GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thewobbler on September 20, 2015, 08:38:28 PM

Title: Player of the Year
Post by: thewobbler on September 20, 2015, 08:38:28 PM
There is no doubt a few people who like to apply a little bit of romantic spin to everything they see, but I'm pretty sure the overwhelming majority of us would agree that the Player of the Year gong should go to the player who had the single greatest influence on the Championship. So while sometimes this might be the most talented player, and sometimes it might be the highest scorer, at a all times it should be the player who either changed the course, or ensured the course, of the title.

If anyone can point me to a player who had a more telling influence on this year's Sam than Philip McMahon, well then I reckon we've been watching different sports.

Yep he's difficult to like. Indeed he fulfils, plus some, a description I read last night about Diego Costa - "he'd switch off your life support machine if it meant he could charge his phone" - but he put Aidan O Shea to bed, made Gooch look like a Kildare player, and was beyond accomplished in front of the posts.

It hasn't been a vintage championship, and we shouldn't look for a rose.

#voteforphil
Title: Re: Player of the Year
Post by: Harold Disgracey on September 20, 2015, 08:54:16 PM
He probably is the leading candidate for Player of the Year, however I can't see it being awarded to someone caught on camera gouging the eye of another player in an All Ireland final.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 20, 2015, 09:00:24 PM
Yup, definitely Philly McMahon.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 20, 2015, 09:15:04 PM

McMahon for me
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 20, 2015, 09:20:00 PM
McMahon was superb today and in the semifinals. As wobbler said he had a real impact on the Championship. If Bernard Brogan had his shooting boots on and the ball bounced right for him, he would be up there, but McMahon had a massive impact in the last three games.
Post by: LeoMc on September 20, 2015, 09:20:28 PM
Like him or not you would rather have him on your team than the oppositions.
Post by: redzone on September 20, 2015, 09:24:31 PM
Would it still be possible for a Kerry player to get it
Post by: Shrewdness on September 20, 2015, 09:29:10 PM
For me, Bernard Brogan is the Player of the Year, and my Young Player of the Year is Ciaran Kilkenny, with an honourable mention for Diarmuid O'Connor of Mayo.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2015, 09:44:40 PM
What is the cut off year for young footballer?
Post by: macdanger2 on September 20, 2015, 10:09:53 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on September 20, 2015, 09:29:10 PM
For me, Bernard Brogan is the Player of the Year, and my Young Player of the Year is Ciaran Kilkenny, with an honourable mention for Diarmuid O'Connor of Mayo.

KK is overage, you need to be U21. DO'C is nailed on.

Post by: redzone on September 20, 2015, 10:10:52 PM
Mark Bradley for Tyrone was far more influential than oconnor
Post by: smort on September 20, 2015, 10:17:52 PM
Is it not u23?
Post by: ONeill on September 20, 2015, 10:23:34 PM
Bernard must be in with a shout.
Post by: macdanger2 on September 20, 2015, 10:29:32 PM
Quote from: smort on September 20, 2015, 10:17:52 PM
Is it not u23?

I used to think that but before the replayed sf, O'connor was 1/7, Bradley was around 2/1 and only one other player was quoted. Since the replay, there's been no odds available so presumably O'connor is guaranteed to get it

If it was u23, it'd likely be between Fenton, kk and Mccaffrey (if he's underage)

With the way football is going, there are few enough players involved at the business end who qualify.
Post by: Syferus on September 20, 2015, 10:53:43 PM
Brogan by a large margin. McMahon was good and deserves an All-Star but ffs he had a mate with him at all times on AOS and usually a sweeper quick to jump on AOS too - hardly all the Ballymun Brawler's doing..
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 20, 2015, 10:56:37 PM
None of the Sunday Game analysts gave their POTY to B Brogan.
Post by: ONeill on September 20, 2015, 10:57:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 20, 2015, 10:56:37 PM

I still think he'll get the nod though.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 20, 2015, 10:58:21 PM
I go with Brogan
Post by: From the Bunker on September 20, 2015, 10:58:35 PM

Could you hear them? They were all talking at the same time and that included (just for men) Des!
Post by: moysider on September 21, 2015, 12:46:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 20, 2015, 10:57:59 PM

I still think he'll get the nod though.

