GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 02, 2014, 09:18:58 AM

Title: Mayo v Tyrone 1989
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2014, 09:18:58 AM
Spotted this - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqEHfz3LoiQ

And it brought back some great memories including a promise from a poster on here who said he'd eat his jersey if Mayo won it.

4-3 at half time. If that happened now there'd be uproar.
Title: Re: Mayo v Tyrone 1989
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 02, 2014, 09:25:46 AM
Iconic WJP pictures from that game

(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Mayo-Tyrone-1989.jpg)
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/b6/8a/b3/e603e57c2051d36dec9285db681d29e5b365f46f58/INPHO_00273524.jpg)

(http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/5434/272/1600/WillieJoePadden.jpg)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 02, 2014, 09:36:24 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2014, 09:18:58 AM

So tyrone were ruining football even back then.

I remember that day in the Nally, the excitement was unreal.

Looking back at some of the players on that, fair enough you wouldnt like to run into John Finn but you'd bully Kilkelly no problem, he was a wisp of a lad
Post by: WT4E on July 02, 2014, 10:28:53 AM
My memory of this is being convinced the night before that I was for Dublin too, to see the match with my dad and bro's and sis's.

Only wakening up to the fact that the feckers had left the youngest behind! Still traumatised! lol
Post by: The Bearded One on July 02, 2014, 11:07:44 AM
My first trip to Croke Park, was too young in 1986.

Can still picture the convoy of cars going down the hill through Slane and the crowds around Drumcondra. Despite the result it was some experience for a young fella.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 02, 2014, 12:35:14 PM
This is a bit an Spailpin Fanach wrote previously about the Mayo jersey, referencing the picture above

The positioning of the stripes of the jersey is by no means an accident – it goes back to the very foundation of the GAA itself, and one of the first ever recorded games of football in the county Mayo.

Colonel Maurice Blake of Towerhill was a landlord in South Mayo, and patron of his local football team, Carnacon. When Carnacon played Belcarra in 1887, Colonel Blake saw the chance to make a political point – Blake was a Catholic, and Belcarra were sponsored by a local Protestant, Unionist, family, the Brownes. In the light of this, Colonel Blake insisted that Carnacon line out in strips that featured Green above Red, in reference to Dr Croke's fear, expressed his famous letter to Michael Cusack, that if the Irish did not stand up to express their nationality, we might all just as well "clap hands for joy at the sight of the Union Jack, and place 'England's bloody red' exultantly above the green."

And that is why Mayo have always worn the green above the red, and always must, if they are to mean anything at all. Willie Joe, in the photo above, is seen wearing red above the green, but only because its his own red blood that he spilled for cause on that famous day in 1989.
Post by: LeoMc on July 02, 2014, 01:34:23 PM

And it brought back some great memories including a promise from a poster on here who said he'd eat his jersey if Mayo won it.

My first time in the Canal end, don't even remember the score. All I remember is we were beat.
Post by: sensethetone on July 02, 2014, 01:47:05 PM
Mc Kenna hit the post then got the rebound in the net is my memory, was in the Hogan remember thinking the pitch looks bigger on TV.
Post by: joemamas on July 02, 2014, 03:02:53 PM
Noel Durcan had some game, was a little underated and had an incredible work rate.

Oh and the final, first of eight trips back for finals from NY.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2014, 03:22:41 PM
This game was Mayos first win in Croke park and first All Ireland final to reach since 1951. If only Tyrone had won the twenty five years of All Ireland final defeats could have been prevented even this year Mayo will likely reach and probably lose another All Ireland final.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2014, 03:36:42 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2014, 03:22:41 PM
This game was Mayos first win in Croke park and first All Ireland final to reach since 1951. If only Tyrone had won the twenty five years of All Ireland final defeats could have been prevented even this year Mayo will likely reach and probably lose another All Ireland final.

