GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 05:45:50 PM

Title: LSFC 2015 Semi Final - Dublin v Kildare, June 28th 4pm.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 05:45:50 PM
From a Kildare perspective this is all about performance, staying within 5 would be good and that's what I would be looking for.

Another double digit defeat to Dublin will be hard too swallow regardless of the gap in standards.
Title: Re: LSFC 2015 Semi Final - Dublin v Kildare, June 28th 4pm.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 05:48:27 PM
Treble header with Meath/Westmeath and and a nice touch from the Leinster Council the Kildare/Dublin minor game. At least we'll have more supporters at the minor game.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 14, 2015, 08:18:58 PM
I imagine there will be a few changes to the Kildare team. Eoin Doyle, Tommy Moolick and Niall Kelly will all be needed from the start. I'm not sure who you drop though. Jason Ryan will earn his corn planning for this one. I doubt Peter Kelly will be ready if he wasn't even togged out last night which is a pity.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 08:23:43 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 14, 2015, 08:18:58 PM
I imagine there will be a few changes to the Kildare team. Eoin Doyle, Tommy Moolick and Niall Kelly will all be needed from the start. I'm not sure who you drop though. Jason Ryan will earn his corn planning for this one. I doubt Peter Kelly will be ready if he wasn't even togged out last night which is a pity.

What's wrong with Kelly?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 14, 2015, 08:32:10 PM
Kildare need as much pace as possible next day. Maybe McNally might be one to track McCaffrey.
Moolick and Cribbin can move so I hope we are ok there.
I think Paudie could face the chop for Niall Kelly. It's more about a performance than anything else. I'm looking forward to Croker! The minors are playing too but I assume it's a noon throw-in?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 14, 2015, 08:32:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 08:23:43 PM

What's wrong with Kelly?

He has a dodgy hamstring. Taken off injured for TMH against Ellistown in the championship last month. He was on his way back and then picked up a bad dose of the flu the week before last. Seemingly he's very behind as regards training and sharpness.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 08:38:24 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 14, 2015, 08:32:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 08:23:43 PM

What's wrong with Kelly?

He has a dodgy hamstring. Taken off injured for TMH against Ellistown in the championship last month. He was on his way back and then picked up a bad dose of the flu the week before last. Seemingly he's very behind as regards training and sharpness.

Aware of the hammer but when I heard Ryan talking about sickness I wasn't sure. We could do with him!
Post by: Syferus on June 14, 2015, 08:44:28 PM
Imagine if this was the year Kildare did it. It would make sense becasuse it makes no sense.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2015, 10:18:33 PM
Within 5, i be happy with 10 for Kildare to be honest, but you never know, some team in leinster has to catch dublin on the hop some day when its never expected,
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 15, 2015, 10:44:44 AM
Kildare are in a nice place coming into this game, no pressure at all unlike previous seasons under Geezer, It will be a tight affair I think once there are no such tweets  ;)

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=239091

Kildare GAA apologises for 'ambulance' tweet
14 June 2015

Kildare GAA has issued an apology for a tweet which caused offence to quite a few Laois people last night.

The Lilywhites were c**k-a-hoop after hammering the O'Moore's by 3-18 to 1-11 in their Leinster SFC quarter-final replay, and the county board's official twitter account couldn't resist rubbing it into the neighbours when tweeting: "Ambulance leaves Tullamore with Laois inside"
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2015, 10:47:16 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2015, 05:45:50 PM
From a Kildare perspective this is all about performance, staying within 5 would be good and that's what I would be looking for.

Another double digit defeat to Dublin will be hard too swallow regardless of the gap in standards.

Just go out and get stuck into them Dinny.
Really stuck into them.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 15, 2015, 11:08:12 AM
Jack Sheedy avaialble for consultation on how to, ahem, match the Dubs mano-a-mano.  :-\

That said I hope the Lilys put up a daycent fight. Wouldn't be putting a found fiver on them, mind you, but I will wish them all the best.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:11:01 AM
The twitter account was getting excited on Saturday alright. They had a couple in that sort of vein. Sure lookit, championship makes you excited, and I'm sure they are only human, unlike the Robot Tweeter that Geezer had on then staff.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 15, 2015, 11:23:19 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 15, 2015, 11:11:01 AM
The twitter account was getting excited on Saturday alright. They had a couple in that sort of vein. Sure lookit, championship makes you excited, and I'm sure they are only human, unlike the Robot Tweeter that Geezer had on then staff.

In fairness that's just it, there was an ambulance with flashing blue lights heading from the hospital as the game was wrapping up so it was probably some smart comment at the ground that the Tweeter though they'd share with the world. Anyone offended by that really needs a long look in the mirror at themselves.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 15, 2015, 11:29:35 AM
Kildare are just going to have to park the bus park the horsebox and hope for the best.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 15, 2015, 11:58:10 AM
Hard to see us getting within 10 unfortunately. We couldn't deal with Evan O'Carroll, never mind Diarmuid Connolly. We looked good with the ball against Laois but Laois had the workrate of an arthritic tortoise. 

Unless the jacks have a Simpsons-baseball-episode type of injury crisis it will be a very long and very painful afternoon.
Post by: LilySavage on June 15, 2015, 04:44:07 PM
We could play well and lose by 15. Cant see us staying within 10 tbh.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 15, 2015, 07:07:34 PM
I hope Jason Ryan gets through the game alright, he hates u with some passion
Post by: highorlow on June 15, 2015, 07:50:46 PM
Kildare should mind themselves for the following match. If I were Jason I'd hit up to the curragh and round up a few jockeys for this match. I'd say they are fast little bastards even without a horse.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 15, 2015, 09:36:30 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 15, 2015, 07:50:46 PM
Kildare should mind themselves for the following match. If I were Jason I'd hit up to the curragh and round up a few jockeys for this match. I'd say they are fast little b**tards even without a horse.

This clashes with the Derby weekend at the Curragh so they'll all be otherwise engaged unfortunately.
Post by: INDIANA on June 15, 2015, 10:35:10 PM
Kildare in good form coming into the game. They also had the benefit of an extra game.

Dublin got no game versus Longford and can't be sure of their own form.

All available evidence points towards a kidare win,
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 15, 2015, 10:58:13 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 15, 2015, 10:35:10 PM
Kildare in good form coming into the game. They also had the benefit of an extra game.

Dublin got no game versus Longford and can't be sure of their own form.

All available evidence points towards a kidare win,

A Dub trying to béal bocht. Pull the other one.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 20, 2015, 05:59:35 PM
The 3-10 scored by Kildare in the 2nd half of the Laois game, looks a whole lot less impressive when you see Antrim scoring 2-10 in the 2nd half today. It's one thing to put up those kind of scores against a team able to defend but the fact that the Laois defence went to pieces in both games is the key factor as well.

The fact that the first game was a draw and that Laois were actually leading at half-time in the replay, doesn't exactly point the best picture of Kildare's performance overall in the 2 games.

