GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: PAULD123 on June 24, 2014, 12:50:12 PM

Title: Down v Leitrim Sun 29th June 2pm
Post by: PAULD123 on June 24, 2014, 12:50:12 PM
I thought I would start a thread even though I am not expecting much interest. Incredible how far from the public eye we have slipped since 2010 when every Down match would have a thread running several pages a week before the game. So why is it that this change has occurred?

We are not THAT bad. I mean we are comfortably in Division 2, took Tyrone the distance, probably a decent shout for a quarter final. Pretty much around the same standard as Armagh. Yet Armagh fans are much more enthusiastic to comment on their games.

I think it is just that there is nothing inventive or new coming out of the Down team for about two years now. We know what we are getting, and it's not very entertaining. We have reached a plateau and show no sign of getting beyond it and no pleasure is staying there. One thing, win lose or draw, I was always entertained at Down games. I can't say that that has been the case in most matches for the last 12 months.

Title: Re: Down v Leitrim Sat 28th June 3pm
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 24, 2014, 12:52:03 PM
Or maybe we are playing Leitrim and no one gives a shite nor gives them a prayer.
If it were Derry or Meath or the likes it might have generated more interest.
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2014, 01:19:46 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 24, 2014, 12:50:12 PM
We are not THAT bad. I mean we are comfortably in Division 2, took Tyrone the distance, probably a decent shout for a quarter final. Pretty much around the same standard as Armagh. Yet Armagh fans are much more enthusiastic to comment on their games.

Down are around the same standard as Armagh. But Armagh are playing their immediate neighbours, where both sides know a bit about the other, after a bit of controversy in the previous game where to rally the troops. Down are playing a team that Armagh beat away last year by 27 points.
Post by: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 01:31:18 PM
Lets just hope that Longford beating Derry last weekend has'nt set a precedent. Down never make it easy for themselves against lesser opposition in the qualifiers.

Its hard to know which Down team will turn up on Sunday, I'm still scratching my head with the events and outcome of the two Tyrone games.

For my money I would like to see:

1.   McVeigh
2.   Dan McCartan
3.   Benny McArdle
4.   Darren O'Hagan
5.   Ryan Johnston
6.   Aidan Carr
7.   Conor Garvey
8.   Dan Gordan
9.   Peter Turley
10. Ambrose Rogers
11. Mark Poland
12. Conor Maginn
13. Conor Laverty
14. Jerome Johnston
15. Donal O'Hare

I'd imagine though that the team that starts will be similar to the team that started against Tyrone in Newry. One thing is that there is a strong enough bench if called for.

Post by: Aristo 60 on June 24, 2014, 01:32:10 PM
Its the nature of the Armagh fans, commenting everywhere they can  ::)
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2014, 01:37:02 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 24, 2014, 01:32:10 PM

Always good to point out that we beat Leitrim by 27 points, it will give Down something to aim for.  :)
Post by: Zip Code on June 24, 2014, 01:40:30 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 24, 2014, 01:37:02 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 24, 2014, 01:32:10 PM

Always good to point out that we beat Leitrim by 27 points, it will give Down something to aim for.  :)

Post by: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 01:41:24 PM
That was last year, sure Cavan beat Armagh handy enough last year. Maybe that will give Monaghan something to aim for?
Post by: Agent Orange on June 24, 2014, 01:44:31 PM
Which would be the bigger upset? Leitrim beating Down or an Armagh man managing Down in 2015? One is as good as guaranteed and the other could be a good outside bet. You decide.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 24, 2014, 01:52:46 PM
Quote from: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 01:31:18 PM
Lets just hope that Longford beating Derry last weekend has'nt set a precedent. Down never make it easy for themselves against lesser opposition in the qualifiers.

Its hard to know which Down team will turn up on Sunday, I'm still scratching my head with the events and outcome of the two Tyrone games.

For my money I would like to see:

1.   McVeigh
2.   Dan McCartan
3.   Benny McArdle
4.   Darren O'Hagan
5.   Ryan Johnston
6.   Aidan Carr
7.   Conor Garvey
8.   Dan Gordan
9.   Peter Turley
10. Ambrose Rogers
11. Mark Poland
12. Conor Maginn
13. Conor Laverty
14. Jerome Johnston
15. Donal O'Hare

I'd imagine though that the team that starts will be similar to the team that started against Tyrone in Newry. One thing is that there is a strong enough bench if called for.

