Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 25, 2007, 01:24:15 PM

Title: Feast Days
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 25, 2007, 01:24:15 PM
Everyday used to be no on as a feast day for sum st in Ireland but there never mentioned anymore. i think ity woud be good to remind ppl abiout them.

Today is the feast of st Mark. He is called st Mark the evanilist because he rote the gostel according to Mark. He was really called John but it was confusin havin so many johns about so the used hios Roman name Mark instead.
He was dragged around by the Egyptians with a rope around his neck and kilt. This was after he rote the holy gospel so it was. They tried to burn him but his body wodn't burn so the catholic took his body and give him a proper christain burial. Then the Pope made him a saint. He is the patron saint of notaries. What are they?

Heres a link to more info about his life http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=305 (http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=305)

We should always remember an pray for the saints like this on there feast day.. THey suffered for there faith in olden times so they did.
Title: Re: Feast Days
Post by: full back on April 25, 2007, 01:26:23 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Holy fcuk - can someone help me off the floor
A4SA for sainthood
Brilliant lad, brilliant
Post by: lurganblue on April 25, 2007, 01:30:52 PM
QuoteThis was after he rote the holy gospel so it was

brilliant
;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Lecale2 on April 25, 2007, 01:32:59 PM
Jesus Christ I nearly p***ed myself laughing - now I've a couple of cracked ribs!

Can we expect a daily contribution on this thread Armagh4Sam?
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 25, 2007, 01:40:28 PM
Classic
Post by: Bensars on April 25, 2007, 01:51:09 PM
forget the feast days A4SA,   hows the death notices going ?

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:jBzPMooVYWirUM:http://www.yu.edu/cms/uploadedImages/FACULTY/DR._JONATHAN_FAST/Publications/grim%2520reaper.jpg)
Post by: Bogball XV on April 25, 2007, 01:57:28 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 25, 2007, 01:24:15 PM
Everyday used to be no on as a feast day for sum st in Ireland but there never mentioned anymore. i think ity woud be good to remind ppl abiout them.
QuoteText generation told they must learn how to spell and punctu8

Examiners call time on mobile phone language

EXPERTISE in text messaging and email would appear to have affected spelling and punctuation.

The State Examinations Commission says the frequency of errors of grammar and punctuation, even among higher level students taking the Junior Cert exam, is a matter of concern.

"The emergence of the mobile phone and the rise of text messaging as a popular means of communication would appear to have impacted on standards of writing as evidenced in the responses of candidates," says the 2006 Chief Examiner's report for English.

It warns that text messaging with its use of phonetic spelling and little or no punctuation, seems to pose a threat to traditional conventions in writing.

The report says that if candidates are to achieve their potential in higher level English, they will need to have a grasp of the fundamentals of grammar, spelling, punctuation and syntax.

In sections such as 'Functional Writing', candidates are expected to compose and express their ideas in a style or genre appropriate to their purpose. Good layout, sentence structure and paragraphing are all functions of this purpose.

The report gives lots of examples of answers where candidates received top marks and many where they were penalised for poor answers, spelling, punctuation and lack of clarity.

It recommends that students should listen to language in as many and different ways as they can. They should listen to more than one radio station to hear the variety of ways in which people speak, and how the manner of speaking changes as different subjects are presented.

Contexts

They should speak the language in different ways and search out contexts in which they have to speak to people formally as well as informally.

"Take time to converse. Observe the different ways people speak and try to understand why they do so. Get involved in activities such as public speaking, debating or drama as a means of widening your spoken expression."

It also recommends that they read, widely, enjoyably and often. "Read a daily paper - free, if you call into your local library. Read magazines, books and instruction sheets that come with appliances and gadgets. Savour the styles of different writers.

"Take particular care with spelling and punctuation. English written in your examination answer book will be more complex and varies more than that used for texting on your mobile phone. Good spelling and well-used punctuation add clarity and precision to your writing," adds the report.

Last year more than 57,000 students took English in the Junior Cert exam, nearly two-thirds of them at higher level, 31pc at ordinary level and only 4pc at foundation level. The report issues what it calls a quiet warning about the continued rise in the uptake by candidates at higher level. Some might be better advised to attempt the ordinary level, it advises.

John Walshe
Oh dear!!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 25, 2007, 02:02:38 PM
Wats dat all about?  ???
Post by: Bacon on April 25, 2007, 02:49:02 PM
God bless you Armagh4SamAgain!  ;D
Always guanteed to brighten up my day.
Title: Feast Days
Post by: 5 Sams on April 25, 2007, 02:52:45 PM
QuotePosted by: Armagh4SamAgain   

Everyday used to be no on as a feast day

He was dragged around by the Egyptians with a rope around his neck and kilt.

