Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Aerlik on April 26, 2015, 09:18:55 AM

Title: AFL Season 2015
Post by: Aerlik on April 26, 2015, 09:18:55 AM
Finally, after a month of computer problems I have got round to getting the annual AFL season games round up (my perspective, unbiased and unapologetically one-eyed) underway.  The first three rounds are very short summaries but after this weekend (Round Four) there'll be better, even more unbiased and one-eyed summaries.  Enjoy.

Round One

Richmond 105 – 78 Carlton
The traditional opening fixture of the AFL season saw the Tigers just too good in the end for the Blues.  Pretty average performance by Carlton and the gods of doom are already predicting dire times ahead.  For the Tigers, well, they're the perennial grand finalists – at least in their own minds.

Melbourne 115 – 89 Gold Coast
Many have been predicting great things from the Suns this season, including the inaugural Finals performance.  Oh dear, they clearly forgot that they had to win to get there and games against Melbourne were the wins that MUST be locked away.  A clearly unfit Gary Ablett Jr. could not inspire the Suns and the Dees were victorious.  The big guns won't be sleeping uneasy after this one, though.

Sydney 72 – 60 Essendon
Fresh after being "exonerated" of illegal drug use by the Courts in one of the worst legal decisions in Australian sport, the Bombers rocketed to a 41 point ¾ time lead, only for the Swans to recover and stage a remarkable come-from-behind win.  Exciting stuff in the last quarter for the Swans fans.  Many of us were not so quietly laughing at Essendon.

Collingwood 86 – 74 Brisbane
Brisbane are rebuilding  but giving Collingwood a 53-point lead then hoping to win from that was not part of the plan.  Hanley's injury is not helping the Lions.  It's going to be a long, painful rebuild.

Western Bulldogs 97-87 West Coast Eagles
Oh this was sweet.  I am, of course, no fan of the trash down the road and this win was great to watch.  Suddenly the reality that they are not the top 4 team they think they are and tell everyone they deserve to be, is sinking home.

Greater Western Sydney 87 – 78 St. Kilda
Garbage.  Crap game, enough said.

Adelaide 140 – 63 North Melbourne
Yet another team that seems to think it has a right to be in the top 4, all the time, the Roos were pathetic.  Adelaide are expected to make the finals  but this was a real statement to the rest of the competition.

Hawthorn 123 – 61 Geelong.
Geelong was leading at the end of the first quarter, then Hawthorn hit top gear.  Enough said.  Clinical performance and the Hawks are worthy of their favourites tag for the season.

Fremantle 75 – 68 Port Adelaide
Easily the game of the round.  It had everything but Freo have Nathan Fyfe.  Great win to start the season.  And Fyfe?  He is the best player in the completion.

Round Two

West Coast 131 – 62 Carlton.
If you let a forward kick 10 goals then you know you're not in the game.  Carlton were abysmal.  Of course the home fans are already booking their Grand Final flights – apparently.

Western Bulldogs 85 – 66 Richmond
The first time in many years that the Bulldogs have won their first two games.   And the prophets of doom are circling at Punt Road. 

Greater Western Sydney 101 – 56 Melbourne.
The Dees were expecting a win.  They forgot to play.  Shocking rubbish on view.  Thank goodness I didn't pay to see it.

Adelaide 90 – 63 Collingwood
The pies are not going to make the top 8 this year.  They were simply no match for the Crows.

St. Kilda 104 – 76 Gold Coast
The Suns were expected this one but were no match for the Saints.  This was the game where the absence of Gary Ablett was most noticeably felt.  It's going to be a long season for both teams.

Sydney 92 – 44 Port Adelaide.
Suddenly one of the competition's favourites finds itself 0-2 and the panic button has been located but not pushed just yet.  A great win for the Swans.

Fremantle 104 – 60 Geelong
Dammit this was a very satisfying win.  The Nathan Fyfe show rolls on.   Last year Freo suffered the agony of defeat when an after the siren kick by David Mundy just drifted to the right of the goals and the Cats won by 4.  Not so on this occasion.  A great team win. 

Essendon 78 – 76 Hawthorn.
I thought the Hawks would've won this one but Essendon held on to record a superb win.  I didn't see the game but would love to have been there.

North Melbourne 133 – 51 Brisbane
Oh dear, oh dear oh dear oh dear.  Nuff said.

Round Three

Collingwood 140 – 66 St. Kilda
As expected.  It's not that the pies are good; St. Kilda are  bad.

Essendon 105 – 84 Carlton
This game was a lot closer than the score suggests.  Are we finally seeing the awakening of the Blues.  A significant win for Essendon keeping them in the top 8.

Adelaide 80 – 55 Melbourne
A deluge of Adelaide goals was predicted in this game but it is a sign that the Dees are getting better that the score this close.  (And believe me for Melbourne to lose by "only" 25 points is progress – cf. my comments in the past three seasons on their efforts).

Sydney 111 – 90 Greater Western Sydney
Phew.  Caught my breath.  A great game for the neutral and were it not for a dubious goal umpiring decision it could have been a repeat of last year's massive shock when the Giants beat the Swans.  Things are looking up for the Giants.

Port Adelaide 113 – 108 North Melbourne
Another cracker of a game for the neutral.  Amazing last quarter and the game was only decided in the last minute.  Great stuff.

Richmond 137 – 58 Brisbane
Ditto my last comments featuring a Brisbane game.  Not looking good for the Lions.  Now 0-3

Hawthorn 127 – 57 Western Bulldogs.
As expected the Hawks were just way too good for the bulldogs.  Looking very dangerous.

Geelong 105 – 96 Gold Coast
A lucky escape for the Cats.  Even without Ablett, the Suns really lifted their game but inexperience at crucial moments of the game was their undoing.  Still, a bit of hope despite now being 0-3.

Fremantle 111 – 81 West Coast.
No need to gloat – much.  This was as clinical a first half as I have ever seen.  At one stage we were 73 points ahead then for some reason we decided we'd tease the trash and let them think they'd have a chance.  Suddenly those Grand Final flights are being cancelled.  I didn't get to the game but enjoyed watching the replay, a lot.  In all seriousness, though, allowing the Eagles back into the game the way they did would have been seriously punished by a good club.  Still 3-0 will do me at this stage of the competition and we have Nathan Fyfe.
Title: Re: AFL Season 2015
Post by: Aerlik on April 28, 2015, 05:01:19 PM
Round Four - ANZAC Weekend Round

Melbourne 83 - 51 Richmond
Few suspected that this would be the outcome of this game but the Demons are showing a bit more skill and tenacity than we've seen in the past ten years or so.  This was quite an enjoyable game to watch but the Tigers must be wondering why they are playing the way they are. 

Carlton 121 - 81 St. Kilda
The annual "home" game for the Saints, played in sunny New Zealand.  And after four attempts they are still winless.  With one more year to go on the contract it would appear that the kiwis are not impressed with only 12,000 attending.  At least there is a bit of hope for embattled Blues coach, Mick Malthouse.

Collingwood 69 - 49 Essendon.
Well, the first of the "shocks" for the round.  Didn't see this one coming based on the form of the two teams.  But the occasion is a big one in the AFL calendar and the pies stood up superbly to win a tough encounter in the rain.  90,000 fans paid to watch this game.  I'd like to have been there, too.  An enjoyable game.

GWS 119 - 53 Gold Coast.
The largest margin between these two newcomers to the AFL.  The Suns are in damage prevention mode while the Giants are really enjoying a superb start to the season and sit second on the ladder.

Port Adelaide 99 - 91 Hawthorn
How to create a massive lead and proceed to nearly lose it - Part 1.  Port dominated the first half but the Hawks came back and this proved to be a real nail-biter.  Despite the loss I still think the Hawks will do the three-in-a-row this year.

Fremantle 74 - 60 Sydney
How to create a massive lead and proceed to nearly lost it - Part 2.  What a game.  It's on nights like these that I love being able to watch this game in person.  Just under 40,000 fans saw one of the best ever halves of footy from any Freo team as the boys raced to a 48-point half-time lead.  Then Sydney woke up and got the margin to three points before Freo kicked the last two goals to record their fourth win from four games, thus creating their own bit of history as it is the first time they've won four-in-a-row at the start of the season.  Buddy was kept quiet by Luke McPharlin, but everyone is talking one name at present and that player is Nathan Fyfe.  Sublime player.  The noise was deafening inside Subiaco stadium and my throat is fekked for the second time in a month. 

West Coast 118 - 65 Brisbane
The premiership favourites tag (albeit self-administered) is back on for the eagles.  Brisbane was shite.  Utter garbage.  I stopped watching at half-time.  My neighbour spacing out and wrecking his balcony while on Kronik was much more entertaining.

North Melbourne 83 - 67 Geelong.
For the first time since 2007, Geelong have lost two home games in a season.  Indeed since that time they've only lost two games at home with the record at 50-2.  This was a great game to watch especially the performance of the Kangaroos ruckman.  Things are not good at your club when Stevie Johnson is your sub, I suppose.

Western Bulldogs 125 -68 Adelaide
Easily the shock of the round.  A superb win for the bulldogs and the loss knocks Adelaide off their top of the ladder position.

...meaning that, as they are four from four, Fremantle is the outright leader of the competition at this stage.  Long may it continue.
Post by: 50fiftyball on April 29, 2015, 11:07:33 AM
Enjoying this thread!

For us at home here, does anyone know is it only ESPN & Eurosport that show the AFL games at weekends?
Post by: bamboo on April 29, 2015, 11:56:17 AM
Agreed re the thread, great reading it every week. Without sounding ungrateful Aerlik, is there any chance you could include the league table(ladder) each week? Maybe not too important now but towards the end of the season it would be nice to be able to see it here after reading your reports/previews rather than having to leave this page and check elsewhere. Cheers and keep up the good work.
Post by: Aerlik on April 29, 2015, 02:12:23 PM
Pos    Teams       P    W    L    D    FOR    AG    %    PTS   
  1    Fremantle    4    4    0    0   364    269    135.3    16   
  2    GWS Giants    4    3    1    0    397    298    133.2    12   
  3    Collingwood    4    3    1    0    358    279    128.3    12   
  4    Sydney Swans    4    3    1    0    335    268    125.0    12   
  5    Adel Crows    4    3    1    0    378    306    123.5    12   
  6    West Bulldogs    4    3    1    0    364    348    104.6    12   
  7    Hawthorn    4    2    2    0    417    295    141.4    8   
  8    Coke Eagles    4    2    2    0    417    335    124.5    8   
  9    Richmond    4    2    2    0    359    304    118.1    8   
  10    Nth Melbourne 4    2    2    0    384    371    103.5    8   
  11    Essendon    4    2    2    0    292    301    97.0    8   
  12    Melbourne    4    2    2    0    309    321    96.3    8   
  13    Port Adelaide   4    2    2    0    324    363    89.3    8   
  14    Carlton       4    1    3    0    345    422    81.8    4   
  15    St Kilda       4    1    3    0    329    424    77.6    4   
  16    Geelong Cats    4    1    3    0    293    406    72.2    4   
  17    Gold Cst Suns    4    0    4    0    314    443    70.9    0   
  18    Brisbane Lions    4    0    4    0    248    474    52.3    0
Post by: bamboo on April 29, 2015, 02:55:33 PM
You're a good lad.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 29, 2015, 04:51:09 PM
LOL
coke eagles!!

great stuff Aerlik - always enjoy reading those!

you have me hating the west coke feckers too - from the sounds of it their fans must be a bit like some of the rabble that pontificate on about certain soccer teams/bellaghy!  ;)
Post by: AlriteHorse on May 05, 2015, 09:25:20 AM
Early days yet but 2 losses for the swans at this stage isn't great. Didn't deserve to beat Bulldogs....handling and kicking was brutal though that was more to do with unreal pressure from the bulldogs.....their forwards in particular. Think half of their scores came from turnovers. Disappointing to see Goodes starting to struggle a bit. Might be best for him just to step to the side and revert to a back-up role when our top players need rested etc. I seen him a few times struggling for pace off the mark and general effort to make balls. (Effort is probably the wrong choice of word as he was prob busting his balls but his legs just weren't capable.)

Watched Hawks Kangaroos as well which threatened to boil over about 5/6 times with hawks putting in some seriously late tackles etc. Surprised Brett Harvey was able to keep the head...from what I saw on tv.

Anyway, a few teams seem to be punching above their weight / expectations like GWS and Demons with a few teams going the other way......Port Adelaide anyone? Some other things just don't change with Greenwood losing to a depleted Shamrocks team on Sunday also. Sorry Aerlik, couldn't resist.
Post by: Max Payne on May 05, 2015, 04:25:40 PM
Any word on how young Conor Mc Kenna from Tyrone is getting on with Essendon?
Post by: Aerlik on May 06, 2015, 07:08:53 PM
Ignoring the dig in the ribs from behind from Alrite Horse (coughs)

Week Five.

Collingwood 120-45 Carlton
You know that feeling when you have absolutely no loyalty to a club, player or whatever but you watch as someone is being humiliated on national television and you can't help feeling just plain, bloody sorry and embarrassed for them?  Well that was exactly how I felt on Friday night watching one of the worst ever games of AFL footy.  I usually reserve words such as tripe, garbage or just plain shite for the likes of Melbourne and some of the other weaker clubs but we are talking about Carlton and we are, in particular, talking about Mick Malthouse the coach who broke the record of 714 senior coached games, held for many decades by the legendary Jock McHale.  Dear God what were the Carlton players thinking?  Not a single player made any effort and by default made Collingwood look good.  Zac Tuohy was no exception.  However, in his defence, he needs a midfield that actually want the ball.  There you go, rant over. 

Geelong 85-76 Richmond
The woes continue for the Tigers as Top 4 aspirations are swiftly dissipating.   The reports of the game relate to the closeness of the score despite the power of the Cats, who are on their way through something of a transition period.

