Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bogball88 on August 20, 2015, 11:37:14 AM

Title: Dublin on Saturday
Post by: bogball88 on August 20, 2015, 11:37:14 AM
Heading down to Dublin for the Tyrone Kerry match this weekend and few of us are staying down the Saturday near Connolly station. Where would be decent for pints during the day and evening time before heading out for the night? All suggestions welcome
Title: Re: Dublin on Saturday
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 11:42:48 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on August 20, 2015, 11:37:14 AM
Heading down to Dublin for the Tyrone Kerry match this weekend and few of us are staying down the Saturday near Connolly station. Where would be decent for pints during the day and evening time before heading out for the night? All suggestions welcome

Pubs that aren't near Connolly Station  ;)

What kind of age group is it? Single or spoken for? In general, George's Street (and Dame Lane), South William Street (and the various streets in and around that area) and Baggott Street would be my preference. Good pints, good grub available near them all.
Post by: bogball88 on August 20, 2015, 11:47:31 AM
A mixture of both single and spoken for men, not too fussy where we go just somewhere with good atmosphere and good craic really, obviously nowhere too fancy ;D
Post by: macdanger2 on August 20, 2015, 11:48:02 AM
What sort of pubs are you looking for??

Old pubs with a nice pint, I'd recommend Bowes on Fleet St., The Long Hall on George's St. and maybe the Chatham lounge off Grafton St.

Livelier pubs for the evening, I'd probably recommend around Camden St., maybe Cassidys & Ryans and Whelans afterwards. Coppers, the Black Door, Diceys all close by to there as well to finish up in

Actually, if you're coming from Connolly, you could do Mulligans on Poolbeg st, Bowes, the Palace Bar on the edge of Temple Bar, Long Hall and on up to Camden St.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 20, 2015, 11:53:22 AM
Could head up to Fairview  Gaffneys (?) nice old pub. 
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 11:58:24 AM
If on Camden Street, there'll be plenty of craic in Flannery's the night before the match.

Stag's Head to Globe to Long Hall to Flannery's. Good wee dander.
Post by: highorlow on August 20, 2015, 12:05:15 PM
QuoteWhere would be decent for pints during the day and evening time

The Boar's Head on Capel st is good, small pub, Cavan Man Hughie owns it, it's about 3 x LUAS stops from Connolly / Busarus.

You won't go wrong in Cleary's under the bridge either, just a 50 yard walk to the right as your coming out of the main Connolly entrance, it's a real Dublin pub and the aul lads in there are good craic.

The Celt used to be good, it's on the bottom of Talbot st and if you don't mind the tourists it's probably ok for an early evening pint.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 20, 2015, 02:11:39 PM
+1 for Mulligans and The Palace. O'Neills on Suffolk St have a deadly carvery lunch, good pints but lots of tourists. Take Gallsman's advice and don't hang around the Connolly St/Busaras area.
Post by: Canalman on August 20, 2015, 02:42:13 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 20, 2015, 02:11:39 PM
+1 for Mulligans and The Palace. O'Neills on Suffolk St have a deadly carvery lunch, good pints but lots of tourists. Take Gallsman's advice and don't hang around the Connolly St/Busaras area.

-1 for Mulligans . Kip imo. Chaplins around the corner far nicer.  Not too fond personally of O'Neills but can see why others would warm to it.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2015, 02:44:29 PM
I like the Palace Bar, lovely pint in there. Most others I could take or leave to be honest. Full of Dubs sure. ;)
Post by: highorlow on August 20, 2015, 02:47:18 PM
For food in that area try the Long Stone, can't go wrong, nice bar also. Next street up from Mulligans.
Post by: Clov on August 20, 2015, 02:48:42 PM
Its yonks since i been there but the Flowing Tide is a grand spot, is it not? If you are to go drinking near Connolly Station.

edit: I also have always liked the Palace Bar and the International Bar.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 20, 2015, 03:16:03 PM
The Palace is peerless for a pint of plain.  Mulligan's isn't what it used to be.
Post by: laoislad on August 20, 2015, 03:24:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 20, 2015, 02:44:29 PM
I like the Palace Bar, lovely pint in there. Most others I could take or leave to be honest. Full of Dubs sure. ;)
Dublin would be a great place if it wasn't for the Dubs...

+1 for Bowes on Fleet St. It's a quiet spot but great pints in it.
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2015, 03:39:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 11:58:24 AM
If on Camden Street, there'll be plenty of craic in Flannery's the night before the match.

Stag's Head to Globe to Long Hall to Flannery's. Good wee dander.

Stag's Head yes and Long Hall yes.

I am getting too old for the other two.

