Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BarryBreensBandage on October 18, 2014, 01:39:16 AM

Title: The best cover song in the world....ever
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on October 18, 2014, 01:39:16 AM
Starting off with this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmoIwmarSNo

Looking forward to seeing the challengers....
Title: Re: The best cover song in the world....ever
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 18, 2014, 02:23:32 AM
I preferred the Pet Shop Boys version.

Can I ask for a rule on this thread? No posting of links without telling us what's behind it.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 18, 2014, 02:32:33 AM
Yes, I always felt that Willie Nelsons interpretation of this great Elvis composition
was the most authentic version. It is almost as if he wrote the song himself.

It takes a special talent to pull that off.

Post by: heganboy on October 18, 2014, 06:03:05 AM
love this as a thread, here's my attempt at a few contenders:

Nirvana: The man who sold the world : David Bowie original
http://youtu.be/fregObNcHC8

Bruce and the E street Band: because the night : Patti Smith original
http://youtu.be/HcqUSi8QPN0

Johnny cash: Hurt : 9 inch nails
http://youtu.be/SmVAWKfJ4Go

Gary Jules: Mad world  :Tears for fears
http://youtu.be/4N3N1MlvVc4

Jeff Buckley : Hallelujah : Leonard Cohen
http://youtu.be/y8AWFf7EAc4

the 4 of us : sound of the underground : girls aloud
http://youtu.be/VY8ZwziLu8M

paddy casey (dublin gospel choir) : no diggety / grandmas hand : blackstreet
http://youtu.be/aHY7YQslDk4

and maybe three you didn't know were covers
soft cell : tainted love : gloria jones
http://youtu.be/ZeJkbqjQvnk

happy mondays : step on : john kongos
http://youtu.be/2CQLAhNlbfQ

aretha franklin : respect : otis redding (original also a classic)
http://youtu.be/6FOUqQt3Kg0

but the top covers
sinead o connor: nothing compares to you : the family (yes written by prince but not recorded by him)
http://youtu.be/iUiTQvT0W_0

run dmc : walk this way : aerosmith ( i know they're still on the cover...)
http://youtu.be/4B_UYYPb-Gk

and the outright winner(s) because its a tie
otis redding : try a little tenderness : bing crosby (yup bing friggin' crosby!)
http://youtu.be/TXmLjbTBcdU

and
the temptations : Papa was a rolling stone : the undisputed truth
http://youtu.be/pJV2pWFyfn4

original here if you fancy it http://youtu.be/2s6W4FR39qQ

Post by: Denn Forever on October 18, 2014, 12:13:35 PM
Satisfaction - Devo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEZCQWs60LI
Was disappointed when I heard the Stomes versionm

Toxic - Brittany Spears.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxIZuPB9U4g
An X-Factor audition but excellent.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 18, 2014, 12:29:34 PM
Eddie Vedder - Imagine http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KhrmkCW6Ph8
Post by: muppet on October 18, 2014, 01:09:17 PM
We did this thread before a few times but:

Hendrix - All along the watchtower - bigger hit than Dylan's original
http://youtu.be/TLV4_xaYynY (http://youtu.be/TLV4_xaYynY)

Tommy Emmanuel - Classical Gas - original Mason Williams (not a song but still a recording of another's work)
http://youtu.be/S33tWZqXhnk (http://youtu.be/S33tWZqXhnk)

U2 - Helter Skelter - The Beatles
http://youtu.be/RHAq1R_XpCA (http://youtu.be/RHAq1R_XpCA)
Post by: BennyCake on October 18, 2014, 03:30:35 PM
This cover beats Sinead O'Connor's whiny voice...

