GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GrandMasterFlash on March 31, 2015, 10:25:29 AM

Title: Muineachán v Áth Cliath, Páirc Thiarnaigh Naofa, 5ú Aibrean @ 1500
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 31, 2015, 10:25:29 AM
Get the Easter eggs hunted out and ate good'n early lads.. Really looking forward to this one. A win would be great but looking forward to a good match in fortress Clones..

I can't see there being any changes to the Monaghan starting line-up from last week, and why would there be. Good to see Gavin Doogan named in the subs as we need additional mid-field cover in my opinion. Still no mention of Eoin Lennon which is unfortunate as he would also be a valuable asset.

You'd imagine both teams will be fielding 'championship like' line-ups which should make for a good encounter. Dublin could of course blitz us like the did last year and against Mayo this year but I feel it will be a tighter affair than both those encounters..

Title: Re: Muineachán v Áth Cliath, Páirc Thiarnaigh Naofa, 5ú Aibrean @ 1500
Post by: Sleater on March 31, 2015, 11:06:19 AM
It's good to see Paudie McKenna also back in the squad. Eoin Lennon is back training but not match fit yet. Same for Colin Walshe. That only leaves Chris McGuiness and Jack McCarron out injured with McGuinness particularly unlucky with his appendix operation. Squad strength has been serverly tested during this league campaign so it's great to see new players (McAnespie and Boyle) and indeed some fringe players stepping up (O'Connell). I was delighted that Owen Duffy made such an impact against Kerry, he's had a rough two years with injury.

The main thing is Monaghan have avoided relegation. Memories of two successive relegations and the knock on impact they had on those championship seasons would still be very fresh in minds of Monaghan players and supporters. With the upcoming grudge match against Cavan a relegation would have been demoralising. For this game my main worry is that with the pressure of relegation off, Monaghan may not have the same intensity as against Kerry. The Dubs will come to Clones expecting a tough challenge and will be up for it. I hope Monaghan will atone for that abysmal showing in Croke Park last year.
Post by: timmyot501 on March 31, 2015, 01:43:41 PM
Any word on Stephen gollogly. Was surprised that he didn't feature at all last weekend .
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2015, 03:44:59 PM
No hints yet which games TG4 will be showing, live and deferred.

Edit, as Gil Scott Heron might have said, "This game will not be televised"  fxxxxk
This is a game i'd get out of bed for, never mind missing the easter eggs. If the Dubs match our positivity, it should be a good, entertaining and competitive game.
Post by: straightred on March 31, 2015, 03:55:45 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2015, 03:44:59 PM

Edit, as Gil Scott Heron might have said, "This game will not be televised"  fxxxxk
This is a game i'd get out of bed for, never mind missing the easter eggs. If the Dubs match our positivity, it should be a good, entertaining and competitive game.

TG4 advertised coverage for Mayo - Donegal and Tyrone - Kerry last night on their highlights programme
Post by: Niall8100 on March 31, 2015, 04:28:56 PM
Pretty crazy that Monaghan matches haven't received any coverage in the league (live or highlights) since the Cork game. Very annoying when you're not in a position to be able to go to the games!  >:( At least we will this week I suppose.
Post by: timmyot501 on March 31, 2015, 05:39:29 PM
Quote from: Niall8100 on March 31, 2015, 04:28:56 PM
Pretty crazy that Monaghan matches haven't received any coverage in the league (live or highlights) since the Cork game. Very annoying when you're not in a position to be able to go to the games!  >:( At least we will this week I suppose.

Niall8100 - Unfortunately the Mayo game was after the Cork game and it did get plenty of coverage on RTE and the media but for all the wrong reasons from Monaghans point of view.  Thankfully is has been by in large an isolated bad day at the office. 
Post by: Niall8100 on March 31, 2015, 07:42:48 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on March 31, 2015, 05:39:29 PM

Niall8100 - Unfortunately the Mayo game was after the Cork game and it did get plenty of coverage on RTE and the media but for all the wrong reasons from Monaghans point of view.  Thankfully is has been by in large an isolated bad day at the office.

Fair enough, Thinking back I wasn't about to see anything about the Mayo game. Must have been even worse than it sounded if it scared RTE from showing anything from Monaghan games for the next 3 rounds!
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2015, 08:54:41 PM
It's not Monaghan, it's who we are playing. Nobody wants to watch the Dubs after last weeks horror show against Derry. The Dubs are not in vogue right now.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2015, 09:28:41 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 31, 2015, 03:55:45 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 31, 2015, 03:44:59 PM

TG4 advertised coverage for Mayo - Donegal and Tyrone - Kerry last night on their highlights programme
Thanks, I just saw that after I posted  and therefore made an edit to my post.

Post by: Niall8100 on March 31, 2015, 11:27:52 PM
Anyway, hopefully it'll be a good game, Monaghan definitely owe them one from last year's hammering!
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2015, 12:42:49 AM
We owe them one just for the fact that they're Dubs. No further reason is needed.
Dubs fans here probably think it's beneath themselves to acknowledge that this game is upcoming. They feign some pseudo state of indifference, probably just in case they might lose, or there could be some arrogance that this tiddlywinks affair does not constitute the real game, between real players.

