GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 16, 2015, 01:11:36 AM

Title: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2016
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 16, 2015, 01:11:36 AM
GAA Football Leinster Championship 2016 Draw

First Round

Laois v Wicklow

Louth v Carlow

Longford v Offaly

Quarter-Finals

Dublin v Laois/Wicklow

Louth/Carlow v Meath

Longford/Offaly v Westmeath

Wexford v Kildare

Semi-Finals

Laois/Wicklow/Dublin v Louth/Carlow/Meath

Longford/Offaly/Westmeath v Wexford/Kildare
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2016
Post by: redsetanta on October 16, 2015, 12:34:21 PM
A game against the All Ireland Champions in Nowlan Park would be a great occasion and that's where you'd want to be with a game under your belt.
Stick to the stand though as the bandwagon dubs will be in the terrace (tanked up from the night before).
Could Laois bring hurls to that one??
Post by: Tony on October 16, 2015, 01:41:05 PM
Junior, in fairness you could have put that on the thread "Looking forward to Laois in 2016". No point starting multiple threads about a very similar topic. ;)
Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 12, 2015, 08:14:07 AM
So, Nowlan Park it is if we beat Wickla.
What do ye think? Twitter is not impressed anyway and I'm inclined to agree.
Would it have been too much to ask Dublin to actually play an away game?!
Post by: Tony on November 12, 2015, 09:22:48 AM
Better than Croke Park but the ultimate would be Portlaoise - what a great fixture that would be (if we beat wicklow).
Post by: Unlaoised on November 12, 2015, 10:01:32 AM
A joke by the GAA ...The only county who doesn't field a football team get the benefit of the biggest football game outside Portlaoise for Years...

Why not O'Moore park its suppose to be Home game for the winners of Wicklow and Laois...

The GAA have pissed me off on this one!

I know if Wicklow win They have nowhere to host it and maybe Carlow or Portlaoise would have been an option then but Nowlan park it makes no sense!

#GAAMONEYGRABBERS
Post by: Tony on November 12, 2015, 01:04:11 PM
Makes no sense especially in the context of work being done to extend the capacity of O'Moore park by Jan 2016. It's idiotic. Not everything should revolve around money. They'll get an extra few grand from the match being in kilkenny. So what - would be a massive fixture in Portlaoise.
Post by: south Laois on November 12, 2015, 01:22:44 PM
This decision is beyond a joke. Why bother spending money on O Moore park if it's not to get any games that will test the capacity. To me it looks like a token gesture. It would have been a huge boost to the town of Portlaoise. I still think it's worthwhile to put in some sort of complaint. They probably won't change venue but at least they'll know our feelings on it.
Post by: Hospital Pass on November 12, 2015, 01:58:23 PM
This decision really does get my goat.
O Moore park after January of next year will actually have a larger capacity than Nowlan park. Are the dubs allergic to standing at games..... oh wait.
If the Gaa are using the lost revenue for the decision then lets not kid ourselves for any longer, the Gaa is a so called 'Amateur organisation' and decisions should not be made solely on financial gains.
If they wanted to go that route lets call it a professional sport and play the games in croker and pay the players.
Post by: Giovanni on November 12, 2015, 04:45:48 PM
I'd agree with all of the above. As far as I know the capacity of O Moore Park is 3,000 greater than that of Nowlan Park. This means that 3,000 will miss out on the game. I'm pretty sure that the vast majority of that 3,000 wouldn't mind if they're sitting of standing.

As someone else said, a game like this will have no impact on the popularity of the game in Kilkenny but it could have had a great impact on the kids around Laois.

Of course this is all assuming we managed to beat Wicklow, which is a pretty big assumption given our performance against lower division teams over the last few years.
Post by: Esmarelda on November 12, 2015, 04:57:15 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 12, 2015, 10:01:32 AM
A joke by the GAA ...The only county who doesn't field a football team get the benefit of the biggest football game outside Portlaoise for Years...

Why not O'Moore park its suppose to be Home game for the winners of Wicklow and Laois...

The GAA have pissed me off on this one!

I know if Wicklow win They have nowhere to host it and maybe Carlow or Portlaoise would have been an option then but Nowlan park it makes no sense!

#GAAMONEYGRABBERS
If Portaloise has a bigger capacity than Nowlan Park then how can it be about money?

With the number of Dubs signing up for season tickets, might it be that they have to provide a seat for them? It's grand saying they won't mind standing. They might just mind it.
Post by: Giovanni on November 12, 2015, 10:09:02 PM
Season tickets don't entitle the holder to stadium seating - as I learned in Aughrim a couple of years ago.

It's about money because you can charge more for seats and there are more seats in Nowlan Park. It's pathetic really
Post by: Unlaoised on December 01, 2015, 12:49:26 PM
I hear Kevin Meaney,Paul Begley,James Finn,Pauric McMahon,Conor Merdith,have all opted not to play this year...O'Leary can't be talked in to coming back either!  :( :( :(

I really hope Mick Lillis has the personality for this we need someone that can man manage this team and get lads back on board!

Post by: Helix on December 01, 2015, 02:31:35 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on December 01, 2015, 12:49:26 PM
I hear Kevin Meaney,Paul Begley,James Finn,Pauric McMahon,Conor Merdith,have all opted not to play this year...O'Leary can't be talked in to coming back either!  :( :( :(

I really hope Mick Lillis has the personality for this we need someone that can man manage this team and get lads back on board!

Do we really need to be coaxing lads to play for their county in fairness? Leave the option for them to return but leave it at that. If you want to play for your county, you don't need to be chased to play.
Post by: OTF on December 01, 2015, 08:34:41 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on November 12, 2015, 10:09:02 PM
Season tickets don't entitle the holder to stadium seating - as I learned in Aughrim a couple of years ago.

It's about money because you can charge more for seats and there are more seats in Nowlan Park. It's pathetic really

I'd say Kilkenny needed help to put the roof back on the shed,it's as simple as that.
Post by: SCFC on December 02, 2015, 10:54:51 AM

A pity about Meaney and Finn. Meredith is going travelling again. McMahon to be fair must be around 32? O'Leary would be a help but has lost the hunger.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 02, 2015, 01:27:51 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 02, 2015, 10:54:51 AM

A pity about Meaney and Finn. Meredith is going travelling again. McMahon to be fair must be around 32? O'Leary would be a help but has lost the hunger.

Finn has started a job up in Dublin and is doing long hours so can't commit to train I think.

Not sure about Meaney.

I'm not saying we should be chasing lads but big personalities can entice players to stick around and give it a shot.

Not saying Lilllis doesn't have it I will be backing him all the way .

I just worry that him Strong and Kelly don't have it collectively.I would have loved to have seen John Sugrue involved in some way even as a physio and adviser.

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 04, 2015, 12:18:46 AM

I just worry that him Strong and Kelly don't have it collectively.I would have loved to have seen John Sugrue involved in some way even as a physio and adviser.

Who are the "Strong and Kelly" that you are talking about. Have they been picked as selectors??

Post by: Unlaoised on December 04, 2015, 10:49:10 AM
Yes I'm aware that Kieran Kelly and John Strong as the selectors!!!

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 05, 2015, 12:56:45 AM
Thanks "Unlaoised", didn't hear that before..
Post by: Unlaoised on December 09, 2015, 10:30:20 AM
Lets hope Lillis can get his son,Brody,Cotter,Seale,Boyle and Cahilane into the Laois set up now!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 09, 2015, 01:42:20 PM
What about Smith, he's having a great year.
Post by: SCFC on December 10, 2015, 08:24:03 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 09, 2015, 01:42:20 PM
He's based in London so that's probably not viable.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 15, 2015, 03:36:28 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 10, 2015, 08:24:03 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 09, 2015, 01:42:20 PM
He's based in London so that's probably not viable.

Love Smith and Healy to commit but it won't happen as both are based in London and Healy wants to hurl again
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 10, 2016, 11:29:06 PM
And so it begins...

Lets have a big crowd out in support of our lads next Saturday..

Laois                                                              V                                                         Wicklow

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CiH0_d5W0AEsIVI.jpg)  (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CiHzwYcWEAAJ6Hw.jpg)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CiG1zWPWUAAclwx.jpg)

Post by: les Antiques on May 11, 2016, 02:18:07 PM
Hoping for a decent home support Saturday night !! Should we expect a team announcement tonight or tomorrow morning I wonder ?!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 11, 2016, 04:13:08 PM
We usually get a team Thursday night after training. Dont think there will be many changes since the last few games in the League, maybe Munnelly and Begley to come in there somewhere..
Post by: Unlaoised on May 12, 2016, 09:25:36 AM
So here we go ....

Is it just me or does it seem extremely early this year.

I haven't heard much seems as if the camp has told to keep things close to the chest.

I would presuming if fit the team will be along the lines of

Brody
Begley
Timmons
Attride
O'Connor
Strong
Donogher/Meredith
Quigley
Meaney
O'Carroll
O'Loughlin
Meredith/Donogher
Walsh
Donie
Cahilane/Munnelly

This is a complete guess as it has changed so much recently...If Begley isn't fit maybe young Farrell in the corner back spot.

There is certainly enough in the midfield and forward line to win this and win it well

I expect Laois to win by 4-6 points

I'd expect a Louth to beat carlow by the same sort of score line.

I hope the Laois gaels can come out and support the lads in force!

LAOIS ABÚ
Post by: SCFC on May 12, 2016, 09:55:53 AM
Meredith doubtful with injury I believe.  :-\
Post by: redsetanta on May 12, 2016, 09:57:37 AM
And Begley.
Post by: SCFC on May 12, 2016, 10:00:10 AM
Is Seale an option for corner back? Good player, should be capable of the step up.
Post by: Tony on May 12, 2016, 01:47:33 PM
Seale was a little off in the League but maybe rusty. He has potential. The FB line of Begley, Timmons, Attride sounds good to me - Begley's a bit of an all-rounder. He is more suited further out the field for Loais in my opinion BUT we're lacking in the FB line - I'd like to see him there this year.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 12, 2016, 03:55:18 PM
The team has been announced for Saturdays game. No place for Robbie Kehoe, Conor Meridith or Colm Begley but I think injuries have something to do with that.

Laois

Graham Brody

Stephen Attride, Mark Timmons, Paul Cotter

Damien O'Connor, Darren Strong, Gareth Dillon

John O'Loughlin, Brendan Quigley

Niall Donoher, Paul Cahillane, Evan O'Carroll

Ross Munnelly, Gary Walsh, Donal Kingston
Post by: Unlaoised on May 12, 2016, 04:11:34 PM
First time in a long time we have had 4 Portlaoise men on the team for a championship match I'd say you'd have to go back to 2010 or more I'd say ...For a few years it was only Healy it could have two then with Boyle and Lillis was around ..then for two years it was only Brody ...Good to see hopefully Lillis can get back as well to add more competition.

