GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 09:03:54 AM

Title: Kildare v Cork July 25th Semple Stadium 7pm
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 09:03:54 AM
This will probably be played in Thurles, not a happy venue apart from a league win over Tipp a few years ago and the Trip to Tipp in 90 and 91, our knock-out record here is not great. Kerry beat us in the qualifiers in 2002 with a Brosnan wonder goal the highlight, Kerry beat us in u21 AI final in 2008, Tommy Walsh being the destroyer and last year in the minor AI quarter final beaten again by Kerry. Jesus hopefully the game will be against Cork.

The reward if Kildare win a quarter-final away to Dublin or a quarter-final at a neutral venue against Cork/Kerry. Sure if you're not in the game you can't win.
Title: Re: Kildare v Cork/Kerry July 25th Venue TBC
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 09:06:53 AM
Said Brosnan goal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iavcYB89AQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iavcYB89AQ)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 09:09:12 AM
Kildare never play well against coastal counties.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 13, 2015, 11:56:13 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 09:06:53 AM
Said Brosnan goal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iavcYB89AQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iavcYB89AQ)

I remember hearing about a bunch of Kerry lads from Killarney who made a mint backing Brosnan as any-time goal scorer during his forward years with Kerry with the bookies. Seems like it took an age for the bookies to twig what a goal threat he was.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 09:09:12 AM
Kildare never play well against coastal counties.

Pity there is such a high number of coastal counties in Ireland.

Kildare will be up against it in the game - I don't think the 6 day turn around will help all that much but I do think Kildare would have a better chance with Cork.
Post by: County Man on July 13, 2015, 12:11:59 PM
I expect either Cork/Kerry to win this one.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2015, 12:13:38 PM
Quote from: County Man on July 13, 2015, 12:11:59 PM
I expect either Cork/Kerry to win this one.

No way!
Post by: County Man on July 13, 2015, 12:15:51 PM
Will be Cork v Kildare. Thurles. Cork have too many good footballers to slip up against Kildare.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2015, 01:26:14 PM
Happy with that draw. The odds are it'll be the end of the line but I think Kildare will give a much better account of themselves then they did in the Dublin game.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2015, 01:51:38 AM
If we assume Dublin will win their AI quarter, then Kildare's next three games are Cork, Kerry, Dublin or Kerry, Cork, Dublin.
I'm fine with that but worried three tricky games might take it out of us ahead of the final.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2015, 04:33:44 AM
Acutally I'm wrong, amn't I, in that the Munster champions are on the same side as the Ulster champions?

Making our likely path to Sam Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Dublin.

Perfect.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2015, 09:35:38 AM
Up Leinster.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2015, 11:25:47 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2015, 04:33:44 AM
Acutally I'm wrong, amn't I, in that the Munster champions are on the same side as the Ulster champions?

Making our likely path to Sam Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Dublin.

Perfect.

I'd be worried about complacency when we get to the final. Would be like 98 when we knocked Dublin(95), Meath (96) and Kerry (97) out in a row. 
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2015, 12:04:59 PM
Who do we play in the Goal Challenge?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2015, 12:19:57 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2015, 12:04:59 PM

Our minors, probably the 2nd best team in Ireland.
Post by: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 12:21:54 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2015, 01:51:38 AM
If we assume Dublin will win their AI quarter, then Kildare's next three games are Cork, Kerry, Dublin or Kerry, Cork, Dublin.
I'm fine with that but worried three tricky games might take it out of us ahead of the final.

I thought Dublin's 1/4 final is vs the winner of Kildare/Munster runner up?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2015, 12:30:00 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 12:21:54 PM

If Fermanagh and Kildare both win it will be Fermanagh as they want to avoid match-ups where teams have played previously, Kildare/Westmeath it will be Kildare playing Dublin, MRU/Westmeath it will be MRU, MRU/Fermangh it will be MRU.

Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2015, 01:32:19 PM
One thing's for sure, Kildare won't fear MRU.
Post by: joemamas on July 14, 2015, 01:59:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2015, 01:32:19 PM
One thing's for sure, Kildare won't fear MRU.

They have better forwards alright.
Post by: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 03:30:10 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2015, 12:30:00 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 14, 2015, 12:21:54 PM

If Fermanagh and Kildare both win it will be Fermanagh as they want to avoid match-ups where teams have played previously, Kildare/Westmeath it will be Kildare playing Dublin, MRU/Westmeath it will be MRU, MRU/Fermangh it will be MRU.

Just when I thought I had the A/B qualifier system understood, I'm back to knowing nothing.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2015, 07:39:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2015, 12:19:57 PM

Our minors, probably the 2nd best team in Ireland.

(http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/robotwars/images/e/ec/Series_2-4_Logo.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20110917192712)
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 15, 2015, 02:12:16 AM
Let's say we win on Saturday week - a 4A winner must play Dublin or the Munster winners and because we've already played Dublin, I thought we'd have to play the Munster champions?

It'll reach the point where you'll need to study qualifier draws in college to speak with any authority...
Post by: Hardy on July 15, 2015, 10:31:55 AM

I know where you can borrow a bus for the homecoming.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2015, 10:57:31 AM
It'll cost them €50k - none of that mane oul Meath borrowing lark  >:(
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2015, 11:15:45 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 15, 2015, 02:12:16 AM
Let's say we win on Saturday week - a 4A winner must play Dublin or the Munster winners and because we've already played Dublin, I thought we'd have to play the Munster champions?

It'll reach the point where you'll need to study qualifier draws in college to speak with any authority...

Not if Westmeath beat Fermanagh as a repeat of a provincial final can't happen. Repeat pairings come into play next.

So if Westmeath & Kildare win, Kildare will play Dublin.
If Fermanagh & Kildare win, Kildare will play the Munster champions.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2015, 04:49:25 PM
We have a ref...

....Marty Duffy......

....what did we ever do apart from a throw a bit of money around at Micko....poach the odd player...and give the world Ray D'Arcy....to deserve this....?
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2015, 05:03:14 PM
Would ye prefer Cormack Reilly?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 15, 2015, 05:12:58 PM
Well couldn`t see cork wanting Padraig Hughes lol
Post by: johnpower on July 15, 2015, 10:44:38 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2015, 04:49:25 PM
We have a ref...

....Marty Duffy......

....what did we ever do apart from a throw a bit of money around at Micko....poach the odd player...and give the world Ray D'Arcy....to deserve this....?

The Ray D'Arcy gift was most unwelcome
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2015, 11:16:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2015, 05:03:14 PM
Would ye prefer Cormack Reilly?

That comment was totally on target.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 16, 2015, 12:17:08 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2015, 11:15:45 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 15, 2015, 02:12:16 AM

Not if Westmeath beat Fermanagh as a repeat of a provincial final can't happen. Repeat pairings come into play next.

