GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rosskarr on May 05, 2015, 10:14:35 AM

Title: Doire v An Dun June 7th in Celtic Park (21 years on from the El Classico.)
Post by: rosskarr on May 05, 2015, 10:14:35 AM
  This has to be started sometime.
Title: Re: Doire v An Dun June 7th in Celtic Park (21 years on from the El Classico.)
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 05, 2015, 03:14:40 PM
How will Derry manage to balls this one up this year??!!

Not saying Down aren't good. You just never know what Derry will conspire to do on any given day!!
Title: Re: Doire v An Dun June 7th in Celtic Park (21 years on from the El Classico.)
Post by: rrhf on May 05, 2015, 03:50:08 PM
21 years.  That derry team had the poorest forward line of any all Ireland winning team but a great midfield and defense. Down had a much superior team with much more potential, and that showed that day.
Post by: Club Rossa on May 05, 2015, 04:10:08 PM
Didn't Down go into that game as huge underdogs in 94?
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 05, 2015, 04:40:54 PM
Not huge underdogs just underdogs as they were up against the then All Ireland Champions. Martin McHugh walked past our car during the 1pm tay and sandwiches and he told us Derry would win.

Skill and power a plenty. I'd say they were the two biggest teams in Ireland then too. Bar a few like wee James and McKeever, 6ft+ was the norm. Oh what we'd give ..... :-[

The chips in Dungiven on the way home have never tasted as sweet since.
Post by: rosskarr on May 05, 2015, 06:14:33 PM
  Yes 'Sur'.   It was pints in Dungiven for my da and his mates that day.
Post by: lenny on May 05, 2015, 06:33:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 05, 2015, 03:14:40 PM
How will Derry manage to balls this one up this year??!!

Not saying Down aren't good. You just never know what Derry will conspire to do on any given day!!

Down will win by 5-7 points. Derry are going backwards at the moment.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 05, 2015, 06:37:10 PM
Not sure what way this game work out, couldnt honestly name the team at the minute but i hope E McGuckin and Skinner play up front. If Doherty plays in midfield Derry will win
Post by: JoG2 on May 05, 2015, 06:40:43 PM
Patsy is bucked in various parts of his body so midfield  as per usual is up in the air. Our team if fit is good on paper, but nobody really knows what we'll get this year...no change there! 

Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 05, 2015, 06:44:15 PM
Patsy not be ready for the down game though Derry will look at Lynch, McGilligan, O`Boyle, Kielt, or E Bradley to partner them.
Post by: snoopdog on May 06, 2015, 11:38:54 AM
Even though Derry were relegated, they will have learnt more from playing Dublin, Kerry, cork,Donegal and Mayo than down qwill have coming out of Div 2.
Derry are obviously favourites. Like Derry people us Down folk never know if Jackyl or Hyde will turn up. Hoping Marty Clarke will be in the asquad by June 7th, would be a great asset to spring from the bench.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 06, 2015, 11:45:09 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 06, 2015, 11:38:54 AM
Even though Derry were relegated, they will have learnt more from playing Dublin, Kerry, cork,Donegal and Mayo than down qwill have coming out of Div 2.
Derry are obviously favourites. Like Derry people us Down folk never know if Jackyl or Hyde will turn up. Hoping Marty Clarke will be in the asquad by June 7th, would be a great asset to spring from the bench.

I don't know how you make derry favourites. I'd be surprised if Derry win this.
Post by: JoG2 on May 06, 2015, 11:51:56 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 06, 2015, 11:45:09 AM

I don't know how you make derry favourites. I'd be surprised if Derry win this.

there wouldn't be too many surprised either way I wouldn't have thought
Post by: interested on May 21, 2015, 02:56:19 PM
  Looking at the Derry Club Board and there seems to be plenty
of CCC issues going on. Any County player involvement that could
help Down if they get suspended? 8)
Post by: Esmarelda on May 21, 2015, 03:09:25 PM
If it's the former, at least the national anthem will be interesting  ;)
Post by: screenexile on May 21, 2015, 04:13:33 PM
Quote from: interested on May 21, 2015, 02:56:19 PM

Nah don't think it.

A complete lottery this one if either side has a good day they could tank the other... having said that both sides have had a lot of poor days in recent years come Championship. Bookies have Derry slight favourites probably because we were in Div 1 but it's really 50/50.

Actually I think it has the potential to be a decent game I'll probably go to it.
Post by: theticklemister on May 21, 2015, 08:29:04 PM

Na no county players involved; just referees locked in toilets and the such.
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2015, 08:54:52 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 21, 2015, 04:13:33 PM
Actually I think it has the potential to be a decent game I'll probably go to it.

A Derry supporter going to a championship game!! Take a selfie, people will never believe it.
Post by: thebuzz on May 22, 2015, 12:00:56 PM
Looking forward to a good day's craic in the Maiden City. Hopefully the right Derry will show up :)
Post by: oakleaflad on May 22, 2015, 12:11:33 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 21, 2015, 08:29:04 PM

Na no county players involved; just referees locked in toilets and the such.
This didn't happen. No county players involved.

As for the match I would be disappointed if we lost but not surprised. Derry and Down are similar in that if they turn up they can be a match for most teams in the country but if they don't they can be poor enough. It should be one of the more entertaining games this year anyway so I might even go to it as well ;)
Post by: shawshank on May 22, 2015, 12:21:00 PM
entertaining, be pleasantly surprised. Have you not noticed both teams have been playing with 14 men behind the ball in the NFL. Are you expecting something different?
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 22, 2015, 04:03:34 PM
Quote from: shawshank on May 22, 2015, 12:21:00 PM
entertaining, be pleasantly surprised. Have you not noticed both teams have been playing with 14 men behind the ball in the NFL. Are you expecting something different?

Looks like somebody has been reading the columns of Calm O'Rourke.
Post by: quiganmaster on June 01, 2015, 07:49:25 PM
Not sure which way this will swing, looking forward to it nonetheless. Derrys line up is difficult to predict with the slaughtneil boys not playing in the league, a few players coming back from injury and a few away off on their annual summer injury trip. I think it will be something like this

Mallon

Duffy             Rodgers          Mc bride

Sean Leo        Chrissy           Johnson

Lynch        Doc

Lynn                Kielt              Mc Faul 

Heron            Skinner            O Boyle

Any thoughts? Difficult to know if he'll start Kielt but anyone who can kick scores from 50m+ surely could be carried, especially against a blanket which we struggle with. Will be an interesting full forward line with skinner and oboyle capable of causing all sorts of problems, assuming he stays in the square. Any idea on the down team?
Post by: T O Hare on June 01, 2015, 08:59:24 PM
If we can contain Skinner then I would be hopeful of a victory but he's hard to handle. Any word who will mark him??
Post by: Real Talk on June 01, 2015, 09:06:21 PM
                        Mallon

Duffy            Holly        Mc bride

Chrissy       McAtamney       Johnson

Heavron      Lynch        Doc    Sean Leo

Skinner           Heron                             

O Boyle            Lynn

Subs:  McNicholl,  K McKeigue, B Rogers, McFaul, Kielt, Murphy? Younger McGoldrick  etc

Have limited knowledge of who is injured/not available so that's what I have come up with also a stab at the system which might be played.  Can't see Doc lasting for more that 40 mins but he needs to start.   
Post by: 5 Sams on June 01, 2015, 09:07:46 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on June 01, 2015, 08:59:24 PM
If we can contain Skinner then I would be hopeful of a victory but he's hard to handle. Any word who will mark him??
I would give Garvey a rattle at him but Mc Corry probably wont start him.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 01, 2015, 09:35:19 PM
Holly not make it injured,  P Bradley already out, Doherty possible as well, I expect Johnson in the corner, with both McGoldricks either wing. Haveron will be centre half forward, Lynch probably in midfield,  Not sure McGuckin fit enough with him bouncing back and forth to England. I actually play O`Boyle Full forward and Skinner work off him as O`Boyle not really a corner forward. Not blooding McGilligan Em Bradley, T O`Brien  etc at Midfield or getting Bell back  during the league left options here thin.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 02, 2015, 09:17:22 AM
Derry's midfield seem to be cursed. Remember the same thing 2 years ago.

Who is Down's best man marker? I expect Skinner will want to put on a show having missed last year.
Post by: DownFanatic on June 02, 2015, 10:31:06 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 01, 2015, 09:07:46 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on June 01, 2015, 08:59:24 PM
I would give Garvey a rattle at him but Mc Corry probably wont start him.

