Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:09:21 PM

Title: Will all you atheists be celebrating....
Post by: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:09:21 PM
St Patrick's Day tomorrow? If so,why?
Title: Re: Will all you atheists be celebrating....
Post by: OgraAnDun on March 16, 2015, 09:12:40 PM
Presumably the same reason "all those" atheists, Muslims, Hindus etc celebrate Christmas - because it's a national (or in the case of Christmas, international) festival which has gone beyond a simple religious celebration.
Post by: Hardy on March 16, 2015, 09:15:04 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:09:21 PM

Will you apostate Christians be celebrating?
Post by: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:15:48 PM
But why celebrate something you don't believe in?
Post by: OgraAnDun on March 16, 2015, 09:19:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:15:48 PM

It's gone past actually celebrating the saint himself and developed into a celebration of "Irishness", whether you like it or not.
Post by: Oraisteach on March 16, 2015, 09:25:01 PM
Apart from the Bacchanalian binge and obvious religious connection, I'd say St. Patrick's Day is a way by which the Irish diaspora can connect to home, providing a sense of belonging.

Mind you, I say that as one who keeps his head well below the parapet on March 17, careful to avoid drunks in plastic 'Kiss Me, I'm Irish' hats and cautious to sidestep the splash of projectile green beer.

Still, Happy St. Patrick's Day to one and all.
Post by: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:25:50 PM
It is in fact a desecration of a Christian feast
Post by: muppet on March 16, 2015, 09:34:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:15:48 PM

What is the opposite of proselytism?
Post by: Rossfan on March 16, 2015, 09:54:24 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on March 16, 2015, 09:19:51 PM

It's gone past actually celebrating the saint himself and developed into a celebration of "Irishness", whether you like it or not.

Celebration of " Oirishness" more like.
Leprauchaun hats, red "beards" etc etc. Painful day. I'm Irish every day of the year.
Thankfully working tomorrow.
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2015, 09:54:48 PM
Is he even a saint?
Post by: BennyCake on March 16, 2015, 10:07:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 16, 2015, 09:54:24 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on March 16, 2015, 09:19:51 PM

Celebration of " Oirishness" more like.
Leprauchaun hats, red "beards" etc etc. Painful day. I'm Irish every day of the year.
Thankfully working tomorrow.

Oh Jaysus, that's enough for anyone to stay in bed tomorrow.

I don't celebrate it, mainly because I don't believe the St Patrick story. One man comes in and converts millions of hairy-arsed pagan sun worshippers to Christianity. Yeah right.
Post by: Bingo on March 16, 2015, 10:09:29 PM
The snakes though. Explain the snakes?  ;)
Post by: Orior on March 16, 2015, 10:10:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 16, 2015, 09:54:48 PM
Is he even a saint?

Does the Pope shit in the woods?
Post by: J70 on March 16, 2015, 10:39:23 PM

I don't really celebrate it, but if I do, its a celebration of being Irish. Paddy's Day is basically the Irish version of Independence Day.

You might not like the fact, but just like Christmas, its pretty much a secular holiday.
Post by: laoislad on March 16, 2015, 10:41:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 16, 2015, 10:39:23 PM

I don't really celebrate it, but if I do, its a celebration of being Irish. Paddy's Day is basically the Irish version of Independence Day.

You might not like the fact, but just like Christmas, its pretty much a secular holiday.
The movie wouldn't be as good though...
Post by: beer baron on March 16, 2015, 10:44:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 16, 2015, 10:41:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 16, 2015, 10:39:23 PM

The movie wouldn't be as good though...

Who'd play Will Smiths part?
Post by: Bingo on March 16, 2015, 10:47:58 PM
Colin Farrell as will smith
Arnie to play President Higgins
Post by: muppet on March 16, 2015, 10:51:03 PM
Tony Fearon could easily play Will Smith. As long as he doesn't pretend to be Will Smith under his own roof, everyone else will be fooled.
Post by: moysider on March 16, 2015, 11:16:28 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 16, 2015, 09:25:50 PM
It is in fact a desecration of a Christian feast

Do a Cromwell on it so and ban the bloody thing if it annoys ye so much. Wouldn t bother me except for the day off work.

It is a feast day after al,l so people are supposed to have a feed of something - even if its only beer.

