GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 04:53:07 PM

Title: Roscommon vs. Letrim Connacht SFC QF, 18th May 2014
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 04:53:07 PM
At least we don't have to stew for too long.
Title: Re: Roscommon vs. Letrim Connacht SFC QF, 18th May 2014
Post by: From the Bunker on May 03, 2014, 08:07:42 PM
Said it before the Under 21 final. The result would have no bearing on the (present) senior team bar the lift it would give supporters. Same carries still!
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2014, 08:38:47 PM
I don't think Evans will be rushing too many of them boys in now - apart from the 6 there already.
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 08:40:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 03, 2014, 08:07:42 PM
Said it before the Under 21 final. The result would have no bearing on the (present) senior team bar the lift it would give supporters. Same carries still!

Conor D was clearly not 100% today so we'll even see if he's fully fit for two weeks' time. It's very important we don't let the heads drop on the U21s - Murt, Enda and Conor D offer much of the pace that made our attack so hard to stop in the league. Hopefully they can get the bad diesel out of the system in this game and we can look forward to yer arrival in June.

Rossfan - unless Thomas Corcoran is going on a J1 this summer he needs to be in the championship panel. Our midfield options are very limited. I'd add Harney too but he needs surgery and will be lucky to be back for the tail end of the club championship.
Post by: Rossfan on May 03, 2014, 08:46:18 PM
Putting 20 yo Corcoran and 19 y.o Harney into the bearpit of Senior midfield might not be the best  idea.
Imagine what the Bear O'Sheas would do to them. :-[
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 08:52:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 03, 2014, 08:46:18 PM
Putting 20 yo Corcoran and 19 y.o Harney into the bearpit of Senior midfield might not be the best  idea.
Imagine what the Bear O'Sheas would do to them. :-[

Don't think they'd be starting this year but we need a plan b at the middle that isn't Michael Finneran flying up with an aimless hand and breaking the ball down into the bread basket of the position. We really could have used Mango's services this summer, and I don't mean on the sideline.
Post by: Don Corleone on May 03, 2014, 11:08:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 04:53:07 PM
At least we don't have to stew for too long.

A stew, not lamb I hope, but I'm looking forward to one....
Still bullish about the date, the Boy Scout motto used to be "bí cúramach".

If we get within 10 points of ye' we'll be doing well, anything under 10 and we're progressing. Ye're a D2 team after all....
Post by: PaoloRossi on May 05, 2014, 09:30:04 PM
On Hoganstand someone's posted that there are problems within the Roscommon camp however hasn't disclosed what has happened, has anyone heard these rumours?
Post by: seafoid on May 05, 2014, 09:34:56 PM
I expect this to run to at least 40 pages . 
Post by: Syferus on May 05, 2014, 10:20:53 PM
Quote from: PaoloRossi on May 05, 2014, 09:30:04 PM
On Hoganstand someone's posted that there are problems within the Roscommon camp however hasn't disclosed what has happened, has anyone heard these rumours?

Evans apparently tried to get the U21s to train with the seniors the day after the U21 final. There was talk about him dropping some of the U21s but everyone saw sense today and all were at a training camp in Portlaoise today.
Post by: PaoloRossi on May 05, 2014, 10:42:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 05, 2014, 10:20:53 PM

Evans apparently tried to get the U21s to train with the seniors the day after the U21 final. There was talk about him dropping some of the U21s but everyone saw sense today and all were at a training camp in Portlaoise today.

Ah right, thanks for clearing that up.
Post by: Rossfan on May 06, 2014, 11:41:59 AM
On Hoganstand someone's posted.....?
Keep away from hoganstand  ;)
Stolensheep is the forum to be on...............
As Jack O'Connor might have said - " Sure ya can't bate a few shkelps at training".
Kerry won Sam that year.  Any chance we might now win Connacht this year ;D
Post by: ross4life on May 06, 2014, 05:39:54 PM
C Daly,P Brogan,D Ward won't feature in this game. Won't be many changes to what started v Cavan. Apart from 2011 Leitrim are always up for these games against us. Should be a decent competitive game will be interesting if Leitrim use the same tactics they used in the FBD final? if so we better have plan b to deal with it.
Post by: Rossfan on May 06, 2014, 06:41:57 PM
So we're looking at
O'Malley
Seanie Carty Collins
Keenan N Daly Cafferky
Higgins C Shine
O'Gara/E Smith D Shine Stack
Senan Cregg D Murtagh
Post by: Syferus on May 06, 2014, 09:29:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 06, 2014, 06:41:57 PM
So we're looking at
O'Malley
Seanie Carty Collins
Keenan N Daly Cafferky
Higgins C Shine
O'Gara/E Smith D Shine Stack
Senan Cregg D Murtagh

