Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:21:34 PM

Title: Advice you would give to your 15 year old self
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:21:34 PM
The league doesn't start for a few weeks so it is important to keep the mind mindfully occupied.
Title: Re: Advice you would give to your 15 year old self
Post by: magpie seanie on January 13, 2016, 03:31:55 PM
This is a good one. Christ I could bore ye for a long time here.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on January 13, 2016, 03:41:12 PM
Don't worry it won't really make you blind....no matter how many times a day you do it.

/Jim.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 13, 2016, 03:42:21 PM
Trouble is I don't think 15 year old me would listen.
Post by: deiseach on January 13, 2016, 03:42:32 PM
You know that notion you have that you'd like to be a journalist, but you probably won't put in the effort required? You will be right not to put in the effort required.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 13, 2016, 03:44:09 PM
Doesn't work, my 15 year daughter never listens so just get on with it!!
Post by: Orior on January 13, 2016, 03:44:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 13, 2016, 03:31:55 PM
This is a good one. Christ I could bore ye for a long time here.

As I said on O'Neill's thread about Seafoids best thread, my comment on "the next one" still applies, lol.

But indeed, this is a good thread.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 13, 2016, 03:44:56 PM
Stop admiring from a distance and go and talk to her.
Post by: laoislad on January 13, 2016, 03:46:39 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 13, 2016, 03:44:56 PM
LOL.
I was just about to post.. Just talk to her!
Post by: Orior on January 13, 2016, 03:47:16 PM
Buy shares in a wee outfit called Microsoft.
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:47:57 PM
There is no rush. You have to find out who you are first. It isn't necessarily who your family think it is.
Enjoy the ride. It's only life afterall.

And yeah , the hurlers really won't win anything for the next 27 years but dja know what? The footballers will. Imagine!
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:49:36 PM
You will live in places but you will find out they don't suit you. Never mind. Keep on learning.
And the Gaeilge IS important.
Post by: laoislad on January 13, 2016, 03:49:43 PM
Those fellas from school who made fun of you for having a Saturday job washing cars in the local petrol station.
Don't mind them. Most of them end up unemployed alcoholics.
Post by: longballin on January 13, 2016, 03:50:09 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 13, 2016, 03:46:39 PM
LOL.

Me too! darned missed opportunities  :-[
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:50:56 PM
Being able to buy any clothes you want is overrated.
Post by: gallsman on January 13, 2016, 03:51:46 PM
Don't worry about all the Billy big balls who think they're the bees knees, you're doing just fine as you are.
Post by: The Iceman on January 13, 2016, 03:55:58 PM
buy a house when you get done with university - you can afford the mortgage - trust me
dont let anyone get in the way of your dreams - especially yourself - will save time later
spend more time with your grandparents
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 03:57:25 PM
Short AIB when the price goes too high. the management will be incompetent.
Post by: JoG2 on January 13, 2016, 04:02:15 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 13, 2016, 03:55:58 PM
buy a house when you get done with university - you can afford the mortgage - trust me
dont let anyone get in the way of your dreams - especially yourself - will save time later

ah sir, so true. Read that a few times with a heavy heart
Post by: gallsman on January 13, 2016, 04:05:00 PM

I'd tell myself and all my friends the exact opposite. Get over this very Irish and British idea that you simply must own a house ASAP.
Post by: bennydorano on January 13, 2016, 04:10:23 PM
That it's important to leave your comfort zones.
Post by: deiseach on January 13, 2016, 04:22:31 PM

Spare yourself the buttock-clenching humiliation, it all works out in the end.
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 13, 2016, 05:06:22 PM

I 'd have needed that advice between 18 and 32 years of age!
Post by: bennydorano on January 13, 2016, 05:25:34 PM
If I was back on the open market i'd say i'd be worse with ladies now than i was then ffs. I'm institutionalised.
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 05:38:55 PM
Nobody has all the answers.
Post by: Longshanks on January 13, 2016, 05:42:39 PM
Stop supporting Newcastle.

