2007, 05:58:42 AM
Well what a fight.  Great night of boxing with a fight that boxing needed.  Very tight fight, very little between them, Mayweather won by split decision.  I dont agree with the decision myself, I had De La Hoya by two rounds, that he done more overall.

I'd love to see a rematch but Mayweather says hes going to retire, it will be interesting to see if he keeps his word.
Post by: CiKe on May 06, 2007, 09:21:48 AM
I had Mayweather by one in what was a much closer fight than I thought it would be. He initially had trouble keeping DLH off him which meant he lost the first half of the fight but I had him win four of the last five rounds as DLH tired - was very similar to the Trinidad fight in that respect.

Neither fighter really hurt the other at any time during the fight and I think it would have been a shame if DLH had won on aggression alone when the better boxing was virtually all Mayweather - as I mentioned given the disparity in size he was always going to have to fight from the outside. That said I thought Floyd could and should have been busier at times to make things more clear cut.
Post by: corn02 on May 06, 2007, 01:18:09 PM
Stayed up for the fight and glad I did, excellent match.

For the record I had Maywaether by two rounds, I am actually surprised it went to a split. He was the smarter boxer, he preserved his energy and only threw punches when the oppurtunity arose, even if De La Hoyas defence was excellent.

I am a fan of both boxers, but what a bit dissapointed with Floyd after the match, he was anything but gracious in victory. We all know that villian thing was an act before the match, probably set up by the PPV organisers, but he should of had the decency to tell DLH how good a boxer he was.
Post by: Tyrones own on May 06, 2007, 03:29:01 PM

You can take the man out of the bog..............................., kn**ker
Post by: An Laoch on May 06, 2007, 03:38:51 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 06, 2007, 01:18:09 PM
Stayed up for the fight and glad I did, excellent match.

For the record I had Maywaether by two rounds, I am actually surprised it went to a split. He was the smarter boxer, he preserved his energy and only threw punches when the oppurtunity arose, even if De La Hoyas defence was excellent.

I am a fan of both boxers, but what a bit dissapointed with Floyd after the match, he was anything but gracious in victory. We all know that villian thing was an act before the match, probably set up by the PPV organisers, but he should of had the decency to tell DLH how good a boxer he was.

I'd echo your post on all counts. I was REALLY impressed by De La Hoya, him and Freddie Roach had a plan that very nearly worked. I've never seen Mayweather look so troubled only that Oscar ran out of puff he would have taken an undisputable decision. A very enjoyable fight though, well worth keeping the matchsticks between the eyes through the night.

Post by: behind the wire on May 06, 2007, 04:45:58 PM
sat up to watch it then nodded off after round 3 or 4 and didnt wake up again til 11th round. from what i saw of the fight i thought it looked pretty even - de la hoya looked tired in the 11th. i think if dlh way 5 years younger he would have chewed him up and spat him out.

cant say id have much time for mayweather, seems like a bit of a p***k going on about god winning the fight for him and all that. should have given de la hoya much more credit. de la hoya appeared to be a much better sportsman, he is a true legend.

one more thing:
HOW CAN ANYONE EVER SLAG OFF ROBERTO DURAN?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 06, 2007, 09:54:10 PM
De La Hoya is a true gentleman, one of my favourites in the sport.  I'm not a fan of Mayweather outside of the ring either, not because he thanked God, dont see whats wrong with that.  But he comes accross as a bit of a p***k with the way he acts.  And while there is nothing worng with saying you are good at something are having that small bit of arrogance, Maywather goes compleatly overboard.

I still think De La Hoya landed way more punches last night and should have got the decision.  But it was tight.
Post by: CiKe on May 07, 2007, 12:58:58 PM
Galwaybhoy DLH threw more punches but didn't land more - punch stats show Mayweather landed about 210 to DLH's 130. I know you can talk about lies, damned lies and statistics but this bears out what I thought - Mayweather was just much more economical hence his greater stamina down the stretch. I'd hazard a guess at saying that DLH probably only landed about 20-30 punches in the last four r0unds combined.

I hope Mayweather doesn't retire and fights Mosley and Cotto. Have never been that big a fan of DLH to be honest as he has gotten some very dodgy decisions in the past particularly against Whitaker, but also against Quartey (admittedly not an outright robbery) and  Sturm. I know there's a lot of debate about the Trinidad fight, but for me he lost it. Haven't seen the second Mosley fight where an awful lot of people say he was robbed, so can't comment on that. End of the line for him anyway, first ballot Hall of Famer no doubt, who deserves great credit for fighting the best out there
Post by: behind the wire on May 07, 2007, 06:25:25 PM
there seems to be a few of the lads on here that know a good bit about boxing so was just wondering what would your opinions be for the top 5 boxing legends of all time. i know a bit about boxing but not near as much as some of you lads.

its just for a bit of craic to see what different people say.

mine would be:
1. muhammed ali
2. joe louis
3. ray leonard
4. tommy hearns
5. roberto duran

im sure there will be different opinions. thats just mine from my limited knowledge of boxing.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 07, 2007, 07:19:43 PM
I have been a fan of the sport since I first got hooked after watching Eubank vs Collins when I was only about 9 or 10 years old.

Thats a very good question behind the wire, It would take me ages to think about that.  I dont really like to pick boxers that I have never really seen such as Louis and Hearns.  So I'll have to think about that for awhile.
Post by: gallsman on May 07, 2007, 08:25:24 PM
From my limited enough knowledge:

1) Robinson
2) Ali
3) Louis
4) Armstrong
5) Chavez
Post by: behind the wire on May 07, 2007, 09:38:26 PM
no bother galwaybhoy, let me know what your selection would be when u have thought about it.

my picks are only from what i have read and from what i have seen on espn - love watching the old fights on espn, i definitely think the boxing was better back then.

gallsman, i forgot about ray robinson - he was definitely one of the greatest from what i have heard. dont know much about chavez or armstrong - but as i said i only have a limited knowledge. yous west belfast men could tell us a thing or two about boxing.
Post by: An Laoch on May 07, 2007, 09:39:11 PM
Nice question, I've seen most of the old tapes, but it's hard to judge the oldtimers really...but here goes.

1) Ali - the guy completely changed the sport. A stunning talent and extraordinary character (in the sporting sense rather than the comedic - where he was also an extraordinary character)

2) Duran - if you ever get a chance to watch the fight where he beat Leonard you will see a man incredibly determined
and driven, using every trick in the book to win. He was never a boxer, but as a fighter he was the king.

3) Sugar Ray Robinson - A man with dazzling speed and a fantastic record. Reckoned by those from the era to be the greatest by far.

4) Julio Cesar Chavez - Born to box, and did so for as long as he was physically able. A heart and determination surpassing all others.

5) Erm....controversially....Floyd Mayweather - I have seen no one with the natural ability and reflexes he has. Ok he didn't look great against De La Hoya, but look at how much weight he gave up. Back down the weights Mayweather was AWESOME. He narrowly pips Roy Jones to make my top 5.

But I could probably give you a completely different top 5 tomorrow which would include the vastly underrated Lennox Lewis. When do I get to Tyson you ask? Well I think he was fortunate in his timing but that's another post for another day.

I've been staying up for the 3am fights for about20 years, I think Tyson v Williams was my first when I was about 8!

Post by: Tyrones own on May 08, 2007, 12:39:19 AM
  "But I could probably give you a completely different top 5 tomorrow which would include the vastly underrated Lennox Lewis. When do I get to Tyson you ask? Well I think he was fortunate in his timing but that's another post for another day."

Under rated my hole, at his best he was only a big girl
Where was he when Tyson, Holyfield and the likes were at their best, hiding thats where!
hid behind and fought a bunch of nobodies his whole career then steped up when
both Tyson and Holyfield were past it, beat them then retired citing that there was no competion left for him.
Give me a break.
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2007, 01:53:49 AM
Tyrone's Own-  where was Lewis when Tyson and Holyfield were in their prime, you ask? Being ducked that's where he was. Bowe (beat Holyfield twice) refused to fight him and for years fighters used Lewis' subsequent loss to McCall as an excuse for not fighting him. You question Lewis' motives for retiring? What other credible challengers were there out there? He'd beaten the better of the Klitschkos, even if it was only on cuts. He wouldn't have cut any less easily in a rematch. Rahman again? As good a boxer as James Toney is, he's still a blown up Super Middlewieght who earned a credible draw with Rahman. Jones? Jones didn't really want it, and subsequent fights have shown that the Ruiz fight was by far and away the peak of his career. The only way from there was down, and Ruiz vs. Lewis would have been laughable

Never mind Duran vs. Leonard, watch Duran vs. Barkley for pure guts and will to survive.

I resent beign called a West Belfast man!
Post by: Tyrones own on May 08, 2007, 06:14:58 AM

My point exactly, some fierce scary names there alright, McCaul knocked him out and he was a farce, Rahman knocked him out,
  He refused to fight Ruiz, Klitchko had him well beaten before the fight was stopped for a cut who might i add wanted a rematch
which came to be the result of Lewis retiring, he knew well he'd be found out.
So I'll reiterate a point made earlier, they were all nobodies and he struggled against most all of them and ran away from the others
End of.
Post by: CiKe on May 08, 2007, 06:45:25 AM
Tyrone's Own. Not sure if you're suggesting Tyson was better than Lewis and in their respective peaks i'm not sure. The fact however is, Lewis fought better names, the best on Tyson's win list being Spinks, Witherspoon and Bonecrusher Smith.

Like GalwayBhoy not keen on including people have barely seen fight so here are my top five from last 20 odd years in no particular order:

Pernell Whitaker
Roy Jones Jr
Floyd Mayweather Jr
Julio Cesar Chavez
Ricardo Lopez
Post by: Hound on May 08, 2007, 08:09:56 AM
There is no doubt Lennox Lewis was the best heavyweight of his generation.

I remember his awesome display against Razor Ruddock when he demolished him in two rounds. That was a title eliminator, with the winner to fight Riddick Bowe. Bowe ran scared though, Lewis had knocked him out in the Olympics and Bowe knew it would happen again so decided to vacate rather than fight. That was very unfortunate for Lewis's career - he would have got a lot more credit a lot earlier if Bowe hadnt been chicken.

Any heavyweight can be knocked out if they're caught off guard and caught plum. That happened to Lewis v McCall, and it did adversely affect Lewis for the rest of his career as it made him a little more negative than he should have been. He was still the best around though. And while he was twice beaten in his career, he avenged both defeats.
Post by: glens73 on May 08, 2007, 08:59:19 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/6633887.stm

Very sad news, involved in probably one of the best fights ever against Castillo.
Post by: behind the wire on May 08, 2007, 10:00:09 AM
thought that question would create a bit of debate, everyone will have their opinion - its all just a bit of craic. keep the opinions coming.

also forgot about roy jones junior when setting out my list, one of the best pound for pound boxers there has been, especially in recent years anyway.

gallsman - sorry for the west belfast label.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2007, 10:23:36 AM
since boxing went PPV I have hardly seen much of it this past 15 years - at least.

The boxers that I recall watching that were great were
Ali,Tyson, Hagler,Sugar Ray Leonard

with Hearns, Duran, Mugabe all involved in superb fights with the middleweights above (mostly losing to them all)

Marvellous Marvin Hagler v John the beast mugabe - still etched on my mind as a fantastic frenetic all out brawl of a boxing match

In the late 80's some cracking fights between the brit boxers
Benn, Eubanks, Watson and was it McCallum?

Terry Marsh was also a classy and callous boxer, but I suppose could say he generally fought no hopers.

Would love to get to see boxing on TV again.
Post by: Declan on May 08, 2007, 11:43:04 AM
Didn't get to see all the fight but it seems like Oscars legs gave out on him and Mayweathers greater accuracy did just about enough to get the call. Interestingly though Oscar came out with the ould chestnut about him being the champ and that Mayweather hadn't done enough to take the title. If Mayweather wants to be considered amongst the all time greats he'll have to do more than box like an amatuer fro 12 rounds though in my opinion.