So if Westmeath & Kildare win, Kildare will play Dublin.
If Fermanagh & Kildare win, Kildare will play the Munster champions.

Ah of course, cheers.
Post by: Flutehook on July 16, 2015, 10:31:21 PM

Seamus bleedin' Aldridge......
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2015, 08:20:44 AM
Quote from: Flutehook on July 16, 2015, 10:31:21 PM

Seamus bleedin' Aldridge......

Good Towers man, I assume you mean this, a great GAA iconic moment...

(http://www.independent.ie/migration_catalog/Non-Staff/article25330458.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/%20PADDY%20CULLEN)
Post by: Nihilist on July 17, 2015, 02:01:33 PM
Was there ever any reason put forward why this game had to be a neutral venue.
I don't think any of the other ones are neutral but may be wrong.
Post by: Nihilist on July 17, 2015, 02:03:49 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on July 17, 2015, 02:01:33 PM

My mistake - other one is in Cavan. OK so I assume this means that all
losers of provincial finals will be playing in a neutral venue.
Post by: Syferus on July 17, 2015, 02:13:47 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on July 17, 2015, 02:03:49 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on July 17, 2015, 02:01:33 PM

My mistake - other one is in Cavan. OK so I assume this means that all
losers of provincial finals will be playing in a neutral venue.

Unless you're Dublin. We played them in Round 4 in Croker in 2004.
Title: Re: Kildare v Cork July 25th Venue TBC
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2015, 08:44:55 PM
I'd give us a chance, a small one but a chance none the less.

6 day turnaround is hard. Cork put a lot of emotional energy into those two games.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2015, 08:46:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2015, 08:44:55 PM
6 day turnaround is hard.

Are we playing on Friday?!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2015, 09:43:37 PM
Wouldn't be a bad idea.Portlaoise 8pm. Cork's 13 supporters wouldn't mind I'm sure.

But yes 7 day turnaround.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2015, 02:39:13 AM
Reading People's Republic of Cork there and posters are very dismissive of Kildare. Almost to the level where they're more dismissive of Kildare than Kildare people.

How very dare they.
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2015, 02:49:51 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2015, 02:39:13 AM
Reading People's Republic of Cork there and posters are very dismissive of Kildare. Almost to the level where they're more dismissive of Kildare than Kildare people.

How very dare they.

The county almost as bad at defending as us have some neck on them. To be fair when you don't go to any game it's easy to assume you have a really good team.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2015, 08:34:07 AM
Sickening arrogance.
Post by: Jinxy on July 20, 2015, 08:54:43 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2015, 02:39:13 AM

How very dare they.

Jason Ryan should pin this to the dressing room wall.
"Nobody, but nobody, gets to dismiss us more than our own fans!"
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2015, 09:10:10 AM
Yep they've done it now. They'll rue their arrogance when we get within 10 points of them.

Any word yet on where Kildare fans should point the 4x4s?
Post by: Jinxy on July 20, 2015, 09:32:00 AM
If the typical cork support shows up for this I doubt parking will be much of an issue.

(http://www.mariachielmexicano.com/pictures/mariachi_mexico.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2015, 12:00:00 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2015, 09:10:10 AM
Yep they've done it now. They'll rue their arrogance when we get within 10 points of them.

Any word yet on where Kildare fans should point the 4x4s?

Cork the Meath of the South.

Sure it's only the 7 days since the draw was made, hard thing having two venues on standby..
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2015, 12:15:19 PM
It doesn't matter to us where they play it. Our convoy will climb every mountain and ford every stream.

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_Qp7Z2FgHT7k/RgZDgcLsozI/AAAAAAAAALI/WEW0AN45p4k/s1600/DSC00156.JPG)
Title: Re: Kildare v Cork July 25th Semple Stadium 7pm
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2015, 12:31:07 AM
The Cork bordies are quiet.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2015, 09:14:57 PM
Brian Hurley dropped to the bench not surprising with his recent championship displays.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 09:43:14 PM
Cadogan to start at midfield with a dodgy hamstring injury while Maguire whose back is supposed to be crocked is  on the bench  ??? ???

Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2015, 02:49:35 AM
I know Hurley didn't score against Kerry but he's exactly the type of direct, strong runner our defence hates. Big relief to see him dropped.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 24, 2015, 10:47:28 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 24, 2015, 02:49:35 AM
I know Hurley didn't score against Kerry but he's exactly the type of direct, strong runner our defence hates. Big relief to see him dropped.

A lot easier for the Kildare defence to hold O'Neill and O'Connor when they don't have him to be worrying about. The other 4 forwards in the Cork attack don't pose anything like the threat these 2 do. Can't help but wonder if Cork are going too defensive.

Bit of a harsh call on him I think - basically he's being blamed for 1)the utter rank quality ball Cork were supplying to their forwards - he was having to come way out the field to get on ball and 2) Enright having 2 very good performances against him (you'd imagine that at the moment Enright would be the strong favourite among the Kerry backs to pick up an All-Star) It's one thing to be kept scoreless playing against a bad defender; a very different story when it's a defender turning in excellent performances.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 01:48:41 AM
Yeah agree with all that twohands and from a Kildare point of view, it solves a match-up problem. Ollie Lyons is the only Kildare back who is anywhere near approaching a top-class man-marker, and with him likely picking up O'Neill, it would have left an inexperienced defender like Fitzpatrick or O'Grady to take Hurley. I don't think either of them would have been able for it, or at least wouldn't have done as good a job as Enright.

A small problem solved for us by Brian Cuthbert and an opportunity to get Hurley back in form for the Dublin match missed.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 02:53:19 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 01:48:41 AM
Yeah agree with all that twohands and from a Kildare point of view, it solves a match-up problem. Ollie Lyons is the only Kildare back who is anywhere near approaching a top-class man-marker, and with him likely picking up O'Neill, it would have left an inexperienced defender like Fitzpatrick or O'Grady to take Hurley. I don't think either of them would have been able for it, or at least wouldn't have done as good a job as Enright.

A small problem solved for us by Brian Cuthbert and an opportunity to get Hurley back in form for the Dublin match missed.

Ah c'mon. Kildare have to fancy a Cuthbert-managed Cork team on a 7 day turnaround. And if Cork win they aren't getting within an arse's roar of Dublin regardless. I was at the league final between the two and the gulf between them was too stark to be bridged in the space of three or four months.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 10:10:46 AM
Nah the two teams operate on different levels these days Syferus. I'd say there'll be about 10 points in it.

Also agree Dublin will beat Cork reasonably comfortably.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 25, 2015, 11:31:13 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 09:43:14 PM
Cadogan to start at midfield with a dodgy hamstring injury while Maguire whose back is supposed to be crocked is  on the bench  ??? ???

