Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 02:53:23 PM

Title: Pure shite
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 02:53:23 PM
in your opinion

I will get the ball rolling with Ger Canning. GAA is too good for such mediocrity
Title: Re: Pure shite
Post by: armaghniac on January 07, 2016, 02:54:27 PM
coleslaw
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 02:55:13 PM
Ready made meals.

Do not look at the ingredients
Post by: JoG2 on January 07, 2016, 02:55:29 PM
George Michael's song 'Jesus to a Child' , awful
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 07, 2016, 03:17:12 PM
(https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4027/4519856671_1b4a891668.jpg)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 07, 2016, 03:24:54 PM
In no particular order

Curry cheese chips
Baseball matches
Galway hurling
Gerry Adams claiming he was never in the IRA

Post by: magpie seanie on January 07, 2016, 03:33:24 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on January 07, 2016, 03:24:54 PM
In no particular order

Curry cheese chips
Baseball matches
Galway hurling
Gerry Adams claiming he was never in the IRA

I love it because of how it winds some people up (mostly blueshirts).
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 03:36:27 PM
Nordies.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 07, 2016, 03:40:48 PM
Mexicans
Yerra
Cricket

Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2016, 03:41:41 PM
Pure shite (http://hanleysofcork.com/composts/farmyard-manure)
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 03:42:11 PM
Star Wars.
Going to Mass.
Valentines Day/Fathers Day/Mothers Day
Ulster Football
The Weather
Egg Mayonnaise
Breaking Bad
Ireland's Call
Mushrooms
My Mother in laws Christmas Dinner
Rugby
Post by: Rossfan on January 07, 2016, 03:44:44 PM
This thread ;D
Post by: pullhard on January 07, 2016, 03:45:48 PM
PPI callers
Cold Callers
JW knocking the door
b**tards calling and asking if you were in a car crash
Post by: Boycey on January 07, 2016, 03:48:32 PM
Shopping... As I type this I'm sitting outside yet another store in Liffey Valley. I actually think she might have been in this one already  >:(
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2016, 03:48:56 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2016, 03:41:41 PM

Is this the bag of shite of which Paul Calf spoke?
Post by: Pub Bore on January 07, 2016, 03:52:16 PM
Irish League soccer
The Leinster Senior Football Championship
Post by: ziggysego on January 07, 2016, 03:52:53 PM
Post by: HiMucker on January 07, 2016, 03:53:34 PM
Titus Bramble
Courgettes
Selfies
Sky Movies Premier
Padded Bras
Wee dabs off sauce you get on your plate in a restaurant
Quorn
Majority if not all kids plastic toys
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2016, 03:53:51 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2016, 03:48:56 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2016, 03:41:41 PM

Is this the bag of shite of which Paul Calf spoke?

I couldn't say, but I could refer you to some specialists here who may help you.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 03:56:53 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 07, 2016, 03:53:34 PM
Titus Bramble
Courgettes
Selfies
Sky Movies Premier
Padded Bras
Quorn
Fake tan and the point on the neck where it stops and the paleness resumes
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:00:43 PM
The Department of Finance
Large swathes of England
the Daily Mail
Rugby and concussion
Strictly come dancing
Plamas
Saudi arabia
The Glazers
Motorway restaurants
Fox news
RTE news
Over to Con for the sport
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 04:03:18 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 07, 2016, 03:48:32 PM
Shopping... As I type this I'm sitting outside yet another store in Liffey Valley. I actually think she might have been in this one already  >:(
I've only just left the place!
So that was you with the big sour head siting outside H&M....
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 07, 2016, 04:04:41 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 03:56:53 PM
Titus Bramble
Courgettes
Selfies
Sky Movies Premier
Padded Bras
Quorn
Fake tan high on list of pure shite. Fake nails,eye lashes,hair extensions and plastered in make up.
Post by: illdecide on January 07, 2016, 04:07:45 PM
Head Aches (her head aches not mine)
Sports injuries
Work
Getting caught doing something you shouldn't be doing
Working with the ugliest set of women u ever seen (and they're not that slim either)
Tony Fearon
The same teams in the last 4 of the All Ireland almost every year

Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 04:12:22 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 07, 2016, 03:52:53 PM
I know you don't mean that   :-*
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:13:45 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 07, 2016, 04:04:41 PM
Titus Bramble
Courgettes
Selfies
Sky Movies Premier
Padded Bras
Quorn
Fake tan high on list of pure shite. Fake nails,eye lashes,hair extensions and plastered in make up.
After the battle of Aughrim the Williamites stripped the bodies of the dead Irish and stole whatever they had. A traveller who passed by the gore observed how pale the bodies were, almost pure white. That is what we are. You see it after matches in the GAA when the jerseys are swapped. Very few tans.

And Darren Kennedy ? the RTE fashion guru , was interviewed a while ago and asked what one makeup recommendation he would make to Irish women. and he said drop the fake tan, leverage your beautiful pale skin. I thought it was so sad to consider all of the Irish women who are brainwashed to pour on the slap . The purest of shite, at least 40 percent proof. 

I was on aer lingus this morning and one of the air hostesses had the fake tan on and I took a photo but she was giving out to me
Post by: JoG2 on January 07, 2016, 04:16:16 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 07, 2016, 04:04:41 PM
Titus Bramble
Courgettes
Selfies
Sky Movies Premier
Padded Bras
Quorn

you'd be more of an amateur / homemade section type of guy?  8)
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:16:45 PM
Blonde highlights and dark eyebrows
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 07, 2016, 04:22:10 PM
Irish country music.
Mrs Brown.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:22:19 PM
Titus Bramble
Courgettes
Selfies
Sky Movies Premier
Padded Bras
Quorn
Good call on the padded bras. Truth will out in the end.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:23:21 PM
The (Evening) Herald
Roses chocolates
Fish fingers

Post by: Aristo 60 on January 07, 2016, 04:24:09 PM
Funny how pure shite is something we don't like but a good shite is something we all love.

And comfortable shites, they're the holy grail!

Post by: screenexile on January 07, 2016, 04:24:43 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on January 07, 2016, 04:22:10 PM
Irish country music.
Mrs Brown.

He's nailed it... close the thread!!
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:29:25 PM
Jeffrey Donaldson
Gregory Campbell
Brian Carthy
The Irish League
Pat Spillane TSG analysis
Larne
Portadown
Planning in Dublin
Most of the Tiger era houses
Not having a Failte go Connacht sign in Athlone
The standard of language teaching

Post by: annapr on January 07, 2016, 04:32:08 PM
Would one or at the most two posts from you not have been enough seafoid?
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:33:17 PM
Pornification in the form of disrespectful clothes for young  girls and no body hair for older women
Post by: Hereiam on January 07, 2016, 04:33:37 PM
TV in general
English Premier league
Scottish Premier league
Working
Never enough Money
The weather
North of Ireland politics
peas
cabbage

Post by: Denn Forever on January 07, 2016, 04:52:25 PM
Unfortunately have to say Mayo Senior Football teams in AI Finals.
Post by: upthehoops on January 07, 2016, 05:00:53 PM
West Brit Queens County Blue Shirts who support Liverpool in that Borefest EPL
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 07, 2016, 05:01:09 PM
Most rugby games
Post by: NetNitrate on January 07, 2016, 05:22:44 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:23:21 PM
Roses chocolates
Controversial that.
Turkish Delight on the other hand.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 05:28:30 PM
Orange parades
gable paintings of the Somme or local dead psychopaths with cod military rank
The DUP
Post by: bennydorano on January 07, 2016, 05:46:40 PM
Weddings - when you're there because it's the Mrs's connections. (& the women's build up to it obv :))
Post by: imtommygunn on January 07, 2016, 05:48:35 PM
Brussel sprouts
Christmas pudding
Post by: general_lee on January 07, 2016, 05:50:06 PM
RTE'S stupid geo-block on anything remotely worth watching
The poncy gimps on cool fm
Women in shops (especially bad around Christmas) They do that annoying as f**k slow walk around the shop while your trying to get to what you want,  lift it and pay for it.
Wealthy protestant farmers
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 07, 2016, 06:03:12 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/MBNVcxf.png)
Post by: trileacman on January 07, 2016, 06:23:25 PM
Can this be renamed the prejudice and begrudgery thread?
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 06:43:52 PM
Quote from: upthehoops on January 07, 2016, 05:00:53 PM
West Brit Queens County Blue Shirts who support Liverpool in that Borefest EPL
Ah go on, tell us who you're talking about  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 07, 2016, 07:09:33 PM
Taking one while having nothing to read.
Post by: ziggysego on January 07, 2016, 07:16:01 PM
Short arms, itchy back.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 07:53:26 PM
The lack of working class faces and voices on RTE which is far too middle class for its own good.