My tipping was going along swimmingly but then this happened...

Western Bulldogs 77-73 Sydney
I actually thought this was the stats for the tackle count per team.  No one in their right mind would have predicted this score.  The Footscray boys are enjoying the limelight but they know that when the big guns come to town it will be a different matter.  For the neutrals it was an astonishing result.  I only caught the last 3 minutes on the AFL website and it is well worth it to have a look.

Gold Coast 118-54 Brisbane
I didn't see any of this game but by all accounts Brisbane is woeful. The battle of the cellar-dwellers and the three times premier from the last decade is no longer top dog in Queensland.

Hawthorn 130-70  North Melbourne
The main talking points about this was not the final score but the handbags that saw Luke Hodge, the captain, suspended for three weeks.  It was a tough game and the best team graciously accepted defeat.

West Coast 120-33 GWS
Disclaimer: My only reason for attending this game was purely that of my son refereeing at half-time in the mini-games series for the first time.  Other than that I'd have been at home sleeping.  The Giants made the eagles look great.  But with the threat of surgery on an elbow injury a probable as opposed to a possible  outcome for "star" forward Josh Kennedy the woes of the Eagles seem to show no abating.  And hands up all those who are sad?

Fremantle 118-50 Melbourne.
A really good 4-quarter effort from the boys in this game.  Still top of the pile and still I haven't booked my flights to Melbourne for the grand final.  More difficult teams lie ahead starting with Essendon on Saturday night at home.  I'll be there and I'm looking forward to it already.  Of concern are the health and wellbeing of the two star forwards, Pavilch and Walters.  Injuries to one or both could mean the Freo forwards go in to the Bombers clash as outsiders which they like.

Essendon 82-80 St. Kilda
Speaking of the bombers this was definitely not the result Essendon wanted one week prior to facing Freo in Perth.  I only caught glimpses of the score line updates and I read that the Saints were just a tad unlucky.  Maybe the last dregs of the drugs are wearing out.

Port Adelaide 115 - 91
Port showed just why they are premiership favourites in future, come here.  This was a tough, frantic game and full of passion among the players.  Not a classic but still nice to see my second team doing well.  C'mon  Ipswich.
Post by: AlriteHorse on May 08, 2015, 06:12:36 AM
I'm reading "ignoring my dig in the ribs" but I'm hearing "I have no comeback whatsoever!"

Anyway, hopefully the games are better this weekend than last. Swans and Dogs was about as exciting as the games were though was pretty bad to watch partly due to the weather and swans brutal handling.

Will be in round Leederville tonight if ya happen to be around Aerlik. Not a late one as I'm doing this Pieta House walk tomorrow morning.
Post by: Aerlik on May 08, 2015, 11:11:08 AM
Well chap, there is no comeback but I didn't expect the dig on this particular thread ;D  (ya hoor).  Won't be in Leederville but will be at the Comedy Club at the Brizzy tonight.
Post by: Aerlik on May 11, 2015, 04:11:21 AM
 ???
Round Six

Well, well, well!  How do I start this summary of Round Six?  I could go on about Freo being firmly anchored (no pun intended) at the top of the ladder, two games/8 points clear but no, on this occasion I'll modestly say that that has been one of the worst rounds for tipping in years.  Shock after shock after shock.  The bookies are loving it today.

Geelong 100-59 Collingwood
This was expected to be a victory for the stripes over the hoops but the Cats had other ideas.  They tore into Collingwood from the start and never let the pies into the game.  This was as clinical an effort from Geelong as I have watched all year.  I kept thinking that perhaps the Pies would wake up and get right into it in the third quarter but no, not on this occasion.  Whilst they are not going to win the premiership this year, there is still plenty to fear about Geelong.  The loss means Collingwood is one of six teams on 4 wins from 6 but I feel that with games against big teams yet to come that will mean the beginning of the end for Collingwood in the top 8.

North Melbourne 109-74 Richmond
More pain for Richmond fans as North were simply too good all over the ground.  There was a lack of urgency and indeed ideas from any of the Richmond players as North played the game on their terms and won easily enough in the end.  The game was a North home game but they are contracted to the State of Tasmania and the game was played in that state.  I'd hate to have paid to go watch Richmond as they were pretty damned average.

St. Kilda 94-87 Western Bulldogs (Shock no. 1 for the weekend).
A year ago no one would have blinked at that score.  Fast forward to this season and only last week the Dogs were beating Sydney on the SCG, one of the hardest grounds to win on.  They were flying high, sitting second on the ladder and were so favoured to win this game against the Saints that some bookies stopped taking bets on them.  The this happened.
10.4 (64) to 2.3(15) up at half time and with Saints only managing a single point in the second quarter, this looked like it was going to be one of those percentage booster wins every team gets against the crap teams.  Saints woke up, and the resulting turn around was as phenomenal as it was surprising.  Saints kicked 12 goals to 3 in the second half to cap an astonishing come back.  This neutral wasn't disappointed.

Greater Western Sydney 108-98 Hawthorn (Shock no. 2)
You read that correctly.  Only last week I endured one of the most pathetic attempts by any AFL side (even worse than Freo in the dark days of ten years ago) when the Giants made the Eagles look good.  In fact so bad were they that the Eagles' coach stopped short of saying the same thing.  Fast forward a week and suddenly, if you hadn't heard of Jeremy Cameron before Saturday, you certainly know of him now.   The big power forward kicked seven (7) goals against the Hawks and I have never heard of anyone doing the same, certainly during my time in Oz.  The last ten minutes make for great watching and I managed to watch the replay the next day and I was still roaring them on.  One of those "you had to be there" games I think.

Adelaide 119-79 Gold Coast
As expected the power and depth of talent in the Crows' panel was just too much for the Suns who never really bothered the Crows that much.  I only watched the AFL website highlights of the game and there wasn't much to write about.

Sydney 88-50 Melbourne
Fresh from the humiliation of losing at home to the Dogs last week, many were predicting an avalanche of goals for Sydney.  Well, they won but the 38-point margin says more about the improvement of Melbourne than anything.  Alrite Horse still hasn't booked the honeymoon as he thinks there'll be red and white at the MCG on the first Saturday of October.  I'm not ready to argue with him.

Fremantle 80-52 Essendon ;D
Aye, another fine win by the lads.  A big crowd of just under 39,000 saw the best midfield with the best player, run over the bombers for three of the four quarters and then have a rest.  In fact, Freo never scored a goal in the fourth quarter which had a few of us in the crowd, myself included, just a wee bit pissed off because the dark past is not that distant and I remember fade-outs of monumental proportions.  Still, I always say an ugly win is better than a gallant loss.  James Hird, the Essendon Coach, declared Freo the team to beat this year but just as Alrite Horse hasn't booked the honeymoon, I haven't booked the airfares to Melbourne.  There are another 17 weeks to go.  Top of the table with a two-game/8 point lead will do nicely for now. 

Brisbane 84-75 Carlton
Garbage.  Not surprising that these two are bottom of the pile and indeed it was the Lions' first win of the season.  I watched the last quarter yesterday and that is 25 minutes of my life I will never get back.  Nothing to see.  Moving along.

Themmuns down the road 78-68 Port Adelaide.
To paraphrase a Japanese proverb, "The nail that sticks out gets hammered down" is what I am really wanting to say to the WA sports media.  They are up and they are crowing and inevitably they are suggesting that the eagles could finish in the top 4.  Now whilst it was a significant win by the druggies, it was more a case of disastrous decision making at times by Port Adelaide.  I never watched the game and thank Christ for that as the amount bragging and toving going on today would scunner you.  And their easy draw continues next week with more points guaranteed against the Suns.  God I hope I'm wrong.

Post by: AlriteHorse on May 11, 2015, 05:48:24 AM
Had one eye on the Swans game with another on the Freo game. Bit disappointed with the Bombers performance though Freo looked good. Buddys kicking is still slightly erratic with a couple of basic errors. (Jettas 50yarder was the highlight for me along with a couple of cameo runs from Goodes.)

Didn't see Geelong game but shocking to see what happened Mitch Clark at the end. Without going into it too much, he basically had a breakdown at the end of the game that's related to mental illness/depression he's been dealing with. Felt really sorry for him.

Special mention to St Kilda for their unreal comeback and also to the refs who are starting to implement the "release" rule a lot better making games a lot easier to watch. (None of this crap of 7/8 men in a scrum for the ball being allowed to go on and on and on.)
Post by: AlriteHorse on May 18, 2015, 05:33:16 AM
Pretty much seen no games over the weekend due to "other commitments" so can't really comment on anything other than Fyfes "trip" which I saw on the news. Not sure what the rule is on this etc but I think it's an absolute joke that he was put on report for it. Don't think there was any malic in it whatsoever as the Bulldogs player completely wrong footed him as he went to make a tackle.

Anyway, Eagles seem to be having a fairly steady year and have made a lot of progress on last year hammering an Ablett-less Suns. No news on Nick Riewoldt who went off knocked out against the Crows on Saturday. (This was actually the only bit of live action I seen all weekend.) Again there was nothing intentional but jesus it looked sore.....not that Nick knew much about it anyway.

huge game for the Swans next week against the Hawks who'll pretty much be back to full strength.
Post by: AlriteHorse on May 18, 2015, 09:54:34 AM
Just seen fyfes trip again on the news. It looked pretty intentional so i take back my earlier statement. Bit of a brainfart by him.
Post by: Aerlik on May 25, 2015, 12:20:37 PM
Oops, a bit of a delay in keeping up to date with the games summaries, but thanks to Alrite Horse for inspiring me.  Trip.  Hmmph.

Round Seven

North Melbourne 93-82 Essendon
Someone in the Australian media lamented that we had been starved of quality Friday night games (ie. blockbuster, massive TV audience games which have become something of a cultural institution here).  Well, all that changed as this was a superb game to watch, even if I despise Essendon nearly as much as I do, Wet Toast.  The last quarter was particularly enjoyable with some great play, 101% passion and even more commitment.  I thought this might end up a draw but the strength of the Roos kept them in front.  If I was a fan of either team I'd be right pissed off with their wayward efforts though.

Adelaide 119-73 St. Kilda
Not much to write about regarding the football in this game, but the knock-out of Nick Riewoldt would turn your stomach.  He's a big, strong, fast man but he fell like a sack of praties after he got whacked on the left cheekbone just below the eye.  It has led to calls for him to retire, and while it would appear that isn't going to happen, the suggestions are that he may be forced to if he sustains any more such injuries.  Like I said, not much to comment on otherwise.

Hawthorn 155-50 Melbourne
Even less to comment on here.  But the decision of "star" player Jack Watts to step aside this week and let someone else play in his spot has raised questions about his commitment to the club.  Truth be told he is having  a dismal time at Melbourne.  And to think he could've been playing at the Eagles.  Damn.

GWS 135-57 Carlton
More shite from the Blues. Zac Tuohy must be hating this.  Really, really putrid efforts by the blues.  And the noose is being prepared for the coach.  Watch this space.

Sydney 120-77 Geelong
Geelong were right in this game up to three-quarter time and then fell asleep in the last.  I didn't see the game only the website highlights but while I tipped the Swans to win, I didn't think it would be so easy for them.  Next week will be a different matter, though.

Themmuns 135-43 Gold Coast.
Garbage.  How is it a team that gets a massive financial bonus and top picks/trades can do so badly, yet a team in a similar position can go out and beat the reigning premiers?  I switched over the TV ten minutes into the second period, and even some of the Eagles fans I know didn't even last that long.  Fickle bunch they are.

Fremantle 101-88 Western Bulldogs. :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\
The emoticons symbolise my frustration at this game.  I didn't see the first half - mini me was busy ripping through the opposition in his U-14 game kicking 4:4 but Freo were off to their now customary blitzkrieg start and well in front.  Then the reply from the Dogs came and what a last quarter it was.  I was yelling and guldering at the TV and I think the neighbours were too afraid to speak to me for a day or two, but the experience of the auld heads brought Freo through in the end.  Too close though and in some ways indicative of the progress of both teams, especially the Bulldogs.

Richmond 105-100 Collingwood
If anyone has ever been to Melbourne they will, undoubtedly, be aware of the hatred that exists between Collingwood and two teams in particular; Carlton and Richmond.  Having slaughtered the blues earlier in the season, the pies were expecting to do the same and got off to a flyer.  However what transpired was one of the best games of TV footy I've seen in a few seasons.  It had everything and in the end this neutral wouldn't begrudge either team the win.  Great stuff for a wet (yes, it rains sometimes in Perth) afternoon.

Brisbane Lions 112-65 Port Adelaide
Whao.  That is all.  How Port managed to kick 8-17 is incredible.  Credit to the Lions, as this was a much needed "big" scalp this young, inexperienced team just had to have.

So after Round 7, Fremantle are still two clear at the top with six teams sharing second place.  Carlton prop up the table with only the one win and fewer percentage than St. Kilda.  I'm happy, oh yeah.

Post by: Aerlik on May 25, 2015, 12:47:28 PM
Round Eight

Geelong 140-63 Carlton
Last week I commented on how the media were yapping about the lack of quality of Friday night games.  After this, I will not condemn them.  This was shite.  I ended up watching something else on TV.  You can only put up with so much rubbish before taking action.  Were he playing for any other team above them, Zac Tuohy would not be getting a game.  Some rudimentary, playground errors.  Not impressed in any way.

Themmuns 131-78 St. Kilda
I never watched this game as I had something more important to do - work.  Of course the WA media are now starting to bleat about a
WA grand final.  I will eat my scarf first.

GWS 108-84 Adelaide
I didn't see this coming, nor did anyone for that matter.  Another great result for the Sydney lads.  But will it continue.

Collingwood 132-63 Gold Coast.
Again, thankfully I had the excuse of work to avoid watching this garbage. 

