GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: The Aristocrat on August 17, 2015, 10:15:21 AM

Title: Fighting on the Hill and in Quinns between two sets of fans Tipp and Galway.
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 17, 2015, 10:15:21 AM
Tipp fans fighting Galway fans on the Hill and in Quinn's after, it was violent enough, In particular in Quinns.

Can you behave yourselves please when you come to the capital. It is not the end of the disco in Nenagh or Galway city.

This is also not soccer.

Perhaps its a good idea to ban the sale of alcohol when some sets of fans come to Dublin.

I have seen this from Tipp fans a few times before, one match in particular when a fan was getting sick on the Hill and 3 fans thrown out for throwing digs on the Hill, alcohol influenced, the same match , final v KK a few years ago.

Title: Re: Fighting on the Hill and in Quinns between two sets of fans Tipp and Galway.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 17, 2015, 01:19:04 PM
Down in Munster when fan have a terrace each, this craic would be less likely. One of the unfortunate by-products of the Croke Park redevelopment has been the single terrace to accommodate fans from competing counties. Especially when it ones taking the Ryanair ticket option to divert more funds towards refreshments before, after and during.

I remember a bizarre incident in the 2003 All Ireland quarter final between Offaly and Tipp. On the Hill after Tipp scored a goal a ruck broke out between cider heads from both counties. It was broken up and finished with a Tipp fella standing there punching himself in the face to show how tough he was and demonstrating his hunger for a scrap.

Title: Re: Fighting on the Hill and in Quinns between two sets of fans Tipp and Galway.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 17, 2015, 02:58:01 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on August 17, 2015, 10:15:21 AM
Tipp fans fighting Galway fans on the Hill and in Quinn's after, it was violent enough, In particular in Quinns.

Can you behave yourselves please when you come to the capital. It is not the end of the disco in Nenagh or Galway city.

This is also not soccer.

Perhaps its a good idea to ban the sale of alcohol when some sets of fans come to Dublin.

I have seen this from Tipp fans a few times before, one match in particular when a fan was getting sick on the Hill and 3 fans thrown out for throwing digs on the Hill, alcohol influenced, the same match , final v KK a few years ago.

Desperate sh*t if true, have never seen anything even coming close to a fight any time I was on the terrace with any set of supporters
Post by: paddyoslabs on August 17, 2015, 03:22:36 PM
beer must of been warm in Quinns  ;D
Post by: finbar o tool on August 17, 2015, 03:28:59 PM
id say its a rare enough occurrence, i wouldn't go segregating fans just yet! in general GAA fans are a credit to their county the vast majority of the time. one of the great things about the GAA has always been the mingling of the fans and you would be proud to see it after watching a football match in England or Spain with a line of yellow jackets separating fans.
id imagine it was a bunch of young lads who dont get out in the 'big smoke' too often and had too much to drink!
Post by: Esmarelda on August 17, 2015, 03:33:57 PM
Quote from: finbar o tool on August 17, 2015, 03:28:59 PM
id say its a rare enough occurrence, i wouldn't go segregating fans just yet! in general GAA fans are a credit to their county the vast majority of the time. one of the great things about the GAA has always been the mingling of the fans and you would be proud to see it after watching a football match in England or Spain with a line of yellow jackets separating fans.
id imagine it was a bunch of young lads who dont get out in the 'big smoke' too often and had too much to drink!
Exactly, it'd be a sad day if we had to follow suit.

"Your support is f**king shit."
Post by: deiseach on August 17, 2015, 03:50:38 PM
I was on the Killinan End for the Munster final and found it a perversely enjoyable experience. When you are standing among your own you get a negative feedback loop where every wide is worse than the Holocaust. It wasn't quite a Zen-like suppression of emotions, and it would have been much nicer to be among your own at the final whistle, but it was oddly worthwhile.
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 17, 2015, 03:56:24 PM
I agree with the comments above that these incidents are isolated but still think it should highlighted.

Drink is no excuse and doesn't look good for the GAA.
Post by: sid waddell on August 17, 2015, 05:00:54 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on August 17, 2015, 10:15:21 AM

This is also not soccer.

