GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2015, 04:02:13 PM

Title: Mayo v Monaghan 1-3-15
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2015, 04:02:13 PM
Hopefully the Mayo players will be stung into action as they enter this '4 pointer' early in March against a Monaghan side who dismantled the team who dismantled us. Cork only beat Monaghan by a point, and that in itself says a lot about where Monaghan are at, however Monaghan will be stung going into this game as well so it could be a Tyrone type situation once again for us Mayo supporters. We'll reserve judgement on the culling of the panel issues and indeed what direction Mayo seem to be heading until this game is over. If we win, which is possible - then we're heading on the right path, lose and the knives will be sharpened for the duo in charge, i.e. why was such and such cut etc...

My gut tells me that Mayo won't be as bad against Tyrone, but not knowing much about Monaghan, I cannot say Mayo will win easily, just about, or as Lar said for me to say Mayo will end up getting walloped by 6 points!
Title: Re: Mayo v Monaghan 1-3-15
Post by: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 07:02:14 PM
Well guess what, another thread about Mayo.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 07:32:45 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 07:02:14 PM

You obviously have not been hanging around Gaaboard very long, have you?
Post by: larryin89 on February 22, 2015, 08:04:06 PM
Really hard to know how this will go.Monaghan are no joke that's for sure, looked well at times v Tyrone. Everyone's heard the rumours of who got cut along with duffy and if ture it's hardly sensational stuff. I don't understand why duffy could be named but the others couldn't .

How Mayo set up for this one will be interesting especially with pateen now of seen for the first time how blanket defence works . I'd like to see Cillian at Chf for this one.
Post by: INDIANA on February 22, 2015, 08:12:10 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 22, 2015, 08:04:06 PM
Really hard to know how this will go.Monaghan are no joke that's for sure, looked well at times v Tyrone. Everyone's heard the rumours of who got cut along with duffy and if ture it's hardly sensational stuff. I don't understand why duffy could be named but the others couldn't .

How Mayo set up for this one will be interesting especially with pateen now of seen for the first time how blanket defence works . I'd like to see Cillian at Chf for this one.

who else got cut larry
Post by: muppet on February 22, 2015, 08:15:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 07:32:45 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on February 22, 2015, 07:02:14 PM

You obviously have not been hanging around Gaaboard very long, have you?

We had better do a search of the deserted villages database.
Post by: moysider on February 22, 2015, 10:17:06 PM

This is what it s all about really. Alarmingly, Pateen was quick with the soft chat and more alarming still, excuses after getting filleted by Mickey Harte. It ll be a pleasant surprise if he turns out to a tactician but we might find a way to win this.

The other ones dropped will be named in local paper tomorrow I expect. As you say nothing surprising there anyway.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 22, 2015, 10:55:53 PM

Probably because he works in the media? As for the rest! They probably needed time to be told and time to tell their clubs and family.
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2015, 12:07:25 AM
I enjoyed the last game played by Monaghan in Mayo in the NFL,  not the result of course, i.e. that (perceived) fortunate win for Mayo.
Consistency use to be lacking for Monaghan in the NFL, but not so much these days, this should be the competitive game of the round as Mayo valiantly but vainly try to ward off the pugnacious Monaghan men.
Post by: mjg on February 23, 2015, 05:55:17 AM
Sad to see enda varley been dropped
Post by: rosnarun on February 23, 2015, 09:17:28 AM
Quote from: mjg on February 23, 2015, 05:55:17 AM
Sad to see enda varley been dropped
any more names?
alan Freeman?
Post by: mjg on February 23, 2015, 10:12:51 AM
Surely not freezer sure its only a year since he got a standing ovation coming off against cork
Post by: twohands!!! on February 23, 2015, 10:58:18 AM
Very low scoring predicted - would surely think that Mayo will score more than 1-3 ; the Monaghan defence isnt that good. :)
Post by: macdanger2 on February 23, 2015, 11:21:11 AM
I just went on the WP website seeing if there was any news on who's been cut from the panel, their first three headlines under "Connacht Sport" are:

All Black centurion to start for Connacht (Nov '14)

McStay and Holmes front-runners to replace Horan (Sept '14)

Horan steps down as Mayo boss (Aug '14)

:o :o

That used to be a decent enough website
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 23, 2015, 11:52:10 AM
Quote from: mjg on February 23, 2015, 10:12:51 AM
Surely not freezer sure its only a year since he got a standing ovation coming off against cork

His form has been very erratic since he started to play for the county.
No doubt he has enormous talent but if he gets a good belt early on in a game or if things go wrong for him in any way, it seems to put him off his stride.
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 12:09:42 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 23, 2015, 11:21:11 AM
I just went on the WP website seeing if there was any news on who's been cut from the panel, their first three headlines under "Connacht Sport" are:

All Black centurion to start for Connacht (Nov '14)

McStay and Holmes front-runners to replace Horan (Sept '14)

Horan steps down as Mayo boss (Aug '14)

:o :o

That used to be a decent enough website

Horan has stepped down!

Jaysus, are they taking bets on a successor?
Post by: larryin89 on February 23, 2015, 07:40:05 PM
Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Alex Corduff - Ballina Stephenites
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
Keith Rogers - Ballaghaderreen
Stephen Duffy - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
Peter Dravins - Breaffy
Morgan Lyons - Released to Mayo U-21 Panel
Adam Gallagher - Released to Mayo U-21 Panel
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2015, 08:50:23 PM
Sweet feck all on the WP print version regarding the game either. Just a small bit of a half-page preview. I suppose the Annual Sportstars were on and they had to devote most of the sports pages to that. I have to hand it to them though, they always predict a Mayo win.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 23, 2015, 11:19:58 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 23, 2015, 07:40:05 PM
Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Peter Dravins - Breaffy

All relative newcomers / fringe players apart from Varley.

Is Coen not still U21 also??

I would have thought they'd have waited until the end of the league to make cuts, particularly guys who haven't had a run out at all - that said, I wouldn't know much about a lot of those lads to say whether they have potential or not.

Would the cost of maintaining a large panel be one reason for the cull at this stage?
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 11:22:26 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 23, 2015, 11:19:58 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 23, 2015, 07:40:05 PM
Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Peter Dravins - Breaffy

All relative newcomers / fringe players apart from Varley.

Is Coen not still U21 also??

I would have thought they'd have waited until the end of the league to make cuts, particularly guys who haven't had a run out at all - that said, I wouldn't know much about a lot of those lads to say whether they have potential or not.

Would the cost of maintaining a large panel be one reason for the cull at this stage?

Some might say it is the only reason.
Post by: Nihilist on February 23, 2015, 11:31:21 PM
So who's left ?