The two Johnstons will def not start !!
Post by: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 01:54:52 PM
I presume they are injured?
Post by: PAULD123 on June 24, 2014, 01:58:07 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on June 24, 2014, 01:44:31 PM
Which would be the bigger upset? Leitrim beating Down or an Armagh man managing Down in 2015? One is as good as guaranteed and the other could be a good outside bet. You decide.

I presume you mean McCorry. I'd be surprised if he took over Down. The main issue is money and the County board's "principles" of not paying. Or perhaps you could call it shortsightendness
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 24, 2014, 02:05:16 PM
Johnsons are on their holidays. They wont be playing.
McCorry is the standout candidate to take over from James when he goes. The other being Dawson. But the county board wont want to stump up the reddies for either.
So whenever wee James goes it will probably be Dan next for the hot seat.

Post by: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 02:05:45 PM
Well if its about not paying anyone then that rules out all the Armagh candidates.
Post by: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 02:14:35 PM
Anyway, this is a non topic right now. Wee James is clearly the best man for the job, he has steadied the ship and although we demand silverware we have to realise that with the players we have lost in the last few years its gonna be hard to get to the next level. Its easy after a defeat to discuss the future of a manager but fickle as we are, after a couple of decent wins in the qualifiers (fingers crossed) we can look forward to another push for Division one promotion next year and onwards and upwards.

For now though its the qualifiers and who knows...
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 24, 2014, 02:54:10 PM
Man from Down, any reason for not starting Kevin McKernan and Niall Madine in your team ?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 24, 2014, 03:06:04 PM
I hope Leitrim can spring a surprise here.

Longford played Down in R1 of the AIQs in 2010 (the year Down lost to Cork in the final) on a wet evening in Newry and came close(ish) to an upset.

I seem to recall Down got a soft pinnilty that in no small way was a huge reason why Down won in the end.

So if Leitrim take heat from Longford's exploits then as well as our fine win last Sat, well who knows.

I certainly will be cheering for them. If they can avoid silly challenges (black cards) and turn possession into scores then they are in with a shout.
Post by: A man from Down on June 24, 2014, 04:53:58 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on June 24, 2014, 02:54:10 PM
Man from Down, any reason for not starting Kevin McKernan and Niall Madine in your team ?

Your quite right Mourne Rover, how could I forget about McKernan?? Hands up, I completely forgot about him. He would definitely be in, pobably for Maginn or Turley. As for Madine, I simply put Ambrose in there instead but Madine still has a big future ahead of him. Rooney is another I did'nt include, going for Johnston and O'Hagan instead.

Its just as well I'm not in management.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 24, 2014, 05:33:03 PM
Lads the thread title is misleading. Is this game not on Sunday at 2pm now??
Post by: whitegoodman on June 24, 2014, 08:12:02 PM
I would say there will only be a few changes from the Tyrone game, O Hagan for Boyle and AN Other for Johnston.  That AN other could be anyone from Benny, Ambrose, Turley or someone completely unexpected such as Conor Toner or Jamie O Reilly.  James likes to throw in the odd surprise now and again.
Title: Re: Down v Leitrim Sun 29th June 2pm
Post by: PAULD123 on June 25, 2014, 10:58:52 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 24, 2014, 05:33:03 PM

When was the fixture changed? And why?

anyway I have changed the title of the thread to not mislead, thanks for the head's up
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2014, 11:39:53 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 25, 2014, 10:58:52 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 24, 2014, 05:33:03 PM

When was the fixture changed? And why?

anyway I have changed the title of the thread to not mislead, thanks for the head's up

