GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 07:48:14 PM

Title: Roscommon v Galway div.2
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 07:48:14 PM
Massive stakes in the Hyde next Sunday for both teams, Rossies win they would almost certainly be promoted and Galway would find themselves with one foot in div 3, outside of championship I cannot remember a bigger game between these provincial rivals, many questions hang over both teams, some will be answered on Sunday, some hearts will be broken,cant wait, remember early throw in 1.30.
Title: Re: Roscommon v Galway div.2
Post by: Tubberman on March 23, 2015, 08:29:27 PM
Hearts will be broken!?
Ffs Rossies, get a grip! It's definitely one of the stories of the league, but championship is still the be all and end all.
Pace yourselves, the leaves aren't on the trees yet.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 08:40:36 PM
Ye would know all about broken hearts all right, in fact ye know about nothing else.
Post by: muppet on March 23, 2015, 08:57:38 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 08:40:36 PM
Ye would know all about broken hearts all right, in fact ye know about nothing else.

This from lads who can't even get into the dance.  ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2015, 09:46:09 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 08:40:36 PM

So too would ye I imagine...
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on March 23, 2015, 09:48:33 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 07:48:14 PM
Massive stakes in the Hyde next Sunday for both teams, Rossies win they would almost certainly be promoted and Galway would find themselves with one foot in div 3, outside of championship I cannot remember a bigger game between these provincial rivals, many questions hang over both teams, some will be answered on Sunday, some hearts will be broken,cant wait, remember early throw in 1.30.

Fair play to you. Take it as seriously as you like. Christ, you're meant to care, aren't you? Isn't that the point? The Rossies are some of the proudest men out there. More power to them - up to a  point, of course.

Oh, and you can dream on about Ballagh.
Post by: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 09:55:41 PM
This is a really interesting game, if I wasn't goin to Cork Id head to hyde for this. On form you'd expect Roscommon to take care of Galway but with the Corofin lads back and the desperate need for points we might see a very different Galway team .

The way roscommon are finishing games is very impressive , six points down to Kildare at half time and then win by six , pulled away from meath too after trailing by three points 2/3 of the game played. They are seriously fit and hungry and are growing in confidence.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 10:08:01 PM
Ballagh will be dreaming about us or should I say nightmares along with all rhuberbs, but remember there are some great Rossies in ballagh and we know it, best of luck down in cork, another long road home, the temperature is rising for the championship lads, its going to be some crack win or lose.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 23, 2015, 10:10:28 PM
Fair play to you larryin89. At least you addresred the topic of the thread. Some of your fellow countymen come on spouting the same bullshit as usual. One trick ponies.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 23, 2015, 10:26:31 PM
Here here to that shrewdness
Post by: twohands!!! on March 23, 2015, 10:31:36 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 09:55:41 PM
This is a really interesting game, if I wasn't goin to Cork Id head to hyde for this. On form you'd expect Roscommon to take care of Galway but with the Corofin lads back and the desperate need for points we might see a very different Galway team .

The way roscommon are finishing games is very impressive , six points down to Kildare at half time and then win by six , pulled away from meath too after trailing by three points 2/3 of the game played. They are seriously fit and hungry and are growing in confidence.

Combine this with Galway's poor 2nd half showings - they have been up by 6, 5 and 6 points at half-time in their last three games and ending up losing all 3 by 1, 2 and 6 points. Oof !!
Post by: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 11:00:20 PM
Sure would we have it any other way than riling the neighbours. If you're not doing that you're irrelevant.

Real swing game this weekend. A win for us puts us very close to promotion, a loss for Galway puts them in a very dangerous spot entering the last weekend. If we lose then the battle for second place will be a clusterfūck entering the last weekend and even Galway will be in that race.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 23, 2015, 11:12:21 PM
Very true
Post by: mouview on March 24, 2015, 12:29:47 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 23, 2015, 09:55:41 PM

Galway supporters will want to see a very different team, in personnel and tactics, than was seen last Sunday. Lot of very pissed-off supporters about the county since.
Post by: commonman on March 24, 2015, 02:54:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 11:00:20 PM
Sure would we have it any other way than riling the neighbours. If you're not doing that you're irrelevant.