I thought the Dublin defence was fairly loose in the Longford game and that the Longford attack did fairly well in terms of the overall score they got from what ball they got. I wouldnt be a bit surprised to see Kildare end up with a similar amount of scores the next day.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 22, 2015, 09:31:50 AM
The Dubs would love a trip to Tullamore.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 22, 2015, 09:34:40 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 22, 2015, 09:31:50 AM

Would they be able to find it?
Post by: Jinxy on June 22, 2015, 09:38:08 AM
They have sat nav now, although I dunno if the Midlands are covered by sat nav.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 22, 2015, 10:00:33 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 22, 2015, 09:31:50 AM

Their hurlers would differ.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 25, 2015, 10:08:38 AM
Nice piece in the times from smug darragh who is as bad as if not worse as smug tomas too.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-all-ireland-will-be-won-by-stoppers-as-much-as-scorers-1.2260466

"Jason Ryan needs about a dozen plans, in all honesty.
Connolly has everything. There are very few players in the game who can go on a solo run with their left foot, get slapped and skelped around the place, cut back away from the tackler and kick a point with their right from beyond the 45. There's not an awful lot you can do about a guy like that.

You don't normally associate Dublin with that sort of beautifully balanced player. They've had great players down the years driving on from midfield or banging in goals inside. But never really the sort of silky, two-footed half-forward that Connolly is. So how do you get at Connolly? To me, there's still a bit of a scamp in him. His temperament has got better over the years but I still think there's something to be said for pulling his tail and seeing if he'll hiss back at you.

Years ago we were doing a bit of video analysis with Jack O'Connor. Jack was pointing out some aspect of play but had to pause the video because up in the top corner of the screen Mossy Lyons was rolling around on the ground with his man. "What's going on there, Mossy?" asked Jack. "Ah, tis oul off-the-ball stuff, Jack, you need to know no more about it."
With a player as good as Connolly, sometimes that's all you have left. A bit of don't-ask-don't-tell stuff off the ball. See if his temper is as reformed as they say. It's nothing to be proud about but if you think a player has a weakness, you have a responsibility to find it."
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2015, 10:45:23 AM
I suppose this game's a foregone conclusion.
Only issue the margin of victory.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 25, 2015, 10:48:47 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2015, 10:45:23 AM

Yeah it's difficult to see how Dublin will break us down. Kildare by 5.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 25, 2015, 11:17:26 AM
I hope for the sake of Leinster football our neighbours Kildare give the Dubs a game...I think it might be closer than people think!

Ryan has proved with a middle of the road Wexford team that he can rattle the Dubs
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2015, 11:23:20 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 25, 2015, 10:48:47 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2015, 10:45:23 AM

Yeah it's difficult to see how Dublin will break us down. Kildare by 5.

(http://assets.inhabitat.com/wp-content/blogs.dir/1/files/2013/03/horse-laughing.jpg)
Post by: Main Street on June 25, 2015, 12:37:52 PM
About to face the firing squad does inspire a Kildare man's humour.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 25, 2015, 05:20:31 PM
Will be the smallest Kildare crowd ever in Croke Park I would venture this week, if we bring 3k I'd be shocked. Have never seen such apathy, we don't even have hope and if anyone still does, just listen to any of the radio shows or read any of the newspaper columns or forums (The Kildare forum already has a Offaly thread) and that will soon dissipate. 

Gaelic football must be the only sport in the world where such negativity occurs and the most depressing thing is that after Kildare lose that the negativity will continue and players will be slated for losing by x amount of points, where's their pride etc.. How the feck can they have pride when everyone is determined to run them down.

If Kildare focus on performance and Dublin get a bit ragged and lose discipline and structure then they have a chance, can't seen it but I'd love it...

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2014/04/06/article-0-00EECE9700000191-500_634x476.jpg)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 25, 2015, 10:04:15 PM
Dinny like it or not we are a county divided. Feck like I thought maybe it was time for a new man instead of Geezer but like if it was going to happen to be thought out and done correctly.
Instead it was a heave from the big clubs and now Kildare fans and even clubs are divided along those lines. Such negativity and shambolic planning all round. Prime example was the club draw that was really well put together and had serious prizes...instead of being 'sold' the draw which clubs could keep a cut of sales they told clubs that they would be penalised if they didn't sell a certain amount...
Every time we read about Kildare it's a downer and it must be said many journos, even at national level, hung on every word our former manager uttered and we were talked up a bit. Still we were a solid top 8 team for a long stint which any Kildare would take in a heartbeat now.
I'm going up and once I don't see us lose by ten I'd be happy. Even hold them for the first 50 mins would be something.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2015, 02:23:51 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on June 25, 2015, 10:04:15 PM
Dinny like it or not we are a county divided. Feck like I thought maybe it was time for a new man instead of Geezer but like if it was going to happen to be thought out and done correctly.
Instead it was a heave from the big clubs and now Kildare fans and even clubs are divided along those lines. Such negativity and shambolic planning all round. Prime example was the club draw that was really well put together and had serious prizes...instead of being 'sold' the draw which clubs could keep a cut of sales they told clubs that they would be penalised if they didn't sell a certain amount...
Every time we read about Kildare it's a downer and it must be said many journos, even at national level, hung on every word our former manager uttered and we were talked up a bit. Still we were a solid top 8 team for a long stint which any Kildare would take in a heartbeat now.
I'm going up and once I don't see us lose by ten I'd be happy. Even hold them for the first 50 mins would be something.

Have to agree with most of that, at the time I felt McGeeney had run his course too but the handling of that was GUBU, embarrassing for any Kildare supporter and it's not till the next manager is appointed that we will get closure and as you point  out we are still suffering from the negativity it caused inside and outside the county. As for journalists, Ewan MacKenna of the Sunday Tribue was the eejit who kept building Kildare up and McGeeney as some sort of Messiah like figure, his sports Editor Kieran Shannon of the Tribune also seem to be a fan as well. I understand the desire for new teams to challenge but surely these need to win trophies(provincial/league) consistently to be real challengers, our National Media seem to miss that point when it came to Kildare. You can also see it now with Roscommon, Galway, Tipperary and Armagh, teams blown up beyond their station. Feck there was clowns claiming Laois were in the best position to challenge Dublin in Leinster.

1. Mark Donnellan Maynooth
2. Ciaran Fitzpatrick Kilcock
3. Mick O Grady Celbridge
4. Ollie Lyons Celbridge
5. Kevin Murnaghan Moorefield
6. Emmet Bolton Eadestown
7. Eoin Doyle Naas
8. Gary White Sarsfields
9. Paul Cribbin Johnstownbridge
10. Padraig O'Neill St Laurence's
11. Eoghan O'Flaherty Carbury
12. Cathay McNally Johnstownbridge
13. Eamonn Callaghan Naas
14. Alan Smith Sarsfields
15. Padraig Fogarty St Laurence's

Expect White to drop back and Murnaghan or Doyle to drop back further. O'Neill to drop into midfield, Leper and McNally to run their bollixes off with O'Flaherty looking to hit Smith and Fogarty inside and expecting O'Neill, Cribben, McNally and Callaghan joining in support. It's a system that looked awkward initially against Laois but over two games looked more relaxed (probably because Laois gave up).

