GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SlimShady on April 17, 2007, 02:44:08 PM

Title: Paddy Bradley Suspended for Championship??
Post by: SlimShady on April 17, 2007, 02:44:08 PM
Surely a man that got a straight red card for verbally abusing a referee will get a longer suspension than a month?

i also see that it is alleged that Bradley grabbed the referee round the throat afterwards, now, tell me does anyone think this will all be swept under the carpet to ensure poor Paddy gets a chance to shine against Antrim in the Championship or will he get the suspension he deserves (some chance) ????
Title: Re: Paddy Bradley Suspended for Championship??
Post by: full back on April 17, 2007, 02:47:46 PM
PB might get off
This was just posted on the Derry section
"Can the referee be sure it was in fact PB who grabbed him? and is it possible that this report has been totally contrived"
:D :D
Fcuk, them boys are pricesless

Anyway Slim, as far as I am aware club suspensions dont carry into the intercounty.Cooper was also sent off at the weekend & I heard somewhere he can still play for the county
Post by: SlimShady on April 17, 2007, 02:48:59 PM
Quote from: full back on April 17, 2007, 02:47:46 PM
PB might get off
This was just posted on the Derry section
"Can the referee be sure it was in fact PB who grabbed him? and is it possible that this report has been totally contrived"
:D :D
Fcuk, them boys are pricesless

Anyway Slim, as far as I am aware club suspensions dont carry into the intercounty scene as far as I am aware.Cooper was also sent off at the weekend & I heard somewhere he can still play for the county

this is news to me, when was it changed?
Post by: derrymad on April 17, 2007, 02:53:32 PM
Slim I suggest you go home and get your house in order.  Stay on your own turf.  What do you think you will achieve by starting a thread as you did.  Keep it within the Derry thread.  Sure according to reports half your team is heading state side anyway.  Paddy B or no Paddy B, you boys are still pathetic............................
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 17, 2007, 02:57:18 PM
Yes I heard that the club red card Gooch got last weekend will not reflect in his intercounty season. There was some change made end of last year dont know what it was. Maybe its just a simple fact that Kerry will not play for at least a month leaving any club suspenion to be served in that time.

Maybe some rules guru can help out.
Post by: downredblack on April 17, 2007, 02:59:16 PM
Paddy B or no Paddy B, you boys are still pathetic............................

Oh Fcuk  :D
Post by: Man In Middle on April 17, 2007, 03:09:17 PM
Any suspension greater than a month at club level carries through to county level.

Post by: full back on April 17, 2007, 03:12:08 PM
If that is the case - anyone want to take a wild guess at PB's punishment by the Derry County Board ::)
Post by: aontroim abu on April 17, 2007, 03:12:30 PM
Category IV
Minor physical interference with (e.g. laying a hand on, pushing, pulling or jostling), threatening or abusive conduct towards, or threatening language to, a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Official.
Penalty:
(i) Minimum: 12 weeks Suspension in all Codes and at all Levels, (ii) Minimum on Repeat Infraction: 24 weeks Suspension in all Codes and at all Levels.
Category V
Any type of assault on a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Official
Penalty:
(i) Minimum: 48 weeks Suspension in all Codes and at all Levels, with offender's Team liable to Disqualification, where appropriate, (ii) Repeat Infraction within 96 weeks: 96 weeks suspension in all Codes and at all Levels, with offender's Team liable to Disqualification, where appropriate.
"Repeat Infraction" means a second or subsequent occurrence of any Misconduct at Games Infraction in the same Category within a 48-week period (or 96 week period in the case of a Category V Infraction). In relation to Categories I, II and III, only an Infraction committed in the same Code and at the same Level as the previous occurrence shall constitute a Repeat Infraction. In relation to Categories IV and V, a second occurrence shall constitute a Repeat Infraction irrespective of the Code or Level of the previous occurrence.
(c) Interference with the Control of Games - by Players, Officials, or Supporters:
(1) Premature Termination of a Game- By reason of Serious Disruption by Players, Officials or Supporters of a Team;
Penalty
Team - Forfeiture of the Game and Award to the Opposing Team (unless both Teams are responsible), save where there are exceptional mitigating factors involved.
Other Penalties - at the discretion of the Council or the Committee-in- Charge.
(2) Premature Termination of a Game - By reason of
(i) A Player(s) refusing to leave the Field when ordered off, or rejoining the Game having been ordered off.
(ii) A Team or Player(s) leaving the Field without the Referee's Permission or Refusing to continue Playing.
Penalties
Team and other Penalties - as in (1) above
Player(s) who caused Termination - 24 weeks suspension, in addition to any suspension for an Infraction committed in the Game.

Lets see what the Derry County Board are made of Wink
Post by: aontroim abu on April 17, 2007, 03:13:25 PM
by the way the last part here could also apply to Ardboe/ Dromore/ Tyrone
Post by: fer fox ache on April 17, 2007, 03:17:17 PM
Clutchin at straws here lads, PB or no PB we'll still stuff ye cos you're shite
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2007, 03:28:30 PM
QuoteIt would be a pity if it carried over to the inter-county teams. This is Derry's best chance in years to win Ulster. With Armagh

It would be a greater pity if the ref watered down his report on "advice" so as to ensure that the county board did not have to make a difficult decision.  If Bradley did what it is alleged he did he deserves his ban.  His is a yap and as sure as eggs are eggs he will head off and cry about it if he is suspended.
Post by: Will Hunting on April 17, 2007, 03:31:03 PM
Quote from: full back on April 17, 2007, 03:12:08 PM
If that is the case - anyone want to take a wild guess at PB's punishment by the Derry County Board ::)

Hopefully it's only a month. We need him for the Championship, so fingers crossed! :-)
Post by: SlimShady on April 17, 2007, 03:33:58 PM
just received this personal message from mr marrillius  :D

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 17, 2007, 03:29:50 PM
Hi Slim, take that thread off the board. We know it all a bit of craic, but is that not going just a tad to far

does anyone else think i should delete the thread? why so?

me thinks they were fairly simple and straightforward questions on my part and it wasnt me who alleged anything and was in fact Max on the Derry thread.
Post by: full back on April 17, 2007, 03:40:10 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on April 17, 2007, 03:31:03 PM
Hopefully it's only a month. We need him for the Championship, so fingers crossed! :-)

FFS, if he did manhandle the ref he cant get a month - pure & simple
Post by: PlayWithTheWind on April 17, 2007, 03:43:01 PM

derry for the back door?????
Post by: SlimShady on April 17, 2007, 03:43:49 PM
FAO Derry posters, just to point out that i had no idea Bradley was sent off and that i have said above only what Max has said on the Derry thread.

