GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: MoChara on June 22, 2015, 10:58:25 AM

Title: All Ireland Qualifiers
Post by: MoChara on June 22, 2015, 10:58:25 AM
Round 1 Hurling Qualifiers
Laois v Dublin
Westmeath v Limerick
Clare v Offaly
Wexford v Cork

Round 2A All-Ireland Football Qualifiers
Antrim v Fermanagh
Offaly v Dublin/Kildare
Clare v Longford
Cavan v Roscommon

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0622/709671-live-football-and-hurling-qualifier-draws/
Title: Re: All Ireland Qualifiers
Post by: johnneycool on June 22, 2015, 11:34:31 AM
Quote from: MoChara on June 22, 2015, 10:58:25 AM
Round 1 Hurling Qualifiers
Laois v Dublin
Westmeath v Limerick
Clare v Offaly
Wexford v Cork

Laois will fancy a crack at Dublin and I'm sure they'll feel the Dubs won't have that invincibility about them that some of the others in the draw will have, but at the same time the Dubs will not see Laois as a walk over, but a team who they've a chance of getting back up and running against, both teams would be happy enough with that draw I'd have thought. Think the Dubs will pull through in the end though, but if Laois get a real good start, the dubs may lack the confidence to get back at them..

Hard to look past Limerick in this one though, and ditto the Clare, Offaly game, just think there's too much hurling in Clare to get caught out by Offaly..

Wexford v Cork is probably the most interesting one, last chance saloon for one of the big three and Wexford need to discover their swagger from last year, both coming off the back of bad defeats, could go either way, will plump for home advantage taking it the way of Liam Dunnes men.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2015, 11:46:44 AM
Terrible draw for us. I was saying that the one team I didn't want was Clare away. They have the forwards to put up a score, and are seriously pissed off after losing to Limerick. This may be horrible.

Westmeath will trouble Limerick for 20 minutes or so, but again, I think Limerick will be pissed off after yesterday and lads like Downing, Hannon, Lynch and Mulcahy should have too much for the Westmeath backs. Laois in Portlaoise will be glad to have another crack at a team they would see within their compass, and Dublin need to be very careful.

The dark horse may be Wexford. They were actually in that game yesterday for a while, but Kilkenny score goals where everyone else settles for points, and so you end up with situations like 10 scores each, 3-7 to 0-10, and stuff like that after 25 minutes. Cork seem to struggle for goals, and if Wexford can hurl with them and not concede goals, they'll get confidence below in Wexford Park.

I'm going Dublin, Limerick, Clare and Wexford as the shock.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on June 22, 2015, 12:52:40 PM
I think Cork will beat Wexford to be honest. Wexford were very poor yesterday. Harnedy back for Cork should make a big difference.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2015, 01:07:20 PM
I'm sure the bookies will see it that way too. I just think Cork are vulnerable, and Wexford might have a chance at home if they don't concede goals, and Cork don't tend to score lots of goals.
Post by: laoislad on June 22, 2015, 11:16:13 PM
I think that's a good draw for Laois.
Home advantage also should be a help. Dublin will also be pretty happy with the draw I'd imagine.
Would be hoping for a closer match than the Galway game but would still expect Dublin to win.
Post by: Premier Emperor on June 23, 2015, 09:58:43 AM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on June 22, 2015, 12:52:40 PM
I think Cork will beat Wexford to be honest. Wexford were very poor yesterday. Harnedy back for Cork should make a big difference.
Cork will beat them by double figures. Clare will beat Offaly by 15 or 20.
Post by: Roashter on June 23, 2015, 01:47:37 PM
I see that Colm Galvin has returned from the states and has re-joined the Clare panel.
A welcome addition to the Clare panel. Will be interesting to see if starts against Offaly.
Post by: theskull1 on June 23, 2015, 07:16:39 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 22, 2015, 11:16:13 PM
I think that's a good draw for Laois.
Home advantage also should be a help. Dublin will also be pretty happy with the draw I'd imagine.
Would be hoping for a closer match than the Galway game but would still expect Dublin to win.

Think Dublin will have it in them to play at close to their potential against youse and make life tough for youse LL. Its championship against the established teams they seem to drop their performances.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 01, 2015, 01:57:32 PM
Any of the qualifiers televised?
Post by: waterfordlad on July 01, 2015, 02:18:17 PM
Wexford v Cork is on Sky Sports.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 03, 2015, 09:23:06 AM
Happy Days. Cheers
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 03, 2015, 09:35:14 AM
One enforced change for Offaly against Klare.
Unless it's a dummy team, it's very worrying that Whelahan seems to be reheating the same magic formula used in the Leix game.
Post by: laoislad on July 04, 2015, 07:38:08 PM
Goals are killing Laois in Portlaoise tonight. Playing well otherwise but not going to win conceding soft goals.
HT
Dublin 3-9
Laois 0-13
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2015, 08:31:15 PM
Exactly what I was afraid of in Ennis. Sad to see really. They say it's always darkest before the dawn, but f**k this night is going on a while now.
Post by: laoislad on July 04, 2015, 08:50:48 PM
Final score line not really a reflection on the game but Dublin did deserve the win in fairness.
Goals were a killer as I said at half time but a better showing than the Galway game.
Still in all from a Laois point of view progress has been made this year however small it may be. It's still progress nonetheless.
Post by: Sean3 on July 05, 2015, 12:23:55 PM
Yeah, I'd agree with most of that. Dublin got a great start but Laois came right back into it got level and then conceded the third goal. They put huge pressure on the short Dublin puck outs and Dublin's short passing in defence got them in all sorts of bother. In the second half the Dublin midfield got on top but their shooting was dreadful and it was this that kept Laois within touching distance.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2015, 08:54:52 AM
Limerick v Dublin
Cork v Clare

Are these neutral venues?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 09:09:19 AM
It'll be interesting where these are fixed for. They're ideal for Thurles, but with the Munster Final on Sunday, and Tipperary Footballers potentially at home on Saturday night, maybe they'll bring them all to Portlaoise.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 06, 2015, 09:20:51 AM
Two good games there.

Limerick should have too much for dublin.

Clare and Cork hard to call. I think Cork will maybe take them.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2015, 09:23:22 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 06, 2015, 09:20:51 AM
Two good games there.

Limerick should have too much for dublin.