Sydney 73-69 Hawthorn
If I could have been at this game AND our game I would have.  It was some  game and some finish.  Kudos to the Swans for gaining some revenge for last year's GF debacle.  The alarm bells aren't ringing just yet at Hawthorn but at 4-4 it isn't quite the position they thought they'd be in.

Fremantle 115-42 North Melbourne
Where do I start?  Finally, four quarters of effort and some sublime footy.  I often rave about the similarity between Gaelic Football and Aussie Rules and there were passages in this game that reminded me of the great '70s Kerry teams of catch, kick, run, repeat and score.  Fyfe played his 100th. game and although he didn't score he was again the best player on the park and indeed he is easily the best player in the comp.  He's 6'3", strong, fast and has wonderful aerial ability.  The Freo midfield is littered with talent.  Maybe, just maybe, I can start to think about a trip to Melbourne.  But it's only a maybe.

Essendon 136-78 Brisbane Lions
As expected, the bombers were too strong in Melbourne against the young Lions.  I didn't see the game but the highlights weren't that special.

Melbourne 103-64 Western Bulldogs.
I thought this was a misprint when I was watching the on-line score updates.  How can a team that just missed out on beating the best team in the comp the week before, get walloped by a team that got walloped the week before?  I'd be right pissed off if I were a fan of either of these two teams. 

Richmond 76-43 Port Adelaide
...as I would be if I were a Port fan (which I am, but my second team).  What a load of crap and their kicking was woeful for the second game in a row. 5-13 to add to their score of 8-17 the week before.  The coach was ropeable after this game and it was a sad conclusion to the wonderful career of Cain Cornes who played his 300th. and final game for his club.  A great player, tough as nails, a premiership winner in that great team of 2004, and committed.  He's off to join the South Australian Fire Brigade - the way the Port are playing he could be busy cooling off the coach's office.

Round eight sees my team Freo, nicely perched undefeated, followed by four teams on 6 wins.  Carlton still props up the table.  This could be the end for their coach Mick Malthouse.

Post by: gallsman on May 25, 2015, 12:59:47 PM
Saw on the Guardian that Carlton have moved up the official club review of Malthouse's position. Apparently he "welcomes it"  :o
Post by: Aerlik on May 26, 2015, 07:07:47 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 25, 2015, 12:59:47 PM
Saw on the Guardian that Carlton have moved up the official club review of Malthouse's position. Apparently he "welcomes it"  :o

Annnnnnd....he's been sacked.
Post by: AlriteHorse on May 29, 2015, 05:59:54 PM
Fri night game, no surprises. Swans beat blues at a canter. Talking point will probably be Goodes celebration. Hard one to call here. Hes the reason I support the swans and he has been getting booed a hell of a lot by opposition fans. Anyway, it was indigenous round though his celebration coulda been directed somewhere else than the Carlton fans.

Either way, many aussies are up in arms about it........racists I hear you say? Never! At the end of the day, its no different to the haka what he done. (My opinion) some people just want to try and make it something it isn't.

Long weekend here so gonna chill with a pint or two and take a well earned break. Aerlik, give me a buzz if you're about.
Post by: Aerlik on June 03, 2015, 01:02:54 PM
Round Nine - Indigenous Round (when we get to celebrate the class and majesty of the indigenous fellas who play this game - and the rednecks up their racist tirades).  For the first time in about 3 years I never got to watch a single game this weekend so I'm basing my views on what I've seen in the highlights and what I've read.

Sydney 122 - 62 Carlton.
Yes, well when you're the worst team in the land playing one of the top there can only be one result.  And the highlight of this game?  Adam Goodes created a bit of a stir and a few questions in the "national" psyche after he scored his goal and then did a traditional aboriginal dance.  I thought it was bloody great but of course the remnants of the colonial era still linger.

Hawthorn 93 - 40 Gold Coast
More misery for the Suns.  This time last year a certain Gary Ablett was terrorising the hawks single-handedly.  This year the Hawks were having shooting practice. 

Port Adelaide 115 - 54 Melbourne
The Demons were in this game early on but I suppose the prospects of failing to make the 8 and the performances of the previous two weeks stirred the Power into action.  Never in doubt in the second half.

Western Bulldogs 113 - 68 Greater Western Sydney
With their current form, many, including me, tipped the Giants in this game.  However the Dogs were great and fully deserved their win.

Richmond 72 - 59 Essendon
This is traditionally the biggest game in Indigenous Round recognising the efforts these two clubs have made to improving the lives of the aboriginal communities throughout the land.  Furthermore it was recognition of Darren Fletcher, only the third man in AFL/VFL history to play 400 first-class games.  What an effort from one of the most modest men in the game.  Sadly his colleagues couldn't mark the occasion with a win.

Fremantle 68 - 57 Adelaide.
Now, let's  not forget that I am biased when it comes to my team.  So I will be unapologetic in saying that Nathan Fyfe is the best player in the land.  He and Adelaide midfield star Patrick Dangerfield turned on a great show for the fans, as neither was tagged and were often marking each other.  For the record there were a few...records that is.  Fyfe broke his PB for contested/uncontested possessions, Freo equalled its greatest winning streak of 9 straight, and Aaron Sandilands, the 6'11" giant ruckman, broke the hit-out record set in the early 80s, with 63.   Will the 9-straight record be broken on Friday night?  Hope so as I'll be there.

St. Kilda 108 - 86 Brisbane
Battle of the cellar-dwellers.  To be honest, I thought the Lions would win this one but it wasn't to be.  There is some good news, though.  Pearce Hanley, Connaught's finest export (cue the retaliations) is close to making a return.  Not about time.

Collingwood 112 - 95 North Melbourne
An unanswered 10-goal barrage by the pies saw them triumph over their fierce rivals.  Again, I thought the losers would win.  This is a really significant win but for the Pies, the bad news is that many of the top 8 teams lie in wait.  As for the losers, they have a chance to get their act together and get back to winning this weekend.  God I hope they do.

Themmuns 120 - 64 Geelong.
Shite effort in the second half by both teams.  The cats were ...   well ... kyaaat (as we say in Co. Derry).  The other lot couldn't kick shite of a briar, but then get their act together in the last quarter.  Of course the WA media is ranting and raving, not about the undefeated winning streak of the  best team in the land this season (Freo, in case you forgot - but fear not, I'll constantly remind you), but all because one overpaid, overhyped member caught the ball.  Notwithstanding it wasn't a bad effort, but you'd think he was doing it day in, day out.  Well no, actually he has only taken 7 marks all season.  Right now that he has done that I hope to blazes they get hammered next weekend.  C'maaaan North Melbourne.

Right, I'm off to the game on Friday night v. Richmond.  I've got a feeling this will be a clinker game.

Post by: Aerlik on June 11, 2015, 11:41:40 AM
Round Ten

Richmond 97-70 Fremantle  >:(
Yes, well, it had to happen.  And thankfully most of the bad happened in the first half, all of which I missed as Mini-me had a volleyball game (quite entertaining, too, I might add - at least they won!)
Not withstanding the early injury to one of the best half-backs in the comp, Michael Johnson, Freo were just not good enough.  True, a better third and fourth quarter was evident, and had they kicked better, they would have won.  But I won't take anything away from the Richmond performance.  A deserved victory.  Right, move on gloaters, nothing more to see.

Adelaide 99-90 Carlton
The talking point of this game was not the fact that Carlton almost got over the line, but the since-disclosed career-ending injury to one of the best midfielders of the modern generation, Chris Judd (even if he did play for the trash down the road).  Judd suffered an ACL rupture in the first quarter and despite the loss of such a quality player the Blues almost got over the line.  I will remember Judd for two things: he was the "clean" (read, drug-free) member of the much-vaunted Eagles premiership team of 2006 (we won't elaborate); and the last time he won the Brownlow he should have been suspended for a dirty elbow in the face to Freo great Pavlich (look, no bias) which split him open.  Judd was a protected player but he was a midfielder who went in and got the ball, not hung off on the edges and had the ball spoon-fed to him as some of his colleagues operated.  Anyways, another great leaves the game.  Just glad my son got to see him play. (oh, and Zac Tuohy kicked a goal.)

Sydney 93-41 Gold Coast
The misery for the Giants continues and Franklin kicked quite a few.  Sydney took a huge step closer to Freo with only 4 points now separating the two.

Geelong 122-53 Essendon
Dear God this was shite.  I mean garbage.  I forced myself to watch three quarters in the false belief that perhaps, just perhaps, there might be a bit of a fight back.  I wasted my time.

Port Adelaide 100-62 Western Bulldogs.
Despite the score, an enjoyable game to watch.  The teams were neck-and-neck up to the fifth minute or so of the last quarter but thereafter, the Power were just too...well (excuse the pun) powerful.  Still, there are positive signs for the Dogs.

Greater Western Sydney 97-67 Brisbane
History was made as the Giants won 7 games in a season for the first time in their short history.  And Pearce Hanley made a comeback.  That's it. 

North Melbourne 85-75 West Coast
Prior to the start of the season, those of us in WA were disgusted by the arrogance of themmuns in having the slogan "The west is ours", implying they were the only team in the west of Australia.  (Oh how Freo's superb start to the season in rankling some, I can tell you.  Hmmph, arrogant pricks).  Well, the westerly wind wasn't theirs as they couldn't get over the blustery Tasmanian conditions and over the Roos.  There was a deathly silence in the WA media this week. 

Hawthorn 132 - 69 St. Kilda
Yeah, well, unfortunately there has to be games like this. 

Collingwood 110-85 Melbourne.
The pies, along with the eagles, have yet to meet the top sides of the comp so my predicted slide down the table will happen...soon...I think.  Still, a handy four points and the stability in the top 8.  But that will soon change.  I didn't see this game as it was on a Monday.

So the table is starting to have a "finals" look about it.  Suffice to say Freo is still on top and the Swans are second. 

Post by: TabClear on June 11, 2015, 10:33:21 PM
Sorry to see Judd s career ends like that. One of the best 3 players I have ever seen play  alongside Hird and Ablett Jr.

Looks like the table starting to sort itself out behind Freo. Despite their jekyll and Hyde performances so far I think we could be heading for Sydney Hawks Part  II in September.

Sorry Aerlik!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 12, 2015, 02:09:46 AM
Quote from: TabClear on June 11, 2015, 10:33:21 PM
Sorry to see Judd s career ends like that. One of the best 3 players I have ever seen play  alongside Hird and Ablett Jr.

Looks like the table starting to sort itself out behind Freo. Despite their jekyll and Hyde performances so far I think we could be heading for Sydney Hawks Part  II in September.

Sorry Aerlik!

If you listen to some of the shite talk here in WA, its a shoo-in for a Freo Eagles final!! Getting a wee bit carried away with themselves.

Good to see Hanley back for the Lions, earlier than expected first run out of the game. The Lions have been decimated with injuries, but they have some good youngsters that should all come into the 50-150 game mark around the same time. They just need to top up with a coupe of key position players.
There is a lot of talk of Charlie Dixon, who is free agent at the GC this year (I think). He has been playing up a wee bit at GC, maybe he is looking to get out. Not sure how I feel about him - he has all the ingredients to be excellent, and a key forward like that often doesnt blossom until later on, but on the other hand the last time the Lions gambled like that it was on Fevola, and that set them back years in draft/youngsters, all at the time when GC and then GWS were startups so no favourable draft picks available....
Post by: AlriteHorse on June 12, 2015, 02:27:27 AM
No mention of Crowley there Aerlik?? The mans an absolute gent, have met him a few times knocking round a few "drinking establishments". Last time we seen him was after the craic with Stevie J last year. He can take his slagging anyway.

Another 4 point for Swans despite not up to anywhere near their best. Usual craic with Goodes getting booed. Still think Buddy and Tippett should be contributing more goals but happy enough for their hot streak to wait till Aug / Sept.

Bit of a disappointing end for Judd. Never seen him at his best and he was def half the player he used to be though Carlton will badly miss his on-field presence alone. They must be favourites for the wooden spoon now surely!

This weekends games;
Port v Geelong. Port badly need a win and think they might actually sneak one here.
Suns v Freo. Good luck Suns....an angry Freo are coming your way.
Eagles v Bombers. Bombers to crumble. Poor game expected.
Kangaroos v Swans. Swans win though they'll have to work for it. Goodes to get booed the full game.
Collingwood v GWS. Tough win for GWS. (I hate Collingwood)
St Kilda v Demons. Hopefully a demons win. Hard one to call with both tema sbeing hit and miss so far. (Mostly miss).

Post by: Aerlik on June 15, 2015, 11:09:44 AM
Instead of starting off with a summary of the games this week, I'll touch on the topic alluded to by AlriteHorse; that of the suspension of Ryan Crowley of the Freo Dockers.

For those of you who don't know the story, Crowley was suspended this week for taking a prescribed medication which contained methadone.  I'm no pharmacologist but my understanding of this product is that it is a very strong pain killer and is used (or so I've been told) in Naltraxone, a heroine substitute given to heroin addicts to kill their pain after a high.  Crowley was given the medication by a medical professional, but not his club doctor - therein lies the quandary.  He told the hearing what he had taken, why he had taken it, and, most importantly, who had given it to him.  Not good enough for the tribunal and his suspension was upheld effective immediately and backdated to the day he was tested in September 2014.
Now, I am not one to condone drug usage in the sport, especially illegal, proscribed drugs such as cocaine and I have been vociferous in my condemnation of Michael Johnson from Fremantle after what his did a few years ago.  Thankfully Johnno has redeemed himself in bucketloads.  HOWEVER, I am sick to the teeth by the hypocrisy of the AFL shown towards two clubs in particular; the first is West Coast Eagles and their well-publicised Ice Age cast of Cousins, Kerr, Chick, Gardiner and Fletcher.  That club's hierarchy knew fine well what was going on and continued to lie to everyone about it.  I suppose they thought that by a process of iteration the lies would become the truth.  They seem to forget the old adage that you cannot fool all of the people all of the time.  The second is Essendon and the current drug scandal that is linked to that club.  Essendon is a very, very powerful player in the AFL and especially in Melbourne.  It is one of the best supported clubs in the whole of Australia and has a huge influence in off-field matters.  So how is it then that a disgraced quack can come along and liberally inject unknown substances into the bodies of young men who had the gall to front up to the investigation denying they knew what it was they were being given.  Bollix.  I'm glad the WADA has got on board and has launched its own investigations.  The AFL might be in for a shock when it realises that it is a big player in what really is a tiny ball park.