Sun shining teams getting announced people putting bets down as yes its championship time again .....And I for one fecking Love it!!!!!!

C'mon Laois!!!!!!

Post by: redsetanta on May 12, 2016, 04:43:39 PM
There'll probably be a switch or two before the throw in.

Donie won't be in the corner, Ross ain't a corner forward either but will work hard. Cahillane at 11? Also I'd have reservations with Darren Strong at centre back, he will leave it open going forward.

Will be very interesting to see how they line up and perform. In all reality they should have a bit to spare over Wicklow if there's anything about them.
Post by: Saint75 on May 13, 2016, 10:17:00 AM
That lineup should be enough to beat Wicklow but if that's the team against Dublin we'll concede a huge score......
Post by: County Man on May 13, 2016, 12:17:25 PM
The long wait is nearly over. 325 days since we played Antrim. Madness really.

Days like tomorrow are precious. Embrace it. Get out and support your county. Bring your friends.

Or else just forget about it. Start watching American football or cricket instead.

We are at home tomorrow. We should have the most support. Championship days are rare, very rare for a county like Laois.

Championship is where you are judged as Justin McNulty used to say.

The supporters and especially the players have to be 100% focused on Wicklow game and Wicklow game only.

Games against Wicklow have traditionally been close. 2014 was level at half time, eventually we pulled away. 2008 was touch and go. 2002 close enough in Dr Cullen Park but we came good. And of course 1986 in Aughrim.

Wicklow will not fear Laois. Johnny Magee will have them hungry and fit, make no mistake about it. Was at the Wicklow game against Meath last June in Navan and they gave the home crowd a fright. A large home crowd at that. I wish we had a support base that the royals have.

A big plus is that they dont seem to have Conor McGraynor involved this year. He is some talent, he was on fire against Meath. I remember seeing him first in a minor game v Laois back in 2010 and he featured in 2014 in Aughrim v Laois.

So you can forget your Nowlan Park and your Dublins.

We need to be on the ball tomorrow. Mentally tough, physically ready. Forwards need to click, backs need to be organised.

Gonna be a tough tussle. We have struggled with form this year. I'd take any sort of win tomorrow.

Best of luck to our lads tomorrow. Ye put your lives on hold for the cause, the least ye deserve is a bit of support.

Come on the blue and white.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 13, 2016, 06:32:04 PM
Well said County Man, c'mon everybody that can make it, get out there and let the lads know that we appreciate what they are giving up to represent our county and we are fully behind them.
We don't want Wicklow to outnumber us now, do we ? ? ? ?
Post by: Tony on May 13, 2016, 07:53:58 PM
Good post County man. I can see a good crowd for us tomorrow - great weather, lots of town loads back in the team for portlaoise supporters.... we even have a return of "attacking football"! Lads giving it a lot of effort in training. Great championship weather.

My prediction : Louth by 6, Laois by 5.
Post by: les Antiques on May 14, 2016, 10:11:06 AM
Best of luck to the lads this evening . Here's hoping the Laois GAA community get out and support there county . This is what its all about !!! Very interested to see what way we are set up once the ball is thrown in . Wicklow will be up for this and it will be tight .
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 14, 2016, 01:58:32 PM
 Very attack looking team  .. can see wiclkow getting a decent score
Hopefully Lillis will be taking advice from cunningham and putting some
Type of a credible defensive plan in place
We should have too much attacking power for them ..

Best of luck to the lads !!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 15, 2016, 12:39:55 AM
We started off like a team that was well up for it and for a while it looked like we would demolish them but then we realised we were Laois and let them back into it like we always do.
I'm not trying to be smart but I have been looking at this team playing for a good number of years now and I have come to the conclusion that we are actually learning nothing...

We continue to take too much out of the ball especially when we are attacking, we delay too long before we deliver the killer pass and we continue to give a pass to a man who is being tightly marked and as a result turn over possession far too often. Most of our attackers panic when they get anywhere near the scoring zone and we miss way too many scoring chances in EVERY game.
Its easy too blame management but a lot of our more established players do this game after game and never seem to learn anything from their previous mistakes.

I know Ross was away from football for a while but he was nowhere near match fitness tonight. Kingston was terrible throughout the game and only started playing near the end and luckily for us that he did as we were in danger of losing this one, mostly through our own mistakes.

Everyone else had good moments but we still don't seem to have much of a system to work with, a lot of it is hit and miss. Having said that it was great to come away with a win after a bad enough performance but we really need some serious thinking before the next one..

One man who can't be faulted was Mark Timmons, he had a stormer after a busy day for him...
(http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inpho_01060149.jpg)
http://www.hoganstand.com/Laois/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255109[/url]

Post by: redsetanta on May 15, 2016, 02:34:18 AM
Only Dublin next!
Post by: The Monument Road on May 15, 2016, 08:32:36 AM
We won and thats the only good thing about last night. JOL was my main man along with Timmons and Attride. One very obvious problem we have is our level of fitness. Its way off of whats expected and required.
The other problem is our half back line,they kept wicklow in it with fouls and it looked like it was some form of game plan they had or management instruction to foul 40/50 yards from goal (Lucky wicklow couldnt score those frees or we were in the qualifiers).I thought Darren was lucky to avoid more then one yellow with the amount of fouls he committed
Post by: steven seagal on May 15, 2016, 10:59:57 AM
The most disappointing thing about yesterday, for me anyway, was that we seemed to learn absolutely nothing from the league. We didn't improve defensively at all. We can barely tackle and we have no shape to ourselves. Add in our lack of fitness, and God only knows what Dublin will do to us, if they have a mind to be ruthless. It'll be a bloodbath.
Post by: Tony on May 15, 2016, 12:05:22 PM
Something seriously wrong in the camp. Nobody up for it yesterday apart from a few. Tackling awful. Giving away possession too easy. Lads unfit. We only seemed to spark into life when they came back at us. Don't know what to make of it or who to blame. Lads unfit, out of shape, lack of organisation - managments fault. Lads not up for it at all - why even put on the jersey.

Looked like a training match yesterday. If Wicklow had a free taker to capitalise on our awful defending, we'd be in bother.

On the plus side, we seem to have a habit of playing much better when our backs are against the wall. Doesn't seem to suit us to be far ahead - we seem to get complacent. For that reason, I think we'll put up a fight against the dubs, but our lack of organisation, lack of fitness and lack of talent in management will mean we'll be way off the pace.

I agree, Timmons man of the match. I thought Farrell did well when he came in. Meaney tried hard. O loughlin did well. Ross shouldn't have started - really not match fit. Kingston looked a shadow of himself - why? One of the best talents in the country looked average and unfit and disinterested - why? What's going on in that camp at all - does lillis even know? Seems clueless.

Each player needs to ask themselves : Do you want this? Do you want to play for Laois and play your heart out and progress? Be honest with themselves. If the answer is yes, great - you're doing the county proud. If no, leave it to someone who wants it. Same goes for management.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 15, 2016, 07:12:06 PM
Great post Tony. Laois Gaa is a mess. The malaise within the county is shocking.
I don't know what the answer is but I'd start with the county board.

As for the dubs our only hope is to put 13 behind the ball ala donegal and counter
Attack at pace. We have the players to play that game. We cant defend so the only option
Is to flood the defence with bodies around the scoring zone.  Get dillon, ocaroll, o loughlin, oconnor
Breaking out at pace and keepin walsh and donie as our outball.
Ross is not fit. Cahillane does not have the pace for ic football..
Post by: OTF on May 15, 2016, 07:23:53 PM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 15, 2016, 07:12:06 PM
Great post Tony. Laois Gaa is a mess. The malaise within the county is shocking.

As for the dubs our only hope is to put 13 behind the ball ala donegal and counter
Attack at pace. We have the players to play that game. We cant defend so the only option
Is to flood the defence with bodies around the scoring zone.  Get dillon, ocaroll, o loughlin, oconnor
Breaking out at pace and keepin walsh and donie as our outball.
Ross is not fit. Cahillane does not have the pace for ic football..

It's worrying alright, even if we put 13 behind the ball we still can't tackle  or stop runners.

We have to do everything we can to keep the score down a 20+ beating would demoralize the team going into the qualifiers.
Post by: les Antiques on May 15, 2016, 08:54:35 PM
From attending all but one league game  this performance isn't altogether surprising . We can state cliches all day long etc and ask where the effort is from the players but this has been coming . Apart from Crossmaglen this year where the majority of the Armagh team didn't bother to turn up we have never looked like actually winning a match . 
Our warm up in Enniskillen was as amateur as I have seen at any inter county match   .
There is a distinct  lack of organisation and our defensive set up is bewildering chaotic which was clearly evident yesterday . Most worryingly this team is not fit .
I as every Laois Gaa supporter should do,   will be in Nowlan Park on June Bank holiday weekend but I fear for us .. I really do .

Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 15, 2016, 09:17:04 PM
Not a bit surprising how we played. Amateur set up. No structure and no pattern to our play. Lads did their best which is good enough to beat the wicklows and carlows. Thank god Wicklow played man on man. Such a pity as we may not be good enough to beat the dubs but we could be a lot closer with a well run setup.
Post by: Giovanni on May 16, 2016, 09:59:38 AM
Generally, I left much the same as most of the other posters as I was leaving the ground on Saturday night. The quality of the defending is just incredible at this level. And this is nothing to do with defensive systems - this is just about getting the skill of tackling right. Funny enough, two of our best players, Attride and Timmons, played in the full-back line but as usual, the damage was done further out the field. Wicklow got 6 points from frees and could easily have had 4 or 5 more. The refereee was fussy but, apart from one or two in the first half,  it couldn't be said that they weren't fouls. It was lazy and indisciplined and that's really frustrating to see. If u-12s were doing that, you'd pick them up on it. I don't know if these habits can be overcome easily. I doubt it.

On the other hand, I think it's worth bringing some balance to this too.

Firstly, we won by 7 points. If we'd taken the two clear goal chances in the second half, it would have been 13 or more. Most people were saying before the match that they'd be happy to squeak a win.

Secondly, we didn't concede any obvious goal chances. I suspect that this might have been due to Wicklow's weakness but it's still a fact that we didn't give up any real goal chances

Thirdly, I thought that the general look of the camp was a bit more serious than it was during the league. There was a proper warmup routine (not that this should be considered a great advancement) and they started like they meant business. They also didn't fold when the pressure came on as they did against Antrim. Here, I would say that the panic substitutions that were made didn't help at all.

Fourth, there was some leadership. I thought JOL played like a man possessed. Timmons made some inspirational interventions and Attride was very good.  If the rest of the players needed some examples to follow, there were 3 of them there.

Fifth, although Donie is probably the most frustrating player I have ever seen play for Laois and had an awful game, he ended up with 1-6!! Half of these key scores came when we needed it. Although I don't personally buy into it, this would also be described as leadership by a lot of people.

Sixth, Gary Walsh got a great goal and looked dangerous every time he got the ball close to goal.