Garvey is reportedly injured.
Darren O'Hagan is the man for that task.
Post by: Down Follower on June 02, 2015, 10:59:07 AM
I think Derrys defensive system is much more advanced than Downs.  Any team that hold Dublin to 8 points is capable of holding to at least the same if not less.  Over the past 10 years, Down have floundered against defensive systems.  Open it up and we can play football with the best of them but shut it down and we are in trouble.  McCorry has been trying to change things but I dont think it has ticked yet.  Hopefully, hopefully, Sunday is the day.
Post by: general_lee on June 02, 2015, 11:30:06 AM
Who's likely to play midfield for Down? McKernan and ?
Post by: lfdown2 on June 02, 2015, 11:36:48 AM
Question for the Derry wans; where would be best for parking Sunday?
Post by: JoG2 on June 02, 2015, 12:00:10 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on June 02, 2015, 11:36:48 AM

What time are you landing ? If up for before the minor match, park along the Lonemoor Rd, the road CP is on. Park facing away from the town, ie towards Foyle Road. After the game, drive down the Lonemore Road to the Foyle Rd, hang a left and the Craigavon bridge is about a mile down the Rd. There will be a good bit of traffic after the game, but thats you handiest route out
Post by: lfdown2 on June 02, 2015, 12:12:19 PM
good lad, cheers
Post by: oakleaflad on June 02, 2015, 12:32:40 PM
Quote from: Down Follower on June 02, 2015, 10:59:07 AM
I think Derrys defensive system is much more advanced than Downs.  Any team that hold Dublin to 8 points is capable of holding to at least the same if not less.  Over the past 10 years, Down have floundered against defensive systems.  Open it up and we can play football with the best of them but shut it down and we are in trouble.  McCorry has been trying to change things but I dont think it has ticked yet.  Hopefully, hopefully, Sunday is the day.
This sounds exactly like Derry.

Our midfield is a major worry yet again.

Any Down people like to predict a team?

For Derry my guess would be:

Mallon

Duffy Rogers McBride

Johnson McKaigue S.L.McGoldrick

Doherty Lynch

Heavron Kielt Lynn

Heron O Boyle E.Bradley
Post by: whitegoodman on June 02, 2015, 01:37:17 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 02, 2015, 11:30:06 AM
Who's likely to play midfield for Down? McKernan and ?

McKernan likely to be named CHF and roam back. Midfield likely to be two from Pete Turley, Pete Fitzpatrick or Paul Devlin....not the most inspiring
Post by: whitegoodman on June 02, 2015, 01:38:15 PM
Actually Mooney likely to start midfield now that I think about it
Post by: whitegoodman on June 02, 2015, 01:41:06 PM
At a guess

Kane
O Hagen
Howard
D Turley
Collins
McArdle
McGovern
Turley
Mooney
Devlin
Mckernan
Poland
O hare
Laverty
Maginn

Prob a few unknowns in there for Derry
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 02, 2015, 02:45:32 PM

probably in your own driveway.
Post by: lfdown2 on June 02, 2015, 03:00:54 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 02, 2015, 02:45:32 PM

that was the first option, nostalgia for championship got the better of me; a decision I am sure I will regret around 2:05 Sunday afternoon.
Post by: theticklemister on June 02, 2015, 03:01:58 PM
she is a wile small team there lads if that down team is correct.
Post by: theticklemister on June 02, 2015, 03:03:36 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on June 02, 2015, 03:00:54 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 02, 2015, 02:45:32 PM

that was the first option, nostalgia for championship got the better of me; a decision I am sure I will regret around 2:05 Sunday afternoon.

park anywhere in the Bog and the pitch is not far away; in fact, the more towards the city centre of the Bog you go, the quicker it will be to get away and have a visit of the murals and a few pints in the local bars.

Post by: The Stallion on June 02, 2015, 10:13:32 PM
If Derry play Bradley and O'Boyle together and deliver quick early ball to them they'll beat Down easily. If Derry persist with the dreary sideways handpassing game Down could beat them.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 02, 2015, 11:43:30 PM
What's the story with Mooney?

Did he play any league games? What's the form like? Likely to be a huge asset
Post by: JoG2 on June 03, 2015, 09:48:02 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on June 02, 2015, 10:13:32 PM
If Derry play Bradley and O'Boyle together and deliver quick early ball to them they'll beat Down easily. If Derry persist with the dreary sideways handpassing game Down could beat them.

Stallion, if football was only that black and white ! The 'dreary' hand-pass game is a part of it nowadays. The long early ball in, hitting points from 45m + and working a patient opening through hand passing crab-ball all need to be executed as and when to attempt to beat the blanket.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2015, 10:15:14 AM
My two favourite Ulster teams.
Would be great to see them throw off the shackles and just go for it.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 03, 2015, 10:38:05 AM
Two teams that typically play football the right way with the focus on attacking football (despire the recent anomalies) Down are a good side but I think we might pip them with home advance and skinner back.
Post by: Down Follower on June 03, 2015, 11:48:07 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 02, 2015, 11:43:30 PM
What's the story with Mooney?

Did he play any league games? What's the form like? Likely to be a huge asset

He is gradually getting there.  Got injured at the start of the NFL and was gradually introduced in the later games.  Against Roscommon in the final he wasnt great in the first half but looked good as a target man in the second and won plenty of ball and set up the few scores that we got in the second half.  I still feel there is so much more in him and maybe it will just take time for that to come through.
Post by: ardtole on June 03, 2015, 01:07:46 PM
Even at underage, in the few games I saw him play, and in his games with Down recently, he seems an explosive type of player, quiet for 15 mins, then 1-1 in the next five mins. I dont think he will be the type of player to dominate a game, but at the same time has the ability to change things very quickly. To be honest, Down supporters havent seen a whole lot of him, bar his clubmates, but that is the impression I have so far. He has been tried in a few different positions which hasnt helped him prehaps, and it could be later in the summer or next year before he finds his feet properly. I think Martin Clarke returning next season will help him massively, because he is the type of player to get on the ball a lot and look to feed the likes of Mooney. 
Post by: Real Talk on June 03, 2015, 05:17:44 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on June 02, 2015, 10:13:32 PM

Since when did Derry ever beat anyone easily and certainly not Down in the Championship.  We would need a system in place that allows someone like McFaul the opportunity to put good ball in but I'm sure Down will be better prepared that that.   You are lucky in this type of game if you get 4 good quality passes during the course of the game ... like Derry in the Marshes did in '93 when Barton was pulling the strings
Post by: The Stallion on June 03, 2015, 09:21:40 PM
It's a poor Down side, can't see them containing Skinner and O'Boyle unless McIvor continues to insist on his lamentable tactics of late.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on June 03, 2015, 09:55:40 PM
Saw Down twice in the league this year, very lucky winners against Galway and very easy winners against Laois. They played with basically three defenders, eight middle of the fielders and three forwards. In both games I reckon they got cleaned out in the midfield duels, but their half backs and half forwards more than made up for that weakness. McKernan is an obvious lynchpin and Derry may need to sacrifice someone to go man for man. Mooney reminded me of a young Spoofer, but seemed to be penalised a lot when challenging for high balls. Laverty is very hard to deal with and any contact with him will result in points from O'Hare and Devlin. I thought the full back line was left a bit exposed and if Derry play Bradley there he could get some reward.

I have no idea what the Derry team will be or what the tactics will be, but I would like to see the Rodge and Karl McKaigue making their debuts (although both in the FB line is a risk). Midfield pairing isn't as important as it once was, it won't be the winning and losing of the game.

Game could go either way, Derry players are good enough, Down have a better manager. If we lose it will be a short summer, if we win, we may get a bit of a run in the qualifiers after an Ulster semi-final defeat.

Hoping for a repeat of 92 and 93, but that hope is tempered with lifelong cynicism and realism.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 04, 2015, 07:08:31 PM
Can't help think 11/8 for Down might be worth a small punt.

