Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 07:55:13 PM

Title: Women & Weddings - WTF?!
Post by: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 07:55:13 PM
Her cousin's wedding tomorrow, so it was: Hairdressers Tuesday night, False tan last night &
Nails tonight, then it's back to the Hairdressers & Beauticians in the morning.

Bonus - for the first time ever - she took the car & got it washed today.

Standard stuff in this era of w**k I'd imagine?
Title: Re: Women & Weddings - WTF?!
Post by: Puckoon on October 02, 2014, 08:02:28 PM
This fake tan thing is getting out of control. They are getting more orange by the year.
Post by: beer baron on October 02, 2014, 08:19:26 PM
The latest i've found out is they go in to the hairdressers/beauticians the day after a wedding and get a new look for the after party that evening  :o.

Jaysus being a man's fantastic,the only worry i have the morning of a wedding is squeezing into the trousers of the same suit i've worn for the last half dozen weddings i've been to   ;D
Post by: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 08:22:31 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 02, 2014, 08:02:28 PM
This fake tan thing is getting out of control. They are getting more orange by the year.
My Mrs is as swarthy as they come too, no need whatsoever.
Post by: glens abu on October 02, 2014, 08:23:06 PM
Jesus boys wait until you have a daughter getting married and you have 3/4 getting that all done.Nightmare.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 02, 2014, 08:25:13 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 08:22:31 PM

Rule 1.... ;) ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 02, 2014, 08:28:24 PM
Quote from: beer baron on October 02, 2014, 08:19:26 PM
The latest i've found out is they go in to the hairdressers/beauticians the day after a wedding and get a new look for the after party that evening  :o.

Jaysus being a man's fantastic,the only worry i have the morning of a wedding is squeezing into the trousers of the same suit i've worn for the last half dozen weddings i've been to   ;D

You have it handy...my girlfriend is insisting on me get a 'suit for every season' :o Thankfully I haven't given in. ;D
Post by: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 08:34:16 PM
I'm just hoping she enjoys herself :D. I refused to recognise the court. Got a sickener of weddings a few years back & if I can get out of going, I don't go.
Post by: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 08:35:34 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 02, 2014, 08:25:13 PM

Rule 1.... ;) ;D
If I knew how to post a photo I would :P
Post by: seafoid on October 02, 2014, 09:20:26 PM
We lived in India for a while. Over there the women all want skin whitening creams for lovely pasty skin. You can never be pale enough in India. One Christmas we came back for a wedding and all the women wanted orange makeup for a bit of colour. It's a funny old world .
Post by: seafoid on October 02, 2014, 09:49:29 PM
The ultimate resource on women and weddings in Ireland, possibly a GAAboard equivalent

http://www.weddingsonline.ie/discussion/
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 02, 2014, 10:09:05 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 02, 2014, 08:35:34 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 02, 2014, 08:25:13 PM

Rule 1.... ;) ;D
If I knew how to post a photo I would :P
Don't let that get in the way. Why don't you put them up on a sharing website and send the link to me and I'll post up the best. I'm a nice guy like that  :D
Post by: ONeill on October 02, 2014, 10:25:36 PM
It's not just the wemen.

The standard school formal will have lads getting off early to get their tan on.
Post by: BennyCake on October 02, 2014, 11:17:47 PM
Weddings are ridiculous these days. People should just feck off and get married, and stop pressurising folk on spending money they don't have. If a couple had to attend 3 or 4 weddings in one year, I'd say you'd have a hell of a holiday for the same money.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 03, 2014, 03:50:04 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 02, 2014, 09:20:26 PM
We lived in India for a while. Over there the women all want skin whitening creams for lovely pasty skin. You can never be pale enough in India. One Christmas we came back for a wedding and all the women wanted orange makeup for a bit of colour. It's a funny old world .

They are doing the opposite thing, but for the exact same reason.

People started getting fake tans in Europe to make it seem like they had the means to go on sun holidays - a show of status

In a lot of Asian countries, the poorest people work outside - in the fields etc. They get their skin whitened to make it obvious they don't have to work in the fields
Post by: sensethetone on October 03, 2014, 07:05:56 AM
We have 7 wedding's  this year, none of them were on a Saturday. 2 on a Thursday and 5 friday weddings, 14 days pay(between both of us) gone on top of presents and having to get your work done to get the time off.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 03, 2014, 09:16:17 AM
Quote from: sensethetone on October 03, 2014, 07:05:56 AM
We have 7 wedding's  this year, none of them were on a Saturday. 2 on a Thursday and 5 friday weddings, 14 days pay(between both of us) gone on top of presents and having to get your work done to get the time off.

You are allowed to say no ye know!!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 10:35:45 AM
This is a thread ive been waiting on to appear for some time now.
F**k away off ta f**k with your weddings for friends, relatives and work colleagues that we have absolutely no interaction with nor have any connection to. Im not going!
Anyone attending more than a couple weddings a year needs their head read unless they are all close family or friends. 7 weddings in a year is ridiculous. Have a few rows and lose a few friends and then ye wont be invited to as many. As BC1 said, you can say NO to the invite. Its allowed ye know!!!

I absolutely abhor weddings unless they are for close friend or family. They are a racket and a nuisance and an orgy of materialistic bullshite. Who can outdo who, who can get spend the most money, throw the most lavish gig, get the most expensive band on the planet (and them shit too), have the most bridesmaids.
Whatever happened to weddings that were simple and stripped back and actually about the 2 people and their nearest and dearest and about the occasion. Nowadays, everyone from the village idiot to the lollipop lady gets an invite...and mother-in-laws!!!!...don't start me on them. They are root of the problem in all this...spawn of the devil when it comes to weddings.

98% of Women are a f**kin terra when it comes to weddings and they need to wind their necks in. Its a rigmarole to get out the door to attend a wedding never mind a clean f**kin fortune. Fake tan, makeup, hair, outfit etc..Christ alive. Why don't they believe ye when you tell them that they don't need the full slap of make up or that they aren't meant to be orange tango-tastic and that it cheapens them. Why cant they listen when ye say that orange knuckles and orange ankles etc really make ye look like a t**ker-queen. I despair.
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 10:53:59 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 10:35:45 AM
F**k away off ta f**k with your weddings for friends, relatives and work colleagues that we have absolutely no interaction with nor have any connection to. Im not going!
Anyone attending more than a couple weddings a year needs their head read unless they are all close family or friends. 7 weddings in a year is ridiculous. Have a few rows and lose a few friends and then ye wont be invited to as many. As BC1 said, you can say NO to the invite. Its allowed ye know!!!

