GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 02:42:02 AM

Title: Should the supporters go on strike?
Post by: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 02:42:02 AM
Just finished watching the second half of the Donegal v Tyrone game and it was like watching WWF mixed with a bad rugby game.  People shouldn't have to pay 20 or 30 euro to watch that Shyte.  If the GAA won't change the rules and the managers won't change the tactics, then I am very afraid for the future of what was once a great game to play and to watch.
For the first time in my life I'm getting fed up of football, it's becoming unwatchable with players handpassing the ball all over the field and 15 men behind the ball.  It's very hard to watch and I'm sure I'm not the only one getting turned off.

How do we send a message to the GAA and the managers that we are fed up of this nonsense? We need to fix it before it's too late.  I think we (the fans) should send a clear message by boycotting one game completely.  The Armagh v donegal game would probably be a good One As I expect to see a replay of today.  The best way to send a message is to hit them financially.....

What do the think? And what game would ye pick to send a loud and clear message that we are sick of watching this rubbish?
Title: Re: Should the supporters go on strike?
Post by: J70 on May 18, 2015, 04:33:44 AM
How was that Connacht game today?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 18, 2015, 04:40:18 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 02:42:02 AM
Just finished watching the second half of the Donegal v Tyrone game and it was like watching WWF mixed with a bad rugby game.  People shouldn't have to pay 20 or 30 euro to watch that Shyte.  If the GAA won't change the rules and the managers won't change the tactics, then I am very afraid for the future of what was once a great game to play and to watch.
For the first time in my life I'm getting fed up of football, it's becoming unwatchable with players handpassing the ball all over the field and 15 men behind the ball.  It's very hard to watch and I'm sure I'm not the only one getting turned off.

How do we send a message to the GAA and the managers that we are fed up of this nonsense? We need to fix it before it's too late.  I think we (the fans) should send a clear message by boycotting one game completely.  The Armagh v donegal game would probably be a good One As I expect to see a replay of today.  The best way to send a message is to hit them financially.....

What do the think? And what game would ye pick to send a loud and clear message that we are sick of watching this rubbish?

Endangered animals and rugby......Bill McLaren?
Post by: BennyHarp on May 18, 2015, 05:15:32 AM

Go on ahead. Boycott away, let us know how you get on. A sligoman boycotting Armagh v Donegal in an attempt to save the GAA, genius!

(https://mediastudiesisshit.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/father_ted_down_with_this_sort_of_t.jpg)
Post by: theskull1 on May 18, 2015, 07:19:07 AM
Look at the crowds going to watch premiership soccer. I hardly think entertainment is the driving factor in their attendance on the whole.

Whilst I can appreciate the endeavour, it's a game I struggle to enjoy watching.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 18, 2015, 07:40:04 AM
Nonsense. That was a good game to watch. It was enthralling from start to finish with a lot of drama and plenty of excellent scores
Post by: theskull1 on May 18, 2015, 08:20:50 AM
Oh sorry about that... I did enjoy it then  :o
Post by: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 08:40:52 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 18, 2015, 04:33:44 AM

I don't know as it wasn't on live TV. But I hope it was more open than what I saw in Ballbofey. This is not meant to be an anti ulster rant it's meant to be a pro open football plea.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 18, 2015, 08:42:45 AM

People didn't have to pay anything to watch that.  There is an easy solution for those with an issue at paying that money to watch the game - don't pay it.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 18, 2015, 08:46:52 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 08:40:52 AM

I don't know as it wasn't on live TV. But I hope it was more open than what I saw in Ballbofey. This is not meant to be an anti ulster rant it's meant to be a pro open football plea.

Does this make it better?
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2015, 08:56:25 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 18, 2015, 08:46:52 AM

Yep.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 18, 2015, 09:00:27 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 18, 2015, 08:56:25 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 18, 2015, 08:46:52 AM

Yep.