Who chooses?

There was a fair gatherum of opinion there tonight and nobody went with Brogan. Conditions today were difficult but he looked flaky. Kilkenny was consistently very good every game, including today. So was McCaffrey.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 21, 2015, 08:05:56 AM

Brogan was atrocious yesterday. He scored heavily in the leinster turkey shoots.
Post by: Disillusioned on September 21, 2015, 08:15:56 AM
James McCarthy - most underrated player who did the heavy lifting all year.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 21, 2015, 08:21:57 AM
In a way over the past few years there hardly seems to be a player who was head and shoulders above the rest in the way that Stevie O'Neill was in 2005, Brogan in 2010 or McDonnell in 2002. 

As for young player of the year, Mark Bradley had a brilliant year from winning the u-21 to starring at CHF the whole way to the semi-final.
Post by: rrhf on September 21, 2015, 08:53:02 AM
Bradley is the man
Post by: highorlow on September 21, 2015, 09:18:30 AM
Peader Andrews or Kilkenny for me.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 21, 2015, 09:52:17 AM
I assume it'll go to a player from Dublin but for me it should be Aidan O'Shea.
Post by: five points on September 21, 2015, 10:20:13 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 21, 2015, 09:52:17 AM
I assume it'll go to a player from Dublin but for me it should be Aidan O'Shea.
Post by: westbound on September 21, 2015, 10:31:48 AM
I cant see how Aidan o'Shea would get it.

He was brilliant against poor teams in connacht (that sligo full back conceded 3 goals to the roscommon full forward in the u-21 championship earlier in the year and was left naively exposed).

He was fairly well marshalled by the dublin defence (even if it took 2/3 players to do it!)

So the only game where I would say he gave a possible POTY performance was against Donegal.

But that's just my opinion!  ;)
Post by: Schkite on September 21, 2015, 10:52:10 AM
I don't know how anyone who's watched the last few games could possibly suggest O'Shea for POTY.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on September 21, 2015, 11:22:00 AM
While McMahon has done a lot of good things this year, he was also involved in a good few unsporting instances.
For player of the year award, it should be someone who has made a big impact, but also played in a very sporting manner. They should be an example to others how the game should be played, a positive influence and epitomizes everything that is good about our sport.
I would go with B. Brogan
Post by: andoireabu on September 21, 2015, 11:25:16 AM
Jack McCaffery for me.  Plays a big part in every game both in attack and defense, and doesn't have of of the negative stuff in his game. Was he even booked this year?
Post by: jb81 on September 21, 2015, 11:32:23 AM
Jack Mc'Caffrey for me too after yesterday, ahead of Kilkenny and Brogan, and Diarmuid O'Connor for YPOTY, just ahead of Mark Bradley
Post by: nrico2006 on September 21, 2015, 11:43:36 AM
But McCaffrey was subbed very early yesterday too.  O'Shea shouldn't be in the running for it at all.  McManus obviously should if it was a real player of the year award and not the Player of the Year award (from finalists only).
Post by: Archie Mitchell on September 21, 2015, 11:49:50 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 21, 2015, 11:43:36 AM
But McCaffrey was subbed very early yesterday too.  O'Shea shouldn't be in the running for it at all.  McManus obviously should if it was a real player of the year award and not the Player of the Year award (from finalists only).

McCaffrey was in hospital for 3 days this week so it was some effort from him to play for as long and as well as he did yesterday!!
Post by: Esmarelda on September 21, 2015, 12:22:24 PM
O'Shea destroyed what was in front of him against Sligo and was also very good against Donegal. His goal against the latter may have been based mainly on strength but have two Donegal defenders been beaten so easily by anyone else?

He still caused danger against Dublin when they generally had three men around him.

He also keeps himself out of trouble despite the very close attention giving to him, from another candidate in particular.