Any ould plonk can call itself a grand vin de Bordeaux

Ladies overdoing the Sauvignon.
Post by: Puckoon on January 07, 2016, 08:03:49 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 07, 2016, 02:54:27 PM
coleslaw

Yer balls!
Post by: trileacman on January 07, 2016, 08:04:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 07:53:26 PM
The lack of working class faces and voices on RTE which is far too middle class for its own good.

You're the first working class martyr/ wine critic.
Post by: general_lee on January 07, 2016, 08:10:55 PM
Mushy peas
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2016, 08:13:57 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 07, 2016, 08:04:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 07:53:26 PM

You're the first working class martyr/ wine critic.
I'm assuming/hoping his post was tongue in cheek.

No-one feels more for the working classes than the middle - class.
Post by: GJL on January 07, 2016, 08:24:18 PM
Hit the diff
Post by: saffronandblue on January 07, 2016, 08:49:39 PM
Coriander, Parmesan Cheese and anchovies!!
Post by: armaghniac on January 07, 2016, 08:56:57 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 07, 2016, 08:03:49 PM
coleslaw

Yer balls!

I'd sooner eat my balls than coleslaw, it is one of the most disgusting things in Irish cuisine.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2016, 09:03:25 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 07, 2016, 08:56:57 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 07, 2016, 08:03:49 PM
coleslaw

Yer balls!

I'd sooner eat my balls than coleslaw, it is one of the most disgusting things in Irish cuisine.
It's the cornerstone of every Irish "garnish" or salad you f**king Philistine. You know when a woman is on a permanent diet of eating salads and they have coleslaw... ::)

In general it's the devil's work but I used to sample it on a chip occasionally whilst blocked as a student.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2016, 09:10:47 PM
- Man United supporters particularly the morons who fly banners over Anfield etc.
- Loyalists especially the deranged, low IQ fleggers.
- Northern politics with a special mention for Gregory Campbell, Nelson McCausland and some of the Sinn Fein acolytes.
- Dolls that are living off their husbands salary but think they are bees knees. That's all you dolls driving around in Q7s with sunglasses on/on top of your head in the dark.
- Southern drivers as they don't know how to navigate a roundabout
- This wet weather
- "Banter"

To be continued...
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 09:15:16 PM
Losing a tight match in Croker and the drive home
Post by: leenie on January 07, 2016, 09:32:28 PM
People who are anti-cultchie
People not knowing the 32counties eg thinking Belfast/Killarney are counties (imo this is mainly southerners
Some posters posts..
Tv soaps
Women's tennis
The kardashians
Social experiments ' to prove a point' when actually they are damaging to society...
Post by: foxcommander on January 07, 2016, 09:33:42 PM
Celebrity chefs. You are glorified cooks. Rachel Allen take note.

and cooking shows. whats the point if you can't taste it. Yes, it is yummy...but how the f do you know...