Lookit, the old Celtic chiefs that Patrick converted just went along with it out of politeness and continued in their practices of collecting heads and robbing other peoples cattle anyway. Probably regarded him as a bit of a plaguer and indulged him so he would piss off and leave them alone so they could get on with raping and pillaging and slave trading. By all accounts they were fond of drinking as well so our present day fashion of marking the day is probably apt. There is still a lot of cattle thieving going on as well so it s good to see we still have links with our past,
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 16, 2015, 11:58:41 PM
Are you taking Sunday off, Tony? Taking time off to honour the sun?

Taking the day off on Saturday too? Honoring the god Saturn? Will you be paying respects to Thor on Thursday? Odin on Wednesday?
Post by: ziggysego on March 17, 2015, 12:12:39 AM
I'll go to Mass in the morning. Watch the MacCrory Cup Final and the All-Ireland Club Finals.

That'll be my St Patrick's Day celebrations.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 06:18:40 AM
As I suspected.Hypocrisy using a solemn Christian Feast for all the wrong reasons.Surely the proper response from atheists would be to ignore St Patrick's Day
Post by: cornerback on March 17, 2015, 07:00:36 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 06:18:40 AM
As I suspected.Hypocrisy using a solemn Christian Feast for all the wrong reasons.Surely the proper response from atheists would be to ignore St Patrick's Day
Judging people again there Tone
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 07:47:46 AM
So reading comments on this thread and drawing obvious conclusions is now "judging people?"
Post by: J70 on March 17, 2015, 07:49:59 AM

How is it hypocrisy?

Do you deny that Paddy's Day has evolved into a celebration of Irishness?
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 08:09:32 AM
It is hypocrisy for atheists to celebrate St Patrick's Day when they don't even believe in him
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 17, 2015, 08:09:58 AM
Quote from: J70 on March 17, 2015, 07:49:59 AM

How is it hypocrisy?

Tony will celebrate it supporting a Scottish team in Glasgow. And A Jewish team in London... Tony keeping his options open when it comes to the pearly gates. Bit of a shame when he realises (to late of course) that its just dust he'll turn into in the end!!
Post by: gallsman on March 17, 2015, 08:18:24 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 17, 2015, 08:09:58 AM
Quote from: J70 on March 17, 2015, 07:49:59 AM

How is it hypocrisy?

Tony will celebrate it supporting a Scottish team in Glasgow. And A Jewish team in London... Tony keeping his options open when it comes to the pearly gates. Bit of a shame when he realises (to late of course) that its just dust he'll turn into in the end!!

No no, Tony's right about the afterlife. He'll just be heading downstairs is all. It'll probably be full of gays, there for their repugnant sins. Backs to the wall down there Tony, they'll still all be out to get you.
Post by: deiseach on March 17, 2015, 08:21:11 AM
What is there to 'believe' about St Patrick? Are good gay God-fearing Catholics meant to think he literally banished the snakes from Ireland rather than that heathen nonsense about ice ages?
Post by: haveaharp on March 17, 2015, 08:23:02 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 08:09:32 AM
It is hypocrisy for atheists to celebrate St Patrick's Day when they don't even believe in him

It is perfectly plausible to be an atheist whilst recognising the existence of Patrick. There was a historical figure called Jesus, doesn't mean you have to be believe he was the son of god.

Happy St Patricks day all. Enjoy.
Post by: Bingo on March 17, 2015, 08:36:24 AM

There is another person round here that should be ignored....he far from saintly though.
Post by: seafoid on March 17, 2015, 09:03:10 AM
Maybe SPD replaced a celtic pagan festival. The Irish cult of Muire came straight out of paganism. 
The notion of Christianity as the original and best does not stand up to analysis.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 09:03:37 AM
The day is supposed to commemorate and celebrate the Christianisation of Ireland.If you don't believe in Christianity it's hypocrisy to celebrate today
Post by: imtommygunn on March 17, 2015, 09:05:52 AM
You wouldn't ever have been guilty of hypocrisy yourself would you?  ;D
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 09:09:15 AM
I'm going to get rat arsed but before that I'll be heading to mass. Hope that's ok Tony.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 09:26:11 AM
Not really,that's multiple hypocrisy.One or the other,but not both
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 09:31:36 AM
Tony, people get rat arsed celebrating birthdays, christenings, weddings, football victories etc. I am going to get rat arsed to celebrate the christianisation of Ireland and the mighty man St Patrick was. Also celebrating Sheppards and the lack of snakes. A final toast to big tractors and lorries in the parade. Don't mind this other hypocrites Tony, you and I are cut from the same cloth.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 09:41:39 AM
And drunkeness (as opposed to having a couple of celebratory drinks) is compatible with Christianity how?
Post by: Bingo on March 17, 2015, 09:56:04 AM
I'm going to Armagh which has some connection with the welsh man himself. Can't do better than that.