Clare and Cork hard to call. I think Cork will maybe take them.
It's a tough one to call. I think Clare will win. Should be a good game
Post by: imtommygunn on July 06, 2015, 09:25:09 AM
Both seem to have gone backwards from a few years ago but if either build up some confidence in the qualifiers should be a threat.

Would prefer to see Clare win but think Cork may shade it with Lehane and Horgan going well.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2015, 09:58:01 AM
I don't know that Limerick would have too much for Dublin. I backed Limerick for the All Ireland earlier in the year, but I think they've gone back. They're not at the same pitch they usually operate at, and if Dublin hurl well they'll beat them.

Cork v Clare might be a cracker.
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2015, 10:35:43 AM
Limerick Dublin is tough to call as they both seem to be going backwards. Fancy Clare to beat Cork handy enough.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 06, 2015, 11:12:57 AM
Limerick 4-15 Westmeath 1-12
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   
Cork 2-22    Wexford    0-20   

Leinster hurling my arse!  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 11, 2015, 06:33:38 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on July 06, 2015, 11:12:57 AM
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   

Fair fcuks to Dublin.... Ugly first half and conditions didn't help but great battling performance some strange decisions by both managers in second half but fair play
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2015, 10:19:37 PM
Fair play to Cork.
Clare did well to win that all Ireland in 2013.

Will the Cork Galway match be played in Thurles ?
Post by: cicfada on July 11, 2015, 10:37:26 PM
That cork v Galway match will be on in thurles alright, on the 26th of July along with Dublin v the losers of tomorrow's match. Everyone assumes it will be Waterford but whoever wins it will hammer Dublin. For Galways sake, I hope it's tipp that wins tomorrow as Galway would struggle to play against Waterford but could give Tipp a rattle. Of course they would have to beat Cork first and it really depends on what Galway turn up in two weeks. Cork owe us a beating that's for sure, and they have serious momentum now as well!!
Post by: INDIANA on July 11, 2015, 11:03:11 PM
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   

Hows that arse?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 12, 2015, 02:18:42 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2015, 12:06:53 AM
After 25 minutes Dublin had only scored 2 points, I was thinking they're going backwards at a shocking rate. Great comeback. In saying that, Limerick would want to take a long look at themselves. Their no 13 at the death when the ball came out to him on the 21.....good lord.
Anyone who was in Cusack park last week could have told you how poor Limerick were.
Delighted to see Davy and co. gone.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 12, 2015, 08:03:34 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 11, 2015, 11:03:11 PM
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   

Hows that arse?
Limerick are dire this year. Waterford have a free pass back into the semis having to only play Dublin.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 12, 2015, 09:16:23 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on July 12, 2015, 08:03:34 AM
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   

Hows that arse?
Limerick are dire this year. Waterford have a free pass back into the semis having to only play Dublin.

You really are the biggest WUM on this board..... I tipp ( 😉  ) my hat to you sir
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2015, 10:13:55 AM
Is Davy done? I thought it was very illuminating last night that when Darrach Honan was being taken off, it was John Conlon that came back on. Conlon was out of the game before he was taken off himself, so that's a bit of a slap to the other subs.
Post by: Minder on July 12, 2015, 10:42:36 AM
How did Davy take the defeat? Was he his usual,treat triumph and disaster the same type attitude ?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2015, 11:57:09 AM
He wasn't interviewed live on Sky, but Damian Lawlor did tweet that he came out to talk to them alright. In the paper he seems magnanimous enough, but he does have a wee dig at corks "style".
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2015, 08:49:06 PM
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   

Hows that arse?

Kilkenny will have a free pass handing you your arse in the final. Looking forward to it
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 12, 2015, 09:42:56 PM
Some poor Hurling over the weekend. Some shocking wides as teams are so withdrawn out the pitch they have no choice but to shoot for crazy places.
Only 2 goals from 3 matches. For Inter county Hurling that is terrible.

It's been a poor enough year so far. I hope these new 'modern tactics' aren't bringing in a bad era for Hurling.
Hopefully a Tipp v KK classic would restore the faith.
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2015, 08:21:59 AM
Honesty from TJ Ryan after losing to Dublin :

"The dressing room is extremely disappointed," said Ryan of his Limerick side. "We put a lot of work into this. I know we'll get torn to pieces for the week or two – that's the nature of the GAA. That's the way the analysts and you guys have gone.
"Look, when you lose I suppose you deserve that. The players have given everything. From my point of view and the management's point of view you take the credit but you have to take the kick in the hole too."
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 13, 2015, 09:05:43 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 12, 2015, 08:49:06 PM
Clare 3-26 Offaly 0-15   

Hows that arse?

Kilkenny will have a free pass handing you your arse in the final. Looking forward to it
That's all you have left to hope for because you've nothing to look forward to with Dublin.  8)
Post by: deiseach on July 13, 2015, 09:15:00 AM
Disappointing. We hit some brutal wides at crucial moments. Had they gone over . . . we probably still would have lost but there would have been scope for a great big pileup in the box at the death. We need to think about moving Austin Gleeson into the forwards so he can try some more of those Hail Mary efforts from closer in. Surely we can spare him from a back line which didn't give the Tipp goal machines a sniff.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:31:10 AM
It was an unusual game alright. (I think this should be in the Munster Championship thread, but sure how and ever). I think Tipp out thought themselves. They were so determined to play diagonal balls that they played them even when they weren't on. Tipp's route to success is down the wing, or else carrying through the middle. When the half backs and corner backs hit the long straight delivery, especially on the left side of Waterford's defence, they had some joy. When they hit aimless 100 yard clearances down to a 4 or 5 man inside back line, or else blindly hit diagonal balls which were cut out in the centre of the field, it was soul destroying.

One thing I couldn't believe from Tipp, when the game was going against them, was how long it took for them to move Bubbles and Callanan out to the 40. If your best scorers are not getting on the ball, and that is largely due to them being suffocated inside, bring them out. Let them get on handy ball 50 or 60 yards out. These lads can score from there. It made so much sense, that it's a bit worrying it took so long to happen.

From a Waterford perspective, the wides are the killer. They remind me of a 3 point shooting NBA team. If the radar is working, they will be a very dangerous team. But it's a low percentage shot a lot of the time, and when you have 1 poor cratur inside on his own, it's a tough shift for him.But credit to the Deise, they work like dogs and are as honest as the day is long. In De Burca and Barron they have a couple of gems, and Austin Gleeson probably falls into that category if you could get him on more ball.