Enda and the gang.
Post by: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 09:39:04 PM
Glasgow Celtic
An over cooked steak
Harry Potter
Nordie drivers thinking they own the road when they drive here
Kilkenny hurling fans
Chef tomato sauce
HP Brown sauce
An overcooked fried egg
Teachers
Roscommon

Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 09:54:14 PM
Salad cream

Funeral salads with the above

Salads with sweetcorn

Taxi drivers with no interest in sport

The Sunday Independent

Irish Thatcherites

Monolingualism

Civil Service people who would rather shaft their own children economically than take a pay cut   

Post by: Itchy on January 07, 2016, 10:37:48 PM
Blaming the government for floods
Crying Armagh Nancy boys
Roscommon performance in the critical 2016 Hastings cup
Post by: general_lee on January 07, 2016, 10:45:29 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 07, 2016, 09:32:28 PM
People not knowing the 32counties eg thinking Belfast/Killarney are counties (imo this is mainly southerners) women
Fixed
Post by: ziggy90 on January 07, 2016, 10:59:25 PM
Arseton Vile.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 11:10:35 PM
I believe I can fly

Everything  by the Lighthouse family

Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 07, 2016, 11:17:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 11:10:35 PM
I believe I can fly

In fairness, they have lit up the supermarket music scene for years
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2016, 11:21:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 11:10:35 PM
I believe I can fly

Indeed.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 12:10:57 AM
music in supermarkets and lifts. Why no black betty for example ? Or Jesus built my hotrod ?
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 08, 2016, 12:30:43 AM
Pillar Caffrey's attempts to land Sam
Post by: thebigfella on January 08, 2016, 12:41:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 07, 2016, 04:33:17 PM
Pornification in the form of disrespectful clothes for young  girls and no body hair for older women

Ah ffs wise up. I remember the bad old days when Irish women didn't invest in grooming, that not a place I think society needs to revisit :D
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 12:44:07 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 08, 2016, 12:41:46 AM

Ah ffs wise up. I remember the bad old days when Irish women didn't invest in grooming, that not a place I think society needs to revisit :D

I think it's sick, making grown women look like babies, all because of video culture
Post by: ziggysego on January 08, 2016, 01:17:37 AM
People not knowing the 32counties eg thinking Belfast/Killarney are counties (imo this is mainly southerners
Some posters posts..
Tv soaps
Women's tennis
The kardashians
Social experiments ' to prove a point' when actually they are damaging to society...

Hey leenie

I've missed you on here. How you doin?

Fancy a pint some night? I mostly drink tea now.  Black tea, none of that milky nonsense.
Post by: weareros on January 08, 2016, 02:38:11 AM
Giant's Causeway
Cliffs of Moher
Lakes of Killarney
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2016, 05:18:57 AM
The plastered-on make-up of Irish women. You can always spot the WAGs in the hotel when the All-Stars come to visit, they're the ones with the florescent faces.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 07:26:59 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2016, 05:18:57 AM
The plastered-on make-up of Irish women. You can always spot the WAGs in the hotel when the All-Stars come to visit, they're the ones with the florescent faces.

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/stylist-darren-blasts-our-love-of-fake-tan-27926048.html

In fairness it is a human psychology thing. Indians are desperate for skin whitening products. It is such a weird world. 
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 08:04:15 AM
Cheap country music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQ13NjgE8Ck

the best country music is the dogs bollocks

Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2016, 08:16:00 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 07:26:59 AM

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/stylist-darren-blasts-our-love-of-fake-tan-27926048.html

In fairness it is a human psychology thing. Indians are desperate for skin whitening products. It is such a weird world.

But women in North America who don't live in sunny climates seem able to look natural.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 08:27:00 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2016, 08:16:00 AM

But women in North America who don't live in sunny climates seem able to look natural.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Ywvg30G1kI
Post by: armaghniac on January 08, 2016, 08:27:47 AM
How much do American women spend looking natural?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2016, 08:28:24 AM
People who start multiple threads. Like Seafoid and Tony
Post by: armaghniac on January 08, 2016, 08:30:24 AM
People who post in nonsense threads.
Post by: annapr on January 08, 2016, 08:49:30 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2016, 08:28:24 AM
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 08:57:06 AM
Quote from: annapr on January 08, 2016, 08:49:30 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2016, 08:28:24 AM
People who come onto deliberately provocative threads to whine

Also when you have a double header of fuball hurling and none of the fuball fans stay around for the hurling
Post by: GJL on January 08, 2016, 09:01:18 AM
Ikea
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 09:06:42 AM
Women Engineers in my office who feel the need to tell everyone on the phone that they're a "Senior Engineer"...You're an engineer why do you have to tell them you're senior?
Post by: sensethetone on January 08, 2016, 09:15:20 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 09:06:42 AM
Women Engineers in my office who feel the need to tell everyone on the phone that they're a "Senior Engineer"...You're an engineer why do you have to tell them you're senior?