Why would Enda be a maybe? Had an excellent league campaign. It's between DO'G, Stack and Comp for the other spot on the wing with Conoreen injured. Dunno if any besides Comp would be tasked with playing as a regular wing forward.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 06, 2014, 10:18:25 PM
Would expect Enda Smith to start as John Evans rates him highly.. What would be the thinking behind naming Ronan Stack at left half forward..In Croke Park, with the U-21's missing, he came on as a sub.
Title: Re: Roscommon vs. Leitrim Connacht SFC QF, 18th May 2014
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 06, 2014, 10:34:03 PM
I'm sure Horan and his selectors will tip along to this game.
Post by: Syferus on May 06, 2014, 11:58:45 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 06, 2014, 10:34:03 PM
I'm sure Horan and his selectors will tip along to this game.

No amount of hats can disguise a Tubber man.
Post by: Rossfan on May 07, 2014, 04:01:23 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 06, 2014, 10:18:25 PM
Would expect Enda Smith to start as John Evans rates him highly.. What would be the thinking behind naming Ronan Stack at left half forward..In Croke Park, with the U-21's missing, he came on as a sub.
Stack replaced Dara Donnelly who was listed at LHF in Croker. Conor Daly had been playing at 12 in a number of League games so I'm assuming JE will stick with his half back at 12 routine.
Conor Daly is unlikely to play and I'm afraid Dara is past being a County man.
Enda Smith hasn't exactly set the world alight in his last 2 U21 games, David O'Gara played his best game in a long time in Croker.
Anyway it's my team so I'll pick who I want to  :)
Post by: rrhf on May 07, 2014, 05:58:22 PM
This should attract a big gate
Post by: rodney trotter on May 07, 2014, 06:04:45 PM
New team bus to get things under way http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=215686
Post by: ross4life on May 07, 2014, 06:21:42 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 07, 2014, 05:58:22 PM

Attendance of 11,924 was at the last Roscommon v Leitrim championship game in Hyde park.
Post by: Rossfan on May 07, 2014, 07:02:51 PM
The 3 Ros/Leitrim games in 09/10/11 drew a total of approx 40,000.
We Connacht people are true Gaels who go to support our teams in the Connacht Championship and don't need smarty pants comments from post 2002 converts to Gaeldom thanks very much :P :P.
And we have a lovely bus as well so there !!
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2014, 07:13:10 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 07, 2014, 05:58:22 PM

Given it's a tasty rivalry, why not?
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 01:45:49 PM
I see on stolensheep we bet Down in a Challenge game somewhere in Dublin last night.That's probably the last run out before we face the might Layhtrums so hopefully Evans has seen enough by now to go with his best 15/20.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 09, 2014, 02:09:27 PM
I wonder did they bring the bus to that challenge game!! Hard to believe the championship is upon us.. If Ros are properly focused for this game, they should win it. Any sign of sloppiness or complacency and Leitrim would be well able to nail them.
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 03:34:42 PM
As long as they don't let Tullamore get to them.
Hopefully we're not that mentally frail or we're never going anywhere.
Remember when we blew the U21 game v Rhubarbness in 09 our Seniors lost the plot altogether and all the experts put it down to reaction to the U21 defeat.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 09, 2014, 07:51:53 PM
You could possibly make a case for the few U-21's to be carrying some baggage from Tullamore, but any of the Senior players who are effected by a game in which none of them played, would need to have a word with themselves. I reckon Enda Smith and Diarmuid Murtagh will be the only two U-21's to start against Leitrim.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 07:59:23 PM
Lads like Enda and Murt have come back from losses before, I really don't buy into there being a hangover from an U21 final. If anything everything we've seen from them suggests a backlash is more likely.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 09, 2014, 08:41:57 PM
Agree Syferus. Once John Evans gets them revved up by the end of next week, Tullamore will only be a distant memory. They'll also surely be motivated by the prize on offer if they win...a crack at Mayo in Hyde Park.
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 09:16:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 07:59:23 PM
Lads like Enda and Murt have come back from losses before, I really don't buy into there being a hangover from an U21 final. If anything everything we've seen from them suggests a backlash is more likely.
Please tell us what we've seen as I haven't seen it.
Thanks oul paleen.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 09:25:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 09:16:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 07:59:23 PM
Please tell us what we've seen as I haven't seen it.
Thanks oul paleen.