Save the bold Cadogan for the Dubs no ??
Post by: Dire Ear on July 25, 2015, 12:29:05 PM
Cork by 6-7 points
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 12:50:47 PM
Not sure I'd agree Cork will win this handy. These are two teams I expected to be better over recent years and just when you start to believe in them they let you down. Neither appear to be happy camps and both sets of players apparently don't believe in their managements. Talent-wise Kildare are a close enough to Cork and with Cork having to pick themselves up after the disappointment of last week I expect it to be close.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 25, 2015, 01:57:22 PM
I don't Know. Cork would have beaten Kerry only for a Vincent de Paul Penalty. I think to much emphasis has been put on Corks loss  in the League final to Dublin. Mayo were hammered in the League by 2-18 to 0-10. They are there or there about's to ruffle a feather of one of the Provincial winners. They ran Mayo to the pin of their collar last year in the QF. They held on to Div One status easily. Kildare I'm afraid have been floating through this championship.  A replay to beat Laois who lost to Antrim at home. A Good win v Longford and a narrow win v Offaly. It's hard to see anything other than a modest Cork win.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 02:08:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 25, 2015, 01:57:22 PM
I don't Know. Cork would have beaten Kerry only for a Vincent de Paul Penalty. I think to much emphasis has been put on Corks loss  in the League final to Dublin. Mayo were hammered in the League by 2-18 to 0-10. They are there or there about's to ruffle a feather of one of the Provincial winners. They ran Mayo to the pin of their collar last year in the QF. They held on to Div One status easily. Kildare I'm afraid have been floating through this championship.  A replay to beat Laois who lost to Antrim at home. A Good win v Longford and a narrow win v Offaly. It's hard to see anything other than a modest Cork win.

I just don't think the brains are on the sideline in Cork. Whatever faults Holmes and Connelly have they're a damn sight better than Cuthbert, who is essential Counihan Mark 2, much to relief of Kerry and every other big team.

Cork aren't able to bring bodies back and close up on a team like Dublin, whereas Mayo have beaten and matched Dublin when it's mattered. I'm not even saying I think Mayo will beat Dublin but they'd have a better shot than Cork would/will.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 02:37:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 25, 2015, 01:57:22 PM

While all that's true form lines in GAA are less than reliable. It could be also argued that Cork's performance in the drawn game is being emphasised too much also. Kerry didn't start a lot of big names and had Moran black carded at a crucial time so the result might appear better than it really is. These are two fairly talented but utterly unpredictable teams so I wouldn't be overly surprised by any result. Cork are probably the safer bet but a Kildare win wouldn't be a shock IMO.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 03:12:01 PM
Cork are a top six side when is the last time Cork was beaten in the championship by a non top six side? A win for Kildare tonight will be a shock.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2015, 03:25:22 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 25, 2015, 11:31:13 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 09:43:14 PM

Save the bold Cadogan for the Dubs no ??

I don't know - very odd to name a lad who wasn't even fit to mark Donaghy last Saturday (where he wouldnt have exactly been covering a huge amount of ground) at midfield this Saturday.

I had heard Maguire was out for the season with his back - so seems fairly risky to have him back on the bench.

I saw some figures on what Cork have conceded against Division 1 teams throughout Cuthbert's reign in charge and it was very ugly reading - the only games in which they managed to keep the Division 1 teams score anyway down, Cork's attacking return dropped significantly.

I would expect Cork to win in a very unconvincing manner and Dublin to repeat the league semi-final and blow them out of it the next day.

Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2015, 03:36:54 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 03:12:01 PM
Cork are a top six side when is the last time Cork was beaten in the championship by a non top six side? A win for Kildare tonight will be a shock.

The list of teams Cork have beaten in the championship since the All-Ireland win in 2010

2015   Clare   
2014   Sligo   
2014   Tipperary   
2013   Limerick   
2013   Clare   
2013   Galway (by a point)
2012   Kerry (by 5 points)
2012   Clare   
2012   Kildare   
2011   Clare    
2011   Waterford   
2011   Down   

Bar the one win against Kerry in 2012, that's fairly unimpressive stuff especially when you consider they had an All-Ireland win in 2010 to build on.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 04:11:22 PM
List of sides they've lost to in same period: Mayo, Donegal, Dublin, Kerry.

Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2015, 04:25:10 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 04:11:22 PM

Really look like a side who're not currently capable of challenging the serious contenders, but are comfortable enough against the sides ranked below them.

It will be very interesting stuff if Cuthbert looks to stay on, given his term is up - any Cork football people I've talked to have been absolute death on him.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 04:27:21 PM

I would say Kildare and Cork are in that fairly large group of counties who aren't good enough to win the All Ireland but could beat most anyone else on a given day. As twohands has shown Cork have beaten nobody of note, especially in the Cuthbert era, which is all that counts. Ohtoohtobe points out they've only been beaten by top teams but that's partly due to being in Munster where they are almost guaranteed to meet a top team after a max of one game outside of the provincials.

Cork are certainly the safer bet but they are definitely a team that can be beaten by a focused Kildare, especially after the weekend. 
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2015, 04:34:27 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 04:27:21 PM

I would say Kildare and Cork are in that fairly large group of counties who aren't good enough to win the All Ireland but could beat most anyone else on a given day. As twohands has shown Cork have beaten nobody of note, especially in the Cuthbert era, which is all that counts. Ohtoohtobe points out they've only been beaten by top teams but that's partly due to being in Munster where they are almost guaranteed to meet a top team after a max of one game outside of the provincials.

Cork are certainly the safer bet but they are definitely a team that can be beaten by a focused Kildare, especially after the weekend.

Yeah if Kildare won I'd be shocked but I wouldnt be surprised if that makes any sense.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 04:46:28 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 04:11:22 PM
All top six sides. Cork won't win the All Ireland this year however they would still be ranked as a top six side and the only defeats the top six sides have suffered the last few years was to another top six side. A Kildare win tonight will be a shock.
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2015, 06:39:17 PM
It would indeed be a big shock if Kildare win.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 06:45:18 PM
Why? Kildare have been strong at underage recently and have been in or around Cork's level the past few years. On top of that Cork have just lost the only trophy they had a chance of winning and aren't a united camp. It would be a surprise alright and I wouldn't back Kildare but a shock? Not for me. Kildare are a county that have the players to be a top 10 team so beating a team ranked 6th or 7th in the country would not be a shock to me anyway.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 06:51:25 PM
Centre back Brian O'Driscoll out and being replaced by Conor Dorman.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:02:50 PM
Marty already making a balls of the game, that tackle on O'Driscoll by Bolton wasn't a free by any means.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:15:47 PM
Strange from Cork. If Brian O'Driscoll wasn't fit to start why bring him on after 10 minutes? If Kildare keep their heads in front of the posts this game is there for them.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:24:42 PM
Wides the order of the day so far.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2015, 07:28:00 PM
Alan O'Connor off injured. Loughrey black carded early. Has to be a chance for Kildare here if they want it.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:33:23 PM
Kildare playing some really good football now.
Post by: heffo on July 25, 2015, 07:35:15 PM
Cmon Kildare!
Post by: Blowitupref on July 25, 2015, 07:36:32 PM
Kildare well up for this game they are thriving with the underdog tag.
Post by: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:40:23 PM
Feel for the Cork footballers. Once they play their annual game v Kerry the fans don't wanna know.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 07:42:06 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:40:23 PM
Feel for the Cork footballers. Once they play their annual game v Kerry the fans don't wanna know.