Post by: yellowcard on September 21, 2015, 12:26:56 PM
The only reason McMahon mightn't get it is because of some unsavoury incidents. Like him or not, if it's based on performances alone then McMahon will win it.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 21, 2015, 01:56:03 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 21, 2015, 12:26:56 PM
The only reason McMahon mightn't get it is because of some unsavoury incidents. Like him or not, if it's based on performances alone then McMahon will win it.

I agree - and because of where he's from/his background. He has had a brilliant year.
Post by: JoG2 on September 21, 2015, 02:01:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 21, 2015, 01:56:03 PM

I agree - and because of where he's from/his background. He has had a brilliant year.

WTF?!

Post by: AZOffaly on September 21, 2015, 02:03:54 PM
Why would where he's from impact on whether he gets player of the year or not? His behaviour might mitigate his chances, but that's hardly related to where he comes from.
Post by: muppet on September 21, 2015, 02:07:29 PM
Aidan O'Sé wasn't even Mayo POTY. That would have been Lee Keegan for me.

Give it to any of the Dublin half backline, Kilkenny or Brogan, but it should never be given to a character like McMahon. In my opinion of course.
Post by: INDIANA on September 21, 2015, 02:09:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2015, 02:07:29 PM

Give it to any of the Dublin half backline, Kilkenny or Brogan, but it should never be given to a character like McMahon. In my opinion of course.

As a Dublin fan I'd have to agree.
Post by: twohands!!! on September 21, 2015, 02:14:41 PM
If Bernard Brogan hadn't won it before he'd be nailed on

However as he won it before I think Jack McCaffrey will get it.

Wouldnt have Philly McMahon as a serious contender at all - Cooper has been only very average this year and had looked only a shadow of himself in pretty much every game, bar the Kildare game.
Post by: J70 on September 21, 2015, 06:15:15 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 21, 2015, 12:22:24 PM
O'Shea destroyed what was in front of him against Sligo and was also very good against Donegal. His goal against the latter may have been based mainly on strength but have two Donegal defenders been beaten so easily by anyone else?

He still caused danger against Dublin when they generally had three men around him.

He also keeps himself out of trouble despite the very close attention giving to him, from another candidate in particular.

Neil McGee was injured. Not saying O'Shea might not have scored anyway, but given the way the game had gone, I'd say it was at least a factor. McGee had done well on O'Shea until Durcan cleaned him out of it late in the first half. The less said about Mark McHugh's role in attempting to stop O'Shea, the better!   :P
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 21, 2015, 08:14:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2015, 02:07:29 PM

This, a thousand times this!
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on September 21, 2015, 10:54:37 PM

Not a chance, for one he doesn't play for Dublin (All Ireland Champions) but doesn't deserve it either - not even an All star IMO
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 21, 2015, 10:58:00 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 21, 2015, 08:05:56 AM

Brogan was atrocious yesterday. He scored heavily in the leinster turkey shoots.

If it was a dry day and the ball stuck he would have scored a fair bit I'd say.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 21, 2015, 11:18:05 PM

Is that a serious comment?
Post by: moysider on September 21, 2015, 11:20:46 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on September 21, 2015, 10:54:37 PM

Not a chance, for one he doesn't play for Dublin (All Ireland Champions) but doesn't deserve it either - not even an All star IMO

Don t be silly. Course he's an All-Star.
Post by: Nihilist on September 22, 2015, 12:10:30 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 21, 2015, 11:20:46 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on September 21, 2015, 10:54:37 PM

Don t be silly. Course he's an All-Star.

In a FF line bereft of big men who have performed, (alongside smaller men who also haven't) you'd have to think he has a decent chance.
Something alongside the likes of McManus and Brogan. Only one you can see putting him out is possibly Paddy Andrews.

Have the positions come back into now though or is it still the "6" forwards regardless of where they play?

For me it would be

P Harte, C Kilkenny, Diarmuid O'Connor
Brogan, AOS, C McManus

Note - no D Connolly. I don't think he deserves it and also no fw from Kerry either as they were wiped out in 1/2 forward line and in final  O'Donoghue ended up subbed as deemed not good enough.
Post by: moysider on September 22, 2015, 01:21:10 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 21, 2015, 10:58:00 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 21, 2015, 08:05:56 AM

If it was a dry day and the ball stuck he would have scored a fair bit I'd say.