Right, rant over.  On with the games.

Geelong 92-69 Port Adelaide
Only in the last few minutes of the fourth quarter did the Cats pull away.  It was great Friday night entertainment for the neutral.  A real ding-dong affair as the teams traded goals all through the game.  Now if the name Chad Wingard is not in your list of favourite sportsmen, then you're clearly not an AFL fan.  He is up there with Fyfe, Ablett Jr and Hannebery as my favourite players.  Two weeks ago the gulpins in WA media were festooning all types of superlatives on a 6'9" player who just happened to hold on to the ball after he went for a catch. (He plays for the eagles and has done fekk all of note for them since he joined them.)  Fast forward to Friday night.  A long ball is pumped into the top corner and Wingard runs towards a pack of players.  He keeps his eye on the ball, launches himself and pulls in a one-handed specky that was sublime, courageous and just simply brilliant.  Now the hard bit... he's a left pegger and he's on the left wing, so he has two options - pass or go for goal.  The trusty left boot kicks a "banana" and the ball sails through.  Mark of the year again (I hope - unless Fyfe finally gets some recognition for his weekly one man shows).  But that brilliance was not enough to inspire his team mates and what was seen as the year the Power would be knocking on a Premiership is fast turning out to be a bit of a disaster.  As for the cats, they just keep plugging away under the radar and just sit outside the top 8.

Fremantle 53-46 Gold Coast
Sweet Jaysus, I will have a heart attack watching my club one day.  Talk about fortune.  It's not that Gold Coast were that good, Freo's kicking was dismal.  Six goals 17 behinds.  Faaaaak.   There'd have been 22 behinds getting a kicking by Ross Lyon after this.  Once again Nat Fyfe stole the show with a complete performance but it is time he started to get some protection from the umpires as he is getting all kinds of sly digs.  Kudos to the Suns and especially their first year player, Saad, who had a mighty game.  They have been greatly undermanned due to injuries all season but this was a good effort.  Both teams will be looking forward to the break next week.  And I will, too.  No more heart failure risks for me.

Worst Coast 96-46 Essendon
The drug cheat derby.  Well, guess what, I didn't watch it.  But as expected the bombers were shite.

Sydney 91-75 North Melbourne
I listened to the second and third quarters on the wireless in the car.  It sounded like the Swans just did enough to keep their beaks in front and keep in touch with Freo at the top of the ladder.

Collingwood 119-77 Greater Western Sydney
Many tipped the giants in this game but I thought the guile and experience of the pies would just get them over the line.  Well, they were just too strong when the giants began losing players to injury.  The win keeps the pies in touch with the top of the table and the giants are starting to find that playing the top teams is not easy.

St. Kilda 85-83 Melbourne
I listened to the last quarter on the car wireless and it was such an exciting ending.  It took a goal in the last 20 seconds to win the game for the Saints.  Up to that the game was what you'd expect from two bottom ranked teams.  Average.

So, this was the first of the bye rounds with six other teams getting a rest.  For some the bye hasn't come quick enough.
Post by: Aerlik on June 25, 2015, 09:45:42 AM
Round 12, Bye Round, Only six games played.

Hawthorn 114 - 85 Adelaide
What a clinker of a game.  I really enjoyed watching this game and if ever there was a game which demonstrated that Aussie Rules coaches have been watching Gaelic Football, this is it.  The only disappointing thing was the fact that the crows ran out of steam and ideas in the final quarter cos up to that point they were right in it.  Great game.  Simple as that. 

WC (Toilet) 90-70 Richmond
Much has been said (admittedly in the Melbourne-centric media) about the phoenix that is Richmond, on the rise again.  Well, someone forgot to remind them that they have to win games, especially home games, and ESPECIALLY AGAINST THAT LOT.  Jaysus I was not a happy chappy.  And of course the Eagles-centric media in WA, the oh-that's-right-there-is-another-team-in-WA brigade are lauding this win as the win that could see a top 4 finish.  Well, they haven't beaten a Top 5 team this year. Pfffft.  Honestly.

North Melbourne 117-61 Greater Western Sydney
The injuries to three of their major players last week proved too much for the plucky Giants.  Goldstein of the Roos broke the AFL/VFL record for tap-outs in the ruck, taking it off Sandilands of Freo who has already broken it twice this season.  Nothing else to report.

Western Bulldogs 146-74 Brisbane
Oh dear, not the best return to the paddock for Pearse Hanley.  The resurgent Dogs were just too good all over the park.

Melbourne 113-89 Geelong
You've read that correctly. 
Last Sunday was one of those wet, mizzling auld fekkin awful days when it was belting down with rain and windy.  A summer day in Co. Derry in other words.  Had it been hailing, sure Alrite Horse would say it was a summer day in the Sperrins.  I had nothing to do and I didn't particularly want to anticipate the massacre that the Cats would hand to the demons.  I mean it was only recently that the demons lost by 186 points (31 goals) to the Cats.  However the masochist in me thought, what the hell, sure didn't I tip the Cats and I needed to make up for the bollixes down the road beating the tigers in my tipping comp.
So I switched on the TV and thought I was seeing the tackles count or the missed shots on goal count.  But oh no, I was watching a Melbourne Demons team that was not only winning but actually dictating the game.  Not a game for the purists; I mean Adelaide and Hawthorn gave us a spectacle on Thursday night. No, there were errors and some terrible decision-making.  But there was one thing that is so vital in sport, especially team sport - belief.  And the demons players played with road-train loads of the stuff.  The last quarter even had me cheering on the Demons, as I'm sure every one from Steep Point to Byron Bay was too, all that is, except Carlton fans as they hate Melbourne (nearly as much as they hate Collingwood).
A great win for the demons and so far this season they have equalled their 2014 whole-season total of wins.  Great stuff chaps.

Right, I'm about to head over to Subiaco and watch the Freo-Collingwood game now.  Here's hoping I'll be getting up for work at 4am tomorrow thinking it was worth the lack of sleep.  Freo Abu.
Post by: gaah_man on June 25, 2015, 10:36:03 AM
Having been a long time board lurker I have to laugh at your relentless hatred of the Eagles Aerlik. As a WC fan its always amusing to come on and read your totally purple biased reviews even when the drug ridden, junkie Eagles have a great win.

I enjoy watching the noisy neighbours play and in Fyfe they have a superstar, its just a pity he'll never see a flag while wearing the purple guernsey! ;D
Post by: AlriteHorse on June 25, 2015, 12:16:46 PM
Whatever do you mean Gaah_man? Aerlik has nothing but respect for the Eagles. (Emphasising 'E' there, haha.)

Good to see both WA teams doing well despite the fact I'm a Swans man. The only bit about the whole thing that kinda annoys me is the media coverage. Seems like a good game against the Pies........maybe they are potential flag winners after all. They've got a lot of question marks over them with all their wins coming against so called "lower" teams.
Post by: Aerlik on June 25, 2015, 04:11:26 PM
Off to bed now, and I've managed to bring the blood pressure and heart rate back to normal. 

Alrite Horse, Freo have beat all but one of the teams "below" them all season.  Aye, I believe the commentary was shocking again.  I listen to that p***k Basil Zempalis on 6PR on the way to work sometimes and he would scunner ye!  Biased?  How can he be when he only sees one team.

(Re. Gaah man's comments...hmmm, how to respond?...cue images of tumbleweeds blowing down a windswept New Mexico street in a spaghetti western.  One-eyed Freo fan?  Me?  Folk yeah.)
Post by: AlriteHorse on June 27, 2015, 11:55:37 AM
Just to clarify, I meant that Collingwood have only been playing the so called lower teams. (Teams in bottom 8)

Freo game on thurs was the best ive seen in a while. Thankfully didnt see swans as I was sitting on a plane back from good ol' Karratha.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 02, 2015, 11:34:19 AM
Rare chance to see my team live this weekend as the Lions come out west to play the all conquering Fremantle. Was really looking forward to seeing Pearce Hanley making his 100th appearance, alas he has failed to recover from a hamstring strain. Add to the fact  we  are likely to get beat by 100 plus. Oh well, hope it doesn't rain.

Big news today, with photos of a Gold Coast player surfacing of him (allegedly) taking speed, but I haven't got time to go into it.
Post by: Aerlik on July 02, 2015, 01:17:53 PM
Round Thirteen.

Fremantle 80-73 Collingwood
It's always satisfying to beat Collingwood; all the moreso when the very biased Vic-centric media suggest that Freo are about to slide down the table.  Well what a game.  No, it wasn't a "great" game full of pure footy; no, it wasn't Freo's best effort in front of 37.000+ fans; no, it didn't do my blood pressure any good.  But yes, it was gutsy, hard, uncompromising and close.  In fact, too close.  Both teams were guilty of woeful set-shot kicking, but in Michael Walters, we have a real excitement machine.  Another four goals to add to his season's tally.  The conditions were slippy and cold and not suited to flowing footy.  These are the games I love to be at (providing we win, of course).  You roar and gulder for your team and you groan at the shocking umpiring (yet again).  And you take a step back and think to yourself: that fella is going to be one to watch in the future.  On this occasion I am not referring to the best player in the comp, Freo's Nathan Fyfe; I'm referring to the new Collingwood ruckman Witts.    An ugly win is always prettier than a gallant loss.

Richmond 95-77 Sydney
If ever there is justice in sport, this game was the epitome of that.  No-one gave Richmond a chance against the much more experienced Swans team, and were trailing by 32 points at half-time.  Now, if that was 32 points against Melbourne or, say, St. Kilda, you might think the Tigers would have a chance.  But no, this was Sydney in Sydney, the Sydney with Franklin, Tippett, Hannebury, Richards, Goodes etc. No chance.  Not a hope in hell. Nada. 
The third quarter turned out to be a complete role reversal with the Tigers kicking 7.5 to 2.1!  Unheard of.  If you get a chance watch Trent Cotchin's miraculous effort off the ground.  Great stuff. 
Now for the nitty-gritty stuff.  Franklin is a good player.  He's a big man, at 6'5" and has  a great left peg.  And he is, to paraphrase a Melbourne sports columnist, a protected species.  The way he dropped his shoulder, looked at the man and not the ball and then barged into the man's head with his left shouder was worthy of more than the one paltry week he got.  It is patently obvious that he is a protected species because he has a pretty poor record at the Match Review Panel for his indiscipline/dirty play.  It is increasingly more obvious that the AFL are really battling to keep the game alive and strong in Sydney against the "threat" of Rugby League and soccer.  To do that they have to keep the big name players in the city.  And that means favouritism!  In the same game, Tippett clipped a player in a stock standard hit that earned him a week's rest.  Now while that rest might help Port Adelaide's cause tonight (which I doubt it will), it is not all bad.  Both of them will be eligible to play against themuns over here in a few weeks.  (Where's my Derry shirt?)

Hawthorn 114-76 Essendon
The hawks added more misery to the Bombers' dismal season with a fairly pedestrian win.  I didn't see the game but heard a bit about it.  Oh, and then there was the wee jibe about the jab, Sam Mitchell's goading of the Bombers players, which didn't go down well.  We'll see what WADA has to say!  He might be right.

Adelaide 82-69 Brisbane.
Anyone with even an iota of a conscience couldn't but feel sympathy for the lions in this game.  24 points up at three-quarter time there was every reason to think a great win was on the cards.  Oh dear...there followed a classic pre-Ross Lyon coached Fremantle-esque collapse, not helped by a hamstring injury to Pearse Hanley.  Goalless in the final quarter and still anchored in the bottom two.

Western Bulldogs 62-56 St. Kilda.
How did the Saints lose?  7.14 to 9.8 may mean only 4 scoring shots' difference, but had only two of those points been goals, well, it would've been a decent win. 

Carlton 109-69 Gold Coast
Not the best week in the history of the Gold Coast.  I didn't expect Carlton would be too bothered by them and even Zac Tuohy kicked a belter - he has done little else of note this season, it must be said.  But the managerial issues at Carlton are taking a backseat to the latest drug allegations to affect the Suns.  Former player, Karmichael Hunt, the first player to convert from Rugby League to AFL at the top level (and now playing Union) started the ball rolling and now the latest allegations against Harley Bennell has sent a few shock waves through the game.  Watch this space.

And so there you have it. 

Fremantle are still at the top of the pile - oh, I don't get tired saying that - some other club which has got the easiest run in the league (or nearly so - I forgot that Collingwood always gets the easiest fixtures) is second and then come the others.  Off to the Brisbane game with mini-me on Sunday.  Deeler, if you are in the Irish club before the game, you'll recognise me with mini-me.  Dockers tops etc. so come over for a yarn and you can buy me the pint we'll bet on to see who wins.   ;)
Post by: Aerlik on July 03, 2015, 02:49:52 PM
 :-\

Very tragic news today.

Phil Walsh, the senior coach of Adelaide Crows, was stabbed to death early today (approx. 2am Adelaide Time).  His 26 y.o. son has been arrested and charged with his murder.