Feel for them my arse. They don't have supporters, it's as simple as that. Cork could be the best team in Ireland and outnumbered at home by Fermanagh or Leitrim.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 07:44:10 PM
Kildare well worth that half time lead a shock is the on cards.
Post by: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:45:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 07:42:06 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:40:23 PM

Feel for them my arse. They don't have supporters, it's as simple as that. Cork could be the best team in Ireland and outnumbered at home by Fermanagh or Leitrim.
Hence my sympathy for the players. Though to be fair they don't deserve anything out of this game.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:48:07 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 07:44:10 PM

Only to you Captain Obvious ;) ;D

In all seriousness, this isn't a shock but with these two teams if the halftime score was reversed it wouldn't be a shock either. In terms of talent they are close enough but it terms of unpredictability they are equal and miles ahead of anyone else in the country.
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2015, 07:50:49 PM
Excellent first half by Kildare.
61% possession !!!!!
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 07:52:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 25, 2015, 07:50:49 PM
Excellent first half by Kildare.
61% possession !!!!!

Same as Fermanagh in the previous game, Kildare making it count.

Looking good to have called both games right buck.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 25, 2015, 07:52:43 PM
Jhc..... crap value with the season ticket so far. Hard to get excited about a kildare 1/4. Hopefully the draw gives us fermanagh.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 07:55:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:48:07 PM

In all seriousness, this isn't a shock but with these two teams if the halftime score was reversed it wouldn't be a shock either. In terms of talent they are close enough but it terms of unpredictability they are equal and miles ahead of anyone else in the country.

Kildare on top and letting a six point lead slip would be a shock now.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 07:56:49 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 25, 2015, 07:52:43 PM
Jhc..... crap value with the season ticket so far. Hard to get excited about a kildare 1/4. Hopefully the draw gives us fermanagh.

You can only play Fermaangh if Kildare win, sadly for everyone else. Fermanagh-Kerry would be a good watch.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:02:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2015, 07:55:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 07:48:07 PM

Kildare on top and letting a six point lead slip would be a shock now.

I'd not rule that out either.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:03:37 PM
I would now........I think!
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:05:29 PM
"Marty Duffy has been really sharp today"

Said no one ever until just now.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:08:08 PM
So this leaves it

Kerry v Kildare
Dublin v Fermanagh
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:12:03 PM
Kildare capable of giving Kerry a rattle but won't beat them.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:14:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2015, 08:11:34 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:08:08 PM
So this leaves it

Kerry v Kildare
Dublin v Fermanagh
Why?

Well Fermagh won and Cork are beaten and as far as I'm aware is that they separate teams that played each where possible
Post by: charlieTully on July 25, 2015, 08:16:22 PM
What's a turd man tackle? Is that a new Mexican super hero.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:18:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2015, 08:17:18 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:14:54 PM
So this leaves it

Kerry v Kildare
Dublin v Fermanagh
Why?

Well Fermagh won and Cork are beaten and as far as I'm aware is that they separate teams that played each where possible
My understanding is that they only separate teams who met in provincial finals?? Kildare will play Dublin. Fermanagh will play Kerry?

They avoid repeat pairings if possible in AIQFs. He's right. If there were no possible repeat pairings there would have been a draw.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:19:18 PM
Cork are a shambles now and this is surely Cuthberts last year with Cork.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:20:27 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:19:18 PM
Cork are a shambles now and this is surely Cuthberts last year with Cork.

I know, what has happened, will Kildare be any trouble for the Kingdom?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:22:52 PM
Kevin O'Driscoll red card, Cork are falling apart spectacularly, almost a case of spontaneous combustion
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:23:32 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2015, 08:22:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:18:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2015, 08:17:18 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:14:54 PM
So this leaves it

Kerry v Kildare
Dublin v Fermanagh
Why?

My understanding is that they only separate teams who met in provincial finals?? Kildare will play Dublin. Fermanagh will play Kerry?

They avoid repeat pairings if possible in AIQFs. He's right. If there were no possible repeat pairings there would have been a draw.
That makes no sense.

When do the GAA ever make sense?
Post by: Canalman on July 25, 2015, 08:24:09 PM
Definitely Dublin v Fermanagh if GAA website is correct. *

Kerry v Kildare.

There will be blood on the ceilings in Cork over this result.

*Poorly worded and open to interperation.

Post by: An Watcher on July 25, 2015, 08:25:14 PM
What most teams in the country would give for half the cork players. One all Ireland is a poor return from them over the last few years. Maybe a new manager would sort them out as there's no doubt the quality is there
Post by: tintin25 on July 25, 2015, 08:26:31 PM
As far as I'm aware there will be a draw if Kildare win. It's only finalists who can't meet again. Fermanagh could play Kerry or Dublin, likewise Kildare the same.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:28:26 PM
Could Fermanagh cause Dublin problems? If they organize a blanket defence properly, Dublin never like a blanket defence- even Westmeaths makeshift blanket caused them problems
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 25, 2015, 08:31:01 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:28:26 PM
Could Fermanagh cause Dublin problems? If they organize a blanket defence properly, Dublin never like a blanket defence- even Westmeaths makeshift blanket caused them problems

We've only lost to the blanket defense once in championship football in recent years---and even then we scored enough on the day to win most matches.  I think this is a bit of a myth to be honest.
Post by: tintin25 on July 25, 2015, 08:31:13 PM
Lets be realistic, Dublim would walk through Fermanagh. Hopefully draw Kerry and give a decent account of ourselves. In bonus territory now!
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:32:06 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 25, 2015, 08:24:09 PM
Definitely Dublin v Fermanagh if GAA website is correct.

Kerry v Kildare.

You severely overestimate how much Cork cares. This is Junior B in importance compared to tomorrow. Therein lies why Cork 'underachieve'. The county doesn't care enough, the players don't care enough. This is their level, maybe not being hammered by Kildare but they are hardly much more of a force than Kildare.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 25, 2015, 08:35:55 PM
Id imagine Kevin McStay is creaming himself watching this game
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:39:34 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:28:26 PM

No is the simple answer.
Post by: Canalman on July 25, 2015, 08:39:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:32:06 PM

Kerry v Kildare.

You severely overestimate how much Cork cares. This is Junior B in importance compared to tomorrow. Therein lies why Cork 'underachieve'. The county doesn't care enough, the players don't care enough. This is their level, maybe not being hammered by Kildare but they are hardly much more of a force than Kildare.