I absolutely abhor weddings unless they are for close friend or family. They are a racket and a nuisance and an orgy of materialistic bullshite. Who can outdo who, who can get spend the most money, throw the most lavish gig, get the most expensive band on the planet (and them shit too), have the most bridesmaids.
Whatever happened to weddings that were simple and stripped back and actually about the 2 people and their nearest and dearest and about the occasion. Nowadays, everyone from the village idiot to the lollipop lady gets an invite...and mother-in-laws!!!!...don't start me on them. They are root of the problem in all this...spawn of the devil when it comes to weddings.

98% of Women are a f**kin terra when it comes to weddings and they need to wind their necks in. Its a rigmarole to get out the door to attend a wedding never mind a clean f**kin fortune. Fake tan, makeup, hair, outfit etc..Christ alive. Why don't they believe ye when you tell them that they don't need the full slap of make up or that they aren't meant to be orange tango-tastic and that it cheapens them. Why cant they listen when ye say that orange knuckles and orange ankles etc really make ye look like a t**ker-queen. I despair.

Brilliant Brick, get it off yer chest, good man.

Another thing thats taken root down our way is the day after party where yet another band will be booked to play in the afternoon of a local hostelry with the ladies requiring yet another outfit.

Feckin photo booths, candy carts and whatever bollox will they come up with next to part a fool from their money.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 03, 2014, 11:05:29 AM

any chance this post could be stickied Mods :)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 11:20:40 AM
I even hate the f**kin word outfit now, and id say its because of the connotations associated with weddings.
Outift ma hole!!!. The country is cowped and all people care about is their 'outfit'.
Women have little to be at.
And if men are buyin into this sh!te too then there is something wrong.
Now don't get me wrong I groom now and again, wash, shave, etc, but for any man that's making himself browner by either rubbin brown stuff into his skin or by lying under a UV human-sized toaster, well then he should be strung up by his buster browns.
Post by: Bingo on October 03, 2014, 11:22:37 AM
Only one thing worse than a woman planning on going to a wedding and that's grumpy feckers complaining about weddings. Have a listen to yourself FFS.

Go or don't go, very easy decision.

I'd a fierce run of weddings over a few years but you know what, they cost money but I enjoyed each and every one of them. A days drinking with family or friends and people you see less and less of. Couldn't beat it with a big stick.
Post by: seafoid on October 03, 2014, 11:23:23 AM
Looking at the jersey swapping that goes on after GAA matches it is highly likely that the natural skin colour of Irish women is not orange.

There's a lot of pressure on them to conform and orange makeup fills a weakness that has been exploited by the forces of commerce. It's hard to imagine that even 20 years ago most women did not know how lacking they were in this department.   

Weddings need a makeover anyway
As Clare Balding asked

"How many women do you hear speaking at marriages? Still. How many women speak? You get father of the bride, best man, husband. Where are the women? Oh, they're bridesmaids, lovely, let's give them a present." And daub them in orange

Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 11:30:05 AM
I heard a bridesmaid talk at a weddin once and to be fair she should have kept her arse on the seat.
Grabbed the microphone like it was the last rolo in the packet and proceeded to be unwitty and dull.

Bingo, my post may have seemed like a lot of grumbling but its been playing on my mind for some time so I sorta unloaded.
Plus a lot of it I think is true and I really feel its an area of society where we have lost the run of ourselves in.
Nobody is bemoaning meeting up with mates and having a few sociable jars and a laugh etc but its rather the shite that's attached to such occasions by none other than who?..WOMEN!!

I think I actually enjoy the beers better at a family funeral (post burial) when the stories are told and the craic does be good. Usually.
Ye don't see the fillies pinkifying themselves and running to tango themselves to within an inch of their lives for those occasions do ye
Post by: Bingo on October 03, 2014, 11:35:22 AM
Brick, ye must have married the wrong woman or have no control over the one ya have  ;)
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 11:48:51 AM
Excellent post brick and I completely agree.

I detest weddings.I don't mind a family wedding as usually you know everyone at it but I hate having to make small talk with some fcuker sitting next to me at a table who I'll will most likely never see again.

The fcukers that send you a wedding gift list with the invitation are the worst cnuts off all IMO.
It also annoys me getting a thank you card with a picture of their ugly mugs kissing or dancing on it..what the fcuk am I suppose to do with that? Put a picture of a couple shifting up on my mantlepiece? go away to fcuk.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 11:50:56 AM
Wrong on both accounts chief.
I married a stunner. Snagged her with wit, charm and charisma.
I don't feel the need to control her. Sure I bought her a Dyson last year and she loves me even more now.
Winner. This xmas will be a challenge though.

My rant wasn't just specifically related to my own wife but women in general.

Id love to her a female perspective on this to balance to argument up.
Post by: haranguerer on October 03, 2014, 11:53:30 AM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 11:48:51 AM

I detest weddings.I don't mind a family wedding as usually you know everyone at it but I hate having to make small talk with some fcuker sitting next to me at a table who I'll will most likely never see again.

The fcukers that send you a wedding gift list with the invitation are the worst cnuts off all IMO.
It also annoys me getting a thank you card with a picture of their ugly mugs kissing or dancing on it..what the fcuk am I suppose to do with that? Put a picture of a couple shifting up on my mantlepiece? go away to fcuk.

Throw it in the bin like the rest of us
Post by: seafoid on October 03, 2014, 11:54:47 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 11:30:05 AM
I heard a bridesmaid talk at a weddin once and to be fair she should have kept her arse on the seat.
Grabbed the microphone like it was the last rolo in the packet and proceeded to be unwitty and dull.

Bingo, my post may have seemed like a lot of grumbling but its been playing on my mind for some time so I sorta unloaded.
Plus a lot of it I think is true and I really feel its an area of society where we have lost the run of ourselves in.
Nobody is bemoaning meeting up with mates and having a few sociable jars and a laugh etc but its rather the shite that's attached to such occasions by none other than who?..WOMEN!!