Then later I'll raise a toast and thank him that I can lie down in the long grass without fear of a big snake eating me.

Praise be to paddy.
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 09:57:36 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 09:41:39 AM
And drunkeness (as opposed to having a couple of celebratory drinks) is compatible with Christianity how?

Where is it said a Christian cannot get locked. Are you saying binge drinkers like me are not welcome in the catholic church. Sure I know a few priests fond of the odd binge so that can't be.
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2015, 10:10:51 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 09:03:37 AM
The day is supposed to commemorate and celebrate the Christianisation of Ireland.If you don't believe in Christianity it's hypocrisy to celebrate today

Tony, you don't believe in Christianity. You don't know the first thing about it, as you have demonstrated time and time again. Your views on religion are buried in the first few books of the Old Testament, if not earlier. St Patrick is a young punk to you.

Hate thy Neighbour might make a comeback, but it won't be via Christendom. You should really be looking elsewhere.
Post by: laoislad on March 17, 2015, 10:12:13 AM
Do Nordies have the day off today?
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2015, 10:15:05 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 17, 2015, 10:12:13 AM
Do Nordies have the day off today?

Only the Tony, and his friends in the DUP.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 10:30:08 AM
Drunkeness is not compatible with Christianity I'm afraid.On a brighter note Cardinal Sean Brady reminisces in today's Irish News about St Patrick's Cavan's last appearance in a McRory Cup Final in 1975 when he was their coach! I hadn't realised this
Post by: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 10:35:09 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 10:30:08 AM
Drunkeness is not compatible with Christianity I'm afraid.On a brighter note Cardinal Sean Brady reminisces in today's Irish News about St Patrick's Cavan's last appearance in a McRory Cup Final in 1975 when he was their coach! I hadn't realised this

Glad his memory of such times hasn't faded.

Was B Smyth the physical trainer?
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 10:40:35 AM
He sure was a busy man in the mid70s
Post by: deiseach on March 17, 2015, 10:43:35 AM
Irish Jews who celebrate St Patrick's Day...hypocrites the lot of them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 17, 2015, 10:51:44 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 10:40:35 AM
He sure was a busy man in the mid70s

Who B Smyth? Busy a feck and loads of Christians backing him up
Post by: Johnnybegood on March 17, 2015, 11:12:01 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 17, 2015, 09:03:10 AM
Maybe SPD replaced a celtic pagan festival. The Irish cult of Muire came straight out of paganism. 
The notion of Christianity as the original and best does not stand up to analysis.
divil in the detail?
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 11:31:53 AM
I shouldn't be posting when I'm in mass but the feckin sermon is awful boring. Can't wait to skull 5 or 6 quick ones and get legless.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 17, 2015, 11:41:18 AM
Whah??
Are you seriously suggesting that there's anything to celebrate when you talk about the "Christianisation " of  Ireland?
Christianisation  gave us Sean Brady, Brendan Smyth and thousands of other hoors who thought their dog collars but them beyond the law of God and man. (Or something like that.)
Christianisation  gave us John McHale who condemned hundreds of starving Achill people to death by starvation rather than accept food from Protestant hands.
Christianisation  gave us the Magdalene Laundries and the list goes on and on....
You'll have to look far and wide to find anyone, bar you, who'll thank Paddy for the mess he left us in. ;D
Post by: passedit on March 17, 2015, 11:45:59 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CASrKCbWwAIjgeL.jpg)

More non fenians hypocritically celebrating (or maybe celebrating hypocrisy
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 11:49:10 AM
Par,then why are you celebrating today?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 17, 2015, 12:13:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 11:49:10 AM

Did he say he was? Defend what he posted first possibly, eh?
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2015, 12:46:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 10:30:08 AM

He was only a note-taker in 1975.
Post by: J70 on March 17, 2015, 01:03:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 08:09:32 AM

If the day was only about St Patrick, your point might be valid. But its not.

You know that, but you would rather feign outrage for some reason.

