Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Agent Orange on August 20, 2014, 11:20:09 AM

Title: 'Punch a Jew' GAA star in criminal investigation
Post by: Agent Orange on August 20, 2014, 11:20:09 AM
A GAA star is facing a criminal investigation after sending a Tweet urging people to "punch a Jew".

Former Tyrone player Tommy McGuigan has apologised for the Tweet, but the PSNI has confirmed it is investigating the comment as a potential hate crime.

The All-Ireland winner had tweeted: "If you are lucky enough to know or work with a Jew, punch him right on the nose tomorrow."

He has since deleted the Tweet, claiming it was written as a joke and was meant as "nothing serious". The comment was originally posted on July 29 at the height of the Israeli offensive on Gaza.

It was picked up and denounced by Israeli media, with some outlets confusing Gaelic football with soccer. One denounced the Ardboe clubman under the headline: 'Soccer star urges fans to punch Jews'.

Threats

McGuigan said he received threats afterwards.

"I apologise for any offence caused," said the 29-year-old. He said he had been watching news coverage of the death and destruction in Gaza when he sent the Tweet.

"It was meant as a joke. You're sitting watching the news and you're thinking this is not right. I am not in the public eye and it was just a joke to the people I hang around with."

However, the footballer said he accepted that he had caused offence and would take more care in future. McGuigan has faced the wrath of the Jewish media. He said one London-based Jewish columnist requested to speak with him in order to confront him over his comment. "I said it was meant as a joke, nothing serious. He agreed to let it go," he said.

However, the PSNI is now investigating the Tweet.
Title: Re: 'Punch a Jew' GAA star in criminal investigation
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2014, 11:34:24 AM
Typical Evertonian (https://twitter.com/tjmcguigan83).

Only joking!
Post by: armaghniac on August 20, 2014, 11:38:26 AM
Do some people lose the plot completely on Twitter? This isn't even remotely funny and was always bound to come to light.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 11:39:17 AM
I think some lads think that only their friends see it. Twitter and Facebook are dangerous that way. You have to assume that everyone will see everything you say, and work from there.
Post by: God14 on August 20, 2014, 11:43:40 AM
Tommys account was private though, so only people he approved should have been able to see it
Post by: AQMP on August 20, 2014, 11:48:16 AM
Quote from: God14 on August 20, 2014, 11:43:40 AM
Tommys account was private though, so only people he approved should have been able to see it

Does he approve of the PSNI?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 11:49:43 AM

True, but he has over 1000 followers according to that link Deiseach put up, so he's probably not that vigilant.
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2014, 11:52:23 AM
I'd say the privacy thing is a recent development.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 20, 2014, 11:52:38 AM

Only use Twitter to read tweets, rather than post myself so I'm not sure, but what about when someone retweets or responds, quoting his initial posts - their followers would then be able to see etc
Post by: armaghniac on August 20, 2014, 11:56:22 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on August 20, 2014, 11:52:38 AM

Only use Twitter to read tweets, rather than post myself so I'm not sure, but what about when someone retweets or responds, quoting his initial posts - their followers would then be able to see etc

Exactly. Some of the followers retweeted it to someone else, meaning that there are several people without judgement. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 12:00:48 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 20, 2014, 11:52:23 AM
I'd say the privacy thing is a recent development.

That did cross my mind alright. He might want to do a cleanup as well.
Post by: God14 on August 20, 2014, 12:05:30 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 20, 2014, 11:56:22 AM

Exactly. Some of the followers retweeted it to someone else, meaning that there are several people without judgement.

His account was private at the time. His followers wouldn't have been able to retweet a message that was private, but screenshots of said message eventually made way into public domain.
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2014, 12:05:45 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 20, 2014, 11:56:22 AM

Or several people who approve of the sentiment.
Post by: Kidder81 on August 20, 2014, 12:06:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 11:49:43 AM

True, but he has over 1000 followers according to that link Deiseach put up, so he's probably not that vigilant.

Aye made private after he knew he was in the shit.
Post by: God14 on August 20, 2014, 12:14:11 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on August 20, 2014, 12:06:06 PM

It was definitely private at time he posted. 100%.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 20, 2014, 12:18:15 PM
Quote from: God14 on August 20, 2014, 12:14:11 PM

Either way, and we are getting away from the point, he's a twat for doing that
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:22:29 PM
Tommy McGuigan has a right to defend himself.
Post by: haranguerer on August 20, 2014, 12:24:24 PM
By happy coincidence, today is 'kick a ginger' day. Many people are advocating it, on twitter and elsewhere.