Clarke, Hennelly, O'Malley
Harrisson, Keane, Hall, Cafferkey, Higgins, Cuniffe
Boyle, Coen, Durcan, Keegan, McHale, Feeney
Parsons, B Moran, SOS, Vaughan
A Gallagher, McLoughlin, AOS, Doherty, Dillon, DOC
Freeman, Ronaldson, COC, A Moran, Sweeney, Conroy

Others
Drake, Lyons ...... who else ?
Post by: Nihilist on February 23, 2015, 11:36:33 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on February 23, 2015, 11:31:21 PM
So who's left ?

Others

2 more i think of - COS and Regan
Brings total to 35
Post by: maigheo on February 23, 2015, 11:39:43 PM
Darren COEN is about 23 years old.Thought he would have made the break thro in 2013 but after been taken off  at HT in the connacht final that year never really appeared again
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 11:56:03 PM
So who's left ?

Others

Thought I saw on FB that Adam G was 'released to the U-21 panel' with Morgan Lyons.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 24, 2015, 08:35:06 AM
Would probably have made more sense to name the actual panel as opposed to those dropped or injured.

QuoteCurrently Injured/Recovering from injury and unavailable for Sunday
Evan Regan
Chris Barrett
Tom Parsons
Brendan Harrison
Andy Moran
Alan Dillon
Mickey Conroy
Jason Gibbons

The Following players have been released back to their respective clubs:
Gavin Duffy - Salthill/Knocknacarra
Enda Varley - Garrymore
Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
Peter Dravins - Breaffy

http://www.mayogaa.com/news/353111/Update_Mayo_Senior_Football_Panel
Post by: twohands!!! on February 24, 2015, 08:46:36 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 23, 2015, 11:56:03 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on February 23, 2015, 11:36:33 PM
So who's left ?

Others

Thought I saw on FB that Adam G was 'released to the U-21 panel' with Morgan Lyons.

2 more i think of - COS and Regan
Brings total to 35

Chris Barrett, Jason Gibbons are on the injury list so I presume that they should be considered as squad members.

I think this is the current state of play - 35

Barrett,Harrisson, Keane, Hall, Cafferkey, Higgins, Cuniffe
Boyle, Coen, Durcan, Keegan, McHale, Feeney, Drake
Parsons, B Moran, SOS, Vaughan, Gibbons, COS
McLoughlin, AOS, Doherty, Dillon, DOC
Freeman, Ronaldson, COC, A Moran, Sweeney, Conroy, Regan

Of those 35 the injured/missing 8 are
Regan, Barrett, Parsons, Harrison, A Moran, A Dillon, Conroy, Gibbons
Post by: Tubberman on February 24, 2015, 08:52:51 AM
Kirby played against Clare I read - is he gone again or was he ever there!?
Post by: muppet on February 24, 2015, 09:55:15 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 24, 2015, 08:52:51 AM
Kirby played against Clare I read - is he gone again or was he ever there!?

I was just going to ask that, Neil Douglas also had some game time.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 24, 2015, 10:07:54 AM
Hoganstand has Dillon in line for return, Mayogaa has him on the injury list..

Hopefully Darren Hughes will return for us as he was badly missed in mid-field for the Cork game. Finlay done well in mid-field the last day too (well for 55/60 mins) so I would like to see this pairing, with Neil McAdam dropping back to CHB. I think the full back line of Drew and Ryan Wylie and Conor Boyle should remain as they done well the last day, despite O'Neill scoring 2.something of young Wylie.

I reckon it will be tight. Monaghan are more consistent and don't exhibit the same fear of the bigger teams of late. If they get their tempo right from the start Id be hopeful that they can shade it..

It's well poised for both teams in fairness; 2 pts and safety is looking a lot more likely, 0 pts (and two back to back losses) and the headlight of the oncoming relegation train starts to appear brighter!

Post by: macdanger2 on February 24, 2015, 10:56:17 AM
As GMF says, it's a big enough match in terms of where you go in the league after this – win and you're probably safe and maybe looking at a SF spot, lose and you're getting close to the relegation battle.

Monaghan are a good side and I'd say are reasonably confident about Ulster this year considering the draw. If they win that, they'd be looking at a chance in the SF to make up for letting Kerry off the hook a few years back (06 or 07?). For me they're the side most likely to come out of the "pack" this year and challenge Dublin / Kerry.

Not very confident about this but it'll be interesting to see how we setup against what will presumably be a fairly defensive Monaghan team (albeit not to the same degree Tyrone were). I wouldn't like to see us playing too defensively, I don't think that would play to our strengths. I'd like to see us move the ball faster and have more movement in the FF line maybe with the option of having a big man in there at some stage just to mix it up a bit – no point in doing that though unless we're playing in the right kind of ball at the right time rather than just aimless punts when a move has slowed down completely.

COC will presumably be back so that should be worth a couple of points to us, a lot will depend on what support he has on that front.
Post by: Main Street on February 24, 2015, 01:17:31 PM
Should the thread title not read,  Mayo 1-3 Monaghan 0-15?
Post by: twohands!!! on February 24, 2015, 01:24:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 24, 2015, 01:17:31 PM

Read the thread - I already made that crap gag earlier...
Post by: macdanger2 on February 24, 2015, 01:26:13 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 24, 2015, 01:24:56 PM

And it wasn't a great gag then either  ;D  ;D
Post by: muppet on February 24, 2015, 01:41:49 PM

Nope 1-3-15.

Goals, points, wides.
Post by: donelli on February 24, 2015, 03:31:24 PM
Intending to travel to this match on Sunday morning.

Where's the best spots to eat/drink near McHale park before/after the match.
Irish rugby on afterwards too so might catch the 2nd half if i'm still interested.

Post by: muppet on February 24, 2015, 03:41:11 PM
Quote from: donelli on February 24, 2015, 03:31:24 PM
Intending to travel to this match on Sunday morning.

Where's the best spots to eat/drink near McHale park before/after the match.
Irish rugby on afterwards too so might catch the 2nd half if i'm still interested.

If you are in town for a while, Bar One (http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g186626-d1819773-Reviews-Bar_One-Castlebar_County_Mayo_Western_Ireland.html) for food (might need to book it) and then up the street to Mick Byrne's for pints. Make sure to wear your colours!

