GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 17, 2015, 01:14:55 AM

Poll
Question: Who will win?
Option 1: Galway
Option 2: Kilkenny
Title: Kilkenny v Galway All Ireland Final!
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 17, 2015, 01:14:55 AM
Kilkenny v Galway
Title: Re: Kilkenny v Galway All Ireland Final!
Post by: thejuice on August 17, 2015, 06:39:33 AM
Hopefully a Galway win. Hopefully they'll have more to offer then in the Leinster final as they were a bit flat that day. It's not often you see a Galway hurling team bring such pressure and physicality to a big game like that.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2015, 12:01:52 PM
Hopefully another KK win, Cunningham has a horrible thing about black and amber stripes!!  I have an unnatural dislike for the man,  well it's not unnatural it's in reaction to him disrespecting my club back before we tore Garrycastle a new arsehole in the AI club replay. 
Post by: paddyoslabs on August 17, 2015, 12:50:00 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2015, 12:01:52 PM
Hopefully another KK win, Cunningham has a horrible thing about black and amber stripes!!  I have an unnatural dislike for the man,  well it's not unnatural it's in reaction to him disrespecting my club back before we tore Garrycastle a new arsehole in the AI club replay.

why what did he do?though he behaved impeccable yesterday,very respectful towards Tipp and  lovely touch at the end meeting Noel Mcgrath
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on August 17, 2015, 01:11:54 PM
Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 17, 2015, 12:50:00 PM

why what did he do?though he behaved impeccable yesterday,very respectful towards Tipp and  lovely touch at the end meeting Noel Mcgrath

Had the Garrycastle lads try and ruflle up Cross before a ball was even thrown in. At the team photo if I remember correctly?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2015, 02:33:17 PM
Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on August 17, 2015, 01:11:54 PM

Had the Garrycastle lads try and ruflle up Cross before a ball was even thrown in. At the team photo if I remember correctly?

A few choice comments from him and the Garrycastle players too.  The old sledging chestnut at it's very best.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 17, 2015, 02:59:32 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2015, 02:33:17 PM

A few choice comments from him and the Garrycastle players too.  The old sledging chestnut at it's very best.

I doubt the Westmeath lads would be at that, almost certainly Tyrone people coming down to rile up the Armagh crowd  ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2015, 03:05:28 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 17, 2015, 02:59:32 PM

I doubt the Westmeath lads would be at that, almost certainly Tyrone people coming down to rile up the Armagh crowd  ;D

You're probably right, that Tyrone disease spreads easily, shure Star is the biggest yap of them all, he's pure blood Tyrone!!
Post by: macdanger2 on August 17, 2015, 03:26:29 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2015, 03:05:28 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 17, 2015, 02:59:32 PM

You're probably right, that Tyrone disease spreads easily, shure Star is the biggest yap of them all, he's pure blood Tyrone!!

;D ;D
Post by: finbar o tool on August 18, 2015, 05:58:45 PM
At the start of the year, i would never have said these 2 teams would be paired up in the final.
i wouldn't have had Galway anywhere near a final, and Kilkenny, although i knew they wouldn't be too far out, i thought they might be knocked out at the semi finals, after all the talk of all these big name players retiring etc etc. and here they are again, in the final and hot favorites. is it more new talent constantly coming through, or is it Cody, or i suppose a bit of both?!
Post by: MoChara on August 19, 2015, 08:17:54 AM
Kilkenny by 5, Galway just don't have enough to push themselves across the line I don't think. Hope I'm wrong and Galway do get it just to break the monopoly.
Post by: INDIANA on August 19, 2015, 09:07:17 AM
Joe dating Rachel Wyse as well by all accounts. Hope he's not too tired for the final ;D
Post by: johnneycool on August 19, 2015, 09:17:44 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 19, 2015, 09:07:17 AM
Joe dating Rachel Wyse as well by all accounts. Hope he's not too tired for the final ;D

No wonder his shooting is wayward!!
Post by: deiseach on August 19, 2015, 09:54:37 AM
Quote from: finbar o tool on August 18, 2015, 05:58:45 PM
At the start of the year, i would never have said these 2 teams would be paired up in the final.
i wouldn't have had Galway anywhere near a final, and Kilkenny, although i knew they wouldn't be too far out, i thought they might be knocked out at the semi finals, after all the talk of all these big name players retiring etc etc. and here they are again, in the final and hot favorites. is it more new talent constantly coming through, or is it Cody, or i suppose a bit of both?!

If you ask me, it's all about Cody.
Post by: paddyoslabs on August 19, 2015, 11:01:25 AM
now that the dust has settled on sundays win for galway,I fear for their full back hanbury,cunningham didnt trust him enough to start him full back last sunday,Mannion got hammered their,leads me to believe kilkenny will do major damage there,Think Coen will be ok,but what if he has an off day??Tannions best days are behind him,seems slow,at 31 is it to old for centre back in the modern game?Can you win an all-ireland with three dodgy back?Tipp only lost by a point with only one forward.You can be sure Kilkenny will have more than one forward on song.just my tuppence worth,plus kk wont give those young Galway forwards the space/respect tipp gave them
Post by: gallsman on August 19, 2015, 12:22:23 PM
Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 19, 2015, 11:01:25 AM
now that the dust has settled on sundays win for galway,I fear for their full back hanbury,cunningham didnt trust him enough to start him full back last sunday,Mannion got hammered their,leads me to believe kilkenny will do major damage there,Think Coen will be ok,but what if he has an off day??Tannions best days are behind him,seems slow,at 31 is it to old for centre back in the modern game?Can you win an all-ireland with three dodgy back?Tipp only lost by a point with only one forward.You can be sure Kilkenny will have more than one forward on song.just my tuppence worth,plus kk wont give those young Galway forwards the space/respect tipp gave them

Jesus I had to work it out for a while before accepting that Tan could be 31. Same as a host of all those "young bucks" from Galway who come through in 02-05. Mental.
Post by: johnneycool on August 19, 2015, 12:27:42 PM
Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 19, 2015, 11:01:25 AM

Tipp had plenty of forwards when Callanan had an off day against Waterford.

I just thought the Galway defence were on top of their respective man marking roles (Mannion aside) as we heard very little from Bubbles O'Dwyer, even Bonner Maher whilst not a prolific scorer himself, usually sets up a lot of scores for those around him wasn't on a whole pile of ball.

Yes Galway may have trouble getting a fullback to prevent catching full forwards (something you'd think they'd work on in training), and big Tannian isn't the quickest over the ground there's not a whole pile wrong with the rest of their defence. In saying that Kilkenny don't seem to be overly careful about the ball they play into their forwards and expect them to win it themselves, that might suit big Tannian as he's a beast in the air.

Post by: AZOffaly on August 19, 2015, 12:37:21 PM
I think Bonner has been poor all year. Tipps failings are not forwards who can score, they have loads of those, it's forwards who can win ball. Callanan has developed that side of his game, albeit in on the edge of the square.

Bonner used to be able to do it a lot more out on the half forward line, but he hasn't really done that sort of thing this year.

Niall O'Meara is usually a good lad to win a ball, but he is inside in the corner, and was another who didn't really get going on Sunday.

Bubbles was the most disappointing for me, as he only won a couple of balls even out in the half forward line. Against Waterford they brought him out (eventually) and he really got going. Against Galway, no matter where he went he didn't get motoring. That has to be seen as a real WIN for Galway.

But Jason Forde, Brendan Maher (albeit in a different type of role) and Bonner Maher were the main problem. Even Shane Bourke's disastrous appearance. It's happened too often for Tipp over the past 3 years for it to be a co-incidence. When the fat is in the fire, the half forward line turns into a hurling wall, and every ball pucked up there comes back immediately.

I knew Tipp were in bother when I saw how hard Galway were hitting. I don't think they are windy, I hate that term, but I think they just are not skillful enough at winning the ball, and are not aggressive enough going for breaking ball when they don't win it. Too many lads want to stick in one hand and do a beautiful jab lift. It's great when it comes off, but more often than not, the lad that goes in with his body and runs 'through' the ball is the one who wins it. Tipp just don't have enough forwards who attack the ball like that.
Post by: paddyoslabs on August 19, 2015, 02:20:17 PM
lads lets stay on the Galway KK game.Sadly tipp are gone
Post by: johnneycool on August 19, 2015, 07:08:15 PM
Quote from: paddyoslabs on August 19, 2015, 02:20:17 PM
lads lets stay on the Galway KK game.Sadly tipp are gone

yes they are, but if that game had swung slightly more in favour of Tipp and they'd won, everyone would be saying about the great chance Tipp would have against Kilkenny and how would a JJ less Kilkenny handle Callanan and how bubbles and bonner Maher wouldn't be as bad again, in fact I guarantee you they'd be the favourites in a lot of peoples books.
Galway deserve the same respect as they've earned it.
Post by: keep her low this half on August 23, 2015, 10:39:48 AM
My money is going on Galway for the final. It may be more heart than head but since these two counties went to a replay in 2012 Kilkenny have lost a host of experienced men and I am not sure the replacements are of the same level. In the meantime Galway have shed some of the lighter players and gone for a more athletic and physical approach that seems to be working. In 2012 Galway were a one man forward line now they are not, Galway by 4
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 23, 2015, 12:36:09 PM
Quote from: keep her low this half on August 23, 2015, 10:39:48 AM
My money is going on Galway for the final. It may be more heart than head but since these two counties went to a replay in 2012 Kilkenny have lost a host of experienced men and I am not sure the replacements are of the same level. In the meantime Galway have shed some of the lighter players and gone for a more athletic and physical approach that seems to be working. In 2012 Galway were a one man forward line now they are not, Galway by 4
Kilkenny will subdue those new forwards Galway have found.
What happened to them in the U21 v Limerick?