My alltime top 5:
1) Robinson - The original and the best Sugar
2) Ali  - Transformed how boxing was perceived and how to fight
3) Louis - Top of the heap when there were only 8 champions
4) Armstrong - Hammerin Hank - a multiple belt winner when they meant something.
5) Leonard - Best of that fabulous bunch of welters/middles that were around in the 80's heyday. 
Post by: An Laoch on May 08, 2007, 12:06:29 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on May 08, 2007, 12:39:19 AM
  Under rated my hole, at his best he was only a big girl
Where was he when Tyson, Holyfield and the likes were at their best, hiding thats where!

I can't really add a lot to Gallsmans answer to this, he's spot on. Lewis was dodged consistently but comprehensively beat anyone put in front of him including the "baddest man on earth".

Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2007, 01:28:53 PM
Christ, that's some sad news about Corrales! He was on the slide, but boy those Castillo fights were something else. RIP.

Tyrone's Own- What I'm saying is that there was nobody left for him, so why not retire? He did fight some bums, yeah, but every decent challenger got a look in as well. The McCall fight was a blip, and in retrospect, McCall turned out to be a nutjob capable of losing to Bruno. Lewis made amends the night McCall cried his eyes out. Rahman got a lucky punch in against a cocky Lewis who was too concerned with Ocean's Eleven than a title fight. He came back and knocked him out in the rematch. Klitschko was beaten, cuts or not. There was no way he could continue, As I said, he would have cut up just as badly in a rematch.

If we're doing the fighters of our generation thing, I'll go for:

1) Chavez (I know the Whitaker draw was lucky, but 89-0, come on!)
2) Jones
3) Whitaker
4) Azumah Nelson
5) Floyd

I know Lopez retired undefeated, but I've simply never seen him. Straw-weight gets virtually no exposure!
Post by: Uladh on May 08, 2007, 02:01:42 PM
Lewis was the best heavyweight of my sport watching lifetime. he'd have wiped the floor with klitshko in his prime and as someone said, fighting ruiz would have been a waste of time. bowe (who he beat in the olympics), tyson and holyfield avoided him throughout his prime. king wouldn't let him at either of the last two because it'd have taken control of the golden calf away from king. Razor Ruddock took tyson the distance twice and on occasion tyson hit him with everything and couldn't put him down. King thought he was ridding himself of Lewis by making him face ruddock in a "final eliminator" to fight tyson. Lewis demolished ruddock in one of the most explosive demonstrations of speed & power you're ever likely to see. what happened next? no title shot for lewis.

granted holyfield and tyson were done when they finally fought lewis but niether bout was really a contest. Lewis lost two fights to lucky punches when he was past his best, casual about anyone being able to challenge him and not conditioned. it happens every fighter who slips into the comfort zone.

Lewis, holyfoeld and tyson, along with bowe to a lesser extent, could've perpetuated a golden era for heavyweight boxing if they'd fought each other at the right times and not allowed promoters to dictate theur career paths. but in my opinion lewis would've prevailed against them all. he'd have destroyed bowe and would've knocked tyson out every time. holyfield in his priime would've been the icing. he'd have kept coming back for more even if lewis put him down and it'd have been interesting to see how lewis would've dealt with that kind of mindset. pity none of it transpired.

My top 5 would be

1) Clay

2) Robinson

3) Frazier

4) Lewis

5) Jones

(http://cache.gettyimages.com/xc/74083664.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193121F0CA65233434880AAB36D79C533BF)
Post by: An Laoch on May 08, 2007, 05:11:19 PM
Love that picture Uladh! That's Mayweather all over, gloves down by his hips making an all-time great look like someone swinging digs on the dancfloor full of bulmers.

Interesting to see Frazier in your list - he'd struggle to make my top 10 heavyweight list.
Post by: heganboy on May 08, 2007, 06:08:47 PM
anybody else rate Hagler? marvellous Marvin vs Hitman Hearns was a great great fight , not to mention that he beat Leonard despite what the judges said- though I would rate Leonard as a better fighter in his prime.
Eubank, (pre Watson fight) was a pleasure to watch, however there were times subsequent to that fight when he refused to finish a fight off with the knock out punch (collins). Eubank Benn and later Collins made up a nice little division I thought
Post by: stew on May 08, 2007, 07:46:41 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on May 07, 2007, 09:39:11 PM
Nice question, I've seen most of the old tapes, but it's hard to judge the oldtimers really...but here goes.

1) Ali - the guy completely changed the sport. A stunning talent and extraordinary character (in the sporting sense rather than the comedic - where he was also an extraordinary character)

2) Duran - if you ever get a chance to watch the fight where he beat Leonard you will see a man incredibly determined
and driven, using every trick in the book to win. He was never a boxer, but as a fighter he was the king.

3) Sugar Ray Robinson - A man with dazzling speed and a fantastic record. Reckoned by those from the era to be the greatest by far.

4) Julio Cesar Chavez - Born to box, and did so for as long as he was physically able. A heart and determination surpassing all others.

5) Erm....controversially....Floyd Mayweather - I have seen no one with the natural ability and reflexes he has. Ok he didn't look great against De La Hoya, but look at how much weight he gave up. Back down the weights Mayweather was AWESOME. He narrowly pips Roy Jones to make my top 5.

But I could probably give you a completely different top 5 tomorrow which would include the vastly underrated Lennox Lewis. When do I get to Tyson you ask? Well I think he was fortunate in his timing but that's another post for another day.

I've been staying up for the 3am fights for about20 years, I think Tyson v Williams was my first when I was about 8!

Duran my arse!!! if the quitter was the 2nd on a list of quitters I would say that might be more accurate but on such a list i would put him  umber 1.
Post by: muppet on May 08, 2007, 07:52:27 PM
Hagler v Hearns - Unbelievable 1st round  (http://www.metacafe.com/watch/195248/greatest_1st_round_in_middleweight_history/)

More Hagler v Hearns (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUO8-ltkG2I)

Sugar Ray against the Hitman in 1981( round 14 ) (http://www.metacafe.com/watch/344523/sugar_ray_leonard_vs_thomas_hearns_boxings_greats_duke_it_out/)

Sugar Ray v Floyd Mayweather Snr (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2S_YYhI-cA4&mode=related&search=)

Sugar Ray's first fight above middleweight, typical finish (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RU-CS7o878A)

Young Tyson (http://video.yahoo.com/video/play?vid=1094471824&fr=yfp-t-501) - Say what you like but for a few years we thought he was going to be the greatest.

This is the greatest - Hard to believe it was a shock at the time (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kf64ZCYVcEI)

Post by: CiKe on May 08, 2007, 10:21:21 PM
terribly sad news about Corrales - initially when I saw the headline I assumed it was fas a result of some the beatings he took in the ring - -involved in absolute wars with Castillo, Casamayor and Freitas not to mention being knocked down five times by the Pretty Boy. Unbelievable blood and guts courage.

stew you obviously know nothing about boxing - please refer to my earlier post on Duran. As I think someone else said, he wasn't nearly the most skilled boxer of the "Famous Four" but he was some blood and guts fighter hence the nickname the "Scrapper from Panama". For a picture perfect knock out, watch the Hitman knock him clean out (2nd round I think)

I haven't really seen enough of the "Famous Four" to comment on each of them or rank them. Hagler was an absolute beast with a rock like chin and for my money he beat Ray Leonard. His fight with the Hitman is still the most exciting 8 minutes in boxing history - there have been many better rounds than the famous round 1, even quite a few of them over just the last 10 years - but no better three rounds, certainly that I can remember

The fights involving the British (super)middles around the early 90's were great to watch. I think Watson was the only one to fight McCallum of the three top Brits and if I recall correctly he was beaten quite handily. The McClellan-Benn fight was tragic but a real humdinger of a fight - Benn knocked clean out of the ring within a minute and somehow hung on to win.

McCallum would probably be in my top 10 of the last 20 years.

Post by: Declan on May 09, 2007, 09:59:27 AM
Great clips there muppet. Hagler was some man alright - never forget his body shots against Minter in Wembley. A great fighter but I always felt Leonard was that little bit better.
QuoteI think Watson was the only one to fight McCallum of the three top Brits and if I recall correctly he was beaten quite handily

Didn't our own Celtic Warrior give McCallum a good fight in America before he fell out with the Petronnellis?
Title: Re:Top 5
Post by: passedit on May 09, 2007, 10:31:59 AM
1. Danny Mc Alinden
2. Richard Dunn
3. Jack Bodell
4. Enery Cooper
5. Joe (Hugger) Bugner
Post by: The Iceman on May 09, 2007, 04:44:21 PM
Best Lightweight ever is a hard one to call between Duran and Barrera

Hearns was the Hitman but the two Sugars: Leonard and Robinson were awesome.

Roy Jones Jr was the man in his time - he reigned as the best pound for pound fighter in the wolrd in his prime

Heavyweights - there is only one  - ALI

favourite fighter though was Tyson for sheer entertainment value and the taste of blood in the air when he was fighting.  A wasted talent but then again that can be said for so many fighters in this era.
Post by: gallsman on May 09, 2007, 04:48:32 PM
Yep, McCallum did indeed fight the Celtic Warrior, beat him on points. I've seen clips of that fight as well as the Kalambay fight and they were both great efforts by Steve. With him and McCullough around at the same time, we had two of the hardest chins in the business!

Didn't Minter procliam that "no black man" was going to take his title? Over in three rounds shows how much Hagler was pissed!

Barrera a lightweight? You might want to check your history books...As far as I know, he never fought at lightweight in his life!

No doubt Jones was as awesome fighter, but he should have fought a hell of a lot more decent fighters when he he was at middle and super middle e.g Collins, McClellan.
Post by: CiKe on May 09, 2007, 07:22:01 PM
most of Barrera's fights have been featherweight or super featherweight/junior lightweight.

Barrera was fantastic but isn't even the best Mexican in and around that weight class never mind the best in the world. And it's not Morales either, but Salvador Sanchez. Hard to call possibly given he died in accident at age of 23, but watch his fights against Wilfredo Gomez and Azumah Nelson. The one with Nelson is jsut unreal, non-stop for virtually every second of 15 rounds until it was stopped one minute from the end. Nelson was at this stage largely unknown but went on to becomeprobably one of the top 10-15 of the last 25 years
Post by: behind the wire on May 09, 2007, 09:14:52 PM
all very interesting lads. just another question, how do you all rate bernard hopkins? although he is getting on a bit now i think i would still like to see him and calzage in the ring togeather.
Post by: gallsman on May 09, 2007, 10:18:34 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on May 09, 2007, 09:14:52 PM
how do you all rate bernard hopkins?

Very highly, end of!

He lost two close fights to Taylor, the first of which I thought he won. Came back from them to absolutely annihilate Tarver!
Title: Re: Top 50 plus links
Post by: passedit on May 10, 2007, 12:41:04 AM
None of my top 5 made it. I must know less about boxing than Stew. No wait:

http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/news/story?id=2815643 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/news/story?id=2815643)

50. Mike Tyson

Heavyweight
Ring career: 1985-2005. Record: 50-6-0-2 (44 KOs)
Career notes: Knocked out Trevor Berbick in the second round in November 1986 to become youngest heavyweight champion in history. ... Intimidating demeanor and devastating two-fisted knockout power cowed many opponents into submission before the first bell. ... Tore through heavyweight ranks until being upended by 42-1 underdog James "Buster" Douglas in 1990. ... Comeback was derailed by a prison sentence for rape from 1992 to 1995. ... Regained WBC heavyweight belt from Frank Bruno and WBA belt from Bruce Seldon in 1996, but lost to Evander Holyfield in November of that year. Melted down in rematch, biting both of Holyfield's ears. ... Was beaten badly over eight rounds by Lennox Lewis in 2002. ... Quit on his stool after six rounds in his last fight, against Kevin McBride, in 2005.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Mike Tyson ESPN Video

49. Erik Morales

Super bantamweight, featherweight, junior lightweight
Ring career: 1993-present Record: 48-5 (34 KOs)
Career notes: Tremendously popular Mexican warrior, whose fights frequently evoke technical brawls of old. ... Career defined primarily by three-fight series with compatriot Marco Antonio Barrera (W12, L12, L12) and Manny Pacquiao (W12, TKO by 10, KO by 3). ... Won WBC super bantamweight title from Daniel Zaragoza in September 1997 and defended nine times. ... Won WBC featherweight crown in September 2000, lost it to Barrera in June 2002, regained now-vacant title five months later. ... Vacated to seize WBC 130-pound championship in February 2004, which he lost in November that year, again to Barrera. ... Has lost four of his last five and is clearly in decline, but has expressed interest in having at least one more fight, for a lightweight belt.