Tipperary, credit to them,  worked very hard as well. They had their usual period where they couldn't buy a break or a clean win of ball in the forwards, which was compounded by the aimless, confused passing, but they did work hard to hassle the Waterford backs coming out. O'MEara, Bonner, Callanan, BRendan Maher, Bubble and Forde all blocked, hooked and harried more than I've seen them in a long time.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 13, 2015, 09:52:03 AM
I think Tipperary showed Waterford too much respect early in the game and believed a lot of the hype about Waterford's tactics and systems.
Eamon O'Shea should back himself more and set up Tipperary teams to go out and boss the opposition.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:59:30 AM
Not sure Premier. Tipp started well. They went 6-2 up I think, and were playing intelligent ball up the wings. Niall O'Meara came out and got a couple of balls. The trouble seemed to start when Tipp started trying to overcook it, and Kevin Moran and Tadgh de Burca made hay. If they had pulled out Bubbles and Callanan then I think they'd have got more joy. Bonner hardly felt the weight of it apart from the 2 points he got. You need to get your best players on the ball.
Post by: Canalman on July 13, 2015, 11:19:28 AM
Some amount of balls being thrown by players as opposed to handpassing. Referee pulled Limerick up on a valid handpass imo which was no doubt was a bitter irony for Limerick.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:21:15 AM
Quote from: Canalman on July 13, 2015, 11:19:28 AM
Some amount of balls being thrown by players as opposed to handpassing. Referee pulled Limerick up on a valid handpass imo which was no doubt was a bitter irony for Limerick.

That gets on my wick. Some of it is pure blatant.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 13, 2015, 12:45:39 PM
It's getting to the stage that it's rare to see a legal handpass.
Post by: Canalman on July 13, 2015, 01:01:54 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on July 13, 2015, 12:45:39 PM

Correct. Mad stuff alright all this throwing the sliotar.

Some day a ref will rightly clamp down on it and get filleted by the "let it flow" brigade.
Post by: INDIANA on July 13, 2015, 01:07:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:59:30 AM
Not sure Premier. Tipp started well. They went 6-2 up I think, and were playing intelligent ball up the wings. Niall O'Meara came out and got a couple of balls. The trouble seemed to start when Tipp started trying to overcook it, and Kevin Moran and Tadgh de Burca made hay. If they had pulled out Bubbles and Callanan then I think they'd have got more joy. Bonner hardly felt the weight of it apart from the 2 points he got. You need to get your best players on the ball.

That tipp team has always been mentally weak against the likes of Kilkenny . Nothing over the weekend suggested there is any team that can beat them . 3 average enough games with a lot of sides and poor passing.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 01:13:14 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 13, 2015, 01:07:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 09:59:30 AM

That tipp team has always been mentally weak against the likes of Kilkenny . Nothing over the weekend suggested there is any team that can beat them . 3 average enough games with a lot of sides and poor passing.

That's true, but I did see a lot more fight out of the Tipp forwards, in terms of hooking and blocking. They showed last year they can compete with Kilkenny. It'll be that sort of fight that they'll need to get them over the line.

But their chronic inability to win primary possession when the game is in the fire will come back to haunt them unless they sort it out.
Post by: deiseach on July 13, 2015, 02:20:18 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 13, 2015, 01:01:54 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on July 13, 2015, 12:45:39 PM

Correct. Mad stuff alright all this throwing the sliotar.

Some day a ref will rightly clamp down on it and get filleted by the "let it flow" brigade.

It's funny because it's true.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 13, 2015, 02:55:31 PM
One of the hardest spots for a referee due to positioning timing and speed of passes.... As a referee if I can't see a clear strike then its a throw... But in a ruck of players and a ball is played it only takes a player to obstruct view then you cant call it as a throw.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 02:57:03 PM
It's not just in rucks though MR. At this stage they should just say an underhand throw is legal.
Post by: waterfordlad on July 24, 2015, 03:05:03 PM
How do you see the two quarter finals going? Waterford v Dublin at 2pm so would fancy us to win that with maybe 5 points to spare. It won't be a great game and don't think it'll be high scoring but think Waterford have enough to see off Dublin who haven't been great so far in the championship.
Galway v Cork is hard to call as Cork have momentum behind them after two wins while Galway performed well enough in Leinster but are coming from a defeat. Cork seem to have tightened up in last 2 games and have kept a clean sheet in both.

Post by: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 03:36:07 PM
Very poor from Rushe there, an awful stroke and no need for it. Waterford the better team and deserved winners.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 26, 2015, 05:06:57 PM
The heavy conditions would have suited Dublin's gym bunny hurlers, but Waterford were just too good for them.

Post by: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 05:13:35 PM
The second game is truly awful. Both teams are brutal and the game has no sense or meaning. If Galway were any good they'd be 15 points aead now.
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2015, 05:19:48 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 03:36:07 PM
Very poor from Rushe there, an awful stroke and no need for it. Waterford the better team and deserved winners.

No need for Shanahan acting the bollix for 70 minutes either
Post by: joemamas on July 26, 2015, 05:22:52 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 05:13:35 PM
The second game is truly awful. Both teams are brutal and the game has no sense or meaning. If Galway were any good they'd be 15 points aead now.

it is like watching paint dry.
Post by: Syferus on July 26, 2015, 05:26:32 PM
If there is a God we'll get a Galway v Waterford AI final.
Post by: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 05:34:41 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 26, 2015, 05:19:48 PM

You're not defending a strike to the head with a hurley are you heffo?
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2015, 05:39:12 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 05:34:41 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 26, 2015, 05:19:48 PM

You're not defending a strike to the head with a hurley are you heffo?

It's completely wrong. So were the actions of Shanahan.

You're not defending Shanahan are you for his behaviour?
Post by: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 05:44:25 PM
Didn't notice that he did much to be honest. If he was slabbering then no, I wouldn't defend that, but I didn't see him do much of that and striking with a hurley to the head of an opponent is not justified by anything.

