Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 05:40:01 PM

Title: 32 shot dead on US college campus at Virginia Tech
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 05:40:01 PM
Holy shit

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20070416/ap_on_re_us/virginia_tech_shooting
Title: Re: 21 shot dead on US college campus - Virginia Tech
Post by: Square Ball on April 16, 2007, 05:46:37 PM
Listened to the police chief, he has put a "Ball Park" figure of 20 on it, the BBC is stating 22 at least including the single gunman
Post by: ExiledGael on April 16, 2007, 05:59:43 PM
Students on the news saying they've been evacuated twice in the last week because of severe bomb threats! This nut was apparently looking for his girlfriend according to American news and has run around for a substantial period of time, two hours they're saying, in the college with an 'ungodly' ammount of ammo! They also had a gunman on campus last year!!
That country is f**king mad
But theres probably been more people killed in Baghdad this morning
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 16, 2007, 06:00:25 PM
Another school tragedy very sad. When are the US going to make it harder for young people to get guns.

Post by: blasmere on April 16, 2007, 06:20:40 PM
I know it's ingrained in their mad culture, but they should ban guns!!

It's helped somewhat in the uk.
Post by: Square Ball on April 16, 2007, 06:22:47 PM
No chance of banning guns, the constitution gives them the right "The right to bear arms"
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 16, 2007, 06:37:15 PM
Isnt the right to bare arms in their constitution though? Can that be changed?Although i doubt the necessary support would be there in any instance.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 16, 2007, 06:41:16 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 16, 2007, 06:37:15 PM
Isnt the right to bare arms in their constitution though?
Can't they just wear t-shirts then??

Just heard there were probably at least 2 shooters.
Title: Re: 32 shot dead on US college campus - Virginia Tech
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 06:54:58 PM
noe 32 according to Fox
Post by: Gold on April 16, 2007, 07:03:34 PM
that country is crazy

stuff like that never happened in J'town !!
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 07:11:30 PM
Just as many guns in Canada, if not more. You never hear about any of this crazy shit going on up there. The USA are full of crazies.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on April 16, 2007, 07:42:45 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 06:54:58 PM
noe 32 according to Fox
Have they blamed the terrorists, Michael Moore or Democrats yet?
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 07:47:41 PM
Police say there was two shootings at opposite ends of the campus, but they do not think they are related. Jesus Christ.... come on!  :-\
Post by: J70 on April 16, 2007, 07:49:22 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 07:47:41 PM
Police say there was two shootings at opposite ends of the campus, but they do not think they are related. Jesus Christ.... come on!  :-\

Were they both mass shootings, or did one guy kill one and the other 31?
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 07:50:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 16, 2007, 07:49:22 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 07:47:41 PM

Were they both mass shootings, or did one guy kill one and the other 31?

Didn't say
Post by: dublinfella on April 16, 2007, 07:51:31 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 16, 2007, 06:22:47 PM
No chance of banning guns, the constitution gives them the right "The right to bear arms"

".... in a well regultated militia". The US Supreme Court ruled that as the US Govt has the right to conscrpit, the entire nation can be considered a militia.

Mentalists.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 07:58:12 PM
I've heard that the shooting in the halls of residence was by a guy who shot the new boyfriend of his recent ex.

Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 08:01:31 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 07:58:12 PM
I've heard that the shooting in the halls of residence was by a guy who shot the new boyfriend of his recent ex.

Apparently he was running about the halls for two hours prior to the shooting... with a loaded gun. No-one stopped him!
Post by: J70 on April 16, 2007, 08:05:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 08:01:31 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 07:58:12 PM

Apparently he was running about the halls for two hours prior to the shooting... with a loaded gun. No-one stopped him!

Which is the argument that gun rights people will throw back: if someone else had been carrying, the guy might have been stopped a lot sooner.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 16, 2007, 08:17:17 PM
The person who done this must have been some asshole really gone in the head.
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 08:23:25 PM
The shooter's dead, so it can't be him.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 08:40:03 PM
here ya go
Title: Re: 32 shot dead on US college campus - Virginia Tech - thread locked due to Syd
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on April 17, 2007, 05:22:54 PM
Syd - Your initial post and all replies to it have been deleted. From Munich posts to Racism. Nice. Keep it up and you'll be banned.
Title: Re: 32 shot dead on US college campus at Virginia Tech
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 17, 2007, 05:53:03 PM

(http://i.a.cnn.net/cnn/2007/US/04/17/vtech.shooting/story.vt9.tues.jpg)

BLACKSBURG, Va. - The gunman suspected of carrying out the Virginia Tech massacre that left 33 people dead was identified Tuesday as a English major whose creative writing was so disturbing that he was referred to the school's counseling service.

News reports also said that he may have been taking medication for depression, that he was becoming increasingly violent and erratic, and that he left a note in his dorm in which he railed against "rich kids," "debauchery" and "deceitful charlatans" on campus.

Cho Seung-Hui, a 23-year-old senior, arrived in the United States as boy from South Korea in 1992 and was raised in suburban Washington, D.C., officials said. He was living on campus in a different dorm from the one where Monday's bloodbath began.