Some of the jokes about Engineers are Shite enough too, couldn't make it as a welder or fitter so became an engineer etc.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2016, 09:19:57 AM

Because of your tendency to demean them by hitting them a big slap on the arse and shouting 'G'wan ye good thing!' ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 09:23:47 AM
Some posters posts..
Tv soaps
Women's tennis
The kardashians

wtf? What southerner thinks Killarney is a county?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 09:27:30 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2016, 08:16:00 AM

Look natural??? Remind me again about plastic surgery clinics in the US? The Irish seem to have a particular fascination with fake tan, especially when going out to a function, and I do think it's ballix, but the US women love their makeup as well, just not fake orange tan,  and especially their plastic surgery far more.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 08, 2016, 09:29:27 AM
mini roundabouts
reality TV
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 09:53:48 AM
Journalists/Pundits who make a career out of negativity.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 09:55:39 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 09:53:48 AM
most sports interviews
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 10:13:30 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 09:53:48 AM

E Mc.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2016, 10:19:08 AM
He'd be one then add in the RTE formula and you have Joe Brolly Pat Spillane Eamon Dunphy George Hook Niall Francis etc.

Those guys have made well paid careers out of it.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 10:20:29 AM
The post all Ireland final Yank style entertainment.
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 10:57:34 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2016, 09:19:57 AM

Because of your tendency to demean them by hitting them a big slap on the arse and shouting 'G'wan ye good thing!' ;D

Class...tell u what you couldn't miss their arse...like a bag of blue circle ;)
Post by: finbar o tool on January 08, 2016, 11:01:35 AM
Facebook
Mrs Brown
calling paddys day "pattys day"
Ryan Tubridy
Xfactor
not using indicators, at roundabouts especially

you could stay adding to the list for the day! ;D
Post by: Hereiam on January 08, 2016, 11:11:10 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 10:57:34 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2016, 09:19:57 AM

Class...tell u what you couldn't miss their arse...like a bag of blue circle ;)

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: gallsman on January 08, 2016, 11:40:25 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on January 07, 2016, 07:09:33 PM
Taking one while having nothing to read.

Smartphones have revolutionised this art form, especially while at work.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 11:46:54 AM
All the cheap shit chocolate for sale in any newsagent or grocery shop and the obesity fallout

Cadburys don't pay anything to the HSE.
Post by: armaghniac on January 08, 2016, 11:48:33 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 11:46:54 AM
All the cheap shit chocolate for sale in any newsagent or grocery shop and the obesity fallout

Cadburys don't pay anything to the HSE.

(http://www.chocolatefantasies.com/CRAPOLA.JPG)
Post by: Canalman on January 08, 2016, 12:24:33 PM
Utter hatred alot of people have for Irish .

The usual stock / rota reasons nearly always given:

1. Rammed down their throat in school.
2. The book Peig.
3. Friend of a friend tried to learn Irish and was sneered at by the Gaeilgeoirs.
4. The Billions and billions spent by the government on the language.
5. Should be learning Mandarin etc  in school instead of Irish

Herdspeak.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 08, 2016, 12:54:25 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 07, 2016, 03:42:11 PM
Star Wars.
Going to Mass.
Valentines Day/Fathers Day/Mothers Day
Ulster Football
The Weather
Egg Mayonnaise
Breaking Bad
Ireland's Call
Mushrooms
My Mother in laws Christmas Dinner
Rugby
You left out Leinster football outside of Dublin.
Post by: mikehunt on January 08, 2016, 12:59:27 PM
A dose of the trots.
Post by: thebigfella on January 08, 2016, 01:10:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 12:44:07 AM

I think it's sick, making grown women look like babies, all because of video culture

Did they have video in Egyptian times? Plenty of cultures practiced the removal of body hair.

