GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on June 14, 2015, 11:25:31 PM

Title: Meath vs Westmeath - Leinster Semi-Final 28/6/15 (Croke Park)
Post by: thejuice on June 14, 2015, 11:25:31 PM
Hopefully a few broken fingers will have mended in time for this, though the lads coming back might be a bit rusty. If we don't get McGill, Reilly or Menton back I think we'll be really up against it. Even Mickey Burke isn't 100% and still played today.
Title: Re: Meath vs Westmeath - Leinster Semi-Final 28/6/15 (Croke Park)
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 11:27:18 PM
How heavy will the weight of history be on the shoulders of Westmeath? Was there when Dessie missed that free.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 14, 2015, 11:35:52 PM
It's hard to look at Meath at the minute. Westmeath could certainly beat us. A lot will depend on what team is available to us, and whether we play lads in position or not.
Mickey Burke! Don't get me started on Mickey Burke.
Post by: thejuice on June 14, 2015, 11:47:59 PM
Mickey may not be the most talented footballer but he puts in a mountain of work and is totally dedicated to the Meath cause, not just for the footballers but the hurlers too. I wish some of the other lads had the drive and dedication he has.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 15, 2015, 12:09:34 AM
Probably the biggest cliché in Meath football. "Mickey Burke works his socks off", "he gives 100%", and so on. He's not good enough. He's not the only one, I know. He is however the most obvious sacred cow of recent years in Meath football. Joey Wallace is another, though to a lesser extent. There's a cult of personality around Mickey Burke, and frankly it's damaging to Meath football. Today, you could look around the pitch and pick out almost any number of players who are just not good enough. Judge, Power, McEntee, the list goes on. It should be expected that you give 100% if you're playing for your county. It shouldn't distinguish you from everyone else that you are trying hard! Today's farce with the penalty is hardly even worthy of a mention compared to several years of sub par performances. And far from wanting to be critical, I'd much prefer if we were progressing and the boys were improving. Fair enough, we were missing a lot of players and that happens. Overall though, on the evidence of league and championship performances since 2012 very little progress is being made. For example, we don't have anything approaching an accepted starting XV. Our half back line is largely unknown from game to game, and today the defending was awful. I'm not laying the blame at Mickey Burke's door alone but there are fundamental issues with the team and in my opinion he is one of them.

We may well beat Westmeath, but it doesn't change anything and Westmeath have a very good chance of beating us too. Barring miraculous recoveries for our key players (and them being fit and ready to play) we will be marking 2015 down as another early exit from the championship.
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2015, 09:05:57 AM
With the injuries we have, Westmeath would have to be serious favourites.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 15, 2015, 10:16:18 AM
This may be the best chance in ages for WH to beat Meath in the championship for the first time.

Meath can point (no pun intended) to finger injuries all they like but to concede 3-12 to Wickla is shocking.

BTW - did I miss something. Why are WH now playing mainly in green jerseys? Surely the usual maroon would not have clashed with the Wexford jerseys.

Have they done a Shligo and switched formally the county jersey?

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 10:28:18 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 11:27:18 PM
How heavy will the weight of history be on the shoulders of Westmeath? Was there when Dessie missed that free.

I don't think that will come into it at all Dinny. None of this Westmeath team were exposed to the hoodoo years of 2001-2003 and they are used to beating them at underage level. I think they will relish taking them on in Croker. Good to see you back on the board btw, get in early and cheer us on Sunday week.

SS, Wexford's jerseys are mainly purple now so there would have been a clash alright. Although after maintaining our 100% record in green there's an argument to be made for keeping it going. The hurlers switched last week as well.
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2015, 10:40:45 AM
You needn't think you'll be wearing green the next day.
Post by: illdecide on June 15, 2015, 10:54:44 AM
If there's a God out there we'll pray to him Westmeath win this ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:12:17 AM

First thing I thought of when I heard this was the semi final.

I remember saying to my cousins that Westmeath should play a challenge match against a club side from Offaly or somewhere and ask them to wear Meath jerseys.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 11:18:27 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:12:17 AM

First thing I thought of when I heard this was the semi final.

I remember saying to my cousins that Westmeath should play a challenge match against a club side from Offaly or somewhere and ask them to wear Meath jerseys.

Club side?

From Offaly?

This isn't 1982 you know...
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:21:53 AM
To beat them I meant.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 15, 2015, 11:27:00 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 10:28:18 AM

I don't think that will come into it at all Dinny. None of this Westmeath team were exposed to the hoodoo years of 2001-2003 and they are used to beating them at underage level. I think they will relish taking them on in Croker. Good to see you back on the board btw, get in early and cheer us on Sunday week.

SS, Wexford's jerseys are mainly purple now so there would have been a clash alright. Although after maintaining our 100% record in green there's an argument to be made for keeping it going. The hurlers switched last week as well.

I don't know, it's bound to be dragged up in the media build up. Sure the bold Dinny upstairs would be disgusted if I didn't cheer on Westmeath.

What's the craic with the green jersey?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 11:37:05 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 15, 2015, 11:27:00 AM

I don't know, it's bound to be dragged up in the media build up. Sure the bold Dinny upstairs would be disgusted if I didn't cheer on Westmeath.

Oh, it'll be dragged up alright and there's bound to be a least one article with Dessie about that miss. I don't think it has anywhere near the same relevance as it did to the players of 10 years ago. Of the team that started yesterday, 8 were in the U21 team that convincingly defeated Eastmeath in 2010. The heads will be right for this one I feel.

Green comes from the Leinster jersey. Think there's only ourselves, Kerry, Down and arguably Galway who still use the traditional provincial colours.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:39:03 AM
The Tipp away jersey is also blue, but a darker blue with no gold hoop, so I suppose they'd say they wear the provincial blue as well. Actually I think Clare are the same.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 15, 2015, 11:44:31 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 11:37:05 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 15, 2015, 11:27:00 AM

Oh, it'll be dragged up alright and there's bound to be a least one article with Dessie about that miss. I don't think it has anywhere near the same relevance as it did to the players of 10 years ago. Of the team that started yesterday, 8 were in the U21 team that convincingly defeated Eastmeath in 2010. The heads will be right for this one I feel.