Post by: LeoMc on March 17, 2015, 02:16:37 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 17, 2015, 11:41:18 AM
Whah??
Are you seriously suggesting that there's anything to celebrate when you talk about the "Christianisation " of  Ireland?
Christianisation  gave us Sean Brady, Brendan Smyth and thousands of other hoors who thought their dog collars but them beyond the law of God and man. (Or something like that.)
Christianisation  gave us John McHale who condemned hundreds of starving Achill people to death by starvation rather than accept food from Protestant hands.
Christianisation  gave us the Magdalene Laundries and the list goes on and on....
You'll have to look far and wide to find anyone, bar you, who'll thank Paddy for the mess he left us in. ;D

You should read his entry on Wikipedia. It could have been written by Tony (although he would only do it if there were prizes to be won).
Post by: Maguire01 on March 17, 2015, 02:18:16 PM
It was Jesus who turned water into wine, was it not? Facilitating drunkenness.
Post by: LeoMc on March 17, 2015, 02:20:07 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 11:49:10 AM

Good man Tony, You have them all biting today though it took the big bait (Brady) to get the churn.
Post by: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 02:43:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 17, 2015, 02:18:16 PM

Gluttony and lord knows what else, un reproductive fornication amongst the wedding goers, thon Jesus was a bad'un, knowingly facilitating sins.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 03:10:02 PM
Feeding people with loaves and fishes and providing wine at a wedding ceremony does not equate to gluttony and drunkeness.

By the way congratulations to St Pats Cavan bridging a 43 year gap by winning the Mc Rory Cup today.Good also to see Cardinal Sean Brady prominent during the trophy presentation.
Post by: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 03:27:32 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 03:10:02 PM
Feeding people with loaves and fishes and providing wine at a wedding ceremony does not equate to gluttony and drunkeness.

Two separate stories/parables there Tone, nicely interwoven to suit.

I don't think there was anyone close to starvation or thirst at the wedding feast of Cana when Jesus had turned the water into wine, in fact I think they'd already drank the place dry before he did that particular miracle.
Post by: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 03:30:01 PM
They had run out of wine,doesn't imply they were drunk,total number of guests not quantified neither was original stock of wine
Post by: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 03:33:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 17, 2015, 03:30:01 PM
They had run out of wine,doesn't imply they were drunk,total number of guests not quantified neither was original stock of wine

So my assumptions are equally as plausible as yours?
Post by: seafoid on March 17, 2015, 03:34:53 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 02:43:17 PM

Gluttony and lord knows what else, un reproductive fornication amongst the wedding goers, thon Jesus was a bad'un, knowingly facilitating sins.
and 3 parents
Post by: weareros on March 17, 2015, 03:36:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 02:43:17 PM

It was his mother that told him they'd run out of wine - which is why some scholars have wondered why was she concerned with the lack of booze and they have concluded it was actually her son's wedding.

Anyway, Jesus had nothing on Saint Patrick when it came to miracles. That said, Saint Columcille silenced the Lough Ness monster and Saint Brendan sailed to America in a small curragh and had a barbecue on the back of a whale. We won't see the likes of those lads again.

Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 03:39:55 PM
Quote from: passedit on March 17, 2015, 11:45:59 AM

Do the irish undocumented in the usa get benefits/free housing/free cars/free medical cards etc...

I think not...
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 03:45:17 PM
Little update. 5 Guinness have been put away, what a saint. What other saint says, go on ta f**k lads and have a few pints ob me. Legend.
Post by: BennyCake on March 17, 2015, 03:47:34 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 03:45:17 PM
Little update. 5 Guinness have been put away, what a saint. What other saint says, go on ta f**k lads and have a few pints ob me. Legend.

Where did he say that then? Was a pint even a measure used in his day?
Post by: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 04:04:08 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 17, 2015, 03:47:34 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 03:45:17 PM

Where did he say that then? Was a pint even a measure used in his day?

I think its well documented that Jesus' tipple of choice was wine, as mentioned above he made a load of it for a wedding (his brothers, or his own, who knows) and he also cracked the cork on one at the last supper.
I think its a marketing disgrace that Arthur Guinness has hijacked this Christian festival of godliness to sell his devils buttermilk.
Its wine we should all be drinking, its in the bible!
Post by: BennyCake on March 17, 2015, 04:37:48 PM
Guinness looks after Guinness. People don't have to do everything Arthur Guinness says, ye know.
Post by: johnneycool on March 17, 2015, 04:42:17 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 17, 2015, 04:37:48 PM
Guinness looks after Guinness. People don't have to do everything Arthur Guinness says, ye know.