48. Floyd Mayweather Jr.

Junior lightweight, lightweight, junior welterweight, welterweight, junior middleweight
Ring career: 1996-present. Record: 38-0 (24 KOs)
Career notes: Has greater potential than anyone on this list to rise or fall. ... Blessed with tremendous natural ability, but also a skilled technician. ... Won WBC 130-pound title with stoppage of Genaro Hernandez in 18th pro fight. ... Added WBC lightweight belt in 2002, and junior welterweight belt in 2005. ... Defeated Carlos Baldomir to become welterweight champion last year. ... Won split decision against Oscar De La Hoya to annex WBC super welterweight crown. ... Claims to now be retired.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Floyd Mayweather Jr. ESPN Video

47. Bernard Hopkins

Middleweight, light heavyweight
Ring career: 1988-present Record: 47-4-1 (32 KOs)
Career notes: Lost professional debut, as a light heavyweight, and did not fight again for 16 months. ... Lost first world title challenge, against Roy Jones Jr. for vacant IBF middleweight belt, in 1993. ... Drew with Segundo Mercado in second title attempt, for the same belt, in 1994, but stopped Mercado in rematch. ... Made 20 successful title defenses, adding WBC and IBF titles in 2001, and WBO belt in 2004. ... Lost titles to Jermain Taylor in 2005. ... Retired after stepping up to light heavyweight and defeating Antonio Tarver in 2006, but will emerge from retirement to fight Winky Wright in July.

46. Roy Jones Jr.

Middleweight, super middleweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight
Ring career: 1989-present Record: 50-4 (38 KOs)
Career notes: Tremendously physically gifted, with lightning reflexes and hand speed. ... Won IBF middleweight title against Bernard Hopkins in 1993, then stepped up to super middleweight and dethroned champion James Toney in November 1994. ... After five defenses of 168-pound crown, moved up to light heavyweight, becoming first WBC, then WBA and IBF champion. ... In 2003, added a portion of the heavyweight championship when he dominated WBA titlist John Ruiz. ... Through first 50 contests, only defeat was by DQ against Montell Griffin.

45. Carlos Monzon

Middleweight
Ring career: 1963-77 Record: 87-3-9-1 (59 KOs)
Career notes: Lost three times in first 19 bouts, then went undefeated over the final 81 of career. ... Won world middleweight title from Nino Benvenuti in Rome in November 1970, and defended it 14 times over next seven years.

44. Pernell Whitaker

Lightweight, junior welterweight, welterweight
Ring career: 1984-2001 Record: 40-4-1-1 (17 KOs)
Career notes: Defensive master frequently left opponents flummoxed and struggling to tackle unorthodox moves. ... Only definitive defeats of career were final two bouts; of other two losses, one was controversial and one, his first world title shot, against WBC champion Jose Ramirez in 1988, was considered outright robbery. ... Won the title, against Greg Haugen, following year, and defeated Ramirez in a rematch. ... Added WBA lightweight belt in 1990, IBF junior welterweight title in 1992 and WBC welterweight belt in 1993. ... Widely believed to have beaten Julio Cesar Chavez in September 1993 bout declared a draw. ... Lost close decision to Oscar De La Hoya in April 1997, and didn't hold world title again.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Pernell Whitaker ESPN Video

43. Marco Antonio Barrera

Junior featherweight, featherweight, junior lightweight
Ring career: 1989-present Record: 63-5 (42 KOs)
Career notes: Mexican brawler has evolved into masterful boxer-puncher. ... Won WBO 122-pound title in March 1995, but lost title in shocker to Junior Jones in November 1996. ... Regained vacant title in October 1998, and moved up to featherweight in April 2001, dominating favored Englishman Naseem Hamed. ... Rebounded from stoppage defeat to Manny Pacquiao to defeat Erik Morales for second time in three-fight series and take the WBC super featherweight title. ... Lost title to compatriot Juan Manuel Marquez in March.

42. Alexis Arguello

Featherweight, junior lightweight, lightweight, junior welterweight
Ring career: 1968-95 Record: 80-8 (64 KOs)
Career notes: Classy boxer-puncher renowned for gentlemanly behavior and attitude outside ring. ... Failed in first attempt at world title, falling short over 15 rounds in bid for WBA featherweight strap against Ernesto Marcel in February 1974. ... Won the title on next attempt, dethroning Ruben Olivares later that year. ... Defended title four times before annexing WBC 130-pound crown in January 1978; after eight defenses, moved up to lightweight, outpointing WBC champ Jim Watt in 1981. ... Came up short in two epic battles with Aaron Pryor for 140-pound championship in 1982 and 1983, after which he retired, before making two short comebacks.

41. Ted "Kid" Lewis

Featherweight, welterweight, middleweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight
Ring career: 1909-29 Record: 173-30-14 (71 KOs) and 65 no-decisions
Career notes: Won British featherweight title while only 18, and added European crown four months later. ... Won world welterweight title from Jack Britton in August 1915, before losing it to, regaining it from, and losing it once more to Britton in subsequent bouts. ... Fought Britton 20 times, with 12 of the bouts ending in no-decisions. ... Returned to Britain to annex that country's middleweight, light heavyweight and heavyweight crowns, and challenged world light heavyweight (and European heavyweight) champion Georges Carpentier in 1922, despite weighing only 153 pounds.
Post by: passedit on May 10, 2007, 11:11:10 AM
http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest3140 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest3140)

40. Evander Holyfield

Cruiserweight, heavyweight
Ring career: 1984-present Record: 41-8-2 (26 KOs)
Career notes: Considered to have one of the greatest fighting hearts of any boxer. ... Recognized as greatest champion in history of mostly moribund heavyweight division. ... Won WBA cruiser belt by split decision against Dwight Muhammad Qawi after a tremendous battle in just 12th pro bout. ... Later added IBF and WBC belts before moving up to heavyweight. ... Knocked out Buster Douglas in third round to become heavyweight champion in 1990. ... Lost title to, and regained it from, Riddick Bowe in 1992 and 1993, respectively, before losing it again to Michael Moorer. ... Regained WBA belt with stunning 11th-round knockout of Mike Tyson in 1996; Tyson bit off part of his ear en route to disqualification in the rematch. ... Widely adjudged to have lost March 1999 unification bout with Lennox Lewis officially scored a draw, but lost on scorecards in rematch. ... Three successive defeats, to Chris Byrd, James Toney and Larry Donald from 2002-04, led to calls for his retirement, but has scored three victories since and continues to campaign for another shot at heavyweight title.

39. Oscar De La Hoya

Junior lightweight, lightweight, junior welterweight, welterweight, junior middleweight, middleweight
Ring career: 1992-present Record: 38-5 (32 KOs)
Career notes: Most financially successful non-heavyweight in boxing history, and arguably sport's only remaining mainstream star. ... Won WBO 130-pound title in 12th fight, and same organization's lightweight belt two bouts later. ... Stopped Rafael Ruelas in two rounds in May 1995 to take IBF lightweight crown. ... Defeated Julio Cesar Chavez, adding WBC junior welterweight belt to collection the following year, and outpointed Pernell Whitaker to claim WBC welterweight crown the year after that. ... Lost highly controversial decision in unification bout with IBF champ Felix Trinidad in September 1999, and suffered second defeat, to Sugar Shane Mosley, in June 2000. ... Defeated Javier Castillejo to become WBC junior middleweight titlist in June 2001, and added WBA belt with September 2002 stoppage of Fernando Vargas, but lost both belts on disputed points defeat to Mosley. ... Claimed WBO middleweight belt with razor-thin victory over Felix Sturm in June 2004, but was knocked out by Bernard Hopkins in bid for undisputed championship that September. ... Knocked out Ricardo Mayorga in May 2006 to regain WBC 154-pound belt. ... Lost 154-pound belt in split decision to Floyd Mayweather Jr. on Saturday.

38. Larry Holmes

Heavyweight
Ring career: 1973-2002 Record: 69-6 (44 KOs)
Career notes: Claimed vacant WBC heavyweight title with thrilling 15-round split-decision win over Ken Norton in June 1978, but labored in shadow of the recently retired Muhammad Ali. ... Ali came out of retirement to challenge him in October 1980, and Holmes dished out a terrible beating until Ali's corner stopped the fight after 10th round. ... Made 20 defenses of heavyweight crown and ran record to 48-0 before dropping a pair of controversial points decisions to Michael Spinks, after which he briefly retired. ... Came back in January 1988 to challenge Mike Tyson, but was stopped in fourth round. ... Came back again in 1991 and fought more or less continuously until 1997. ... Fought twice more for heavyweight crown, losing on points to Evander Holyfield (June 1992) and Oliver McCall (April 1995). ... Final bout was glorified carnival sideshow win over Eric "Butterbean" Esch in 2002.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Larry Holmes ESPN Video

37. Thomas Hearns

Welterweight, junior middleweight, middleweight, super middleweight, light heavyweight, cruiserweight
Ring career: 1977-2006 Record: 61-5-1 (48 KOs)
Career notes: With freakish power and an occasionally suspect chin, seemed destined to either knock out or be knocked out in many of his big fights. ... Won WBA welterweight title with two-round stoppage of Pipino Cuevas in 1980, but failed in unification attempt with WBC champ Sugar Ray Leonard in 1981; leading on points through 12, was knocked down in the 13th and stopped in 14th. ... Bounced back to win WBC junior middleweight title from Wilfred Benitez in 1982; in second defense, starched Roberto Duran in the second round. ... Was knocked out in three by Marvin Hagler in thrilling attempt to lift middleweight crown in 1985. ... Stopped Dennis Andries to win WBC light heavyweight title in March 1987, then dropped back down to middleweight to claim vacant WBC belt. ... Lost title in shocking three-round knockout at hands of Iran Barkley in June 1988, but came back to score draw in June 1989 rematch with Leonard most observers thought he won. ... Retired after loss through injury to Uriah Grant in cruiserweight fight in 2000, but staged two-fight comeback in 2005 and 2006.

36. Eder Jofre

Bantamweight, featherweight
Ring career: 1957-76 Record: 72-2-4 (50 KOs)
Career notes: Won NBA bantamweight title with sixth-round knockout of Eloy Sanchez in November 1960, and became recognized as undisputed champion with defeat of Piero Rollo the following March. ... Made seven successful defenses, all by knockout, until losing championship, and rematch, to Fighting Harada in 1965 and 1966, only two defeats of career. ... Won world featherweight championship in May 1973, after 16 years as a pro.

35. Marvin Hagler

Middleweight
Ring career: 1973-87 Record: 62-3-2 (57 KOs)
Career notes: First attempt to win world title came up short when held to draw against Vito Antuofermo in November 1979. ... In following September, did win title by stopping Alan Minter in three. ... Defended title successfully 12 times, winning first seven bouts by knockout (including rematch with Antuofermo). ... Resisted strong challenge over 15 rounds from Roberto Duran in November 1983, and knocked out Thomas Hearns in the third round of one of the most intense and exciting title fights in living memory, in April 1985. ... Retired after suffering controversial points defeat to underdog Sugar Ray Leonard in April 1987.

