Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 14, 2015, 07:19:54 PM

Title: Frostbit - Ruairi McSorley the new star
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 14, 2015, 07:19:54 PM
Nearly choked on my tea watching this wee lad on utv news http://www.joe.ie/entertainment/video-this-irish-teenager-has-an-absolutely-astounding-voice-that-defies-his-age/481201
Title: Re: Frostbit - Ruairi McSorley the new star
Post by: The Iceman on January 14, 2015, 07:58:12 PM
all put on by the young genius. There are videos already popping up of his normal voice.
Post by: JoG2 on January 14, 2015, 08:05:06 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 14, 2015, 07:58:12 PM
all put on by the young genius. There are videos already popping up of his normal voice.

I've met the buck a few times at school functions (hes in the same class as one of my weans). What you see is what you get with young Ruairi. He's a hoot
Post by: The Iceman on January 14, 2015, 08:06:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 14, 2015, 08:02:38 PM
??
Link to him has already crashed with traffic
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qsb5l5fw5tay9s0/myself%20on%20utv.mp4?dl=0 (https://www.dropbox.com/s/qsb5l5fw5tay9s0/myself%20on%20utv.mp4?dl=0)
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 14, 2015, 08:15:26 PM
8million youtube hits already apparently!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 14, 2015, 08:25:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_nC8WKU6tmo&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Not wise
Post by: Kidder81 on January 14, 2015, 09:42:11 PM
Maybe not as off the cuff as I first thought

From UTV - "Ruairí is well known around the North West, having set up his own YouTube channel for his comedy impressions and having already compered a charity talent show in the Millennium Forum."
Post by: T Fearon on January 14, 2015, 10:57:54 PM
Yes this lad was interviewed just by chance I suppose? ::)
Post by: Kidder81 on January 14, 2015, 11:27:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 14, 2015, 10:57:54 PM

The follow up clip with him acting the half wit about his new "fame" seems to confirm it

http://m.u.tv/entertainment/Frostbit-clip-proves-internet-hit/934e1193-ff42-4894-9cfb-037a0815efb1

Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 15, 2015, 12:19:40 AM
I wonder has he any spuds in the year.
Post by: BennyCake on January 15, 2015, 12:48:34 AM
Rumours are he's taking over the voice of Shrek from Mike Myers.
Post by: T Fearon on January 15, 2015, 04:39:53 AM
Orchestrated career launch.He's simply a more modern version of Kevin Mc Aleer
Post by: nrico2006 on January 15, 2015, 08:30:40 AM
He is well known in the north west, has presented a few shows before (one about curting I can remember) and a few other things as well as doing youtube videos and the UTV hotseat one last year which was good.
Post by: johnneycool on January 15, 2015, 08:32:29 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 15, 2015, 08:30:40 AM
He is well known in the north west, has presented a few shows before (one about curting I can remember) and a few other things as well as doing youtube videos and the UTV hotseat one last year which was good.

Thought he was hamming it up myself when I saw it.
Post by: theskull1 on January 15, 2015, 08:52:04 AM
When i seen him on last night I thought of Hugo Duncan and Mr Brown.
Post by: oakleaflad on January 15, 2015, 11:09:11 AM
I can guarantee you the initial interview was by chance.
Post by: Syferus on January 15, 2015, 11:34:27 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 15, 2015, 11:09:11 AM
I can guarantee you the initial interview was by chance.

It was excellent.
Post by: BenDover on January 15, 2015, 11:48:37 AM
He was on TodayFM earlier saying he wagged down the UTV crew
Post by: foxcommander on January 15, 2015, 02:04:12 PM
He's even made it to a show called The Soup on the E! channel in the US...well done lad.

http://www.eonline.com/shows/the_soup/news/614830/this-irish-guy-is-super-excited-about-snow-but-his-roommate-isn-t
Post by: muppet on January 15, 2015, 02:29:01 PM
Why all the cynicism?

Best of luck to the lad. Not my cup of tea but good luck to him.
Post by: screenexile on January 15, 2015, 02:43:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 15, 2015, 02:29:01 PM
Why all the cynicism?

