GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on August 02, 2014, 10:13:27 PM

Title: All Ireland Quarter Final Ard Mhacha v Dún na nGall
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on August 02, 2014, 10:13:27 PM
Great to still be in The Championship in August
Title: Re: All Ireland Quarter Final Ard Mhacha v Dún na nGall
Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2014, 10:22:49 PM
Up Armagh.
Post by: Orior on August 02, 2014, 10:44:33 PM
Remember the days when this would be a forgone conclusion?
Post by: Whitnail on August 02, 2014, 11:46:01 PM
Blanketfest
Post by: armaghniac on August 02, 2014, 11:47:04 PM
There's a lot to be said for blankets, I might put an extra one on the bed tonight, the summer sheet is not enough.
Post by: J70 on August 02, 2014, 11:48:50 PM
First meeting under Jim!
Post by: T Fearon on August 02, 2014, 11:59:00 PM
Whatever happened to Senegal Jimmy?
Post by: rrhf on August 03, 2014, 12:12:21 AM
Is my keeper crocked long term
Post by: lawnseed on August 03, 2014, 09:57:40 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 02, 2014, 11:59:00 PM
Whatever happened to Senegal Jimmy?
Dont buy watches from this clown when your in lanzorote. Tell him to fuk off! Pest
Post by: lawnseed on August 03, 2014, 10:20:05 AM
Just a small query.. In armagh v monaghan mcmanus was unstoppable an yet donegal snuffed him out and kildare held him also. So what happened armagh? There are gaps in our defence and slow reactions on the line. Its not a donedeal
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 03, 2014, 10:28:20 AM
We sniffed him out the for the whole of the 1st game just like the other teams.
Post by: Sea The Stars on August 03, 2014, 10:38:10 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 03, 2014, 10:20:05 AM
Just a small query.. In armagh v monaghan mcmanus was unstoppable an yet donegal snuffed him out and kildare held him also. So what happened armagh? There are gaps in our defence and slow reactions on the line. Its not a donedeal

Not sure if Kildare totally eliminated his threat although Ollie Lyons will have been happy enough. However McManus movement was very important creating space for others and he was instrumental in the first Monaghan goal.
Post by: BennyCake on August 03, 2014, 11:04:13 AM

We wanted a crack at Tyrone.
Post by: stew on August 03, 2014, 12:16:41 PM
Quote from: Whitnail on August 02, 2014, 11:46:01 PM
Blanketfest

You mean blankeyfest do you not?
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 01:04:40 PM
Kildare didn't hold McManus at all. They had two men on him for the whole game and coughed up free after free. McManus kicked 5 points from frees - i'd take that any day. If i'm not mistaken, it was also a great pass from McManus that put Corey through on goal - arguably the turning point for the game.

As for Armagh - some great scoring last night and bar a 15 minute spell in the second quarter, they were well on top. I wouldn't be at all surprised if they won this game.
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2014, 01:12:52 PM
I doubt if too many Donegal people will be taking Armagh lightly. They're there on merit and have looked pretty impressive. Many of our lads played in Crossmaglen in 2010 and should be dying for a crack at Armagh, who we haven't met since. And if there's any complacency, they only need to look back at the Monaghan game last year. Not that I think there will be complacency - Armagh's form should ensure that while we might be marginal favourites, there won't be much of a gap. That, and the historical scars, mean that some of us will be looking forward to this game with no small amount of nervousness and uncertainty, but that was the case before this year's Ulster final too!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 03, 2014, 01:17:41 PM
I'm looking forward to this game,  I will actually be up in Donegal for it as my lad is in Machaire Rabhairtaigh and we are heading up to see him on Saturday.  Last year we visited him on the day of the Ulster Final and watched the game in a pub up there.  We know the result and who knows maybe that is a portent for next week!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 01:30:30 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 03, 2014, 01:12:52 PM
I doubt if too many Donegal people will be taking Armagh lightly. They're there on merit and have looked pretty impressive. Many of our lads played in Crossmaglen in 2010 and should be dying for a crack at Armagh, who we haven't met since. And if there's any complacency, they only need to look back at the Monaghan game last year. Not that I think there will be complacency - Armagh's form should ensure that while we might be marginal favourites, there won't be much of a gap. That, and the historical scars, mean that some of us will be looking forward to this game with no small amount of nervousness and uncertainty, but that was the case before this year's Ulster final too!
Donegal at 1/7, Armagh at 7/2 on PP.
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2014, 01:37:54 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 01:30:30 PM

Really?

Ludicrous!

Armagh well worth a bet, so.
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2014, 01:49:46 PM

Whatever about the win, there might be interesting odds on the handicap.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 02:03:19 PM
theres never much in a game that Donegal play but a 3pt lead to them is like a 7pt lead to any other team, it be tight due to the way Donegal play but they pull away in the 2nd half to win easy enough by 3/4Pt's
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2014, 03:17:21 PM
I think we'll bloody Donegal's nose but come up a bit short in the end, but we've nothing to fear and our expectations for the year have long been achieved.

Drowning aside, very enjoyable game yesterday. I'd worry most about our keeper tbh, in an age were there are a lot of high profile, multi functional keepers, we've got one who struggles with the basics. I also think Durkan is pretty rubbish and can't understand why he's rated so highly either, so maybe they will balance each other out. I think McKeever' s loss will also be more keenly felt v Donegal.

I noticed a lot of people rating Dyas's performance highly yesterday, great season and all that he's having I thought he was just ok, I thought for a long-time yesterday that he might be carrying an injury? He looked to me to be carrying tell tale signs of a sore back (maybe I'm miles off). I'd like to see big Toner in there for DG, Gallagher would swat Harald aside & Findon is only a cub.

We look comfortable in the system, fit, disciplined and fierce committed so we have a chance.
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2014, 03:28:25 PM
Durkan is far and away the most improved player on that Donegal team. He was prone to regular howlers in his early years (e.g. getting beaten to a 45 that dropped short into the square in the '04 Ulster Final - he's about 6'5"; Marsden or McDonnell or whoever beat him in the air to flick the goal is not near that). Indeed he lost his place to Michael Boyle for a season or two. Now however, he's very commanding under the high ball, very good shot stopper for a massive (overweight  :P) man, and excellent distribution from the kick-outs. Rarely makes mistakes these days either.
Post by: Orior on August 03, 2014, 07:06:36 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 03, 2014, 03:17:21 PM
I think we'll bloody Donegal's nose but come up a bit short in the end, but we've nothing to fear and our expectations for the year have long been achieved.

Drowning aside, very enjoyable game yesterday. I'd worry most about our keeper tbh, in an age were there are a lot of high profile, multi functional keepers, we've got one who struggles with the basics. I also think Durkan is pretty rubbish and can't understand why he's rated so highly either, so maybe they will balance each other out. I think McKeever' s loss will also be more keenly felt v Donegal.

I noticed a lot of people rating Dyas's performance highly yesterday, great season and all that he's having I thought he was just ok, I thought for a long-time yesterday that he might be carrying an injury? He looked to me to be carrying tell tale signs of a sore back (maybe I'm miles off). I'd like to see big Toner in there for DG, Gallagher would swat Harald aside & Findon is only a cub.

We look comfortable in the system, fit, disciplined and fierce committed so we have a chance.

If we've nothing to loose, then it will be a good baptism for Harold and Findon. Is it true that McEvoy isn't the first choice keeper for Dromintee?
Post by: stew on August 03, 2014, 07:06:49 PM
We are playing with house money at this stage, no pressure on this team and they are used to winning week and wek out so we will be confident.

Donegal will be by far the sternest test yet but I think we got this! Armagh by 2 points!
Post by: maddog on August 03, 2014, 07:23:46 PM
Donegal are 1/4 not 1/7
Post by: general_lee on August 03, 2014, 07:30:08 PM
I think what I want more than anything from this Armagh team is another performance. They have produced results so far and confidence finally seems to be there.

I always reckoned for the last 3/4 years that Armagh had the players capable of making the last 8 and it's finally coming to fruition.

As for Donegal - no man will admit it but they think they have this in the bag (not without good reason mind). I think Armagh will match them for fitness but physically might be a bit lacking in some departments. I wouldn't want to see Morgan take McFadden for example. Nullifying Murphy will take some doing also!

Will lead to an intriguing encounter anyway; just pray there are no more injuries.
Post by: StephenC on August 03, 2014, 09:01:23 PM
Quote from: maddog on August 03, 2014, 07:23:46 PM
Donegal are 1/4 not 1/7

1/4 now but were 1/7 earlier today. Both crazy odds IMO.
Post by: StephenC on August 03, 2014, 09:02:38 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 03, 2014, 07:30:08 PM
I think what I want more than anything from this Armagh team is another performance. They have produced results so far and confidence finally seems to be there.

I always reckoned for the last 3/4 years that Armagh had the players capable of making the last 8 and it's finally coming to fruition.

As for Donegal - no man will admit it but they think they have this in the bag (not without good reason mind). I think Armagh will match them for fitness but physically might be a bit lacking in some departments. I wouldn't want to see Morgan take McFadden for example. Nullifying Murphy will take some doing also!

Will lead to an intriguing encounter anyway; just pray there are no more injuries.

Absolutely. Out magnificent record against Armagh over the years means this is merely a procession for us. Away with that auld shite please.
Post by: J70 on August 03, 2014, 09:09:35 PM
Quote from: StephenC on August 03, 2014, 09:02:38 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 03, 2014, 07:30:08 PM

Absolutely. Out magnificent record against Armagh over the years means this is merely a procession for us. Away with that auld shite please.

Indeed.  General Lee needs to try harder!  :)
Post by: JP on August 03, 2014, 09:19:47 PM
Charlie Vernon did a good job on Murphy earlier in the year. I'd Andy Mallon will pick up McFadden with Donaghy as sweeper.

Really looking forward to this!! Will be an intense encounter.
Post by: Jinxy on August 03, 2014, 09:32:21 PM
Blanketfest

Which team would have the higher tog value when it comes to blankets?
Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 09:44:20 PM
Quote from: JP on August 03, 2014, 09:19:47 PM
Charlie Vernon did a good job on Murphy earlier in the year. I'd Andy Mallon will pick up McFadden with Donaghy as sweeper.

Vernon's having a very good season,outsider for an allstar granted a good game v Donegal?
Post by: JP on August 03, 2014, 09:57:24 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 09:44:20 PM
Quote from: JP on August 03, 2014, 09:19:47 PM

Vernon's having a very good season,outsider for an allstar granted a good game v Donegal?

Agreed!! For years noone knew what Charlie's best position was but he has turned into a brilliant full back. Certainly in with a shout for a nomination. McKeever will be a big loss for this game, would have suited him perfectly.
Post by: ranch on August 03, 2014, 10:19:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 03, 2014, 07:06:36 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 03, 2014, 03:17:21 PM

If we've nothing to loose, then it will be a good baptism for Harold and Findon. Is it true that McEvoy isn't the first choice keeper for Dromintee?

He is their first choice keeper.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 10:21:46 PM
Earlier in the year when tyrone tramped you in the McKenna cup  with Vernon at full back it was the manager hadn't a clue, go figure
Post by: StephenC on August 03, 2014, 10:24:43 PM
In fairness, Vernon has grown into that role this year. Playing great stuff now.
Post by: DuffleKing on August 03, 2014, 10:29:40 PM

Ah jaysus lads, Vernon has been marking at centre back for a good while now - even if he continues to wear 3.
Post by: T Fearon on August 03, 2014, 10:36:31 PM
Had close enough encounters with Donegal in both league and championship this year,so no reason to fear this game.
Post by: naka on August 03, 2014, 10:55:02 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 03, 2014, 10:36:31 PM
Had close enough encounters with Donegal in both league and championship this year,so no reason to fear this game.
I don't fear them but I am sure Jim will have a plan in place to stop the runners, still think the orchard has one more kick in them though.
Post by: Whitnail on August 03, 2014, 11:01:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 03, 2014, 09:32:21 PM
Blanketfest

Which team would have the higher tog value when it comes to blankets?

Tough one.
I think both blanlets have been tested over different terrains (apart from Monaghan of which one could possibly argue  our blanket had a superior weave and tog value).
But watching the Meath/Armagh highlights there is no doubt Armagh have sourced a quality blanket that can block and  stand up in  torrential rain.
As in 2012,  our 2014. blanket seems to have been sourced in Magees of Donegal town (known for quality tailoring). A good choice (In 2013 it was sourced from Senegal Jimmy... a man of dubious reputation in the fabric industry).

But I feel I've given away too much cause the rules of blanket (or blankey) club are clear

1/ You do not talk about blanket club
2/ You do not talk about blanket club
3/ What happens under the blanket stays under the blanket
Post by: ONeill on August 03, 2014, 11:41:02 PM
The key to Armagh winning this game is to have McKeever out. He's a liability.
Post by: babarino on August 04, 2014, 12:02:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 03, 2014, 11:41:02 PM

Don't agree ONeill. McKeever would be a massive addition to Armagh against Donegal.

