GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Sky Blue on April 16, 2007, 05:12:54 PM

Title: Riot at Tyrone club match
Post by: Sky Blue on April 16, 2007, 05:12:54 PM
The're worse than the annimals  that follow Linfield & Rangers. The two clubs must be expelled from the Association. That's the only thing that will send out the right signal to the rest of these Knackers.

Violence halts club match in Tyrone

16 April 2007

Sunday's Division 1A FL meeting of holders Dromore and Ardboe had to be called off due to a frightening outbreak of violence.

Intercounty referee Michael Hughes was left with no choice but to abandon the match when fighting broke our between players and supporters in the second half.

Concerned O'Neill County chiefs are set to investigate the incidents that led to the embarrassing climax.

Tyrone CCC secretary Aodhan Harkin revealed: "There will be an inquiry, and knowing Michael Hughes, his report was probably in this morning,"

"It doesn't bode well, second game of the season, it's not what anybody wants to see. But these things have to be dealt with.

"I understand it was a free-for-all involving players and supporters."

This follows a worrying trend in club football in Tyrone, where referees have threatened to withdraw their services amid escalating abuse and intimidation.
Title: Re: Riot at Tyrone club match
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 16, 2007, 06:30:45 PM
Would you get a grip of yourself, are you trying to wind the tyronies up or what, I hope you are.
Post by: ExiledGael on April 16, 2007, 06:45:04 PM
You are obviously trying to piss people off here. But it must be said the GAA is a bit of a joke, and that's coming from someone who loves the game more than anything.
On this board today the Derry Tyrone and Armagh threads have all multiple pages concerning quite serious levels of violence.
Matches abandoned, referees assaulted or manhandled, and fans fighting on the pitch with players and on the terraces.
Doesn't look good!! Expect the BBC to jump on this one, if they have a clue it's happening that is given their ignorance of all things Gaelic.
The discipline, referees and the rulebook all need looked at, especially concerning all the county men in bother around the country who will allegedly have their indiscretions covered up
It's going to be a long hot summer
Post by: Sky Blue on April 16, 2007, 09:52:30 PM
Is nobody bothered by this? Pints of Guiness I'm not winding anybody up. This was on Hoganstand.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 16, 2007, 09:53:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 16, 2007, 06:30:45 PM
Would you get a grip of yourself, are you trying to wind the tyronies up or what, I hope you are.

Its been everywhere, trampy behaviour alright.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 09:57:03 PM
Has been discussed in the appropriate thread - the Tyrone Club Football and Hurling thread
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 16, 2007, 09:58:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 09:57:03 PM
Has been discussed in the appropriate thread - the Tyrone Club Football and Hurling thread

Maybe you should lock this thread then Administrator......
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:00:37 PM
Maybe you should keep your racist terms to yourself next time.

It was a thread I started - I can lock it if I wish
Post by: Sky Blue on April 16, 2007, 10:01:33 PM
Typical sweep it under the carpet approach to violence at matches. This should be condemed!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:06:12 PM
Will you condemn this?

QuoteTHE Dublin SHL Divison 1 relegation clash between O'Tooles and Ballyboden St Endas at Pairc Uí Murchú was abandoned.

Referee David Donovan had no option but to abandon the match when, with two minutes remaining, a flare-up involving several players turned nasty.

Craobh Ciarain won the Division 1 title as a result of Naomh Fionnbarra's defeat by Erins Isle. Kilmacud Crokes were demoted.
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 10:06:29 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on April 16, 2007, 10:01:33 PM
Typical sweep it under the carpet approach to violence at matches. This should be condemed!

Any new Tyrone threads are immediately shouted down and told to keep it in the main Tyrone thread. Why should this one be different?
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 16, 2007, 10:07:05 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:00:37 PM
Maybe you should keep your racist terms to yourself next time.

It was a thread I started - I can lock it if I wish

And take your ball home too no doubt......
Post by: johnpower on April 16, 2007, 10:07:44 PM
Not having a go at Tyrone as it can happen any where . The clubs in every county are responsible for their players and Supporters full stop . Other wise we are in big trouble . This sort of thing happens in every county and needs to be punnished . I am suprised as it normally happens at the later stage of the championships . Is there a history between these 2 clubs or is this thing hyped up ?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:11:59 PM
awwww boo hoo Syd

as I said - there's no need for racist language on this board - in life even.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 16, 2007, 10:14:10 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:11:59 PM
awwww boo hoo Syd

as I said - there's no need for racist language on this board - in life even.

Thanks for that "life" lesson, the world will be a better place if your teachings are heeded......
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:19:58 PM
So you think casual racism is acceptable then?
Post by: bennydorano on April 16, 2007, 10:25:22 PM
Tyrone club football has always had a nasty element to it, I'm suprised at the county's success sometimes as there's that many interclub feuds going on.