Fashion trends come and go; maybe the 70's porn look will come back but it's nothing to do with making women look like babies. If you think it's sick because you associate it will babies, then it say's a lot more about yourself and insecurities.
Post by: armaghniac on January 08, 2016, 01:43:49 PM

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/0c/a9/56/0ca9566418bdf3fa2e403c83d5d47013.jpg)
Post by: leenie on January 08, 2016, 01:52:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 09:23:47 AM
Some posters posts..
Tv soaps
Women's tennis
The kardashians

wtf? What southerner thinks Killarney is a county?

Please note my no 3

I wouldn't have written it, if it had not been something I was well aware of.
When studying at a southern university we carried out a very simple test that was regarding memory and speed, one part was naming the 32 counties, through this I became aware of the number of people who did not know their counties and did indeed answer Killarney and Belfast ...
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:10:18 PM
Naming random stuff in a speed test trying to beat a time under pressure is not the same thing. Witness people who say stupid stuff on radio quizes etc. The Capital of France is not 'F', for instance :)

I'm sure if you asked 100 people if Killarney was a county, you'd get at least 99% saying no.

And apologies if you think my posts are shite. I guess that's just hard shite for you :)
Post by: leenie on January 08, 2016, 02:11:33 PM
But they would think Belfast was ?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:13:10 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 08, 2016, 02:11:33 PM

I wouldn't think so, although the administrative Belfast/Antrim thing is a bit more confusing for some 'Southerners'.  I'd say you'd still be well into the 90's that would say no though.
Post by: leenie on January 08, 2016, 02:17:11 PM
Well I am aware of 'southerners' who do..
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2016, 02:18:37 PM
I got asked once by a woman from Dublin if Laois was near Portlaoise.
I do think though there are many Dublin people who haven't  a clue where anywhere is outside of Dublin.
A teacher friend of ours from Dublin asked me if Clonmel was anywhere near Naas when I had been telling her I had to drive down to Clonmel to do some work.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 02:19:55 PM
Quote from: Canalman on January 08, 2016, 12:24:33 PM
Utter hatred alot of people have for Irish .

The usual stock / rota reasons nearly always given:

1. Rammed down their throat in school.
2. The book Peig.
3. Friend of a friend tried to learn Irish and was sneered at by the Gaeilgeoirs.
4. The Billions and billions spent by the government on the language.
5. Should be learning Mandarin etc  in school instead of Irish

Herdspeak.
+1 on the Gaeilge

groupthink and the damage it wreaks

http://www.esri.ie/publications/the-role-of-decision-making-biases-in-irelands-banking-crisis-2/

Public service decision making
http://www.esri.ie/publications/researchers-imply-policymakers-infer-the-relationship-between-evidence-and-policy/
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 02:20:40 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 08, 2016, 01:10:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 12:44:07 AM

Did they have video in Egyptian times? Plenty of cultures practiced the removal of body hair.

Fashion trends come and go; maybe the 70's porn look will come back but it's nothing to do with making women look like babies. If you think it's sick because you associate it will babies, then it say's a lot more about yourself and insecurities.
Surely it says more about female insecurity
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 02:21:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 08, 2016, 02:18:37 PM

Dubs on the train to Galway who say Claralara en masse when the train stops at Clara

Southerners who think NI is a different country
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:23:41 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 08, 2016, 02:17:11 PM

I'm willing to bet there are more people in the 6 counties who don't know their counties than in the 26. Sure half the population up there couldn't give a f*ck if Killarney is a county or not :)

As regards southerners, I'm sure there are some, but the way you wrote it, I inferred it was a relatively common thing.
Post by: No wides on January 08, 2016, 02:33:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:23:41 PM

I'm willing to bet there are more people in the 6 counties who don't know their counties than in the 26. Sure half the population up there couldn't give a f*ck if Killarney is a county or not :)

As regards southerners, I'm sure there are some, but the way you wrote it, I inferred it was a relatively common thing.