Best of luck to the lad. Not my cup of tea but good luck to him.

Indeed! The interview was very funny but wouldn't be fussed on the rest of it. If he can make something out of it why not best of luck to him.

Someone compared him to Kevin McAleer... I hope he's better!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 15, 2015, 02:46:39 PM
A bit contrived but fcuk it best of luck to him,  a bit of a cross between McAleer, Jimeoin and Tommy the tanker Smythe!
Post by: BennyHarp on January 15, 2015, 03:05:51 PM
Fair play to the kid, even if it was a bit orchastrated, he still only had a few minutes to make an impression and he certainly did that. How many people get their break from a 10 second interview about the weather on local TV, so he's done well to make the impact that he has. The problem he has now is trying to make a career out of it..... because his impressions are pure dung!
Post by: oakleaflad on January 15, 2015, 03:11:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 15, 2015, 02:46:39 PM
A bit contrived but fcuk it best of luck to him,  a bit of a cross between McAleer, Jimeoin and Tommy the tanker Smythe!
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 15, 2015, 03:05:51 PM
Fair play to the kid, even if it was a bit orchastrated, he still only had a few minutes to make an impression and he certainly did that. How many people get their break from a 10 second interview about the weather on local TV, so he's done well to make the impact that he has. The problem he has now is trying to make a career out of it..... because his impressions are pure dung!
Again the first interview was not orchestrated. UTV were interviewing people in the area (3 other locals appeared in the same news clip) and he happily volunteered himself (after a number of other locals declined). They had no idea what he was going to say.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 15, 2015, 03:17:18 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 15, 2015, 03:11:56 PM
Again the first interview was not orchestrated. UTV were interviewing people in the area (3 other locals appeared in the same news clip) and he happily volunteered himself (after a number of other locals declined). They had no idea what he was going to say.

I don't really care if it was orchestrated or not, thats why I said, "even if it was a bit orchestrated" as a response to those saying it was!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 15, 2015, 03:22:54 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 15, 2015, 03:11:56 PM

AH jaysus, settle the head Oakleaflad, or are you Ruairí in disguise?  :P
Post by: Club Rossa on January 15, 2015, 03:54:56 PM
I don't see anything remotely funny about the lad but good luck to him.
Post by: The Iceman on January 15, 2015, 04:08:06 PM
now the whole world thinks this is normal of the Oirish....
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 15, 2015, 04:09:52 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 15, 2015, 04:08:06 PM

Pretty normal in Park and Feeney tbh(maybe not so young)
Post by: Syferus on January 15, 2015, 04:45:10 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 15, 2015, 04:09:52 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 15, 2015, 04:08:06 PM

Pretty normal in Park and Feeney tbh(maybe not so young)

No differ than an eejit here think of all Americans are gun-trotting obese idiots or that all Muslims are terrorists. Stereotypes furthered by the ignorant aren't really within anyone's control nor should we in particular be losing much sleep about it.
Post by: The Subbie on January 15, 2015, 06:30:45 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 15, 2015, 03:54:56 PM
I don't see anything remotely funny about the lad but good luck to him.

+1000.
Post by: Nigel White on January 15, 2015, 06:31:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 15, 2015, 03:30:39 PM
I have seen the clip of him talking about frostbit. Is there something else I'm missing? It was mildly amusing but I have absolutely no idea why people keep going on about it? A wee lad pretending to talk like an aul lad...
Have you ever made a positive comment on this board, or indeed anywhere for that matter?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 15, 2015, 06:58:16 PM
Can't we all just get along?
Post by: The Subbie on January 15, 2015, 07:23:39 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on January 15, 2015, 06:31:29 PM
I have seen the clip of him talking about frostbit. Is there something else I'm missing? It was mildly amusing but I have absolutely no idea why people keep going on about it? A wee lad pretending to talk like an aul lad...
Have you ever made a positive comment on this board, or indeed anywhere for that matter?