Exactly, Guinness isn't mentioned in the good book, so you really shouldn't be drinking it at all. It'll cause you to sin you know, well getting rid of its remains the day after usually brings out a few expletives of despair..
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 05:01:36 PM
I'm taking the advice, off the Guinness for Patrick and onto the spirits. The holy spirit, whiskey.
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2015, 05:07:46 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 03:39:55 PM

Do the irish undocumented in the usa get benefits/free housing/free cars/free medical cards etc...

I think not...

They don't here either.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 17, 2015, 05:28:29 PM
Drink wine and you'll sleep.

Sleep and you'll refrain from sin.

Refrain from sin and you'll be saved.

Ergo, drink wine and you'll be saved.
Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 05:59:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 17, 2015, 05:07:46 PM

I think not...

They don't here either.

Fact is they shouldn't be in the country. Same with the bogus asylum seekers.
They aren't in ireland for the weather.
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2015, 06:16:31 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 05:59:44 PM

I think not...

They don't here either.

Is there any party here with policies along those lines?
Post by: easytiger95 on March 17, 2015, 06:26:03 PM
If ever a thread and a poster would put an auld agnostic like me off celebrating St. Patrick's Day, this is it. Well done Tone, mission accomplished.
Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 06:42:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 17, 2015, 06:16:31 PM

I think not...

They don't here either.

Is there any party here with policies along those lines?

You'd think Fine Gael would be with their history :D
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2015, 07:04:40 PM
Over and out. Time to go to the leaba.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 17, 2015, 07:06:17 PM

Fact is they shouldn't be in the country.

Who's "they"?
Post by: Hardy on March 17, 2015, 07:17:08 PM
There are a few rules of thumb that rarely fail when it comes to xenophobia, intolerance and racism. One is that it's always the arseholes the country would least miss if they f***ed away off out of it who are first to tell us about the people THEY think the country could do without.
Post by: Pangurban on March 17, 2015, 07:47:36 PM
This debate has become as stupid as the Gay Marriage proposition
Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 08:02:23 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 17, 2015, 07:06:17 PM

Who's "they"?

er...the people with no documentation. Can't you read?
I know when I travel I need a passport/visas etc to get in and other paperwork to stay...
So are you advocating illegal activity?

Post by: Bingo on March 17, 2015, 08:03:24 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 08:02:23 PM

Who's "they"?

I know when I travel I need a passport/visas etc to get in and other paperwork to stay...
So you are you are advocating illegal activity?
Doesn't matter if it illegal or not, what does the bible say?
Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 08:10:50 PM
Quote from: Bingo on March 17, 2015, 08:03:24 PM

Who's "they"?

So you are you are advocating illegal activity?
Doesn't matter if it illegal or not, what does the bible say?

Thou shalt get medical card and free housing benefits if thy pretend to be seeking shelter from the antichrist.

Scammers 16:10
Post by: laoislad on March 17, 2015, 08:26:02 PM
Nice feed of beer down the hatch, getting a curry now and gonna sing Hail glorious St Patrick on the walk home so I can get into heaven.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 17, 2015, 09:18:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 17, 2015, 08:26:02 PM
Nice feed of beer down the hatch, getting a curry now and gonna sing Hail glorious St Patrick on the walk home so I can get into heaven.

We're all going to heaven. It's going to be great.
Post by: muppet on March 17, 2015, 09:19:46 PM

Not without documentation according to Foxcommander.
Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 09:28:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 17, 2015, 09:19:46 PM

Not without documentation according to Foxcommander.

You should have filled out the ESTA equivalent at mass when you had the chance.
St Peter is effectively border patrol.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 17, 2015, 09:31:19 PM
er...the people with no documentation.

Just checking. I like to do my homework before I pull out the racialist card.
Post by: foxcommander on March 17, 2015, 09:38:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 17, 2015, 09:31:19 PM

ffs

Post by: gallsman on March 17, 2015, 09:58:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 17, 2015, 07:17:08 PM
There are a few rules of thumb that rarely fail when it comes to xenophobia, intolerance and racism. One is that it's always the arseholes the country would least miss if they f***ed away off out of it who are first to tell us about the people THEY think the country could do without.