Of course he would. But you play the conditions and he plays CP every day. He was in front for a lot of good ball and messed up. I was in a Dublin section and they were giving out about an early attempted chip lift when he should have bent his back. He looked like he did not fancy the conditions at all. Still should get his All-Star of course. So should McManus. A shoe-in. As is Aidan O Shea.
Post by: weareros on September 22, 2015, 01:25:38 AM
Quote from: Nihilist on September 22, 2015, 12:10:30 AM

In a FF line bereft of big men who have performed, (alongside smaller men who also haven't) you'd have to think he has a decent chance.
Something alongside the likes of McManus and Brogan. Only one you can see putting him out is possibly Paddy Andrews.

Have the positions come back into now though or is it still the "6" forwards regardless of where they play?

For me it would be

P Harte, C Kilkenny, Diarmuid O'Connor
Brogan, AOS, C McManus

Note - no D Connolly. I don't think he deserves it and also no fw from Kerry either as they were wiped out in 1/2 forward line and in final  O'Donoghue ended up subbed as deemed not good enough.

JOD still score 3 great points from play in atrocious conditions against the Dublin backs in 60 mins - should never have been taken off. Aidan O'Shea and Diarmuid O'Connor from your All-Star forwards scored a combined total of 4 points over 140+ mins in perfect conditions. 

Post by: Shannoncider on September 22, 2015, 09:41:30 AM
Cillian O'Connor has to be a cert, He actually scored a goal from play this year in a big game. He was getting young player of the year and an all star for just kicking frees so surely with the horn the media and "so called" pundits have for him I reckon he will get it ;) ;)

On a serious note if McMahon doesn't get it its a joke head and shoulders above any other player this year
Post by: ballinaman on September 22, 2015, 09:56:43 AM
Quote from: Shannoncider on September 22, 2015, 09:41:30 AM
Cillian O'Connor has to be a cert, He actually scored a goal from play this year in a big game. He was getting young player of the year and an all star for just kicking frees so surely with the horn the media and "so called" pundits have for him I reckon he will get it ;) ;)

On a serious note if McMahon doesn't get it its a joke head and shoulders above any other player this year
Do you include eyes in that measurenent? ;)
Post by: Tubberman on September 22, 2015, 09:57:26 AM

Oh you're back are you? You've kept very quiet since your first post ;)

getting a great laugh out of readying the Sligo boys comments. Lads where in the name of God are ye getting all ye're confidence from God I no Us rossies are prob over confident but at least our team have backed it up this year with promotion have a few good underage teams. Sligo were no good last two years and this years u21 team ye had was probably the worst I have ever seen
Post by: magpie seanie on September 22, 2015, 10:13:48 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2015, 02:03:54 PM
Why would where he's from impact on whether he gets player of the year or not? His behaviour might mitigate his chances, but that's hardly related to where he comes from.

You're very naïve if you believe that.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 22, 2015, 11:02:10 AM
Seriously Seanie? Where he *comes* from? Where was Gerry Hargan from? Barney Rock?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 22, 2015, 11:10:50 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 22, 2015, 11:02:10 AM
Seriously Seanie? Where he *comes* from? Where was Gerry Hargan from? Barney Rock?

See the posts on the Philly McMahon thread.

It wouldn't bother me but there are plenty in society in general and in positions of power that it would. Mightn't have been as bad when the lads you mention were playing, pre Celtic tiger.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 22, 2015, 11:13:45 AM
He;s getting abuse because his behaviour was bad, for a good bit of the year. Not because he's from Ballymun. Obviously some people have negative experiences or impressions of Ballymun, but if McMahon conducted himself properly all year, and played to the same level, I can't believe he would be excluded because he's from Ballymun. If anything he'd be lauded as a role model.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 22, 2015, 11:17:54 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 22, 2015, 11:13:45 AM
He;s getting abuse because his behaviour was bad, for a good bit of the year. Not because he's from Ballymun. Obviously some people have negative experiences or impressions of Ballymun, but if McMahon conducted himself properly all year, and played to the same level, I can't believe he would be excluded because he's from Ballymun. If anything he'd be lauded as a role model.