How many near misses have they had? Last year alone Enda was involved in that horrific loss to Galway at U21 and bounced back to become a senior championship starter at the tender age of 18. Murtagh is one of the most well-grounded lads we've produced in quite some time. Worrying about losing the U21 final effecting the Leitrim game is a fool's gambit.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 09, 2014, 11:08:36 PM
Anyone know the throw in time? cannot find it on any website, JFC final is on at 13.00
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 11:10:06 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 09, 2014, 11:08:36 PM
Anyone know the throw in time? cannot find it on any website, JFC final is on at 13.00

3PM
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2014, 12:54:20 PM
Is that RÁS thingy hitting Ros town around final whistle time?
Better park around Fourmilehouse so.... :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2014, 01:58:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 11:10:06 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 09, 2014, 11:08:36 PM

3PM
Thanks
Post by: Shrewdness on May 10, 2014, 02:18:36 PM
Using the NFL as a guide, you'd say that Roscommon should have too much for Leitrim. Whilst Ros were being promoted up into Div 2, Leitrim failed to be promoted from Division 4. But it's never as simple as that as this year's FBD Final proved. Ros will need to do a much better job on Emlyn Mulligan for starters.
Post by: Syferus on May 10, 2014, 02:38:43 PM
Emlyn Mulligan is a fair ould buck alight. People are thinking Leitrim will try to pump ball on top of Beirne and Carthy and hope good things happen but honestly I'd take that above Mulligan having ball in hand. With Gooch gone he makes a strong case for the most skilful player in the country.
Post by: Bojangles on May 12, 2014, 09:59:41 AM
Seen Mulligan play many times and especially against Brigids in the club championship last year and he really is a special player. Lovely balance, two-footed and quick. Would walk onto any county team in the country. 
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2014, 09:15:00 PM
Quote from: Bojangles on May 12, 2014, 09:59:41 AM
Seen Mulligan play many times and especially against Brigids in the club championship last year and he really is a special player. Lovely balance, two-footed and quick. Would walk onto any county team in the country.

It was his last game for Melvin Gaels and you could see it in his face:

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8222/8421380293_f036f4007a_o.jpg)

Still don't know how he managed to injury Frankie just after a Brigids free that day.
Post by: Collie Brolly on May 13, 2014, 12:28:59 PM
Mulligan will take watching.If we treat Leitrim with contempt we could be in bother.
History shows us that.If not,we should be looking at a 7/8 point win and a date with
The daydreamers. ;)
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2014, 01:56:13 PM
We need to treat the hoors with respect, do a flying start like we did in the Connacht U21 Final, get a few points up and force them to come out and play.
If we treat them with contempt, start at walking pace we'll find their "bus" parked in front of their full back line, we'll keep running into a brick wall, get frustrated and get them rus.
Then we could be in bother.
However I doubt Johneen will stand for any lackadaisical nonsense so expect a 6 point win and a date with them crowd.
Post by: Tubberman on May 13, 2014, 02:27:53 PM
He has a fine head of hair God bless him!
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 06:20:24 PM
Nothing as sweet to start a championship off as a match against the Carrick robbers. Always a great atmosphere at these games.