Leitrim are playing us in the Connacht MFC SF on Saturday.
Post by: redandblackareback on June 25, 2014, 12:01:32 PM
Sunday Down will win by 6 points plus, defence will remain similiar with possibly O Hagan coming in, midfield i would stick with mc kernan and possibly turley but I would like to us play with at least 5 forwards up and kick the ball in more, would like to see a forward line of Maginn, Poland, Ambrose, Conor Lav, Madine and Benny, let Lav come out and leave the two big men inside, two great targets, outside of his free kicks which were very poor v Tyrone what did O Hare contribute? I would bring him and Jerome on when the game gets stretched and he doesnt have problems winning his own ball then.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 25, 2014, 01:36:44 PM
Ohare will start
Can't see Jerome being in the squad
Benny's days on the edge of the square are over IMO
Post by: redandblackareback on June 25, 2014, 01:50:32 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on June 25, 2014, 01:36:44 PM
Ohare will start
Can't see Jerome being in the squad
Benny's days on the edge of the square are over IMO

Why?
Post by: whitegoodman on June 25, 2014, 01:55:44 PM
Him and his brother are away in Magaluf and are only back on Friday or Saturday and cant see them being ready to play championship football one to two days later.  Apart from that I cant see this going down too well within the squad or amongst the management team, Jerome Snr excluded.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 26, 2014, 12:21:34 PM
I agree that perhaps Donal O'hare hasn't contributed enough in open play and maybe a replacement should be considered. However he is our free taker and it would be crazy to replace him without adequately accounting for that. So if Donal O'hare is dropped then surely Paul Devlin pretty much must play so that we still have a quality free taker on the pitch.
Post by: larryin89 on June 26, 2014, 12:23:54 PM
Leitrim +10 pts at 5/6 , accumulator addition for sure.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 26, 2014, 12:52:34 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 26, 2014, 12:21:34 PM
I agree that perhaps Donal O'hare hasn't contributed enough in open play and maybe a replacement should be considered. However he is our free taker and it would be crazy to replace him without adequately accounting for that. So if Donal O'hare is dropped then surely Paul Devlin pretty much must play so that we still have a quality free taker on the pitch.

Paul Devlin is in Magaluf with the Johnsons. He wont figure sunday either.
I expect to see a few new(ish) faces sunday.
Title: Re: Down v Leitrim Sun 29th June 2p
Post by: PAULD123 on June 26, 2014, 02:59:37 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 26, 2014, 12:52:34 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 26, 2014, 12:21:34 PM

Paul Devlin is in Magaluf with the Johnsons. He wont figure sunday either.
I expect to see a few new(ish) faces sunday.

Ah Yeah, I didn't really mean him to be switched with Donal for this coming match. I was highlighting that the option proposed didn't include  a free taker. If Donal O'Hare is dropped then there must be a free taker on the pitch and that would then probably be Paul Devlin (obviously who would have to be available)
Post by: downjim on June 26, 2014, 05:35:59 PM
Could the Kilcoo lads not have went on holidays at another time. This is madness
Post by: SHEEDY on June 26, 2014, 05:59:25 PM
Quote from: downjim on June 26, 2014, 05:35:59 PM
Could the Kilcoo lads not have went on holidays at another time. This is madness
a lot of people are saying it doesn't matter they're away, its only Leitrim. would they have been saying the same if we were playing against tyrone or cavan etc? down should win this with something to spare even without the kilcoo lads but it would have been nice to see a full strength team get settled before the tougher tests that lie in wait.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 27, 2014, 12:25:41 PM
I think it shows the failure of the whole Down system to get these lads busting to play for the county. Too many have chosen not to play which smacks of a real lack of belief in their chances of playing/winning.

In addition it seems to me that there is no real sense of enjoyment in the Down camp. I've sat next to the substitutes on many occasions and they do not look like they care very much. Is it because we now play horrible football? Is it the seeming over-loyalty to a clutch of players? Is it that there is a lack of belief in our ability to win? Or a lack of belief in the management?

What ever it is I can only say that Down do not look happy. I don't mean that there is any trouble in the camp (which is how that expression is normally used). I just mean there is no joy in the players, the team or the performances. This has spread to the fans also.

So perhaps the young lads felt they wanted to live their lives a little. And with current evidence saying we have little chance of lifting a Sam, why shouldn't they really? They will be back and training as hard as ever. They will be available for every other game. They will make a lot of sacrifices to wear their county shirt and ultimately are still fairly unlikely to win any silverware.