Very, very sad.  Not much more to say.
Post by: Aerlik on July 07, 2015, 07:25:40 AM
Round Fourteen

As I mentioned in my last post, the very tragic news of the murder of Phil Walsh, the Adelaide Crows senior coach, has really rocked the Australian sports scene and especially the AFL to its core.  A tragedy at the best of times but more poignant considering the respect that was afforded to Walsh throughout his career as a player and junior/assistant coach.  He was in the process of transforming the crows from a mid-table team to a real challenger for the top honours.  It remains to be seen if his plans will come to fruition in the seasons ahead.  The scenes before and after every game since the news broke best exemplified his passing.  RIP

Sydney 94-84 Port Adelaide
I was really hoping my second team could do us a favour and grab a win here, not only to keep their finals chances alive but to put a bit of breathing space between Freo and Sydney.  It was not to be.  This was a really exciting game to watch and even without the "Twin Towers" of Franklin and Tippett, Sydney had a fella who has been around for a long time and seen it all; Adam Goodes.  The maestro continues to perform at the top level, brushing aside all the accusations of the red-neck racists that he is bad for the game.  No he isn't.  He is a pleasure to watch and for aspiring players to learn from.  The game was right in the balance up until the last 4 minutes and then the experience and cool heads of the Swans came to the fore, pinching the win at the death.

Hawthorn 101-91 Collingwood.
15.11 to 12.19 says it all.  Yep and at least three of those 19 points may well come back to bit Collingwood on the arse if they fail to make not just the top 4 but the finals.  The set-shot kicking of Cloke and Fesolo was atrocious.  These men are paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to kick a ball straight.  Surely it can't be that hard?  Seemingly it is.  Another cracking game for the neutral (ahem, I was secretly hoping for a Pies win for the same reason I wanted Port to win), and a great Friday night crowd at the MCG and around the continent.  The game had some great skill, some wonderful scores and, (ditto above) some terrible efforts too.  Still the Hawks progress, and I'm dreading what will happen next weekend.(gulp :-[)

Richmond 78-69 Greater Western Sydney
If you want to see a coach go off at players during a break, watch the end of the third quarter of this game as Tigers' coach Damian Hardwick launches a tirade against some of his big name players.  And he was right to do so.  This was a game they should have lost.  They were dismal in the first three quarters but in Alex Rance they have one of the best full-backs in the game and he saved their arses several times in this game.  Not a game for the purist but the highlights I saw plus the commentary leads me to believe that the Jekyll and Hyde team of the competition can be skating on very thin ice at times.  Anyways, the tigers remain just outside the top 4 and are well set for a final assault on the last few games.

Gold Coast 125-70 North Melbourne
The guillotine is being prepared.  Man, if I was a Roos fan I'd be the one wishing to do the act.  How the hell this team continues to stuff up is simply beyond me.  Notwithstanding the return of Gary Ablett Jr to the Suns team, the effort from North was abysmal.  I only watched the highlights and the only thing of note for the whole game was the "screamer" mark taken by Lyndsay Thomas.  Worth a watch.  Nothing else in this game is.

Western Bulldogs 64-53 Carlton
A real ding-dong affair, this one.  Just when the dogs looked like they were going to annihilate the Blues, they came back and for a time we were left thinking that perhaps they might win.  But in the end they ran out of steam and ideas.  I didn't see any of the game but read that Zac gave a best on ground performance.  Maybe he has been reading my comments.

Themmuns 114-60 Melbourne
Yawn.   Garbage.  Putrid to watch and if that is what Darwin-based footy fans have to look forward to every year then they have every right to demand their State Govt. cancel the contract with the AFL cos that was a shite demons effort.  As for the other mob, well they better enjoy the easy  games they've had cos the big boys await. 

St. Kilda 162-52 Essendon
Nuff said.  More garbage from the pretenders to the crown of "drug cheats" (no guessing who wears that shameful title).  I thought the bombers would be way too much for the saints but the opposite was clearly the case.  Nick Riewoldt continues to defy the odds and is a superb leader for the saints.  WADA loada rubbish. 

Adelaide 0-0 Geelong
As a mark of respect for all involved in the tragic death of Phil Walsh, this game was cancelled and the teams shared two points. 

Fremantle 84-48 Brisbane
It was like being in Ireland on a summer's day last Sunday in Perth; it was pishing down non-stop from midday and that led to one of the worst games of footy I have seen Freo play in years.  Brisbane came with a very clear game-plan to nullify the Freo midfield and at half time the teams were level on 5.2 each.  It was so frustrating watching this game unfold as it was obvious what Brisbane were playing a counter-attack game in the hope that they could sneak scores against the run of play and for the most part that is exactly what happened.  And yet again the inconsistency of the umpiring (against BOTH teams) continues to baffle us.  How some of the decisions were made defies me.
In the end the midfield and halfback strength of Freo took its toll on the Lions centre players and some cleverly worked goals gave the Dockers a deserved win.  But Lord, it was not pleasant.  And I sat in the fekkin wet with a soaked arse, too.  We're not allowed to use umbrellas inside the ground which is fair enough, I suppose.  The plastic poncho thing I had on is all well and good if you're standing all the time.  When you sit down and it slides up your back allowing the rain to drip down your butt crack, well, that is not conducive to an enjoyable footy experience. 
Freo need to up the game significantly next week as they have the Hawks to contend with in Launceston.  I am simply hoping for a miracle.  Even the exclusion of star Hawk Jarred Roughead will still not significantly lessen the potency of the Hawks.  He had a melanoma cut out from his lip and is awaiting test results for other scans.  Hope he recovers fully.

At the end of the round, Freo are still top of the pile by two clear games.  Themmuns, Sydney and Hawthorn make up the second to fourth teams.  Brisbane prop up the table.
Post by: Club Rossa on July 13, 2015, 09:53:19 AM
Statement of intent from Hawthorn at the weekend with a massive win over Fremantle.They seem to be finding form at the right time.Huge game coming up with the Swans though and they will do well to come out on top.
Post by: TabClear on July 13, 2015, 08:21:48 PM
Serious statement by the hawks at the weekend.  Their 30+ stars of Mitchell, hodge and Lewis were brilliant.  Fyfe couldn't get into the game at all and Gibson and Lake mopped up everything at the back.

Another "accidental" knee from Mitchell as well? ?

Even if you close down a couple of hawks forwards they can get goals from all over the park. Bring roughead back into that team and it looks ominous for the other teams.
Post by: TabClear on July 18, 2015, 11:41:51 PM
Another big win by the Hawks in Sydney tonight.  Good to see roughead back after his cancer scare.

Bar a 2 minute spell where Buddy scored 3 in a row the Hawks were all over them. Sydney had plenty of the ball but nothing up front.  Hawks in contrast scored every time they went forward. Rioli is a freak in terms of marking fir a small man.

Geelong just outside the 8 now as well with the magpies poor run continuing.  I think Collingwood will miss out this year on finals.  They look to have ran out of steam against the big clubs.

Post by: Aerlik on July 20, 2015, 09:20:21 AM
Round 15
Apoloties for the delay as I was feeling pretty average last week - in no way related to what happened in Tasmania, I might add.

Port Adelaide 66-63 Collingwood
Whilst I tipped the pies to win, I am delighted to see Port win this game.  It was a real battle throughout and was great viewing, even if it was relatively low scoring.  Collingwood is starting to lose a bit of its early season potency and my prediction of them not making the finals is looming more likely.  For Port, they have to win most if not all of their games to guarantee finals action.

Richmond 71-41 Carlton.
I didn't see any of this game but the result went according to plan.  The Carlton woes continue with a season-ending injury to Bryce Gibbs.  The Tigers are just humming along and are sitting just outside the top 4.  Expectations are starting to rise that perhaps a Top 4 placing awaits.  Time will tell.

Essendon 69-60 Melbourne
Yet another defeat for the Demons when they should, quite frankly, have blown the Bombers out of the ground (no pun intended).  10.9 to 7.18 says it all.  That's the third or fourth game the Demons have lost in such circumstances this year.  Must be frustrating to be a fan.

Western Bulldogs 95-73 Gold Coast Suns
A sensational 10-goal final quarter hauled the dogs past the Suns in an amazing game.  Since his return to the Suns team, Ablett has really been felt and would appear to have lifted the team immensely.  But even his genious could not help the Suns to another win. I was watching this game on the AFL site score-tracker and I couldn't help but admire the tenacity of the Dogs.  Down 9.5 to 4.9 at three quarter time it all looked over but then the final quarter started!!!

North Melbourne 120-79 Geelong
It's not often a team beats the Cats by 41 points.  It's even rarer for the Kangaroos to score so highly.  I didn't see any of the game but the win keeps the roos in finals contention and the Cats are just outside the top 8.

Themmuns (W'eagles) 147-91 Adelaide
An extremely poignant night in Perth saw the Crows play their first game since the murder of Phil Walsh, their head coach.  I only watched a bit of the third quarter and the game was all over by then.  The scenes at the end as the Crows walked off the ground were quite appropriate.  Would that all the Eagles fans had such decorum.

Greater Western Sydney 84-49 St. Kilda
Nothing special to report.  The highlights reel was pretty average too.

Hawthorn 115-43 Fremantle.
Mother of Mercy!  Thank jaysus I had a good reason not to watch this shite...work!  I haven't even bothered to watch the highlights on the AFL site.  This result was due to happen, and Freo's form slump in recent weeks came to a head.  Notwithstanding the illegal antics of Sam Mitchell who deliberately kneed Nat Fyfe in the thigh, thus rendering the superstar practically immobile for the rest of the game, this was a clear indication that Hawthorn are only just hitting peak form.  It does not augur well for the rest of us.

Brisbane 49-70 Sydney.
Yep, well the status quo continues.  Average at best.

So at the end of the round, Fremantle is now only one game ahead of the chasing pack of themmuns, Sydney and Hawthorn.  The next three weeks will sort out the top 4 I feel.

Post by: Aerlik on July 20, 2015, 10:23:07 AM
Round 16

North Melbourne 93-68 Essendon
Don't you just love to see a team which has clearly cheated and been caught out, getting beat.  Not too many outside of Melbourne would be mourning this result.  It was average viewing for Friday night footy.

Geelong 72-64 Western Bulldogs
There was never any more than 12 points separating these two at the end of the first, second or third quarters.  The Dogs were looking for their first win in Geelong for several years and the Cats were trying to avoid losing four games at home in a season for the first time in over a decade.  I watched the highlights  but can't seem to remember anything of note.

Greater Western Sydney 94-79 Gold Coast
Only 15 points separated them in the end but the 29-19 scoring shots in favour of the Giants portrays a better image - they should have won by much more.  The Giants might just do enough to get into the finals but that might be as far as it goes for them this year.

Themmuns 87-56 Collingwood
Probably the only time in the year when the Collingwood fan base would have been bolstered by an additional 50,000+ (Freo fans, that is).  I, for one, was shouting for the pies but that was a fruitless effort.  Oh dear, oh dear oh dear oh dear...the slippery slope continues.  For themmuns, the injury to young key defender Jeremy McGovern is a massive blow and whilst I detest anything to do with that club, I won't gloat in the injury to another team's player - even one of themmuns. Themmuns now has the task of playing Sydney and Hawthorn in the next three weeks and that could be the difference to a top 2 position or out of the Top 4.  Suddenly the Sydney and Hawthorn fan bases are bolstered by 50,000+ again. Themmuns made it to the top of the league for the first time in several years after this game...albeit for three hours.

Hawthorn 146-57 Sydney
Eeeeek.  Need I say more. 

Fremantle 95-53 Carlton
Normality restored.  Not a great game but still a good, solid win which saw Chris Mayne kick 4 (he could've had 7) and big Jon Griffin return to senior football for the first time in over a year.  And what an effort by the big man.  An injury to star forward Haydn Ballantyne where he tore a pec could see him out for the rest of the season but his loss won't be that huge based on his recent form which has been fair to middlin' to be honest.  Fyfe was heavily tagged (man-marked) in this game reducing his potency and he was still carrying an injury from the week before when Mitchell of the Hawks deliberately kneed him.  Why Mitchell wasn't suspended is just one more example of the shocking inconsistency of the Match Review Panel. 
However, cast your minds back a few rounds when I was extolling the virtues of the Freo small forward, Michael Walters.  Now, go to the AFL website and watch the video of the stunning mark he took in the final quarter of this game.  Definitely mark of the year without any doubt.    A massive game against Richmond at the MCG awaits the lads next week and could go a long way in deciding if Freo finish top 2 or not.

Melbourne 60-36 Brisbane
When you get beat this much by Melbourne you really wish your season was over.

Adelaide 116 - 113 Port Adelaide
Do yourself a favour, if you can, and watch this match.  Even 24 hours after the end of it, the adrenaline is still going.  This was the first time the two teams played each other since the murder of Phil Walsh who was so important to both clubs.  As well as being the Head Coach of Adelaide, he was in the backroom staff of the 2004 Port Adelaide Premiership-winning team.  Fittingly both teams entered the packed Adelaide Oval (record crowd of over 52,000) together but that is where the friendship ended.  Adelaide led throughout even up by 30 points at three quarter time.  Then the comeback began with Port just falling short having kicked 4.5 to 0.2 in the final quarter.  As the auld saying goes, goals win games.
After the game there were moving scenes as the daughter of Phil Walsh presented the MOTM medal, and the crowd (it was a Port home game and practically everyone stayed) applauded for a minute.  Great stuff.  Would loved to have been there.