What has soccer to do with a GAA problem?
Post by: theskull1 on August 17, 2015, 05:03:52 PM
I think you know what he's talking about  :-\

Soccer is not the problem ... its a small % of sh1tk1ckers who are predisposed to badness. The GAA is not the problem either
Post by: sid waddell on August 17, 2015, 05:18:43 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 17, 2015, 05:03:52 PM

Soccer is not the problem ... its a small % of sh1tk1ckers who are predisposed to badness. The GAA is not the problem either
Soccer is always cited by these sorts of "true Gaels" when it has nothing to do with such incidents.

Discuss what apparently happened by all means, but leave out the petty references to soccer.

People who constantly feel the need to denigrate soccer when bad behaviour occurs at GAA matches simply need to grow up.
Post by: T Fearon on August 17, 2015, 05:43:18 PM
All kicked of when a Tyrone man wearing a Tipp Jersey went down after his hair was ruffled
Post by: INDIANA on August 17, 2015, 06:29:15 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on August 17, 2015, 03:56:24 PM
I agree with the comments above that these incidents are isolated but still think it should highlighted.

Drink is no excuse and doesn't look good for the GAA.

Tipp and Galway younger hurling fans have always been trouble I'm afraid. Complete pissheads
Post by: Zulu on August 17, 2015, 06:56:41 PM
Only ever once came across GAA supporters actively looking for a fight with opposing fans and it was Tipp supporters. Small minority in their ranks but they are there.
Post by: laoislad on August 17, 2015, 10:17:30 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on August 17, 2015, 05:18:43 PM

Soccer is always cited by these sorts of "true Gaels" when it has nothing to do with such incidents.

Discuss what apparently happened by all means, but leave out the petty references to soccer.

People who constantly feel the need to denigrate soccer when bad behaviour occurs at GAA matches simply need to grow up.
+1 well said.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 17, 2015, 10:36:00 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 17, 2015, 10:17:30 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on August 17, 2015, 05:18:43 PM

+1 well said.
I'd go further than that and say that people who compare games between different codes need to cop on as well. I'm sick of hearing people comparing the hurling game yesterday to city v Chelsea et cetera...

Compare hurling with hurling, football with football, soccer with soccer etc, all fine by me.
Post by: Rossfan on August 17, 2015, 10:53:16 PM
You wouldn't get this sort of fighting among fans at a football game of course.
Thankfully we're a more refined breed 8).
Post by: T Fearon on August 17, 2015, 11:06:29 PM
Small brawl is your only man
Post by: orangeman on August 17, 2015, 11:32:58 PM
This has to be Tyrone's fault.
Post by: redhandroar on August 18, 2015, 12:12:42 AM
quote from Farrandeelin:
"I'd go further than that and say that people who compare games between different codes need to cop on as well. I'm sick of hearing people comparing the hurling game yesterday to city v Chelsea et cetera...

Compare hurling with hurling, football with football, soccer with soccer etc, all fine by me."

I agree Farrandeelin, I mean you just can't compare a hurling match with a soccer match - hurling is much more skilful and entertaining!
Post by: Canalman on August 18, 2015, 09:56:42 AM
Have to say I have been in Quinns twice after a game. Not a nice atmosphere there imo anyway. Always seemed to have an aura of menace in the place with what looked to me anyway a small element of very drunk people spoiling for a fight. The heat in the place out the back doesn't help.

Won't darken its door ever again. Plenty better pubs in the area.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 18, 2015, 10:34:50 AM
Quote from: Canalman on August 18, 2015, 09:56:42 AM
Have to say I have been in Quinns twice after a game. Not a nice atmosphere there imo anyway. Always seemed to have an aura of menace in the place with what looked to me anyway a small element of very drunk people spoiling for a fight. The heat in the place out the back doesn't help.

If you'd read the health inspector's report, you certainly wouldn't be supping in there.........probably not the only place this sort of thing happens though

QuoteLandmark Dublin pub Quinn's in Drumcondra has been fined €1,750 after health inspectors found a dead rat, raw sewage and soiled toilet paper in their main stockrooms.

The pub – one of the most popular spots for GAA fans because it of its proximity to Croke Park – is regularly packed on big match days. However, following a damning hygiene inspection the day after the 2014 All Ireland hurling final, it was ordered to close for 48 hours by Health Service Executive (HSE).

Its owners, Quinn Hospitality Ireland Operations 2 Ltd, with an address at Church View, Cavan, Co Cavan, pleaded guilty at Dublin District Court to breaking hygiene and foodstuff laws.