This will be a lot tighter than the bookies predict. Armagh are improving and Donegal put so much into winning the Ulster final that the focus won't be what's required for this one.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 12:17:12 AM
The pressure is on Donegal for this one. If Donegal beat Armagh by 2 or 3 points, most people would say that Armagh had a decent season and onwards from here. If Armagh beat Donegal then there will be talk of McGuinness leaving etc.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 04, 2014, 12:21:18 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 12:17:12 AM
The pressure is on Donegal for this one. If Donegal beat Armagh by 2 or 3 points, most people would say that Armagh had a decent season and onwards from here. If Armagh beat Donegal then there will be talk of McGuinness leaving etc.
Is he not leaving anyway?
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2014, 02:47:52 AM
Quote from: babarino on August 04, 2014, 12:02:45 AM

Don't agree ONeill. McKeever would be a massive addition to Armagh against Donegal.

This will be a lot tighter than the bookies predict. Armagh are improving and Donegal put so much into winning the Ulster final that the focus won't be what's required for this one.

You are basing this on what, exactly?
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2014, 02:49:43 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2014, 12:17:12 AM

Well the agitation for Jim to step down won't come from within the county.
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2014, 05:37:16 AM
Highly pressurised few days for Jim,with Celtic having to turn round a 3 goal deficit in the Champions league on Wednesday as well.

This game on Saturday is reminiscent of the 2004 and 2010 qtr finals in which no one gave the winners ,Fermanagh over Armagh,and Down over Kerry ( reigning All Ireland champions), a chance before the games.
Post by: rrhf on August 04, 2014, 06:49:53 AM
Interesting point. Jury's out on this one. Certainly a good impact sub.
Post by: anfheardubh on August 04, 2014, 11:24:23 AM
Donegal by 5 points, Armagh are doing well but nowhere near the class of the early noughties

CLASS will prevail  ;)
Post by: JP on August 04, 2014, 11:43:56 AM
This could be Armagh's equivalent of Donegal's 2011 summer. A galavanised squad reaching new heights before getting knocked out narrowly by Dublin. Can always hope!!
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2014, 11:45:07 AM
Quote from: anfheardubh on August 04, 2014, 11:24:23 AM
Donegal by 5 points, Armagh are doing well but nowhere near the class of the early noughties

CLASS will prevail  ;)

I don't think anyone could describe Donegal as CLASS. Methodical, organised and military like but it's more about the system than the players. I do agree though that they will probably control this game and win by 4 or 5 points. I just hope that if Armagh do go out that it's out with a bang and not a whimper.
Post by: Zip Code on August 04, 2014, 11:51:07 AM
Big ask for Armagh, Saturday's display, as good as it was, was magnified by Meath's ineptness.  If Armagh switch off against Donegal like they did in the last 6 minutes of the first half it will be game over.  However if Armagh can keep their intensity going for the 70 minutes they will run Donegal close, unfortunately I think it will be Donegal by 3 or 4 in the end.  Saying that it has been a heck of a run and I have enjoyed being on the road for every game with my son who has been enthralled with the whole experience, there might be a few tears when it all ends - my son might shed a few too!!
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2014, 12:19:41 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2014, 11:45:07 AM

CLASS will prevail  ;)

I don't think anyone could describe Donegal as CLASS. Methodical, organised and military like but it's more about the system than the players. I do agree though that they will probably control this game and win by 4 or 5 points. I just hope that if Armagh do go out that it's out with a bang and not a whimper.

Right, so the likes of Lacey,  Murphy,  McFadden, McGlynn etc. etc. are irrelevant?

That's great so. ..Ulster titles for years to come!
Post by: naka on August 04, 2014, 12:24:58 PM
Lacey will probably pick up dyas which could blunt a fair bit of the Armagh attack
Mallon and mc fadden
Armaghs problem will be that Donegal will be wise to their tactics with 3 games on sky etc
Still think though the orchard will give it one hell of a rattle,
Post by: Zip Code on August 04, 2014, 12:29:38 PM
On a croke park note, are there lifts to the upper tier or can you only access it via stairs?
Post by: J OGorman on August 04, 2014, 12:34:22 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on August 04, 2014, 12:29:38 PM
On a croke park note, are there lifts to the upper tier or can you only access it via stairs?

escalators to premium and there are lifts to the top level
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2014, 12:37:13 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 04, 2014, 12:19:41 PM

CLASS will prevail  ;)

Right, so the likes of Lacey,  Murphy,  McFadden, McGlynn etc. etc. are irrelevant?

They are not irrelevant but are all pieces of the jigsaw that forms the all important system. Which is far more important than any individual player. Hence the use of Murphy in the midfield sector for long spells in matches. If McGuinness quit Donegal in the morning they would struggle to remain a top 10 side imo.
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2014, 01:21:21 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2014, 12:37:13 PM

CLASS will prevail  ;)

They are not irrelevant but are all pieces of the jigsaw that forms the all important system. Which is far more important than any individual player. Hence the use of Murphy in the midfield sector for long spells in matches. If McGuinness quit Donegal in the morning they would struggle to remain a top 10 side imo.

Yeah, everyone points to Murphy,  but never to Lacey,  who was switched from a man-marker par excellence to the fulcrum and playmaker of the team, or McGlynn from solid corner back to superb attacking halfback, to name but two. Indeed, the injury problems of those two were very significant factors in last year's failures. As for us reverting to non top ten status,  well that assumes that everything that McGuinness brought in terms of dedication, commitment and coaching would be instantly lost, whatever about his tactical abilities. It also presumes there are ten other teams who are better than us.
Post by: yellowcard on August 04, 2014, 01:31:12 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 04, 2014, 01:21:21 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 04, 2014, 12:37:13 PM

CLASS will prevail  ;)

Yeah, everyone points to Murphy,  but never to Lacey,  who was switched from a man-marker par excellence to the fulcrum and playmaker of the team, or McGlynn from solid corner back to superb attacking halfback, to name but two. Indeed, the injury problems of those two were very significant factors in last year's failures. As for us reverting to non top ten status,  well that assumes that everything that McGuinness brought in terms of dedication, commitment and coaching would be instantly lost, whatever about his tactical abilities. It also presumes there are ten other teams who are better than us.

I'm not saying they don't have some top quality players cos they do, Lacey and Murphy to name but two would get on any side in the country. All I'm saying is that the system is the most important factor in their success. McGuinness does what he can to give Donegal the best possible chance of success as possible and there is nothing wrong with that. For me it would be fascinating to watch a Dublin v Donegal semi final purely from a tactical perspective and I really feel that Donegal are the only side capable of beating Dublin this year.
Post by: muppet on August 04, 2014, 02:19:11 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on August 04, 2014, 12:29:38 PM

Ropes are provided. The ascent is quite strenuous but the abseiling afterwards is class.
Post by: naka on August 04, 2014, 05:07:58 PM
Any news on mc keever?
Post by: BennyCake on August 04, 2014, 05:30:53 PM
Quote from: naka on August 04, 2014, 05:07:58 PM
Any news on mc keever?

She's turned lesbian, and still not funny. Oh, you mean Ciaran? Nah, dunno.
Post by: J70 on August 04, 2014, 05:42:02 PM
Quote from: naka on August 04, 2014, 05:07:58 PM
Any news on mc keever?

What kind of injury?
Post by: lawnseed on August 04, 2014, 06:39:43 PM
Armaghs biggest liability is the goalkeeper. He booted away at kickouts to midfield in the monaghan games and against meath even though we were getting cleaned out in that department. The midfielders probably got the blame. He needs to vary his kickouts more and start catching the ball instead of two fisting it away. His shot stopping is ok its what he does with the ball that poor. A simple tap out to a back and then get a quick backpass will enable him to launch a huge kick from his hands way past midfield if he doesnt have the strenght to kick from the ground. Donegal wont mark up on the kickouts knowing they will win midfield easy. If he starts giving the ball away every kickout we'll be flatout defending donegal runners racing through on goal and end up giving frees away or black cards. Someone needs to spot for mcavoy or show for short kicks or we are beat
Post by: Applesisapples on August 04, 2014, 06:41:31 PM
Great performance by Armagh on Saturday, and AK's display poses the question as to why he has not been starting. Even with Ciaran McKeever and Aaron starting this weekend I think Donegal may me a step too far. I'd guess at a close enough game though, fingers crossed.
Post by: Main Street on August 04, 2014, 07:38:56 PM
That's close enough for paranoia to reign in Donegal about Donegal's chances of progressing further are being written off by hostile elements (i.e. the rest of Ireland).
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 04, 2014, 07:39:03 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 04, 2014, 06:39:43 PM
Armaghs biggest liability is the goalkeeper.

Some things never change. Paul Hearty wasn't much of a keeper. It was like they just took a big lad off the street and threw him in net.
Post by: Oraisteach on August 04, 2014, 08:12:20 PM
Ah, sure you're right.  If the GAA had any backbone it'd make him return his All-Ireland medal and his box full of club championship medals and give them away to more deserving players.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 04, 2014, 09:04:20 PM
Where is Hearty's all star medal, friend? Surely he should have at least one when Armagh won the AI? Or could it be that he was completely unremarkable that year and throughout his championship career?
Post by: BennyCake on August 04, 2014, 09:08:45 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 04, 2014, 09:04:20 PM
Where is Hearty's all star medal, friend? Surely he should have at least one when Armagh won the AI? Or could it be that he was completely unremarkable that year and throughout his championship career?

Benny Tierney was keeper in 02. But Hearty should have at least got a couple of All stars.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on August 04, 2014, 09:12:32 PM

I love it when someone comes in and spouts about something they know nothing about.
Hearty didn't play in 2002.
At a rough guess he has
1 senior all Ireland ( panelist 2002)
4 Ulster senior championship
1 national league
10 Armagh senior championship
5 ulster club championship
3 all Ireland club championship

Broken crossbar could likely give the exact medal haul, but I think its fair to say he has a bucket load of medals.
Post by: bennydorano on August 04, 2014, 09:17:21 PM
We need a Yawn icon for unsubtle trolls.  It's the Bro's 2nd wind-up attempt in 5 pages.

Probably O'Neill tho :P In fact we need an O'Neill is at it icon.
Post by: Aoise on August 04, 2014, 09:39:11 PM
Lads could ye post this to as many GAA boards, supporters boards as you can?  Have a read of this..

http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/gaza-garvaghy-armagh-croke-park.3655/

Lets fill it with them on Saturday, for two reasons...1 - In solidarity with the people being slaughtered in Gaza (obviously) 2 - To show that cretin Rupert Murdoch that he doesn't control the Irish people, especially in Croke Park.
There are 4 teams this Saturday, please get this to as many Armagh, Monaghan, Dublin and Donegal supporters as you can.  What would they do if thousands of people showed up with one?  Never mind the spectacle it would be to the rest of the world.  C'mon Irish people awake from the slumber! 
Sorry for interrupting the conversation BTW!  But its important.  :)
Post by: BennyCake on August 04, 2014, 10:12:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 04, 2014, 09:10:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 04, 2014, 09:08:45 PM

Benny Tierney was keeper in 02. But Hearty should have at least got a couple of All stars.
You reckon??

It's definitely true. And yes, Hearty should have got a couple of All stars.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 04, 2014, 11:22:59 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on August 04, 2014, 09:12:32 PM

I love it when someone comes in and spouts about something they know nothing about.
At a rough guess he has
1 national league

Broken crossbar could likely give the exact medal haul, but I think its fair to say he has a bucket load of medals.

Whatever about his county medals in terms of club medals you're a fair bit off. 

It's actually

17 Armagh senior championship
10 ulster club championship
6 all Ireland club championship

and he is still playing so is likely to add to that this year.  In fact, I watched him a few weeks ago in a club match and he gave the sort of performance in terms if handling and kick outs that would be ideal for Armagh at the minute but alas he is happy enough with his county lot
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 04, 2014, 11:26:30 PM
Whoa, over 50 winners medals. No doubt he has more at underage to. Is he still in competition with Oisin?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 04, 2014, 11:31:40 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on August 04, 2014, 11:26:30 PM
Whoa, over 50 winners medals. No doubt he has more at underage to. Is he still in competition with Oisin?

At club level he is ahead of him.  I would imagine he will keep going till he has 20 county medals so he will have 2 more seasons after this.
Post by: armaghniac on August 05, 2014, 12:26:09 AM
Hearty's record will stand a while before being broken, I reckon. He could easily end up with a dozen Ulster club medals.
Post by: BennyCake on August 05, 2014, 12:41:54 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 04, 2014, 10:15:11 PM
I meant the latter obviously. Which years?

He had a very good year in 2003, only conceded one goal in 8 games. He also had great years in 04, 05 and 06.
Post by: ONeill on August 05, 2014, 06:45:37 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 04, 2014, 11:22:59 PM

and he is still playing so is likely to add to that this year.

Sickening arrogance....
Post by: yellowcard on August 05, 2014, 12:22:22 PM
McKeever out for the season is a big blow especially in a game against Donegal which is likely to be a war of attrition. Slightly fearful of this one now, we need to get e few points up early to prevent Donegal from sucking us in and controlling the game. There will be a big onus on McAvoy to secure possession from kick outs since Donegal will give you the opportunity to hit short ones due to them retreating into defence.

We need to attack down the flanks since running up the middle against this Donegal side will see you running straight into traffic and either coughing up possession or being forced backwards and sidewards and eventually turned over. I think we are not without a slight chance but think that Donegal will eventually grind us down and force us to lose patience.
Post by: Armamike on August 05, 2014, 12:53:28 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 05, 2014, 12:22:22 PM
McKeever out for the season is a big blow especially in a game against Donegal which is likely to be a war of attrition. Slightly fearful of this one now, we need to get e few points up early to prevent Donegal from sucking us in and controlling the game. There will be a big onus on McAvoy to secure possession from kick outs since Donegal will give you the opportunity to hit short ones due to them retreating into defence.