I'm not trying to suggest that this was a great performance at all - it certainly wasn't - and the tackling in particular seems to be getting worse and worse. But there is a danger that we go overboard on the criticism sometimes.

Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 16, 2016, 10:59:24 AM
I don't know Giovanni.

Look at most modern defences including the Dubs - they work on blocking and smothering runners and forcing turnovers using 2-3 players. It isn't really about the individual tackle which is often defined by the referee of the day as it was on Saturday. Although I do agree that our attempts at tackling on Saturday was fairly brutal, particularly on the half back line. I do think it is laughable that Mick is saying in his interview that our defence will not be good enough against Dublin when he has done nothing except resist the development of a defensive system all year (it doesn't suit us he said). Now we have 3 weeks to put something together - like we are surprised. The biggest criticism I would have of Lillis is that nobody seems to know what their job is. We put a tonne of hit and hope balls into the forwards yesterday, many which were easily dealt with. Players look isolated too often and too often there are no runners in support.

We still have the players to beat division 3 and 4 teams, you can get away without having a plan and a well drilled team. Beyond that is where this setup is still in the 80s. They could be so much further along with an intelligent setup.

Post by: Giovanni on May 16, 2016, 11:38:26 AM
I wouldn't disagree with you blueandwhite.

I suppose the point I'm trying to make is that even a good defensive system will inevitably fall apart if the tackling is as indisciplined as ours. McGeeney had this problem with Kildare when he was getting referees to come and teach them to tackle...... A huge effort needs to be put into this from our side.

I don't dispute that we don't seem to have any discernible defensive system (or any discernible attacking system for that matter). I don't think that can be solved in a few weeks but if we could at least avoid giving away a dozen stupid frees from scoring positions, it would be a start.
Post by: High Fielder on May 16, 2016, 12:19:56 PM
No point being overly critical. It is what it is and we will lose to Dublin and enter the qualifiers. We should be grateful to these lads for committing to a cause that has no reward. Look at Brendan Murphy on Saturday. One of the finest underage talents in the country walking around the pitch disinterested and wanting to be elsewhere. Real change is needed in the GAA because at the moment it is a complete waste of time for counties like ours. We simply cannot compete. Maybe lads who don't play well or who are unfit are just not motivated? I couldn't blame them for that. I really couldn't.
Post by: redsetanta on May 16, 2016, 02:40:05 PM
It's hard not to be critical when we are referencing a game against the AI champions and commenting on our championship game against a Div 4 team. Johnny Magee summed it up when he said if Wicklow can score 18 points against us the Dubs will at least double that.
Our half back line will be destroyed by the Dubs. I can see us taking the sort of beating that Longford used to get.
Post by: From the Terrace on May 17, 2016, 09:19:24 AM
I thought our full back line was solid, Timmons was superb. Our half back line was poor, with the constant fouling hard to watch at times as the wicklow attack were running out of options at times then our lads weighed in with a stupid foul. Midfield was good JOL put in a big shift especially. Our half forward line wasnt special now thought cahillane should of been on more ball, thought donoher tried hard but didnt really work out for him. Full forward line were do you start full of talent or donie was lethal the last 10 mins but up to that he looked off the pace. Gary walsh was good great finish i thought Ruari looked lively but we should have ended game with 5 goals on board. Overall i like everyone else appreciate each and every player on panel the time they give up to play football for laois, hopefully they can kick on and give account of themselves against the dubs i for one will be there with bells on.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 17, 2016, 12:07:22 PM
So we got a seven point win spot on the money what the bookies predicted .

hard to make head nor tail of the game.

We started so well with Walsh and O'Carroll looking so dangerous I thought it was going to be a cake walk maybe the players did as well.

We let Wicklow creep back into the game and paid the price for some terrible slack defending (as weak as I've ever seen in the tackle)

Ross and Donie were well of the pace in the first half and this meant a lot of ball being turnover in the full forward line .Kingston didn't look sharp be he was well marked but a sticky full back with plenty of power and height he did however come good.

Wicklow gifted us 1-2 from poor kickouts when we needed it most in the second half and i'd say their goal keeper will be having nightmares about them.

We lost the shape of the team because of all the changes and things looked dis-organised from what I could see.

In the end we just had too much for them as you'd expect and hope..

Negatives -
Our shape when we loose the ball there is no shape this has to be worked on in truth it looked better in the friendly against Kildare than it did last Saturday night(maybe Cunningham not being present on Saturday made a difference)

Our tackling its so easy to get past us on a solo run even O'Loughlin and strong seem to have lost the art of stopping players in the tackle the only one who held up their men Saturday were Quigley a few times and Mark Timmons and Damien O'Connor at times.

Holding on to the ball to long O'Loughlin despite having a decent game was the biggest offender but not the only one.

The delivery if Donie calls for it high then float it up there don't be pinging it in just over head height which allows defenders to get a hand in.

Our fitness didn't look up to much hopefully it can be improved even in three weeks.

POSTIVES

Scoring 3-16 while not really playing that well...3-11 from play.

Gary walsh when he was played close to goal in the first half he looked like a man that would trouble any defense why they moved him out i don't know.

I thought Our Midfield were decent kept the shape there well and both lads worked hard on and off the ball and Kevin Meaney was also a big boost when he came in there.

Keeping calm under pressure when working the ball out from Brody all the way up which was pleasing on the eye.

Not playing well but winning!

The players that did well were
Brody good kickouts one mistake over carrying but it was a tad harsh from the ref.

Attride looks very fit and mobile didn't give his man a sniff.

Timmons such a steady full back when fit he is a great reader of the game

O'Connor seemed to do a bad job on the ankle early but he is a hardy bit of stuff and played a decent match to be fair to him.

Quigley was well matched in the air and Finn of Wicklow is a fine footballer but Brendan done well off the ball played a defensive midfield role and covered for the half back line was steady on the ball as well.

O'Loughlin frustrating at times to watch but he put in a great shift and got on a lot of ball won countless frees

O'Carroll started well but faded unlucky not to get a goal but caused problems all day till he got injured.

Donie was off the pace but turned it on when we needed it his goal was a cracker.

Ruairi O'Connor looked sharp when he came in as did Adam farrell.

Gary Walsh was unlucky to be subbed he should have been left close to goal where he is dangerous.

Look its Dublin next the whole country including our own county men will be writing us off but Dublin are out of Croke park and one of these days have to have and off day maybe just maybe it will be the next day and our lads can show a bit of pride in the shirt go out hit them hard and try everything to get close to them.

Its going to be a unique game with Nolan park packed to the rafters hopefully with a sizable Laois contingent as well the 1000s that will be there from Dublin so for the players it will be something special to be a part of and they hopefully can rise to the occasion.

We are hoping and praying that Lillis and Cunningham can come up with a better defensive plan and improve on fitness and on tackling in the next three weeks.

It doesn't seem like much time but with 12 sessions or more you'd be amazed what can be worked on!

Post by: steven seagal on May 17, 2016, 03:01:25 PM
QuoteWe are hoping and praying that Lillis and Cunningham can come up with a better defensive plan and improve on fitness and on tackling in the next three weeks.

We'll have to get Cunningham back from Spain first, he's away on his holidays. He wasn't even at the game on Saturday.

It's a testament to how much of a farce this season has been that we are left hoping we can completely alter our style of play, and in improve our fitness, in three weeks. We conceded 0-18 against a mid-table Division 4 team. If they'd had a decent free taker, they would have scored over 20. We have a manager who seems to place no merit whatsoever on defending or tackling, because we've consistently made the same mistakes and they haven't been addressed.

Sure enough we scored a good bit ourselves, but we seem to pick the team based on attacking abilities, so we'd want to be running up scores. From the team on Saturday, the 11 players from the half back line forward are all significantly more comfortable attacking than defending. The intention seems to be to leave the full-back line to deal with the defending, while the rest will chip in when they can.

My big fear heading into the Dublin game is that they give us a hammering similar to the one Cork gave our hurlers a few years ago. We're unfit, confidence is low, and we don't seem to have any defensive plan, so we're there for the taking. If we do get beaten by that much, I don't know if there is a footballing equivalent of Cheddar Plunkett out there in the county to come in and lift the whole setup. At least when that happened the hurlers, there had already been an upturn in our juvenile fortunes for a number of years. The same can't be said for the football. Some of the stories you'd hear about the development squads are worrying to say the least.

If memory serves me correct, there was a football review committee appointed in January of last year to do an audit on all aspects of football in the county. Has that ever been completed? Did it even start?
Post by: redsetanta on May 17, 2016, 03:07:53 PM
Get Wolly on to it.

The likes of Daithi Regan and Michael Duignan made sure the whole country knew that Offaly CB were dragging their heels with stuff. They were quick enough to act then.

I also think that the top underage coaches in the county should be assessed on an ongoing basis, independently where possible, so there can be no accusations of bias. There should not be any jobs for the boys, but those who are the best candidates.
Post by: les Antiques on May 17, 2016, 04:51:59 PM
 Anthony Cuinnigham is no miracle worker and as far as I know Lillis will continue to call all major decisions ,tactics and team personnel until the season is over anyway and rightfully so . He was hired by the county board on a pretty much voluntary basis and now the introduction of Cunnigham weeks before the championship to the set up confirms the dire situation we are in .
It's a long time since I saw a Laois team this unfit . From the highlights of the Offaly game on Sunday they look on a different level to us in the fitness department especially . They had a play .. a pattern of play that worked for them . I saw none of this in Portlaoise Saturday night. If Wicklow had possessed a half decent free taker the end result would have been different.

Saying that I do think think the current Laois crop have talent and do show a lot of heart . However I doubt that will go very far in Nowlan Park judging by the current set up . I really wish im wrong just like when we beat them in '86 and '03 .
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 17, 2016, 05:03:51 PM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 15, 2016, 07:12:06 PM

Start and nearly finish. The CB need to step down (practically, en masse, barring an exception or two). Their handling of the SFC 2014 was a farce and they shouldn't be still there. The whole GAA scene in Laois needs to be reorganised from top to bottom, revitalising the club scene first and foremost, by making our SFC bloody competitive.

It's a big worry.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 17, 2016, 11:27:04 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on May 17, 2016, 04:51:59 PM
  It's a long time since I saw a Laois team this unfit . From the highlights of the Offaly game on Sunday they look on a different level to us in the fitness department especially . They had a play .. a pattern of play that worked for them . I saw none of this in Portlaoise Saturday night. If Wicklow had possessed a half decent free taker the end result would have been different.

Saying that I do think think the current Laois crop have talent and do show a lot of heart . However I doubt that will go very far in Nowlan Park judging by the current set up . I really wish im wrong just like when we beat them in '86 and '03 .