Work of a genius...or a fool...I still can't make my mind up.
Post by: nifan on April 25, 2007, 03:11:17 PM
idiot savant
Post by: No1 on April 25, 2007, 03:19:29 PM

Comedy f**king genius!
Post by: Bogball XV on April 25, 2007, 03:31:45 PM
He is the patron saint of notaries. What are they?
Lawyers of a sort - they can witness and draw up contracts etc.
Post by: Blacksheep on April 25, 2007, 05:43:34 PM
I should have known better, but I opened this in an open plan office and burst into laughter. I had to pretend I was choking on a sweet. Some smart arse tried the Heimlich Manoeuvre which made me laugh all the more. At least the supervisor sent me to the canteen to get a drink and recover  :D

Fair paly to you Armagh4Sam you made my day.
Post by: Hardy on April 25, 2007, 05:50:26 PM
Very good.

It used to be procedure here to put this kind of thing down to O'Neill. I don't see why we should dispense with such an excellent traditon.
Post by: GweylTah on April 25, 2007, 05:51:21 PM
One of things that's most missed about the dear-departed Daily Ireland newspaper is that it used to have a column saying what particuar saint or fest day it was. I believe the good and pure Irish Christian Catholic newsletter, The Hibernian, now provides a similar service of enlightenment for the country.
Post by: Blacksheep on April 25, 2007, 06:25:30 PM
Can you add images to your "Life of the Saints" work Armagh4Sam? Here's one to start with.

(http://www.stmaryofegypt.net/images/mark.gif)
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 25, 2007, 08:28:09 PM
5 sams
QuoteWork of a genius...or a fool...I still can't make my mind up.
A fool, but no bigger than those laughing at him  ::)
Post by: blast05 on April 26, 2007, 12:00:36 AM
Perhaps i am not familiar enough with a lot of the posters on this board but one thing that stirikes me about this post is that even if it was intended as being deadly serious (perhaps it is) and wasn't full of txt speak,  a lot of guys would still have a laugh at it. On the one hand the balance of posters on this board seem to want to claim to be open minded and liberal but yet many would still have a laugh at a post like this.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on April 26, 2007, 07:46:18 AM
I agree with Pints Of Guinness and Blast05. A young lad embraces traditional Irish Catholicism and most posters on here think its funny or a wind up  :-\. 20 years ago his views would have been mainstream. What's happening? I get the impression that most posters on here represent a certain part of Irish society who think the majority of rural Irish people are backward and old fashioned. Young people should be encouraged to get involved with the church and in Parish life outside the GAA club. He could be doing a whole worse. They way some of you carry on it's like school yard bullying only on the internet.

As for the txt speak - have a look at E-mails or text messages from your children or younger siblings. Everyone under 21 is at it. It's not funny, just normal for that age group.
This Board should be a big enough place to accept all shades of opion.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 26, 2007, 08:21:21 AM
Easy to mock the Church and get a good laugh but Jaysus, don't say a word against the 'ra, your favourite political party, the GAA or whatever floats yer boat :o

Rural Ireland is still full of young, educated people going to Mass on a regular basis - maybe the cityfolk (ergo intellegentia?) have got it all wrong.
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 08:25:50 AM
Jaysus this is great now.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 26, 2007, 08:59:48 AM
November spawned a monster.
Post by: Donagh on April 26, 2007, 09:10:21 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on April 25, 2007, 05:51:21 PM
One of things that's most missed about the dear-departed Daily Ireland newspaper is that it used to have a column saying what particuar saint or fest day it was. I believe the good and pure Irish Christian Catholic newsletter, The Hibernian, now provides a similar service of enlightenment for the country.

The Irish Times have been doing the same thing for years. What's your point?
Post by: Bacon on April 26, 2007, 09:11:57 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 26, 2007, 08:59:48 AM
November spawned a monster.
What's that mean?
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 09:12:50 AM
Looking forward to hearing about St. Pedro de San José Betancur today. He rang bells.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 26, 2007, 09:53:51 AM
Today is the feast day of St Cletus. He was a Roman and the 3rd Pope and was murdered for his catholic faith (martered). We shoud remember him in are prayers on his feast day.

I'm glad that so many are showing interet in this tread.
Post by: his holiness nb on April 26, 2007, 10:11:59 AM
I also agree with pints, blast and Aristotle, yeah the grammar is pretty bad it is bordering on schoolyard bullying at this stage.

To make fun of the religious sentiment is disgraceful, as we are contstantly reminded by others on here, everyone is entitled to air their beliefs here.

Rock on Armagh4sam, dont forget the Dali Lama in your days btw!
Post by: full back on April 26, 2007, 10:16:24 AM
What a bunch of whingeing fcukers.
Will someone create a thread so we can have a bit of craic. If someone finds a post funny they are entitled to f**king laugh
Post by: fearglasmor on April 26, 2007, 11:30:19 AM
Why not.

Catholic saints are holy people and human people who lived extraordinary lives. Each saint the Church honors responded to God's invitation to use his or her unique gifts. God calls each one of us to be a saint.     
April 26, 2007

St. Pedro de San José Betancur

(1626-1667)

Central America can claim its first saint with the July 30 canonization of Pedro de Betancur by Pope John Paul II in Guatemala City. Known as the "St. Francis of the Americas," Pedro de Betancur is the first saint to have worked and died in Guatemala.
Calling the new saint an "outstanding example" of Christian mercy, the Holy Father noted that St. Pedro practiced mercy "heroically with the lowliest and the most deprived." Speaking to the estimated 500,000 Guatemalans in attendance, the Holy Father spoke of the social ills that plague the country today and of the need for change.