Police and university officials offered no clues as to exactly what set him off on the deadliest shooting rampage in modern U.S. history.

"He was a loner, and we're having difficulty finding information about him," school spokesman Larry Hincker said.

Professor Carolyn Rude, chairwoman of the university's English department, said she did not personally know the gunman. But she said she spoke with Lucinda Roy, the department's director of creative writing, who had Cho in one of her classes and described him as "troubled."

"There was some concern about him," Rude said. "Sometimes, in creative writing, people reveal things and you never know if it's creative or if they're describing things, if they're imagining things or just how real it might be. But we're all alert to not ignore things like this."

She said Cho was referred to the counseling service, but she said she did not know when, or what the outcome was. Rude refused to release any of his writings or his grades, citing privacy laws.

The Chicago Tribune reported on its Web site that he left a note in his dorm room that included a rambling list of grievances. Citing identified sources, the Tribune said he had recently shown troubling signs, including setting a fire in a dorm room and stalking some women.

Investigators believe Cho at some point had been taking medication for depression, the newspaper reported.
Title: Re: 32 shot dead on US college campus - Virginia Tech - thread locked due to Syd
Post by: ziggysego on April 17, 2007, 05:55:53 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on April 17, 2007, 05:22:54 PM
Syd - Your initial post and all replies to it have been deleted. From Munich posts to Racism. Nice. Keep it up and you'll be banned.

Good man admin.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 17, 2007, 07:12:31 PM

Vlad the Impaler seems to like to mention Munich alot to.....Vlad the Impaler aka Syd the Sailor ???
Post by: J70 on April 17, 2007, 07:23:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 17, 2007, 07:12:31 PM

Vlad the Impaler seems to like to mention Munich alot to.....Vlad the Impaler aka Syd the Sailor ???

Outstanding detective work there Laoislad! ;D :P
Post by: muppet on April 17, 2007, 07:54:14 PM
 Watching the Beeb they reported a gun lobby representative as saying 'if all the students had guns this wouldn't have happened'.

Surely that kind of talk should earn him an extended holiday in Guantanamo.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 17, 2007, 08:04:54 PM
QuoteWatching the Beeb they reported a gun lobby representative as saying 'if all the students had guns this wouldn't have happened'.
I don't understand why someone didn't overpower him and take the gun off him.
Post by: blast05 on April 17, 2007, 08:07:06 PM
QuoteI don't understand why someone didn't overpower him and take the gun off him.

I'd say the reason why might be something to do with him having a gun  ??? ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 17, 2007, 08:16:42 PM
Right blast so if your in a room with 30 people and ONE person comes in with gun, everyone stands back lets him shoot? He had to reload at some stage to. And another thing! Where were the police? Where they not there investigating the first shooting?
Post by: J70 on April 17, 2007, 08:21:15 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 17, 2007, 07:54:14 PM
Watching the Beeb they reported a gun lobby representative as saying 'if all the students had guns this wouldn't have happened'.

Surely that kind of talk should earn him an extended holiday in Guantanamo.

That is the standard response of the gun lobby - if someone else in the place had been armed, that person could have shot the killer far sooner. Another is that making guns illegal ensures that only the criminals will have guns. Given that guns are already so common in the US, I can see the logic and I can understand why some would want to own one for protection. However, I'm not paranoid enough yet where I would need to have a concealed handgun permit to make me feel safe!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 17, 2007, 08:38:58 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 17, 2007, 07:23:04 PM

Well my middle name is Sherlock :D
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 17, 2007, 10:51:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 17, 2007, 08:38:58 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 17, 2007, 07:23:04 PM

Well my middle name is Sherlock :D

I could think of a few others.......
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 17, 2007, 10:52:54 PM

If you say its so it must be......
Post by: blast05 on April 17, 2007, 11:31:39 PM
QuoteRight blast so if your in a room with 30 people and ONE person comes in with gun, everyone stands back lets him shoot?

OK, i was a bit flippant with my last reply.

Facts according to the BBC website: "Victims were found in at least four classrooms as well as a stairwell." ........ so it doesn't appear to be a case of one big group of people who sat watching others getting shot.

To be in the situation, the initial human instinct would i am sure be one of shock and it would take some brief moments to realise what is going on. Second instinct (again, just my opinion) would be to assess whether you or others are in danger - if you're life is in grave danger then some people would be brave enough to try and overpower him while most people would either freeze or be traumatised.

And in this case, there appear to be a few cases of people being brave enough to try and do something.
BBC website again: "We know that there were a number of heroic events that took place within minutes of this tragedy unfolding."
Post by: dublinfella on April 18, 2007, 12:28:08 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 17, 2007, 08:04:54 PM
QuoteWatching the Beeb they reported a gun lobby representative as saying 'if all the students had guns this wouldn't have happened'.

sure if only all the papes in the 6 had your balls when the UFF came a calling, we would have our land back by now....  ::)

idiot
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 18, 2007, 02:01:02 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 16, 2007, 06:37:15 PM
Isnt the right to bare arms in their constitution though? Can that be changed?Although i doubt the necessary support would be there in any instance.

