GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: johnneycool on May 30, 2014, 01:49:16 PM

Title: Leinster Championship (Proper)
Post by: johnneycool on May 30, 2014, 01:49:16 PM
After the round robin goings on we're now into the knock out stages (well sort of), what chances of an upset in Portlaoise this Sunday?

TBH I think Antrim have a real chance of upsetting Wexford as they weren't a million miles away in the league and have proven that they've got some stability in a youngish team after the last few weeks winning albeit what may be deemed lower level opposition but still managed to beat Laois in Laois to secure this side of the draw.

Get the full bag of pick'n'mix into them and those Antrim lads can play off the sugar rush. If Kevin Ryan has the team talk out on this pitch at half time and cracks open the barrack busters, Wexford will be fleeing back up vinegar hill in double quick time.

Hard to see Laois beating Galway, but Galway historically just do enough in these games and should fear getting caught out as it may happen, but not on Sunday methinks.

Title: Re: Leinster Championship (Proper)
Post by: seafoid on May 30, 2014, 03:09:27 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 30, 2014, 01:49:16 PM
After the round robin goings on we're now into the knock out stages (well sort of), what chances of an upset in Portlaoise this Sunday?

TBH I think Antrim have a real chance of upsetting Wexford as they weren't a million miles away in the league and have proven that they've got some stability in a youngish team after the last few weeks winning albeit what may be deemed lower level opposition but still managed to beat Laois in Laois to secure this side of the draw.

Get the full bag of pick'n'mix into them and those Antrim lads can play off the sugar rush. If Kevin Ryan has the team talk out on this pitch at half time and cracks open the barrack busters, Wexford will be fleeing back up vinegar hill in double quick time.

Hard to see Laois beating Galway, but Galway historically just do enough in these games and should fear getting caught out as it may happen, but not on Sunday methinks.
i think Galway will be very motivated after last year , a  bit like donegal
Post by: Asal Mor on May 31, 2014, 04:43:40 PM
After last year's narrow escape, it's very important for Galway to win convincingly tomorrow. Laois have improved but Galway should be near full intensity tomorrow and if they can't brush Laois aside fairly handily I'd say we can forget about them as serious contenders this year. Clare demolished them last year after they nearly beat us and the form lines didn't lie.

Good luck to Antrim. The bookies have them at 15/2 so it'll be interesting to see if Johnney's right about them being in with a chance.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 01, 2014, 02:18:19 AM
Galway team v Laois

Callanan
Moore
R Burke
Collins
Harte
Tannian
D Burke
Coen
Brehony
N Burke
Cooney
D Burke
Mannion
Glynn
Canning

A very big physical Galway side but unusually for Galway I don't think there are very many pacy wristy forwards that we used to have loads of. Forwards especially are nearly all big men but do they have the mix right up there? My fear is there might be too many one-paced players up there.
Post by: INDIANA on June 01, 2014, 11:35:25 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 30, 2014, 01:49:16 PM

Wexford have been very impressive in recent challenge games against the likes if Tipp. It's a major step up in class for Antrim today.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 01, 2014, 04:20:03 PM
Very worrying so far in O' Moore Park so far. After being up 1-3 to 0-0, Laois scored 6 in a row to level it up. Laois are dominating aerial possession as well and just gone a point up. 8 points from play already is impressive from Laois.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 01, 2014, 04:30:08 PM
Laois 0-14  1-5 Galway. Go bhfoire dia orainn.

Laois have a strong wind in the first half but all the optimism from the league is well gone. Fair play to Laois who are playing great stuff.
Post by: laoislad on June 01, 2014, 04:42:46 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 01, 2014, 04:30:08 PM
Laois 0-14  1-5 Galway. Go bhfoire dia orainn.

Laois have a strong wind in the first half but all the optimism from the league is well gone. Fair play to Laois who are playing great stuff.
HT
Laois 0-16
Galway 1-7
Post by: Collie Brolly on June 01, 2014, 04:57:36 PM
Will Loais hold on now or choke.Be great for Hurling if they hold on,hopefully they can.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 01, 2014, 05:39:04 PM
Galway scrape through by 2 points, but Laois missed 4 or 5 late chances and were the better team for most of the game. They got almost all of their scores from play  and I was sorry they didn't win it at the end.
Post by: laoislad on June 01, 2014, 05:51:31 PM
Absolutely gutted.
Deserved the win but wasn't to be.
No point in running these bigger counties close all the time, we're gonna have to start winning sometime if we want to make real progress.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on June 02, 2014, 10:02:37 AM
Laoislad, you should be gutted. We all follow enough teams to know what that feels like. Keep the head up.... season only getting going yet.

Galway were in a no win situation. There for the taking.

I won't write off Galway just yet. We'll wait to see who they get after the mauling from the cats.

Unusual for Galway, they didn't panic,read the game, took their time and sorted it out. They won't get that time against many other teams left in the championship.
Post by: fearsiuil on June 03, 2014, 11:17:48 AM
What sort of crowd was at this game? Are the Laois supporters getting behind their hurling team's revival?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2014, 11:19:11 AM
Quote from: Clarin Pearl on June 02, 2014, 10:02:37 AM
Laoislad, you should be gutted. We all follow enough teams to know what that feels like. Keep the head up.... season only getting going yet.

I won't write off Galway just yet. We'll wait to see who they get after the mauling from the cats. faithful.

Unusual for Galway, they didn't panic,read the game, took their time and sorted it out. They won't get that time against many other teams left in the championship.

Fixed that for you there.
Post by: johnneycool on June 03, 2014, 12:40:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2014, 11:19:11 AM

I won't write off Galway just yet. We'll wait to see who they get after the mauling from the cats. faithful.

Have the Offaly hurlers shaken off their fat arses and thighs?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2014, 12:59:07 PM
They are our secret weapon. What could possibly go wrong?
Post by: Asal Mor on June 03, 2014, 01:01:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2014, 11:19:11 AM

Post by: Asal Mor on June 03, 2014, 01:14:31 PM

I won't write off Galway just yet. We'll wait to see who they get after the mauling from the cats.

I always try to be optimistic about our hurlers too but it looks bleak after Sunday. As GBB pointed out we have one of the slowest attacks in inter-county history, and they were well beaten in the aeriel battle on Sunday as well. Even JC wouldn't get on a lot of county teams the way he's playing right now.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2014, 03:01:32 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 03, 2014, 01:14:31 PM

I always try to be optimistic about our hurlers too but it looks bleak after Sunday. As GBB pointed out we have one of the slowest attacks in inter-county history, and they were well beaten in the aeriel battle on Sunday as well. Even JC wouldn't get on a lot of county teams the way he's playing right now.
They got off to a slow enough start 2 years ago as well, Asal.
I don't mind as long as they are ready mid July  ;)
Post by: neilthemac on June 03, 2014, 10:21:38 PM
Would Offaly have got out of the round robin series? I doubt it
Post by: Kevin on June 04, 2014, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on June 03, 2014, 10:21:38 PM
Would Offaly have got out of the round robin series? I doubt it

Perhaps not. We will not know now.

Don't be surprised if there is a decent battle on Saturday night.
Post by: seafoid on June 07, 2014, 07:35:56 PM
Leinster SHC quarter-final
1900 Kilkenny 2-17 Offaly 0-06

I can't wait until Kilkenny are shite again

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PU3RHANKj2o
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2014, 07:36:46 PM
Serious beating by half time.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 07, 2014, 07:36:51 PM
Decent Battle - this is a massacre. road crash TV at its best, don't know how Sky gonna talk this game up, the Ukraine was putting it up more to Russia earlier in the year than Offaly are to kilkenny here.
Post by: orangeman on June 07, 2014, 08:12:00 PM
Score of the day. Brian Carroll. Left foot kicked goal.

Dempsey in the Offaly goal MOM.
Post by: neilthemac on June 07, 2014, 08:13:05 PM
As I said, Offaly should have been in the round robin.
Post by: Zulu on June 07, 2014, 08:31:15 PM
Those defending the provincial championships need to think about it - farce.
Post by: maxpower on June 07, 2014, 08:35:12 PM
Seems unfair that Antrim topped the round robin and Laois finished well ahead of Offaly in div 1b yet both will be in round robin in 2015 will Offaly get another bye!

Especially given the performance Laois put in last week!
Post by: seafoid on June 07, 2014, 09:10:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 07, 2014, 08:31:15 PM
Munster is much better
Ulster v competitive in fuball too

What would you do? Play champions league with the cats getting a bye to the semifinal ?
Offaly have serious structural issues but they'll be back at some stage. 
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2014, 09:29:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 07, 2014, 09:10:44 PM
Munster is much better

What would you do? Play champions league with the cats getting a bye to the semifinal ?

could be 50 years before they are back if the GAA dont take the bull by the borns and invest money in Offaly. Hurling cant afford to lose them
Post by: AZOffaly on June 07, 2014, 09:38:10 PM
Thank god we've been added to the pot for the money. That was embarrassing.
Post by: BartSimpson on June 07, 2014, 09:41:05 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2014, 09:29:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 07, 2014, 09:10:44 PM
Munster is much better

could be 50 years before they are back if the GAA dont take the bull by the borns and invest money in Offaly. Hurling cant afford to lose them
Slight exaggeration?
Post by: orangeman on June 07, 2014, 10:05:39 PM
The referee screwed Offaly. Kilkenny got all that was going.
Post by: neilthemac on June 07, 2014, 10:30:41 PM
Hurling has moved on a lot from 1998
It appears Offaly have not, nor their star manager.

the few times they handpassed the ball short and ran from midfield Kilkenny looked less comfortable.
Raining the ball aimlessly down on that Kilkenny backline only leads to one outcome.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2014, 12:21:10 AM
Quote from: maxpower on June 07, 2014, 08:35:12 PM
Seems unfair that Antrim topped the round robin and Laois finished well ahead of Offaly in div 1b yet both will be in round robin in 2015 will Offaly get another bye!

