GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dubh driocht on April 06, 2015, 12:46:52 PM

Title: NFL Division 2 final Down V Roscommon 26th April 2015
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 06, 2015, 12:46:52 PM
This should be a good game to open proceedings on League Final day. Although Down finished top of the table, Roscommon were comfortable winners in Newry earlier in the season. The Shines and Senan Kilbride were too strong for the Down defence and they charged up the middle like buffalo on the prairie. Evans is a fanatical manager who will love taking the Rossies in their bus to Croke and will reckon Down have a bit of a soft belly. However, his fanaticism is nothing compared to what the smallest man in the pitch will bring. Based in Trinity, Conor Laverty will have thought every possibility through, just as he does in a micro-second on the pitch. He mightn't have many degrees or doctorates but he is a professor of the game and will be well aware that the last man in dearg agus dubh to lift a trophy in Dublin was DJ Kane. So I tip Down to take it in a high scoring game; when did Down last play Roscommon (if ever) at Croke ?
Title: Re: NFL Division 2 final Down V Roscommon 26th April 2015
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 12:58:09 PM
To be fair we have a bit of a soft belly too. I think both teams have trouble defending so it could be an open game. That said you could see both teams trying out more defensive tactics to try and improve their fortunes at the back.

Interesting that it was the two best attacking teams in the league that ended up on top when all was said and done.
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 06, 2015, 01:11:08 PM
Roscommon to win because Down can't seem to cope with bigger, more physical teams at the minute.
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 01:25:36 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on April 06, 2015, 01:11:08 PM
Roscommon to win because Down can't seem to cope with bigger, more physical teams at the minute.

Apart from our FB line our team resembles a Schools team such is their youth! Never been a terribly physical team. The team is based much more around pace than power.
Post by: The Black Mamba on April 06, 2015, 01:51:31 PM
With McDermott likely to miss the game through suspension who will likely get the nod at corner back. David Murray seems the most likely I think. Pity Seanie will probably miss out on the game, he's been a fantastic servant to Roscommon football when we were going through some pretty bad years.
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 01:55:08 PM
Quote from: The Black Mamba on April 06, 2015, 01:51:31 PM
With McDermott likely to miss the game through suspension who will likely get the nod at corner back. David Murray seems the most likely I think. Pity Seanie will probably miss out on the game, he's been a fantastic servant to Roscommon football when we were going through some pretty bad years.

Hopefully we do what D1 teams do and find a technicality to get him out of it. Even if they could delay until after the final somehow and let him miss the London match everyone would be happy, we're likely to use that game to get starts in some other players anyways. Davy Murray will surely start for Seanie if he is out.
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 06, 2015, 01:58:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 01:25:36 PM

Apart from our FB line our team resembles a Schools team such is their youth! Never been a terribly physical team. The team is based much more around pace than power.

Seemed big enough to me when you played us in Newry!
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 02:03:41 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on April 06, 2015, 01:58:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 01:25:36 PM

Seemed big enough to me when you played us in Newry!

Some tall ladeens around the middle and Senan at FF obviously but we're no Cork 2010 or anything. Donie Shine is injured at the moment. Might be fit to feature in three weeks' time though.
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 06, 2015, 02:07:37 PM
As Dubh Driocht might recall, Down last played Roscommon at Croke Park 25 years ago this month. It was the semi final of the 1990 NFL, and Down won comfortably before losing to Meath in the final.
Post by: Aristo 60 on April 06, 2015, 03:10:58 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on April 06, 2015, 02:07:37 PM
As Dubh Driocht might recall, Down last played Roscommon at Croke Park 25 years ago this month. It was the semi final of the 1990 NFL, and Down won comfortably before losing to Meath in the final.

Sweet Mother I feel real oul havin read that!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 06, 2015, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on April 06, 2015, 12:46:52 PM
This should be a good game to open proceedings on League Final day. Although Down finished top of the table, Roscommon were comfortable winners in Newry earlier in the season. The Shines and Senan Kilbride were too strong for the Down defence and they charged up the middle like buffalo on the prairie. Evans is a fanatical manager who will love taking the Rossies in their bus to Croke and will reckon Down have a bit of a soft belly. However, his fanaticism is nothing compared to what the smallest man in the pitch will bring. Based in Trinity, Conor Laverty will have thought every possibility through, just as he does in a micro-second on the pitch. He mightn't have many degrees or doctorates but he is a professor of the game and will be well aware that the last man in dearg agus dubh to lift a trophy in Dublin was DJ Kane. So I tip Down to take it in a high scoring game; when did Down last play Roscommon (if ever) at Croke ?

Jesus wept. Shocking touch of hero worship there brinking on a man-crush. Would you catch yourself on man.
Did someone dare you to write that.
Post by: gibbs32 on April 06, 2015, 08:02:46 PM
I fancy a hatrick of titles in nxt 3 weeks. I have a doubt over cbs as they are playing the home of football.im going for 2 from 3
Post by: gibbs32 on April 06, 2015, 10:33:04 PM
My rossie32 fans and please keep following rossie u21 cbs and div2 title. If any punting man likes a bet,spend the winnings on the ladies. Or just give them the winnings
Post by: gibbs32 on April 06, 2015, 10:33:27 PM
My rossie32 fans and please keep following rossie u21 cbs and div2 title. If any punting man likes a bet,spend the winnings on the ladies. Or just give them the winnings
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2015, 10:42:32 PM
This is a nice semi competitive game to have and an Oul run out in Croker as well.
Be nice to win the little cupeen too but sure it's a biteen meaningless.
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2015, 10:51:53 PM
With the London game so deep into May it'll be a great way to break up what could have been a huge lay-offs. Last year's final was good. Glad to be on the main bill this year.
Post by: gibbs32 on April 06, 2015, 11:19:31 PM
Nicely put syf
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 07, 2015, 12:33:58 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 06, 2015, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on April 06, 2015, 12:46:52 PM

Jesus wept. Shocking touch of hero worship there brinking on a man-crush. Would you catch yourself on man.
Did someone dare you to write that.