34. Emile Griffith

Welterweight, junior middleweight, middleweight
Ring career: 1958-77 Record: 85-24-2-1 (23 KOs)
Career notes: Despite winning the world welterweight championship three times and middleweight championship twice, will be forever known for one dark night, when he regained 147-pound crown from Benny "Kid" Paret on March 24, 1962: live on national television, he battered Paret into unconsciousness and death, and although he fought on for many years, was never quite the same. ... After losing middleweight title the second time, made four more attempts to regain it, before retiring after losing to Alan Minter in 1977. ... Was stopped just twice in 112 fights.

33. Ruben Olivares

Bantamweight, featherweight
Ring career: 1965-88 Record: 88-13-3 (78 KOs)
Career notes: Popular, hard-hitting champion won WBA and WBC bantamweight titles in August 1969, but lost on cuts to Chucho Castillo in October 1970, before regaining championship six months later. ... Lost belts a second time, to Rafael Herrera, in March 1972. ... Took vacant WBA featherweight championship in July 1974, but lost to Alexis Arguello four months afterward. ... Came back from two second-round knockdowns to score second-round TKO over Bobby Chacon and win WBC belt in 1975. ... Lost title in first defense, over 15 rounds to David Kotey.

32. Jose Napoles

Welterweight, middleweight
Ring career: 1958-75 Record: 77-7 (54 KOs)
Career notes: Won world welterweight title in April 1969 with 13th-round TKO of Curtis Cokes. ... Challenged Carlos Monzon for middleweight crown in 1974, but was stopped in seventh round. ... Made three defenses, but was stopped on cuts by journeyman Billy Backus in December 1970. ... Avenged loss with fourth-round TKO six months later, and made nine more defenses of title before losing to John H. Stracey in 1975 and retiring immediately afterward. ... Known as "mantequilla" for his buttery-smooth boxing skills.

31. Billy Conn

Middleweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight
Ring career: 1935-48 Record: 63-12-1 (14 KOs)
Career notes: Talented boxer beat middleweight champion Fred Apostoli twice in non-title bouts, before claiming light heavyweight crown in July 1939. ... Challenged Joe Louis for heavyweight championship in June 1941, and was outboxing the champion until he decided to stand and trade -- he started fighting, when he should have continued boxing -- and was knocked out at the end of the 13th round.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Billy Conn ESPN Video
Post by: passedit on May 10, 2007, 11:13:26 AM

http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest2130 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest2130)

30. Terry McGovern

Bantamweight, featherweight Ring career: 1897-1908 Record: 60-4-4 (42 KOs) and 10 no-decisions
Career notes: Fearsome puncher. ... Won world bantamweight title in 1899 with first-round knockout. ... Added featherweight crown via eighth-round stoppage victory in January 1900. ... Every one of six title defenses was by knockout.

29. Sandy Saddler

Featherweight, junior lightweight Ring career: 1944-57 Record: 144-16-2 (103 KOs)
Career notes: Tall and skinny for a featherweight. ... Frequently chastised for regular recourse to rough-and-tumble tactics, although also possessed good boxing skills. ... Only opponent to regularly get better of Willie Pep, whom he beat three times out of four, all victories coming inside the distance. ... Won featherweight championship in first bout, in October 1948, before losing it in rematch four months later. ... Won junior lightweight belt in December 1949. ... After two defenses, abdicated crown to concentrate again on featherweight division. ... Reclaimed championship from Pep in 1950. ... Held on to title until 1956, although two of those years were spent inactive while in Army. ... Retired as champion in January 1957 as result of vision problems stemming from an auto accident.

28. Jake LaMotta

Middleweight Ring career: 1941-54 Record: 83-19-4 (30 KOs)
Career notes: Famed for biography "Raging Bull," made into movie by Martin Scorsese, with Robert DeNiro playing LaMotta. ... Most famous for six bouts with Sugar Ray Robinson: LaMotta won the second -- the first to defeat Robinson -- but lost other five. ... Won world middleweight title against Marcel Cerdan in 1949, but lost it to Robinson in 1951. ... Knocked down just once in his career, by Danny Nardico in 1952.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Jake LaMotta ESPN Video

27. Ezzard Charles

Middleweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight Ring career: 1940-59 Record: 96-25-1 (58 KOs)
Career notes: Had more heavyweight championship fights than anyone not named Holyfield, Louis or Ali. ... Four title bouts came against Jersey Joe Walcott; won first two encounters, taking NBA heavyweight belt in 1949 before achieving universal recognition as champ with victory over Joe Louis the following year, and defeating Walcott again in March 1951. ... Was TKO'd by Walcott in July 1951 to lose title, lost again on points and failed in two attempts to wrest belt back from Rocky Marciano.

26. Joe Frazier

Heavyweight Ring career: 1965-81 Record: 32-4-1 (27 KOs)
Career notes:Four losses came to two opponents. ... One of three greatest heavyweights in perhaps greatest heavyweight generation ever. ... Claimed world title during Muhammad Ali's suspension for refusing the draft, but many regarded Ali as true champion. ... Met Ali on March 8, 1971, in "Fight of the Century"; Frazier floored Ali in 15th to cement unanimous points victory. ... Lost title to George Foreman in 1973, and lost on points to Ali in non-title bout the following year. ... Fought Ali in 1975 a third time in the "Thrilla in Manila," widely regarded as greatest heavyweight title bout of all time. Ali retained title when Frazier's trainer Eddie Futch stopped contest after 14 brutal rounds. ... Retired after losing again to Foreman in 1976, but came back briefly in 1981, scoring a draw with Jumbo Cummings.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Joe Frazier ESPN Video

25. Marcel Cerdan

Middleweight Ring career: 1934-49 Record: 106-4 (61 KOs)
Career notes: One of most popular athletes in French history. ... Born in Algeria before emigrating to France. ... Suffered four defeats in 110 bouts, each dubious: two via disqualification, one on a controversial decision and once after injuring shoulder against Jake LaMotta in defense of world middleweight title won from Tony Zale. ... Was killed in a plane crash while en route to rematch.

24. Julio Cesar Chavez

Super featherweight, lightweight, junior welterweight, welterweight Ring career: 1980-2005 Record: 108-6-2 (87 KOs)
Career notes: Arguably most revered Mexican boxer in history. ... Called "J.C. Superstar." ... Known especially for heavy hands and murderous body punches. ... Won first 88 professional fights before escaping with draw against Pernell Whitaker in 1993. ... Tasted defeat for first time against Frankie Randall four months later. ... Won WBC super featherweight title in September 1984. ... Stopped Edwin Rosario to win WBA lightweight belt in November 1987. ... Added WBC belt with defeat of Jose Luis Ramirez in 1988. ... Stopped Roger Mayweather to annex WBC junior welterweight crown in May 1989. ... Added IBF title with last-second stoppage win over Meldrick Taylor in 1990. ... Lost title to Randall, but regained it in rematch. Lost it again, to Oscar De La Hoya, in 1996, and did not hold a world title again.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Julio Cesar Chavez ESPN Video

23. Jimmy McLarnin

Flyweight, lightweight, welterweight Ring career: 1923-36 Record: 62-11-3 (20 KOs) and 1 no-decision
Career notes: Won welterweight championship in 1933 with first-round knockout. ... Then engaged in spectacular three-fight series with Barney Ross, winning one and losing two. ... Held victories over 13 world champions. ... Was perhaps first fighter to be referred to by sportswriters as best "pound-for-pound" fighter in the world.

22. Barney Ross

Lightweight, junior welterweight, welterweight Ring career: 1929-38 Record: 72-4-3 (22 KOs) and 2 no-decisions
Career notes: Claimed both lightweight and junior welterweight titles with victory over Tony Canzoneri in 1933, and defended both in rematch. ... Defeated Jimmy McLarnin for welterweight title in 1935, lost it in a rematch, and regained it in rubber match. ... Lost title to Henry Armstrong and retired.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Barney Ross ESPN Video

21. Tony Canzoneri

Bantamweight, featherweight, lightweight, junior welterweight Ring career: 1925-39 Record: 137-24-10 (44 KOs) and 4 no-decisions
Career notes: Won world featherweight championship in February 1928 when only 19, but lost first defense. ... Knocked out Al Singer in first round to win lightweight championship in 1930. ... Added junior welterweight title the following year. ... Lost, regained, and again lost both lightweight and junior welterweight belts.
Post by: behind the wire on May 10, 2007, 11:28:38 AM
good man micky, keep them coming. thats a good whos who of world boxing.

did any of you ever do a bit of boxing? in the ring that is.
Post by: Declan on May 10, 2007, 11:49:34 AM
Quotedid any of you ever do a bit of boxing? in the ring that is.

Not me but the old man did back in the day - have a great black and white pic of him and his twin brother from the stadium - The fighting twins!!!
His uncle fought in the Helsinki Olympics - 1952 and the singlet is in the Mothers attic - I hope!
Post by: The Iceman on May 10, 2007, 12:13:13 PM
Quote from: Declan on May 10, 2007, 11:49:34 AM
Quotedid any of you ever do a bit of boxing? in the ring that is.

Not me but the old man did back in the day - have a great black and white pic of him and his twin brother from the stadium - The fighting twins!!!
His uncle fought in the Helsinki Olympics - 1952 and the singlet is in the Mothers attic - I hope!

did a bit of stuff up in Keady when I was a young fella - joined St George St Malachys in Belfast when I was at Uni (great wee club down in the markets)
Have a lovely broken nose now :)
Post by: Candyman on May 10, 2007, 12:43:12 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 10, 2007, 12:13:13 PM
did a bit of stuff up in Keady when I was a young fella - joined St George St Malachys in Belfast when I was at Uni (great wee club down in the markets)
ye got off light there ICEMAN ... ;)
Post by: The Iceman on May 10, 2007, 01:23:51 PM
Quote from: Candyman on May 10, 2007, 12:43:12 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 10, 2007, 12:13:13 PM
ye got off light there ICEMAN ... ;)

fortunately they didn't understand the concept of the "double leg take down" back in those days!
Post by: Candyman on May 10, 2007, 01:38:10 PM
i find the aul headbutt or low dig usually does the trick!! ye know the craic urself... ;)
Post by: passedit on May 11, 2007, 08:30:28 AM
http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest1120 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest1120)

20. George Foreman

Heavyweight Ring career: 1969-97 Record: 76-5 (68 KOs)
Career notes: On Nov. 5, 1994, knocked out Michael Moorer in 10th round to become, at 45, oldest heavyweight champion in history, capping improbable career comeback. ... In first incarnation, was a sullen wrecking ball of a champion, wrenching heavyweight title from Joe Frazier after six knockdowns in two rounds in January 1973. ... Was shockingly outthought, outfought and upended by Muhammad Ali in the "Rumble in the Jungle" in Zaire in 1974. ... After losing to Jimmy Young in March 1977, retired to become a preacher, but returned to ring 10 years later, to initial derision. ... Fought four more times after defeating Moorer before retiring for good after suffering points defeat to Shannon Briggs in a bout most people thought he won.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: George Foreman ESPN Video
Bonus video: George Foreman's greatest heavyweights ESPN Video

19. Stanley Ketchel

Middleweight, heavyweight Ring career: 1903-10 Record: 52-4-4 (49 KOs) and 4 no-decisions Career notes: Only boxer to beat twin brothers in consecutive bouts: Knocked out Mike Sullivan in February 1908, and his twin brother, Jack, two and a half months later. ... Victory over Jack Sullivan secured world middleweight championship, which he never lost. ... Made 11 defenses of crown in just three years, a total behind only Bernard Hopkins, Carlos Monzon and "Marvelous" Marvin Hagler. ... Fought heavyweight champion Jack Johnson in October 1909, and despite being outweighed by 35 pounds, knocked him down before being knocked out cold. ... Shot and killed by jealous husband in 1910, at 24.