"Let us think of the children and young people who are homeless or deprived of an education; of abandoned women with their many needs; of the hordes of social outcasts who live in the cities; of the victims of organized crime, of prostitution or of drugs; of the sick who are neglected and the elderly who live in loneliness," he said in his homily during the three-hour liturgy.

Pedro very much wanted to become a priest, but God had other plans for the young man born into a poor family on Tenerife in the Canary Islands. Pedro was a shepherd until age 24, when he began to make his way to Guatemala, hoping to connect with a relative engaged in government service there. By the time he reached Havana, he was out of money. After working there to earn more, he got to Guatemala City the following year. When he arrived he was so destitute that he joined the bread line which the Franciscans had established.

Soon, Pedro enrolled in the local Jesuit college in hopes of studying for the priesthood. No matter how hard he tried, however, he could not master the material; he withdrew from school. In 1655 he joined the Secular Franciscan Order. Three years later he opened a hospital for the convalescent poor; a shelter for the homeless and a school for the poor soon followed. Not wanting to neglect the rich of Guatemala City, Pedro began walking through their part of town ringing a bell and inviting them to repent.

Other men came to share in Pedro's work. Soon they became the Bethlehemite Congregation, which went on to earn official papal approval after Pedro's death.

He is sometimes credited with originating the Christmas Eve posadas procession in which people representing Mary and Joseph seek a night's lodging from their neighbors. The custom soon spread to Mexico and other Central American countries.

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 11:50:18 AM
QuoteI agree with Pints Of Guinness and Blast05. A young lad embraces traditional Irish Catholicism and most posters on here think its funny or a wind up  Undecided. 20 years ago his views would have been mainstream. What's happening? I get the impression that most posters on here represent a certain part of Irish society who think the majority of rural Irish people are backward and old fashioned. Young people should be encouraged to get involved with the church and in Parish life outside the GAA club. He could be doing a whole worse. They way some of you carry on it's like school yard bullying only on the internet.

To be honest I wasn't really thinking about people laughing at the saints or church when I made my comments, I was thinking what the f**k is so funny about the opening post.  It never crossed my mind that people were simply laughing at the saints, how immature do you need to be?  Do they same people roar and laugh when they see newspaper articles on what saint's day it is?   ::)
Post by: full back on April 26, 2007, 11:54:03 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 11:50:18 AM
Do they same people roar and laugh when they see newspaper articles on what saint's day it is?   ::)

Yeah pog, course we do, doesnt everyone ::) ::)
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 26, 2007, 12:08:52 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 26, 2007, 08:21:21 AM
Easy to mock the Church and get a good laugh but Jaysus, don't say a word against the 'ra, your favourite political party, the GAA or whatever floats yer boat :o

Rural Ireland is still full of young, educated people going to Mass on a regular basis - maybe the cityfolk (ergo intellegentia?) have got it all wrong.
Thats rite. Im my own parish most young people go to mass every week and were all educated. Its a regilus thing but its also a good palce to meet your mates for a bit a crack b4 and after mass. Weve all being going since were kids and i hope we always will.
At this time of year we have a big procession of the blessed sacrament host all around the roads of the parish and all the young people go so they do. I wont miss it or will any of my mates.
Heres the fotos. Look how many young people are there!

Do other parishes do this?

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/benediction1.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/procession13.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/benediction8.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/benediction4.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/procession4.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/procession6.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/procession9.JPG)

(http://www.lowerkilleavy.com/components/com_akogallery/img_pictures/processionband.JPG)

Post by: neutral on April 26, 2007, 12:18:11 PM
Looks to be as close as Stevie Mc got to marching behind the artane Boys band in a couple of years. ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 12:19:05 PM
Quote from: full back on April 26, 2007, 11:54:03 AM
Do they same people roar and laugh when they see newspaper articles on what saint's day it is?   ::)

And why are you laughing at this thread then?

Post by: full back on April 26, 2007, 12:20:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 12:19:05 PM

Didnt know I had to explain myself to you pog
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 12:22:28 PM
Quote from: full back on April 26, 2007, 12:20:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 12:19:05 PM

Didnt know I had to explain myself to you pog

Let us in on the joke, tell us what's funny.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on April 26, 2007, 12:26:56 PM
"Weve all being going since were kids and i hope we always will."

A nice comment there Armagh4SamAgain. I hope so too.