If Bar One is busy there are lots of decent places within a short walk of there.
Post by: Main Street on February 24, 2015, 03:42:49 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 24, 2015, 01:26:13 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 24, 2015, 01:24:56 PM

And it wasn't a great gag then either  ;D  ;D
Sorry about that, I thought you had to tell them twice in Mayo and still they'd struggle.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 26, 2015, 01:17:50 PM
I presume the teams will be named tonight?? Or will ours be Friday again??
Post by: Schkite on February 26, 2015, 08:47:42 PM
Monaghan team named:

1   Rory Beggan   
2   Conor Boyle   
3   Drew Wylie   
4   Ryan Wylie   
5   Dessie Mone   
6   Fintan Kelly   
7   Kieran Duffy   
8   Neil McAdam   
9   Paul Finlay   
10   Kieran Hughes   
11   Stephen Gollogly   
12   Ryan Mc Anespie   
13   Dermot Malone
14   Daniel McKenna   
15   Conor McManus   

16   Enda Duffy   
17   John Mc Carron   
18   Paddy McGuigan   
19   Karl O'Connell   
20   Vinny Corey   
21   Darren Hughes   
22   Owen Duffy   
23   Padraig Donaghy   
24   Thomas Connolly   
25   Thomas Kerr   
26   Paul Meegan

I doubt the team will start exactly like that, so hopefully Darren is fit to start again.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 26, 2015, 09:18:17 PM
Mayo XV

1.) Robbie Hennelly
2.) Tom Cunniffe
3.) Kevin Keane
4.) Keith Higgins
5.) Lee Keegan
6.) Stephen Coen
7.) Patrick Durcan
8.) Donal Vaughan
9.) Seamus O'Shea
10.) Kevin McLoughlin
11.) Aidan O'Shea
12.) Diarmuid O'Connor
13.) Mark Ronaldson
14.) Cillian O'Connor
15.) Jason Doherty
Post by: macdanger2 on February 26, 2015, 10:00:37 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 26, 2015, 09:18:17 PM
Mayo XV

1.) Robbie Hennelly
2.) Tom Cunniffe
3.) Kevin Keane
4.) Keith Higgins
5.) Lee Keegan
6.) Stephen Coen
7.) Patrick Durcan
8.) Donal Vaughan
9.) Seamus O'Shea
10.) Kevin McLoughlin
11.) Aidan O'Shea
12.) Diarmuid O'Connor
13.) Mark Ronaldson
14.) Cillian O'Connor
15.) Jason Doherty

Pretty close to a full strength side bar the HB line, Keane & Moran.
Post by: ballinaman on February 26, 2015, 10:24:25 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 26, 2015, 10:00:37 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 26, 2015, 09:18:17 PM
Mayo XV

1.) Robbie Hennelly
2.) Tom Cunniffe
3.) Kevin Keane
4.) Keith Higgins
5.) Lee Keegan
6.) Stephen Coen
7.) Patrick Durcan
8.) Donal Vaughan
9.) Seamus O'Shea
10.) Kevin McLoughlin
11.) Aidan O'Shea
12.) Diarmuid O'Connor
13.) Mark Ronaldson
14.) Cillian O'Connor
15.) Jason Doherty

Pretty close to a full strength side bar the HB line, Keane & Moran.
I'd guess 10 of those lads will be there come Championship for sure...other 5 are up for grabs.
Post by: REDCOL on February 26, 2015, 10:37:57 PM
Does anyone seriously believe that Keane and Coen are going to man the Central positions come Salthill. I'd say Kevin Walsh will pray every night between now and then for them two to start. It looks like the new management are intent on breaking up the best line we had in our half back line and introducing the two young lads from their own clubs, Would like to see M Forde get a run, he was very impressive with Sligo IT in the Sigerson. I'd say Colm Boyle and Ger Caff are getting nervous as the new setup dont seem to fancy them.
Post by: mayoman dan on February 26, 2015, 10:54:34 PM
Quote from: REDCOL on February 26, 2015, 10:37:57 PM
Does anyone seriously believe that Keane and Coen are going to man the Central positions come Salthill. I'd say Kevin Walsh will pray every night between now and then for them two to start. It looks like the new management are intent on breaking up the best line we had in our half back line and introducing the two young lads from their own clubs, Would like to see M Forde get a run, he was very impressive with Sligo IT in the Sigerson. I'd say Colm Boyle and Ger Caff are getting nervous as the new setup dont seem to fancy them.

If they dont fancy Colm Boyle they should be beat with balls of there own shite.He epitomised everything that was good about Mayo the last few years.A real warrior and it has to be about where to put him not IF we play him.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 26, 2015, 10:58:08 PM
Boyler is a nailed on starter I'd say.

Caff less so but if he's not at fb, he'd be worth a look at corner back or even chb I reckon.

No harm in having a look at Durcan and Coen, keeps the pressure on the established guys if nothing else
Post by: Nihilist on February 26, 2015, 11:34:45 PM
Would doubt yet that anything is nailed down.

Keane has done well so far at FB so let him keep going. If nothing else it's important to have good backup be it either Cafferkey or Keane that takes the spot. No harm either to give Colm Boyle a rest. Both Durcan and Coen are big enough guys physically but they need game time against tough Div1 opposition. Same for O'Connor in 1/2 fw line.

I think COC going in on the edge of the square is ok but personally I would have tried Freeman in the corner to see if he could win more ball.
Subs as usual will be interesting.
Post by: moysider on February 27, 2015, 12:36:45 AM

Doherty back in the corner is interesting. Of course he could play deeper.
It ll be interesting to see if this team shows any more guile in breaking down a massed defense than the last one. Apart from Kevin Mac there isn t much subtlety around the middle.

Agree about Boyle being a main man come championship.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 27, 2015, 10:38:02 AM
Dunno what to expect on Sunday as it's too early n the season to start talking about form lines and all that sort of guff. But I'm certainly not a happy bunny right now as I'm more worried about who is on the sideline rather than who is out on the field.