Green comes from the Leinster jersey. Think there's only ourselves, Kerry, Down and arguably Galway who still use the traditional provincial colours.

Kildare also have a horrible aul green jersey for playing Tyrone, Monaghan and Waterford.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:51:57 AM
that's right. That's a horrible shade of green actually.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 11:53:34 AM
Forgot about Kildare and Clare, although I'd throw Clare in the same category as Galway in that they could just be change colours. That's mental about the Tipp away jersey.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:58:54 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 11:53:34 AM
Forgot about Kildare and Clare, although I'd throw Clare in the same category as Galway in that they could just be change colours. That's mental about the Tipp away jersey.

Why mental? Because it's also blue? :) Yeah, it is, but I suppose the way it's designed does make it look very different.

(https://www.oneills.com/media/catalog/product/cache/4/image/480x480/040ec09b1e35df139433887a97daa66f/t/i/tipp-baby-jersey-2015_2.jpg)
(https://www.gaa.ie/content/images/news/tipperary/ORiordanColin_BlackJersey.jpg)

Anyway, back to Westmeath and Meath :)

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 12:10:08 PM
Yeah, mental because it's blue.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 12:14:05 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 15, 2015, 12:10:08 PM
Yeah, mental because it's blue.

They're fair stubborn :) It actually does have gold on it too :) So home is Blue and Gold, away is well, Blue and Gold. :)
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2015, 03:29:09 PM
Here, if I want to read about which shade of blue/green is in fashion, I'll watch Xposé.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 03:55:37 PM
You'll watch what?
Post by: Rossfan on June 16, 2015, 12:43:59 AM
This should be a handy oul win for the Western part of Meath.
Post by: meathie on June 22, 2015, 03:26:18 PM
This is the first game in a long long long time Im going to miss. Always wotk around games for the hols but couldnt avoid it this time  :( Will be in south Africa. If the game is live on RTE does that mean I can watch it no problem on the rte player? thanks
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2015, 03:49:28 PM
Quote from: meathie on June 22, 2015, 03:26:18 PM
This is the first game in a long long long time Im going to miss. Always wotk around games for the hols but couldnt avoid it this time  :( Will be in south Africa. If the game is live on RTE does that mean I can watch it no problem on the rte player? thanks

You cannot watch it "no problem" as you'll need some sort of proxy server.
Pay the €10 to Gaago.
Post by: meathie on June 22, 2015, 05:17:36 PM
yea thats fine Ill pay the GAA go thing, just wasnt sure if there was a problem, not majorly tech minded is all, hence asking for advice.....
Post by: thejuice on June 24, 2015, 12:01:32 AM
Shane O'Rourke and Gillespie are still out but Menton, Reilly, Newman and McGill should be available. How fit they are will be another matter but better to have than to have not.

Still not feeling too hopeful but we can make a decent fist of it while we're out there.
Post by: thejuice on June 26, 2015, 08:03:53 AM
Meath (SFC v Westmeath):

1. Patrick O Rourke{Skryne}

2. James Mc Entee {Curraha}
3.Conor Mc Gill {Ratoath}
4. Donncha Tobin {Blackhall Gaels}

5. Mickey Burke{ Longwood}
6. Donal Keogan {Rathkenny} Capt.
7. Bryan Menton { Donaghmore Ashbourne}

8. Harry Rooney {Skryne}
9. Kevin Reilly [Navan O Mahony's}

10 Graham Reilly {St. Colmcille's}
11 Padraic Harnan {Moynalvey}
12 Andrew Tormey {Donaghmore Ashbourne}

13 Michael Newman{Kilmainham}
14 Stephen Bray {Navan O'Mahony's}
15 Brian Mc Mahon {Ratoath}

K Reilly at no. 9? I'd say Menton will be there more like.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 26, 2015, 10:20:11 AM
                   Darren Quinn
  Killian Daly, Kevin Maguire, John Gilligan
Paddy Holloway, Kieran Martin, James Dolan
          Paul Sharry, Darragh Daly
   Ray Connellan, Ger Egan, Denis Corroon
Lorcan Smyth, John Heslin, Shane Dempsey

Westmeath change it around again, Smyth in for Foley and lots of positional changes. Presume Smyth is in for his physical presence as he dogged it out against Kildare. Will need to work hard if out on the 40, did well out there the last day when he came on. Stong looking bench as well for once with Gary Connaughton, Kieran Gavin, Francis Boyle, Denis Glennon, John Connellan, John Egan, Ronan Foley and Paul Greville there.

Lots of pressure on our neighbours on Sunday. Bookies expect them to win, and win well. Martin McHugh and others talking about how far their star has fallen. Third year under O'Dowd so after a difficult second year they really need to make an impression on the championship this year. Nothing expected of Westmeath, a win will make our year. Need to stick someone on Graham Reilly though.

Up Westmeath!
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2015, 11:05:37 AM
Hope the Westies win.
At least they have no grassy banks.
Post by: armaghniac on June 26, 2015, 12:39:21 PM
Yes, green grassy slopes are traditional along the Boyne.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 26, 2015, 11:04:26 PM
Is this game still going ahead? Given the nature of the circumstances, should it not be postponed?
Post by: muppet on June 27, 2015, 08:31:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 26, 2015, 11:04:26 PM
Is this game still going ahead? Given the nature of the circumstances, should it not be postponed?

I would have thought so.
Post by: thejuice on June 27, 2015, 11:37:03 AM
No mention of it being off yet. I'm surprised.

Club games have been postponed as far as I know.
Post by: armaghniac on June 27, 2015, 12:04:29 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 27, 2015, 11:37:03 AM

Club games have been postponed. Changing intercounty games because of the death of one panelist's mother would set a hard precedent to follow.
Post by: Hardy on June 27, 2015, 12:21:06 PM
Yes. I don't think this will happen.

Awful times for the Carty family.
Post by: Rossfan on June 27, 2015, 01:45:37 PM
My condolences to the Carry family.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2015, 03:32:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 27, 2015, 12:04:29 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 27, 2015, 11:37:03 AM

Club games have been postponed. Changing intercounty games because of the death of one panelist's mother would set a hard precedent to follow.