I don't think either Laois or Antrim would have been 20 points down at HT. Offaly are no longer even close to dining at the top table and I don't know why people are so keen to protect them as some sort of heritage project.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 08, 2014, 11:52:38 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2014, 12:21:10 AM

I don't think either Laois or Antrim would have been 20 points down at HT. Offaly are no longer even close to dining at the top table and I don't know why people are so keen to protect them as some sort of heritage project.

Offaly could benefit from the round robin games as Laois and Antrim have. Getting a bye straight into Nowlan Park wouldn't do any of those 3 teams any good. Better off getting close championship games against teams at the same level - London, Carlow, Galway etc.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 17, 2014, 02:58:55 PM
Kilkenny v Galway this weekend. Honestly can't remember being less optimistic in my life before a Galway match, even though Kilkenny aren't what they were.
Post by: johnneycool on June 17, 2014, 04:24:36 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 17, 2014, 02:58:55 PM
Kilkenny v Galway this weekend. Honestly can't remember being less optimistic in my life before a Galway match, even though Kilkenny aren't what they were.

why so, is the soundings coming out of the camp not good?

I don't think there was a whole pile of optimism before the 2012 Leinster final either though!
Post by: cicfada on June 17, 2014, 06:59:41 PM
I am another pessimistic galwayman here . You can talk about our recent history of beating the cats in 2012, you can talk about the new lads brought in, you can talk about kilkennys invincibility waning but the simple fact is,  marquee Galway players out of form and the minimum we need is these lads and I refer to joe canning and David Burke specifically here. They are not playing well and yet have been left on in matches when playing badly. The new lads, r Burke , daithi Burke , brehony and mannion have done well so far this year. Tis clutching at straws to expect Galway to beat kk on Sunday and for me if I saw the out of form lads playing well and a performance from the team, it would do me . It might be something to build on then. Either way, against Dublin in final (who we have never beaten in c'ship) or against Clare, tipp or Waterford (who we have never beaten either) it's going to be hard. You never know what might happen, as long as they give it a lash on Sunday, that might be a launching pad!!
Post by: Asal Mor on June 17, 2014, 10:15:56 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 17, 2014, 04:24:36 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 17, 2014, 02:58:55 PM

why so, is the soundings coming out of the camp not good?

I don't think there was a whole pile of optimism before the 2012 Leinster final either though!
I won't claim to have any knowledge about what's going on in the camp Johnney but what I've read hasn't been positive. Apparently Cyril Donnellan isn't coming back either which is a bad sign and a considerable loss. A lad with a bit of pace who was huge for us in 2012, though obviously looks hopelessly awkward at times too.

I was fairly optimistic after the league but the Laois performance was a disaster. Laois were brilliant and should have won comfortably but it was alarming for Galway. We knew our attack was slow going into that game, but for them to get destroyed in the air by the Laois defence as well, makes you wonder whether we can be remotely competitive against Kilkenny. I think our defence has improved this year with the Burkes coming in, but only Conor Cooney looks like doing any damage up front. Canning and David Burke are both in very poor form and shouldn't be above being substituted or dropped, but it seems that they are. Like cicfada I'd be delighted if we get a performance but I'm fearing annihilation.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 17, 2014, 10:26:03 PM
I see on PP that Galway's odds have shortened slightly from 5/2 to 9/4 so someone out there must think we're gonna do it. Hope they're right.
Post by: Derrybrien Forever on June 19, 2014, 10:23:36 AM
Ah jesus lads, pull the heads up please.

This Galway panel have the hard work done, they have found new blood and this championship is wide open.

Galway will beat Kilkenny on Sunday and beyond that anything is possible. 
Post by: Derrybrien Forever on June 19, 2014, 01:57:43 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 17, 2014, 10:15:56 PM
Laois were brilliant and should have won comfortably

But they didn't. Galway won the game, thats all that was asked of them . Remember Clare struggling to beat Wexford last year?
Post by: Asal Mor on June 19, 2014, 04:57:42 PM
I hope you're right Derrybrien. This is the Galway team according to a poster on Hoganstand.

1- Callanan
2- Moore
3- R Burke
4- Collins
5- Harte
6- Tannian
7- D Burke
8- Coen
9- Brehony
10- N Burke
11- Cooney
12- D Burke
13- Mannion
14- Glynn
15- Canning

Surprised Jason Flynn didn't get a start.

Our biggest worry will be the attack and whether they can even make life difficult for the Kilkenny backs. We live in hope.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 21, 2014, 12:53:29 PM
It'll be interesting to see how the Laois minors go against Kilkenny today. They seem hopeful enough about it, even though they've a young team (9 underage again next year, 3 of them are under-16). It would be fantastic to see KK out of the u-21 and minor( not meant in a bad-minded way) if Laois could pull off a shock.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 21, 2014, 03:58:08 PM
GALWAY

1. Colm Callanan – Kinvara
2. Fergal Moore – Turloughmore
3. Ronan Burke – Turloughmore
4. David Collins – Liam Mellowes
5. Daithi Burke – Turloughmore
6. Iarlaith Tannian – Ardrahan
7. Johnny Coen – Loughrea
8. Andrew Smith – Portumna
9. Padraig Brehony – Tynagh Abbey Duniry
10. David Burke – St Thomas
11. Niall Burke – Oranmore Maree
12. Conor Cooney – St Thomas
13. Cathal Mannion – Ahascragh Fohenagh
14. Joe Canning – Portumna
15. Jason Flynn – Tommie Larkins
Post by: seafoid on June 21, 2014, 04:21:54 PM
Joe Dooley from earlier in the year - a good summary of Galway

"The usual question probably needs to be asked re Galway. Which Galway team will be in Kilkenny ? The one that demolished Dublin or the one that went down easily against Waterford. Galway find it difficult to play consistently well in successive games and have done for quite a number of years now."

Surely last year will spur them on.  They were expected to beat Clare. If they had they could have won the all Ireland.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 22, 2014, 05:16:44 AM
Glad to see Flynn and Smyth come in. We need their pace and Smyth's workrate and tackling. His use of the ball is sometimes poor but we need his legs in midfield. Happy to see Coen back in defence where he's given his best IC performances. Overall, looks a better and more mobile team than the last day, although Damien Hayes would be the first name on my teamsheet every time.

Fingers crossed.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 03:55:03 PM
Great.
We get to see Fennelly foul the ball every time, as he tips it off the hurley.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 03:56:27 PM
Hmmm a strange game, Killkenny could win by 10 + points or Galway could pull off a shock, looking forward to it
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 04:07:10 PM
Fennelly fouled the ball twice already, not pulled up on it.
Post by: seafoid on June 22, 2014, 04:44:49 PM
Will the cats do the second half turbo or have Galway the legs ? 
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 05:30:34 PM
Fennelly fouled the ball there again.
Post by: charlieTully on June 22, 2014, 05:34:24 PM
i know nothing about hurling but that was fantastic.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 22, 2014, 05:34:57 PM
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

JJJJJJJJOOOOOOOOOOEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: easytiger95 on June 22, 2014, 05:36:11 PM
Best finish to a hurling game since the 94 final - unbelievable equaliser from Canning and fair dues to the ref adding on the delay from the penalty on the added time.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2014, 05:36:47 PM
saying i am not up to date if they done any changes like the football but i take it the black card doesn't apply looking at the drag down for the penalty
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 05:37:15 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 05:30:34 PM

Don't fecking watch it ya header!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 05:41:48 PM
That was outstanding, Kilkenny just took their foot off that gas for couple of minutes and they could not get the momentum back, that was the difference. Fair play to Galway for not giving up, Kilkenny lost their shape at the back and there was too many lose men.

For Henry and Canning to get those two last scores at the death could have been written in Hollywood.

P.S the Kilkenny keeper was very good with 2 cracking saves
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 05:58:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 05:37:15 PM

either apply the rules or don't
the ball never leaves his hand when he hits it off the hurley.
Post by: seafoid on June 22, 2014, 06:01:55 PM
Asal
Happy those who have not seen and yet believe. Big improvement on last year.
Post by: Canalman on June 22, 2014, 06:34:51 PM
Excellent comeback. Great last ten minutes after a scrappy spiteful game.

Would think every player has to bring a spare helmet given the amount of times in modern game the helmet is targeted to I presume upset the rhythm of the opponent.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 22, 2014, 06:36:16 PM
what a finish. galway looked dead and buried with 10 to go. brilliant character to keep going. the last 2 points of the game were a joy to watch. credit to both teams.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 22, 2014, 06:39:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 22, 2014, 06:01:55 PM
Asal

Powerful stuff seafoid. It does the heart good to see Galway playing like that, even before the dramatic comeback at the end. It's night time over here and I woke the missus up(and probably the neighbours) with my euphoric roaring in the last 2 minutes. God knows what the replay will bring, but today was one to cherish regardless.
Post by: seafoid on June 22, 2014, 06:40:41 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 22, 2014, 06:39:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 22, 2014, 06:01:55 PM
Asal

Powerful stuff seafoid. It does the heart good to see Galway playing like that, even before the dramatic comeback at the end. It's night time over here and I woke the missus up(and probably the neighbours) with my euphoric roaring in the last 2 minutes. God knows what the replay will bring, but today was one to cherish regardless.
Great character there at the end to turn it around. That sort of match experience is priceless. It does the heart good alright.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 06:57:20 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 05:58:43 PM

It's down to the referee to call it, it's been happening for a while, and you have the luxury of television to see it from different angles the referee doesn't. I've noticed a lot of underage hurlers doing it now in certain clubs in Antrim, not sure if it's being coached but I've (I'm a referee) blown them up for it if I see it, it's over carrying basically and they say' I've tapped in on the stick', but as you say they aren't releasing the ball.