18. Archie Moore

Light heavyweight, heavyweight Ring career: 1935-63 Record: 183-24-10-1 (131 KOs)
Career notes: Had fought 168 times and was 39 years old before finally getting shot at world title. ... Took advantage of that shot by outpointing champion Joey Maxim to take crown. ... Fought additional 52 bouts after that, losing just four, three to heavyweights: Rocky Marciano, Floyd Patterson and Cassius Clay. ... Remains oldest world champion in history: 48 years, 59 days old when last held the belt. ... With 131 knockouts, recorded the most of any boxer.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Archie Moore ESPN Video

17. Mickey Walker

Welterweight, middleweight, light heavyweight, heavyweight
Ring career: 1919-35 Record: 93-19-4-1 (60 KOs) and 46 no-decisions
Career notes: Won world welterweight championship in 1922 and defended it six times before losing it in 1926. ... In January 1925, weighing less than 150 pounds, challenged for light heavyweight title, the lightest man ever to do so. ... Later that year, unsuccessfully challenged Harry Greb for middleweight title. ... Won middleweight championship from Tiger Flowers in December 1926, and defended it three times before relinquishing in 1931. ... Made two more unsuccessful bids for light heavyweight crown and also challenged heavyweights Jack Sharkey and Max Schmeling.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Mickey Walker ESPN Video

16. Gene Tunney

Heavyweight Ring career: 1915-28 Record: 61-1-1-1 (45 KOs) and 19 no-decisions Career notes: Known as "Fighting Marine." ... Won American light heavyweight championship from Battling Levinsky in January 1922, before losing it to and then regaining it from Harry Greb. ... Took world heavyweight championship from Jack Dempsey in September 1926, and retained it in rematch 11 months later. ... Made just one more defense before becoming one of very few champions to retire at the top and stay retired.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Gene Tunney ESPN Video

15. Jimmy Wilde

Flyweight Ring career: 1910-23 Record: 131-3-2 (99 KOs) and 13 no-decisions Career notes: One of the smallest world champions ever, and yet, pound-for-pound, one of the most destructive. ... Ninety-nine knockouts rank among the highest for any fighter, in any weight class. ... Became first world flyweight champion in history, stopping Young Zulu Kid in 11th round in December 1916. ... Lost title in final fight of career, by knockout to Pancho Villa.

14. Rocky Marciano

Heavyweight Ring career: 1947-56 Record: 49-0 (43 KOs) Career notes: Only undefeated heavyweight world champion in history and one of the most popular and iconic American athletes of all time. ... Renowned for ferocious punch and tremendous heart. ... Won heavyweight championship with 13th-round knockout of Jersey Joe Walcott in September 1952. ... Made six defenses before retiring in 1956.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Rocky Marciano ESPN Video

13. Harry Greb

Middleweight Ring career: 1913-26 Record: 105-8-3 (48 KOs) and 183 no-decisions Career notes: Despite dying at age 32, and despite a relatively brief professional career, fought more recorded bouts than all but two men in boxing history, majority of which were rendered no-decisions. ... Won world middleweight title in 1923 despite becoming largely blind in left eye following bout with Kid Norfolk two years earlier. ... Defended title six times over next three years before losing it to Tiger Flowers. ... In May 1922, became only boxer to defeat future heavyweight champion Gene Tunney.

13. Sugar Ray Leonard

Welterweight, junior middleweight, middleweight, super middleweight, light heavyweight Ring career: 1977-97 Record: 36-3-1 (25 KOs) Career notes: Olympic gold medalist won WBC welterweight world title with 15th-round stoppage of Wilfred Benitez in November 1979, only to shockingly lose title to Roberto Duran seven months later. ... Defeated Duran in rematch in the famous "No Mas" bout. ... Beat Ayub Kalule in 1981 to add WBA 154-pound title before dropping belt to focus on welterweight crown. ... Unified titles with dramatic 14th-round stoppage of WBA titlist Thomas Hearns in September 1981. ... Retired in November 1982 after surgery for detached retina. ... After comeback bout against Kevin Howard in May 1984, retired again after being disgusted with performance. ... Emerged from retirement to upset "Marvelous" Marvin Hagler to win middleweight crown in 1987. ... Defeated Donny Lalonde in November 1989 bout that was for both super middleweight and light heavyweight titles. ... Last two fights were ill-advised comebacks that resulted in defeats: against Terry Norris in 1991 and Hector Camacho in 1997.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Sugar Ray Leonard ESPN Video

11. Joe Gans

Lightweight Ring career: 1891-1909 Record: 120-8-9 (85 KOs) and 18 no-decisions Career notes: First black man to win world lightweight title, which was secured via first-round knockout of Frank Erne in May 1902. ... Defeated Battling Nelson in the 42nd round in 1906, the third-longest bout in boxing history. ... Lost title in rematch to Nelson in 1908. ... Once fought three times in one night.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 11, 2007, 06:02:20 PM
Boxing on Sky Sports 1 tonight for anyone interested.  Eamonn Magee takes on Kevin Anderson for the British Welterweight title.  I have seen Magee in action a few times and I was reading up on him there on Wikipedia.  He was shot by the PIRA in 1994 and has been in more trouble before and after that.  I didnt know about any of that.

British welterweight title challenger Eamonn Magee will not be letting his travel problems heading to the weigh-in stop him from taking the title from Kevin Anderson.

Magee challenges Anderson for his title at Motherwell Civic Centre, live on Friday Fight Night on Sky Sports 1, and he has already had his problems.

The Belfast fighter's flight to Glasgow was cancelled as he headed to the weigh-in, and he had to catch a late flight to Edinburgh and take a taxi to make the appointment.

35-year-old Magee is not too concerned about his disruption though, and says that it will not affect his title challenge - claiming the champion will be more nervous about the fight.

"It didn't make any difference to me that we had to fly to Edinburgh. It was only a 40-minute journey back to Glasgow," said Magee.

"I'm confident about this fight, I'm taller, bigger and more experienced. I've been round the block too many times, I know how to treat these fights.

"I'm sure Kevin will be more nervous than I am."

A few travel problems will hardly trouble Magee, who has suffered vicious attacks in the past and had his leg severely broken after one incident.

"Part of my leg was left in the street and they had to take the muscle from the back of my left leg and put it in the front," recalled Magee, who has also been shot and stabbed.

"My right knee was busted up, facial injuries, hand injuries. The doctors said that I'd not box again let alone walk again."

24-year-old Anderson knows he faces a tough task against the man who put Ricky Hattong on the floor before losing to 'The Hitman' on points.

"It is going to be a big fight for me," said Anderson.

"Magee is always going to be remembered as the man who put Ricky Hatton on his backside, he is a big name.

"But if I beat him then everyone will forget what happened in my last fight and I will be back at the top of the tree again."

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,12-1265204,00.html
Post by: An Laoch on May 11, 2007, 06:09:57 PM
Magee was a fantastic talent, a really beautiful southpaw who never fulfilled his potential. He seemed to lose focus in fights just as he was getting ahead and let to much go to the judges. He damn near beat Ricky Hatton and what a different landscape we would see in the boxing world now had that happened.

Outside the ring he's what's known as a nutter. It really is miracle stuff that the guy is boxing again after that beating he took. I met and interviewed him once or twice back in my journalist days - an interesting and witty character if ever there was one.
Post by: Syd on May 11, 2007, 10:56:56 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on May 11, 2007, 06:09:57 PM
Magee was a fantastic talent, a really beautiful southpaw who never fulfilled his potential. He seemed to lose focus in fights just as he was getting ahead and let to much go to the judges. He damn near beat Ricky Hatton and what a different landscape we would see in the boxing world now had that happened.

Outside the ring he's what's known as a nutter. It really is miracle stuff that the guy is boxing again after that beating he took. I met and interviewed him once or twice back in my journalist days - an interesting and witty character if ever there was one.

Magee is an absolute tr**p outside the ring.
Post by: CiKe on May 11, 2007, 11:48:16 PM
beaten tonight and put on his arse for the first time in his career. Think two judges only gave him a round which was a disgrace as he won nine, ten and twelve for my money (11 was when he wa sput down by a peach of a short right hook). At the most the points difference should have been four i thought yet somehow the minimum "official" difference was seven.
Post by: CiKe on May 12, 2007, 12:05:01 AM
Passedit, meant to comment earlier on some of that ESPN stuff. De La Hoya ahead of Whitaker and RJJ? Not a chance. More titles in different weight classes but at light middle and middle weight he beat the worst champion in recent memory (Castillejo) and was thoroughly thumped by Sturm yet somehow got a decision. Great fighter none the less but certainly not better than the best defensive fighter of the last 25 years (and from what i read, a helluva a lot longer than that) nor probably the greatest boxing athlete of the last 25 years. Guys who know a helluva a lot more about boxing than me might criticis his technique as being less than perfect but RJJ was just so fast and had such good reflexes it didn't matter - he made good fighters look crap. His destruction of Montell Griffin in one round after he lost his perfect record against the same fighter by DQ was something to behold. Griffin went on to beat James Toney twice.

In other more depressing news, have jsut read that Wayne McCullough is to return to the ring. He says that othe rfighters who turned pro at the same time as him had twice as many fights and that he has only had 33 fights. He almost hasn't been involved in a fight that wasn't a war since winning the world title in '95. He has shipped a ridiculous amount of punches over the years to some of the best punchers in and around his weight class, and lost numerous world title fights since he first lost to Daniel Zaragoza. Incredibly stubborn and with an incredible chin and seemingly endless stamina, he has shown freakish determination and will power over the eyars to consistently come back from hellacious beatings, but why he feels the need to do so one more time I don't know. Some of those close to him should tell him home truths - unfortunately he hasn't been good enough for the last 10 years to regain a world title, he aint gonna do it now considering he was virtually always the lighter puncher in any fight. Hang them up once and for all and enjoy retirement.
Title: Dont shoot the messenger
Post by: passedit on May 12, 2007, 12:36:51 AM
Only posting it Cike, not saying I agree. 10 - 1 up now.

http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest110 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest110)

10. Sam Langford

Lightweight, welterweight, middleweight, heavyweight
Ring career: 1902-26 Record: 167-38-37-3 (117 KOs) and 48 no-decisions
Career notes: Almost certainly the greatest fighter never to win, or even fight for, a world title. ... Fought all the way from lightweight to heavyweight, and continued to fight -- and win -- even after becoming almost completely blind in one eye and partially blind in another. ... Problem was that he was just too good. That, and the fact that heavyweight career overlapped with that of Jack Johnson -- who refused to give him a title shot, and whose behavior outside the ropes made promoters leery about the prospect of another black heavyweight champion -- combined to deny him the world title opportunity he deserved. ... After being forced to retire because of blindness, disappeared from view until he was rediscovered by journalist Al Laney in 1944.

9. Jack Dempsey

Heavyweight
Ring career: 1914-27 Record: 61-6-8 (50 KOs) and 6 no-decisions
Career notes: Held world heavyweight title from 1919 to 1926, although only six of his fights during that period were official title defenses. ... Furious two-fisted punching style was hugely popular with fans. ... Engaged in some of the most celebrated battles of all time, including with Luis Angel Firpo and Gene Tunney. ... The "Manassa Mauler" was the face of boxing at a time when it was still, along with baseball and horse racing, the most popular sport in the land. ... Rakishly handsome and charismatic outside the ring, was all-action inside it, brandishing a breathtaking, go-for-broke fighting style. ... Won the title by shattering the jaw of giant Jess Willard. ... When he lost it, by decision to Tunney in 1926, it was in front of the largest paid attendance in the history of boxing -- more than 120,000 spectators. ... In rematch, floored Tunney for a count of nine, the infamous "long count" in which Tunney was actually on the canvas for 14 seconds. ... After losing rematch, retired and opened a restaurant in New York.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Jack Dempsey ESPN Video

8. Jack Johnson

Heavyweight
Ring career: 1897-1928 Record: 77-13-14 (48 KOs) and 19 no-decisions
Career notes: First black heavyweight champion. ... Beat Tommy Burns to win crown in 1908, and held on to it until defeated by Jess Willard in 1915. ... Was in many ways precursor to Muhammad Ali: dominant in the ring and deliberately provocative and antagonizing outside it, shocking and infuriating white society with his boldness and arrogance. ... Was driven into exile for much of his reign, living and fighting in Europe and South America to avoid facing charges under the profoundly racist Mann Act, which prohibited the transport of white women across state lines for immoral purposes. ... Died in an auto accident in 1946.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Jack Johnson ESPN Video

7. Benny Leonard

Lightweight
Ring career: 1911-32 Record: 85-5-1 (69 KOs) and 121 no-decisions
Career notes: Won world lightweight championship in May 1917, and retired as champion in January 1925, making him the longest-reigning lightweight champion ever. ... After more than seven years, made return to the ring, winning 18 of 19. ... At one stage, fought 154 consecutive bouts without losing. ... Of five losses, three were in his formative ring years, one was on a foul when challenging for the welterweight championship and one was the final contest of his career, during his comeback after a seven-year layoff, against fellow Hall of Famer Jimmy McLarnin. ... Exceptional all-around talent possessed speed, accuracy and power in one package. ... Became a referee after retirement, and collapsed and died in the ring while refereeing a bout in New York state.