Everyone is talking about defensive plans and patterns of play and the like, but can someone tell me for example what pattern of play Offaly had that we don't have... What defensive plan do some other teams have that we don't have.
I honestly don't see much difference in the way we play and the way other teams play regarding structures, it's just that some other teams have stronger, fitter and better players than us.
Fitness is our biggest problem at the moment and Dublin will exploit that to the max. They will bring on lads late in the game who would make any team in the country and we will have run out of steam by then due to our lack of fitness.
The only defensive plan that we can employ against a team like Dublin is to stick thirteen men behind the ball and attack on the break. But for that to work it requires a super fit team with super fit subs and that's where we will fail.

And that IS the fault of the management team.......
Post by: Giovanni on May 18, 2016, 11:09:14 AM
I would agree Junior that all the talk about systems is a bit overegged.

On the other hand, when you look at Tyrone who really don't have players that are superior to ours, you can see what a well-prepared team looks like. Every player knows what his job is, the team defends and attacks as a unit and overall they are more than the sum of our individual parts.

There has been a lot of talk about fitness on here. I know what some players have been injured and may not have got the benefit of proper preparations (Evan O Carroll, Mark Timmons, etc.) but I didn't see any great evidence of lack of fitness on Saturday. I was actually surprised at how big a shift JOL put in (despite a few hefty wallops) - he didn't look that fit earlier in the league.
Post by: Joeythelips on May 18, 2016, 12:04:27 PM
"You'd be terrified. If we defend like that, Dublin will be gone out the gate after 15/20 minutes and they won't even look behind them. Dublin would destroy us on that performance. We can just hope we won't be as poor but stopping Dublin is a mammoth task. I don't know is there anyone capable of doing it, never mind us.

As somebody said to me after the game 'the pick of the four teams wouldn't beat Dublin', and they're probably right. I don't know what we have to bring to it, maybe a few snipers in the stand, I'm not too sure"

Laois Manager Mick Lillis - after wicklow game

For a manager to say things like this make his position untenable in my book. We all know the Dublin squad is the best around at the minute, but they are not unbeatable by any stretch.

Look what Jim McGuinness and Donegal did to this Dublin side just 2 years ago. An organised, focussed and well drilled football team with a game plan beat them by 6 points in a All Ireland final, was that Donegal team full of players who will make peoples list of all time greats....no, it was not. But they were really focussed and had huge belief in themselves which they got via hard work over the previous years under the management.

Imagine being a Laois player right now who has trained hard during the winter months probably with this game in mind, and basically his manger thinks he should not have bothered and has wasted his time. Shocking.

The attitude of Lillis is the attitude that has held Laois back as a county over the years, we literally have no belief in ourselves. If he has any shame he should admit he is out of his depth and step aside, Cunningham should be offered the role straightaway. Cunningham was in charge of a Galway hurling side, again who are no world beaters but who took on once of the greatest hurling teams of all time. I doubt very much he would have said things like "I don't know is there anyone capable of doing it, never mind us. "
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 18, 2016, 12:07:11 PM
I think Lillis is playing possum here. There's no manager who'd admit that crap to anyone outside of their circle of closest friends. He's playing games.
Post by: Joeythelips on May 18, 2016, 12:21:40 PM
Quote from: Dave like the tv channel on May 18, 2016, 12:07:11 PM
I think Lillis is playing possum here. There's no manager who'd admit that crap to anyone outside of their circle of closest friends. He's playing games.

I am not sure a manager of a team who were relegated to division 3 and have just scrapped past a division 4 side needs to play possum, do you?
Post by: Andy06 on May 18, 2016, 01:04:35 PM
I picked up on his comments aswell basically saying that there is no chance. One thing he also needs is a course in dealing with the media, everything he comes out with generally seems to be woeful.
In particular the comments about not having a clue how they lost games earlier in the league. Even if he is completely at a loss, there is no way he should be coming out and stating as much to the press. He is undermining both himself and the players.
Post by: Giovanni on May 18, 2016, 03:30:45 PM
Fully agree with JoeytheLips on this. I just cannot understand some of the stuff that's been coming out of the camp (from both management and players) for a good part of this year.

The decision to play the game in Nowlan Park may, indeed, be "disgraceful" but there should be enough commentators around to make that point without the players or managers having to worry about it. If you're playing the Dubs, you play them anywhere, under any conditions. If you're focused and confident, the venue is a complete irrelevancy. Same is true for statements about Dublin beating the best of the 4 teams on show. That's not only disrespectful to the 80+ inter-county players (including our own) that are putting in a lot of hard work, but it's also just not true (assuming we were properly prepared). We got within a score of them just a few years back (arguably with a weaker team).

It's comments like this that leaves me, as a supporter, with little to hold on to going down to Nowlan Park. It can't be doing much for the players either.  I don't like criticising management without seeing exactly what they're doing in training etc. but these kinds of statements are just really not helpful.
Post by: Tony on May 18, 2016, 04:58:15 PM
Heard those comments as well on Radio 3. I think I've criticised Lillis enough so didn't want to bring it up. But it is awful, for a manager to say that, that he thinks we have no chance. As posters have suggested, if we had good preparation, sure we'd be underdogs but NOT no-hopers against Dublin. What's disgraceful is his incompetency this year. His attitude has been woeful as a county manager. I found his comments about how hard it is in Div 2 and how equally hard it will be in Div 3 to not inspire confidence at all. This group of players deserve way more. I just hope they stay around next year and will get a lot more.

As stated before, I do believe this year is already a write off as we obviously haven't prepared well, and the manager doesn't seem motivated, confident, let alone competent. After we lose after 1 or 2 qualifiers, give this man the boot he deserves (even though he is a nice man; it's not personal, but should be nowhere near an IC job) and get somebody with competency in there. This squad of players deserves a man with belief and a man that can make them progress. What they have at the moment is a man with no belief in them and a man who is bringing them back years. It'd drive anyone up the wall. This squad HAS talent and HAS potential - can we not just get a man in there who knows that and can harness that potential. It's not that much to ask surely. All we've got since Micko, has been average journeyman after average journeyman. The players and fans deserve better.
Post by: redsetanta on May 18, 2016, 05:41:25 PM
Lets be honest here lads, managing the Laois senior team isn't exactly a plum job. If anything it's a team in decline as there's plenty of mileage on the clock of some of our better players. The 2007 under 21's won't be around for much longer.  On top of that we have some tempermental players who don't always react in the most positive manner to authority. I cannot see us attracting a manager that's anywhere close to the profile Micko had when he came in. There isn't that potential there.
In saying that what we have at the moment could be a lot better.
Post by: Tony on May 18, 2016, 07:21:32 PM
You're missing the point. Yeah of course we can't attract anyone with the PROFILE of Micko. But we can surely attract someone with a good football brain with a desire to make this team as good as it can be.
Post by: Joeythelips on May 18, 2016, 08:44:40 PM
Everything you said could be applied to the Donegal team the year before Jim McGuinness took charge redsetanta. I'm not saying this Laois team will win things but would be nice to see a setup getting the best out of them. As for attracting someone, Cunningham has a decent profile given what he did with Galway hurlers. And we have him picking up bibs probably
Post by: redsetanta on May 18, 2016, 10:28:58 PM
The difference with Donegal was Jim McGuinness. Lillis got the job after an extensive interview process. To be honest he had a good cv with plenty of club success. Maybe money was a big factorbut he had a decent track record. Intercounty seems to be too big a step for him. As good as McGuinnesswas nobody would have predicted what he managed. We have some very good players but not on the same level as their Donegal counterparts. You have to get the fit right and timing has a part to play. I thought Jason Ryan would do something with Kildare but it didn't happen.
Post by: les Antiques on May 19, 2016, 04:15:43 PM
I always thought that Jason Ryan would have been a great appointment for Laois .
Post by: Tony on May 19, 2016, 04:52:45 PM
Yeah, I'm a big fan of Jason Ryan, but his stay at Kildare was not so good. He did a great job in Wexford and had them very competitive. He seems off the radar now, though. Kildare was his big break and unfortunately for him, it just didn't work out.

Post by: Keyser Söze on May 19, 2016, 06:49:53 PM
Quote from: Tony on May 19, 2016, 04:52:45 PM
Yeah, I'm a big fan of Jason Ryan, but his stay at Kildare (Replace with Offaly) was not so good. He did a great job in Wexford and had them very competitive.

Ditto Pat Roe

Quote from: Tony on May 19, 2016, 04:52:45 PM
He seems off the radar now, though.

Ditto Pat Roe
Post by: Unlaoised on May 20, 2016, 12:22:48 PM
Cunningham is doing more than picking up bibs...From what I hear he is the main man now!
Post by: Tony on May 20, 2016, 12:37:52 PM
Sure he's still in Spain on holidays - how is he the main man. I highly doubt that.
Post by: Tony on May 20, 2016, 12:51:19 PM
"That's me done with Laois," he said on Off the Ball. "I'm finished with them. I'm not supporting them any more.

"The thing I'm annoyed about is Laois have two or three years to be competitive in Leinster.

"After that, when the 2003 minors are too old, (Colm) Begley and these fellas, Laois are not going to be competitive.

"There was a chance of another two or three years, if someone good enough came in, to be the second best team in Leinster and that's not going to happen now.

"I am sad about that and I am disillusioned."
-Colm Parkinson.

When I read this way back before the season started, i was slightly worried, but put it down to Parkinson's personality and his falling out with Lillis. But you know what, it's becoming clear that he was spot on. Cunningham's appointment is a desperate move and it has come too late. I fear for Laois in Nowlan Park and the qualifiers - it should not be this way, had someone given a damn and had a bit of foresight about the next few years. Turley or Higgins were far greater choices, the people at the top should have known that Lillis is just not up to taking Laois to a good level. In Parkinson's words, he's out of his depth. I feel sad above all for the lads putting in the huge effort - all for what? To get an average Junior B set up?
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 20, 2016, 02:19:24 PM
Do some fellas get some buzz from continually spouting negative stuff on here, particularly with the team preparing for a big game shortly ?

Post by: Tony on May 20, 2016, 02:25:19 PM
Yeah, I get a great buzz from knowing that the team is already doomed as they haven't done the necessary preparation due to an obviously inept and incompetent management team. Brilliant buzz altogether.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 20, 2016, 05:02:29 PM
Quote from: Tony on May 20, 2016, 02:25:19 PM
Yeah, I get a great buzz from knowing that the team is already doomed as they haven't done the necessary preparation due to an obviously inept and incompetent management team. Brilliant buzz altogether.

I do think the same you have to be realistic but sometimes coming on here and reading some of the stuff would turn your stomach..

They have a new trainer that came in with Cunningham he is doing it all so I'm told!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 20, 2016, 05:39:41 PM
So Lillis is no more than a selector now if what you say is true. That is positive news for me and if the new man can up the fitness levels a few notches in the next two weeks he will have done great work.
Hopefully Cunningham can devise some sort of a holding system to at least slow down the Dubs and give us a small chance of keeping the score down. These lads deserve to be able to hold their heads up after the game knowing that they put in a performance that will carry them on to the qualifiers with some hope and confidence.