I shouldn't rise but...
Brick Tamlin-Irony is lost on you. One clue may have been in the reference to Buffalo charging up a prairie. As you missed that I'll spell the rest of it out for you.
Evans has a reputation for fanaticism and being obsessed with football. For the Roscommon posters, I wanted to highlight that we also have people who are passionate about football in Down. Our captain works in Trinity College. Therefore; the references to academia. Conor Laverty eats, breaths and sleeps football - it's his full-time job- and he comes from a small townland who have dominated Down football for the past five years. Therefore my ironic post was that we had a match for John Evans in our captain and he will ensure that the team won't lack passion and commitment in the final. So my conclusion was that we would shade it.
If there's any part of that you don't understand, let me know.
Post by: commonman on April 07, 2015, 01:06:59 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on April 06, 2015, 02:07:37 PM

remember that game well, roscommon had come off the back of a high scoring extra win over Dublin in Portlaoise in QF and fancied their chances of getting to their first final in 9 years - but we lost on something like a scoreline of 4:10 to 0:10, mickey linden doing untold damage. that game signalled the arrival of that great Down team of early nineties while we went on to win two connachts in 90 and 91, and contested the 91 NFL  semi as well but were hammered by Dublin.

Post by: Bojangles on April 07, 2015, 04:12:25 PM
Remember Rossies playing Down in a league game back in the early nineties too in Orchard park Elphin. Mickey Linden was in his pomp, and Derek Duggan similarly for us. Down were physically huge! Won on the day too as I remember.
Post by: seafoid on April 07, 2015, 04:50:29 PM
When is the last time the Rossies played a senior match in Croke Park?
Post by: Syferus on April 07, 2015, 04:53:17 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 07, 2015, 04:50:29 PM
When is the last time the Rossies played a senior match in Croke Park?

April 2014 Annus Domini.
Post by: commonman on April 07, 2015, 04:56:37 PM
Quote from: Bojangles on April 07, 2015, 04:12:25 PM
Remember Rossies playing Down in a league game back in the early nineties too in Orchard park Elphin. Mickey Linden was in his pomp, and Derek Duggan similarly for us. Down were physically huge! Won on the day too as I remember.

was that the day president Mc aleese (with obvious strong allegiance to both counties) viewed the game in elphin in the luxurious surroundings of the back of a bertie glancy lorry.
Post by: Syferus on April 07, 2015, 05:01:10 PM
Quote from: commonman on April 07, 2015, 04:56:37 PM

was that the day president Mc aleese (with obvious strong allegiance to both counties) viewed the game in elphin in the luxurious surroundings of the back of a bertie glancy lorry.

She wasn't president in 1990 or 1991!
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 07, 2015, 05:34:19 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on April 07, 2015, 12:33:58 PM

he comes from a small townland who have dominated Down football for the past five years.

The past three years.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 07, 2015, 08:11:13 PM

That's why we won the AI in 91 and 94. While Mickey wasn't physically huge he was simply unmarkable...ask the 94 Dublin defence.
Post by: Jinxy on April 07, 2015, 08:55:34 PM
You won the AI in 91 because Meath had to play 25 games to get to the final and Colm O'Rourke had swine flu.
Post by: Syferus on April 07, 2015, 09:12:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 07, 2015, 08:55:34 PM
You won the AI in 91 because Meath had to play 25 games to get to the final and Colm O'Rourke had swine flu.

And ye weren't even the best team in yer semi-final either >:(
Post by: snoopdog on April 08, 2015, 02:14:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 07, 2015, 08:55:34 PM

We went 11pts up and started dreaming of the next night bringing Sam over the border and nearly let you back in to nick it. Sure we brought it through Drogheda so you could have a wee look
Post by: MourneArmy on April 13, 2015, 10:42:55 AM
Where are us Down folk heading for a few pre-match stouts? It's a shame Donegal or Monaghan didn't make the league final, always good craic pinting with our Ulster comrades before matches at Croker.

As for the less important matter of the match, I'll be expecting a high intensity performance from Down akin to near championship pace. With Derry on the horizon it's time to step it up from our relatively average league performances.

Down to win by 5.

An Dún Abú
Post by: 5 Sams on April 13, 2015, 11:43:14 AM
Quote from: MourneArmy on April 13, 2015, 10:42:55 AM
Where are us Down folk heading for a few pre-match stouts? It's a shame Donegal or Monaghan didn't make the league final, always good craic pinting with our Ulster comrades before matches at Croker.

As for the less important matter of the match, I'll be expecting a high intensity performance from Down akin to near championship pace. With Derry on the horizon it's time to step it up from our relatively average league performances.

Down to win by 5.