I think I actually enjoy the beers better at a family funeral (post burial) when the stories are told and the craic does be good. Usually.
Ye don't see the fillies pinkifying themselves and running to tango themselves to within an inch of their lives for those occasions do ye
no grumbling. Just a great post Brick. you have obviously thought a lot about the subject.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 11:55:49 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on October 03, 2014, 11:53:30 AM

I do. But why send the thing in the first place? What do they think you are going to do with it.
Same as someone sending a thank you card for a gift for a new baby..why the fcuk would I want a card with a picture of someone elses baby?
Post by: The Bearded One on October 03, 2014, 12:00:13 PM
My wife once bought 6 dresses for 1 wedding as she couldn't decide what to wear. I didn't even attempt to reason with her.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 12:02:36 PM
DIVORCE
That's a women that needs taken in hand.
Post by: Hereiam on October 03, 2014, 12:16:43 PM
Its not even weddings Brick. Myself and herself decided to go out last sat nite with friends as we didn't get to do anything for the wedding anniversary. Now I have no issue with the actual going out but it was the getting ready, it actually started on the Friday evening with the tan and the room stinkin of it. Next morning it needed to be washed of and touched up etc ( I don't know) then it was going to get the makeup done and then most of the afternoon deciding what to wear.
Which left me looking after the children when I had a shit load of things to do on the farm.
I will not be caught again let me tell you.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2014, 12:25:19 PM
Must say I enjoyed most of the weddings I've been at. Thankfully I don't get 7 a year these days.

I was at 3 in 3 years held abroad, which were all great. A mini-holiday with family/friends all off on the batter together. Great craic. But they were smaller than usual because not everyone can get the time off, or afford a holiday just to attend a wedding. But everyone would understand that. Whatever it was, everything seemed more relaxed.
Post by: BennyCake on October 03, 2014, 12:35:09 PM
On the tan issue - why do women need to look like they have fallen into a bucket of custard? Can their mates or mothers not have a word and tell them how ridiculous they look.

Seen photos lately of a night out my niece had a few weeks ago. All caked up like geishas or something. But one of her mates, 19 or 20, absolutely beautiful girl, looked a mess. Like she had her make up applied with Homer's make up gun. There was no need for her to have anything other than the lips and eyes done. I didn't even recognise her. Why do they feel that this is attractive or what men find attractive? Jesus it was brutal.
Post by: haranguerer on October 03, 2014, 12:45:06 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 11:55:49 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on October 03, 2014, 11:53:30 AM

I do. But why send the thing in the first place? What do they think you are going to do with it.
Same as someone sending a thank you card for a gift for a new baby..why the fcuk would I want a card with a picture of someone elses baby?

Personally, if I've fired someone a ball of money for a wedding present, then I think its only manners for them to acknowledge it. And if they're going to do so, then it makes sense for them to do so with a personalised card, do you not think?

Post by: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 12:47:20 PM
I think the thank you card is grand. It acknowledges that you've taken the trouble to send them a present, or attend, and they are taking the trouble to thank you for it.

As regards the personalised cards, I wouldn't be mad on them. The old cream card with Thank You embossed on the front does the job I think.

I'd say you love the Christmas Cards that come out with the whole family dressed in Christmas jumpers, or at Santa :)
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2014, 12:49:20 PM
The best way to deal with the fake tan nonsense is to announce that you are getting it done as well, on the same day, together like.

I did this once and fake tan has never been mentioned again.

Post by: mikehunt on October 03, 2014, 12:51:06 PM
Mentioned this thread to the Mrs and she can't understand why anyone would bother with fake tan. She got it done once and hated the smell and dirt of it. As regards our wedding she said she couldn't be bothered with the expense and hassle so we eloped and married out foreign without telling anyone. She comes from a big family and they were disappointed so she decided to try and organise a night out to celebrate when we got back. After trying and failing to suit everyone she eventually lost it one day and shouted "is it any wonder we got married abroad". Reading all these posts she could be right in saying I'm a lucky man.
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 12:51:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 12:47:20 PM
I think the thank you card is grand. It acknowledges that you've taken the trouble to send them a present, or attend, and they are taking the trouble to thank you for it.

As regards the personalised cards, I wouldn't be mad on them. The old cream card with Thank You embossed on the front does the job I think.

I'd say you love the Christmas Cards that come out with the whole family dressed in Christmas jumpers, or at Santa :)

Brick and the family;
(http://1000uglypeople.com/wp-content/uploads/Merry-Christmas-Ugly-And-Weird-Family.jpg)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 01:00:19 PM
I love for a female member of this board to come and explain or try and rationalise why they do these things. Genuinely.
Heriam I feel your pain. You need to give them a fortnight notice these days if ye wanna get a bite to eat of a Tuesday evening somewhere local.
Ever think by the time they have went through the ritual of getting ready that it somewhat dilutes the experience and pisses all over what should been a stress-free evening.
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 03, 2014, 01:03:45 PM
I think its a country thing lads (or maybe an Irish thing). In the cities in England or the States women are as happy to grab a bite to eat or drink in a pair of jeans and a sweater!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 03, 2014, 01:09:38 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 01:00:19 PM
I love for a female member of this board to come and explain or try and rationalise why they do these things. Genuinely.

There are only about 2 women on this board,  this is very much an alpha board!!!!

Maybe I am blessed but when she and me go out (which is not that often but will increase significantly now that BC1 junior is babysitting age  ;D) she will hmm and haa about what to wear but no fake tan, no big issue about the hairdressers etc.  We are both of the opinion that what other people think of us is none of our business so we please each other!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2014, 01:39:33 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 03, 2014, 01:09:38 PM

There are only about 2 women on this board,  this is very much an alpha board!!!!

Maybe I am blessed but when she and me go out (which is not that often but will increase significantly now that BC1 junior is babysitting age  ;D) she will hmm and haa about what to wear but no fake tan, no big issue about the hairdressers etc.  We are both of the opinion that what other people think of us is none of our business so we please each other!!!
You could done with some make-up for your recent appearance on camera  :D

My mother-in-law is of the opinion that the bigger the wedding the less likely the couple will be happy. She thinks that spending shitloads of money puts a lot of pressure on the couple from day one and some women might expect that married life will be the bed of roses the wedding day was. There may be a grain of truth in that now but there seems to a trend towards lavish weddings that the couple expect the guests to fund through cash donations in lieu of the dinner services and suitcases of old.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 01:51:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 12:47:20 PM

I don't mind getting a thank you card, I just don't want one with the two of them wearing the face off each other on the dance floor.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 03, 2014, 01:54:04 PM
Youse are all doing it wrong. How the feck are ya meant to cop of with one of the bridesmaid if you bring the missus with ya? Leave her at home with the wans and tell her you can't afford a childminder.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 01:56:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2014, 01:39:33 PM

My mother-in-law is of the opinion that the bigger the wedding the less likely the couple will be happy. She thinks that spending shitloads of money puts a lot of pressure on the couple from day one and some women might expect that married life will be the bed of roses the wedding day was. There may be a grain of truth in that now but there seems to a trend towards lavish weddings that the couple expect the guests to fund through cash donations in lieu of the dinner services and suitcases of old.