Agreed. He's actually a good role model off the pitch and would be lauded for that.
Post by: macdanger2 on September 22, 2015, 11:18:28 AM
Where he comes from had little or nothing to do with the press he's getting; his own behaviour on the pitch on a few occasions is the reason for it. He's had a great year but there's no need for him to go on with that kind of sh*te.

It would have been poetic justice if Killian Young had scored from the thrown-in he conceded in that incident. Actually, what was the basis of the ref throwing in the ball in that instance? He initially gave a free out I thought and then changed to a hop ball after Donaghy complained about his eye
Post by: westbound on September 22, 2015, 12:06:44 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 22, 2015, 11:18:28 AM
Where he comes from had little or nothing to do with the press he's getting; his own behaviour on the pitch on a few occasions is the reason for it. He's had a great year but there's no need for him to go on with that kind of sh*te.

It would have been poetic justice if Killian Young had scored from the thrown-in he conceded in that incident. Actually, what was the basis of the ref throwing in the ball in that instance? He initially gave a free out I thought and then changed to a hop ball after Donaghy complained about his eye

I don't think he gave a free out. As soon as he blew the whistle I thought it was a hop ball.
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2015, 01:18:36 PM
Quote from: westbound on September 22, 2015, 12:06:44 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 22, 2015, 11:18:28 AM

I don't think he gave a free out. As soon as he blew the whistle I thought it was a hop ball.

I couldn't believe Dublin took off Fenton at that moment and left MDMA in a hop ball with Donaghy. It was nearly disastrous for the Dubs.
Post by: ballinaman on September 22, 2015, 06:49:07 PM

Top scorer in Championship for 3 years in a row for Cillian. ;D
Post by: rodney trotter on September 22, 2015, 08:18:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 22, 2015, 11:13:45 AM

If he conducted himself like his clubmate James Mcarthy all year, nothing would be said.  Mcarthy is one of the cleanest players on the Dublin team along with Dean Rock.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2015, 08:34:06 PM
Last time I checked the top scorer Seán Quigley was 4 points ahead of O Connor. A goal taken away from Seán Quigley and one point added to O Connors tally? Those that had money on Seán Quigley to be top scorer can't be happy.
Post by: Nihilist on September 22, 2015, 11:14:56 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2015, 08:34:06 PM
Last time I checked the top scorer Seán Quigley was 4 points ahead of O Connor. A goal taken away from Seán Quigley and one point added to O Connors tally? Those that had money on Seán Quigley to be top scorer can't be happy.

Was the goal the one scored against Dublin?
Probably a secret appeal.
Post by: Drummerboy on September 22, 2015, 11:38:37 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 21, 2015, 01:56:03 PM

Are you suggesting there is snobbery in the GAA?
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2015, 10:10:30 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2015, 08:34:06 PM

Last time I checked, they were level, and Fermanagh were gone from the Championship. Didn't hear anything about this goal until I saw this post.

Post by: nrico2006 on September 23, 2015, 10:38:53 AM
Quigley scored 3-36 and O'Connor 3-34.  One of Quigleys 3 goals was classed as the one in the Dublin game.  Is that his goal or not is the question?  If it is, he is top scorer.  If it isn't, he is second.  Either way, I doubt wither man was the top scorer from play which should be the more coveted award.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2015, 10:42:00 AM
That's Brogan. All his scores up until the final came from play.
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2015, 10:42:20 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 23, 2015, 10:38:53 AM
Quigley scored 3-36 and O'Connor 3-34.  One of Quigleys 3 goals was classed as the one in the Dublin game.  Is that his goal or not is the question?  If it is, he is top scorer.  If it isn't, he is second.  Either way, I doubt wither man was the top scorer from play which should be the more coveted award.

Quigley didn't score any goal against Dublin.