An Dún Abú

Meaghers in Ballybough is usually the Down HQ before a game in Croker.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2015, 11:47:51 AM
Can't wait to see some rotten football in two weeks' time.
Post by: Shrewdness on April 13, 2015, 09:16:38 PM
The Down posters on here certainly seem confident. Obviously Down's match to lose, based on that.
Post by: Aristo 60 on April 13, 2015, 10:20:03 PM
I'm not confident, I'm sure!
Post by: MourneArmy on April 13, 2015, 10:42:31 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 13, 2015, 09:16:38 PM
The Down posters on here certainly seem confident. Obviously Down's match to lose, based on that.

There's never anything wrong with being confident. It's Down's match to win, if they want it.
Post by: gibbs32 on April 13, 2015, 11:02:28 PM
Rossies by a point or two.down are only a stepping stone for what we want to achieve
Post by: Ringfort on April 14, 2015, 12:42:45 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 07, 2015, 05:01:10 PM
Quote from: commonman on April 07, 2015, 04:56:37 PM

She wasn't president in 1990 or 1991!

I was a child at the time but I remember being in the Orchard for a Ros vs Down NFL game in the 90's...... What year was it? Surely not as early as 90/91?? Something rings a faint bell that we played them twice in Elphin in the league but a few years apart I thought...or am I wrong? Also the president in the Glancy bus story is ringing a bell.... Anyone got the history of our clash(es) with Down in the Orchard in the 90's?
Post by: Shrewdness on April 18, 2015, 10:57:44 PM
Despite all the rubbish that has been written about Down and Roscommon's style of play, i reckon this match has the makings of being a good open game and could be high scoring. Both teams will want to end the league on a high as they head towards the championship. No doubt Down will be looking for revenge for the defeat in Newry. Ros will be without the suspended Seanie Mc Dermott, whilst there's no guarantee that the u-21's will start.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2015, 11:01:42 PM
Knowing John they're probably training this evening. They're a lock to feature. Murtagh will start, Harney and Smith more questionable.
Post by: Shrewdness on April 18, 2015, 11:46:37 PM
Last year, John Evans didn't even start in the championship because he claimed that they still hadn't got over the disappointment of losing the U-21 final to Dublin. If Ultan Harney is carrying a shoulder injury, he should be rested. Enda Smith looks tired and imo, his form has dipped. It appears that Diarmuid Murtagh had a virus all week, and if any player deserves a break, it's him. Yet, he's the most likely of the three to start.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2015, 11:50:51 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 18, 2015, 11:46:37 PM
Last year, John Evans didn't even start in the championship because he claimed that they still hadn't got over the disappointment of losing the U-21 final to Dublin. If Ultan Harney is carrying a shoulder injury, he should be rested. Enda Smith looks tired and imo, his form has dipped. It appears that Diarmuid Murtagh had a virus all week, and if any player deserves a break, it's him. Yet, he's the most likely of the three to start.

To be fair that was because he got the hump on him because the U21s didn't want to immediately go to a training camp the day after the AI final loss. It had feck all to to with protecting young lads and everyone knew it then and now. I heard about Murt having a virus alright. Not that being 100% would have made any difference with three white jerseys on top of him at all times.
Post by: rrhf on April 19, 2015, 07:46:57 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 13, 2015, 11:43:14 AM
Quote from: MourneArmy on April 13, 2015, 10:42:55 AM

Down to win by 5.

An Dún Abú

Meaghers in Ballybough is usually the Down HQ before a game in Croker.
They wouldn't need to be too reliant on repeat business...
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 19, 2015, 08:36:25 AM
The defeat to Tyrone will be a tough one for Roscommon and it will indeed be interesting to see how Evans responds. I would start Murtagh if he's fit as he is quality, and caused Down serious problems in Newry, and Smith is also worth his place.
The Down team I would pick is as follows;
Kane
Deserves his place but Cunningham and Gordon both did well and we're well served when Harrison isn't even in the squad
O'Hagan, Howard, Turley
These guys have everything except a bit of height- and we will need this against Kilbride . Collins is cut from the same cloth and while it won't happen, I would love to see Big Dan in a red and black shirt this year.
McArdle, McKernan, McGovern While Benny didn't get as much game-time as the two Burren men, he is still a quality player who I would start. McKernan is almost at his peak and is all-star material if we get a good run. McGovern never less than 7 out of 10 every game.
Turley and Mallon
Pete has more than filled the considerable gap left by King while Mallon's athleticism should curb the influence of the Shines
Maginn, Madine, Carr Maginn is a manager's dream, does everything you ask and has a knack of being in the right place at the right time. Madine is a serious physical presence in a light team and while he might still not be fully fit, he was our main man in the early league games. Carr is top quality and again brings physicality in what will be a physical battle.
Poland, Laverty, O'Hare Mark got better over the campaign, Laverty was consistently excellent and Donal is a prolific scorer especially when the confidence is up.
It's a bit harsh on Devlin and Mc Conville not to start but I would bring both on at some stage, along with the Johnstones and Conor Garvey.