True. I remember the sad situation with the Tyrone goalies father. I just thought in this circumstance it might be different.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 02:22:50 PM
Westies not at the races :(
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 02:25:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 02:22:50 PM
Westies not at the races :(

Paddy O'Rourke has a bad habit of brutal kick-outs..
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2015, 02:38:58 PM
2-12 in one half is Dublin like scoring. Westmeath won't look out of place in division three next year.
Post by: larryin89 on June 28, 2015, 02:41:49 PM
Meath have a lovely style to them albeit Westmeath defence have no system at all .
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 28, 2015, 02:43:03 PM
Meath look very good today. Even Jim Gavin will be concerned for the final.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 28, 2015, 02:43:36 PM
Bray doing some damage and Graham Reilly, The Westmeath defence is brutal though
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 28, 2015, 02:46:04 PM
Incredibly poor defending by both teams so far, although Westmeath are really taking the biscuit, shudder to think of the final v Dublin.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 02:56:41 PM
Just give the ball to Kieran Martin everytime. He's a tank
Post by: rodney trotter on June 28, 2015, 02:59:32 PM
Good player alright, him and Sharry can carry it well.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2015, 03:02:49 PM
Some nice scores but not much intensity to this game. Feels like a challenge match at times.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 03:11:39 PM
Seriously, Kieran Martin. Get him on the ball
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 03:12:13 PM
This is like a game where both team teams are not bothered cos the winner will get humiliated by Dublin anyway!
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:12:46 PM
Meath will get destroyed by Dublin.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 03:18:19 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:12:46 PM
Meath will get destroyed by Dublin.

If they get the chance to............
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:20:24 PM
Dive!!!!!!!!
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:20:50 PM
Hardy Meath men.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2015, 03:21:30 PM
Dying swan routine there by the Meath number 7 to win that free. Amazed the ref bought that.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2015, 03:21:41 PM
Fair play to Westmeath showing great fight in this second half.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 03:22:12 PM
Westmeath will win this
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:22:38 PM
Diving, cynical Meath.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:24:32 PM
Can Westmeath show the bottle that Dessie lacked all those years ago?
Post by: rodney trotter on June 28, 2015, 03:25:14 PM
Momentum with Westmeath, hopefully they do it
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2015, 03:28:23 PM
Feel like I watching matt Connor all over again. John Heslin is unreal
Post by: laoislad on June 28, 2015, 03:33:00 PM
Fair play Westmeath.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 03:34:02 PM
One thing about Meath they are never beat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ;D

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 28, 2015, 03:34:24 PM
Well done Westmeath, hard luck Meath......................P ORourke is dirt
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:34:31 PM
What a comeback!!!!!!! Brilliant stuff.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2015, 03:34:52 PM
Mental stuff, fairplay Westmeath.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2015, 03:35:19 PM
That was amazing, as good as any game I seen played at Croke Park.. For Westmeath to beat them for the first time!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2015, 03:35:39 PM
I take back what I said about Westmeath in the first half. Serious comeback and result for Westmeath well done to them. Great watch match of championship so far or be it with little or no defending on show.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 28, 2015, 03:35:49 PM
Class game. I love the fact that nobody can defend in Leinster.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:35:57 PM
10 points down and they won by 4.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 03:36:38 PM
F**k me that was some match. Don't know how Meath managed to lose that one or Weatmeath managed to win it. Well done to Westmeath.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 03:37:11 PM
Kieran Martin won that game almost on his own
Post by: armaghniac on June 28, 2015, 03:38:17 PM
Well done Westmeath. It isn't often that a lead like that is overturned when there isn't a gale.
Post by: jodyb on June 28, 2015, 03:38:23 PM
Delighted for Westmeath!! These are the games and events that make the game so inspiring!
Post by: rodney trotter on June 28, 2015, 03:40:00 PM
Martin is a tank, saw him a few times against Cavan and he always stood out. Sharry, Heslin very good too

Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2015, 03:42:56 PM
I know some of the more seasoned WH lads on here will know that I wouldn't be too fond of ye boys but I am genuinely delighted with that win.

I am astonished at the collapse of Meath. Sure, the first black card was wrong, but still. At one stage it looked like MH would win at a canter.

Well done WH - I hope ye give the Dubs/Kildare a rattle.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 28, 2015, 03:43:48 PM
Wasn't expecting that. 

Well done IarMhi.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 28, 2015, 03:44:12 PM
"You'll never beat the royals!"
Post by: yellowcard on June 28, 2015, 03:45:34 PM
Some second half display by Westmeath and in Martin and Heslin they have 2 players who would get on any county side. Even with 10 minutes to go you could only see one winner, Meath had just totally collapsed. Reilly getting a harsh black was a big turning point.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 03:47:27 PM
Great stuff Westmeath!!
Not the better of it yet.
Ros players please copy.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 03:49:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 03:47:27 PM
Great stuff Westmeath!!
Ros players please copy.

We can copy that defensive performance easily. If we're going anywhere we can forget about being that naive and open.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 03:51:27 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 28, 2015, 03:45:34 PM
Some second half display by Westmeath and in Martin and Heslin they have 2 players who would get on any county side. Even with 10 minutes to go you could only see one winner, Meath had just totally collapsed. Reilly getting a harsh black was a big turning point.

Harsh? Was it cynical play? Was he trying to stop a player illegally? Was it dangerous?
Post by: laoislad on June 28, 2015, 03:51:48 PM
Shut the fcuk up about Roscommon ffs no one gives a fcuk.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 03:55:35 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 03:51:27 PM

Harsh? Was it cynical play? Was he trying to stop a player illegally? Was it dangerous?

As much a red as a black card for how stupid and dangerous it was honestly. Why show your studs in that situation? He can have no complaints.
Post by: maigheo on June 28, 2015, 04:00:02 PM
never been more thrilled with a Westmeath victory in my life.Super comeback .
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:01:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 03:55:35 PM

As much a red as a black card for how stupid and dangerous it was honestly. Why show your studs in that situation? He can have no complaints.