I'm sure there are very few people in Ireland who would have enjoyed the openness of Galway v Leitrim than the game at Ballybofey - each to their own I suppose!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 18, 2015, 09:15:19 AM

The total scores between both sides would suggest your hope was in vain.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 18, 2015, 09:16:07 AM
I only saw the second half from Ballybofey, and I thought it was a good game. Two good teams playing that system can be a relatively enjoyable game. It also showed that with good forwards who are prepared to tailor their movement to try and exploit the system you can find holes even with 13 men behind the ball. Most 'blanket' defenses concentrate their forces 40-50 metres out, and there is still a little bit of a soft underbelly about 30 yards out if you have the forwards to fill the gaps, and the passing skill to find them. There were some lovely scores yesterday, both built up by hand, which I also enjoy when it is purposeful and at pace, and from foot passes of 20-30 yards as well. I don't think yesterday remotely resembled the football Armageddon advertised.

The one thing that is really getting on my goat now though is the sledging. You can see it all over the place. Tyrone lad missed a late chance and there's a lad over roaring in his face, McMahon mouthing at Michael Murphy all day. It's happening too often now, and it's not because the bad man is calling me names, it's because it's designed to have a lad get caught lashing out, and then the instigator will go to town to get him sent off. I hate it. Offaly and Kildare minors were at it, and an Offaly minor did something similar against Westmeath apparently. It's a poor reflection on their own character I think.

I also heard Martin Carney bemoaning the first sending off because apparently the Donegal man was goaded into getting involved with Sean Cavanagh, and therefore he got the second yellow. As if it was calculated. Now Martin may have a point in general, but I thought from what I saw in that instance Cavanagh was more sinned against than sinning. In real time on the TV I saw Gallagher reach around the side of Cavanagh as he (Gallagher) was yapping. I thought it was the dreaded ball grab he was intending, but instead it looked like he tried to grab one of Cavanagh's fingers. Presumably he was going to twist or yank on it. He was hardly pinky promising not to be bold anymore anyway. That's what sparked the wrestling match, and Carney didn't seem to want to pick up on that.

Donegal looked good. McBrearty could be a big player for them this year. McFadden looked a bit leggy in the second half that I saw, but he still got on a good bit of ball.

Tyrone were good as well I thought. That forward, McAlliskey?, looks to have something about him. I'd expect Tyrone to have a good run in the Qualifiers if they get a decent draw in the first game.
Post by: laoislad on May 18, 2015, 09:18:50 AM
No panic lads.. We have hurling on next weekend  8)
Post by: Bingo on May 18, 2015, 09:33:34 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 18, 2015, 07:40:04 AM
Nonsense. That was a good game to watch. It was enthralling from start to finish with a lot of drama and plenty of excellent scores

I find this a struggle to get my head round. If this was an enthralling game and good to watch, then the standards are really dropping and we'll have a long summer ahead. It was an average game and was probably made "enthralling" by the conditions.

In the last 20 mins, I could only see one winner and at that they needed the boot of Murphy to kick those dead balls (which where excellent).

Think a good few are trying to make more out of the game to convince themselves that the carry on justifies the end. This was typical Ulster championship football and rarely do we see a good game in Ulster, plenty of battles with the odd good score but football it isn't.
Post by: johnneycool on May 18, 2015, 09:39:17 AM
Quote from: Bingo on May 18, 2015, 09:33:34 AM

I find this a struggle to get my head round. If this was an enthralling game and good to watch, then the standards are really dropping and we'll have a long summer ahead. It was an average game and was probably made "enthralling" by the conditions.

In the last 20 mins, I could only see one winner and at that they needed the boot of Murphy to kick those dead balls (which where excellent).

Think a good few are trying to make more out of the game to convince themselves that the carry on justifies the end. This was typical Ulster championship football and rarely do we see a good game in Ulster, plenty of battles with the odd good score but football it isn't.

