Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on September 25, 2014, 11:05:44 AM

Title: "The Ploughing"
Post by: 5 Sams on September 25, 2014, 11:05:44 AM
Was at it for the first time ever yesterday. Two words "Holy Fcuk". 125,000 people at it. Last time I was in a crowd like that was when the Pope came to Drogheda. In the space of 15 minutes managed to see Michéal Martin, George Hook, Sharon Shannon, Pat Spillane and Mary Kennedy.....and Pat the Boll*x was the only one getting any attention :D

Unbelievable event.
Title: Re: "The Ploughing"
Post by: Under Lights on September 25, 2014, 11:15:27 AM
Said to the Mrs yesterday that its something I plan to go to next year. What other activities happen at it besides the actual ploughing? Is there stalls and other craic at it?
Post by: 5 Sams on September 25, 2014, 11:21:20 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on September 25, 2014, 11:15:27 AM
Said to the Mrs yesterday that its something I plan to go to next year. What other activities happen at it besides the actual ploughing? Is there stalls and other craic at it?
You name it it's there. Have a look. http://www.npa.ie/

I simply haven't seen anything like if in my life. Apparently it is the biggest outdoor event of its kind in Europe.
Post by: Under Lights on September 25, 2014, 11:24:46 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 25, 2014, 11:21:20 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on September 25, 2014, 11:15:27 AM
You name it it's there. Have a look. http://www.npa.ie/

I simply haven't seen anything like if in my life. Apparently it is the biggest outdoor event of its kind in Europe.

Couple help but think of Fr Ted when I read this.

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_dMFDzknHJ0A/TLafrtxcnYI/AAAAAAAALio/Efy3TOyhDx8/s320/father+ted.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2014, 11:36:33 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 25, 2014, 11:05:44 AM
Was at it for the first time ever yesterday. Two words "Holy Fcuk". 125,000 people at it. Last time I was in a crowd like that was when the Pope came to Drogheda. In the space of 15 minutes managed to see Michéal Martin, George Hook, Sharon Shannon, Pat Spillane and Mary Kennedy.....and Pat the Boll*x was the only one getting any attention :D

Unbelievable event.

Did you see anyone ploughing?

Cracking weather for it.
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2014, 12:51:15 PM
I was there a couple of years ago and a plough was one of the few things I didn't see.

Someone on Morning Ireland this morning was saying yesterday saw the biggest ever attendance at an outdoor event in Ireland. They obviously never heard of the Pope's gig or O'Connell's monster meetings. Not to mention the night the first sputnik went over, which is my bet for the record.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 25, 2014, 01:27:18 PM
QuoteSomeone on Morning Ireland this morning was saying yesterday saw the biggest ever attendance at an outdoor event in Ireland

Typical lazy auld shite reporting from RTE. Some young yoke from SoCoDu who hasn't a baldy prob.

I was one of the 1,000,000 outside in The Phoenix Park in 1979. Jazes, The Rats put on some gig that day........

Post by: Orior on September 25, 2014, 01:31:33 PM
Back in my day, the best ploughmen were those that ploughed the straightest lines at the correct depth.

Do tractors now have GPS and cruise control and altitude analysers that make ploughing easy/easier?
Post by: Feckitt on September 25, 2014, 02:22:12 PM
Is it similar to the Balmoral Show?
Post by: johnneycool on September 25, 2014, 04:44:35 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2014, 02:22:12 PM

Sort of, but I don't think there's too many four legged animals at 'de ploughing'

Post by: Old yeller on September 25, 2014, 06:46:50 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 25, 2014, 04:44:35 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 25, 2014, 02:22:12 PM

Sort of, but I don't think there's too many four legged animals at 'de ploughing'
Plenty of 2 legged ones!
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2014, 07:07:21 PM
Usual sh1te in this Country - everyone is going so we'll have to go too. :-[
Most of what goes to it probably never saw a plough in their lives - and some maybe never a field either.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 26, 2014, 06:09:35 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 25, 2014, 07:07:21 PM
Usual sh1te in this Country - everyone is going so we'll have to go too. :-[
Most of what goes to it probably never saw a plough in their lives - and some maybe never a field either.