That's the problem with the Black Card we are always saying the referees don't use them as much as they should - the minute one is dished out - It's Harsh!
Post by: armaghniac on June 28, 2015, 04:02:08 PM
Anyone pile on WH in the bookies at half time?
Post by: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 04:26:55 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:01:17 PM

That's the problem with the Black Card we are always saying the referees don't use them as much as they should - the minute one is dished out - It's Harsh!

It was very harsh in my opinion. If the rule was implemented consistently, then maybe you could argue it was ok. However you see 10 tackles like that per game.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 04:28:32 PM
Quote from: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 04:26:55 PM

It was very harsh in my opinion. If the rule was implemented consistently, then maybe you could argue it was ok. However you see 10 tackles like that per game.

You need to look a lot more carefully if you think you see that 10 times a match. Not even approaching harsh.
Post by: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 04:29:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 04:28:32 PM

You need to look a lot more carefully if you think you see that 10 times a match. Not even approaching harsh.

I'll use my own opinion if that's ok with you.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 04:43:15 PM
Quote from: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 04:29:40 PM

Facts would be better to use. How many times do you see a player sticking his studs into another player's calves at match? Because if it's ten times you're watching some seriously dodgy teams..
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2015, 04:43:38 PM
Raging I didn't see this game.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 28, 2015, 04:48:57 PM
I've had the same jersey for about 10 years. Went to Croke Park yesterday bought a new one. I'm putting our victory down to the new jersey. Happy Happy days.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:05:26 PM
Hard to believe it's 2001 since Meath last won a Leinster title!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2015, 05:06:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1kXfLbvoZw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1kXfLbvoZw)

;D :D ;D
Post by: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 05:09:28 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 04:43:15 PM

Facts would be better to use. How many times do you see a player sticking his studs into another player's calves at match? Because if it's ten times you're watching some seriously dodgy teams..

There's no facts here unless you have evidence that it was a deliberate act. Your attempts to make up my mind for me though are noted.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 05:13:24 PM
Quote from: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 05:09:28 PM

There's no facts here unless you have evidence that it was a deliberate act. Your attempts to make up my mind for me though are noted.

You have one hell of a chip on your shoulder. The ball was no where near where Reilly lifted the boot; it was clearly deliberate.
Post by: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 05:18:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 05:13:24 PM

You have one hell of a chip on your shoulder.

That's what happens when people try to push their own opinions down others throats. I simply posted that I though the black card was harsh but you decided to row in with condescending posts. I don't care that you think differently, but I do care that you think that gives you the right to be an ass about it.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 05:37:05 PM
Quote from: Chimley on June 28, 2015, 05:18:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 05:13:24 PM

You have one hell of a chip on your shoulder.

That's what happens when people try to push their own opinions down others throats. I simply posted that I though the black card was harsh but you decided to row in with condescending posts. I don't care that you think differently, but I do care that you think that gives you the right to be an ass about it.

I really don't know what to say to you if think disagreeing with you is forcing opinions on you. The relevant point is the ball was no where near where Rielly showed the studs and the Westmeath player was between him and the ball. That simply does not happen 'ten times' a match.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 05:45:54 PM
The black card was harsh. The end.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:49:46 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 05:45:54 PM

The Black card was not harsh. The end!
Post by: Rudi on June 28, 2015, 05:50:08 PM
Great stuff Westmeath!!
Ros players please copy.

+1 well done to the neighbours.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 06:07:23 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:49:46 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 05:45:54 PM

The Black card was not harsh. The end!

Was so.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2015, 06:25:15 PM
http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/tweet-meath-goalkeeper-paddy-orourke-subjected-to-threats-and-abuse-on-twitter-after-red-card/30280

Post by: shark on June 28, 2015, 06:57:07 PM
Well that was just fantastic  :)

Have to go in to Leinster Final believing they can win.  Very unlikely, but have to believe or else there is 0% chance.  At the very worst, a second bite at the cherry to qualify for 1/4 final.  Fantastic  :)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 07:10:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2015, 06:41:16 PM
I thought the red card was harsh tbh.
Agree, probably a yellow card.
But the red was probably for dangerous play
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2015, 07:21:53 PM
Well done Westmeath and congratulations to all the westmeath lads on here. Game of the  championship so far.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 07:23:17 PM
Well done to Westmeath for having the balls to go and grab the game off a team which thought the game was won and stopped playing.
It was like the Wexford game in 2008 all over again.
Could see it happening with 20 minutes to go and had no confidence in either the players or management to stop it.
Post by: laoislad on June 28, 2015, 08:22:20 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2015, 07:23:46 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2015, 05:06:19 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1kXfLbvoZw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1kXfLbvoZw)

;D :D ;D
That is superb.
We bet the f**kers We bet the f**kers  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 08:28:20 PM

Fully deserved in my view. Looked for the man and followed right through. It was deliberate and dangerous in my view.

Post by: Sidney on June 28, 2015, 08:32:12 PM
Well that was just magnificent. An outstanding sporting occasion and proof that the championship structure is just fine as it is. Well done Westmeath.

These supporters certainly seemed to enjoy the moment and more power to them.

(https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xft1/t31.0-8/11417780_10155767730295593_1000899178194636047_o.jpg)
Post by: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 08:57:10 PM
Just watched the full game. Brilliant display by Westmeath in the last 10. Thon Heslin is a serious operator as is Martin.....he's virtually unstoppable...though Meath's defence was dire in the 2nd half.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 28, 2015, 09:09:29 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 08:28:20 PM

Fully deserved in my view. Looked for the man and followed right through. It was deliberate and dangerous in my view.

Red card all day long. Terrible tackle.

Very enjoyable game. Martin just seemed to decide that he was getting a score when he got the ball.