Dont go all ''you're still shite'' at me cos I posted a thread on the subject, blame 'The one they all fear'

Post by: Great Leap Forward on April 17, 2007, 03:47:33 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 17, 2007, 03:33:58 PM
just received this personal message from mr marrillius  :D

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 17, 2007, 03:29:50 PM
Hi Slim, take that thread off the board. We know it all a bit of craic, but is that not going just a tad to far

does anyone else think i should delete the thread? why so?

me thinks they were fairly simple and straightforward questions on my part and it wasnt me who alleged anything and was in fact Max on the Derry thread.

Slim, it sounds like Max doesn't want you blowing the lid on the inevitable cover-up.
Post by: Uladh on April 17, 2007, 03:50:19 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2007, 03:28:30 PM
It would be a greater pity if the ref watered down his report on "advice" so as to ensure that the county board did not have to make a difficult decision.  If Bradley did what it is alleged he did he deserves his ban.  His is a yap and as sure as eggs are eggs he will head off and cry about it if he is suspended.

Speaking from experience bc?
Post by: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 03:57:24 PM
Looks like the derry uns have no respect for former captains. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2007, 03:57:59 PM
Uladh I have always served my suspensions as warranted without appeal or gripe, and in one or two cases I had a strong case to make.  I missed out a few years ago on Ulster, semi, final and AI quarter final so I know what it is like to sit in the stands.  I have never been booked, never mind sent off for any altercation with a ref and if anything I try to prevent others doing that as much as possible.  If Bradley did as is alleged then he should serve the correct ban which on my reading of what has been posted is a minimum of 12 weeks from all competitive football.
Post by: Uladh on April 17, 2007, 04:05:00 PM

I was asking if you had experience of Bradley. i haven't heard of him being in trouble with referees before and presumed by your post that you'd experience to the contrary
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2007, 04:08:47 PM
Played a few games against him over the years and he whinged to the ref a good bit. 
Post by: derrymad on April 17, 2007, 04:13:49 PM
Well seen his games often over they years and not saying whinging is justified but when you are afforded little or no protection by the referee then what is he supposed to do, and no one can say he is not hard done by with referees.  Saturday was a perfect example, he definitely got a high challenge on him and ref blamed him for diving... something he never does and it was this which caused him to rant at the referee.

Broken Crossbar, you make yourself out to be a noble man, bradley would still toast you.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 17, 2007, 04:19:05 PM
Derry mad being a newbie on this board ye have no respect for the great BC1, he has more All Irelands than you and paddy together. Now you wondering :D
Post by: derrymad on April 17, 2007, 04:22:11 PM
Why would I have respect for him.....because he can post on an anonymous board.  Prob one of these people who berate Paddy when Derry get beat by a point and hail him if they win.

how would I have an all ireland when I dont play, I watch very carefully and know my stuff but.
Post by: Stalin on April 17, 2007, 04:31:12 PM
QuoteDerry mad being a newbie on this board ye have no respect for the great BC1, he has more All Irelands than you and paddy together. Now you wondering

you tryin to get in his knickers max?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2007, 04:32:00 PM
Derrymad, a lot of people on the board know who I am so I am not exactly anonymous.  Allegations have been made against Paddy Bradley and I have stated that if they are true then he should receive the correct suspension and the matter should not be hushed up.  I stated that he whinges on the football filed and I have made that assertion from my own observations on the same field as me.  I neither hail him nor care if he scores for Derry as I am not a Derry man.  I think he has bags of talent but bags of negative attitude and I would doubt I am alone in my beliefs.  

For what it is worth he probabaly would "toast" me, but he would need a damn wide toater to fit me in at this stage.  My 8 year old is running rings round me now ;D
Post by: derrymad on April 17, 2007, 04:36:55 PM
Notice you did not comment on the fact that he receives little or no protection from the referees within the county, especially ones on mini power trips.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2007, 04:43:07 PM
Thats an issue for the GAA and not for me to look at.  For what it is worth,he is not alone there and many others have dealt with things on the field in their own way.  If he verbally abused the ref and grabbed him by the neck as has been alleged then he deserves what he gets. 

I also think there is too much made of players not being "protected" by the refs.  I have heard this trotted out many times for the likes of the Gooch, Canavan et al.  I never played against the gooch but have played against Canavan and he was well able to "protect" himself.  If a player is seen as a soft touch defenders will exploit that.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 17, 2007, 05:32:36 PM
Quote from: PlayWithTheWind on April 17, 2007, 03:43:01 PM

derry for the back door?????
At least we'll be allowed to play in the back door this year should we trip up unexpectedly before the Ulster final - will ye??
Post by: SlimShady on April 18, 2007, 10:36:17 AM
so lads (and Daisy), has the Bellaghy referee submitted his report yet? does anyone on here want to place a bet with me that Bradley doesnt get more than the minimum suspension? for allegedly grabbing the ref after seeing red!

if i was ref his cocky ass would fry, good of the county or not.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 18, 2007, 10:45:08 AM
It appears from this report that the alleged assault on the referee, which would rule Bradley out of the Antrim game is not going to make it into the mainstream press.  No mention of it in todays Irish News. A potential cover-up is already beginning.  Shame the lengths these Derry boyos seem to be prepared to go to to ensure a victory over an Antrim team.