Jamie Clarke took a whole campaign off because he felt he deserved the right to experience some of the adventures other people his age get to experience, but there was never any question he was coming back to give years of dedication to his county. Is it really unreasonable to allow them one week off to be young fellas and enjoy their youth? To have a lads week in the summer sun in a resort?
Post by: Syferus on June 27, 2014, 12:38:44 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 27, 2014, 12:25:41 PM
I think it shows the failure of the whole Down system to get these lads busting to play for the county. Too many have chosen not to play which smacks of a real lack of belief in their chances of playing/winning.

In addition it seems to me that there is no real sense of enjoyment in the Down camp. I've sat next to the substitutes on many occasions and they do not look like they care very much. Is it because we now play horrible football? Is it the seeming over-loyalty to a clutch of players? Is it that there is a lack of belief in our ability to win? Or a lack of belief in the management?

What ever it is I can only say that Down do not look happy. I don't mean that there is any trouble in the camp (which is how that expression is normally used). I just mean there is no joy in the players, the team or the performances. This has spread to the fans also.

So perhaps the young lads felt they wanted to live their lives a little. And with current evidence saying we have little chance of lifting a Sam, why shouldn't they really? They will be back and training as hard as ever. They will be available for every other game. They will make a lot of sacrifices to wear their county shirt and ultimately are still fairly unlikely to win any silverware.

Jamie Clarke took a whole campaign off because he felt he deserved the right to experience some of the adventures other people his age get to experience, but there was never any question he was coming back to give years of dedication to his county. Is it really unreasonable to allow them one week off to be young fellas and enjoy their youth? To have a lads week in the summer sun in a resort?

Clarke was back for the championship. He only missed Armagh's league campaign, itself coming straight after Cross' never-ending tour of duty was closed out by the loss to Brigids in February of last year.

Never heard of lads taking a week off for a sun holiday in the middle of the championship and coming back expecting to be part of the set-up again. They usually leave for good for the summer or they don't go at all.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 27, 2014, 12:44:08 PM
Would they have went  as quick if it was a stronger team Down were playing , doubt it. Leitrim seem to be missing lots through injury and players in America so no chance of an upset
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 27, 2014, 02:13:20 PM
They wouldn't have went if there were a Kilcoo game on.
Post by: PAULD123 on June 27, 2014, 03:16:32 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 27, 2014, 02:13:20 PM
They wouldn't have went if there were a Kilcoo game on.

I guess that si teh point. They have scheduled their holiday to ensure they don't miss club matches in preference to county matches. Otherwise they may not get a holiday at all. In some ways I applaud them for showing such dedication to their club. It si up to the county management and board to make the county team as rewarding and as enticing as their club.

Like I said, I don't see a lot of joy in the county team these days.

And isn't it a perennial grip that county players forget about their club. Don't we often say that they should put club first as that is the foundation of the GAA?

But mostly I just think they should be given a chance to enjoy their lives at least a little in the way all their friends get to do. Is it fair to say that they only get to go on holiday at the end of the season when things are quiet and all the main holiday buzz has started to faded. Live is about balance. With all the sacrafices they have made and indeed will make I think missing one first round qualifier is a reasonable balance.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2014, 06:13:25 PM
Well said PAULD123. Good to see someone on here talking sence. The lads will have missed two training sessions! The 3 in question have trained and played the whole year round for the past 3 seasons without a break and this included county seniors, under 21s, ulster club and Down with Kilcoo and Ryan, McKenna and sigerson cups with their university's. And for people to say they are not committed. Catch a grip. Management knew about their holiday and didn't hold them back so no need to slate them in media or on here. They understood the amount of football they have played in recent times and understood a break is maybe what they need to keep them fresh. Same with Pete Fitz who went on weeks holiday at Tyrone replay, dan Gordon choosing when it suited him to come back. The list goes on. If the lads Wernt from kilcoo there wouldn't have been a mention in Irish news. Fact.
Post by: NP 76 on June 27, 2014, 07:04:19 PM
Down team named for Sunday with a few new faces aboard if it stays the same
Michael Cunningham
Benny Mc Ardle
Niall Donnelly
Darren o Hagan
Conor Garvey
Aidan carr
Kevin Mc Kernan
Dan Gordon
Peter Turley
Benny coulter
Conor Maginn
Mark Poland
Donal o hare
Niall Madine
Conor Laverty
Post by: extra time on June 27, 2014, 07:05:52 PM
Cant understand why they went to Magaluf. Gaa heads usually go to Santa Ponsa 8).
Post by: whitegoodman on June 27, 2014, 08:28:33 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2014, 06:13:25 PM
Well said PAULD123. Good to see someone on here talking sence. The lads will have missed two training sessions! The 3 in question have trained and played the whole year round for the past 3 seasons without a break and this included county seniors, under 21s, ulster club and Down with Kilcoo and Ryan, McKenna and sigerson cups with their university's. And for people to say they are not committed. Catch a grip. Management knew about their holiday and didn't hold them back so no need to slate them in media or on here. They understood the amount of football they have played in recent times and understood a break is maybe what they need to keep them fresh. Same with Pete Fitz who went on weeks holiday at Tyrone replay, dan Gordon choosing when it suited him to come back. The list goes on. If the lads Wernt from kilcoo there wouldn't have been a mention in Irish news. Fact.