Harsh black card on reilly who is a serious operator.
Post by: Orior on June 28, 2015, 09:21:00 PM
Congratulations Westmeath!  Great entertainment, and glad I decided to stick and watch the second half.
Post by: Mayo Border on June 28, 2015, 09:31:40 PM
Don't agree Reilly's card was harsh. It wasn't a trip as such. He went in with studs to the legs. It was a cynical act and could in fact have been a red. Replay showed clearly what happened.
Post by: dublin7 on June 28, 2015, 09:34:57 PM
Reilly's black card was harsh & changed the game. No sympathy for O'Rourke. New exactly what he was doing, straight red card all day long. New exactly what he was doing goin in with his elbow
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2015, 09:38:03 PM
Quote from: Mayo Border on June 28, 2015, 09:31:40 PM
Don't agree Reilly's card was harsh. It wasn't a trip as such. He went in with studs to the legs. It was a cynical act and could in fact have been a red. Replay showed clearly what happened.

It was a trip,with the left foot on the mans shin, that's why he was holding it. He never touched him with his studs.
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2015, 09:38:45 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 28, 2015, 09:21:00 PM
Congratulations Westmeath!  Great entertainment, and glad I decided to stick and watch the second half.
Great to see them doing so well.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 09:43:50 PM
[quote  ;D ;)author=Rudi link=topic=25906.msg1483731#msg1483731 date=1435510208]
Grat stuff Westmeath!!
Ros players please copy.

Syfín told stolen sheep that the Éire Óg under 12s would bate Westmeath ::)
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 09:43:50 PM
[quote  ;D ;)author=Rudi link=topic=25906.msg1483731#msg1483731 date=1435510208]
Grat stuff Westmeath!!
Ros players please copy.

Syfín told stolen sheep that the Éire Óg under 12s would bate Westmeath ::)

If two teams can't defend it doesn't suddenly make one good just because they won. We can revisit this in August and we'll see how chirper you are then..
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 28, 2015, 10:05:44 PM
Just saw O'Rourke's challenge that got him sent off.

He could have done real & lasting damage to a man who, in all likelihood, has to go to work tomorrow & a lengthy ban is called for.

Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 10:12:53 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 08:57:10 PM
Just watched the full game. Brilliant display by Westmeath in the last 10. Thon Heslin is a serious operator as is Martin.....he's virtually unstoppable...though Meath's defence was dire in the 2nd half.

he'll not get 1-4 from play off ROC. Fine player but Dublin will rip their defence to shreds unless they plug the holes
Post by: Main Street on June 28, 2015, 10:15:24 PM
I decided to watch a recording of the game, I very nearly didn't, finger was on the delete button for a 'long while'.
Superb performance by Westmeath, didn't panic on the restart, took their points and were just unstoppable when they got within 4 points.
Great day for Westmeath gaa fans.
Post by: blast05 on June 28, 2015, 10:16:24 PM
Adding last 12 minutes of Westmeath v Wexford (1-9) and last 18 minutes today (2-9) ..... and Westmeath scored 3-18. Serious scoring
As for Heslin .... he actually had an uncharacteristic number of misses from play today. He once scored 2-16 in a county semi-final v Garrycastle in 2013 !!
Post by: sligoman2 on June 28, 2015, 11:00:05 PM
Congratulations to Westmeath great second half and another great upset for the form book.
Post by: orangeman on June 28, 2015, 11:11:52 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on June 28, 2015, 10:05:44 PM

He could have done real & lasting damage to a man who, in all likelihood, has to go to work tomorrow & a lengthy ban is called for.

And so has Paddyvto go to work too.

The online shite he is getting is crazy.
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 11:32:33 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 28, 2015, 11:11:52 PM

True the stuff up there is horrible- but Paddy has used social media to criticise Diarmuid Connolly in the past. I sincerely hope he's learned now it ain't so nice. Dunno why any players put themselves on public viewing on social media
Post by: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 11:40:02 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 10:12:53 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 08:57:10 PM

he'll not get 1-4 from play off ROC. Fine player but Dublin will rip their defence to shreds unless they plug the holes

I agree that's why I said Meath were dire. I don't know who or what are gonna stop your lads. Its the most interesting championship  in years already. We'll see how good Kerry are next Sunday, Donegal wobbled against Derry last night and Mayo are Mayo. That's why we love football. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:40:31 PM
Also, the players noticeably ran out of puff in the last 10 minutes.
Eamonn Wallace was zipping around the place in the 1st half but looked about 5 yards slower in 2nd half.
He had a long lay-off so probably not match-fit anyway, but what's the excuse with the rest of them?
I'm banging this drum for years, WE ARE NOT FIT ENOUGH.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 28, 2015, 11:43:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 11:32:33 PM

True the stuff up there is horrible- but Paddy has used social media to criticise Diarmuid Connolly in the past. I sincerely hope he's learned now it ain't so nice. Dunno why any players put themselves on public viewing on social media

+ 1 sensible thing for Paddy now would be to take a step back from social media

Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:54:56 PM
Never mind this Twitter shite.
Some random weirdo on a wind-up said he would 'knife' him and some other gobdaws called him a coward, sc**bag etc.
I'd be worried at how quickly after the game he started re-tweeting all this stuff.
Twitter is a godsend for loolahs and head the balls so either take the abuse and shut up about it or get off it altogether.
I'm actually embarrassed to be talking about this like we're dealing with a 14 year old kid instead of a 16 stone grown man who plays football for Meath.
Post by: Sidney on June 28, 2015, 11:57:06 PM
Can't imagine Mick Lyons ever moaning about abuse on Twitter, somehow. Martin McHugh was right. Meath footballers are gone soft.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 28, 2015, 11:58:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:54:56 PM
Never mind this Twitter shite.
Some random weirdo on a wind-up said he would 'knife' him and some other gobdaws called him a coward, sc**bag etc.
I'd be worried at how quickly after the game he started re-tweeting all this stuff.
Twitter is a godsend for loolahs and head the balls so either take the abuse and shut up about it or get off it altogether.
I'm actually embarrassed to be talking about this like we're dealing with a 14 year old kid instead of a 16 stone grown man who plays football for Meath.