It is in the Bill of Rights and to change it would make swimming to the moon look easy. The Right to Bear Arms was put into the Bill of Rights if the need to form a miltia every came up. The US used the militia to defeat Britan and keep the country a seperate entity. At the time it was an excellent decision of the forefathers to include this when weapons consisted of rifles, pistols and cannons. A group of militia men with rifles could take on the Red Coats and fight as equals. Time has changed the weapons and materials now used in war. A goup of militia with rifles and handguns obviously wouldn't be effective against a tank, stinger missle or claymore mine.

Now in order to get rid of handguns in the US you would have to fight the NRA, Republican Party and the Religous Right. Unfortunately these are the same morons who voted for Dubba and are afraid of their own shadows. Not going to happen in this lifetime.

My prayers and thoughts go out to the families who have lost their children before their time.

The world is full of nuts and they will always cause havoc it can happen anywhere at any given time.

Post by: muppet on April 18, 2007, 03:22:05 AM
 Drinking Harp, good post. I apologise for not posting condolences or more particularly not acknowledging the loss that will be suffered by the relatives and friends.

QuoteMy prayers and thoughts go out to the families who have lost their children before their time.

Hear hear.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 18, 2007, 11:47:49 AM
I heard 1 of the victims was a Holocaust survivor who blocked the door so his students could get out another exit. Poor bastard!

I know its all good blaming gun availability but the lad was cracked.

He was sick of the rich kids and the debuachery according to the papers.

feel so sorry for the girl's family with her picture all over the place just for breaking it off with a psycho.
Post by: Hardy on April 18, 2007, 12:28:50 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 18, 2007, 11:47:49 AM
I know its all good blaming gun availability but the lad was cracked.

Isn't this the whole point of gun control - that lads who are cracked shouldn't be able to walk into a shop and buy a gun?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 18, 2007, 12:36:51 PM
even over here you are not given a mental evaluation to get a shotgun licence!

sure that lad would have got a gun anywhere in the world. he had no convictions, was a decent student who worked hard.

he seemed A1 but obviously wasn't.
Post by: stew on April 18, 2007, 04:12:00 PM
My kids school received a warning about a month ago in that some sc**bag threatened to go Columbine on the 20th of this month, security will be beefed and the eldest girl was worried sick about going on the anniversary of that disaster and this was before the virginia shootings. I was telling her it was going to be ok because the security would be there but after the Va Tech disaster I am going to keep them both home, the scumbags win, one kid not going to school that day gives them what they wanted but we are taking no chances.  This place is mental.
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 04:17:45 PM
what happened in virginia was tragic
but at least the yanks have the right idea of having arms to defend with and keep occupiers out
no decommissioning there
Post by: ziggysego on April 18, 2007, 04:19:19 PM
TUG, f**k off.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 04:34:28 PM
Quote from: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 04:17:45 PM
what happened in virginia was tragic
but at least the yanks have the right idea of having arms to defend with and keep occupiers out
no decommissioning there

Yeah TUG f**k off,You'd keep Supermacs supplied with chips for the year the amount you have on your shoulder
Post by: heganboy on April 18, 2007, 04:39:17 PM
well said ziggy
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 18, 2007, 04:55:22 PM
The sad thing about this is that there is probably some other twisted piece of shit out there now planning an even bigger total than Columbine and Viginia, there always seems to be copy-cat attacks, all to get their fleeting moment of infamy.

I have a young nephew in playschool in NY and its a worry for anyone faced rearing a child or a teenager in the US.

And we should not be fooled into a sense of security these things could happen here too with the level of gun crime rising all the time.

With the level of violence on TV and games nowadays, and the general thugish attitude of many teens, this kind of trouble is not far away from our shores.
Post by: stew on April 18, 2007, 06:21:54 PM
You are right Mike, there are always elements out there trying to outdo the biggest disasters just to gain notoriety.

I have two teenage daughters over here and it is far more scary watching them grow up here than it ever was in the north and only for the fact that they are in high school now we would probably pull the plug.

The problem here is the gun culture is so ingrained that even if the government mandated that all guns be handed in there are so many people who would rebel against that it would be rendered an impotent law because there would not be enough jail space to house the millions of dissenters and the killers and gangsters would never hand them in anyway.

Kids are fast losing their social skills in my opinion, they would rather send emails and text messages than interact with their peers and friends and this hurts them and society I the long term as they dont have the skills to interact with people that preceeding generations had.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 18, 2007, 06:43:44 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on April 18, 2007, 12:28:08 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 17, 2007, 08:04:54 PM

sure if only all the papes in the 6 had your balls when the UFF came a calling, we would have our land back by now....  ::)

idiot
:-\  What are you talking about?  I'm nearly sure no uff man has my land but I'll have a look around the garden now in a few minutes.  ::)

QuoteI heard 1 of the victims was a Holocaust survivor who blocked the door so his students could get out another exit. Poor bastard!
I read that in the paper today, a hero.