is that you Rory? Make a funny face and do one of your wee funny voices there like a good lad will ya ........
Post by: Minus15 on January 15, 2015, 07:40:12 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on January 15, 2015, 07:23:39 PM

is that you Rory? Make a funny face and do one of your wee funny voices there like a good lad will ya ........

you mean Ruairi
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 15, 2015, 07:51:59 PM
Jesus Christ lads, what are yiz fighting about?  Some of you would fight with your own shadow! ::)
Post by: thebigfella on January 15, 2015, 08:50:19 PM
After watching that Brendan O'Carroll Is sh1tting himself I suspect
Post by: DuffleKing on January 15, 2015, 08:58:09 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 15, 2015, 08:50:19 PM
After watching that Brendan O'Carroll Is sh1tting himself I suspect

One about as (un)funny as the other
Post by: JoG2 on January 15, 2015, 09:16:19 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on January 15, 2015, 07:40:12 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on January 15, 2015, 07:23:39 PM

you mean Ruairi

+1001
Post by: foxcommander on January 15, 2015, 09:20:29 PM
Might not be everyone's cup of tea but give the lad a chance. Criticism of youngsters could deter them from continuing.

Post by: ONeill on January 15, 2015, 09:47:53 PM
Exactly. Alan Hansen crippled those young lads.
Post by: thebigfella on January 15, 2015, 10:15:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 15, 2015, 10:04:02 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on January 15, 2015, 09:20:29 PM
Might not be everyone's cup of tea but give the lad a chance. Criticism of youngsters could deter them from continuing.
This is not to be encouraged. The type of lad who sat around the adults at family parties being a wee nosey bastid instead of running around the fields with the cousins. Now repeating all he heard like a right smart cnut. Meh, sickens me.

Nail on the head......
Post by: JoG2 on January 15, 2015, 10:31:26 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 15, 2015, 10:15:48 PM
This is not to be encouraged. The type of lad who sat around the adults at family parties being a wee nosey bastid instead of running around the fields with the cousins. Now repeating all he heard like a right smart cnut. Meh, sickens me.

Nail on the head......

Mon now, behave like grown ups
Post by: ONeill on January 15, 2015, 10:36:33 PM

It's running around fields with the cousins that does this.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 15, 2015, 10:46:24 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 15, 2015, 10:15:48 PM

Nail on the head......

I dunno whether you pair or young McSorley are funnier, keep it up Im in stitches at yis
Post by: theticklemister on January 16, 2015, 08:37:39 AM

No fields in west Belfast lad for u
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 16, 2015, 09:07:48 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 16, 2015, 08:37:39 AM

No, they just rode around the Falls in someone else's cars for their kicks!
Post by: orangeman on January 16, 2015, 10:06:08 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 16, 2015, 09:07:48 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 16, 2015, 08:37:39 AM

No, they just rode around the Falls in someone else's cars for their kicks!

Falls' bar round the Hill.
Post by: rosnarun on January 16, 2015, 12:52:14 PM
I think our nordie friends are missing the Joke .
the world is laughing at your accent not at what he was saying  . theis is not meant in a partitionist way as the closest i've herd to him was in St Johnston , Donegal
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 16, 2015, 01:21:52 PM
Have yous not a big bus you could be washin
Post by: The Gs Man on January 16, 2015, 02:00:06 PM

I laughed more at Hardstation's comment than I did at thon wee lad.

Although I did laugh at the wee lad too.

Yis are all quare craic!
Post by: johnneycool on January 16, 2015, 03:49:20 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 16, 2015, 02:00:06 PM

Yis are all quare craic!

I think we all know some wee lad that was as Hardstation describes and the bould Ruairi does look to fit that bill alright.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 16, 2015, 05:40:09 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 16, 2015, 03:49:20 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 16, 2015, 02:00:06 PM

He's a young Larry Grayson

Yis are all quare craic!