I'm interested to see what logic you all use for differentiating, given that there must be a difference. There certainly is in the criminal investigation rate.
Post by: God14 on August 20, 2014, 12:25:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 20, 2014, 12:18:15 PM
Quote from: God14 on August 20, 2014, 12:14:11 PM

Either way, and we are getting away from the point, he's a t**t for doing that

Maybe, however if he wasn't a retired amateur county footballer would we be talking about it?
Post by: CD on August 20, 2014, 12:27:14 PM
At least he had the nerve to stand up and take the flack about it rather than the usual, 'My account was hacked.' that we get as an excuse from every other tool who says something they regret.

Only 29?? Why isn't he still on the Tyrone panel?
Post by: mouview on August 20, 2014, 12:28:45 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 20, 2014, 12:24:24 PM
By happy coincidence, today is 'kick a ginger' day. Many people are advocating it, on twitter and elsewhere.

I'm interested to see what logic you all use for differentiating, given that there must be a difference. There certainly is in the criminal investigation rate.

When does "kick a k***ker "day come?
Post by: johnneycool on August 20, 2014, 12:30:04 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 20, 2014, 12:24:24 PM

Considering the amount of bile put up on certain Fleg protestors web sites, twitter feeds and facebook the PSNI should be very busy with all these prosecutions..

Not condoning McGuigans actions as he's a numpty for putting up such moronic stuff, but he's in good company on social media.
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:50:15 PM
Hearing now that McGuigan wrote "But they ALL have lovely bottoms" on his Twitter page during the Rose of Tralee last night.
Post by: BennyCake on August 20, 2014, 12:51:09 PM
I guarantee there are (and has been) worse on twitter and Bookface by bigots during the marching season. I even recall a woman on Stevie Nolan saying she hated all catholics. Try saying that about the Jews and see how you get on. But with Catholics, sure it's harmless fun.
Post by: BennyCake on August 20, 2014, 12:53:02 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:50:15 PM
Hearing now that McGuigan wrote "But they ALL have lovely bottoms" on his Twitter page during the Rose of Tralee last night.

Sure they did  ;D I'd  say there was thousands of the same messages about that.
Post by: haranguerer on August 20, 2014, 01:08:17 PM
I have to say I find it a little sinister how a badly judged tweet from someone of no consequence on this issue, makes national Israeli news, and is so strongly pursued. Its like sending in an airstrike in response to someone throwing a firework
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 01:09:30 PM
Jaysus, I hope they don't find this site! Missiles will rain down on Galway and Tyrone in no time flat!
Post by: J70 on August 20, 2014, 01:12:21 PM
Joke my arse. Idiotic to even think that, never mind publish the thought.

Think I'll go out and punch the first Bangladeshi taxi driver I see here in NYC. Because of ISIS. After all, they're muslim and he most likely is too.   :o
Post by: orangeman on August 20, 2014, 01:15:02 PM
How has Willie Frazer got off so long given his record ?.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 20, 2014, 01:15:25 PM
Person says something stupid on Twitter shocker!
Post by: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 01:15:42 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 20, 2014, 01:08:17 PM
I have to say I find it a little sinister how a badly judged tweet from someone of no consequence on this issue, makes national Israeli news, and is so strongly pursued. Its like sending in an airstrike in response to someone throwing a firework
The Israelis make a point of "proving" time and again that the world is anti-Semitic and everyone hates them which is why Jews should all move there to be safe.

There is a whole industry built around it
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liJ2v19o46A
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 01:22:38 PM
Why aren't the pro-Israel posters asking "what about the anti-traveller tweets, anti-gay tweets, anti-black tweets, anti-women tweets, anti-Catholic tweets, anti-Protestant tweets, anti-Muslim tweets, anti-Jehovah's Witnesses tweets, anti-left handed people tweets?"

Why aren't pro-Israel posters asking why the media aren't highlighting these?

Why aren't they out protesting about them?