Real swing game this weekend. A win for us puts us very close to promotion, a loss for Galway puts them in a very dangerous spot entering the last weekend. If we lose then the battle for second place will be a clusterfūck entering the last weekend and even Galway will be in that race.

wins for Westmeath, Meath Galway and Laois this weekend would I reckon leave 6 teams going into last day in which they could either get relegated, stay put or get promoted. only certainty so far is that Down cannot get relegated.
Post by: Syferus on March 24, 2015, 03:42:29 PM
Quote from: commonman on March 24, 2015, 02:54:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 23, 2015, 11:00:20 PM

wins for Westmeath, Meath Galway and Laois this weekend would I reckon leave 6 teams going into last day in which they could either get relegated, stay put or get promoted. only certainty so far is that Down cannot get relegated.

The probability percentage that we're relegated is tiny because even with that (itself a fine accumulator) only a very specific set of result on the last day too would see us relegated.
Post by: Rossfan on March 24, 2015, 03:44:01 PM
Michael Duffy in charge of the whistle :o
Maybe time to frack Sligo as well :)
Post by: Shrewdness on March 24, 2015, 04:10:06 PM
That man in charge means it'll be a complete lottery of a game. Absolutely anything could happen... It's a hard game to call anyway. The formbook at face value would suggest a Roscommon victory. They are the form team with the momentum, whilst Galway have been struggling. However, as we all know, the formbook often goes out the window in games like this.. I think Galway are a better team than they have looked in their last 3 games. Add in the return of the Corofin players, plus the urgent need for points, and you're bound to see a fired up Galway on Sunday...But, i still think it's a game that Ros are well capable of winning. Did anyone hear anything about any knocks or injuries after last Sunday? Is Donie Smith injured at the moment?
Post by: Syferus on March 24, 2015, 04:26:51 PM
Dairmuid Murtagh came off with a bit of a hamstring injury so he's a doubt. No one else injured in the game but I read Ultan Harney had a bit of a shoulder injury and was held out of playing at the weekend, hopefully more precautionary with the U21 final coming up more than anything else. Hope to see Kevin Higgins taking the field at some stage on Sunday. Midfield has improved the last two games but it will be a big boost to have perhaps our best player last season back fit again.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 24, 2015, 04:34:17 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 24, 2015, 04:10:06 PM
I think Galway are a better team than they have looked in their last 3 games.

It's really the last 2 games. Galway actually played pretty well up in Down and should have won that game. No doubt they have been septic the past two home games though.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 24, 2015, 04:51:34 PM
I take your point GBB. Apparently they played well in Newry and let it slip...Murtagh would be a loss for Ros if he doesn't play, but his absence would open the door for someone else to get a game..There still seems to be a midfield spot up for grabs beside Cathal Shine with a few players having had a chance in the league.
Post by: mjg on March 24, 2015, 05:48:04 PM
Dont think donie is injured
Post by: giveballaghback on March 24, 2015, 07:23:55 PM
Dont think Ros will play u21 players on Sunday, u21 management will want to be given a fair chance to get their team together and get a break from match time before Connacht final, with Higgins coming back, maybe Donie Smyth, Donie Shine etc we should still have a reasonably strong lineout and what is a panel for if not for these circumstances, We won without them last year in the divisional final against Cavan and lined out in Connacht semi-final against Mayo without them even though they were available, will be a good test of our resources.
Post by: Syferus on March 24, 2015, 08:02:35 PM
Murtagh may not start with the injury but Enda will likely feature as an impact sub at worst. It's too tempting for a manager to have a lad like Enda sitting on the bench and things needing fixing on the field.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2015, 08:51:56 PM
IF it comes down to a mad promotion scramble and three or more teams are on the same number of points...how are Ros on points difference?
Post by: Shrewdness on March 24, 2015, 10:08:01 PM
Tonight in Kiltoom, in the Connacht Minor League, it finished Roscommon 1-11, Mayo 1-9.....Mayo led by 3 points (1-7 to 1-4) at half time, but the young Rossies were obviously the better team in the second half... When we get the Ros Cbs players back, we might have a half decent team after all.
Post by: cornetto on March 25, 2015, 11:28:37 PM
Galway had to call a team meeting after Sundays defeat.if there is any fight in them would hope to see it this wknd, walsh has admitted a confidence issue.lets hope it doesent take too long to sort itself out.
Post by: Syferus on March 25, 2015, 11:34:16 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 24, 2015, 10:08:01 PM
Tonight in Kiltoom, in the Connacht Minor League, it finished Roscommon 1-11, Mayo 1-9.....Mayo led by 3 points (1-7 to 1-4) at half time, but the young Rossies were obviously the better team in the second half... When we get the Ros Cbs players back, we might have a half decent team after all.