I think we all know some wee lad that was as Hardstation describes and the bould Ruairi does look to fit that bill alright.
Post by: Agent Orange on January 16, 2015, 06:44:02 PM
Here's the Ruairi McSorley 'Frostbit' dance remix you've all been waiting for. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMsZDpd4wtk

Post by: annapr on January 16, 2015, 08:00:19 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 16, 2015, 12:52:14 PM
I think our nordie friends are missing the Joke .
the world is laughing at your accent not at what he was saying.
Yeah that was my thinking also.
Post by: rrhf on January 16, 2015, 08:27:51 PM
Classic north Irish humour,  The lads a genius. 
Post by: grounded on January 16, 2015, 08:35:33 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on January 16, 2015, 06:44:02 PM
Here's the Ruairi McSorley 'Frostbit' dance remix you've all been waiting for. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMsZDpd4wtk

Brilliant.
Post by: The Iceman on January 16, 2015, 08:38:14 PM
these viral videos are (pardon the pun) getting out of control.....
we're making celebrities out of edgits and sad cases - the video's of that lad baldy are very sad and this one is of a similar vein....
Post by: whitey on January 16, 2015, 08:43:31 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 16, 2015, 08:38:14 PM
we're making celebrities out of edgits and sad cases - the video's of that lad baldy are very sad and this one is of a similar vein....

Someone needs to step in and do something about that Baldy fella.....I can't imagine it's going to end well for the poor bastard. are those fvckers feeding him drink in order to get him to make the videos
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2015, 09:29:22 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 16, 2015, 08:43:31 PM

Someone needs to step in and do something about that Baldy fella.....I can't imagine it's going to end well for the poor b**tard. are those fvckers feeding him drink in order to get him to make the videos

He walked in front of a moving Luas today that I was on that missed him by inches with a quare one on one arm and a can of Bavaria in the other. Living the dream.
Post by: Nigel White on January 17, 2015, 11:47:21 AM
Seems the boul Ruairi has made it onto the saturday show on rte tonight at 9.50. Good luck to the lad
Post by: trileacman on January 17, 2015, 01:06:56 PM
Hardstation - your wan miserable hoor.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 17, 2015, 01:28:17 PM
He will be on Celebrity Bainisteoir next.
Post by: Nigel White on January 17, 2015, 01:46:48 PM
Unlike yourself who would probably outside letting down the tyres on your uncles car
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2015, 04:29:45 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on January 17, 2015, 11:47:21 AM
Seems the boul Ruairi has made it onto the saturday show on rte tonight at 9.50. Good luck to the lad

Fair play til him - milk it til feck.

Julian Simmons, watch yer back.
Post by: bennydorano on January 17, 2015, 07:14:52 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 16, 2015, 09:29:22 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 16, 2015, 08:43:31 PM

Someone needs to step in and do something about that Baldy fella.....I can't imagine it's going to end well for the poor b**tard. are those fvckers feeding him drink in order to get him to make the videos

He walked in front of a moving Luas today that I was on that missed him by inches with a quare one on one arm and a can of Bavaria in the other. Living the dream.
Quare one - fantastic saying, try to use it once a week.
Post by: johnneycool on January 17, 2015, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2015, 04:29:45 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on January 17, 2015, 11:47:21 AM

Fair play til him - milk it til feck.

Julian Simmons, watch yer back.

Julian might need to watch more than his back with the bould Ruairi about, not that Julian would complain
Post by: annapr on January 17, 2015, 10:55:54 PM
Watched him on Brendan O Connor tonight.
He's a bit of a one trick pony me thinks.
Post by: ziggysego on January 17, 2015, 10:58:24 PM
Give the young lad a break. He's found his 15 minutes and he's having fun with it. It won't last long and then you can all get back to complaining about the next thing that comes along.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 17, 2015, 11:00:12 PM
Sounds like he just ripping off Kevin McAleer
Post by: The Subbie on January 17, 2015, 11:10:03 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 17, 2015, 11:00:12 PM
Sounds like he just ripping off Kevin McAleer

A few people have said that here and other places, the main difference is that McAleer was good and the wee lad is not.