Kilkenny by 3/4 points
Post by: crow on August 25, 2015, 01:21:29 PM
Is there more injury worries in Kky
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2015, 05:43:45 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 19, 2015, 09:54:37 AM

Yes me too, Kilkenny have 34 All-Irelands, Since Cody came, they have won almost one third of that total.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 25, 2015, 08:24:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2015, 05:43:45 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 19, 2015, 09:54:37 AM

Yes me too, Kilkenny have 34 All-Irelands, Since Cody came, they have won almost one third of that total.

Sure that's nothing, if H&C win with Mayo they'll have won a quarter of Mayo's AI titles and in less time!  :P
Post by: paddyoslabs on August 28, 2015, 04:44:18 PM
was talking to an inter county hurler from a prominent munster county,who said he was hopeing tipp beat Galway,as the galway boys are supposed to be serious men for the mouthing,he sad they are the worst by  far.Interesting!
Post by: finbar o tool on September 01, 2015, 06:16:21 PM
Jaysus i got sucked into reading that thread on the Dublin/Mayo match, some drivel on that!!  ::)

you'd nearly forget the All Ireland Hurling final was on this Sunday!! have to get my head away from that football shite!
Right, match predictions and correct score, lets get the ball rolling...

More often than not in AI finals with KK involved, its a tight affair for 50mins or so and then KK put the foot down and get out of sight. i expect the same again with Galway to get a late goal to take the real bad look off the scoreboard.

Kilkenny to win by 7, scoreline of 3-23 to 2-19.

Sorry Galwegians! i would love to see you win it but cant see it happening.
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2015, 08:50:02 AM
Quote from: finbar o tool on September 01, 2015, 06:16:21 PM
Jaysus i got sucked into reading that thread on the Dublin/Mayo match, some drivel on that!!  ::)

you'd nearly forget the All Ireland Hurling final was on this Sunday!! have to get my head away from that football shite!
Right, match predictions and correct score, lets get the ball rolling...

More often than not in AI finals with KK involved, its a tight affair for 50mins or so and then KK put the foot down and get out of sight. i expect the same again with Galway to get a late goal to take the real bad look off the scoreboard.

Kilkenny to win by 7, scoreline of 3-23 to 2-19.

Sorry Galwegians! i would love to see you win it but cant see it happening.

First things first, I think rightly or wrongly Galway will go straight 15 on 15 and with that they'll concede scores, but at the same time, I think they'll give the Kilkenny defence a bigger test than they've had so far this year, so it'll be a matter of how virtual novices like Prendergast, Holden and Paudraig Walsh who've had a reasonable enough ride due to almost every team they've played giving them the numerical advantage in defence cope with a big, physical set of forwards.

Its really hard to look past a team with TJ Reid and Richie Hogan in it, probably the two best hurlers in Ireland currently and its not as if the other Kilkenny forwards are bad either, but just for the change it would be good to see someone else lift Liam again.

Post by: imtommygunn on September 02, 2015, 09:05:45 AM
Would love to see Galway win this but just don't think they are good enough just yet. To win it I Joe needs to get back on form and get his radar back. Galway forwards are quite young and I would worry about the lack of inroads some of them made against Limerick in the u21s. They'll get it much tougher here.

Also they would really need to shore up at full back or if KK stick Reid in there he'll murder them.
Post by: paddyoslabs on September 02, 2015, 09:08:42 AM
fair post johnny,my worry for galway, two boys in full back line are poor,coen is ok.think kk will target them big time,
Plus two young lads in their first final up front will never get the freedom Tipp gave them,only good thing for them is Jackie wont be there to say hi  ;D kk by 5
Post by: mikehunt on September 02, 2015, 11:52:22 AM
Quote from: paddyoslabs on September 02, 2015, 09:08:42 AM
fair post johnny,my worry for ghalway, two boys in full back line are poor,coen is ok.think kk will target them big time,
Plus two young lads in their first final up front will never get the freedom Tipp gave them,only good thing for them is Jackie wont be there to say hi  ;D kk by 5

Two questions.  Is Jackie T out? Is Richie Power back?
Post by: theskull1 on September 02, 2015, 12:46:50 PM
After watching KK against Waterford, I think Galway will go 15 v 15 against the Cats. The damage limitations tactics of Waterford might get you over the line against most teams, but there's not enough teeth up front to worry KK with that set up and your pretty much guaranteeing respectable failure and not much else. Time will tell if Galway can out score KK's forward line. If Joe could nick and early goal and put KK's FB line on edge, you just don't know. Hard to see past a KK victory but maybe Galway have other plans. Love the cats but would love to see a new name on the Liam McCarthy this year
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 02, 2015, 01:12:59 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 02, 2015, 12:46:50 PM
After watching KK against Waterford, I think Galway will go 15 v 15 against the Cats. The damage limitations tactics of Waterford might get you over the line against most teams, but there's not enough teeth up front to worry KK with that set up and your pretty much guaranteeing respectable failure and not much else. Time will tell if Galway can out score KK's forward line. If Joe could nick and early goal and put KK's FB line on edge, you just don't know. Hard to see past a KK victory but maybe Galway have other plans. Love the cats but would love to see a new name on the Liam McCarthy this year

Would sum up the feelings of most people but I can't really see Galway getting within 5 points of them. The big fear is if Kilkenny get a couple of early goals it could end up in a real tanking. Would like to see it tight with 10 mins to go!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 01:46:32 PM
Unfortunately Joe aint the player he used to be, take away the frees (and he's missed a brave few also) and he isn't as good as he was, slower now, still strong but is being caught...

Would prefer Cooney? hitting the frees but he's been coming on as a sub recently so not in favour at the minute.. Hoping for a classic could it go to a drawn game again?

Hogan has been immense this last 2/3 years for Kilkenny and TJ is a lot more consistent as there was years were he looked low on confidence and shy'd away from the rough and tumble of the game, now he's bigger and more involved in winning first and second ball..

If Galway don't win it this year it may take another set of hurlers to come through, as Clare/Waterford/Tipp will be hoping to meet the Cats in the final.. Anyways I hope this is my last year sitting out the finals, haven't been in 3/4 years (due mainly to cost) and looking to get back regularly to the finals
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 02, 2015, 02:15:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 01:46:32 PM
Unfortunately Joe aint the player he used to be, take away the frees (and he's missed a brave few also) and he isn't as good as he was, slower now, still strong but is being caught...

I haven't noticed Joe slowing down to be honest. He's only 26 so should be a few years away from slowing down yet. Just think he's having a wobbly year with his shooting but he's still contributing a lot in general play. His shooting eye will come back. Hopefully in time for this weekend as we might need it.

Bit of a strange build up this year. The hurling final is being overshadowed by the football semi replay. The hurling almost feels like an afterthought.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 02, 2015, 02:17:58 PM
In fairness if you were tipping Rachel Wyse, you might be slowing down a bit too :)

I'm finding it hard to get excited by this. I just don't trust Galway to produce another big performance. I'm afraid it'll be a bit like the Leinster final. Token resistance, broken down and eventually KK to win pulling up by 6-8 points. I hope that's not the case, and I'd love to see a cracker, with Galway winning. I'd love Joe to get a medal. It's a shame the brother never managed to get one.
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2015, 02:24:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 02, 2015, 02:17:58 PM
In fairness if you were tipping Rachel Wyse, you might be slowing down a bit too :)

I'm finding it hard to get excited by this. I just don't trust Galway to produce another big performance. I'm afraid it'll be a bit like the Leinster final. Token resistance, broken down and eventually KK to win pulling up by 6-8 points. I hope that's not the case, and I'd love to see a cracker, with Galway winning. I'd love Joe to get a medal. It's a shame the brother never managed to get one.

Joe if anything is offering Galway more from open play than he ever has. He's bought into the team mentality and not as selfish, tracking back, making tackles, although his shooting is wayward to say the least, but he's still making chances for himself and his team mates. If the shooting was better, we'd be talking about this being a good year for Joe.