Why the selective outrage?
Post by: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 01:25:51 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 01:22:38 PM
Why aren't the pro-Israel posters asking "what about the anti-traveller tweets, anti-gay tweets, anti-black tweets, anti-women tweets, anti-Catholic tweets, anti-Protestant tweets, anti-Muslim tweets, anti-Jehovah's Witnesses tweets, anti-left handed people tweets?"

why do you hate Israel, Sidney ? There are 22 Arab countries you could hate.
Or you could hate the Dubs. Why do you hate Israel and not the Dubs ?  Is it because Israel has more money for training ?
Post by: T Fearon on August 20, 2014, 01:51:09 PM
I thought Ardboe men only punched people from Coagh?
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 01:58:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 01:25:51 PM

Or you could hate the Dubs. Why do you hate Israel and not the Dubs ?  Is it because Israel has more money for training ?
If I hated the Dubs, I'd have to hate every other team, less I look like a hypocrite.

Of course given that I follow Dublin but don't follow every other team, I'm a hypocrite anyway.
Post by: rrhf on August 20, 2014, 02:03:31 PM
In a world where everything is taken literally and humour is lacking silly stupid  comments such as my guigans make news ironically it has made more headlines than some of the same publications might have used in the early days of Israeli slaughter in Palestine. Mc guigans comments are more excusable  than Israeli slaughter but still in very poor taste and show more ignorance than menace. Id have no worry that the lesson is learned here.
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2014, 02:05:08 PM
All joking aside, I must confess to being shocked by this. A sensational story about a GAA star that involves someone more noteworthy than a guy who was on the Carlow minor hurling panel in 1997!
Post by: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 02:21:55 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 01:58:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 01:25:51 PM

If I hated the Dubs, I'd have to hate every other team, less I look like a hypocrite.

Of course given that I follow Dublin but don't follow every other team, I'm a hypocrite anyway.
you can be absolved by repenting in front of the Israeli embassy.
Post by: J OGorman on August 20, 2014, 02:23:58 PM
http://youtu.be/Vb3IMTJjzfo
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 20, 2014, 02:39:19 PM
It could be any local sports star that would be criticised if they left a statement like that in FB/twitter/snapchat or whatever else is out there. Was a daft spur of the moment thing to do no doubt.
Post by: screenexile on August 20, 2014, 03:06:31 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 20, 2014, 02:23:58 PM
http://youtu.be/Vb3IMTJjzfo

He's Jewish though so that's alright!
Post by: T Fearon on August 20, 2014, 03:33:56 PM
Stupid comment to make by Mc Guigan when a foreign national was punched into a fit in front of his wife and kids by a Cookstown local as a result of road rage in the town last Saturday.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 20, 2014, 03:50:52 PM
originally posted 29th july tony; unless you want tommy to apologise for being unable to time travel now on top of it all
Post by: BennyCake on August 20, 2014, 03:57:12 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 20, 2014, 03:50:52 PM
originally posted 29th july tony; unless you want tommy to apologise for being unable to time travel now on top of it all

Ah come on now! There's no excuse in this day and age, for someone not to be able to travel through time.
Post by: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 04:00:43 PM
In fairness to McGuigan

-95% of Israeli Jews support the carnage
-The Jewish Chronicle was forced to refuse to carry an ad for humanitarian relief for Gaza because it would upset advertisers
-You are not allowed to criticize Israel as it is anti-Semitic to do so

And a lot of people are sickened by what Israel is doing 
He would have been better off saying "punch a Zionist"

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 20, 2014, 04:03:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 20, 2014, 04:00:43 PM
In fairness to McGuigan

-95% of Israeli Jews support the carnage
-The Jewish Chronicle was forced to refuse to carry an ad for humanitarian relief for Gaza because it would upset advertisers
-You are not allowed to criticize Israel as it is anti-Semitic to do so

And a lot of people are sickened by what Israel is doing 
He would have been better off saying "punch a Zionist"

He'd have been better off saying nothing, or punch a person who dabbles in dog fighting.......
Post by: Club Rossa on August 20, 2014, 04:08:50 PM
"Punch a Moortown man" would have been more appropiate :P
Post by: give her dixie on August 20, 2014, 04:11:53 PM
Silly mistake by Tommy, and no doubt it was posted after a few drinks. A few of us guilty of that now and again !!

However, we live in a world where news about sports stars and media celebs is deemed more news worthy than real news.