Spot on jinx, hopefully management have a swift word with him

I think it's very unfair to dismiss the Meath team as soft. I actually think they ran out of puff
Post by: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 12:05:21 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:40:31 PM
Also, the players noticeably ran out of puff in the last 10 minutes.
Eamonn Wallace was zipping around the place in the 1st half but looked about 5 yards slower in 2nd half.
He had a long lay-off so probably not match-fit anyway, but what's the excuse with the rest of them?
I'm banging this drum for years, WE ARE NOT FIT ENOUGH.

Westmeath looked really well conditioned . I've said it before he got rid of too many of the older players too quickly. Bringing kids off the bench today to do a man's job. They needed experience off the bench to steady the ship
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 12:19:17 AM
We needed Big Joe.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 29, 2015, 12:27:09 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 12:19:17 AM
We needed Big Joe.

Big Joe knows how to get Meath across the line alright!  ;)
Post by: thejuice on June 29, 2015, 01:53:20 AM
Having just watched the match there as I was in the hospital with my new born son. So thankfully this game doesn't hurt as much as it might have.

On my first watching of it seems Mick O'Dowd made the wrong changes at the wrong time. No reason for Rooney to go for Flanagan. Flanagan brought nothing. Mickey Burke might not have many fans here but he was better than what replaced him. MOD had his hand forced by the black cards, maybe I'm biased but I thought Reilly's was completely wrong. Tobin however definitely had to go.

Fair enough injuries also played a part as a lot of the lads out there wouldn't be on the starting 15 if we had a fully fit squad. But why the hell Martin was left to run riot in the corner against a small back like McGill on his own. That said we probably didn't have anyone but had we not made some unforced changes so early maybe something could have been done.

I'm half tempted to start saying MOD and Trevor Giles should pack their bags but again injuries haven't helped things. But I feel I'm making excuses for a poorly prepared squad. Young lads whatever nerves might effect them or any lack of talent but shouldn't look so jaded. The Westmeath team had as many young lads out there.

I think it's time for Mick to step aside. While I know he's had some bad luck at times and in the first half we played some great football among a scatter of poor errors. It hasn't all been bad but they've never put in a commanding display for a full 70mins under MOD. I'm really not sure who there is to replace him in the county. Dare I say it it's time to look outside the county again at someone who has some serious credentials. Although there is much more that needs to be done within the county if we are to start competing at the highest level. Watching Dublin now and seeing the standard we have to meet its clear we do not have any players that would get on that team.

I know people are a bit despondent about Gaelic football these days but if we ever get another team as good to match this current Dublin team we'll have some class matches to look forward to. Sadly Meath are just not there right now.

As for Paddy O'Rourke. Not all that surprised, he's always been liable to do that kind of thing. It's probably fair to say the brains didnt end up on his branch of the O'Rourke family tree. Even before the sending off he had a poor game with some sloppy kick outs and I think he could have done better for two of the goals.

Fair play to Westmeath though. They never stopped playing despite the scoreline and their management made the changes to try and win the game while MOD did the opposite.

Post by: Declan on June 29, 2015, 07:54:00 AM
Congrats on the new arrival juice- that's a fair summation of the game OK. to put things into context the Meath team that finished the game had 5 players from Ratoath on it  - and they aren't even favourites fro the Intermediate championship this year. No players from current unbeaten league leaders Dunshaughlin, no one from Dunboyne, Kells or Trim so Meath football is in a really bad place at the moment. Look at what happened the minors this weekend - beaten by Longford and a lad (rugby player with Belvo) who has only played 2 minor league games for his club drafted into the panel on Tuesday night without ever having been at a training session.
Seamus Kenny has a serious task ahead of him if he is trying to restructure the underage development set up.
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2015, 08:47:42 AM

He's fond of using Twitter as a platform for trolling other IC players.
Post by: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 09:48:23 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 29, 2015, 07:54:00 AM
Congrats on the new arrival juice- that's a fair summation of the game OK. to put things into context the Meath team that finished the game had 5 players from Ratoath on it  - and they aren't even favourites fro the Intermediate championship this year. No players from current unbeaten league leaders Dunshaughlin, no one from Dunboyne, Kells or Trim so Meath football is in a really bad place at the moment. Look at what happened the minors this weekend - beaten by Longford and a lad (rugby player with Belvo) who has only played 2 minor league games for his club drafted into the panel on Tuesday night without ever having been at a training session.
Seamus Kenny has a serious task ahead of him if he is trying to restructure the underage development set up.

Because he made the silly mistake of just going for pace. You have to be able to play too. Trying to match Dublin without the underage structure is just silly. You pick your best players and come up with your own structure that suits the players you have. When you get that then look at beating Dublin - not before it
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 11:30:13 AM
Congrats, Juice. the future of the Vincents is secure. I agree with Jinxy's summation of the game. Saves me waffling on. It's all very depressing. I don't mean the game - I've already lost all hope for Meath football for the foreseeable future. I mean the people on here who have no concept of sport. All they can find to talk about in what was a tremendous win and for Westmeath and an entertaining occasion for the neutral is some perceived wrongdoings by one side or another. Why do they watch sport? It puzzles me.

The Westmeath crowd were great yesterday. It might have been different if I had any hope that our team would achieve anything, but the blow of defeat was softened by watching the sheer joy of the WH supporters.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:34:32 AM
I remember being in Cusack Park in Mullingar back in 1984 when Westmeath beat Dublin in the Centenary Cup I think it was. I remember the travelling Hill taking over behind one of the goals, but what sticks in my mind is an old man crying in the row in front of me when Westmeath won. I often think of that man, who is long dead now I'm sure. I haven't a clue who he is, or was, but he was obviously a long suffering Westmeath fan, and his joy that day was raw, and wonderful to see, even as an 11 year old. I thought of him in 1995 when Westmeath won the Minor All Ireland, and I thought of him in 2004. I thought of him yesterday too, and I'm sure there were a few more in Croke Park yesterday who surprised other young lads watching their tears of joy.