We need to attack down the flanks since running up the middle against this Donegal side will see you running straight into traffic and either coughing up possession or being forced backwards and sidewards and eventually turned over. I think we are not without a slight chance but think that Donegal will eventually grind us down and force us to lose patience.

Seems to be the general consensus on the way it will pan out.  Donegal are better than Armagh at the moment, further down the line in terms of conditioning, experience, game plan, and throw a few all star footballers into that mix as well.  If Donegal do what they're capable of, they should see this one out with 4-5 to spare. Will be really interesting to see how much Armagh have learnt from the league game.  That day they continually ran into traffic and lost possession.  A good bit more width now and early kickpassing is needed to stretch Donegal and the signs from the championship to date are that Armagh have been developing this type of play quite nicely.  Will also be interesting to see if the management move Clarke further out the field for this one. He got bottled up in the Meath game and stayed close to goal for the most part.  Not sure there's much to be gained by leaving him in there with 2 or 3 Donegal players around him.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on August 05, 2014, 01:12:38 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on August 04, 2014, 09:12:32 PM

At a rough guess he has
1 national league

Whatever about his county medals in terms of club medals you're a fair bit off. 

It's actually

17 Armagh senior championship
10 ulster club championship
6 all Ireland club championship

and he is still playing so is likely to add to that this year.  In fact, I watched him a few weeks ago in a club match and he gave the sort of performance in terms if handling and kick outs that would be ideal for Armagh at the minute but alas he is happy enough with his county lot

Didn't realise he'd been around that long. I know one of the McConvilles was in goal for the first All Ireland as the keeper was injured. Never would have thought the keeper was Paul.
Still, some haul of medals for some boy to be making digs about him!!
Post by: Armamike on August 05, 2014, 01:16:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 05, 2014, 06:45:37 AM

and he is still playing so is likely to add to that this year.

Sickening arrogance....

It's realism unfortunately.
Post by: armaghniac on August 05, 2014, 05:22:16 PM
(http://i57.tinypic.com/a45ueg.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on August 05, 2014, 05:45:09 PM
McKeever out is a good thing for Armagh. Against weak sides and lily-liverers like this year's Tyrone he can bully sides into submission. Against a good side he's out of his depth and in such a central position he would leave Armagh ripped open.

Armagh can win this.
Post by: bennydorano on August 05, 2014, 05:46:39 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 05, 2014, 12:53:28 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 05, 2014, 12:22:22 PM

Seems to be the general consensus on the way it will pan out.  Donegal are better than Armagh at the moment, further down the line in terms of conditioning, experience, game plan, and throw a few all star footballers into that mix as well.  If Donegal do what they're capable of, they should see this one out with 4-5 to spare. Will be really interesting to see how much Armagh have learnt from the league game.  That day they continually ran into traffic and lost possession.  A good bit more width now and early kickpassing is needed to stretch Donegal and the signs from the championship to date are that Armagh have been developing this type of play quite nicely.  Will also be interesting to see if the management move Clarke further out the field for this one. He got bottled up in the Meath game and stayed close to goal for the most part.  Not sure there's much to be gained by leaving him in there with 2 or 3 Donegal players around him.
I think Armagh will leave JC in around the house, hoping that he occupies 2 or 3 defenders leaving us with room and free players elsewhere, it's been working so far (maybe not by design tho). It'll be a tactical game of chess from the sidelines, which will undoubtedly translate into a turd of a game
Post by: ONeill on August 05, 2014, 05:54:12 PM
Is it absurd to say that Jamie hasn't delivered on the big stage for Armagh yet?

Prob yes. He hasn't really played on the big stage for his county yet. And how big is a big stage. Just a thought though. I know he's often double marked but so are all the best forwards. I'm waiting on him to cut loose and put himself in the running for POTY. I was tempted last week (think about 40-1 the odds) but he would need to obliterate Donegal and Dublin to do that.
Post by: J70 on August 05, 2014, 06:40:59 PM
Apparently we've got McQuillan. Could be a lot worse!
Post by: yellowcard on August 05, 2014, 06:45:09 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 05, 2014, 06:40:59 PM

Anyone but Marty Duffy! I think the Dubs and Monaghan got lumbered with him this week.
Post by: Syferus on August 05, 2014, 06:56:11 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 05, 2014, 06:45:09 PM

Anyone but Marty Duffy! I think the Dubs and Monaghan got lumbered with him this week.

Looking forward to that one now.
Post by: Throw ball on August 05, 2014, 07:42:33 PM

No frees for Jamie again then. Should help Donegal even more.
Post by: lawnseed on August 05, 2014, 10:39:33 PM
Mckeever big miss for marking mcfadden. He can sow him up no bother. The younger lads may struggle abit. Im confident about this game I think we can do it by 8pts. The lads are right clarke is taking the heat off two or three forwards just running about. It up to those free men to get the scores. I only see primary poscession from our own kickouts as a danger
Post by: JP on August 05, 2014, 11:31:20 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 05, 2014, 10:39:33 PM
Mckeever big miss for marking mcfadden. He can sow him up no bother. The younger lads may struggle abit. Im confident about this game I think we can do it by 8pts. The lads are right clarke is taking the heat off two or three forwards just running about. It up to those free men to get the scores. I only see primary poscession from our own kickouts as a danger

8 points?? I'll have to start ordering the same drink as yourself lol That is wildly over optimistic. I'd say both teams will glady settle for a scrappy one point win.
Post by: lawnseed on August 06, 2014, 08:29:36 AM
If armagh get the kickouts sorted they'll stuff donegal.. 8pts no problem.. I dont drink.. B-)
Post by: lawnseed on August 06, 2014, 08:36:14 AM
Armagh called press conference tonight. Croke park asked them to drop thier boycott.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 06, 2014, 09:14:11 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 06, 2014, 08:29:36 AM
If armagh get the kickouts sorted they'll stuff donegal.. 8pts no problem.. I dont drink.. B-)

Maybe you should drink...ye might make more sense!
Post by: Dont Matter on August 06, 2014, 09:28:30 AM
This game has the makings of a good book with all the stories that will come out of it. Probably a war novel, the pre game action will be something to behold in itself.
Post by: illdecide on August 06, 2014, 09:34:34 AM
Armagh are up against it on Sat, this is a big step up from the opposition we've been playing recently but we can still win it for sure but we'll need everything to fall into place for us on the day. Armagh have been playing well in patches but for me there is still too many times in a game where we switch off and let the other team run riot and to be fair we haven't really got punished for it yet so we can't afford to do that on Sat, i know every team has their own spells in a game anyway but we def need to be more clinical this weekend...
Post by: yellowcard on August 06, 2014, 09:59:51 AM
Put your money on Donegal to beat Dublin

Former Donegal star Brendan Devenney is convinced that Donegal would have the measure of All-Ireland champions Dublin were the two teams to meet in an All-Ireland SFC semi-final.

Both teams have a bit of work to do before that scenario arises but former ace attacker Devenney told the Irish Daily Star: "Donegal would win. No doubt.

"I just think when a tough defence meets a tough attack it's easier to lock down a 45 than open it up.

"This strength in depth that Dublin have - if their top six can't break the defence, the other lads coming in aren't going to have much joy.

"I think when there's players coming off the bench it suit when a game is opening up. But, you see with Donegal, it never does open up.

"There is a lot of hype and if it does end up happening I think Donegal will be out to say 'we're going to stop your forward line'.

"And I think Dublin have their own problems in defence.

"Outside of Michael Darragh Macauley, they don't know who to be playing alongside him in midfield."

Devenney is expected star Donegal forward duo Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden to up their respective displays once they hit Croke Park.

"I think we haven't really seen Murphy and McFadden shine that much this year.

"If they were to play well, I just think Donegal's defence would relish that forward line.

"I think you saw in 2011 - I know they're different kind of teams from then but you saw it against Monaghan as well. Monaghan have a good forward line.

"I think when (Vinny) Corey hit that point, it was 43 or 44 minutes and it was just their second point from play.

"I know Dublin might get through them a bit more. But, Donegal were double scores better than Monaghan."

Donegal already talking of beating Dublin and they haven't even played a quarter final yet. Fair play to Devenney though for saying what he really thinks and I actually agree with him here as well.
Post by: mackers on August 06, 2014, 10:52:01 AM
Devenney is another windbag a la Parkinson....best ignored.

Quote from: lawnseed on August 05, 2014, 10:39:33 PM
McKeever wouldn't have been picking up McFadden anyway....I'd put James Morgan on him.....James isn't playing particularly well at the min but he's the sort of aggressive back that McFadden doesn't like....I seem to remember him complaining after the league match of rough house tactics....he doesn't like it up him!!
Post by: haranguerer on August 06, 2014, 11:18:55 AM
Translink are f**king thieves - on their deals page they've got a 'special' train to dublin from belfast for the game at the bargain price of £29 per adult - only £19 more than their usual saturday day return price.

And surprise surprise, when you try to get their standard day return ticket, it states they've used up the web allocation.  >:(

Post by: ONeill on August 06, 2014, 11:33:09 AM
Armagh should stop talking to Translink.
Post by: haranguerer on August 06, 2014, 11:37:48 AM
They're a shower of c**ts, I went on to book it there and seen that, gonna have to f**king drive now.
Title: Turas
Post by: drici on August 06, 2014, 12:36:13 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 06, 2014, 11:18:55 AM
Translink are f**king thieves - on their deals page they've got a 'special' train to dublin from belfast for the game at the bargain price of £29 per adult - only £19 more than their usual saturday day return price.

And surprise surprise, when you try to get their standard day return ticket, it states they've used up the web allocation.  >:(

You can save a bit on the 29 quid.
Book a single on the internet for the train from Dublin to Belfast at 14-99 in Euros.
Book the 12-30pm express bus on the internet from Belfast to Dublin at 11-50 Euros for a single (or 9-20 sterling).
Get out at Busáras in Dublin and dander over to Connolly and collect your train ticket there so you don't have to wait in the kiosk queue when you are going back.
Post by: armaghniac on August 06, 2014, 12:57:54 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 06, 2014, 11:37:48 AM
They're a shower of c**ts, I went on to book it there and seen that, gonna have to f**king drive now.

Strange that, a fixture known since Saturday and by Wednesday all of the web special fares are gone. Quick off the mark, them Armagh followers, lets hope the team also have a good first half.
Post by: haranguerer on August 06, 2014, 01:29:41 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 06, 2014, 12:57:54 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 06, 2014, 11:37:48 AM

Strange that, a fixture known since Saturday and by Wednesday all of the web special fares are gone. Quick off the mark, them Armagh followers, lets hope the team also have a good first half.

If you're anything to go by, they're not that quick. They've put on a special at £29, when their usual special for the same is £10. Thats my point.

Re the web allocated fares, given that they're putting a train on specifically for the match, its in their interest not to sell any at the cheaper price. I was implying that they withdrew the web fare from the normal trains - it states you can still buy walk-on tickets.

Cheers drici.
Post by: J70 on August 06, 2014, 01:42:18 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 06, 2014, 09:59:51 AM
Put your money on Donegal to beat Dublin

Former Donegal star Brendan Devenney is convinced that Donegal would have the measure of All-Ireland champions Dublin were the two teams to meet in an All-Ireland SFC semi-final.

Both teams have a bit of work to do before that scenario arises but former ace attacker Devenney told the Irish Daily Star: "Donegal would win. No doubt.

"I just think when a tough defence meets a tough attack it's easier to lock down a 45 than open it up.

"This strength in depth that Dublin have - if their top six can't break the defence, the other lads coming in aren't going to have much joy.

"I think when there's players coming off the bench it suit when a game is opening up. But, you see with Donegal, it never does open up.

"There is a lot of hype and if it does end up happening I think Donegal will be out to say 'we're going to stop your forward line'.

"And I think Dublin have their own problems in defence.

"Outside of Michael Darragh Macauley, they don't know who to be playing alongside him in midfield."

Devenney is expected star Donegal forward duo Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden to up their respective displays once they hit Croke Park.

"I think we haven't really seen Murphy and McFadden shine that much this year.

"If they were to play well, I just think Donegal's defence would relish that forward line.

"I think you saw in 2011 - I know they're different kind of teams from then but you saw it against Monaghan as well. Monaghan have a good forward line.

"I think when (Vinny) Corey hit that point, it was 43 or 44 minutes and it was just their second point from play.

"I know Dublin might get through them a bit more. But, Donegal were double scores better than Monaghan."

Donegal already talking of beating Dublin and they haven't even played a quarter final yet. Fair play to Devenney though for saying what he really thinks and I actually agree with him here as well.

The media have been talking about Dublin meeting Donegal since the Ulster final. What's the big deal about Devenney giving his opinion?  Does anyone pass any remarks when people talk about Mayo potentially meeting the Dubs? No one is taking their quarter final for granted,  except maybe most people outside of the Dublin and Monaghan camps when it comes to their match.

BTW, beyond being a club mate of Rory Kavanagh,  I'm not aware of any direct connection between the Donegal squad and Devenney.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 06, 2014, 09:23:18 PM
Quote from: mackers on August 06, 2014, 10:52:01 AM
McKeever wouldn't have been picking up McFadden anyway....I'd put James Morgan on him.....James isn't playing particularly well at the min but he's the sort of aggressive back that McFadden doesn't like....I seem to remember him complaining after the league match of rough house tactics....he doesn't like it up him!!