The fact that Galway are still winning tight games with Joe posting bad wides speaks volumes for the rest of the forwards and the new found mental fortitude within the Galway ranks.
That mental fortitude will be severely tested on Sunday, but I don't think they fear this Kilkenny team as they did earlier on in the year.

Kilkenny have been cruising to date and its still to be seen if they themselves can up it another gear or two.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 02:32:00 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 02, 2015, 02:15:47 PM

I haven't noticed Joe slowing down to be honest. He's only 26 so should be a few years away from slowing down yet. Just think he's having a wobbly year with his shooting but he's still contributing a lot in general play. His shooting eye will come back. Hopefully in time for this weekend as we might need it.

Bit of a strange build up this year. The hurling final is being overshadowed by the football semi replay. The hurling almost feels like an afterthought.

He was able to run at defenders and cause havoc, that not happening now like it did... He's fecking quality there is no denying that but he's been on the Galway senior scene since he was 17, nearly 10 years flat out and at least 10 years with his club team at senior level, and generally doing well with them also!! Takes its toll

Anyways I hope he gets the first goal, going for him and TJ to get the goals

Yes Johnney coming back and making some reckless tackles that in some quarters people were calling for red cards.... if they could afford to keep him in the forwards and allow the rest of the team to find him, instead of charging all over the place to get involved then they might get more out of him, as he'll not be fucked running all over the show...

It's defo a hard call as a manager, where do I play my best player??? I'd love to have played our best player as a roving forward when managing but as the games went on I knew we needed him in midfield to drive the game on... Wherever he starts and finishes I hope he gets his winners medal, Kilkenny will be back at finals sooner than Galway
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2015, 02:40:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 02:32:00 PM

He was able to run at defenders and cause havoc, that not happening now like it did... He's fecking quality there is no denying that but he's been on the Galway senior scene since he was 17, nearly 10 years flat out and at least 10 years with his club team at senior level, and generally doing well with them also!! Takes its toll

Anyways I hope he gets the first goal, going for him and TJ to get the goals

Yes Johnney coming back and making some reckless tackles that in some quarters people were calling for red cards.... if they could afford to keep him in the forwards and allow the rest of the team to find him, instead of charging all over the place to get involved then they might get more out of him, as he'll not be fucked running all over the show...

It's defo a hard call as a manager, where do I play my best player??? I'd love to have played our best player as a roving forward when managing but as the games went on I knew we needed him in midfield to drive the game on... Wherever he starts and finishes I hope he gets his winners medal, Kilkenny will be back at finals sooner than Galway

Fuckin hell, he skelps James Barry and all of a sudden he's reckless! A bit of an exaggeration there or what?

The days of the static forwards are gone also, each one on the move to create space for each other and unsettle the defence. Joe may get his turn inside the 21, but he mightn't stay there for long before rotating again as its far too easy to nullify a good forward by leaving him in there! (Seamus Callanan excepted  8)  )

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 02, 2015, 06:37:49 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CN6eTnDWsAE2N-I.jpg)
Post by: mouview on September 02, 2015, 08:45:15 PM

Long past tense; forget the cheap shots please, there's other things going on you may be unaware of.

Galway have been producing big performances all c'ship season, even the in LF they didn't lack for intensity or application, just pure hurling let them down, something that has been rectified largely since.

You say every year that this year is different, but maybe this time you really like to think so. My pure gut instinct about this is that many are under-rating Galway, that they have a really fine blend of steel and ability now, moreso than even 3 years ago. Conversely, I also think that KK, if not slightly over-rated, haven't been fully tested yet this season. WX were a non-runner, Deise didn't have the tactical formation or the forwards to trouble them, while Galway's shortcomings in the LF didn't expose them fully. Also think that injuries may derail them somewhat and their bench doesn't have a large threat off it. Great and proven team for sure, but not insuperable by any means.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 02, 2015, 08:47:17 PM
Jaysus Mouview no offence intended at all.
Post by: mouview on September 02, 2015, 09:16:23 PM
None to me, but there's a bit of a story behind that that many may not be aware of. May refer more to it after final.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 10:17:28 PM
Quote from: mouview on September 02, 2015, 09:16:23 PM
None to me, but there's a bit of a story behind that that many may not be aware of. May refer more to it after final.

I'd say that was a throw away jest comment by AZOffaly who's one of the better posters
Post by: beer baron on September 02, 2015, 10:28:00 PM
Surprised the Canning situation isn't known nationwide by now.  Been a big fan of his since he burst on the scene and will be roaring him on Sunday. Hopefully they can do it.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 02, 2015, 10:53:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 10:17:28 PM

I'd say that was a throw away jest comment by AZOffaly who's one of the better posters

Absolutely. In no way would I throw a cheap shot at him, he's one of my favourite hurlers and has been since I saw him as a young lad signing autographs on the field in Limerick after losing a league final or semi final. I honestly have no idea what yet might be on about, but rest assured I meant no insult to Joe, the opposite if anything!
Post by: paddyoslabs on September 03, 2015, 09:02:05 AM
Quote from: beer baron on September 02, 2015, 10:28:00 PM
Surprised the Canning situation isn't known nationwide by now.  Been a big fan of his since he burst on the scene and will be roaring him on Sunday. Hopefully they can do it.

havent heard anything baron,whats the story????
Post by: mouview on September 03, 2015, 09:50:36 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 02, 2015, 10:53:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 02, 2015, 10:17:28 PM

Absolutely. In no way would I throw a cheap shot at him, he's one of my favourite hurlers and has been since I saw him as a young lad signing autographs on the field in Limerick after losing a league final or semi final. I honestly have no idea what yet might be on about, but rest assured I meant no insult to Joe, the opposite if anything!

Don't doubt  you for a moment.

To reiterate, the Wyse situation was a thing that happened and was over last year; a paper published it some weeks ago, at a particular time when the family didn't need it.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 03, 2015, 10:12:44 AM
Galway will win this by 4 or 5.
Post by: finbar o tool on September 03, 2015, 10:18:14 AM
Quote from: mouview on September 02, 2015, 08:45:15 PM

Long past tense; forget the cheap shots please, there's other things going on you may be unaware of.

Galway have been producing big performances all c'ship season, even the in LF they didn't lack for intensity or application, just pure hurling let them down, something that has been rectified largely since.

You say every year that this year is different, but maybe this time you really like to think so. My pure gut instinct about this is that many are under-rating Galway, that they have a really fine blend of steel and ability now, moreso than even 3 years ago. Conversely, I also think that KK, if not slightly over-rated, haven't been fully tested yet this season. WX were a non-runner, Deise didn't have the tactical formation or the forwards to trouble them, while Galway's shortcomings in the LF didn't expose them fully. Also think that injuries may derail them somewhat and their bench doesn't have a large threat off it. Great and proven team for sure, but not insuperable by any means.

Jaysus, whatever about Galway being under-rated, thats possible, but to say KK are over-rated is some statement!
l
Post by: Canalman on September 03, 2015, 10:48:54 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 03, 2015, 10:12:44 AM
Galway will win this by 4 or 5.

Totally agree.

Set up very nicely for them . If they show up and hurl they will win. Imo of course.

Think their bench will swing it for them in the second half.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 03, 2015, 11:12:56 AM
After the Leinster I had a sneaky feeling that Galway had more scope to improve. They were aimless with a lot of their play while Kilkenny were very efficient. Galway hit too many 50-50s towards Big Joe and their inside forwards. Their build up play has been far more premise since then.
Kilkenny created a lot of chances by catching ball out on the wings and then switching it back in to incoming runners.
Noticeably Kilkenny never had more players ahead of the ball than they needed to. They got numbers forward only after the ball was up there and did it with speed. A bit Donegal-esque. And this is the thing, Cody has always been very smart in how he can crowd opponents and break out. His 2006 mugging of Cork was a master class in bringing 'de blenket difince' into hurling.
I cringe when I hear blowhards claiming Kilkenny don't do tactics, or that their game is simple.

I don't think Galway are brilliant, but they may not have to be. Kilkenny are not a force of old, but they carry a massive aura which is enough to paralyse most teams near their level. In last year's semi Limerick simply couldn't get their heads around the notion that Kilkenny were waiting to be plucked and stuffed and ended up having to beat themselves on Kilkenny's behalf. Galway have that bit of madness about them where they can beat Kilkenny when they are tuned in.

Post by: mouview on September 03, 2015, 11:50:37 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 03, 2015, 11:12:56 AM
After the Leinster I had a sneaky feeling that Galway had more scope to improve. They were aimless with a lot of their play while Kilkenny were very efficient. Galway hit too many 50-50s towards Big Joe and their inside forwards. Their build up play has been far more premise since then.
Kilkenny created a lot of chances by catching ball out on the wings and then switching it back in to incoming runners.
Noticeably Kilkenny never had more players ahead of the ball than they needed to. They got numbers forward only after the ball was up there and did it with speed. A bit Donegal-esque. And this is the thing, Cody has always been very smart in how he can crowd opponents and break out. His 2006 mugging of Cork was a master class in bringing 'de blenket difince' into hurling.
I cringe when I hear blowhards claiming Kilkenny don't do tactics, or that their game is simple.