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 12:48:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:34:32 AM
I remember being in Cusack Park in Mullingar back in 1984 when Westmeath beat Dublin in the Centenary Cup I think it was. I remember the travelling Hill taking over behind one of the goals, but what sticks in my mind is an old man crying in the row in front of me when Westmeath won. I often think of that man, who is long dead now I'm sure. I haven't a clue who he is, or was, but he was obviously a long suffering Westmeath fan, and his joy that day was raw, and wonderful to see, even as an 11 year old. I thought of him in 1995 when Westmeath won the Minor All Ireland, and I thought of him in 2004. I thought of him yesterday too, and I'm sure there were a few more in Croke Park yesterday who surprised other young lads watching their tears of joy.

Indeed AZ, my Mum passed 5 weeks ago and I shed a tear for her and her Dad who soldiered in the Westmeath midfield for well over a decade with very little to show for it.
Post by: Hound on June 29, 2015, 01:20:01 PM
I thought it was a super game.

For 45 or 50 minutes that must have been the best Meath have played in quite a while?
Obviously overshadowed by what happened next, when Westmeath were exceptional.

Can be very hard to turn the tide back when momentum goes against you in such a big way. Meath had a couple of opportunities to stem the tide, but they went for goals (which in fairness would have won the game) rather than taking points, and they paid the price.

I don't rule out Meath giving Tyrone a run for their money. There's goals in that forward line. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 01:39:49 PM
Gerry,

Boylesports are looking for you. And change your footer.

https://twitter.com/BoyleSports/status/615485457174892544 (https://twitter.com/BoyleSports/status/615485457174892544)
Post by: waterfordlad on June 29, 2015, 01:56:23 PM
Great game. I'm more into hurling than football but if there were more games like that I'd get more interested in the 'big ball' game. Great scenes of emotion and celebration from Westmeath players and fans at the end. I know the cynics will say it was too open and naive but I'd rather see that than a dour low scoring game.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 29, 2015, 02:54:12 PM
I was in Croke Park for the two matches yesterday and the scenes at the end of the game were fantastic, Westmeath turned around a game that was really gone for them and are to be applauded for their "never say die" efforts.
For Meath though, that was a disgraceful collapse, just the 1 point in the last 20 or 25 minutes tells the story and they had numerous chances to stop the rot within that period, it was unbelievable to see really.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:24:03 PM
I'll say one thing, despite all our failings if we had Graham Reilly & Eamonn Wallace fully fit and firing, we'd give most teams (outside top 3) a game for 60 minutes before collapsing in a heap.
Wallace was a joy to watch in the first half, he just ran out of steam in the 2nd half due to a lack of games/training in the last year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 03:34:48 PM
Wallace needs space though and Westmeath couldn't have been nicer in that regard. To me he lacks physicality and has poor close control, again Meath's S&C isn't the greatest, so the tighter the defence I'm not sure he can make things happen without the space.

As for Graham Reilly, that guy is the Lord Mayor of Whingeville, Co. Whinge. Don't think I ever say a player do more whinging than that guy yesterday.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 03:36:32 PM
Did he take over from Martin Lynch?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 03:45:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 03:36:32 PM
Did he take over from Martin Lynch?

Could be related, good diving skills too.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:46:38 PM
Dinny, you just be quiet now like a good lad and don't draw my rage down upon you.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 03:49:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:46:38 PM
Dinny, you just be quiet now like a good lad and don't draw my rage down upon you.

Sorry, just a bit punch drunk.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:56:08 PM
In fairness our S&C has been an unmitigated disaster for about 10 years.
Westmeath were by some distance a fitter & stronger team.
Why?
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 04:04:46 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:56:08 PM
Why?

Nothing to do with science, John Doran is their S&C coach, John would be old school army. Real boot and bollix, unless he has changed. Was Kildare and Laois's conditioner under Micko. In the game since 94.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 04:07:33 PM
Actually now that you mention it, I vaguely remember hearing one of the Westmeath players saying earlier in the year they were back doing old school training.
Loads of laps etc.
They were ridiculed a bit for it at the time.
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 04:24:20 PM
You could see the lap training in their play yesterday, the way yer man ran around the edge of the pitch and along the end line, admired by Tobin as he went.
Post by: shark on June 29, 2015, 04:34:59 PM
Most of those Westmeath players have 4/5 years quality conditioning under them. Mostly done off their own bat. Paul Sharry and John Gilligan are both S&C coaches and own their own gyms, Sharry in Mgar and Gilligan in Athlone.  Interestingly the oldest players on the starting team yesterday were still U21 in 2010. Narrowly lost a Leinster final to AllIreland champions elect Dublin that year. 9 of yesterday's team played that day, plus Callum McCormack would have only for injury.
Post by: shark on June 29, 2015, 04:37:26 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 04:04:46 PM
Why?

Nothing to do with science, John Doran is their S&C coach, John would be old school army. Real boot and bollix, unless he has changed. Was Kildare and Laois's conditioner under Micko. In the game since 94.

He hasn't changed a bit Dinny!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 04:47:21 PM
Quote from: shark on June 29, 2015, 04:37:26 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 04:04:46 PM
Why?

He hasn't changed a bit Dinny!

:)

Mentally there's a lot to be said for it, John is a nice lad. Interesting that Sharry is a S&C coach, I'd say like a lot of S&C coach he personally loves the strength side not so much the conditioning side. A lot of times he'd venture forward and take a breather, the contrast to the Dublin midfielders in the 2nd game would be massive.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:48:51 PM
I was thinking that yesterday Dinny. It's more S & (c) rather than S&C.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 29, 2015, 04:56:59 PM

You've a good memory AZ, but I'll bet you don't remember the Leinster Championship game in Tullamore in 1967 when Westmeath beat the Dubs. I was there and I can still feel the pain. As far as I remember Westmeath scored a last minute goal to win by a point.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 05:05:35 PM
I was minus 6 for that one hill :) It's just funny the way some memories stick with you, and I'll always remember that old man crying from sheer joy.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 05:56:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 04:48:51 PM
I was thinking that yesterday Dinny. It's more S & (c) rather than S&C.