Quotefeel so sorry for the girl's family with her picture all over the place just for breaking it off with a psycho.
Read today too that her friends are saying she didn't even know him, she was seeing someone else and he was a right odd ball.
Post by: heganboy on April 18, 2007, 07:58:50 PM
QuoteI have two teenage daughters over here and it is far more scary watching them grow up here than it ever was in the north and only for the fact that they are in high school now we would probably pull the plug.

Stew where abouts are you? I'm leaving here before the kids get in school...
Post by: ONeill on April 18, 2007, 11:13:34 PM
Jaysus the narrative to this has fairly deepened tonight. Video tapes posted between shootings now.
Post by: heganboy on April 19, 2007, 12:03:40 AM
There is a huge effort underway by the gun lobby in the US to make this into an argument against gun control. The argument goes that because virginia tech is an anolmaly in the state (i.e. Students can bring guns to school but must leave them with security) that if other students had guns they could have shot him before he killed more people. In virginia there is no wait period on procuring a gun, from hunting rifle to semi automatic assault rifles...
Title: Multi media manifestio left with NBC
Post by: stephenite on April 19, 2007, 12:05:17 AM
Crazy crazy stuff

From smh.com.au

US television network NBC says it was sent video, photos, and a rambling and disturbing multi-page statement from Virginia Tech mass murderer Cho Seung-Hui after he killed his first two victims.

NBC broadcast a still photo of the shooter, facing a camera, wearing black fingerless gloves and aiming two handguns slightly outward.

The 23-year-old English major student is staring at the camera with a fierce expression, wearing a backwards black baseball cap and the same black and tan hunting gear described by students who survived the shooting.

"You had a hundred billion chances and ways to avoid today," Cho said in an excerpt shown on NBC Nightly News.

He added: "The decision was yours. Now you have blood on your hands that will never wash off."

Earlier, the MSNBC website reported: "Sometime after he killed two people in a dormitory, but before he slaughtered 30 more in a classroom building Monday morning, Cho Seung-Hui sent NBC News a rambling communication and videos about his grievances."

"Network officials turned the material over to the FBI and said they would not immediately disclose its contents pending the agency's review beyond characterising the material as "disturbing".

NBC has since said it will show parts of Cho's video on its Nightly News program.

Brian Williams, anchor and managing editor of NBC's The Daily Nightly described Cho's package of material as a "multimedia manifesto".

"NBC News has indeed received what I would call a multimedia manifesto from the gunman," he said in a posting on The Daily Nightly blog.

"We received it today [Thursday, AEST], and immediately handed it over to Federal law enforcement authorities.

"We are still going over our own copy - it's a lot of material - we are talking with law enforcement, our own standards people - and Pete Williams, our Justice Correspondent, will join me live on the broadcast to go through the material."

The MSNBC website said a more detailed statement would be released by NBC shortly.

At a press conference, Col. Steve Flaherty, superintendent of Virginia State Police, said: "This may be a very new, critical component of this investigation."

He thanked NBC for immediately handing over Cho's package to police

He said the original documents in the package had been given to the FBI, which was currently analysing and evaluating their worth
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 19, 2007, 12:17:40 AM
BLACKSBURG, Va. —  Mass murderer Cho Seung-Hui coldly reached out from the grave Wednesday night in a rambling video rant broadcast by NBC News in which the Virginia Tech gunman blames everyone — including Jesus — for "forcing" him to carry out the bloody slaughter that left 32 students and faculty dead.

Cho apparently took time out Monday morning — possibly after killing two students in a campus dorm room — so he could pose for self portraits and put together a multi-media manifesto that he then took to the post office and mailed to NBC News in New York City.

The package contained an assortment of video, photo and written documents put together by Cho, the FBI said. In addition to the video, NBC News said the package contained 29 photos he apparently took of himself, 11 of which show him posing with handguns. There also was an 1,800-word written document.

In the video broadcast Wednesday night, the mad gunman calmly, but in a voice filled with anger, said, "When the time came I did it, I had to."

"You forced me into a corner and gave me only one option," he said. "The decision was yours."

And, in a closeup shot, Cho utters the chilling words: "Jesus loves crucifying me."

"I could have fled, I will no longer run," Cho said.

(Story continues below) - it wouldnt be the yanks without an ad break, thats far too long to concentrate

And then, in a possible indication that he made the recording after the dorm killings and two hours before the murders of 30 others in a campus classroom building, this confession:

"The time came and I did it... I had to do what I did..."

One of the still photos in the package shows Cho angrily posing in a black shirt, tan ammo vest and a black baseball cap turned backward -- with an automatic gun in each outstretched black-gloved hand.

FBI sources told FOX News that a preliminary examination of the package shows the documents contain wording that is very similar to the notes that were reported to have been found in Cho's dorm room.

FBI officials said they were concerned that NBC was not the only news organization to receive a package from Cho, but they had no evidence at the time that he sent anything to anyone else.