Processions of this type were common all over Ireland from the end of Penal times up until fairly recently. They mostly stopped in the North when the Troubles broke out in the late 60s for fear of attack from Unionist mobs. Great to see the old tradition being carried on in rural Armagh.
Post by: full back on April 26, 2007, 12:28:44 PM

Today is the feast of st Mark. He is called st Mark the evanilist because he rote the gostel according to Mark. He was really called John but it was confusin havin so many johns about so the used hios Roman name Mark instead.
He was dragged around by the Egyptians with a rope around his neck and kilt. This was after he rote the holy gospel so it was. They tried to burn him but his body wodn't burn so the catholic took his body and give him a proper christain burial. Then the Pope made him a saint. He is the patron saint of notaries. What are they?

Heres a link to more info about his life http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=305 (http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=305)

We should always remember an pray for the saints like this on there feast day.. THey suffered for there faith in olden times so they did.

OK pog, it wasnt just me that found it funny, but this is my take on it - read slowly & digest all the information
Knowing A4SA's form of putting up random thread's this one was unexpected.
His spelling was quite funny as well.
And finally his take on Mark/John's treatment & the way he explained it.
Apologies if you didnt find it funny - in future I will drop you a pm and find out if I can laugh at something

*Edit*
Like Lecale, nothing at all to do with the treatment of the Saint in question
Post by: Bogball XV on April 26, 2007, 12:32:48 PM
Initially I didn't know what to make of this all - now, I'm convinced that A4S is definitely an alter-ego.
Post by: Lecale2 on April 26, 2007, 12:40:23 PM
Maybe I shouldn't laugh but when I read the post above i nearly pi**ed myself.

I can't really explain to you why it's funny but it made me laugh out loud. I'm not laughing at the death of a Christian martyr just the way it was put.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 26, 2007, 03:07:21 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 26, 2007, 12:32:48 PM
Initially I didn't know what to make of this all - now, I'm convinced that A4S is definitely an alter-ego.

As I say, whatever floats your boat - some people just love a wee bit of ego-massaging, errr, so they do. Mabe I should off throwen inn a fews speling mis-takes just to make me luke like a wee county yookle  fram ar-ma, so i must.
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 03:12:37 PM
I can see clearly now...I couldn't understand why some took issue with this...now the above post makes obvious....the Armaghites think someone's taking a hand out of them...sensitive souls! (although in pog's case the fact that he hasn't had his end away yet is a contributory factor)
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 26, 2007, 03:18:04 PM
The championship nears and there's matches to be played - if I have to turn back to praying to ensure we beat yous, errr, after Donegal, and presuming you get to the semis, then, yeah, I don't want to go around mocking the church.

Teach your children well, ONeill.
Post by: down22 on April 26, 2007, 03:37:07 PM
Absolutely priceless! ;D

It provides a great little break from the revision. Keep up the good work!
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 03:39:36 PM
Fullback
QuoteOK pog, it wasnt just me that found it funny, but this is my take on it - read slowly & digest all the information
Apologies if you didnt find it funny - in future I will drop you a pm and find out if I can laugh at something
I've read it and all I feel like doing is rolling my eyes. Why someone is amused by some tube's alter ego misspelling words is beyond me. I suppose you roar and laugh at a custard pie being pushed in to someone's face.   ::)
Post by: full back on April 26, 2007, 03:49:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 03:39:36 PM
Fullback
QuoteOK pog, it wasnt just me that found it funny, but this is my take on it - read slowly & digest all the information
I've read it and all I feel like doing is rolling my eyes. Why someone is amused by some tube's alter ego misspelling words is beyond me. I suppose you roar and laugh at a custard pie being pushed in to someone's face.   ::)

Yeah custard pies and all that craic :D ::)
When ever you buy a sense of humour come & have a chat pog
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 03:59:57 PM
Sense of Humour?  Laughing at someone purposely misspelling words...yes, that's hilarious.  Do you think it'll catch on?  Do you think if I wrote a book with bad grammar and every third word spelt wrongly the world would die from side splitting laughter?
Post by: neutral on April 26, 2007, 04:10:42 PM
Grumpy ould fart
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 26, 2007, 04:26:14 PM
Unintelligent immature knob.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on April 26, 2007, 04:27:47 PM
Now, now, boys! Let's keep it polite. No need for name calling.
Post by: neutral on April 26, 2007, 04:39:22 PM
 :D :D :D :D
Post by: fearglasmor on April 26, 2007, 04:42:20 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on April 26, 2007, 04:27:47 PM
Now, now, boys!  girls Let's keep it polite. No need for name calling.
Post by: blast05 on April 26, 2007, 05:21:10 PM
QuoteLaughing at someone purposely misspelling words

Jaysus, i'm fierce confused.  ???
Are people laughing because of the bad spelling, because they find it so far fetched that someone could post such a post about saints and marthys and be deadly serious (or the complete opposite) or is it the bad spelling when used in conjunction with the particular story ?

Regardless of which, i can't see the humour  ???
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 07:19:18 PM
I was gonna write something about the above comments being the reason why this board doesn't have half the allure it had in the past (i.e people now willing to come on to a thread to say they don't find something humorous - why even bother commenting then? Do you go onto the Mayo thread and say you don't find it interesting?) but I suppose it is those who lack humour that makes the thread even funnier....
Post by: blast05 on April 26, 2007, 10:35:11 PM
QuoteI was gonna write something about the above comments being the reason why this board doesn't have half the allure it had in the past (i.e people now willing to come on to a thread to say they don't find something humorous - why even bother commenting then? Do you go onto the Mayo thread and say you don't find it interesting?) but I suppose it is those who lack humour that makes the thread even funnier....