Still though, you have lads that do the training because they have to, and lads that do the training because they want to.
Nowadays, a lot of inter-county players take personal responsibility for their physical condition.
They'd probably love being in the gym regardless.
Dunno if we've many, if any, like that.
And I'm not talking about poser muscles, look at Flynn & Connolly for Dublin.
Animal fit & strong without carrying an ounce more than they need to.
Post by: agorm on June 29, 2015, 06:32:03 PM
what a complete an utter embarrassment of a management team and a set of players.

it is steve staunton level of inexperience and incompetence.

we are a county that arrogantly looked for reasons to dump our last manager because he didnt fit the county profile and we have feeefalled since.
Shame on the county board delegates that persisted with Ginnity, Barney and arrogantly dumped Eamonn OBrien and Banty to bring in a nobody with no experience.

Shame on the arrogant Meath supporters that regarded an  outside manager to be beneath them.

Get rid of this management team now and put Boylan in charge for the qualifiers and go back to square one at all levels in the county.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 29, 2015, 06:36:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 01:39:49 PM
Gerry,

Boylesports are looking for you. And change your footer.

https://twitter.com/BoyleSports/status/615485457174892544 (https://twitter.com/BoyleSports/status/615485457174892544)

Dinny believe me I wasn't far off that Lad. I started a new job recently and have been on my best behavior. I only had three pints after the game. I went into work this morning to discover I had three meetings one with the MD, Unfortunately I couldn't speak. Anytime I spoke I sounded like Bonnie Tyler with the flu having smoked 30 Woodbines!

The footer changes when Maddog acknowledges the wrong that was done to me.
Post by: agorm on June 29, 2015, 06:48:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 03:24:03 PM
I'll say one thing, despite all our failings if we had Graham Reilly & Eamonn Wallace fully fit and firing, we'd give most teams (outside top 3) a game for 60 minutes before collapsing in a heap.
Wallace was a joy to watch in the first half, he just ran out of steam in the 2nd half due to a lack of games/training in the last year.
ah come on, were you at the wicklow game, did you not see them walk through us in Navan? same thing in the first half yesterday.

Management should have told players at half time that 1st half was not good enough defensively. who cares if we give teams outside the top 3 a game for 60 mins, is that meant to be a positive??
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 08:47:31 PM
It's meant to be tongue-in-cheek.
Let's not turn on each other.
We're playing Tyrone in a couple of weeks.
Turn on them instead.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 29, 2015, 11:14:27 PM
The Meath man nearly run home with the ball for the 2nd meath goal, same as the donegal man against Derry, Refs never bother to pick up the amount of steps
Post by: thebuzz on June 29, 2015, 11:53:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 29, 2015, 11:30:13 AM
Congrats, Juice. the future of the Vincents is secure. I agree with Jinxy's summation of the game. Saves me waffling on. It's all very depressing. I don't mean the game - I've already lost all hope for Meath football for the foreseeable future. I mean the people on here who have no concept of sport. All they can find to talk about in what was a tremendous win and for Westmeath and an entertaining occasion for the neutral is some perceived wrongdoings by one side or another. Why do they watch sport? It puzzles me.

The Westmeath crowd were great yesterday. It might have been different if I had any hope that our team would achieve anything, but the blow of defeat was softened by watching the sheer joy of the WH supporters.

You're very magnanimous in defeat Hardy and rightly so. It was indeed a pleasure for the neutral. 
Post by: thebuzz on June 30, 2015, 12:00:30 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 29, 2015, 04:56:59 PM

You've a good memory AZ, but I'll bet you don't remember the Leinster Championship game in Tullamore in 1967 when Westmeath beat the Dubs. I was there and I can still feel the pain. As far as I remember Westmeath scored a last minute goal to win by a point.

How could you still feel the pain after all the success you have had over the years since ?  :)
Spare a thought for a poor oul Derry man who witnessed a beating by Galway in the All Ireland semi-final of 2001 and who has never had a sniff of success since...
Post by: muppet on June 30, 2015, 12:37:13 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 29, 2015, 06:32:03 PM
what a complete an utter embarrassment of a management team and a set of players.

it is steve staunton level of inexperience and incompetence.

we are a county that arrogantly looked for reasons to dump our last manager because he didnt fit the county profile and we have feeefalled since.
Shame on the county board delegates that persisted with Ginnity, Barney and arrogantly dumped Eamonn OBrien and Banty to bring in a nobody with no experience.

Shame on the arrogant Meath supporters that regarded an  outside manager to be beneath them.

Get rid of this management team now and put Boylan in charge for the qualifiers and go back to square one at all levels in the county.

Welcome back agorm.
Post by: agorm on June 30, 2015, 09:45:23 PM
thanks Muppet.

Hope all ok with you.
Post by: agorm on June 30, 2015, 09:52:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 08:47:31 PM
It's meant to be tongue-in-cheek.
Let's not turn on each other.
We're playing Tyrone in a couple of weeks.
Turn on them instead.
Sorry Jinxy,

I didnt mean to have a swipe at you.

just pretty frustrated that we seem to have become almost permanent also rans at this
stage.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2015, 12:09:22 AM
*pokes head in door

What a special, special day. Great to have Westmeath back in the national conscious and as a fella here said to me, great to get that gorilla off our back.

Now, more drink.

p.s. sorry to hear about your loss Dinny.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2015, 11:45:01 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2015, 12:09:22 AM
*pokes head in door

What a special, special day. Great to have Westmeath back in the national conscious and as a fella here said to me, great to get that gorilla off our back.

Now, more drink.

p.s. sorry to hear about your loss Dinny.

Thanks Croí

Enjoy the win, no reason why a quarter-final is beyond Westmeath and maybe another crack at Kerry.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2015, 02:01:01 PM
Aye, 2 chances to make it now, a good runout against the dubs will bring us on again.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on July 01, 2015, 11:44:05 PM
Incredible game.  I didn't think I'd get the opportunity to feel this good at a match in Croker again.  This brought the whole 2004 vibe back.  I can rarely remember a WH team putting up scores with the rapidity that we did towards the end.  I felt we were up against it before the game and at half time I was expecting a thumping.  Hopefully this will bring the team on in leaps and bounds.  I don't expect much the next day but the match after that will be interesting.
Tom needs to focus on developing the defence over the next year or two if this team is to develop.  We've shipped big scores and that will need to be resolved if we're going to move forward.