Mainly basing this off the difference in how teams who have gotten promoted from Division 2 have done compared to the record of teams relegated from Division 1 have done in that year's championship the past few years.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 04, 2015, 09:33:49 PM
Derry team for Sunday, Is Emmett McGuckin injured? he not even on the panel,

1. Thomas Mallon (An Lúb)
2. Oisín Duffy (Forghleann)
3. Brendan Rogers (Sleacht Néill)
4. Dermot McBride (Baile na Scrine)
5. Kevin Johnston (Dún Geimhin)
6. Chrissy McKaigue (Sleacht Néill)
7. Ciarán McFaul (Gleann)
8. Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua)
9. Fergal Doherty (Baile Eachaidh)
10. Sean Leo McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
11. Mark Lynch (Beannchar) (capt)
12. Enda Lynn (Grainloch)
13. Benny Heron (Baile na Scrine)
14. Eoin Bradley (Gleann an Iolair)
15. Daniel Heavron (Machaire Fíolta)
16. Eoin McNicholl (Gleann an Iolair)
17. Liam McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
18. Aidan McAlynn (An Lúb)
19. Conor McAtamney (Suaitreach)
20. Terence O'Brien (An Lúb)
21. Neill McNicholl (Gleann an Iolair)
22. Conor Murphy (Dún Geimhin)
23. James Kielt (Cill Ria)
24. Cailean O'Boyle (Leamhaigh)
25. Daniel McKinless (Baile an Doire)
26. Niall Loughlin (Grainloch)
27. Brian Óg McGilligan (Beannchar)
28. Seán Brady (Baile Mhic Guaigín)
Post by: twohands!!! on June 04, 2015, 10:11:56 PM
Derry management not able to count.

The named match day squad is supposed to be 26  :-[
Post by: Real Talk on June 04, 2015, 10:41:17 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 04, 2015, 10:11:56 PM

The number of players on the list is 28, so they can count whether or no its legit that's another matter
Post by: JoG2 on June 04, 2015, 11:13:28 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 04, 2015, 10:11:56 PM

Are you gonna tell Brian McGilligan snr that his young buck isn't getting a jersey!?
Post by: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 12:16:55 AM
Feck Doherty is a machine, what age is he now anyway?
Post by: twohands!!! on June 05, 2015, 03:51:00 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 05, 2015, 12:16:55 AM
Feck Doherty is a machine, what age is he now anyway?

33 by my reckoning.

Quote from: JoG2 on June 04, 2015, 11:13:28 PM

Are you gonna tell Brian McGilligan snr that his young buck isn't getting a jersey!?

Well someone should remind him if he uses a player outside the submitted 26 that means the game is automatically forfeited.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 05, 2015, 08:14:14 PM
Down team for Sunday.

Stevie Kane
Darren o Hagan
Luke Howard
Ryan Boyle
Damien Turley
Benny McArdle
Connail mc govern
Peter Fitzpatrick
Paul Devlin
Caolan Mooney
Connor maginn
Kevin McKernan
Mark poland
Connor laverty
Donal o hare

Post by: Ed Hardy on June 05, 2015, 08:18:01 PM
Was the full 26 named? Collins can feel hard done by, had a pretty decent league campaign. Front 6 is impressive on paper!
Post by: Dubh driocht on June 06, 2015, 12:23:45 PM
Looking forward to this now. Was explaining what the first round of the championship means to a friend from the other tradition this morning- the more I told him about the winter of expectation, the debates over who should start, the anticipated good weather, the colour and guttural roars, the more I realised how much these days are engrained in our life stories.

Two of our last three trips to Celtic Park have been in the top ten performances in the last 25 years ( probably first and tenth) while the most recent one was a hames and shouldn't have been allowed. Both sides probably as strong as they could be; the Rogers lad from Slaughtneil looked good on TV while Eoin Bradley looks good every time I see him and is probably the class act on show. O'Hagan rarely lets us down but it will be a tough challenge. Glad to see the rest of the selected defence and we badly missed Benny McArdle after the farcical red card against Roscommon. Pete T still brings more for me than Pete F but Mc Corry was always going to start PD and clearly thinks Fitzpatrick is a better partner. Holly and Doherty could edge it here but that alone won't determine the outcome. The front six are probably the best six available to us at present and I expect a big game from Poly- don't know what to expect from Caolan but the lad should thrive on a bright day in the white heat of Derry. Kinsella can be an annoying wee ballax of a ref and if it's tight, 8/1 the draw is a fair bet.
Post by: ardtole on June 06, 2015, 02:15:12 PM
Agree with you regarding Bradley. Down always seem to bring the best out in him.
Post by: grounded on June 06, 2015, 02:21:46 PM
The inclusion of Boyle is probably the biggest surprise. Maybe I'm missing something but I wouldn't have McArdle starting. That being said CHB is probably his best position. The last time we played Derry in the Ulster Championship, Bradley almost destroyed us singlehandedly in the 1st half. Expect Derry to play as much early ball as possible to him.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 01:50:48 PM
Today I Learned that Mickey's Linden holds the over-50s 60m sprint Irish record.

Also it is Benny Coulter's 33rd birthday.
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 02:23:45 PM
There is nothing worse then watching two bad teams play the blanket defence
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 02:26:37 PM
3 points from play between the 2 teams at the 25 minute mark.  :(
Post by: Two Hands FFS on June 07, 2015, 02:29:29 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 02:23:45 PM
Dublin (Tipp & Kerry) Hurlers should have used one yesterday
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 02:31:09 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 02:26:37 PM
3 points from play between the 2 teams at the 25 minute mark.  :(

3 points from play between the 2 teams at the 30 minute mark.  :(
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 02:31:36 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on June 07, 2015, 02:29:29 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 02:23:45 PM
Dublin (Tipp & Kerry) Hurlers should have used one yesterday

Don;t change the sport or subject. This is a terrible game of football.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 07, 2015, 02:39:43 PM
Better fare then Ireland v England.

Mark Lynch class yet again
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 02:41:29 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 07, 2015, 02:39:43 PM
Better fare then Ireland v England.

Mark Lynch class yet again

Damming with faint praise there.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 07, 2015, 02:43:17 PM
Much better fare than last Sundays Leinster mis match. Some great scores and passages of play on display today. Down physically light compared Derry.
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 02:44:47 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 07, 2015, 02:43:17 PM
Much better fare than last Sundays Leinster mis match. Some great scores and passages of play on display today. Down physically light compared Derry.

Only for a sadist.

Misplaced passes, terrible wides, most of the scores from frees, cyncial tackling. All the worst excesses of the ulster championship.

Terrible fare. If this was a concert, you'd boo

Post by: Syferus on June 07, 2015, 02:47:56 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 07, 2015, 02:43:17 PM

Bit like saying x is more lively than a funeral.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 02:48:57 PM
Oisin McConville saying the ref isn't fit enough to keep up with the play and is at fault for slowing down the game.

El Pres won't like that.
Post by: grounded on June 07, 2015, 02:49:46 PM
Lynch gave mcardle the run around and the difference between the sides. Derry do look vulnerable at the back, Down forwards just too small to break the tackle and create an opening.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 02:55:11 PM
Spillane is spot on with the poor quality of the tackling by both sides for the frees conceded.  :o

There has been a world of lazy randomly throwing the hands in attempts at tackling today.
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2015, 02:59:56 PM
Down look more likely to score a goal.

That was a ridiculous looking red card.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 07, 2015, 03:00:56 PM
Some pathetic dive there, worked out for him though with the red card.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 07, 2015, 03:01:22 PM
Very harsh red card there
Post by: balladmaker on June 07, 2015, 03:02:09 PM
Absolute joke of a red card, once again an incompetent decision will have a major impact on the outcome of a game.
Post by: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:03:58 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on June 07, 2015, 03:02:09 PM
Absolute joke of a red card, once again an incompetent decision will have a major impact on the outcome of a game.
Absolutely agree, game ruined by an incompetent referee.
Messed up thing is that he will in the middle of some game next weekend and so on
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on June 07, 2015, 03:06:04 PM
Soft red yes but when have you been allowed to push someone in the face?
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 07, 2015, 03:07:55 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on June 07, 2015, 03:06:04 PM
Yellow card no more big error by the ref.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 03:08:46 PM
In defence of the ref, the incident took place off the ball and McGovern had flung his hand out in the direction of the Derry player's face.

The fact that the Derry player went down holding his face definitely didnt help McGovern's cause.