Post by: Tony on May 20, 2016, 10:46:33 PM
Exactly. Look, at the end of the day, we all want what's best for the team. Sometimes it's just frustrating when you know they deserve so much better and can do so much better. But I understand that talk gets a bit much after a while and it's all being said already. So best of luck to all involved for the big Dublin match. I've never seen a better football team in my lifetime - they're like a team of all-stars. But that's exactly what lads with ambition want to play against. It will be a great challenge and a great occasion. We'll all be behind the team, win lose or draw, the negative talk just stems from wanting the best for your county team, that's all. Laois abu and will be there with bells on.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 21, 2016, 12:52:25 AM
Where and when do Laois train? Are they open to the public?
Post by: les Antiques on May 21, 2016, 03:52:15 PM
During the league I know the sessions were open to the public but as far as I know now there all behind closed doors .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 23, 2016, 12:32:48 PM
Jim McGuinness says that the Dubs can be beaten and this is how.... 
QuoteMcGuinness believes the key cog in the Dublin machine is Cian O'Sullivan and that Mayo, in particular, are capable of recreating the upset we saw in August of 2014.

For me, Mayo had a very good opportunity last year. They had Barry Moran, who's 6ft 4in or 6ft 5in, and Aidan O'Shea — two massive men who would need marking inside, so that carries a goal threat.

The team that beats Dublin will need a very good No 11 who can get on the ball, dictate the pace of the game, score points and make incisions.

You've got to pull O'Sullivan out of position and if you pull him out of position and he doesn't pick up, that guy has got to get the ball. And when he gets the ball, he's got to have the capacity to do damage.

If he's doing that and fires it on the diagonal and you have two massive men in there, with maybe a Cillian O'Connor coming on the loop, then you've got an aerial threat inside, a quality forward on the loop and a No 11 who's dictating that space.

Space that he was very comfortable in last year isn't there.

You need a very intelligent, structured game-plan and you need very good players to carry it out.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 23, 2016, 01:42:51 PM
Don't suppose Jim is looking for a job next year?
Post by: Tony on May 23, 2016, 05:19:10 PM
That's exactly it. How nice it would be to have a motivator with a good attitude and a very astute tactical brain. What we have appears to be an average, re-active brain : "The pick of the four teams there today wouldn't beat Dublin" and "I don't think it's possible to beat Dublin, we didn't even have a pitch to train in for months  :-[ "

But look, if Lillis proves me wrong and we get a great performance for rest of season, I'd be absolutely delighted and singing his praises - I'd just be incredibly surprised as there are lots of red flags regarding prep and performance to date.

I just think going forward, we definitely need an intelligent brain and motivator. His name doesn't have to be Jim McGuiness. But it stands to reason that if you put an average lad in there, you'll get average results. Put an excellent, motivated brain in there and...

Yes those people are rare but it's exactly what we should be looking for to get the best out of our squad that does have good potential. Justin McNulty's system was not perfect but it had us in an all-ireland 1/4 final and had us very competitive with a lesser squad than we have now. Can we improve on Justin McNulty? Why not try.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 23, 2016, 11:01:45 PM
Fair play Tony , you talk a lot of sence.
Lillis heart is in the right place but its too much for him.
At least cunningham has big game experience.
Hopefully he has tactical know how to go along with it.
Our fitness is not what it needs to be nor is our tackling.
Obviously we all want laois to do well but a hiding on what
will be a big razmatazz sky opening match day could set us
back a long way. A scoreline of 6-20 to 0-14 is a possibility.
Roscommon and monaghan show what can be done
It comes back to lack of vision within the county board for me.
Other counties got off their hole and innovated, we stood still
looking at them. Kilkenny will probably be an annihilation..

All is not lost though .. http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255812

Post by: Tony on May 28, 2016, 02:40:06 PM
Interesting.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Football/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255812
Post by: south Laois on May 28, 2016, 03:29:43 PM
If this is true about Shane Curran, then surely it's another indication that Cunningham is calling all the shots now.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 28, 2016, 06:39:17 PM
Quote from: south Laois on May 28, 2016, 03:29:43 PM
If this is true about Shane Curran, then surely it's another indication that Cunningham is calling all the shots now.

Well someone has to call the shots, Lillis is obviously way out of his depth at the moment. If this is his doing then fair play to him for acknowledging that fact and doing something about it..
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 28, 2016, 08:53:32 PM
Quote from: south Laois on May 28, 2016, 03:29:43 PM

Not necessarily. I'm sure Jim Gavin is getting a lot of good advice from his backroom team, that he mightn't necessarily have come up with.
Post by: Tony on May 29, 2016, 02:03:42 PM
I wonder if there's anyone within the whole country who believes laois will win. There's Always a chance, there's always a chance. It would be the biggest upset in the gaa this millennium, but i really hope the players believe that if they give everything and play to their ability, they do have a chance. You've got to believe that as a player. 50minutes in, if we're there or thereabouts, who knows. There's always that possibility.
Post by: Saint75 on May 29, 2016, 05:15:10 PM
Whatever about Lillis. John Strong & Ciaran Kelly must have nothing to do at this stage😂
Post by: redsetanta on May 29, 2016, 05:32:18 PM
That's for sure.
Post by: les Antiques on May 29, 2016, 07:36:59 PM
Quote from: Saint75 on May 29, 2016, 05:15:10 PM
Whatever about Lillis. John Strong & Ciaran Kelly must have nothing to do at this stage😂
Little bit disrespectful there Saint75 . Two good Laois men !
Post by: Saint75 on May 29, 2016, 09:44:22 PM
It's not disrespectful.
It's a fact if you think about it.
It's more disrespectful to all but replace them at this stage.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 30, 2016, 08:42:20 AM
Does caring & loving Laois Football make you actually good for Laois Football.  Because seems at times to be a defence for stating the obvious.  I am sure Mick Lillis, John Strong & Ciaran Kelly are decent men who care a lot about Laois Football but they are still doing a bad job.   We do have to separate the two.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 30, 2016, 10:06:10 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 30, 2016, 08:42:20 AM
Does caring & loving Laois Football make you actually good for Laois Football.  Because seems at times to be a defence for stating the obvious.  I am sure Mick Lillis, John Strong & Ciaran Kelly are decent men who care a lot about Laois Football but they are still doing a bad job.   We do have to separate the two.

Absolutely. There are decent ways to say it, but someone who gives his free time for club or county should be measured on the job he's doing, but not to have that used as a stick to beat him.
Post by: redsetanta on May 30, 2016, 05:35:39 PM
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/well-be-sticking-to-our-guns-mick-lillis (https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/well-be-sticking-to-our-guns-mick-lillis)
Post by: welcomehome on May 30, 2016, 06:36:51 PM
i think ye are being very disrespectful to mick lillis kieran kelly...john strong...they are there to do a job..and they need all the support that they can get...and another thing laois county board should have dug there heels in and refuse to play in kilkenny..if this was any of the top teams involved thet would have not given up home advantage...
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 08:37:51 AM
Right this is a load of bull that has been put out there.  O Moore Park could not have been a venue for this game the other 3 1/4 finals were being played at neutral venues so this also would have to be.  O Connor Park is prob the only alternative so from that point of view this is a non issue.  County Board has not bothered to explain this well and it's been put out there that O Moore Park was a possibility for this to be the case the Leinster Council would have to make an exception which I don't think they are in the habit of.  Also Mick Lillis, John Strong & Kieran Kelly are decent people and I don't doubt the players are trying but on Sunday morning we will be facing the reality of this year.  I hope Laois win but in fairness most here are holding out for a decent performance and some sort of run in the qualifiers.  While Lillis has to take the blame for a bad year what has happened to Laois has taken 3 years. 
Post by: SCFC on May 31, 2016, 08:57:44 AM
Hearing Begley is flying in training and should start.
Post by: Bueller on May 31, 2016, 08:58:22 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 08:37:51 AM
Right this is a load of bull that has been put out there.  O Moore Park could not have been a venue for this game the other 3 1/4 finals were being played at neutral venues so this also would have to be.  O Connor Park is prob the only alternative so from that point of view this is a non issue.  County Board has not bothered to explain this well and it's been put out there that O Moore Park was a possibility for this to be the case the Leinster Council would have to make an exception which I don't think they are in the habit of.  Also Mick Lillis, John Strong & Kieran Kelly are decent people and I don't doubt the players are trying but on Sunday morning we will be facing the reality of this year.  I hope Laois win but in fairness most here are holding out for a decent performance and some sort of run in the qualifiers.  While Lillis has to take the blame for a bad year what has happened to Laois has taken 3 years.

Cast your memory back over the decades. Has there ever been a situation in Leinster where a Quarter Final was played in the home county of one of the participants? In the entire history of the GAA in this province, surely its happened? Even despite the other quarter finals being in neutral venues? Can you remember any instance?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 09:48:34 AM
Prob but when the other 3 are played at neutral venues how would you have any reasonable expectation that the delegates of those counties involved would vote for a home venue for Laois considering they themselves are not getting the same thing.  The argument seems to be that Dublin are alot better than Laois so why not give Laois a home games as they are going to get beaten anyway.  Look I am sure we would all like the game in Portlaoise but to go on like we have is nonsense it was always a long shot to get a home venue.  While stating the blatantly oblivious "Croke Park" is not a home venue.
Post by: les Antiques on May 31, 2016, 09:49:24 AM
Good news about Begs .. Need all these experienced players to keep things respectable !
Will be very interesting to see the Laois selection and how we set up . According to reports ticket sales haven't been as brisk as forecasted .. Less than 14,000 sold presently
Post by: Bueller on May 31, 2016, 09:58:00 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 09:48:34 AM
Prob but when the other 3 are played at neutral venues how would you have any reasonable expectation that the delegates of those counties involved would vote for a home venue for Laois considering they themselves are not getting the same thing.  The argument seems to be that Dublin are alot better than Laois so why not give Laois a home games as they are going to get beaten anyway.  Look I am sure we would all like the game in Portlaoise but to go on like we have is nonsense it was always a long shot to get a home venue.  While stating the blatantly oblivious "Croke Park" is not a home venue.

You didn't answer my question?

Also if a team plays its league and championship games at a venue in its county, that's it's home venue. We should declare Port our home venue, play an O Byrne Cup or two there and demand O Moore Park be viewed as neutral. You brought this up may I add, I just wished to point out the sheer ridiculousness of your 'definitive' slant.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 10:03:11 AM
My point is not ridiculous as it seems to be the consensus at Leinster Council level.  I can's answer your question as I don't know the answer.  If you can provide a valid reason and back it up for it then by all means you should have been in to the county board with it.  As they don't seem to have argument either.  The games are down for neutral grounds and that is where they are been played.  To give Laois home advantage and not to do it for all the others would have been exceptional and I cannot see that flying at any level.  County Board made out like it was a capacity problem which it was not the other counties did not want Laois for one reason or another getting something while they were not receiving likewise.
Post by: Bueller on May 31, 2016, 10:16:55 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 10:03:11 AM
My point is not ridiculous as it seems to be the consensus at Leinster Council level.  I can's answer your question as I don't know the answer.  If you can provide a valid reason and back it up for it then by all means you should have been in to the county board with it.  As they don't seem to have argument either.  The games are down for neutral grounds and that is where they are been played.  To give Laois home advantage and not to do it for all the others would have been exceptional and I cannot see that flying at any level.  County Board made out like it was a capacity problem which it was not the other counties did not want Laois for one reason or another getting something while they were not receiving likewise.