Senior environmental health inspector Chris Counihan told Judge John O'Neill that in his 17 years of professional experience he had not seen anything as bad.

Mr Counihan told prosecution solicitor Adrian Lennon that on September 8th last he went to the popular pub in Dublin 9. He said he found "evidence of rat infestation" in two cellars where drinks were stored.

In one cellar he found a dead rat on the floor and he said no effort had been made to clean it up. There were also rat droppings on the floor as well as fragments of dried sewage and pieces of soiled tissue on the walls and on a manhole cover. Mr Counihan said the dried fragments of toilet paper was a result of over-flowed sewage which contained human waste.

In the poorly lit, cellar there was evidence of "uncovered drainage" and pipes had no "pest protection". Mr Counihan said, "raw sewage over-flowed from a manhole."

The manhole had also allowed rats to enter, the court was told. The floor was in a state of disrepair with gaps that could have also let in pests.

Drinks placed in the basement cellar were at risk of contamination from diseases including E.coli, salmonella and hepatitis which are spread by human waste as well as the bacterial infection Leptospirosis which can be carried in rat droppings.

The health inspector gave the court photos showing the rat droppings, human waste and dirty toilet paper. Mr Counihan said there was no pest control and he described the condition of the place as "the worst I've seen" in 17-years.

In the bar areas, the surfaces were in a "filthy condition", a sink was filled with tissue paper and cigarette butts and there was mould on fridge doors. There was "extensive rust" in the ice machine and ice was at risk of contamination and a dirty ice scoop was also found.

There was also a large amount of small flies in the back bar area, the court heard. The pub had to be served with a closure notice and remained shut for two days because of "risk of contamination" and all its drinks, worth €25,000, had to be destroyed.

The inspector agreed with defence solicitor Kenneth Morgan that there was no food stored in the pub's basement just alcoholic and soft drinks in kegs, bottles, cans and packaged juices.

He also agreed with the defence that the sewage and rodents were confined to the cellar, the pub had no prior convictions and the gaps in the floor have been filled in with cement. Mr Counihan also said the pub has worked hard to "to remove the grave and immediate danger that was there".

Judge O'Neill said the condition of the premises was disgusting but noted they had pleaded guilty, had been the subject of the two-day closure order and had not tried to minimise the situation.

He said he noted that the health inspector had visited the pub again last Friday and has confirmed there has been significant progress.

Judge O'Neill imposed a conviction and fines totalling €1,750. The pub owners have also agreed to pay the HSE's costs of €2,000 plus VAT.
Post by: easytiger95 on August 18, 2015, 11:28:11 AM
Quinns is a dive - I know it's convenient but with so many great pubs nearby can't understand why you'd go there - unless you're young, locked and worried you won't get served.
Post by: deiseach on August 18, 2015, 11:35:43 AM
Quinn's is a bit like The Kings Head in Galway. Everyone knows where it is so it's easy to say 'let's meet up in Quinn's/The Kings Head' rather than trying to liaise with a half-dozen people in meeting in a nicer place with which some of them may not be familiar.

NB I should emphasise that The Kings Head is nowhere near as grotty as Quinn's, or at least it wasn't back in me Galway days at the start of the millennium.
Post by: INDIANA on August 18, 2015, 11:56:30 AM

Health Inspector found rats in the place as well. Just remember that the next time you're drinking out of a bottle of Heineken down there.
Post by: Dag Dog on August 18, 2015, 12:09:21 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 18, 2015, 11:56:30 AM

Health Inspector found rats in the place as well. Just remember that the next time you're drinking out of a bottle of Heineken down there.
A rat with your pint! Tipperary fans would consider this place an upmarket Tapas bar.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 18, 2015, 02:18:05 PM
Says a lad from Limerick :)
Post by: deiseach on August 18, 2015, 03:30:17 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on August 18, 2015, 12:09:21 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 18, 2015, 11:56:30 AM
A rat with your pint! Tipperary fans would consider this place an upmarket Tapas bar.

That would be practically cannibalism.
Post by: tippabu on August 18, 2015, 09:47:30 PM
I think the most shocking part of all this was that people were in quinns???

on a serious note, im sure we are not alone but for championship games there are elements of scumbags from our own "support" who are on the terraces. Lads who hardly know there is a league campaign and are an embarrassment to the county. This is the first ive heard of any fighting at this game though