State police, meanwhile, revealed that in December 2005, Cho was declared "mentally ill and in need of hospitalization" and posed "an imminent danger," according to a temporary detention order issued by a Virginia district court.

In November and December 2005, two women complained to campus police that they had received calls and computer messages from Cho, but they considered the messages "annoying," not threatening, and neither pressed charges, Virginia Tech Police Chief Wendell Flinchum said.

Neither woman was among the victims in the massacre, police said.

Around the same time, one of Cho's professors informally shared some concerns about the young man's writings, but no official report was filed, Flinchum said.

The chief said he was not aware of any other contact between Cho and police after those episodes.

Court documents show that on Dec. 13, 2005, a Montgomery County District Court judge ordered Cho undergo mental evaluation at Carilion St. Albans Hospital.

The judge issued an order temporary detention order on the grounds that Cho was "mentally ill and in need of hospitalization, and presents an imminent danger to self or others as mental illness, or is seriously mentally ill as to be substantially unable to care for self, and is incapable of volunteering or unwilling to volunteer for treatment."

The order, obtained by FOX News, also includes findings from a Dec. 14 physician's examination that, briefly, shows a patient who is "flat and mood is depressed. He denies suicidal intentions. He does not acknowledge symptoms of a thought disorder. His insight and judgment and are normal."

A box on the order is checked as follows: "Presents an imminent danger to himself as a result of mental illness." The very next box, which is not checked, reads: "Presents an imminent danger to others as a result of mental illness."

The next day, according to court records, a special justice approved outpatient treatment for Cho.

Court papers indicate Cho was free to leave as of Dec. 14. Virginia Tech spokesman Larry Hincker said Cho had been continually enrolled at Tech and never took a leave of absence.

A spokesman for Carilion St. Albans would not comment Wednesday.

After the first stalking incident, police referred Cho to the university's disciplinary system, Flinchum said.

But Ed Spencer, assistant vice president of student affairs, would not comment on any disciplinary proceedings, saying federal law protects students' medical privacy even after death. In any case, Cho remained enrolled up until his death.

The disclosures about Cho's past run-ins with authorities added to the rapidly growing list of warning signs that appeared well before 23-year-old student Cho went on his rampage. Among other things, Cho's twisted, violence-filled writings and sullen, vacant-eyed demeanor had disturbed professors and students so much that he was removed from one English class and was repeatedly urged to get counseling.

Campus police on Wednesday applied for search warrants for Cho's medical records from the campus health center and an off-campus facility. "It is reasonable to believe that the medical records may provide evidence of motive, intent and designs," investigators said in court papers.

Police searched Cho's dorm room and recovered, among other items, two computers, books, notebooks, a digital camera, and a chain and combination lock, according to documents. The front doors of Norris Hall, the classroom building where most of the victims died, had been chained shut from the inside during the rampage.

Fourteen people remained hospitalized Wednesday.

Cho's roommates and professors portrayed him as a creepy, solitary figure who rarely even made eye contact with his roommates, much less speak to them. They said they were never told he was suicidal.

His bizarre behavior became even less predictable in recent weeks, roommate Karan Grewal said. Grewal had pulled an all-nighter on homework the day of the shootings and saw Cho at around 5 a.m., although Cho didn't look him in the eye.

"Nothing seemed out of the ordinary, it seemed he had just woken up," Grewal told FOX News.

Grewal said Cho was "totally alone" every day, and never spoke to family or friends on the phone or via the Internet. He did spend a lot of time on the computer writing, however, Grewal said. But he would never talk to his roommates.

"He never showed anger on his face. Whenever I tried to talk to him, he would just sit there and ignore me, as if I was invisible," Grewal said. "He just sat there staring through space most of the time ... he showed no emotion ever."

Grewal said he and his other suitemates didn't even know Cho's major, or that he had a sister. They thought he was a business major and was surprised to find out after the shooting he was studying English, since they assumed his English wasn't very good, and that was why he never spoke.

Grewal said he would have made more of an effort to get to know Cho had he known of his social and mental problems.

"I tried to be friends with him but after multiple attempts and he showed no interest, I thought he just wanted to be lonely," Grewal said. "If I was told before he was depressed or suicidal, I definitely would have kept an eye open ... I definitely would have tried harder to be his friend or know a little bit better."

Authorities said he left a rambling note raging against women, religion and rich kids. News reports said that Cho, a South Korean immigrant who came to the U.S. as a boy and whose parents worked at a dry cleaners, may have been taking medication for depression.

Professors and classmates were alarmed by his class writings — pages filled with twisted, violence-drenched writing.

"It was not bad poetry. It was intimidating," poet Nikki Giovanni, one of his professors, told CNN.

"I know we're talking about a youngster, but troubled youngsters get drunk and jump off buildings," she said. "There was something mean about this boy. It was the meanness — I've taught troubled youngsters and crazy people — it was the meanness that bothered me. It was a really mean streak."

Giovanni said her students were so unnerved by Cho's behavior, including taking pictures of them with his cell phone, that some stopped coming to class and she had security check on her room. She eventually had him taken out of her class, after threatening to quit if he wasn't removed.