You can't score a goal without touching the ball.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 23, 2015, 03:37:07 PM
Dessie Dolan disallowed COC's goal on RTE. I don't think COC should get top goalscorer because of his antics on the pitch. Splitting lads with elbows, repeated high tackles..... ;D
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2015, 05:10:06 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 23, 2015, 03:37:07 PM
Dessie Dolan disallowed COC's goal on RTE - until he read the rules. I don't think COC should get top goalscorer because of his antics on the pitch. Splitting lads the posts with elbows great accuracy, repeated high tackles scoring stats..... ;D

That's better.  :D
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 23, 2015, 05:26:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 23, 2015, 05:10:06 PM
Dessie Dolan disallowed COC's goal on RTE - until he read the rules. I don't think COC should get top goalscorer because of his antics on the pitch. Splitting lads the posts with elbows great accuracy, repeated high tackles scoring stats..... ;D

C O'C is overrated

Brian Fenton had a great season
Post by: ballinaman on September 23, 2015, 05:54:56 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 23, 2015, 05:26:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 23, 2015, 05:10:06 PM

C O'C is overrated

Brian Fenton had a great season
Had 2 Dubs sitting behind say the exact same thing seconds before Cillian hit that cracker in the replay. Turned around to get a good look at them, faces were priceless. Only good thing about that day  ;D
Post by: Conallach on September 23, 2015, 06:03:50 PM
McMahon was fantastic this year, but I've a wee childhood fear of eye-gouging so if I had a vote I'd have to throw it elsewhere  :-[

That said, he could have been sent off for the headbutting or gouging incidents, and should probably have had a (potentially crucial) penalty given against him in the Mayo match, so I'd actually vote against Philly based on the fact that he could have caused his own team a lot of damage had any of these been called.

I'm surprised at the McCaffrey love in. It's not that he wasn't good, it's just that the other two Dublin half backs - O'Sullivan and McCarthy were outstanding, as were Kilkenny and O'Carroll.

I'd probably opt for Kilkenny as YFOTY and find it hard to separate  O'Sullivan and McCarthy for FOTY.
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2015, 06:11:24 PM
Quote from: Conallach on September 23, 2015, 06:03:50 PM
McMahon was fantastic this year, but I've a wee childhood fear of eye-gouging so if I had a vote I'd have to throw it elsewhere  :-[

That said, he could have been sent off for the headbutting or gouging incidents, and should probably have had a (potentially crucial) penalty given against him in the Mayo match, so I'd actually vote against Philly based on the fact that he could have caused his own team a lot of damage had any of these been called.

I'm surprised at the McCaffrey love in. It's not that he wasn't good, it's just that the other two Dublin half backs - O'Sullivan and McCarthy were outstanding, as were Kilkenny and O'Carroll.

I'd probably opt for Kilkenny as YFOTY and find it hard to separate  O'Sullivan and McCarthy for FOTY.

Overage for YPOTY.
Post by: Conallach on September 23, 2015, 06:25:28 PM
Whoops! Give him the big one then and let Diarmuid O'Connor have the YFOTY award :)
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2015, 06:26:49 PM
Quote from: Conallach on September 23, 2015, 06:25:28 PM
Whoops! Give him the big one then and let Diarmuid O'Connor have the YFOTY award :)

Deal!
Post by: nrico2006 on September 24, 2015, 09:08:57 AM
Has there ever been a year where there has been nobody standing out.  Fair enough, the Dubs half backs have been good this year but in any other year there are always good half backs but you always have a few players who really light up the championship and stand out.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 24, 2015, 10:23:10 AM
I think it was a poor championship overall, and it probably got the final it deserved, even though I think it would have been a much better spectacle (and probably a bigger win for Dublin) in a dry day.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 24, 2015, 10:28:22 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 24, 2015, 10:23:10 AM
I think it was a poor championship overall, and it probably got the final it deserved, even though I think it would have been a much better spectacle (and probably a bigger win for Dublin) in a dry day.

I think when we expected it to take off, around quarters, semis and finals it just didn't. The really big games with the most anticipation were the biggest let downs. Mayo/Dublin was about the best of it. Westmeath/Meath an honourable mention.
Post by: ck on September 24, 2015, 10:54:32 AM
Philly McMahon is guilty of 3 major incidents this year;

1. Eye gouging in AIF
2. Head butting Aidan O'Shea
3. Feigning injury/Diving in semi final

McMahon got away with all of the above, no cards, no suspensions and no castigating on the Sunday game! Compare this to the Tyrone hair-toss-gate!