The team I think Jim will pick- subject to availability is;
Kane
O'Hagan Howard D Turley
O'Hanlon McKernan McGovern
P Turley and Devlin
J Johnstone Poland Maginn
McConville Laverty O'Hare.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 19, 2015, 08:52:03 AM
Quote from: gibbs32 on April 06, 2015, 08:02:46 PM
I fancy a hatrick of titles in nxt 3 weeks. I have a doubt over cbs as they are playing the home of football.im going for 2 from 3
While 2 outta 3 ain't bad. You're left with 1 now!
Post by: seafoid on April 19, 2015, 08:55:15 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 19, 2015, 08:52:03 AM
Quote from: gibbs32 on April 06, 2015, 08:02:46 PM
While 2 outta 3 ain't bad. You're left with 1 now!

Bit of a reality check with the u21s there. How to manage expectations is the thing. The raw material is there, probably. But hard to keep a lid on things in a county  relatively starved of success.
Mol an oige agus tiocfaidh si would be the mantra of choice.
Post by: charlieTully on April 19, 2015, 09:57:15 AM
Is the match televised?
Post by: Rossfan on April 19, 2015, 10:08:18 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on April 19, 2015, 09:57:15 AM
Is the match televised?
Yes.
Post by: charlieTully on April 19, 2015, 10:15:33 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 19, 2015, 10:08:18 AM
Is the match televised?
Yes.

What channel?  Can't find it in the listings
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 19, 2015, 11:21:58 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on April 19, 2015, 10:15:33 AM
Is the match televised?
Yes.

gaa.ie has TG4 listed as showing it.
Post by: Rossfan on April 19, 2015, 12:01:54 PM
Is the match televised?
Yes.

TG4 does all four League Finals.
Post by: charlieTully on April 19, 2015, 12:39:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 19, 2015, 12:01:54 PM
Is the match televised?
Yes.

TG4 does all four League Finals.

I frigging thought it was today, no wonder i couldnt find it. ffs, I am a dick.
Post by: SHEEDY on April 19, 2015, 12:39:48 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on April 19, 2015, 08:36:25 AM
The defeat to Tyrone will be a tough one for Roscommon and it will indeed be interesting to see how Evans responds. I would start Murtagh if he's fit as he is quality, and caused Down serious problems in Newry, and Smith is also worth his place.
Kane
Deserves his place but Cunningham and Gordon both did well and we're well served when Harrison isn't even in the squad
O'Hagan, Howard, Turley
These guys have everything except a bit of height- and we will need this against Kilbride . Collins is cut from the same cloth and while it won't happen, I would love to see Big Dan in a red and black shirt this year.
McArdle, McKernan, McGovern While Benny didn't get as much game-time as the two Burren men, he is still a quality player who I would start. McKernan is almost at his peak and is all-star material if we get a good run. McGovern never less than 7 out of 10 every game.
Turley and Mallon
Pete has more than filled the considerable gap left by King while Mallon's athleticism should curb the influence of the Shines
Maginn, Madine, Carr Maginn is a manager's dream, does everything you ask and has a knack of being in the right place at the right time. Madine is a serious physical presence in a light team and while he might still not be fully fit, he was our main man in the early league games. Carr is top quality and again brings physicality in what will be a physical battle.
Poland, Laverty, O'Hare Mark got better over the campaign, Laverty was consistently excellent and Donal is a prolific scorer especially when the confidence is up.
It's a bit harsh on Devlin and Mc Conville not to start but I would bring both on at some stage, along with the Johnstones and Conor Garvey.

Kane
O'Hagan Howard D Turley
P Turley and Devlin

mccorry has a big decision to make with kevin mckernan. hes got 2 black cards so far, if he gets another in the league final he would miss the derry match.
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 19, 2015, 01:06:53 PM
Dubh Driocht is clearly not a fan of Devlin, but, while he has his flaws, his general contribution in the league was solid and he deserves to start the final. While he is not a natural ball winner, and can be careless in possession, he works exceptionally hard, is capable of picking out fine passes, scores regularly from play and is the best free-taker in our squad. Our record from 45s was appalling before his recall, and his total of 1-22 in the seven D2 games was pretty respectable. We do not know yet whether he is a championship footballer but McCorry obviously has strong faith in him.

The decision over McKernan is a tough one, as he is a key figure all over the field. Losing him for the Derry match would be a severe blow, so it is quite possible that he will initially be kept on the bench at Croke Park.
Post by: Jinxy on April 19, 2015, 02:32:05 PM
This is now a must win game for the Rossies.
Silverware is silverware.
Post by: Rossfan on April 20, 2015, 02:03:25 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 19, 2015, 02:32:05 PM
No. It is an unimportant game but always better to win a game than not.
Yes. A shiny cupeen is always nice but who remembers League winners , even Div 1?
Post by: seafoid on April 20, 2015, 04:01:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 20, 2015, 02:03:25 PM
Yes. A shiny cupeen is always nice but who remembers League winners , even Div 1?
http://www.monaghangaa.ie/history/roll-of-honours/
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 20, 2015, 11:15:52 PM
Ross, what's the general mood in the county?
Optimistic or not?
Post by: Syferus on April 21, 2015, 12:01:14 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 20, 2015, 11:15:52 PM
Ross, what's the general mood in the county?
Optimistic or not?

I don't think we've thought enough about this game enough to be either. Will be nice to get a look at three of our league opponents next season.
Post by: Rossfan on April 21, 2015, 09:54:48 AM
Not much thoughts yet as we come down from AI semi final mode.
It's a sort of a day out as a reward for promotion with a cupeen thrown in if ya manage to score more than the opposition.
Post by: Down Follower on April 21, 2015, 10:05:56 AM
Quote from: SHEEDY on April 19, 2015, 12:39:48 PM
Kane
O'Hagan, Howard, Turley
Turley and Mallon

Kane
O'Hagan Howard D Turley
P Turley and Devlin

mccorry has a big decision to make with kevin mckernan. hes got 2 black cards so far, if he gets another in the league final he would miss the derry match.