Also he did go to the umpires for their opinion as well.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 07, 2015, 03:09:21 PM

yeah, I think what most are saying a yellow would have sufficed (to use Martin Carneys phrase)!
Post by: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:09:30 PM

Why is Martin Carney constantly chuckling this season
Post by: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:10:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 07, 2015, 03:09:21 PM

yeah, I think what most are saying a yellow would have sufficed (to use Martin Carneys phrase)!

Very much so
Post by: tonto1888 on June 07, 2015, 03:11:54 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:03:58 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on June 07, 2015, 03:02:09 PM
Absolutely agree, game ruined by an incompetent referee.
Messed up thing is that he will in the middle of some game next weekend and so on

More the umpires id say
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 07, 2015, 03:25:39 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 07, 2015, 03:08:46 PM
In defence of the ref, the incident took place off the ball and McGovern had flung his hand out in the direction of the Derry player's face.

The fact that the Derry player went down holding his face definitely didnt help McGovern's cause.

Also he did go to the umpires for their opinion as well.

Agreed the umpires called that... Big decision but as a referee you need to trust your line and umpires to give you the help needed when you don't see it... Would be overturned for sure
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 03:27:58 PM
up there with the worst games I've ever watched. Absolutely terrible stuff
Post by: babarino on June 07, 2015, 03:28:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 03:27:58 PM

Go and cut the grass then.
Post by: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:29:18 PM
God they are both bad teams
Spillane comments should be interesting
Post by: Schkite on June 07, 2015, 03:31:01 PM
Incredibly stupid of the Derry man there to hold onto the ball after the foul, when he knows well it will be moved up to a very scorable position, in such a tight game too.
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 03:32:54 PM
Quote from: babarino on June 07, 2015, 03:28:39 PM

Already did and only one point was scored in the intervening period.

Would be a dis-service to Junior B players to describe the match as being at that standard
Post by: Tubberman on June 07, 2015, 03:36:14 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 03:32:54 PM

Would be a dis-service to Junior B players to describe the match as being at that standard

Don't be a p***k
Poor standard of football, very poor. I thought Down were the better team actually, terrible sending off decision
Post by: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:36:26 PM

Agreed it was complete shit
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 03:38:58 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 07, 2015, 03:36:26 PM

Both teams have better quality players then this rubbish. This is the problem with the blanket defence.

When played by two average teams is awful to watch.
Post by: The Raven on June 07, 2015, 03:40:39 PM
See Kilcoo were best today
Post by: screenexile on June 07, 2015, 03:42:34 PM

Zzzzz nobody's forcing you to watch it!!

We should have won that at a canter today switched off in the second half. Lynch is class but still goes missing for long spells.

Thought Rogers had an excellent games also Johnson!!!

The red card had no bearing on the game really.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 07, 2015, 03:48:53 PM
Derry best first half and Down the better second half I think a draw would have been a fair result. Armagh or Donegal should beat Derry in the semi final.
Post by: charlieTully on June 07, 2015, 03:49:20 PM
The red card. Where your diving tr**p of a player went down like he was shot. Now I know why tyrone hate yis. horrible bastids. Horrible cheating bastids. Henry wouldn't have a look in.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 07, 2015, 03:49:59 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 07, 2015, 03:42:34 PM

Zzzzz nobody's forcing you to watch it!!

We should have won that at a canter today switched off in the second half. Lynch is class but still goes missing for long spells.

Thought Rogers had an excellent games also Johnson!!!

The red card had no bearing on the game really.

Do you think had Derry lost a man they would have played better?
Post by: rodney trotter on June 07, 2015, 03:52:23 PM

It was competitiv,e had some good individual displays, Mark Lynch, Eoin Bradley, Kevin Mckernan

Better then watching a game that was over after 10 minutes, like last week
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 07, 2015, 03:52:48 PM
Complete garbage from Derry today!

What is McIvers tactics??
Post by: Estimator on June 07, 2015, 03:53:47 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on June 07, 2015, 03:49:20 PM
The red card. Where your diving tr**p of a player went down like he was shot. Now I know why tyrone hate yis. horrible bastids. Horrible cheating bastids. Henry wouldn't have a look in.

Post by: Oraisteach on June 07, 2015, 03:57:28 PM
Well, that was thrilling.  In short, Derry deserved to lose, not because of a ferocious Down comeback, but because after the sending-off Derry had decided the game was over and apparently spent much of the second half in the dressing room.  And Down, adopting a very effective tactic--get the ball into the half-forward line and let Derry foul them, almost stole a win. Apart from that, and with few exceptions, Down's distance shooting was very poor.
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2015, 04:15:27 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 07, 2015, 03:53:47 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on June 07, 2015, 03:49:20 PM

Balanced by the red not given for dangerous high tackle
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 04:22:57 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 07, 2015, 03:52:23 PM

It was competitiv,e had some good individual displays, Mark Lynch, Eoin Bradley, Kevin Mckernan

It wasn't Rodney. It's like saying watching Altrincham v Barnet was better then watching Woking v Rushen and Diamonds

Thats the problem with you guys your lowest common denominator is so low you don't know a bad game when you see one.
Post by: charlieTully on June 07, 2015, 04:39:02 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 04:22:57 PM

It wasn't Rodney. It's like saying watching Altrincham v Barnet was better then watching Woking v Rushen and Diamonds

Thats the problem with you guys your lowest common denominator is so low you don't know a bad game when you see one.

That's the problem with you guys. When you meet a team from ulster you get fcuked in the ass.
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 04:49:39 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on June 07, 2015, 04:39:02 PM

That's the problem with you guys. When you meet a team from ulster you get fcuked in the ass.

Like 2011 when we finished off Tyrone and Armagh? And beat the fabled Jesus defence
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 07, 2015, 05:08:12 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 04:49:39 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on June 07, 2015, 04:39:02 PM

Like 2011 when we finished off Tyrone and Armagh? And beat the fabled Jesus defence

How did that fair last year?
Post by: JoG2 on June 07, 2015, 06:13:46 PM
A couple of boys would need breathalysed before typing anymore.

Post by: Dubh driocht on June 07, 2015, 07:12:04 PM
Just home - poor game alright but on reflection Down have more to take from that than Derry. They are unlikely to trouble Armagh or Donegal unless they get better ball into Eoin Bradley and start Caolain O'Boyle. Their spine is good- Mallon's kick-outs were more effective than Kane's, Rogers totally eclipsed Poly, Mc Kaigue, Holly, Doherty and Lynch were an effective diamond and Bradley ran the first half but O'Hagan and Howard did a good job on him in the second. Or did Derry forgot they had him as an option as he has played so little for them this year ?
I lost a bit of respect for McIver today - his constant mouthing at the ref was only eclipsed by that a*** wipe former reserve keeper Kelly whose single role seems to be to intimidate the umpire and sledge Down players, particularly Caolan Mooney.
Down's defence did well - Mc Govern was slow to start but it was a serious ask for 14 men to play over 30 minutes with a man down on a fairly warm day.
Midfield was poor- as expected- Mooney had his moments but we badly needed Pete Turley or even Madine. Packy is not the answer and we badly  lacked quality in this zone. Devlin's free taking was good.
Apart from Laverty and Mc Kernan, none of the forwards will want to think about this game too long.
However as you would expect from a Mc Corry team, Down stuck at it and poor shot selection from the subs cost us a draw at least. But from here on in, all depends on tomorrow's draw; a couple of wins will put the wind back in the sails as we were unlikely to win Ulster but getting to the last 12/8 will make it a good enough year.
It's a cliché but seeing the horrendous smash on the M2 on the way home really does put football into perspective.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 07, 2015, 07:57:31 PM
Shocking stuff from Derry, just stopped when Down went down to 14, think been a whole lot better game if it stayed 15 aside, tactic wise am not sure what Derry are playing at, need a man up beside Bradley and Lynch to remain at 11, Down deserved a draw. I rather be going in to play Armagh / Donegal of a shocker instead of going in off a easy 14 man win, Derry have only about 5 men played anything for them at all. Down struggled at midfield all day until Doherty run out of steam round the 50min mark
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 07, 2015, 08:53:21 PM
On another note that Ref was shocking,  i see a stat of his games is that 70% of scores always come from placed balls, back to Leinster with you. He been ref in the Tyrone v Donegal game it ended 12 a side
Post by: Main Street on June 07, 2015, 09:08:49 PM
The Derry physio was outstanding, in a horrible game of gaelic football with officiating to match.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 07, 2015, 09:15:35 PM

i've seen worse games. The game today wasn't as bad as the Ulster Final last year - Donegal and Monaghan.