Richmond 89-73 St. Kilda
In yet another significant game, family and humanity came before footy in a sad memorial to the sister of Nick Riewoldt, Captain of the Saints, and cousin of Jack, the Tigers full-forward.
A 52-point three quarter time lead for the Tigers was almost overhauled in the end by the Saints who came storming back to kick 6.2 to 0.3 in the final quarter only to lose by 16 points.  There is concern in the Tigers camp about the fade-outs that have been happening.  Let's hope such fade-outs continue next week, starting in the second minute of the first quarter. ;)

And so for the - jaysus I forget how many weeks it has been - severaleth week, Fremantle are sitting aloft the ladder.  Themmuns are second followed by the Hawks and Swans.  Now the pointy end of the season beckons.
Post by: Aerlik on July 27, 2015, 04:18:38 AM
Round 17

Hawthorn 173-35 Carlton
Yes, you read that correctly.  The biggest loss in Carlton's history.  And finally the AFL has conceded it got it very wrong by setting up the fixtures so that Carlton would have the most Friday night games this season, (traditionally the slot with the largest TV viewership).  Well I, for one, didn't watch it.  Mini-me's school volleyball match and birthday bbq were more pressing concerns.  And we had further cause to celebrate as he has been selected for the Perth Demons U-14 Development squad (equivalent to playing County level in the GAA).  This auld boy is a tad happy about that.

Geelong 69-42 Greater Western Sydney
You cannot let a man like Tom Hawkins kick five goals and expect to win.  The GWS inconsistency continues and many, like me, tipped them to win this game but there is more than one life in this season's cats.  Both teams sit outside the Top 8 on the slenderest of percentages.  It's going to be scrappy from here on in for both.

Adelaide 125-80 Gold Coast Suns
And there we were, all looking forward to watching the rest of the season with Ablett back in the team, then, BANG!  A season-ending knee injury to the superstar.  The AFL is a tough business and even the best are not immune to the rigours of Aussie Rules.  Sad to see this and just hope he is right for next season.  I want my son to watch Ablett play in the flesh as he is fantastic to watch.  I only watched the highlights of the game and other than Ablett's injury there was nothing of real note.

Fremantle 82-78 Richmond
Where do I start?  Six weeks ago the Tigers skelped our arses in Perth and that defeat began a bit of a drop in form for Freo, whilst sparking a bit of a resurgence in Tiger forturnes.  The game on Saturday was seen by many as the making or breaking of both teams' top 4 ambitions for the season, and Freo's top 2.  Well, guess who didn't watch the game, at all?!  No, I had to work night shift and so dozed off around 2pm, then woke at 6 expecting the Doomsday Cult to have overtaken my phone with SMS's from gleeful Themmuns fans (yes, I have a few WCE-supporting friends).  The silence was deafening.  I knew something was wrong, or right as it were.
Freo only led on two occasions through the whole game, the second minute of the first quarter (I predicted a Tigers demise from that point onwards, last week) and the twelfth minute of the second quarter.  In between the Tigers were dominant but couldn't score goals, instead kicking points and hitting posts. 12.10 to 10.18 says it all.  Then with three minutes left, the brilliant Pavlich took a mark out on the wing and centred the ball to young Tom Sheridan who was only about 30m out, almost directly in front of goal.  It would win the game, surely.  Oh no, he missed and suddenly Tigers had a get out of jail card in the shape of a 2-point lead with only little over a minute to play.  Houli took the kick in but sent it straight up the middle to a waiting Ibbotson of Freo who spotted David Mundy practically in front of the goals.  Suddenly there was hope for Freo and the mercurial Mundy didn't disappoint slotting a 50m set shot to send Freo into the lead with 30 seconds left, a lead they hung on to.  Deadly stuff.  Probably a good decision I didn't watch.  Just goes to show that goals win games and it isn't over till it's, well, over I suppose.   ;)

Port Adelaide 129-116 Essendon
A very high-scoring game with lots of exciting play throughout and Chad Wingard almost pulled off the mark of the year with an incredible effort only to lose his balance at the last second.  He is such a brilliant player to watch.  Patrick Ryder, the former Essendon ruckman, got booed incessantly by the bombers fans but he answered them by kicking goals at crucial times.  The season just keeps getting worse for the drug cheats.  Just rewards.

North Melbourne 110-38 Brisbane
Nothing of note other than Brett Harvey playing his 400th. AFL  game.  Some feat.

Western Bulldogs 104-86 Collingwood
A significant win for the Dogs and a significant loss for the Pies.  The former cements its place in the top 8, the latter drops down the ladder and the reality of no finals footy is starting to dawn on the club.  As I predicted.  I only watched the highlights.

Saint Kilda 83-46 Melbourne.
Yeah well, this was average at best.  I haven't even bothered to watch the highlights.

WCE 103-51 Sydney Swans.
"Australia is not a racist country, but it is full of racists", is something I was told prior to arriving on these shores over fifteen years ago.  Yesterday I saw that blatant, disgusting racism for myself.  Now, before Alrite Horse has a cheap dig at me for going to a Themmuns game, I must point out that I was only there because the lady had two free tickets and I wanted to go and see if Themmuns were as good as the WA media makes them out to be.  What I did see was a considerably weakened Swans team minus four first team players through injury and suspension dominated by a good midfield.
However, my abiding memory of the "experience" will be the shocking, incessant booing of one of the greats of the modern game, and a player who has won it all and even received the highest accolade - Australian Of The Year - Adam Goodes.  Any time he was near the play or got the ball, the racism that still tarnishes this land came to the fore.  I have no desire to support Sydney but when he scored their first goal, Goodes was met by a wave of booing.  And to have the media describe it as "a few" is bollix.  There were thousands booing, including parents of young children seated near me.  So I stood up and cheered for him.  The glares I got, said it all.  Thereafter, any time he was involved in play he was jeered, to the point that when Lewis Jetta scored a goal in the fourth quarter he turned to the Eagles fans and performed an aboriginal war dance.  That, too, was booed and jeered at.
What a sad memory for myself and others in the crowd who wanted to see a champion man and player on the field for probably the last time.  Shame on you, Eagles "fans".

So there you have it, another round and still Freo sits atop the table.  Themmuns is next followed by Hawthorn and Sydney.
Post by: stephenite on July 27, 2015, 05:10:39 AM
Even watching on TV you could see it was disgraceful
Post by: TabClear on July 28, 2015, 09:25:35 PM
Quote from: stephenite on July 27, 2015, 05:10:39 AM

Just watched that game.  The crowd booing off Goodes was like something you would see in the premiership. . Grim to watch. While the Goodes reaction has more sinister undertones,the booing of players is something that has becoming more common over the past few years.  Ryder got a hard time on Saturday as well from the bombers. I think Ablett even got booed at  geelong!

Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 29, 2015, 02:35:32 AM
Quote from: TabClear on July 28, 2015, 09:25:35 PM
Quote from: stephenite on July 27, 2015, 05:10:39 AM

Just watched that game.  The crowd booing off Goodes was like something you would see in the premiership. . Grim to watch. While the Goodes reaction has more sinister undertones,the booing of players is something that has becoming more common over the past few years.  Ryder got a hard time on Saturday as well from the bombers. I think Ablett even got booed at  geelong!

It's horrible. I never really liked Nathan Buckley, but since his regular slot on AFL360, he's one of my favourite people to listen to about the game. He spoke well on Monday night about booing in general, and he was measured and non-sensationalist about the whole thing.
At the other end of the scale is Mark Robinson - I'm just watching Tuesday's episode, they are talking about the game in two weeks in Geelong. Robbo says that if there is booing, he hopes that Goodes walks off the field, and goes further to say that the Swans, and Geelong should walk off.

It seems to me that Robbo would love something like this to happen so he can write about it, he seems to have this fake indignation, but at the same time his priority isn't Goodes well-being. If he was never booed again, I have the feeling Robbo would be gutted.

Edit: FFS he (Robbo) just said he's concerned that Goodes will self-harm. Where is that coming from?
Post by: Aerlik on August 05, 2015, 02:24:30 PM
Round 18

Well....

Richmond 71-53 Hawthorn
The result the nation did not anticipate, unless of course you are a Tigers fan and even then only the most optimistic, surely, must've thought they'd win.  It was a great win in many ways.  A great effort by the Tigers and great for other teams in the Top 4.  Perhaps the unstoppable juggernaut is not as fallible as anticipated.

Geelong 113-57 Brisbane.
You've got to feel for Pearce.  Another shite performance.

Melbourne 91-54 Collingwood
Can the season get much worse for the Pies?  The second of the shocks for the round.  Many anticipated a Collingwood win to keep their final's chances alive but the Demons just wanted to win more.

Sydney 117-65 Adelaide
Now we're talking.   This was a game steeped in significance.  The fans came out in support of their stalwart, Adam Goodes, the victim of some awful racist discrimination in the past few weeks culminating in the disgraceful performance of the other WA team's fans last Sunday.  Goodes decided not to play to get away from the hassle and Jetta acknowledged his mentor with an indigenous dance to celebrate his first goal.

North Melbourne 118-54 Carlton
Yet more shite.

Gold Coast 83-83 Themmuns.
A goal with four seconds remaining drove 50% of Western Australia into elated joy and the rest into agony.  The former being Freo fans supporting the Suns (me included) the latter being, well, themmuns.  A hugely significant result for the table as a result would've put the eagles on top again.  Not to be.  Hark is that the sound of gnashing teeth I hear?

Port Adelaide 112-49
Nuff said.

Western Bulldogs 127 - 47 Essendon
The agony compounds itself I thind.

Fremantle 84-63 Greater Western Sydney
Not the most impressive win, but I'll take a win. 

Post by: AZOffaly on August 05, 2015, 03:32:05 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on August 05, 2015, 02:24:30 PM
Round 18

Well....

Richmond 71-53 Hawthorn
The result the nation did not anticipate, unless of course you are a Tigers fan and even then only the most optimistic, surely, must've thought they'd win.  It was a great win in many ways.  A great effort by the Tigers and great for other teams in the Top 4.  Perhaps the unstoppable juggernaut is not as fallible as anticipated.

Geelong 113-57 Brisbane.
You've got to feel for Pearce.  Another shite performance.

Melbourne 91-54 Collingwood
Can the season get much worse for the Pies?  The second of the shocks for the round.  Many anticipated a Collingwood win to keep their final's chances alive but the Demons just wanted to win more.

Sydney 117-65 Adelaide
Now we're talking.   This was a game steeped in significance.  The fans came out in support of their stalwart, Adam Goodes, the victim of some awful racist discrimination in the past few weeks culminating in the disgraceful performance of the other WA team's fans last Sunday.  Goodes decided not to play to get away from the hassle and Jetta acknowledged his mentor with an indigenous dance to celebrate his first goal.

North Melbourne 118-54 Carlton
Yet more shite.

Gold Coast 83-83 Themmuns.
A goal with four seconds remaining drove 50% of Western Australia into elated joy and the rest into agony.  The former being Freo fans supporting the Suns (me included) the latter being, well, themmuns.  A hugely significant result for the table as a result would've put the eagles on top again.  Not to be.  Hark is that the sound of gnashing teeth I hear?

Port Adelaide 112-49
Nuff said.

Western Bulldogs 127 - 47 Essendon
The agony compounds itself I thind.

Fremantle 84-63 Greater Western Sydney
Not the most impressive win, but I'll take a win.

What's this about? I haven't heard anything but I've been away. Racist abuse is big news in US Sports and Soccer, but I'm not sure I've heard of a lad missing a game, or choosing to miss a game, because of it?
Post by: gallsman on August 05, 2015, 06:39:57 PM
If you listen to podcasts, there was a great one about him on off the ball last week. Basically Australia is full of racist c***ts.
Post by: Aerlik on August 21, 2015, 04:01:13 AM
It has been a couple of weeks for various reasons, none less than the fekkers who invaded my laptop.  Be gone satan.  Anyhow, it has been a massive two weeks and as we near the end of the regular season nothing is confirmed regarding which team will finish where.  Except Carlton and Brisbane.  Both shite and both bottom of the heap.

Round 19

Adelaide 88-52 Richmond.
Only a week before, we were lauding and cheering as the Tigers beat the Hawks comprehensively in a great game of Friday Night Footy.  Fast forward a week and the Tigers fans must have been ropeable.  Another great game of footy for the neutral.

Collingwood 107-87 Carlton
Yep, Carlton lose again.  They were in it up to three-quarter time but then Collingwood pulled away.  Both teams can't wait for the end of the season, I bet.

Western Bulldogs 128-64 Port Adelaide
The battle of the most improved versus the biggest flops for this season.  Score says it all I suppose.  I didn't watch the game and I believe I didn't miss much.

Gold Coast 114-100 Brisbane.
Nearly as bad as the pies-blues game for boredom.  Both teams are light years behind the top 5 teams in the league.

Geelong 95-63 Sydney
A magnificent effort from the Cats keeping their finals chances alive while Sydney get knocked out of the top 4 after this loss being replaced by Western Bulldogs.  Credit, too, to the Cats fans showing respect and dignity towards Adam Goodes on his first game back after the racism he was shown by themmuns' "fans".

Hawthorn 88-74 Themmuns
This was a great game to watch especially the last 17 minutes when the Hawks staged a late comeback to win.  Cyril Rioli, what a player.  Cue the gurning and whinging from the themmuns-biased WA media. 

North Melbourne 127-92 Melbourne
Not a bad effort from the demons who weren't expected to put up any show against the roos.  North are plodding along nicely and are surely going to make the top 8 this season.

Greater Western Sydney 93-61 Essendon
Oh dear, oh dear oh dear oh dear.  Drivvel. 

Fremantle 96-59 St. Kilda
A good solid win for the Dockers scoring at will in the first half, including 7 goals from their first 7 entries into the Saints' 50. 

So at the end of the round, Freo are 10 clear of themmuns and 12 ahead of Hawthorn.
Post by: Aerlik on August 21, 2015, 04:34:00 AM
Round 20 (Groan)

Sydney 87-76 Collingwood
A decent game to watch made all the more enjoyable by the fact that Collingwood actually made a real go of it and could've won.  Another week without Buddy but still the Swans are floating around the Top 4.  However, finals footy is all but over for the pies now.

Adelaide 171-59 Essendon
And to think I tipped Essendon for this game.  Sweet mother of mercy what was I thinking?  And the coach, James Hird, was sacked two days later.  The WADA  drug findings are not long away either.  Hmmmm...