Mooney to start?
Post by: Jinxy on April 21, 2015, 12:57:10 PM
Look at all the Rossies pretending they don't care.
Fooling no one lads!
Post by: Syferus on April 21, 2015, 02:05:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 21, 2015, 12:57:10 PM
Look at all the Rossies pretending they don't care.
Fooling no one lads!

There's not much room left for trophies at the front of the bus anyways.
Post by: snoopdog on April 21, 2015, 02:59:46 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on April 19, 2015, 12:39:48 PM
Kane
O'Hagan, Howard, Turley
Turley and Mallon

Kane
O'Hagan Howard D Turley
P Turley and Devlin

McKernan should not be in the team or on the bench. Down cant afford to be without him in Celtic Park come 7th June. sunday is nothing more than a glorified friendly.
Post by: Dubh driocht on April 21, 2015, 09:06:38 PM
It's a bit more than a glorified friendly but you and Sheedy are right about the McKernan dilemma. We will need him in Celtic Park and he was MoM the first day two years ago. Either straight swop with Garvey or drop Mallon back and bring in Mooney. McKernan will be bustin to play though.I suppose that's why we pay /make reasonable expenses available to managers- to make decisions
Post by: PAULD123 on April 21, 2015, 10:43:23 PM
This Black card thing will hang over McKernan for the rest of the year won't it? It is a one match suspension if he receives a black card at any stage from now on. But would that be the slate wiped clean?
Post by: Syferus on April 22, 2015, 10:08:42 AM
Interesting interviews with Neil Collins (http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/2/2104150932-kerry-injuries-piece/) and Donal O'Hare (http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2004151721-ohare-leading-the-charge-in-a-new-era-for-down/) from the press day.
Post by: Rossfan on April 22, 2015, 10:21:22 AM
Many going to this oul game at all?
Got me nice free ticket yesterday from the Season Ticket office so will be attending (as usual).
Post by: Syferus on April 22, 2015, 10:24:24 AM
I'll be taking my usual league final position in the premium seats. Pleb.
Post by: Rossfan on April 22, 2015, 10:55:10 AM
I'm proud to be a working man taking my place among the people.
The snobs and the gold Spooner's and other exploiters of the working class can indulge themselves on their iIl gotten gains before it's all taken from ye. :P
Post by: larryin89 on April 24, 2015, 10:46:17 PM
Any Rossie want a couple of freebies for Sunday , PM me.
Post by: Halfquarter on April 26, 2015, 02:26:02 PM
Watching the Roscommon match on TG4, never knew before today that the subtitles are in English ,a small bit of a help !
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 26, 2015, 02:30:54 PM
Poor game.

Neither team look that bothered.
Post by: Jinxy on April 26, 2015, 02:31:23 PM
I'm sleepy.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 26, 2015, 02:33:32 PM

Ros 15 has holes in his hands. Woeful basics
Post by: Throw ball on April 26, 2015, 02:35:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 26, 2015, 02:31:23 PM
I'm sleepy.

Just woke up. Has match started yet?
Post by: galwayman on April 26, 2015, 02:35:42 PM
How is that a second yellow?
Post by: bucko on April 26, 2015, 02:39:42 PM
Deegan's reffing very poor. Cannot see what that second yellow was for. Let an absolutely clear and blatant push in the back on the Ros no 15 go, should've been a free in on the 21....
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 26, 2015, 02:42:16 PM
Poor quality game with a poor quality red.
Post by: joemamas on April 26, 2015, 02:43:25 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 26, 2015, 02:35:42 PM
How is that a second yellow?

it wasn't a second yellow. It is a case of another incompetent referee. Is there any one in the GAA hierarchy who can give him a red , so as the players and supporters of another team can avoid a similar situation later in the year.

Pathetic.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 26, 2015, 02:45:16 PM
Very poor from both sides and the ref so far.  Hopefully the 2nd half will be a bit more lively
Post by: Syferus on April 26, 2015, 02:45:52 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on April 26, 2015, 02:42:16 PM
Poor quality game with a poor quality red.

Was it not two yellows? If you're on a yellow you need to be spotless or you're just running that risk.

Connolly showing well in his first ever senior start. Kilbride the best player on the field atm. Cregg is as giddy as a foal.

Not a classic but very pleased that we look like we actually have a defence today.
Post by: larryin89 on April 26, 2015, 02:46:31 PM
Refs are just a fuvkin joke , it's beyond repair how poor they've gone. Game itself is pathetic , no sense to a div 2 final or3/4 .
Post by: Throw ball on April 26, 2015, 02:47:44 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 26, 2015, 02:45:16 PM
Very poor from both sides and the ref so far.  Hopefully the 2nd half will be a bit more lively

Every sending off so far this weekend has been of the harsh variety.
Post by: Mayo Border on April 26, 2015, 02:49:15 PM
Poor game although Willie Hegarty on Shannonside Radio makes it sound like an all Ireland final. "And he has just kicked a wonderful fisted point". Rossies must wonder why no-one has come to see them in their first game of the year in Croke Park. No harm to give the bus a run out anyway.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 26, 2015, 02:52:09 PM
QuoteWillie Hegarty on Shannonside Radio makes it sound like an all Ireland final

Willie makes every game with Roscommon sound like an All Ireland final.