Oh, I am aware  how Cork views its footballers. They care, maybe not enough to go out and follow the team. They oddly care alot more when the team have lost badly and strife is in the air.

Agree that Cork support for the hurlers is stratospheres above that of the footballers.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 25, 2015, 08:40:15 PM
I fear a Mayo ambush in the semis  :-\ :-\ :-\
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:42:19 PM

Kerry v Kildare.

That's not true. There'll be serious repercussions in Cork after this. The CB couldn't care less about football but many Cork folk do.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:54:52 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 08:42:19 PM

Kerry v Kildare.

That's not true. There'll be serious repercussions in Cork after this. The CB couldn't care less about football but many Cork folk do.

At club level sure. At county level it's lip service and any anger after this can be rightly labelled as bluster after the fact. I said from the beginning that it was mad giving Counihan's right-hand man the job but Cork weren't bothered. They also weren't bothered when big players decided to feck off to the hurling or retire when Cuthbert was chosen.

They can be as mad as they like, the rest of the country knows how deep Cork's passion for their county football team runs.

Tomas had it right.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 08:55:09 PM
I was only 18 points wrong with my prediction. Thought Ryan dwarfed Cubby tactically. Not bad for a buffoon, clown, donkey, all things I've seen him referred to this season. Has to get an extension.
Post by: charlieTully on July 25, 2015, 08:58:43 PM

Kerry v Kildare.

not that many judging by the attendance, cork were a disgrace tonight, the players didn't give a fcuk, that's possibly the poorest Kildare team for ten years or so.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 09:05:59 PM
Ryan is a better manager than most Kildare folk have given him credit for but if you want a 'big' team to face Cork are your man.
Post by: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 09:07:41 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 25, 2015, 08:58:43 PM

Kerry v Kildare.

not that many judging by the attendance, cork were a disgrace tonight, the players didn't give a fcuk, that's possibly the poorest Kildare team for ten years or so.

First off it isn't a poor Kildare team and secondly the Cork attendance has no bearing on the reaction in Cork, it will be hellish.
Post by: Canalman on July 25, 2015, 09:12:07 PM
Morto. Forgot to congratulate Kildare.

Delighted for Jason Ryan also.

In the past I would have been sneerish about the support Cork footballers got. A car journey to west Cork from Dublin some years ago put a stop to that. Don't think people realize the trek the Cork football public have to do just to get to Cork city let alone to CP.

Post by: charlieTully on July 25, 2015, 09:22:36 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 25, 2015, 09:07:41 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 25, 2015, 08:58:43 PM

Kerry v Kildare.

First off it isn't a poor Kildare team and secondly the Cork attendance has no bearing on the reaction in Cork, it will be hellish.

ok, but until tonight it was the poorest Kildare team in recent years, bottom of div 2 and a total hammering by the dubs is not the norm.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2015, 09:27:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 25, 2015, 08:54:52 PM

They can be as mad as they like, the rest of the country knows how deep Cork's passion for their county football team runs.

Tomas had it right.

Was watching the game with my father and he was saying the same.
Tonight's performance from Cork was like it was designed to prove O'Se's argument.
No interview from Cuthbert tonight - some change from the early days when he took over and was never out of the media.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2015, 09:38:27 PM
Just thinking about it a bit- seems ironic that Cork's complete collapse at midfield was a key factor in this result, given how many Cork midfielders Cuthbert managed to piss off/fall out with  - Walsh, Andrew O'Sullivan, Dineen, Cussen and Alan O'Connor (before they made up)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2015, 10:07:52 PM
When you come at the King of the Qualifiers, you better not miss!
Post by: heffo on July 25, 2015, 10:10:58 PM
Is that the best team Kildare have beaten since Kerry in '98?
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2015, 10:11:56 PM
Some lively display by Kildare no matter how lethargic Cork may have been.
J Evans - if you're re appointed please use Kildare's football tonight as a coaching manual.
I suppose Kerry won't fear Kildare though.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2015, 10:24:16 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 08:55:09 PM
I was only 18 points wrong with my prediction. Thought Ryan dwarfed Cubby tactically. Not bad for a buffoon, clown, donkey, all things I've seen him referred to this season. Has to get an extension.

I called him a numpty!

He has problems but that was a great result and credit to him and the players. The debate will be stick or twist, but that's for another day. I'm sure Bad News Baba will have that rational discussion with you  ;)
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 11:02:34 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2015, 10:24:16 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 08:55:09 PM

I called him a numpty!

He has problems but that was a great result and credit to him and the players. The debate will be stick or twist, but that's for another day. I'm sure Bad News Baba will have that rational discussion with you  ;)

Ha ha. At least you're rational about it and would have put some thought into it. Them boys will be baying for blood again when/if we lose to Kerry.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 11:33:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 25, 2015, 10:10:58 PM

Ah I'd say Dublin 2000 were a top five or six side. Meath 2003 were maybe starting to slide. Meath 2010 did hammer Dublin but probably weren't quite top bracket.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2015, 11:38:14 PM
(https://cdn1.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/MzKYU1yLZ6OinauVLjEA94X1uFw=/0x46:370x293/730x487/cdn0.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/5452947/horsefan.0.gif)
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2015, 12:50:08 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 25, 2015, 11:33:44 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 25, 2015, 10:10:58 PM

Ah I'd say Dublin 2000 were a top five or six side. Meath 2003 were maybe starting to slide. Meath 2010 did hammer Dublin but probably weren't quite top bracket.

I think that hammering by Kildare in the 2010 QF was the blow that laid us low. It came straight after the debacle of the Leinster Final with Louth. I expected the team to react in a big way to all that stuff, in the manner we would have expected of the men of the eighties and nineties and in a way that I hoped would be the making of that team. Instead the opposite happened - and has continued to happen since then because, in my opinion, of the over-reaction of the clubs to what happened that year.

Eamonn O'Brien had managed us to a respectable 4-point loss to Kerry in the previous year's semi-final. (I know, who'd have thought we'd be calling a defeat respectable - but anyway.) We were making solid progress and doing things right. Then we saw the downside of democracy (the idiots have votes) and suddenly we were plunged into Bantyism and its attendant bulldung, flim-flam and bluster - going nowhere flamboyantly.

We lost our soul in those years. We were unrecognisable as a Meath football team. By the time the current management team, whose hearts are in the right place and who have the right values reinstated came along, we found ourselves acting in a drama for which we haven't got the script. The game has changed, been changed, been allowed to be changed. It doesn't suit us. To be honest, I'm starting to despise it.

So thanks, Kildare.
Post by: Syferus on July 26, 2015, 01:00:08 AM
Shoulda just given them a replay. People will talk about Mayo's priest curse and Meath's Joe Sheridan curse in the same breath in decades to come.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 01:13:11 AM
When you think back on it it's absolutely mental that a Meath manager could lose his job after his team put five goals past Dublin.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 01:26:30 AM
Hey no hi-jacking only dancing allowed tonight...