Everything says we should win by six to eight but we all know the strange things that happen when Leitrim play at the Hyde - 1994, 2000, hell 2013. We have questions in the middle but I don't see Leitrim being the team that tells us if we've raised our game with breaking and collecting ball at midfield. How we deal with Mulligan and Wayne McKeon and who we put on them is critical to this being a comfortable or flirting with disaster when things are starting to look a little consistent for once. McKeon had acres of space to run into in the January game and out-shone even Mulligan at times.

Donie at 11 with Senan and Murt inside and Cregger playing a roving role has worked well this year but Leitrim will likely play deep and have at least one extra man on top of the inside two. All four can create space in their own ways so I'm not too worried about them getting chances if we can get the ball in their hands. Kicking the ball into the FFs when there's three defenders swarming on one yellow jersey is a sin we were guilty of too many times against Cavan.

I think we've got a good thing going right now, we just need a few championship wins to validate it in the minds of players and supporters.
Post by: larryin89 on May 13, 2014, 07:03:19 PM
What a load of nonsense Syferus your last line or thereabouts is there, " a few championship wins, a win against laythrum " blah blah blady blah.

If you beat Mayo, your era begins , if you don't , it's back to next year already. Sin e.
Post by: Collie Brolly on May 13, 2014, 07:11:24 PM
We should win by around 6 points.Nothing to be gained from kicking the lard out of Leitrim and thinking we are world beaters.
What we need and what we will get imo is a serious test.
For what it's worth here should be the starting 15-

O Malley
Seanie mc Carty Collins
Keenan Daly Caff
  Higgins Cathal S
O Gara Donie Enda S(lucky boy to be on it)
D Murtagh Cregger Senan
Post by: Blowitupref on May 13, 2014, 07:57:33 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 13, 2014, 07:03:19 PM
What a load of nonsense Syferus your last line or thereabouts is there, " a few championship wins, a win against laythrum " blah blah blady blah.

If you beat Mayo, your era begins , if you don't , it's back to next year already. Sin e.

This Roscommon side just out of div 3 they are hardly at a stage where they are capable of beating arguably the 2nd best side in Ireland. A win against Leitrim on Sunday and a few wins in the qualifiers will be a welcome bonus.  The higher Roscommon rise in the league and more championship games they win the more chance they have of fulfilling their potential.

Post by: muppet on May 13, 2014, 08:17:05 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 13, 2014, 07:57:33 PM

This Roscommon side just out of div 3 they are hardly at a stage where they are capable of beating arguably the 2nd best side in Ireland. A win against Leitrim on Sunday and a few wins in the qualifiers will be a welcome bonus.  The higher Roscommon rise in the league and more championship games they win the more chance they have of fulfilling their potential.

That was us in early 1996.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 13, 2014, 08:26:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 13, 2014, 08:17:05 PM

How many years did Mayo play div 3 football back then?
Post by: muppet on May 13, 2014, 08:28:16 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 13, 2014, 08:26:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 13, 2014, 08:17:05 PM

How many years did Mayo play div 3 football?

They let you out if you win it, no matter how many years you are in it.  ;D
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2014, 08:32:35 PM

they'll probably be beaten by armagh in round 1 of the qfs
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 13, 2014, 08:41:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 13, 2014, 08:28:16 PM
You will get out straight away if its a level below you, Monaghan prime example of this. I'm open to correction but i think the league in nineties was more groups put together than anything else and all teams had the chance to win one league title.

Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2014, 08:32:35 PM
If paired together Armagh will be seeking revenge for the defeat two years ago.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 08:51:00 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 13, 2014, 08:41:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 13, 2014, 08:28:16 PM
You will get out straight away if its a level below you, Monaghan prime example of this. I'm open to correction but i think the league in nineties was more groups put together than anything else and all teams had the chance to win one league title.

Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2014, 08:32:35 PM
If paired together Armagh will be seeking revenge for the defeat two years ago.