But great game and Kilkenny don't lose replays too often
Post by: Asal Mor on June 23, 2014, 09:16:35 AM
The qualifier draw has raised the stakes even higher for the replay . The losers will take on Tipp in Thurles a week later. 
Post by: johnneycool on June 23, 2014, 09:25:20 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2014, 06:57:20 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 22, 2014, 05:58:43 PM

It's down to the referee to call it, it's been happening for a while, and you have the luxury of television to see it from different angles the referee doesn't. I've noticed a lot of underage hurlers doing it now in certain clubs in Antrim, not sure if it's being coached but I've (I'm a referee) blown them up for it if I see it, it's over carrying basically and they say' I've tapped in on the stick', but as you say they aren't releasing the ball.

But great game and Kilkenny don't lose replays too often

I'm not so sure as Galways hurling was a bit off initially but they hit a good patch where the ball was sticking and going to the intended targets. This game will bring them on for the replay. They have no reason to fear Kilkenny and Cody has always feared Galway throughout his tenure as they're unpredictable beasts.

The much maligned Cunningham got most of his match ups right. Paul Murphy was really struggling under the high ball with the big awkward Flynn lad (might actually have been Glynn the more I think of it), granted balls hit into space Murphy ate up as usual. Tannian did rightly lying back in front of the fullback line and providing that physical presence to put the runners backwards.
Mr Andy Smyth did what he does best, work his arse off and takes no prisoners, he'd didn't back down from Tyrrell even if you'd know Tyrrell would eat him up and shíte him out. He set the tempo and agenda for Galway and they need him and a few others like him to do the spade work.
In saying that Richie Hogan needs stopped if you've any grand designs of beating this Kilkenny team, he's their engine room at the minute and provider in chief for the rest. How you stop him is another thing entirely.
Joe seemed to relish that bit more freedom out the field and his greater involvement in general play. He was very unlucky with a great goal chance well saved by Murphy.
At the other end Callanan did not impress me at all and IMO two of those KK goals were saveable. He was going backwards when Larkin mis-hit his one, he should have come charging out once it was obvious Larkin was striking it. I presume the big lad who did goals in the AI final in 2012 has left the panel, but he had a set of balls on him to take on anything and anyone who came into his zone, Callanan doesn't have that presence it seems.

I can see Cody starting Brian Hogan in centre back with Tyrrell being sent back into the defence to stop the catching in there, so Cunningham will need to do something different as well to prevent Richie Hogan bossing midfield.

IMO its still in the balance, Galway have still got the ability to beat this Kilkenny team who know for some its their last horrah.
Interesting times still in hurling.

Post by: waterfordlad on June 23, 2014, 09:35:52 AM
Brilliant 2nd half. The first half with good too with plenty physical battles and 6 yellow cards given but when the game opened up in 2nd half it was great stuff with a finish that Hollywood would have said was too far fetched. Galway could have given up as 9 points down with 4 minutes to go but went for goals and deserved the draw for their character which has often been questioned. Cody won't be happy at conceding 5 goals and losing such a big lead but all the fans will look forward to the replay. Hopefully it will be on tv.
Post by: Derrybrien Forever on June 23, 2014, 09:57:36 AM

Savage stuff...

Watching the likes of Tannian, Collins, Smith and Canning yesterday would bring joy to your heart.
Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2014, 11:48:11 AM
Quote from: Derrybrien Forever on June 23, 2014, 09:57:36 AM

Savage stuff...

Watching the likes of Tannian, Collins, Smith and Canning yesterday would bring joy to your heart.
so would this
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/galway-dig-deep-to-produce-crazy-finale-against-kilkenny-1.1841710?page=2
. But there will still time for Shefflin to make us wonder would we ever see a player like him again. And for Canning to remind us that we already can.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 23, 2014, 02:20:16 PM
Callanan didn't have a great day Johnney. He's a talented keeper and he'd a great league where he saved much more difficult shots than the ones that went past him yesterday. His puck outs were very good though. Hopefully he'll be back on shot stopping form for the replay. Skehill left the panel alright, and afaik hasn't returned.

Agree that we need to stop Hogan and TJ Reid too. Maybe Johnny Coen could do the man marking job on Hogan. He'd have the pace anyway. Joseph Cooney could come in at wing - back to compete with TJ on puck outs. He'd a great cameo at the end yeserday, and similar to Conor Cooney and Glynn, he looks to have improved a lot. It'll be interesting to see if Glynn starts because he already has a pattern of doing much better off the bench. Hopefully Smyth is ok. We need his aggression and workrate.

You'd imagine Galway will go looking for goals again the next day. When Joe started running at them through the middle, we looked really dangerous, so hoping to see more of that the next day. We scored 5 and Murphy made 2 good saves and 1 great one, so our fears about the forward line were way off.

Very encouraged by yesterday, but we'll have to beat Kilkenny or else Tipp at home to stay in the championship, so it's fingers crossed again. And as a Galway fan, you're always worried that they'll come out the next day, be totally limp, and get blown away. There's no reason why that should happen, but it's always something you'd fear with Galway. The All-Ireland looks wide open again. There's nothing between the top 6 or 7 teams, so please God let Galway win next week, and we can all look forward to Tipp v Kilkenny in Thurles.

Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2014, 08:44:56 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 23, 2014, 02:20:16 PM
Callanan didn't have a great day Johnney. He's a talented keeper and he'd a great league where he saved much more difficult shots than the ones that went past him yesterday. His puck outs were very good though. Hopefully he'll be back on shot stopping form for the replay. Skehill left the panel alright, and afaik hasn't returned.

Agree that we need to stop Hogan and TJ Reid too. Maybe Johnny Coen could do the man marking job on Hogan. He'd have the pace anyway. Joseph Cooney could come in at wing - back to compete with TJ on puck outs. He'd a great cameo at the end yeserday, and similar to Conor Cooney and Glynn, he looks to have improved a lot. It'll be interesting to see if Glynn starts because he already has a pattern of doing much better off the bench. Hopefully Smyth is ok. We need his aggression and workrate.

You'd imagine Galway will go looking for goals again the next day. When Joe started running at them through the middle, we looked really dangerous, so hoping to see more of that the next day. We scored 5 and Murphy made 2 good saves and 1 great one, so our fears about the forward line were way off.

Very encouraged by yesterday, but we'll have to beat Kilkenny or else Tipp at home to stay in the championship, so it's fingers crossed again. And as a Galway fan, you're always worried that they'll come out the next day, be totally limp, and get blown away. There's no reason why that should happen, but it's always something you'd fear with Galway. The All-Ireland looks wide open again. There's nothing between the top 6 or 7 teams, so please God let Galway win next week, and we can all look forward to Tipp v Kilkenny in Thurles.

They'll have to work on the consistency through the 0 minutes but they have more of a 2012 feel about them intensity wise so fingers crossed.
It's open enough this year. The cats are not who they were and the chasers are nothing special. 
Post by: johnneycool on June 24, 2014, 01:54:23 PM
Any talk of the replay being televised?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 24, 2014, 02:03:00 PM
Not going to be televised. See this from Breaking news.
Sky deal means no TV slot for Kilkenny and Galway replay

24/06/2014 - 12:12:16Back to Sport Home
It's been reported the much anticipated replay between Galway and Kilkenny on Saturday evening will not be shown on television.
The two sides played out a 3-22 to 5-16 draw on Sunday - in a game which was lit up by a remarkable eight-minute, 3-03 comeback from the Tribesmen to level in time added on.
The thriller featured hurling superstars Henry Shefflin of Kilkenny and Galway's Joe Canning trading spectacular injury time points setting up the replay fixed for Tullamore, by the Leinster Council, at 7pm this Saturday evening.

This timing would seem to have ended any hope of RTÉ broadcasting the game on either of their channels as they are reportedly contracted not to show games at the same time as Sky Sports until the All-Ireland semi-finals.
Sky Sports are locked in to show the Ulster football semi-final clash of Armagh and Monaghan at that time, putting an end to hopes of seeing the hurling replay.
RTÉ and TV3 would have been in the same position with their deal with the GAA in previous seasons.
RTÉ were faced with a similar situation two weeks ago when Cork and Waterford went to a replay, however the station had already selected Mayo v Roscommon as well as Dublin v Laois for their Sunday Game coverage.
Unable to show the game live the national broadcaster decided to offer the game through their online platform, but at the time of writing it is yet to be seen if they can do that again on Saturday.
With the lack of TV pictures one would expect there to be a bumper crowd heading for the Offaly venue on Saturday and if the game provides half the entertainment of last week's encounter it may just be worth the reduced ticket price.

This story is more bullshit, especially it's dig at the 'Sky' deal. As they say themselves in the middle of the article, the exact same position would have been the case last year with the TV3 deal.