Don't know what Loughanne is going on about on TV saying both QF's suggest the SF's will be competitive. Today indicates both semi finals will be straight forward wins for Tipp and Kilkenny.
Post by: stew on July 26, 2015, 06:12:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 13, 2015, 02:55:31 PM
One of the hardest spots for a referee due to positioning timing and speed of passes.... As a referee if I can't see a clear strike then its a throw... But in a ruck of players and a ball is played it only takes a player to obstruct view then you cant call it as a throw.

One ref is not enough in Hurling, you need two at least! The game is too fast for any one man to be in the  driving seat alone.
Post by: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 08:06:32 PM
If, like me, you watched this on TV I don't know how you can say that. Shanahan did seem to get involved with some Dublin players on occasions but we don't know what was going on off the ball. Is it beyond possibility that Dublin players were giving it as good they were getting it? Cheap strike from Rushe and some of the comments on Reservoirdubs are bang out of order.
Post by: Canalman on July 26, 2015, 08:19:07 PM
Waterford slightly imo the better side and deserved the win v us. Maybe looking at game wrongly but thought referee gave us absolutely nothing.Not an excuse just an observation.
Think Rushe suspended for first game of next year' championship. No matter the provocation he shouldnt have done what he did and he could have gone earlier truth be told.

Really should be hoping Waterford win it now but for me anyway there is something dislikeable  about them collectively.

Hope Galway win it now but think Tipp should do it this year.
Post by: johnneycool on July 26, 2015, 08:37:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 26, 2015, 05:26:32 PM
If there is a God we'll get a Galway v Waterford AI final.

He'll have to be a very generous god all the same, as its hard to judge one game vrs another, Tipp and Kilkenny will be hot favourites come the semi-finals.

Waterford have lost their vim and verve, and made very hard work of Dublin, but fair play to the Dubs they battled away, just need another forward to help Schutte who was contained pretty well but still proved to be a danger before the inevitable end.

In the second game, Galway seemed to be looking a gift horse in the mouth, the Cork defence's generosity knew no bounds, yet Galway, Joe in particular failed to avail, whilst the accuracy of the Cork forwards kept a lid on things. The second half you'd have thought Cork would have tightened up, but they didn't and the Galway lads kept them at arms length, their defence was getting on top of the Cork lads and the fight was out of Cork very quickly, game over.
Galway will be pleased enough and will fancy a crack at Tipp, Donnellan, Glynn and Flynn will will more than their fair share of the aerial exchanges, but Joe will need his shooting boots on as you can see the Tipp forwards getting a lot of opportunities the other end, but in all fairness to the Galway defence they finished strongly and maybe the underdogs tag will suit them. Hard to look past Tipp all the same.
Post by: thejuice on July 26, 2015, 08:48:06 PM
Just thinking about Galways first goal, how come the cork goalkeeper didn't come out and clear it especially when the ball was flicked over the defenders heads.  Paddy O'Rourke wouldn't have missed an opportunity like that.
Post by: johnneycool on July 26, 2015, 08:50:08 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 26, 2015, 08:48:06 PM
Just thinking about Galways first goal, how come the cork goalkeeper didn't come out and clear it especially when the ball was flicked over the defenders heads.  Paddy O'Rourke wouldn't have missed an opportunity like that.

Nash filled the trunks there alright, the last flick was inside the 6 yard box with Nash glued to the line.
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2015, 08:56:29 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 26, 2015, 08:06:32 PM
If, like me, you watched this on TV I don't know how you can say that. Shanahan did seem to get involved with some Dublin players on occasions but we don't know what was going on off the ball. Is it beyond possibility that Dublin players were giving it as good they were getting it? Cheap strike from Rushe and some of the comments on Reservoirdubs are bang out of order.

Spent the whole day winding Rushe up Zulu. A horrible, horrible player in my view- I don't care what his talents are. And a poor reflection on Waterford. I found their fans to be pretty sound and even they said to me Shanahan deserved a belt.

I'd like to see Waterford go on and win but Kilkenny will have far too much for them. Galway however could be the surprise packet. They could well beat Tipp. Cork are in absolute disarray. We're some way off an All Ireland but Cork are even further away. JBM extracted more out of that Cork team they were capable of.

Cork GAA in disarray.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 26, 2015, 09:23:33 PM
Shanahan did appear to be goading etc all day and was in general acting the maggot. The game was long won and no need for it. Rushe shouldn't have done that but shanahan far from innocent.

Would love to see waterford win it but don't think they have enough. Gleeson is a class act and will be some player for them. They need more forwards to contribute though.

Cork were brutal. I would say they're better than that and am not convinced jbm getting the best from them. Would love a galway waterford final but don't think either will get there.

I don't understand how clare couldn't beat that cork team.
Post by: johnneycool on July 27, 2015, 09:50:03 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 26, 2015, 09:23:33 PM
Shanahan did appear to be goading etc all day and was in general acting the maggot. The game was long won and no need for it. Rushe shouldn't have done that but shanahan far from innocent.

Would love to see waterford win it but don't think they have enough. Gleeson is a class act and will be some player for them. They need more forwards to contribute though.

Cork were brutal. I would say they're better than that and am not convinced jbm getting the best from them. Would love a galway waterford final but don't think either will get there.

Clare don't have the same, big physical, ball winning forwards as Galway and hence aren't as direct to get at the soft underbelly of the Cork defence. How the first goal was scored beggared belief with sweepers and what not, a set of balls are still required to play the game.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2015, 10:42:25 AM
Only one thing worth talking about from the weekend's games https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czJRjK8JqdY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czJRjK8JqdY)
Post by: imtommygunn on July 27, 2015, 02:03:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 27, 2015, 09:50:03 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 26, 2015, 09:23:33 PM

Clare don't have the same, big physical, ball winning forwards as Galway and hence aren't as direct to get at the soft underbelly of the Cork defence. How the first goal was scored beggared belief with sweepers and what not, a set of balls are still required to play the game.

Surprised with Walsh as he's a big strong guy but I guess doesn't seem to put himself about as much as he could / should. Glynn very aggressive / direct - I think that would give Tipp problems but I'm not so sure KK would get the same problems. Galway Tipp will be interesting but would expect Tipp to win by 5 or so as I think Galway;s defense could struggle.