I fairness I think the cash presents is largely a modern phenomenon because of the fact that most people getting married already live together and so they are likely to already have the toaster, bed sheets and cutlery sets.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 01:57:09 PM

No sign of Rois or nrico2006 today though.
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 02:00:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 01:56:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2014, 01:39:33 PM

I fairness I think the cash presents is largely a modern phenomenon because of the fact that most people getting married already live together and so they are likely to already have the toaster, bed sheets and cutlery sets.

Are George Foremans no longer acceptable presents?
Shit, I've still one in the attic to dole out to some unsuspecting newly weds!
Post by: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 02:02:55 PM
I've an attic full of Newbridge cutlery :)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 02:32:51 PM
Im tellin ye its a womens world.
They are getting it all their own way and they are turnin some fellas into women too.
There used to be a groomin thread on here a locka years ago and it would have ye worried the craic fellas be at these days.
Ye hear about fellas these days at sunbeds and fake tan and fuckin hari straighteners etc.
Post by: bcarrier on October 03, 2014, 02:39:30 PM
Cant beat a good wedding :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzKfcaKCevk

Post by: Hereiam on October 03, 2014, 02:43:27 PM
Brick I know young lads getting there fuckin eye brows waxed. No lie.
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 02:49:52 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on October 03, 2014, 02:43:27 PM
Brick I know young lads getting there fuckin eye brows waxed. No lie.

What, has the mono-brow look gone?
(http://www.heahea.org/thumb/2270-Ultimate_monobrow.jpg)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 02:59:39 PM
I had a wee silver eyebrow hair sprout up there while back and I just pulled the wee f**ker out. il be keeping an eye out for him again like but its a long way from waxing and the likes. If a fella is using hair straighteners or tanning himself then he has issues. He needs to take stock and ask himself some serious questions.
Then again he is probably best friends with a load of women and spends time drinkin with them in coffee shops and the likes on big sofas. Probably buys them birthday presents and all.
Sickening.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2014, 03:06:34 PM
I'm big into the hair straighteners myself.
Post by: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 03:07:59 PM
Never give the back a bit of a shave? Those hairy angel wings need kept in check.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 03:40:22 PM
That actually sounds bad. It wasn't that is was a wee grey hair but rather a wee straggler and was annoying me. A wee curler.
Post by: ziggysego on October 03, 2014, 03:45:02 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 03, 2014, 12:35:09 PM
On the tan issue - why do women need to look like they have fallen into a bucket of custard? Can their mates or mothers not have a word and tell them how ridiculous they look.

Seen photos lately of a night out my niece had a few weeks ago. All caked up like geishas or something. But one of her mates, 19 or 20, absolutely beautiful girl, looked a mess. Like she had her make up applied with Homer's make up gun. There was no need for her to have anything other than the lips and eyes done. I didn't even recognise her. Why do they feel that this is attractive or what men find attractive? Jesus it was brutal.

Stop perving on your niece's friends.
Post by: ardtole on October 03, 2014, 03:50:14 PM
They are not under pressure from the men but more pressure among themselves trying to outdo each other.
Post by: haranguerer on October 03, 2014, 03:50:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 01:56:58 PM

Its always been cash round home
Post by: haranguerer on October 03, 2014, 03:50:37 PM
Quote from: ardtole on October 03, 2014, 03:50:14 PM
They are not under pressure from the men but more pressure among themselves trying to outdo each other.

Precisely
Post by: WT4E on October 03, 2014, 04:05:21 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 10:53:59 AM

Another thing thats taken root down our way is the day after party where yet another band will be booked to play in the afternoon of a local hostelry with the ladies requiring yet another outfit.

Feckin photo booths, candy carts and whatever bollox will they come up with next to part a fool from their money.

Agree with the majority of this however I do like the next day - I don't know what it is but when all the garls are dolled up at the wedding its too OTT and it doesn't do much for me but when they are in the next day outfits  :D that's when I like to sit back and take it all in!!!
Post by: WeeDonns on October 03, 2014, 04:09:41 PM
A male friend of the OH was heading to a wedding in Ibiza and many of the guests could be described as a bit vain and into their looks.
So your man decides he needs to have a tan before landing in Ibiza to fit in, so off to the sun booth goes...

Apparently you're supposed to build up your use of them over a few weeks. Starting off at 3 minutes, working your way up to 9 minutes, but he decides to just go straight for 9 minutes and tells the girl in the shop he's been before, so she didn't need to show him how to use them.

He goes in and stands there with his arms at his sides and gets burnt red raw for 9minutes. He came out with two bright white lines down his sides where he held his arms - turns out there are two straps on the ceiling to hold on to so that your arms are in the air. The 'tan' was ridiculous and it took months to even out the stripes on his side

Post by: ONeill on October 03, 2014, 04:25:37 PM
Brick - you've the makings of a movement here. I'm right behind you.

I'd spoken to the missus about this a while ago (re fake tan) and she says it's simply a case of looking better. Same as make-up, hair done etc - all self improvement for the photos. Women have lived with this pressure for many years.
Post by: clarshack on October 03, 2014, 04:31:51 PM
got married 10 years ago and didn't have to put up with half the carry on that goes on these days. imagine what it will be like in another 10 years  :o
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 03, 2014, 04:46:28 PM
O'Neill my good man im sure you have told her numerous occasions how beautiful she looks without all the add ons.
Why cant they just accept that they look better when their skin isn't orange. How could anyone not see that its not a good look when your knuckles and backs of the hands are orange whilst your palms are pink. When ye see orange wrists, knuckles, ankles, knees and necklines it just looks cheap and nasty, dirty, tinkerish. They need to see this and understand its kat lookin.

Its not simply a case of looking better, that's horsehite with parsley. If they valued our opinions and really cared how we felt then they wouldn't do it to themselves and they would realise that my man loves me just fine and dandy without all this schlopp on.
The truth is, they do it because they are all in competition with one another and whatever all the other girls are doin they have to start into it too. God forbid if ye weren't tangoed out of it goin to a wedding or ye were a shade of oak rather than walnut.
If I ever catch the fukker who invented fake tan.

Sunbeds!! That's another planet altogether. Then again skin cancer is a small price to pay for 'looking good' at the weddin or formal I suppose.
Please!!
Post by: bennydorano on October 03, 2014, 05:01:54 PM
Quote from: WT4E on October 03, 2014, 04:05:21 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 03, 2014, 10:53:59 AM

Agree with the majority of this however I do like the next day - I don't know what it is but when all the garls are dolled up at the wedding its too OTT and it doesn't do much for me but when they are in the next day outfits  :D that's when I like to sit back and take it all in!!!
That's just the Hangover horn ;)
Post by: seafoid on October 03, 2014, 06:01:30 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2012/aug/03/what-really-thinking-wedding-photographer

Sometimes you don't have to wait long for the first family argument. If there's a bad atmosphere, I wonder if it will all kick off at the reception; it usually starts there after too much champagne on an empty stomach.