What the story doesn't say is that RTE could show the game at 5pm if they want, but they don't want to because of soccer and horse racing being on. RTE offered to show it at half 2 or something, but Galway and Kilkenny said piss off. It just annoys me the way the media present this stuff, and morons lap it up.
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2014, 11:00:48 AM
Galway are 10/1 for the all Ireland which looks quite good considering the performance on Saturday.
Post by: Franko on June 25, 2014, 03:55:23 PM
Another zero on the end of it and I might consider it... there's every chance that last weekend's performance was Galway's annual 1-game show.
Post by: johnneycool on June 25, 2014, 04:26:42 PM
Leinster U21HC semi-finals
Westmeath v Dublin, Mullingar, 7.30pm
Wexford v Offaly, Wexford Park, 7.30pm

Is this right? Kilkenny out before the semi-finals, who beat them?
Post by: Roashter on June 25, 2014, 05:03:48 PM
Wexford beat them in Nowlan park
Post by: macdanger2 on June 25, 2014, 10:23:05 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 25, 2014, 04:26:42 PM
Leinster U21HC semi-finals
Westmeath v Dublin, Mullingar, 7.30pm
Wexford v Offaly, Wexford Park, 7.30pm

Is this right? Kilkenny out before the semi-finals, who beat them?

Westmeath beaten by a pt, good progress for them to be competitive

Offaly hammered, going backwards by the looks of it
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2014, 11:06:26 PM
Offaly lost by the amount Kilkenny did.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 25, 2014, 11:48:05 PM
Perhaps they did but when I turned it on at one stage in the 2nd half it was something like 2-13 to 4. I don't know much about the setup there but ye seem to be struggling to stay in the top bunch which must be difficult to watch, is it lack.of numbers, or the setup or what?
Post by: mouview on June 26, 2014, 12:04:24 AM
Quote from: Franko on June 25, 2014, 03:55:23 PM
Another zero on the end of it and I might consider it... there's every chance that last weekend's performance was Galway's annual 1-game show.

True. They haven't put a good sequence of games together since, ....oh..., 2012.
Post by: johnneycool on June 26, 2014, 09:03:19 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 25, 2014, 11:48:05 PM
Perhaps they did but when I turned it on at one stage in the 2nd half it was something like 2-13 to 4. I don't know much about the setup there but ye seem to be struggling to stay in the top bunch which must be difficult to watch, is it lack.of numbers, or the setup or what?

I'd agree with that, Offaly were way off the pace and it was 2-9 to 0-2 at half time as well as Wexford being down to 14 men for at least half the first half.

Wexford eased off in the second half and it was only then that Offaly tacked on 7 or 8 points to take the bad look off it.

I'd say Gerlock would have had some laugh at the Offaly fullback, he'd a full blown belly with a neat little round sweat spot on the jersey where his belly button is. In saying that the bollox could hurl, but just wasn't fit, fast or strong enough for McDonald in full forward for Wexford.

Offalys number 11 looked handy enough, but he was ploughing a lone furrow with so many of his team mates just not at the same level as the Wexford lads.
I found it sad in a way to watch as Offaly were the kingpins of Leinster and AI underage hurling in my day, they're light years away from that now.

Dublin didn't get it so handy in Mullingar against Westmeath, but it'll be interesting how the final pans out.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 26, 2014, 09:46:00 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 26, 2014, 09:03:19 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 25, 2014, 11:48:05 PM

I'd agree with that, Offaly were way off the pace and it was 2-9 to 0-2 at half time as well as Wexford being down to 14 men for at least half the first half.

Wexford eased off in the second half and it was only then that Offaly tacked on 7 or 8 points to take the bad look off it.

I'd say Gerlock would have had some laugh at the Offaly fullback, he'd a full blown belly with a neat little round sweat spot on the jersey where his belly button is. In saying that the bollox could hurl, but just wasn't fit, fast or strong enough for McDonald in full forward for Wexford.

Offalys number 11 looked handy enough, but he was ploughing a lone furrow with so many of his team mates just not at the same level as the Wexford lads.
I found it sad in a way to watch as Offaly were the kingpins of Leinster and AI underage hurling in my day, they're light years away from that now.

Dublin didn't get it so handy in Mullingar against Westmeath, but it'll be interesting how the final pans out.

I think that's the problem right there. I'm convinced we have hurlers in Offaly. Our results in the club hurling championship would at least indicate that we should be able to pick a competitive team. It's not the case that one team is going well, and the rest of the clubs are woeful, we actually have, between Birr, Coolderry and Kilcormac/Killoughey three teams that have reached All Ireland Finals in the not distant past. We also have signs of life from Rynaghs which is important.

I think what has happened in Offaly, in Hurling and Football, is that we sat, complacent, that there will 'always be hurlers' and 'always be footballers' in Offaly, and because we are small we would inevitably see lulls before we'd have bounce backs. That was reinforced in many people's minds when Offaly Won All Irelands in both in the early 80s, having won football in the 70s and reached AIF in football in the 60s. Then we had the great hurling team of the mid 90s, and we also had a Leinster championship football in 97, and a division 1 NFL in 1998.

As this movement towards better preparation, largely driven by Clare in the mid 90s in the hurling and several football teams, mostly from Ulster originally, in the late 90s and early 00's, Offaly kind of sneered at it, and waited for our next crop of natural hurlers to arrive. We were not good at our development squads and structures and we almost totally ignored the physical preparation that other counties were doing.

Where we are now is that every year we've lost in that probably translates to at least an equivalent year or 18 months in catchup. The other teams are not standing still either. I do believe we have the talented players, but our players are just not as physically prepared as other teams. I know they are trying hard, and I know they are training, but they are this 'lag' behind other counties and there's no cure for that except time and effort. I also know that some lads are not nearly at that stage of physical preparation, and the evidence is in front of our own eyes every time they take the field. Whether's it's being 'horsed' off the ball from not being as pysically 'hard' as the likes of a Dublin or Kilkenny or whether it's running out of gas because you are not as conditioned as them, the net result is the same. You can't live with them.

In football, at least, the Development Squads have been competitive, and Alan Mulhall seems to be doing a great job with them. They are turning out teams that are not world beaters, but they are competitive at their own level and are getting some decent results at Minor and Under 21 in the last couple of years. I believe the U16s beat Roscommon in the Fr. Manning there this week too. I know from my time with Tipperary Football development squads that Offaly were always as kitted out, organised and set up as well as anyone, and they had some very nice players whenever we came across them. The worry will be that these lads will come into a Senior set up which is not at the same level as other counties, and their development will stall, especially in the physical stakes, but I'm hopeful that Offaly are in the process of rectifying that. There's going to be no short cuts here though I'm afraid.

In hurling, that does not seem to be the case, for whatever reason, and I think we are coming to the realisation that these wristy hurlers have to be able to win their own ball, and match the pace and physicality of other teams, as well as be able to execute the skills they have in a much higher octane environment than club hurling. This will also take years to get back, but in the hurlers case I'm afraid that the development squads are not as advanced as their football counterparts, and you are very much relying on a crop coming from nowhere again.
Post by: johnneycool on June 26, 2014, 10:36:11 AM
Wexford seem to be pulling themselves up by the bootstraps all the same, with some good U-21 teams of recent years putting Kilkenny to the sword even if they don't seem to have the resources of Dublin hurlers, so all is not lost if the right men are put in the right places and invariably the serial committee men who involve themselves in county boards are not the right men.

IIRC a few business men got together to set up a 'Club Wexford' to fund the Hurling development led by George O'Connor. That was probably 6 or 7 years ago and they seem to be reaping a benefit as they're a competitive senior team as Clare will soon find out and underage wise are making inroads into what use to be the sole domain of Kilkenny.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 26, 2014, 10:48:44 AM
Yep, the George O'Connor thing at the time was flagged up as being well run (similar to Alan Mulhall in Offaly) and they are seeing it now. That's the model (no pun intended) that Offaly hurling needs.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 26, 2014, 12:03:03 PM
Quote from: Franko on June 25, 2014, 03:55:23 PM

We didn't even get 1 game last year. Year before that we got 2 or 3 games out of it.
Post by: theskull1 on June 26, 2014, 12:16:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 26, 2014, 10:48:44 AM
Yep, the George O'Connor thing at the time was flagged up as being well run (similar to Alan Mulhall in Offaly) and they are seeing it now. That's the model (no pun intended) that Offaly hurling needs.