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1cvjVj5XGAI
(http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1cvjVj5XGAI)
Post by: Asal Mor on October 18, 2014, 03:39:19 PM
Quote from: heganboy on October 18, 2014, 06:03:05 AM
+1. Powerful.
Post by: moysider on October 18, 2014, 04:11:25 PM

The Band - When I paint my masterpiece.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq2e7DPhyHg
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 18, 2014, 04:55:00 PM
The Stranglers, Walk on By:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqfqVDHNW6c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqfqVDHNW6c)

And of course the Pistols doing "Stepping Stone":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXd8qnONDIk (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXd8qnONDIk)
Post by: Zulu on October 18, 2014, 05:19:36 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on October 18, 2014, 02:32:33 AM
Yes, I always felt that Willie Nelsons interpretation of this great Elvis composition
was the most authentic version. It is almost as if he wrote the song himself.

It takes a special talent to pull that off.

Didn't willie nelson write it and Elvis the one who covered it? The Elvis version is by far and away the best one IMO, especially the version where the guitar is more promo any than the piano. One of my favourite so songs.
Post by: ziggysego on October 18, 2014, 05:30:03 PM
Sorry to turn it into Doctor Who, but it was too good not to share.

Foxes performs 'Don't Stop Me Now' on board the O...: http://youtu.be/h-OTYT02W7E (http://youtu.be/h-OTYT02W7E)
Post by: 5 Sams on October 18, 2014, 07:26:17 PM
Sorry lads couldn't resist...apologies for the poor quality but yiz have all seen it before...brilliant .

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XJj2ei6WNQs
Post by: From the Bunker on October 18, 2014, 07:37:31 PM
The Puppini Sisters - Crazy in Love

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn-Pz3BQOrI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn-Pz3BQOrI)

ARMY DREAMERS - Marianum

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4)

Killswitch Engage - Holy Diver

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR7dG_m3MsI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR7dG_m3MsI)

Twilight Guardians - La Isla Bonita

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qToq_VQ8cN0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qToq_VQ8cN0)

7 Seconds - 99 Red Balloons

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z3eAEtYkeQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z3eAEtYkeQ)

Chris Cornell - Billie Jean

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM)

Snuff - I Think We're Alone Now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw_U6UfKVeM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw_U6UfKVeM)

Madness - Swan Lake

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-utkYnIV1_k (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-utkYnIV1_k)

The Darkness - Street Spirit (Fade Out)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IcMvkyw-Y (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IcMvkyw-Y)

Hurricane Highway - YOUR MAN

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8)

Forward To Death - NoMeansNo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSezVb2tQug (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSezVb2tQug)

Red Hot Chili Peppers - Havana Affair

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc)

Oasis - Cum On Feel The Noise

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnxtFtaL46w (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnxtFtaL46w)

Robbie Williams - Ant Music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlLiUh-uVgI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlLiUh-uVgI)

A Little Respect - Wheatus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV_jbchxNeU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV_jbchxNeU)

Alien Ant Farm - Smooth Criminal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE)

The White Stripes Cannon John The Revelator

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE)
Post by: charlieTully on October 18, 2014, 07:46:56 PM
this is the best cover version EVER. Will never be equaled.

The genius that was Kurt Cobaine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcXYz0gtJeM
Post by: charlieTully on October 18, 2014, 08:08:33 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 18, 2014, 07:37:31 PM
The Puppini Sisters - Crazy in Love

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn-Pz3BQOrI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn-Pz3BQOrI)

ARMY DREAMERS - Marianum

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4)

Killswitch Engage - Holy Diver

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR7dG_m3MsI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR7dG_m3MsI)

Twilight Guardians - La Isla Bonita

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qToq_VQ8cN0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qToq_VQ8cN0)

7 Seconds - 99 Red Balloons

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z3eAEtYkeQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z3eAEtYkeQ)

Chris Cornell - Billie Jean

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM)

Snuff - I Think We're Alone Now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw_U6UfKVeM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw_U6UfKVeM)

Madness - Swan Lake

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-utkYnIV1_k (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-utkYnIV1_k)