I've always had great respect for Noel Connelly as a player and later as a manager.
I'd rate him alongside James Horan as a standout member of an outstanding team.
Pateen may well be a decent guy but I never rated him as a player or as a manager either.
Didn't know  what to expect going into the Kerry game but I was heartened when the awesome twosome made intelligent changes when Kerry were threatening to take control of the game. Tactical nous wasn't Horan's strong point so I was happy enough about that.
However, the old failing of being unable to close out the game when well ahead was still there.
It would be unfair to lay all the blame on Pat and Noel but it's something they better rectify ASAP.
However, the display in the Tyrone game really disappointed me.
Mayo have one of the most experienced panels in the land.
(IIRC, between players and replacements, we had 15 players on the field with AI experience.)
Yet they were completely bamboozled by Tyrone's defensive strategy which was pretty basic at best.
It's not as if Mayo were caught out by Tyrone's approach as Mickey Harte used it in the semi in 2013 when Mayo were flattening all around them. Mayo didn't manage to get on top until well into the second half. Donegal did something similar in 2012 when they had no problem keeping the Mayo attack under control.
You could blame JH to a certain extent for the inability to break down blanket defences but he wasn't the scapegoat on this occasion. Neither management nor players had any reason to feel pleased about Mayo's display in that game.
So, I know it's still only early spring and you can't expect the team to be at its best but Monaghan won't be either and neither will any team we'll be meeting this year so  basic errors are a cause  concern.
I'll be travelling west more in hope than in confidence and besides Farr only predicted a 6 point loss. He'd need to have gone for at least twenty before I'd feel confident!.
Post by: mjg on February 27, 2015, 10:48:28 AM
Formidable fff line with doc and coc
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 27, 2015, 02:46:04 PM
I'd be hopeful that D Hughes makes a starting return. He's a big addition at either MF or wing forward. Finlay done well there against Cork but not able for 70 mins and required for frees from the right in the last 10 minutes in my opinion.. Otherwise a strong looking team. The jury's still out as to whether Neil McAdam cuts it at this level but deserves a crack at it; similar could be said for Kieran Duffy.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 27, 2015, 02:53:30 PM
1   Rory Beggan
2   Conor Boyle
3   Drew Wylie
4   Ryan Wylie
5   Dessie Mone
6   Fintan Kelly
7   Kieran Duffy
8   Neil McAdam
9   Paul Finlay
10   Kieran Hughes
11   Stephen Gollogly
12   Ryan Mc Anespie
13   Dermot Malone
14   Daniel McKenna
15   Conor McManus

16   Enda Duffy
17   John Mc Carron
18   Paddy McGuigan
19   Karl O'Connell
20   Vinny Corey
21   Darren Hughes
22   Owen Duffy
23   Padraig Donaghy
24   Thomas Connolly
25   Thomas Kerr
26   Paul Meegan
Post by: twohands!!! on February 27, 2015, 02:54:15 PM
1      Robbie Hennelly
2      Tom Cunniffe
3      Kevin Keane
4      Keith Higgins
5      Lee Keegan
6      Stephen Coen
7      Patrick Durcan
8      Donal Vaughan
9      Seamus O'Shea
10    Kevin McLoughlin
11    Aidan O'Shea
12    Diarmuid O'Connor
13    Mark Ronaldson
14    Cillian O'Connor
15    Jason Doherty
Post by: twohands!!! on February 27, 2015, 03:01:22 PM
Mayo so confident that they are not even bothering naming subs  ;)

The 15 Mayo named does look like a nice balanced league blend of experienced players and young lads being given a chance to develop, while still having an eye of getting the  win.

I think Mayo will be very keen to wipe away the memory of the home loss to Tyrone - 2 losses in a row at home to Northern teams would put them in a poor enough place.

Monaghan I think wont be feeling as desperate to win away, especially given the fact that they will be feeling they were unlucky the way the Cork game panned out.
Post by: babarino on February 28, 2015, 12:09:56 AM
Some of these forensic Mayo posts would bore you into submission.

They regularly get out of a low level province to reach the closing stages of championships, which has sustained them and given them hope for years (not enough to get over the line).

They're now on a downward trend, while we're going up.

I expect an away win in the whest.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 28, 2015, 12:30:54 AM
Quote from: babarino on February 28, 2015, 12:09:56 AM

They regularly get out of a low level province to reach the closing stages of championships, which has sustained them and given them hope for years (not enough to get over the line).

Ffs babarino, no mention of us lacking a marque forward? The o'ses are too slow? Our full back line is dodgy under the high ball??

Take a lesson from some of the Tyrone lads on here, these are kinda things you need to be hitting for a really good wind up.

If "low level province" and "downward trend" are all you have to offer then you're destined for the second or third division I reckon  ;D
Post by: babarino on February 28, 2015, 10:29:59 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 28, 2015, 12:30:54 AM
Take a lesson from some of the Tyrone lads on here, these are kinda things you need to be hitting for a really good wind up.

If "low level province" and "downward trend" are all you have to offer then you're destined for the second or third division I reckon  ;D

We don't take lessons from Tyronies. We gave them a good lesson in their own back yard a few weeks ago. Now it's your turn ;)
Post by: Syferus on February 28, 2015, 05:54:02 PM
Ulster isn't much to write home about. Questionable if there is even an AI challenger in the province this year.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 28, 2015, 06:10:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 28, 2015, 05:54:02 PM
Ulster isn't much to write home about. Questionable if there is even an AI challenger in the province this year.
After your track record of writing Kerry off a Ulster side will likely reach the All Ireland final this September at least now...
Post by: Syferus on February 28, 2015, 07:47:27 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 28, 2015, 06:10:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 28, 2015, 05:54:02 PM
After your track record of writing Kerry off a Ulster side will likely reach the All Ireland final this September at least now...

You'd want to look up the definition of the word questionable.
Post by: larryin89 on February 28, 2015, 08:01:37 PM

Umm according to paddy power three connacht counties are in the top ten in 15 , that's 60% ,with leinster at just one,that's 8% odd, munster with two ,that's 35% and Ulster with four , that's 44% . So paddy thinks connacht is the strongest province in Ireland and most competitive .
Post by: Nihilist on February 28, 2015, 08:58:16 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on February 28, 2015, 08:01:37 PM

Umm according to paddy power three connacht counties are in the top ten in 15 , that's 60% ,with leinster at just one,that's 8% odd, munster with two ,that's 35% and Ulster with four , that's 44% . So paddy thinks connacht is the strongest province in Ireland and most competitive .

Technically New York and London also play in Connacht so that changes that % statistic somewhat.
Post by: larryin89 on February 28, 2015, 10:14:14 PM
Quote from: Nihilist on February 28, 2015, 08:58:16 PM

Technically New York and London also play in Connacht so that changes that % statistic somewhat.

Hence my wording " Connacht counties" .
Post by: maigheo on March 01, 2015, 01:59:25 PM
Ciaran Mcmanus out of the Monaghan line up
Post by: Tubberman on March 01, 2015, 02:01:09 PM
Kirby and Neil Douglas on bench, so they are still on the panel
Post by: Blowitupref on March 01, 2015, 02:40:33 PM
Half time Mayo 0-9 Monaghan 0-6. Monaghan down to 14 men harsh sending off according to guys on mid west radio.
Post by: Schkite on March 01, 2015, 02:41:25 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 01, 2015, 01:59:25 PM
Ciaran Mcmanus out of the Monaghan line up

As he has always been.
Post by: J70 on March 01, 2015, 03:17:13 PM
1-13 to 0-8 to Mayo
Post by: Tubberman on March 01, 2015, 03:20:47 PM
Two men sent off for Monaghan, sounds like they're discipline has been atrocious.
Comfortable win for Mayo now, hopefully they all get off the pitch uninjured.
Post by: straightred on March 01, 2015, 03:38:34 PM
I'm relying on texts and radio for info but it seems hickey has been shocking. You'll always have bad decisions for a red here and there but the missed foul in lead up to 1st goal changed everything.
The Monaghan Dublin game in Clones in April is beginning to look more and more important
Post by: macdanger2 on March 01, 2015, 03:39:58 PM
Good win, probably should have been more, sounded like we had some bad wides. The sendings off make it hard to judge, it was tight enough up to that
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 03:46:48 PM
Ah sure how could a team from a low-level province do that to a team from The Most Competitive Province™?
Post by: fearsiuil on March 01, 2015, 03:49:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 03:46:48 PM
Ah sure how could a team from a low-level province do that to a team from The Most Competitive Province™?