Lets not forget the impact Antrim 21s beating them had. Don't say that wasn't ammunition used to get a reaction. Looks to be a bit more purpose in the yellow bellies this year
Post by: AZOffaly on June 26, 2014, 12:19:02 PM
Well I'm not specifically talking about last night, or their u21s, I'm talking about Wexford's approach to development in general. I'm sure the Antrim issue has been a harsh lesson for them but it's not changed the fundemental approach that O'Connor has put in place.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 26, 2014, 10:18:28 PM
Just a plug for this video by Shane Walsh of the hurling clan.

http://youtu.be/hve8Vp0skRE
Post by: Asal Mor on June 27, 2014, 06:11:37 AM
Over the last few years Leinster has been more open at underage which bodes well for the Leinster senior Championship. Kilkenny dominated the underage grades in Leinster in the 00's as well as the seniors but Dublin, Wexford and to a lesser degree Laois have been doing well at underage in Leinster over the last 5 years. Add in the presence of Galway and Leinster is becoming as competitive and open as the Munster Championship at Senior level. Kilkenny are looking for their first Leinster in 3 years and they have their work cut out. Carlow and Westmeath seem to be improving too.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 28, 2014, 12:08:11 AM
Unchanged team for Galway. Kilkenny apparently without Richie Power and Mick Fennelly. Tommy or Henry could come in after their successful intros last week. Personal crisis for myself. The game will be on at 2am here and I've my busiest day of the week at work tomorrow. Will try to sleep at 7pm and wake up 5 mins before throw-in as I will hopefully be too excited to get back to sleep after the game.
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2014, 10:07:56 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 28, 2014, 12:08:11 AM
Unchanged team for Galway. Kilkenny apparently without Richie Power and Mick Fennelly. Tommy or Henry could come in after their successful intros last week. Personal crisis for myself. The game will be on at 2am here and I've my busiest day of the week at work tomorrow. Will try to sleep at 7pm and wake up 5 mins before throw-in as I will hopefully be too excited to get back to sleep after the game.
good luck with the sleep management.

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/stakes-even-higher-as-galway-bid-to-finish-the-job-1.1848087
"Joseph Cooney had a hand in the two last goals; he linked with Joe Canning for Conor Cooney's first goal and  he passed across the square for the second one. Another young fella would have tried to blast it himself but no, he was thinking like the auld fella and he just crossed it – Joe would do the same thing.""

Uaisleacht
Post by: Asal Mor on June 28, 2014, 12:11:52 PM
Uaisleacht is right seafoid, he was very clever in possession for both goals. Hopefully he'll be involved in 1 or 2 more later today. It's a huge game for Galway. I'm praying we get another big performance. The right result would be a huge bonus. Best of luck to the Galway lads.
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2014, 01:33:20 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 28, 2014, 12:11:52 PM
Uaisleacht is right seafoid, he was very clever in possession for both goals. Hopefully he'll be involved in 1 or 2 more later today. It's a huge game for Galway. I'm praying we get another big performance. The right result would be a huge bonus. Best of luck to the Galway lads.
It's down to can Galway be more consistent versus do Kilkenny have the mojo. Most of the newspaper pundits seem to be going for the cats .
Post by: orangeman on June 28, 2014, 09:17:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 28, 2014, 01:33:20 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 28, 2014, 12:11:52 PM
It's down to can Galway be more consistent versus do Kilkenny have the mojo. Most of the newspaper pundits seem to be going for the cats .

And the pundits get it right. KK's last 2 outings have produced big scorelines. It will be interesting to see how they get on with Dublin's sweeper.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 29, 2014, 12:09:54 PM
Sounds like we went down fighting anyway. The management will get the usual flak for being tactically naive but Kilkenny have more quality than us. We've introduced some good players this year though, and if we can get the heads right for next week we'll be in with a chance.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2014, 07:17:23 PM

So maybe they would have been eh tony?
Post by: north_antrim_hound on June 29, 2014, 11:09:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 29, 2014, 07:17:23 PM

So maybe they would have been eh tony?
[/

Well done to Offlay and james mc grath for sinking antrim
Nobody to blame but ourselves we should have been long out of sight by injury time
Still sticks in the throat to have a man bearing in on goal one on one and the whistle to go for a nothing free
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 12:15:49 AM
I thought yer goalie made a hatful of saves?  Delighted to get a win there.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 30, 2014, 01:35:44 AM
I see the Tipp v Galway game is on July 12th. 2 weeks to prepare, so no excuses for Galway. We won't be winning any All-Irelands this year but it would be great for this team to beat Tipp and maybe get to a semi-final.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 30, 2014, 02:43:11 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 30, 2014, 01:35:44 AM
I see the Tipp v Galway game is on July 12th. 2 weeks to prepare, so no excuses for Galway. We won't be winning any All-Irelands this year but it would be great for this team to beat Tipp and maybe get to a semi-final.

If it was next weekend I think we would be goosed after 2 tough games. With a 2 week break though we should be the sharper team. Tipp have had a long lay off. That said I wouldn't be putting any money on it. And Tipp are at home.
Post by: Roashter on June 30, 2014, 09:51:28 AM
Am pretty sure Tipp v Galway is on next Saturday (July 5th) at 7:00 in Thurles
-live coverage on sky sports
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 10:00:39 AM
I thought so too. I know the Tipp lads were hoping this replay went to extra time so they'd get ye on the third weekend in a row, all played out.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 30, 2014, 02:58:07 PM
It is the 5th. I saw the 12th on another site but it was wrong. Just watched the highlights of the replay there. Some very silly frees given away by Galway, and some very poor use of possession, yet we were still only 4 down going into injury time. Kilkenny aren't great. I fancy the Dubs to beat them next week.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 30, 2014, 03:41:31 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on June 29, 2014, 11:09:08 PM
Well done to Offlay and james mc grath for sinking antrim
Nobody to blame but ourselves we should have been long out of sight by injury time
Still sticks in the throat to have a man bearing in on goal one on one and the whistle to go for a nothing free

Just saw the incident there. That's one of the most bizarre frees I've ever seen given. What did McGrath think he saw, or was he just trying to make an exciting finish out of it?
Post by: theskull1 on June 30, 2014, 04:21:46 PM
Any clips online of the incident?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 04:26:26 PM
One of the lads in Uibh fhaili.com reckoned it was a clear cut free , at the game. He thought the Antrim lad tripped the Offaly buck. But he said it was obviously very soft when he saw it later on TV. So maybe the ref had the same viewpoint as this fella.
Post by: Asal Mor on July 01, 2014, 12:51:00 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 30, 2014, 04:21:46 PM
Any clips online of the incident?

It's on the Sunday Game highlights on the RTE player, if you have access to that.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2014, 08:14:16 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 30, 2014, 09:27:00 PM
By "very soft", did he mean "not a free"?

Yep. Very lucky. But a great win at this stage of our regression. If Antrim were ever going to repeat 89 in the championship, ballycastle against this Offaly team was a great chance.
Post by: johnneycool on July 01, 2014, 09:52:33 AM
So Cody went for the big men in and around the full back line to put the catching out of the Galway forwards and it worked but credit to Galway they were still in the hunt right to the end when TJ took to the sprint with ball in hand to open up the margin right at the death. Some poor decision making also cost Galway, shooting from poor angles, balls played aimlessly, something you very rarely see from Kilkenny under Cody's reign.

They've nothing to fear from Tipp but at the same time Tipp will be relieved not to be facing Kilkenny so they'll fancy it too. I think this one could be a humdinger, god I might even think about getting in Sky( or Dreambox  ;D ) for it. There is probably more pressure on Tipp, and with Liam Sheedy allegedly back taking sessions leading up to this game, O'Shea really has left himself in a sticky wicket now.

One noticeable thing about Kilkenny and in their forwards in particular is their angles of running when a ball is dropping, they're now knocking it down to the on coming runner, the thing that proved successful for Galway against them in 2012 and something Clare work hard on too.
Not sure Cody will line out that same defence against Dublin either as the lack of pace through the spine and Tyrrell as well could leave them exposed on a wider pitch against a quicker Dublin attack, but he now has options due his blooding of young lads in the league. They're very much a horses for courses type team now and not so settled.
The Dubs will be wanting to show their not a flash in the pan either and beat Kilkenny on the big occasion so they'll be full blooded at it as well.

All good stuff.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2014, 10:52:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on June 30, 2014, 09:27:00 PM
By "very soft", did he mean "not a free"?
Was it a foul or was it not?
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 02, 2014, 01:55:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 30, 2014, 04:26:26 PM
One of the lads in Uibh fhaili.com reckoned it was a clear cut free , at the game. He thought the Antrim lad tripped the Offaly buck. But he said it was obviously very soft when he saw it later on TV. So maybe the ref had the same viewpoint as this fella.

There's a big difference between falling on your arse and being tripped
The offaly lad mist the only one with that view as mc grath quite rightly was booed of the pitch

As an antrim fan the only reason you cld contain yourself is the goalie pullers of some near impossible saves to keep us ahead and we missed some easy scores so we brought it ourselves

It's common knowledge up here antrim has to have a healthy lead going In to the last quarter or the red will shaft us
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2014, 02:01:02 PM
In favour of Offaly? Yeah right, we get loads of big decisions in every game we play :)

I think if your goalie was man of the match, and made the GAA team of the week, then there's a fair chance that Offaly at least deserved to be that close at the end.

It wasn't a free, and Offaly were very lucky to get it, but it would have been moot if your goalie wasn't like the Berlin Wall.

I have good time for Antrim, I think everyone in Offaly does. It's unfortunate for ye to be robbed with a poor decision late in the game, but we're delighted with the win, and I'm delighted that the lads stuck in there, despite all teh missed goal chances, and got a very hard win.
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2014, 02:03:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 02, 2014, 02:01:02 PM
In favour of Offaly? Yeah right, we get loads of big decisions in every game we play :)

I think if your goalie was man of the match, and made the GAA team of the week, then there's a fair chance that Offaly at least deserved to be that close at the end.

It wasn't a free, and Offaly were very lucky to get it, but it would have been moot if your goalie wasn't like the Berlin Wall.

I have good time for Antrim, I think everyone in Offaly does. It's unfortunate for ye to be robbed with a poor decision late in the game, but we're delighted with the win, and I'm delighted that the lads stuck in there, despite all teh missed goal chances, and got a very hard win.