I'll be quite contend if our players work their asses off and unlike Laois keep it going till the final whistle. Realistically can't ask for much more than that.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 26, 2015, 02:57:38 PM
The fallout from that night is certainly still being felt. The galling thing about it is that it was almost inevitable it was going to end that way. We had a county board chairman who ended up in the position without ever really wanting it or seeking it out. McGeeney was never challenged after Padraig Ashe abandoned ship. Ashe wasn't universally popular at the time but he never seemed to shy away from the big decisions. It would have been interesting to see how the story would have played out had he remained. From 2011 we ended up meandering to a situation where the clubs were cranky and fed up with being ridden roughshod over and the county board executive couldn't even vote in unison.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:55:58 PM
Dublin have a basketball coach now. Do they have other coaches aswell? I wonder is he working for free.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:58:43 PM
Is Jayo working for free?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:20:44 PM
What was the standing ovation (from all fans) there for?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 04:22:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:20:44 PM
Westmeath?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 28, 2015, 04:23:33 PM
Good Challenge game for the dubs cause thats the pace this game been played at, At least the snooze fest last night with Donegal was tight.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2015, 04:24:18 PM
Terrible to watch. Shit atmosphere etc.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:25:03 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 04:22:38 PM
Westmeath?

Well (if it was) you'd think the commentators would have acknowledged it!
Post by: Tubberman on June 28, 2015, 04:28:48 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:25:03 PM
Westmeath?

A tribute to those that died in the Berkely balcony collapse I think
Post by: tyroneboi on June 28, 2015, 04:29:55 PM
Jason Ryan is doing some talking into that microphone!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2015, 04:32:31 PM
https://twitter.com/hill16army/status/615179407167197184
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2015, 04:33:54 PM
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2015, 04:37:08 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 28, 2015, 04:28:48 PM
Westmeath?

But it was during the game
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:38:20 PM
Westmeath?

In the middle of a game? Jez, I know the game is a non event. But that's taking the piss!
Post by: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 04:39:43 PM
What the fcuk is Marty at? He's after saying that Kildare are leading by 2-10 to 0-06. He also hadn't a clue what the standing ovation was for!
Post by: dublin7 on June 28, 2015, 04:40:50 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 04:38:20 PM
Westmeath?

In the middle of a game? Jez, I know the game is a non event. But that's taking the piss!

Tribute was for Harris brothers who died a few weeks ago. Both were huge dub fans
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2015, 04:41:59 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2015, 04:33:54 PM
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
My old man did fall asleep after 10 mins of it! :D
Post by: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 04:42:38 PM
Westmeath?

The ovation was in the 16th minute because it was initiated by the lads on the Hill 16...it was also a tribute to those two lads who were killed by fumes in the sewer...cousins of Robbie Keane's I think.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 28, 2015, 04:56:18 PM
As good as Dublin are, these other Leinster counties are a disgrace for not being that least set themselves up to be, in some way, competitive against Dublin. How many years do they need to work out how to defend?
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 05:03:04 PM
I wonder how Dublin got so good? According to the GAA financial reports Dublin get over 2 million euro from them per year. Maybe that has something to do with it? I've heard they get a fair whack off AIG also. 4 million or something. That should help I suppose. I've been told on here that they have numerous other sponsors, actually it's listed on the Dublin GAA website. There's some big names amongst that list. That kind of backing can't hurt. Joe Brolly told us earlier that they decided to go out and get a basketball coach. They seem to have a sizeable number in their backroom staff. Jayo was spotted earlier. No harm in that either.

Actually when I say all that I think I've answered my own question. Dublin are so good because they are a professional outfit!!!
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 05:06:53 PM
Any streams lads? My hola unblocker is not working for some reason!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 28, 2015, 05:07:17 PM
Sure they are up against f**k all in leinster and play every game at home with huge support. Best resourced team in Ireland constantly up against shit teams sure how could they not look good. Shocking that no leinster team goes out to turn the game into a shit - parade against them
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 05:10:14 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 28, 2015, 05:07:17 PM
Sure they are up against f**k all in leinster and play every game at home with huge support. Best resourced team in Ireland constantly up against shit teams sure how could they not look good. Shocking that no leinster team goes out to turn the game into a shit - parade against them

Now now shame on you everyone's supposed to go out to try and play open football against the Dubs in their home patch with their 1 million odd pick of players!!! That shit served up in Ulster that threatens Dublins supremacy is a scourge on the game!!
Post by: yellowcard on June 28, 2015, 05:12:52 PM
Coldrick has been woeful today.
Post by: BluestackBoy on June 28, 2015, 05:14:42 PM
If Kildare had shown this sort of spirit & fight in the first half they might still be in the game
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:15:02 PM

Yeah, counties like Wexford are really weak!  :P
Post by: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 05:15:16 PM
McStay reckons that neither Kilkenny or Connolly deserved a yellow card despite the evidence on camera!
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:16:02 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on June 28, 2015, 05:14:42 PM
If Kildare had shown this sort of spirit & fight in the first half they might still be in the game

You are kidding?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:18:02 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 05:15:16 PM
McStay reckons that neither Kilkenny or Connolly deserved a yellow card despite the evidence on camera!

I'd side with McStay. Both were dragged into a yellow card. Neither were the aggressor. It's one thing I hate about the game!
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 05:20:27 PM
Have the boys in commentary been told that they can't say anything negative about Dublin and must take their side at all times?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 28, 2015, 05:22:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:15:02 PM

Yeah, counties like Wexford are really weak!  :P
Yeah they are.  Shite actually.not a dacent side in leinster to throw it up to dublin
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2015, 05:24:08 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 05:20:27 PM
Have the boys in commentary been told that they can't say anything negative about Dublin and must take their side at all times?

Must have. Ffs Cooper pulled the Kildare forward's arm back early in the game and McStay was creaming himself saying that it was great defending. Should have been a free in.
Post by: joemamas on June 28, 2015, 05:34:05 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2015, 05:24:08 PM

Must have. Ffs Cooper pulled the Kildare forward's arm back early in the game and McStay was creaming himself saying that it was great defending. Should have been a free in.

Had to put it on mute. jesus, mcstay must get a hard hard on when he sees a dublin jersey. A definite case of verbal diarrhea today.

Post by: Owenmoresider on June 28, 2015, 07:47:17 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 28, 2015, 04:42:38 PM
Westmeath?

The ovation was in the 16th minute because it was initiated by the lads on the Hill 16...it was also a tribute to those two lads who were killed by fumes in the sewer...cousins of Robbie Keane's I think.
While I appreciate the thought and naturally sympathise with all the bereaved in those tragedies, I do hope this doesn't become a common thing, another import from the soccer lads across the pond and their let's applaud X in the Xth minute, it's bad enough that minute's silences are being slowly turned into half-hearted minute's applauses as it is.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 28, 2015, 07:53:57 PM
Well done Dublin. Time to go back to the drawing board in Kildare.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 08:02:34 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 28, 2015, 05:34:05 PM

Had to put it on mute. jesus, mcstay must get a hard hard on when he sees a dublin jersey. A definite case of verbal diarrhea today.
It's painful to hear him and MM gushing forth about Dublin.
Then there was Tommy Tom before that.
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2015, 08:05:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 08:02:34 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 28, 2015, 05:34:05 PM

It's painful to hear him and MM gushing forth about Dublin.
Then there was Tommy Tom before that.
So you're suggesting McStay should find something else to be doing of weekends? Hmm.. interesting.
Post by: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 08:13:50 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 05:18:02 PM

I'd side with McStay. Both were dragged into a yellow card. Neither were the aggressor. It's one thing I hate about the game!
Neither had they to get involved. The Dubs were winning by a bucketful, they should be able to laugh in the aggressors face and point at the scoreboard. Connolly blocked a quick free then got involved in afters. Kilkenny could have walked away without a card as well, but he decided to grab the lilywhite by the scruff of the jersey/neck. I understand why it happens in a close, tight and intense match, but not in a training session like that.
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 08:23:23 PM

Have you read the 14 Kerry columnists in the national media doing their weekly spin on how to beat Dublin. Evidently not. Another clownish post to go with all your rest.
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 08:26:21 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 08:13:50 PM

Neither had they to get involved. The Dubs were winning by a bucketful, they should be able to laugh in the aggressors face and point at the scoreboard. Connolly blocked a quick free then got involved in afters. Kilkenny could have walked away without a card as well, but he decided to grab the lilywhite by the scruff of the jersey/neck. I understand why it happens in a close, tight and intense match, but not in a training session like that.