McFadden is one of the most overrated players in the country. Laughable that he was a candidate for player of the year in 2012. Decent free taker, that's about it.
Post by: J70 on August 06, 2014, 09:42:57 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 06, 2014, 09:23:18 PM

McFadden is one of the most overrated players in the country. Laughable that he was a candidate for player of the year in 2012. Decent free taker, that's about it.

Pathetic attempt!  ;D
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 06, 2014, 10:59:47 PM
Oh there is a statement that could be a ass biter down the line, doesnt seem to be on form this year but still a good player, though i play Murphy the closer to nets if i had to pick
Post by: lawnseed on August 07, 2014, 01:11:34 AM
Jeez motivation on a plate! Mcguiness and gavin squaring up in croker and theyre not past monaghan or armagh yet.. Just what the respective managers of armagh and monaghan want.. Like red rags to dressing rooms full of bulls.. Reminds me of fermanagh v armagh and tyrone v mayo double header..  And what happens to favourites in gaa football
Post by: J70 on August 07, 2014, 01:55:47 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 06, 2014, 10:59:47 PM
Oh there is a statement that could be a ass biter down the line, doesnt seem to be on form this year but still a good player, though i play Murphy the closer to nets if i had to pick

Not on form at all this year, which could be costly Saturday.
Post by: J70 on August 07, 2014, 02:10:28 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 07, 2014, 01:11:34 AM
Jeez motivation on a plate! Mcguiness and gavin squaring up in croker and theyre not past monaghan or armagh yet.. Just what the respective managers of armagh and monaghan want.. Like red rags to dressing rooms full of bulls.. Reminds me of fermanagh v armagh and tyrone v mayo double header..  And what happens to favourites in gaa football

Yeah, I'd expect Armagh and Monaghan to hit their respective opponents like a tonne of bricks. Up to McGuinness and Gavin to make sure THEIR teams are prepared for it and motivated.
Post by: Orior on August 07, 2014, 01:20:06 PM
It is good to see Peter McDonnell on the management team. I think he was treated very badly when he was in charge
Post by: LCohen on August 07, 2014, 08:36:19 PM
Armagh would have done well to end the media ban at the beginning of the week and launch straight into an effort to alert Joe McQuillan to the issue with Donegal's tackling in the Ulster final. Far too much let that go and far too much child like reactions by Donegal players to any decision given against them 
Post by: rrhf on August 07, 2014, 10:46:50 PM
I feel Armagh will beat done gal to set up a meeting with the dubs. I think they have a more than decent chance of an all Ireland this year.  What way would the Armagh people compare this team to say the class of 99 breakthrough team.
Post by: ardchieftain on August 07, 2014, 11:02:27 PM
I've been saying for the last year that it feels like 98/99 all over again. Comparing the teams from different eras is a futile exercise but i feel that this championship run will really improve the squad for next season. There are a lot of inexperienced lads in the team at present, so these games against decent teams in the pressure cooker environment of championship football, will bring these lads on in leaps and bounds. Another year of strength and conditioning and fitness will also improve the squad.

As for this year, Mckeever and Caolan Rafferty are big losses for this weekend's game. Can Armagh beat Donegal? Maybe not this year, but we'll give them a serious rattle and who knows how it will pan out.
Post by: yellowcard on August 08, 2014, 12:03:16 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 07, 2014, 10:46:50 PM
I feel Armagh will beat done gal to set up a meeting with the dubs. I think they have a more than decent chance of an all Ireland this year.  What way would the Armagh people compare this team to say the class of 99 breakthrough team.

A classic case of a Tyrone fan trying to prepare himself should his worst case scenario happen and Armagh get to an AI final. Not that it is likely to happen anyway in the opinion of any rational Armagh supporters I have spoken with. It is nice all the same to hear Tyrone fans try and build Armagh up to try and minimise any potential slagging or pain that they feel were we to actually beat Donegal.

The general feeling is that we have over achieved in getting this far and that Donegal will win this game by 4 or 5 points. This present side have shown great character and doggedness that had been lost for a few years and will put up stern resistance but I think Donegal will eventually frustrate us into submission as they suck us into congested zones, force quick turnovers and counter punch at killer speed.
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 12:06:04 AM
Disappointed with this thread.

If this was Tyrone there'd be 60 pages of shit-talk by now. Mayo 90. Nothing here.
Post by: rrhf on August 08, 2014, 12:31:26 AM
O Neill did ye hear that we might consider looking to give Mc Geeney a shot at number 2 in Tyrone next year. 
Id say if Armagh win on Sunday thered be little chance. 
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 12:35:18 AM
I tell ye I'd love McGeeney up around Garvaghey. He'd put the thoughts of it being too cold up there in the bin.

McGeeney is perhaps the greatest living Ulsterman behind Neil Hannon and Michelle O'Neill.
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 12:39:22 AM
So how do Armagh beat Donegal?

They can't unless everything goes over in the first half. I mean half backs and the unsung heroes lamping it from the 50 and seeing it sail over. Armagh need to lead at half time and keep it tight the first 20 of the second. That's Donegal's game time. From 35-55 mins they win games by playing at a higher level that the first half.

If Jamie finally delivers for Armagh it'll be a great day. 2-3 early on.
Post by: BennyCake on August 08, 2014, 01:00:08 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 12:35:18 AM
I tell ye I'd love McGeeney up around Garvaghey. He'd put the thoughts of it being too cold up there in the bin.

McGeeney is perhaps the greatest living Ulsterman behind Neil Hannon and Michelle O'Neill.

Where does uncle Hugo come in?
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 01:08:13 AM
About 15-18th
Post by: J70 on August 08, 2014, 01:27:07 AM
Quote from: LCohen on August 07, 2014, 08:36:19 PM
Armagh would have done well to end the media ban at the beginning of the week and launch straight into an effort to alert Joe McQuillan to the issue with Donegal's tackling in the Ulster final. Far too much let that go and far too much child like reactions by Donegal players to any decision given against them

;D And over on the Dublin-Monaghan thread some of the Dublin supporters are complaining about Monaghan playing on the edge!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 08, 2014, 03:49:09 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 12:39:22 AM

They can't unless everything goes over in the first half. I mean half backs and the unsung heroes lamping it from the 50 and seeing it sail over. Armagh need to lead at half time and keep it tight the first 20 of the second. That's Donegal's game time. From 35-55 mins they win games by playing at a higher level that the first half.

[/b]

What Jamie has been doing has helped Armagh win these last two matches. His vision/ability to set up other players for scores while the opposition drapes two guys on him frees up the other forwards. If Donegal covers him one on one he will light it up but in the meantime if Armagh can score from elsewhere when they double cover him it doesn't hurt Armagh but helps them. This will be a one point match decided at the whistle, hopefully going Armagh's way.

Post by: Zip Code on August 08, 2014, 08:35:35 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 08, 2014, 12:06:04 AM
Disappointed with this thread.

If this was Tyrone there'd be 60 pages of shit-talk by now. Mayo 90. Nothing here.

And most of the Armagh talk is filled with Tyronies like you and rrfh obsessed with Armagh.
Post by: armaghniac on August 08, 2014, 09:47:32 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on August 08, 2014, 03:49:09 AM

[/b]

What Jamie has been doing has helped Armagh win these last two matches. His vision/ability to set up other players for scores while the opposition drapes two guys on him frees up the other forwards. If Donegal covers him one on one he will light it up but in the meantime if Armagh can score from elsewhere when they double cover him it doesn't hurt Armagh but helps them. This will be a one point match decided at the whistle, hopefully going Armagh's way.

Cross won many's the game by a large margin where few of these scores were against Jamie's name, but where the other forwards had made hay while the defence was preoccupied with him and where Jamie had won half a dozen scorable frees taken by a Kernan. Earlier in the season Armagh hadn't quite worked out how to do this, but they are getting the hang of it now with much better dynamics. Donegal might be too cute to fall for all of this, but nevertheless it is great to see things come together at last. 
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 10:46:52 AM
Would be nice to see Armagh winning this one ( and make us look good too) but I can only see one winner here - Donegal by 2.
Post by: lawnseed on August 08, 2014, 11:52:47 AM
Hold on. If tyrone were facing donegal on saturday having just did what armagh have done everynody would be saying tyrones going to beat donegal. Armagh hammered tyrone rosscommon and meath. If they got monaghan now theyed beat them. Armagh are going to beat donegal in the game of the championship. I think theres more in this team I dont think theyve peaked yet and the more games they get the better they get..
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2014, 12:13:03 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 08, 2014, 11:52:47 AM
Hold on. If tyrone were facing donegal on saturday having just did what armagh have done everynody would be saying tyrones going to beat donegal. Armagh hammered tyrone rosscommon and meath. If they got monaghan now theyed beat them. Armagh are going to beat donegal in the game of the championship. I think theres more in this team I dont think theyve peaked yet and the more games they get the better they get..
Keep your feet on the ground buicín and aisy on the hyperbole.
I think I may be revising my opinion of hoping Armagh win.
Post by: J70 on August 08, 2014, 12:19:16 PM
Relax lads. We'll all know where we stand after tomorrow.
Post by: Armamike on August 08, 2014, 12:44:59 PM
One of the big differences this year from previous, and which has seen Armagh progess much further, is the lack of reliance on Clarke.  Previously everything was kicked into Clarke and now the play is more varied and structured to bring other forwards and backs into the scoring zone.  Armagh obviously have worked on getting the ball and players into the main scoring zone, which the conversion chances are much higher. Hasn't happened by accident and credit to the management for changing things around so much the past few months.  Having said all that it would be great to see Clarke light up tomorrow but Donegal don't do romance.
Post by: Man Marker on August 08, 2014, 12:52:15 PM

You did not
Post by: Zip Code on August 08, 2014, 01:10:02 PM

Ah come on even know Tyrone got to an All-Ireland semi last year and are a Division 1 team, the country knows they are done, Armagh were lucky to scrape through these matches and should look back on a good year getting a few trips to Croke Park.
Post by: illdecide on August 08, 2014, 01:57:29 PM
The Bookies don't always get it right but generally they're never far away and they have Donegal at 1/4 and Armagh 4/1 so that tells it's own tale, we've had a good year so far and two matches in Croke Park that we never thought we'd get. Off course we have a chance but it's a slim one and everything needs to fall right for us on the day. No matter what way the result goes we'll be a better team for the experience next year and if we're lucky enough to win it's another rung up the ladder...

Donegal by 25pts :P
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 08, 2014, 03:24:49 PM

by outscoring them. Armagh have exceeded expectations by reaching this quarter final and go into this game with nothing to lose. Donegal are not in their zone like two years ago they will probably never reach the level again however another performance like the one they produced in the Ulster final will likely be enough to beat Armagh.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 08, 2014, 05:01:58 PM
I wouldn't agree with the point about them not being in the zone as they were in 2012.

The Ulster final saw them very much in the zone & they will become more so as things hot up.

Post by: J70 on August 08, 2014, 05:42:19 PM
I would be much more optimistic if McFadden was on form. He hasn't really done it for Donegal since the Down match last year, at least not at the level he was at in 2011-12. Thankfully, others have stood up. MacNiallais's points have been a godsend this season. We were really struggling for scores in the half-forward line last year. And hopefully McBrearty, who finally found his range in the Ulster final, can carry that form on.
Post by: naka on August 08, 2014, 05:44:41 PM
Ok
Cards on table, have had a great year watching the orchard and think we have one more kick in us
Whilst it will be tough Armagh by 3

And I believe it will be a cracker
Post by: J70 on August 08, 2014, 05:56:00 PM
All right.

Donegal by 4.

But I think it will be very tough and not all a shock if Armagh were to turn us over.

At least we won't be physically bullied off the field (indeed beaten before we took the field) as has been the case on so many occasions in the past!
Post by: Armamike on August 08, 2014, 06:03:24 PM
Think Armagh will win this one pulling up.

Nah not really. Going to be a tough bruising encounter (punching the back of a plastic seat does that).  Hope Armagh keep the performance level up from the past few games and keep it competitive going into the last 10 minutes.
Post by: illdecide on August 08, 2014, 06:29:31 PM
Bar injuries I'd imagine Armagh will be unchanged from last week...
Title: Gaoth Dobhair
Post by: drici on August 08, 2014, 09:43:55 PM
A beezer
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/51_zps20962646.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/50_zps9d3d82e7.png)
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 01:02:16 PM
Donegal 1-17
Armagh 0-12
Post by: stew on August 09, 2014, 03:41:51 PM
Where can you purchase the games so you can watch them online?
Post by: The Iceman on August 09, 2014, 03:46:14 PM
gaago are selling them ppv Stew

lads any links out there for the armagh donegal game please post here
Post by: stew on August 09, 2014, 03:50:06 PM
Thanks Iceman.  :)
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 03:54:41 PM
Plenty here - http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=272081&part=sports
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:04:13 PM
McGee has the goggles permanently on Clarke.
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 04:12:21 PM
The mightiest period of handbags in Croke Park a long time.
Post by: Rois on August 09, 2014, 04:13:04 PM
Fight fight! Karl Lacey to blame for starting it from what I saw.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:13:26 PM
Great stuff.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 09, 2014, 04:15:07 PM
Any score?
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 04:15:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:13:26 PM
Great stuff.
+1 You can't beat that! Proper championship football
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 04:17:02 PM
Quote from: CD on August 09, 2014, 04:15:14 PM
Great stuff.
+1 You can't beat that! Proper championship football

Not quite.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:17:42 PM
Armagh really getting in their faces.
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 04:18:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 04:17:02 PM
Quote from: CD on August 09, 2014, 04:15:14 PM
Great stuff.
+1 You can't beat that! Proper championship [b]football[/b] entertainment  ;)

Not quite.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:19:21 PM
Armagh 2-1 up after 18 mins. Scorefest we expected.
Post by: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 04:21:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 09, 2014, 04:15:07 PM
Any score?