Great to see Osvaldas Vilukis on our bench and obviously his fellow county man Shehroz Akram starring in the Mayo colours. The wider community getting involved in the GAA is great to see and it will only make the quality of games better and Ireland as a whole better too.
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2015, 11:46:29 PM
So Ireland was bad and Gaelic football was bad till we got a load of immigrants in??????
You do spout some sh1te a Shyfín :-[
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2015, 12:24:39 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 25, 2015, 11:46:29 PM
So Ireland was bad and Gaelic football was bad till we got a load of immigrants in??????

Only you are special enough to take that from the above.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2015, 04:21:22 PM
According to Ray Silke in today's Advertiser the following Corofin players have commenced training with the Galway panel this week: Healy, McGrath, Steede, Michael Farragher, Sice, Lundy, Ian Burke, Liam Silke. Only one or two of them might play on Sunday.
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2015, 05:29:29 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2015, 04:21:22 PM
According to Ray Silke in today's Advertiser the following Corofin players have commenced training with the Galway panel this week: Healy, McGrath, Steede, Michael Farragher, Sice, Lundy, Ian Burke, Liam Silke. Only one or two of them might play on Sunday.

Sice, Lundy?

This might be the most interesting game for us in this year's league. We may be light favourites but the usual pattern of inconsistency in D2 this year points to a Galway win. If we can find the form from the Down and Kildare games we'll be in a good place. I can't lie and say it isn't an enticing idea to be able to push Galway towards D3 after all the near (and far) misses over the years.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 26, 2015, 05:53:23 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2015, 04:21:22 PM

There were 3 Corofin players starting on the u21 team last weekend - surely the odds of the Corofin lads being involved are far higher than the "one or two of them might play" especially when you compare recent Corofin performances versus recent Galway performances.
Post by: seafoid on March 26, 2015, 06:06:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 26, 2015, 12:24:39 AM

I agree. Syf was making sense there
Post by: Rossfan on March 26, 2015, 07:30:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 26, 2015, 06:06:30 PM

Ah here Seaf ... any more of that and I'll get Sheehy after you :P
Post by: seafoid on March 26, 2015, 07:33:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 26, 2015, 07:30:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 26, 2015, 06:06:30 PM

Ah here Seaf ... any more of that and I'll get Sheehy after you :P

Post by: gibbs32 on March 27, 2015, 08:20:17 PM
Rossies should win by 4. Sharp shooter Comer missing for galway
Post by: Itchy on March 28, 2015, 08:34:35 AM
I've a feeling desperation will drive Galway on to win this. That would blow promotion wide open.
Post by: larryin89 on March 28, 2015, 01:53:06 PM
Fancy dans capable of knockin the wind out of the Rossie sails. Galway will be going into my accum for the weekend but I have to admit I've not been collectin this year so far.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2015, 08:18:23 PM
I see Roscommon CBS are into the Hogan Cup final.
The age of Ros is upon us.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 28, 2015, 08:38:22 PM
No thread for this, so i'll put it in here. The first All Ireland Final for a Rossie Team in 2015 has been booked. Roscommon CBS have reached the All Ireland Colleges 'A' Final after beating Good Counsel Wexford  0-10 to 0-8 in today's Semi Final.. Well done lads and management, which includes Willie Hegarty..... Also today in the Connacht Minor league, it finished, Roscommon 0-11, Sligo 0-8.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 28, 2015, 09:29:35 PM
Hail hail. Great performance by cbs and hopefully beat dingle in final. 12th april in cp. Well done aldo to cbs for winning connaught rugby schools. Really is a good year so far for all roscommon sport related.long may that continue
Post by: Syferus on March 29, 2015, 02:15:22 PM
Ros 1-08 Galway 0-04 HT.