Laughable post the Kildare lads were the aggressors in both cases. It's a man's game. There is always croquet if you find the physical contact a bit hard.

On the game itself Kildare kept trying till the end. Just outclassed that's all. Some journalists will go to town on them but in fairness they just came up against a juggernaut today. There is nothing the Kildare managemant could have done today- that's the best we've played for a long time.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 28, 2015, 08:33:30 PM
This so-called second tier championship is getting very crowded!
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 28, 2015, 08:45:25 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 03:55:58 PM
Dublin have a basketball coach now. Do they have other coaches aswell? I wonder is he working for free.

Did Micko work for free?
Post by: Sidney on June 28, 2015, 09:03:35 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 28, 2015, 08:45:25 PM

Did Micko work for free?
Micko loved the driving more than anything else so of course he worked for free. In fact he would have paid a county just to let him drive there and back every night.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 09:48:00 PM

Did Micko work for free?
Had to laugh this evening when Marty on his radio show thanked Can O'Sullivan for coming on and also thanked his Communications Manager for making him available :o
Just how many people have Dublin employed?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 28, 2015, 09:53:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2015, 09:48:00 PM

Did Micko work for free?
Had to laugh this evening when Marty on his radio show thanked Can O'Sullivan for coming on and also thanked his Communications Manager for making him available :o

Aside from that, were you impressed by Dublin's performance today?
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 10:03:06 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 28, 2015, 09:53:14 PM

Did Micko work for free?

Aside from that, we're you impressed by Dublin's performance today?

Nope!

The time to impress will be when they play Donegal/Mayo/Kerry. Dublin have been impressive at this time of year for nigh on 10 years now and have only backed it up twice!!
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 28, 2015, 10:14:05 PM
So a team can't be impressive unless it wins an All Ireland! That's a really strange way of looking at things. Why is it so difficult for some people to acknowledge and admire an exceptional team when they see it - even if that team is Dublin?
Post by: BennyHarp on June 28, 2015, 10:18:02 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 28, 2015, 10:14:05 PM
So a team can't be impressive unless it wins an All Ireland! That's a really strange way of looking at things. Why is it so difficult for some people to acknowledge and admire an exceptional team when they see it - even if that team is Dublin?

Ah come on, surely you aren't looking to acknowledged as an exceptional team after beating Longford and Kildare. Yes, you were superb today but these Leinster teams don't lay a glove on you. You haven't ripped apart a really top team yet. Hold your horses on the self proclaimations! Personally, I hope you can keep it going as the football you play is great to watch. !
Post by: screenexile on June 28, 2015, 10:31:18 PM

I didn't say that I said they have to play well against a top team to impress me! The best team in Division 1 beating a Division 3 team out the gate is not impressive. Its a professional job and fair play but lets just keep the superlatives in check... Let's not forget Dublin winning the Leinster Final by 13 points last year only to get dumped by a smarter football team!

I'm very interested to see how the Dubs cope with the blanket this year I actually hope they can find a way to beat it with pure football as it may encourage others to follow suit but my head is telling me it can't be done. Given their performance against Derry in the league though it seems Galvin has ditched his all out attack philosophy and will meet blanket with blanket when it comes down to it!!
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 10:38:26 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 08:23:23 PM

Have you read the 14 Kerry columnists in the national media doing their weekly spin on how to beat Dublin. Evidently not. Another clownish post to go with all your rest.

Who are the 14 Kerry columnists? I'm sure there's more Dublin one's. They even have all of RTÉ on their side and most of the national newspapers. Strange that a Dub would complain about the media.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 10:40:00 PM

Did Micko work for free?

No. Do the 100 people in Dublins backroom staff work for free?
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 11:01:16 PM

Did Micko work for free?

They have peope to tell them what to eat and when to eat, what to say and when to say it, what to think, when to go to bed, when to get up, when and what to drink, what time they train, when they train, what type of training, they have people to get them clothes, to give thme cars, to get them time off work, to teach them how to live the life of a world champion, I think they're getting a personal tissue attendant next.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2015, 11:20:10 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 28, 2015, 11:01:16 PM

Did Micko work for free?

They have peope to tell them what to eat and when to eat, what to say and when to say it, what to think, when to go to bed, when to get up, when and what to drink, what time they train, when they train, what type of training, they have people to get them clothes, to give thme cars, to get them time off work, to teach them how to live the life of a world champion, I think they're getting a personal tissue attendant next.

And that's just Diarmuid Connolly you're talking about!
Post by: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 11:33:32 PM

Did Micko work for free?

But we have footballers too and Laois don't.

Because you're shite.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:45:01 PM

Did Micko work for free?

It's a disgrace.
That's not football, it's communism.
Except for the clothes & cars.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 28, 2015, 11:49:57 PM
Average display from the Dubs from a gamish Kildare team. We are talked up by country folk and the pundits but still are not game enough to take Kerry or Donegal I'd imagine. Far too porous at the back.

Basketball drills are run in training we do not have a specific bball coach, Sherlock represented Ireland in bball and Michael daragh played at decent level, so they would have input on drills

Sometimes ya just have to swallow the bitterness chaps, the wheel turns soon and Dublin will be once again down in the pecking order
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 08:16:45 AM
Meh!!!! Tell a team enough times that that are going to be hammered and it just then becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. Dublin are just a mental behemoth over every side in Leinster, add in their tactical edge and depth (what a bench yesterday) and the Leinster championship games featuring Dublin become predictable and boring. Everyone keeps saying this is cyclical but this cycle is going on 10 years and I struggle to see any signs of it abating, although since 2009 we have played Dublin at minor level 7 times with 3 wins apiece and a draw so perhaps some hope there.
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2015, 08:28:46 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 28, 2015, 10:18:02 PM

Ah come on, surely you aren't looking to acknowledged as an exceptional team after beating Longford and Kildare. Yes, you were superb today but these Leinster teams don't lay a glove on you. You haven't ripped apart a really top team yet. Hold your horses on the self proclaimations! Personally, I hope you can keep it going as the football you play is great to watch. !

What about the Ulster kingpins Monaghan and perennial AI finalists Mayo?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 08:35:10 AM
When did you rip Mayo apart?
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2015, 08:41:54 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 08:35:10 AM
When did you rip Mayo apart?

Surely you haven't forgotten already?? Outside of Croke Park too

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0314/687164-dublin-humble-poor-mayo-in-mchale-park/
Post by: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 08:44:13 AM
Ah you mean in the league.

Ok then...
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2015, 08:50:06 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 08:44:13 AM
Ah you mean in the league.

Ok then...