In saying i don't find it funny, i am saying the reason i don't find it funny is i don't get it (not thats its a good joke i don't appreciate) and am obviously then looking for an explanation of what the joke is ........
So which one of the reasons i suggested as the explanation of the joke is it ?? Then i can maybe go for a pint and think about it
And a couple of comments from myself and or 2 others means this board doesn't have the allure it once had ???  ..... now theres a joke  ::)
Just cos someone doesn't appreciate the humour of one of your alter egos, don't go taking the hump
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 11:04:44 PM
Ok, I'm dealing with an idiot.

I'll just reply to your last sentence. I'd love to claim responsibility for A4SA but, unfortunately, I can't. I do believe it's an alter-ego but don't know whose.
Post by: ardal on April 26, 2007, 11:20:55 PM
Armagh4Samagain, is basically Benny from crossroads or Mylie from Glenroe. Even as someones alter-ego, he usually makes me laugh. Remember his journalistic advice?
Post by: Sky Blue on April 27, 2007, 07:37:12 AM
I've only just seen this. Great stuff! :D :D :D

Pint og Guinness & Blast 05 - if you don't find it funny; don't laugh. Simple really.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on April 27, 2007, 08:23:20 AM
This thread was brought to you by The Ministry of Laughter, (c) 1948.
Post by: blast05 on April 27, 2007, 09:15:25 AM
QuoteOk, I'm dealing with an idiot

We've been years on this board and others under 1 guise or another and i think its fair to say  neither of us fall under that category so row back a bit.
Fair enough i don't find it funny cos i fail to see where the joke is (is that what makes me an idiot  ??? ) - but after my initial comment all i have been doing since is looking for an explanation - i presume people are not simply laughing at the txt speak
Wouldn't it be easier to explain the joke to me.
Anyway, enough on this thread from me.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 27, 2007, 10:06:52 AM
Today is the feastday of St Zita who was a virgin and miricle worker. She worked as a sevant in Italy and is the partren st of servants.  She worked very hard at her job all her life and went to mass every day and was very good to the poor people. The Pope made her a st long after she died.

I got a siging of line yesterday and im going to work on MOnday so I will not be ablre to keep this up to date. Can othees up date it please?
Post by: Silky on April 27, 2007, 10:26:54 AM
This is actually very informative. Thank you Armagh4Sam. Gald to hear yiour fit for work again.

Here's more on St Zita:

ST ZITA, VIRGIN
Feast: April 27
She was born in the beginning of the thirteenth century at Montsegradi, a village near Lucca in Italy. She was brought up with the greatest care, in the fear of God, by her poor virtuous mother, whose early and constant attention to inspire the tender heart of her daughter with religious sentiments seemed to find no obstacles, either from private passions or the general corruption of nature, so easily were they prevented or overcome. Zita had no sooner attained the use of reason, and was capable of knowing and loving God, than her heart was no longer able to relish any other object, and she seemed never to lose sight of him in her actions. Her mother reduced all her instructions to two short heads, and never had occasion to use any further remonstrance to enforce her lessons than to say, "This is most pleasing to God; this is the divine will"; or, "That would displease God."
The sweetness and modesty of the young child charmed everyone who saw her. She spoke little, and was most assiduous at her work; but her business never seemed to interrupt her prayers. At twelve years of age she was put to service in the family of a citizen of Lucca, called Fatinelli, whose house was contiguous to the church of St. Frigidian. She was thoroughly persuaded that labour is enjoined all men as a punishment of sin, and as a remedy for the spiritual disorders of their souls; and far from ever harbouring in her breast the least uneasiness, or expressing any sort of complaint under contradictions, poverty, and hardships, and still more from ever entertaining the least idle, inordinate, or worldly desire, she blessed God for placing her in a station in which she was supplied with the most effectual means to promote her sanctification, by the necessity of employing herself in penitential labour, and of living in a perpetual conformity and submission of her will to others. She was also very sensible of the advantages of her state, which afforded all necessaries of life, without engaging her in the anxious cares and violent passions by which worldly persons, who enjoy most plentifully the goods of fortune, are often disturbed; whereby their souls resemble a troubled sea, always agitated by impetuous storms, without knowing the sweetness of a true calm. She considered her work as an employment assigned her by God, and as part of her penance; and obeyed her master and mistress in all things as being placed over her by God. She always rose several hours before the rest of the family and employed in prayer a considerable part of the time which others gave to sleep. She took care to hear mass every morning with great devotion before she was called upon by the duties of her station, in which she employed the whole day with such diligence and fidelity that she seemed to be carried to them on wings, and studied when possible to anticipate them.
Notwithstanding her extreme attention to her exterior employments, she acquired a wonderful facility of joining with them almost continual mental prayer and of keeping her soul constantly attentive to the divine presence. Who would not imagine that such a person should have been esteemed and beloved by all who knew her?
Nevertheless, by the appointment of divine providence, for her great spiritual advantage, it fell out quite otherwise and for several years she suffered the harshest trials. Her modesty was called by her fellow-servants simplicity, and want of spirit and sense; and her diligence was judged to have no other spring than affectation and secret pride. Her mistress was a long time extremely prepossessed against her, and her passionate master could not bear her in his sight without transports of rage.
It is not to be conceived how much the saint had continually to suffer in this situation. So unjustly despised, overburdened, reviled, and often beaten, she never repined nor lost her patience; but always preserved the same sweetness in her countenance, and the same meekness and charity in her heart and words, and abated nothing of her application to her duties. A virtue so constant and so admirable at length overcame jealousy, antipathy, prepossession, and malice.
Her master and mistress discovered the treasure which their family possessed in the fidelity and example of the humble saint, and the other servants gave due praise to her virtue. Zita feared this prosperity more than adversity, and trembled lest it should be a snare to her soul. But sincere humility preserved her from its dangers; and her behaviour, amidst the caresses and respect shown her, continued the same as when she was ill-treated and held in derision; she was no less affable, meek, and modest; no less devout, nor less diligent or ready to serve everyone. Being made housekeeper, and seeing her master and mistress commit to her with an entire confidence the government of their family and management of all their affairs, she was most scrupulously careful in point of economy, remembering that she was to give to God an account of the least farthing of what was intrusted as a depositum in her .hands; and, though head-servant, she never allowed herself the least privilege or exemption in her work on that account.
She used often to say to others that devotion is false if slothful. Hearing a man-servant speak one immodest word, she was filled with horror, and procured him to be immediately discharged from the family. With David, she desired to see it composed only of such whose approved piety might draw down a benediction of God upon the whole house and be a security to the master for their fidelity and good example. She kept fast the whole year, and often on bread and water; and took her rest on the bare floor or on a board. Whenever business allowed her a little leisure, she spent it in holy prayer and contemplation in a little retired room in the garret; and at her work repeated frequently ardent ejaculations of divine love, with which her soul appeared always inflamed. She respected her fellow-servants as her superiors. If she was sent on commissions a mile or two in the greatest storms, she set out without delay, executed them punctually, and returned often almost drowned, without showing any sign of reluctance or murmuring.
By her virtue she gained so great an ascendant over her master that a single word would often suffice to check the greatest transports of his rage; and she would sometimes cast herself at his feet to appease him in favour of others. She never kept anything for herself but the poor garments which she wore: everything else she gave to the poor. Her master, seeing his goods multiply, as it were, in her hands, gave her ample leave to bestow liberal alms on the poor, which she made use of with discretion, but was scrupulous to do nothing without his express authority. If she heard others spoken ill of, she zealously took upon her their defence and excused their faults.
Always when she communicated, and often when she heard mass, and on other occasions, she melted in sweet tears of divine love: she was often favoured with ecstasies during her prayers. In her last sickness she clearly foretold her death, and having prepared herself for her passage by receiving the last sacraments, and by ardent signs of love, she happily expired on the 27th of April, in 1272, being sixty years old: one hundred and fifty miracles wrought in the behalf of such as had recourse to her intercession have been juridically proved. Her body was found entire in 1580 and is kept with great respect in St. Frigidian's church, richly enshrined; her face and hands are exposed naked to view through a crystal glass. Pope Leo X granted an office in her honour. The city of Lucca pays a singular veneration to her memory.
The solemn decree of her beatification was published by Innocent XII in 1696, with the confirmation of her immemorial veneration. See her life, compiled by a contemporary writer, and published by Papebroke, the Bollandist, on the 27th of April, p. 497, and Benedict XIV De Canoniz. lib. ii. c. 24, p. 245.

Post by: full back on April 27, 2007, 10:35:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 27, 2007, 10:06:52 AM
I got a siging of line yesterday and im going to work on MOnday so I will not be ablre to keep this up to date. Can othees up date it please?

Does this mean you are leaving us A4SA?
Post by: Bogball XV on April 27, 2007, 10:53:02 AM
How come all these feckin saints are italians??  Seems like bias to me.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 27, 2007, 10:54:39 AM
Quote from: full back on April 27, 2007, 10:35:46 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 27, 2007, 10:06:52 AM

Does this mean you are leaving us A4SA?