I'm often surprised at the amount of competitiveness involved, the obsession with class and money. I see snobbery, antisocial behaviour, one-upmanship. Often people overspend and I wonder at some lavish weddings if the marriages are going to last long enough to repay the debts. But there are plenty of happy weddings, too, usually the smaller, more intimate, less pretentious ones. The cheaper bashes don't raise expectations and people are more relaxed. Sometimes I even get to witness pure, unalloyed joy.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2014, 06:42:10 PM
Quote from: clarshack on October 03, 2014, 04:31:51 PM
got married 10 years ago and didn't have to put up with half the carry on that goes on these days. imagine what it will be like in another 10 years  :o

There will be no priests left and Tony Fearon will be giving the sermon.

And you will do as your superiors tell you.
Post by: Rois on October 03, 2014, 08:42:15 PM
Recent bride here - we had 50 people in France with us, I had one bridesmaid, didn't insist on wearing £450 Jimmy Choo shoes that will never be seen, didn't have wedding cars, favours, pic n mix, photobooth.  One set of flowers for the altar, no table decorations and the groom and best men didn't even have to wear ties.  Had a lovely long dinner in a top restaurant and then went down into their public cellar bar.  Had a brilliant day.
We had a party then for 200 back in Belfast, just a bbq and a few beers/glasses of wine.  It gave me an insight into the 200-guest typical Irish do.  Didn't get speaking to half the people I had asked.  Definitely not for us!
A girl in work was telling me she wasn't sleeping because she was worrying about her wedding.  WTF.  I really do agree with the sentiment that it should be about you and your nearest and dearest, not about ice sculptures and the like.

But on the thank you card, it's more about wanting to thank people for their gifts and what's the difference whether it's a painted flower on the card or a photo?  I was so overwhelmed by people's generosity.   

I'll say nothing about the sunbeds...I confess to having used them in the run up to the wedding.  But haven't been back since. 
Post by: moysider on October 04, 2014, 09:21:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 03, 2014, 11:23:23 AM
Looking at the jersey swapping that goes on after GAA matches it is highly likely that the natural skin colour of Irish women is not orange.

Jaysus seafóid, I never noticed the ladies swapping the jerseys after their matches :o
How did I miss that :'(

Last wedding I was at over a year ago. Work colleague.
The missus didn t want to know ( she wouldn t know anybody really) and went and did an Olympic triathlon instead. We both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
I partied until dawn and if herself was along we would both be fed up and gone home before the band started.
Post by: pullhard on October 04, 2014, 09:55:02 PM
Best thread and best posts brick in ages. A late entry for post of the year
Post by: maggie on October 04, 2014, 11:35:23 PM
So its not just my da that hates weddings then.

I wouldn't be a fan of the girls who get their fellas to match the colour of their ties with their dresses at a wedding. Other than that i do enjoy the excuse to get glammed up for a wedding,.
Post by: Sidney on October 05, 2014, 12:57:29 AM
David McWilliams came up with a great word (whether he actually came up with it himself or merely plagiarised it is moot, but anyway) to describe this shite in his book "The Pope's Children".

Bridezilla.

In fairness at least the bride is actually getting married. Men who go under sunbeds for weddings they're only a guest at need a fooking serious look at themselves. Actually, that's a poorly chosen phrase - if there's one thing they need to do it's to stop looking at themselves, the pathetic, vain fools.
Post by: Canalman on October 05, 2014, 07:42:14 PM
One thing that drives me nuts at weddings are those clowns  who insist on setting up a sweep to guess how long the speeches will take. Spanners of the highest order.

Unfortunately every table also seems to have someone who will insist on telling you about when they did the Camino. In great detail sadly.

Post by: muppet on October 05, 2014, 08:43:31 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 05, 2014, 07:42:14 PM
One thing that drives me nuts at weddings are those clowns  who insist on setting up a sweep to guess how long the speeches will take. Spanners of the highest order.

Unfortunately every table also seems to have someone who will insist on telling you about when they did the Camino. In great detail sadly.

Is this Dublin slang for Bridesmaid?  ;)
Post by: screenexile on October 05, 2014, 08:45:02 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 05, 2014, 07:42:14 PM

"It's a Camino thing"

Aye good one... how about you try the "Go f**k yourself" thing!!! Twats!
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2014, 10:50:51 AM
What's a camino?

As for the speeches, I love those sweeps. It's the only thing that keeps them interesting. I mean let's be honest, who the f*ck wants to hear various lads and ladies at the top table telling each other how great they are?

Post by: theskull1 on October 06, 2014, 11:13:24 AM
My best man did very memorable speech at my wedding. In return I was completely sh*te and still cringe at the speech I gave that day.  :-[
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 06, 2014, 11:14:36 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 03, 2014, 02:02:55 PM
I've an attic full of Newbridge cutlery :)

And I've an attic of John Rocca wine glasses. Nearly blew a gasket when they arrived courtesy of a side deal from her friends. Like if I had a side deal for a surround sound system for "the house" from my mates I'm sure it would have gone down well. They have to stay in the attic for everyone's well being. I think I made my point.

The Camino is a walking trail in north Spain.
Post by: laoislad on October 06, 2014, 11:15:10 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 06, 2014, 11:13:24 AM
My best man did very memorable speech at my wedding. In return I was completely sh*te and still cringe at the speech I gave that day.  :-[
Nothing compared to me I'd say....I forgot to mention the wife in my speech....!
Post by: ziggysego on October 06, 2014, 11:35:19 AM
Quote from: laoislad on October 06, 2014, 11:15:10 AM
Nothing compared to me I'd say....I forgot to mention the wife in my speech....!

I was at a wedding when the groom's brother got drunk, said the family sighed with relief when he met the bride as they all though he was gay and then went on a 10 minute rant of 26 years of pent up aggression.  :o
Post by: Boycey on October 06, 2014, 01:04:30 PM
I've not read back through all the pages but has anyone mentioned wedding websites??? What in the name of jaysus are they all about? A mate of mine got married stateside last year and had one. There were full profiles of all the wedding party plus other "interesting" facts, loads of photos and a countdown clock to the big day itself!!!