The Darkness - Street Spirit (Fade Out)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IcMvkyw-Y (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IcMvkyw-Y)

Hurricane Highway - YOUR MAN

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8)

Forward To Death - NoMeansNo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSezVb2tQug (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSezVb2tQug)

Red Hot Chili Peppers - Havana Affair

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc)

Oasis - Cum On Feel The Noise

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnxtFtaL46w (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnxtFtaL46w)

Robbie Williams - Ant Music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlLiUh-uVgI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlLiUh-uVgI)

A Little Respect - Wheatus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV_jbchxNeU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV_jbchxNeU)

Alien Ant Farm - Smooth Criminal

The White Stripes Cannon John The Revelator

some class ones in there lad.
Post by: moysider on October 18, 2014, 11:36:20 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on October 18, 2014, 07:46:56 PM
this is the best cover version EVER. Will never be equaled.

The genius that was Kurt Cobaine.

Like Leadbelly's version of that a lot.

Here's one where the cover is way better than original. Mr Tambourine Man.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NyOzGPbn2tg

Janis - Bobby McGee
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7hk-hI0JKw

Ole Man River
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7hk-hI0JKw

Nice version of Kevin Barry by the same singer.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSjO9rIwn5M

and Joe Hill.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8Kxq9uFDes
bears consideration alongside Joan Baez and Luke.

Post by: armaghniac on October 19, 2014, 02:27:04 AM
Somethin' Else by Eddie Cochran
Sid Vicious https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dvd4PM8cBSA
Post by: The Blegard on October 19, 2014, 03:18:46 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJaeNS1N05w

Janes Addiction first Album Sympathy for the Devil and also

Rock and Roll
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0EBEYq0x7o

originally by Velvet Underground Brilliant Dave Navarro all the way through this version

And of Course Maggies Farm Rage against the Machine
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmceSj07_fs

Post by: ziggy90 on October 19, 2014, 10:45:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-cqi4ayHTg

My favourite, The Ramones; Baby I Love You.
Post by: Denn Forever on October 20, 2014, 10:39:05 AM
Jack L - Can't get you out of my head

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZdO8Kennrc

Jack L - Smells like Teen Spirit

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oPjiVJ-JFI
Post by: Billys Boots on October 20, 2014, 10:50:16 AM
QuoteSatisfaction - Devo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEZCQWs60LI
Was disappointed when I heard the Stomes versionm

Here's a better one in my humble opinion - Cat Power's version.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyx_LUIbrhM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyx_LUIbrhM)
Post by: screenexile on October 20, 2014, 11:06:40 AM
Some clinkers so far lads keep them coming!!!

Here's a few more:

Jose Gonzalez - Hand on Your Heart

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucOjx01zwrE

Oasis - I am the Walrus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ld0a8cQMfH0

Rodrigo y Gabriela - Stairway to Heaven (Phenomenal)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNc5o9TU0t0

Andre Herman Dune - Smalltown Boy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7V89hM-EBE

Hozier - Whole Lotta Love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBRM7kepZsw

Muse - Feeling Good

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmwRQqJsegw

Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 20, 2014, 11:28:56 AM
the night they drove old dixie down

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHPEvXkJNLo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHPEvXkJNLo)
Post by: johnneycool on October 20, 2014, 12:35:22 PM

A lad on the X-factor did a fanstastic version of this;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwfNexdaIdU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwfNexdaIdU)

He's got the mad look in his eyes, helps for effect.
Post by: seafoid on October 20, 2014, 01:01:01 PM
Them - Baby please don't go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Wah7MqEHFg

Post by: johnneycool on October 20, 2014, 02:41:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 20, 2014, 01:01:01 PM

Bon Scott is your only only man for that song!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=868Daj-ys40 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=868Daj-ys40)
Post by: ziggy90 on October 20, 2014, 02:58:42 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 20, 2014, 11:28:56 AM
the night they drove old dixie down