Muldoon and Bradley in the dock after straight reds 
Gaelic Games 
By Eamonn O'Hara 

• HOT WATER: Glenullin's Paddy Bradley and Ballinderry's Enda Muldoon (right) will miss the Two of Derry's star forwards, Enda Muldoon and Paddy Bradley, are in hot water with disciplinary chiefs after both were sent off for straight red card offences while playing club football.

Bradley is facing a minimum ban of four weeks for alleged abusive language towards a match referee during Saturday's ACFL Division One clash between Ulster League champions Glenullin and Loup.

Glenullin also had Dermot O'Kane sent off on a straight red card.

In an earlier game, Ballinderry ace Muldoon was given the line against Banagher for alleged striking.

The offences are Category II, and, under Rule 143(b) of the GAA's revised code of discipline, carry suspensions of at least one month. If this proves to be the case, any bans would apply only to club activities, not county.

But the Glenullin v Loup game also ended in uproar. After the final whistle, unsavoury scenes erupted as frustrations boiled over when match referee, Barry Cassidy of Bellaghy, declared the second round league match a draw.

Glenullin disputed the result because the scoreboard showed them to be ahead.

Rows broke out, and there were jostling incidents outside the dressing room area. It was some time allegedly before order was restored.

It is claimed the referee made a genuine error in tallying the teams scores.

An investigation by Derry's Competitions Control Committee (CCC) is ongoing. County officials and individuals from both clubs were contacted yesterday, but declined to comment ahead of the pending CCC hearing.

This is likely to be scheduled before the end of the week.

The referee's report will be central to the investigation and further disciplinary action taken by the CCC, especially over the other alleged incidents following the Glenullin-Loup game.

An allegation that one Loup player required hospital treatment was dismissed as nonsense by an official of his club.

It has been alleged that the referee was jostled and players and supporters were involved in ugly post-match incidents.

If any individual or individuals were to be reported for any offence of a more serious status than Category II, such as minor physical interference of a match official or threatening language or abusive conduct, then bans of 12 weeks and upwards, enforced beyond club level, could apply.

For Glenullin and Ballinderry, the immediate impact of having their star forwards
suspended for a minimum term of four weeks, and in Glenullin's case, two players banned, is that they will sit out the first round of Derry Senior Football Championship.

Ballinderry take on Ballinascreen on May 6 in the opening round robin series, while Glenullin face Lavey on May 7.

A new format for the competition softens the blow as the Derry SFC begins this season with four groups of four clubs playing a guaranteed three games each before the top two teams in each group progress to an open draw
knockout stage.

Minimum suspensions would leave all the players eligible for round two of the qualifiers.

For the GAA in Ulster, the last number of days have not been positive, with the report of incidents at Glenullin following the headline news of violence in Tyrone football last weekend, with fighting involving players and fans forcing a Division One match between Dromore and Ardboe to be abandoned.

Tyrone's CCC are expected to discuss matters arising from the club chaos this week

Would also be interesting if such an incident had happened to Bradley's father during his refereeing career, how he would have handled it.
Post by: SlimShady on April 18, 2007, 11:23:29 AM
Barry Cassidys report would make interesting reading.
Post by: SlimShady on April 18, 2007, 11:42:23 AM
cou-bump-gh!!

Post by: derrymad on April 18, 2007, 11:43:38 AM
Saffron Sam2 are you thick.  How is this report indicative of a cover up.  It says exactly what happened. Bradley and Muldoon got reds. There was a alleged jostle on the referee. What else do you want the paper to say.  The word alleged has to be used as part of peoper journalism because if the reporter did not see the incident and it has not yet been confirmed in the referee report, both the reporter and newspaper are left wide open for libel and slander.  A paper cannot just go around printing without hard facts.  I suggest you and slim shady go away and try to hide the passports of a few of your senior stars and you might even win a Tommy Murphy cup game if you do.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 18, 2007, 02:12:28 PM
Quote from: derrymad on April 18, 2007, 11:43:38 AM
Saffron Sam2 are you thick.  How is this report indicative of a cover up.  It says exactly what happened. Bradley and Muldoon got reds. There was a alleged jostle on the referee. What else do you want the paper to say.  The word alleged has to be used as part of peoper journalism because if the reporter did not see the incident and it has not yet been confirmed in the referee report, both the reporter and newspaper are left wide open for libel and slander.  A paper cannot just go around printing without hard facts.  I suggest you and slim shady go away and try to hide the passports of a few of your senior stars and you might even win a Tommy Murphy cup game if you do.

It would appear Derrymad from your post that it is, in fact, you, and not me, who is thick.  A few points:

1.  From those who were at the game and who posted on this thread and the Derry thread, it is obvious there was a 'jostle' on the referee.  In theory, the newspaper does not have to use the word alleged; it should be easy to find any number of witnesses to the incident in question.  The IN has used the word 'alleged' for one reason - that they are scared that a cover-up within Derry GAA will mean no witness is prepared to state in a court of law that the incident took place.

2. The referee's report will not be sufficient to prove in a court of law that he was or was not jostled.  Whilst it will be taken as gospel by the GAA, it does not mean that the IN can accept the veracity of the report.  Referees are as open to libel laws as newspapers.

3. I am not sure what peoper journalism is.  If you mean proper, why do you assume that Eamon O'Hara is capable of proper journalism, when he is only just capable of proper sentences.

4.  What is written in a newspaper and proved to be incorrect is libel, not slander.  Libel is written defamation, slander is spoken.

5.  I doubt that the Antrim boys on the planes will be the only ones heading to the states and whilst they may get there before most, you can rest assured that they will be joined by some of their opponents in Casement Park.  Maybe even Mr Bradley - hasn't he gone before.

Unfortuantely, it looks as if there is a concerted effort within certain circles to ensure that Paddy Bradley, regardless of whether or not he is guilty, will not miss a single Derry match.  If that is what people are prepared to do, then I'll take the Tommy Murphy Cup.
Post by: johnneycool on April 18, 2007, 02:31:22 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 18, 2007, 02:12:28 PM

Unfortuantely, it looks as if there is a concerted effort within certain circles to ensure that Paddy Bradley, regardless of whether or not he is guilty, will not miss a single Derry match.  If that is what people are prepared to do, then I'll take the Tommy Murphy Cup.