Your point IS ridiculous. It's as ridiculous as this situation. Dublin regularly play quarter finals at their home venue (only a fool believes Parnell Park is a home venue). That's the answer. Staring you in the face.

As for the other quarter finals, quite regularly in the past have quarter finals been played at home venues, while others were neutral. Maybe have a look there and see where Meath and Wickow played their quarter final last year?

Again, you brought this up, not me.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 31, 2016, 01:11:43 PM
Of course the match should be in O'Moore park. Every Laois and non-Laois person i have spoken to thinks so ..
Its political horseshite .. but it is what it is for this year ..
Supposedly Dublin have had a training session and a trail match down in nowlan park and are about to
go into a 4 day training camps somewhere ..
They aint taking Laois for granted ..
Important Begley can play and timmons and keogh and meredith if they are fit ..

Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 31, 2016, 01:58:15 PM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 31, 2016, 01:11:43 PM
Supposedly Dublin have had a training session and a trail match down in nowlan park and are about to

Just goes to show that it really is amateurs against professionals. Not just Laois but all counties except Dublin. 4 day training camp - they must all have very understanding employers.....
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 31, 2016, 02:10:43 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on May 31, 2016, 01:58:15 PM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 31, 2016, 01:11:43 PM

Just goes to show that it really is amateurs against professionals. Not just Laois but all counties except Dublin. 4 day training camp - they must all have very understanding employers.....

Or no employers, in some cases, from what I hear.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 31, 2016, 08:21:26 PM
Leinster Council Marketing & PR Manager Cian Murphy quoted in today's Indo : 
"The decision to play the game in Nowlan Park was never meant as a slight on O'Moore Park but rather a practical response to capacity issues. We wanted to provide seated accommodation for as many people as possible. Nowlan Park has 17,800 seats"

Let's not kid ourselves that the decision was purely based on money - the more seats the more takings at the gate.
It is NOT about capacity - O'Moore Park has a greater capacity than Nowlan Park.
"We wanted to provide seated accommodation" - I would say that 60-70% of fans would prefer to pay less and stand on terrace.

The argument that you cannot have a home venue for a quarter-final is nonsense - just think back of Laois-Meath games, Laois-Offaly games etc.

Back to the match itself - of course we are long-odds underdogs - all but a handful of counties would be in same boat Vs Dubs.
Our League campaign and general preparedness are not encouraging. However we have gone into Leinster SFC matches in recent years after decent enough League campaigns, thinking we were well prepared and didn't perform against Louth, Longford.

It's all about performance on the day and hopefully the boys will empty the tank - it's a massive challenge.

Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 31, 2016, 09:26:39 PM
Quote from: Bueller on May 31, 2016, 08:58:22 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 31, 2016, 08:37:51 AM

Cast your memory back over the decades. Has there ever been a situation in Leinster where a Quarter Final was played in the home county of one of the participants? In the entire history of the GAA in this province, surely its happened? Even despite the other quarter finals being in neutral venues? Can you remember any instance?e

Apart from Dublin in Croke Park

2007 Laois v Carlow, OMP
2003 Laois v Offaly (twice), OMP
2002 Offaly v Laois, OCP
1995 Laois v Carlow (twice), OMP

Laois have played 15 home quarter-finals, including any refixtures and replays. They've played a total of 23 away matches.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 31, 2016, 10:03:34 PM
Kildare have not played a home game in Leinster in 21 years. There was only 3000 through the turnstiles in Croke park for the Wexford game so capacity isn't a hindrance despite the state of Conleth's Park. The Ulster championship does be great to see nice half decent grounds getting to host home championship games, the Leinster council could have learned a lot from them.
Post by: Joeythelips on June 01, 2016, 03:40:52 PM
Croke Park is not Dublins home venue, Parnell Park is. Croke Park is the GAA headquarters and considered a neutral venue but as the GAA like any other sport is a business they try and maximise their earnings and as Dublin have by  far the largest fan base they have played their championship games at Croke Park due to this reason.

The venue is the least of the worries anyway as we live in hope that our players will make a game of this. They should not be overawed by the Dubs but the bookies handicap of 14 points would seem about right going on what we have seen from both sides this year.

No one is being disrespectful of Laois management here from what I have read. Most feel the current manager seems out of his depth, I share that opinion. Its nothing against the man, I myself would be a poor club manager never mind inter county level. It is a tough task but some are good at and others are not, just like any other job/role. Lillis seems like a passionate GAA man who loves his county but I just feel he is slightly out of his depth. I maybe wrong (I hope I am wrong).
Post by: From the Bunker on June 01, 2016, 03:51:50 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on June 01, 2016, 03:40:52 PM
Croke Park is not Dublins home venue, Parnell Park is. Croke Park is the GAA headquarters and considered a neutral venue but as the GAA like any other sport is a business they try and maximise their earnings and as Dublin have by  far the largest fan base they have played their championship games at Croke Park due to this reason.

The venue is the least of the worries anyway as we live in hope that our players will make a game of this. They should not be overawed by the Dubs but the bookies handicap of 14 points would seem about right going on what we have seen from both sides this year.

No one is being disrespectful of Laois management here from what I have read. Most feel the current manager seems out of his depth, I share that opinion. Its nothing against the man, I myself would be a poor club manager never mind inter county level. It is a tough task but some are good at and others are not, just like any other job/role. Lillis seems like a passionate GAA man who loves his county but I just feel he is slightly out of his depth. I maybe wrong (I hope I am wrong).

Are you having a laugh? Did you come down in the last shower? Take the blinkers off! Lets call a spade a spade. The only time Croke park is a neutral venue is when Dublin is not playing. When is the last time Dublin played in Parnell Park? Wake up and smell the coffee.
Post by: redsetanta on June 01, 2016, 04:58:27 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/how-the-most-dominant-minor-crop-in-20-years-fell-short-of-winning-a-senior-allireland-34762303.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/how-the-most-dominant-minor-crop-in-20-years-fell-short-of-winning-a-senior-allireland-34762303.html)

We won't be seeing anything potentially close to this again in our lifetime i'd say.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 01, 2016, 05:09:21 PM
A few snippets from the papers about the game Saturday evening:

Dubs get ready for Nowlan Park trip with Clare camp
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dubs-get-ready-for-nowlan-park-trip-with-clare-camp-34763267.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dubs-get-ready-for-nowlan-park-trip-with-clare-camp-34763267.html)

The venue doesn't make any difference to how we play our game – James McCarthy
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/the-venue-doesnt-make-any-difference-to-how-we-play-our-game-james-mccarthy-34763498.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/the-venue-doesnt-make-any-difference-to-how-we-play-our-game-james-mccarthy-34763498.html)

'No excuses' - Tommy Lyons says Dublin's rivals should be better
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/no-excuses-tommy-lyons-says-dublins-rivals-should-be-better-34759602.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/no-excuses-tommy-lyons-says-dublins-rivals-should-be-better-34759602.html)

Dubs hit the road but won't bring enough fans to sell out Nowlan Park         (Some very tasty comments at the bottom of this article)
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dubs-hit-the-road-but-wont-bring-enough-fans-to-sell-out-nowlan-park-34760100.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dubs-hit-the-road-but-wont-bring-enough-fans-to-sell-out-nowlan-park-34760100.html)

And now for a bit of fun  :)
Ciarán Murphy: My guide for Dublin fans going to Kilkenny
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-my-guide-for-dublin-fans-going-to-kilkenny-1.2668605 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-my-guide-for-dublin-fans-going-to-kilkenny-1.2668605)

Post by: Bueller on June 01, 2016, 07:41:01 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 01, 2016, 03:51:50 PM

Are you having a laugh? Did you come down in the last shower? Take the blinkers off! Lets call a spade a spade. The only time Croke park is a neutral venue is when Dublin is not playing. When is the last time Dublin played in Parnell Park? Wake up and smell the coffee.

Thanks for that, I thought I was taking crazy pills there.
Post by: Joeythelips on June 02, 2016, 11:20:04 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 01, 2016, 03:51:50 PM

No i am not having a laugh, just stating it as it is mate. When is the last time they played a championship game in Parnell Park? no idea but seen as they are one of the few counties who can fill Croke Park, the gaa seek to make money out of that and therefore have them play their championship games their. I am just stating its not their actual home venue but for mostly financial reasons they play there.

They have been playing in Croke Park for decades, it hardly served as a huge advantage to them looking at their All Ireland titles. Also it has meant one of the big days in Croker is trying to beat the Dubs in Croke Park, beating them in 2003 would not have been diluted had it been in O'Connor Park or somewhere, but it was in a full Croke Park and it was one of my best memories as a supporter.
Post by: redsetanta on June 02, 2016, 11:28:22 AM
Almost full........no Hill 16 that year!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 02, 2016, 12:07:22 PM
Very hard to disagree with Declan O'Loughlin on this but hopefully people will travel and support the team if not the venue..

O'Loughlin adamant he won't be in Nowlan Park
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/oloughlin-adamant-he-wont-be-in-nowlan-park-34766125.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/oloughlin-adamant-he-wont-be-in-nowlan-park-34766125.html)

(http://cdn-04.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/article34766124.ece/5edac/AUTOCROP/h342/2016-06-02_spo_21585007_I1.JPG)

On another note I didn't realise we have a team competing in the Leinster Junior Championship this year. Does anyone know anything about this or have a team lineout??
The following is a piece from a report on the Louth v Kildare game last night..
QuoteLouth booked their place in the Leinster junior final as they dismantled Kildare with a dominant second-half performance in Newbridge. --------------------------------
It was a procession for Louth for the remaining 20 minutes as they sent over six scores to book a final place against Wexford or Laois
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/bellew-puts-louth-in-command-34766126.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/bellew-puts-louth-in-command-34766126.html)

Post by: Andy06 on June 02, 2016, 12:28:19 PM
Typo I think Junior. Hoganstand has the game as Wexford v Longford tonight.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 02, 2016, 01:08:42 PM
Thanks Andy, was thinking it might be that. Pity tho' I think it's a great competition for bringing on lads and getting them used to inter county football. Might even unearth a few for the senior panel..
Post by: les Antiques on June 02, 2016, 08:39:12 PM
Laois team announced tonight @ 10 pm
Post by: les Antiques on June 02, 2016, 09:41:22 PM
Laois Senior Football Manager Mick Lillis has announced his starting 15 for Laois' Leinster SFC clash with Dublin on Saturday.