(http://38.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8b719Yu1a1qgksvxo5_r1_400.gif)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 01:38:07 AM
Work tomorrow:

(http://875357559f655c0fd9842374.eventingnation.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/napping-horses-320.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 01:41:51 AM
Galway races this week too, going be a tough week...
(http://www.residentadvisor.net/images/events/flyer/2014/2/uk-0207-552899-279445-back.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 01:47:30 AM
1928 the last time we beat Cork in Championship football.

It is so on.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 01:50:45 AM
(http://www.drodd.com/images10/funny-horse-pictures12.jpeg)
Post by: sligoman2 on July 26, 2015, 02:22:40 AM
Well done Kildare great performance
Post by: Hound on July 26, 2015, 08:13:00 AM
I don't know what was more surprising:

Kildare looking like a good football team

or

Marty Duffy looking like a good ref
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2015, 08:25:46 AM
Well done Kildare, great performance and hope you give Kerry a good rattle
Post by: ballinaman on July 26, 2015, 08:36:17 AM
Well done Kildare. Watched back the match last night. Cruciate for Alan O'Connor, recurrent hammer,dislocated shoulder...serious injuries.

Post by: Hound on July 26, 2015, 08:41:46 AM
Quote from: heffo on July 26, 2015, 08:25:46 AM
Well done Kildare, great performance and hope you give Keryyba good rattle
People have been focusing more on Cork being bad, but the quality of Kildare's play was really good, pretty much from 1 to 15. Great performance and great entertainment.

Although I don't think you could rely on them repeating that level of performance
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 11:38:35 AM
Just reading a few boys on the Kildare forum mulling over whether Ryan should be sacked.
In case anyone underestimates the depth of some people's stupidity.
Post by: Go home ref on July 26, 2015, 11:45:29 AM
It's a long time since I walked out of a game as proud as that. What a performance Paul Cribben was worth the 20 quid alone
Post by: Denn Forever on July 26, 2015, 11:57:22 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 11:38:35 AM
Just reading a few boys on the Kildare forum mulling over whether Ryan should be sacked.
In case anyone underestimates the depth of some people's stupidity.

What reasons were they giving?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 12:09:24 PM
One off win doesn't make up for bad league relegations, Cork knackered anyway, etc. Couple suggested they need to rattle Kerry for him to be kept.
You couldn't make it up.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 12:23:23 PM
The argument against is still stronger than for. You are doing exactly what the against side are doing except you have taken up the opposite end of the spectrum. Leave it till after the Kerry game.
Post by: Go home ref on July 26, 2015, 12:27:17 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 12:09:24 PM
One off win doesn't make up for bad league relegations, Cork knackered anyway, etc. Couple suggested they need to rattle Kerry for him to be kept.
You couldn't make it up.

Shower of morons I wonder how many of them were even at the game?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 12:39:08 PM
Dinny are you saying you think we should get rid of him after four championship wins including our best in 15 years, with a squad decimated by retirements, Aussie Rules and defections? Really?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 12:50:39 PM
How was our league campaign? How was our Leinster Championship campaign? Why have so many players retired opted out including the farcical handling of JD? There is a bigger picture, he has certainly put a lot in the bank with these last three games but he made a lot of withdrawals before that.
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2015, 12:55:33 PM
What happened with JD?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 12:59:29 PM
We'll see what the rest of the year brings first.

You'd have to have a heart of stone not to feel delighted for Ryan last night regardless of what has happened before or what may happen in the weeks ahead. He has had the look of a broken man at times on the line this year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 01:04:23 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 12:59:29 PM
We'll see what the rest of the year brings first.

You'd have to have a heart of stone not to feel delighted for Ryan last night regardless of what has happened before or what may happen in the weeks ahead. He has had the look of a broken man at times on the line this year.

I agree but 02 is getting all fundamentalist.

Delighted for Ryan, the joy and passion on his face was brilliant to see. I am sure he has many demons this past 7 months.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 01:07:27 PM
He retired. Not that mad a decision for a footballer over the 35 mark but some take it as a sign of mismanagement.

I genuinely don't get how an extra year for Ryan would be in any question. Twenty four counties would love to trade places with us. Many of them have more experienced squads or more underage success or both.

If and when Kildare lose to Kerry, what message would sacking him send to all future managers? That last eight and big championship wins aren't enough? That league performance is more important than kicking the shyte out of a division one team in championship?
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2015, 01:10:05 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 01:07:27 PM
He retired. Not that mad a decision for a footballer over the 35 mark but some take it as a sign of mismanagement.

That's what I thought too
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 01:28:54 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 01:04:23 PM
I agree but 02 is getting all fundamentalist.

Not my intention. I just genuinely don't get the logic of not wanting to keep Ryan. Already achieved more in his second season than McGeeney (who I'm thankful for) managed in five and with far less depth in the squad. Maybe I'm the mad one, who knows.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 01:31:32 PM
The handling of the retirement was embarrassing - he has retired he hasn't let's give him a 2 minute cameo oops he's retired again. JR came across as a pure numpty in the interviews around that. You can be revisionist all you want and you obviously have nailed your colours, I'll take the wait and see approach though. Like I said bigger picture.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 01:39:11 PM
Yeah sure look we'll agree to disagree we're obviously in different camps on this.

I don't remember Doyle sounding like a numpty. Here's his take from a good interview with him I read recently. Maybe he's glossing over some controversy but I kind of took it at face value.

Everything from here is quotes:

"We would have pushed hard for the previous few years. We got word at home that my wife Siobhán was due twins, and as we had a girl already at the time, suddenly having three kids was going to be a different house to come into and a different house to be able to leave. I knew I was going to be needed a lot more at home. In fairness, myself and Siobhán sat down and talked about it, and she said you need to go back and see how it is. You don't want to be wondering what might have been.
"I spoke to Jason and in fairness to him, he told me to take as long as I needed. I met him a few times to see how things were going, and I went back just before the Tyrone match, after a few games in the league. But in the end, it was a combination of a couple of things. One, the time that was needed. I had been the one for years who drove it into lads saying, "If you decide to get involved in this, it's all or nothing. It's not, I'm tired today, or I want to go for a pint today. It's total buy-in. "
"And the big thing was, the same hunger and drive just wasn't there for me anymore. The flame burned out really. I came on against Kerry and then we went up to Derry. I came on against Derry, I was gone all weekend and that was the time I decided, 'Look, I can't give this the commitment it deserves, and I don't have the hunger to try and find ways around it.'
"For me, it was time to go then. I spoke to Jason the week before the Westmeath game. I was honest with him and I think he appreciated that. I kind of half-expected him to say, go on home John, but he asked me to stick around for the week of the final game, because even though we had been relegated, it was an important game for confidence and to get a win. So I trained on the Tuesday and the Thursday, and I togged out for the game. I came on for the final 10 or 15 minutes, and it was nice to finish on the field in Newbridge in front of a home crowd, even though nobody knew I was going to announce it after the game."
Post by: From the Bunker on July 26, 2015, 01:41:48 PM
Well done Kildare! I did not see that one coming. Cork looked like a team who put all their eggs in the Munster final Basket and seen that route as their only way of avoiding another encounter with the Dubs. There seems to be a litany of factors as to why Cork cannot reach their full potential. The Cork public never take to their team. They have had poor Management over the last couple of years. They won their AI in 2010 and to be fair that was a sort of freak year. All the provincial winners (most significantly Kerry) were dumped out in the quarter finals that year. They remain a county who never seen to reach their full potential. I suppose if you have to play Kerry year in year out as part of your championship, it got to affect your focus for the season as they are the only county that has to beat that hoars at least once to win an AI.