Post by: Johnnybegood on April 02, 2015, 08:15:05 AM
The real game happened in Croker last year. Men v boys on that occasion as far as  I remember.
It'll be a lot closer this time! It's actually a great practice game for us for when we play a top blanket team in the summer!
Seriously though Monaghan are goin well and will pose much more of a scoring threat than Derry did.
Should be a good occasion, last time in clones a draw after a great second half comeback by Monaghan if memory serves! The Monaghan crowd in the stand really vocally enjoyed it! Might put a tener on a draw
Post by: heffo on April 02, 2015, 08:38:10 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2015, 12:42:49 AM
Dubs fans here probably think it's beneath themselves to acknowledge that this game is upcoming. They feign some pseudo state of indifference, probably just in case they might lose, or there could be some arrogance that this tiddlywinks affair does not constitute the real game, between real players.

Dublin have won the last two National league Division 1 titles.

Winning it this year does not feature on any targets.

Qualifying for the semi-final gives an extra game where some possibles get another chance to break into the Championship team.

Aside from that, we're safe and no-one could give a fiddlers whether they beat Monaghan Sunday - if you think otherwise you're seriously deluding yourself.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 02, 2015, 09:17:07 PM
1   Rory Beggan
2   Kieran Duffy
3   Drew Wylie
4   Ryan Wylie
5   Fintan Kelly
6   Vinny Corey
7   Karl O'Connell
8   Neil McAdam
9   Darren Hughes
10   Dessie Mone
11   Paul Finlay
12   Owen Duffy
13   Dermot Malone
14   Kieran Hughes
15   Conor McManus

16   Enda Duffy
17   John Mc Carron
18   Paddy Mc Guigan
19   Ryan Mc Anespie
20   Paudie Mc Kenna
21   Dick Clerkin
22   Gavin Doogan
23   Thomas Kerr
24   Shane Carey
25   Stephen Gollogly
26   Daniel McKenna
Post by: INDIANA on April 02, 2015, 09:24:10 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2015, 12:42:49 AM
We owe them one just for the fact that they're Dubs. No further reason is needed.

Not at all - we've bigger fish to fry in August.

Give us a shout if you're up that weekend. If not I'll let you know what TV Station we're on.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 02, 2015, 09:34:40 PM
Main street has gone mad altogether.
Post by: heffo on April 03, 2015, 11:06:39 AM
So Monaghan are flying out for a Donegal-esque foreign warm weather training camp. Well for some.

Have they a Donegal-style foreign fundraising arm or where are they getting all of this money?
Post by: Rossfan on April 03, 2015, 02:52:19 PM
Diesel  ;)
Post by: Schkite on April 03, 2015, 05:07:04 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 03, 2015, 11:06:39 AM
So Monaghan are flying out for a Donegal-esque foreign warm weather training camp. Well for some.

Have they a Donegal-style foreign fundraising arm or where are they getting all of this money?

Jaysus it's hardly that uncommon nowadays for a county team to be going on a break before the championship. Cavan I hear are going on a similar trip to New York.

Sure I remember over ten years ago when Colm Coyle was in charge, Monaghan went to Portugal or somewhere similar(and it was more beering than training in those days), and we've a much better sponsorship deal now.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 03, 2015, 11:21:27 PM
Dublin (NFL v Monaghan) - Stephen Cluxton; Jonny Cooper, Rory O'Carroll, Eoin Culligan; James McCarthy, John Small, Jack McCaffrey; Michael Darragh Macauley, Tomas Brady; Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny; Kevin McManamon, Dean Rock, Bernard Brogan.

That's a strong lookin Dublin team.
Post by: INDIANA on April 03, 2015, 11:27:23 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 03, 2015, 11:21:27 PM
Dublin (NFL v Monaghan) - Stephen Cluxton; Jonny Cooper, Rory O'Carroll, Eoin Culligan; James McCarthy, John Small, Jack McCaffrey; Michael Darragh Macauley, Tomas Brady; Paul Flynn, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny; Kevin McManamon, Dean Rock, Bernard Brogan.

I gave Jim a call and put Main Street's concerns to him that we thought Monaghan were beneath us.

Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 04, 2015, 09:14:58 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 03, 2015, 11:27:23 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 03, 2015, 11:21:27 PM

I gave Jim a call and put Main Street's concerns to him that we thought Monaghan were beneath us.

Harley a concern, in truth..
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 02:59:22 PM
Monaghan v Dublin is delayed due to 3.10pm due to crowd congestion
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 04:39:11 PM
It sounds like it's an impressive performance and an easy win for the Dubs who dished out yet another football lesson. It's like the gap between the rich and the poor, it's just getting bigger.
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 05, 2015, 04:45:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 04:39:11 PM
It sounds like it's an impressive performance and an easy win for the Dubs who dished out yet another football lesson. It's like the gap between the rich and the poor, it's just getting bigger.
itll get even bigger with monaghan going on an overseas training break during the week  ;)
Post by: heffo on April 05, 2015, 04:51:59 PM
Same again next week in the semis
Post by: Sidney on April 05, 2015, 04:58:34 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 05, 2015, 04:51:59 PM
Just what we need. Another facile tanking of a team who clearly can't handle Dublin.