I heard James lost the plot when he found out so not sure about the management team understanding.  If the lads need a break and are sick of the county fair enough go on the holiday and enjoy themselves like most lads that age would be.  However how anyone can think they should be back on the panels after going on holiday the week of a championship match is beyond me.  That should be it for the year for them.  It not as if they thought they wouldn't have a match this week, they were either in a ulster semi final or in a qualifier match.

Thats whether they are from Kilcoo, Burren, Mayobridge or Ballykinlar !!!!
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2014, 09:03:44 PM
If James was so mad then why didn't he road them from the panel??? Because he knows there missing one week in the year. And it's not as if they are clearing for the summer to America. So it's ok for Gordon to suit himself and walk onto team and Pete Fitz to go on holiday but when 3 young lads from kilcoo do it's a big problem.  I think they showed how committed they are to down by the way they played in Omagh so to question that is also mad. Give the lads a break.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 27, 2014, 09:15:44 PM
Why didn't they wait until Down we are out of championship? Even the most optimistic down supporter wouldn't think that we will still be in the championship come late August. Is that too late in summer to go anywhere or would it be that the club championship will be on then and they would prefer to miss a Down match instead of a Kilcoo match?

You say they are missing one week of the year but if the whole panel thought that where would we be.  I have nothing against the lads and think they are super talents but I just don't understand how anyone thinks this is fair game.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 27, 2014, 09:31:16 PM
this shows how far standards in down have fallen imo. cant see any players from Donegal, Dublin or tyrone heading off on holidays in the week before a championship match. not everyone on the panel seems to have the required desire to get us back to somewhere near the top again.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 27, 2014, 09:37:38 PM
Dan Gordon has also given 12 years of service to Down, has suffered serious injuries for two years and wanted to play some club football before deciding whether he was capable of still playing at the required level.  These lads have been on the county panel a wet wkend, not comparing like with like.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 28, 2014, 11:40:50 PM
It's hardly the first time we have had some upheaval in a championship squad so we should be capable of getting on with it. We needed a few changes after the Tyrone game, and we could even have had a few more, but it is a reasonable looking side.

McVeigh had little chance with the goals against Tyrone but his kick-outs were not great and he would have known he was vulnerable. While Cunningham is a decent keeper, Harrison offers more options but may be carrying an injury.

Donnelly is a good prospect and worth trying at full back, as Gordon can then remain at midfield at least for the time being. O'Hagan is probably the best corner back we have, so his return is good news.

It's a pity that Ambrose still seems to be struggling for fitness, but it would make sense to keep Madine up front and allow Benny to roam.

Leitrim gave us plenty of bother during their previous qualifier in Newry, and we managed to lose on the last occasion we played them in the league about five year ago, so we cannot take anything for granted tomorrow.

Post by: fingerbob on June 29, 2014, 01:09:48 PM
The game on the radio at all?
Post by: thebar on June 29, 2014, 01:40:29 PM
Quote from: fingerbob on June 29, 2014, 01:09:48 PM
The game on the radio at all?