Lucinda Roy, a co-director of creative writing at Virginia Tech, said she tutored Cho after that. She said she tried to get him into counseling in late 2005 but he always refused.

"He was so distant and so lonely," she told ABC's "Good Morning America" Wednesday. "It was almost like talking to a hole, as though he wasn't there most of the time. He wore sunglasses and his hat very low so it was hard to see his face."

Roy also said she arranged to use a code word with her assistant to call police if she ever felt threatened by Cho, but she said she never used it.

(http://www.foxnews.com/images/root_images/041807_msnbc_gunman21.jpg)

(http://www.foxnews.com/images/277203/14_66_SeungHui_Cho.jpg)
Post by: J70 on April 19, 2007, 01:10:33 AM
Just saw the video.

Holy f**k! :o :(
Post by: Uladh on April 19, 2007, 11:15:13 AM

Nuts or what

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1pj9i3hgRg
Post by: lurganblue on April 19, 2007, 12:42:16 PM
Quote from: Uladh on April 19, 2007, 11:15:13 AM

Nuts or what

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1pj9i3hgRg

its been took away on youtube.
any other sites it can be accessed on?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 19, 2007, 02:56:06 PM
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1r6o7_virginia-tech-april-16-2007-cho-seu
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 19, 2007, 02:59:33 PM
serious shit
Title: 32 shot dead on US college campus at Virginia Tech
Post by: 5 Sams on April 19, 2007, 03:44:50 PM
Everyone on here has rightly said what a horrific act this was and offered condolences to the families and victimsetc, etc, etc.....but is it not an indication of how sympathetic to all things American we are when there is a 4 page thread on this nutcase and the horrific crime he perpetrated and there is isn't one word about the 170 people killed in equally horrific circumstances in one day in Iraq :-\ :-\

Just thinking out loud ???
Post by: full back on April 19, 2007, 03:50:03 PM
Perhaps it is because deaths in Iraq are such a common occurance in recent times
Post by: downredblack on April 19, 2007, 03:52:20 PM
At this stage people are numb to Iraq and the Yanks and Brits have been playing down the death toll in Iraq since the invasion . If we really new the full extent of the war on "Terror" I dont think we could get our heads around it .
Post by: 5 Sams on April 19, 2007, 03:57:29 PM
QuotePosted by: full back 
Perhaps it is because deaths in Iraq are such a common occurance in recent times

Maybe so but yesterday's occurences were unreal. What brought it home to me was some one on the news at lunchtime saying that it was the equivalent of 10 Omagh bombs all happening at the same time. Thats hard to take in.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 19, 2007, 04:58:40 PM
I see them kooks at the Westboro Baptist Church are organising pickets and rallies at the memorial services for these kids

http://www.godhatesfags.com/fliers/apr2007/20070418_virginia -tech-memorials.pdf
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 19, 2007, 05:32:48 PM
I am with you there sams.  The other day was horrific in both place, with the deathtoll in Iraq one of the highest of the conflict for a single day.  One car bomb took out 110 people. 

To say we have become numb to Iraq is to wash our hands of the blood of thousands Iraqis.  There was a time, before my time I might add, when people bothered their holes to get up and actually make their voice heard about the spin of the Governments.  We, and I include myself in this, have become so sanitised to what happens in the world that we have become dead inside I feel.  We can rightly come on internet discussion boards and criticise what goes on but to do so from our heremetically sealed lives, in our air conditioned offices, while we wile away some time before shutting down our screens on our nice little middle class jobs in our nice little middle class work place, to get into our nice little middle class cars and drive home to our nice little middle class family and live our nice little middle class lives.  We get so offended about the simplest of things while ignoring the carnage that is happening in the world.  We would rather tut tut about how wrong it is for Americans to have access to guns than actually say well fcuk I can do something about that.

I personally am sick of the ambivalence that I and many others have to the state we are in.  If it doesn't sit in our back yard then well, hey it can't hurt me.  But it can hurt you.  It hurts you everytime you put petrol in your car, it hurts you evertime you go to a bank machine and take money out and the bak charges you for it, it hurts you every time you hit the boost on your oil fired central heating, it hurts you every single day and you refuse to see it.  People in Virginia do not want our sympathy, they want their friends and family back.  We cannot give them that.  Those Iraqis who look over the mangled remains of their family in that market place cannot get their loved one back.  We cannot give them that.  What we can do is stand up and say "this is wrong and I want to do something about it" .  Maybe I am just having a bad day at work but it is a happy place in comparison to what goes on elsewhere around the world.
Post by: Square Ball on February 15, 2008, 03:35:31 PM
Just thought I would stick this here as opposed to starting another thread, cant reallly say much more that what was already said on this one anyway.
From The BBC 

A gunman has opened fire on students at a university near Chicago in the United States, killing six people.
The shooting took place at Northern Illinois University, in De Kalb, 65 miles (100km) west of Chicago.

Students ran for cover as a white male armed with two handguns and a shotgun opened fire during a science lecture. He then turned the gun on himself.