Aaron Findon 1
Donegal Doctor 0
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:21:32 PM
Donegal making the mistakes they used to force other teams to make.
Post by: lfdown2 on August 09, 2014, 04:28:40 PM
Is it live on the radio anywhere?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2014, 04:30:34 PM
Mighty Catch
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:32:37 PM
Armagh ruing the 0-3 they hit wide.
Post by: Gaffer on August 09, 2014, 04:33:43 PM
Clarke not delivering.
Post by: mick999 on August 09, 2014, 04:34:43 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2014, 04:30:34 PM
Mighty Catch
Newstalk
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 04:40:20 PM
Armagh the better side should be leading at half time. Donegal goal against the run of play could be the turning point of this game.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 04:43:59 PM
I thought Armagh wilted a bit there towards the end. Suggests Donegal might have the fitness on them.

Two bad wides from Clarke.
Post by: The Iceman on August 09, 2014, 04:44:11 PM
losing the fielding battle from armagh kickouts. Donegal sharpening up going into half time. Armagh still the better team but need to get their confidence back in the second half.
Post by: maigheo on August 09, 2014, 04:48:53 PM
Wonder what has happened to McFadden,serious loss of form for one of Donegals main players
Post by: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 04:51:04 PM
I'd bring McFadden out the field and tell him not to worry about scoring.
Just get on the ball and pick out passes.
Leave Murphy and McBrearty in the FF line.
Post by: Whitnail on August 09, 2014, 04:53:13 PM
Not enjoying this so far. Messy blanket muckfest and we are well lucky to be edging it.
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:03:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 03:54:41 PM
Plenty here - http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=272081&part=sports

Nice one!
Post by: Gaffer on August 09, 2014, 05:04:20 PM
Thought there was going to be a pile of Palestine flags in the armagh support.

Can't spot any

Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 09, 2014, 05:06:46 PM
Mcevoy a liability. Not a good goalkeeper
Post by: Saffrongael on August 09, 2014, 05:08:02 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 09, 2014, 05:06:46 PM
Mcevoy a liability. Not a good goalkeeper

He should have done better with the Donegal goal
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 05:09:19 PM
Neil Gallagher wiping Armagh out this half so far.
Post by: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 05:09:24 PM
The amount of thrown ball going unpunished has been ridiculous this summer but Donegal taking the mick with it today.
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:13:11 PM
Tutu award.
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 05:13:15 PM
Lovely move by Arron Kernan.
Post by: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 05:15:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:13:11 PM
Tutu award.

?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2014, 05:17:34 PM
Tight Game but as usual with any Donegal game, i not be rushing back to watch the replay (Sorry on TV)
Post by: Gaffer on August 09, 2014, 05:20:10 PM
You didn't rush to this game.
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:21:19 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 05:15:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:13:11 PM
Tutu award.

?

Any player going down obviously diving, or holding their head in agony when they were hit elsewhere, shall have to complete the rest of the match wearing a tutu. Congress vote on it next year.
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 05:22:30 PM
The Crossmaglen lads are class acts.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 09, 2014, 05:23:08 PM
Sweet jeebus
Post by: lawnseed on August 09, 2014, 05:23:47 PM
Bastard mcevoy hes destroying us like isaid he would
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 05:24:39 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 09, 2014, 05:23:08 PM
Sweet jeebus

The Titanic went down faster and more gracefully than Paul Durcan. My windows rattled
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 05:27:26 PM
The Kernans are something else today.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 09, 2014, 05:32:41 PM
Seriously quick hand passing there
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2014, 05:33:17 PM
McGee been a dirty bollix again
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2014, 05:34:34 PM
that free was actually a good tackle
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 09, 2014, 05:34:50 PM
Shite.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2014, 05:35:01 PM
Black card me arse
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:37:57 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 09, 2014, 05:33:17 PM

Impossible to like some of those Donegal players.

Hard luck Armagh.
Post by: lawnseed on August 09, 2014, 05:38:09 PM
Armagh need a keeper :( :( :(
Post by: gallsman on August 09, 2014, 05:38:55 PM
Armagh lads being true to form and landing a final box after the whistle. Lucky it was over or he could have got a fair few in return.
Post by: CD on August 09, 2014, 05:41:11 PM
My favourite game of the Championship so far. Intense, hard, fast, no easy scores. A very courageous effort from Armagh - Michael Murphy is some animal! What a player.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 09, 2014, 05:42:58 PM
Any team that kick their restarts down the throats of players for 50/50 ball is on a hiding to nothing.not only that but slow restarts are a killer too.armagh did well this year and they have plenty to build on.donegal did the usual.they need beaten for the sake of the national game.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 05:43:19 PM
Very brave effort by Armagh deserved at least a draw from that game. Murphy a true leader few players like him.
Post by: J OGorman on August 09, 2014, 05:43:35 PM
Gaago is a pile of utter sh1te. A waste of 15 euro.  A dodgy stream could not have been worse. To insult. .It jumped from 60 mins straight to 70! Stressometer through the roof

Donegal have successfully added the tutu to their repertoire.  Just when you couldn't dislike them enough.

A half decent keeper n armagh were in an all Ireland semi. Great year for them though. 

Post by: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 05:46:00 PM
I'd have liked to see Armagh win only for Grimley behaving like he was outside a chipper at 3am on a Sunday morning.
Post by: lawnseed on August 09, 2014, 05:47:26 PM
Armaghs biggest liability is the goalkeeper. He booted away at kickouts to midfield in the monaghan games and against meath even though we were getting cleaned out in that department. The midfielders probably got the blame. He needs to vary his kickouts more and start catching the ball instead of two fisting it away. His shot stopping is ok its what he does with the ball that poor. A simple tap out to a back and then get a quick backpass will enable him to launch a huge kick from his hands way past midfield if he doesnt have the strenght to kick from the ground. Donegal wont mark up on the kickouts knowing they will win midfield easy. If he starts giving the ball away every kickout we'll be flatout defending donegal runners racing through on goal and end up giving frees away or black cards. Someone needs to spot for mcavoy or show for short kicks or we are beat
I said and its exactly what happened.. Come back tierney!! This display shows a serious shortfall in the armagh management.. The failure to spot a serious flaw in your setup and address it during a game
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:54:14 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2014, 05:43:19 PM
Very brave effort by Armagh deserved at least a draw from that game. Murphy a true leader few players like him.

It would have been sweet if Kernan landed that free given what McBearty did.

Murphy was class but I thought Gallagher ran the show for long periods of the 2nd half.
Post by: stew on August 09, 2014, 05:57:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 09, 2014, 05:38:55 PM
Armagh lads being true to form and landing a final box after the whistle. Lucky it was over or he could have got a fair few in return.

Gutted again but at the same time proud and optimistic about the future, that said today we gave up a lot of ball through bad decision making pertaining to diagonal balls, why we pass to a team-mate with an opponent draping over them is beyond me, also we gifted them two tap overs because we argued with that idiot in the middle!

Clarke and Dyas were very poor, I thought Grimley should have given Clarke the freedom to roam and if Toner was fit to play for five minutes surely he could have been brought on sooner!

We had no answer for Murphy but once again the Kernans showed their class and Vernon did well at the back even though he gave up a crucial free.

Priority number one now must now be promotion to division 2 followed by a run at Sam next year, we have proven we can hang with Champions and I am as proud of this campaign as an Armagh man can be, we won't be cinderella next season, we are legitimate contenders for Sam and we are Armagh!
Post by: lawnseed on August 09, 2014, 06:01:48 PM
All we had to do was get primary posession and run at donegal. They'd have pulled us down every time and tony and arron kernan would have put us through. Managers too slow to spot problems. But sweet jeezas the fukn goalkeeper beats all. Im gutted because the best team didnt win and I expected more from geezer.. Bye bye grimey but keiran needs to waken up.. I still like mcalinden
Post by: stew on August 09, 2014, 06:04:00 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 09, 2014, 05:47:26 PM
I said and its exactly what happened.. Come back tierney!! This display shows a serious shortfall in the armagh management.. The failure to spot a serious flaw in your setup and address it during a game

In fairness couldnt kick snow off a rope length wise so he had no choice!

We need a keeper that much is obvious and surely we have better in the county, I hope so for our sakes, that punch was brutal but in fairness he got away with it!
Post by: Whitnail on August 09, 2014, 06:04:29 PM
Armagh unlucky today and should have forced a replay at the very least especially at the final kick. On that display we are the weakest team left in the quarter finals .
Having said that we have only faced ulster teams this championship and these games are always scrappy as fcuk.

We have 3 weeks to improve and buy some kicking boots .
It has to be stressed though Armagh were courages and had a chance to close that game out if they'd had the legs.
Obviously,  as the Armagh lads had already predicted before the game ,their kickouts were shocking.
Post by: stew on August 09, 2014, 06:06:18 PM
Quote from: Whitnail on August 09, 2014, 06:04:29 PM
Armagh unlucky today and should have forced a replay at the very least especially at the final kick. On that display we are the weakest team left in the quarter finals .
Having said that we have only faced ulster teams this championship and these games are always scrappy as fcuk.

We have 3 weeks to improve and buy some kicking boots .
It has to be stressed though Armagh were courages and had a chance to close that game out if they'd had the legs.
Obviously,  as the Armagh lads had already predicted before the game ,their kickouts were shocking.

They, more than anything, cost us the game!

Thanks for the memories Paul. :)
Post by: Armamike on August 09, 2014, 06:14:23 PM
Disappointing to lose the game by a point.  But a lot to take away from this for next year. There's a lot of stuff to admire in that team.  But the old flaws that have been there came back to bite - poor enough shooting at times and the goalie's kickouts. If we can do something about the kickouts we will move to the next level and be genuine contenders imo.   
Post by: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 06:21:12 PM
Quote from: stew on August 09, 2014, 05:57:46 PM

Gutted again but at the same time proud and optimistic about the future, that said today we gave up a lot of ball through bad decision making pertaining to diagonal balls, why we pass to a team-mate with an opponent draping over them is beyond me, also we gifted them two tap overs because we argued with that idiot in the middle!

Clarke and Dyas were very poor, I thought Grimley should have given Clarke the freedom to roam and if Toner was fit to play for five minutes surely he could have been brought on sooner!

We had no answer for Murphy but once again the Kernans showed their class and Vernon did well at the back even though he gave up a crucial free.

Priority number one now must now be promotion to division 2 followed by a run at Sam next year, we have proven we can hang with Champions and I am as proud of this campaign as an Armagh man can be, we won't be cinderella next season, we are legitimate contenders for Sam and we are Armagh!

Bit early to be on the batter
Post by: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 06:26:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 09, 2014, 05:37:57 PM

Hard luck Armagh.

First time since 1977 I wanted Armagh to win.
Post by: stew on August 09, 2014, 06:26:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 09, 2014, 06:21:12 PM

Bit early to be on the batter

It is and I'm not!
Post by: balladmaker on August 09, 2014, 06:29:14 PM
Donegal by a point but I witnessed an imminent change of guard in Ulster today, a Donegal team who are only heading one direction, and a youthful Armagh team on the way up.  With a better keeper & kickouts, Armagh would have won today.
Post by: J70 on August 09, 2014, 06:31:10 PM
Jaysus, we made hard work of that, and could have had no complaints if Armagh had snatched the draw at the end due to an idiotic move by McBrearty. Utterly dominant for 25 minutes of the second half, we nearly kicked it away through awful shooting (and shot selection). That said, we were rather fortunate in the first half when a goal against the run of play, and the move of Murphy into full forward, completely changed the game. Armagh, likewise, missed some good chances when they were on top then, and indeed, over the whole game, seemed to find it easier to get scores from play. We've a lot of work to do for the next day. That performance, at least shooting-wise, will no trouble Dublin much. MCFadden in particular needs to find some form, while McBrearty needs to settle down with the hollywood attempts.

Some of the players, on both sides, let themselves down today with their behaviour, but I suppose there was always going to be some aggro when neither side wanted to be seen not standing up to the other (Eamon McGee spoiled an otherwise excellent performance with a cheap shot on a youing Armagh forward at the end. Armagh no.10 didn't cover himself in glory either).
Post by: J70 on August 09, 2014, 06:32:10 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 06:26:26 PM

Hard luck Armagh.

Right, because it was only one team with players acting the bollocks today.  ::)
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2014, 06:34:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 09, 2014, 06:31:10 PM
Jaysus, we made hard work of that, and could have had no complaints if Armagh had snatched the draw at the end due to an idiotic move by McBrearty. Utterly dominant for 25 minutes of the second half, we nearly kicked it away through awful shooting (and shot selection). That said, we were rather fortunate in the first half when a goal against the run of play, and the move of Murphy into full forward, completely changed the game. Armagh, likewise, missed some good chances when they were on top then, and indeed, over the whole game, seemed to find it easier to get scores from play. We've a lot of work to do for the next day. That performance, at least shooting-wise, will no trouble Dublin much. MCFadden in particular needs to find some form, while McBrearty needs to settle down with the hollywood attempts.