If the Derry county board do instigate a cover up to ensure that Bradley does play for Derry they'll not be the first county board to do that, Antrim included
Post by: Will Hunting on April 18, 2007, 03:16:58 PM
Didn't Kerry do the same thing with Dara O'Sé before the All-Ireland Final in 2002? Counties protect their star players - rightly or wrongly it happens.

Why are our Antrim posters so interested in this story. Do they not have a teams of their own to worry about... hurling teams or camogie teams or whatever it is they do in Antrim
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 03:23:20 PM
anyone who hits a referee should get a life ban from the gaa and anyone who tries to cover it up should get a 48 week ban too
if anyone from derry wants to know about cover ups just look at bloody sunday
Post by: Man In Middle on April 18, 2007, 03:31:23 PM
"if anyone from derry wants to know about cover ups just look at bloody sunday"

FFS did I miss something here or are you tring to draw a comparison between a scuffle in glenullin to bloody sunday?  :P

Post by: Man In Middle on April 18, 2007, 03:33:22 PM
"anyone who hits a referee should get a life ban from the gaa and anyone who tries to cover it up should get a 48 week ban too
if anyone from derry wants to know about cover ups just look at bloody sunday"

What sort of an idiot are you?  :P
Post by: Louper on April 18, 2007, 03:45:39 PM
Quote from: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 03:23:20 PM
anyone who hits a referee should get a life ban from the gaa and anyone who tries to cover it up should get a 48 week ban too
if anyone from derry wants to know about cover ups just look at bloody sunday

politicain in disguise? welcom to hearts and minds GAA style.
Post by: J70 on April 18, 2007, 03:58:55 PM
Brendan Devenney got six months for pushing Cavan ref Joe McQuillan after he was sent off against Fermanagh in 2004. If Bradley did the same, he should get the same punishment.
Post by: Man In Middle on April 18, 2007, 04:05:57 PM
Brendan Devenney got six months for pushing Cavan ref Joe McQuillan after he was sent off against Fermanagh in 2004. If Bradley did the same, he should get the same punishment

And IF only idiots like you would stop speculating and making judgements we could move on and talk about something new.

Where did it mention anywhere that PB pushed the ref??  ???
If my memory serves me correct BD shoved the ref in the chest. The supposed allegation against PB is that he grabbed ref aroung collar region. So he didn't do the same.
Post by: SlimShady on April 18, 2007, 04:09:49 PM
so he didnt push him then? he grabbed round the throat? well, thats what you said.

FAO Max, this imbecile has been Personal Messaging me asking your identity. it seems you have ruffled his feathers!!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 18, 2007, 04:14:53 PM
Ah Slim...thank God for the discussion board whilst working...I am sitting here pissing myself laughing...some criac :D :D :D
Post by: Man In Middle on April 18, 2007, 04:15:20 PM
Oh my oh my...slim the big tout  :D

Well you know that I obviously no ur identity for certain Slimmy....which 2 b honest doesn;t really mean ny ting to me...
but nevertheless it's known....so for now i'm happy to assume stompy is Max  ;D

As for you Slim....clear back off to toome and concentrate on beating Mickey Moran's Minnows  :D  :D
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 18, 2007, 04:17:44 PM
No way...No way...a man from Toome a tout...no way...no way :D :D :D
Post by: J70 on April 18, 2007, 04:18:27 PM
Quote from: Man In Middle on April 18, 2007, 04:05:57 PM
Brendan Devenney got six months for pushing Cavan ref Joe McQuillan after he was sent off against Fermanagh in 2004. If Bradley did the same, he should get the same punishment

And IF only idiots like you would stop speculating and making judgements we could move on and talk about something new.

Where did it mention anywhere that PB pushed the ref??  ???
If my memory serves me correct BD shoved the ref in the chest. The supposed allegation against PB is that he grabbed ref aroung collar region. So he didn't do the same.

Where's the judgement? I said "IF"!

Devenney pushed the ref, fairly gently, around the midriff. Grabbing someone "around the collar region" is, if anything, worse. Regardless, it is still handling the ref in an intimidating manner, so, its pretty much the same thing.
Post by: realredhandfan on April 18, 2007, 04:20:04 PM
So lets make it clear
some say that he didnt strake
but that he did grab him roun the neckal
Which is it Derry lads: a strake or roun the neckal?
Post by: SlimShady on April 18, 2007, 04:21:40 PM
Quote from: Man In Middle on April 18, 2007, 04:15:20 PM
Oh my oh my...slim the big tout  :D

Well you know that I obviously no ur identity for certain Slimmy....which 2 b honest doesn;t really mean ny ting to me...
but nevertheless it's known....so for now i'm happy to assume stompy is Max  ;D

As for you Slim....clear back off to toome and concentrate on beating Mickey Moran's Minnows  :D  :D

Sherlock Holmes, welcome to the board! my identity has been outed on here a long time ago kid.

if he strakes he has tay go.

if he put his grubby mits on the ref he deserves a 6 monther!!
Post by: realredhandfan on April 18, 2007, 04:22:44 PM
and what for roun the neckal - is that an offence?
Post by: saffronman on April 18, 2007, 04:24:47 PM
if he grab thon ref roon the neck he haes tae get 6months.full stap!
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 19, 2007, 08:08:43 AM
Doesn't the Derry county baord have some previous form in regard to attempted cover-ups / circumvention of the rules regarding suspensions?  I seem to remember an incident involving big Geoffrey? 
Post by: johnneycool on April 19, 2007, 08:36:22 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 19, 2007, 08:08:43 AM
Doesn't the Derry county baord have some previous form in regard to attempted cover-ups / circumvention of the rules regarding suspensions?  I seem to remember an incident involving big Geoffrey? 

Oliver Kelly taught them all they know.
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 01:39:42 PM
why is there even a debate about this? Bradley got a straight red and now has to pay the price.
Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 01:43:25 PM
Quote from: loupy on April 19, 2007, 01:39:42 PM
why is there even a debate about this? Bradley got a straight red and now has to pay the price.