Short odds on a Dublin-Cork final now.
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 05:02:36 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on April 05, 2015, 04:45:55 PM
itll get even bigger with monaghan going on an overseas training break during the week  ;)
Well it beats running up and down drumlins. Where do the Dublin team go? to Bray? caravans in Wexford perhaps? :)
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 05, 2015, 05:05:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 05:02:36 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on April 05, 2015, 04:45:55 PM
Well it beats running up and down drumlins. Where do the Dublin team go? to Bray? caravans in Wexford perhaps? :)
we don't travel  ;D
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 05:12:34 PM
Quote from: Sidney on April 05, 2015, 04:58:34 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 05, 2015, 04:51:59 PM
Just what we need. Another facile tanking of a team who clearly can't handle Dublin.

Short odds on a Dublin-Cork final now.
I would agree with the short odds on Dublin but the Cork Donegal game is very open.
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 05:14:32 PM
It sounded as if there were a fair few Dub supporters who travelled to Clones.
I could hear the boos in the commentary background, I just presume they were Dubs.
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 05, 2015, 05:23:19 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 05:14:32 PM
It sounded as if there were a fair few Dub supporters who travelled to Clones.
I could hear the boos in the commentary background, I just presume they were Dubs.
god bless your hearing, I couldt hear much over the moaning droan from the commentators
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 05:32:38 PM
Northern Sound?  That wasn't a drone commentary, that's saved  for the Cavan games, Cavan folk love their drones. Monaghan commentaries are somewhere between helium gas excitement and a high pitch whine.
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 05, 2015, 05:37:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 05:32:38 PM
Northern Sound?  That wasn't a drone commentary, that's saved  for the Cavan games, Cavan folk love their drones. Monaghan commentaries are somewhere between helium gas excitement and a high pitch whine.
;D ;D
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:12:37 PM
Monaghan looking at two tankings from Dublin two weeks in a row if they don't shape up.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:53:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 06:45:56 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:12:37 PM
Monaghan looking at two tankings from Dublin two weeks in a row if they don't shape up.
But, we'll always have Portugal.

And we do shape up for what it's worth, for 'tis nobler to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune and not hide like cowards in a swarm, afraid to come out and play :)

Haha main street, We tried that nobler crack for years getting walloping after walloping playing "open attractive" football.
Believe me the charm wears thin after a while :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 07:10:08 PM

Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 06:53:39 PM

And we do shape up for what it's worth, for 'tis nobler to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune and not hide like cowards in a swarm, afraid to come out and play :)

Haha main street, We tried that nobler crack for years getting walloping after walloping playing "open attractive" football.
I didn't allude that Monaghan play attractive open football at all, just that we're not cowards, we'll not hide into a state of drone robotic attrition and will face up to whatever happens in a week.
And who knows, maybe the Dubs will just blow all their fuses at once, a spontaneous combustion, a repeat of last years AI sf  :)
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 07:13:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 07:10:08 PM

I didn't allude that Monaghan play attractive open football at all, just that we're not cowards, we'll not hide into a state of drone robotic attrition and will face up to whatever happens in a week.
And who knows, maybe the Dubs will just blow all their fuses at once, a spontaneous combustion, a repeat of last years AI sf  :)

You'll need to expand a bit on the "cowards" part of your post. Donegal have been accused of just about every sin in the footballing lexicon but cowardice is a new one on me.
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 07:25:28 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 07:13:23 PM

You'll need to expand a bit on the "cowards" part of your post. Donegal have been accused of just about every sin in the footballing lexicon but cowardice is a new one on me.
I was accusing Donegal of being cowards? how come you took that interpretation??  :)

I said we would not be cowardly and hide behind attritional tactics to improve our chances.

Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 07:27:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 05, 2015, 07:25:28 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 07:13:23 PM

I was accusing Donegal of being cowards? how come you took that interpretation??  :)

I said we would not be cowardly and hide behind attritional tactics to improve our chances.
No harm, I obviously took it up wrong.
A sensitive Donegal man, whatever next. ::) ::) ::)
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:36:32 PM
Wonder will any other basketball coaches be getting any calls during the week given Dublin's 1-17 from play?
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:42:42 PM
2 very decent saves by Beggan.

And as I type a poor one conceded by Dublin with Cluxton coming off second best under a high ball.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:44:14 PM
O'Rourke must be absolutely delighted about the trip to Dublin next week.

The win over Kerry must seem like a long distant memory for the Monaghan lads now.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:49:40 PM
Looked like the workrate of Dublin around the middle of the field and in Monaghan's half was light years ahead of the Derry game, when Dublin's midfield and forwards let Derry stroll out of defence without laying a hand on them.

Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2015, 08:00:16 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 05, 2015, 07:42:42 PM
2 very decent saves by Beggan.