No but I cant use the computer during the day anymore from Monday
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 12:18:57 PM
Today is the Feast of St Vitalis another Italian who lived in Milan. He wasn't a virgin because he had a wife who was also a st, called St Valerie. The Italians are very holy so they are.  He was another marter who was kilt by pagans because he was a catholic. They put him on a big rack and burnt him alive!! Bastards!
Remember his sacafise today on his feast day and pray for the happy repose of his sole.
Post by: Lecale2 on April 28, 2007, 12:37:13 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 12:18:57 PM
They put him on a big rack and burnt him alive!! Bastards!
Remember his sacafise today on his feast day and pray for the happy repose of his sole.
Remember him today when you're having your BBQ!
Post by: down22 on April 28, 2007, 12:38:55 PM
Priceless. Keep up the good work!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 12:56:26 PM
Thats bad crack Lecale! youl get no luck sayin things like that about sts.
Be careful when your liting your BBQ u mite get burnt! How woud u like that??? It woud be St Vitalis gettin back at u & woud stop u slaggin the Sts anyway!
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2007, 01:00:11 PM
200 idiotic posts and 18 topics started, must be some sort of record.

And people complained about tony!
Post by: Lecale2 on April 28, 2007, 01:22:00 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 12:56:26 PM
Thats bad crack Lecale! youl get no luck sayin things like that about sts.
Be careful when your liting your BBQ u mite get burnt! How woud u like that??? It woud be St Vitalis gettin back at u & woud stop u slaggin the Sts anyway!

Am I being threatened? Admin!!
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 07:38:03 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on April 28, 2007, 01:22:00 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 12:56:26 PM
Am I being threatened? Admin!!

No ur not. Just sayin that it coud be unlucky.

Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 07:40:53 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2007, 01:00:11 PM

How many ppl remember any of ur 733 post Pints of Guinness. Most of ur posts r compalin about other posts. Ur a v angry man Pints of Guiness. Get yourself a girlfriend and take ur anger out on her.
Im goin  to start a pole to c who posters want to evict u or me.
Post by: Sky Blue on April 28, 2007, 08:34:21 PM
Leave the poor girlfriend out of it Armagh4Sam Again. But Pints of Guinness must be the most boring c**t on the board.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 28, 2007, 08:53:17 PM
A4SA, get a dictionary...
Post by: ITOB on April 28, 2007, 11:53:03 PM
The best laugh I've had since God (superman) knows when.

Like Blast, Lecale, O' Neil, POG etc I am not sure where the humour lies. 
Part of it is that some contributors have such strong opinions (beliefs, and fair play to them) on things they cannot be sure about and feel they must apostilise every one else.  Can't help wondering if they also really belive in that carnation and wafer stuff as well?  Not saying there isn't a God but I grew out of that long ago, soon after I someone tipped me the wink about the Santa ruse.

Keep her lit.
Post by: Guillem2 on April 29, 2007, 10:55:29 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 28, 2007, 07:40:53 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2007, 01:00:11 PM

How many ppl remember any of ur 733 post Pints of Guinness. Most of ur posts r compalin about other posts. Ur a v angry man Pints of Guiness. Get yourself a girlfriend and take ur anger out on her.
Im goin  to start a pole to c who posters want to evict u or me.

What happened to the poll started last night by Judge Kearns on wheather Armagh4SamAgain or Pints of Guinness should be evicted from the Board? Posters were voting 2 to 1 in favour of Pints getting the boot. Now the thread has disappeared.  ???
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 29, 2007, 01:32:28 PM
Today is the feastday of St Catherine of Siena another holy Italian. Shes the patron st of Fire prevention! Thats a good important one to be patron st of . She was very holy and had visions and died when she was 33 just like our Lord.

This is the last one of these I can do cause im back to work tomorrow. Can sum other posters keep it up to date??

"Guillem2 -What happened to the poll started last night by Judge Kearns on wheather Armagh4SamAgain or Pints of Guinness should be evicted from the Board? Posters were voting 2 to 1 in favour of Pints getting the boot. Now the thread has disappeared."

I reckon Pints of Guinness complaint to Admin and got it removed. He was scared I was beating him in the vote.

Post by: Lecale2 on April 29, 2007, 01:38:26 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 29, 2007, 01:32:28 PM
Today is the feastday of St Catherine of Siena another holy Italian. Shes the patron st of Fire prevention! Thats a good important one to be patron st of .

Where was she when poor St Vitalis was being burned alive by the Pagans?
Post by: Hardy on April 29, 2007, 07:34:37 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on April 29, 2007, 01:38:26 PM
Where was she when poor St Vitalis was being burned alive by the Pagans?

:D :D
Post by: Blacksheep on April 29, 2007, 07:35:31 PM
Very good Lecale!! Watch for the bad luck. Is there anybody prepared to keep this running when A4SA goes back to work?
Post by: Silky on April 30, 2007, 07:58:59 AM
St. Cynwl
Feastday: April 30
6th century
Patron Saint of Blacksheep

A hermit, the brother of St. Deinoil, noted for his austere life in southern Wales. Several churches in the region were dedicated to Cynwl.
Post by: Hardy on April 30, 2007, 09:21:17 AM
If it's an austere life you're after, southern Wales is the place all right.