Post by: Premier Emperor on July 27, 2015, 05:47:20 PM
A player who lets Maurice Shanahan wind them up needs to take a long look at themselves.
Post by: deiseach on July 27, 2015, 06:26:25 PM
I've zipped through the game from start to finish on Sky+ for the purposes of my blog and can find three instances of Maurice Shanahan giving verbals or whatnot to Liam Rushe. Not once did he do it with anyone else. On two of those occasions Rushe gave as good as he got, including the bit which ended with him slapping Maurice in the head with his hurley. So if you were watching the telly and saw him goading Dublin players throughout the game, you're . . . wrong.
Post by: theskull1 on July 27, 2015, 10:08:52 PM
Rushe must have wanted his go :)
Post by: deiseach on July 27, 2015, 10:55:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 27, 2015, 10:08:52 PM
Rushed must have wanted his go :)

Post by: INDIANA on July 27, 2015, 11:15:17 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 27, 2015, 06:26:25 PM
I've zipped through the game from start to finish on Sky+ for the purposes of my blog and can find three instances of Maurice Shanahan giving verbals or whatnot to Liam Rushe. Not once did he do it with anyone else. On two of those occasions Rushe gave as good as he got, including the bit which ended with him slapping Maurice in the head with his hurley. So if you were watching the telly and saw him goading Dublin players throughout the game, you're . . . wrong.

I'll send you my video. At least 5 I've counted and Gleeson throwing the sliotar in Mc Caffrey's face (wouldnt see an u10 do that). Not a dicky bird done to either.

Johnny Ryan applies a different set of rukes to Dublin for hurling games We were ridden rock solid yesterday in my opinion and as a group of fans we are hopping mad over it. Not the first time he's done it to us either.

2 65's not shown by the Sunday Game last night that were wides - all clearly viewable on the video. The sideline that led to the gleesons point again was a Dublin ball and clearly viewed to me and anyone else sitting in the stand. That's not good enough at this level

I also have a problem with the spare hand in tackling. Rushe was fouled 3 times by Waterford players illegally using their spare hand tackling yesterday and Here's Johnny gave 3 frees for overcarrying. Bizarre , bizarre stuff. And rank, rank, rank bad refereeing

No complaints that Waterford were the better side and deserved the win. But we'd have got a fairer deal of Dan Shanahan in the Crows Nest yesterday

In my opinion it's up to the Dublin County Board to ask the GAA to ensure he and his officials are not fixed to refereee any of our games again in the future until as such time as he can be deemed to apply the same set of rules to both teams and be consistent in his approach. There was no consistency yesterday. Absolutely none

We pay our money into watch games, our players train the same as anyone else's and the least they deserve is that the referee and officials are held accountable to the same standards as the players and management. That is not being unfair to anyone. It's right and proper at this level of elite competition.

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 28, 2015, 12:04:44 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 27, 2015, 11:15:17 PM

I'll send you my video. At least 5 I've counted and Gleeson throwing the sliotar in Mc Caffrey's face (wouldnt see an u10 do that). Not a dicky bird done to either.

Johnny Ryan applies a different set of rukes to Dublin for hurling games We were ridden rock solid yesterday in my opinion and as a group of fans we are hopping mad over it. Not the first time he's done it to us either.

3 65's not shown by the Sunday Game last night that were wides - all clearly viewable on the video. The sideline that led to the goal- again was a Dublin ball and clearly viewed to me and anyone else sitting in the stand. That's not good enough at this level

I also have a problem with the spare hand in tackling. Rushe was fouled 3 times by Waterford players illegally using their spare hand tackling yesterday and Here's Johnny gave 3 frees for overcarrying. Bizarre , bizarre stuff. And rank, rank, rank bad refereeing

No complaints that Waterford were the better side and deserved the win. But we'd have got a fairer deal of Dan Shanahan in the Crows Nest yesterday

In my opinion it's up to the Dublin County Board to ask the GAA to ensure he and his officials are not fixed to refereee any of our games again in the future until as such time as he can be deemed to apply the same set of rules to both teams and be consistent in his approach. There was no consistency yesterday. Absolutely none

We pay our money into watch games, our players train the same as anyone else's and the least they deserve is that the referee and officials are held accountable to the same standards as the players and management. That is not being unfair to anyone. It's right and proper at this level of elite competition.
The spare hand thing really annoys me.
Some teams gettig away with it for years.

Goading of opponents is just childish.
But a decent referee would reverse a free or dish out a yellow card to cut it out.

The sideline ball that Gleeson stuck over was unreal, but was clearly a Dublin ball in the first place. Linesman and referee not up with play. I hope the referee assessor saw that
Post by: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 12:08:30 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 28, 2015, 12:04:44 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 27, 2015, 11:15:17 PM

3 65's not shown by the Sunday Game last night that were wides - all clearly viewable on the video. The sideline that led to the goal- again was a Dublin ball and clearly viewed to me and anyone else sitting in the stand. That's not good enough at this level

The spare hand thing really annoys me.
Some teams gettig away with it for years.

Goading of opponents is just childish.
But a decent referee would reverse a free or dish out a yellow card to cut it out.

The sideline ball that Gleeson stuck over was unreal, but was clearly a Dublin ball in the first place. Linesman and referee not up with play. I hope the referee assessor saw that

Kilkenny are the main culprits regarding the spare hand . But Lord Cody has a monopoly on what rules can be applied and what can't
Post by: theskull1 on July 28, 2015, 12:35:33 AM
The good teams don't keep their tackle to the catching hand in too long plus they do it subtlety .... that's the difference between foul being given/not given
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 08:10:34 AM
PM me the link to your video, Indiana, sure it'll be better than poke in the eye with a sharp stick. As it happens, I saw the 65 incidents you mention at the time as clearly incorrect and I thought Liam Rushe could feel sore over a couple of overcarrying decisions that he was on the wrong side of which must have added to the pressure cooker. Next time though, how about belting the real source of your angst - the ref.
Post by: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 08:47:29 AM
Quote from: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 08:10:34 AM
PM me the link to your video, Indiana, sure it'll be better than poke in the eye with a sharp stick. As it happens, I saw the 65 incidents you mention at the time as clearly incorrect and I thought Liam Rushe could feel sore over a couple of overcarrying decisions that he was on the wrong side of which must have added to the pressure cooker. Next time though, how about belting the real source of your angst - the ref.