Some of the players, on both sides, let themselves down today with their behaviour, but I suppose there was always going to be some aggro when neither side wanted to be seen not standing up to the other (Eamon McGee spoiled an otherwise excellent performance with a cheap shot on a youing Armagh forward at the end. Armagh no.10 didn't cover himself in glory either).

Good balanced post.
Post by: Oraisteach on August 09, 2014, 06:36:07 PM
Dagnabbit, c**k-fightin' mother-pluckin'  heart-breakin' ..... So feckin' close to the semis.  Gonna write tons, but just read Stew's post and he pretty much sums up my thinking.  Kernans were terrific.  Fair play to that Donegal defense.  Our own was pretty good too, for the most part. Can't abide yielding so many high balls in the middle.  Murphy--what a presence.  Sad as hell, but so pleased with our c'ship run.  We'll done, Donegal.  Go get Sam.
Post by: Armamike on August 09, 2014, 06:46:25 PM

Good post. Couldn't disagree with any of that.
Post by: J70 on August 09, 2014, 08:00:00 PM
Very impressed with how we kept our cool after Armagh edged ahead again with a few minutes left and worked two excellent scores from Murphy and McBrearty.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 09, 2014, 08:28:29 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 09, 2014, 06:46:25 PM

Good post. Couldn't disagree with any of that.

Common denominator to a lot of this stuff is Armagh wouldn't you say?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 09, 2014, 09:40:23 PM
Great Character by Donegal to pull out a win in the end! Pre McGuinness days they would have choked in that situation. Have to say they still look rusty compared to 2012 and McFadden has been out of form for two years now. Unless there is another plan(s), I cannot see them staying with Dublin like 2011 unless they revert right back to original extremist sort of setup and play of 2011.

Post by: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 09:42:12 PM

Clarke
and Dyas were very poor, I thought Grimley should have given Clarke the freedom to roam and if Toner was fit to play for five minutes surely he could have been brought on sooner!

To be honest, and I've thought this for some time, much of Clarke's reputation is based on his performances at club level against weaker opposition.
I don't think he's in the top ten inside forwards.
He'd still get a game for us though.
Post by: armaghniac on August 09, 2014, 09:56:23 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 09, 2014, 09:42:12 PM
To be honest, and I've thought this for some time, much of Clarke's reputation is based on his performances at club level against weaker opposition.
I don't think he's in the top ten inside forwards.
He'd still get a game for us though.

He hadn't a great day today, but Donegal don't leave much room and Dublin's success against Donegal will come from numbers rather than one player being brilliant. One of the challenges for Armagh is to make good use of him.

That said lesser teams, club teams and the likes of Meath or Leitrim can allow him express himself
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/classy-jamie-clarke-guides-armagh-to-victory-over-meath-in-navan-1.1709939
Post by: Syferus on August 09, 2014, 10:03:03 PM
He's no Senan Kilbride to be fair.
Post by: larryin89 on August 09, 2014, 10:16:32 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 09, 2014, 06:32:10 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 09, 2014, 06:26:26 PM

Hard luck Armagh.

Right, because it was only one team with players acting the bollocks today.  ::)

No but he acts the tr**p regularly , seem to remember him stamping on a lads chest last year too.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 09, 2014, 11:48:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 06, 2014, 09:42:57 PM

Pathetic attempt!  ;D

Care to revise your earlier analysis of my post? Worst player on the pitch today from either county.

Congrats on the deserved win against that dirty orange shower btw, looking forward to seeing Dublin trash another Ulster team.
Post by: Throw ball on August 09, 2014, 11:58:22 PM
Arrived home from the match disappointed but pleased with Armagh's run this year. Read the points here and most seem fair and balanced. Did not see what McGee is being slated for but know as an Armagh man that Forker can be a bit hot headed. The incident at half time with Lacey was similar to one he was involved in with Tony Kernan in Armagh championship last year. So it was probably nothing personal with Lacey and he would need to learn this time.

I then read a few other websites and started to get annoyed. Firstly there was the amount of comments of how bad a match it was and why would anyone want to watch Ulster football. If they don't enjoy it why are they watching it - just to have something to complain about. Some of the crap issued against Armagh would feed the believe that we have in the North that we are not very well liked by some in the 26 counties!

Then I listened to RTE. It seems they, and others, want Aaron Findon to face a long ban for pushing the Donegal doctor. Now there is no doubt that he shouldn't have done it. But we have to remember that this is a young fella of twenty and we all did stupid things at that age. We can also ask what was the doctor doing there anyway. I did not see anyone lying injured on the field. But that is besides the point. The referee dealt with the matter. We were told that nothing was done about the Meath v Dublin melee because the referee dealt with it. RTE can push as much as they like but if the CCCC pursue it Armagh will rightly ask questions. Besides is a push worse than a punch or a bite?
Post by: BennyCake on August 10, 2014, 12:10:07 AM
We could've taken Donegal today. Heartbreaking to lose by the minimum.

Couldn't understand why McEvoy kept hitting his kickouts at Neil Gallgher. No harm to him but we need a most reassured keeper in there.
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2014, 12:11:41 AM
I thought Armagh were brilliant today.

Unfortunately they're a bit of a Wexford '08 and they'll flounder in division 3 next year.
Post by: ONeill on August 10, 2014, 12:15:24 AM
I remember division three alright. That's real Sunday morning football.
Post by: BennyCake on August 10, 2014, 12:17:12 AM
Just a note about the traffic. It was feckin' brutal. An hour and a half to get out of the college car park and onto the M1. Surely there's got to be something better than having to do this every time. I vowed tonight I'd never drive into Drumcondra gain on match day.

Any tips, anyone?
Post by: Syferus on August 10, 2014, 12:18:03 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 10, 2014, 12:11:41 AM

Unfortunately they're a bit of a Wexford '08 and they'll flounder in division 3 next year.

If only you knew what D3 is like. Hopefully you'll sample that experience some day. The Armagh team minus the Cross ladeens will walk it if they don't have mass retirements.

Quote from: ONeill on August 10, 2014, 12:15:24 AM

Whoops, hit the wrong button. Armagh will cut through enough of the D3 teams to be promoted without much fuss. If Tipp could sort their defence they might be Armagh's sternest test and they're only after dragging themselves out of D4. Once a team gets caught in D3 for more than a season it becomes a cancer to good play, though.

Who is likely to retire, if anyone?
Post by: muppet on August 10, 2014, 12:19:27 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 10, 2014, 12:17:12 AM
Just a note about the traffic. It was feckin' brutal. An hour and a half to get out of the college car park and onto the M1. Surely there's got to be something better than having to do this every time. I vowed tonight I'd never drive into Drumcondra gain on match day.

Any tips, anyone?

If you are willing to walk 30 mins there a loads of places to park.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 12:28:22 AM
Just in the door & had plenty of time on the way home to try & figure the game out. It was a real contest between two committed teams & as a game was head and shoulders above the second game, not Dublin's fault. The intensity & edgy stuff that went on is what I want to see in championship football.

Now, while I am glad to get the result there were a few things there today which would really have me fearful ahead of Dublin.

1. The kicking at goal was woeful at times.
2. McFadden's form is not where it needs to be. He improved in the second half but his first half was dire.
3. McBrearty, after a great Ulster final, went straight back to headless chicken mode with some very poor choices.

To beat Dublin we will need to be at 100% in every department and we are a long way short of that at the moment.
As for Armagh, it is great to see them back at the top table. I do think the kickouts killed them but 2014 will go down as a good year & surely promotion beckons.

Lastly, to the haters & begrudgers, get a life lads.
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 12:38:21 AM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 09, 2014, 11:48:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 06, 2014, 09:42:57 PM

Pathetic attempt!  ;D

Care to revise your earlier analysis of my post? Worst player on the pitch today from either county.

Congrats on the deserved win against that dirty orange shower btw, looking forward to seeing Dublin trash another Ulster team.

No, I don't.

He was easily the best forward in the country in 2012. If he had been anywhere close to that form today, we'd have won by five or six points. That he is currently desperately out of former doesn't change how good he was in 2012.
Post by: bennydorano on August 10, 2014, 12:40:49 AM
A lot of pissed off supporters on our bus home tonight, but as they calmed down I think they all agreed the best team won. It was there for the taking tho & Donegal probably wouldn't have kicked up too much of a fuss we'd won.

In the cold light of day McKeever & Caolan Rafferty probably would have got us over the line, but hypotheticals are bollix. We certainly have a brighter future than looked possible when we got relegated a few months back.

The need for a Goalie is obvious to all, Andy Mallon might call it a day, but with Morgan & Murray there we have the makings of a superb defence, Vernon looks like our FB for a while. Hb line looks ok and Mf isn't brutal. We need a few forwards tho.

The system should be persevered with, hope PG doesn't still think we can implement the total football philosophy, it was a waste of 2 years, We're knaves!
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 12:44:13 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on August 09, 2014, 11:58:22 PM
Arrived home from the match disappointed but pleased with Armagh's run this year. Read the points here and most seem fair and balanced. Did not see what McGee is being slated for but know as an Armagh man that Forker can be a bit hot headed. The incident at half time with Lacey was similar to one he was involved in with Tony Kernan in Armagh championship last year. So it was probably nothing personal with Lacey and he would need to learn this time.

I then read a few other websites and started to get annoyed. Firstly there was the amount of comments of how bad a match it was and why would anyone want to watch Ulster football. If they don't enjoy it why are they watching it - just to have something to complain about. Some of the crap issued against Armagh would feed the believe that we have in the North that we are not very well liked by some in the 26 counties!

Then I listened to RTE. It seems they, and others, want Aaron Findon to face a long ban for pushing the Donegal doctor. Now there is no doubt that he shouldn't have done it. But we have to remember that this is a young fella of twenty and we all did stupid things at that age. We can also ask what was the doctor doing there anyway. I did not see anyone lying injured on the field. But that is besides the point. The referee dealt with the matter. We were told that nothing was done about the Meath v Dublin melee because the referee dealt with it. RTE can push as much as they like but if the CCCC pursue it Armagh will rightly ask questions. Besides is a push worse than a punch or a bite?

McGee pushed a young Armagh forward backwards over the advertising hoardings after the ball had gone out of play.  Pointless act.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 12:48:00 AM
Quote from: J70 on August 10, 2014, 12:44:13 AM

McGee pushed a young Armagh forward backwards over the advertising hoardings after the ball had gone out of play.  Pointless act.

It was a proper championship game with a whiff of sulphur to it, but only a whiff. Neither side could be seen to back down & no damage was done.
I read that the yellow card count was 6-0, can that be true?
Post by: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 01:14:53 AM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 12:48:00 AM
Quote from: J70 on August 10, 2014, 12:44:13 AM

It was a proper championship game with a whiff of sulphur to it, but only a whiff. Neither side could be seen to back down & no damage was done.
I read that the yellow card count was 6-0, can that be true?

Seems that card count was right. Thought it a bit lob sided on what I saw. Clarke also played a lot further out the field and got his usual booking from McQuiilan. He always seems to find it hard to get frees from this particular referee.

Talking of Clarke I read someone saying he is over rated. I think most Armagh people will agree with me when I say he is too honest compared to many other corner forwards. He cannot 'buy' a free. Even when he tried in the Sigerson final his attempt was laughable. This has not been his best year. Hopefully that is a good sign for Armagh.
Post by: Armamike on August 10, 2014, 01:15:22 AM

Hope that's as accurate as the rest of your predictions Nostradamus.
Post by: you take er! on August 10, 2014, 01:33:55 AM

Some people can't even see when they are mugging themselves off. That sort of comment will be taken seriously by nobody my Red Hand friend. ;D
Post by: bigpaul on August 10, 2014, 01:40:37 AM
It would be harder for yourself to forget that!!!!!
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 02:24:01 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 09, 2014, 05:42:58 PM
Any team that kick their restarts down the throats of players for 50/50 ball is on a hiding to nothing.not only that but slow restarts are a killer too.armagh did well this year and they have plenty to build on.donegal did the usual.they need beaten for the sake of the national game.

What a load of hyperbolic bollocks.

1. Two teams dropped men back behind the ball, both today and other days. Not just Donegal.

2. How is the "sake of the national game" dependent on whether or not Donegal win or lose? The sky didn't fall when we won a well-deserved All Ireland two years ago. Our success didn't hamper Dublin's progress into what will likely end up as one of the (if not the) greatest teams the game has ever seen. Similarly, our potential lack of success is not going to change the fact that a lot of teams see the mass defence/swift break model as their best route to success. We were hammered by Mayo last year. Did that stop numerous other teams from dropping men back this year? Armagh who "did well this year" among them.

3. Why is it only Donegal who attract the ire of so many? That Monaghan's hammering of us last year was completed by a team with an identical gameplan seems not to have mattered to anyone. Only Donegal seem to take the abuse. Is it because we actually made it work and won an All Ireland? Would no one give a shit if we tried defensive tactics and failed dismally like, say, Cavan this year or Fermanagh in past years?