IMO McMahons contribution to Dublins win was massive, he was Dublins best and most consistent player but based on the above incidents alone he simply cannot get any individual award as it sends out all the wrong messages to young players.
Post by: yellowcard on September 24, 2015, 11:36:50 AM
Is this award voted for by journalists or players?
Post by: sans pessimism on September 24, 2015, 01:47:51 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 24, 2015, 11:36:50 AM
journos
Post by: Hound on September 24, 2015, 01:58:26 PM
Quote from: ck on September 24, 2015, 10:54:32 AM
Philly McMahon is guilty of 3 major incidents this year;

1. Eye gouging in AIF
2. Head butting Aidan O'Shea
3. Feigning injury/Diving in semi final

McMahon got away with all of the above, no cards, no suspensions and no castigating on the Sunday game! Compare this to the Tyrone hair-toss-gate!

IMO McMahons contribution to Dublins win was massive, he was Dublins best and most consistent player but based on the above incidents alone he simply cannot get any individual award as it sends out all the wrong messages to young players.
Well he's not "guilty" of any of those (yet anyway!) and TV pictures proveed conclusively that he did not head butt AOS.

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 24, 2015, 10:28:22 AM

I think when we expected it to take off, around quarters, semis and finals it just didn't. The really big games with the most anticipation were the biggest let downs. Mayo/Dublin was about the best of it. Westmeath/Meath an honourable mention.
True, might have been the worst set of quarter-finals since they were brought in.

At the top table it would have been interesting to see how Dublin and Kerry got on in the dry. Or how Tyrone would have got on against Dublin in the rain! Or how Kerry-Mayo would have went.

Its a pity the league isn't taken a bit more seriously by the teams/fans/media. Teams relatively evenly matched pitted against each other, with clear paths of progression (and regression) in place.
Post by: macdanger2 on September 24, 2015, 02:29:07 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on September 24, 2015, 01:47:51 PM
journos

AFAIK it's both?? That's why it's called the GAA/GPA POTY
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 24, 2015, 03:23:26 PM

Spot on seanie. I got the football feast tickets this year but you couldn't say any game lived up to the previous spectacles we use get at quarter and semi final stage. Massive wins for Dublin & Kerry the first day with Fermanaghs "comeback" being the only passion raiser. Tyrone - Monaghan was a dour Ulster battle and Mayo - Donegal wasn't too bad but never really in doubt. Same with the Kerry - Tyrone game on another torrid afternoon rain wise. First Dublin - Mayo game wouldn't have looked amiss in the Ulster championship with the replay the only one on fire, in parts.

Quote from: macdanger2 on September 24, 2015, 02:29:07 PM
journos

All-Stars done by journos, POTY and YPOTY done by the players IIRC.
Post by: rodney trotter on September 24, 2015, 03:29:57 PM
Player of the year is voted by the journalists and players... been that way since 2011.
Post by: yellowcard on September 24, 2015, 03:59:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 24, 2015, 03:23:26 PM

Spot on seanie. I got the football feast tickets this year but you couldn't say any game lived up to the previous spectacles we use get at quarter and semi final stage. Massive wins for Dublin & Kerry the first day with Fermanaghs "comeback" being the only passion raiser. Tyrone - Monaghan was a dour Ulster battle and Mayo - Donegal wasn't too bad but never really in doubt. Same with the Kerry - Tyrone game on another torrid afternoon rain wise. First Dublin - Mayo game wouldn't have looked amiss in the Ulster championship with the replay the only one on fire, in parts.

Quote from: macdanger2 on September 24, 2015, 02:29:07 PM
journos

All-Stars done by journos, POTY and YPOTY done by the players IIRC.

Thank god thats that cleared up then!
Post by: macdanger2 on September 24, 2015, 04:01:46 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 24, 2015, 03:59:48 PM

Thank god thats that cleared up then!

I'm pretty sure it's either one or the other. Or both.