GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on December 09, 2015, 12:48:48 PM

Title: Phrases you associate with GAA matches
Post by: seafoid on December 09, 2015, 12:48:48 PM
Things like

Go home ref
Anyone for the last few choc ices

etc
Title: Re: Phrases you associate with GAA matches
Post by: Syferus on December 09, 2015, 12:50:20 PM
Another wide by Mayo.
Post by: BennyCake on December 09, 2015, 12:59:02 PM
Take that useless bollix aff!
Ya bollix ref!
Ya stupid shite ye!
Oh jaysus!
For feck sake!
What was that for, ref (ya bollix!)
Oh Christ, look who's coming on!
Ya dirty bollix!

Or is that just me?  ;D
Post by: The Subbie on December 09, 2015, 01:05:17 PM
The yella ****
Thon cowardly ****
Thon p***k
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on December 09, 2015, 01:08:17 PM
That lad isn't playing well today, but he is trying his best which is the main thing!  ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on December 09, 2015, 01:09:47 PM
Wake up for fecks sake!

Mark Up!

Kick it in!
Post by: Canalman on December 09, 2015, 01:12:18 PM
The phrase "touch tight" has come out of nowhere and is spouted all the time now.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 09, 2015, 01:14:27 PM
Nowhere? Our coaches used to shout that at our backs 25 years ago!
Post by: Canalman on December 09, 2015, 01:15:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 09, 2015, 01:14:27 PM
Nowhere? Our coaches used to shout that at our backs 25 years ago!

Fair enough . Only began hearing it myself around 5 or 6 years ago. Everyone at it now. 
Post by: AZOffaly on December 09, 2015, 01:16:19 PM
Maybe we were just negative hoors :)
Post by: whitey on December 09, 2015, 01:22:42 PM
"Come on to fvck"

Usually directed towards the ref linesmen or umpire
Post by: weareros on December 09, 2015, 01:26:47 PM
"He's only got a right" - usually followed by a nippy forward tapping one over with his left
Post by: The Gs Man on December 09, 2015, 01:52:31 PM
Hats, flags, scarves and headbands.
Schermozzle.
Cute hoorism.
No cows milked for a week.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 09, 2015, 02:12:18 PM
'ah jayus howl on to the thing'

'too long'
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 09, 2015, 02:22:42 PM
Bend your f**king back
Put him through the fence
Post by: seafoid on December 09, 2015, 02:30:13 PM
Ah come on ref
Blow it up*

*not used in Mayo
Post by: thejuice on December 09, 2015, 02:52:15 PM
"For fucks sake Joe would ye move for it"

"Aw well won Joe"

"Ah Joe what are ye shooting from there for?"

"Aw, Great score Joe."
Post by: five points on December 09, 2015, 03:21:15 PM
Put it up!

Do your job linesman.

Take him off the f**k.
Post by: ashman on December 09, 2015, 03:25:18 PM
"A bad wide" -  show me a good wide.
Post by: ashman on December 09, 2015, 03:29:04 PM
A great man to bust up play.

A great "hurling man"

Tipp/ Tyrone will be hated because they border so many counties.

Post by: themac_23 on December 09, 2015, 03:45:51 PM
the best gaa phrase ever heard 'Ive heard he's going well in training'
Post by: 5 Sams on December 09, 2015, 03:46:42 PM
A game of two halves.
That's as good as a point.
Let him know you're there.
Post by: Rossfan on December 09, 2015, 04:28:52 PM
"Someone kick the fcukn ball"
Post by: illdecide on December 09, 2015, 04:36:53 PM
Take them f**king wing mirrors off ta f**k
Post by: ashman on December 09, 2015, 04:40:46 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on December 09, 2015, 03:45:51 PM
the best gaa phrase ever heard 'Ive heard he's going well in training'
[/quot

Them boys never perform come match day.
Post by: seafoid on December 09, 2015, 04:55:33 PM
Quote from: ashman on December 09, 2015, 03:25:18 PM
"A bad wide" -  show me a good wide.
A soft goal

followed by

they threw it away
Post by: Beffs on December 09, 2015, 06:07:23 PM
"It must be said." If the games is on the telly and Martin Carney is doing the commentary. Often said at the beginning, in the middle & at the end of the one sentence. Which is a pretty nifty trick. It must be said.

And

"There was no malice in it, no malice at all"

Completely ignoring the fact that some lad just missed having his head removed from his shoulders, by about a fraction of an inch.  ::)
Post by: SHEEDY on December 09, 2015, 06:38:27 PM
get f'ing rid of it!

your ball, your f'ing ball!

wide ball.

watch the post!

if you're gonna fight, fight over on this side so we can see it.

play it in long for fecks sake.
Post by: BennyCake on December 09, 2015, 06:38:46 PM
Go on ya boy ya!!
Post by: mouview on December 09, 2015, 10:53:02 PM
"Show for the ball"

When watching Galway hurling teams;
"Put your two f&%kin (*) hands on the hurl!"

(* Amount of curses used increases in direct proportion to amount of time gone in match. )
Post by: ashman on December 09, 2015, 11:09:34 PM
Only for the drink
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 10, 2015, 01:41:53 AM
Keep 'er lit (Tír Eoghain)!

Take it yourself you bollix (of a ref)!

Your guide dog's over here!