Be yourself and don't follow the crowd.
Post by: Denn Forever on January 13, 2016, 05:46:17 PM
Believe in yourself and fight for what you want.  It's never handed to you espescially if you don't ask.
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 05:49:28 PM
It is all about the iterations and what gives you energy . You can only be yourself. Nobody else can.
Post by: armaghniac on January 13, 2016, 05:56:28 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 13, 2016, 03:46:39 PM
LOL.

unless she's from Lurgan, in which case it won't work.
Post by: Clov on January 13, 2016, 05:56:51 PM
Read more.
Post by: Hardy on January 13, 2016, 06:01:06 PM
Don't believe the priests. Listen to your parents. They know more than you think.
Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 06:15:21 PM
If they can't explain it to you , don't believe them
Post by: leenie on January 13, 2016, 06:37:46 PM
Don't be so obsessed with westlife..

One day one of them will be entering the Eurovision  :-X  :-\
Post by: Puckoon on January 13, 2016, 07:11:10 PM
I'd tell the 15 year old to leave a note for the 25 year old. He was the one that needed sorted out.
Post by: Asal Mor on January 13, 2016, 07:16:13 PM
Be yourself and love yourself. Don't give a toss what anyone thinks of you but be nice to people all the same, if you want them to be nice to you.

Soon you'll start going to nightclubs. It's ok if you don't like them. They really are shite, you're not weird for hating them. You'll meet women in other places.

Take a couple of years off from education after you finish school. Do a bit of work and a bit of travelling and go to college when you know what you really want to do.

Getting pissed out of your head and acting like an ass isn't hilarious or "mad" or "cracked" or anything like it. It's a bit pathetic and we do it in Ireland because we're afraid to express ourselves sober. You can get as much of a buzz from exercise and sport as you can from drink, drugs and fags.
Post by: maggie on January 13, 2016, 07:17:37 PM
That its ok to not be in the 'cool gang'.  The nerds will end up being cool.

Post by: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 09:01:00 PM
Quote from: maggie on January 13, 2016, 07:17:37 PM
That is so true. Nobody paid attention to X when we were in school. She hung around with a nerdy crowd and the lads were all focused on other women.
We had a reunion just before Christmas and everyone was wondering who the very attractive and radiant woman in the corner was. It was X. Life is funny.
Post by: The Iceman on January 13, 2016, 09:25:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 13, 2016, 04:05:00 PM

I'd tell myself and all my friends the exact opposite. Get over this very Irish and British idea that you simply must own a house ASAP.
I was paying rent in my 20s when I could have paid a mortgage. I have friends who bought houses and rented them out and in 10 years some of them will own more than 10 houses each that were paid for by renters like me! I would rather have 10 houses to sell when I'm 50 or have the rental income than be sitting with one house to my name....
Post by: screenexile on January 13, 2016, 11:14:56 PM
Took me until late twenties to realise that even ugly c***ts can get women and it was far too late! As the man said chance your arm and a few nice ones will go for it!!! Sure you're no worse off if they don't...
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 13, 2016, 11:27:04 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on January 13, 2016, 07:16:13 PM
Getting pissed out of your head and acting like an ass isn't hilarious or "mad" or "cracked" or anything like it. It's a bit pathetic and we do it in Ireland because we're afraid to express ourselves sober. You can get as much of a buzz from exercise and sport as you can from drink, drugs and fags.
Well said very good advice. Spending more time with your parents,grandparents also good advice said on here.
Post by: trileacman on January 13, 2016, 11:53:54 PM
Thought about it long and hard. Couldn't think of any that would significantly change anything.

I'll settle for " Stop worrying, you're fcuked either way ".
Post by: general_lee on January 13, 2016, 11:56:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 13, 2016, 11:14:56 PM
Took me until late twenties to realise that even ugly c***ts can get women and it was far too late! As the man said chance your arm and a few nice ones will go for it!!! Sure you're no worse off if they don't...
They all have facebook whatsapp tinder etc nowadays. It was pure graft back in the day.
Post by: BennyCake on January 14, 2016, 01:15:15 AM
Be yourself and love yourself. Don't give a toss what anyone thinks of you but be nice to people all the same, if you want them to be nice to you.

Soon you'll start going to nightclubs. It's ok if you don't like them. They really are shite, you're not weird for hating them. You'll meet women in other places.

Take a couple of years off from education after you finish school. Do a bit of work and a bit of travelling and go to college when you know what you really want to do.

Amen, Asal!