And as I type a poor one conceded by Dublin with Cluxton coming off second best under a high ball.

Cluxton is getting a bit of a name for not liking high balls. He didn't cover himself in glory for the first Donegal goal in last year's AI semi final either.
Post by: Sleater on April 05, 2015, 08:38:32 PM
When i seen the dublin team line-out the other day, it had the look and feel that they were taking this game very seriously. I was worried monaghan wouldn't be switched one after securing Div 1 status and so it turned out that a more motivated Dublin were far superior. From a monaghan perspective it's very disappointing to get such a trimming with another meek response. Midfield was wiped out. McAdam is a trier but lacks the personality to dominate such an area. He's disciplined and will do a job, but he's just a stop gap until Lennon is match fit. CHB suits him more (as he did in 2013). That was minor though to the general attitude of the team. Defending en masse is fine as long as their is enough support when you attack , which is what the dubs were doing. Too often Monaghan attacked into blind alleys, usually soloing and losing possession. If not that, it was a badly hit pass to a teammate who was isolated. The Dubs forwards flooded forward and were looping little runs to receive passes, always an option.
Post by: INDIANA on April 05, 2015, 10:20:56 PM
Good performance. A lot of choice comments made during the week by some misguided individuals that we wouldn't be taking the game seriously were quite frankly bizarre.
Still next week will be difficult as Monaghan couldn't possibly be as bad as they were today. All the advantages will be with them. We're on a hiding to nothing next week.
Post by: heffo on April 05, 2015, 10:41:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 05, 2015, 10:20:56 PM
Good performance. A lot of choice comments made during the week by some misguided individuals that we wouldn't be taking the game seriously were quite frankly bizarre.
Still next week will be difficult as Monaghan couldn't possibly be as bad as they were today. All the advantages will be with them. We're on a hiding to nothing next week.

Quite ironic that we were castigated for our indifference yet it's now used as an excuse by Monaghan to explain another hiding.

Their full time week of warm weather training will be so huge advantage for next week and with their motivation levels restored you'd expect a Monaghan win next Sunday.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 05, 2015, 10:51:26 PM
With that trimming the day, maybe you see why Derry had to play so defensive last week, a team getting hammered just as bad as a ugly low scoring game
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 11:50:38 AM
The Dubs are good at pressurising the kick-outs, especially good at moving their blanket defence into a blanket attack in an instant and were deadly accurate with point scoring.

But I shouldn't use the term ' blanket defence' to describe anything Dublin, the players are are just...... following orders.

Instead we should say  "Dublin's own half of the field was well marshalled"  or  "Dublin's defensive work-rate...kept Monaghan scoreless for 24 minutes"  "managed to have their own forwards helping out in front of goal."
Jim Gavin explains
"I think they are just following their men,"  "If Monaghan players attack, they have to be followed."
" I don't think we play a defensive game but I do expect our players to follow opposing markers when they go into our half."
Post by: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 12:56:20 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 11:50:38 AM
The Dubs are good at pressurising the kick-outs, especially good at moving their blanket defence into a blanket attack in an instant and were deadly accurate with point scoring.

But I shouldn't use the term ' blanket defence' to describe anything Dublin, the players are are just...... following orders.

Instead we should say  "Dublin's own half of the field was well marshalled"  or  "Dublin's defensive work-rate...kept Monaghan scoreless for 24 minutes"  "managed to have their own forwards helping out in front of goal."
Jim Gavin explains
"I think they are just following their men,"  "If Monaghan players attack, they have to be followed."
" I don't think we play a defensive game but I do expect our players to follow opposing markers when they go into our half."

We don't set-up with 13 men behind the ball.

We play two sweepers when we turnover the ball this year and the rest just follow their men. if they don't attack they stay where they are. Its to guard against another Donegal disaster.

Contrast that with Monaghan- The minute you turnover the ball your middle five and corner forward just run back straight to the D in your own half. The difference was yesterday when Dublin broke the - the first pass was a kick pass which ensured you couldn't get back in time in the first 20 minutes.

You've some chip on your shoulder as regards Dublin. I'll get you a saucer of milk if you need it. With a week's professional training behind you this week you'd expect monaghan to win next week. gods knows what your reaction would be if it was us who went away.
Post by: straightred on April 06, 2015, 01:28:47 PM
After yesterday you'd have to think that the Dubs are getting their act together. Kicked some great scores from play particularily in the 2nd half when I don't think they had many wides. They hadn't many in the first half either come to think of it. Monaghan kicked some terrible wides in the second half and it might have been costly had the other results not went the way they did

Monaghan started sluggish - the goal came from a run the whole length of the pitch when noone seemed to want to put a challenge in. Suddenly they were 5 points down and there was only one team in it. I wasn't in Tralee last week but by all accounts they were great then so its hard to understand what happened them yesterday. I suppose it was opposite with the dubs - they were the other way, i.e. from brutal to great, in a week. i expect the dubs to win again next week but not as easily - hopefully Walshe is ready to return - he was badly missed yesterday.