Another 15 people were injured in the attack. Police said there was no apparent motive.

I kept thinking: 'Oh God, he's going to shoot me. Oh God, I'm dead. I'm dead. I'm dead'

Two weapons have been recovered and police are searching for a third firearm in Cole Hall near the King Commons, a central gathering place for the 25,000 students on campus.

Five of the victims, four women and a man, were killed in a "brief, rapid-fire assault", university president John Peters said.

A sixth student died later in hospital, the local coroner's office said.

The university said that the gunman was a former graduate student in sociology, but was not currently enrolled.

Earlier reports said 17 victims had been transported to Kishwaukee Community Hospital.

Police say there is no apparent motive for the attack
The shooting comes 10 months after 32 students and staff were shot by a student at Virginia Tech University in one of the worst shootings ever at a US school.

It is also the fourth shooting at a US education establishment within a week.

Last Friday, a woman shot dead two fellow students before killing herself at Louisiana Technical College in Baton Rouge. In Memphis, Tennessee, a 17-year-old is accused of shooting and critically wounding a student on Monday, and a 15-year-old was shot at a junior high school in California on Tuesday.

'A lot of blood'

Students described a panicked rush from the lecture theatre as the black-clad gunman walked onto the stage and opened fire.

"I kept thinking, 'Oh God, he's going to shoot me. Oh God, I'm dead. I'm dead. I'm dead'," Desiree Smith, a student who dropped to the floor near the back of the auditorium, told AP news agency.

"People were crawling on each other, trampling each other," she said. "As I got near the door, I got up and I started running."

A student named Sheila told local radio station WBBM the gunman was quiet as he turned his weapons on the students.

"He just stood on the stage in front of everybody and just started shooting," she said.

"I saw a lot of blood. I have blood all over my clothes."

George Gaynor, a senior geography student, told the student newspaper that the gunman was "a skinny white guy with a stocking cap on".

He described the scene immediately following the incident as terrifying and chaotic.

"Some girl got hit in the eye, a guy got hit in the leg," he said.

Emergency workers were at the scene within minutes

Students warned each other by mobile phone within minutes of the shootings, and the university's website issued alerts, warning of the possibility of a gunman on campus.

"Get to a safe area and take precautions until given the all clear," it warned students.

The site then carried updates confirming the shooting and telling students to stay away or stay in doors. It then said the gunman was "no longer a threat".

Emergency hotlines and counselling are being offered for students and parents.

Mr Peters urged students to remain calm and support each other.

"We've asked them to reach out to each other during this difficult time, and they've done that, and I'm proud of them," he said.

is there much coverage in the states for thoses of you over there?

Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 03:50:25 PM
But, hey. Guns don't kill people. People kill people.  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2008, 03:51:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 03:50:25 PM
But, hey. Guns don't kill people. People kill people.  ::)

Don't give them guns then!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 03:51:54 PM
Exactly ziggy. Exactly. (That line is the NRA's standard defence in cases like this).
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2008, 03:56:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 03:51:54 PM
Exactly ziggy. Exactly. (That line is the NRA's standard defence in cases like this).

Saw Charlton Heston on Bowling for Columbine, what a tool.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 03:57:48 PM
Don't blame him ziggy. He can't help it. The apes fcuked with his mind.
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 03:58:05 PM
Another waste of life. Good souls lost because some lunatic can buy a gun at walmart.

Ill have the siverside roast, some baby potatos and the glock.
Post by: Square Ball on February 15, 2008, 04:37:18 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 03:58:05 PM
Another waste of life. Good souls lost because some lunatic can buy a gun at walmart.

Ill have the siverside roast, some baby potatos and the glock.

Is it that simple Puck?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 04:38:53 PM
It can be Square Ball. It varies from State to state. In Arizona, Walmart sold pistols and game rifles, but there was a 24 hour cooling off period, and I think they did a background check.

HOWEVER you could walk into one of the many, many gun shows and pick up any sort of weapon you liked, and they never bothered their arses checking you out.
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 04:44:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 04:38:53 PM
It can be Square Ball. It varies from State to state. In Arizona, Walmart sold pistols and game rifles, but there was a 24 hour cooling off period, and I think they did a background check.

HOWEVER you could walk into one of the many, many gun shows and pick up any sort of weapon you liked, and they never bothered their arses checking you out.

They run a back ground check alright. However, if you are clean, and over 21, the gun is yours. Throw in angry and suicidal and you have yourself a Virginia Tech massacre, where the receipt for the gun was in the gunmans back pack.
Post by: Square Ball on February 15, 2008, 04:45:54 PM
Is this all because of the Right to bare arms that everyone has access to guns?
Post by: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 04:47:27 PM
Hey man, its constitutional!
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2008, 04:49:04 PM
America was a different place back then. The Constitution is what the NRA use as an argument for red necks having guns.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2008, 04:52:46 PM
Fecking dyslexics writing the constitution was the problem. They only wanted freedom to wear tee-shirts instead of those poxy English long sleeved frilly yokes.
Post by: SammyG on February 15, 2008, 05:43:22 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 15, 2008, 04:45:54 PM

The second amendment says "A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed." . The bit that the gun nuts forget is the first half, the right to bear arms in a 'well regulated militia' (army in todays terms) it doesn't mean buying AK-47's in Walmart.