I don't think Galway are brilliant, but they may not have to be. Kilkenny are not a force of old, but they carry a massive aura which is enough to paralyse most teams near their level. In last year's semi Limerick simply couldn't get their heads around the notion that Kilkenny were waiting to be plucked and stuffed and ended up having to beat themselves on Kilkenny's behalf. Galway have that bit of madness about them where they can beat Kilkenny when they are tuned in.

That is what I mean about not being fully tested (not 'over-rated'). A KK at their peak, up to 11/12, would be beating teams at their ease, but it's not being happening too much since. Some commentators, (e,g, John McIntyre post Waterford semi'), are ascribing almost-invincibiity to the current squad which I think is a bit off the mark. This year they were lucky to avoid relegation from the league, a competition they always take seriously. For one, I'd imagine Tipp 09-11 would have well the beating of the current team. Of course KK are most difficult to beat, tactically and ability-wise, but I do maintain that if they beat a Galway team that has played well since the LF and hopefully will remain in that vein Sunday, they will have it well-earned.
Post by: Canalman on September 03, 2015, 12:21:08 PM
Agree with previous posters about so called Kilkenny "aura". Worth about 4 points I think .

The "aura" in fairness was well deserved up until recently. Think Galway are the team to drive an artic through it on Sunday.

Pace, pace and more pace up front is how to beat KK and imo Galway have that in abundance together with skill.

Post by: Angus on September 03, 2015, 07:57:18 PM
I am rooting for Galway here! It's only my prediction, though.  :D

Trophies and titles wise, Kilkenny are way too far and better than Galway. But Galway can do wonders! With their recent Leinster and Walsh Cup victories, I bet, the victory momentum is still present. I just hope their consistency is more apparent than whatever pressure they might feel against the defending champions.  ;D
Post by: ashman on September 03, 2015, 11:16:48 PM
I am really trying hard to see how Galway can win this and am at a loss.

They were great in the semi but Tipp midfield and half forward line could not win enough dirty ball.

Kk will not lack in this Department .  They have enough firepower .
Post by: seafoid on September 04, 2015, 02:52:47 AM
Quote from: ashman on September 03, 2015, 11:16:48 PM

They were great in the semi but Tipp midfield and half forward line could not win enough dirty ball.

Galway need a bit of luck and if they  it maybe ...

FB line have a  huge job and futher out the fileld the hooking and blocking required t o control KKs balls in a are also vital.

Great to see all the Galway flags around the county.   
Post by: seafoid on September 04, 2015, 02:55:32 AM

I heard that a close relative is quite sick so that might also be an influence.
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2015, 08:42:36 AM

That same Tipp midfield and half forward line were the winning and winning well of their run in Munster. They just run into a better set up that day against Galway who had the winning of each individual battle that end of the field barring Callanan.
If that same Tipp team were lining out this Sunday, everyone would be saying they'd have a great chance and possibly favourites, so why wouldn't Galway who've improved game after game also not really be seen as a serious proposition to Kilkenny?

I think if Galway can expose the Kilkenny fullback line enough they'll do it!!
Post by: imtommygunn on September 04, 2015, 08:44:05 AM
I hope you're right JC but I would hold the same viwe as Ashman. I just don't see Galway winning this game :( Hope I'm wrong.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 04, 2015, 09:18:56 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 04, 2015, 08:42:36 AM

That same Tipp midfield and half forward line were the winning and winning well of their run in Munster. They just run into a better set up that day against Galway who had the winning of each individual battle that end of the field barring Callanan.
If that same Tipp team were lining out this Sunday, everyone would be saying they'd have a great chance and possibly favourites, so why wouldn't Galway who've improved game after game also not really be seen as a serious proposition to Kilkenny?

Johnney, they weren't. This is the achilles heal of the Tipp team (not the midfield so much in fairness). When the fat is in the fire, too often the Tipp half forward line go missing, and even lads like Bonner weren't winning ball this year. Against Limerick it happened, and only for a poor puckout straight to Jason Forde, Limerick were right back in that game. It happened against Waterford, and it happened all day against Galway.
Post by: thejuice on September 04, 2015, 10:14:53 AM
Hi, looking for two tickets at face value please. Give us a private message if you have any.

Thanks
Post by: Canalman on September 04, 2015, 10:34:12 AM
Quote from: thejuice on September 04, 2015, 10:14:53 AM
Hi, looking for two tickets at face value please. Give us a private message if you have any.

Thanks

Go in on the morning of the game  . Always and I repeat always plenty of tickets floating about around CP for the hurling final. More often than not lads desperate to offload them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2015, 10:42:00 AM
Well if they aren't ready for a fight on Sunday they might as well not turn up, tactics and game plans will go out the window ten minutes into the game when they just go hell for leather!!! Noticed last few games Kilkenny have kept their noses in front without putting the foot down and killing the game off, they even played defensively or managed the score for score type attitude, be telling if Galway do get a lead on them will the Cats be able to push through the gears and get back on terms..

really looking forward to this, hope the players keep their nerve (in both teams) and no one gets a silly sending off
Post by: laoislad on September 04, 2015, 11:29:20 AM
Got a ticket this morning,it's a Hill one but sure what can you do.
Hopefully it will powerwashed after the Dubs on saturday.
Anyone got lend of a Galway jersey?!
Post by: AZOffaly on September 04, 2015, 12:02:17 PM
I thought you were a KK fan (after Laois of course) LL?
Post by: laoislad on September 04, 2015, 12:18:42 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2015, 12:02:17 PM
I thought you were a KK fan (after Laois of course) LL?
Fcuk no.Love the city alright as I grew up only about 10miles from Kilkenny City itself and actually wanted to buy a house there but the wife wanted to buy one in Dublin. I would never shout for the fcukers though.
Tis mainly banter as most of my mates are all Kilkenny and I have two brother in laws from there but that would make me hope they lose all the more. I'm a bitter hoor really  ;D
Post by: finbar o tool on September 04, 2015, 07:56:08 PM
Jackie Tyrell and Richie Power are cleared to play sunday, nice subs to have if needed!
Post by: theskull1 on September 04, 2015, 09:14:00 PM
Know plenty of ones still looking a ticket. Nothing coming up on the official ticket exchange website

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-LYN9uEwMbBQ/TzwkU74jemI/AAAAAAAADYQ/FMd4fBIZ9XU/s1600/chickenrun1.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on September 04, 2015, 10:25:17 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 04, 2015, 10:34:12 AM

Thanks

Go in on the morning of the game  . Always and I repeat always plenty of tickets floating about around CP for the hurling final. More often than not lads desperate to offload them.

They're for my dad. He's not going to go all the way in to town without a ticket in his hand.

Anyone with a spare ticket or two let me know please
Post by: ashman on September 05, 2015, 10:11:25 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 04, 2015, 08:42:36 AM

JC

Tipp won the worst Munster championship in years and were not really tested by a team who really went for it.  There is always the feeling that their half forward line does not win enough "dirty ball". Callinan kept them in a game where they were clearly in awful trouble at midfield and in both half lines.   
Post by: Last Star in Tuam on September 05, 2015, 04:10:48 PM
A great video for any Galway fan to watch ahead of tomorrows game

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JHJQCCReLKs
Post by: Glensman on September 06, 2015, 08:30:32 AM
Quote from: thejuice on September 04, 2015, 10:25:17 PM

Thanks

They're for my dad. He's not going to go all the way in to town without a ticket in his hand.

Hope you got sorted. Appreciate it's not ideal if it's your Dad but you really will get sorted with tickets by asking about just before it. Generally get them face value as well.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2015, 09:55:22 AM
Quote from: Glensman on September 06, 2015, 08:30:32 AM
Quote from: thejuice on September 04, 2015, 10:25:17 PM

Thanks

Hope you got sorted. Appreciate it's not ideal if it's your Dad but you really will get sorted with tickets by asking about just before it. Generally get them face value as well.

Never seen anyone pay over the actually price of a ticket.... Stand outside Quinns and ticket will be available by genuine supporters... Won't get that anywhere else
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 10:41:36 AM
Have exams this week so first missed final in ten years. KK by 3 or 4. Galway need Joe yo have a scorcher to win this I think. KK more vulnerable than ever with all the retirements, especially Holden and Prendergast but think they'll see it through.