Kildare are in bonus territory. But there is a Caveat - Not to get a hammering (which I don't expect). A good display and a narrow loss would be a decent finish to the end of a season that looked a disaster at one stage. A win - well that would be another level.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 02:39:38 PM
JR came across as the numpty not JD, christ I'd be hung for that :)

Jason Ryan around the time of Doyle's retirement didn't seem to know what was happening, any time he was asked questions, he was flustered, and I'll say it again he comes across awful in interviews. Always trying to be positive but lacks ability to re-frame negative issues. JD retired after that Westmeath game and no one knew, he should have got a proper send off. To me that was a small thing but a leadership thing, Ryan showed no leadership in that period and indeed I would state he lacks leadership quality. He's just seems too bloody nice all the time.

JD wouldn't rock the boat, not his style but why come back for the league and then retire, I understand his reasons for retiring and certainly don't hold anything against him but his reasons would have still be valid 3/4 months later. To me it's like he saw the writing on the wall.

Also you have to remember this is Ryan's 3rd year with Kildare, if he stays something will have to be re-introduced to give fresh impetus, new selectors new coaches something.

You could well be right and he should stay but you are backing him on his qualifier record, what about his Leinster Championship record and his League record? Are they worthy of debate and do they not highlight his failings?

Post by: LilySavage on July 26, 2015, 03:53:56 PM
Thats hilarious...blaming Ryan for retirement of a 36 year old with 3 kids! And being critical of pist natch interviews during the league...And wtf is a numpty?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2015, 04:11:06 PM
Forget the retirement the leadership point is been lost. Do we retain a manager with  2 Leinster championship game wins and 2 relegations in 2 years?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 04:31:09 PM
Will we have more defections if we do retain the management or will we be getting players returning to the fold? That will be key when making the decision.

A Kildare panel with all the best talent in the county available has potential to progress over the next few years. If we can get that under Ryan (or Ryan with a new team of selectors) then there is an argument to keep him on. If not then we will have to look for management who can get our young players to commit to the senior team.
Post by: LilySavage on July 26, 2015, 05:02:42 PM
Which players are you on about? Couple of lads on panel went to America for the summer. Neither were starters. Likes of Tomas O Connor got pkenty of chances and wasnt good enough. XlConnolly snother benchwarmer. I dont see anyone who defected who would make much of an impact. BTW its a bit much to be questioning the managers future the day after beating Cork in Last 12.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2015, 05:22:40 PM
There were a number of u21s offered a call up after the Leinster Final. Only Mark Sherry and David Fitzpatrick accepted with others deciding to head off for the summer instead. Hugh McGrillen and to a lesser extent Mick Foley still have something to offer. David Hyland and Dan Flynn would add depth to the panel although I know Flynn is injured at the moment.

I'd have a degree of sympathy for Ryan as regards not having these lads available to him. There's only so much he can do if lads don't commit and it's bad form for lads to walk away from the panel mid season in particular. However there are only so many good players in each county. If we can't get them all involved then we need to consider if they would be more willing to throw in their lot for a different management. There were rumours after the league that others won't be back next year if Ryan is retained. Will they have changed their minds in the meantime on the back of a much improved championship apart from the Dublin game?

This is what will have to be asked when Kildare's season does end. As you say though, it's a debate for another day.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2015, 06:40:23 PM
The flourbags are on the up lads.

(https://alexlaybourne.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/rise-of-the-machines.jpg)

Be afraid...
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 26, 2015, 11:10:09 PM
It's not one win though Dinny. It's seven wins and losses to Dublin, Meath and Monaghan after extra-time.
I just think context is everything. He took over a squad whose best players were either retired or past their best. A county divided down the middle and with no pot to p*ss in.
The squad consisted of young players with promise finding their feet at this level (Eoin Doyle, N Kelly, Cribbin, Donnellan), most of whom would leave the country (Hurley, Brophy, Flynn, Hyland, Mulhall), great servants who peaked around 2011 (Leper, Bolton, Paudie, etc) and club players with zero championship experience (Fitzpatrick, O'Grady, Murnaghan, McNally).
Since then the only really bad championship performance was the first half against Meath last year. Dublin this year was poor but I can forgive that because they have their best-ever team and have done the same to more battle-hardened sides than us (eg Monaghan).
In those circumstances to win about 70 per cent of your championship games is very good. Indeed it's the same as McGeeney managed with a team that included genuine top class players such as J Doyle and Earley.
Now he has gone one step further by beating a top-six side. Scratch that, hammering a top-six side.

I would always want to play at the highest level of league football possible but christ man, championship is what football is about. Were you happier in the 80s when we were in division 1 and couldn't win a championship game to save our lives?

Playing at a higher level in the league will be more important if players develop the way we want in the next three or four years and we wind up dark horses for silverware again.

As for Leinster championship - McGeeney lost to Louth and Wicklow, not Meath and Dublin. If that's all it's judged on, he should have been gone in June 2010.

And I don't really care what he's like at interviews.

Look at the flip side - if we sack a man who brought us our best championship win in 15 years, seven wins and a draw out of 11 championship games, and back to the All-Ireland quarter-finals, what would be our excuse?

"Well, his interviews are very bad and the league form isn't acceptable and losing to Dublin isn't acceptable."

Maybe I am in the minority here but I don't think there's any decision to be made.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2015, 11:01:44 AM
Four of those wins Longford, Offaly, Louth and Clare. Division 3 and 4 teams. That leaves 3 wins of substance, Laois in a replay noting that we should have lost the first day, Down and Cork. The last two very similar performances but are those two victories enough to counter abysmal performances against Meath and Dublin. Also Ryan was involved in 2013, a terrible championship year, do we ignore his involvement with that? We have too many players not involved who should be and I don't mean a 37 year old John Doyle, what's Ryan's role in that, foot soldiers are as important to a successful squad as the starting XV, why didn't he get more u21s involved? Kildare will be probably be favourites for the Leinster u21 next year do we trust Ryan to be involved and bring them?