The wee lad is pumping out lowest common denominator stuff, sounds great on UTV live and we'll all have a great wee chuckle and isn't he such a funny wee f**ker altogether! Ho ho ho indeed.

Tell him to go to any comedy club and do his act and do so on the same night as Kevin McAleer, I can guarantee you that McAleer would wipe the floor with him.

Best of luck to him , I hope he cleans up, he'd need to do it quick though cos the next Bill Hicks he ain't.
Post by: moysider on January 17, 2015, 11:13:08 PM

Good luck to the lad but I just don t get him at all.

On the other hand I find Baldy great craic.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 17, 2015, 11:14:07 PM
Kevin McAleer is not funny.
Post by: Minder on January 17, 2015, 11:16:07 PM
The youngster just isn't funny, not sure why it is being lapped up by UTV & the like.
Post by: The Subbie on January 17, 2015, 11:27:57 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on January 17, 2015, 11:14:07 PM

That's great.

McAleer whether you like him or not has had a stand up comedy, comedy writing & acting career for the last 25 years or so, when the bould Ruairi does the same come & see me.

Good lad, sound job.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 17, 2015, 11:31:21 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on January 17, 2015, 11:27:57 PM

That's great.

McAleer whether you like him or not has had a stand up comedy, comedy writing & acting career for the last 25 years or so, when the bould Ruairi does the same come & see me.

Good lad, sound job.

Sorry Kevin, didn't mean to offend you. Still don't think your funny.
Post by: trileacman on January 17, 2015, 11:32:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 17, 2015, 10:58:24 PM
Give the young lad a break. He's found his 15 minutes and he's having fun with it. It won't last long and then you can all get back to complaining about the next thing that comes along.

Where's your sense of wanton begrudgery? And you call yourself an Irishman. Shameful.

Sure didn't he piss his granda's money up the wall, and sure his brother would've been twice as good as him but for the drink, and dya mind when Francie Bellew put him on his hole? And he was a p***k at national school.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 17, 2015, 11:41:45 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 17, 2015, 11:16:07 PM
The youngster just isn't funny, not sure why it is being lapped up by UTV & the like.
When shite like Number 2s and The Hole in the Wall Gang is shown on tv then dung like this young chap will be lapped up. Teenager in funny accent sensation  :-[. There is one in every school.
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2015, 11:59:34 PM
Comedy is subjective.

Profound.
Post by: moysider on January 18, 2015, 12:31:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2015, 11:59:34 PM
Comedy is subjective.

Profound.

Exactly. Yer man O Connor that does Mrs Brown's boys must be burstin his hole laughin anybody is watching his shite but apparently people are lappin it up.

That shite worked back in the 70s. Slack times Gaybo could pressgang in 'celebs' from local productions to fill a slot on late late show. Surprised this hokum still works. Hold on..... then again I m not surprised really.

It s a blend of Jimmy O Dee in drag (which he always appeared to be in), Maureen Potter doin a northside accent ( Chrristtiee!, will ye come down off dat tree Chrristtee!)  - cue 100s die laughing watching in black and white in Roscommon - and Rosaleen Lenihan - who in fairness had talent but was reduced to appearing in panto shite to make a crust.

No wonder Twink behaves like she s still leading the parade. She knows nothing has changed and she s still the best entertainer about when it comes to this ....... whatever it is, that Irish people seem to love??
Post by: The Subbie on January 18, 2015, 01:25:13 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on January 17, 2015, 11:31:21 PM

That's great.

Good lad, sound job.

no offence taken, away you go and watch Ruairi on you tube and have a great evenings crack.
maybe you can send a wee letter into his fan club, one will be set up fairly shortly I'd imagine.
We are blessed to be alive to witness such comedic greatness.
Post by: Nigel White on January 18, 2015, 02:01:01 AM

That's great.

McAleer whether you like him or not has had a stand up comedyu, comedy writing & acting career for the last 25 years or so, when the bould Ruairi does the same come & see me.