Probably...but at least ye can all have a good laugh at us.
Post by: ballinaman on July 02, 2014, 03:41:12 PM
(http://media2.giphy.com/media/9tGfwNU23U8G4/200.gif)
Post by: Crete Boom on July 02, 2014, 03:46:25 PM

Sure you can't scoff at the Dubs being over hyped now they are  fulfilling their potential as the best in the country so probably the most entertaining part left of the championship for the masses is laughing at us!!
Post by: mayo.mick on July 02, 2014, 05:02:13 PM

The guys at Mayo Club 51 are doing mighty work uploading old VHS match recordings of years gone by.

http://mayoclub51.com/video-gallery/

I'd say there could be some more on the way
Post by: moysider on July 02, 2014, 09:33:20 PM

Not for the last time Mayo went into the '89 championship without 2 of the best players in the county. Padraig Bomber Brogan was persona non grata and Ger Geraghty was in America. They would have mede a huge difference imo.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2014, 09:48:05 PM
Spotted this - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqEHfz3LoiQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqEHfz3LoiQ)

Yes? Don't just leave that hanging there.
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2014, 09:51:24 PM
That Tyrone team managed by Donal donnelly were a good outfit but might have taken mayo lightly which they had no reason to do.  Some Tyrone men were on their third ulster championship medal. 3 me gold rick brothers in the panel from Dromore. ..last three brothers in the panel until the mac kenna last week. ???
Post by: time ticking away on July 02, 2014, 10:14:53 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 02, 2014, 09:51:24 PM
That Tyrone team managed by Donal donnelly were a good outfit but might have taken mayo lightly which they had no reason to do.  Some Tyrone men were on their third ulster championship medal. 3 me gold rick brothers in the panel from Dromore. ..last three brothers in the panel until the mac kenna last week. ???
Did you just make that bit up ??
Post by: moysider on July 02, 2014, 10:27:43 PM

I remember years later Eugene McKenna describing losing that game to Mayo as 'unforgivable'. I remember it being pretty conclusive at the time but Eugene obviously believes Mayo are not worthy of respect. He s not alone.

It s 25 yrs ago now but that was a massive opportunity lost for Mayo. Johnno was in charge and as we all know now that was a stumbling block in itself. The team selection and tactics were questionable to say the least. And nobody thought it might be a good idea to give Ger Geraghty a job so that he didn t have to emigrate, never to return. Or that The Bomber was an unique talent that need rehabilitation/ consideration rather than rejection. Not for the last time we were all let down - as well as Brogan and Geraghty as well.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 02, 2014, 11:27:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 02, 2014, 10:27:43 PM

I remember years later Eugene McKenna describing losing that game to Mayo as 'unforgivable'. I remember it being pretty conclusive at the time but Eugene obviously believes Mayo are not worthy of respect. He s not alone.

It s 25 yrs ago now but that was a massive opportunity lost for Mayo. Johnno was in charge and as we all know now that was a stumbling block in itself. The team selection and tactics were questionable to say the least. And nobody thought it might be a good idea to give Ger Geraghty a job so that he didn t have to emigrate, never to return. Or that The Bomber was an unique talent that need rehabilitation/ consideration rather than rejection. Not for the last time we were all let down - as well as Brogan and Geraghty as well.

Would you go away out of that moysider ffs, I think even the staunchest Knockmore men would agree that the great man was in the wrong in '89
Post by: redhandloo on July 02, 2014, 11:38:14 PM
Definitely wasn't three mcgoldricks on panel. Ever.
Post by: moysider on July 03, 2014, 12:03:59 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 02, 2014, 11:27:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 02, 2014, 10:27:43 PM

Would you go away out of that moysider ffs, I think even the staunchest Knockmore men would agree that the great man was in the wrong in '89

How so?
There was still a drink culture there 5 years later. Brogan never let himself down on the pitch.