Finally, the timing of the portugal trip seems strange. They mustn't have expected to get this far in the league or maybe they'll treat it as a bonus pre the championship. Easter week probably suits for getting everyone together but would a few days in an Irish hotel not have done them fine ? They must have plenty of money.
Post by: JoG2 on April 06, 2015, 01:29:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 12:56:20 PM

Jim Gavin explains

So when 13 men are behind the ball during the game, that's just off the cuff thinking by the players? That hasn't been worked on and honed on the training pitch? 2 on 1, 3 on 2 (minimum ratios) with all the channels well covered etc
When reading your posts I hear Pat Spillanes voice
Post by: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 01:36:50 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 06, 2015, 01:29:22 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 12:56:20 PM

Jim Gavin explains

So when 13 men are behind the ball during the game, that's just off the cuff thinking by the players? That hasn't been worked on and honed on the training pitch? 2 on 1, 3 on 2 (minimum ratios) with all the channels well covered etc
When reading your posts I hear Pat Spillanes voice

We don't have a game-plan where we set-up 13 men behind the ball delibarately. Its up to you what you want to believe.

Monaghan had no Plan B when the blanket failed yesterday.
Post by: heffo on April 06, 2015, 01:37:01 PM
Quote from: straightred on April 06, 2015, 01:28:47 PM
After yesterday you'd have to think that the Dubs are getting their act together.

One day they might click and have a bit of success alright.
Post by: straightred on April 06, 2015, 01:49:51 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 06, 2015, 01:37:01 PM
Quote from: straightred on April 06, 2015, 01:28:47 PM
After yesterday you'd have to think that the Dubs are getting their act together.

One day they might click and have a bit of success alright.

Smartarse !
They've put in 2 really good performances in the league (this and Mayo) and  are shaping up really well for the summer. Pity donegal got that equaliser yesterday - i'd have much preferred meeting Cork next week
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 03:16:28 PM
We don't call it the blanket defence in Dublin  it's just a coincidence that we are all there together in our own half, after following the monaghan players around.  It's not a deliberate tactic, it just happens and  we don't intend for this to happen. It's a spontaneous blanket defence formation in response to monaghan's temerity to enter our half of the field.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 06, 2015, 03:53:46 PM
Dublin were every bit as defensive as Monaghan yesterday, the biggest difference is that they were able to shoot from distance right over the top of the defence (with some fantastic shots).

Very few positives from a Monaghan perspective, but good performances from Beggan, K Duffy, D Hughes and O Duffy.
Post by: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 04:08:13 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 03:16:28 PM
We don't call it the blanket defence in Dublin  it's just a coincidence that we are all there together in our own half, after following the monaghan players around.  It's not a deliberate tactic, it just happens and  we don't intend for this to happen. It's a spontaneous blanket defence formation in response to monaghan's temerity to enter our half of the field.

Well done it took a while- but you got there in the end. Give us a shout when you can score 1-22 playing a blanket defence.

Post by: Maguire01 on April 06, 2015, 06:41:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 04:08:13 PM

Well done it took a while- but you got there in the end. Give us a shout when you can score 1-22 playing a blanket defence.
If you can break fast and score from the 45 then you can do it. You just need to have enough players who can shoot from distance. Dublin have, most counties don't.
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 11:00:20 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 06, 2015, 06:41:31 PM

If you can break fast and score from the 45 then you can do it. You just need to have enough players who can shoot from distance. Dublin have, most counties don't.
Indiana appears to assume that  a blanket defence, is a team is always intent on being stuck in their own half  and rarely attacks. That's a misconception or a simple generalisation.
If Monaghan rarely attacked, how come the dub players were all in their own half, dub  forwards defending in front of their own goal and with Jim Gavin rueing when they didn't defend in numbers, letting  Monaghan score a bit at the end,

To repeat for Indiana's sake, for he might have blinded by emotion earlier.
Dublin defend in numbers, blanket numbers, 14 players in their half (even against a small, primitive, rural team like Monaghan), can defend well,  can switch from defence to attack in a flash and score points with great accuracy from distance. Add that to pressurising the kick outs, pressure on the ball all over the pitch and you have a formidable team, almost ice bath invincible.
Post by: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 11:12:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 11:00:20 PM

Indiana appears to assume that  a blanket defence, is a team is always intent on being stuck in their own half  and rarely attacks. That's a misconception or a simple generalisation.
If Monaghan rarely attacked, how come the dub players were all in their own half, dub  forwards defending in front of their own goal and with Jim Gavin rueing when they didn't defend in numbers, letting  Monaghan score a bit at the end,

Dublin defend in numbers, blanket numbers, 14 players in their half (even against a small, primitive, rural team like Monaghan), can defend well,  can switch from defence to attack in a flash and score points with great accuracy from distance. Add that to pressurising the kick outs, pressure on the ball all over the pitch and you have a formidable team, almost ice bath invincible.

All of your posts unfortunately are undermined by the clearly obvious inferiority complex you have. Its quite childish at this stage.

Monaghan don't break that well because you only ever have two forwards in your own half. We break better because we keep four up front it really is that simple.
Post by: Whitnail on April 07, 2015, 03:15:16 AM
In fairness i think dublin are playing an 'evolved' blanket defence without having started from the stereotypical blanket background.