Derry and Down in 2013 was a great game. Both sides played more attractive football that year.

Post by: RadioGAAGAA on June 07, 2015, 09:24:00 PM
Poor poor game with two teams that aren't looking like they'll go far this summer.

Down desperately needed a one-pass link between their half backs and full forwards.

All too often turn over ball was carried back up the field at almost pedestrian speeds allowing for establishment of an organised defence.

Conor Laverty needs to be at centre half forward, get the other wing forwards out of the road and use him as the link between defence and inside forwards. And centre half forwards shouldn't be on their own '40 too often.

Oh and the referee would be good for U-12 games. Maybe.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 07, 2015, 09:29:23 PM
It's a frustrating game, as Down supporters know so well. Both sides were very ordinary in the first half but Down showed great spirit after another ludicrous red card forced us to play practically the entire second period with 14 men.  A draw was the least we should have managed, and the referee appeared to make a complete mess of signalling the injury time. Two minutes was initially announced, and quickly changed to four minutes, which was about right given the sending off, a dust-up which resulted in four yellows and a number of other stoppages. Somehow another announcement cut the injury time to two minutes, which made no sense at all and deprived Down of a decent chance of an equaliser.

Derry have a fine defence, and Lynch and Bradley are top quality up front, but it is difficult to see them making an Ulster final. The Down forward line, with the exception of Laverty, is limited, and a run in the qualifiers will be totally dependent on tomorrow's draw. However, we must surely be due a slice of luck somewhere along the way.

A couple of Kane's kick-outs went badly astray but he settled after the break, and, even when we were a man down, regularly found team-mates. The defence did us proud, with Howard, Turley, Boyle and particularly O'Hagan looking the part. McArdle drove forward at every opportunity, although McGovern looked nervous early on and made a couple of errors before getting into the match and being dismissed for nothing more than a shove. .

Fitzpatrick had reportedly been flying at club level but his recall was sadly close to disastrous and almost everything he did went wrong. His miss just before the break was astonishing, he could easily have got a red for a wild tackle and it was amazing that he was not replaced much earlier. McKernan covered a huge amount of ground and got two wonderful first half points.

Devlin worked hard in open play without really hurting Derry, but his frees, apart one difficult enough effort, were excellent. Maginn put in his usual massive effort but it was not his day, while Poland had possibly not recovered from the lay-off after his eye injury, and, apart from winning a couple of frees, had a disappointing afternoon.

Mooney played in flashes, looking dangerous a couple of times but his passing needs to improve. O'Hare covered a lot of ground without every really contributing much and Laverty as ever was a gem. He almost single-handedly dragged us back into the contest when he dropped deep and shipped  a series of heavy tackles for his troubles.

None of the subs made that much difference, although either Madine or Turley should really have come on at the break for Fitzpatrick.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 07, 2015, 09:52:12 PM
Just watched the game again and I'll comment on it later...but Colm O'Rourke really is a bitter fcuker when it comes to Down. For jaysus sake Colm get over it...it was nearly 24 years ago.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 07, 2015, 09:53:44 PM

What'd O'Rourke have to say?
Post by: theticklemister on June 07, 2015, 10:04:09 PM
Poland was a big let down today.

As someone said earlier, the physio did well
Post by: yellowcard on June 07, 2015, 10:08:12 PM
That game was nowhere near as bad as some have claimed. At least it was competitive unlike many of the turkey shoots in the other provinces. McIver will be delighted with the result and even moreso with the fact that they will go into a likely semi against Donegal slightly under the radar. I wouldn't discount them from winning Ulster but they will need to offer more of a scoring threat other than just Bradley and Lynch. On a side note the refereeing was shocking, the standard nationwide is very poor apart from a handful.
Post by: Estimator on June 07, 2015, 10:11:05 PM
O'Rourke slated Skinner before the game as well. Then went on to say that he'll probably do well on the rookie full back, referring  to Rogers. Unfortunately neither Pat nor Dara  informed him that Rogers and Bradley  we're playing on the same team.
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 10:15:18 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 07, 2015, 10:08:12 PM
That game was nowhere near as bad as some have claimed. At least it was competitive unlike many of the turkey shoots in the other provinces. McIver will be delighted with the result and even moreso with the fact that they will go into a likely semi against Donegal slightly under the radar. I wouldn't discount them from winning Ulster but they will need to offer more of a scoring threat other than just Bradley and Lynch. On a side note the refereeing was shocking, the standard nationwide is very poor apart from a handful.

You're right it was nowhere near as bad as made out earlier- it was in fact far worse.

When will people in Ulster realise that competitiveness does not equal good skill.

Just review the misplaced passes, wides, poor tackling and cynical fouling. If Barnet played Cowenbeath it would be competitive. You can't use competitiveness as a measure of quality. Two drunks could match each other for quality in a race after last orders
Post by: snoopdog on June 07, 2015, 10:29:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2015, 10:15:18 PM

You're right it was nowhere near as bad as made out earlier- it was in fact far worse.

When will people in Ulster realise that competitiveness does not equal good skill.

Just review the misplaced passes, wides, poor tackling and cynical fouling. If Barnet played Cowenbeath it would be competitive. You can't use competitiveness as a measure of quality. Two drunks could match each other for quality in a race after last orders
if you don't like ulster football then don't f**king watch it . Stop bitching about it and watch your own province.
Post by: rrhf on June 07, 2015, 10:49:30 PM
dubs were shite too till the rest of us started throwing money St you. 

Post by: 5 Sams on June 07, 2015, 11:01:55 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 07, 2015, 10:11:05 PM
O'Rourke slated Skinner before the game as well. Then went on to say that he'll probably do well on the rookie full back, referring  to Rogers. Unfortunately neither Pat nor Dara  informed him that Rogers and Bradley  we're playing on the same team.

Saw that....how much are these boys getting paid???

Did you hear him talking about Down's "Brendan McKernan".

You would nearly think he was talking about Skinner in that fashion because Brolly wasn't there. RTE saying...."say something controversial Colm....Joe's at the match with his Da!

Met him once at the races in Navan...he was a p***k then...plus ca change.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 07, 2015, 11:15:33 PM
McIvor made a balls of  a desision last year not accommodating Eoin Bradley while he had soccer commitments, he did this year.

Bradley was too good a player to be without. Derry lost to Donegal by 3 last year, Bradley would have made a difference no doubt.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 07, 2015, 11:22:09 PM
We still cant understand why he woudlnt bring back Paddy bradley who been the top scorer in derry last year,
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 07, 2015, 11:28:20 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 07, 2015, 10:04:09 PM
Poland was a big let down today.

As someone said earlier, the physio did well

Byl dobrze oznakowany. Derry wygladac mistrzow.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 07, 2015, 11:33:54 PM

It was a much better game than the Dublin Longford game from last weekend. At least nobody was falling asleep
Post by: Jinxy on June 07, 2015, 11:44:16 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 07, 2015, 11:01:55 PM
Quote from: Estimator on June 07, 2015, 10:11:05 PM

Saw that....how much are these boys getting paid???

Did you hear him talking about Down's "Brendan McKernan".

You would nearly think he was talking about Skinner in that fashion because Brolly wasn't there. RTE saying...."say something controversial Colm....Joe's at the match with his Da!

Met him once at the races in Navan...he was a p***k then...plus ca change.

I bet you shouted, "Any tips, Colm?!", and he just ignored you.
Post by: general_lee on June 08, 2015, 10:09:44 AM

You've an awful chip on your shoulder regarding Ulster you pretentious cnut.

Both teams' first outings what else do you expect? Yeah it would be awfully nice to have Longford's second string at home as an opener where you can throw your debutants in with no pressure.

Oh and please spare us the shite soccer analogies.
Post by: yellowcard on June 08, 2015, 10:20:28 AM

Fortunately that is unlikely to happen as they play in different countries.

Anyway I fail to see your point, if your deriding the game for a lack of quality then by extension your deriding the standard of gaelic football in the country. Indeed both of these counties are of a higher quality than 11 out of the 12 counties in Leinster if you base it on final league positions.
Post by: armaghniac on June 08, 2015, 11:09:55 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 08, 2015, 10:20:28 AM
Anyway I fail to see your point, if your deriding the game for a lack of quality then by extension your deriding the standard of gaelic football in the country. Indeed both of these counties are of a higher quality than 11 out of the 12 counties in Leinster if you base it on final league positions.