6. Roberto Duran

Lightweight, welterweight, junior middleweight, middleweight
Ring career: 1968-2001 Record: 103-16 (70 KOs)
Career notes: Won lightweight championship from Ken Buchanan in 1972. ... Snarling, unstoppable ring monster dominated lightweight division for seven years, and then outhustled Sugar Ray Leonard to become welterweight champ in 1980. ... Quit in the rematch with Leonard five months later. ... At 32, destroyed Davey Moore to win a junior middleweight belt in 1983, and fought bravely against Marvin Hagler five months later. ... In 1984, was felled, flat on his face, by Tommy Hearns inside two rounds. ... In the 21st year of professional career, improbably won a middleweight belt by beating Iran Barkley in 1989.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Roberto Duran ESPN Video

5. Willie Pep

Featherweight
Ring career: 1940-66 Record: 230-11-1 (65 KOs)
Career notes: Two-time world featherweight champion renowned for legendary defensive skills. ... Achieved tremendous success despite suffering near-fatal injuries in a plane crash in 1947. ... Legend that says he once won a round without throwing a punch (he almost certainly did not) is testament to defensive wizardry of "Will o' the Wisp." ... Won first 63 bouts before losing to Sammy Angott, and then went 72-0-1 before losing again, to Sandy Saddler. ... Only Saddler was ever truly able to figure him out, winning three of four times in bouts that were frequently brutal and foul-filled.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Willie Pep ESPN Video

4. Joe Louis

Heavyweight
Ring career: 1934-51 Record: 68-3 (54 KOs)
Career notes: Won world heavyweight championship in 1937, and retired as champion in 1949. ... Held heavyweight title for longer (11 years, 8 months, 7 days) and made more successful defenses (25) than anyone. ... Defined by two fights against Max Schmeling of Germany. In first encounter, was unbeaten and knocked out in the 12th round, in June 1936. In rematch, almost exactly two years later, as world champion knocked out challenger in the first round, becoming hero to black and white Americans alike, and cemented his place as one of the most popular champions of all time.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Joe Louis ESPN Video

3. Henry Armstrong

Featherweight, lightweight, welterweight
Ring career: 1932-45 Record: 151-21-9 (101 KOs)
Career notes: Only boxer to hold world titles at three different weights simultaneously. ... Won featherweight crown in October 1937. ... Added welterweight title in May 1938 and became lightweight champion three months later. ... Challenged for middleweight crown in 1940, and held champion Ceferino Garcia to a draw. ... Known variously as "Hammerin' Hank" and "Homicide Hank." Third nickname, "Hurricane Hank," was perhaps the most appropriate. ... Was a whirlwind of a fighter, a perpetual-motion machine who overwhelmed opponents with a nonstop, suffocating fusillade of punches. ... Faced 17 world champions in career and defeated 15 of them.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Henry Armstrong ESPN Video

2. Muhammad Ali

Heavyweight
Ring career: 1960-81 Record: 56-5 (37 KOs)
Career notes: First to win heavyweight championship of the world three times. ... Was banned from the ring for three years for refusing induction into the armed forces during the Vietnam War. ... After ban was lifted, lost to Joe Frazier in "Fight of the Century" in 1971, but stunned George Foreman to regain belt in 1974. ... Lost title to, and regained it from, Leon Spinks in 1978. ... Three of defeats came in last four bouts, including two in an ill-advised emergence from retirement, against Larry Holmes and Trevor Berbick, at 38. ... Transcended the sport unlike any other boxer. ... Reinvented the way heavyweights were supposed to fight, deploying a speed and athleticism that was previously unheard of; also alternately bedazzled and appalled America and the world with charisma, showmanship and braggadocio. ... Viewed progressively over the years as loudmouth, villain, hero and finally a figure of pathos. ... Remains for many the definition of a champion.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Muhammad Ali ESPN Video

1. Sugar Ray Robinson

Welterweight, middleweight
Ring career: 1940-65 Record: 175-19-6-2 (109 KOs)
Career notes: Won world welterweight title in December 1946, and defended it four times before stepping up in weight and winning, in 1951, first of five stints as middleweight champ. ... Attempted to win light heavyweight title from Joey Maxim in 1952, but was stopped in the 14th round. ... Born Walker Smith in Ailey, Ga. ... Was the most complete boxer yet to grace the squared circle. ... Lost just one of first 123 fights, to Jake LaMotta, a defeat avenged five times in a classic ring rivalry. ... A near-perfect pugilist at welterweight, was less dominant at middleweight, but was still able to win the title five times, including three times after he had retired for two and a half years. ... Only stoppage defeat was when challenging Maxim for light heavyweight crown, and then was leading on points until overcome by heat so extreme that it had forced the replacement of the referee in the 10th.
Let's go to the video: 50 Greatest: Sugar Ray Robinson ESPN Video
Post by: passedit on May 12, 2007, 12:45:37 AM
A top 50 without Lewis says more about ESPN than Lewis though:
http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest150 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest150)
The final list

1. Sugar Ray Robinson Video ESPN Video Joe Tessitore and Teddy Atlas on the list ESPN Video
2. Muhammad Ali Video ESPN Video
3. Henry Armstrong Video ESPN Video
4. Joe Louis Video ESPN Video
5. Willie Pep Video ESPN Video
6. Roberto Duran Video ESPN Video
7. Benny Leonard
8. Jack Johnson Video ESPN Video
9. Jack Dempsey Video ESPN Video
10. Sam Langford
11. Joe Gans
12. Sugar Ray Leonard Video ESPN Video
13. Harry Greb
14. Rocky Marciano Video ESPN Video
15. Jimmy Wilde
16. Gene Tunney Video ESPN Video
17. Mickey Walker Video ESPN Video
18. Archie Moore Video ESPN Video
19. Stanley Ketchel
20. George Foreman Video ESPN Video
21. Tony Canzoneri
22. Barney Ross Video ESPN Video
23. Jimmy McLarnin
24. Julio Cesar Chavez Video ESPN Video
25. Marcel Cerdan
26. Joe Frazier Video ESPN Video
27. Ezzard Charles
28. Jake LaMotta Video ESPN Video
29. Sandy Saddler
30. Terry McGovern
31. Billy Conn Video ESPN Video
32. Jose Napoles
33. Ruben Olivares
34. Emile Griffith
35. Marvin Hagler
36. Eder Jofre
37. Thomas Hearns
38. Larry Holmes Video ESPN Video
39. Oscar De La Hoya
40. Evander Holyfield
41. Ted "Kid" Lewis
42. Alexis Arguello
44. Pernell Whitaker Video ESPN Video
45. Carlos Monzon
46. Roy Jones Jr. Bonus video: Brian Kenny on Jones' place on the list ESPN Video
47. Bernard Hopkins
48. Floyd Mayweather Jr. Video ESPN Video
49. Erik Morales
50. Mike Tyson Video ESPN Video
Post by: bridgegael on May 12, 2007, 09:37:42 AM
yeah saw that magee fight last night, he was always on the back foot, ithink if he had have taken the fight to anderson it would've been a lot closer,  maybe age was a factor in that.  i'd say he'll hang the gloves up now.
Post by: CiKe on May 12, 2007, 10:35:31 AM
In relation to Duddy being the next big thing in Irish boxing, he may be further along the line than Andy Lee but from the little I have seen of the two of them Lee seems to be the better boxer but Duddy can be good to watch. What odds on an All Irish World middleweight championship fight in 2-3 years?
Post by: bridgegael on May 12, 2007, 10:51:39 AM
having seen duddy fight a few times, i think he needs a big improvement on his defence, he throws a serious amount of punches and loves a brawl, thats why the americans love him.  he is hoping to fight here in the summer, possible against jim rock or jason mckay.  all going well then he is looking at a title shot against jermain taylor,  as i said his defence could really let him down. i'm a big fan of duddy and i hope he can go all the way.     another irish boxer to look out for in same weight is james moore, he is doing well over in the states as well.
Post by: An Laoch on May 12, 2007, 02:00:33 PM
They reflexes look like they've faded big style on Magee alright, though yet again he didn't press when he had opportunities. It probably SHOULD be the last we see of him boxing but I dont think the guy has any other way of making money and I expect he may box on for a few paydays yet.

I really hope McCullough doesn't return. As someone said, he just wasn't world class enough over the last 10 years and has kind of got out of jail in that he is still coherent after some of the pumellings he took.

Duddy, Lee and Dunne are three quality boxers and I'd hope all 3 of them can become world top 10 fighters in their divisions over the next 3-4 years.

As for the ESPN top 50 list, I think Lennox Lewis would have beaten about 40 of those guys, particularly the featherweights ;)
Post by: Tyrones own on May 12, 2007, 02:02:37 PM
Quote from: passedit on May 12, 2007, 12:45:37 AM
A top 50 without Lewis says more about ESPN than Lewis though:
http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest150 (http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/greatest/featureVideo?page=greatest150)
The final list

1. Sugar Ray Robinson Video ESPN Video Joe Tessitore and Teddy Atlas on the list ESPN Video
2. Muhammad Ali Video ESPN Video
3. Henry Armstrong Video ESPN Video
4. Joe Louis Video ESPN Video
5. Willie Pep Video ESPN Video
6. Roberto Duran Video ESPN Video
7. Benny Leonard
8. Jack Johnson Video ESPN Video
9. Jack Dempsey Video ESPN Video
10. Sam Langford
11. Joe Gans
12. Sugar Ray Leonard Video ESPN Video
13. Harry Greb
14. Rocky Marciano Video ESPN Video
15. Jimmy Wilde
16. Gene Tunney Video ESPN Video
17. Mickey Walker Video ESPN Video
18. Archie Moore Video ESPN Video
19. Stanley Ketchel
20. George Foreman Video ESPN Video
21. Tony Canzoneri
22. Barney Ross Video ESPN Video
23. Jimmy McLarnin
24. Julio Cesar Chavez Video ESPN Video
25. Marcel Cerdan
26. Joe Frazier Video ESPN Video
27. Ezzard Charles
28. Jake LaMotta Video ESPN Video
29. Sandy Saddler
30. Terry McGovern
31. Billy Conn Video ESPN Video
32. Jose Napoles
33. Ruben Olivares
34. Emile Griffith
35. Marvin Hagler
36. Eder Jofre
37. Thomas Hearns
38. Larry Holmes Video ESPN Video
39. Oscar De La Hoya
40. Evander Holyfield
41. Ted "Kid" Lewis
42. Alexis Arguello
44. Pernell Whitaker Video ESPN Video
45. Carlos Monzon
46. Roy Jones Jr. Bonus video: Brian Kenny on Jones' place on the list ESPN Video
47. Bernard Hopkins
48. Floyd Mayweather Jr. Video ESPN Video
49. Erik Morales
50. Mike Tyson Video ESPN Video

ehhh, OK :D
Post by: CiKe on May 12, 2007, 02:13:50 PM
not sure I see Dunne really making it as world class, the competition in and around his weight class is ferocious. As someone mentioned Duddy seriously needs to tighten up his defense. Talk of him fighting Taylor is ridiculous, this is a guy with just about hte best jab in boxing and he'd have it in Duddy's face all night. He definitely needs more experience against a higher class opponent of opponent before any more of that talk (I'm thinking 5-6 fights as opposed to 2-3). In all likelihood by the time Duddy reaches that level if he gets there, Taylor will have moved up in weight as he his already a monster at 160lbs.
Post by: gallsman on May 12, 2007, 03:12:57 PM
Duddy shouldn't even think of going anywhere near Jermain Taylor for a long time to come! Completely different class! James Moore is going well, but perhaps left it a bit late to turn pro.
Post by: An Laoch on May 12, 2007, 07:11:47 PM
Yeah, Taylor is best avoided for as long as possible, Sky Sports are showing his fight next weekend. I haven't seen a full fight of his yet (only clips) so I'm looking forward to this one.
Post by: behind the wire on May 12, 2007, 08:58:08 PM
as far as i know jason mckay is hoping to fight duddy in the not too distant future. i would definitely like to see that one, mckay is no doser. he has had a few good wins recently and i think he would give duddy a bit of trouble. hes a big lad with a long reach and good tactical awareness. i could definitely see it going the full distance anyway. dont know how the pink panther would get on against duddy, although he had a good win at the point last time out if my memory serves me right.
Post by: An Laoch on May 12, 2007, 09:31:08 PM
I dont think there's anything to be gained by Duddy fighting the Pink Panther. Rock is a great man to sell a few tickets in Dublin but he boxes as a hobby, not really the kind of opponent someone with the potential of Duddy should be looking to.