Nail on the head.
Post by: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 03:07:15 AM

How you get from "undocumented" to the words you just spouted is beyond me but certainly shows a level of ignorance on your part. Fact of the matter is that whatever race/creed/other the undocumented are they technically shouldn't be in the country. Now shut the hell up with your labelling. It's you who has this on the forefront of your mind and stifle any serious debate on the subject to tackle the issue.

A population of undocumented of close to the size of the town of Navan (10th biggest in Ireland and a meath hole) would be granted status. Last I knew the country was in the shit financially. So the plan would be to do give everyone legal rights to remain and provide them and their families with Healthcare, education, facilities, benefits, housing etc. ?

And you are the boys that can't wait to bring in water taxes for the poorer irish population to pay for stuff. Is this where the money is going to go?
I don't think the country can support the ones they have.

Then there's the influx of a new cheap legal workforce. Fancy losing your jobs to fellas who will work for half the wages? Won't be so smug then.

Visas for those who have jobs the indigenous population cant/wont fill and if they can pay their own way. That's the way it should be done. And just to state I don't support the irish undocumented abroad. If they shouldn't be somewhere then kick them out.

But pull out the race card again Hardly, there's a good lad.
Post by: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 03:08:27 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 17, 2015, 09:31:19 PM

Hardly beat you to it this time around...but you're good at this game too.

(https://clearlycaneda.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/lunatic-progressives-losing-debate-use-race-card.jpg)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 18, 2015, 06:42:47 AM
Why does everybody assume all the undocumented don't work?
Post by: Hardy on March 18, 2015, 08:35:41 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 03:07:15 AM

How you get from "undocumented" to the words you just spouted is beyond me but certainly shows a level of ignorance on your part. Fact of the matter is that whatever race/creed/other the undocumented are they technically shouldn't be in the country. Now shut the hell up with your labelling. It's you who has this on the forefront of your mind and stifle any serious debate on the subject to tackle the issue.

A population of undocumented of close to the size of the town of Navan (10th biggest in Ireland and a meath hole) would be granted status. Last I knew the country was in the shit financially. So the plan would be to do give everyone legal rights to remain and provide them and their families with Healthcare, education, facilities, benefits, housing etc. ?

And you are the boys that can't wait to bring in water taxes for the poorer irish population to pay for stuff. Is this where the money is going to go?

Then there's the influx of a new cheap legal workforce. Fancy losing your jobs to fellas who will work for half the wages? Won't be so smug then.

Visas for those who have jobs the indigenous population cant/wont fill and if they can pay their own way. That's the way it should be done. And just to state I don't support the irish undocumented abroad. If they shouldn't be somewhere then kick them out.

Are you like Tony Fearon? When you stop for a fare, do you ask if they're undocumented before you let them in your taxi?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 18, 2015, 11:12:38 AM
A population of undocumented of close to the size of the town of Navan (10th biggest in Ireland and a meath hole) would be granted status.

So your plan is to send these ~ 30,000 "undocumented" living in Ireland back to wherever they came from and you're happy to take the ~ 50,000 undocumented Irish in the US and bring them home??

Cheap legal workforce? Wouldn't they be subject to the same legal minimum wage as any other workers?? Or are you just fearmongering about "them" taking our jobs

So you're basically saying these people should form some sort of underclass in society?? Serfs, if you will

Post by: muppet on March 18, 2015, 02:14:40 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 18, 2015, 06:42:47 AM

It is only a page since we assumed the undocumented got free houses and income. The word 'undocumented' should have given a clue there.  ;D
Post by: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 02:39:49 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 18, 2015, 06:42:47 AM

Legally they shouldn't be. Again, do you advocate this practice?
Post by: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 02:42:59 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 18, 2015, 11:12:38 AM
A population of undocumented of close to the size of the town of Navan (10th biggest in Ireland and a meath hole) would be granted status.

So your plan is to send these ~ 30,000 "undocumented" living in Ireland back to wherever they came from and you're happy to take the ~ 50,000 undocumented Irish in the US and bring them home??

In a word - yes.
That's an issue for the irish government to solve. They're only too happy to solve issues by forcing the population to look abroad to work.
I take it that you wouldn't want to see displaced irish people return home?  Certainly would be my preference.

Post by: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 02:58:38 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 18, 2015, 08:35:41 AM

Are you like Tony Fearon? When you stop for a fare, do you ask if they're undocumented before you let them in your taxi?

Stop embarrassing yourself with stupid questions like that.
Post by: deiseach on March 18, 2015, 03:09:01 PM
You are ignoring this user. Show me the post.