Would you mind f**king off outta here and quit spouting that crap as if every post on this site is for you to respond to. FFS come here to get some info on game and have to trawl through this pi55.
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 04:02:11 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on March 01, 2015, 03:49:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 03:46:48 PM

Would you mind f**king off outta here and quit spouting that crap as if every post on this site is for you to respond to. FFS come here to get some info on game and have to trawl through this pi55.

You'd want to calm down lad.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 04:05:53 PM
13 point win means Mayo are sitting pretty but puts Monaghan under a bit of pressure.
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2015, 04:36:15 PM

Post by: larryin89 on March 01, 2015, 05:03:13 PM
What people see at games is beyond me it's like the gold and white dress doin the rounds, how anyone can even attempt to justify that mental aggression by Monaghan is just stupid. Fookin animals of Ulster basterised our game.

Fair play to our bucks, held their heads and won the game handsomely albeit some bad shooting again.

AOS at ff , anyone want to remind me again how it would never work? He will cause havoc against certain teams in that position , likes of the fancy dans on the hard ground in June would be bet out the gate. Please persist with this at least as an option pateen .
Post by: moysider on March 01, 2015, 05:54:55 PM

A played on the point of a 2 man ff line today and yeah it was a success.

Monaghan were not as defensive as Tyrone so Mayo were able to exploit space inside from the start. In these circumstances Aidan thrived and is an option going forward as the primary target man.

One of the few negatives today was the butchering of several early opportunities to put daylight between the teams. Poor decision making - like trying to work a goal shooting opportunity when they weren t on, or executing them poorly - cost us a few early points. Monaghan managed to lead early on even though they were living on crumbs. We need to get more efficient when opportunities present themselves.

Personally I was delighted to see us being more defensive and playing our own version of a blanket. Not surprisingly Doc played a deeper role so we only had 3 forwards in reality with the whole hf line dropping off. The younger O Connor played this game very well and should develop into a terrific player. We were more defensive than Monaghan today and between this and the O Shea move there's hope for Pateen yet.

Some of our established players look a bit of the pace yet and I thought a couple of the subs did too. Cunniffe looked up to speed though and Ronaldon was very clever. Vaughan was playing well and must have picked up an injury. Boyle put in a good shift in the second half.
Post by: Main Street on March 01, 2015, 06:34:40 PM
Rory Beggan broke some ice and pointed his first of the year, a long range free against the wind, that has to be a good omen.
Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2015, 06:36:59 PM
It's all well and good having a good personal day but to be a proper FF you need to play others into the game. Nothing I've seen from AOS in his entire career suggests his hands, feet and vision are of the level nessecary to do that against top teams in the enclosed, outnumbered spaces FFs operate in in an era where at least one if not two of the FF are regularly not even in the attacking half of the field.

Might still be the best FF option Mayo have but I'd be happy to see him twiddling his thumbs beside a goalkeeper for most of the match. He's the best attacking midfielder in the country on his day. You'd want him to be involved in the play as much as possible to get the most out of him.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2015, 07:45:55 PM
What was that monaghan number 4 at?? Could have wrecked your man.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 01, 2015, 07:46:53 PM
Jeez what was Wylie at with that sending off - mental stuff.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 01, 2015, 07:48:08 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 01, 2015, 07:45:55 PM
What was that monaghan number 4 at?? Could have wrecked your man.

Ah sure it was only a push!

What an idiot for doing that. What was the point? As well as being extremely dangerous!
Post by: Tubberman on March 01, 2015, 08:12:08 PM
Jesus, only saw the league Sunday coverage now. Monaghan were out of control, acting like a gang of thugs. They got their arses handed to them on the scoreboard anyway!
From the highlights it looked like Diarmuid O'Connor was involved in most of Mayo's good play which was great to see.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 01, 2015, 08:27:58 PM
I had my reservations for about 2 or 3 minutes on AOS in the full-forward position, but today it worked a treat. I'm sure Syferus would indeed love to see him in twiddling his thumbs beside the keeper, but I don't think any manager would be so stupid to leave him there if we were getting beat sick out the field. A reasonably good performance against a poor, indisciplined Monaghan team. I don't know what the first Monaghan player was sent off for, and didn't see the league Sunday highlights either. But I felt Monaghan lost all sense of self-control after that anyway.

Keane had a good game I thought, he was marking a good player as well though. Agree with moy re Vaughan today in the middle, I thought he was doing well, and he chipped in with a nice point. It was a shame SOS got a black card, for which to my eyes wasn't a black card at all as he wasn't near the Monaghan man who went down that time. However, he got it and he saved (DOC's I think) bacon with it. Glad too Freeman showed well and scored 1-1, despite me giving out about him after the last game v Tyrone.

One thing I am getting increasingly sick of though is this 'one in all in' approach. Every game there seems to be a few of these sort of rows going on.
Post by: moysider on March 01, 2015, 08:31:47 PM
I d suspect a lot of counties believe that Mayo can be softened up hence this type of approach.
It could have been worse for Mon. on scoreboard and player nos. I was surprised how bad tempered they were from the start.
Anyway its 2 points and another win should be enough to stay in Div1. The good score probably as good as another point.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2015, 08:56:29 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 01, 2015, 08:27:58 PM
I had my reservations for about 2 or 3 minutes on AOS in the full-forward position, but today it worked a treat. I'm sure Syferus would indeed love to see him in twiddling his thumbs beside the keeper, but I don't think any manager would be so stupid to leave him there if we were getting beat sick out the field. A reasonably good performance against a poor, indisciplined Monaghan team. I don't know what the first Monaghan player was sent off for, and didn't see the league Sunday highlights either. But I felt Monaghan lost all sense of self-control after that anyway.

Keane had a good game I thought, he was marking a good player as well though. Agree with moy re Vaughan today in the middle, I thought he was doing well, and he chipped in with a nice point. It was a shame SOS got a black card, for which to my eyes wasn't a black card at all as he wasn't near the Monaghan man who went down that time. However, he got it and he saved (DOC's I think) bacon with it. Glad too Freeman showed well and scored 1-1, despite me giving out about him after the last game v Tyrone.