Maybe  - Bowe's - The Palace - Stag's Head and Long Hall before choosing any of the late night bars nearby.
Post by: ballinaman on August 20, 2015, 03:44:16 PM
Worth calling in here on the way up from Connolly station to the match...... 8)
(http://res.cloudinary.com/jar-ie/image/upload/c_fill,h_494,w_800/g_south_east,l_jar-copyright/v1/place/photos/106879b1-e2cc-40a2-a873-fbd264ad9b1a.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on August 20, 2015, 04:02:18 PM

It might be a while since you were in Mulligans, 5Sams. It's gone to the dogs, quality-of-pint-wise. For a decent pint in proper pub surroundings and without intrusive extraneous noises (loud TV, musak, noisy kids, etc.) I endorse the Long Hall, Palace, Gaffneys, Kehoes in S. Anne St., and Ryans of Parkgate St.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 20, 2015, 04:05:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 20, 2015, 04:02:18 PM

It might be  while since you were in Mulligans, 5Sams. It's gone to the dogs, quality-of-pint-wise. For a decent pint in proper pub surroundings and without intrusive extraneous noises (loud TV, musak, noisy kids, etc.) I endorse the Long Hall, Palace, Gaffneys, Kehoes in S. Anne St., and Ryans of Parkgate St.

It's while alright Hardy...that's a pity. Kehoes is another great shout thought it gets very crowded. Toners on Baggot St would always get a visit as well.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 04:18:52 PM

It might be a while since you were in Mulligans, 5Sams. It's gone to the dogs, quality-of-pint-wise. For a decent pint in proper pub surroundings and without intrusive extraneous noises (loud TV, musak, noisy kids, etc.) I endorse the Long Hall, Palace, Gaffneys, Kehoes in S. Anne St., and Ryans of Parkgate St.

Just have to tolerate the intrusive extraneous noises coming from half the gobshites in Dublin.
Post by: Hardy on August 20, 2015, 04:25:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 04:18:52 PM

Just have to tolerate the intrusive extraneous noises coming from half the gobshites in Dublin.

There is the hipster infestation issue OK. I'd avoid it at night, but grand in the afternoon.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 20, 2015, 04:31:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 20, 2015, 04:25:18 PM

There is the hipster infestation issue OK. I'd avoid it at night, but grand in the afternoon.

Isn't that the place where Paul Galvin and Oliver Callan had a "difference of opinion".
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 04:52:07 PM

All you old farts and your daytime drinking. Pissheads the lot of you.
Post by: easytiger95 on August 20, 2015, 05:17:53 PM
I was in Kehoes there a couple of times in the past month - and the pint surpasses Mulligans by some way. Also, being able to stand outside and people watch on a pleasant night takes care of the hipster problem. Grogans is another one with a fine pint but the hipster/crusty infestation there is completely intolerable.
Post by: Canalman on August 20, 2015, 05:37:27 PM
Agreed, for a sneaky afternoon pint (s) you can't beat Kehoes or Stags Head. Kennedys on Westland Row was excellent also but not so sure it is open anymore.

For what it's worth, places I try to avoid are Mulligans, Davy Byrnes, the place opposite Davy Byrnes, the place around the corner from Davy Byrnes, Bruxelles, Hairy Lemon and the Palace Bar on non match days when you can stand out the front (too dark out the back, too narrow in the middle and no seating out the front).

Spoilt for choice really .

Post by: easytiger95 on August 20, 2015, 06:08:37 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 20, 2015, 05:37:27 PM
Agreed, for a sneaky afternoon pint (s) you can't beat Kehoes or Stags Head. Kennedys on Westland Row was excellent also but not so sure it is open anymore.

For what it's worth, places I try to avoid are Mulligans, Davy Byrnes, the place opposite Davy Byrnes, the place around the corner from Davy Byrnes, Bruxelles, Hairy Lemon and the Palace Bar on non match days when you can stand out the front (too dark out the back, too narrow in the middle and no seating out the front).

Spoilt for choice really .

I don't avoid Mulligans, i still have a sneaking affection for it, used to work nearby, but has definitely gone down hill. Davy Byrnes is not great, but downstairs to the left in Bruxelles is great if you fancy unleashing your inner 90's indie kid the odd time - nothing wrong with some tunes if they're decent. Always disliked the Hairy Lemon and thought the Palace was a bit over rated.