Whilst not a follower of the big ball in any big way, I thought there was some decent periods of play and some fine scores taken, sadly all too often inter-dispersed with the pulling and dragging and off the ball stuff, whilst not one decent punch thrown.

I think the refs should start throwing out a few black cards for the blocking, pulling and dragging that was going on off the ball, neither side were innocent in that regard, but by god, you'd have put the fist threw someone for that frustrating nonsense.
Post by: Christmas Lights on May 18, 2015, 09:39:39 AM

If its not football, then what is it?  Is there only one type of way to play football?  You may explain. 
Post by: BluestackBoy on May 18, 2015, 10:00:21 AM

Considering that you didn't pay anything to watch yesterday's game & didn't have to watch it, I don't see what you're problem is. The people who attended yesterday's sell out in Ballybofey knew what to expect & enjoyed the game hugely. The same will apply to the sell out in Armagh.

If you are looking for a game to boycott, I would suggest the next Sligo game. Not alone will there be no skill on display, there won't be much fighting spirit either. Now that is what I call puke football.
Post by: Bingo on May 18, 2015, 10:05:02 AM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 18, 2015, 09:39:39 AM

If its not football, then what is it?  Is there only one type of way to play football?  You may explain.

My last comment referred to the Ulster championship in general. The team that wins more often than not isn't the best football team but the one winning the battles. I don't mind fist passing, I don't mind two teams going head to head and a physical game but in Ulster it often crosses that. Take that half time shite, all Johnny big Bollix's just waiting for one man to throw a slap and then  lie down. Colm O'Rourke was right in saying that there was no fear of a punch been thrown as its not the done thing now. Its like the wrestling now, all macho and tight jerseys.

How many times on here do we see posters slag off soccer players for diving, cheating, lying down, disrespecting the game etc etc and how they wouldn't last a week in the GAA with the honest, hardworking amateurs. Well, wake up time lads, this sledging, roaring in faces is every bit as bad, purely designed to get an opponent to react and whats worse is that its premeditated and lads can stick their heads in the sand all they want but they know this to be true.

Mouthing happens all the time and always has but generally its in response to the game and they shake hands after it. Its going to a level now that its planned, wasn't too many rushing for handshakes after the whistle yesterday and when they happened it was very light.

Post by: twohands!!! on May 18, 2015, 10:19:14 AM
average attendance at a hurling championship game 25k

average attendance at a football championship game 15k

To my mind, I think there is a serious chunk of supporters already gone on strike.
Post by: Rossfan on May 18, 2015, 10:27:35 AM
If only the top 12 teams were allowed in the football championship you'd have different figures.
Average attendance at Ring\Rackard etc cup games?? 100??
Post by: theskull1 on May 18, 2015, 10:30:34 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 18, 2015, 10:19:14 AM

To my mind, I think there is a serious chunk of supporters already gone on strike.

Not really comparing like for like though.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 18, 2015, 10:45:10 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on May 18, 2015, 10:30:34 AM

Fair enough but when you look at the fact that the total number attending the hurling championship surpassed the total attending the football championship in 2013, it points to there being very serious issues with getting people through the gates for the football championship.

Overall I think the GAA is doing a fairly poor job in terms of attracting the casual/lukewarm/middle-of-the-road supporter to the football championship and while people mightn't be that bothered about it but to my mind the GAA is turning it's back on a potentially serious pile of ticket money.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 18, 2015, 10:48:22 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 18, 2015, 09:16:07 AM

I also heard Martin Carney bemoaning the first sending off because apparently the Donegal man was goaded into getting involved with Sean Cavanagh, and therefore he got the second yellow. As if it was calculated. Now Martin may have a point in general, but I thought from what I saw in that instance Cavanagh was more sinned against than sinning. In real time on the TV I saw Gallagher reach around the side of Cavanagh as he (Gallagher) was yapping. I thought it was the dreaded ball grab he was intending, but instead it looked like he tried to grab one of Cavanagh's fingers. Presumably he was going to twist or yank on it. He was hardly pinky promising not to be bold anymore anyway. That's what sparked the wrestling match, and Carney didn't seem to want to pick up on that.