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHPEvXkJNLo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHPEvXkJNLo)
[/quo.te]

Very good.
Post by: Denn Forever on October 20, 2014, 03:44:38 PM
Back in Black - Bon Scott

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsppkBQhnYQ

Back in Black - Brian Johnson

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5rGm3kdTuk

You decide.
Post by: mb80b60 on October 20, 2014, 04:12:28 PM

but the top covers
sinead o connor: nothing compares to you : the family (yes written by prince but not recorded by him)

otis redding : try a little tenderness : bing crosby (yup bing friggin' crosby!)

and

Nope, Bruce Springsteen wrote that song initially.  I believe they were sharing a studio at the time and he wasn't happy with it so she did a recording of it.  He's performed it live quite a few times.
Post by: Zulu on October 20, 2014, 04:34:44 PM
Miley Cyrus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmasQXCox_g
Post by: Orior on October 20, 2014, 04:54:37 PM
Mel Brooks covered one of Adolf Hitlers biggest hits...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdiaUfw2ww4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdiaUfw2ww4)

Don't be stupid
Be a smartie
Come on join the
Nazi Party

Safe for Work Warning - I think the girls forgot to put on their skirts
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 21, 2014, 01:12:29 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 20, 2014, 02:41:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 20, 2014, 01:01:01 PM

Bon Scott is your only only man for that song!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=868Daj-ys40 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=868Daj-ys40)

Was just going to post that before I saw your post!  Great version.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 21, 2014, 01:28:42 AM
Orbital doing their version of the Dr. Who theme:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-H_o6ncUz3g (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-H_o6ncUz3g)

Spiritualized doing Sad Days Lonely Nights, by Junior Kimbrough

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPHi4pg8t44 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VPHi4pg8t44)

The Fall, doing Lost in Music
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuKXYeRCUzI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuKXYeRCUzI)

The Specials: Rudy, A message to you; Monkey Man, Gangsters, Guns of Navarone.
Post by: heganboy on October 21, 2014, 02:33:52 AM
Quote from: mb80b60 on October 20, 2014, 04:12:28 PM

Nope, Bruce Springsteen wrote that song initially.  I believe they were sharing a studio at the time and he wasn't happy with it so she did a recording of it.  He's performed it live quite a few times.

Ah now - this is a tough one. Its listed as a co-written song between them and although he recorded first he was unsatisfied and never released it. She did release it first, and then he released it after. so cover or not is entirely up to you.

I always loved that the water boys used it as an opening to the pan within couldn't call this one a cover I don't think, have a listen: http://youtu.be/_mAoCLgSrW4
Post by: 5 Sams on October 21, 2014, 01:14:06 PM
Someone in Radio 6 Counties must read this board because they stole your idea and apparently had a feature on Great Cover Songs this morning. Didn't get to hear what they played though.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on October 21, 2014, 10:17:55 PM
Some great posts on here; looking forward to going through the rest.
Have been reminded of one there with the previous Waterboys post, and have to say this one rivals my original post:

The Waterboys - Sweet Thing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOKtfbHlhSw
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 21, 2014, 10:49:16 PM
SLF - Johnny Was
http://youtu.be/m8iSLb5j6us
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2014, 11:14:47 PM
Elvis - Guitar Man
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3gkBMuyq8U (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3gkBMuyq8U)
Post by: Puckoon on October 21, 2014, 11:29:15 PM
The Cleverlys - Walk Like an Egyptian

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PS0P7w4YCDI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PS0P7w4YCDI)
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2014, 11:41:57 PM
Have we agreed to take this off in the direction of covers better than the original?