There'll always be tickets available in Meaghers. Ask the old barman and he'll put it out over their PA system.
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2015, 02:27:38 PM
Hopefully Galway can do it but Kilkenny will be hard to quell for 75 odd minutes
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 03:54:37 PM
Owens giving Kilkenny nothing here. Larkin was blatantly chopped across there with ball in hand and instead gets blown up for over carrying.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 04:02:18 PM
High tackle there on galway man
no free

Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 04:03:16 PM
Fennelly grabbed his hurley
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 06, 2015, 04:05:25 PM
Coen lucky. Galway should be more than 3 ahead.
Post by: armaghniac on September 06, 2015, 04:05:59 PM
You'd need a black card here.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 04:06:50 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 04:03:16 PM
Fennelly grabbed his hurley

Unless you're taking the piss, catch yourself on.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 04:07:22 PM
Coen didn't strike or anything

Fennelly grabbed his hurley and locked it in around his helmet
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 04:21:25 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 04:07:22 PM
Coen didn't strike or anything

Fennelly grabbed his hurley and locked it in around his helmet

f**k away off. He was beaten and left the girl hanging out at neck height. Red card all day long.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 04:29:42 PM
That should be end of Fennelly's afternoon. Been very sloppy and poor and that run was just madness.
Post by: rrhf on September 06, 2015, 04:55:30 PM
What is a foul in hurling?
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2015, 04:56:29 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 06, 2015, 04:55:30 PM
What is a foul in hurling?

Red has been very inconsistent
Post by: rrhf on September 06, 2015, 04:57:48 PM
Frustrating and messy. Galway stopped at half time.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2015, 04:58:56 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 06, 2015, 04:57:48 PM

No they didn't. Kilkenny cranked it up another notch. Predictable.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 05:00:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2015, 04:58:56 PM

The engine on Mick Fennelly is unreal. Always seems able to find a higher gear when required.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2015, 05:03:58 PM
We marvel at their skill, rightly, but their workrate is what sets them apart. How many hooks and blocks did their forwards do?
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2015, 05:04:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 05:00:31 PM

The engine on Mick Fennelly is unreal. Always seems able to find a higher gear when required.

When you look at the injuries he is dealing with it's something else, read the other day he hardly trains between matches
Post by: finbar o tool on September 06, 2015, 05:11:29 PM
Quote from: finbar o tool on September 01, 2015, 06:16:21 PM

I called it right unfortunatley, was really rooting for Galway, they couldnt keep up the intensity of the first half.
Kilkenny are the best team in the land but f**k me im getting sick of them winning!
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 05:12:55 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 06, 2015, 05:04:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 05:00:31 PM

When you look at the injuries he is dealing with it's something else, read the other day he hardly trains between matches

Aye, and he's been banged up for the last four or five years. Same as Richie Power I guess. Even in a six or seven minute cameo he contributed hugely.

What won Galway the semi final was their intensity and physicality. Kilkenny are a different animal altogether though - hunting in packs, standing their ground, chasing and harrying and hassling and hooking and blocking. They just came roaring out of the traps in the second half and Galway had no response.
Post by: trileacman on September 06, 2015, 05:19:45 PM
Shite match. f**king hate to see Kilkenny win another AI title, monopoly at the top is good for no sport. See Loeb, Schumacher, Celtic in the SPL. As a neutral observer it's a turn-off.
Post by: Nigel White on September 06, 2015, 05:20:38 PM
Just watching the lap of honour on TV.  Stadium seems empty and it looks like a really sanitised non event. God be with the days when the fans would be out on the pitch.  Full marks to the Croke Park authorities who continue to take the game further and further away from the ordinary supporters
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 05:25:50 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 06, 2015, 05:19:45 PM
Shite match. f**king hate to see Kilkenny win another AI title, monopoly at the top is good for no sport. See Loeb, Schumacher, Celtic in the SPL. As a neutral observer it's a turn-off.

Same old argument though - it's up to the others to wrest the crown from them. Look at three previous years. All went to replays, two Kilkenny wins and some of the best hurling you're ever likely to see. If you find that a turn off, then the problem is yours, not the game's.

Considering the number and quality of the Kilkenny retirements from last year, I think it's remarkable that Kilkenny won the thing pretty handily in the end.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2015, 05:37:06 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on September 06, 2015, 05:20:38 PM
Just watching the lap of honour on TV.  Stadium seems empty and it looks like a really sanitised non event. God be with the days when the fans would be out on the pitch.  Full marks to the Croke Park authorities who continue to take the game further and further away from the ordinary supporters
The fact that Kilkenny won (again) will have taken the edge off some of the celebrations.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 05:42:54 PM
Kilkenny just do the basics better than anyone else

Catching
Lifting the ball first time
Hooking
Blocking
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2015, 05:51:05 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2015, 05:37:06 PM
The fact that Kilkenny won (again) will have taken the edge off some of the celebrations.
Yep.
I was there with Kilkenny fans and some even left before the trophy was presented.
I guess when you win it so often.

Post by: seafoid on September 06, 2015, 05:51:40 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 06, 2015, 05:42:54 PM

Catching
Hooking
Blocking
Spotting the spare man and getting the pass in
Playing as a unit
They are amazing but not good for diversity.

They are
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2015, 06:30:40 PM
Cunningham's black and Amber nightmare continues in AI finals. KK do the basics better than everyone else. Once you do that it means no matter how often you pump weights or how many sweepers you employ, you will be beaten. Basics and hard work, the core elements of all great teams. 
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 06:47:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 06, 2015, 05:51:05 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2015, 05:37:06 PM
Yep.
I was there with Kilkenny fans and some even left before the trophy was presented.
I guess when you win it so often.

In fairness, plenty of others would do that anyway, regardless of how much success they've had. The trophy presentations ate kitschy as f**k these days.
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2015, 07:04:47 PM
Kilkenny played like demons in that second half. Pure controlled aggression.
Post by: Sandy Hill on September 06, 2015, 07:10:45 PM

Catching
Hooking
Blocking

Add in; Refusing to be true Gaels and play football as well like all other counties.
Post by: mikehunt on September 06, 2015, 07:39:26 PM
Fair play to Kilkenny. They make winning All Irelands look easy. Some achievement by Cody. As a Galway man I thought they were there for the taking.  Maybe they put in too much effort in the first half. Second half was shockingly poor.Fist pumping after sending it out over the sideline probably sums it up better than any words could. Only ones to come out of that with any credit would be David Burke, David Collins and Conor Whelan purely because they kept going. Very harsh to bring off Jason Flynn. There were a few other forwards that were far worse. Maybe they'll learn from it but a collapse like that will be hard to recover from.
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2015, 07:59:56 PM
Quote from: mikehunt on September 06, 2015, 07:39:26 PM
Fair play to Kilkenny. They make winning All Irelands look easy. Some achievement by Cody. As a Galway man I thought they were there for the taking.  Maybe they put in too much effort in the first half. Second half was shockingly poor.Fist pumping after sending it out over the sideline probably sums it up better than any words could. Only ones to come out of that with any credit would be David Burke, David Collins and Conor Whelan purely because they kept going. Very harsh to bring off Jason Flynn. There were a few other forwards that were far worse. Maybe they'll learn from it but a collapse like that will be hard to recover from.

I don't know if you can put it down as a "collapse", they weren't allowed to play
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 08:05:17 PM
Yup. Kilkenny just stepped it up and shut them out. The two heroes from the last day, Mannion and Flynn were quiet, although Flynn's point from play is one of the best scores I've ever seen. Joe was completely bullied out of it in the second half.
Post by: thejuice on September 06, 2015, 08:31:44 PM
You just knew what was coming after half time as the KK backs and midfield just upped the ante and won everything. Galway had to weather that period but couldn't. Maybe if they had moved the forwards further up the field and try get breaks closer to goal they might have avoided giving the cats a platform to counter attack.

But ultimately the better work rate and execution of the basics was the difference. Galways shots became more desperate and their heads went down rather quickly.
Post by: orangeman on September 06, 2015, 08:33:33 PM
Galway forwards and midfield really imposed themselves on a KK defence that normally deal with anything you can throw at them, meaning that several KK defenders were suffering badly. Ref wasn't handing KK any handy frees and Galway made headway on the score board but not to the extent they ought to have in the first half. Half time arrived with Galway leading by only 3 - they needed to be ahead by more. KK came out early and soon were leading - game over. Galway instead of being able to hit in nice diagonal balls were skying in high balls which a renergised and much more aggressive KK defence dealt with all day long.

KK won this final without having to play that well.