Oh Jaysus, lets spell this out
What price will he pay? ::)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 19, 2007, 01:46:09 PM
Quotewhy is there even a debate about this? Bradley got a straight red and now has to pay the price.

I see this Newbie isn't the brightess. He comes on a discussion board to tell us its not for debate ??? ???

Thats some first post :D
Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 01:49:50 PM

Never seen a name that suited someone so much in my life :D :D
f**king hell
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 19, 2007, 01:51:52 PM
 :D :D :D
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 02:01:31 PM
Max and full back wouldn't happen to be holdin hands in the same room by any chance??? :'(

Sometihing tells me both weren't even there yet your fit to "debate" wat happened...
Post by: SlimShady on April 19, 2007, 02:03:00 PM
max was referee loupy.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 19, 2007, 02:04:40 PM
QuoteSometihing tells me both weren't even there

How do know that LOUPY :D :D :D
Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 02:06:19 PM
Quote from: loupy on April 19, 2007, 02:01:31 PM
Sometihing tells me both weren't even there yet your fit to "debate" wat happened...

Me thinks you should be back in class now - lunchtime is over (psst its 2.06pm)
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 02:08:00 PM
How do i know your holding hands??? ;D ;D
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 02:32:32 PM
....good comeback.  :D :D :D
Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 02:53:14 PM
C'mon Loopy,
You had your fun, now feck off back to class before we tell the teacher
Call again soon
Post by: Derry Daisy on April 19, 2007, 02:55:59 PM
Mr Barry Cassidy was spotted in Kilrea of all places, last night posting a letter.  He left the car running (for a quick getaway) and kept looking round him as if someone was going to pop up behind him.  Wonder what he was posting  :P if it was his report it wont make the meeting tonight  :o
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 19, 2007, 03:00:07 PM
Daisy, ur beginning to worry me... a very scary individual you are turning out to be...your the one we all fear :D :D ;)
Post by: Derry Daisy on April 19, 2007, 03:03:38 PM
Oh maxy I could never take that title from bellaghy :D but the thought was nice  :-*  ;D
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 03:05:33 PM
Thats twice you've used that one Full Back.  Have another go sure, 3rd time should do it, I believe in you :D :D

Teacher. Teacher.  :D :D :D
Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 03:09:12 PM
I think you should click you heels together a few times
Imagine having a debate on a discusision board Loopy ::)
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 03:14:23 PM
Now your using that one again!  ::)  Take a time out and settle yourself then have another go.

Remember, classroom and debate have been used. :D :D

Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 03:27:45 PM

Enough said
Complete fcukwit
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 19, 2007, 03:34:21 PM
 :D :D :D
Post by: loupy on April 19, 2007, 05:07:29 PM
Thats twice you've spelt f**k wrong.... boooo.  :D :D :D
Post by: Stalin on April 19, 2007, 06:21:53 PM
QuoteMr Barry Cassidy was spotted in Kilrea of all places

jesus thats a shocker, with his woman being from there. jesus, he works there too!

any post boxes in outback slaughtneil daisy?
Post by: ONeill on April 20, 2007, 12:28:21 PM
Football songs on non-gaa got me thinking:

To the tune of If Tomorrow Never Comes

Sometimes late at night
I lay awake and watch my videos
Those points against Longford and my 1-9 against the Farney lads
And the thought crosses my mind
What's the point in raking massive scores
Sean Marty won one and he wouldn't know where the posts are

If an All-Star never comes
Will I be no better than Paddy McKeever
Will I not go to the States
or the Oz and see the Golden Gates
And play with Conor Mortimer

In the club games I get stick
Even the refs are all against me
I swear I'll do one some day
I'll make the bastards pay
If an All-Star never comes.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 20, 2007, 12:46:49 PM
O'Neill it is good to see you bringing some levity back to the board!   Maith thu!
Post by: Hardy on April 20, 2007, 12:57:52 PM
I agree. And I think you needed it BC - you seemed a bit depressed yesterday.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 20, 2007, 01:04:35 PM
As you know from experience Hardy, I am prone to the odd outburst of complete insane ranting every so often!  I have been controlling it but as my stress levels increase, my temper gets shorter.
Post by: Hardy on April 20, 2007, 03:08:57 PM
You and me both. Let it rip, I say - it's not good to bottle it up.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 20, 2007, 03:33:42 PM
I hear he got 3 months, true?
Post by: Bogball XV on April 20, 2007, 03:43:59 PM
nobody actually knows yet, although, sources close to Max are saying it.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 20, 2007, 03:46:19 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 20, 2007, 03:43:59 PM
nobody actually knows yet, although, sources close to Max are saying it.

Its on Hogan Stand that he got 3 months.....
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 20, 2007, 03:48:49 PM
Sawel actually got it up first on the Derry thread Bogball XV
Post by: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 03:49:05 PM
Never worry about it lads, he'll be back for the first round of the qualifiers....

mmwwuuuuahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 20, 2007, 03:49:48 PM
Slim wins.......???
Post by: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 03:50:37 PM
no Syd, justice wins.

Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 20, 2007, 03:51:37 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 03:50:37 PM
no Syd, justice wins.
I am an Antrim man too so slap it up the cnut.......
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 20, 2007, 03:52:50 PM
Expect the appeal now. 
Post by: Bensars on April 20, 2007, 03:54:12 PM
Sing it Loud lads, as PB heads for the states

All my bags are packed
Im ready to go
Im standin here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin
Its early morn
The taxis waitin
Hes blowin his horn
Already Im so lonesome
I could die

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that youll wait for me
Hold me like youll never let me go
cause Im leavin on a jet plane
Dont know when Ill be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Theres so many times Ive let you down
So many times Ive played around
I tell you now, they dont mean a thing
Evry place I go, Ill think of you
Evry song I sing, Ill sing for you
When I come back, Ill bring your wedding ring

So kiss me and smile for me
Oh babe, I hate to go

Now the time has come to leave you
One more time
Let me kiss you
Then close your eyes
Ill be on my way
Dream about the days to come
When I wont have to leave alone
About the times, I wont have to say

Oh, kiss me and smile for me
Oh babe, I hate to go

But, Im leavin on a jet plane
Oh babe, I hate to go
Post by: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 03:55:16 PM
i cant see any room for appeal, what is his arguement? will he try to say he didnt man handle the ref? its his word agains the Refs. he has 3 days to appeal i think.