Great man for the mixed metaphors - "he wint tru the difince like a knife through water" in one of my favourites.
Post by: Zulu on April 26, 2015, 02:52:27 PM
Neither of his yellows were deserved IMO. Yellows are given out far to easily I think but the ref wasn't helped on the second yellow by the Roscommon man going to ground theatrically. It's been a disappointing game which I thought might be a very good one as these two teams should just be able to go for it but are not.
Post by: larryin89 on April 26, 2015, 02:54:28 PM
Quote from: Mayo Border on April 26, 2015, 02:49:15 PM
Poor game although Willie Hegarty on Shannonside Radio makes it sound like an all Ireland final. "And he has just kicked a wonderful fisted point". Rossies must wonder why no-one has come to see them in their first game of the year in Croke Park. No harm to give the bus a run out anyway.

Re the Roscommon support , they are a disgrace to that team . I mean where are they, they're in the pubs in ballagh, Boyle and frenchpark talkin about how they're going to bate Mayo.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 26, 2015, 02:55:16 PM
Just seen the 2nd yellow. That is a scandalously bad decision by Deegan.
Post by: Throw ball on April 26, 2015, 03:15:30 PM
Never a black card either. He deliberately fouled him but never deliberately pulled him to the ground.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 26, 2015, 03:16:46 PM
Ros are the better team by a considerable margin but they're handlingand distribution under pressure is very poor and costing them a comfortable canter
Post by: joemamas on April 26, 2015, 03:29:55 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 26, 2015, 03:16:46 PM
Ros are the better team by a considerable margin but they're handlingand distribution under pressure is very poor and costing them a comfortable canter

you realize Down have 14 men
Post by: CD on April 26, 2015, 03:32:09 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 26, 2015, 02:45:16 PM
We lived in hope! Very poor standard from both.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 26, 2015, 03:34:31 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 26, 2015, 03:15:30 PM
Never a black card either. He deliberately fouled him but never deliberately pulled him to the ground.
I agree. Not a black card offence that. Yellow card all day long.
Post by: Zulu on April 26, 2015, 03:36:29 PM
Much better second half but I didn't think that black card was deserved either, he didn't pull him down and if anything the Down man went to ground. It was a foul but not a black card and too many lads are hitting the turf easily.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 26, 2015, 03:44:53 PM

Of course it was a black card.

It was deliberate & he pulled him to the ground.

It was for fouls like these that the black card was introduced.
Post by: Syferus on April 26, 2015, 03:47:35 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 26, 2015, 03:44:53 PM

Murray's black card was fully deserved.

Pleased with that second half performance. Roll on London. Best wishes to Brian Murtagh.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 26, 2015, 03:49:59 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 26, 2015, 03:29:55 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 26, 2015, 03:16:46 PM

you realize Down have 14 men

You think that's a factor in the Roscommon forwards' decision making? Hadn't considered tthat.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 26, 2015, 03:56:19 PM

He didn't pull him to the ground, he certainly fouled him and the player went to ground but there was no deliberate pull down.
We are slowly morphing into soccer with players hitting the deck at every physical contact.
Post by: Zulu on April 26, 2015, 04:02:04 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 26, 2015, 03:56:19 PM

He didn't pull him to the ground, he certainly fouled him and the player went to ground but there was no deliberate pull down.
We are slowly morphing into soccer with players hitting the deck at every physical contact.

Agree. The refereeing standards may be questionable but too many players are diving and making tackles worse than they are. In saying that I think refs should be able to recognise when grown men fling themselves to the ground that they are making more of it than necessary.
Post by: Rudi on April 26, 2015, 04:37:30 PM
Kilbride got held onto from behind, down no 6 should not have done this as other down man had won the ball. Free in all day, yellow it was not. Ref was poor and gave many decisions against the Rosie's. Ros on the day should have won by 10 plus, down were shocking bad and did not look to bothered.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 05:27:58 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 26, 2015, 02:33:32 PM

Ros 15 has holes in his hands. Woeful basics

You do realise you are talking about the one and only Cregger aka the bearded magician.  The greatest player to ever wear the county colours going by Syferus expert commentary down through the years.
Post by: Highlander3 on April 26, 2015, 05:43:40 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 26, 2015, 04:37:30 PM
Kilbride got held onto from behind, down no 6 should not have done this as other down man had won the ball. Free in all day, yellow it was not. Ref was poor and gave many decisions against the Rosie's. Ros on the day should have won by 10 plus, down were shocking bad and did not look to bothered.

If just shows how fans view a game differently, me and the other down fans I was with thought the Ref give Roscommon everything for about the first 55 minutes including the crazy sending off. Though at the end when we were beat he started to give us a lot of decisions, but by that time it did not matter.
Post by: trileacman on April 26, 2015, 05:46:13 PM
That sending off was an absolute joke.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 05:56:43 PM
Quote from: Highlander3 on April 26, 2015, 05:43:40 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 26, 2015, 04:37:30 PM

If just shows how fans view a game differently, me and the other down fans I was with thought the Ref give Roscommon everything for about the first 55 minutes including the crazy sending off. Though at the end when we were beat he started to give us a lot of decisions, but by that time it did not matter.