Mary Dillon - Army Dreamers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-6oT9et6nA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-6oT9et6nA)
Post by: Zulu on October 22, 2014, 02:40:30 PM
Not better than the original, not better than any version I've heard but Joss Stone and Jeff Beck's version of the Green Fields of France is, well, different. She has a great voice but this version of a song I really like doesn't hit the mark at all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5gTOcoD0c0
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 23, 2014, 11:19:54 AM
Ive always like this cover of the Victoria Williams song

Pearl Jam - Crazy Mary

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH9IqDpVo2A (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH9IqDpVo2A)

They play it live quite a bit
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on October 24, 2014, 10:08:44 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 18, 2014, 02:23:32 AM
I preferred the Pet Shop Boys version.

Can I ask for a rule on this thread? No posting of links without telling us what's behind it.

What, the version that stopped The Pogues 'Fairytale of New York' getting to No. 1?
Sacrilege.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on October 24, 2014, 11:21:23 PM
Okay, Have sifted through the submissions - through no particular selection process (apart from their version made me think they wrote it... and with the help of Turkish Beer) - here is my selection of the best so far.
I have left out my submissions, because I really can't pick between them and the originals.
But, in a moment of refraction, I have added two, that I think stand up to the rest.

So, if you could be arsed, please listen and re-post till we see who has the honour of being the Best Cover Song in the world ever (by our own humble standards).

Go raibh maith agaibh

Here we go:

Shout out to the Janis version of Bobby McGee, but Kristofferson is untouchable.
Also Gary Jules version of Mad World but TFF version shades it, I think:

Happy Mondays – Step On
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CQLAhNlbfQ&feature=youtu.be

Johnny Cash – Hurt
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmVAWKfJ4Go&feature=youtu.be

The Band – When I Paint my Masterpiece
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq2e7DPhyHg

Army Dreamers
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4

Chris Cornell – Billie Jean
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Havana Affair
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc

Nirvana – Where did you sleep last night

Them – Please Don't Go

The Fall – Lost in Music
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuKXYeRCUzI

The Cleverleys – Walk Like an Egyptian
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PS0P7w4YCDI

Pearl Jam – Crazy Mary
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH9IqDpVo2A

Groove Armada – Crazy For You
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa44hQ-2SsQ

Lick The Tins - I Can't Help Falling in Love With You
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-__OdJ5b6A

Post by: moysider on October 25, 2014, 12:26:24 AM

Anne Briggs - She moved through the fair.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dyUsXgL7ow
Post by: heganboy on October 29, 2014, 07:15:07 PM
I can't help but think that we started this all:

http://www.theguardian.com/music/musicblog/2014/oct/28/50-best-covers-of-all-time-do-you-agree

The top 50 cover versions:
1. Pet Shop Boys - Always On My Mind
2. Johnny Cash - Hurt
3. The Stranglers - Walk On By
4. Jimi Hendrix - All Along The Watchtower
5. Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah
6. Soft Cell - Tainted Love
7. Joe Cocker - With A Little Help From My Friends
8. Sinead O'Connor - Nothing Compares 2 U
9. Muse - Feeling Good
10. Whitney Houston - I Will Always Love You
11. Marvin Gaye - I Heard It Through The Grapevine
12. Adele - Make You Feel My Love
13. This Mortal Coil - Song To The Siren
14. The Clash - I Fought The Law
15. China Drum - Wuthering Heights
16. Nirvana - The Man Who Sold The World
17. Aretha Franklin - Respect
18. Eva Cassidy - Songbird
19. Leona Lewis - Run
20. Led Zeppelin - When The Levee Breaks
21. Righteous Brothers - Unchained Melody
22. Florence + the Machine - You've Got The Love
23. Mark Ronson - Valerie (feat. Amy Winehouse)
24. Jimi Hendrix - Hey Joe
25. The Fall - Lost In Music
26. Gary Jules - Mad World (feat. Michael Andrews)
27. Bryan Ferry - A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
28. The Specials - A Message To You Rudy
29. Birdy - Skinny Love
30. Fugees - Killing Me Softly With His Song
31. The Pogues - Dirty Old Town
32. Elvis Costello & The Attractions - Good Year For The Roses
33. José González - Heartbeats
34. The Isley Brothers - Summer Breeze
35. Thin Lizzy - Rosalie
36. Talking Heads - Take Me To The River
37. David Bowie - China Girl
38. Urge Overkill - Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon
39. Ryan Adams - Wonderwall
40. Nina Simone - Mr. Bojangles
41. Hüsker Dü - Eight Miles High
42. José Feliciano - Light My Fire
43. Earth, Wind & Fire - Got To Get You Into My Life
44. Santana - Oye Como Va
45. James Blake - Limit To Your Love
46. Billy Paul - Your Song
47. Richie Havens - Going Back To My Roots
48. Labrinth - Express Yourself
49. Prince Fatty - Shimmy Shimmy Ya (feat. Horseman)
50. D'Angelo – Cruisin
Post by: 5 Sams on October 30, 2014, 07:38:31 PM
Always liked this...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=O2Fu8kSlmTw
Post by: dec on October 30, 2014, 08:01:49 PM
Lemonheads - Mrs Robinson