As a % of their respective population possible but not more people, the unionists in the occupied 6 wouldn't know or care especially the working class unionist but I bet the nationalist community in the occupied 6 would be close to 100%.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:36:37 PM
Well, if you take all the unionists, that's a good few hundred thousand. I'd be shocked if your average adult down here had issues like that.

But of course there will be some muppets. They are everywhere :)

P.S. For the purposes of this discussion I exclude everyone inside the M50 Ring :)
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 02:38:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:36:37 PM
Well, if you take all the unionists, that's a good few hundred thousand. I'd be shocked if your average adult down here had issues like that.

But of course there will be some muppets. They are everywhere :)

P.S. For the purposes of this discussion I exclude everyone inside the M50 Ring :)
where is muppet ?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:39:11 PM
Good question. Probably in County Castlebar.
Post by: general_lee on January 08, 2016, 03:21:17 PM
I actually got asked something similar last week (is Portlaoise in Laois) albeit by a Cavan woman. Why are women so shite at geography?
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2016, 03:44:45 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 08, 2016, 03:21:17 PM
I actually got asked something similar last week (is Portlaoise in Laois) albeit by a Cavan woman. Why are women so shite at geography?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duio2ZaVr1g
Post by: illdecide on January 08, 2016, 04:20:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:23:41 PM

I'm willing to bet that is pure shite...and that you're talking shite, prob complete opposite.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 04:29:09 PM
You think less people in the north would struggle to name the 32 counties?
Post by: AQMP on January 08, 2016, 05:07:01 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:13:10 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 08, 2016, 02:11:33 PM

I wouldn't think so, although the administrative Belfast/Antrim thing is a bit more confusing for some 'Southerners'.  I'd say you'd still be well into the 90's that would say no though.

Belfast was a "county borough" until 1973.  The term is still used in ceremonial titles.

County boroughs in the South weren't officially abolished until 2001.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_borough#Northern_Ireland
Post by: Orior on January 08, 2016, 05:16:33 PM
Will someone please think of the counties.
Post by: leenie on January 08, 2016, 08:44:53 PM
Some posters and their posts..
Tv soaps
Women's tennis
The kardashians

Can you guess who I was talking about ?
Post by: seafoid on January 09, 2016, 12:20:17 PM
Controversial call here but the Victoria's secret show

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TER4Mc1tVzQ

I presume it has launched millions of w**ks.

I am as interested in tits and ass as anyone but the women say nothing. And women report that the underwear is crap on top.
Post by: seafoid on January 14, 2016, 11:07:03 PM
James Bond fillums
Post by: ziggysego on January 14, 2016, 11:30:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 14, 2016, 11:07:03 PM
James Bond fillums

Post by: Asal Mor on January 14, 2016, 11:51:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 14, 2016, 11:07:03 PM
James Bond fillums
They're shite but Roger Moore is so bad he's hilarious.
Post by: Itchy on January 14, 2016, 11:58:42 PM
There are some gobshites in this country that do not realise Cavan is the centre of the universe.
Post by: laoislad on January 15, 2016, 07:58:28 AM
Quote from: Itchy on January 14, 2016, 11:58:42 PM
There are some gobshites in this country that do not realise Cavan is the centre of the universe.
I'm one of those gobshites. 
I always thought it was Tyrone.
Post by: illdecide on January 15, 2016, 09:07:53 AM
Quote from: laoislad on January 15, 2016, 07:58:28 AM
I'm one of those gobshites.
I always thought it was Tyrone.

At least you're honest.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2016, 10:00:59 AM

It's not Cavan per se. It's wherever Larry Reilly happens to be at that moment.
Post by: seafoid on January 15, 2016, 10:04:16 AM
Offfaly  hurling and football now
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2016, 10:05:38 AM
You could at least spell it correctly.
Post by: illdecide on January 15, 2016, 10:33:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 15, 2016, 10:05:38 AM
You could at least spell it correctly.