You ever seen one?
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2016, 09:27:13 PM
Anyone go this year yet? I'm heading there tomorrow.
Post by: Orior on September 21, 2016, 09:54:52 PM
Gerry Adams was at it today, denying everything.
Post by: ashman on September 21, 2016, 10:11:57 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 21, 2016, 09:54:52 PM

I never ploughed Casement Park.
Post by: ashman on September 21, 2016, 10:13:35 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2014, 12:51:15 PM
I was there a couple of years ago and a plough was one of the few things I didn't see.

Someone on Morning Ireland this morning was saying yesterday saw the biggest ever attendance at an outdoor event in Ireland. They obviously never heard of the Pope's gig or O'Connell's monster meetings. Not to mention the night the first sputnik went over, which is my bet for the record.

RTE saying a Catholic event drew a crowd .  The sticky element hasn't gone away you know.
Post by: rrhf on September 21, 2016, 10:25:40 PM
The global web summit got so big it eventually left the country. This event needs to be locked down Asap. Was at it 3 years ago, great show alright and enjoyed the ploughing and the dung spreading competition. All about precision and nerve.
Post by: T Fearon on September 21, 2016, 10:39:38 PM
Was Gerry Adams at the Starry Ploughing Championships today? 😂😂.Thats a cracker
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on September 21, 2016, 10:41:30 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 21, 2016, 10:25:40 PM
The global web summit got so big it eventually left the country. This event needs to be locked down Asap. Was at it 3 years ago, great show alright and enjoyed the ploughing and the dung spreading competition. All about precision and nerve.

Take some competition to beat the dung spreading that goes on here at times.
Post by: muppet on September 21, 2016, 11:04:36 PM

No he wasn't!
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 21, 2016, 11:33:34 PM
Time they went for a Friday & Saturday extension.
It's already a monster, why not draw in the corporate weekend set?
Post by: orangeman on September 21, 2016, 11:43:19 PM
I seen a tractor on the RTE ploughing programme tonight - it was the star attraction at the show - €350,000 to buy one.

>:(
Post by: Rossfan on September 21, 2016, 11:53:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 21, 2016, 11:43:19 PM
I seen a tractor on the RTE ploughing programme tonight - it was the star attraction at the show - €350,000 to buy one.

>:(

I'm sure there's an oul' granteen to be got somewhere to cover that ;D
Post by: omaghjoe on September 22, 2016, 06:29:19 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2014, 12:51:15 PM

In recent times its also well behind rally Ireland in 2007 as well
Post by: Hardy on September 22, 2016, 10:39:07 AM
On RTE yesterday morning it collapsed from "the biggest event in in Europe" on Morning Ireland to "one of the biggest events of its kind in Europe this year" on Sean O'Rourke.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 22, 2016, 10:40:10 AM

He was just making sure they didn't dig up anything.
Post by: seafoid on September 22, 2016, 10:54:22 AM
I was at it last year. Nice atmosphere but the food was awful. Loads of hurley makers.
RTE very prominent. Spit on me, Marty.
Post by: HiMucker on September 22, 2016, 10:56:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 22, 2016, 10:40:10 AM

He was just making sure they didn't dig up anything.
He'll come a cropper yet
Post by: Snapchap on September 22, 2016, 07:39:51 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 22, 2016, 10:56:32 AM

The media were at it yesterday, blaming Adams for everything.
Post by: muppet on September 22, 2016, 08:14:25 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on September 22, 2016, 07:39:51 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 22, 2016, 10:56:32 AM

The media were at it yesterday, blaming Adams for everything.

Really, any links to prove that they were 'blaming Adams for everything'?
Post by: omaghjoe on September 22, 2016, 08:14:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 22, 2016, 10:39:07 AM
On RTE yesterday morning it collapsed from "the biggest event in in Europe" on Morning Ireland to "one of the biggest events of its kind in Europe this year" on Sean O'Rourke.

Not to mention the fleadh of course.... its on every year...must be the biggest outdoor event.....or maybe the 12th?
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 22, 2016, 08:52:47 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 21, 2016, 11:33:34 PM
Time they went for a Friday & Saturday extension.
It's already a monster, why not draw in the corporate weekend set?
Totally agree with the weekend idea. Some of us could actually go one of the days then.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 22, 2016, 09:43:25 PM
haven't been since I was in school

would love to go down and see all the hurley maker stands etc
Post by: johnneycool on September 23, 2016, 01:14:47 PM
https://soundcloud.com/rte2fm/things-to-expect-from-the-ploughing (https://soundcloud.com/rte2fm/things-to-expect-from-the-ploughing)

RTÉ 2FM's breakfast republic take on de ploughing..