Bliss...

Post by: ziggysego on March 18, 2015, 03:25:34 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 18, 2015, 03:09:01 PM

Bliss...

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: macdanger2 on March 18, 2015, 03:33:24 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 02:42:59 PM
In a word - yes.
That's an issue for the irish government to solve.

I see. So you're gung-ho about getting rid of all the undocumented who are taking our jobs but you haven't actually thought it through  ::)

I take it that you wouldn't want to see displaced irish people return home?  Certainly would be my preference.

Do I want to force Irish people who have made lives for themselves in the US move home against their wishes?? Ehh......no

Cheap legal workforce? Wouldn't they be subject to the same legal minimum wage as any other workers?? Or are you just fearmongering about "them" taking our jobs

And no thoughts on how these legal workers would somehow get around the legal minimum wage??

Are you sure you're not Tom D'Arcy, Foxy??  http://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/video-tom-darcy-called-constance-markievicz-a-man-on-rte-news-yesterday-evening/350960 (http://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/video-tom-darcy-called-constance-markievicz-a-man-on-rte-news-yesterday-evening/350960)??

Post by: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 04:20:33 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 18, 2015, 03:33:24 PM
In a word - yes.
That's an issue for the irish government to solve.

I see. So you're gung-ho about getting rid of all the undocumented who are taking our jobs but you haven't actually thought it through  ::)

Do I want to force Irish people who have made lives for themselves in the US move home against their wishes?? Ehh......no

And no thoughts on how these legal workers would somehow get around the legal minimum wage??

Are you sure you're not Tom D'Arcy, Foxy??  http://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/video-tom-darcy-called-constance-markievicz-a-man-on-rte-news-yesterday-evening/350960 (http://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/video-tom-darcy-called-constance-markievicz-a-man-on-rte-news-yesterday-evening/350960)??

1) I'm not Enda Kenny. Let him work out details on how to look after the population. He gets well paid for it.
2) The undocumented in the US are there illegally. What part of that do you not get?
3) Replace skilled workers on non-minimum wages with ones on minimum wages. Do I need to expand?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 18, 2015, 04:33:00 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on March 18, 2015, 04:20:33 PM
1) I'm not Enda Kenny. Let him work out details on how to look after the population. He gets well paid for it.
2) The undocumented in the US are there illegally. What part of that do you not get?
3) Replace skilled workers on non-minimum wages with ones on minimum wages. Do I need to expand?

1) I see, so you're making these demands without regard to practicability, good plan. Let forget about that one as you seem to have run out of ideas on it

2) Eh, you asked me a question ("I take it that you wouldn't want to see displaced irish people return home?") and I answered. Interesting change of rhetoric though that they were "displaced" earlier and now they're "illegal"

3) Why would you have skilled workers doing work that could be done by unskilled workers? Surely the skilled workers are being underutilised in such a situation??
Post by: muppet on March 18, 2015, 04:44:59 PM

Bliss...

I am finally persuaded.

The only time it is worthwhile arguing with, or even hearing, taxi driver logic is around 4am after a night out.
Post by: gallsman on March 18, 2015, 05:32:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 18, 2015, 04:44:59 PM

Bliss...

I am finally persuaded.

The only time it is worthwhile arguing with, or even hearing, taxi driver logic is around 4am after a night out.

Really? That's usually when they are at their most vociferous like your man above, pontificating about absolutely everything and blaming it all on "themmuns". Then charge you €25 to take you 5 miles up the road and complain about being hard done by.
Post by: screenexile on March 19, 2015, 05:15:48 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CAdx-OeW8AA2mKb.jpg)
Post by: Itchy on March 19, 2015, 07:06:01 PM
When's that fecker St Patrick going to take responsibility for my hangover. I'm still dying today.
Post by: ardchieftain on March 19, 2015, 10:29:03 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 19, 2015, 07:06:01 PM
When's that fecker St Patrick going to take responsibility for my hangover. I'm still dying today.

Have you tried saying your prayers in Welsh?
Post by: muppet on March 19, 2015, 10:57:06 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on March 19, 2015, 10:29:03 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 19, 2015, 07:06:01 PM

Have you tried saying your prayers in Welsh?

Latin.

Tony will tell you all about Calpornius.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 19, 2015, 11:39:14 PM
Tony wouldn't allow gay people into his B+B. Foxcommander would check their documents first.