Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hereiam on March 25, 2015, 08:27:02 PM

Title: GAA General discussion Board
Post by: Hereiam on March 25, 2015, 08:27:02 PM
Lads i have been a long time reader and contributor to this board for a long time. It was a source of good information and guidance on a range of topics. It was also fun at times with some good laugh out loud moments.
Lately the board has become nothing more than a place for a select few who hijack threads to insult and rile each other.
The general board has become a pain in the ass to read and is being ruined by a handful of posters and if the mods dont do something soon it will kill this discussion board

Rant over
Title: Re: GAA General discussion Board
Post by: Boycey on March 25, 2015, 08:52:02 PM
Fair enough statement..
Post by: ziggysego on March 25, 2015, 08:55:40 PM
I'm in agreement.
Post by: laoislad on March 25, 2015, 09:14:45 PM
I blame the Nordies.
Post by: stiffler on March 25, 2015, 09:16:40 PM
Hasn't been the same since our nail loney & corn02 were forced out.
Post by: screenexile on March 25, 2015, 09:21:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 25, 2015, 08:55:40 PM
I'm in agreement.

Can you not do something about it???

As you are a mod??
Post by: ziggysego on March 25, 2015, 09:27:42 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 25, 2015, 09:21:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 25, 2015, 08:55:40 PM
I'm in agreement.

Can you not do something about it???

As you are a mod??

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/screenexile_zpseqlhnyda.jpg)
Post by: Orior on March 25, 2015, 10:10:09 PM
(http://imagizer.imageshack.us/a/img673/3483/kKf5YR.jpg)
Post by: JoG2 on March 25, 2015, 10:19:17 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 25, 2015, 09:14:45 PM
I blame the Nordies.

Add one trick ponies to the banned list when ye's are at it Mods
Post by: maigheo on March 25, 2015, 10:20:59 PM
I think some of  the Rossies should take a fair portion of the blame and with there teams on the rise they will only get worse :-[ :-[
Post by: muppet on March 25, 2015, 10:30:08 PM
FFS do you all still believe in the existence of Mod?

Has any of you ever seen Mod? Some of the early posters talk of there being a Mod, but though many have written about Mod, none were first hand accounts. Mod, afaik, has never written a book himself. So how can we be sure there is a Mod?

Post by: laoislad on March 25, 2015, 10:51:35 PM
I blame the Dubs.
Post by: ziggysego on March 25, 2015, 11:03:17 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 25, 2015, 10:10:09 PM
(http://imagizer.imageshack.us/a/img673/3483/kKf5YR.jpg)

haha

(http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m39su99GyB1qclb0e.gif)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 25, 2015, 11:57:54 PM
This lad is even more hysterical than Gallsman !
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2015, 12:11:54 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 25, 2015, 08:27:02 PM
Lads i have been a long time reader and contributor to this board for a long time. It was a source of good information and guidance on a range of topics. It was also fun at times with some good laugh out loud moments.
Lately the board has become nothing more than a place for a select few who hijack threads to insult and rile each other.
The general board has become a pain in the ass to read and is being ruined by a handful of posters and if the mods dont do something soon it will kill this discussion board

Rant over

Barely spend more than 10 mins  a week on here for the same reason.

Not complaining about it - the gaaboard isn't important - but the explanation given above is spot on. The same people argue about the same things, fruitlessly hoping their words of wisdom over and over again will finally break the resolve of the other. Utterly pointless and brain-aching. Sorta took whatever crack there was in it and worded it into submission.

But, as the man says, ye don't have to read it and that's true I suppose.

Where's has the irreverence, the slagging (slegging) and good oul shit-talk gone?

Just noticed this quality post by Sidney, by wading through the crap, which went completely unnoticed...sums it up - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=20748.msg1448698#msg1448698 - that's feckin brilliant.

You can usually weigh up a poster and make your point in 2 posts if you feel strongly about it.....anything beyond that staggers into boredom.

Ziggy should place a 2-post cap on topics and also have a w**ker of the week thread. I nominate Ziggy. Also, anyone who makes the same point twice sits in the sin bin for a week.

And while you're at it ziggy - you haven't done a mywayaccess risk assessment of the general discussion thread.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 26, 2015, 12:30:00 AM
Things went downhill when the Tyrone lads started taking themselves too seriously.

Up to then you could have some craic.
Post by: charlieTully on March 26, 2015, 12:48:56 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6rahFZwCUA
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 26, 2015, 07:46:31 AM
That post by Sidney is a gem. :D
Post by: seafoid on March 26, 2015, 07:47:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 26, 2015, 12:11:54 AM

Rant over

Not complaining about it - the gaaboard isn't important - but the explanation given above is spot on. The same people argue about the same things, fruitlessly hoping their words of wisdom over and over again will finally break the resolve of the other. Utterly pointless and brain-aching. Sorta took whatever crack there was in it and worded it into submission.

Where's has the irreverence, the slagging (slegging) and good oul shit-talk gone?