We're playing pretty bad. But for O'Malley saving a penalty and another goal bound shot we'd be in serious bother. Missed two to three goal chances ourselves. FOC ruling the middle. Galway with the wind in the second half. Will need some serious improvement in the middle and in handling to win this one.
Post by: Tubberman on March 29, 2015, 03:03:39 PM
Called it right at HT Syf.
Would have expected Ros to go on and win after they got ahead at home against big local rivals.
Big setback for the confidence as much as anything you'd imagine.
Post by: galwayman on March 29, 2015, 03:17:35 PM
Nice win for our lads.
I honestly couldn't see it coming after watching us in Tuam last week.
We were beyond diabolical.
Saying that we are definitely not as bad as we looked last week.
The thing with this team is they mix the sublime with the outrageously bad - so you just never know what you're going to get.
They're well capable of beating any team in this division and cutting teams open if they are on their game.They could just as easily have gone out today and been hammered.There is no consistency there.
But we'll take that win today anyway.
Liam Silke got man of the match on the radio for us.
Damien Comer also meant to have been very good & O Griofa nailed his scores in second half 
Post by: Shrewdness on March 29, 2015, 03:19:46 PM
Best team won, fair play to Galway. Brutally bad display from Roscommon. All the old, bad habits were there on display today with some key players completely anonymous (ie Cathal Cregg). Make no mistake, based on that performance, this Roscommon team has no business being in Division 1 next year. Might not be what my fellow countymen want to hear, but that's my view.
Post by: Syferus on March 29, 2015, 03:23:19 PM
Brutal performance but we have to chase promotion next week regardless. anything else really isn't an option.
Post by: The Black Mamba on March 29, 2015, 03:25:18 PM
Agree Shrewdness. That 2nd half especially was abysmal, no urgency like we didn't want to win at all.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2015, 03:25:47 PM
May as well stick up the Galway team (and scorers) as it was only named before throw-in.

Manus Breathnach
Johnny Duane
Finian Hanley
Cathal Sweeney
Gary O'Donnell
Gareth Bradshaw
Johnny Heaney
Fiontain O'Curraoin
Paul Conroy (0-2)
Sean Denvir (0-1)
Damien Comer (1-3)
Peadar Og O'Griofa (0-6)
Gary Sice (0-1)
Patrick Sweeney (0-1)
Micheal Lundy
Post by: Syferus on March 29, 2015, 03:31:12 PM
We need to sort out Comer on Saturday or we're fùcked.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 29, 2015, 04:35:11 PM
Was sitting beside a man at the match who was listening to the radio commentary. He told me that Donie Shine Senior said at half time that Donie Junior tore a quad muscle last Friday while practising his free taking.
Post by: seafoid on March 29, 2015, 04:37:28 PM
An u21 win would be the icing on th'oul cake
Post by: giveballaghback on March 29, 2015, 05:12:25 PM
That game today tells us exactly where we are, no midfield and over the 6 league games we have played I would say the midfield stats would make poor bedtime reading for all Rossies, that said we have huge problems with our ball retention and ball handling, turnovers are just too easy and I just wonder how smoothly our passing drills go in training because they sure are shit in real time and today is not the first time this year out retention has been poor it is a very worrying development, I wont mention players they will know themselves but some of our main players were just completely off today, this was at best a very mediocre Galway team we were playing today and we did not put enough pressure on them when they had possession, both team and management will know what they have to do, can they do it? I dont think so, we are just not good enough..........YET.
Post by: cornetto on March 29, 2015, 06:12:20 PM
ThanksThis might be the most interesting game for us in this year's league. We may be light favourites but the usual pattern of inconsistency in D2 this year points to a Galway win. If we can find the form from the Down and Kildare games we'll be in a good place. I can't lie and say it isn't an enticing idea to be able to push Galway towards D3 after all the near (and far) misses over the years.