I'm leavin, on a jetplane, don't know if i'll be back again
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 20, 2007, 04:00:10 PM
Slim...just wondering your position on this......Cargin were stripped of their county title and prevented from playing the Ulster club championship in 2000 after a serious assults by various people in that now infamous final...a real disgrace to our games infact  (I know ur CB awarded ye the title 2 yrs ago in the interest of harmony for the county team).

Did justice pervail? ;)
Post by: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 04:02:23 PM
did justice prevail? of course it did moron! they reinstated OUR Championship.

Do you not understand what you write?!

Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 20, 2007, 04:05:57 PM
I knew ye would answer like that...come on ....answer the question.... ;)
Post by: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 04:08:48 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 20, 2007, 04:00:10 PM
Slim...just wondering your position on this......Cargin were stripped of their county title and prevented from playing the Ulster club championship in 2000 after a serious assults by various people in that now infamous final...a real disgrace to our games infact  (I know ur CB awarded ye the title 2 yrs ago in the interest of harmony for the county team).

Did justice pervail? ;)

yes.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 20, 2007, 04:12:35 PM
Good man slim...straight down the middle
Post by: Bogball XV on April 20, 2007, 04:34:48 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 03:55:16 PM
i cant see any room for appeal, what is his arguement? will he try to say he didnt man handle the ref? its his word agains the Refs. he has 3 days to appeal i think.

I'm leavin, on a jetplane, don't know if i'll be back again
One would think that would be the basis of his appeal alright, he'll get 2 months max - after all the ref was evidently a little confused after the game, how else wouldhe have gotten the score wrong?
Post by: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 04:38:38 PM
how else would he have got the score wrong? he was having trouble writing with Paddy Bradleys hands round his throat!!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 20, 2007, 06:18:12 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on April 20, 2007, 04:38:38 PM
how else would he have got the score wrong? he was having trouble writing with Paddy Bradleys hands round his throat!!

Post by: TORGAEL on May 02, 2007, 03:16:02 PM
FROM BBC WEBSITE

Derry star Paddy Bradley is set to miss the Ulster SFC game against Antrim on 3 June after his appeal against a 12-week ban was rejected on Monday night.
The Oak Leaf forward was handed the suspension for alleged 'minor physical interference' with a referee while playing for Glenullin against Loup.

The Derry Board Hearing Committee's decision will also rule Bradley out of a potential semi-final on 24 June.

The player is expected to make a further appeal to the Ulster Council.

Bradley's suspension will run until midnight on Friday 6 July
Post by: Rma13 on May 02, 2007, 03:56:02 PM
Don't forget if Paddy's suspension is upheld & he does decide to go to the States he will have to ask his girlfriend's "permission" first, just as he did when he was invited to go on the All Stars tour last year!!
Post by: Bogball XV on May 02, 2007, 04:00:19 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on May 02, 2007, 03:56:02 PM
Don't forget if Paddy's suspension is upheld & he does decide to go to the States he will have to ask his girlfriend's "permission" first, just as he did when he was invited to go on the All Stars tour last year!!
Is that supposed to be an insult - just because the lad has the decency to take the wishes of those nearest and dearest to him into account??
Post by: Rma13 on May 02, 2007, 04:06:15 PM
No, not an insult, but I would have thought he could have made a decision about wanting to go without having to ask someone else first, remember he didn't actually win an All Star so it was already a privilege for him to be invited!  What if she'd actually said "no", would he not have gone?
Post by: Springfield on May 02, 2007, 05:07:29 PM
I enjoy you RMA, bringing a mans personal life onto a discussion board.
I would be very intrigued to know where you got the information at however, cause from knowing the man personally, i must say I dont think iv ever heard as much shite. ::)
Post by: Bogball XV on May 02, 2007, 05:08:03 PM
is that not exactly the point, a trip comes up at the last minute, it's as a replacement allstar - is it really an honour that you should prostrate yourself on the ground for? Yeah, nice to be asked, but, hardly a big deal.
Post by: Rma13 on May 03, 2007, 08:24:42 AM
Actually Springfield it was in the Irish News at the time of the All stars tour.  By the way as to mentioning PB'S personal life, I'm sure it doesn't come as a shock to many that he has a girlfriend!, hardly earth shattering news or something that PB would be overly concerned about being known!

Bogball, I think in light of past events concerning the All stars, PB would have seen it as a big deal & as for prostrating yourself on the ground, what??
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 03, 2007, 08:55:55 AM
Quote from: Rma13 on May 03, 2007, 08:24:42 AM
Bogball, I think in light of past events concerning the All stars, PB would have seen it as a big deal & as for prostrating yourself on the ground, what??
that would be your perspective on this matter

none of us exactly know how Paddy himself felt about it, but as he didnt go, then that would indicate a bit

if it was me who was asked to go as a 'next best' player to the all stars game, then having felt a little peeved that I didnt get on it when felt that I should have - then It could be a bit like adding insult to injury...

also with work, personal life commitments, maybe he just couldnt go anyhow. When its unplanned like that you may not be able to go anyhow.

its nice to be asked on such a 'holiday' but when only as an 'afterthought' then you would feel cheap and used like a 20 dollar whore ...while that might be ok for a lot of other folk in other counties - Derry folk have more pride in themselves than that  ;)
Post by: Rma13 on May 03, 2007, 09:18:54 AM
I'm almost certain that PB did go on this trip, as I seem to remember reading that he was one of the top, if not the top scorer for his particular team!
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 03, 2007, 09:20:23 AM
Quote from: Rma13 on May 03, 2007, 09:18:54 AM
I'm almost certain that PB did go on this trip, as I seem to remember reading that he was one of the top, if not the top scorer for his particular team!
didnt he refuse to go on a prev one ?
You could be right though
not that up on the all star games (to my shame)

if it was me I'd have refused. But paddy isnt as thick/ignorant as that !
Post by: derrymad on May 03, 2007, 09:33:30 AM
Paddy went on the trip to Dubai in January there and won the MVP (most valuable player) award, scoring 2-6 in the match and rubbing it in all the faces of those who ever doubted him.  Aye mean, ... Conor Mortimor there as an all star, completely absurd compared to Paddy.