A bit " wont someone think of the children" Skyblue, but it does seem to be on the increase, although things tend to get blown out of porportion.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 16, 2007, 10:26:36 PM
I wasnt suggesting the story was a wind up skyblue but I thought your reaction was, do you think this type of thing has never happened before?  Of course that doesn't make  it right and both clubs should receive heavy punishment though if tyrone county board are anything like armagh county board there will be f**k all done about it.

Gab, would you ignore that p***k, I've reported his racist post so hopefully he wont be around much longer.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2007, 10:33:23 PM
As regards to the point of the fight – I'm a bit biased since my club is involved – and mind you we are no angels – it does take 2 clubs to get involved in these things – and the other clubs reputation isn't exactly spotless either.

And I've heard from a few people that were at the that the whole thing was overblown

My only fear is the pitch will be closed – and it was our first league game at home in 3 years – due to pitch redevelopment
Post by: 5 Sams on April 16, 2007, 10:45:47 PM
Guess what was 2nd item on the BBC lunchtime news? First item was a brief mention of the Donegal victory..then they launched into a full scale rundown on the row at the Ardboe/Dromore match....mountains out of molehills as usual.......if it was Ice Hockey it would be great crack altogether

For f**k sake lads its football....we've been bating the shite out of one and other for decades...its part of the game...hands up anyone on here who hasnt been involved in a full scale row...subs and supporters and all...if you havent then you're tellin porkies...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2007, 11:09:23 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on April 16, 2007, 09:52:30 PM
Is nobody bothered by this? Pints of Guiness I'm not winding anybody up. This was on Hoganstand.

If you wanted a proper adult discussion about this, why didn't you post a mature thread? You should have stayed on the Hoganstand, it's about your level. Pr*ck!
Post by: William_Ulsterman on April 16, 2007, 11:20:30 PM
I must get myself to a match a.s.a.p. I'd love to see all those big burly strapping lads batin lumps outta each other! ;D
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2007, 11:22:24 PM
Quote from: William_Ulsterman on April 16, 2007, 11:20:30 PM
I must get myself to a match a.s.a.p. I'd love to see all those big burly strapping lads batin lumps outta each other! ;D

Datsun?
Post by: William_Ulsterman on April 16, 2007, 11:24:52 PM
Datsun? eh?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 16, 2007, 11:25:29 PM
Within the week lads.
We will have Ian Paisley Junior demanding PSNI involvement over the punch up,and criticising the GAA over the violence of our sports  ;D

For me as long as there are no serious injuries(broken teeth,Noses,Jaws etc)I quite enjoy the odd aul flare-up,and i know im not alone on here when i say that  ;)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 16, 2007, 11:40:52 PM
Haise man there had to be something ye were good at...cause looking at yer club results football isn't it  :D :D :-* :-*
Post by: Over the Bar on April 16, 2007, 11:41:35 PM
Such melees happen at club rugby games all the time...  funny they dont get mentioned in the media.

Michael Hughes was referee?  He was the ref the day of the notororious Errigal v Carmen scrap.  I see a pattern emerging........  :P
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 17, 2007, 02:09:40 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on April 16, 2007, 11:41:35 PM
Such melees happen at club rugby games all the time...  funny they dont get mentioned in the media.

Michael Hughes was referee?  He was the ref the day of the notororious Errigal v Carmen scrap.  I see a pattern emerging........  :P

funny that was the first thing I noticed!! Hughes always involved!!! :o
Post by: Tubberman on April 17, 2007, 08:57:01 AM
Disappointing, but not very surprising, that people are trying to play this down.
Fights involving players and supporters that leads to a game being abandoned IS NOT acceptable, and is not 'part of the game' - what a ridiculous statement.
And bringing the ref into it, as if he is somehow responsible for players and 'supporters' batin' the heads of each other is just another sad attempt at justifying this.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 17, 2007, 09:35:06 AM
QuoteMichael Hughes was referee?  He was the ref the day of the notororious Errigal v Carmen scrap

He is a shite referee. He was lucky he didn't get a few clips the last time I saw him.

Not condoning the melee though.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 17, 2007, 09:42:57 AM
I saw him referee Pomeroy v Moy in a league game towards the end of last season.

I said on the board after the match that I had never seen a worse referee, & i couldn't believe he was the Tyrone's inter county representative!

He offered no protection to any of the players, but in particular the better players on view, such as Sean Cavanagh (who retired injured that day!).

Colm Cavanagh retaliated near the end of the game & was shown the line. It was inevitable!