You probably get shafted when playing the bigger fish, but Offaly are definitely further up the hurling ladder than Antrim when it comes to getting the iffy decisions.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 02, 2014, 02:07:16 PM
Jaysus, I don't know about that. I'd say yourselves, ourselves and Laois are probably much of a muchness at this stage, and ye and Laois seem to be rising, while we're in freefall. that's why this win is very important for us.
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2014, 03:08:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 02, 2014, 02:07:16 PM
Jaysus, I don't know about that. I'd say yourselves, ourselves and Laois are probably much of a muchness at this stage, and ye and Laois seem to be rising, while we're in freefall. that's why this win is very important for us.

I'm a Down man, you'd have to go into serious freefall for another few years yet before you're the same level as us  ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on July 02, 2014, 03:21:53 PM
Your freefall also has you beating antrim!!

There are a number of decisions over the years which haven't gone favourably for antrim anyway against the more traditional teams.  That decision on sunday was pretty bad. I would find it hard to believe a ref would go out to shaft them though and at the end of the day he didn't score the goal. It's just that it happens quite regularly it gets frustrating.

Then I guess many supporters would say that about their own team and ref decisions.
Post by: Zulu on July 02, 2014, 04:11:22 PM
Should be pointed out that this free was pretty deep in Offaly's own half so even as bad a decision as it was it was hardly screwing over Antrim. If a free from that area was a guaranteed goal every week most hurling games would end up with 20 - 30 goals. Wouldn't really put that decision in the 'ref screws the small guy' category.
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2014, 04:23:53 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 02, 2014, 03:21:53 PM

There are a number of decisions over the years which haven't gone favourably for antrim anyway against the more traditional teams.  That decision on sunday was pretty bad. I would find it hard to believe a ref would go out to shaft them though and at the end of the day he didn't score the goal. It's just that it happens quite regularly it gets frustrating.

Then I guess many supporters would say that about their own team and ref decisions.

Its a bitter pill Tommy so swallow hard.
Post by: Asal Mor on July 02, 2014, 05:55:40 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 02, 2014, 04:11:22 PM
Should be pointed out that this free was pretty deep in Offaly's own half so even as bad a decision as it was it was hardly screwing over Antrim. If a free from that area was a guaranteed goal every week most hurling games would end up with 20 - 30 goals. Wouldn't really put that decision in the 'ref screws the small guy' category.

It did rob Antrim of a near-certain goal but I don't think there was any more to it than just a terrible decision and there'll be a few of those in every game. I'd be very sore if it happened to Galway in a big game, though. Kevin Ryan seemed to take it on the chin from what I saw of his interview. Fair play to him for his sportsmanship. He could have been forgiven for going off on a ref robbed us rant.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 02, 2014, 05:58:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 02, 2014, 04:23:53 PM

Its a bitter pill Tommy so swallow hard.

Ah sure we've got the ulster final to look forward to JC. May see you there... sometime this year or next!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 02, 2014, 06:49:27 PM

That's my point if it's close the mc graths of this world will influence the outcome
Kevin Ryan and the antrim captain are not as quiet about him in the antrim post

There is no animosity to Offlay at all good luck to them
I just wish that when we are in the mix for result for once we would get the bad calls

Good luck to offaly in the next round
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2014, 08:57:34 AM
Yep fully agree NAH. I and several others I know feel the same - could list out specific decisions but not much point.

Not trying to detract from Offaly - the game was there to be won and they won it and that's it. Best of luck to them in the next round.

At least now all the players can go back to their club now and should be a good club championship.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2014, 09:09:28 AM
I saw on twitter that the goalie played 2 matches on Sunday, he had a club Championship match after the Offaly game? That's harsh.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2014, 09:50:23 AM
That was the reserve championship I think. He's loughgiel's second choice keeper.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2014, 10:40:34 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 03, 2014, 09:50:23 AM
That was the reserve championship I think. He's loughgiel's second choice keeper.

????????
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2014, 10:58:17 AM
Some serious goalie at Loughiel so. Is he from a different county?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 03, 2014, 11:20:44 AM
No - I think he's retired from the county. He played on and off over the years (name DD Quinn). Very good keeper.

Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 11:53:46 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 03, 2014, 11:20:44 AM
No - I think he's retired from the county. He played on and off over the years (name DD Quinn). Very good keeper.

DD puck outs are better

He can pick out a man running at put str8 to him of the space he is moving into

For all O Connells brilliant shot stopping(as good as any at county level) he needs to work on his striking. The ball goes to high and hangs before dropping. Bread and butter for a good defender

DD is more Donal Og.  Low trajectory and fast, picking out the runners
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 04:50:32 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 11:53:46 AM

DD puck outs are better

For all O Connells brilliant shot stopping(as good as any at county level) he needs to work on his striking. The ball goes to high and hangs before dropping. Bread and butter for a good defender

Or not in a few Club games last year were ball was turned over!!

Anyways just watched the Sunday game highlights, was a soft free and this is the problem, did the referee see McGuiness nudge him as he turned for the ball as it went over his head? The replay showed him just turning on to the ball, McGrath was 60 yards away when he called it, he (in his head) had to be really sure of that call before blowing, the panel thought differently. If (and hurling as a referee you can find yourself 60/70 yards out after a large clearance) I get caught out like that it would have top be an obvious free otherwise ya can't call it.

Doesn't matter, as we would be very lucky to get past the next team
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 05:49:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 04:50:32 PM

DD puck outs are better

Anyways just watched the Sunday game highlights, was a soft free and this is the problem, did the referee see McGuiness nudge him as he turned for the ball as it went over his head? The replay showed him just turning on to the ball, McGrath was 60 yards away when he called it, he (in his head) had to be really sure of that call before blowing, the panel thought differently. If (and hurling as a referee you can find yourself 60/70 yards out after a large clearance) I get caught out like that it would have top be an obvious free otherwise ya can't call it.

What if the rolls where reversed and a offaly forward had turned his man and the defender slipped now he's one on one with the goalie. Would mc grath have blown, me thinks not
The topic here isn't a ref getting it wrong as that can happen it's why are they bias
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 05:57:24 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 05:49:55 PM

DD puck outs are better

What if the rolls where reversed and a offaly forward had turned his man and the defender slipped now he's one on one with the goalie. Would mc grath have blown, me thinks not
The topic here isn't a ref getting it wrong as that can happen it's why are they bias

So do you think there is a secret circle of referees who sit around in meetings and draw up reasons and ways to be bias against Ulster or second tier counties? Sounds a bit far fetched don't you think? I've been at plenty matches and seen some terrible decisions go against Antrim in hurling even against my own club in the Ulster and All Ireland series but I've also seen us get some head scratching calls which were never fouls.

I just don't think there is an agenda though. Bad call, and by all accounts from ones that I spoke to at the game we should have been well in front before the final minute
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2014, 06:12:50 PM
How do you make that out? I've heard that a couple of times, and yet I've also heard the Antrim goalie lauded as having a man of the match display with about 8 top class saves/missed goals. Sounds to me like it was even enough.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 06:36:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 05:57:24 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 05:49:55 PM

DD puck outs are better

So do you think there is a secret circle of referees who sit around in meetings and draw up reasons and ways to be bias against Ulster or second tier counties? Sounds a bit far fetched don't you think? I've been at plenty matches and seen some terrible decisions go against Antrim in hurling even against my own club in the Ulster and All Ireland series but I've also seen us get some head scratching calls which were never fouls.

I just don't think there is an agenda though. Bad call, and by all accounts from ones that I spoke to at the game we should have been well in front before the final minute

Who said we shouldn't have been if front by more not me so why bring that up
To suggest I secret circle of refs with premeditated designs is stupid and nothing in my words suggested that so that's you trying to be funny

Answer me question if the rolls where reversed woukd he have blew it
Not a chance in hell. Ask the clare what they thought of mc graths performance two weeks previous
The bigger the county the more he will placate them
That's just a terrible mindset
Now if your going to respond remember to answer my question
And cut out the sarcasism leave that for someone that's naturally funny
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 06:56:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 03, 2014, 06:12:50 PM
How do you make that out? I've heard that a couple of times, and yet I've also heard the Antrim goalie lauded as having a man of the match display with about 8 top class saves/missed goals. Sounds to me like it was even enough.

We should have been further ahead missed some feirce scores( even Sid said so)
But at the same time the goalie kept us in it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 07:56:31 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 06:56:54 PM

We should have been further ahead missed some feirce scores
( even Sid said so)

Did you say we should have been further ahead and then question me that you didn't say it?

Look get fecking grip and I'm not being funny, referees don't have an agenda against weaker counties had that been the case then Cork would have won the All Ireland last year in the first match, who refereed the second game game? hmmmmm. Jesus such a siege mentality. Hurl the best ya can and the best team wins, generally. Why have we regressed so much from the league game in the same venue so many weeks ago? we beat Offaly handy enough that day and no need to worry about the referee. Was that the only thing he got wrong?

How many mistakes did the Antrim players make with shot selection or miss placed passes? Games over we were beat and time to move on.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 08:13:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 07:56:31 PM

( even Sid said so)

Did you say we should have been further ahead and then question me that you didn't say it?

Look get fecking grip and I'm not being funny, referees don't have an agenda against weaker counties had that been the case then Cork would have won the All Ireland last year in the first match, who refereed the second game game? hmmmmm. Jesus such a siege mentality. Hurl the best ya can and the best team wins, generally. Why have we regressed so much from the league game in the same venue so many weeks ago? we beat Offaly handy enough that day and no need to worry about the referee. Was that the only thing he got wrong?