Good lad, sound job.
Kevin McAleer is a comic genius. Have seen him live many times. He's
brilliant
Post by: Antrim Coaster on January 18, 2015, 04:40:04 AM
Ah now Subbie. I'd say there's a locka Ruairi type chaps in the likes of Peter Red Boys on a Saturday night.
Post by: The Subbie on January 18, 2015, 06:33:45 AM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on January 18, 2015, 04:40:04 AM
Ah now Subbie. I'd say there's a locka Ruairi type chaps in the likes of Peter Red Boys on a Saturday night.

Nah there's boys in that pub would be way funnier
Post by: Antrim Coaster on January 18, 2015, 11:30:07 AM
Subbie, better night's craic in Club Hawaii with the Cooley connection ??
Post by: trileacman on January 18, 2015, 12:30:58 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on January 18, 2015, 01:25:13 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on January 17, 2015, 11:31:21 PM

That's great.

Good lad, sound job.

no offence taken, away you go and watch Ruairi on you tube and have a great evenings crack.
maybe you can send a wee letter into his fan club, one will be set up fairly shortly I'd imagine.
We are blessed to be alive to witness such comedic greatness.

Jaysus you're awful f**king sensitive, calm down he's just some young lad getting his 15 seconds of fame.
Post by: muppet on January 18, 2015, 03:42:54 PM
Comparing a 15 year making a couple of videos with a performer who has had a 25 year career is absurd. I read Steve Martin's book (wouldn't really recommend it) but the one striking thing was how longs it takes to become an 'overnight success'. These guys work incredibly hard and have way more bad nights than good ones.

This kid hasn't even started anything yet ffs and he is being either ridiculously lauded or absurdly written off. Why does everything descent to FOX News style 100% for something or 100% against it?
Post by: Orior on January 18, 2015, 04:26:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2015, 03:42:54 PM
Comparing a 15 year making a couple of videos with a performer who has had a 25 year career is absurd. I read Steve Martin's book (wouldn't really recommend it) but the one striking thing was how longs it takes to become an 'overnight success'. These guys work incredibly hard and have way more bad nights than good ones.

This kid hasn't even started anything yet ffs and he is being either ridiculously lauded or absurdly written off. Why does everything descent to FOX News style 100% for something or 100% against it?

Good post. Is there a little bit of personal experience in there Muppet?
Post by: muppet on January 18, 2015, 04:27:58 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 18, 2015, 04:26:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2015, 03:42:54 PM

Good post. Is there a little bit of personal experience in there Muppet?

Yea, I did stand up on Fox and they were 100% against it.  :D

But seriously, no. Standing up on stage trying to make people laugh would be my idea of terror.
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2015, 04:31:07 PM
I'm doing a bit of stand up next month. First time and I'm absolutely terrified at the thought of it.
Post by: muppet on January 18, 2015, 04:41:24 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 18, 2015, 04:31:07 PM
I'm doing a bit of stand up next month. First time and I'm absolutely terrified at the thought of it.

Best of luck Ziggy.
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2015, 05:32:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2015, 04:41:24 PM

Best of luck Ziggy.

Thanks
Post by: Orior on January 18, 2015, 05:47:35 PM

Where in? If you need some material, send Muppet a pm, lol
Post by: Agent Orange on January 21, 2015, 08:53:13 PM
You know you've made it big when someone gets your face tattooed on his leg.

(https://scontent-a-ams.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10305518_331783420359949_2613588308610378150_n.jpg?oh=a97c3c494f43f942308cdfa99da3cbb5&oe=5566AEFF)

Post by: annapr on January 21, 2015, 08:59:04 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on January 21, 2015, 08:53:13 PM
You know you've made it big when someone gets your face tattooed on his leg.