1. Graham Brody-Portlaoise
2. Damien O'Connor-Timahoe
3. Mark Timmons-Graiguecullen
4. Paul Cotter-Portlaoise
5. Stephen Attride-Killeshin
6. Darren Strong-Emo
7. Colm Begley- Stradbally
8. Conor Meredith-O'Dempsey's
9. Brendan Quigley-Timahoe
10. Paul Cahillane-Portlaoise
11. John O'Loughlin-St Brigid's
12. Gareth Dillon-Portlaoise
13. Donal Kingston-Arles Killeen
14. Evan O'Carroll-Crettyard
15. Gary Walsh-Ballylinan

Tickets for the game remain on sale at usual outlets.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 02, 2016, 11:12:08 PM
Come 9pm on Saturday, if the Dubs lose in Kilkenny, this thread gets very serious.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on June 02, 2016, 11:30:11 PM
Very surprised dillon is still there, must be going to be used as an extra defender, would imagine lots of positional switches
Post by: SCFC on June 02, 2016, 11:30:40 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on June 02, 2016, 09:41:22 PM
Laois Senior Football Manager Mick Lillis has announced his starting 15 for Laois' Leinster SFC clash with Dublin on Saturday.

1. Graham Brody-Portlaoise
2. Damien O'Connor-Timahoe
3. Mark Timmons-Graiguecullen
4. Paul Cotter-Portlaoise
5. Stephen Attride-Killeshin
6. Darren Strong-Emo
7. Colm Begley- Stradbally
8. Conor Meredith-O'Dempsey's
9. Brendan Quigley-Timahoe
10. Paul Cahillane-Portlaoise
11. John O'Loughlin-St Brigid's
12. Gareth Dillon-Portlaoise
13. Donal Kingston-Arles Killeen
14. Evan O'Carroll-Crettyard
15. Gary Walsh-Ballylinan

Tickets for the game remain on sale at usual outlets.
Donogher dropped. Thought he was one of our better players in the first half against Wicklow till he got injured. Not a bad team though.
Post by: Faugheen on June 02, 2016, 11:32:37 PM
Dublin (SFC v Laois): Stephen Cluxton; Philly McMahon, Jonny Cooper, David Byrne; James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, John Small; Michael Darragh Macauley, Brian Fenton; Paul Flynn, Dean Rock, Ciaran Kilkenny; Kevin McManamon, Diarmuid Connolly, Bernard Brogan.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 03, 2016, 12:08:38 AM
Quote from: Faugheen on June 02, 2016, 11:32:37 PM
Dublin (SFC v Laois): Stephen Cluxton; Philly McMahon, Jonny Cooper, David Byrne; James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, John Small; Michael Darragh Macauley, Brian Fenton; Paul Flynn, Dean Rock, Ciaran Kilkenny; Kevin McManamon, Diarmuid Connolly, Bernard Brogan.
Good Jesus...... :'(

All the players should be directed to this site and read the insults that some of this shower throw at us. If that don't get them up for it nothing will.
They are and awful shower.. Even when they have won everything it's still not enough, they just have to keep sticking the boot in....
http://www.reservoirdubs.com/t/leinster-sfc-qf-2016-dublin-v-laois-nowlan-pk-kilkenny-sat-june-4th-7pm/20/218 (http://www.reservoirdubs.com/t/leinster-sfc-qf-2016-dublin-v-laois-nowlan-pk-kilkenny-sat-june-4th-7pm/20/218)

Missed this a few weeks ago, worth listening to..
http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/139991/Laois_Outraged_that_Dublin_tie_isnt_in_Portlaoise (http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/139991/Laois_Outraged_that_Dublin_tie_isnt_in_Portlaoise)
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 03, 2016, 12:20:50 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 02, 2016, 12:07:22 PM
Very hard to disagree with Declan O'Loughlin on this but hopefully people will travel and support the team if not the venue..

O'Loughlin adamant he won't be in Nowlan Park
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/oloughlin-adamant-he-wont-be-in-nowlan-park-34766125.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/oloughlin-adamant-he-wont-be-in-nowlan-park-34766125.html)

To go or not to go - that is the question.

I understand Declan O'Loughlin's viewpoint and of course he is losing out from a business perspective too. Declan played both senior hurling and football for Laois and was a prime mover in getting Micko involved back in 2003.
I've been going to Laois matches since Laois-Offaly in Portlaoise in 1971 - Bobby Millar (RIP) and Willie Bryan contesting midfield and Offaly going on to win their first All-Ireland.
Fixing this Dublin-Laois match is Nowlan Park was a two-fingered gesture to Laois supporters. We've packed our sandwiches and fed the coffers of Croke Park (and the surrounding pubs) down the years. Thanks for nothing Leinster Council.

The lads deserve our support on Saturday - we're not just up against it on the pitch but in the committee rooms too.

Post by: redsetanta on June 03, 2016, 10:04:03 AM
It's probably as good a team as we could have fielded. Maybe an argument for 1 or 2 to be in there but it wouldn't make a whole pile of a difference.

Best of luck to them and hopefully they get to shake up the dubs and give a decent account of themselves. A similar performance to the game against the Dubs in Croke Park 2 years ago would be an achievement.
Post by: OTF on June 03, 2016, 12:07:17 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 03, 2016, 10:04:03 AM
It's probably as good a team as we could have fielded. Maybe an argument for 1 or 2 to be in there but it wouldn't make a whole pile of a difference.

Best of luck to them and hopefully they get to shake up the dubs and give a decent account of themselves. A similar performance to the game against the Dubs in Croke Park 2 years ago would be an achievement.

A similar result not performance ... dont forget Brody made about 5 top class saves in the first half.
I have to be honest but here I'm dreading this and wish it was over ... 11 point result same as 2 years ago I'd take the hand off you for that.
Post by: redsetanta on June 03, 2016, 12:18:37 PM
Splitting hairs on that one OTF. A goalie is there to make saves.

Anyhow we agree that a similar performance/result would be a decent outcome as we all know what could happen if the dubs get a gale behind them!
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on June 03, 2016, 01:47:56 PM
I reckon the Palers will win by about 10-15 points. We were better than them in 2003, a match in 2005 (only for some disastrous refereeing at the end) and subsequently, the Brits took off. They've been miles ahead of us for a decade, with the 2006 defeat being the worst championship defeat we had at their hands in over a century.

Anyone who tells you that that was going to happen anyway and has nothing to do with the €15million funding they've received in the past 12 years is deluded.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on June 04, 2016, 10:29:24 AM
Best of luck to the lads today. Its a strange one playing a team 1/100, never
thought i would see that. Like a lot of people im not going to kilkenny on a point
of principal. Portlaoise should be buzzing today but o moore park
Lies empty. A real f**k you to all the volunteers in the county. The way the game
has gone at inter county level will reach a head in the not too distant future as
the smaller counties fall furthur and furthur behind.
Its as good as team as we have available. Think keogh and donogher are a loss.
I hope cotter gets on ok. Hope our fitness holds up and they dont run riot in the last
20 minutes.

Best of luck to the hurlers tomorrow. Tough one with a new young team ..
Post by: Giovanni on June 04, 2016, 01:20:17 PM
f**k it lads! Surely the principle of supporting the county overrides all others! There should be other more effective ways to make the point about the way smaller counties are treated.
Post by: County Man on June 04, 2016, 03:18:02 PM
Best of luck guys against Dublin.

Lots of big men on our team, lets stand up to the Dubs. Stick to the game plan and hit hard.

Defend wisely and in numbers. Solid organisation.

We need both Donie K and Gary Walsh to be on fire up front.

Battle hard guys and keep it competitive.
Post by: les Antiques on June 04, 2016, 03:43:35 PM
All the best lads . Keep it competitive and do yourselfs  justice which I am sure you will .
Just rolled into Kilkenny .. Quite a few Dubs around .. Few Laois jerseys dotted about too enjoying the sunshine .
Post by: CruiseCigar on June 04, 2016, 06:07:23 PM
All the best tonight lads. Will be flying shortly so will not hear result till morning.  Hopeffuly a good performance and give the dubs something to thing about and keep the score contained.

Good luck
Post by: Gmac on June 04, 2016, 07:47:21 PM
Unfortunately laois are a shambles beat before they started , the dubs are super fit but laois have about 5 men completely off pace
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on June 04, 2016, 09:25:06 PM
Fair enough - we lost. Apparently, pulling a man down in the box is only a yellow, when you're wearing a Dublin jersey. The 14 acquitted themselves well in the second half.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on June 04, 2016, 09:55:52 PM
Quote from: Gmac on June 04, 2016, 07:47:21 PM
Unfortunately laois are a shambles beat before they started , the dubs are super fit but laois have about 5 men completely off pace
what is it that laois supporters expect?
Genuinely id like to know what it is that they deem a good performance or a good championship
Considering the start they got and they played over half the match with 14 men i think it was a good performance, particularly the 2nd half
Post by: merman on June 04, 2016, 10:40:39 PM
No shame in losing to that Dublin team. Better teams than ours will suffer worse defeats.

Pity they have so many absolute dickhead fans.

Post by: High Fielder on June 04, 2016, 10:52:57 PM
Very proud of that performance. It was clear to see the difference Cunningham has made when we properly found our feet. Playing the way we did tonight, we would have stayed in Division 2. Feel sorry for Johnno but it was the right decision.
Post by: Gmac on June 04, 2016, 11:59:19 PM
Quote from: Ballyroan Abbey on June 04, 2016, 09:55:52 PM
Quote from: Gmac on June 04, 2016, 07:47:21 PM
what is it that laois supporters expect?
Genuinely id like to know what it is that they deem a good performance or a good championship
Considering the start they got and they played over half the match with 14 men i think it was a good performance, particularly the 2nd half
i made that comment at halftime and unfortunately the game was essentially over after 10 mins of first half
I applaud meaney for great performance off the bench and the team for not capitulating in second half
Why did laois wait until second half to defend in numbers and  counter attack at pace with meaney o Connor  donoher and begley , the blueprint for future game plans was drawn up in second half by necessity and I hope management has brains to refine it and I think we can be competitive going forward with that style.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 05, 2016, 12:32:25 AM
That was a very brave performance by our lads after a nightmare first few minutes and an unfortunate sending off. I thought blocking a players run was a black card.. That's what McCauley did to Jonno but he retaliated and that was where he let himself and the team down. If we had had him on the pitch when we brought it back to six points who knows what would have happened.

Dublin were good but we held a few of their more established stars back a bit, most of their scores came from the free man who they always found to perfection.
Overall I was proud of our lads and they never gave up even though they were fighting a lost cause throughout the game.

Jonno will be a big loss for the first round of the qualifiers but hopefully we will have the rest of the lads on board and who knows, we might get another crack at the Dubs with a full team next time..