Yeah Mayo weren't really trying, I heard they had a skinfull the night before too
Post by: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 08:53:49 AM
Haha. Yeah that's right. They treated it just like a championship game :o

You'd probably beat them if it came down to it but not sure you'd rip them apart,

Post by: heffo on June 29, 2015, 08:56:39 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 08:53:49 AM
Haha. Yeah that's right. They treated it just like a championship game :o

You'd probably beat them if it came down to it but not sure you'd rip them apart,

All teams are shadow boxing at this stage, has anyone ripped apart a top team yet?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 09:05:14 AM
Not this year.

All the perceived top teams are from different provinces anyway so can't happen for a while yet.
Post by: Canalman on June 29, 2015, 09:25:55 AM
Won't last forever as well  we know it. Marquee forwards win titles for you and they only come along once in a blue moon.

Dublin imo anyway need to rack up national titles in the next two or three years before we sink back into the pack. Donegal, Mayo , Kerry etc will have something to say about that.

Amazed to see over 50k at the games tbh.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 29, 2015, 09:35:33 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 29, 2015, 09:25:55 AM
Won't last forever as well  we know it. Marquee forwards win titles for you and they only come along once in a blue moon.

Dublin imo anyway need to rack up national titles in the next two or three years before we sink back into the pack. Donegal, Mayo , Kerry etc will have something to say about that.

Amazed to see over 50k at the games tbh.

Was talking to someone at it and they said the scoreboard had a figure of 44k for the crowd at one point. Bit of a strange one.

The 4 counties involved are all fairly near and I think it was a fairly quiet for a summer weekend in terms of events and stuff.

Plus a double-header is pretty decent value for money especially if you're not going to have travel 3/4/5 hours in either direction to get there.
Post by: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 09:54:59 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 08:16:45 AM
Meh!!!! Tell a team enough times that that are going to be hammered and it just then becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. Dublin are just a mental behemoth over every side in Leinster, add in their tactical edge and depth (what a bench yesterday) and the Leinster championship games featuring Dublin become predictable and boring. Everyone keeps saying this is cyclical but this cycle is going on 10 years and I struggle to see any signs of it abating, although since 2009 we have played Dublin at minor level 7 times with 3 wins apiece and a draw so perhaps some hope there.

You had your chances 2009-2011 to beat us . That's when you should have clipped us.The current Dublin team is an exceptional crew and you just have to accept that. But the tide is turning at underage football and the tide will turn at senior level. It's dublins current forwards that are the difference.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 29, 2015, 09:56:26 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 28, 2015, 07:53:57 PM
Ye must have run out of pages on it by now!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 10:24:18 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 29, 2015, 09:56:26 AM

Ha! Irony alert!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2015, 10:36:17 AM
Dublin beat Longford (population 40k) by 27 points: Sky falling

Dublin beat Kildare by 19 points (population 210k) : Nothing to see here....move on.

Hmmmmmmm  >:(
Post by: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 10:57:15 AM
Quote from: Estimator on June 28, 2015, 08:13:50 PM

Can i just savour the irony here - it was exactly those actions, ignoring the invitation to a fight and pointing at the scoreboard in the Leinster final in 2007 against Laois, that got Dublin their completely undeserved reputation as sledgers - see Colm O'Rourke's Sindo column from 3 weeks ago. I'm all for a team not getting physical when the match is won, but the crap Dublin had to listen to after that incident no doubt hardened the conviction that teams could have it whichever way they liked against us - ie as Geezer famously said "You wanna play football, we'll play football. You wanna box...."
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:07:00 AM
easytiger, that Dublin team did talk shite. Ask Bryan Cullen what he was saying to Declan O'Sullivan in that game years ago, until O'Sullivan scored about 1-4 and shut him up, without pointing at the scoreboard once.

In fairness the current Dubs don't seem to have that, and they are all the better for it. Maybe Johnny Cooper :)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 29, 2015, 11:09:26 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:07:00 AM
easytiger, that Dublin team did talk shite. Ask Bryan Cullen what he was saying to Declan O'Sullivan in that game years ago, until O'Sullivan scored about 1-4 and shut him up, without pointing at the scoreboard once.

In fairness the current Dubs don't seem to have that, and they are all the better for it. Maybe Johnny Cooper :)

ffs will you just go off and do a bit off fist pumping with David Brady
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2015, 11:14:46 AM

They did to their shame at a time when it was the northern hordes had introduced it and they tried to catch up
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 11:24:31 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 29, 2015, 11:09:26 AM

ffs will you just go off and do a bit off fist pumping with David Brady

Not sure what that means, but I think even Dublin lads would acknowledge they sort of lost their way there a bit under Pillar with regard to discipline and real focus.
Post by: Main Street on June 29, 2015, 11:30:50 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:45:01 PM

Did Micko work for free?

It's a disgrace.
There's a bit of truth in the extent of the backroom staff.
There was some clash near the end of the game,  and while the ref was just beginning the process of sorting it out,  the dub player looked emotional and out of control, as quick as a flash, 2 minders came on to the pitch, one to smear a bit of blood on his face and the other to give him emergency counselling  on anger control.

btw do the Dubs have a special dispensation from the 4 step rule? Connolly must have taken about 8 for the Dub's 3rd and  whilst the RTE panel were highlighting some good defence work by the Dubs, on the screen  Cooper was on the ball all on his own, took 5 steps forward 6 steps backward.
Not only do the Dubs have a dispensation but no one notices it.
Post by: Chimley on June 29, 2015, 11:35:15 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 29, 2015, 09:56:26 AM

Our own drawing board has seen plenty of scribbling down the years in fairness.

Dublin are really ruthless when they get on top of the opposition. It remains to be seen if they have learned to grind out a win when things are not going to plan at the business end of the championship. They really need a tough test or two before facing Kerry or Donegal later on but I'm not sure where it's going to come from.
I felt sorry for Kildare yesterday. They started brightly enough but the goals killed them. The problem is that Dublin know that and go for them more than any other team. The team that scores more goals than Dublin will most likely beat them this year but I'm not sure that team is out there
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 12:01:37 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 09:54:59 AM

You had your chances 2009-2011 to beat us . That's when you should have clipped us.The current Dublin team is an exceptional crew and you just have to accept that. But the tide is turning at underage football and the tide will turn at senior level. It's dublins current forwards that are the difference.

Yea that's fair comment, but could off not should off, closely matched sides and we never got a real rub of green in that period. You can be philosophical and say the tide will turn but Dublin have won 30 of the last 60 Leinster titles with 10 of then coming in the last 13 years, so the philosophy doesn't really match the facts especially when Meath and Offaly winner of 24 titles in that period have become impotent. In fact Offaly will never return to the top table, dual status is killing them, population is too small to sustain two codes. Which probably leaves Meath and Kildare, Meath have the culture and history but underage is not producing (no Leinster minor since 2008 and no u21 since 2001) , Kildare have decent underage structures but 3 Leinster senior titles in that 60 year period tells it's own story about our culture and history.

Maybe the solution is to put Kildare footballers into Meath jerseys <shudder>.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 12:06:35 PM
I disagree about Offaly not returning to at least competitiveness in Leinster. Dual status isn't that much of a factor for us, because of the way the county is split. The issue with Offaly has been the assumption that these things look after themselves, and another crop will come around eventually. That message seems to have sunk in, maybe 10 years too late, and with the right work, I think Offaly can, and will, challenge in Leinster again, at least challenge teams like Meath, Kildare, Laois and Westmeath. Dublin is a bit of an exception at the moment, but if the investment put in there continues to pay off, we are all goosed.