Say what you really feel. Don't feel you have to justify yourself. You're yourself, fcuk everyone else.
Expand your mind. Read more. Travel more.
Take the time to really talk to your Da and ask lots of questions. He won't always be around.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 14, 2016, 07:31:27 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 13, 2016, 09:01:00 PM
Quote from: maggie on January 13, 2016, 07:17:37 PM
That is so true. Nobody paid attention to X when we were in school. She hung around with a nerdy crowd and the lads were all focused on other women.
We had a reunion just before Christmas and everyone was wondering who the very attractive and radiant woman in the corner was. It was X. Life is funny.

I've noticed that myself. In my year at school a few of them had role reversals in the attractiveness stakes.
Post by: Declan on January 14, 2016, 08:26:12 AM
Learn a musical instrument. Keep a journal. Remember anyone who never makes a mistake has never tried anything
Post by: johnneycool on January 14, 2016, 08:47:23 AM
Be true to yourself and honest with your friends without being pig ignorant, they'll respect you longer term for it.

Never be afraid to make a mistake, go for it.
Post by: laoislad on January 14, 2016, 08:51:22 AM

....and don't forget to use sunscreen
Post by: gallsman on January 14, 2016, 09:05:18 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 13, 2016, 09:25:36 PM

I was paying rent in my 20s when I could have paid a mortgage. I have friends who bought houses and rented them out and in 10 years some of them will own more than 10 houses each that were paid for by renters like me! I would rather have 10 houses to sell when I'm 50 or have the rental income than be sitting with one house to my name....

How would people afford their, for example, 150% mortgages, if they left uni in, say 2006 and then lost their jobs a few years later?

What happens when you're 50, have ten houses to sell and nobody to buy them?

Effectively advising a 15 year old to get into property speculation at 21 is lunacy in my opinion.
Post by: No wides on January 14, 2016, 09:07:22 AM
Most of your friends now will cease to matter to you in 10 years time.  The only reason your "friends" are slagging the girl you hooked up with is that they are jealous they can't get one and are trying to act cool, on their own without a girl friend!!
Post by: No wides on January 14, 2016, 09:08:29 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 14, 2016, 09:05:18 AM

How would people afford their, for example, 150% mortgages, if they left uni in, say 2006 and then lost their jobs a few years later?

Effectively advising a 15 year old to get into property speculation at 21 is lunacy in my opinion.

You have a great grasp of the economy and the growing population if you think that would ever happen!
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 14, 2016, 09:15:25 AM
Be a wolf. Wolves don't stay away at night wondering what the sheep are thinking about.
Post by: gallsman on January 15, 2016, 10:04:19 AM
Quote from: No wides on January 14, 2016, 09:08:29 AM

You have a great grasp of the economy and the growing population if you think that would ever happen!

If you're old enough, try casting your mind back five or six years and see how much was happening in the property market.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2016, 10:19:18 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 14, 2016, 09:15:25 AM
Be a wolf. Wolves don't stay away at night wondering what the sheep are thinking about.

Ye Leinster rugby lads are mad into this psychobabble :)
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 15, 2016, 12:38:55 PM
Don't be influenced by any of that religious shite that is foisted upon you.
Post by: armaghniac on January 15, 2016, 01:16:27 PM
Say away from amoral Godless people and 6 countyists.

Don't bother with Facebook.

Eat more fruit and veg.

Post by: FermGael on January 15, 2016, 01:21:18 PM
Take the extra year in Australia.
Post by: laceer on January 15, 2016, 02:27:53 PM
Getting pissed isn't cool or grown up - don't attach so much weight to it.

Put in even a little effort for exams, uni etc. - it'll save you catching it all up in later years!

Enjoy every game of football you play - at 15 it can seem like you'll be playing for ever, at 32 you'll wish you could play them all again.
Post by: gallsman on January 15, 2016, 02:41:32 PM
Quote from: laceer on January 15, 2016, 02:27:53 PM

Put in even a little effort for exams, uni etc. - it'll save you catching it all up in later years!

Enjoy every game of football you play - at 15 it can seem like you'll be playing for ever, at 32 you'll wish you could play them all again.