Thought it might be an American thing but a keep this date free letter rather than an invite came through the door last week for next July from a cousin of mine and lo and behold they have a wedding website!!!!!!
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 06, 2014, 01:16:39 PM
Worst speech I ever heard was from a groom who kept bubbling up and bursting into tears. Even his family were getting fed up with it after a while. Could've understood it if there'd been a recent bereavement in the family, but that wasn't the case. I think the occasion just got to him, but it was certainly embarrassing for everyone.
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 06, 2014, 01:19:35 PM
Has cheesy engagement photos caught on here yet??

Big in the states!!
Post by: johnneycool on October 06, 2014, 01:29:49 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on October 06, 2014, 01:19:35 PM

Big in the states!!

Just saw one of those today on Facebook, cringeeeeeeeeeee.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 06, 2014, 01:30:00 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 06, 2014, 11:15:10 AM

Don't worry I mentioned her in mine.

BOOM BOOM
Post by: clarshack on October 06, 2014, 01:31:00 PM

Big in the states!!

yes, heard of someone doing one in local area. unbelievable!
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 06, 2014, 01:40:00 PM
Quote from: clarshack on October 06, 2014, 01:31:00 PM

Big in the states!!

yes, heard of someone doing one in local area. unbelievable!

There are people up and down the country making a fortune out of it no doubt!!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on October 06, 2014, 02:17:39 PM
Another craze that's new to me anyway is couples taking baby photos before the baby has arrived.  What's that all about?  I don't want to see photos of couples posing in fields of barley or whatever else hugging a bump.  It's not something the world needs to see.
Post by: bridgegael on October 06, 2014, 02:29:44 PM
The little note that comes in the invites saying there is a social media ban on photos of the bride and groom and wedding party.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2014, 02:31:59 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on October 06, 2014, 02:29:44 PM
The little note that comes in the invites saying there is a social media ban on photos of the bride and groom and wedding party.

Seriously?
Post by: screenexile on October 06, 2014, 02:35:50 PM

I heard one where a load of the brides friends got a picture taken ("The Girlies") and one of the girls fired it up on Facebook... she got a text from the Bride at the top table asking why they had posted a picture on Facebook from her Wedding and her not in it!!!
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 06, 2014, 02:47:44 PM
Getting married next year and found this thread interesting.

Re engagement photos - my other half told me that when she booked photographer that she gave us a free engagement shoot in the price which my reply was 'not a f**king chance!' I've had a few friends do them and they are so cringe its unbelievable. If I can manage it there will be minimal photos at the wedding as little as I can get away with whilst trying to keep her happy.

What about the opinions on this – Entrance songs for every couple on the wedding party!!

I hate them – I was on a couple of wedding parties where this was the case and I didn't like it particularly the most recent as the bridesmaid I was paired with was trying to make me run, skip , dance everything on the way in when all I wanted to do was get to my seat as quickly as possible! Just had the conversation with the missus and I told her that I didn't like it and that I would come in with her to entrance music and a clap or two but the rest will just be at the table like the rest of us! She disagreed and called me odd and the debate continues LOL
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 06, 2014, 02:49:36 PM
Think we are getting off the key theme here of women and weddings.

Ask yourself whats at the root cause of all the tomfoolery and bullsh!t attached to weddings.
WOMEN.
Men standing by while their women dictate the wedding gig. I know its their big day but come on ta f**k.
Ye think a man would come up with half those hair-brained schemes of his own bat? No f**kin way!
Ye think a man would ever think of sticking a photo booth in at the reception. No f**kin way. Would we be let install a beer pump or two at the tables?.i doubt it..
Women are running crazy when it comes to weddings and men just stand by and do what they are told. Bullied into handing over large sums of money or agreeing to put up with the most ridiculous of demands.

Mothers of brides are poisoning their daughters too with what their idea of a dream wedding should entail too. They put ideas into the daughters heads. They encourage the behaviour when really they should know better. They be laughin at us men behind their handbags whilst they manipulate and pull strings from behind the scenes..."Oh my mam thought it would be a good idea if......" or " Mum thinks I should be inviting great aunt Gerty (who incidentally smells of p!ss and cant see 2ft in front of her). Ye know rightly whenever your woman comes out with a new thought attached to the wedding it has been planted there by her mother at some stage.
Post by: screenexile on October 06, 2014, 03:16:07 PM
Basically weemin are completely mental . . . 
Post by: Rois on October 06, 2014, 03:35:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 06, 2014, 02:31:59 PM

Seriously?
Wish I'd done that.  I got downright sick of looking at my own wedding photos on Facebook.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2014, 03:50:09 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 06, 2014, 03:35:38 PM

Seriously?
Wish I'd done that.  I got downright sick of looking at my own wedding photos on Facebook.

Liar :)
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 06, 2014, 03:53:59 PM

I wouldn't be against this although maybe sending a msg in the invites not the way to do it.

It would bug me if someone was taking photos of me and the other half at the wedding and posting them on FB that minute. Snap away at guests and put them up if they want!
Post by: BennyCake on October 06, 2014, 05:04:53 PM

Great idea. I heard a wedding where mobiles were taken off people at the door. I'm all for that.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2014, 05:05:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 06, 2014, 05:04:53 PM

Great idea. I heard a wedding where mobiles were taken off people at the door. I'm all for that.

That's for different reasons :)
Post by: ziggysego on October 06, 2014, 05:26:44 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 06, 2014, 03:35:38 PM

Seriously?

You looked lovely Rois :)
Post by: pullhard on October 06, 2014, 07:29:25 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on October 06, 2014, 02:17:39 PM
Another craze that's new to me anyway is couples taking baby photos before the baby has arrived.  What's that all about?  I don't want to see photos of couples posing in fields of barley or whatever else hugging a bump.  It's not something the world needs to see.

Of topic, But on facebook, when women write status from the baby. "look my first pair of shoes" GRRR  >:(
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2014, 11:11:49 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzKfcaKCevk
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 10, 2014, 05:41:23 AM
This has the makings of a classic thread. Some deadly rants in there!

Last wedding I was at was in Vegas. Mate from school flew in with a small party of friends and family and I flew over and joined him. Got married in a wee wedding chapel his first words coming out as a married man were "right byes, let's find a pub somewhere till we watch this match." Ireland was in a World Cup qualifier that day.