This is exactly the way it looked to me also
Post by: tonto1888 on May 18, 2015, 10:51:14 AM

Each to their own. I didnt say it was good to watch because of the standards, thought there were pahses where the standards on display were excellent
Post by: laoislad on May 18, 2015, 11:37:40 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on May 18, 2015, 10:30:34 AM

True.
It's like comparing a fine wine with a can of coke.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 11:58:32 AM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on May 18, 2015, 10:00:21 AM

Considering that you didn't pay anything to watch yesterday's game & didn't have to watch it, I don't see what you're problem is. The people who attended yesterday's sell out in Ballybofey knew what to expect & enjoyed the game hugely. The same will apply to the sell out in Armagh.

If you are looking for a game to boycott, I would suggest the next Sligo game. Not alone will there be no skill on display, there won't be much fighting spirit either. Now that is what I call puke football.

I paid $200 for a subscription to gaago to watch championship games so I did pay.  I'm amazed at how some of ye want to defend the total crap that was the 2nd half yesterday.  It could have been one of the best games of the championship if it was played in an open manner - but that was not the case and that is why many former footballers like myself are beginning to lose interest, which is very sad as I never thought that day would come.  Don't worry, Sligo will show plenty of spirit, we always try to play football at least.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 18, 2015, 12:05:17 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 11:58:32 AM

I paid $200 for a subscription to gaago to watch championship games so I did pay.  I'm amazed at how some of ye want to defend the total crap that was the 2nd half yesterday.  It could have been one of the best games of the championship if it was played in an open manner - but that was not the case and that is why many former footballers like myself are beginning to lose interest, which is very sad as I never thought that day would come.  Don't worry, Sligo will show plenty of spirit, we always try to play football at least.

In which era was football played in the way that you found most enjoyable to watch?
Post by: NAG1 on May 18, 2015, 12:40:11 PM
Not going to get involved in a the ridiculous title of this thread more of a side note.

Was it just me or was there a feeling that all three of the pundits on the live shown has been preprogrammed not to be negative about football in general. All three sounded more upbeat that usual about the state of football and its future, maybe this was just because it was the opening weekend on the TV but it definitely to me felt like there was a concerted effort not be negative.
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 18, 2015, 12:49:14 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on May 18, 2015, 12:40:11 PM
Not going to get involved in a the ridiculous title of this thread more of a side note.

Was it just me or was there a feeling that all three of the pundits on the live shown has been preprogrammed not to be negative about football in general. All three sounded more upbeat that usual about the state of football and its future, maybe this was just because it was the opening weekend on the TV but it definitely to me felt like there was a concerted effort not be negative.

Yeah they were definitely more positive but Spillage found it hard at times. They had spent two minutes talking about the wind being far worse than it looked on TV and applauding them for playing in the conditions, when possession stats etc show up on the screen (with no mention of passes) and Spillage brought out his old favourite, the kickpass to handpass ratio. As if they were going to kick the ball a lot on a day like that.
Post by: eddie d on May 18, 2015, 06:24:26 PM

I agree it's getting harder to watch. Just because it was hard hitting doesn't make it a good game. It's not just the game yesterday but in most county and club games.

It's getting more and more like rugby or even to an extent basketball. If you paused the game yesterday at times I would guarantee that you see one team on their own side and the team in possession moving the ball across the pitch to try to find a space to run into. Is that enjoyable to watch? Is it enjoyable to watch 5-6 Donegal players pass the ball to each other in their own half because there is no one marking them?

Post by: BluestackBoy on May 18, 2015, 07:32:21 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 18, 2015, 11:58:32 AM

Anyone who thought yesterday's game was going to be played in an "open manner" really doesn't know much about football.