On the subject of gun nuts, this is an 'interesting' site http://www.ccrkba.org/ (http://www.ccrkba.org/)  ::)
Post by: stew on February 15, 2008, 07:37:05 PM
Quote from: SammyG on February 15, 2008, 05:43:22 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 15, 2008, 04:45:54 PM

The second amendment says "A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed." . The bit that the gun nuts forget is the first half, the right to bear arms in a 'well regulated militia' (army in todays terms) it doesn't mean buying AK-47's in Walmart.

On the subject of gun nuts, this is an 'interesting' site http://www.ccrkba.org/ (http://www.ccrkba.org/)  ::)

The NRA are one of the most powerful institutions in the US of A, they have hundreds of politicians and judges in their pockets and they are the driving force behind American policy on gun control.

Their favourite slogan is 'guns don't kill people, people kill people'. They fail to realize for some strange reason that it takes a person to fire the gun in the first place.

There are far too many guns available to people in America, we have illegal weapons in one State being sold just across the border in another where there is no ban on that particular and the problem is there are far too many loopholes that the NRA and it's hard core members use to it's advantage.

At the superbowl some nutter was sitting in his car surrounded by thousands of Patriot and Giant fans and he had a semi automatic assualt weapon he was about to use which could have wiped out hundreds of people in one broad stroke, thankfully he had a change of heart but was caught when someone read his suicide note.

Guns are a huge part of the American way of life and up unitl now no one had had the balls to stand toe to toe with the NRA and take semi automatic weapons out of the hands of the general population. I can understand people wanting to have a rifle for hunting or even a small calibre pistol for the same thing but for the life of me I fail to understand why someone feels the need to own a semi automatic assault weapon that is designed to kill human beings.

I am a republican through and through but on gun control I disagree with them entirely.
Post by: heganboy on February 15, 2008, 08:20:54 PM
the issue is the language of the second amendment. (the punctuation doesn't help). But the main problem is what constitutes a well regulated militia. the pro-gun lobby interprets this to mean anyone can have a gun as they may at any stage need to form a well regulated militia to argue with the forces that have taken over government.
The anti gun lobby says that this means that well regulated militia means the government run services(i.e. army, navy, police air force etc).

This sentence along with the fact that America is a republic and not a democracy have provided hundreds of years of work and after dinner conversation for constitutional lawyers in the good old U.S of A.

(don't get them started, they won't even buy their round...)

by the way the ccrkba believe that the recent illinois shooting is another example of why thes "gun free zones" don't work

QuoteIllinois lawmakers and anti-gun rights extremists should start explaining right now why they have consistently and systematically resisted progressive, sensible changes in state gun laws that would give people a fighting chance against this kind of outrage, Advocates of gun-free zones across the country should be held accountable for defending these areas of victim disarmament. These are places where violent criminals and crazies know they will face no resistance as they carry out their rampages.

unfortunately nothing in the quote about the crazies who might have been carrying guns to class for "self defense"
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 22, 2009, 10:58:43 PM
http://www.cnn.com/2009/CRIME/01/22/virginia.tech.death/index.html

QuoteKiller decapitates Va. Tech student, police say

(CNN) -- A female graduate student at Virginia Tech was killed Wednesday night when a man she knew attacked her with a knife and decapitated her, a school spokesman said.

Virginia Tech spokesman Mark Owczarski said Thursday that Xin Yang's killing was the first on the campus since April 16, 2007, when a shooter killed 32 people before turning a gun on himself.

Yang, 22, from Beijing, China, was killed at the Au Bon Pain restaurant in the Graduate Life Center at around 7 p.m., school spokesman Larry Hincker said in a written statement.

Campus police took Haiyang Zhu, 25, into custody at the scene. The Ningbo, China, native has been charged with first-degree murder and is being held without bail at a local jail, Hincker said.

Zhu did not say anything to the arresting officers, said campus police Chief Wendell Flinchum.

"There was blood on him," Flinchum said. The young woman and the suspect "were not seen arguing, or anything of that nature," he added, citing witness statements.

Authorities said the two students knew each other. "Based on emergency contact records maintained by the university, it is known that Zhu and Yang knew each other," Hincker said. No other details were provided.

The young woman had only arrived at the university two weeks ago to begin studies in accounting, he said in the statement.

Zhu is a graduate student pursuing a doctorate in agricultural and applied economics. He began studies at Virginia Tech in fall 2008, Hincker said.

"Our hearts go out to the victim and her family," President Charles W. Steger said in a letter to the campus community.

"An act of violence like this one brings back memories of the April 16 tragedy and I have no doubt that many of us feel especially distraught."

Authorities say on April 16, 2007, Seung-Hui Cho killed 32 students and professors before killing himself.