Took a handful of photos at the Las Vegas sign, went to a bar for a lok of drinks, to a buffet for dinner (he said a few words and that was all the formalities) and to the Chandelier bar for the rest of the night. Hard to bate. I'd say he had more of a hand in planning it than she did.
Post by: WT4E on October 10, 2014, 11:55:09 AM

Just picking up on the tan and dolling up of women - for weddings is bad but I have heard of womens football players having tan done and wearing make up for football - how sad is that - one tyrone club team in particular from what I hear.  :o
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 10, 2014, 11:59:35 AM
Quote from: WT4E on October 10, 2014, 11:55:09 AM

Just picking up on the tan and dolling up of women - for weddings is bad but I have heard of womens football players having tan done and wearing make up for football - how sad is that - one tyrone club team in particular from what I hear.  :o

Mucksavage-tastic!!!!
Post by: Under Lights on October 10, 2014, 12:41:25 PM
11 Weddings this year including the Mrs' Brother's coming up  :-[
Post by: muppet on October 12, 2014, 12:39:08 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 10, 2014, 11:59:35 AM

Mucksavage-tastic!!!!

Great word.

You should twat Des Cahill to use it on The Sunday Game.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 01, 2023, 01:16:16 AM
Resurrecting an ancient thread because I think its still relevant today...

Since the last post, over 8 years have passed, a period of time where weddings were reduced to minimalist events due to a global pandemic (including my own), and have  recently resurfaced to become even bigger over exorbitant displays of wealth (debt).
What have you noticed at recent weddings that have made you stop and think "Notions"?
Was it the 3rd band of the weekend? The second day bbq? The "pre-wedding party" the weekend before? What about the fireworks display or the Hollywood worthy film crew going for a close up on your face as you made your way into a chapel in the arse of nowhere whilst your mind was firmly set on the pints you would be drinking later?
Post by: markl121 on May 01, 2023, 01:25:35 AM
engaged there recently myself and finding the whole thing wild. Herself and myself are after something fairly reserved, 30-40 close friends and family max. Finding this nearly impossible to get for a weekend where they all want 100+ guests minimum and for you to sell x amount of rooms. Looking at abroad as a viable option and don't mind paying a but more per head when its actually people you want to be there and no every obscure relative under the sun who's wedding I was apparently at.

Her ones are mad for the fairytale wedding and trying to tell her what she wants and doesn't want. "You haven't done your official engagement instagram post yet" "You can't get married on this day or that day" We have discussed eloping and saying nothing to no-one. My neighbour got engaged there and her man had hired a photographer for a professional photoshoot of their dog (yes the dog) and then while this was ongoing he proposed so they have full professional pics of the whole damn thing.

We are very conscious of it only being one day and no-one will remember it after a week, also very conscious of it being our day and our choice so I really don't want other people paying for it for us. Will be telling ones no giftsand post all the pictures online that yous want, I don't care.
Finding it very hard to get somewhere on a weekend that will even cater to us, the whole industry is pushing for the huge fairytale wedding style shite.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2023, 08:00:20 AM
It is definitely got worse in recent years. I was at a cousin's wedding last year and there was 3 photographers and a drone operator  :-\. They had a harpist play all through the meal, so you could hardly hear the person sitting next to you. At an in-laws wedding where there was a falling out in the wedding party as the bride kept ordering people outside for more photos and they were all starving! The same pair posted an engagement photo when they got engaged where he "surprised" her on holiday which was all captured on camera. Turns out they had several goes at it to get the right photo so she had to look surprised more than once! The world is a mad place.

It is called the wedding industry for a reason! It is designed to extract every last cent from you and Instragram has just exacerbated the whole thing. However, people can choose not to follow social media. Spend what you are comfortable with, so you're not carrying debt out of it and invite who you want.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on May 01, 2023, 08:14:44 AM
Quote from: markl121 on May 01, 2023, 01:25:35 AM
engaged there recently myself and finding the whole thing wild. Herself and myself are after something fairly reserved, 30-40 close friends and family max. Finding this nearly impossible to get for a weekend where they all want 100+ guests minimum and for you to sell x amount of rooms. Looking at abroad as a viable option and don't mind paying a but more per head when its actually people you want to be there and no every obscure relative under the sun who's wedding I was apparently at.

Her ones are mad for the fairytale wedding and trying to tell her what she wants and doesn't want. "You haven't done your official engagement instagram post yet" "You can't get married on this day or that day" We have discussed eloping and saying nothing to no-one. My neighbour got engaged there and her man had hired a photographer for a professional photoshoot of their dog (yes the dog) and then while this was ongoing he proposed so they have full professional pics of the whole damn thing.

We are very conscious of it only being one day and no-one will remember it after a week, also very conscious of it being our day and our choice so I really don't want other people paying for it for us. Will be telling ones no giftsand post all the pictures online that yous want, I don't care.
Finding it very hard to get somewhere on a weekend that will even cater to us, the whole industry is pushing for the huge fairytale wedding style shite.

Your wedding, your money, your choice. Do what pleases both of you and forget about everyone else. You'll have a much better day for it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 01, 2023, 08:23:41 AM
Got married recently. Being that bit older a lot of the bullshit was not appropriate and the wedding venue recognised that but I could see how younger couples could be badly influenced. We were at a few weddings last year and there were a few instances of notions. No horse drawn carriages or the like but one thing in particular was very cringe worthy. The speeches were so co-ordinated with clear planned 'jokes'. There was nearly an hour of pure nonsense. The father of the bride read out a poem that he 'picked' according to him. He was so uncomfortable reading it that it was embarrassing. Our speeches last 10 minutes, she and I spoke and that was it.

We did the ceremony ourselves too. Humanist wedding and basically we wrote the whole lot and had friends doing the music. 30 minutes start to finish. More time for everyone to enjoy themselves!  Keep it simple and have people who you really want there. There was no one there who we 'had' to have there. It's your big day so do it as you please. If you're having to get official engagement stuff and that then you're getting lost in the bullshit. Our engagement photo was taken off her iPhone balancing on a wall!  People genuinely thought it was professional simply because we were both so happy!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2023, 09:03:49 AM
They're at the botox now I hear.
Painting yourself orange wasn't enough for them but they now have to inject poison into their faces in the search for beauty.
Tatood eyebrows too.
Worlds cowped.
Post by: seafoid on May 01, 2023, 09:48:14 AM

Seen photos lately of a night out my niece had a few weeks ago. All caked up like geishas or something. But one of her mates, 19 or 20, absolutely beautiful girl, looked a mess. Like she had her make up applied with Homer's make up gun. There was no need for her to have anything other than the lips and eyes done. I didn't even recognise her. Why do t
hey feel that this is attractive or what men find attractive? Jesus it was brutal.