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvMFm5nKeUc
Post by: 5 Sams on November 22, 2014, 01:44:53 AM
Sufcukinperb.

Love this.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QutLsCCY2yw
Post by: Syferus on November 22, 2014, 01:51:51 AM
Wagon Wheel.

/Thread
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 22, 2014, 05:24:13 AM
Forgot about this one:

Nick Cave, Wanted Man:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZeaBwDmN2E (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZeaBwDmN2E)

Post by: thewobbler on November 22, 2014, 08:36:02 AM
Much as I hate to put forward anything that X Factor helped create, Leona Lewis's version of Run is superb: took an average rock song and made it quite haunting.

I'm also rather partial to Somewhere Only We Know when sang by Lily Allen.
Post by: ziggysego on November 22, 2014, 02:42:19 PM
Always liked this cover of the Norman Greenbaum classic.

http://youtu.be/9X2fdGEWOhA (http://youtu.be/9X2fdGEWOhA)
Post by: Agent Orange on November 22, 2014, 03:56:41 PM
Hazel Kaneswaran's cover of U2's A Sort of Homecoming is excellent. She is also very easy on the eye.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7SJ7YsqofE
Post by: Armamike on November 22, 2014, 05:42:25 PM
Joe Cocker - a little help from my friends (The Beatles). Difficult feat to cover a Beatles track, but Cocker managed to put his own twist on the song and gave it a completely different sound.
Post by: tyroneman on November 22, 2014, 09:48:19 PM
Afghan Whigs...dark end of the street + my world is empty without you
Jamey Johnson ...two out of three ain't bad
Frente.....bizarre love triangle
Scud mountain boys....please mr please
Post by: moysider on November 22, 2014, 10:00:10 PM
Quote from: heganboy on October 29, 2014, 07:15:07 PM
I can't help but think that we started this all:

http://www.theguardian.com/music/musicblog/2014/oct/28/50-best-covers-of-all-time-do-you-agree