(Any hints on how to pronounce his name? I tried saying it out loud here and it sounded like yer man in The Odd Couple clearing his sinuses.)
Post by: Guillem2 on April 30, 2007, 09:31:44 AM
Quote from: Silky on April 30, 2007, 07:58:59 AM
St. Cynwl
Feastday: April 30
6th century
Patron Saint of Blacksheep

A hermit, the brother of St. Deinoil, noted for his austere life in southern Wales. Several churches in the region were dedicated to Cynwl.

At least he's not another f**king Italian! Wales; the land of saints and sheep.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on May 06, 2007, 12:04:13 PM
St. Petronax was a Abbot, (main monk) in Monte Cassino in Italy. Hes the patron st of gamblers because of that.  Be was a Benedictines monk and a freind of pope Gregory. He wasnt kilt or nothing but was very holy and built a big monestry beside the Monte cassino. He was made a st after he died.
Post by: Bacon on May 07, 2007, 09:49:43 AM
Is it going to be a saint for the weekend Armagh4Sam rather than one for every day, now that you're back at work?  :D
Post by: Colonel Cool on May 13, 2007, 11:55:28 PM
Nothing this weekend Armagh4Sam? I must say I look forward to your contributions.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 27, 2007, 09:30:55 AM
Tell us a bit more about her Drici!
Post by: full back on July 27, 2007, 12:53:20 PM
Does anyone on the board actually know him?
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on July 27, 2007, 12:58:10 PM
I met him a few times. He went on a bus run with us once. He was at BIFHE for a while and was staying in Belfast a lot. Civil enough lad, certainly not the legend some posters on here make him out to be.
Post by: full back on July 27, 2007, 01:12:38 PM
Legend or no legend, some of his posts were funny as fcuk
Post by: southdown on July 27, 2007, 03:02:02 PM
Feast of Saint Tibulus

Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 20, 2007, 09:49:57 AM
I wanted to post on this to remind posteres what christmas is really all about.

A loads of people think taht christmas day is the feast of St Nicolas but its not.

His Feast Day is really the 6th December! He lived long ago in a place called Asia minor that isnt there anymore. He was called a sheppard but he wasnt really a sheppard. It was what they called him becasue Jesus said he was the Good Sheppard. He was really a bishop.

He used to give gold away and thats why he is remeembered at Christmas time when we give presents. He is well liked in Russia and is there parton St.

Its important not to think to much about St Nicolas at Christmas! Its really Jesus Birthday.

Im sorry i missed his feast date i was at work
Post by: 5 Sams on December 20, 2007, 10:07:13 AM
What can you tell us about St Stephen A4S??? Was he a boxer?? ;)
Post by: feetofflames on March 12, 2008, 06:03:38 PM
14th march coming up folks. 
Post by: Silky on March 12, 2008, 08:01:29 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on March 12, 2008, 06:03:38 PM
14th march coming up folks. 

I know I will regret this but do you not mean the 17th?

QuoteHe lived long ago in a place called Asia minor that isnt there anymore.

This was one funny thread. Bring back A4SA!
Post by: feetofflames on March 13, 2008, 09:03:25 AM
No
Post by: Billys Boots on March 13, 2008, 09:30:26 AM
Quote14th march

The Ides?
Post by: Rick O Shea on March 13, 2008, 09:37:58 AM
I think he's referring to this:

http://www.steakandablowjobday.com/ (http://www.steakandablowjobday.com/)
Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 12:28:00 AM
30th Sept - our ex-BBC friend

St. Jerome
Doctor of the Church
Feastday: September 30
Patron of Librarians
b.331 d.420

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 01, 2009, 01:00:52 AM
Holy Mother of Jesus, I was a bit constipated earlier and drank a load of orange juice and a laxative, fck sake the second I read this my bowls started to move, I literally had to run to the jacks before I shit myself, this is beyond funny, have read the entire thread so far & had to go to the jacks 4 times, best cure for upset bowls ever, thanks lads  :D
Post by: Lecale2 on October 01, 2009, 02:58:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 01, 2009, 12:28:00 AM
30th Sept - our ex-BBC friend

St. Jerome
Doctor of the Church
Feastday: September 30
Patron of Librarians
b.331 d.420

Have you been in contact with St Jerome, O'Neill. How's he getting on?
Post by: Aerlik on October 01, 2009, 03:15:39 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 13, 2008, 09:30:26 AM
Quote14th march

The Ides?

Weren't the ides of March on the 15th.?
Post by: Donagh on October 22, 2009, 10:29:09 PM
Today (October 22) is the feast of St Donagh. Irish teacher, poet and Bishop of Fiesole.
Post by: ONeill on October 22, 2009, 10:45:36 PM
Apparently he was a tout.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 22, 2009, 11:05:23 PM
Some laugh this thread. Can't make my mind up if A4SA is actually alan partridge or is totally serious - either way this is great stuff. Is this boyo still at large on the board?

Patron saint of fire prevention? The must have been running out of things to make saints patrons on. :D
Post by: Donagh on November 15, 2009, 11:44:44 PM
Today is St Fintan of Rheinau. Not to be confused with any of the other 54 Irish St Fintans, this one was kidnapped by Vikings and jumped overboard somewhere near the Orkneys.