Shanahan acted the pup the whole game. I sat in front of it with a group of Waterford fans who actually agreed with me .
You spend 70 minutes goading your opponent you'll be clipped. Rushe was very silly in how he did it . Kilkenny will be a lot more subtle in dealing with that carry on and they'll do it in such a fashion it will be all on the ball and poor Maurice will be sitting on his arse feeling very sorry for himself

Either the GAA is going to get serious on this carry on or it's going to become pandemic throughout the game

I've no issue with Waterford winning the game but the refereeing last Sunday was not acceptable for this standard of hurling .
Post by: finbar o tool on July 28, 2015, 09:05:51 AM
what Maurice Shanahan supposedly done for 70 mins is done in games all over the country, club and county, ye are acting like he is the only one who does it! if you get into an opponents head then its advantage to you. fair play to him. how many times have we heard, nice hurlers win nothing!? top hurlers would answer him with their hurling. not their hurley!

i cant see past a Tipp KK final, and i hope thats the case. Galway and Waterford are not good enough, the matches sunday were limp, especially the second game! if you want to see a good final then cross your fingers for Tipp v KK!
Post by: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 09:20:46 AM
Quote from: finbar o tool on July 28, 2015, 09:05:51 AM
what Maurice Shanahan supposedly done for 70 mins is done in games all over the country, club and county, ye are acting like he is the only one who does it! if you get into an opponents head then its advantage to you. fair play to him. how many times have we heard, nice hurlers win nothing!? top hurlers would answer him with their hurling. not their hurley!

i cant see past a Tipp KK final, and i hope thats the case. Galway and Waterford are not good enough, the matches sunday were limp, especially the second game! if you want to see a good final then cross your fingers for Tipp v KK!

Don't give me that nice load of bollox . He's a pup and when he gets his arse handed to him the next day we will see what a hard man he is . Has to be the only player in Ireland who needs a personal chaperone on the line to look after him.That's how hard he is !

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 28, 2015, 09:50:18 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 09:20:46 AM

Don't give me that nice load of bollox . He's a pup and when he gets his arse handed to him the next day we will see what a hard man he is . Has to be the only player in Ireland who needs a personal chaperone on the line to look after him.That's how hard he is !
True.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 09:54:03 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 08:47:29 AM

Shanahan acted the pup the whole game. I sat in front of it with a group of Waterford fans who actually agreed with me .
You spend 70 minutes goading your opponent you'll be clipped. Rushe was very silly in how he did it . Kilkenny will be a lot more subtle in dealing with that carry on and they'll do it in such a fashion it will be all on the ball and poor Maurice will be sitting on his arse feeling very sorry for himself

Either the GAA is going to get serious on this carry on or it's going to become pandemic throughout the game

I've no issue with Waterford winning the game but the refereeing last Sunday was not acceptable for this standard of hurling .

Send me the link, Indiana. I'm sure it'll make for interesting viewing.
Post by: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 10:20:37 AM
Quote from: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 09:54:03 AM

It's on the rte player freely available . Have a look
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 10:30:48 AM
I've already looked and seen three incidents.
Post by: finbar o tool on July 28, 2015, 10:33:33 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 09:20:46 AM

i never said he was a hard man!
he used his brain to get the better of his opponent, that shows his opponent didnt have much of a brain!!
do you think KK will fall for someone trying to put them off their game the next day by talking shite in their ear? they will in their shite! and i guarantee you Shanahan wont even try it against KK, different horses for different courses and all that! 
Post by: waterfordlad on July 28, 2015, 11:37:05 AM
Johnny Ryan sent off Shane O'Sullivan very harshly in the first half of the relegation play off last year between Waterford and Dublin so don't think he has anything against Dublin unless ye have upset him since then!
Waterford did get a couple of decisions in their favour on Sunday but wouldn't have affected outcome of the game.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 11:41:13 AM
Quote from: waterfordlad on July 28, 2015, 11:37:05 AM
Johnny Ryan sent off Shane O'Sullivan very harshly in the first half of the relegation play off last year between Waterford and Dublin so don't think he has anything against Dublin unless ye have upset him since then!

He knew we'd win the League from 1B.
Post by: Canalman on July 28, 2015, 11:43:07 AM
Quote from: waterfordlad on July 28, 2015, 11:37:05 AM
Waterford did get a couple of decisions in their favour on Sunday but wouldn't have affected outcome of the game.

"A couple"...................... come on.

Agree imo anyway that it probably didn't affect result but you never know.

No bearing on result but decision not to issue 2nd yellow card when Dotsy was chopped down was to say the least baffling.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 28, 2015, 02:22:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 28, 2015, 10:20:37 AM
Quote from: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 09:54:03 AM

It's on the rte player freely available . Have a look

I suspect you might be waiting a while for Indiana to fulfill his previous offer to "send you my video" Deiseach  ;D ;D
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 28, 2015, 02:27:42 PM
Give the timing from the television clock for each incident to make it easier.
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 03:07:56 PM
I've been banned for 24 hours from the Waterford thread on boards.ie for one of my contributions. I think that's a message to move on to less combustible topics.

Maurice is going to make Jackie Tyrrell his bitch.
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2015, 03:11:59 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 03:07:56 PM
Maurice is going to make Jackie Tyrrell his bitch.

Unlikely given that Tyrrell won't be playing
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 03:17:29 PM
(http://www.onegiantchicken.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/384x500xchicken_costume_9987.jpg.pagespeed.ic.ZJA-jL_M8B.jpg)

Jackie Tyrrell yesterday.
Post by: johnneycool on July 28, 2015, 04:43:48 PM
Can't see wor Jackie being anyones bitch to be fair and certainly no one on the current Waterford team would be capable of it. They'd best not get into a physical battle with a team that thrives on it, but I'm sure McGrath won't need told that.

As for the ref on Sunday, he could have stamped out Maurices bolloxology by moving the ball forward every time he refused to give it over to Rushe that time along the sideline, even then you could see Rushe was close to losing the plot and it wasn't a surprise to anyone when he finally hit Maurice a belt. Maurice won, Rushe will need to learn to kerb his temperament as I'm also certain he either got sent off or was very lucky to stay on the park in the U21 AI final vrs Galway (I think) when the game was lost. Good hurler and all that he is, he's now set himself up for more wind up merchants to have a go at him as they know he's going to respond.