How many mistakes did the Antrim players make with shot selection or miss placed passes? Games over we were beat and time to move on.

Leave the expletives to your speaking to me in person and not on a discussion fourum
You have clearly lost the plot again and let yourself down
I said In my last post that I don't think their is a pre planned agenda so why are still harping on about it
You where not there on Sunday I was so your not even a position to argue
Stop telling me to get a grip and answer my fuking question
Would have antrim got the free if the rolls where reversed
Not a fuking prayer to use your language
No need to reply as would rather discuss it with someone who was there
And isn't a ref

Post by: theskull1 on July 04, 2014, 12:34:45 AM

:o wtf ...really milltown? What's the point then?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 09:54:51 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 04, 2014, 12:34:45 AM

:o wtf ...really milltown? What's the point then?

Well if we couldn't beat Offaly, a team we beat handy enough in the league in same venue not so long ago we'd struggle against the next team? you think different? Strange call from you though, as you have in the past called for Antrim to not compete at all and concentrate on getting club structures right and then build on that.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 09:58:28 AM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 03, 2014, 08:13:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 03, 2014, 07:56:31 PM

( even Sid said so)

Leave the expletives to your speaking to me in person and not on a discussion fourum
You have clearly lost the plot again and let yourself down
I said In my last post that I don't think their is a pre planned agenda so why are still harping on about it
You where not there on Sunday I was so your not even a position to argue
Stop telling me to get a grip and answer my fuking question
Would have antrim got the free if the rolls where reversed
Not a fuking prayer to use your language
No need to reply as would rather discuss it with someone who was there
And isn't a ref

I'm always available for a chat, to answer your question Antrim would have got the same free had McGrath seen it. Why wouldn't he? Typical though, lets get the ready made excuses when we are beat, the ball moved forward 20 yards after the free was given for slabbering to referee? I wasn't there but maybe you could tell me
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:03:14 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 04, 2014, 10:01:18 AM
The ball wasn't moved forward for slabbering. Cricky had a shot after the whistle.

So did the referee move it forward? for dissent?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:10:54 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 04, 2014, 10:05:24 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:03:14 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 04, 2014, 10:01:18 AM
The ball wasn't moved forward for slabbering. Cricky had a shot after the whistle.

So did the referee move it forward? for dissent?
Yeah, for having a shot after the whistle?

It's called dissent in the referees eyes, unfortunately that happens some referees adhere to the rules and others use common sense. Moving it 20 yards probably made the difference though. Had Chris got that one on one we probably (and deservedly by all accounts) would have won the game. We need to win games without having to worry about bad calls from the referee, I'm still playing away and I'll have many a 'discussion' with the referee during the game on calls that I think he got wrong but he's not the reason we lose or win
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:23:34 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 04, 2014, 10:19:05 AM
Fcuk, I don't know.

When you are 2 up in the last minute, one on one with the 'keeper and the ref gives a nothing free against you which drops into your net.

It's a bitter pill to swallow.

It is, and looking at it a few times it's never a free and the pundits said themselves also. Will McGrath be able to justify it after looking back? Maybe not but I've played long enough to realise I've made stupid mistakes that have ended up with ball in our own net!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2014, 10:42:18 AM
Lads, we are in a seriously  bad place mentally and preparation wise. Our morale was in the toilet. We hadn't won a game all year apart from the Kerry relegation play off, and the game in Tullamore when Antrim disrespected us. We got hockeyed in Ballycastle in a game that we needed to win at the time, and we have just been murdered by Kilkenny, live on Sky Sports' first ever game.

We were there to be blown away, and I'm delighted that our lads showed guts to take a chance when it fell into their lap, and more importantly were in a position to do so. I'm also encouraged that the Antrim goalie was outstanding, which casts doubt over the fact that Antrim should have been out of sight.

But if Antrim couldn't do the job on Sunday, ye're going to have to have a lot of stars aligning to get a better chance. James McGrath or no James McGrath.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 10:43:43 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:23:34 AM
Fcuk, I don't know.

When you are 2 up in the last minute, one on one with the 'keeper and the ref gives a nothing free against you which drops into your net.

It is, and looking at it a few times it's never a free and the pundits said themselves also. Will McGrath be able to justify it after looking back? Maybe not but I've played long enough to realise I've made stupid mistakes that have ended up with ball in our own net!

Right you where not there so maybe HS can verify what i seen
He moved the ball forward for god knows what

He didn't blow fir the free to cricky had taken at least 8 steps
Now if he would have blown when the defender fell on his arse fair enough he thought he was fouled but the whistle sounded after you man fell and cricky had covered 15 yards
That's why everyone was miffed he never blew to cricky was heading for goal
The general reaction was wtf is he blowing for
2 points up and a man heading one on one with goalie and the game on the blow is good position to be in. There's only one person on the pitch that changed that

Your logic on the win not being important because we wouldn't win the next round is laughable
Sure lets not beat Offlay for the first time in the championship since 1989 as we will get beat in the next round

Imm available any time for a chat to if you want to PM me but I would rather leave
What about you keep your manners in check and we leave it at that
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2014, 10:46:40 AM
Nor ye.

And this year has been chronic by even our standards recently. More or less the same team last year were far better. What that tells you about management etc, I'll leave up to you.

Don't rely on us getting worse though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:51:46 AM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 10:43:43 AM
Fcuk, I don't know.

Now if he would have blown when the defender fell on his arse fair enough he thought he was fouled but the whistle sounded after you man fell and cricky had covered 15 yards
2 points up and a man heading one on one with goalie and the game on the blow is good position to be in. There's only one person on the pitch that changed that

Your logic on the win not being important because we wouldn't win the next round is laughable
Sure lets not beat Offlay for the first time in the championship since 1989 as we will get beat in the next round

Imm available any time for a chat to if you want to PM me but I would rather leave

I wasn't there but have watched it on tv, difference being? I spoke to someone who was there and he moved the ball forward for slobbering, as I've said I doubt very much it was Chris as it's not in his nature. The free a wrong call, I've said that but give me some logic to the bias thing you are claiming please? I've answered you so explain. As for getting beat in the next round that's just me being real, same as Laois getting beat against Waterford, it was a predictable result and one which was great for Laois in terms of experience but I never said we shouldn't be bother playing, putting words in my mouth wont change that
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 11:05:50 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 10:51:46 AM
Fcuk, I don't know.

I wasn't there but have watched it on tv, difference being? I spoke to someone who was there and he moved the ball forward for slobbering, as I've said I doubt very much it was Chris as it's not in his nature. The free a wrong call, I've said that but give me some logic to the bias thing you are claiming please? I've answered you so explain. As for getting beat in the next round that's just me being real, same as Laois getting beat against Waterford, it was a predictable result and one which was great for Laois in terms of experience but I never said we shouldn't be bother playing, putting words in my mouth wont change that

Well I call it bias and make no excuses for it
I've been going to county matches for years and never seen a bad call go antrims way
When the game is close. I don't think imm alone on this one.
Your views and mannerisms on previous debates would render your opinion skewed anyway
Keep going on this one you might make the Antrim post again
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 11:15:38 AM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 11:05:50 AM
Fcuk, I don't know.

I've been going to county matches for years and never seen a bad call go antrims way
Your views and mannerisms on previous debates would render your opinion skewed anyway

Oh I know I've made it when I'm on the Antrim post, for another miss quote, journalism at it's highest.

You'll call it bias and just leave it at that and not explain why, that's great.

My views on previous debates like yours are my views, and you are always right?

As for me keeping it going I only came onto this debate a couple of days ago, you've been gurning about it since Sunday ffs
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 11:30:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 11:15:38 AM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 11:05:50 AM
Fcuk, I don't know.

Oh I know I've made it when I'm on the Antrim post, for another miss quote, journalism at it's highest.

You'll call it bias and just leave it at that and not explain why, that's great.

My views on previous debates like yours are my views, and you are always right?

As for me keeping it going I only came onto this debate a couple of days ago, you've been gurning about it since Sunday ffs

Your the one pissing in the wind
Kevin Ryan the team captain and every swinging dik that was there have the same view
It isn't the first time on record the ref has been brought into question
In fact most time it's close they have there influence
I've seen tommy walsh break a stick on a mans leg and getting a yellow and an antrim player get a red for nothing in the same month
Just on case you didn't know those antrim players have been knocking there pans in since Christmas only to get there result taken from them
It's not the first time it happened and won't be the last
I might gurn about it to next Sunday week imm that pissed off with dodgy decisions every time where looking at a result
Imm with Ryan and the players and most people that follow antrim
When I say shafted again

If we a get a dodgy decision some day that wins us a game I will come on here and say
Wouldn't hold you breadth though
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 11:53:22 AM
Ok I'm going to have my final say on this

I've been to as many if not more Antrim games than you, I've travelled far and wide, also my knowledge on local and national level would be similar to yours. I've played and managed for many years (continue to do so) and have refereed a right few years also. The amount of times I've heard supporters and players shout you're are cheating us is a lot. The referee (in the main) does not care who wins, he's trying to get through the game and officiated as well as he can so that he can get the next big game.

I've said it repeatedly the call was wrong and it lost us the game, I could go back to Croke park when Brian McFaul caught the ball and lashed it into the back of the net only for it to be called a square ball, wrong call, the decisions the referee made At Casement when we played Carlow one year were ridiculous. But I've also seen some wild pulls by a Antrim player against Cork in Croke Park one year and he should have walked for that, eventually he did get a red late on but the ref was very lenient that day the amount of steps Tosh took when scoring the winner against Galway in Casement a few years ago out on the left on the motorway end, again that went for us...