Ah yes, Yellowcard, but the majority of people in Leinster have been gathered together to  form another team and it is reasonably good.
Post by: Gonzalo15 on June 08, 2015, 07:30:32 PM
Poor enough game. Regarding the red card ,although it was harsh, down should have had mcgovern off at half time as he was complete manure in the first half, so they really only have themselves to blame😀
Post by: Main Street on June 09, 2015, 12:03:06 AM
With a good space in hindsight, I'll accept that it was a competitive game,  that Down reacted well after that ridiculous red card when many teams would have folded, but just couldn't close out a game that they had in the bag, that the game had an exciting element, that Down deserved a draw.
It's just that at the time of watching the game. it was a painful experience and I forget why.
Post by: ONeill on June 09, 2015, 12:08:41 AM
It's the back door effect.

Even shit Derry/Down sides would have cut tripe outta each other in 1983.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on June 09, 2015, 01:42:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 09, 2015, 12:08:41 AM
It's the back door effect.

Even shit Derry/Down sides would have cut tripe outta each other in 1983.

The back door has reduced the intensity of matches dramatically.

Although given the sh!te that football has become, would teams be even more scared of losing rather than trying to win with a return to the real championship? [i.e. more packed defenses?]
Post by: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 03:45:04 PM
I watched the game again last night and without trying to sound like sour grapes, I think Enda Lynn should get 6 months for play acting. Watching the physio checking him for concussion etc would make you sick. If a Down player done the same id have no bother him getting 6 months either. Its the one thing that really puts me off Gaelic football at present. Its no longer creeping into the game,its part and parcel of it unfortunately and needs  stamped out. In my opinion 10 times worse than Cavanagh pulling down McManus and that got some attention.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 09, 2015, 03:48:31 PM
Sour grapes.
Post by: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 03:53:56 PM
Possibly. But id hope not.
Post by: interested on June 09, 2015, 04:24:48 PM
Quote from: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 03:53:56 PM
The "poor" Derry lad went down holding his face and he had a tattoo-says it all really.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 09, 2015, 04:28:29 PM
Quote from: interested on June 09, 2015, 04:24:48 PM
Quote from: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 03:53:56 PM
The "poor" Derry lad went down holding his face and he had a tattoo-says it all really.

Hang himmmmmm
Post by: JoG2 on June 09, 2015, 04:33:31 PM
Quote from: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 03:45:04 PM
I watched the game again last night and without trying to sound like sour grapes, I think Enda Lynn should get 6 months for play acting. Watching the physio checking him for concussion etc would make you sick. If a Down player done the same id have no bother him getting 6 months either. Its the one thing that really puts me off Gaelic football at present. Its no longer creeping into the game,its part and parcel of it unfortunately and needs  stamped out. In my opinion 10 times worse than Cavanagh pulling down McManus and that got some attention.

that's your reasoned response ?! You'd make some judge ardtole

Post by: screenexile on June 09, 2015, 04:59:17 PM
As I said in the Derry thread I don't think it was a red card but your man caught him with the butt of the hand and from what I'm told drew blood.

It's not as if he went down like a sack of spuds rolling around or did a Cavanagh swan dive but he was struck and blood was drawn so I think he's perfectly entitled to get treatment.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 09, 2015, 05:11:31 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 09, 2015, 04:59:17 PM
As I said in the Derry thread I don't think it was a red card but your man caught him with the butt of the hand and from what I'm told drew blood.

It's not as if he went down like a sack of spuds rolling around or did a Cavanagh swan dive but he was struck and blood was drawn so I think he's perfectly entitled to get treatment.

Have to laugh at the attempt by the Derry posters to justify it. If Cavanagh had done it you would correctly be calling it for what it was, Diving and of the worst kind. Not just an attempt to win a free but to get a opposition player sent of.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 09, 2015, 05:14:33 PM
How can a man look to get a player sent off by dropping to his hunkers??
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 09, 2015, 05:21:46 PM
By feigning injury or at the very least exaggerating it. 
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 09, 2015, 05:24:00 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 09, 2015, 05:21:46 PM

Nonsense. Are u from Down?
Post by: general_lee on June 09, 2015, 06:01:59 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 09, 2015, 04:59:17 PM

You're as bad as that Tyrone lot! If I walked up to Enda Lynn today  in the streetand done the exact same thing he'd prob look at me funny and ask wtf am I at. Even if he did catch him hard enough to draw blood, which he didn't, that hardly necessitates hitting the deck.

Not having a go at Derry btw, if the shoe was on the other foot I'm sure plenty of fellas on the Down team would have no hesitistion in doing the same. Not like me to speak up for someone from burren either lol.
Post by: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 06:19:27 PM
The physio spent a couple of mins checking him for concussion etc. I think its something that needs looked at, the rugby have a better system whereby if a man is injured the medics can come on to the field while play continues. Might not have worked in this scenario but could in others. If a down player gets away with something similar in the next game I would have no problem with him getting a suspension after video review
Post by: SHEEDY on June 09, 2015, 06:44:26 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 09, 2015, 05:24:00 PM

which part of that statement is nonsense walter? im from down i have no problem in calling it as it is. it was blatant cheating, he feigned injury to try to get a player either booked or sent off.
Post by: Mac hinery on June 09, 2015, 08:19:36 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 09, 2015, 06:44:26 PM

which part of that statement is nonsense walter? im from down i have no problem in calling it as it is. it was blatant cheating, he feigned injury to try to get a player either booked or sent off.

http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0607/706541-video-down-red-card-against-derry/#media

Check the video from 11 to 14 seconds and spot the thumb fishooking Enda Lynn's mouth.  It may not have been a red card offence but certainly not cheating or feigning / exaggerating an injury.   
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 09, 2015, 08:21:56 PM

I'm not from Down.
Post by: Main Street on June 09, 2015, 10:44:25 PM
I'd have no problem having the Derry physio checking me out, I would milk that attention for all it was worth.
Post by: ardtole on June 09, 2015, 10:59:36 PM
I checked your clip mac hinery and to me it was blatant play acting, I was going to say you would see worse in the playground, you would see worse in the creche. The referee has to take responsibilty too, he is in charge of his team, including selecting his umpires and on evidence of Sunday, they are inadequate. If the umpire deems McGoverns action a red card offence then he is not up to the required standard. To send a man off for a straight red for striking you have to be 100% certain, he made an error, that possibly cost Down the game.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 09, 2015, 11:01:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 09, 2015, 10:44:25 PM
I'd have no problem having the Derry physio checking me out, I would milk that attention for all it was worth.
Nothing compared to the Down minor physio.  8) Any wonder our lads couldn't concentrate.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 09, 2015, 11:12:14 PM
For all who crying about the man been sent off (which he shouldn't) plus a bit of -playacting on the Derry mans parts which i detest,  i don't seem the same lads crying about the down player who nearly took the Derry players head off, that one was a red card all day long!
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 07:57:39 AM
A bad tackle is a bad tackle. Definitely Could have been red. Diving is a different animal tho.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 10, 2015, 09:00:47 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 07:57:39 AM
A bad tackle is a bad tackle. Definitely Could have been red. Diving is a different animal tho.

When did he dive? He dropped to his hunkers.
Post by: Mikasa on June 10, 2015, 09:39:03 AM
It definitely wasn't a red but I don't think Lynn was trying to get him sent off.

Is there a video of the incident to watch again?
Post by: ardtole on June 10, 2015, 09:41:12 AM
Was there even enough contact to drop to his hunkers. He still made a meal out of the situation and got his opponent sent off. Fitzpatricks tackle was late and clumsy, a red would have been harsh but couldnt have complained too much if he had of gone.
Post by: Mikasa on June 10, 2015, 09:44:41 AM
If I were a Down supporter I'd be more angry at the linesman than anyone else.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2015, 10:45:44 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 10, 2015, 09:00:47 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 07:57:39 AM

When did he dive? He dropped to his hunkers.