Dublin concede two goals but get past Laois comfortably
http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/dublin-concede-two-goals-but-get-past-laois-comfortably-738563.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/dublin-concede-two-goals-but-get-past-laois-comfortably-738563.html)

No away day Blues as Dublin secure routine win over Laois
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/no-away-day-blues-as-dublin-secure-routine-win-over-laois-34772886.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/no-away-day-blues-as-dublin-secure-routine-win-over-laois-34772886.html)

Dublin 2-21 Laois 2-10: Champions ease into the summer
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-2-21-laois-2-10-champions-ease-into-the-summer-1.2673353 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-2-21-laois-2-10-champions-ease-into-the-summer-1.2673353)

Nice little piece about Wolly here...
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/colm-parkinson-i-would-have-fallen-out-at-some-point-or-another-with-nearly-every-manager-403233.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/colm-parkinson-i-would-have-fallen-out-at-some-point-or-another-with-nearly-every-manager-403233.html)
Post by: Joeythelips on June 05, 2016, 09:48:50 AM
Could have been worse to be fair, it would have been easy to drop the heads after 10 mins and been beaten by 30 points or so.  If you told me before hand that they would concede 2 goals in first 5 mins and play entire second half with 14 men I would put my mortgage on Dublin beating  the spread of 14 points. At least our lads showed a bit of character to fight. Down a man against the dubs is a nightmare but the score of the game for me was our second goal that came from a great surge out of defence with Meaney hit Brogan a great shoulder. It did look like division 3 v division 1 at times alright, but felt Laois should have pushed up for Cluxtons kick outs like the did under Ó'Flatharta.
All said and done Laois did highlight the weakness in the Dublin team that the big guns will have noticed, the vunerable fullback line. The long ball into kingston was causing problems and the penalty they conceded was also poor defending.
Post by: Saint75 on June 05, 2016, 01:48:58 PM
Dublin up by 9 after 10mins. They took their foot off the pedal then and the game was never in the balance. We can fool ourselves if we like but Dublin could have beaten us by 30+ if they wanted to.
Post by: maccer on June 05, 2016, 02:43:55 PM
We're constantly told Dublin are a professional outfit and the battle for starting places is intense so I don't buy into this taking the foot off the pedal. Gavin won't be happy with their performance. We caused them problems with our 2nd half set-up and you'd wonder why we didn't start that way. Other teams will have noted. Interesting that Cunningham was much more evident on the line after the break. Love to know who called the shots at ht and changed things. Well done to everyone. They showed pride, bravery and plenty of desire after a terrible start. Let's hope it continues and lessons were learnt
Post by: Faugheen on June 05, 2016, 04:08:56 PM
Quote from: Saint75 on June 05, 2016, 01:48:58 PM
Dublin up by 9 after 10mins. They took their foot off the pedal then and the game was never in the balance. We can fool ourselves if we like but Dublin could have beaten us by 30+ if they wanted to.

Your glass is half empty  ::) ::)
Post by: Joeythelips on June 05, 2016, 04:55:49 PM
Quote from: Saint75 on June 05, 2016, 01:48:58 PM

They did a bit, but the competition for places is so intense, they cant afford to go through the motions. Going forward they are at times one of the best gaelic football teams I have ever seen but that full back line is the weak link, when laois counter attacked with pace and hit decent long balls into Kingston, Dublin struggled defensively. We are not fooling ourselves, but was nice to see the Laois players dig deep and show some heart and spirit. Laois were outnumbered for most of the game and a crowd which looked to be 80% Dublin supporters cheering against them, it would have been easy to throw in the towel. As plenty of people have been saying on this forum (particularly Tony), Laois have a decent team and there is potential there. They are certainly better than they showed in the league.
Post by: Tony on June 05, 2016, 06:26:46 PM
Yep Joey, we really do have the makings of a good team there, yesterday proved that. We need more belief though and a good set up - Cunningham does seem to be making progress but likely too late for this year.

A good set up would have had us ready to hit the ground running yesterday, not to be warming up for the first 10 minutes of the game, as we were doing, regretably. You do that against Dublin, you're finished. The rest of the game showed that, potentially, we're not too far off the pace.

We need a man who believes in this team and has the necessary brains to follow through so that we can reach our potential as a team. Right now we're just at 45-50% of our potential with this set up, and that's a shame.

But look, extremely proud of the lads and what we did yesterday. With talent and heart like that, a team can go far, and I just think we're not reaching the heights that we can. Hoping Cunningham or similar can take the reigns properly in October or November and can give talent like Begley, Kingston, O Loughlin, Strong, Cahilane, Timmons (lads in their prime) the set up and opportunity they deserve.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 05, 2016, 10:15:05 PM
Dublin played 50mins of the match at about 70% , that was fairly apparent. Laois spent 40mins basically trying to limit the score.  This was dreadful and I doubt there was one person in Laois who did not see it coming.  I am going to be a fortune teller now and tell you wants going to happen, we will be out of the championship come the end of June.  Mick Lillis will walk and Anthony Cunningham will be the Laois manager. This I think will be a bad decision for Laois Football, what we need a root and branch look at what we are doing and what we can achieve .  I don't know if any of you read Jim McGuinness book but I did think Laois County Board is very like Donegals they are afraid to succeed or try.  As long as this attitude remains then Laois are in trouble.
Post by: maccer on June 05, 2016, 11:43:03 PM
I've said it before and I'll repeat it....it all starts with proper juvenile coaching. The county board should be putting a massive effort into up-skilling all juvenile club coaches from 6-12 especially. That's where all the fundamental skills are learnt. Look at Ciaran Kilkenny's ability to kick 40 yards points off left and right feet highlighted on the Sunday Game tonight. That's taught to kids U10 after that it's too late. Clubs should be delivering kids with all the basic skills (left & right) to County Development squads so they can all be brought to a higher level. These squads should not be about teaching skills but how to use them at an elite level. No reason why 50 top class kids can't be produced year on year. It would take time but you have to start
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 06, 2016, 02:19:03 PM
The focus moves to the qualifiers now. Given the low expectations prior to Saturday the manner of our defeat should not cause too much damage to the mindset of the players. I hope that everyone stays on board - a good run in the qualifiers is within their capabilities.
Post by: Tony on June 06, 2016, 04:00:55 PM
I'm really proud of the performance. Which other team in the whole country would go a man down in the first half and still put that performance in the 2nd up to the dubs? I'm sick of people saying the dubs took their foot off the pedal. If the dubs had their foot off the pedal in the 2nd half, then WE had it off the pedal in the first. We have the talent to do well, I wish we'd believe that. Let's get behind these lads in the qualifiers, the draw is on tomorrow. If we'd have the belief and awareness to play like we did in the 2nd half for the full 70 - tell me why we can't go far with this bunch of players.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 06, 2016, 04:15:09 PM
Tony you wear your heart on your sleeve.  But be realistic, we were hammered all year and Saturday was no different.  We are not running down the county, are we not questioning what is wrong rather than blindly following.  We have had 3 years of progressively getting worse I think we should be asking questions at this stage.  We can't go far because we are playing poorly and you are right this bunch of players are better than this.
Post by: Tony on June 07, 2016, 08:53:30 AM
So it's Armagh next for Laois in O' Moore Park on the 18th or 19th. Interesting draw and perhaps a good one for us. Why? Because what's the point in playing a Carlow, London or Leitrim. Armagh will be a very big test and we'll have to be up for it to beat them. I think it's a good draw for us in the sense that it's less than two weeks away and will keep the interest in the squad. Armagh are at a similar level to us in my opinion - McGeeney is under pressure there so he will be obsessing about how to beat us. HOPEFULLY we will do a similar level of homework on them. We will miss JOL but Meaney should slot in there.

The draw in full is :

LAOIS vs ARMAGH

CARLOW vs WICKLOW

DERRY vs LOUTH/MEATH

LEITRIM vs WATERFORD

DOWN vs LONGFORD

ANTRIM vs LIMERICK

OFFALY / WESTMEATH vs LONDON

WEXFORD vs FERMAN / DONEGAL.
Post by: OTF on June 07, 2016, 09:19:51 AM
Quote from: Tony on June 07, 2016, 08:53:30 AM
So it's Armagh next for Laois in O' Moore Park on the 18th or 19th. Interesting draw and perhaps a good one for us. Why? Because what's the point in playing a Carlow, London or Leitrim. Armagh will be a very big test and we'll have to be up for it to beat them. I think it's a good draw for us in the sense that it's less than two weeks away and will keep the interest in the squad. Armagh are at a similar level to us in my opinion - McGeeney is under pressure there so he will be obsessing about how to beat us. HOPEFULLY we will do a similar level of homework on them. We will miss JOL but Meaney should slot in there.

The draw in full is :

LAOIS vs ARMAGH

CARLOW vs WICKLOW

DERRY vs LOUTH/MEATH

LEITRIM vs WATERFORD

DOWN vs LONGFORD

ANTRIM vs LIMERICK

OFFALY / WESTMEATH vs LONDON

WEXFORD vs FERMAN / DONEGAL.

Agree  a good draw, not an easy one but a win for either team could set up the summer, a defeat would be a disaster.
Post by: Giovanni on June 07, 2016, 12:44:06 PM
Just wanted to add my congratulations to the team for giving a decent account of themselves at the weekend. I thought that Attride was superb again along with Timmons. Although I wouldn't be his biggest fan, Meaney was immense when he came on and really added a bit of power and aggression. I thought Meredith was also very good and Cahillane and Kingston (esp. in the second half) did very well against the odds.

Darren Strong's position on the half back line should be questioned a bit now I think. He's a super footballer but I think his lack of defensive skills means he should be a bit higher up the field. It's been mentioned here a few times before and I hadn't really seen it but it came through pretty clearly at the weekend.

On the JOL sending off, I find it very frustrating that the man who "gets his retaliation in first" is at a huge advantage in the game. JOL was being continuously fouled by McAuley and nothing was being done. Then he draws out and McAuley and misses more than half this game and all of the next one. It was obviously a red card offence but it would never have happened if the original fouling had been dealt with properly. Maybe Laois can learn from this - certainly, I would encourage them to take the McAuley approach to slowing down opponents if this is the way that it's dealt with. Or maybe if it was a Laois man that tried that, he would get a black card.............. In any case, it doesn't look much like justice to me.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on June 07, 2016, 04:04:34 PM
McAuley's black card, Cooper's black card and O'Gara's red.......all missed or the ref chickened out.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 08, 2016, 05:21:43 PM
Proud of the way they fought in the second half...

It's a pity they didn't start with the structure they finished with.

I was down there it was obivious that Cunningham ran things from the line in the second half...That might tell you all you need to know about where things lie .

Brody Attride, O'connor,Timmons, Meaney,Kingston Munnelly and meredith can be proud of their efforts....

Noteable mentions in the second half to Strong and Donogher ...

Walsh unlucky to be subbed at half time.

So on we go to OUR MA