One thing I am getting increasingly sick of though is this 'one in all in' approach. Every game there seems to be a few of these sort of rows going on.

Gollogoly belted the guy in the stomach. Very obvious flailing arm punch.

Still don't think monaghan are a poor team but those were two poor sendings off and they'll be no threat to anyone unless that carry on is sorted out.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 01, 2015, 09:24:18 PM
Fair enough, I was down at the far 45 and didn't see it happen, I didn't see the belt to the stomach.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2015, 09:29:40 PM
It was caught on camera and the linesman saw it too.
Post by: Main Street on March 01, 2015, 09:57:59 PM
For an inbred bunch of sheep shaggers, you do like to put on innocent airs.
Gollogly momentarily forgot that you can only give a player a belt when he has the ball in his possession.
Ryan Wylie's indiscretion was another matter, fortunately the Mayo lad didn't look too damaged, a soft landing perhaps, he took advantage of the rebound to regain his momentum and get back on his feet, barely missing a beat.
Post by: moysider on March 01, 2015, 11:15:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 01, 2015, 09:57:59 PM
For an inbred bunch of sheep shaggers, you do like to put on innocent airs.
Gollogly momentarily forgot that you can only give a player a belt when he has the ball in his possession.
Ryan Wylie's indiscretion was another matter, fortunately the Mayo lad didn't look too damaged, a soft landing perhaps, he took advantage of the rebound to regain his momentum and get back on his feet, barely missing a beat.

Hmmmm. If your's and Babarino's attitude are typical of people from your county, it's no surprise that the Monaghan come to town with the approach they did.
Post by: babarino on March 02, 2015, 12:19:55 AM
In the grand scheme of things this game doesn't count for much, and we'd love a rematch next summer.

Monaghan lost the rag with an incompetent ref. It's just part of life in gaelic games - the perceived top teams get the benefit of the doubt. The first red, when the game was balanced, was a ridiculous. What followed wasn't good either, but it's not like similar stuff wasn't happening elsewhere in Division 1.

Spare us the Enda Kennyesque holier than thou crap. If youse think that scoreline reflects the difference between Monaghan and Mayo, you're deluding yourselves.
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2015, 12:44:04 AM
Quote from: babarino on March 02, 2015, 12:19:55 AM
In the grand scheme of things this game doesn't count for much, and we'd love a rematch next summer.

Monaghan lost the rag with an incompetent ref. It's just part of life in gaelic games - the perceived top teams get the benefit of the doubt. The first red, when the game was balanced, was a ridiculous. What followed wasn't good either, but it's not like similar stuff wasn't happening elsewhere in Division 1.

Spare us the Enda Kennyesque holier than thou crap. If youse think that scoreline reflects the difference between Monaghan and Mayo, you're deluding yourselves.

It doesn't.

Here are two teams performances in Croke Park the last 4 Championships:

W D L
6  1  3 - Mayo
0  0  2 - Monaghan

That reflects the difference between the two teams.

Until your team starts putting other numbers instead of those two zeros, you are the one's deluding yourselves.
Post by: moysider on March 02, 2015, 12:51:53 AM

Quit with the Kenny shite a stór. As for the rest....
If anything the ref. was easy on Monaghan. Both Hughes could have gone - the fella with 21 on his back could have walked twice on his own. There were  also 2 shouts for black cards on Aidan O Shea that Hickey waved away. Not for the first time fouls on O Shea do not count but god help him if he attempts to tackle a player.
Monaghan lost the rag alright but because their bullying did not work. If you think that scoreline does not reflect the difference between the 2 teams, you are deluding yourself.
I was crying out for us to be defensive and cute and it was great to see a team lose it when they don t get the softness they expect when they play us. This Monaghan team obviously believed the hype about themselves and the general lack of regard we re held in. That s strange from a team that hasn t played us for some years. Likes of Dessie Mone ( wouldn t be within an ass's roar of the Mayo panel, let alone team), was acting/talking the man from the start. Monaghan management need to take a long hard look at themselves after that. Especially after trying to scatter the blame after like you're trying to do as well. They ve no future and Monaghan will struggle to stay in Div.1 after that.
We managed to prevail in spite of poor decision making early on and some craven referring that encouraged Monaghan to push out the boat as far as they wanted in the physical stakes, without appropriate sanction.
Post by: Schkite on March 02, 2015, 10:02:01 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 01, 2015, 11:15:28 PM

Hmmmm. If your's and Babarino's attitude are typical of people from your county, it's no surprise that the Monaghan come to town with the approach they did.

Aye, sure judge an entire county on a couple of posts on a message board. Jesus!  ::)

Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2015, 12:44:04 AM

W D L
6  1  3 - Mayo
0  0  2 - Monaghan

Until your team starts putting other numbers instead of those two zeros, you are the one's deluding yourselves.

Our respective Croke Park records are different enough that you don't have to go exaggerating to emphasis your point. Not that it makes a pile of difference but we beat Kildare in Croker last year.

Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2015, 12:51:53 AM

Likes of Dessie Mone ( wouldn t be within an ass's roar of the Mayo panel, let alone team), was acting/talking the man from the start.

There's a lot of talk of delusion these last couple of pages, but you are seriously deluded if you honestly think that about Dessie(who you've bizarrely singled out, despite not being one of the ones sent off). You mightn't like the guy but your statement is obviously false. He's been one of the best half-backs in the country over the last couple of years.

Anyway, seriously disappointing result yesterday. On paper this was always one of our more difficult fixtures so it was going to be hard to get anything out of it anyway, but the performances of the two teams leading up to it gave us a bit more hope. Unfortunately we were on the end of a serious response to Tyrone's win over Mayo, while we couldn't keep up our own level of performance. Not being able to put out a full strength team didn't help, but we still shouldn't have lost like that. The ref was poor, but once we got the first red the wheels came off altogether, the ref wasn't a factor in the result. We can have very little complaints, Mayo much the better team yesterday while our response to a couple of setbacks were not the type you would want. Our discipline was poor also, which is fairly out of character under O'Rourke, yet no doubt that won't stop people going on about "typical Monaghan". It may have been a bad tempered game, but I was still a bit surprised to see all the Mayo lads sticking the boot in even after a decisive win. It's not like we have any sort of history, but they seem to have enjoyed handing our asses to us. Fair enough.

This result means we're very much up against it to stay up, but as I said this was always going to be a tough one for us. I'm still much more annoyed about the Cork game, that was one we let away.
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2015, 12:03:20 PM
Quote from: Schkite on March 02, 2015, 10:02:01 AM
Our respective Croke Park records are different enough that you don't have to go exaggerating to emphasis your point. Not that it makes a pile of difference but we beat Kildare in Croker last year.