Haven't been drinking around town enough these days to offer any concrete recommendations - but if you want trendy, then Georges Street still can't be beat I think. Also, Ron Black's, smallest pub in Dublin is always worth a shot for a good guinness, also the Duke can be a bit of craic - another old work haunt.
Post by: easytiger95 on August 20, 2015, 06:10:12 PM
forgot completely!! Dame Tavern, always good,  i know there can be a load of tourists but the pint is excellent, there's usually a really good lad playing acoustic tunes, and you can't help but have craic there post match.
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2015, 06:15:16 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on August 20, 2015, 06:10:12 PM
forgot completely!! Dame Tavern, always good,  i know there can be a load of tourists but the pint is excellent, there's usually a really good lad playing acoustic tunes, and you can't help but have craic there post match.

Ages since I was there, but the last time there was one big guy playing great guitar songs from the 60s, 70s & 80s.
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 20, 2015, 07:11:23 PM
The Swan on Aungier Street is an excellent pub. Great pints of stout. I would second the Palace. Mullligan's needs to pick up their socks. There pints are 5 out of 10 at best.
Post by: laoislad on August 20, 2015, 07:18:31 PM
I actually like Sinnots also and any of the Porterhouse pubs.
You get a great burger in Sinnots.
Post by: Hardy on August 20, 2015, 08:01:41 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 20, 2015, 04:31:33 PM

Isn't that the place where Paul Galvin and Oliver Callan had a "difference of opinion".

That's the one.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:06:28 PM
A lot of chat about places doing the best pint of plain - Peter's Pub for me. If you're there late enough they'll start whipping out the ham and cheese toasties. Although that would deny you the pleasure of a drunken Zaytoon.
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2015, 08:23:19 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:06:28 PM
A lot of chat about places doing the best pint of plain - Peter's Pub for me. If you're there late enough they'll start whipping out the ham and cheese toasties. Although that would deny you the pleasure of a drunken Zaytoon.

I am afraid to ask!
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:29:15 PM
Kebab house!
Post by: easytiger95 on August 20, 2015, 09:01:33 PM
Peter's is a grand spot.
Post by: INDIANA on August 20, 2015, 09:19:49 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 20, 2015, 03:44:16 PM
(http://res.cloudinary.com/jar-ie/image/upload/c_fill,h_494,w_800/g_south_east,l_jar-copyright/v1/place/photos/106879b1-e2cc-40a2-a873-fbd264ad9b1a.jpg)

Reminds me of a few boozers in Ballina. ;D
Post by: Rossfan on August 20, 2015, 11:16:09 PM
Anyplace selling  pints less than €5 up there now - that would be safe to go into that is.
Post by: Canalman on August 21, 2015, 10:28:42 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 20, 2015, 07:11:23 PM
The Swan on Aungier Street is an excellent pub. Great pints of stout. I would second the Palace. Mullligan's needs to pick up their socks. There pints are 5 out of 10 at best.

Agree about the Swan. Thought it was closed tbh . Had some great pints there back in the day. For some reason the hooray henrys of Wexford and Georges Street areas avoided it thankfully.

Foggy Dew pregentrification was a great spot altogether.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 21, 2015, 11:17:24 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 08:06:28 PM

How many of you will there be?  Is Peter's Pub not tiny?

Post by: easytiger95 on August 21, 2015, 01:16:06 PM
Small but cosy - also, despite the location, it's never truly jammers there (or at least i haven't seen it to be) but it wouldn't exactly be craic central - pint and chat rather than pint, pint, chat up, pint, smoke, pint, chat up some more, pint, pint, shot, pint, shot, no longer able to chat up, too full for pint, stick on shot, roar at DJ have they no Stone Roses, shot, taxi, Coppers, shot, puke, too packed, taxi, Mcgowans, shot, puke again, home.

Or is that just me?

(Ten years ago)
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2015, 12:00:13 PM
What's Gogarty's like now? Used to be a good oul trad session upstairs.
Post by: 50fiftyball on September 14, 2015, 01:06:28 PM
3 young fellas heading down for the match this weekend, we've a hotel booked for saturday night, will probably try get down early for a bit of a session, we'd want to avoid Temple Bar as was the case on the last few trips - but always seem to get sucked towards it!

We've provisionally booked a place for Sunday night. Have went down as last few years on the Saturday jsut and up the road Sunday (we're neutrals).

Is there much of a buzz about the Sunday night or are you better heading up the road if your not at the banquet etc.

Been told the Sunday can be dead enough with ones heading home to celebrate etc.. Have up to Friday to cancel anyway!
Post by: deiseach on September 14, 2015, 01:08:35 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on August 20, 2015, 05:17:53 PM
I was in Kehoes there a couple of times in the past month - and the pint surpasses Mulligans by some way. Also, being able to stand outside and people watch on a pleasant night takes care of the hipster problem. Grogans is another one with a fine pint but the hipster/crusty infestation there is completely intolerable.