:)
Post by: sligoman2 on December 10, 2015, 05:24:23 AM
After a selfish solo run followed by a bad wide I was told by the manager that "there's a line over here where I'm standing"

Enuf said, no more selfish play from me.
Post by: The Subbie on December 10, 2015, 09:26:52 AM
He only ruffled his hair.
Post by: Keyser soze on December 10, 2015, 09:51:35 AM
Thats the ball .............. usually shouted when a huge aimless up and under is launched in.
Post by: deiseach on December 10, 2015, 09:56:17 AM
"G'wan Tom!"

*Tom passes to Dick*

"G'wan Dick!"

*Dick passes to Harry*

"G'wan Harry!"

*Harry passes to Tom*

"G'wan Tom!"

Can you see the pattern emerging?
Post by: stephenite on December 10, 2015, 10:04:44 AM
STEPS!!
Post by: imtommygunn on December 10, 2015, 10:26:37 AM
Slippy tit in reference to Padric Joyce at a league match...

"There he is auld slippy tit falling over again"

"Go on you slippy tit bas**rd"

It was in maghera(derry).
Post by: deiseach on December 10, 2015, 11:06:39 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 10, 2015, 10:04:44 AM
STEPS!!

My wife has observed my habit of going "Steps. STEPS! STEEEEEEEEEEPS!!!!!!"
Post by: ck on December 10, 2015, 01:21:42 PM
Let it in - That's the ball - Ah for ff
Post by: seafoid on December 10, 2015, 01:43:53 PM
put up that flag

Who cares ? It's only the league
Post by: Brick Tamlin on December 10, 2015, 02:35:20 PM
'..then he went to Belfast'
Post by: ashman on December 10, 2015, 03:00:07 PM
Takedownthatfcukingumbrella
Post by: TheClutch on December 10, 2015, 04:23:12 PM
"We haven't started yet lads" usually shouted by an oul boy along the line after 45minutes of play

"Where's your book ref???"

"Points win All Irelands"

"Take your points, the goals will come"

"Get him aff, ta f**k"

Post by: doodaa on December 10, 2015, 04:56:45 PM
"You'd have caught it if it was a cheeseburger" - usually said to/about the chunkier GAA player
Post by: The Subbie on December 10, 2015, 06:47:03 PM
He's f**king useless the ****, the brother is twice the footballer he is but no interest at all, at all.
Post by: BennyCake on December 10, 2015, 07:08:13 PM
Quit f**king about with it!
Kick the f**king thing!
Put him in the stand!
Post by: SHEEDY on December 10, 2015, 07:26:03 PM
wheres your cards now referee??

stick it overrrr!!

2 bouncessss
Post by: BennyCake on December 10, 2015, 08:24:47 PM
Thon boy's done.
Thon boy hasn't a clue [manager]
Thon boy's useless [player]
Post by: stew on December 10, 2015, 08:32:05 PM
Lovely atein apples (Outside Croker back in the day)

Hats, flags & Rosettes

Hats, flags and Official programs.

C'mon Armagh.
Post by: The Subbie on December 10, 2015, 09:45:21 PM
Hateful 'Blaney bastards.
Post by: ONeill on December 10, 2015, 10:09:28 PM
"Too Long" if anyone has the audacity to take a solo.

"Black Card, ref" for every foul.

"He married the full cousin" at Monaghan games in Croke.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 10, 2015, 10:19:16 PM
'couldn't kick snow off a rope' is a local classic
Post by: seafoid on December 10, 2015, 10:48:12 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on December 10, 2015, 10:19:16 PM
'couldn't kick snow off a rope' is a local classic
Wouldn't hit Clerys window wirra brick
Post by: The Subbie on December 11, 2015, 05:29:12 AM
What class of p***k decides to wear moulded boots a day like that
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 11, 2015, 06:46:07 AM
[Just before the throw-in] "Come on boys! From the start!"
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 11, 2015, 08:29:32 AM
The insurance point

As good as a score

Post by: sensethetone on December 11, 2015, 08:47:37 AM
That lad does play better when he's drunk :D
Post by: illdecide on December 11, 2015, 08:49:42 AM
What about the "kick it dead", making sure u don't drop it short
Post by: The Subbie on December 11, 2015, 09:54:16 AM
Let the **** know you are there

They are taking the f**king piss with the prices in that shop

There's a few bob about this club

Are the county boys togging out tonight

How much are they paying this new manager

They're training at what time in the morning
Post by: BennyCake on December 11, 2015, 11:09:48 AM
Before these coloured boots went mental, I used to hear...

Hit that **** with the poofy shoes!
Post by: Bingo on December 11, 2015, 12:28:06 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on December 10, 2015, 09:45:21 PM
Hateful 'Blaney b**tards.

WTF!!!!!

At least spell it right ya p***k.  ;D
Post by: The Subbie on December 12, 2015, 05:58:35 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 11, 2015, 11:09:48 AM

Did you go back to wearing black boots after that!!!
Post by: TabClear on December 12, 2015, 01:35:32 PM
"Let the ball do the work" usually quickly followed by "feck sake lads, don't kick it away"
Post by: BennyCake on December 12, 2015, 06:13:20 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on December 12, 2015, 05:58:35 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 11, 2015, 11:09:48 AM

Did you go back to wearing black boots after that!!!

Aye, I had to change into them at half time  ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on December 12, 2015, 07:51:46 PM
What would he know about football? He never won an AI medal!
Post by: seafoid on December 12, 2015, 08:12:08 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 12, 2015, 07:51:46 PM
What would he know about football? He never won an AI medal!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=euR_Idiso-Y