Ah it can be great fun all the same though. I didn't really start drinking until I was 17 and ramped up until about 23 before going the other way from then on. These days most of my drinking will either be wine with food (and largely if only out in a restaurant) and an occasional whiskey at night. Almost never "go for a few drinks" and will likely only go to the pub if meeting up with friends that haven't been seen for a while. More likely to go for dinner though.
Post by: laceer on January 15, 2016, 02:57:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 15, 2016, 02:41:32 PM
Quote from: laceer on January 15, 2016, 02:27:53 PM

Ah it can be great fun all the same though. I didn't really start drinking until I was 17 and ramped up until about 23 before going the other way from then on. These days most of my drinking will either be wine with food (and largely if only out in a restaurant) and an occasional whiskey at night. Almost never "go for a few drinks" and will likely only go to the pub if meeting up with friends that haven't been seen for a while. More likely to go for dinner though.

It was more my attitude towards drinking at that age that I'd change. Enjoy the odd drink myself.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 15, 2016, 03:01:22 PM

This is exactly what my 15 year old self needed to hear and listen to. Great post Asal Mór.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 15, 2016, 03:03:42 PM
Don't feel obliged to keep your confirmation pledge.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 15, 2016, 03:06:31 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 15, 2016, 03:03:42 PM

At least I had the sense to not take the pledge. The school principal (a pioneer with a penchant for beating up kids) was apoplectic about it and made sure the whole parish knew about the one heathen that wasn't taking it.
Post by: screenexile on January 15, 2016, 03:17:50 PM
Confirmation pledge is an interesting one. I kept mine vehemently and then started drinking when I was 18. I wouldn't have been a big drinker compared to some but I had some big nights. I would be happy enough for my young ones to keep their pledge and not drink too early.

In terms of getting drunk yeah I would get drunk a bit but I could count on one hand the number of times I was blind drunk and in a state and I would take every one of them back if I could. Nothing is worse than that!! Never get so drunk that you black out and can't walk etc. it's the worst thing you can do!
Post by: The Iceman on January 15, 2016, 03:33:33 PM

advice I would give myself at 15 - not you - this is not advice I would give you - relax
I graduated from post grad in 2002 - I was paying rent that could easily have been a mortgage. I had friends who bought house and rented them out - housing executive tenants - long term renters - steady income - i dont see anything wrong with that advice  -wind your neck in
Post by: foxcommander on January 15, 2016, 03:55:28 PM
Don't just read what's in the book and regurgitate - try make sense of it. Things will stick in your head easier that way.
Post by: johnneycool on January 15, 2016, 03:56:32 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 15, 2016, 03:06:31 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 15, 2016, 03:03:42 PM

At least I had the sense to not take the pledge. The school principal (a pioneer with a penchant for beating up kids) was apoplectic about it and made sure the whole parish knew about the one heathen that wasn't taking it.

Pledges aside, I'd encourage any teenager not to drink too early as it does no harm to develop your social skills in sobriety, rather than thinking your jack the lad with the lush in, yet not be able to string a sentence together in company without it.

Post by: seafoid on January 15, 2016, 04:05:24 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 15, 2016, 03:17:50 PM
Confirmation pledge is an interesting one. I kept mine vehemently and then started drinking when I was 18. I wouldn't have been a big drinker compared to some but I had some big nights. I would be happy enough for my young ones to keep their pledge and not drink too early.

In terms of getting drunk yeah I would get drunk a bit but I could count on one hand the number of times I was blind drunk and in a state and I would take every one of them back if I could. Nothing is worse than that!! Never get so drunk that you black out and can't walk etc. it's the worst thing you can do!
I would be the same. Could never manage 10 rounds and never wanted to.
Post by: Hughie on January 15, 2016, 04:05:33 PM
One regret I have from University:

Never, ever, ever, ever turn down the ride.

There will be plenty of Tuesday nights when you're sitting in the house and nobody wants to come near you, and you'd give anything to go back to those college days. You'll have plenty of time for sleeping when you're working. You'll never get those nights back that you were too tired/lazy/couldn't be arsed answering the phone/going out/she's cet. At that time of the night no-one would know and you'd feel a lot better in years to come that you made the most of it when the opportunity presented itself.

Should add that I'm no oil painting - as evidenced by many nights bored out of my head reminiscing about bygone days!  ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on January 15, 2016, 04:40:47 PM
A corollary to that train of thought Hughie was this maxim: "A good run usually ends with a girlfriend, a bad run usually ends with a minger".