Post by: Zulu on August 10, 2014, 03:15:35 AM
It's because Donegal are far worse than pretty much anyone else. Most opponents have to play defensive football against Donegal due to the way they set up which leads to some god awful games. I would normally love to see Donegal win an All Ireland but as long as you play like you under Jimmy I hope you don't. I'll be supporting Dublin in 3 weeks time and I think most neutral supporters will also.
Post by: Syferus on August 10, 2014, 03:56:04 AM
Quote from: Zulu on August 10, 2014, 03:15:35 AM
It's because Donegal are far worse than pretty much anyone else. Most opponents have to play defensive football against Donegal due to the way they set up which leads to some god awful games. I would normally love to see Donegal win an All Ireland but as long as you play like you under Jimmy I hope you don't. I'll be supporting Dublin in 3 weeks time and I think most neutral supporters will also.

I don't think you're quite grasping what Anyone But Dublin means, Zulu.
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 04:13:40 AM

No one HAS to set up defensively. If Donegal keep all their men back, why would their opponents need to do likewise?  Why not just leave your men forward and let your backs join the attack in support if they have no one to mark? Are you suggesting Dublin will opt for blanket defense in the semi?

And sure haven't we been hearing for the past few weeks how stupid it is for teams to go man for man against Dublin?
Post by: GJL on August 10, 2014, 08:52:28 AM
Best game of the Championship so far this year. I was glued to it.
Post by: general_lee on August 10, 2014, 08:59:05 AM
Well done Donegal, probably the better team but only just. Go on and win it now!

With a few tweaks Armagh should come back stronger next year. Harsh to single out McEvoy, if he came improve his kickouts he's a good enough shot stopper to keep his place.

Thought Joe McQuillan was a bit one-sided but other than that a gallant performance and plenty of positives to take away from that game. So hard to lose by a point but it will hopefully bring this team on.
Post by: CD on August 10, 2014, 09:40:26 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 10, 2014, 12:19:27 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 10, 2014, 12:17:12 AM

Any tips, anyone?

If you are willing to walk 30 mins there a loads of places to park.

Take a right anywhere along Drumcondra on the way into the city and park around St Mobhi road. If there's no roadside parking Na Fianna always have match parking at their grounds. It's about a 25 minute walk to Croker along Botanic Avenue coming out at Fagans. Going home, stay on Mobhi road (parallel to Drumcondra road) through Ballymun (quickly) and straight onto the motorway. You'll be in Drogheda before others will be out of the College!

Alternatively, take the port tunnel. Go right on exit towards North Circular road. There's a primary school there in the shadow of the Davin stand with loads of parking and it's really handy to get away from  - through the tunnel again.
Post by: seanaglis on August 10, 2014, 10:00:24 AM
It looked like magennis had told the donegal players the armagh keeper was useless and to test him out. Mcfadden took a very speculative long range shot at one stage, the donegal goal ws a joke, he should never have bben beaten at his near post, the dodgy punch and the fact that the donegal players pushed up on armagh kick outs and didnt let any be kicked short. Hes a liability and donegal knew it
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 10:02:06 AM

Donegal had close on 30 attempts on goal yesterday, so all that nonsense about "defensive" & "negative"  is shown to be what it is, nonsense.
The problem for some seems to be that Donegal's defence is good at what it does & so the inevitable conclusion is that whatever other traditional values are disappearing from the GAA, begrudgery is alive and well.
Post by: T Fearon on August 10, 2014, 10:07:14 AM
Benny.Park in Clerys, (bit of a walk I know) and exit via the Port Tunnel onto M1.No queues or traffic jams
Post by: grounded on August 10, 2014, 10:13:58 AM
What has happened to Mc Fadden this year? He seems a different player from 2012/13, total form dip. I suppose eventually players do emerge from this sort of slump but to do so against the Dubs is a real ask.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 10, 2014, 10:29:52 AM
The difference between the 2 teams was that Donegal have got the extra few years working on the system and have perfected what they need to do and have got it down to a tee.  Armagh have developed a system and are only 3-4 months into it. 

There were negatives to our game and they have been highlighted before so I won't go into them.  On the positives I thought that over the year CV has turned into a fine FB.  I have had my doubts about him because of his tendency to try to do things he isn't capable of when he is further out the field.  He is playing the game very very simply now and is excelling.  Having Andy Mallon beside him has been a great help as he is experienced and clever. 

The MF is very young for a MF pairing and it showed yesterday the way Gallagher bullied them around for the kickouts but they are both very good footballers and as they develop the strength that develops through playing the game  (a different strength to gym strength) then they will be a very useful MF. 

People are saying need a few forwards but the reality is that yesterday is not a game to judge the forwards on.  Any forward in Ireland would struggle against 12 defenders.  What is maybe needed is a proper target man like Murphy. 

I don't comment negatively on refs generally but yesterday was shameful, absolutely shameful.  McQuillan is a disgrace and his bias was clear.  A yellow card count of 6-0 sums it uo.  McGee really should have had a card for pushing Grugan over the hoardings,  McQuillans linesman Hickey booked Aaron Cunningham against Garrycastle for doing the same thing.  The thing about the McGee incident was that he had 2 attempts at it so it was a clear yellow. 

Finally,  I watched this game in Donegal yesterday and as I would expect there was a very clear and fervent DOnegal support.  We weren't the only Armagh ones there but we were in the minority.  I unfortunately was beside the most detestable gobshite I have ever come across.  There is only 1 thing worse than a bad loser and that is a bad winner.  Donegal deserved the win and had the outstanding performer in Murphy but that does not give idiots the right to abuse other fans in front of children.
Post by: Dont Matter on August 10, 2014, 10:37:13 AM
A fine game of football yesterday, a real battle. I wouldn't worry about fellas criticising the style of play, it's all within the rules. It's disapointing to see people say they'll support Dubl$n against Donegal as Dubl$n are the team that are opposing the very ethos of the GAA ie. going professional.
Armagh have really improved from the league and will only get better with McGeeney taking over. It takes time to get the whole system working smoothly. Players can't learn it overnight. I look forward to seeing what Jimmy has planned for the next day.
Post by: orangeman on August 10, 2014, 11:03:24 AM
Armagh were brilliant yesterday. I thought the ref was sore on Armagh. Clarke couldn't get a free not for the first time when Mc Quillan was refereeing him but that's a different story. Twice he brought the ball forward for Donegal to make the frees simple tap overs.

Armagh have shown some resilience and character this summer after a poor league campaign. Armagh gave Donegal all they wanted particularly down one wing where Forker got on a lot of ball and could have caused more damage.

Armagh defensively have come on leaps and bounds and up front are doing ok. Donegal supposedly have the blanket off to a fine art according to a lot of people and it has taken 3/4 years to get it to this stage. Armagh have effectively done it in 3/4 months which is testimony to the players and management.

But in the end fair play to Donegal for not panicking when lesser teams might have done so, hitting 3 vital scores, Mac Niallais, Murphy and Mc Brearty when there little margin for error.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 10, 2014, 11:09:51 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 10, 2014, 10:37:13 AMIt's disapointing to see people say they'll support Dubl$n against Donegal as Dubl$n are the team that are opposing the very ethos of the GAA ie. going professional.

Yes, none of Dublin players have day jobs and are able to get by entirely on their huge GAA salaries! You are a bitter nugget living on cloud cuckoo land.

I agree with tyroneman's comment. Armagh have done nothing particularly impressive this year.  This is a false dawn for them, just like Cavan last year.
Post by: Rossfan on August 10, 2014, 11:32:52 AM
They will not!!!
I enjoyed the Donegal/Armagh game yesterday - a tough tense down to the wire winner takes all championship game. Plenty of good football in it too despite the second half deluge.
I gave up on the second game at half time as I knew the familiar script for the second half.
Can't see the 2014 Donegal team beating 2014 Dublin but for the sake of competitiveness and for keeping sport unpredictable I will be hoping they do.
Post by: anfheardubh on August 10, 2014, 12:05:12 PM
Armagh were fantastic in the first 20 minutes and should have built up a bigger lead, in saying that i reckon the game last week had Armagh up to speed

Donegal lorded the 20 minutes after half time,  kicked 15 wides and still won which was impressive and bodes well

Dublin look to be crowned already but we will give them a rattle!!!

Well done to Armagh, have a lot of character and have mimicked Donegals style and will go well next year, however a lot of the team is 31, 32 and they still need to rebuild

Donegal still a work in progress but need to sharpen up for the Dubs
Post by: T Fearon on August 10, 2014, 12:31:28 PM
No disrespect to Donegal,they just about dererved the win yesterday,but I can't see them getting within 10 points of Dublin.Struggling to beat Monaghan and a relevantly inexperienced Armagh team missing its captain doesn't augur well
Post by: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 12:36:55 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on August 10, 2014, 12:05:12 PM
Armagh were fantastic in the first 20 minutes and should have built up a bigger lead, in saying that i reckon the game last week had Armagh up to speed

Donegal lorded the 20 minutes after half time,  kicked 15 wides and still won which was impressive and bodes well

Well done to Armagh, have a lot of character and have mimicked Donegals style and will go well next year, however a lot of the team is 31, 32 and they still need to rebuild

Of the outfield players for Armagh yesterday only Moriarity, Mallon and Kernan are the wrong side of thirty. Moriarity is no longer a regular but he and the other two, as well as McKeever have a couple of years left in them. I do not think the experience this year can be under estimated in bringing others on.

On the matter of the referee. I have said before on other threads that I am not his biggest fan. At Croker yesterday we could hear the toss between Clarke and Murphy. After it McQuillan say 'good luck lads, good luck Michael'. I assume I am going deaf and he said good luck Jamie as well?
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 12:45:54 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 10, 2014, 12:31:28 PM
No disrespect to Donegal,they just about dererved the win yesterday,but I can't see them getting within 10 points of Dublin.Struggling to beat Monaghan and a relevantly inexperienced Armagh team missing its captain doesn't augur well

We did NOT struggle to beat Monaghan.

But yeah, we are unlikely to beat Dublin.
Post by: anfheardubh on August 10, 2014, 12:46:15 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 12:36:55 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on August 10, 2014, 12:05:12 PM

Of the outfield players for Armagh yesterday only Moriarity, Mallon and Kernan are the wrong side of thirty. Moriarity is no longer a regular but he and the other two, as well as McKeever have a couple of years left in them. I do not think the experience this year can be under estimated in bringing others on.

On the matter of the referee. I have said before on other threads that I am not his biggest fan. At Croker yesterday we could hear the toss between Clarke and Murphy. After it McQuillan say 'good luck lads, good luck Michael'. I assume I am going deaf and he said good luck Jamie as well?

Well good luck throw ball, great improvement from last year when Cavan beat you  and hope we have more tussles in the years to come
Post by: anfheardubh on August 10, 2014, 12:48:01 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 10, 2014, 12:45:54 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 10, 2014, 12:31:28 PM

We did NOT struggle to beat Monaghan.

But yeah, we are unlikely to beat Dublin.

We beat Monaghan easily with the handbrake on FEARON , your not exactly a great reader of a game

Post by: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 01:33:40 PM
Well done to Donegal, I felt Armagh deserved at least a draw but if you don't take your opportunities then you have no one to blame but yourself. That said I felt we were raped by McQuillan and his bias towards Donegal. Six yellows to nil suggests Armagh were massive aggressors in the physicality stakes when the reality was there was no difference in the sides. Donegal might play a defensive brand of football but you have to cut your cloth based on the players you have at your disposal and McGuinness is getting the last drop out of that side. I honestly believe they have a good chance if beating Dublin though and the destination of Sam will be decided on 31 August. They could well take defensive football to previously unseen levels in an attempt to beat Dublin because if they stand toe toe they will get destroyed. I'm really looking forward to what should be a great occasion.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 10, 2014, 01:36:21 PM
That team will not beat Dublin, they give Dublin the same start Armagh did yesterday the game will be over before halftime
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 01:42:11 PM
You can't just judge McQuillan on the yellow card disparity. You have to look at the incidents where the cards were awarded. And apart from missing Eamon McGee on Grugan at the end, were there other incidents where Donegal men should have got yellow?
Post by: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 01:48:23 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 10, 2014, 01:42:11 PM
You can't just judge McQuillan on the yellow card disparity. You have to look at the incidents where the cards were awarded. And apart from missing Eamon McGee on Grugan at the end, were there other incidents where Donegal men should have got yellow?

No,  the issue Id have is not whether Donegal should have got more cards but how Armagh merited 6. I'd like to watch the game on TV to judge better on some of the Armagh yellow cards but watching the game live I thought a few of them were extremely harsh and that on the balance of play Donegal got more of the marginal decisions in their favour than Armagh.
Post by: CD on August 10, 2014, 02:14:22 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 01:48:23 PM

No,  the issue Id have is not whether Donegal should have got more cards but how Armagh merited 6. I'd like to watch the game on TV to judge better on some of the Armagh yellow cards but watching the game live I thought a few of them were extremely harsh and that on the balance of play Donegal got more of the marginal decisions in their favour than Armagh.