Post by: T Fearon on July 03, 2014, 07:19:28 AM
Tyrone were well beaten that day.They were very lucky to get out of Ulster that year.Should have been beaten by Armagh in the first round and lucky to get a replay with Donegal in the Ulster Final
Post by: rrhf on July 03, 2014, 08:19:17 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on July 02, 2014, 10:14:53 PM
Did you just make that bit up ??
Dosent take long top get an answer.  I queried that as well.. John played in the half back line for 2 seasons won his first medal that Ulster final and I didnt know about the other 2 brothers accordingly in the panel.   
Post by: rrhf on July 03, 2014, 08:25:10 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 03, 2014, 07:19:28 AM
Tyrone were well beaten that day.They were very lucky to get out of Ulster that year.Should have been beaten by Armagh in the first round and lucky to get a replay with Donegal in the Ulster Final
Should have been beaten twice in Ulster, but when Lynch was filled at half time, there was only ever going to be one winner in the Armagh game.  Tyrone scared the living daylights out of Armagh that day. A furious frenzy of agressive football in the second half, the men that needed hit were hit, and Armagh were happy to get off the field dejected yes, shaken yes, and defeated certainly.   
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 03, 2014, 01:18:23 PM
Some things never change.
The forwards on the day were no better than the present crew when it came to scoring from play.
The first one to do so was Killkelly and it was number 10. In fairness to the forwards, the other two points were also scored by forwards and both came from play.
So Horan's men weren't the only ones who found scores hard to come by.
Indeed, going back to the days of John Morley, the backs were always better than the forwards in any era.
Post by: joemamas on July 03, 2014, 01:57:55 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 03, 2014, 01:18:23 PM
The forwards on the day were no better than the present crew when it came to scoring from play.
The first one to do so was Killkelly and it was number 10. In fairness to the forwards, the other two points were also scored by forwards and both came from play.
Indeed, going back to the days of John Morley, the backs were always better than the forwards in any era.

Challenge that theory, JOM left John Finn on Dave Barry for the entire game. Barry who was an average footballer was MOM.
Huge mistake
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 03, 2014, 04:47:55 PM
As it often pains me to say Leeside, if ye were playing anyone else that day except us, ye would have lost 3 in a row. When Larry's goal went in they were shaken but I think we nearly half thought that was enough, we hadnt disgraced ourselves and we could celebrate on that fact alone. And many did.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2014, 06:45:31 PM
Yes indeed joemamas. My dad always criticises JOM for that alone in 89. For that reason alo.e he was unhappy with his 2nd coming! Along with lots of others. That's his overriding memory of the 89 final.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 03, 2014, 07:40:20 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 03, 2014, 01:57:55 PM

Challenge that theory, JOM left John Finn on Dave Barry for the entire game. Barry who was an average footballer was MOM.
Huge mistake
I don't follow you here...
What theory are you challenging?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2014, 08:09:04 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 03, 2014, 07:40:20 PM

Huge mistake

The fact that Cork's Dave Barry got motm from Mayo's staunch defence, I assume.
Post by: moysider on July 03, 2014, 10:04:29 PM

What about the Ballina pair of Jinkin Joe and Seamie O Dowd :o

And it still takes Ballina to produce the classier forward ;)
Post by: whitey on July 03, 2014, 10:13:06 PM
Quote from: Msgr. Horan on July 03, 2014, 04:47:55 PM
As it often pains me to say Leeside, if ye were playing anyone else that day except us, ye would have lost 3 in a row. When Larry's goal went in they were shaken but I think we nearly half thought that was enough, we hadnt disgraced ourselves and we could celebrate on that fact alone. And many did.

When Larry missed the second goal opportunity,  I remember feeling it gave Cork a great lift.

I'm of the opinion that if McHale had just popped it over in the lead up we would have won that game

I think we were level at the time, but we definitely had momentum

(Not a swipe at McHale by any means, I am just a huge believer in taking your points when they're there.
Post by: maigheo on July 03, 2014, 11:00:19 PM
I remember Peter Ford saying years later that in the lead up to the game it was drummed into the mayo backs not to foul the Cork attackers and in the training games any hint of a foul was penalized.The result was that the Mayo defense lost there aggression and played behind there men which gave the Cork attackers all the freedom they needed to kick most of there scores from play.Felt sorry for John Finn that day as he was in line for an all star before the game but Dave Barry took care of that.
Post by: moysider on July 03, 2014, 11:41:33 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2014, 08:09:04 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 03, 2014, 07:40:20 PM

Huge mistake

The fact that Cork's Dave Barry got motm from Mayo's staunch defence, I assume.

Dave Barry was a top player. Very clever and very effective without ever looked like he was breaking a sweat. How anybody could describe him as average I don t know. He would have ran Greg Blaney close as regards controlling a match.