Lol...You guys are the centre of Ireland ;) but only if u spell it right
Post by: seafoid on January 15, 2016, 03:57:06 PM
Conifer plantations
Post by: seafoid on January 15, 2016, 05:33:17 PM
98 fm
Post by: seafoid on January 15, 2016, 06:28:58 PM
Anything either
associated with Murdoch
produced by Louis Walsh
called the people's x such as the Sunday World
Post by: GJL on January 17, 2016, 09:45:08 PM
Liverpool defending of set pieces.
Post by: clarshack on January 17, 2016, 10:08:38 PM
The over rated EPL.
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2016, 10:28:13 PM
Smiling.
Post by: No wides on January 17, 2016, 10:52:44 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 17, 2016, 10:08:38 PM
The over rated EPL.

Number one on the list.
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2016, 11:00:20 PM
Who's overrating it?
Post by: No wides on January 17, 2016, 11:04:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2016, 11:00:20 PM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media.  Fair play to sky though for selling this shite to mugs who pay a fortune to watch millionaires poncing about, waiting for the next multi million pound transfer to another boring club.
Post by: seafoid on January 17, 2016, 11:05:14 PM
The GPA
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2016, 11:13:27 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 17, 2016, 11:04:11 PM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media. 

Don't think that's true. Almost universal agreement that it's a mediocre league in terms of quality. However, an interesting season.
Post by: seafoid on January 18, 2016, 12:52:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2016, 11:13:27 PM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media. 

Don't think that's true. Almost universal agreement that it's a mediocre league in terms of quality. However, an interesting season.
Anyone can generate hype for 10 million per match.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 18, 2016, 09:18:59 AM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media. 

You're spot on. In fact a lot of the hand wringing on British media over the past few years is how are the English teams going to compete again at the top level in Europe.

Of course it's hyped, but it is interesting.
Post by: seafoid on January 18, 2016, 09:41:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 18, 2016, 09:18:59 AM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media. 

You're spot on. In fact a lot of the hand wringing on British media over the past few years is how are the English teams going to compete again at the top level in Europe.

when was the last EPL FIFA player of the year? I think it was Michael Owen in 97.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 18, 2016, 09:46:10 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 18, 2016, 09:41:43 AM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media. 

when was the last EPL FIFA player of the year? I think it was Michael Owen in 97.

It was 2001 Owen won it.
Ronaldo was still at united when he won it in 2008 too.
Post by: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 09:50:54 AM
Owen won the Balloon d'Or as "European Footballer of the Year" when it was awarded by France Football magazine and separate from the FIFA World Player of the Year, which Luis Figo won that year.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 18, 2016, 09:52:33 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 09:50:54 AM
Owen won the Balloon d'Or as "European Footballer of the Year" when it was awarded by France Football magazine and separate from the FIFA World Player of the Year, which Luis Figo won that year.
They have been amalgamated into the one award since, im not sure when that happened.
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2016, 10:38:09 AM
Who's overrating it?

Fans and the media. 

To continue a theme -
EPL Interesting
Goat Helicopter
Post by: stephenite on January 18, 2016, 10:52:12 AM
Has anyone mentioned Roscommon yet?
Post by: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 11:52:05 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 18, 2016, 09:52:33 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 09:50:54 AM
They have been amalgamated into the one award since, im not sure when that happened.

The combined FIFA Ballon d'Or has been presented since 2010. The female one is still strangely called the FIFA World Player of the Year Award.
Post by: Orior on January 18, 2016, 12:48:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 11:52:05 AM

The combined FIFA Ballon d'Or has been presented since 2010. The female one is still strangely called the FIFA World Player of the Year Award.

Jumping on to the end of this thread about pure shite, and I see FIFA Ballon d'Or being discussed. Seems like either end of the spectrum.
Post by: seafoid on January 18, 2016, 12:56:24 PM
The Late Late show. Now for details of tonight's competition
Post by: seafoid on January 18, 2016, 04:12:14 PM
Shops selling choc ices in January . The sales effort.