He also managed to cause a bit of a rocus between certain Tyrone players.  One in particular in the full forward line where Paddy was running the show and stealing his thunder had a fall out with a blonde bomb shell in the half forward line for not passing him enough ball!!
Post by: loughshore lad on May 03, 2007, 09:48:49 AM
Quote from: derrymad on May 03, 2007, 09:33:30 AM
Paddy went on the trip to Dubai in January there and won the MVP (most valuable player) award, scoring 2-6 in the match and rubbing it in all the faces of those who ever doubted him.  Aye mean, ... Conor Mortimor there as an all star, completely absurd compared to Paddy.

He also managed to cause a bit of a rocus between certain Tyrone players.  One in particular in the full forward line where Paddy was running the show and stealing his thunder had a fall out with a blonde bomb shell in the half forward line for not passing him enough ball!!

I have to laugh at posts like this. Big deal he scored 2-6 in a glorified friendly game that doesnt make him a great player. When he consistently delivers on the big stage against quality opposition then he will be a great player. The term "great player" is used too freely in my opinion, Bradley is not in the same league as the likes of Canavan or Linden. He is not a team player it is all me, me, me with him he doesnt make the hard sacrificing runs where he knows he wont get the ball but will take opposing players out of the game. If he spent more time concentrating on aspects of the game like this than crying about not getting an all star then he might just get one some day.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 03, 2007, 09:53:05 AM
I agree in Tyrone we shout at each other In Derry they would sulk/walk out/ bitch until the manager would resign or be sacked. 
Post by: Will Hunting on May 03, 2007, 09:54:44 AM
I think it's fair to say that currently, Paddy Bradley is the best forward in Ireland.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 03, 2007, 09:57:49 AM
or even that hes the best suspended forward in Ireland.  Its all relative until Derry win something.  Canavan in 95 singlehandedly dragged tyrone to an aif.  how far behind is paddy. 
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2007, 10:10:18 AM
Quote from: Will Hunting on May 03, 2007, 09:54:44 AM
I think it's fair to say that currently, Paddy Bradley is the best forward in Ireland.

That was twenty minutes ago. Right now, it's Brian Farrell.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 03, 2007, 10:15:43 AM
Whenever PB scores a bagful against Armagh, Tyrone, Kerry, Mayo....or even Donegal or Dublin, then and only then will he fall into the category that makes him the best....then he has to it against that oppostion consistantly....oh and I forgot to mention....it has to be in the championship
Post by: derrymad on May 03, 2007, 10:20:55 AM
Paddy has the best scoring average in the Championship since 2001 per games played.  He got the best scoring average in the years 2004, 2005 and was second in 2006.  So dont say he does not consistently deliver un lesss you have facts.  And as regards team player, if you watch his movement off the ball then you will realise he is a team player.  It is not his fault he has not had the same class around him as players from Tyrone, Armagh or Kerry have.

Put simply, if Steve O'Neill or Colm Cooper played for Derry would they have racked up the same scores Paddy has in them few years?
Maybe I am wrong but I would doubt they would.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 03, 2007, 10:24:07 AM
Its an interesting debate.  Id love to know how much Stevie Mc Donnell Has scored against Tyrone or Kerry in championship games circa 2002 - 2007.  is he up there as well?  
Deerrymad theres idiots including 2 06 in a Dubai piss up match.  ffs criteria is all too important.  Yes its nice when someone from the lesser counties makes a name for themselves scoring at will against Carlow but when they sr=tart complaining about a lack of recognition its sinmply because they werent exactly marking all star backs.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 03, 2007, 10:26:13 AM
I'll repeat what I said a few minutes ago...show me when he put up the big scores against the teams that really matter. Now I realise that Derry have not afforded him that opportunity, but that is where greatness is sowen unto the shirt
Post by: loughshore lad on May 03, 2007, 10:30:30 AM
Quote from: derrymad on May 03, 2007, 10:20:55 AM

Put simply, if Steve O'Neill or Colm Cooper played for Derry would they have racked up the same scores Paddy has in them few years?
Maybe I am wrong but I would doubt they would.

Put simply both Stevie and the Gooch have done it on the big stage in big game scenarios. For example O'Neill gave a master class in an ulster final in 2005 against Armagh, the Gooch was sublime in the 2005 all ireland final.
Post by: Will Hunting on May 03, 2007, 10:43:05 AM
I agree with what yous are saying about doing it consistently on the big stage, but Bradley carries the most potent threat of any forward in Ireland. Similar to what McDonnell was doing 4-5 years ago. O'Neill has gone back over the past couple of years, and doesn't hold as much attacking quality as Bradley. Mortimer is up there as he always seems to produce the goods, even if he does need to be in front of goals - but he has a great scoring record. Cooper is probably the most naturally gifted forward in that once he gets the ball in his hands (in scoring range) he'll almost always do the right thing with it.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 03, 2007, 11:21:58 AM
agree with that. this championship year the title of best forward is entirely up for grabs - last year a goalscorer(as opposed to pointscorer) got player of the year for the first time since 2003.  I always had more respect for point scorers than goal scorers in Gaelic football - I dont really know why either, but when Cosgrove was hammering in goals in 2002 and similarly O Donnell in 2003 I suspected that they wouldnt be able to make the difference in a tight game when points rather than goals mattered most ie the semifinal 02 and the final 03.  An effective Mortimer style figure (the Mark Harte of Mayo)  could yet be the most influential footballer this year.  As for the much predicted Tyrone V Derry Ulster final this year, it could well be the game that Bradley comes back into, roaring like a lion and makes a fantastic contribution to.  That Game is another matter but I fully believe its in the stars.  As for the result where Tyrone to lose it could finish them as a current force in the game,  if Derry where to win, it will bolster a bid for a second elusive all Ireland title and as a sideshow with Bradley finally getting an allstar and his brother getting a bib.
Post by: Will Hunting on May 03, 2007, 11:46:32 AM
Tyrone v Derry Ulster Finals are rare things. Even when it looks certain that the teams will meet, it just doesn't happen. I think they have only ever met once in an Ulster Final - 1956, so I wouldn't be putting money on it happening this year - but, you never know!
Post by: realredhandfan on May 03, 2007, 12:00:19 PM
The 1995 ulster semi final defeat by Tyrone signalled the end of that Derry top 4 era of dominance.  the 1997 semi final defeat finished that top 4 era of Tyrone dominance.  Without being the profit of doom could 2007 and an ulster final defeat to Derry change the current top 4 era of Tyrone ?
Post by: Uladh on May 09, 2007, 12:00:34 PM