Well done to KK and hard luck to Galway. This was as good an opportunity for Galway to win an AI as they will get.
Post by: Walt Jabsco on September 06, 2015, 09:02:10 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on September 06, 2015, 07:10:45 PM

Catching
Hooking
Blocking

Add in; Refusing to be true Gaels and play football as well like all other counties.
Quote from: Sandy Hill on September 06, 2015, 07:10:45 PM

Catching
Hooking
Blocking

By not playing hurling are Cavan not true Gaels although it hasn't helped their ability to win the All Ireland Football title
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2015, 09:47:17 PM
So who do we reckon was MOM ?
Post by: pullhard on September 06, 2015, 09:52:43 PM
my views on today's game.
Galway really were superb in the first half as good as a performance against the cats as i've seen long while. They were so sharp and intense.
However there shooting was shocking, the last time i sent such poor shooting in a final was Waterford in '08.
I can't find the stats but I'd say it was at least dozen, most easily make able scores.
They really needed a lead for 7/8 going into second half.
With that mediocre of a lead they never stood a chance, as Kilkenny were due to step it up the second half which they dutifully did. As other have mention they stepped up in every single department.

TJ was my motm
Post by: orangeman on September 06, 2015, 09:56:56 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 06, 2015, 09:47:17 PM
So who do we reckon was MOM ?

TJ MOM

Michael Fennelly had a decent hour too.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 06, 2015, 10:03:41 PM
Awesome 2nd half from Kilkenny. If they put away the hurleys they'd be one of the hardest football teams to play against with the workrate and swarming they do of the man in possession. Galway needed some mechanism to try and move the ball around the field quicker. Too often the played it short to a man who was immediately gobbled up by the pack. Kilkenny can almost telepathically almost switch the play and find the loose man.

Depressing the way Kilkenny own hurling these days!
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 10:36:39 PM
Some great shots during the trophy presentation of Richie Power pucking the ball about with his son. Great stuff.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2015, 11:37:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 06, 2015, 11:23:33 PM
Fennelly?? I thought he was roasted.

Presume you're in the windup here.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 07, 2015, 08:08:10 AM
I thought Padraig Walsh was immense in the second half and should have got man of the match. Not sure how the other Fennelly stayed on but Michael wasn't half bad. Pity for Galway. You feel a bit like you do for Mayo where you wonder if it will ever happen for them. It'd be a shame to see Joe Canning play out his career without winning one.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2015, 09:20:02 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 07, 2015, 08:08:10 AM
I thought Padraig Walsh was immense in the second half and should have got man of the match. Not sure how the other Fennelly stayed on but Michael wasn't half bad. Pity for Galway. You feel a bit like you do for Mayo where you wonder if it will ever happen for them. It'd be a shame to see Joe Canning play out his career without winning one.

Eoin Larkin was the only Kilkenny man to go well the whole 70 minutes IMO. I thought he was outstanding.

TJ Reid is some man for timing his runs into the rucks to get the ball, he's well worth watching at it, avoids the first contact and comes in pick up the scraps, maybe its something they work at, first KK man in takes out the opponent to allow the second KK man in to get the ball, but their stickwork and speed of hand in close quarters is fantastic to behold. More often than not they win the ball in those situations.

Galway had them on the rack, but didn't get the scores that it deserved and if you give this KK team a second bite they take and in the second half they certainly did!

Even at that, with Galway on the rack, some of their wayward shooting from play and frees allowed Kilkenny to get a lead and if only young Whelan had gotten a good contact with his shot on goal, it could well have been a nail biting finish, but Kilkenny do what they do best and go up the field and tack on a point!

As for the ref, he was rightly hard on the steps, should have shown Coen a red and was right to not award a free to Donnellan for he'd lost his balance and should have gotten up to play on. He should have awarded David Collins a free when he was totally clobbered when attempting to clear the ball, but I thought he was pretty good throughout in all considering how hard it must be to referee those encounters.

It wasn't a bad game, but after the last few years it was always going to be a hard act to follow.

The Kilkenny machine keeps rolling on!
Post by: imtommygunn on September 07, 2015, 09:27:01 AM
For a while I thought the ref hadn't got a whistle but then you looked closer and it seemed to he played the advantage for pretty much everything and then called it back if needbe.

Should have been a red for Coen but had no bearing on the game so glad it wasn't in the end.

There were more "rucks" in that game yesterday than I think I've ever seen in a top level hurling match. Possibly indicative of how physical it was.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on September 07, 2015, 09:41:43 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 07, 2015, 09:20:02 AM

Eoin Larkin was the only Kilkenny man to go well the whole 70 minutes IMO. I thought he was outstanding.

TJ Reid is some man for timing his runs into the rucks to get the ball, he's well worth watching at it, avoids the first contact and comes in pick up the scraps, maybe its something they work at, first KK man in takes out the opponent to allow the second KK man in to get the ball, but their stickwork and speed of hand in close quarters is fantastic to behold. More often than not they win the ball in those situations.

Galway had them on the rack, but didn't get the scores that it deserved and if you give this KK team a second bite they take and in the second half they certainly did!

Even at that, with Galway on the rack, some of their wayward shooting from play and frees allowed Kilkenny to get a lead and if only young Whelan had gotten a good contact with his shot on goal, it could well have been a nail biting finish, but Kilkenny do what they do best and go up the field and tack on a point!

As for the ref, he was rightly hard on the steps, should have shown Coen a red and was right to not award a free to Donnellan for he'd lost his balance and should have gotten up to play on. He should have awarded David Collins a free when he was totally clobbered when attempting to clear the ball, but I thought he was pretty good throughout in all considering how hard it must be to referee those encounters.

It wasn't a bad game, but after the last few years it was always going to be a hard act to follow.

It would have been better for for Galway if the ref would have sent coen off
He obviously was told that at half time a yellow was the wrong call
He then compensated by letting Kilkenny get very aggressive in the second half
David Collins getting stream rolled was just one clear free not blown of many
Kilkenny stopped the Galway goalies puc out strategy by flooding those areas in the second half and the Galway sideline didn't respond
When it turned into a dogfight there was only going to be one winner
Galway completely collapsed when the hard questions where asked
Joe Canning is not a leader
Only players that stood up when things got heavy was Collins, Burke and hanbery
When Glynn and company did win a puc out they where getting there arms pulled steady
Post by: Canalman on September 07, 2015, 09:47:45 AM
Got that wrong. Bought into the Galway thing ......... again............ for the last time.

Feel v sorry for AC and the Galway players.

They will get it in the neck big time. They "spoilt" the big day for the legion of Galway bandwaggoners who cannot be a...d going to games in Salthill (or anywhere else except in September) but are well able to put the knife in all the same.

Game may need imo to go to 13 a side or make the pitch bigger (probably not an option) as the speeed and bulk of modern players has made the game too tight. Modern  Sliotar far too light and travelling too far.

Well done KK.
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on September 07, 2015, 10:15:28 AM
Gutted!
I thought we were on course at half time and I still can't understand how we disappeared in the second half.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2015, 10:19:16 AM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on September 07, 2015, 10:15:28 AM
Gutted!
I thought we were on course at half time and I still can't understand how we disappeared in the second half.

I don't think ye disappeared as such. I just think Kilkenny gathered themselves and lifted their own intensity and workrate, and when they start cranking it up, they are an awesome side.
Post by: doodaa on September 07, 2015, 10:21:19 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 07, 2015, 09:20:02 AM

Cant agree with that.
It was a clear trip when I seen it live and when I watched it again from the other angle it was still a clear trip.

Would agree with your other observations though.

TJ Reid is just a class act.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2015, 10:23:05 AM
Quote from: Canalman on September 07, 2015, 09:47:45 AM
Got that wrong. Bought into the Galway thing ......... again............ for the last time.

Feel v sorry for AC and the Galway players.

They will get it in the neck big time. They "spoilt" the big day for the legion of Galway bandwaggoners who cannot be a...d going to games in Salthill (or anywhere else except in September) but are well able to put the knife in all the same.

Game may need imo to go to 13 a side or make the pitch bigger (probably not an option) as the speeed and bulk of modern players has made the game too tight. Modern  Sliotar far too light and travelling too far.

Well done KK.

In total agreement, the ball needs revisited, but just change the material in its core to be less 'responsive'.

Post by: Bud Wiser on September 07, 2015, 11:01:01 AM
( the legion of Galway bandwaggoners who cannot be a...d going to games in Salthill (or anywhere else except in September) but are well able to put the knife in all the same. )

The ones behind me yesterday are the reason I am delighted the Cats hurled them off the park in the second half. Every second word was "cnut"  If these yobos could hurl a sliothar as well as they can hurl abuse they might win an All-Ireland.

Man of the match from what I hear is Jackie Tyrell   - for his rousing half time speech. 

Well done to Galway Minors, they provided three great games of hurling over the last month with the replay against Kilkenny prior to yesterdays final. I hope they (particularly that young No. 11 lad, only 17) get all the plaudits they deserve and are not dependent on support of the assholes behind me yesterday. 