How there wasn't a melee that day, I'll never know...as some fans had to be held back.
Post by: loughshore lad on April 17, 2007, 09:56:35 AM
There was no riot, there were no supporters involved nor was the referee physically handled or verbally abused in any way - I have no dout the referee's report will confim this. The ref lost control of the situation, and felt he had no option but to halt the game in the interest of player safety. In no way am I condoning what happened but the whole situation has been blown out of proportion by anti GAA sensationalist journalism by the BBC (nothing new there) and by RTE (who I thought would not have published suh information until they had all the facts to hand).
Post by: EC Unique on April 17, 2007, 10:04:50 AM
The county board should make an example both teams and the players/managers envolved and it might make others think twice. Our young must not be made think this is acceptable or our game is in big trouble. >:( >:( >:(
Post by: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 10:31:29 AM
EC point understood and theres no room for violence in our games.  Let the GAC determine responsibility not the GAA board, Errigal were invloved in 2 such games last year, and yet they still ended up with the 2 titles,  Would you have liked them taken off you as an example to the rest?
Post by: tieroan on April 17, 2007, 11:01:14 AM
From talking to people that were at the game, no supporters were involved in this altercation at all. Do people within Tyrone not truly think that the permatanned attention seeking Mickey Hughes dispalyed his ever growing arrogant streak by walking off the field. Most referees within Tyrone cannot stand the sight of him but they have to get on with him so that they get to referee games as he is the chairman of the referees board. I thin kthis may have been his revenge for Dromore club getting away with hitting the referee after being defeated in last years county final. I know Dromore have lost alot of support in Tyrone due to the bitting incident in that game.
Post by: phpearse on April 17, 2007, 11:15:01 AM
QuoteI thin kthis may have been his revenge for Dromore club getting away with hitting the referee after being defeated in last years county final.

It was a county semi final...and the referee wasn't hit but he was shouted at as he left the field and had to make his way through a scrum to get to the tunnel so it didn't look good. You can't put any blame on Mickey Hughes for calling the match off, our games should have no place for people who come onto the field and elbows another player in the back of the neck. If a referee feels that a player could get seriously hurt then he has every right to call the game off.
Post by: Guillem2 on April 17, 2007, 11:15:38 AM
Quote from: tieroan on April 17, 2007, 11:01:14 AM
From talking to people that were at the game, no supporters were involved in this altercation at all. Do people within Tyrone not truly think that the permatanned attention seeking Mickey Hughes dispalyed his ever growing arrogant streak by walking off the field. Most referees within Tyrone cannot stand the sight of him but they have to get on with him so that they get to referee games as he is the chairman of the referees board. I thin kthis may have been his revenge for Dromore club getting away with hitting the referee after being defeated in last years county final. I know Dromore have lost alot of support in Tyrone due to the bitting incident in that game.

Is this a wind up?
Post by: EC Unique on April 17, 2007, 11:29:19 AM
Quote from: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 10:31:29 AM
EC point understood and theres no room for violence in our games.  Let the GAC determine responsibility not the GAA board, Errigal were invloved in 2 such games last year, and yet they still ended up with the 2 titles,  Would you have liked them taken off you as an example to the rest?

We have players still serving suspensions for these games and rightly so. We have no complaints. This has to be stopped.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 17, 2007, 11:42:07 AM
I knew Michael Hughes personally when he started refereeing and he undoubtedly knows the rules of the game, probably better than most referees.  He does tend to let things go early on and let the game flow.  This however can mean that incidents go unpunished and resentment builds over the 70 mins. 

He doesnt talk enough to the players, other than answering them back which is no good.  He needs to take the lead and let them know who is boss from early on, but since its obvious he doesnt have this leadership quality, he should use the team captains more to do his work for him.   Call them to one side, inform them which of their players is looking like getting the line and let thme try to sort it before he lines them.  He'd get much more respect if he did something like this instead of yapping back at players when they complain to him.
Title: Other Matchs
Post by: goal and a point on April 17, 2007, 11:46:02 AM
I believe there were 2 similar incidents over the weekend that never made the headline - Glenullin v Loup (referee assaulted) - worse than the match in ardboe and in Armagh Dromintee v Tir na og Portadown - Portadown won and after the match there were a number of free for alls involving players, managers and supporters. At least the dromroe Ardboe match was left on the pitch
Post by: full back on April 17, 2007, 11:46:59 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on April 17, 2007, 11:42:07 AM
Call them to one side, inform them which of their players is looking like getting the line and let thme try to sort it before he lines them.
This would open a whole new can of worms-similar to that in the Premiership a few weeks back.
It would never work simply because of inconsistency among referees.