Plus ça change...
Post by: balladmaker on September 14, 2015, 01:19:32 PM
QuoteWorth calling in here on the way up from Connolly station to the match...... 8)

The Sunset House, that pic brought back many a memory from many years ago on match days!
Post by: macdanger2 on September 14, 2015, 02:40:39 PM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on September 14, 2015, 01:06:28 PM
3 young fellas heading down for the match this weekend, we've a hotel booked for saturday night, will probably try get down early for a bit of a session, we'd want to avoid Temple Bar as was the case on the last few trips - but always seem to get sucked towards it!

We've provisionally booked a place for Sunday night. Have went down as last few years on the Saturday jsut and up the road Sunday (we're neutrals).

Is there much of a buzz about the Sunday night or are you better heading up the road if your not at the banquet etc.

Been told the Sunday can be dead enough with ones heading home to celebrate etc.. Have up to Friday to cancel anyway!

With Kerry & Dublin being in it, there mightn't be a huge amount of craic around but the usual spots would still be busy. Definitely worth staying around until 9 or 10 anyway for post match pints
Post by: 50fiftyball on September 15, 2015, 11:13:28 AM
Cheers macdanger, staying in Maldron Parnell Square - haven't stayed in this location before, usually stay on other side of the Liffey (around T.B. or Stephen's Green).

Will probably just play it by ear, if we get up Sunday morning and the craics good, and we all pint, that will be driving home out of the question!

Post by: PW Nally on September 15, 2015, 01:04:49 PM
There will be plenty of places to get stuck into the banter Sunday night if you know where to go. Kerry pubs I know would be O'Shea's/Old Moran hotel Gardeiner St, Sean O'Casey on Marlborough St and O'Sheas the Merchant on Merchants Quay. Clientele would not normally be the youngest but the Kerry crowd can be good craic and will be plenty of match gang about.

The Celt on Talbot street gets a lively crowd with live music attracting the after match punters and tourists alike. Think it's mainly folk & rebel songs which can get some quite het-up at times. The Dublin Supporters pub on Parnell St. looks like a spot to keep walking by but maybe I'm doing it a disservice! Was in Peadar Kearneys on Dame St after replayed semi-final and it was hopping with Dubs with the band playing it up.

Later on the pubs about Wexford street would be getting busy. A few other personal favourites would be The Foggy Dew by the Central Bank and Stags Head on Dame Lane.
Post by: macdanger2 on September 15, 2015, 01:58:11 PM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on September 15, 2015, 11:13:28 AM
Cheers macdanger, staying in Maldron Parnell Square - haven't stayed in this location before, usually stay on other side of the Liffey (around T.B. or Stephen's Green).

Will probably just play it by ear, if we get up Sunday morning and the craics good, and we all pint, that will be driving home out of the question!

The craic will be good before the match so get out early enough if even ye're not having pints
Post by: ludermor on September 15, 2015, 03:22:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 20, 2015, 09:19:49 PM

The Bridge Tavern down the road from the Sunset is a great place to watch a match, its rough and ready but a proper old dublin boozer.
Post by: PW Nally on September 15, 2015, 04:24:00 PM
Quote from: ludermor on September 15, 2015, 03:22:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 20, 2015, 09:19:49 PM

The Bridge Tavern down the road from the Sunset is a great place to watch a match, its rough and ready but a proper old dublin boozer.
True, and the locals tend to bate each other rather than bother the outsiders.
Post by: 50fiftyball on September 18, 2015, 02:01:46 PM
Cheers men! Looking forward to it, staying the 2 nights to f*ck  ;D ;D Have yet to pick the hotel - have 3 reserved on booking.com all same price -  Arlington O'Connell Bridge, Arlington Temple Bar, or Jury's Parnell Street.

The Croke park hotel just popped up for the 2 nights but it's a fair wee bit extra , more than I can afford! :-[
Post by: macdanger2 on September 18, 2015, 04:44:21 PM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on September 18, 2015, 02:01:46 PM
Cheers men! Looking forward to it, staying the 2 nights to f*ck  ;D ;D Have yet to pick the hotel - have 3 reserved on booking.com all same price -  Arlington O'Connell Bridge, Arlington Temple Bar, or Jury's Parnell Street.

The Croke park hotel just popped up for the 2 nights but it's a fair wee bit extra , more than I can afford! :-[

Arlington, O'connell bridge is what I'd probably go with. Not parnell street anyway imo
Post by: 50fiftyball on September 19, 2015, 02:54:14 PM
Bit late but, best place to watch the rest of the rugby in city centre / temple bar etc? Walking from top of O'Connell Street