Post by: ludermor on September 07, 2015, 11:08:17 AM
It is incredible that Kilkenny can churn out so many brilliant players over such a long period of time. They have had huge number of players retired over the last 3 years but they have all been replaced and have won consetitive All Ireland. They have lost over 80 All Ireland with the retirements of Shefflin , JJ, Tommy Walsh, Eddie Brennan. Michael Kavanagh, Aiden Fogarty, Noel Hickey , Brian Hogan, Martin Comerford and lots more i havent listed.
Post by: deiseach on September 07, 2015, 11:10:43 AM
I felt a little embarrassed to find myself hoping that Kerry win the All-Ireland because of the unhinged reaction of a few of the Dubs on here. Reading people having a pop at Galway supporters, I'm clearly not alone in using isolated examples to make such determinations! :P
Post by: deiseach on September 07, 2015, 11:12:29 AM
Quote from: ludermor on September 07, 2015, 11:08:17 AM
It is incredible that Kilkenny can churn out so many brilliant players over such a long period of time. They have had huge number of players retired over the last 3 years but they have all been replaced and have won consetitive All Ireland. They have lost over 80 All Ireland with the retirements of Shefflin , JJ, Tommy Walsh, Eddie Brennan. Michael Kavanagh, Aiden Fogarty, Noel Hickey , Brian Hogan, Martin Comerford and lots more i havent listed.

I know I'm getting boring at this stage - only now, sez you - but . . . Cody. Cody. Cody. The man makes Alex Ferguson look like a dilettante.
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 07, 2015, 11:29:33 AM
Boring?  Annoying more to the point when some of us less educated mere mortals have to go to Google to understand what you are saying.
dilettante ? Ff's

Post by: deiseach on September 07, 2015, 11:36:26 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on September 07, 2015, 11:29:33 AM
Boring?  Annoying more to the point when some of us less educated mere mortals have to go to Google to understand what you are saying.
dilettante ? Ff's

Harsh but fair.
Post by: Canalman on September 07, 2015, 11:47:09 AM
Quote from: deiseach on September 07, 2015, 11:10:43 AM
I felt a little embarrassed to find myself hoping that Kerry win the All-Ireland because of the unhinged reaction of a few of the Dubs on here. Reading people having a pop at Galway supporters, I'm clearly not alone in using isolated examples to make such determinations! :P

Deiseach, I don' t think I am being unhinged  (maybe wrong or exaggerating a bit) when it comes to Galway hurling supporters. I have been at league games/ playoffs/ early LSHC games where the loyal and hardcore Galway support can be measured in the 100s.

I am fairly nonplussed when an excess of 50,000 make it to an AIF.

I stand behind what I said about the flak that Galway team are now going to unfairly take from their own.
Post by: deiseach on September 07, 2015, 11:56:56 AM
Quote from: Canalman on September 07, 2015, 11:47:09 AM
Deiseach, I don' t think I am being unhinged  (maybe wrong or exaggerating a bit) when it comes to Galway hurling supporters. I have been at league games/ playoffs/ early LSHC games where the loyal and hardcore Galway support can be measured in the 100s.

I stand behind what I said about the flak that Galway team are now going to unfairly take from their own.

I'm not saying that anyone here is unhinged. Not in this thread anyway. Just noting that we all make decisions on who to support when our own lot are not involved based on some pretty arbitrary stuff. It's all part of the fun. I thought Galway had a decent support for the semi-final and if we are going to judge the dedication of a county's support based on how many turn out for games earlier on in the year then every county is going to be found wanting. And I'm sure we can find abusive supporters if we look hard enough. Witness the hatchet 'Willie Joe' had to take to the post-match comments on the Mayo GAA Blog (http://mayogaablog.com/?p=17150#comments). None of that means you are not entitled to your viewpoint. I cheered for Kilkenny in the 2007 All-Ireland final because I was bitter at the thought of Limerick taking 'our' All-Ireland, so I'm in no position to lecture!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 01:40:04 PM

Absolute Grade A horseshite. The Galway hurlers actually usually get decent crowds to their league games despite matches being played at the traffic black hole of Pearse Stadium. They'd get even more if the games were played out in Athenry. Club games get some of the best crowds in the country. They don't get 50,000 obviously but it's All-Ireland final day. What do you expect? The casuals fill the stadium for both teams. It's the same as any county on the big day. The Galway support outnumbered Cork in the quarter-final and Tipp in the semi-final so they weren't all waiting for the final. Don't get me wrong when things are going badly the support for the hurlers can shrink rapidly but the current bunch have usually had a good following. Sometimes it might take a win to get them out but once they come out they are there in numbers.

I don't think the team are actually going to get that much flak. They had a great Summer. Some great days out. I think the fans appreciate that and realise they came up against a remoreless dream crushing machine that is Cody's Kilkenny. Certainly coming back on the train last night there was very little abuse of the players going on. More resignation of being in the same position of losing on final day again.

Of course during a game you are always going to get people roaring abuse. Sure right behind me at the game were two Kilkenny lads who started roaring "cheerio, cheerio, cheerio" at every Galway supporter who stood up to leave during the last minute or two of the game. Two yahoos no doubt but that doesn't mean they are representative of all Kilkenny fans.
Post by: theskull1 on September 07, 2015, 01:59:13 PM
There was plenty of black and amberers high tailing it before the final whistle

This was the first year I left just after the final whistle and was astounded how many KK people were in the throngs leaving the ground.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2015, 02:07:53 PM
I thought John Delaney was a Waterford man? And he lives in Tipp. What's his game? Is he actually from Kilkenny?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-singing-john-delaney-leads-allireland-celebrations-on-kilkenny-team-bus-31507086.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-singing-john-delaney-leads-allireland-celebrations-on-kilkenny-team-bus-31507086.html)
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 07, 2015, 02:10:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 07, 2015, 02:07:53 PM
I thought John Delaney was a Waterford man? And he lives in Tipp. What's his game? Is he actually from Kilkenny?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-singing-john-delaney-leads-allireland-celebrations-on-kilkenny-team-bus-31507086.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/leftfield/video-singing-john-delaney-leads-allireland-celebrations-on-kilkenny-team-bus-31507086.html)
He's like Ed Sheeran, turning up at every hooley to belt out a few tunes!
Post by: Duine Eile on September 07, 2015, 02:11:51 PM
Disappointing in the end for Galway but congrats to Kilkenny, they're some machine. I have to say the expectation and pressure placed on Joe Canning's shoulders and criticism he receives (both inside and outside the county)  after every game is grossly unfair, again today all comment seems to be that he's not a leader, he'll never be one of the greats, he didn't perform as he should on All Ireland final day etc. etc. he scored 1-08 or whatever it was and this is the response, the whole team seemed to collapse in the 2nd half bar one or two exceptions but yet again it's all Joe Canning's fault, very unfair IMO!
Post by: deiseach on September 07, 2015, 02:12:56 PM
There's alcohol in that there cup.
Post by: Canalman on September 07, 2015, 02:27:50 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 01:40:04 PM

Absolute Grade A horseshite. The Galway hurlers actually usually get decent crowds to their league games despite matches being played at the traffic black hole of Pearse Stadium. They'd get even more if the games were played out in Athenry. Club games get some of the best crowds in the country. They don't get 50,000 obviously but it's All-Ireland final day. What do you expect? The casuals fill the stadium for both teams. It's the same as any county on the big day. The Galway support outnumbered Cork in the quarter-final and Tipp in the semi-final so they weren't all waiting for the final. Don't get me wrong when things are going badly the support for the hurlers can shrink rapidly but the current bunch have usually had a good following. Sometimes it might take a win to get them out but once they come out they are there in numbers.

I don't think the team are actually going to get that much flak. They had a great Summer. Some great days out. I think the fans appreciate that and realise they came up against a remoreless dream crushing machine that is Cody's Kilkenny. Certainly coming back on the train last night there was very little abuse of the players going on. More resignation of being in the same position of losing on final day again.

Of course during a game you are always going to get people roaring abuse. Sure right behind me at the game were two Kilkenny lads who started roaring "cheerio, cheerio, cheerio" at every Galway supporter who stood up to leave during the last minute or two of the game. Two yahoos no doubt but that doesn't mean they are representative of all Kilkenny fans.

Agree to disagree so.

I have to pull you up on the outnumbering Cork and Tipperary fans argument this summer. No way josé.

At the first Dublin game this summer the Galway support imo anyway was in the 100s. Likewise at the NHL playoff some years ago in Tullamore.

As for the flak they will take I presume and hope you are right .

Really hope they go on and win an AI shortly.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 02:33:35 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 07, 2015, 02:27:50 PM

Agree to disagree so.

I have to pull you up on the outnumbering Cork and Tipperary fans argument this summer. No way josé.

Sure even on Premier View (no friends of Galway) they admitted they were outnumbered at the game. As did the Tipp journalist Jackie Cahill on the radio after the match. Are they liars or just mistaken?

I wouldn't judge the Galway support on games against Dublin. Rightly or wrongly they will get a lot more out for games against Tipp or Cork. Especially the Dublin game this year as there was very little expectation for the Summer ahead after the showing in the Waterford game in the league. The smallest crowd of the year was undoubtably out for the first day against the Dubs.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2015, 02:51:29 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 02:33:35 PM

Agree to disagree so.