Anyone here follow the Irish amateur scene at all?
Post by: bridgegael on May 13, 2007, 10:44:05 AM
mckay was the last man to beat duddy, albeit as an amateur.  he is very keen to get in the ring with duddy and i think a fight in dublin in summer would pull a big crowd.  duddys management are looking him to fight taylor st patricks weekend 08,  far to soon, he needs to work his way up the rankings, better opponent each time.  i think a defeat against taylor in 08 would set him back big time.
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2007, 01:20:25 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on May 13, 2007, 10:44:05 AM
mckay was the last man to beat duddy, albeit as an amateur.  he is very keen to get in the ring with duddy and i think a fight in dublin in summer would pull a big crowd.  duddys management are looking him to fight taylor st patricks weekend 08,  far to soon, he needs to work his way up the rankings, better opponent each time.  i think a defeat against taylor in 08 would set him back big time.

Never mind that by that stage Taylor could have moved up to Super Middle/Light Heavy! Which, in fairness, may be no bad thing from Duddy's point of view.

Anyone know the score with the Bernard Hopkins-Winky Wright fight? What weight will it be at?
Post by: CiKe on May 13, 2007, 01:52:03 PM
had originally read that Hopkins-Wright was being made at catch weight of 170lbs, but recent report I read said it was fulle light heavyweight, ie 175lbs.

unlikely to be a fight for the casual fan to enjoy but from technical point of view it's likely to be as good as it gets. Can't remmeber the last time two such gifted tacticians/technicians fought
Post by: CiKe on May 17, 2007, 07:40:15 PM
Taylor vs Spinks this weekend and Miranda vs Pavlik. This is second time in a row Taylor is fighting someone who isn't a true middleweight and he should have an easy enough night given the size and power differential despite Spinka being a skilled boxer. He couldn't punch at welterweight so I give him zero chance of being able to hurt Taylor. Taylor should stop him and should probably stop him in 5-7 rounds as Spinks and will isn't anything like Ouma's who talk some beating but just wouldn't give up. Wouldn't altogether surprise me if it was over in three though.

Don't know anything about MIranda's opponent but this Miranda himself has serious power and is an all out slugger. Could be an interesting one if you're man is half decent.
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2007, 08:51:16 PM
Quote from: CiKe on May 17, 2007, 07:40:15 PM
Taylor vs Spinks this weekend and Miranda vs Pavlik. This is second time in a row Taylor is fighting someone who isn't a true middleweight and he should have an easy enough night given the size and power differential despite Spinka being a skilled boxer. He couldn't punch at welterweight so I give him zero chance of being able to hurt Taylor. Taylor should stop him and should probably stop him in 5-7 rounds as Spinks and will isn't anything like Ouma's who talk some beating but just wouldn't give up. Wouldn't altogether surprise me if it was over in three though.

Don't know anything about MIranda's opponent but this Miranda himself has serious power and is an all out slugger. Could be an interesting one if you're man is half decent.

Reports today that Calzaghe Vs. Taylor is getting closer. Apparently Lou DiBella has lowered their asking price to $6 million.
Post by: CiKe on May 19, 2007, 06:15:00 PM
Duddy won again last night beating some 37 year old on points after dropping him in the first round. Can't find a decent report on the fight
Post by: GweylTah on May 19, 2007, 09:20:28 PM
He really is our very own Audley Harrison with some of the opposition he's up against.

Still, you can only beat what others put in front of you, it would be good to see him get a fight soon at the Millennium Forum or the King's Hall. Good luck to him.
Post by: CiKe on May 20, 2007, 10:46:24 AM
Taylor won last night by a controversial split decision in what was apparently a brutally boring fight to watch, in which he barely threw any punches and Manny Steward his trainer was giving him an earful in the corner after each round for his apparent lack of effort. Camp Calzaghe will only be encouraged by this and judging by the reports Taylor might be pvervaluing himself significantly at $6mn.

On the undercard Kelly Pavlik knocked out Edison Miranda in seven and is apparently next in line to fight Taylor so not sure when Calzaghe will get his fight if at all. Personally I hope he fights Kessler
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 20, 2007, 01:47:41 PM
Last nights fight was brutal all right, the fans started to boo during the latter rounds.  Steward was clearly not happy with Taylor and after the final round Spinks started to run around the ring with his hands raised while the look on Taylors face showed that he clearly wasn't happy and thought he lost.  The Sky lads also thought Spinks deserved it, for what its worth I scored it similar to the American TV lads and two of the judges and thought Taylor won.  He may not have worked as hard as Spinks but Spinks being smaller always had to work a lot harder to even have a chance of beating Taylor.  Taylor landed cleaner punches and won more rounds.  I had Taylor by two points.

Pavlik beat Miranda in a great fight last night.  It stole the show.  It reminded me of Gatti vs Ward.  Very little defence and it was all out attack.  Taylor doesn't look that great imo and now might be the right time for Pavlik to face him if he wants to win a World title.  Though I don't think he could afford to be that gung ho against Taylor.  But since Calzaghe also wants a shot at Taylor it will be interesting to see what will happen.  I thought Taylor may be scared of Calzaghe and intentionally priced himself out of the market, but I have heard since he has lowered the asking price.
Post by: An Laoch on May 20, 2007, 04:50:07 PM
Yeah, it was a poor fight alright and I'd say Spinks is kicking himself he didn't do a little more to edge some of the rounds. Shocking to see how contrasting the judges scored the fight, it's difficult to believe they were watching the same bout.

Taylor looked completely disinterested, he just didn't box enough. Manny Steward was exasparated by his lack of effort. I'd like to see Calzaghe get a shot.

As mentioned by Galwaybhoy, the Pavlik fight was superb. He took some of Miranda's best shots - in one round he took 5 successive clean right hands and never buckled. Great to see 2 well matched boxers really go for it.
Post by: CiKe on May 20, 2007, 06:01:11 PM
saw the fights this morning and thought Spinks did just enough to win it - very skilled performance from him, and as GWB said, their respective reactions at the end of the fight said it all. A draw wouldn't have been an unfair result.

Miranda-Pavlik was great stuff altogether. Had read report saying Miranda looked weight drained before I watched the fight and right enough he seemed pretty knackered from the word go with little of his usual power in most of his punches. That said he did land some heavy blows and Pavlik absorbed it fairly easily.

On last nights performance I'd take Calzaghe to beat Taylor handily which I certainly wouldn't have done before
Post by: Jack Dempsey on May 21, 2007, 12:13:52 PM
Quote from: CiKe on May 20, 2007, 06:01:11 PM

On last nights performance I'd take Calzaghe to beat Taylor handily which I certainly wouldn't have done before

only loser here was calzaghe. Poor chap just doesnt have a worthy opponent out there and is suffering because if it
Post by: CiKe on May 21, 2007, 02:32:35 PM
Kessler is more than worthy of a fight with Calzaghe don't kid yourself. Calzaghe best wins are probably still Eubank and Lacy (who hadn't beaten anyone -that said I didn't expect it to be so one sided). Kessler has absolutely destroyed Markus Beyer and Mundine who are both good boxers (mundine having improved significantly over last couple years, although Beyer was definitely getting on). Think is unfair of Joe to always be spouting on about no one good enough to face him - he wants people to step up in wieght but has been unwilling to do it himself. Let him fight the winner of Hopkins-Wright (I see that Winky wants to move down to 160lbs again after this fight but am sure that given the right money he would fight Calzaghe - Calzaghe shouldn't price himself out of this because despite Winky not being PPV material he defintely has fought the higher quality of opposition)
Post by: An Laoch on May 21, 2007, 10:11:49 PM
Anyone see Duddy's fight on BBC? Only caught the last 2 rounds and he looked very laboured trying to knock out a really awkward opponent. He won every round but just couldn't nail the guy it seems.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on May 21, 2007, 11:22:24 PM
Do the BBC actually advertise that they'll be showing the Duddy fights? Thats twice theyve had highlights but I didnt realise theyd be on. Ive only seen a few rounds from Duddy but have yet to see enough that he is genuine world class - but Ill withold judgement for now. Sounds like he'll be fighting in Dublin in the summer. Could be similar to Dunne who is a decent fighter but unlikely to be good enough to have a chance of winning a major world title.
Post by: Declan on May 22, 2007, 07:17:04 AM
QuoteCould be similar to Dunne who is a decent fighter but unlikely to be good enough to have a chance of winning a major world title.

From what I've seen of them Dunne is world class whereas Duddy isn't. Whether Dunne is good enough to win a World title I'm not sure but there is no way Duddy will. 
Post by: CiKe on May 29, 2007, 08:59:57 PM
Duddy has replaced long time trainer Harry Keitt with Don Turner apparently. Team beleived Keitt had brought him as far as he could.

Doesn't surprise me really as Duddy doesn't seem to have come on much at all in the last 18 months. Like Declan I don't think he is world class yet and to be honest I have my doubts whether he can reach world class although hopefully he will. Did anyone hear is it confirmed who his enxt opponent is against? With a change in trainer I don't imagine it will be an immediate step up in class and will probably be another treading water fight against someone with a decent chin but who won't be able to hurt him
Post by: Declan on May 30, 2007, 06:53:59 AM
  http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0529/euchamps.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0529/euchamps.html)

For purists out there this would be worth a visit
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 23, 2007, 10:47:59 PM
The boxing is about to start on RTÉ 2 for anyone interested.  Bernard Dunne v Reidar Walstad.  Dunnes second defense of his European Title.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 23, 2007, 10:51:22 PM
just found out dunne has fought 23 times won all of them
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 24, 2007, 12:04:16 AM
Great fight.  Dunne won on points handy enough.  I had him winning 10 of the 12 rounds.  But Walstad looked dangerous, and I was worried for Bernard in the final round he looked in trouble.  Took punches and at times looked to stager.  To be honest, if it was still the days of 15 round fights it wouldn’t have surprised me if Walstad went on to hurt Dunne a lot more as Dunne looked very tired near the end.

That Wlastad is a tough fighter, he took a lot of punishment from Dunne but never really seemed like he was going to go down.  The cut above the left eye looked very bad, I thought the fight might have been stopped, as I've seen fights stopped for less but luckily common sense prevailed and the fight was allowed to continue.