Just noticed this quality post by Sidney, by wading through the crap, which went completely unnoticed...sums it up - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=20748.msg1448698#msg1448698 - that's feckin brilliant.

You can usually weigh up a poster and make your point in 2 posts if you feel strongly about it.....anything beyond that staggers into boredom.

Ziggy should place a 2-post cap on topics and also have a w**ker of the week thread. I nominate Ziggy. Also, anyone who makes the same point twice sits in the sin bin for a week.

And while you're at it ziggy - you haven't done a mywayaccess risk assessment of the general discussion thread.
This internet board discussion topic is very similar to religious discussions based around the notion that everything has gone to pot. See ISIS for details.  A few crucifixions and bob's your uncle. 

In internet terms the time spans are obviously compressed since there was no gaaboard in 400 BC- the  golden age can be max 15 years ago when every post was hilarious but it's basically related to how our brains work- we forget all the mediocrity of the past and just focus on the good bits.

http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2015/apr/02/slouching-toward-mecca/

"Cultural pessimism is as old as human culture and has a long history in Europe. Hesiod thought that he was living in the age of iron; Cato the Elder blamed Greek philosophy for corrupting the young; Saint Augustine exposed the pagan decadence responsible for Rome's collapse; the Protestant reformers felt themselves to be living in the Great Tribulation; French royalists blamed Rousseau and Voltaire for the Revolution; and just about everyone blamed Nietzsche for the two world wars"

Post by: JoG2 on March 26, 2015, 09:33:45 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 25, 2015, 10:51:35 PM
I blame the Dubs.

:-)
Post by: deiseach on March 26, 2015, 09:50:37 AM
I'd agree with seafoid only I'd then be accused of washing his balls, as the genocidal imperialist Americans would say.
Post by: seafoid on March 26, 2015, 11:14:08 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 26, 2015, 09:50:37 AM
I'd agree with seafoid only I'd then be accused of washing his balls, as the genocidal imperialist Americans would say.
Stay away from me for your own good, Deiseach and vote GOP. Otherwise guilt by association. 
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 26, 2015, 11:31:33 AM
Agree with OP although twitter has to take most of the blame regarding lack of numbers
Post by: Hardy on March 26, 2015, 11:46:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 26, 2015, 12:11:54 AMThe same people argue about the same things, fruitlessly hoping their words of wisdom over and over again will finally break the resolve of the other.

Goway outta dat. I remember trying to explain to you the futility of believing in a supreme deity. Now you're an atheist. Fruitless?

The case for John McDermott v. Peter Canavan may take a little longer, fair enough.
Post by: deiseach on March 26, 2015, 11:51:41 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 26, 2015, 11:46:40 AM
The case for John McDermott v. Peter Canavan may take a little longer, fair enough.

Didn't you hear? That one is settled. Ahem.
Post by: ziggysego on March 26, 2015, 12:16:15 PM

Rant over

Spot on. Rarely come on here now as I'm sick of the non-stop bitchiness about the same thing.

And I did miss the the post by Sidney - brilliant.

No provisions made for the visually impaired, so a big fail on that grounds ONeill.
Post by: Itchy on March 26, 2015, 06:08:02 PM
Lock all the old farts in this thread and let them reminisce on the good old days like Pat Spillane and the wonderous 70s.
Post by: bennydorano on March 26, 2015, 07:57:39 PM
The half dozen quasi-religious threads on the go at any one time with the auto-repeat circular arguments are definite last straw material. I dont even blame Fearon, it's the normally sensible people who perpetuate the vicious circle by engaging him.
Post by: CiKe on March 26, 2015, 08:27:15 PM
Couldn't agree more. Don't contribute much but been reading for a long time. Have found myself lately just skimming threads when previously would have read everything. How does the "Ignore" function work? Even with just skimming there are a few prime candidates that stand out - Mike Sheehy, Foxcommander, Gallsman - here is looking at you. No doubt there are a few more. I don't know if you probably think you're funny or defending the one incontrovertible truth or will just come out with the old defense that you're only on the windup but f*ck me is a proper pain in the hole watching you b*tch at each other.

Thanks Hereiam, feel much better after that.
Post by: foxcommander on March 26, 2015, 09:50:25 PM
Quote from: CiKe on March 26, 2015, 08:27:15 PM
Couldn't agree more. Don't contribute much but been reading for a long time. Have found myself lately just skimming threads when previously would have read everything. How does the "Ignore" function work? Even with just skimming there are a few prime candidates that stand out - Mike Sheehy, Foxcommander, Gallsman - here is looking at you. No doubt there are a few more. I don't know if you probably think you're funny or defending the one incontrovertible truth or will just come out with the old defense that you're only on the windup but f*ck me is a proper pain in the hole watching you b*tch at each other.

Thanks Hereiam, feel much better after that.

My apologies princess.
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2015, 10:01:30 PM
The debates about Clerical Abuse and Gay Marriage were topical and conducted with intellect and politeness for the most part.Amid the relevant individual threads about various soccer threads,and banalities like favourite strap lines from ads etc they were refreshing.