I think destination newry are covering it online with commentary only
Post by: Blowitupref on June 29, 2014, 02:35:25 PM
Down 1-6 leitrim 0-2 18 mins gone.
Post by: larryin89 on June 29, 2014, 02:54:50 PM
2-9 to 0-3, demoralising stuff for Leitrim. Even though I backed them plus ten, I do feel sorry for them. It's just sad tbh.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 29, 2014, 02:55:11 PM
Half time Down 2-10 leitrim 0-4
Post by: Blowitupref on June 29, 2014, 03:47:14 PM
Full time Down 4-18 leitrim 0-9 total mis match not much use to Down. Leitrim got what they put in.
Post by: armaghniac on June 29, 2014, 04:05:36 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 29, 2014, 03:47:14 PM
Full time Down 4-18 leitrim 0-9 total mis match not much use to Down. Leitrim got what they put in.

Leitrim did better than last year.
But while you have teams like Longford that make a real go of the Qualifiers, there isn't much point in games where one team doesn't want to know (this is a criticism of Leitrim men not there as much as those there today).
Post by: Dubh driocht on June 29, 2014, 05:25:02 PM
Would Emlyn Mulligan be a relation of Suarez? A mismatch in Newry today, good to see big Dan get a run,hope Doyler hasn't done his knee again, apart from that it's all about the draw tomorrow.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 29, 2014, 06:10:55 PM
Total mismatch that does nothing for either team. Down will have learned nothing from that today, its hard to judge who did well because the opposition were that poor. Just hoping now for another home draw in the next round.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 29, 2014, 08:21:20 PM
It was a training run today, with Leitrim knowing from an early stage that they were not in a position to compete. There were some positives for Down, with Cunningham looking decent in nets and amazingly putting over what most people think is the first 45 we have scored in the league or championship since Marty Clarke went back to Melbourne three years ago.
The new full back, Donnelly, did not look particularly comfortable but had little to do and is worth another look. Garvey did a solid job on Mulligan, it was good to see O'Hagan back and Ciaran McCartan had a reasonable debut.

Big Dan cruised through midfield, and, although there was hardly a tackle to be seen all day, practically all of our forwards impressed. Laverty was the pick of the bunch, although for his second goal he only beat Benny to the ball by inches.

Those who suggested that James was happy enough with the three Kilcoo boys heading to Spain for a week might have noted that none of them were stripped, but they will be back the next day. Another home draw tomorrow morning would do us nicely.
Post by: DownFanatic on June 29, 2014, 08:55:50 PM
Today was a momentum builder. Leitrim were poor but we still had to beat them and we did so with a bit of class.

Good to see Donnelly and Ciaran McCartan getting a slice of the action along with sub Conor Toner.

Was seriously impressed with Laverty. He's a man playing at his peak.

It is very obvious that he is our "go to man." When we come up against a better defence we are really going to need our other forwards to raise their games. A cuter rearguard will smother Laverty.
Post by: moysider on June 29, 2014, 11:10:27 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on June 29, 2014, 05:25:02 PM
Would Emlyn Mulligan be a relation of Suarez? A mismatch in Newry today, good to see big Dan get a run,hope Doyler hasn't done his knee again, apart from that it's all about the draw tomorrow.

Why? Who did he bite :o
Post by: Syferus on June 29, 2014, 11:13:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 29, 2014, 11:10:27 PM

Lots a bit(e) like him. The unwashed masses who haven't seen him play much seem to be more wowed by the passing resemblance to a Liverpool player than the fact he's one of the best forwards in the country.
Post by: DownFanatic on June 29, 2014, 11:22:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 29, 2014, 11:13:39 PM

Lots a bit(e) like him. The unwashed masses who haven't seen him play much seem to be more wowed by the passing resemblance to a Liverpool player than the fact he's one of the best forwards in the country.

He was very poor today. Seen little ball.
Post by: Syferus on June 29, 2014, 11:27:41 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on June 29, 2014, 11:22:41 PM

He was very poor today. Seen little ball.

The lone light on that team even with everyone there. Easy for teams to target him.
Post by: moysider on June 29, 2014, 11:28:44 PM

He is of course. Tough on Leitrim. Another year, another humiliation. One of their better minor teams getting knocked out as well yesterday.