Don't start me on the spare arm tackle as its a blight on our game which needs addressed, Kilkenny are still the masters at it, but the rest are catching on, I even saw an article by Paul Kinnerk of Clare's AI in 2013 explaining how to get away with it, on somewhere or other. The inability or fear of referees to blow it then leads to overcarrying by the person fouled. Hurling unlike football has a well defined tackle which allows a defender ample opportunity to gain possession within the rules and when the flick or block are executed well are some of the finest skills in the game.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 28, 2015, 05:15:56 PM
You cannot move a sideline forward, as far as I know
Post by: johnneycool on July 30, 2015, 08:55:11 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 28, 2015, 05:15:56 PM
You cannot move a sideline forward, as far as I know

You might be right, although I've seen some referees do it doesn't necessarily mean its in the rules  ;)
Maurice should have got a yellow card all the same for his messing in that incident.

Gleeson himself was very, very lucky to remain on the field as well for he'd a few card type indiscretions quite close together.

Thought Damien Cahalane was harshly yellow carded for his first one, big bare hand, he's every right to go for the ball IMO. The second yellow could have possibly been a red though, but would have been harsh. Not saying it had any impact on the result, but referees are beginning to throw out the yellows for any contact with a hurl, accidental or otherwise.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 30, 2015, 10:13:29 AM
No Jackie Tyrell for the semi final.
Maurice might sleep a bit more soundly for the next few weeks
Post by: Roashter on July 30, 2015, 10:55:19 AM
With Waterford playing sweeper system, I reckon Cody would have had Tyrell as the spare man in his defence as along with being a teak tough enforcer, he is also a very good reader of the game and is a good man to pick out a player in space.

It will be interesting to see who he assigns this role to now.
Post by: johnneycool on August 07, 2015, 01:50:11 PM
I'd say if there's going to be a spare man in the Kilkenny defence it'll be Buckley as he can cover the ground and use the ball well, not saying the others can't but the likes of Paul Murphy will be given the job of curtailing someone as he's a fine man marker.
This is a pretty inexperienced defence, (by KK standards) with JJ, Tommy, Hogan retired and Tyrell and possibly Michael Fennelly out injured. Waterford can't afford the wide count they had against Tipp as their own defence will be under immense pressure from the Kilkenny attack, who are going to be the biggest physical battle they've faced this year.

If Waterford can get their shooting right, then it'll be a close game going either way, otherwise it'd be hard not to see the Cats put 10 plus points on them.

Post by: waterfordlad on August 07, 2015, 05:40:37 PM
I'm looking forward to Sunday now. If Waterford can keep the defence tight and prevent Kilkenny getting goals in the first half and keep in the game until the 2nd half we have a chance but keeping the likes of TJ Reid and Richie Hogan quiet will be very difficult.
I'd love to see Waterford finally beat Kilkenny in championship but it's hard to back against the Cats.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 07, 2015, 06:47:31 PM
Used to be that TJ Ried would have went missing in some games, not now as he's been very consistent for the last few seasons... Tad early this year for Waterford maybe next year they can go on and get to another final...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 09, 2015, 11:24:52 AM
Hoping for a classic today... Been some crap games lately due to sweeper systems being played by some teams.

If the Cats get going early and manage a goal early it could be curtains

Think I'll have a bet on Hogan for man of match award..
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 09, 2015, 02:34:13 PM
Oh look.

There is a place for ground hurling in games
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 09, 2015, 09:54:44 PM
Waterford's only hope was to bang a couple of quick goals at some point. Kilkenny always seemed content to hold it at a 3 or 4 point gap and rarely looked urgent.
Waterford wasted a lot of ball by driving it down the middle when they needed a late goal. Better chance if they secured possession on the wings, solo in with it and try and draw the full back line out.
Post by: finbar o tool on August 09, 2015, 11:32:49 PM
Fair play to the cats, expected them to win. Not a great match though, hate watching a match with sweepers! Restricts the hurling. Waterford needed to go all out attack in order to get the goal they needed and make a game of it but they never did.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2015, 07:18:34 AM
Sweeper system only gets you so far, at some point you gotta gamble on going 15 on 15... Decent game but not the spectacle the neutrals were looking.. Waterford's supporters can be happy with the performance in the game and the season they have had... Two defeats .. Not bad
Post by: deiseach on August 10, 2015, 07:45:38 AM
We're not up to their level, there isn't a system that can bridge that gap. Hopefully Patrick Curran and the Bennetts can improve, and I think we need to get Austin Gleeson into the forwards. Although while Brian Cody is in charge, I think we're all just hoping to catch them with a sucker punch. Remorseless.
Post by: waterfordlad on August 10, 2015, 08:01:57 AM
It wasn't a great game. Some flashes of good hurling from the likes of Reid, Hogan,Aylward and for Waterford De Burca, the Fives brothers, Gleeson and Dunford were best with Maurice Shanahan also good in first half but struggled when outnumbered by Kilkenny defence in 2nd half under high balls. Game kind of petered out near the end with Kilkenny holding on the lead and not looking like conceding the goal Waterford needed.
Overall a good season for Waterford winning the league and beating Cork and Dublin in championship so we would have taken that at start of the year.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 10, 2015, 12:22:50 PM
Joey Holden's professional foul on Shanahan when Waterford needed a goal showed that even if Waterford were capable of snapping up possession near the Kilkenny goal, Kilkenny had enough numbers back to stop them by whatever means necessary.
But listen, there's no cynicism in hurling, it's a football problem.
Post by: Canalman on August 10, 2015, 12:32:50 PM
From a neutral's perspective a dull uninspiring game. KK fully deserved win. Brute force, speed and skill all in one.

Thought the angle of the ball into the Waterford full forward line was absolutely junior hurling standard. Circus tented into the air giving the full forward line (or what was left of it ) no chance.

What ifs , if my auntie had balls etc but what Waterford wouldn't have given to have John Mullane there yesterday popping over 3 or 4 points from play.

Have a hunch that next Sunday's game is the defacto All Ireland final.
Post by: finbar o tool on August 10, 2015, 12:59:42 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 10, 2015, 12:32:50 PM

Have a hunch that next Sunday's game is the defacto All Ireland final.

eh?? write Kilkenny off at your peril!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 10, 2015, 01:13:23 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 10, 2015, 12:22:50 PM
Joey Holden's professional foul on Shanahan when Waterford needed a goal showed that even if Waterford were capable of snapping up possession near the Kilkenny goal, Kilkenny had enough numbers back to stop them by whatever means necessary.