sorry to disappoint you you this week syferus, maybe kildare will do it for you next week!  come on w/meath
Post by: Rossfan on March 29, 2015, 06:14:29 PM
When I saw us farting about hand passing with a gale behind us I just knew it was going to be one of those days.
Galway did their best for us - an own point by their goalie, a handy goal for us, the penalty save etc. But we were totally putrid in the 2nd half.
Frighteningly we can still go up.
Hand passing gasūníns will never beat men playing football.
O'Malley only one to emerge with credit. Defence bad, midfield....what midfield forwards poor enough but if enough quick ball was hit in to them in the first we might have scored enough to win.
Cathal Cregg dire.
Post by: Syferus on March 29, 2015, 06:15:06 PM
Quote from: cornetto on March 29, 2015, 06:12:20 PM
ThanksThis might be the most interesting game for us in this year's league. We may be light favourites but the usual pattern of inconsistency in D2 this year points to a Galway win. If we can find the form from the Down and Kildare games we'll be in a good place. I can't lie and say it isn't an enticing idea to be able to push Galway towards D3 after all the near (and far) misses over the years.

sorry to disappoint you you this week syferus, maybe kildare will do it for you next week!  come on w/meath

Biteen early to be getting cocky ladeen.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:37:17 PM
Why was comer allowed play when he was sent off twice in u21 and senior.how was that allowed?
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 29, 2015, 06:38:54 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:37:17 PM
Why was comer allowed play when he was sent off twice in u21 and senior.how was that allowed?

Black card in 21 and 2nd yellow in the league game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2015, 06:40:59 PM
Did Liam Silke get motm on the radio? Did he come on for someone or start the game? He wasn't in the official team I got.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:42:50 PM
Is 2nd yellow not serve as one match?im not sure how cccc dish out suspensions but by my reckoning he should have  fair play galway. Think we will b seeing them again in connaught final
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 29, 2015, 06:44:34 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:42:50 PM
Is 2nd yellow not serve as one match?im not sure how cccc dish out suspensions but by my reckoning he should have  fair play galway. Think we will b seeing them again in connaught final

No ban for 2nd yellow
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:49:58 PM
Serious player comer. U21 might be closer than i thought.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 29, 2015, 06:50:36 PM
Not much point answering gibbs32 he does not even know the rules.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:59:39 PM
Well should comer have been playing ballagh? I heard all during week he couldnt play. Dont wish it on lads but a sending off should mean 1 game ban which was today and he scored 1-3
Post by: Syferus on March 29, 2015, 07:09:21 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2015, 06:40:59 PM
Did Liam Silke get motm on the radio? Did he come on for someone or start the game? He wasn't in the official team I got.

Silke, Sice and Lundy all started. Adrian Varley and Shane Walsh out of the listed team for the later two, don't know who off the top of my head Silke replaced. The fun and games around team-sheets these days is ridiculous. We literally do not announce a team at any grade anymore.
Post by: galwayman on March 29, 2015, 07:24:33 PM
Quote from: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 06:59:39 PM
Well should comer have been playing ballagh? I heard all during week he couldnt play. Dont wish it on lads but a sending off should mean 1 game ban which was today and he scored 1-3
Of course he should have been playing.It was a second yellow last week.
Since when has a second yellow card sending off resulted in a ban?
Don't know why you have been "hearing all week" that he couldn't play.
Post by: galwayman on March 29, 2015, 07:27:52 PM
I'm pretty sure Heaney didn't start so that's who Silke replaced (from the team named a few posts back).
Post by: twohands!!! on March 29, 2015, 07:35:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 29, 2015, 07:09:21 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2015, 06:40:59 PM

Silke, Sice and Lundy all started. Adrian Varley and Shane Walsh out of the listed team for the later two, don't know who off the top of my head Silke replaced. The fun and games around team-sheets these days is ridiculous. We literally do not announce a team at any grade anymore.

New rules on team-sheets are in force for the championship and not before time.