If anything the content is more diverse these days.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2015, 11:03:33 PM
Yeah, the more there is diverse it gets.

I'll get my foot.
Post by: BennyCake on March 26, 2015, 11:05:36 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 25, 2015, 09:14:45 PM
I blame the Nordies.

I blame the Planters in Queens County.
Post by: Premier Emperor on March 27, 2015, 09:42:07 AM
How about banning religious discussion?
Post by: Maguire01 on March 27, 2015, 10:14:19 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on March 27, 2015, 09:42:07 AM
How about banning religious discussion?
Why? Just avoid the threads you're not interested in. I'm not interested in soccer, so I avoid those threads... and they significantly outnumber those where religion is discussed.
Post by: Esmarelda on March 27, 2015, 10:19:34 AM
I'm relatively new to the board although I read it a lot before I first posted.

I find a lot of the debates informative. For example, the same-sex marriage thread was much more informative than any TV debate on the issue that I saw. Ditto the GAA coverage going to Sky Sports.

As I sad on one of my earliest posts, what takes away from the board is people concerned with being right rather than being informed. Also, personal abuse from an anonymous person behind a keyboard is similar to abusing a ref from the stand.
Post by: Premier Emperor on March 27, 2015, 10:20:54 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on March 27, 2015, 10:19:34 AM
Also, personal abuse from an anonymous person behind a keyboard is similar to abusing a ref from the stand.
Abusing refs is an essential part of the GAA.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2015, 04:33:18 PM
Like most I suspect, I spend a lot less time on here than I used to. I suppose that is down to the fact that as the years creep by, a certain amount of maturity (yes, even in my case) creeps in, and  things that exercised you in the past seem a lot less important as one gains an ever increasing sense of perspective.

There have been some informative debates recently and these have largely rancour free, which is not a bad thing in my opinion. Although I don't post nearly as often, there wouldn't be a day goes by that I don't dp in here to see what's going on.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2015, 06:38:16 PM
"Although I don't post nearly as often, there wouldn't be a day goes by that I don't dp"

Hmmm.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2015, 06:50:31 PM
Surely you deduced I inadvertently omitted an i in "dip"
Post by: foxcommander on March 27, 2015, 06:52:55 PM
Poor Mrs Fearon....  :o
Post by: muppet on March 27, 2015, 07:32:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2015, 06:50:31 PM

"dip" is definitely a word I would associate with you.  :D
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2015, 07:45:11 PM
Learn the correct spelling of definitely.
Post by: muppet on March 27, 2015, 07:47:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2015, 07:45:11 PM
Learn the correct spelling of definitely.

From the man who can't spell 'dip' and inappropriately uses inverted commas.
Post by: Orior on March 27, 2015, 09:19:39 PM
Freudian dip Master Fearon?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2015, 09:41:24 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 27, 2015, 07:32:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2015, 06:50:31 PM

"dip" is definitely a word I would associate with you.  :D

Don't you mean "div?"
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2015, 08:34:18 AM
The board can't be scintillating 24/7. Nothing can. Too much dopamine is dangerous anyway.
But it is a good community and every so often it's unmissable. Discussions like the depression thread are as good as the best journalism.

Another thing is sharing our passion for GAA. I was watching the sunday game intro from 2013 on youtube and there is a bit where a kildare fan bursts into tears. That reminded me of the Kildare lads here. It's not easy on the emotions to be a fan but sharing the disappointment helps a bit.

Post by: trileacman on March 28, 2015, 01:58:48 PM
Thread complaining about the board being hijacked by a small minority of sociopaths who mistakenly think they're funny is hijacked by a small minority of sociopaths who think they're funny.
Post by: Don Johnson on March 28, 2015, 03:54:32 PM
Very rarely check it nowadays myself. Have been reading the board for about ten years now (even though this username has only covered the last few years), used to check it every day regularly for the craic etc.
Post by: theticklemister on March 28, 2015, 06:15:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2015, 08:34:18 AM
The board can't be scintillating 24/7. Nothing can. Too much dopamine is dangerous anyway.
But it is a good community and every so often it's unmissable. Discussions like the depression thread are as good as the best journalism.

Another thing is sharing our passion for GAA. I was watching the sunday game intro from 2013 on youtube and there is a bit where a kildare fan bursts into tears. That reminded me of the Kildare lads here. It's not easy on the emotions to be a fan but sharing the disappointment helps a bit.

Yip, the. Kildare lads are a shower of crying hoors.
Post by: Under Lights on March 31, 2015, 08:22:45 AM
Have you noticed that there are not less posts per page in order to make the threads look more bulky than they actually are.

Post by: Hardy on March 31, 2015, 09:08:57 AM
What I have noticed is that the number of unintelligible posts continues to increase.
Post by: Under Lights on March 31, 2015, 10:21:58 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 31, 2015, 09:08:57 AM
What I have noticed is that the number of unintelligible posts continues to increase.

Well you have been posting more lately.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 31, 2015, 10:30:21 AM
I think there's some great threads here in the general discussions, cycling, running, depression etc, all very good and sound lads there that don't drag it down