Post by: tieroan on April 17, 2007, 11:59:26 AM
Gullium2 why would you think this is a wind up? And phpearse, i saw John Kerlin getting struck last year by a well know Dromore person. I Shutter to think of the reason why this was swept under the carpet, probably something to do with finances! Significantly, the ref caled it off because he had lost control, not because he feared for his safety.
Post by: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 12:47:15 PM
We have players still serving suspensions for these games and rightly so. We have no complaints. This has to be stopped.
EC Unique of course you are right.  But why set an example on 2 clubs.  If men through punches suspensions will follow, but the thought of anybody closing GAA pitches on Tyrone really is something Im not in favour of. 
Post by: EC Unique on April 17, 2007, 01:01:20 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 12:47:15 PM
but the thought of anybody closing GAA pitches on Tyrone really is something Im not in favour of. 

I would tend to agree that closing pitches is not the answer. I would be in favour of heavy suspensions and maybe docking league points. No club is innocent but a stand must be made to try and stop this. This is a perfect opportunity at the start of a new season to set new standards. Lets clean up our game and leave no reason for unfair reporting in the media instead of giving them easy fuel for GAA Bashing.
Post by: clarshack on April 17, 2007, 01:26:33 PM
I dont even think fining clubs is the answer either. Players should be fined individually. Surely if a player knew he would be significantly out of pocket he would think twice about getting involved in melees.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 17, 2007, 01:38:19 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on April 16, 2007, 11:40:52 PM
Haise man there had to be something ye were good at...cause looking at yer club results football isn't it  :D :D :-* :-*

arent you the funny f**ker Max   :D

Post by: Quarterback on April 17, 2007, 01:47:42 PM

Are the players the only people responsible in all of this?? The dromore manager has a serious big mouth and seems to carry a terrible diciplinary record with him where ever he goes.  Chatting to donnaghmore lads just last night about this and they noted that their diciplinary record was the worst in the county when he was over them....He does serious yapping on the line...

In fairness though we (Galbally) played dromore a few weeks back and the game was played in a very sporting manner.....
Post by: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 02:00:15 PM
Quarterback its important not to read too much into your own sporting game with dromore. 
Post by: dodo on April 17, 2007, 02:20:28 PM
Quote from: tieroan on April 17, 2007, 11:59:26 AM
I Shutter to think of the reason why this was swept under the carpet, probably something to do with finances! Significantly, the ref caled it off because he had lost control, not because he feared for his safety.

It causes you to erect timber framing to pour concrete into ?

:-\
Post by: Over the Bar on April 17, 2007, 03:54:10 PM
QuoteI Shutter to think of the reason...

I trust the matter is closed then :P
Post by: Quarterback on April 17, 2007, 03:57:10 PM
RRHF im not reading too much into it, we are only back in the division so what would i know, i do know however that Mc Ginn is a tube....
Post by: realredhandfan on April 17, 2007, 04:06:33 PM
I dont think there are any dirty teams in 1a, but things can spill over. 
Post by: Quarterback on April 17, 2007, 04:47:25 PM
RRHF Your local parish derby has been known to 'spill over' from time to time!!  ;)
Post by: highfielder on April 17, 2007, 05:38:40 PM
ban the lot of them for a year simple as, there is too much nonsense up north and there is not one person willing to stand up and say we did wrong its the mentality of the people and its disgraceful in our game, i mean even look at the county team mulligan should get 3 months for his sliding tackle in the mayo game, as the rules state for every fouls an attempt to do something in the eyes of the rule book is the same as doing it and therefore it should have been a straight red.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 17, 2007, 06:54:12 PM
Quote from: highfielder on April 17, 2007, 05:38:40 PM
ban the lot of them for a year simple as...

Let's just wait until the County disciplinary committee meets, then draw conclusions, all we have at the minute is sensationalism for the most part.  In the deep south the Gooch was also red-carded at the weekend as Dr Crokes vs Kilcummin erupted into a brawl, so it's not just the north, and it's naive to think that it is. That's not to condone anything, but let's keep things in perspective.
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 17, 2007, 09:12:42 PM
QuoteFine clubs, suspend players/officials, even dock points but for christ sake communities need the pitches so keep them open. Discipline and move on. Maybe dock the managers some of their wages as well though!

Hopefully clubs in Tyrone are not making payments to their managers as this is against the rules of the Association.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 17, 2007, 09:44:30 PM
Cos it only happens in Tyrone?  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: supersarsfields on April 17, 2007, 10:21:24 PM
i mean even look at the county team mulligan should get 3 months for his sliding tackle in the mayo game, as the rules state for every fouls an attempt to do something in the eyes of the rule book is the same as doing it and therefore it should have been a straight red.

Highfielder, mugsy did get a straight red so I don't know what your talking about there. Everyone knows that if an attempt to strike or kik is the same as actually doing it. And I didn't hear anyone from Tyrone complaining about it either.
And as for this

there is too much nonsense up north

yeah, course, it's just a problem up North alrite!! ::)