After the shite Armagh - literally - pulled last year we'd be the ones seeking revenge.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 13, 2014, 08:56:15 PM
Read somewhere today that if this match finishes level after 70 mins, there will be extra time played. Is that correct?
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2014, 09:24:46 PM
Doubt it.
Post by: adevvabr on May 13, 2014, 09:31:39 PM
I think if Leitrim play very defensive they could cause Roscommon a few problems and make this a tight match. Roscommon looked clueless trying to break down Cavan in the first half of the league final, they also lack creativity in their half forward line and midfield. They seem very naive in how they approach the game under Evans and I'm sure Mulligan will try and match up on Niall Daly at centre back as he is a defensive liability.

However if they don't drop men back in front of the Roscommon full forward line, Kilbride and Murtagh will have a field day and it'll be a 10 point win for Roscommon.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 09:37:36 PM
Quote from: adevvabr on May 13, 2014, 09:31:39 PM
I think if Leitrim play very defensive they could cause Roscommon a few problems and make this a tight match. Roscommon looked clueless trying to break down Cavan in the first half of the league final, they also lack creativity in their half forward line and midfield. They seem very naive in how they approach the game under Evans and I'm sure Mulligan will try and match up on Niall Daly at centre back as he is a defensive liability.

However if they don't drop men back in front of the Roscommon full forward line, Kilbride and Murtagh will have a field day and it'll be a 10 point win for Roscommon.

Evans is many things but naive is not one of them. He's completely willing to be cynical when the need arises. No need for it on Sunday, though.
Post by: 45GoneShort on May 13, 2014, 10:15:11 PM
Interesting game ahead on Sunday from a Leitrim point of view.   

Compared to how Leitrim finished up in 2013 against Armagh, alot of issues came to a head which left Leitrirm very vulnerable to a ruthless Armagh side.  Leitrim are in a very healthy place at the moment compared to the shambles that finished off 2013 all down to some poorly judged decisions which i'm sure people involved in hindsight would have done differently given the chance.   Great credit must go to Sean Hagan who has healed a lot of division within the Leitrim setup.  At the end of last Summer I didn't see how the guys who were dropped would bother throwing their lot back in with the county.  But fair play to the entire squad for burying the hatchet and getting on with it.

I don't expect us to win on Sunday but as usual I do expect us to match Roscommon over the first half of the game.  The real weak sector for Leitrim is the midfield, expect a lot of short Leitrim kick outs, which leads to the Leitrim running game from deep which we've played over the last few years.  While effective against off the pace teams in the early league it does take it's toll on the team towards the last 15/20mins of the game.  Mulligan has been brilliant to watch during this years league but I don't expect him to get too much time on the ball on Sunday as when he is let get his head up on the ball he is easily one of the best passers of ball in the country over 40 yards, great for any forward who prefers the ball on the chest! 

The recent reintroduction of Conor Beirne to the squad is real plus for Leitrim, he pretty much dragged his club Eslin to an Intermediate final last year which necessitated 3 men being deployed to man mark him for the entire final, which I've never seen before at any level of the game but he still came away with the man of the match award!!  If we're to pull off a shock win then Conor will need to put in a big performance.

The probable team on Sunday:
Cathal McCrann
Barry Prior  Donal Wrynn  Paddy Maguire
Paul Brennan Gary Reynolds  Wayne McKeon
Darren Sweeney Damien Moran
Kevin Conlan  Emlyn Mulligan  Gerry Hickey
Daniel Lowe  Conor Beirne  Ray Cox 
Post by: adevvabr on May 13, 2014, 10:22:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 09:37:36 PM

Evans is many things but naive is not one of them. He's completely willing to be cynical when the need arises. No need for it on Sunday, though.

I think Roscommons naivety was fairly evident during the league final, not to mention last years game against Mayo when Roscommon went into a match against one of the top 3 counties in the country with no game plan. Surely that alone would qualify as naive?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2014, 10:33:46 PM
All the talk around these parts is of having a tough test in Hyde Park before we think about All-Ireland quarter-final appearances and the like. However, could Leitrim upset the applecart in this one? We'd have to think about a tough test in Carrick instead if that was to happen. I can't see Ros losing this one though. I think, like Syferus that Evans has learned a lot from last year's naivety and Ros should be too good.
Post by: ross4life on May 13, 2014, 10:37:45 PM

I'll be surprised if Leitrim don't play defensive as Sean Hagan is defensive coach. Cavan played a more open game than expected in that league final very little blanket defence was seen it that game. A bit harsh on Niall Daly a lad that is still finding his feet at senior county level. If he's such defensive liability at number 6 i'd have to wonder why did Billy Morgan one of the top managers around have him starting in that position on his sigerson cup teams for a number of years.