I think the GAA perceived a problem in Dublin about 15 years ago, and wanted to take action to ensure that the Capital would remain a GAA hotspot. Unfortunately in doing so, they have created another problem which is that the investment in Dublin has been brilliantly spent, and therefore the other counties are being left a mile behind. At some point people will stop going to games between Dublin and anyone else in Leinster, and at that stage it will be too late.

Maybe the GAA assumed the Dubs would squander a pile of money, like a lot of other county boards have! :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 12:11:58 PM
I'll stick up an Kildare Offaly thread to discuss Offaly.
Post by: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 12:12:18 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 29, 2015, 11:30:50 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2015, 11:45:01 PM

Did Micko work for free?

It's a disgrace.
There's a bit of truth in the extent of the backroom staff.
There was some clash near the end of the game,  and while the ref was just beginning the process of sorting it out,  the dub player looked emotional and out of control, as quick as a flash, 2 minders came on to the pitch, one to smear a bit of blood on his face and the other to give him emergency counselling  on anger control.

btw do the Dubs have a special dispensation from the 4 step rule? Connolly must have taken about 8 for the Dub's 3rd and  whilst the RTE panel were highlighting some good defence work by the Dubs, on the screen  Cooper was on the ball all on his own, took 5 steps forward 6 steps backward.
Not only do the Dubs have a dispensation but no one notices it.

You really are a bitter man.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 12:12:26 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 12:11:58 PM
I'll stick up an Kildare Offaly thread to discuss Offaly.
Was just going to say that :)
Post by: imtommygunn on June 29, 2015, 12:15:42 PM
On the dub conspiracy agenda Cooper was deemed to have done a great bit of defending when the Kildare fella(15 I think) had a goal chance in the first half and ended up with a fresh air shot. The commentators kept going on and on about how great a bit of defending it was. He had hold of the Kildare guy's right arm!

That aside I don't think there's much conspiracy...
Post by: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 12:17:00 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 12:01:37 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 09:54:59 AM

Yea that's fair comment, but could off not should off, closely matched sides and we never got a real rub of green in that period. You can be philosophical and say the tide will turn but Dublin have won 30 of the last 60 Leinster titles with 10 of then coming in the last 13 years, so the philosophy doesn't really match the facts especially when Meath and Offaly winner of 24 titles in that period have become impotent. In fact Offaly will never return to the top table, dual status is killing them, population is too small to sustain two codes. Which probably leaves Meath and Kildare, Meath have the culture and history but underage is not producing (no Leinster minor since 2008 and no u21 since 2001) , Kildare have decent underage structures but 3 Leinster senior titles in that 60 year period tells it's own story about our culture and history.

Maybe the solution is to put Kildare footballers into Meath jerseys <shudder>.

Dinny you've had good structure at underage for about 3 years. Give it a chance man.

I know someone in your development system who's a former Kildare player and he said to me they thought they had a good structure at underage level and when they analysed it again 5 years ago they realised they were miles behind. Miles behind. Off the page was how it was described to me.

If you don't get 5 seniors off that minor team you don't deserve to be back! Just look at that Kildare team yesterday. It was a Dublin team wearing white. Superbly conditioned playing a kick passing style of football with lovely natural forwards. 100% the best Kildare minor team I've seen ever.
Post by: haranguerer on June 29, 2015, 12:22:39 PM
No conspiracy on steps anyway, the whole country gets away with ten, fifteen if a shot is coming. Its beyond a joke
Post by: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PM
The dubs "sledging" was overly exaggerated by the media and continues to be - they were always more sinned against than sinning - people seem to forget examples like McMenamin to Brogan in 2008, Rooney in 2007, and of course, the greatest example of all, Mayo 2006, when a team were told what end to go to, ignored the instructions completely, and became instant folk heroes to the rest of the country. God forbid the whining had we done anything like those examples to other counties. (don;t get me wrong, the 2006 pre match had nothing to do with our eventual defeat).

As for the current state of affairs, it just baffles me the short termism of fans of GAA - ye spent 16 years laughing at our ineffectiveness at the business end of the championship, but when we finally get our shit together, we're meant to feel guilty about it? Good jaysis.

The underage record bar a purple patch for about 2 or 3 years for us, suggests an evenly matched province. Our current set of forwards are probably the most effective in the country, but they can be neutralised, as Donegal twice proved in the past four years, as Mayo did in the All Ireland of 2013 and the semi in 2012. If Leinster counties were really serious about saving the provincial championship they'd bite the bullet and play us on the road. As it is, the cash cow that was Dublin in Leinster is in danger of dying - 7 or 8 years ago you had full houses for Leinster finals against Kildare and Meath - that will not happen again easily.

But most of all, Leinster counties need to ditch the fatalism when it comes to Dublin. We will always dominate Leinster - that is just demographics, but does not preclude brilliant smash and grab raids like Laois/Westmeath in the noughties. Until managers decide to be brave and innovate against us, they will always get the same result. Going in man for man against us is the very definition of madness - doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different outcome. It is not surprising that it was men like Paidi and Micko who gave us great problems in Leinster, as they had great respect but zero sentiment for Dublin football.

It's not like we're coming up with different game plans every week. We're there to be knocked down, and it's about time a Magee type figure appeared to try and mastermind something like that.
Post by: INDIANA on June 29, 2015, 12:37:53 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 29, 2015, 12:22:39 PM
No conspiracy on steps anyway, the whole country gets away with ten, fifteen if a shot is coming. Its beyond a joke

Only if you're MainStreet who is the most bitter anti Dub bar some of the Laois planks. Main Street is still investigating the JFK shooting such is his love of conspiracies. He's looking for the Dublin GAA connection.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 12:45:17 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PM
The dubs "sledging" was overly exaggerated by the media and continues to be - they were always more sinned against than sinning - people seem to forget examples like McMenamin to Brogan in 2008, Rooney in 2007, and of course, the greatest example of all, Mayo 2006, when a team were told what end to go to, ignored the instructions completely, and became instant folk heroes to the rest of the country. God forbid the whining had we done anything like those examples to other counties. (don;t get me wrong, the 2006 pre match had nothing to do with our eventual defeat).

The Dubs were a nasty bunch under Pillar, always mouthing, some real nasty stuff aswell. Oh how dare Mayo take over the Dublin end, Dublin play every game at home and must have the home dressing room and their own side of the pitch to warm up on. What a joke.

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMAs for the current state of affairs, it just baffles me the short termism of fans of GAA - ye spent 16 years laughing at our ineffectiveness at the business end of the championship, but when we finally get our shit together, we're meant to feel guilty about it? Good jaysis.

It has recently come to my attention that Dublin have been in receipt of large sums of money from numerous sources. This has been the reason for your improvements.

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMThe underage record bar a purple patch for about 2 or 3 years for us, suggests an evenly matched province. Our current set of forwards are probably the most effective in the country, but they can be neutralised, as Donegal twice proved in the past four years, as Mayo did in the All Ireland of 2013 and the semi in 2012. If Leinster counties were really serious about saving the provincial championship they'd bite the bullet and play us on the road. As it is, the cash cow that was Dublin in Leinster is in danger of dying - 7 or 8 years ago you had full houses for Leinster finals against Kildare and Meath - that will not happen again easily.