Any word on last night's appeal?
Post by: screenmachine on May 09, 2007, 12:08:49 PM
its put off till thursday nite now accordin to the boys in the derry thread...rumour has it that hes gonna get off due to a technicality...plus he also has had sexual contact with several members of the ulster council... ;)
Post by: tyroneman on May 09, 2007, 01:41:53 PM
QuoteBradley carries the most potent threat of any forward in Ireland

Based on what exactly?

To me a forward threat is much more than the ability to take a score......

Gooch and SON can operate anywhere across the half or full forward line. They can supply, create AND score - Bradley can only take scores.

If either of the former 2 forget thier shooting boots they can still affect a match by bringing other players into the action - Bradley only plays for himself

If you base it purely on scoring ability I would say Declan Browne is far superior to Bradley and if he had've been in the Derry team he would have outstripped PB and lifted numerous all-stars.

That's not to say PB is a bad player - far from it (ans that's tough to admit from a Tyrone fella) but he simply doesnlt carry the threat that others do in any respect

Post by: Hardy on May 11, 2007, 11:09:28 AM
Bardley's appeal has been denied. 12-week suspension stands, according to RTÉ radio just now.
Post by: gander on May 11, 2007, 11:30:00 AM
just confirmed on Hoganstand:

Derry's Ulster SFC hopes have suffered a major blow with the news that star attacker Paddy Bradley's appeal to the Ulster Council against his three-month suspension has failed.

Bradley's second appeal against the ban was heard by the Ulster Council's Hearings Committee on Thursday night and despite the Glenullin man's presence at the hearing, the provincial body ruled that the ban would remain. He had previously made an unsuccessful appeal to his own county board against the ban which was imposed on him following an alleged altercation with a referee at the end of a club game between Glenullin and Loup last month.

Bradley had continued training with the Derry squad in the hope that the suspension would be lifted, but he's now resigned to missing the Ulster SFC opener against Antrim on June 3 and a potential Ulster semi-final against Down, Cavan or Monaghan on June 24. He would, however, be eligible for both the first and second round All-Ireland qualifiers on July 7 and 14.
Post by: Will Hunting on May 11, 2007, 11:53:29 AM
I wonder if Bradley was a Tyrone player would he have got off?  >:(
Post by: full back on May 11, 2007, 12:02:47 PM
Quote from: Will Hunting on May 11, 2007, 11:53:29 AM
I wonder if Bradley was a Tyrone player would he have got off?  >:(

He probably would have
Big Fergal would have pulled a few wires, sorry strings, and got him off l
Post by: ONeill on May 11, 2007, 12:08:34 PM
Will this affect his All-Star?
Post by: screenmachine on May 11, 2007, 12:24:17 PM
what all-star? he'll never win one after his crying about not gettin one before...
Post by: Will Hunting on May 11, 2007, 12:28:48 PM
If he really wants an allstar, there's always some fool willing to sell theirs on ebay!
Post by: Fuzzman on May 11, 2007, 01:23:40 PM
Yeah if he had Mickey Harte by his side he would have got off I reckon as the Ulster council are scared of Tyrone's red hand brigade

Apparently Mickey has asked the Ulster council to allow Cavlan to take his dogs into the pitch but Mugsy might take advantage as he did in Croker wan time picking up a dog

Post by: charlie stubbs on May 11, 2007, 01:42:49 PM
agree with you fuzzman the biasism towards tyrone is a complete joke
Post by: thebandit on May 11, 2007, 04:28:02 PM
Suspension has been upheld...
Post by: oakleaf stateside on May 12, 2007, 06:57:23 PM
Quote from: hippity hoppity wide on May 11, 2007, 10:12:22 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on May 09, 2007, 01:41:53 PM
QuoteBradley carries the most potent threat of any forward in Ireland

Based on what exactly?

To me a forward threat is much more than the ability to take a score......

Gooch and SON can operate anywhere across the half or full forward line. They can supply, create AND score - Bradley can only take scores.

If either of the former 2 forget thier shooting boots they can still affect a match by bringing other players into the action - Bradley only plays for himself

If you base it purely on scoring ability I would say Declan Browne is far superior to Bradley and if he had've been in the Derry team he would have outstripped PB and lifted numerous all-stars.

That's not to say PB is a bad player - far from it (ans that's tough to admit from a Tyrone fella) but he simply doesnlt carry the threat that others do in any respect

Bang on the mark. When pb gets her you know hes gonna shoot. The top defenders can keep pace and really just have to watch his left foot. He has very little variation to his game and I actually think other derry forwards will benefit in his absence. Tyrone couldn't win the all ireland with even canavan on his own in 95 and derry won't do anything until they have a bit of variety in attack.
Also,on Browne, what a player. The best from the weaker counties bar none i'd say.

what kind of shit r u talking no one in ireland could mark that man ricey a few year ago alrite but not now