Anyway, seriously disappointing result yesterday. On paper this was always one of our more difficult fixtures so it was going to be hard to get anything out of it anyway, but the performances of the two teams leading up to it gave us a bit more hope. Unfortunately we were on the end of a serious response to Tyrone's win over Mayo, while we couldn't keep up our own level of performance. Not being able to put out a full strength team didn't help, but we still shouldn't have lost like that. The ref was poor, but once we got the first red the wheels came off altogether, the ref wasn't a factor in the result. We can have very little complaints, Mayo much the better team yesterday while our response to a couple of setbacks were not the type you would want. Our discipline was poor also, which is fairly out of character under O'Rourke, yet no doubt that won't stop people going on about "typical Monaghan". It may have been a bad tempered game, but I was still a bit surprised to see all the Mayo lads sticking the boot in even after a decisive win. It's not like we have any sort of history, but they seem to have enjoyed handing our asses to us. Fair enough.

I was really referring to the AIF series starting at the quarters, but I take your point.

As for sticking the boot in, the two posters desperately seeking attention got what they wanted.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on March 02, 2015, 12:58:07 PM
Lads, just take the beating this time.

From the outset it was ominous. Hearing Connor wasn't starting and Darren wasn't his replacement just left two massive gaps that we can't fill for a full 70. That said, we started reasonably well with Daniel and Kieran hitting great points and Rory finding his range for one, but we rode all of our luck in not conceding 2/3 goals in the first half along with some poor Mayo shooting. Our midfield got over run and is a key area that will cause us big trouble if we don't have a full pick.

Jinxys sending off was awful silly, you just can be doing that. I only saw the left hand swing at the time, and thought it was harsh, but seeing the reply, there's not much defence and in fairness the Mayo man didn't collapse looking for him to get the line either. It was very disappointing as he has probably been our best player so far this year. Coupled with losing Malone afterwards we lost that positive bite that we often need to swing small margins back in our favour. Did anyone see Malone's black card offence? Not sure what it was for.

We were still in the game early in the second half going 10 8 down, and missed a free to go one down. But that was as good as it got. The gaps appeared and the first goal sealed the game. Ryan McAnespie was third man tackled in that play. I was expecting the referees whistle and a black card but neither came. From there the frustration set in, manifested in some disappointing moments.

The second red was again justified, that fella could have got hurt and the sound of the clatter certainly didn't help Ryan's case. The wee schmozle wasn't needed either, Kieran could have got the line there along with Donaghy. There might be times when a bit of a shake about is needed but not when you're on that side of a hiding. It looks awful.
On a side note, I saw the RTE highlights last night including Darren Hughes shouting at the ref. Either RTE were saving us from more negative press by not showing Hughes`s shoulder on the Mayo player that resulted in the free against him or they have taken his reaction out of context by not showing a fair hit.....
The rest of the game petered out at Mayo`s pace. The only positive in that period were the kickouts that Kieran won and his great score at the end. 

The most disappointing thing from yesterday is that now we have made Donegal's task easier for next weekend which I hope doesn't snowball into a bad March for us. We won't have Jinxy or Wylie. Duffy looked bad coming off, Hughes mustn't be 100% or he would have started and Connors injured too. Add all them to the list of our current injured players and we`ve a very tough prospect ahead. There's a fine balance between wanting to survive in this division and taking risks on injured players, and that lies with Malachy. We have to keep an eye on Cavan in May.
Post by: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:00:42 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on March 02, 2015, 12:58:07 PM

From the outset it was ominous. Hearing Connor wasn't starting and Darren wasn't his replacement just left two massive gaps that we can't fill for a full 70. That said, we started reasonably well with Daniel and Kieran hitting great points and Rory finding his range for one, but we rode all of our luck in not conceding 2/3 goals in the first half along with some poor Mayo shooting. Our midfield got over run and is a key area that will cause us big trouble if we don't have a full pick.

Jinxys sending off was awful silly, you just can be doing that. I only saw the left hand swing at the time, and thought it was harsh, but seeing the reply, there's not much defence and in fairness the Mayo man didn't collapse looking for him to get the line either. It was very disappointing as he has probably been our best player so far this year. Coupled with losing Malone afterwards we lost that positive bite that we often need to swing small margins back in our favour. Did anyone see Malone's black card offence? Not sure what it was for.

We were still in the game early in the second half going 10 8 down, and missed a free to go one down. But that was as good as it got. The gaps appeared and the first goal sealed the game. Ryan McAnespie was third man tackled in that play. I was expecting the referees whistle and a black card but neither came. From there the frustration set in, manifested in some disappointing moments.

The second red was again justified, that fella could have got hurt and the sound of the clatter certainly didn't help Ryan's case. The wee schmozle wasn't needed either, Kieran could have got the line there along with Donaghy. There might be times when a bit of a shake about is needed but not when you're on that side of a hiding. It looks awful.
On a side note, I saw the RTE highlights last night including Darren Hughes shouting at the ref. Either RTE were saving us from more negative press by not showing Hughes`s shoulder on the Mayo player that resulted in the free against him or they have taken his reaction out of context by not showing a fair hit.....
The rest of the game petered out at Mayo`s pace. The only positive in that period were the kickouts that Kieran won and his great score at the end. 

The most disappointing thing from yesterday is that now we have made Donegal's task easier for next weekend which I hope doesn't snowball into a bad March for us. We won't have Jinxy or Wylie. Duffy looked bad coming off, Hughes mustn't be 100% or he would have started and Connors injured too. Add all them to the list of our current injured players and we`ve a very tough prospect ahead. There's a fine balance between wanting to survive in this division and taking risks on injured players, and that lies with Malachy. We have to keep an eye on Cavan in May.

The first red was harsh and given what happened in the drawn game against Kerry last year mayo should know what it feels like to come out on the wrong end of one of those - technically the right call but harsh nonetheless.

The non call of the 3rd man tackle was probably the worst decision of the day as it led directly to the first goal and it was so blatant. When coaching we are always telling kids not to get on the refs back as time and time again we see that he will give soft frees against you or fail to give obvious ones in your favour and I can only guess that this is what happened here. Either that or he actually is blind !

Anyway it matters not now. When the points are added up at the end of the season I fear we'll be looking back at the Cork game and not yesterday. Dublin aren't going to be relegated so it looks like 2 out of Derry, Monaghan and Tyrone for the drop.
Post by: seafoid on March 02, 2015, 02:17:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2015, 12:44:04 AM

It doesn't.