How many times have the Dublin county board voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park?

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMBut most of all, Leinster counties need to ditch the fatalism when it comes to Dublin. We will always dominate Leinster - that is just demographics, but does not preclude brilliant smash and grab raids like Laois/Westmeath in the noughties. Until managers decide to be brave and innovate against us, they will always get the same result. Going in man for man against us is the very definition of madness - doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different outcome. It is not surprising that it was men like Paidi and Micko who gave us great problems in Leinster, as they had great respect but zero sentiment for Dublin football.

It's hard to compete against a professional team.

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMIt's not like we're coming up with different game plans every week. We're there to be knocked down, and it's about time a Magee type figure appeared to try and mastermind something like that.

You've killed Leinster, time to stop funding for Dublin and give it to the rest, that will even things up.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 29, 2015, 01:33:39 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 12:45:17 PM

The Dubs were a nasty bunch under Pillar, always mouthing, some real nasty stuff aswell. Oh how dare Mayo take over the Dublin end, Dublin play every game at home and must have the home dressing room and their own side of the pitch to warm up on. What a joke.

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMAs for the current state of affairs, it just baffles me the short termism of fans of GAA - ye spent 16 years laughing at our ineffectiveness at the business end of the championship, but when we finally get our shit together, we're meant to feel guilty about it? Good jaysis.

It has recently come to my attention that Dublin have been in receipt of large sums of money from numerous sources. This has been the reason for your improvements.

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMThe underage record bar a purple patch for about 2 or 3 years for us, suggests an evenly matched province. Our current set of forwards are probably the most effective in the country, but they can be neutralised, as Donegal twice proved in the past four years, as Mayo did in the All Ireland of 2013 and the semi in 2012. If Leinster counties were really serious about saving the provincial championship they'd bite the bullet and play us on the road. As it is, the cash cow that was Dublin in Leinster is in danger of dying - 7 or 8 years ago you had full houses for Leinster finals against Kildare and Meath - that will not happen again easily.

How many times have the Dublin county board voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park?

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMBut most of all, Leinster counties need to ditch the fatalism when it comes to Dublin. We will always dominate Leinster - that is just demographics, but does not preclude brilliant smash and grab raids like Laois/Westmeath in the noughties. Until managers decide to be brave and innovate against us, they will always get the same result. Going in man for man against us is the very definition of madness - doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different outcome. It is not surprising that it was men like Paidi and Micko who gave us great problems in Leinster, as they had great respect but zero sentiment for Dublin football.

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 12:31:02 PMIt's not like we're coming up with different game plans every week. We're there to be knocked down, and it's about time a Magee type figure appeared to try and mastermind something like that.

You've killed Leinster, time to stop funding for Dublin and give it to the rest, that will even things up.

Is there a troll production line in Queens County? Maybe they should concentrate on producing footballers.

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQF2AiNkM9Md7cZE6HMB7fYwBJQ-7KxeOOx1jb9tabzDehUlxmXrQ)

Post by: joemamas on June 29, 2015, 01:40:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 28, 2015, 11:33:32 PM

Did Micko work for free?

But we have footballers too and Laois don't.

Because you're shite.

Indiana,

You seem to be pretty reasonable. But to be honest, I also did a double take when I heard the bold Marty thanking the Dublin media manager for bringing Cian O Sullivan or whomever to the studio. It was defiantly a holy shit moment. Could you ever in your widest drunkenness imagine any other of the other counties having a media manager for an inter county team.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 01:46:17 PM
Actually Joe, I can. In fact some people already have them, but they have titles like Liaison officer, or else the PRO brokers interviews as part of his/her role. I'm sure Dublin aren't the only county that ask players to approve any interviews.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 01:56:31 PM
Most counties have PROs, a lot of them have farmed out the function of getting players to interviews to a specific member of the backroom team.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2015, 01:57:32 PM
Yep. Usually called the Media Liaison officer, or the meeja man.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 02:06:57 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 12:45:17 PM

Hi don't matter - back again are we?

I've given examples of sledging against us - you've given general abuse. The dubs were told by Croke Park where to warm up, as were Mayo - only one county ignored it. If they had told us to go to the Canal End and we didn't you'd have a point - but you don't.

No, it hasn't recently come to your attention - you've been beating the same drum for three years. It's not about money, it's how you spend it. Also, if we were winning All Ireland's every year, you'd have a point - but you don't.

How many times have Laois voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park? If Dublin had a casting vote on the Leinster council, you'd have a point - but you don't.

It was always hard to compete against Dublin - didn't stop Offaly in the 70s, Meath in the 80s and 90s, Laois and Westmeath in noughties. If half the Laois players of the last ten years weren't up in Dublin playing for clubs, you'd have a point about professionalism - but you don't.

We didn't kill anything - we got better at marshalling our playing resources. If other Leinster counties were better at bringing through the huge amount of minor talent at their disposal and were still losing, you'd have a point - but you don't.

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2015, 02:07:23 PM
I see the Gardai have been called to Croke Park to investigate a murder

(http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/kildare-e1435576235205.jpg)

Full story here

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/06/29/wwn-gaa-gardai-identify-remains-of-kildare-team/ (http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/06/29/wwn-gaa-gardai-identify-remains-of-kildare-team/)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2015, 02:08:59 PM
QuoteHow many times have the Dublin county board voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park?

Point of order - how can Dublin County Board have a say in where Leinster fixtures are? They have only 1/12 of the vote.

As for the rest of the post - well I am not going there!
Post by: Main Street on June 29, 2015, 02:28:27 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 29, 2015, 12:22:39 PM
Except Longford when they played Dublin. There were a couple of times early on, a Longford player on the attack, bearing down on goal, would be mid stride, between 4th and 5th step, but the ref blew up for over carrying.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 02:54:13 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 29, 2015, 02:06:57 PMHi don't matter - back again are we?

I've given examples of sledging against us - you've given general abuse. The dubs were told by Croke Park where to warm up, as were Mayo - only one county ignored it. If they had told us to go to the Canal End and we didn't you'd have a point - but you don't.

No, it hasn't recently come to your attention - you've been beating the same drum for three years. It's not about money, it's how you spend it. Also, if we were winning All Ireland's every year, you'd have a point - but you don't.

How many times have Laois voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park? If Dublin had a casting vote on the Leinster council, you'd have a point - but you don't.

It was always hard to compete against Dublin - didn't stop Offaly in the 70s, Meath in the 80s and 90s, Laois and Westmeath in noughties. If half the Laois players of the last ten years weren't up in Dublin playing for clubs, you'd have a point about professionalism - but you don't.

We didn't kill anything - we got better at marshalling our playing resources. If other Leinster counties were better at bringing through the huge amount of minor talent at their disposal and were still losing, you'd have a point - but you don't.

This has been brought up a few times. I don't know who don't matter is.

It wasn't general abuse, it was personal and very nasty. If Dublin ever were asked to warm up at the Canal end you'd have a point but you don't.

It has just recently come to my attention. Over 2 million from the GAA every year plus multi millions from a long list of sponsors. With that much money it's easy to see why you can beat teams by 20+ points. How many Leinsters have Dublin won in the last decade? They only get beaten by teams in the All Ireland series because they've invested loads of money in their teams also.

Laois county board have voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park a good few times. Dublin county board has never done this.