I do think it's amusing to hear some managers going on about the importance of the squad and then go on to name the bare 15 less than 24 hours before throw-in and then make 2 or 3 late changes before throw-in.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 07:37:00 PM
Presumptious fans like myself. Is championship same? So it can be a two yellow card and no ban. Thats not a punishment.anyways as i said i fear this footballer will have a big say how rossies end up by end of connacht u21/senior. Congrats to roscommon cbs school getting to all ireland v dingle team on 12 th april. All going well rossie fans could get 4-5 visits over next 6 mts
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 07:38:18 PM
Croke park that is
Post by: Shrewdness on March 29, 2015, 07:47:08 PM
A question for my fellow Rossies, or anyone else that wants to answer...In this league, what has John Evans learnt about his players, both as a group and individually? Team selections seem to be all over the place.. Who are our first choice half back line supposed to be? Conor Daly is being moved around all over the place, and where was Niall Daly supposed to be playing today?. Against Kildare, our full back was played at centre half back, whilst our corner back played at full back. All for one game. We still haven't come remotely close to identifying a regular midfield partner for Cathal Shine. Who are supposed to be our first choice half forward line, when we have players like Cafferkey and Daly moved up from defence to play there recently......Just a footnote. Ourselves and Kildare have the worst defences in Division 2, having conceded 100 points each.
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 08:14:54 PM
I agree with most of that. Personally i think evans systematically messed with so many positional changes that he has it in his mind we are not good enough for div1 which is strange again. I hope thomas corcoran comes back fit for summer. He is a natural proper old school david moran style midfielder. When rossies have full forward line like ours keep going direct. We forgot to do that in 2nd half but again evans does not want us promoted. In spite i still think we will. I will have meath and down hats along. All 3 win we go up
Post by: seafoid on March 29, 2015, 08:19:57 PM
If the Rossies had won today they would have been certs to be promoted.
I suppose it is not that easy for them to beat Galway. But fair play to them and Cavan for staying up. Very impressive.
I hope the 2 counties keep moving forward.  They would make a nice change from Tyrone at the later stages of the championship

And if Galway could have hung on for 3 minutes against Laois the last day ...
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 08:30:20 PM
Again i must stress if  rossies do NOT get promoted they will be relegated next year to div 3. Thats how fine margin is. Im looking at renting a pad in the north at w.ends next year with prob 5 ulster teams snugly blanketed in with us stuck in the middle. Maybe if evans thought about that before shoe horning off to killorglin. Kevin mcstay for next season whatever outcome this year
Post by: gibbs32 on March 29, 2015, 09:08:47 PM
That leaves 8 teams pal.
Post by: cornetto on March 30, 2015, 09:50:59 AM
Galway's strength blows away Roscommon in second half
Tribesmen turn around seven-point half-time deficit at Dr Hyde Park
headline in today's irish times.
Post by: seafoid on March 30, 2015, 10:12:32 AM
Quote from: cornetto on March 30, 2015, 09:50:59 AM
Corofin players were the difference vs last week
Post by: Put Up That Flag on March 30, 2015, 11:01:48 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 30, 2015, 10:12:32 AM

Incorrect,  the Rossies clearly had the wrong studs in their boots,  that and the fact Comer was toying with their formidable full back line
Post by: Blowitupref on March 30, 2015, 01:11:27 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 30, 2015, 10:12:32 AM
By all accounts only Liam Silke of the Corofin players stood out yesterday he also did a good marking job on Connolly in the club All ireland semi final.

Post by: Maroon Manc on March 30, 2015, 01:22:11 PM
Hard to fathom out how Galway managed to perform so badly at home to Laois & Cavan. Its cost Galway promotion.

I would like to see our 6 forwards as Conroy, Sice, Lundy, Comer, O'Griofa & Walsh come championship time. That's a very talented set of forward, plenty of pace, power & craft between that 6.
Post by: seafoid on March 30, 2015, 01:39:02 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 30, 2015, 01:22:11 PM
Hard to fathom out how Galway managed to perform so badly at home to Laois & Cavan. Its cost Galway promotion.