Ref did favour Roscommon in most calls, sending off was ridiculous
Post by: mjg on April 26, 2015, 06:20:04 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 26, 2015, 02:54:28 PM

Re the Roscommon support , they are a disgrace to that team . I mean where are they, they're in the pubs in ballagh, Boyle and frenchpark talkin about how they're going to bate Mayo.
larryin we all know your not the brightest spark in kilmovee but when your on stolensheep as ballycroy try to remember to shuffle your above sentence about a small bit
Post by: Syferus on April 26, 2015, 06:50:48 PM
I thought Cian Connolly put in a very good performance, particularly for someone making his first ever start at senior, and at Croke Park of all places. Put himself right into contention for a place come championship. Lots of switches today and they paid off, the team that took the field were hungry and eager to make the most of their chance.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 07:01:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 26, 2015, 06:50:48 PM
I thought Cian Connolly put in a very good performance, particularly for someone making his first ever start at senior, and at Croke Park of all places. Put himself right into contention for a place come championship. Lots of switches today and they paid off, the team that took the field were hungry and eager to make the most of their chance.

Tell us about how great Cregger was?
Post by: larryin89 on April 26, 2015, 07:10:07 PM
Quote from: mjg on April 26, 2015, 06:20:04 PM

larryin we all know your not the brightest spark in kilmovee but when your on stolensheep as ballycroy try to remember to shuffle your above sentence about a small bit

Goin back to the post not the poster, where was your support , I know for a fact some of them were in creators  roarin and shoutin about batin Mayo. Now my question still remains where was your support ?
Post by: muppet on April 26, 2015, 07:24:30 PM
Well done Ros.

With Galway & Sligo improving at the end of their League campaigns, Connacht should be interesting this year. Also, Leitrim won three and drew with eventual Champions Offaly, and are at home, so Gaillimhí beware.
Post by: larryin89 on April 26, 2015, 07:26:25 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 07:01:09 PM

Tell us about how great Cregger was?

His handlin was terrible.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 26, 2015, 07:49:53 PM
Congrats Roscommom - good win bad game.

See ye in June
Post by: Tubberman on April 26, 2015, 08:33:11 PM

He was very composed, hadn't heard of him before. Good player. The pace was way off championship standard though, so hard to know what to make of Ros yet. Not too long til we find out though ;)
Post by: ross4life on April 26, 2015, 08:34:10 PM
Quote from: mjg on April 26, 2015, 06:20:04 PM

Wouldn't have seen that troll post if you didn't quote it. Well played mjg  ;D

As for the game a deserved win for us the margin of win probably should have been more. Down can't be happy with their performance on the day but like ourselves they have div one football next season and playing better teams should bring further improvement for both.

Great to see Roscommon win another national title in Croke park and no more than our hard working players and management deserve.

Post by: Rossfan on April 26, 2015, 09:08:53 PM
Well done lads and another shiny cupeen to go with the FBD,Hastings and Connacht U21.
Good in spots today could have been out of sight at ht.
Always looked likely winners in the 2nd half but not sealed till the goal came.
Young Connolly did well after a shaky start. How Cregg was left on for nearly 50 minutes I don't know.
Anyway good to win the cupeen but the real world starts in May.
Who remembers D2 winners beyond the Tuesday after the final ?
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2015, 09:48:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 26, 2015, 09:08:53 PM
Well done lads and another shiny cupeen to go with the FBD,Hastings and Connacht U21.
Good in spots today could have been out of sight at ht.
Always looked likely winners in the 2nd half but not sealed till the goal came.
Young Connolly did well after a shaky start. How Cregg was left on for nearly 50 minutes I don't know.
Anyway good to win the cupeen but the real world starts in May.
Who remembers D2 winners beyond the Tuesday after the final ?

Good, deserved win. Ye won it fair and square. Now for the real stuff!"

(Maybe you'll shut up about Ballagh for a whileen now and give the rest of long-suffering himanity a well-deserved break.) ;D
Post by: Shrewdness on April 26, 2015, 09:54:29 PM
Any theories on why Cathal Cregg is playing so poorly at the moment. He was very poor in the Galway game, mediocre against Westmeath and exceptionally poor today.. He looked like the one making his debut. Well done to Cian Connolly on a good display. Very promising player, who by all accounts, had been flying in training.
Post by: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 10:21:02 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 26, 2015, 09:54:29 PM
Any theories on why Cathal Cregg is playing so poorly at the moment. He was very poor in the Galway game, mediocre against Westmeath and exceptionally poor today.. He looked like the one making his debut. Well done to Cian Connolly on a good display. Very promising player, who by all accounts, had been flying in training.

I am sure Syferus will be able to answer that, he was suffering from verbal diarrhoea on this forum about his performances last year in the league against the mite of Limerick in March, so much so he became known as the bearded magician. Anyone outside the county would think he was as good as james o donoghue the way he was waffling on so please Syferus tell us about how great he is now or as usual are you going to be shown up as a spoofer?

Cathal Cregg is a good county player and always tries hard but is more of a work horse than a natural forward from what I have seen of him, normal rossies correct me if I'm wrong. He is just blown out of all proportions within the county by a few deranged individuals.
Post by: Jinxy on April 26, 2015, 10:30:07 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 10:21:02 PM

I am sure Syferus will be able to answer that, he was suffering from verbal diarrhoea on this forum about his performances last year in the league against the mite of Limerick in March, so much so he became known as the bearded magician. Anyone outside the county would think he was as good as james o donoghue the way he was waffling on so please Syferus tell us about how great he is now or as usual are you going to be shown up as a spoofer?