If Ryan stays and he's building a strong case I can't deny, I mean Murnaghan is actually looking like an inter-county player, same as O'Grady and Fitzpatrick, their development is to his credit but he needs to change things up and that probably means two new selectors and a cull of a few senior players, great foot soldiers like Lynch, Flynn and Conway. As for his interviews it's a minor thing but you want to see leadership, it makes it easier to believe, imagine if Micko was manger and we were playing Kerry this weekend, his enthusiasm his energy would make want to be taking the field believing you can win, with Jason nice guy but his utterances don't fill you with confidence.  Like I said a small thing and certainly not a deal breaker.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2015, 11:39:52 AM
He got very excited at the end.
A bit too excited to be honest.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2015, 11:45:40 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 27, 2015, 11:39:52 AM
He got very excited at the end.
A bit too excited to be honest.

He was channeling his inner Banty.
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2015, 12:15:13 PM
(http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2012/07/banty2.jpg)

That's how it's done.
Post by: redhandefender on July 27, 2015, 12:45:53 PM
Except Banty won f**k all!

Can't believe someone is complaining about Ryan's interviews. Of course its his job to play things down to the media to keep the hype away from the game away from his team. the more the media see it as a walkover for Kerry the better for Kildare.

He will be firing up his team for a shock behind closed doors and have them believing they can do one on Kerry.
Post by: Zulu on July 28, 2015, 11:39:03 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/brian-cuthbert-steps-down-as-cork-manager-688642.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Cuthbert stepping down it seems.
Post by: moysider on July 29, 2015, 12:25:15 AM
Quote from: Zulu on July 28, 2015, 11:39:03 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/brian-cuthbert-steps-down-as-cork-manager-688642.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

No surprise there.
But it's such a horrible break to get when a ref mucks up. A win in the Munster final would have seen Cork have a very realistic chance of getting to the AI final.

Such a difference a ref makes.

A very good league. Got things spot on for Kerry but of course Mr Padraig Hughes wasn t having that and decided that he would have to intervene.
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2015, 12:44:49 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 29, 2015, 12:25:15 AM

No surprise there.
But it's such a horrible break to get when a ref mucks up. A win in the Munster final would have seen Cork have a very realistic chance of getting to the AI final.

A very good league. Got things spot on for Kerry but of course Mr Padraig Hughes wasn t having that and decided that he would have to intervene.

None of that excuses what happened on Saturday night.
Post by: moysider on July 29, 2015, 01:18:59 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2015, 12:44:49 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 29, 2015, 12:25:15 AM

No surprise there.

None of that excuses what happened on Saturday night.

There are no excuses in sport - period.

But things happen and a team can wilt or bolt depending on breaks. I prefer reasons to excuses.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 03, 2015, 01:59:28 PM
Statement from the Cork County Board

http://www.gaacork.ie/taggedNews/363765/99/statement_issued_by_cork_county_g_a_a_board-brian_cuthbert

All the fault of the ref, the weather and the turn-around that Cork aren't in an All-Ireland semi-final apparently.

Post by: rrhf on August 03, 2015, 03:36:07 PM
I think they are entitled to be annoyed and they are entitled to have a go at the media who are not only hanging managers and players out to dry but are dictating disciplinary action and rule changes.
Post by: Rossfan on August 03, 2015, 07:32:47 PM
Great rant that!! ::)
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2015, 07:43:05 PM
''The tremendous performance of the team in the drawn Munster Final has been widely acknowledged, and it is quite probable that but for a totally wrong refereeing decision in that game, Cork would now be in an All-Ireland Semi-Final. The short  turn-around time between the replay, played in exhausting weather conditions, and the qualifier game against Kildare, cannot be ignored as a factor in that defeat.''

Can't disagree with that. Donegal had to play in similar circumstances (weather wise ) in their last 12 game before playing Mayo in 2013. They were clearly fecked from that game and the short run to the Quarter final game.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 03, 2015, 07:47:00 PM
I said at the time that I couldn't understand why Cork and Kerry both didn't ask for the replay the following Saturday, giving the losers the recommended 2 week break before qualifiers.

Post by: Rossfan on August 03, 2015, 07:52:14 PM
I suppose AZ Kerry expected to win the replay while Cork Co Board most likely didn't care as it was only the oul footballers.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 03, 2015, 07:55:25 PM
Probably something like that alright. I think it's hard to know what the GAA could do differently in terms of scheduling the original final. It gave the losers 3 weeks before a qualifier, and the winners 4 weeks before a quarter final. If they scheduled it any further out than that it would be a very long break between games for both teams.

When it was a replay, I'm surprised the Munster Council didn't suggest, or Kerry and Cork request, that the replay would be the next week. That would give Cork 2 weeks and Kerry 3 (as it turned out).

I understand why you'd like a 2 week break before the replay as well, but in that case you can't really give out about the week break before the qualifier.
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 03, 2015, 08:02:50 PM
Or could have tried a midweek replay for the first time. Happens in most other sports.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2015, 08:09:05 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 03, 2015, 08:02:50 PM
Or could have tried a midweek replay for the first time. Happens in most other sports.

And in most other sports that have midweek games, how many are amateur?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2015, 11:50:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 03, 2015, 07:47:00 PM
I said at the time that I couldn't understand why Cork and Kerry both didn't ask for the replay the following Saturday, giving the losers the recommended 2 week break before qualifiers.
Munster council probably didn't want the game the evening before the Munster hurling final. Cork CB also agreed.to it going to Killarney again (so they'll get two games in PUC) instead of to Limerick
Post by: AZOffaly on August 04, 2015, 10:48:01 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2015, 11:50:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 03, 2015, 07:47:00 PM
Munster council probably didn't want the game the evening before the Munster hurling final. Cork CB also agreed.to it going to Killarney again (so they'll get two games in PUC) instead of to Limerick

Yeah, that weekend was busy. That was the 5 games in Thurles weekend. But still from a Cork and Kerry perspective, you'd have imagined they'd at least request it, unless they both preferred to gamble on winning the replay or being unaffected for the qualifier. If they did that, then it's a bit rich to use it as an excuse. I don't think the GAA fixtures could have done much more in that case.

Connacht and Ulster were on much dodgier ground if they had a replay because they had no 'spare' weekend in between.
Post by: Hound on August 04, 2015, 11:00:54 AM
In my view, there should be extra time in all provincial championship matches in the event of a draw. That would cut out a lot of the excuses.
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2015, 11:19:12 AM
There was for Prelim and Quarter Finals for a brief few years but the Congress delegates decided in their infinite wisdom to overturn that particular rule.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2015, 01:02:54 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 04, 2015, 11:00:54 AM
In my view, there should be extra time in all provincial championship matches in the event of a draw. That would cut out a lot of the excuses extra money.

Fixed that!