I'm not gone on Magee as commentator.  Sometimes he annoys me.  The amount of times he kept going on about Dunne being this great boxer, and he must have mentioned it about five times.  But as Dunne said himself he has along way to go before he is the finished article and before he wins a world title.  He needs to improve his defence and keep those arms up a bit more.  It looks like Dunne’s next defence will be a mandatory defence of the title against the European number one.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 24, 2007, 12:12:39 AM
Not a boxing afficiaendo but that was a very good fight. Dunne is a fast boxer, but his exposed stance is bound to be caught out sometime.

The Norweigan fella wouldn't lie down would he. Should balls, and that cut above the eye....ouch!
Post by: The Gs Man on June 24, 2007, 12:22:10 AM
Cracker fight...and that cut was putred.  I near choked on my beers.

But what about Brian Kennedy singing the National anthem............he had the crowd like putty in his hands, the big fairy.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 24, 2007, 12:31:58 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on June 24, 2007, 12:22:10 AM
Cracker fight...and that cut was putred.  I near choked on my beers.

But what about Brian Kennedy singing the National anthem............he had the crowd like putty in his hands, the big fairy.

I meant to ask, whats the story with the national anthems before Dunnes fights?  I never see that in other fights on Sky Sports, be it the small fights they show on Fridays or the bigger fights on PPV.  Is this only an Irish thing?
Post by: ludermor on June 24, 2007, 12:35:56 AM
if dunne had half a puch the fight would have been finished by the 6th. he got through the defence constantly for the first 3/4 rounds. he cut yer man in the first round but couldnt do feck all more. he is stylish and quick but has no power. he needs to go to the states and step up a level.
what the f**k was marty doing before the fight?

was anyone else at the stadium yesterday for the european union championships?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 24, 2007, 11:56:18 AM
Playing the anthem is not an Irish thing and would be common enough. It doesnt happen in every fight but definately happens. Have heard the scots national anthem played at scott harrison fights and am pretty sure the English anthem has been played at some Hatton fights. I also think the Welsh one has been on before Calazghe fights. Thought Dunne boxed well but not sure if he has the power to cut it at the very top level. Looking forward to seeing John Duddy in a few weeks - possibly has more potential than Dunne - will be interesting to see what kind of support he can generate in Ireland.
Post by: stiffler on June 24, 2007, 07:11:08 PM
Did anyone see the Hatton fight? what was the craic with Wayne Rooney carrying his belt into the ring for him? was this more publicity for the new shrek film?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 24, 2007, 08:31:09 PM
The opening 3 rounds of the Hatton fight were cracking, Hatton dominated the first two he was very gung-ho, Castillo came into it more in the third and I thought we had a classic on our hands but the body thump from Hatton in the fourth was as a body blow as good as you'll see. This victory sets Hatton up nicely now, he could be the real deal...
Post by: glens73 on June 24, 2007, 08:52:18 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 24, 2007, 08:31:09 PM
The opening 3 rounds of the Hatton fight were cracking, Hatton dominated the first two he was very gung-ho, Castillo came into it more in the third and I thought we had a classic on our hands but the body thump from Hatton in the fourth was as a body blow as good as you'll see. This victory sets Hatton up nicely now, he could be the real deal...

He is the real deal, he's proved it already. The performance against Tzsyu was fantastic and that body shot against Castillo was remarkable. The only man he should avoid is Mayweather. Cotto is the fight he should be making, that would be a classic. Best thing about Hatton is how sound a bloke he his, he hasn't let any of his rise to stardom go to his head at all.

I've not really seen that much of Bernard Dunne as I live in England - can any true boxing fans tell me is he good enough to win a world title and stay at the top for a while? I would have thought he'd be a bit short of the likes of Rafael Marquez just yet from reading about him and what little I've seen of him.
Post by: ludermor on June 25, 2007, 12:28:47 AM
Quote from: glens73 on June 24, 2007, 08:52:18 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 24, 2007, 08:31:09 PM

He is the real deal, he's proved it already. The performance against Tzsyu was fantastic and that body shot against Castillo was remarkable. The only man he should avoid is Mayweather. Cotto is the fight he should be making, that would be a classic. Best thing about Hatton is how sound a bloke he his, he hasn't let any of his rise to stardom go to his head at all.

I've not really seen that much of Bernard Dunne as I live in England - can any true boxing fans tell me is he good enough to win a world title and stay at the top for a while? I would have thought he'd be a bit short of the likes of Rafael Marquez just yet from reading about him and what little I've seen of him.
i love the way you highlighted 'he is the real deal' but then gave him a quicj escape clause! he is a super boxer and is world class but why should he avoid anyone? i dont think he would have beaten tyzyu in his prime but iwouldnt take away his victory
and as for dunne unless he fights in the states againsy the mexicans he will be seen as a joke all over the world except the the point and the hiil
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 25, 2007, 08:46:06 AM
I had my doubts after the Collazo fight in which I thiought he was lucky to win. It was a great win against Tzsyu but that was only Tzsyu second fight in something like 2 years. Anyway I like Hatton, although getting Wayne Rooney to carry in his belt was something he should avoid...

As for Dunne, it was a good fight but he's a joke. The editor of Ring magazine was on Newstalk last week, lets just say he wasn't exactly forthcoming in his praise for Dunne, you have to do it America, no where else matters...
Post by: Declan on June 25, 2007, 10:48:43 AM
QuoteAs for Dunne, it was a good fight but he's a joke.
Bit harsh there Dinny. Couldn't make the Point on Sat night and didn't even get to see it but by all accounts it was Dunne's lack of a finishing punch that caused it to go the 12. Having said that you're man was a tough cookie by all accounts. It'll be interesting to see what happens with the Martinez bid and if Peters can manage to keep the fight in Dublin cos he's a bit of a banger and could cause Bernard problems.  Re Dunne's lack of a killer punch , it's not uncommon at the lighter weights for this to be the case particularly at top class level where guys fitness is fantastic and its usually more a wearing down process that leads to stoppages rather than one off digs.
I think he's a smart quick boxer but maybe lacks the final 5% to make himself a World Champion but I hope he gets a chance to prove me wrong.
Post by: full back on June 25, 2007, 11:11:36 AM
Hatton back to form after 2 sketchy performances. Think he has to look for Mayweather as his next fight, in order to be a truly great fighter you have to take on the best. Savage body punch to stop him & it looks like Ricky stayed off the pies before the fight.

Dunne is a good fighter but as other posters have said he seems to lack that killer punch in order to become one of the best in the world at his weight. Dare I say it but is he going to be another Wayne Mc Cullough. Mc Cullough was a tidy boxer (with a sh1te accent!!) but couldnt knock his opponents out - a la Bernard Dunne
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 25, 2007, 11:54:30 AM
QuoteBit harsh there Dinny.

Come on Declan, Walstad isn't even ranked in the top 100 (open to correction) and still couldn't put him away. Dunne should never have quitted the Freddie Roach gym. Dunne has talent and I meant the fight was a joke but he needs to step up in class and I just feel he's been protected too much...
Post by: Declan on June 25, 2007, 12:01:26 PM
QuoteDunne has talent and I meant the fight was a joke but he needs to step up in class and I just feel he's been protected too much...

Agree 100% Dinny - I thought you meant Dunne was a joke. Though his reasons for coming home are more connected to family than boxing so I could hardly blame him for doing that

Hattons dig was a good one -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cn2B1UlWLuc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cn2B1UlWLuc)
Post by: glens73 on June 25, 2007, 02:12:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 25, 2007, 11:54:30 AM
QuoteBit harsh there Dinny.

Come on Declan, Walstad isn't even ranked in the top 100 (open to correction) and still couldn't put him away. Dunne should never have quitted the Freddie Roach gym. Dunne has talent and I meant the fight was a joke but he needs to step up in class and I just feel he's been protected too much...

Walstad is ranked 104 in the world with Boxrec.

http://www.boxrec.com/boxer_display.php?boxer_id=097318
Post by: guy crouchback on June 25, 2007, 02:58:43 PM
Dunne is a nice fighter, he has speed and good technique but he has no power, no punch at all. The Guys eye was in a terrible way and any top quality fighter would have finished him.
Post by: full back on June 26, 2007, 03:24:41 PM
HATTON JIBES ANGER MAYWEATHER
Tuesday 26th June 2007

Floyd Mayweather looks set to reverse his decision to retire and silence a 'disrespectful' Ricky Hatton.
Mayweather immediately hung up his gloves having beaten Oscar de la Hoya for the WBC light-middleweight title.

However, the unbeaten Pretty Boy has been left smarting at comments made by Hatton - and is now tempted to return to the ring for a multi-million pound showdown.

The Hitman launched a verbal offensive on Mayweather in the aftermath of stopping Jose Luis Castillo in a bid to goad the 30-year-old back into the sport.

And the tactic looks to have worked, with Mayweather's advisor Leonard Ellerbe telling the New York Daily News: "He got Floyd's attention. Now we're calling his bluff.

"All he has to do is make a deal and he'll have his chance to back up all that talk. All that's standing between him and Floyd is air and opportunity.

"We can make the deal this week. He's very, very disrespectful. He's trying to promote himself off Floyd's name.

"When we make the deal, we'll show the world why he's the most overrated fighter of this decade.

"Floyd has never taken any fight personally. But he's taking this personally. Floyd is going to kick his butt."
From Sky Sports

Looks like Fatton has got his wish
Post by: Uladh on June 26, 2007, 03:35:57 PM

had read that article... what exactly did hatton say? not like him to be derogatory about opponents
Post by: Spiritof98 on June 26, 2007, 03:39:48 PM
what was said, sounds like sensationalism from the media, but if so a great bit of business by Hatton
Post by: glens73 on June 26, 2007, 03:48:26 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 26, 2007, 03:35:57 PM

had read that article... what exactly did hatton say? not like him to be derogatory about opponents

Hatton doesn't do trash talk, it's just the media twisting it.

Mayweather on the other hand is full of sh1t, I reckon most boxing fans in the US would want Hatton to beat him.
Post by: ONeill on June 26, 2007, 11:34:12 PM
Enjoyed the 90s Super-middles

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWg3W57HGAE  (Benn/Eubank)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvh9-xr0gOQ&mode=related&search= (Eubank/Watson  - be careful watching this one if it'll upset you. It's the first time I've seen it since and is rather sad. One thing is clear - the ref (or his corner) should never have allowed Watson out for that 12th. One hell of an uppercut from Eubank though in the 11th )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oi1JwB0rQ_s&mode=related&search= (Eubank in 1990 - quick KO)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgXobe8_8Yk&mode=related&search= (Benn/Watson)
Post by: CiKe on June 27, 2007, 09:11:30 PM
people might like Hatton to beat Mayweather but it wont happen end of story. Hatton's two best wins have come against top class opposition but as was pointed out Tsyzu had barely fought in two years and Castillo hadn't boxed at a decent level in a year and a half - he was shocking in his last fight and looked worn out, which is nor surprise given the fights he has been involved in.

whatever the scorecards said, there is no way Hatton beat Collazo. He looked much too small and didn't have the strength to take on a bigger man. Hatton v Cotto would be a great fight and I'd give Hatton a good chance - he might even have the edge. I've seen talk about him fighting Margarito where I would make him favourite with Margarito's long torso very open to Hatton's body shots. Have also seen reports of Mosley fighting him. That fight ends in only one result in my book - KO for Mosley. Too quick, too strong, too powerful, all round too damn good.

against Mayweather, Hatton gets diced up for 12 rounds and comes out a bloody mess - an easy points victory for the Pretty Boy. Hatton isn't strong enough to bully hom around the ring, nor powerful enough to shake him with one punch and then tee him up. Mayweather to win womething like 117-111.

Hatton v Cotto and Mosley v Floyd are the best fights out there. The first one a war, the second one a blur of speed and sleight of hand. I'd give Mosley the edge over Floyd as think he is just too damn big. He may also have been a better lightweight than FLoyd
Post by: full back on June 29, 2007, 12:30:37 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 26, 2007, 03:35:57 PM

Hatton had said something along the lines of that there was more entertainment in the 4 rounds of his fight last Saturday than the Pretty Boy had provided in his whole career