GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on February 13, 2016, 12:34:06 PM

Title: Players you love to hate (but are not really bad lads).
Post by: From the Bunker on February 13, 2016, 12:34:06 PM
There are a lot of players out there who are not really bad guys, but get up your nose. For some reason, you just don't like them.
Kerry's James O'Donoghue! Really annoys me. Hate the smirk on his face. Donnacha Walsh another.

(This is not an anti Kerry Rant!)
Title: Re: Players you love to hate (but are not really bad lads).
Post by: Syferus on February 13, 2016, 12:35:27 PM
Padraig Joyce.
Post by: 6th sam on February 13, 2016, 12:55:28 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 13, 2016, 12:35:27 PM
Padraig Joyce.

Without taking this too seriously, I think it's a sad indignment of the modern game, that the 1st two players mentioned as "hate figures" are two flare forwards who are/were a delight to watch, rather than some of the cynical sledgers  with limited ability that we've witnessed over the years .
James' crime against football apparently is to smile when he scored a wonder point/goal , hateful habit alright!!

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2016, 01:16:42 PM
I'd say they have a very high opinion of you too!
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 13, 2016, 01:23:15 PM
Quote from: 6th sam on February 13, 2016, 12:55:28 PM
Padraig Joyce.

Without taking this too seriously, I think it's a sad indignment of the modern game, that the 1st two players mentioned as "hate figures" are two flare forwards who are/were a delight to watch, rather than some of the cynical sledgers  with limited ability that we've witnessed over the years .
James' crime against football apparently is to smile when he scored a wonder point/goal , hateful habit alright!!

The cynical sledgers would probably be considered 'bad lads'.
Post by: Syferus on February 13, 2016, 01:45:22 PM
Quote from: 6th sam on February 13, 2016, 12:55:28 PM
Padraig Joyce.

Not really. Joyce will get a love-in any place he goes. This is about what players you personally couldn't stand but knew weren't total donkeys. We rarely played against Ricey or Paul Galvin so I was never going to choose them.

I watched Joyce so many times from 1998 to his retirement and usually win that I grew to dislike his mug. He was also an awful cúnt for jobbing frees off his marker. Oh, and Michael Donnellan was both a better player and more essential to Galway's AIs than Joyce was but Joyce's longer career means he has way better PR.
Post by: seafoid on February 13, 2016, 01:56:45 PM
Donaghy
Post by: From the Bunker on February 13, 2016, 02:03:54 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 13, 2016, 01:56:45 PM
Donaghy

In fairness, Donaghy is a bad lad! Kicking away footballs! Mouthing! He's easy hate. I'm looking for people you hate that you really should not.

Post by: SpeculativeEffort on February 13, 2016, 02:08:49 PM
Kieran McGeeney - probably a great player to have on your side but seems to garner very little enjoyment out of anything in life: football, winning, anything...

Post by: moysider on February 14, 2016, 12:34:10 AM

Can t think of one tbh.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 14, 2016, 12:53:24 AM
Crap thread. Must be in line for worst ever.  Mods must be gobshites even to allow such a crap thread which is simply a thinly-veiled personal attack on players dressed up. Shame on the mods.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 14, 2016, 12:55:21 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 14, 2016, 12:53:24 AM
Crap thread. Must be in line for worst ever.  Mods must be gobshites even to allow such a crap thread which is simply a thinly-veiled personal attack on players dressed up. Shame on the mods.

Aye but I'm sure the fella who started the thread is actually not really a bad lad!
Post by: From the Bunker on February 14, 2016, 01:51:26 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 14, 2016, 12:55:21 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 14, 2016, 12:53:24 AM

Aye but I'm sure the fella who started the thread is actually not really a bad lad!

Post by: Rossfan on February 14, 2016, 10:36:58 AM
Quote from: Syferus on February 14, 2016, 12:51:36 AM
Less players for Rochey for the Donegal game and more past it. Bit of a blow for him.
"Rochey" FFS  >:( :-[
Syfín just go and support the rhubarbs and be done with it :-[
Post by: larryin89 on February 14, 2016, 10:56:02 AM
Seanie McDermott , sly sledger.
Post by: thejuice on February 14, 2016, 11:45:01 AM
Anyone who has ever worn a Dublin jersey.

But seriously, I don't hate any gaa player. I don't get this thing of hating sports people or celebrities. People who do this need a new hobby.

It is however acceptable to hate certain politicians and tyrants along with their agents, but mostly I hate their ideologies.
Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2016, 05:24:12 PM
a few Loughrea and Turloughmore hurlers who would be a bit liberal with the violence
Post by: Shrewdness on February 14, 2016, 08:02:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 13, 2016, 02:03:54 PM
Donaghy

In fairness, Donaghy is a bad lad! Kicking away footballs! Mouthing! He's easy hate. I'm looking for people you hate that you really should not.

Anyone wearing the green and red.........Bunker, you made me say it.
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2016, 08:03:36 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on February 14, 2016, 08:02:13 PM
Donaghy

In fairness Sean Kilbride wore green and red and is a fine lad.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 14, 2016, 08:08:46 PM
Actually, so did Kevin Mc Stay and Liam Mc Hale..........Okay,  I take it all back.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 14, 2016, 08:23:06 PM
Donaghy

Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2016, 11:05:06 PM
Donaghy

That Ros resentment of the 2 westerly neighbours always makes me laugh

Injustice collecting springs from a sensible motive: the monitoring of fairness as a form of self-protection, an impulse that evolved among social creatures who depended on one another. Nursing grudges may have raised our odds of survival and reproduction, however unconsciously. . .. . . But injustice collecting is about more than just resentment toward cheaters; just as often, it's resentment on a mass scale—about anger at the very order of the universe

Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2016, 11:11:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2016, 11:05:06 PM
Donaghy

Injustice collecting springs from a sensible motive: the monitoring of fairness as a form of self-protection, an impulse that evolved among social creatures who depended on one another. Nursing grudges may have raised our odds of survival and reproduction, however unconsciously. . .. . . But injustice collecting is about more than just resentment toward cheaters; just as often, it's resentment on a mass scale—about anger at the very order of the universe

Mayo hate Roscommon just as much. Galway can't really hate anyone because they don't care enough. It's just to pass the time until the Galway Races start.
Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2016, 11:50:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 14, 2016, 11:11:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2016, 11:05:06 PM
Donaghy

Mayo hate Roscommon just as much. Galway can't really hate anyone because they don't care enough. It's just to pass the time until the Galway Races start.
How could we hate Roscommon? If  ye were in the AIF we would be shouting for ye. It must be the uaisleacht.