Sure even on Premier View (no friends of Galway) they admitted they were outnumbered at the game. As did the Tipp journalist Jackie Cahill on the radio after the match. Are they liars or just mistaken?

I wouldn't judge the Galway support on games against Dublin. Rightly or wrongly they will get a lot more out for games against Tipp or Cork. Especially the Dublin game this year as there was very little expectation for the Summer ahead after the showing in the Waterford game in the league. The smallest crowd of the year was undoubtably out for the first day against the Dubs.

I'd say Galway certainly did have more support in the semi-final than Tipp, but I'd say a good bit of that was from neutral counties, but it was pretty obvious when the scores were sailing over the bar.

Every county has their fair weather support, its hardly just a Galway thing.

As for the hurling side of things, I thought Joe Canning played well, but he was starved off the ball in the second half, like a lot of the Galway forwards when KK went deep to prevent Callinans puck outs and so on. Galway and their defence needed to be cuter with their clearances, puck outs and so on, but played in the cats strength by reverted to the long, aimless hollywood clearances.
They really need to get back there next year to correct these mistakes and that's their achilles heel, getting two good years back to back with the minimal of changes to personnel.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 03:10:36 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 07, 2015, 02:51:29 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 02:33:35 PM

Agree to disagree so.

I'd say Galway certainly did have more support in the semi-final than Tipp, but I'd say a good bit of that was from neutral counties, but it was pretty obvious when the scores were sailing over the bar.

Every county has their fair weather support, its hardly just a Galway thing.

As for the hurling side of things, I thought Joe Canning played well, but he was starved off the ball in the second half, like a lot of the Galway forwards when KK went deep to prevent Callinans puck outs and so on. Galway and their defence needed to be cuter with their clearances, puck outs and so on, but played in the cats strength by reverted to the long, aimless hollywood clearances.
They really need to get back there next year to correct these mistakes and that's their achilles heel, getting two good years back to back with the minimal of changes to personnel.

Joe is getting a lot of stick today but he scored 1-8. (0-3 from play) while TJ is getting all the plaudits and he scored 1-7 (1-1 from play). The winners write the history I guess. Ultimately Joe was stationed at 14 for nearly all the 2nd half and the ball just wasn't getting up to him. It was barely getting past the crowded Kilkenny half-back line and midfield. Now you could argue that he should have moved out himself looking for it but if you are told to play close to goal as you are the team's best chance of a goal then what do you do? Rob Peter to pay Paul.

Bit disapponted with the Galway line as they should have had a puck out strategy in place for when Kilkenny flooded the middle third of the field to stop our ball winners. We just kept on doing the same thing instead of mixing in a few short ones to draw them out. Just kept bombing puck outs to Glynn and Donnellan but they were swarmed during the 2nd half.
Post by: theskull1 on September 07, 2015, 03:20:51 PM
I thought he was out in the half backline 'looking for it' to often for my liking. For a lot of the second half the FF line got pulled out (their decision) into that crowded area and made it even conjested. Looked like panic set in and their decision making went awry
Post by: gallsman on September 07, 2015, 05:09:50 PM
Ah don't try and wheel out the "he scored more and from play" line. Joe disappeared in the second half after a bright opening and had one very badly missed free when needed it most. Besides, the goal was in garbage time and counted for nowt. The records will show a four point defeat but it was a much heavier beating than that. On that note, was there a reason given for the retake?!

Joe is an absolutely fantastic hurler but too often he goes missing in big games. At the start of his career, you'd never trust TJ to go into battle for you. He was a lovely, skillful hurler but too nice. Now he's full of heart and a real leader of the team, throwing himself into the "rucks" as they're apparently being called and frequently emerging on the other side. I know which one I'd prefer on my team.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on September 07, 2015, 06:02:43 PM
My point exactly Joes a good hurler but the leadership quality isn't there
Woukd TJ have missed that free when kk really needed it
Only young Flynn was off after running himself into the ground I would have assigned him to the frees
There arguments for both theory's
Kilkenny turned the screw like they always do or even  Galway needed men to stand up when the chips where down
Well done to KK fully deserved but it's all getting very predictable at present and doesn't help interest levels from the neutrals

Tipp or a fully functional Clare are the only teams capable of challenging them
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2015, 07:57:26 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on September 07, 2015, 06:02:43 PM
Only young Flynn was off after running himself into the ground I would have assigned him to the frees
Kilkenny turned the screw like they always do or even  Galway needed men to stand up when the chips where down
Well done to KK fully deserved but it's all getting very predictable at present and doesn't help interest levels from the neutrals

Tipp haven't beaten them in the championship in 5 years and they've had a few goes at it since. Clare have never beaten them and won their title the one season in the past decade that Kilkenny had an off year. Getting knocked out by a moderate enough Cork side. Physically I think Kilkenny would eat them without salt.
Post by: mouview on September 08, 2015, 11:19:24 AM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on September 07, 2015, 06:02:43 PM

Look at JC's scoring passes v Cork, Tipp late in the games this year. Look at his performance in the drawn game v KK last year in Tullamore when he pulled the game out of the fire more than anyone. That was leadership. The trick about him is to keep him involved, keep him near the play, but so often he's stationed at FF because he's Galway's best goal threat, therefore he can be often starved of ball.

Clare are fully dysfunctional  at present and have never beaten KK under Cody; as GBB said, Tipp have had plenty of go's at it too and have failed all bar one. Even their own are coming out now and calling them soft and having a weak underbelly.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 08, 2015, 11:47:15 AM
Brendan Lynskey having a pop.
http://www.balls.ie/gaa/galway-legend-calls-bullshit-on-pearse-stadium-celebrations-for-beaten-team/307926

You can sorta see the point. In 2001, 2005 and 2012 when Galway lost finals there seemed to be a lot of folk saying that they were on the right road, building a team, making progress. Yet these years were immediately followed by a slump.
Post by: mouview on September 08, 2015, 12:03:30 PM
balls.ie  seems an appropriate place for his comments. If he's pessimistic for the future, what does he suggest to do? Scrap the current panel and start again with a new one? He didn't achieve too much as a manager himself and failed on a number of the teams he mentioned back in the 80s. Just sounds like a bitter man.

IMHO, the panel in '05 wasn't strong enough to push on and lacked true consistency; the team in '12 had a makeshift FB and Regan at 6 was never the greatest, (in spite of his recent unhappiness). I do think Galway are better positioned now to push on as the age profile of the squad is still good and there are better players now than before in quite a number of spots, e.g. corner and wing back. HF line still needs tweaking and a couple of more players need to push their way for selection. A more flexible tactical approach and the ability to change things quicker during a game also needed. Unity and a common purpose required more than ever.
Post by: deiseach on September 08, 2015, 12:08:22 PM
When was that article updated to reflect Lynskey pretending he said something completely different?

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/brendan-lynskey-clarifies-comments-on-pearse-stadium-celebrations/307973
Post by: mikehunt on September 08, 2015, 02:03:01 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/tony-considine/ruthless-kilkennys-monopoly-is-hurting-hurling-352610.html

General consensus is that it was a big collapse. Would agree with everything Considine says. Daly and English mentioned as much.
Post by: mouview on September 08, 2015, 02:22:52 PM
Quote from: mikehunt on September 08, 2015, 02:03:01 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/tony-considine/ruthless-kilkennys-monopoly-is-hurting-hurling-352610.html

General consensus is that it was a big collapse. Would agree with everything Considine says. Daly and English mentioned as much.

Don't agree with a couple of later points; Daithi Burke better at CHB because he can turn quicker than Tannian; P Mannion was Galway's best defender prior to Tipp game and as such had to be started on their best FF line player. Main points in his column probably true.
Post by: theskull1 on September 08, 2015, 02:40:31 PM
Bar the odd under pressure handpass, I can't remember a single purposeful pass delivered to a Galway forward in the second half. Add to that the wides that should have been over the bar.... all points to a lack of clear thinking across the team when the pressure came on
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 08, 2015, 06:21:15 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 08, 2015, 02:40:31 PM
Bar the odd under pressure handpass, I can't remember a single purposeful pass delivered to a Galway forward in the second half. Add to that the wides that should have been over the bar.... all points to a lack of clear thinking across the team when the pressure came on

Its no surprise that when Wexford and Galway beat Kilkenny in any games in the past 10/15 years they used a very short low passing system to get the ball into speedy forwards... Aimless balls into that defence is daft... They gobble up first and second ball each time... Players needed to be showing for the ball out wide or cross field passes trying to draw the Kilkenny defenders out...

Easier said than done and all the analysts would have other views on beating... Cody's team weather the storm and do what they do best, they raise their work rate and by doing that they create space and the forwards get on the ball and score!!

You cant beat hard work and never give up commitment, bring that to the table and you'll do well