Michael Collins was Mayo s best defender on that team (arguably the most complete footballer as well but ignored during his best years) - but wouldn t have started if Frank Noone hadn t got injured in Connacht final. Which was incredible selection when ye think about it. Collins actually made the late run and finished to the net v Ros, when all seemed lost after Tony Macs late penalty agin the run of play, but the ref hauled it up and Fitzmaurice kicked a point for Xtra time. Collins was the boy for either Barry or Thonpkins but we' re talking about Johnno s judgement here ffs. TJ also started at CHB in that final which was some call in itself. The fact that he was heavily bandaged up (if ye don t believe me, watch the old video), after tearing his hamstring outta his hole in training and sent out to mark Larry T is mind boggling.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 04, 2014, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: whitey on July 03, 2014, 10:13:06 PM

When Larry missed the second goal opportunity,  I remember feeling it gave Cork a great lift.

I'm of the opinion that if McHale had just popped it over in the lead up we would have won that game

(Not a swipe at McHale by any means, I am just a huge believer in taking your points when they're there.

When do you think you should try and score a goal?
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 04, 2014, 01:33:49 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 04, 2014, 12:56:46 PM

True MS, sure if McGarty had taken the goal when it was on that day then football might never have been invented...
Post by: highorlow on July 04, 2014, 02:29:32 PM
QuoteNoel Durcan had some game, was a little underated and had an incredible work rate.

Durkin got an Allstar.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 04, 2014, 02:31:06 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 04, 2014, 01:33:49 PM

True MS, sure if McGarty had taken the goal when it was on that day then football might never have been invented...

Post by: whitey on July 04, 2014, 03:31:59 PM

Momentum had swung big time in Mayos favor at that stage. They had taken the lead, I think for the first time in the game, and they were clearly getting the upper hand out the field.  In that situation I would kick the point all day long rather than going for goal.

In my youth I won a U16 A county championship.  We won our divisional final, county semi final and final without scoring a goal (against very good teams who were expected to beat us I might add) It was drilled into us at that stage....get within 35 yards and you have a clear shot...take it.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 04, 2014, 04:06:35 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 03, 2014, 10:04:29 PM

Must have been a severe drought of small underfed club footed forwards from all the south Mayo clubs in the 60's for Mayo to have two Ballina classy forwards on the team. ;D ;D
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2014, 05:39:45 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 04, 2014, 04:06:35 PM

Must have been a severe drought of small underfed club footed forwards from all the south Mayo clubs in the 60's for Mayo to have two Ballina classy forwards on the team. ;D ;D
Maybe they had but Jinking Joe wasn't one of them.
Where does moysider come from anyway?
Joe was and I'm sure still is a proud Ardnaree man. I don't recall him ever playing with any club other than the Sarsfields.
Post by: moysider on July 04, 2014, 11:57:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2014, 05:39:45 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 04, 2014, 04:06:35 PM

Maybe they had but Jinking Joe wasn't one of them.
Where does moysider come from anyway?
Joe was and I'm sure still is a proud Ardnaree man. I don't recall him ever playing with any club other than the Sarsfields.

Notice I said they were Ballina men and not Stephenite men!
I believe both were born on the cathedral side of the river. As were Peter Quinn and John Ford..
When the cathedral was built it was in Co. Sligo. And Ballaghadrreen was firmly in Co. Mayo.
Post by: T Fearon on July 05, 2014, 03:57:09 PM
Yes it was Paul Grimley that filled Lynch in Omagh 1989 with a haymaker to end all haymakers! No wonder he regarded the recent brawl between Armagh and Cavan a mere tiff! ;D
Post by: BennyCake on July 05, 2014, 06:46:14 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 05, 2014, 03:57:09 PM
Yes it was Paul Grimley that filled Lynch in Omagh 1989 with a haymaker to end all haymakers! No wonder he regarded the recent brawl between Armagh and Cavan a mere tiff! ;D

I'm pretty sure that was Mark or John, T.
Post by: T Fearon on July 05, 2014, 09:40:25 PM
Definitely Paul!
Post by: Club Rossa on July 05, 2014, 10:28:11 PM
Grimley would have been better off hitting McCabe in the tunnel.The Prince put on a masterful display in the 2nd half.
Post by: BennyCake on July 05, 2014, 10:40:42 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 05, 2014, 09:40:25 PM
Definitely Paul!

Didn't that certain Grimley get a ban for it? I'm pretty it was one of the twins as they were Harps, Paul Ogs.