(https://scontent-a-ams.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10305518_331783420359949_2613588308610378150_n.jpg?oh=a97c3c494f43f942308cdfa99da3cbb5&oe=5566AEFF)

What a f**king idiot
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 21, 2015, 08:59:46 PM
looks more like a young Paisley ;D
Post by: leaveherinsir on January 21, 2015, 09:28:01 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 21, 2015, 08:59:46 PM
looks more like a young Paisley ;D
Jibba jabba you missed your calling sir. You would have made a good stand up!! :-)
Post by: Nigel White on July 08, 2015, 06:05:13 PM
Seems the main man is now doing ads for Superfast Broadband on the Cool FM website
Post by: BennyCake on July 08, 2015, 07:21:06 PM
Oh Christ, isnt his 15 minutes of fame up yet?!
Post by: ziggysego on July 08, 2015, 10:26:32 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 08, 2015, 07:21:06 PM
Oh Christ, isnt his 15 minutes of fame up yet?!

They were up.until he decided to ride to school on a horse
Post by: Itchy on August 25, 2021, 07:54:37 AM
Seriously.....

https://www.independent.ie/news/star-of-you-wouldnt-be-long-getting-frostbitvideo-revealed-to-be-swimmer-saved-4km-out-at-sea-40784882.html

The man who was rescued 4km from shore after he got into difficulty this week  has been identified as Ruairí McSorley, the star of the viral video "Frostbit Boy".

Mr McSorley (24), from the small village of Park in Co Derry, told the Irish Independent he was feeling "100pc" after his 12-hour ordeal.

He was first reported missing at 8am on Sunday after a walker found his clothes and shoes on a beach near Inch, Co Kerry.

Fenit RNLI crew members were stunned to find him alive so far out at sea, alone and surrounded by a pod of dolphins, at 8.15pm.

Speaking yesterday after his release from University Hospital Kerry in Tralee, he paid tribute to his rescuers.

"They're very professional and very slick. They're incredible people, I have to say. They aren't like doctors or paramedics – paid professionals. They're volunteers," he said. "They're definitely a great group of people, there's no doubt.

"They wrapped me up in the blankets and took my body temperature and everything and then just rushed me into the hospital."

Mr McSorley is adamant he is none the worse for his experience.

"There's no victim mentality there. Other than a bit of pain at the back of my knee, I'm 100pc. There's no long-term damage," he said.

"The only thing was my kidneys needed to readjust, so there has been no serious harm. It was only a matter of going into the hospital to heat up a bit. Other than that, I was fine."

You wouldnt be long getting frostbit after 12 hours in the sea (sorry i just had to)
Post by: BennyCake on August 25, 2021, 10:31:53 AM
Is this a wind up?
Post by: RedHand88 on August 25, 2021, 12:46:31 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 25, 2021, 10:31:53 AM
Is this a wind up?

Believe it or not, its not.
Can imagine him when he starts drifting away from the coast.

"Awwww now we're in a bit of bother here now so we are"
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 25, 2021, 01:23:38 PM
Is this a wind up?
No, a helicopter pulled him from the sea. But his story seems tall. 12 hours in the Atlantic?
Post by: Targetman on August 25, 2021, 01:27:52 PM
Sure he was keeping a pod of dolphins amused with his stories of yesteryear!!
Post by: Kidder81 on August 25, 2021, 01:32:12 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 25, 2021, 01:23:38 PM
Is this a wind up?
No, a helicopter pulled him from the sea. But his story seems tall. 12 hours in the Atlantic?

Looking for another 15mins I think
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 25, 2021, 01:39:27 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on August 25, 2021, 01:32:12 PM
Is this a wind up?

Definitely.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 25, 2021, 01:46:59 PM
Met him once, very eccentric, Id say very intelligent to the level of borderline buck mad
Post by: toby47 on August 25, 2021, 03:31:08 PM
A dick
Post by: BennyCake on August 25, 2021, 03:58:59 PM
Is this a wind up?

That's what came to my mind too
Post by: johnnycool on August 25, 2021, 04:10:35 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 25, 2021, 03:58:59 PM
Is this a wind up?

A bit extreme but he's either good at treading water or full of shíte..
Post by: oakleaflad on August 26, 2021, 10:55:36 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 25, 2021, 04:10:35 PM
Is this a wind up?