He went onto his knees and there the video stops, I didn't see the incident at the match but for all we know (unless you saw it), he could have lay down after that. Supposedly the doctor was checking him for concussion after so what else are the umpires going to think? Playacting at best if not diving.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 10, 2015, 10:47:11 AM
Quote from: Mac hinery on June 09, 2015, 08:19:36 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 09, 2015, 06:44:26 PM

I actually think you are right there.
You can see his cheek pushing backwards.
No way was it a red card (it could have been a black for cynical play but it was at least a yellow) but I honestly believe Lynn was hurt. He's not that type of player.....but to be honest up until seeing this clip I did think he'd uncharacteristically overreacted to what was an attempted push so I can understand the frustration from a Down point of view.
All in all, the ref had a shocker. However, as someone else rightly pointed out Down could have had another player sent off for a high challenge and didnt, so perhaps it evened out in that regard.
If anything though, the sending off kickstarted Down in that second half. Up until that point, Derry actually looked like they would be comfortable winners.
I believe the red card will be and should be rescinded, but lets be fair, neither team will go too far this year.

http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0607/706541-video-down-red-card-against-derry/#media

Check the video from 11 to 14 seconds and spot the thumb fishooking Enda Lynn's mouth.  It may not have been a red card offence but certainly not cheating or feigning / exaggerating an injury.   
Post by: Mikasa on June 10, 2015, 11:13:29 AM
Complete sour grapes after watching that. Certainly not a dive or cheating nor was it a red card. As I said, if you have any issues it should not be with Lynn or Kinsella but the linesman.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 02:53:50 PM
After watching that again, I've no doubt it was play acting. Poor form for what was a brush of the hand. 
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 10, 2015, 03:00:38 PM
We'll have to agree to disagree on this lads.

I will say one thing though, throughout Enda's career at both club and county level he is continually targeted and never goes down looking frees or to get his man sent off.

People are entitled to their own opinions so we'll leave it there.

Post by: bannside on June 10, 2015, 03:15:33 PM
Three people at fault here in descending order.1. The referee for not seeing that it was a very soft red card offence. Just like the black card rule which is still there but refs never apply any more, confident refs should demand a right to waive a rule for a minor transgression. ( eg a fault yes but not a sending off. Who in the crowd would have any problem if a yellow was flashed instead?). 2. The linesman who reacted to the crowd and put pressure on the ref to do what he did. 3. Mc Govern who was taking a risk that might be punishable and in doing so put his team at a disadvantage.

Those three are much more at fault than Enda Lynn who has just received a border line dirty push off to the face. Could he have stayed up. Yes. I'd say he probably wouldn't have objected to getting McGovern a yellow and was more surprised than anyone when the red came out.

So on the list of who's to blame I personally  (as a complete neutral) place Lynn fourth in line.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 03:24:48 PM
Quote from: bannside on June 10, 2015, 03:15:33 PM
Three people at fault here in descending order.1. The referee for not seeing that it was a very soft red card offence. Just like the black card rule which is still there but refs never apply any more, confident refs should demand a right to waive a rule for a minor transgression. ( eg a fault yes but not a sending off. Who in the crowd would have any problem if a yellow was flashed instead?). 2. The linesman who reacted to the crowd and put pressure on the ref to do what he did. 3. Mc Govern who was taking a risk that might be punishable and in doing so put his team at a disadvantage.

Those three are much more at fault than Enda Lynn who has just received a border line dirty push off to the face. Could he have stayed up. Yes. I'd say he probably wouldn't have objected to getting McGovern a yellow and was more surprised than anyone when the red came out.

So on the list of who's to blame I personally  (as a complete neutral) place Lynn fourth in line.

The bit in bold is the issue for me, and would put Lynn at the top of my list to blame. A mistake can happen by referee, linesman etc. But it was a decision by Lynn to drop down.
Post by: oakleaflad on June 10, 2015, 03:28:11 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 03:24:48 PM

The bit in bold is the issue for me, and would put Lynn at the top of my list to blame. A mistake can happen by referee, linesman etc. But it was a decision by Lynn to drop down.
It was also a decision by McGovern. Would he not be top of your list?

In any case this was not the winning or losing of the game. From Derry's perspective they probably feel like they stopped playing after the red card and could have won by more without it.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 10, 2015, 03:35:04 PM
This was simply a 'hand-off' between opponents that you see soo many times in games. It was meant as nothing more. It wasn't a strike nor a lashing out. Lynn happened to be caught in the mouth with a slight fish hook and yes his reaction was over the top but its been made into something it really is not at this stage. Id expect McGovern's red to be overturned and everyone learn from it in future including officials. Time to move on.
Down didn't lose the game due to the sending off or in spite of the sending off but rather through inability to take their chances when they presented themselves. Down were just slightly crapper than Derry on the day.
Post by: rosskarr on June 10, 2015, 03:50:10 PM
  It was the Derry backroom team who put the umpire under pressure
as they were on their way back to the dug-out after halftime.
   Apart from not being a red card offence,it's the length of time Lynn stays
down until the Doctor and Referee arrive. Quite pathetic and play-acting at
it's ugliest. See what sort of slaps he'll get now from Donegal or Armagh.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 10, 2015, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 10, 2015, 03:35:04 PM
This was simply a 'hand-off' between opponents that you see soo many times in games. It was meant as nothing more. It wasn't a strike nor a lashing out. Lynn happened to be caught in the mouth with a slight fish hook and yes his reaction was over the top but its been made into something it really is not at this stage. Id expect McGovern's red to be overturned and everyone learn from it in future including officials. Time to move on.
Down didn't lose the game due to the sending off or in spite of the sending off but rather through inability to take their chances when they presented themselves. Down were just slightly crapper than Derry on the day.

Well said BT.

Quote from: rosskarr on June 10, 2015, 03:50:10 PM
  It was the Derry backroom team who put the umpire under pressure
as they were on their way back to the dug-out after halftime.
   Apart from not being a red card offence,it's the length of time Lynn stays
down until the Doctor and Referee arrive. Quite pathetic and play-acting at
it's ugliest. See what sort of slaps he'll get now from Donegal or Armagh.

Ooooh Enda if your reading this, time to hang up the boots!!
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2015, 04:00:44 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 10, 2015, 03:28:11 PM

He wasn't even looking at Lynn, so it was hardly a decision to push him in the face.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 04:03:05 PM

In any case this was not the winning or losing of the game. From Derry's perspective they probably feel like they stopped playing after the red card and could have won by more without it.

McGovern made a decision to push of Lynn. I've no issue with that decision. It happens 20 times a game.

I do agree it didn't lose Down the game.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 10, 2015, 04:37:30 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2015, 04:00:44 PM

He wasn't even looking at Lynn, so it was hardly a decision to push him in the face.

Yeah, he must have just been having a wee stretch...  ::)
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2015, 04:59:24 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 10, 2015, 04:37:30 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 10, 2015, 04:00:44 PM

Yeah, he must have just been having a wee stretch...  ::)

Loom at the video and tell me he was looking at Lynn and deliberately caught him in the face. He meant to push him, obviously, but in the chest, not the face. It's not Kinsella's fault though.
Post by: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 05:20:09 PM

...Please continue

You worded that well ;-)
Post by: INDIANA on June 10, 2015, 06:14:48 PM

My point is it was a diabolical match to watch. If you give me a piece of chalk I will spell it out clearer for you . Don't be bringing extraneous non entity arguments into it. Judge each game on its merits

And that was an utterly dreadful game . Devoid of skill, entertainment and quality . But it had "intensity" which is an Ulster GAA fan's fail safe.
Post by: oakleaflad on June 10, 2015, 06:37:11 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 10, 2015, 06:14:48 PM

My point is it was a diabolical match to watch. If you give me a piece of chalk I will spell it out clearer for you . Don't be bringing extraneous non entity arguments into it. Judge each game on its merits

And that was an utterly dreadful game . Devoid of skill, entertainment and quality . But it had "intensity" which is an Ulster GAA fan's fail safe.
There were scores in the game from Bradley, Lynch and McKernan that would grace any field in the country. There was one point in the game so it was entertaining enough. The quality wasn't great but it's early days yet.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 10, 2015, 09:12:17 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 10, 2015, 05:20:09 PM

...Please continue

You worded that well ;-)

Continue what?
Post by: general_lee on June 11, 2015, 10:55:23 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 10, 2015, 06:37:11 PM

There were scores in the game from Bradley, Lynch and McKernan that would grace any field in the country. There was one point in the game so it was entertaining enough. The quality wasn't great but it's early days yet.
Ignore him. He wishes he was from Ulster. Or that his county was from Ulster. He sounds like an RTE pundit ffs.