I would like to see our 6 forwards as Conroy, Sice, Lundy, Comer, O'Griofa & Walsh come championship time. That's a very talented set of forward, plenty of pace, power & craft between that 6.
Confidence. they were doing ok until the Down match last few mins and then it went wrong.
the Corofin players missing also v influential.
Plus Laois and Cavan are quite handy 
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 30, 2015, 01:40:21 PM

I would prefer to see Conroy in midfield with O'Curraoin and that then leaves quite a few lads like Tom Flynn, Ian Burke etc to fight it out for the 6th forward position.  Really hope O'Griofa gets an injury free run this year - the lad has oodles of talent and ability and would be a big addition to a Galway forward line.
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 30, 2015, 01:42:27 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 30, 2015, 01:39:02 PM

Confidence. they were doing ok until the Down match last few mins and then it went wrong.
the Corofin players missing also v influential.
Plus Laois and Cavan are quite handy

I'm not sure about the confidence, Galway were 7 points down at half time and if they were lacking in confidence they wouldn't have come back yesterday.

I'd imagine Galway thought they were on course for comfortable wins at half time against Cavan & Laois and just never got going in the 2nd half.

Post by: mouview on March 30, 2015, 01:42:49 PM

Maybe Conroy midfield with Flynn at wing-forward as an auxiliary midfielder a-la Bergin in '01. Sice can blow hot and cold, often in the same game, e.g yesterday was quiet for a long time but finished very well I thought. May also need him the HB line as O'Donnell at wing-back has to go, just not up to it. Want to see more of O'Griofa; looks good but needs to be with players of this level regularly. Would also like to see a fully-fit P Sweeney back in harness; not the quickest but is strong, can score and has a good brain to bring others around him into play.
Post by: Thewildcat on March 30, 2015, 01:59:19 PM
the rossies are very quiet today as they say you won't do it with your mouth. i do think john Evans is right Roscommon would be not at the races in division 1 they have a young team and will take time for them to shine. to bad beatings from laois and Galway who very at the bottom of the table this weekend, but they should get a result again westmeath another derby for them next weekend.
Post by: Syferus on March 30, 2015, 02:17:25 PM
Quote from: Thewildcat on March 30, 2015, 01:59:19 PM
the rossies are very quiet today as they say you won't do it with your mouth. i do think john Evans is right Roscommon would be not at the races in division 1 they have a young team and will take time for them to shine. to bad beatings from laois and Galway who very at the bottom of the table this weekend, but they should get a result again westmeath another derby for them next weekend.

Everyone that regularly posts posted yesterday by my count.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 30, 2015, 02:21:33 PM
Wildcat, if you look back a page or two, you'll find that a lot of us gave our views on the game yesterday...You are correct in saying that we suffered two bad defeats. What's missing in many of the Ros team is experience. What's missing in the team as a unit is consistency.
Post by: larryin89 on March 30, 2015, 03:12:47 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 30, 2015, 02:21:33 PM
Wildcat, if you look back a page or two, you'll find that a lot of us gave our views on the game yesterday...You are correct in saying that we suffered two bad defeats. What's missing in many of the Ros team is experience. What's missing in the team as a unit is consistency.

In fairness to roscommon supporters they have been pretty consistent this year in forecasting they will win the connacht championship, I admire that. At last they are giving themselves a chance and if they fail ( which I don't think they will btw) so be it .

Roscommon have done tremendous work this last 5/6 years and I can't see why there shouldn't be an air of confidence about the place, otherwise what's the point .
Post by: Syferus on March 30, 2015, 03:21:21 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 30, 2015, 03:12:47 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 30, 2015, 02:21:33 PM

In fairness to roscommon supporters they have been pretty consistent this year in forecasting they will win the connacht championship, I admire that. At last they are giving themselves a chance and if they fail ( which I don't think they will btw) so be it .

Roscommon have done tremendous work this last 5/6 years and I can't see why there shouldn't be an air of confidence about the place, otherwise what's the point .

You're confusing yourself and your multiple accounts with Roscommon supporters again.
Post by: larryin89 on March 30, 2015, 03:26:14 PM
That is just pure bullshit and it's annoying tbh. What would be the point in having more than one account ?