But what to do? The Tommy Murphy Cup didn t last long but maybe it had some merit?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 30, 2014, 12:16:51 PM
That match yesterday will have told us nothing about Down we didn't already know.
There would be few if any lessons learned after that game.

Could someone enlighten me or answer me a few things about yesterday's setup?

Ambrose Rodgers comes on as a blood sub into the forward line for Mark Poland. This would make one assume he was close to starting or was maybe gonna be used at some stage of the game. Yet He never re-appeared for the rest of the game when subs were used, he doesn't get back on. Does anyone know why this would be. Was he injured, did he get injured in his brief cameo? Confusing I thought.

Eoin McCartan does not & cannot complete full training sessions for his club due to his history of injuries apparently. He doesn't regularly play for his club either im lead to believe. Burren heads on here correct me if im wrong. Can someone explain to me the justification for him being on the county panel let alone making an appearance. Here we have a player nearing 30 with a host of injury problems, who cant train or play consistently with his club but yet he tends to figure every summer in some shape or form for his county. And before anyone jumps at me this is not a personal attack or anti-McCartan in any shape or form. Im genuinely curious to know how this continually happens.

Good to see younger players getting a run out yesterday but question is will we see wholesale changes for Kildare game or are we no integrating these players into the team to actually use them? Are we merely paying lip service to panellists to give them a run and keep them on board and happy or are we seriously considering the likes of Donnelly & McCartan for Rooney, McArdle, Carr etc?
Imo Yesterday would have been perfect game to start the like of Conor Toner alongside Dan Gordon in midfield and give him a full match.  Maybe also give Doyle a full game if he is to be used down the line.

Post by: grounded on June 30, 2014, 01:37:47 PM
Liam Doyle seemed to have injured himself at the end(just after he took the free) and had to be helped off. The lad has no luck as regards injuries. 
Post by: PAULD123 on June 30, 2014, 02:05:50 PM
Ambrose came on for Connor Maginn. I thought he looked sluggish and off pace. perhaps that's why he didn't re-appear. Or perhaps as you said it is effectively paying lip service to the panel. he got five minutes to keep him from walking away but McCartan perhaps never really wanted him to be playing.

Now, you know full well why Eoin McCartan is in the panel and indeed getting games. As long as he is a McCartan and wants to play he will get picked. It is better to accept that fact and live with it than keep re-visiting the injustice of it. At least Eoin only gets cameos.

Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 30, 2014, 03:01:17 PM
You say that but I genuinely refuse to believe that this day and age someone in a managerial position would be foolish enough to carry out acts of nepotism as such.

Sure it would just leave you wide open to obvious criticism. It would be hard enough to run a senior intercounty team without that hanging over your head would it not.
He is either skinning defenders in training or the other fringe forwards are not up to scratch.

Doyle is an unfortunate one alright. We may have seen the last of him in a Down jersey id fear. Hope im wrong mind you.
Post by: elk on June 30, 2014, 04:28:41 PM
Is Ciaran Mc Cartan who was playing on Sunday related to James ?
Post by: PAULD123 on June 30, 2014, 06:04:18 PM
Quote from: elk on June 30, 2014, 04:28:41 PM
Is Ciaran Mc Cartan who was playing on Sunday related to James ?

No
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 30, 2014, 11:39:58 PM
The word is that Doyle has a hamstring problem. It may not keep him out for too long, but we could certainly do with him against Kildare. Eoin McCartan is a decent player, who is capable of doing a job at this level, but the question is whether he better than the other younger and less injury-prone options out there.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 01, 2014, 09:10:14 AM
Fair enough he may be and I do agree to an extent but is there not a natural progression for a footballer or a path?
You play for your club/school/uni - This would obviously include training and playing regularly
You impress with your club/school/uni - You show an aptitude to perform at a high level consistently and your performances would be of a high standard. You also demonstrate sound attitude, character and off-field behaviour.
You get a call up to the county squad based on your form and character shwon for above teams and then have a chance to showcase your talents at a higher level.
You are either capable of performing at intercounty level or you aren't.
If you are then bingo you're a member of the intercounty senior squad.
If you aren't then its back to your club you go and ply your trade their until you improve or get another chance.
Am I being naïve or does that not happen anymore?