Alot of men back. sometimes with 1 man (2 at a stretch) in the other half with up to 12 guys sprinting forward on turnovers.

Monaghan have. really struggled to break the half way line against the dubs but seem to be able to do it against most others cause I think they are over cautious against em and are wary of commiting too many forward.

I feel dublin are playing a style/system now that McGuinness (donegal) never got around to cause it takes time to evolve these things & maybe he felt there still wasn't enough quality to implement it.
-
Personally I dont think we(donegal) need to play a rigid blanket anymore as there is more confidence & ability there now & I would really like to see Gallagher move the thing forward by pressing higher up . All counties should  have a plan b.

Monaghan are a bit rigid at the moment , but I can understand why as the way they play has moved them from top 12 to top 6(ish) in just 3 years
Post by: Canalman on April 07, 2015, 09:20:52 AM
A bit of ropeadoping by Monaghan at the weekend imo. Definitely the one team needing the win more and scoreline reflected that.

Will be different next weekend with Dublin back from the training week away. Or is it Monaghan away??? Can't be ...................
Post by: Maguire01 on April 07, 2015, 10:01:06 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 06, 2015, 11:12:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2015, 11:00:20 PM

All of your posts unfortunately are undermined by the clearly obvious inferiority complex you have. Its quite childish at this stage.

Monaghan don't break that well because you only ever have two forwards in your own half. We break better because we keep four up front it really is that simple.
We're you at the game on Sunday? From where I was sitting Dublin had as many men behind the ball as Monaghan.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 07, 2015, 10:03:33 AM
Did anyone get a clear view on Dessie Mone's black card? Thought he was on for a free and really surprised when the card was shown. Did he pull his man down with him?
Post by: Sleater on April 07, 2015, 10:41:58 AM
Defensively Dublin were impressive. They remind me of the Tyrone team of the 00's. They swarm in defence and attack and break with such pace. On top of that they've developed patience to pass around and look for the openings, not afraid to shoot from distance. For a long time it was depressing to see Monaghan had just scored 6 pts before that late spurt. Dublin defend in numbers and it's hard to break down especially when you're build up play is slow and lacking in support which Monaghan did. Malachy O'Rourke ain't no mug and I'm sure he'll have noticed that too. Dublin can be beaten but it will take huge levels of fitness and intensity to match Dublin's swarming. That intensity was missing from Monaghan at the weekend. I honestly don't think they'll have it for the Div 1 semi-final either. The Cavan game is on the horizon and that's going to be the focus for Monaghan. I have a feeling O'Rourke will change the line up around to give some lads a game ahead of Ulster SFC.
Post by: Boycey on April 07, 2015, 12:37:31 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 07, 2015, 10:03:33 AM
Did anyone get a clear view on Dessie Mone's black card? Thought he was on for a free and really surprised when the card was shown. Did he pull his man down with him?

I was an awful long way from it but I thought Dessie was the instigator of whatever took place. All around me was baying for a Monaghan free but I turned to my mate and said Dessies in bother here. I actually thought he'd gotten a red card
Post by: straightred on April 07, 2015, 03:39:27 PM
Quote from: Sleater on April 07, 2015, 10:41:58 AM
Defensively Dublin were impressive. They remind me of the Tyrone team of the 00's. They swarm in defence and attack and break with such pace. On top of that they've developed patience to pass around and look for the openings, not afraid to shoot from distance. For a long time it was depressing to see Monaghan had just scored 6 pts before that late spurt. Dublin defend in numbers and it's hard to break down especially when you're build up play is slow and lacking in support which Monaghan did. Malachy O'Rourke ain't no mug and I'm sure he'll have noticed that too. Dublin can be beaten but it will take huge levels of fitness and intensity to match Dublin's swarming. That intensity was missing from Monaghan at the weekend. I honestly don't think they'll have it for the Div 1 semi-final either. The Cavan game is on the horizon and that's going to be the focus for Monaghan. I have a feeling O'Rourke will change the line up around to give some lads a game ahead of Ulster SFC.

Maybe so but they really can't afford another hiding going into the Championship. You could write off last years Dublin game as a one off coming on the back of a gruelling extra time victory over Kildare. Pushing the boundaries a bit you could write off Sunday given that they had survived Div 1 and were heading on their hols the next day. However another bad beating from the Dubs will well and truely make them their bogey team in the same way that that tyrone were for years. If they line up not believing they can win then they won't win and it could end badly.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on April 08, 2015, 12:10:53 AM

Was sitting right beside it. Mone grabbed Flynn around the neck and pulled him down as Flynn tried to tackle him. Silly thing to do by Mone and certainly free for Dublin. Don't really see how ref awarded black card for it though.
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 08, 2015, 08:19:11 AM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on April 08, 2015, 12:10:53 AM

Was sitting right beside it. Mone grabbed Flynn around the neck and pulled him down as Flynn tried to tackle him. Silly thing to do by Mone and certainly free for Dublin. Don't really see how ref awarded black card for it though.
intentional pull down = black card
Post by: Jinxy on April 08, 2015, 05:06:39 PM