Teams used to have a chance against Dublin, especially when the Dubs didn't have every game at home. That chance is gone now. How can an amateur team defeat a professional one? Only a few Laois players were up in Dublin working or studying and playing for Dublin clubs.

You got better at managing the player resources when you got the money to pay people to manage the player resources.

There's not many professional teams in Ireland. The soccer league isn't professional I don't think, the majority of GAA teams are amateur, only the provinces in rugby are professional. Imagine a rugby game between Leinster and a big club team in Ireland, Shannon or one of them boys. Shannon would have no chance against Leinster. That's similar to what we seen yesterday with Dublin and Kildare.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 02:55:58 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2015, 02:08:59 PM
QuoteHow many times have the Dublin county board voted to have Dublin play outside Croke Park?

Point of order - how can Dublin County Board have a say in where Leinster fixtures are? They have only 1/12 of the vote.

As for the rest of the post - well I am not going there!

Yes and they have never voted to move the Dubs out. So the Dubs that keep saying they want to go on road trips should be getting onto their county board.
Post by: Keyser soze on June 29, 2015, 03:20:40 PM
Well I think Easytiger has got some valid points here. The fatalistic acceptance of defeat in Leinster is embarassing tbh. Some of these counties need to grow a set instead of jumping onto the tumbrille with head bowed. This is a great Dublin side playing great football, but no team is unbeatable. It appears that the rest of the province has given up the ghost though. Sad to see when one remembers the epic battles of the nineties.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 29, 2015, 03:40:53 PM

The standing ovation was for the Harris brothers who tragically lost their lives in a work-related accident recently. The spectacular tribute was very moving, the likes of which I have never seen.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/i-lost-my-best-mate-but-ill-make-you-the-proudest-dad-ever-daughters-tribute-to-tragic-alan-harris-31337154.html
Post by: The Aristocrat on June 29, 2015, 03:54:23 PM
Do not feed Leo Turley (Don't Matter) , a WUM and troll, ignore and only respond to reasonable posts from the other Dublin haters, Id say he was only crying watching the greatest footballing team ever to play the game yesterday.

Magnificent skill, discipline, passion and heart. Changing the game for the better.
Post by: LilySavage on June 29, 2015, 04:25:33 PM
Yes they are a super team. Lets see them on the road then. At least a quarterfinal in Tullamore, Portlaoise or Wexford Park. Not too much to ask for.
Post by: The Aristocrat on June 29, 2015, 04:31:27 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on June 29, 2015, 04:25:33 PM
Yes they are a super team. Lets see them on the road then. At least a quarterfinal in Tullamore, Portlaoise or Wexford Park. Not too much to ask for.

I agree and also quarters and semis  in Leinster and leave them out of Croker till the Leinster final 
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 29, 2015, 07:23:15 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on June 29, 2015, 04:25:33 PM

The Leinster council seems to think it is.  11 votes of 12 to keep Dublin at CP.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on June 29, 2015, 07:56:38 PM
I don't see Donegal fans complaining about having to play Monaghan in their home ground at Clones in the past 3 Ulster finals.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 11:38:26 PM
What's the deal here? There's a very nasty reaction to anyone who doesn't worship the Dubs. They're a very good team, why try to hide why that is? When Tyrone were winning All Irelands people were wondering why and the reason was that they had a very good system which involved defending in numbers and attacking at pace, supplying ball to their quality forwards. Similarly, Donegal took this system and advanced it. When Meath were winning it was in part because they'd play very tough and sometimes cross the line with their tactics. Kerry won a lot in the 70's/80's in part because they were far fitter than all the other teams.

Dublin are winning because they have a lot of money backing them. There's no shame in admitting this. It just needs to be imitated. Like when Tyrone were winning many copied their system, same with Donegal. When Meath were playing tough other teams had to match that. All the other counties had to up their efforts in training to try and get as fit as Kerry. Right now teams have to try to match the amount of resources Dublin have to compete. The counties getting closest to Dublin in this regard are Kerry, Donegal and Mayo. Who're the 4 strongest teams in Ireland currently? Kerry, Donegal, Mayo and Dublin. It's no coincidence. In all sports the teams with money are the most successful. Don't hide from it, it's the way it is.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 11:45:40 PM
By the way, I had to go and search posts by don't matter as people have been accusing me of being him/her. He/she has some very strong views. I didn't read all of them but there's some information I found that I never knew about. Like Dublin get about 1 and a half million per year off the GAA to pay for developing players!!!! Other counties get nowhere near this according to don't matter. In fairness he/she supplies links and stuff to back up their claims so it can't be denied. Some very interesting stuff.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on June 29, 2015, 11:52:13 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 11:45:40 PM
By the way, I had to go and search posts by don't matter as people have been accusing me of being him/her. He/she has some very strong views. I didn't read all of them but there's some information I found that I never knew about. Like Dublin get about 1 and a half million per year off the GAA to pay for developing players!!!! Other counties get nowhere near this according to don't matter. In fairness he/she supplies links and stuff to back up their claims so it can't be denied. Some very interesting stuff.

You are a complete fcukwit You also have physchological issues that need seeing to.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2015, 11:56:42 PM

Post by: Teo Lurley on June 30, 2015, 12:07:43 AM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on June 29, 2015, 11:52:13 PM

You are a complete fcukwit You also have physchological issues that need seeing to.

What's your problem? That's no way to talk to someone. I've received many aggressive posts like this, I've only been on this board a few months! Why all the hate? I'm a nice guy.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2015, 12:08:56 AM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 29, 2015, 11:38:26 PM
What's the deal here? There's a very nasty reaction to anyone who doesn't worship the Dubs. They're a very good team, why try to hide why that is? When Tyrone were winning All Irelands people were wondering why and the reason was that they had a very good system which involved defending in numbers and attacking at pace, supplying ball to their quality forwards. Similarly, Donegal took this system and advanced it. When Meath were winning it was in part because they'd play very tough and sometimes cross the line with their tactics. Kerry won a lot in the 70's/80's in part because they were far fitter than all the other teams.

Dublin are winning because they have a lot of money backing them. There's no shame in admitting this. It just needs to be imitated. Like when Tyrone were winning many copied their system, same with Donegal. When Meath were playing tough other teams had to match that. All the other counties had to up their efforts in training to try and get as fit as Kerry. Right now teams have to try to match the amount of resources Dublin have to compete. The counties getting closest to Dublin in this regard are Kerry, Donegal and Mayo. Who're the 4 strongest teams in Ireland currently? Kerry, Donegal, Mayo and Dublin. It's no coincidence. In all sports the teams with money are the most successful. Don't hide from it, it's the way it is.

Shhhhhhhh! You can't be saying that! Money influencing an amateur game? Never! It all comes from natural skill. Now go off with your Atari!
Post by: Main Street on June 30, 2015, 08:55:35 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 29, 2015, 07:56:38 PM
I don't see Donegal fans complaining about having to play Monaghan in their home ground at Clones in the past 3 Ulster finals.
Only 2 ulster finals in the past.
I doubt any Leinster county would  moan about the Leinster final being played at Croke Park (home of the Dubs).
Anyway, Donegal fans would be doing their moaning on their way home ....depending on the result of course.

Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2015, 09:10:34 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 29, 2015, 07:56:38 PM

Don't worry about it, there is a plan to move the final and it is not as if Antrim will be playing in an Ulster final very often.