W D L
6  1  3 - Mayo
0  0  2 - Monaghan

It would be super if that L column could be stuck at 3 this time next year with the W +3
Post by: AZOffaly on March 02, 2015, 02:21:46 PM

How does Paddy Power reckon that 3 counties are in the top 10 in Ireland?
Post by: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:35:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 02, 2015, 02:21:46 PM

There's a word for it that maybe a gambler among us might help with ?
Basically they will factor the path to the final into their odds. Put it this way - if we had an open draw and every team had to play the same number of games to win an AI then the odds would look different and I doubt that both Galway and Roscommon would be in a top 10
Post by: mayo.mick on March 02, 2015, 03:10:25 PM
http://youtu.be/40Gb1oWp9bY

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/40Gb1oWp9bY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Post by: ballinaman on March 02, 2015, 03:24:29 PM
Quote from: mayo.mick on March 02, 2015, 03:10:25 PM
http://youtu.be/40Gb1oWp9bY

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/40Gb1oWp9bY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
So bad was the thumping it made Mayo people think it was actually March 2014.......disgraceful
Post by: AZOffaly on March 02, 2015, 03:55:20 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:35:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 02, 2015, 02:21:46 PM

There's a word for it that maybe a gambler among us might help with ?
Basically they will factor the path to the final into their odds. Put it this way - if we had an open draw and every team had to play the same number of games to win an AI then the odds would look different and I doubt that both Galway and Roscommon would be in a top 10

That's what I was thinking. There's a subtle difference between being among the top 10 favourites, and being rated in the top 10.
Post by: criostlinn on March 02, 2015, 03:57:13 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:00:42 PM

The first red was harsh and given what happened in the drawn game against Kerry last year mayo should know what it feels like to come out on the wrong end of one of those - technically the right call but harsh nonetheless.

The non call of the 3rd man tackle was probably the worst decision of the day as it led directly to the first goal and it was so blatant. When coaching we are always telling kids not to get on the refs back as time and time again we see that he will give soft frees against you or fail to give obvious ones in your favour and I can only guess that this is what happened here. Either that or he actually is blind !

Anyway it matters not now. When the points are added up at the end of the season I fear we'll be looking back at the Cork game and not yesterday. Dublin aren't going to be relegated so it looks like 2 out of Derry, Monaghan and Tyrone for the drop.

What was harsh about the first red. He threw a punch at him, connected. Pretty straight forward if you ask me.
As for the first goal, I didn't see the third man tackle but one of the monaghan lads was clearly pushed in the back in the build up to the goal.
The monaghan black card was a bit daft as well. An umpire who was about 70 yards away called it. Off the ball the monaghan player caught Kirby by the chest and flung him to the ground. I ddnt think that was a back card offence.
Monaghan could have had two men sent off as a result of the cowardly attack on Kevin McLoughlin but the the ref decides to book one from each team. In Mayo's case Kevin Keane who had very little input in the whole incident.
Seamie O'Shea's black card. Another farcical decision which seemed motivated by in some way evening things up.
Aiden O'Shea's yellow card. called by an umpire standing beside it as Aiden gets pulled and dragged all over the place while trying to get into position for a incoming ball.
Aiden O Shea dragged down twice, no cards.

All in all another typical refereeing performance.
Post by: straightred on March 02, 2015, 04:07:24 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on March 02, 2015, 03:57:13 PM
Quote from: straightred on March 02, 2015, 02:00:42 PM

What was harsh about the first red. He threw a punch at him, connected. Pretty straight forward if you ask me.
As for the first goal, I didn't see the third man tackle but one of the monaghan lads was clearly pushed in the back in the build up to the goal.
The monaghan black card was a bit daft as well. An umpire who was about 70 yards away called it. Off the ball the monaghan player caught Kirby by the chest and flung him to the ground. I ddnt think that was a back card offence.
Monaghan could have had two men sent off as a result of the cowardly attack on Kevin McLoughlin but the the ref decides to book one from each team. In Mayo's case Kevin Keane who had very little input in the whole incident.
Seamie O'Shea's black card. Another farcical decision which seemed motivated by in some way evening things up.
Aiden O'Shea's yellow card. called by an umpire standing beside it as Aiden gets pulled and dragged all over the place while trying to get into position for a incoming ball.
Aiden O Shea dragged down twice, no cards.

All in all another typical refereeing performance.

my point was that it just as harmless (if that's a valid description) as Lee Keegan's offence was last year and god knows there was some outpouring of grief after that. It was a reaction to a stray elbow (also minor) and to the mayo players credit he didn't make any issue of it. Its technically the right decision but IMO anyway a yellow would have been fine.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 02, 2015, 06:36:38 PM
Monaghan collapses during games are becoming more common now. It seems they peaked in 2013 and Cavan could possibly knock them out of Ulster this summer.
Post by: criostlinn on March 02, 2015, 06:39:09 PM
The two incidents aren't even similar. Keegan didn't connect when he was sent off.
Yesterday was as clear a sending off as you're gonna see. "a stray elbow". There is a clip of it in an earlier post if you haven't seen it.
Post by: charlie linkbox on March 02, 2015, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 02, 2015, 06:36:38 PM
Monaghan collapses during games are becoming more common now. It seems they peaked in 2013 and Cavan could possibly knock them out of Ulster this summer.
Elaborate please.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 02, 2015, 06:48:02 PM
Quote from: charlie linkbox on March 02, 2015, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 02, 2015, 06:36:38 PM
Elaborate please.
Dublin last summer well in the game then one injury and total collapse. 2013 Monaghan should have reached the All Ireland semi final.
Post by: charlie linkbox on March 02, 2015, 06:52:21 PM
Ok, so you have one example. Hardly enough to use the phrase "more common". Unless you were inferring that you thought we were invincible beforehand. In which case, thank you!
Post by: Sleater on March 03, 2015, 09:55:25 AM
I wouldn't compare the Dublin and Mayo games. The Dublin game had a 5 minute period where the blitzed us for 2-1 and that sunk us. It that wasn't due to an injury but poor decision making on kick-outs (all three of Dublin's key scores came from Monaghan losing  3 kick-outs - nothing an injured corner back was going to do much about).  The Mayo game is down to sheer bad discipline. Whatever about the referee performance (and it wasn't good), you're in control of your own discipline and Monaghan's was atrocious. Gollogly's thump wasn't that bad (and fair play to the Mayo lad for not making much of it) , but he still should have known better. Ryan Wylie will hopefully learn from his stupid action. Kieran Hughes is a bit of a hot head at teh best of times and can count himself extremely lucky to not have got the line.

Monaghan have a severely depleted squad at the moment. They'll be missing 12 or more regular starters from last season for the next game. The long term view is that it's imperative that the squad be fully fit for Cavan game in the summer. On the other hand, Monaghan have experienced over the past 4 years the demoralising effect a relegation has on a championship season. Those fit will need to rise themselves for the remaining fixtures and refocus. The squad has had depth , but is being stretched to the absolute limits.