I opened the Irish News yesterday and there was a photo of Tommy and an article on what his tweet said. I was furious
because for nearly 2 years I have been trying to get a story on West Belfast based Caterpillar, their profitting from the illegal
Occupation, the full support they receive from ALL the main parties at Stormont, and how all UK taxpayes recently subsudized them to the tune of £1.6 million. They continually refuse, yet they feel a story about Tommy McGuigan's tweet is newsworthy?
Post by: BennyCake on August 20, 2014, 04:14:05 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on August 20, 2014, 04:08:50 PM
"Punch a Moortown man" would have been more appropiate :P

Why not just extend that to "punch a Tyrone man"  ;D
Post by: theticklemister on August 20, 2014, 04:16:25 PM
McGuigan is a toolbag for saying this. Not all Jews support the carnage thats going on. This makes him come across as uneducated and racist.
Post by: BennyCake on August 20, 2014, 04:22:50 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 20, 2014, 04:16:25 PM
McGuigan is a toolbag for saying this. Not all Jews support the carnage thats going on. This makes him come across as uneducated and racist.

Time for Tommy to invite a few Jews (and a Maori) to an "I'm not an anti-semitist" slide show in Ardboe I reckon. But take down the Nazi flags before bringing them back for the house party.
Post by: theticklemister on August 20, 2014, 04:28:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 20, 2014, 04:22:50 PM

Time for Tommy to invite a few Jews (and a Maori) to an "I'm not an anti-semitist" slide show in Ardboe I reckon. But take down the Nazi flags before bringing them back for the house party.

I really dont know what is funny about this
Post by: johnneycool on August 20, 2014, 04:38:31 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 20, 2014, 04:28:50 PM

I don't think its meant to be funny, but its pretty close to what a politician would be doing to save face!
Post by: Keyser soze on August 20, 2014, 04:46:19 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 20, 2014, 04:38:31 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 20, 2014, 04:28:50 PM

I don't think its meant to be funny, but its pretty close to what a politician would be doing to save face!

Or a reference to Fr Ted.
Post by: Bensars on August 20, 2014, 04:50:32 PM
Forget about all this...he upset a bunch of muck Savages (or is it Savai ?) the same time Jim Allister  was on about the wearing of the jerseys, in reference  to the ladies wearing jerseys for social occassions.  Now thats a bunch you dont want to mess with !

Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 20, 2014, 06:19:06 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on August 20, 2014, 04:11:53 PM
Silly mistake by Tommy, and no doubt it was posted after a few drinks. A few of us guilty of that now and again !!

Ah yeah, just a silly mistake. Like how you found yourself visiting Nazi websites like barnesreview.org .........after a few drinks I suppose ?
Post by: theticklemister on August 20, 2014, 08:49:47 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 20, 2014, 06:19:06 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on August 20, 2014, 04:11:53 PM

Ah yeah, just a silly mistake. Like how you found yourself visiting Nazi websites like barnesreview.org .........after a few drinks I suppose ?

Ah come on GHD , your an intelligent man whose posts I enjoy and support; however this is totally obscene.
Post by: thejuice on August 20, 2014, 09:45:21 PM
The Jews are a resilient bunch, I'm sure they'll recover from this heinous attack.

And sure if they feel threatened by the odd ill-judged tweet by some obscure individual they can be rest assured there's always the safety of their middle eastern home where they'll be kept at a safe distance from such barbed words and stinging diatribes.
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2014, 10:30:15 PM
Resilient bunch or not, it was still a daft thing to do.

A Punch a Prod for Loughlinisland or punch a Taig for Warrington type comment, would have been equally stupid.

I am glad he saw sense though and apologised.
Post by: thejuice on August 21, 2014, 12:43:06 AM
No, something equally stupid would be if say during the troubles some unknown individual from Outer Mongolia or burkina fasa decided to have a rant about one of our warring tribes and someone with plenty more to worry about actually went out of their way to take offence to it and someone else actually considered it newsworthy.

Post by: haranguerer on August 21, 2014, 08:31:01 AM
Or if the papers in Rome were full of, say Jamie Brysons (which would actually be a helluva lot more relevant than Tommy McGuigan, given he is actually 'involved' in politics) latest comment about 'Roman Catholics', with suitably outraged comments from Vatican City.