I'm as big Antrim hurling fan/supporter as you, I've travelled for all of Dunloys/Loughgiels and Cushendalls club semi finals and disappointed when we lose those games. Getting the feeling here that I'm not annoyed we lost, that's not the case. I'm annoyed we have not improved from the last game with Offaly
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 12:19:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 11:53:22 AM
Ok I'm going to have my final say on this

I've been to as many if not more Antrim games than you, I've travelled far and wide, also my knowledge on local and national level would be similar to yours. I've played and managed for many years (continue to do so) and have refereed a right few years also. The amount of times I've heard supporters and players shout you're are cheating us is a lot. The referee (in the main) does not care who wins, he's trying to get through the game and officiated as well as he can so that he can get the next big game.

I've said it repeatedly the call was wrong and it lost us the game, I could go back to Croke park when Brian McFaul caught the ball and lashed it into the back of the net only for it to be called a square ball, wrong call, the decisions the referee made At Casement when we played Carlow one year were ridiculous. But I've also seen some wild pulls by a Antrim player against Cork in Croke Park one year and he should have walked for that, eventually he did get a red late on but the ref was very lenient that day the amount of steps Tosh took when scoring the winner against Galway in Casement a few years ago out on the left on the motorway end, again that went for us...

I'm as big Antrim hurling fan/supporter as you, I've travelled for all of Dunloys/Loughgiels and Cushendalls club semi finals and disappointed when we lose those games. Getting the feeling here that I'm not annoyed we lost, that's not the case. I'm annoyed we have not improved from the last game with Offaly

Fair enough
I was at that match to v Wexford fir the square ball
Bad decision . Paul codd got to cracks at goal that day from dead balls that where very soft frees. He missed the first one but buried the second
That's 6 points that should never have been we lost by three that day
The ref you can correct me imm going on memory was horan from offaly
But we shot 15 wides that day if we would have put half them over we would have one
On balance we need to be 7 to 8 points better than the other team to compensate fir bad calls
The only question I ask myself is are the  refs  conscience there doing it or not
One other thing Jim Connelly pull str8 across Liam dunnes chest that day and should have walked
Ref  didn't send him off so so that day maybe it balanced out

As for Stapleton v Carlow he deserved to be booed of the pitch as did the ref last year from Galway v offaly at casement as he blatantly favoured offlaly who went home with a 1 point win
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 12:39:21 PM
Yes Stapleton it was, big fella. Yeah bizarre decisions and I was also giving off.

I just don't see why they would be subconsciously going against us or the smaller counties. I can only speak for myself and other referees that I know personally who'd be like minded and they just blow for the fouls, and these lads have refereed me in many games and be rival clubs and have no love for my club, but they are honest and most of their calls are correct.

Maybe you change once you don the referee kit and see things differently, I get tortured at club games and they shout at me and say that was a bad call would you give it?? ffs I'm a supporter today leave me alone!!

There is nothing worse than getting a call wrong when you referee a game, you may not know it at the time but an umpire may say at half time but it's done, I wouldn't try and even it up also, very hard to stay focused when the line is giving you constant abuse. Anyways looking forward to final on Sunday, Dubs to beat the Cat's
Post by: north_antrim_hound on July 04, 2014, 01:02:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2014, 12:39:21 PM
Yes Stapleton it was, big fella. Yeah bizarre decisions and I was also giving off.

I just don't see why they would be subconsciously going against us or the smaller counties. I can only speak for myself and other referees that I know personally who'd be like minded and they just blow for the fouls, and these lads have refereed me in many games and be rival clubs and have no love for my club, but they are honest and most of their calls are correct.

Maybe you change once you don the referee kit and see things differently, I get tortured at club games and they shout at me and say that was a bad call would you give it?? ffs I'm a supporter today leave me alone!!

There is nothing worse than getting a call wrong when you referee a game, you may not know it at the time but an umpire may say at half time but it's done, I wouldn't try and even it up also, very hard to stay focused when the line is giving you constant abuse. Anyways looking forward to final on Sunday, Dubs to beat the Cat's

I don't know why it is. Was in thurles a few years back and was talking to a Waterford man and he told me when they play cork or Kilkenny they need a death certificate to get a free and they get all the bad calls. It's more the higher up the pecking order the better
Anyway cats to beat Dublin for revenge for last year
Hope we can do well in feis cup
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2014, 02:50:46 PM

if a referee has a perception that a certain county isn't as strong as another county then they will referee the game in a biased way
that is just human nature
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2014, 03:43:49 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 04, 2014, 02:50:46 PM

if a referee has a perception that a certain county isn't as strong as another county then they will referee the game in a biased way
that is just human nature

Source? I've been refereeing for years, and if there is a stronger club than another then it makes no difference to how I referee it.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2014, 03:51:48 PM
Is john power related to the john power? He was some man.
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 06, 2014, 04:54:10 PM
AZ back Dublin now to recover your Cork bet, they are 6/1
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2014, 05:11:56 PM
Poor game so far though Dublin are still in it and starting to dominate. Kilkenny look to be out of ideas up front and I'd nearly back the Dubs to win from here.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 06, 2014, 05:24:43 PM
Jez this is awful rubbish. Of course there will be no mention of how poor fare it is by the commentators!
Post by: Zulu on July 06, 2014, 05:33:51 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 06, 2014, 05:11:56 PM
Poor game so far though Dublin are still in it and starting to dominate. Kilkenny look to be out of ideas up front and I'd nearly back the Dubs to win from here.

Just as I predicted....
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 06, 2014, 06:06:19 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 06, 2014, 05:33:51 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 06, 2014, 05:11:56 PM

Just as I predicted....
Post by: waterfordlad on July 06, 2014, 07:50:08 PM
John Power not related to the other John Power as far as I know. Todays John Power is Richie's younger brother and son of Richie senior.
Handy win for Kilkenny today. Dublin didn't score for last 22 minutes or so and 1-9 is a poor tally. Kilkenny coasted home with Henry Shefflin coming on to score 3 points to put the icing on the cake.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 06, 2014, 08:41:25 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 06, 2014, 05:24:43 PM
Jez this is awful rubbish. Of course there will be no mention of how poor fare it is by the commentators!

That was as poor as the game before it, Dublin won't win too many games with that tactic. Overplayed the ball so many times it was bad. Kilkenny will need to improve also, 6 week wait till next game, pretty long
Post by: Kidder81 on July 06, 2014, 08:45:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 06, 2014, 08:41:25 PM

That was as poor as the game before it, Dublin won't win too many games with that tactic. Overplayed the ball so many times it was bad. Kilkenny will need to improve also, 6 week wait till next game, pretty long

Won't be anything new to them
Post by: INDIANA on July 06, 2014, 08:45:59 PM

People fall into this romantic notion that Munster championship hurling is phenomenal in terms of quality.the reality is different. If it was that good Kilkenny wouldn't be a mile ahead in the role of honour.

Tipp and limerick was poor, cork and clare not much better. Waterford and cork- average fare both days

The qualifier games are ten times better in quality when teams from different provinces play each other. People are sick of the same ould shite match ups every year.

I think even the teams prefer playing other provincial teams at this stage.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 06, 2014, 09:04:26 PM
Tipp and Limerick wasn't poor
Post by: INDIANA on July 06, 2014, 11:08:36 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 06, 2014, 09:04:26 PM
Tipp and Limerick wasn't poor

Your right it wasn't poor -it was shite
Post by: INDIANA on July 06, 2014, 11:09:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 06, 2014, 09:36:46 PM
10/10 for effort, Indiana, but there's no masking that today. That was bad.

terrible I'd describe it as but I wouldn't kid myself that the munster championship has been a spellbinding edge of the seat story of hurling artistry this year. No better then leinster
Post by: orangeman on July 06, 2014, 11:47:55 PM
Dublin made Jackie mom material today. The positive for Dublin is that they created some good goal chances although didn't take full advantage.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2014, 06:45:10 AM
Munster hurling is never pretty as far as I can see, but it used to be fiercely contested and very even. That's why it has been such a good championship. All 5 entrants feel they can win it. Standard wise, it's the same as Leinsters good teams or even slightly worse.
Post by: deiseach on July 07, 2014, 09:29:19 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 06, 2014, 08:45:59 PM

People fall into this romantic notion that Munster championship hurling is phenomenal in terms of quality.the reality is different. If it was that good Kilkenny wouldn't be a mile ahead in the role of honour.

Tipp and limerick was poor, cork and clare not much better. Waterford and cork- average fare both days

The qualifier games are ten times better in quality when teams from different provinces play each other. People are sick of the same ould shite match ups every year.

Oh for crying out loud. There have been plenty of great games in both provinces and the qualifiers this year, and the prospect of plenty more. Let's not assume the grass is greener on the far side of a new system. Great times to be a hurling fan.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 08, 2014, 11:19:20 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 06, 2014, 08:45:59 PM

The Leinster Championship should be renamed the 'Rolling over for Kilkenny Championship'.
At least the teams in Munster aren't spineless.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 08, 2014, 11:59:34 AM
Including the Dubs who beat Kilkenny last year? Or Galway who drew with them? Munster teams don't have a great record against Kilkenny either.
Post by: deiseach on July 08, 2014, 12:25:24 PM
Don't feed the troll.