He was 4km out, not 400m. Could maybe question the length of time but after 8pm when found so could have been a good few hours.
Post by: johnnycool on August 26, 2021, 11:02:20 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on August 26, 2021, 10:55:36 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 25, 2021, 04:10:35 PM
Is this a wind up?

He was 4km out, not 400m. Could maybe question the length of time but after 8pm when found so could have been a good few hours.

The tide must have carried him out for hours all the same and to keep afloat for that length of time with no lifejacket is no mean feat.

Post by: Armagh18 on August 26, 2021, 11:22:28 AM
Imagine being 4km out on your own. I don't know about the rest of ye but I think that would be f**king terrifying
Post by: Mario on August 26, 2021, 12:12:39 PM
We need more info on this story. I read something on reddit about average survival times of adults in the north sea during summer and it was just over an hour, yet he managed to tread water for 12 hours.

According to google treading water burns about 11 calories per minute. This is equivalent to a 1 hour 10km run, but he did 12 of them! So about the equivalent of 3 marathons in a row at a decent pace.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 26, 2021, 12:21:01 PM
Quote from: Mario on August 26, 2021, 12:12:39 PM
We need more info on this story. I read something on reddit about average survival times of adults in the north sea during summer and it was just over an hour, yet he managed to tread water for 12 hours.

According to google treading water burns about 11 calories per minute. This is equivalent to a 1 hour 10km run, but he did 12 of them! So about the equivalent of 3 marathons in a row at a decent pace.
The story smells. IF he has rigged this then he should be charged the callout bill and run out of town.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 26, 2021, 12:25:33 PM

He's a big cub . A lot in reserve, and a bit like a seal with plenty of "protection" from the elements
Post by: RedHand88 on August 26, 2021, 12:57:56 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 26, 2021, 12:25:33 PM

He's a big cub . A lot in reserve, and a bit like a seal with plenty of "protection" from the elements

A big cub will burn more calories staying afloat.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 26, 2021, 01:38:02 PM
Im now really hoping hes set this up. Guys youve done some good initial research now yis have to see the job through 😃
Post by: Jeremiah O on August 26, 2021, 02:42:12 PM
This story has the makings of a box office movie!
Post by: Itchy on August 26, 2021, 02:53:01 PM
If he set it up he should be brought back out to sea and left there, wasting time of volunteer rescue groups is not funny.
Post by: toby47 on August 26, 2021, 03:16:37 PM
Quote from: toby47 on August 25, 2021, 03:31:08 PM
A dick

As I said
Post by: BennyCake on August 26, 2021, 03:50:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 26, 2021, 02:53:01 PM
If he set it up he should be brought back out to sea and left there, wasting time of volunteer rescue groups is not funny.

And that's not wasting the RNLI's time and resources?  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2021, 12:13:21 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 26, 2021, 11:22:28 AM
Imagine being 4km out on your own. I don't know about the rest of ye but I think that would be f**king terrifying

It's about 170 odd lengths of a 25m pool. If you want to survive you'll swim it quicker than treading water for 12 hours
Post by: Itchy on August 28, 2021, 11:11:54 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 26, 2021, 03:50:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 26, 2021, 02:53:01 PM

And that's not wasting the RNLI's time and resources?  ;D

I forgot to add no one should bother calling them this time
Post by: RedHand88 on September 02, 2021, 10:21:29 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.belfastlive.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/frostbit-boy-ruairi-mcsorley-planning-21460795.amp  (https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.belfastlive.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/frostbit-boy-ruairi-mcsorley-planning-21460795.amp)
Post by: Saffrongael on September 02, 2021, 10:23:22 AM
He's a strange one
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on September 03, 2021, 06:12:45 PM
He's either a little bit simple, or else a poor man's Kevin McAleer.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 03, 2021, 11:15:51 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on September 03, 2021, 06:12:45 PM

He's not simple
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on September 05, 2021, 04:08:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 03, 2021, 11:15:51 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on September 03, 2021, 06:12:45 PM

He's not simple
I'll take your word for it. In that case, he's mildly amusing in the quirky, observational genre, but a long way short of the leaders in that arena.