I wasn't there, nor did I see it on telly, but I'm pretty sure he did.
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 08, 2015, 06:17:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 08, 2015, 05:06:39 PM

I wasn't there, nor did I see it on telly, but I'm pretty sure he did.
for a meath man that's not half bad
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2015, 02:11:18 PM
Monaghan Team the same as the last day

1   Rory Beggan
2   Kieran Duffy
3   Drew Wylie
4   Ryan Wylie
5   Fintan Kelly
6   Vinny Corey
7   Karl O'Connell
8   Neil McAdam
9   Darren Hughes
10   Dessie Mone
11   Paul Finlay
12   Owen Duffy
13   Dermot Malone
14   Kieran Hughes
15   Conor McManus
16   Enda Duffy
17   John Mc Carron
18   Paddy Mc Guigan
19   Ryan Mc Anespie
20   Paudie Mc Kenna
21   Dick Clerkin
22   Gavin Doogan
23   Thomas Kerr
24   Shane Carey
25   Stephen Gollogly
26   Daniel McKenna
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 10, 2015, 04:13:58 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 10, 2015, 02:11:18 PM

1   Rory Beggan
2   Kieran Duffy
3   Drew Wylie
4   Ryan Wylie
5   Fintan Kelly
6   Vinny Corey
7   Karl O'Connell
8   Neil McAdam
9   Darren Hughes
10   Dessie Mone
11   Paul Finlay
12   Owen Duffy
13   Dermot Malone
14   Kieran Hughes
15   Conor McManus
16   Enda Duffy
17   John Mc Carron
18   Paddy Mc Guigan
19   Ryan Mc Anespie
20   Paudie Mc Kenna
21   Dick Clerkin
22   Gavin Doogan
23   Thomas Kerr
24   Shane Carey
25   Stephen Gollogly
26   Daniel McKenna

Colin Walshe still not named in the subs. I was watching him during the warm up last Sunday and thought he was still a bit gingerly on the turn.. Yet, the lads behind me were saying he's ready to go?

I'd like to see Doogan get some game time. I don't think McAdam offers enough and thought he was well out of his depth last week. I'm not sure if Clerkin has the fitness but he might be a better option either to physically compete with the Dubs in mid-field, for 45-50 mins anyway.

I think all Monaghan fans want to see a performance and the intensity levels we know are achievable by the team, as they were well off the pace last week in my humble opinion.

Looking forward to it all the same; it's not every year you get to a division 1 league semi final in Croker, against the Dubs..

Post by: Bingo on April 10, 2015, 05:36:34 PM
Absolutely nothing to gain from playing Walshe at any stage in this game after his injury and lay off.

Cavan game is six weeks away. Let him play a few club games if he is needing fitness closer the time but throwing back into a game V Dublin in Croke Park would be unfair on him.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 10, 2015, 05:41:31 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on April 10, 2015, 04:13:58 PM
Colin Walshe still not named in the subs. I was watching him during the warm up last Sunday and thought he was still a bit gingerly on the turn.. Yet, the lads behind me were saying he's ready to go?

I'd like to see Doogan get some game time. I don't think McAdam offers enough and thought he was well out of his depth last week. I'm not sure if Clerkin has the fitness but he might be a better option either to physically compete with the Dubs in mid-field, for 45-50 mins anyway.

I think all Monaghan fans want to see a performance and the intensity levels we know are achievable by the team, as they were well off the pace last week in my humble opinion.

Looking forward to it all the same; it's not every year you get to a division 1 league semi final in Croker, against the Dubs..

Can't help but think the team naming was a copy and paste job from last week's lineup by whoever was left behind to mind the store while the team went off on the training camp.

As you say a decent performance is the key, especially after last week.

Post by: Main Street on April 10, 2015, 09:52:24 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on April 08, 2015, 08:19:11 AM
Quote from: Hill16 Blues on April 08, 2015, 12:10:53 AM

intentional pull down = black card
He was just (intentionally) getting his retaliation in first.
Post by: heffo on April 10, 2015, 10:19:46 PM
How did the Monaghan lads get on in Lanzarote?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 10, 2015, 10:23:25 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 10, 2015, 10:19:46 PM
How did the Monaghan lads get on in Lanzarote?

Not sure, but the Monaghan team and management were in Portugal and had fierce craic altogether; blocked every night apparently.

Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2015, 08:11:50 PM
If we manage to hit a purple patch, scoring  from those many long range shots on goal, over the heads of those 14 or so reluctant Dubs who didn't set themselves out to be in that part of the pitch at all,  that might go a long way to reducing the scoreboard gap.