The top 50 cover versions:
1. Pet Shop Boys - Always On My Mind
2. Johnny Cash - Hurt
3. The Stranglers - Walk On By
4. Jimi Hendrix - All Along The Watchtower
5. Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah
6. Soft Cell - Tainted Love
7. Joe Cocker - With A Little Help From My Friends
8. Sinead O'Connor - Nothing Compares 2 U
9. Muse - Feeling Good
10. Whitney Houston - I Will Always Love You
11. Marvin Gaye - I Heard It Through The Grapevine
12. Adele - Make You Feel My Love
13. This Mortal Coil - Song To The Siren
14. The Clash - I Fought The Law
15. China Drum - Wuthering Heights
16. Nirvana - The Man Who Sold The World
17. Aretha Franklin - Respect
18. Eva Cassidy - Songbird
19. Leona Lewis - Run
20. Led Zeppelin - When The Levee Breaks
21. Righteous Brothers - Unchained Melody
22. Florence + the Machine - You've Got The Love
23. Mark Ronson - Valerie (feat. Amy Winehouse)
24. Jimi Hendrix - Hey Joe
25. The Fall - Lost In Music
26. Gary Jules - Mad World (feat. Michael Andrews)
27. Bryan Ferry - A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
28. The Specials - A Message To You Rudy
29. Birdy - Skinny Love
30. Fugees - Killing Me Softly With His Song
31. The Pogues - Dirty Old Town
32. Elvis Costello & The Attractions - Good Year For The Roses
33. José González - Heartbeats
34. The Isley Brothers - Summer Breeze
35. Thin Lizzy - Rosalie
36. Talking Heads - Take Me To The River
37. David Bowie - China Girl
38. Urge Overkill - Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon
39. Ryan Adams - Wonderwall
40. Nina Simone - Mr. Bojangles
41. Hüsker Dü - Eight Miles High
42. José Feliciano - Light My Fire
43. Earth, Wind & Fire - Got To Get You Into My Life
44. Santana - Oye Como Va
45. James Blake - Limit To Your Love
46. Billy Paul - Your Song
47. Richie Havens - Going Back To My Roots
48. Labrinth - Express Yourself
49. Prince Fatty - Shimmy Shimmy Ya (feat. Horseman)
50. D'Angelo – Cruisin

What? No Janis, Byrds, Peter Paul and Mary or Band??
Post by: Doire abú on November 23, 2014, 12:22:28 PM
Smashing Pumpkins - Landslide (original by Fleetwood Mac also excellent).

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4U4opbXoMss
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 11, 2014, 07:01:06 AM
Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson of Heart - Stairway to Heaven

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8e2fJfiddx4

Cover so good that it brought tears to the eyes of Robert Plant.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 11, 2014, 08:12:19 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 11, 2014, 07:01:06 AM

That is fantastic
Post by: muppet on December 12, 2014, 03:18:32 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on December 11, 2014, 08:12:19 AM

That is fantastic

Wow!

Amazing.
Post by: Puckoon on December 12, 2014, 03:31:02 PM
Superb. Thanks for sharing
Post by: moysider on February 22, 2015, 11:32:36 PM

There s been some great covers of this. This is a bit special too.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEVusEYoKgQ
Post by: muppet on February 22, 2015, 11:50:14 PM
Neil Young (Jimmy Fallon) covers The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FR91p97Mj9Y&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FR91p97Mj9Y&spfreload=10)
Post by: theskull1 on February 23, 2015, 12:42:02 AM

Not even close to the original IMO
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 23, 2015, 12:57:56 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 23, 2015, 12:42:02 AM

Not even close to the original IMO
Gets close in my opinion no cover will ever beat the original though.
Post by: theskull1 on February 23, 2015, 01:10:03 AM
Too much american smaltz for my liking. Then the guitar solo didn't hit all the notes and his timing seemed off as well.

each to their own

Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 01:14:47 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 23, 2015, 01:10:03 AM
Too much american smaltz for my liking. Then the guitar solo didn't hit all the notes and his timing seemed off as well.

each to their own

Gee you are a tough taskmaster. This was a live performance, with a guest drummer, in front of a star-studded audience.

Did you ever hear the their own version of Stairway on Live Aid?
Post by: theskull1 on February 23, 2015, 01:27:36 AM
It was good ...just not a wow for me

I'd take the Rodrigo y Gabriela acoustic version myself

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=vNc5o9TU0t0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=vNc5o9TU0t0)
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 07:05:04 AM
Misirlou

Original
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LW6qGy3RtwY

Dick Dale as featured  in Pulp Fiction
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hLIXrlpRe8

Post by: Denn Forever on February 23, 2015, 01:20:25 PM
Saw these guys on another thread, Showhawk duo,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUL-0Z_03tE
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on February 23, 2015, 01:59:53 PM
Two of the great covers already mentioned here - Summer Breeze by the Isley Brothers and Hurt by Johnny Cash.