As a complete neutral watching the game I definitely didn't get any sense that McQuillan was being in any way biased towards one team or the other. I thought one or two of the Armagh yellow cards were fairly harsh in the context of the game and similar challenges went unpunished. But we don't see everything that is going on or hear everything that is being said at pitch level. McQuillan may have warned a player - eg - 'next one's a yellow' etc. Refs often do this. Given the intensity of the game, how hard (and fair) the contact was and the speed of the encounter I thought he did a really good job of refereeing the most enjoyable game I've watched this year - and possibly one of the hardest to referee.
Post by: bennydorano on August 10, 2014, 02:23:14 PM
I think Donegal will give Dublin all they want. Ideal way to progress onto the next step, a so/so performance & a real test against us and Dublin waltzing through at their leisure. Any betting available yet? I'll definitely back them with the handicap & wouldn't be surprised if they win.
Post by: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 02:26:15 PM
Quote from: CD on August 10, 2014, 02:14:22 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 01:48:23 PM

As a complete neutral watching the game I definitely didn't get any sense that McQuillan was being in any way biased towards one team or the other. I thought one or two of the Armagh yellow cards were fairly harsh in the context of the game and similar challenges went unpunished. But we don't see everything that is going on or hear everything that is being said at pitch level. McQuillan may have warned a player - eg - 'next one's a yellow' etc. Refs often do this. Given the intensity of the game, how hard (and fair) the contact was and the speed of the encounter I thought he did a really good job of refereeing the most enjoyable game I've watched this year - and possibly one of the hardest to referee.

Watched the game again there. Thought the yellows for Vernon and Campbell were very harsh. Toner also got booked for his first tackle when the reply showed he tackled the ball. The way the Donegal player went down though I can see why he gave it. As for other cards for Donegal the only one I would query is the free at the end when Campbell was taken down running through. The camera did not pick up why Clarke got booked. Then again it wouldn't be a Cross or Armagh match with McQuillan refereeing if he did not book Clarke.
Post by: shawshank on August 10, 2014, 02:31:29 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 01:33:40 PM
Well done to Donegal, I felt Armagh deserved at least a draw but if you don't take your opportunities then you have no one to blame but yourself. That said I felt we were raped by McQuillan and his bias towards Donegal. Six yellows to nil suggests Armagh were massive aggressors in the physicality stakes when the reality was there was no difference in the sides. Donegal might play a defensive brand of football but you have to cut your cloth based on the players you have at your disposal and McGuinness is getting the last drop out of that side. I honestly believe they have a good chance if beating Dublin though and the destination of Sam will be decided on 31 August. They could well take defensive football to previously unseen levels in an attempt to beat Dublin because if they stand toe toe they will get destroyed. I'm really looking forward to what should be a great occasion.

They got yellows for poor tackling technique on a few  occasions. The guy who threw the doc unto the ground was clear cut. Donegals tackling was more controlled. As a neutral, your glasses are rose tinted, but sure whats the point in supporting a team if u don't see the world from that view.
Post by: Throw ball on August 10, 2014, 02:36:37 PM
Quote from: shawshank on August 10, 2014, 02:31:29 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 01:33:40 PM

They got yellows for poor tackling technique on a few  occasions. The guy who threw the doc unto the ground was clear cut. Donegals tackling was more controlled. As a neutral, your glasses are rose tinted, but sure whats the point in supporting a team if u don't see the world from that view.

I like your last point! Also it is good to see someone say most of the yellows were from poor tackling. That is something I would hope would improve next year. Despite what people may think Armagh have very few dirty players but the rest will play physically and not back down in a scrap.
Post by: maddog on August 10, 2014, 02:39:47 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 10, 2014, 02:23:14 PM
I think Donegal will give Dublin all they want. Ideal way to progress onto the next step, a so/so performance & a real test against us and Dublin waltzing through at their leisure. Any betting available yet? I'll definitely back them with the handicap & wouldn't be surprised if they win.

100% agree with that Benny. While gutted to lose I think Donegal with their experience and their system would be the best equipped team in the country to take on Dublin and possibly turn them over. On the match itself the ref was a pure bollix, not our reason for losing that was down to missed chances especially early in first half. If we could have built a lead then Donegal would have had to come out and attack which would have suited us. Anyway well done Armagh team and management for giving us a platform to go on from and restoring some of the faith. Well done Donegal, congrats and go on and lift her.
Post by: Orior on August 10, 2014, 02:46:34 PM
Sky reported that Amagh got six yellows and Donegal got none.  If true, it shows a clear bias by the ref.
Post by: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 03:04:10 PM

I agree, Donegal are 7/1 which to me is ridiculous in a 2 horse race between the last 2 AI champions. Dublin deserve to be favourites but I fancy McGuinness to concoct a masterplan and emerge victorious. The bad blood from bite gate should also add a bit of extra spice to the game. For me this is the match of the year.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 03:06:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 10, 2014, 02:46:34 PM
Sky reported that Amagh got six yellows and Donegal got none.  If true, it shows a clear bias by the ref.

The simple fact that the count was 6-0 does not show clear bias by the referee.

I was at the game, in poor seats & have yet to see a replay, but 6-0 would indicate to me either a need to stop Donegal players running through, poor technique or Donegal cuteness were the causes..

I suspect that a combination of all three was more to blame for the count rather than any bias.
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2014, 03:35:54 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 03:04:10 PM

I agree, Donegal are 7/1 which to me is ridiculous in a 2 horse race between the last 2 AI champions. Dublin deserve to be favourites but I fancy McGuinness to concoct a masterplan and emerge victorious. The bad blood from bite gate should also add a bit of extra spice to the game. For me this is the match of the year.

Dublin -7 evens.

Bet of the year.
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 03:45:28 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 10, 2014, 03:04:10 PM

The problem with coming up with a "masterplan" is that it assumes that Dublin are somewhat limited in how they can approach things or are short of options when it comes to solving any problems Donegal might throw at them. They don't seem to be either. We might keep it tight for a half or 50 minutes, but sooner or later you would have to fancy them to break through, given their sheers number of attacking options and their athleticism/skill, and put a bit of daylight between the teams. Then Donegal will have to come out a bit more and Dublin can really pick them off.
Post by: T Fearon on August 10, 2014, 03:47:06 PM
Agreed Hardy.I foolishly included Monaghan +9 yesterday with Armagh +4.Bet died after 25 minutes of Dublin game.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 10, 2014, 04:04:20 PM
Tomas o se @tomas5ky  ·  11h
Talk all you like about defensive stuff but that was some game. Armagh were brilliant. Donegal big men stood up

Most neutrals like O'Se would agree yesterdays game was a good watch. When Donegal won the All Ireland two years ago they played a good balance between defence and attack their games against Cork,Kerry,Mayo were all good viewing for any neutrals watching.

Post by: dublin7 on August 10, 2014, 04:32:11 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 10, 2014, 04:04:20 PM
Talk all you like about defensive stuff but that was some game. Armagh were brilliant. Donegal big men stood up

Most neutrals like O'Se would agree yesterdays game was a good watch. When Donegal won the All Ireland two years ago they played a good balance between defence and attack their games against Cork,Kerry,Mayo were all good viewing for any neutrals watching.

2nd half was good to watch as it was close, but the first half & especially the first 20 minutes was hard to watch. Like looking at 2 rugby teams. Everybody back behind the ball and then try handpass it up the field. At least Mayo v Kerry will have 2 teams who try to play football. Donegal are a limited side who rely on Michael Murphy to get them out of trouble.  Instead of playing to their abilities they drag teams down to their level with turgid negative football & that's why almost all neutrals want them to get beat.   I think McGuinness will be only truly satisfied with his side's performance when he wins a game by 1 or 2 points to nil.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 10, 2014, 04:44:11 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 10, 2014, 04:32:11 PM

2nd half was good to watch as it was close, but the first half & especially the first 20 minutes was hard to watch. Like looking at 2 rugby teams. Everybody back behind the ball and then try handpass it up the field. At least Mayo v Kerry will have 2 teams who try to play football. Donegal are a limited side who rely on Michael Murphy to get them out of trouble.  Instead of playing to their abilities they drag teams down to their level with turgid negative football & that's why almost all neutrals want them to get beat.   I think McGuinness will be only truly satisfied with his side's performance when he wins a game by 1 or 2 points to nil.

I know facts are a bugger, but how can any team which has almost 30 attempts at scoring be classed as negative?

As to the statement that nearly "all" neutrals want them beaten, it always amuses me to see fellas speaking for the whole country even when nothing at all backs up their ridiculous statements.

Begrudgery, plain & simple.
Post by: armaghniac on August 10, 2014, 05:14:38 PM
Watching the hurling today, I suspect some of the rough and tumble would have been treated differently by the ref (or the media) yesterday, to say nothing of a trip with the hurl when the player was through, which didn't even merit a yellow but would have been a black card in football.
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 05:15:56 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 10, 2014, 04:32:11 PM

Yeah, 2012 was really low scoring and turgid. There was no good football played that year against Derry, Down, Kerry, Cork or Mayo. And heaven forbid a team would rely on their best players to give them that edge.  :o
Post by: Oraisteach on August 10, 2014, 05:50:21 PM
I don't get this wringing about Donegal.  The object of the game is to win, so any tactic within the rules that accomplishes that aim is perfectly ok.  Tactics have changed, or maybe it's fairer to say there are tactics, or at least a wider array of them.  Dublin play their style, Donegal theirs.  And I'm not at all sure that Zulu's claim is right that neutrals will be cheering for Dublin. David will always be favored over a huge and we'll-funded Goliath.  So, come on, Donegal.
Post by: J70 on August 10, 2014, 06:26:06 PM
Just watching bits of the game there - on the Armagh goal, Neil McGee was (accidentally) clipped/tripped by Brian Mallon and fell, allowing Mallon the space to receive the ball and run in along the endline before laying it across the square. Was wondering at the time how the hell Mallon found such space!
Post by: Whitnail on August 10, 2014, 06:54:59 PM
Fair amount of wides yesterday. even more than against Derry ,Antrim and it's kinda been a feature this year.It's worrying cause at the end of the day it's what decides matches.

At one point big neil Gallagher went for a pot shot from way out which was surreal enough cause he rarley shoots anymore. What was even more surreal was just how far wide it was ..remember thinking what the fcuk was that, then the camera switches to an angry McGuiness trowing a water bottle and clearly shouting "What the fcuk was that?"
Thompson, McFadden bad wides, I dont remember McHugh or McCloone even having a shot. Can't be dependent on McNiallis, McBrearty and Murphy to shoot scores the next day .. thats not gonna work. For me thats the big worry in 3 weeks.

The thing about McFadden is that you wonder will he get any space, the thing is , he might against Dublin but he's. probably likley to miss as much as he gets now.Jim brought him out of retirement and call me delusional but I still think there's one last performance in him.
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2014, 10:59:04 AM
Ive watched this game for the 3rd time and last time.. All it does is put my blood pessure up. Donegal were winning midfield hands down and young durkin is going short with his kickouts. Donegal played 30mins of the first half. Without scoring from play. Armagh well on top..

Ps jamie wont survive under geezer.. He doesnt do muscel power.. So I see a problem
Post by: Harold Disgracey on August 11, 2014, 01:15:30 PM
A slightly disappointing finish to what has been an unexpectedly good championship run, I don't think too many people foresaw such a run. There is definitely potential in this team, hopefully some of the older players can be persuaded to stay on another year to help the younger guys develop further. The goalkeeping problem has been a chronic one and should have been dealt with a long time ago.

I didn't actually make it to the game, I got as far as the roundabout in Ardee where a Donegal supporter crashed into the back of my car, no doubt some of you were delayed as a result. Thankfully the only damage was done to the cars.

I was talking to a member of staff at Portadown railway station this morning and he told me that Armagh fans getting off the train on Saturday evening were attacked by a group of Linfield supporters and that a few of them, mostly pensioners required hospital treatment. Scum
Post by: Throw ball on August 11, 2014, 01:19:17 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on August 11, 2014, 01:15:30 PM
A slightly disappointing finish to what has been an unexpectedly good championship run, I don't think too many people foresaw such a run. There is definitely potential in this team, hopefully some of the older players can be persuaded to stay on another year to help the younger guys develop further. The goalkeeping problem has been a chronic one and should have been dealt with a long time ago.

I didn't actually make it to the game, I got as far as the roundabout in Ardee where a Donegal supporter crashed into the back of my car, no doubt some of you were delayed as a result. Thankfully the only damage was done to the cars.

I was talking to a member of staff at Portadown railway station this morning and he told me that Armagh fans getting off the train on Saturday evening were attacked by a group of Linfield supporters and that a few of them, mostly pensioners required hospital treatment. Scum

There last point has been mentioned on Armagh forum by a number of people. Surprised it did not make news.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 11, 2014, 02:48:30 PM
Thats good, because thats where you'll be in two years.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 11, 2014, 02:52:36 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 10, 2014, 05:14:38 PM
Watching the hurling today, I suspect some of the rough and tumble would have been treated differently by the ref (or the media) yesterday, to say nothing of a trip with the hurl when the player was through, which didn't even merit a yellow but would have been a black card in football.
Limerick, like Donegal on Saturday found getting frees easier. McGrath was brutal for Killkenny, McQuillan not quite as bad but some glaring inconsistency in both games when it came to men surrounding the man in possession.
Post by: our_fella on August 11, 2014, 05:26:46 PM
Did McLoone get his oscar on Sat evening? Embarrassing would be an understatement
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 11, 2014, 06:30:55 PM
Quote from: our_fella on August 11, 2014, 05:26:46 PM
Did McLoone get his oscar on Sat evening? Embarrassing would be an understatement
What are you talking about man?

It was a brutal, unprovoked & savage attack that has no part in our beautiful game.

We are hopeful of him getting out of hospital this evening but the mental scars will take longer to heal.
Post by: illdecide on August 12, 2014, 12:30:31 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on August 11, 2014, 01:19:17 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on August 11, 2014, 01:15:30 PM

There last point has been mentioned on Armagh forum by a number of people. Surprised it did not make news.

It would have been the Headlines had it been the other way about...