You did watch the Tyrone Monaghan  game ? There are professional fouls in all team sports ffs, football just has that bit more than hurling due to the fact they are generally holding a stick with one hand (though the Waterford keeper got away with it) you'd need to be a right tool not to know that football is worse for this sort of thing than football, and in that your argument or attempt at sarcasm is lost.
Post by: deiseach on August 10, 2015, 01:22:19 PM

Meh. I take your point (so to speak) about the ráiméis of hurling being the repository of all things good and pure while nasty football matches have thirty Tiernan McCanns, but a free awarded around the 21m line in hurling is still a potent thing if the attacking team is so inclined. It's not something that I would be too worried about.
Post by: johnneycool on August 10, 2015, 05:04:37 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 10, 2015, 01:22:19 PM

Meh. I take your point (so to speak) about the ráiméis of hurling being the repository of all things good and pure while nasty football matches have thirty Tiernan McCanns, but a free awarded around the 21m line in hurling is still a potent thing if the attacking team is so inclined. It's not something that I would be too worried about.

There's always been cynicism in hurling, it just isn't normally as rewarding in hurling as football, but there are times like the Waterford keeper and Joey Holden when the end can sometimes justify the means, if you come out the right side of the end result.

Brian Gavin obviously thinks big Walter has a propensity to 'fall' as it was an obvious free at least that time, but a few minutes later big Walter didn't let Brian down when his feet inexplicably went from below him, play on and rightly so.

As for the game in general though the Waterford backs made too many individual errors, Coughlan getting caught under the high ball with deBurca, allowing TJ to sneak in (Paul Murphy wasn't making the same mistake the other end), Darragh Fives on the wrong side of Walter Walsh twice from puckouts, allowing Walter to catch in his left hand, think he ended up getting frees both times as well and several other mishits, poor passes and so on which Kilkenny more often than not punished.
Maybe that was the nerves and inexperience, but when they did click they had Kilkenny in trouble, but never for long or sustained enough periods to really rattle them and get the scoreboard level.
Kilkenny have the best set of allround forwards in the game, well able to take their scores, find the men in space and get wired in for the dirty ball. Tipp may have better stickmen, but it takes a bit more than that to accumulate AIs like Kilkenny do.

Maybe I'm old fashioned but if Waterford were going to do anything they needed a goal or two, but being short in numbers was going to be a bridge too far. KK are far too cute for the long ball hanging in the air, they needed to be dipping lower for Maurice and Brick to have a chance of winning anything or a ball they could run on to.

Progress for Waterford, but no system will work if the individual errors continue, but the pressure put on the man with the ball by Kilkenny, fair means or  foul is something to behold.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 10, 2015, 10:33:03 PM
Is there anyone out there amazed at the stuff the Kilkenny lads get away with in games?

Yesterday, I counted numerous occurrences of Kilkenny players constantly slapping their opponents with the hurley, without a free being given.

Have the rules changes recently?
Same with chopping down on the stick of an opponent. The rule applied for Kilkenny games seems to be: as long as you get near the ball its OK.
Post by: johnneycool on August 11, 2015, 08:25:11 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 10, 2015, 10:33:03 PM
Is there anyone out there amazed at the stuff the Kilkenny lads get away with in games?

Yesterday, I counted numerous occurrences of Kilkenny players constantly slapping their opponents with the hurley, without a free being given.

Same with chopping down on the stick of an opponent. The rule applied for Kilkenny games seems to be: as long as you get near the ball its OK.

Yip,
    I'm in agreement, the slaps, the tugs, the arms out, but the referees are in a no win situation, blow it and they're the worst in the world. Until someone bests Kilkenny at it, then there won't be a word about it.

Quote from: johnneycool on August 10, 2015, 05:04:37 PM

Progress for Waterford, but no system will work if the individual errors continue, but the pressure put on the man with the ball by Kilkenny, fair means or foul is something to behold.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 11, 2015, 09:30:33 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 11, 2015, 08:25:11 AM

Yip,
    I'm in agreement, the slaps, the tugs, the arms out, but the referees are in a no win situation, blow it and they're the worst in the world. Until someone bests Kilkenny at it, then there won't be a word about it.

Quote from: johnneycool on August 10, 2015, 05:04:37 PM

Progress for Waterford, but no system will work if the individual errors continue, but the pressure put on the man with the ball by Kilkenny, fair means or foul is something to behold.

They aren't on their own, Tipp do also.... It's in the club games also. Pet hate of mine, when I blow for this foul when refereeing the players crack up!! They say its a mans game or that's a soft free!!! The min same player gets a slap he's gurnning like feck. Trying to get player sent off... It's a cheap dirty slap lazy foul by a player not fit or quick enough to make a decent attempt to play the ball
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 11, 2015, 10:06:37 AM
The new five second rule isn't being implemented at club level properly.
Why do they introduce rules without trialling them first?
Post by: finbar o tool on August 11, 2015, 10:09:09 AM
i think a lot of teams are at it to be fair, not just Kilkenny. and Kilkenny play with such intensity that it is interpreted as just that sometimes, intensity. 
Post by: INDIANA on August 11, 2015, 10:13:13 AM

I thought the opposite I thought the referee was very lenient on Waterford last Sunday. They committed numerous fouls that were never given. They are notorious for using the spare man to foul the man and getting away with it.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2015, 10:14:20 AM
I see Richie Hogan is calling for a revamp of the All Ireland/Qualifier structures. When a lad with a few All Irelands, from the best team ever, is saying it then you know something is off.
Post by: johnneycool on August 11, 2015, 01:19:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 11, 2015, 10:14:20 AM
I see Richie Hogan is calling for a revamp of the All Ireland/Qualifier structures. When a lad with a few All Irelands, from the best team ever, is saying it then you know something is off.

Ah see poor Richie is an idealist, he's not the one looking to maintain their own wee empire in Leinster and more importantly Munster.

Whilst I've always loved going to Munster championship games (well not so much now with the back door) its a big money spinner for the Munster Council and the associated counties which would be somewhat diluted with open draws or AI round robin set ups, so you'll not see any of those 5 hurling counties voting for change. You can add in Kilkenny in Leinster as they're currently well served by a easy enough route to an AI semi, so I can't see change coming from within the hurling elite.
Post by: deiseach on August 16, 2015, 07:43:40 PM