Fake tan is very popular among camogie players.
Post by: LC on May 01, 2023, 09:49:02 AM
Easy to get sucked into the extras that the venue try to sign you up to, the way we looked at it at the time it made sense that if we were going to go big on anything  do so for the honeymoon instead of the wedding.  Our wedding was basic enough but splashed out on the honeymoon in terms of going to the States and doing a Caribbean cruise, no regrets.
Post by: Nanderson on May 01, 2023, 10:00:58 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 01, 2023, 09:48:14 AM

Seen photos lately of a night out my niece had a few weeks ago. All caked up like geishas or something. But one of her mates, 19 or 20, absolutely beautiful girl, looked a mess. Like she had her make up applied with Homer's make up gun. There was no need for her to have anything other than the lips and eyes done. I didn't even recognise her. Why do t
hey feel that this is attractive or what men find attractive? Jesus it was brutal.

Fake tan is very popular among camogie players.
Fake tan is to camogie what skin fades are to footballers. Always makes you play better and look better ;D
Post by: bennydorano on May 01, 2023, 10:15:22 AM
Had a wedding abroad last year (best man), was fantastic. A lot of middle aged people knocking about so a lot less people who give a shit about what others think. Fair amount of hallions as well tbf made it a great couple of days. More pressure on the Instagram generation.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2023, 11:56:16 AM
I've two daughters, not looking forward to how that pans out should they want to get married. My wife's family paid for our wedding and her sister's wedding. Pressure on to pay for theirs!!!
Post by: screenexile on May 01, 2023, 02:42:26 PM
Chair covers have to be the biggest scam going lads!!

f**king chair covers Jesus it was £2 a chair ten years ago I shudder to think of the price now.

The lady who used to run Beech Hill in Derry summed it up perfectly to us when we checked it out. "There are 3 things that make a good wedding 1. Food 2. Music 3. The atmosphere."

People don't remember your centrepieces or chair covers but they'll remember those 3 things!
Post by: joemamas on May 01, 2023, 03:36:39 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2023, 09:03:49 AM
They're at the botox now I hear.
Painting yourself orange wasn't enough for them but they now have to inject poison into their faces in the search for beauty.
Tatood eyebrows too.
Worlds cowped.

Are you still talking about the Womens football or is it back to weddings.
Post by: Mourne Red on May 01, 2023, 03:44:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2023, 11:56:16 AM
I've two daughters, not looking forward to how that pans out should they want to get married. My wife's family paid for our wedding and her sister's wedding. Pressure on to pay for theirs!!!

Not a thing anymore MR2 don't worry lol.. Well at least it's not for me and my Mrs 😅 and know most of my mates they've paid there's themselves, mostly just rely on cards/gifts to pay off the day.. We're getting married there next year and seat covers are something like £5/£10 each then flowers are a f**king fortune too and don't get me started on invites.

As other ones have said "Your wedding, your choice" had a few rows with parents wanting people invited or judgement over things we've picked, I've just told them to shut up not their wedding and as for guests if one of us hasn't met them then they're not invited - Parents wanting invites for a rookie we've never met before because they went to their wedding or shite like that was a non-starter with us
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2023, 04:33:34 PM
I'd rather give them 20 grand for help towards a deposit than pay for seat covers and doves being set free!!

As for those daft invites, only invite the ones with a few bob ;)
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2023, 07:50:51 AM
Quote from: markl121 on May 01, 2023, 01:25:35 AM"You haven't done your official engagement instagram post yet"

People like this should get shot into the sun. They'll be responsible for the downfall of humanity.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 02, 2023, 09:18:35 AM
I was watching back the belfast marathon and there was a boy proposed live on tv at the end of it. I think the girl was actually a bit mortified getting interviewed on tv. The running commentators didn't know what to say - ummm she's not wearing the ring  ;D
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2023, 10:24:01 AM
Not a wedding but I was at a Christening 2 weekends ago in which there were 80+ people in the chapel and for food afterwards in a local hotel. In my day Christenings were just a thing for a few immediate relatives.
Post by: johnnycool on May 02, 2023, 10:59:13 AM
Quote from: clarshack on May 02, 2023, 10:24:01 AM
Not a wedding but I was at a Christening 2 weekends ago in which there were 80+ people in the chapel and for food afterwards in a local hotel. In my day Christenings were just a thing for a few immediate relatives.

No bouncy castle?
Post by: clarshack on May 02, 2023, 11:15:17 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 02, 2023, 10:59:13 AM

No bouncy castle?

No bouncy castle this time!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 02, 2023, 11:28:34 AM

Grandparents, siblings and their families, and god parents if they are not siblings. How many more need to be there?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2023, 12:38:11 PM
Christenings are another racket... my eldest son is christened the daughters not. For my son it was service then we drive around to the relatives and 'showed' off the baby and went home!! Granted, that was 30 years ago!!
Post by: rosnarun on May 02, 2023, 04:53:47 PM
You do know you dont have to turn up to the ceremony and get married by Proxy you'd get the who job Done for about 50 Quid.
Or do a mary harney and pop off to a registry during Lunch Break and then in to Startbucks for a take away coffee in case she was Late back.
Post by: Rois on May 02, 2023, 06:44:13 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 02, 2023, 04:53:47 PM

Or do a mary harney and pop off to a registry during Lunch Break and then in to Startbucks for a take away coffee in case she was Late back.

Not entirely the same thing, but we got legally married in City Hall in Belfast (had church wedding in France, but couldn't do the legal but there), and my OH just arrived in to the ceremony after doing a half day at work first. It can definitely be done!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2023, 07:37:30 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 02, 2023, 06:44:13 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 02, 2023, 04:53:47 PM

Not entirely the same thing, but we got legally married in City Hall in Belfast (had church wedding in France, but couldn't do the legal but there), and my OH just arrived in to the ceremony after doing a half day at work first. It can definitely be done!
A cousin of my wife did that and a load of the ones that went to the "wedding" in France weren't aware they had been legally wed back here beforehand. Some said they wouldn't have gone had they known in advance!
Post by: tintin25 on May 02, 2023, 08:12:40 PM
Don't get married...problem solved
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2023, 08:36:12 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on May 02, 2023, 08:12:40 PM
Don't get married...problem solved

Would never in my puff would I even contemplate it again!! All I seem to do is spend money on more stuff for the house!!!
Post by: ziggy90 on May 03, 2023, 06:56:33 AM

Aah, weddings, christenings and now first holy communion season is upon us. My granddaughter is making hers this Saturday and I'm strangely looking forward to seeing her all dressed up.
Post by: trailer on May 03, 2023, 05:04:26 PM
If ever a thread summed all you miserable c***ts right up.