However we  won't sully the Dubs again by referring to their blanket defence, instead we can refer to it as the inadvertent defence.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 11, 2015, 11:14:59 PM
some laugh if Monaghan beat the dubs in croker the mor, after 2 hammerings Dublin will be going in overconfident, though a weeks heavy training wouldn't have done Monaghan any favours
Post by: Johnnybegood on April 12, 2015, 01:35:13 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 11, 2015, 11:14:59 PM
some laugh if Monaghan beat the dubs in croker the mor, after 2 hammerings Dublin will be going in overconfident, though a weeks heavy training wouldn't have done Monaghan any favours
hopes and excuses combo?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 12, 2015, 02:55:25 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 10, 2015, 02:11:18 PM
If it ain't broke...  :P
Post by: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 03:54:52 PM
Changes to Monaghan Team: 23 Thomas Kerr for 3 Drew Wylie and 19 Ryan McAnespie for 13 Dermot Malone
Post by: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 04:00:12 PM
TEAM NEWS:

david byrne starts for O'Carroll

kevin mc starts for bernard brogan
Post by: Maguire01 on April 12, 2015, 04:00:38 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 03:54:52 PM
Changes to Monaghan Team: 23 Thomas Kerr for 3 Drew Wylie and 19 Ryan McAnespie for 13 Dermot Malone
Those changes don't help our physical presence.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 12, 2015, 04:02:20 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 12, 2015, 04:00:38 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 03:54:52 PM
Those changes don't help our physical presence.

It's broken :)
Post by: twohands!!! on April 12, 2015, 04:38:06 PM
Dublin shot 9 from 19 while Monaghan shot 7 from 11 in that half.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 12, 2015, 04:40:26 PM
An improvement on last week, but if Dublin were more accurate in their shooting...
Post by: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 04:41:49 PM
Not a great game which is just meandering along. Monaghan will be happy enough I guess but hard to see them outpointing Dublin so may need a goal or two to win it and so far they haven't threatened that.
Post by: rrhf on April 12, 2015, 05:11:38 PM
Fine game stop talking about good and bad and just enjoy it. UK on the other channel for those who worry about the games future.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 12, 2015, 05:12:46 PM
Game on.

Fair dues to Monaghan after the tanking they took last Sunday
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2015, 05:18:20 PM
Kieran Hughes having a massive game.
Post by: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 05:18:28 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 12, 2015, 05:11:38 PM
Fine game stop talking about good and bad and just enjoy it. UK on the other channel for those who worry about the games future.

We'll talk about what we like if it's all the same to you.

QuoteGame on.

Fair dues to Monaghan after the tanking they took last Sunday

Yes, they've been excellent this half and McManus has been inspired.
Post by: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 05:25:01 PM
Can't believe Dean Rock has been left on with some many forwards getting substituted other than his frees he seems to offer nothing.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 12, 2015, 05:26:06 PM
G you went and awoke that sleeping bear
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 12, 2015, 05:36:00 PM
Unlucky Monaghan deserved at least a draw.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 12, 2015, 06:15:38 PM
Plenty of positives to take from this game. 16 points was a decent return, no goals leaked, continued great league campaign from Ryan Wylie, best game in some time from Kieran Hughes, a few lovely points from Clerkin shows he still has something to offer, McManus with some amazing scores...

Overall a positive league campaign (performed well above expectations) and importantly no sign of an any new injuries today. All about the Cavan game now.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 12, 2015, 06:42:06 PM
Some performance from McManus today; unlucky to end up on the losing side.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 12, 2015, 06:46:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 12, 2015, 05:25:01 PM
Can't believe Dean Rock has been left on with some many forwards getting substituted other than his frees he seems to offer nothing.

I'd agree his general play has been lacking, but he's been very good with frees.  1-42 in 8 games-0-34 from placed balls, apparently.
Post by: Main Street on April 12, 2015, 06:54:28 PM
A good 2nd half from Monaghan, after a horror first half where Dub defenders stuck like superglue to McManus etc, where Dub forwards were a yard ahead of their markers, where the dub attack were weaving some lovely patterns and where they won most every Monaghan kick out and retained possession from their own. In the end  it was very disappointing to lose but good to make some progress to have the game in the balance right to the last kick.
All in all, a very good league campaign and now we can look forward to Cavan and accept nothing less than another Ulster final appearance.

Post by: heffo on April 12, 2015, 08:42:15 PM
Fair play to Monaghan for their improved showing after their warm weather camp.

Had they a bit more self-belief they might have kicked on and won it.

Couldn't really care if we win in two weeks, was important Kilkenny & Dean Rock got lots of game time and another run out in two weeks.
Post by: heffo on April 12, 2015, 08:44:25 PM
Ps, how are RTE still employing Martin McHugh - he makes Tommy Lyons & Tony Davis look like well researched and informed analysts.
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2015, 08:54:07 PM
Himself and Dessie Dolan are beyond woeful.
Post by: redzone on April 12, 2015, 08:59:32 PM
canavan is the best ive seen
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 12, 2015, 11:30:58 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 12, 2015, 08:42:15 PM
Fair play to Monaghan for their improved showing after their warm weather camp.

Yawn!

Thanks for the complement however and good luck in the final.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 13, 2015, 12:54:26 PM
All the game stats here

https://twitter.com/dontfoul/status/587583102714806272/photo/1 (https://twitter.com/dontfoul/status/587583102714806272/photo/1)