North Melbourne 120-83 St. Kilda
North just keep on winning and are sitting nicely in the top 8.  Brent Harvey has just resigned for the 2016 season potentially making him the competition's games played record holder.

Port Adelaide 111-90 Greater Western Sydney
Port are not giving up without a fight to play finals footy this season.  Not the most comprehensive win of their season but they are still in with a mathematical chance of getting to the finals.  GWS, however, will be struggling.

Hawthorn 121-85 Geelong.
Yep, it was that good.    Some unit is the Hawks.  Great game to watch with some great play.  And did I mention Cyril Rioli before?  The man's a magician.

Brisbane 131-67 Carlton
Yep, that is just how pathetic Carlton are right now.  And both teams have players wanting to leave...wonder why.

Richmond 138-55 Gold Coast Suns
A comprehensive win for the Tigers who will play finals footy if they keep on playing like this, and who knows, maybe take a big scalp with them.

Western Bulldogs 153-55 Melbourne
There is a reason why the doggies are in the top 4.  A mauling of the demons is putting it politely.

Themmuns 104-80 Fremantle.
Not happy, Not happy at all.  All over us in the first quarter and kicked 7 to 1 and we were playing catch up after that.  But the game will be remembered for two unsavoury incidences.  Firstly, I say it again that I am against any type of thuggery on any sports pitch.  So, onto the incidents.
Firstly, Alex Silvagni's strike to the head of the Eagles player was wrong, just wrong and he got a 4 week suspension for it.  Deserved, in my opinion.
However...

Secondly, Chris Masten biting a player's arm and then only getting two weeks and having the gall to say the player was lying is just typical of that trash organisation and the reason why it is so hated by other clubs in the AFL.  The WA media was pointing the finger at the Freo player saying he shouldn't have complained to the ref; the Eastern States media had other opinions which sadly don't reflect those of the Tribunal who only gave out two weeks suspension.    This has created much bad blood in WA and it will be interesting to see how things pan out as the season progresses especially if both teams meet in the final.  Now that will be fun.

Still, Freo sit atop the ladder six points clear. 
Post by: TabClear on August 21, 2015, 11:51:02 AM
Watched  the eagles Freo game and as Aerlik said, the dockers didn't show up until the second quarter and left themselves to much to do.  West coast have some serious firepower up front in Darling and Kennedy.     

Hawks defeat at Richmond a couple of rounds back could be crucial. If Freo and the eagles win their remaining games then the hawks will have to win on the West Coast at some point. Having watched them against geelong they will still be favourites but it might close the gap.  Some of the football they have played this year has been incredible.  Rioli 8)

Geelong showed enough to be an outside bet for an upset in the finals.  Selwood is a class act. They play the crows on the last day which could be for the final spot in the eight.

Post by: Club Rossa on August 21, 2015, 05:28:46 PM
Hawks lose to Port :-[
The 3 in a row does not look the cert it was 4-5 weeks ago.
Post by: smort on August 26, 2015, 11:15:56 AM
Conor Mckenna to make his debut for Essendon this weekend.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/essendon/video/2015-08-26/btv-an-irish-elevation-august-26-2015
Post by: Club Rossa on August 26, 2015, 12:17:33 PM
18 goals in 15 VFL games.It seems the Essendon fans have high hopes for Conor.
Post by: Aerlik on August 31, 2015, 02:32:23 PM
Round 21
Only two rounds to go and things are still not clear cut as to which team finishes where.  This has been an enthralling last month of AFL footy.  And what a result to start of the round...

Port Adelaide 108-86 Hawthorn
Bloody hell, what a final quarter by Port.  What has happened this team this year?  Why weren't they doing this all season?  Ah questions, questions, questions but all too little too late methinks.  Anyways, it is great for Freo as it keeps the Hawks on a collision course with themmuns in the finals.  A superb game for the neutral and those of us who have Port as our second team.

Richmond 147-56 Collingwood
Massive result for the Tigers as it keeps them just in touch with the top 4 and that double chance.  I didn't see the game but watched the highlights.  I'm not sure if the Tigers were actually just that good or Collingwood totally shite.  One is inclined to presume the latter.

Sydney 133-44 Greater Western Sydney
The battle of the Bridge became a bit of a disaster for the new boys.  Even without the huge presence of Buddy Franklin, Sydney were waaaaay to strong for the Giants.   Still, many are not convinced that a fully fit Sydney squad are capable of winning the comp.  Interesting.

Gold Coast Suns 97-95 Essendon
And it gets worse.  Yet despite the loss this wasn't actually a bad game for the neutral, such was its closeness throughout. 

Geelong 97-97 St. Kilda
A disaster for Geelong.  They badly needed this win to keep in touch with the top 8 but, again, the neutral won't be complaining as this was good value viewing.  Both teams had their chances to seal a win but the first official draw of the season was the result.

Adelaide 131-44 Brisbane
Something tells me there is an outside chance for the flag and that team is not from WA or Victoria.

North Melbourne 94-83 Fremantle.
Jeeeeeeeeeeeezusss, you'd have heard me guldering at the TV during this final quarter of this game.  Fekkin disaster.  How the folk Freo gave up in the final quarter really pisses me off and reminds me of the horror days pre-2013.  Suddenly the Top position is slipping away to, ahem, themmuns down the road.  Horror of horrors, no less.

Carlton 78-55 Melbourne
Dung.

Themmuns 162-85 Western Bulldogs.
Sweet jaysus as if Freo throwing away the game against North Melbourne wasn't bad enough, we now have to contend with themmuns for the top spot.  And the meeeeejya are in overdrive here in WA now, salivating at the thought of a WA Grand Final.  Won't happen.   

So that is the end of that round.  Freo are STILL top of the league, yes still top of the league.  Themmuns are two points behind followed by Hawthorn. 
Am I nervous about next week?  Bloody oath as themmuns have a chance to steal our top spot. 
Post by: Aerlik on August 31, 2015, 02:33:14 PM
Round 22 – the round that sorted them all out (save for a couple of positions).

Collingwood 110-62 Geelong
From disaster to collapse this week for the cats and any chance of a finals berth this year.  On a positive note the return to the paddock after four years being out with a serious knee injury for Geelong player Josh Menzies was great to see and to cap it all off he kicked a few too.  Both teams are now officially out of the finals series.  It's many's a year since that happened.

Greater Western Sydney 132-51 Carlton
More crap.

Hawthorn 134-62
Ditto the above

Western Bulldogs 96-73 North Melbourne.
A great game to watch.  Real finals-like atmosphere and tension right up to the last few minutes when the dogs managed to pull away.   Both teams will play finals this year but when and where has yet to be decided such is the closeness of the comp of the top 8.
Richmond 74-47 Essendon
The only point of interest was the goal from Connor McKenna of Tyrone with his first kick in his first game of AFL footy.  Well done, chap (even if you are a bushman).  The tigers are clinging on to a minute hope of sneaking a top 4 place but will still be a potent force in Melbourne.

Port Adelaide 88-51 Gold Coast.
Not a great game to watch but Port did enough.  Oh how they must be kicking themselves at this stage of the competition.

Adelaide 126-69 Themmuns
Now whilst I was punching the air with every Adelaide goal, as was every Freo fan I'd imagine, one thing that came from this is the serious and genuine threat that Adelaide poses to the other finalists.  This was some win. 

Sydney 135-38 St. Kilda
Yep, nothing to see.  Shite.

Fremantle 108-54 Melbourne
Our win today coupled with the win by Adelaide means that with one game to go Fremantle are the 2015Minor Premiers, the first accolade the club has won in its 21-year history.  We sit top of the pile and have the huge advantage of two home finals and, as it transpired today, the luxury of resting anything up to eleven regular players for the last game against Port Adelaide next weekend.  And to think I was going to go to that game in anticipation of it being a must-win for Freo to win the league.
This game wasn't great to be honest and yet another third quarter fade-out has more than a few of us worried.  We shouted and we roared and we clapped and we cheered.  And we won.  It is a great feeling.  Now for the serious stuff. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2015, 02:38:41 PM
Geelong, Carlton, Saint Kilda and Melbourne have no right being in the top division and should play a different competition.
Post by: AlriteHorse on September 11, 2015, 10:10:26 AM
Despite a few hints to Aerlik, he's been unable to get me a ticket for tomorrows game.  ;)

Hard to say what kind of shape the field will be in tomorrow after the bitta rain we had yday / today and then tonights game. I honestly don't fancy Swans chances though with Buddy missing, it may force players to raise the game.....even though Franklin had a fairly average season.

If Swans don't make the final, I'd love to see an All-Perth Final just to see the general mayhem it would cause here in Perth.
Post by: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 11:54:47 AM
Apologies for the delay.  Those fekkin gremlins in my computer came back but I think I've finally got rid of the wee hoors.

So, here it is, the last round for the 2015 season.  For Freo there was nothing to play for other than fulfilling a fixture as we could not be over taken.  In fact, the whole Top 8 was decided last week, and all that needed to be sorted were positions from two to eight with any number of possibilities eventuating depending on the results.

Richmond 108-67 North Melbourne
Yep, the result was par for the course when you decide to rest a dozen or so of your best players.  And why not, as the Roos had nothing to lose and not really alot to gain.  Nothing really of significance in this game.  The Tigers finished in fifth spot and the Roos in eighth.  Oh those losses to Freo and other weaker teams will haunt the Tigers.

Geelong 119-80 Adelaide
Adelaide would probably have been hoping that Geelong had decided not to renew Stevie Johnson's contract until after this game because if there is one thing that will spur a player, fan favourite and damned good player (albeit a bit of a thug), it was the news that his services were not needed.  And that is what happened as the Cats threw the form book out the window and belted the Crows.  Now why didn't the Cats play like this all year?  The Crows might regret this loss as it meant they were stuck on seventh spot.

Brisbane 130-122 Western Bulldogs
What?  How the blazes did the Lions manage to flop practically the whole season and yet turn on a show like this?  I dunno.  Ah well, the result meant the Bulldogs couldn't get better than sixth and luckily for them the Adelaide Crows lost.  Season over for the Lions, but some good shows form Pearse Hanley.

Port Adelaide 122-53 Freo "B" team
Yep, just a stroll in the park for both teams.  Nothing to gain.  The Power will look back on this as a bloody disaster.  Too many "coulda, woulda, shoulda" scenarios.

Hawthorn 113-56 Carlton
And the winner of the Wooden spoon is....Carlton.  What a shite season.  Utter garbage.  Where to from here?  I dunno.  Whilst he wasn't the worst, Tuohy didn't exactly set the world alight. 

Sydney 127-64 Gold Coast
A season that held so much promise for the Suns couldn't have come quickly enough and the Swans rubbed salt into the proverbial wounds.  The win guaranteed the Swans fourth spot and a chance at the double chance in the Finals.  What came to light afterwards was the Franklin had an epileptic fit the day before and still played this game.  Not all is well for the man.  Oh, and some season-ending injuries occurred to which will greatly affect the Swans chances.

Themmuns 125-30 St. Kilda
They had to win to secure second spot and they did.  But jaysus the bias of the media in Perth is fekkin painful.  You'd think first of all there was only one team in WA, then when it is brought to their attention that we exist, they yack on about Perth's "two" teams.  Nooo, we are not a Perth team.  We are Fremantle. 

Melbourne 103-77 Greater Western Sydney
Yep, the one game I was certain the Giants would win.   They didn't.   Wrecked my perfect 9/9 tipping chances.  Fekkit.  I even got the Richmond score difference bang on correct.

Essendon 95-92 Collingwood
What better time to kick the winning goal against one of your most hated rivals than in the last few seconds of the last game.  Not a bad game to watch to be honest.  But both teams will be really disappointed with their showings.  And as I predicted the Pies wouldn't make the finals.

So, that is it for another season...or, well, for ten of the eighteen teams, that is.

The final Top 8 standings were:
(1) Fremantle  ;D
(2) Themmuns
(3) Hawthorn
(4) Sydney
(5) Richmond
(6) Western Bulldogs
(7) Adelaide
(8) North Melbourne.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2015, 11:59:24 AM
Any word on Paddy Brophy or Sean Hurley's progress?
Post by: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 12:15:07 PM
Finals Footy time.

Right, here goes trying to explain how it works. The top 4 teams have two dips at the flag, the bottom four only one.

Fremantle(1) v. Sydney(4), the winner gets the week off and the loser plays next week against the winner of North Melbourne(8) v. Richmond(5). The loser of that game goes on the piss.

Themmuns (2) v. Hawthorn (3), the winner gets the week off and the loser plays next week against the winner of Western Bulldogs (6) v. Adelaide (7).  Similarly the loser goes on the tear.

Righto the scores.

Themmuns 96-64 Hawthorn
Yes, yes, yes, I know they did better than I expected and better than Hawthorn.  Luckily I didn't have to watch the game as just putting up with the crap in the media is still bad enough.  A nasty ankle injury to star forward Jack Gunston is a major blow for the Hawks.  Not giving the fekkers any more air time.

Fremantle 69-60 Sydney.
Before Alrite Horse has a go at me let me just say this.  It doesn't matter how you win at this stage of the season, a win is still a win and his team didn't win.  Some shockingly bad inaccuracy by the Swans was mirrored by a Freo team just cruising through.  Phew, we got through but we'll have to start playing again as there is a premiership that needs winning.   Am I a biased, one-eyed Freo fan?  Folk yeah.

Adelaide 109-102 Western Bulldogs
What an absolute cracker of a game.  I really enjoyed every minute of this match.  Some great scores and tension right up to the final siren.  What finals footy is all about.  It's a pity the Bulldogs lost in this manner but what a season they have had.  Great to watch.  And as for the Crows, well after the tragedy of the murder of their coach, Phil Walsh, this has been a great story.  Here's hoping the Crows can ratchet up the pressure and beat the Hawks next week.