Like Enda McGinley said the other night on a championship discussion panel hosted by Armagh GAA, these boys aren't in the entertainment business. Not that Sunday's game was even devoid of it.

Skill: see Fergal Doc, McKernan, Lynch, Skinner, Lynn, Devlin; Indiana must have selective vision
Entertainment: Bit of controversy. Some nice scores. Result always in doubt. Two teams that went hell for leather. Poor atmosphere granted but it was in Celtic Park so that can't be helped.
Quality: Quality is subjective. Two defensive teams. So what? What the game lacked in free-flowingness was made up for in our old friend intensity  ;)

As a neutral I enjoyed the game. Not the best game ever by any stretch of the imagination but certainly not the worst. Neither team will go far unless Derry work some sort of miracle in the USFC as the qualifiers are not their friend. Down are lacking too much in midfield and half forward line to be any sort of a threat.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 11:11:41 AM
Indiana has been scarred by Dublin's last two games with Donegal. First it was Donegal he picked on, then it was Tyrone after he deemed their behaviour inappropriate in the U21 and it's slowly morphed into the whole of ulster lol.  I'm not sure when he'll start on Kerry as he seems to keep his disdain for ulster.

I think it's like an all star exhibition game you want every week Indiana...
Post by: JoG2 on June 11, 2015, 12:36:20 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 11, 2015, 10:55:23 AM

Ignore him. He wishes he was from Ulster. Or that his county was from Ulster. He sounds like an RTE pundit ffs.

Like Enda McGinley said the other night on a championship discussion panel hosted by Armagh GAA, these boys aren't in the entertainment business. Not that Sunday's game was even devoid of it.

Skill: see Fergal Doc, McKernan, Lynch, Skinner, Lynn, Devlin; Indiana must have selective vision
Entertainment: Bit of controversy. Some nice scores. Result always in doubt. Two teams that went hell for leather. Poor atmosphere granted but it was in Celtic Park so that can't be helped.
Quality: Quality is subjective. Two defensive teams. So what? What the game lacked in free-flowingness was made up for in our old friend intensity  ;)

As a neutral I enjoyed the game. Not the best game ever by any stretch of the imagination but certainly not the worst. Neither team will go far unless Derry work some sort of miracle in the USFC as the qualifiers are not their friend. Down are lacking too much in midfield and half forward line to be any sort of a threat.

I agree with what your saying General in general, but bar last years qualifier disaster @ CP (no disrespect to Longford), I think Derry have won more qualifier games than any other county
Post by: INDIANA on June 11, 2015, 03:22:04 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 11:11:41 AM
Indiana has been scarred by Dublin's last two games with Donegal. First it was Donegal he picked on, then it was Tyrone after he deemed their behaviour inappropriate in the U21 and it's slowly morphed into the whole of ulster lol.  I'm not sure when he'll start on Kerry as he seems to keep his disdain for ulster.

No scarring I just look at the roll of honour and tot up the number of all Ireland's won by Ulster counties. You don't need higher level maths as the number isn't too high

It was a brutal game of football. More waffle from Brian Mc Guigan about wanting Ulster referees. As if it's a different sport. I mean it's laughable that winning an Ulster Chsmpionship means more then a AI. As if it's some form of a better game up North because it has "intensity"

I enjoyed Donegal and Tyrone. But that last Sunday was absolute rubbish and no improvement on a turkey shoot. But it had "intensity". Ulster football loves a hod carrier but it's footballers that win AIs and Down and Derry have about 5 quality players between them . Some players couldn't even score from straight in front of the posts with nobody around them. Others couldn't execute even the most basic of hand passes .
Post by: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 03:35:43 PM
They're teams who are barely top 8 in the country though so you're not going to expect it to be the greatest football game in the world.

While people do jazz it up with talk of intensity there aren't that many teams who go out and play free flowing football all the time - anywhere. Dublin yes. Who else? The only other teams who do that usually get hammered.

I'm not sure what you expect...
Post by: Mikasa on June 11, 2015, 03:43:00 PM
Two evenly matched decent teams nullified each other shocker.
Post by: screenexile on June 11, 2015, 03:49:49 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 03:35:43 PM
They're teams who are barely top 8 in the country though so you're not going to expect it to be the greatest football game in the world.

While people do jazz it up with talk of intensity there aren't that many teams who go out and play free flowing football all the time - anywhere. Dublin yes. Who else? The only other teams who do that usually get hammered.

If you think Dublin will be going all out attack this year you're crazy!!! Not after they got hockeyed last year doing it we got evidence of it when they played us, Tyrone, Monaghan when they regularly had 13 men behind the ball.

The Dubs are probably a better team than Donegal were at the time last year but that doesn't matter a damn when you look at the scoreboard!!
Post by: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 03:53:13 PM
There were a few sma
Quote from: screenexile on June 11, 2015, 03:49:49 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 03:35:43 PM

If you think Dublin will be going all out attack this year you're crazy!!! Not after they got hockeyed last year doing it we got evidence of it when they played us, Tyrone, Monaghan when they regularly had 13 men behind the ball.

The Dubs are probably a better team than Donegal were at the time last year but that doesn't matter a damn when you look at the scoreboard!!

I'm not convinced... If they had a CHB who would hold their ground that would be a start.
Post by: JoG2 on June 11, 2015, 04:05:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 11, 2015, 03:22:04 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 11:11:41 AM

No scarring I just look at the roll of honour and tot up the number of all Ireland's won by Ulster counties. You don't need higher level maths as the number isn't too high

It was a brutal game of football. More waffle from Brian Mc Guigan about wanting Ulster referees. As if it's a different sport. I mean it's laughable that winning an Ulster Chsmpionship means more then a AI. As if it's some form of a better game up North because it has "intensity"

I enjoyed Donegal and Tyrone. But that last Sunday was absolute rubbish and no improvement on a turkey shoot. But it had "intensity". Ulster football loves a hod carrier but it's footballers that win AIs and Down and Derry have about 5 quality players between them . Some players couldn't even score from straight in front of the posts with nobody around them. Others couldn't execute even the most basic of hand passes .

:o
Post by: imtommygunn on June 11, 2015, 04:13:31 PM
Yeah JoG2 not sure who said that either... Where'd that come from Indiana?
Post by: Mikasa on June 11, 2015, 04:14:51 PM
Stupidest thing I've read in a long time, how is an Ulster worth more than the All-Ireland?
Post by: Keyser soze on June 11, 2015, 04:19:16 PM
Well I don't know about wanting Ulster referees but that guy Kinsella is completely useless, thats for certain. He made me think that he was the wee useless guy that got picked last for all the teams and is hell bent on getting his revenge on all the good footballers now.
Post by: Mikasa on June 11, 2015, 04:24:01 PM
He certainly doesn't have a monopoly on being rubbish, but he blew for everything. I'd rather a crap referee who let things go a bit than one like Kinsella.
Post by: general_lee on June 11, 2015, 04:34:19 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 11, 2015, 12:36:20 PM

I agree with what your saying General in general, but bar last years qualifier disaster @ CP (no disrespect to Longford), I think Derry have won more qualifier games than any other county
Yeah my bad, I have just always expected a lot more from Derry given some of the footballers yous had/still have. Had that Longford game in mind, wasn't there one or two other surprise exits?
Post by: screenexile on June 11, 2015, 04:40:02 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 11, 2015, 04:34:19 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 11, 2015, 12:36:20 PM

Yeah my bad, I have just always expected a lot more from Derry given some of the footballers yous had/still have. Had that Longford game in mind, wasn't there one or two other surprise exits?

I think Longford have beaten us 3 times in the Qualifiers?? Last year 2012 and 2007!!!  :-X :-X
Post by: general_lee on June 11, 2015, 04:44:10 PM
Fcuk me lol  :D
Post by: twohands!!! on June 11, 2015, 06:31:31 PM
Pretty sure that Kerry have won 100% of their qualifier games.

Don't Foul review of the game

https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/2015/06/10/derry-v-down-2015-ulster-championship/

Doesn't exactly do much to support the notion that it was a decent game.
Post by: screenexile on June 13, 2015, 06:58:58 PM
After all the faux outrage around the lack of quality in this game last week I just sat through an hour and a half of dross served up by 2 groups of professionals who are supposedly the best their Countries have to offer... Jaysus Christ!!