Two others to mention;

Grace Jones - Private Life (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xpVTUy4zDc)

Siouxsie and the Banshees - This Wheel's on Fire (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5iMaQfmXVQ)

Post by: Denn Forever on February 23, 2015, 02:35:55 PM
Jack L sings Kylie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZdO8Kennrc
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 02:41:49 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 23, 2015, 01:20:25 PM
Saw these guys on another thread, Showhawk duo,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUL-0Z_03tE

Um, is that the Irish equivalent of Rick Astley - Never going to give you up?
Post by: Applesisapples on February 23, 2015, 05:08:44 PM

but the top covers

and

Bruce co wrote because the night I believe...but his cover of Tom Waits Jersey Girl is one of the few covers I know which is better than the original.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2015, 05:30:54 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 23, 2015, 05:08:44 PM

but the top covers

and

Bruce co wrote because the night I believe...but his cover of Tom Waits Jersey Girl is one of the few covers I know which is better than the original.
A great list but that Dublin gospel version doesn't roll with the fatness of No Diggity, I think.
the original and the best version :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KL9mRus19o
Post by: moysider on October 24, 2015, 11:44:05 PM
Great cover of a classic by Gerry Rafferty. Both writer and cover Irish connections. Other good cover by the Fureys and there may be others I'm not aware of.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G94xeu5zpEI

Here's the story behind the song and a really poignant performance by the writer.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z05ChgB6Y20
Post by: charlieTully on October 25, 2015, 11:15:07 AM
eagles of death metal cover duran duran save a prayer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ymIUz6njjpY
Post by: theskull1 on October 25, 2015, 12:56:29 PM
Sticking with that genre. Beautiful cover of an old old Alphaville track.

Ane Brun - Big in Japan
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIiRXQTsWTo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIiRXQTsWTo)
Post by: From the Bunker on October 25, 2015, 06:47:22 PM
Stacy's Mom -  Postmodern Jukebox  (Vintage 1930s Hot Jazz Fountains of Wayne Cover ft. Casey Abrams)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2kOj-GFN8k
Post by: Puckoon on October 26, 2015, 04:39:56 PM
Postmodern Jukebox have some phenomenal covers!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sB6HY8r983c (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sB6HY8r983c)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 30, 2015, 06:00:50 AM
The Kooks take on MGMT Kids
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8znYPXhZFA

Arctic Monkeys cover Tame Impala's Feels like We Only Go Backwards (just realised Tame Impala are Australian so not sure how well known they are elsewhere)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RZDFQ3oYbg

Australian radio station Triple J does a 'Like a version' slot every Friday. Worth checking out
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_sort=video_view_count&search_query=like+a+version
Post by: screenexile on October 30, 2015, 10:03:42 AM
Heard this on recently and absolutely love it. . . .

The Sonics - Have Love Will Travel
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20S_kwNb4rg

I'd heard the Black Keys version and liked it but there's just a simple and raw sound to the Sonics cover that I like.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 06, 2015, 09:42:02 PM
Groove Armada cover Madonna's Crazy for You....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qljUtbfIens

Post by: Declan on December 08, 2015, 08:48:12 PM
Bruce doing the Bee Gees
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n1GT-VjjVs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n1GT-VjjVs)
Post by: thebuzz on December 08, 2015, 09:49:48 PM
'Love Hurts' By Nazareth is a great cover version.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=soDZBW-1P04

Post by: armaghniac on December 09, 2015, 01:06:33 AM
Manfred Mann - Blinded by the Light
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcWVL4B-4pI

Luke Kelly - The Sun is Burning
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZS6l6M0odl4

Post by: JoG2 on November 21, 2016, 11:22:24 AM
Jim James and Tom Morello doing an unreal cover of Tom Joad

https://vimeo.com/151016562