North Melbourne 105-88 Richmond
Oh dear,  third year on the trot that the Tigers collapse out of the competition in the first round of the finals.  This was another belter of a game and, while not quite reaching the same intensity and climax of the dogs v crows game, it was still great to watch.  Gotta feel for the Tigers fans though.  Some heavy hits and some wonderful scores. 

So, the two WA teams get the week off while the following games take place next weekend:-
Sydney v. North Melbourne
Hawthorn v. Adelaide.

I'll be at our next game and got an email today to confirm that if we get to the Grand Final, my tickets have been assured.  Bring. It. On.

Freo Abu.
Post by: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 12:17:16 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2015, 11:59:24 AM

I'm not so sure about Brophy but I do know he was playing consistently in themmuns' B-team.  As for Hurley, he has put on quite a bit of weight and has been kicking goals and taking good grabs up forward in the Freo B-team.    I haven't had the chance to see him play, though.
Post by: deiseach on September 14, 2015, 12:59:49 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 12:15:07 PM
I'll be at our next game and got an email today to confirm that if we get to the Grand Final, my tickets have been assured.  Bring. It. On.

Will you be able to bring the childer?
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2015, 01:01:46 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 12:17:16 PM

I'm not so sure about Brophy but I do know he was playing consistently in themmuns' B-team.  As for Hurley, he has put on quite a bit of weight and has been kicking goals and taking good grabs up forward in the Freo B-team.    I haven't had the chance to see him play, though.

Cheers Aerlik, Hurley wasn't exactly small before he left so will be interesting to see how big he is now. Brophy I would expect to go close to making it, has all the attributes. Both are expected back for the Kildare SFC semi-finals, Brophy with Celbridge and Hurley with Johnstown Bridge, who also have ex AFL players Flynn and Cribben playing.
Post by: Aerlik on September 15, 2015, 11:43:53 AM
Quote from: deiseach on September 14, 2015, 12:59:49 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 12:15:07 PM

Will you be able to bring the childer?

Oh aye, Mini-me will be there.  Flights arranged, hotels to be finalised in the next few days.

His team won the Perth Districts Year 8/U-14 Grand Final on Sunday and himself won the Best On Ground award.  One very pleased father on the sideline.
Post by: Aerlik on September 15, 2015, 11:47:30 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2015, 01:01:46 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 14, 2015, 12:17:16 PM

Cheers Aerlik, Hurley wasn't exactly small before he left so will be interesting to see how big he is now. Brophy I would expect to go close to making it, has all the attributes. Both are expected back for the Kildare SFC semi-finals, Brophy with Celbridge and Hurley with Johnstown Bridge, who also have ex AFL players Flynn and Cribben playing.

Hurley's team, Peel Thunder, lost their knockout game on Sunday so that's the season over for him.  I'd say he'll be hanging around until after the Grand Final if Freo get to it but you'll notice some change in him if he goes home for the game.
Post by: Aerlik on September 21, 2015, 07:37:45 AM
Don't ask me why these two games are called "semi-finals".  The rest of the world knows what a semi-final is and Mayo fans in particular know exactly what a semi-final is.  But I won't go further.  However, this is Australia where, for some reason, things are done differently.

Hawthorn 135-61 Adelaide
A bridge too far for the crows.  Dominated from start to finish by an angry, fired-up Hawks team that was hurting from the belting it took last week by themmuns down the road from us here in WA.  The ferocity and intensity of the Hawks win was pretty damned awesome to watch.  I'm just glad they got that out of their system before they come back to play us in Perth on Friday night.

It has been a tumultuous year for the Adelaide Crows and one which will forever be remembered for the wrong reason.  The nation was supporting them on Friday night but in the end they finished their season well-beaten.  Who will be their new coach?  Assistant coach and ex-themmuns coach (and chief pharmacologist - he who has a degree in pharmacy, a pharmacy business etc and didn't know his players were dabbling in ice...yeah right, of course he didn't) John Worsfield is the alleged front runner for the job at Essendon.  Well how appropriate!  Star midfielder, Patrick Dangerfield - who scored a belter of a goal in this game - is rumoured to be on his way home to Geelong next year.  Time will tell.

North Melbourne 77-51 North Melbourne
This was a shock.  Even at this part of the season, it still caught many by surprise.  It wasn't a classic game to watch but one can only imagine how good the Swans would've been had they not had the injuries to their key players.  Another stirling effort from big Kurt Tippett, the man is a monster.  And sadly with the end of the Swans' season came the end of the careers one of the greatest players I have had the privilege to see on a footy field, Adam Goodes.  He quietly told his friends after the game that that was it, 372 game were enough.  No fanfare, no shouldered off the ground.  Just a quiet it's finished.  I've been a Goodes admirer from day dot ever since coming to Australia.  I'm so glad my son got to see him play one last time last week.  Likewise, Rhyce Shaw bade farewell to the AFL.  The former Collingwood premiership player played over 270 top level games.

So, to next weekend.
Friday night in Perth sees our boys play the Hawks.  We've been written off already and that is fine.  Hopefully the Hawks are afflicted by the Icarus syndrome.  On Saturday, I wish the same for themmuns when they play North Melbourne.  I'm resting the voice this week as it's going to be very, very loud in Perth on Friday night. 
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 21, 2015, 10:59:40 PM
I'd give Brophy a better chance of making it than Hurley. It will be interesting to see how they get on if they're back playing with their clubs in a fortnight's time.
Post by: Club Rossa on September 25, 2015, 02:17:24 PM
4th consecutive Grand Final for Hawthorn,serious achievement.Good chance that they'll face the Eagles again just 3 weeks after taking a tanking from them.
Post by: TabClear on September 25, 2015, 11:39:56 PM
Hawks simply too good today. Mitchell/Hodge/Geraint wwere exceptional in the middle part of the game and the Dockers just couldnt quite get close enough.

A couple of really bad turnovers and missed opportunities for Freo at  crucial times. Sad to see such a great season for Fyfe peter out due to a calf injury. Despite being on one leg he was still winning contested ball for most  of the game. You wonder if thats the last we see of Matthew Pavlich as well. In his prime one of the best forwards in the game.

For Freo, two big questions for me, What if Fyfe had been fit and what if Crowley had been an realistic option. The best tagger in the game taking Mitchell out of it might have had a big impact.

As for tomorrow night I have a sneaking suspicion North might surprise the Eagles...
Post by: stephenite on September 26, 2015, 04:31:06 AM
Whilst we can't tar everyone with the same brush, the behaviour of some Freo 'fans' last night was disgraceful.
Post by: JimStynes on September 26, 2015, 08:51:21 AM
I really hope the Eagles do the business!
Post by: JimStynes on September 26, 2015, 03:43:30 PM
Yeeeoooo going to have to get the old guernsey out again!
Post by: Club Rossa on September 28, 2015, 02:05:44 PM
As expected,Fyfe wins the Brownlow.
Post by: TabClear on September 28, 2015, 02:19:02 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on September 28, 2015, 02:05:44 PM
As expected,Fyfe wins the Brownlow.

Well deserved.  His first few months of the season were incredible.  Great win considering he was struggling with injury fir the last few weeks.

I do think the brownlow voting system is flawed. While it didn't happen this year, you see players from weaker teams wining because the better teams have more outstanding players competing for the same votes in a game.  The MVP is a much better reflection of the best player.
Post by: Aerlik on September 29, 2015, 01:28:02 PM
Preliminary Finals (or semi-finals to the rest of us)

Hawthorn 94-67 Fremantle
I was wondering how I would write this without sounding bitter and twisted and one-eyed.  Well the latter is without question especially when the W(e) C(heated) E(veryone) organisation is concerned.  But four days after the game and it still rankles me immensely what happened in that game.  We got off to a great start and  were dominating then for some obscure reason the umpires seemed to forget that it was not set in stone that the Hawks "must" win for the A(nti) F(reo) L(eague).  Two really, really obscure umpiring decisions turned the first quarter on its head and gifted the Hawks two goals.  So instead of Freo potentially leading by 30 points at the end of the first quarter, they were behind.  Fast forward to the fourth quarter and the lads had brought the game back to within 9 points and it was there for the taking and another shit umpiring decision followed by an awfully unfortunate slip by young Tom Sheridan gifted the Hawks the game.  How the fcuk is the AFL able to run an organisation with such wealth yet has such inconsistent and bad umpiring on a regular basis.  And we are not talking just against Freo; several other clubs have been the victims of such terrible decisions.  How the fcuk do you appoint a referee, who was one of the founders of themmuns, as a referee in a themmuns v. Freo game?  That would be akin to appointing a Dublin referee to a Dublin v. Kerry AIF.  It shouldn't happen but it does.  I was at mini-me's districts game today and was talking to themmuns fans who asked me if I'd watched the game.  When I told them I was there, they asked my take on the incidents where the umpires made the wrong calls.  When I said I still hadn't watched the replay (or won't as I deleted it) they told me the decisions were crap.   There you go; coming from themmuns fans.  Must've been disgraceful for them to say so.
Should we have played Crowley?  I don't think so as he was not match fit.  As for Fyfe, well what can we say about the lad that hasn't already been said?  He played the whole bloody game with a fractured shin after a collision in the first few minutes.  And his season was rounded off nicely with the Brownlow medal last night.  Totally deserved.  Such a  class act and I'm so glad he's with us.
And there is was, season over.  I anticipate the retirement of at least two players, our Captain and bloody legend Matthew Pavlich and our full-back Luke McPharlin.  Both have been incredible servants of the club and we owe them a lifetime of gratitude for their services in making us one of the top 5 clubs in the country.
Re. the behaviour of a few in the stands; there was no defence for their behaviour especially the incident where the female was struck.  Thankfully I have been to every game this year and only missed one last year and one the year before.  In all those times, never did I see a single incident involving fans.  We are, if not the best fans in the league, certainly in the top two or three when it comes to fan support and behaviour.  The "man" in the incident on Friday night has never been a member of our club - and never will be, I'm pleased to say.

Themmuns 80-55 North Melbourne
Carbon copy of the game the night before.  North came out all guns blazing and kept themmuns goalless in the first quarter.  Then the umpires kicked in.  Oh my god, how the fcuk the umpires sleep at night is beyond me.  I watched about 10 minutes of the game then switched off as I'd seen enough.

And so it comes down to two teams next Saturday.  I still make no bones about it that I now want the Hawks to win.  Simples.  Me, one-eyed?  Pretty much.  Bitter and twisted?  Nah, just can't stand the drug-cheating liars up the road from us.  I'd even support Collingwood if they were up against themmuns on Saturday, and that is saying something.
Post by: Rossfan on September 29, 2015, 02:57:44 PM
Who are "themmuns" ?? For us initiated folks.
Post by: deiseach on September 29, 2015, 03:27:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 29, 2015, 02:57:44 PM
Who are "themmuns" ?? For us initiated folks.

Process of elimination leads to Fremantle's derby rivals, West Coast Eagles.

Commiserations, Aerlik. Always enjoy your take.
Post by: gaah_man on September 29, 2015, 03:42:41 PM
G'wan the Eagles, cream always rises to the top Aerlik. The purple nurples were beaten by a great Hawks side and I must commend their Brownlow winner Fyfe on a massive season, he has been outstanding. What a warrior! Matty Priddis final 5 rounds of voting were disappointing from an Eagles point of view.

The GF is Hawks to lose. Eagles need to curb Mitchells influence and keep Gunston Roughie and Cyril quiet to be in with a chance, easier said than done :-[

I'll go Hawks by 12
Post by: Aerlik on October 01, 2015, 03:25:09 PM
 >:(

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/29687797/chick-ready-to-tell-afl-boss-all/

No smoke without fire (or ice, as was the case!!!)

Post by: JimStynes on October 03, 2015, 08:12:11 AM
Hawks just too good! What a team they are, they just know how to win! Great year from West Coast all the same.
Post by: Club Rossa on October 03, 2015, 08:36:31 AM
Fantastic win for the Hawks.Sublime goals from Hodge and Smith,and great performances all round.The Eagles didn't help themselves though,had plenty of opportunities to close the gap in the 1st half.That said,there can be no doubt that the Hawks were far too good on the day.
Post by: TabClear on October 04, 2015, 07:43:46 AM
Best team won.  That hawks team is special.  To get to 4 final s in a row the way the draft and salary cap is structured is some achievement. They lost franklin, oneofthe  biggest namesi n the competition and never missed a beat. Everything about the club is so professional.

The old hands stood up yesterday.  Mitchell lake hodge and Gibson very good and Rioli had some moments of magic. Frawley was excellent on Kennedy.

Eagles had to many big names not on their game and their shooting was awful at times.

It will be interesting to see if the hawks can go again or will some of them start to decline with too many miles on the clock.
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2015, 07:47:05 AM
There won't be a cow milked in the Aerlik household tonight.
Post by: TabClear on October 08, 2015, 09:07:49 PM
Lake and Hale announce their retirement from the Hawks.  Lake in particular was a cult hero. Great free agency pickup who won the premiership in each of his 3 seasons at the hawks.  Usually saved his best games for the finals.
Post by: Club Rossa on October 08, 2015, 09:52:46 PM
They were 2 great servants to Hawthorn and you're right.The bigger the game,the better Lake played.Nice for both of them to go out on top.I see Freo has released Crowley.
Post by: JimStynes on October 08, 2015, 11:25:18 PM
I was surprised to see Crowley being let go!
Post by: TabClear on October 09, 2015, 08:27:46 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 08, 2015, 11:25:18 PM
I was surprised to see Crowley being let go!

Same as that. Wrong side of 30 and obviously issues this season but i really rate him.  Best in the game at what he does and I reckon he had at least another session in him.  I think that if he had been fully fit and tagging Mitchell in the semi it would have been very different.

Be interested in what Aerlik thinks of this?