Cathal Cregg is a good county player and always tries hard but is more of a work horse than a natural forward from what I have seen of him, normal rossies correct me if I'm wrong. He is just blown out of all proportions within the county by a few deranged individuals.

Post by: The Black Mamba on April 26, 2015, 10:55:23 PM
This is the 2nd year running where Cregg started off the year great, not that FBD form counts for much, was excellent in our opening league matches but has faded out towards the end of the league. Connelly really impressed today and our defence seems like it's getting it's act together but the real tests are yet to come.
Post by: Rossfan on April 26, 2015, 11:12:15 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2015, 09:48:08 PM
?

Good, deserved win. Ye won it fair and square. Now for the real stuff!"

(Maybe you'll shut up about Ballagh for a whileen now and give the rest of long-suffering himanity a well-deserved break.) ;D

I have to now pity the poor backward looking misfortunates who will be stifling in rbubarbism while the rest of their wonderful county enjoys the exciting new up and coming Ros team.
Post by: weareros on April 27, 2015, 02:12:11 AM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on April 26, 2015, 10:21:02 PM

Whatever issues you might have with a poster's braggadocio, which to be fair many GAA fans indulge in, Cathal Cregg does not deserve your abuse. He might have had a bad day today but Roscommon would not be in Division 1 without some of his earlier performances in the league. He's soldiered through some dark days in Roscommon GAA. He was a bright spark back in the days when we used to take regular hammerings. I remember him nearly beating Meath on his own in a league game back in 2007. We drew that day. The rest of the campaign was a litany of brutal hammerings that saw us go from Div 2 all the way down to Div 4. We've come a long way and lads like Cregg and Kilbride and Seani, who unfortunately had to miss today, who stuck with it are to be commended.

Hard luck to Down today. Not much can be read from the game. The sending off was ridiculous and there was hardly a dirty foul in that game. That said, some of the scores were top drawer - and Senan's points were a joy to behold, his old man definitely the best thing to come out of Ballagh if you get my drift. I thought Cathal Shine and by the way the Shine brothers are not related really stood out as a minor in 2008 and scored an amazing point against Mayo in Salthill where he nearly kicked it the length of the pitch with a gale behind him, so it's great to see him starting to fulfill his promise, some mighty catches today. Onward to London.

Post by: Denn Forever on April 27, 2015, 11:01:12 AM
Love this line.

Quoteby the way the Shine brothers are not related

The sending off was the turning point in the game.  They were soft but the second was a 3rd man tackle.  Should have been a Black card.
Post by: Rossfan on April 27, 2015, 11:54:08 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever link=topic=25704 .msg1461530#msg1461530 date=1430128872
second was a 3rd man tackle.  Should have been a Black card.
Does the rule say 3rd man tackle or is it blocking the runner off the ball?
Anyway the game is done and dusted as is the entire NFL for this year.
Now the real thing is about to begin and apart from the Ulster and hopefully the Connacht - the rest of it has a terrible predictability about it. :-\
Post by: Hardy on April 27, 2015, 12:03:58 PM
Well done Roscommon. Good to see a real honest-to-god team winning out in a division packed with aristocrats.
Post by: Rossfan on April 27, 2015, 12:40:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 27, 2015, 12:03:58 PM
Well done Roscommon. Good to see a real honest-to-god team winning out in a division packed with aristocrats.
Is that a complement or an insult :D
Post by: Jinxy on April 27, 2015, 12:59:31 PM
That's okay.
We wouldn't expect you to know.
Post by: muppet on April 27, 2015, 02:03:17 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 27, 2015, 11:01:12 AM
Love this line.

Quoteby the way the Shine brothers are not related

If you had to sum up Roscommon in one line, that would be a contender.
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on April 27, 2015, 09:34:41 PM
What song did Croke Park play for Roscommon over the public address at the final whistle?  T'was hard to make it out on Teilifís.
Post by: armaghniac on April 27, 2015, 09:37:26 PM
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on April 27, 2015, 09:34:41 PM
What song did Croke Park play for Roscommon over the public address at the final whistle?  T'was hard to make it out on Teilifís.

Baa Baa black sheep?
Post by: Jinxy on April 27, 2015, 09:41:49 PM
Don't stop believing.
Post by: Tubberman on April 27, 2015, 10:12:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 27, 2015, 09:37:26 PM

Baa Baa black sheep?

Followed by The Wheels On The Bus
Post by: trileacman on April 27, 2015, 10:13:24 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 27, 2015, 10:12:11 PM

Baa Baa black sheep?

post of the year contender #42
Post by: Syferus on April 27, 2015, 10:14:49 PM

Baa Baa black sheep?

Well at least the wheels haven't came off our's..
Post by: larryin89 on April 27, 2015, 10:18:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 27, 2015, 10:14:49 PM

Baa Baa black sheep?

Well at least the wheels haven't came off our's..

Untested tyres but .
Post by: whitey on April 28, 2015, 12:29:21 AM
http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/farmer-who-helped-to-steal-300-sheep-avoids-a-jail-term-30112307.html

Nicknames don't come from thin air