Anyway Seanie Mac should be on Mulligan & he won't mind roaming out the field.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 11:02:32 PM
Quote from: adevvabr on May 13, 2014, 10:22:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 09:37:36 PM

I think Roscommons naivety was fairly evident during the league final, not to mention last years game against Mayo when Roscommon went into a match against one of the top 3 counties in the country with no game plan. Surely that alone would qualify as naive?

The gameplan was centered on crowding the middle and trying to get the ball inside before Mayo's top-rated defence had time to swarm back iirc. It was actually working for the first 15 minutes of the match and we matched Mayo in physicality around the middle - I remember David Keenan started the day playing a stormer hoovering up ball - but we missed frees, Mayo pulled away, Duffy did his usually lop-sided refereeing job and our heads dropped and the game became a training match without any game-plan. It was as much a lack of belief on our part, and of course Mayo were clearly the superior team overall that day.

The next day out we pretty much matched Tyrone's blanket system and nullified them in a way few teams did last year, Evans just just about every call right that day apart from maybe not introducing Senan earlier.

He's as prone to brain farts as any manager but he has shown himself to be adaptable and he doesn't simply blindly line up the same in each game (a trick our U21 management seems to have missed). I want to see how he'll set us up against Mayo or a similar level of opponent this year, if people think we're just some sort of purist, wide open attacking team I think they'll be surprised.

At least I hope they will be.
Post by: Rossfan on May 14, 2014, 10:47:33 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 11:02:32 PM

He's as prone to brain farts as any manager
More Syfínfish  :-[
If we're as bad as advebar says you'd wonder if there's any point us turning up at all. Also wonder how such a bad team bet Cavan in that Croke Park game. :P
We know well we have problems from 2-9 but Layhtrum will hardly be the lads to exploit that enough to win.
Post by: Rossfan on May 14, 2014, 12:56:25 PM
Announced Team :-
1. Darren O'Malley (Michael Glaveys)

2. Seánie McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Niall Carty (C) (Padraig Pearses)
4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St. Kevins

5. David Keenan (St. Barrys)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ciarán Cafferkey (Western Gaels)

8. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael)
9. Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)

10. David O'Gara (Roscommon Gaels)
11. Donie Shine (Clann na nGael)
12. Ronan Stack (St. Brigids)

13. Senan Kilbride (St. Brigids)
14. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
15. Ciaráin Murtagh (St. Faithleachs)
Post by: PaoloRossi on May 14, 2014, 01:01:15 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2014, 12:56:25 PM

Surprised Enda Smith and Diarmuid Murtagh haven't made the starting XV.
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 02:00:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2014, 12:56:25 PM

Going this route in a championship game is a surprise. Conor Daly is injured, though.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 14, 2014, 03:24:56 PM
Maybe the U-21's are paying for not turning up for senior training the day after losing the u-21 final, as was posted here by someone at the time. No doubt, there's great joy in Leitrim to hear that Diarmuid Murtagh isn't starting..but i'll guarantee you that before Leitrim are beaten on Sunday, we'll need him.
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 03:31:51 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 14, 2014, 03:24:56 PM
Maybe the U-21's are paying for not turning up for senior training the day after losing the u-21 final, as was posted here by someone at the time. No doubt, there's great joy in Leitrim to hear that Diarmuid Murtagh isn't starting..but i'll guarantee you that before Leitrim are beaten on Sunday, we'll need him.

I think the big worry in that regard is if we beat Leitrim handy enough and look good doing it. That would incline Evans not to name the U21s against Mayo, which would be a mistake. Stackie and the older Murt are talented lads in their own rights and have more than enough to give Leitrim plenty of headaches.
Post by: Rossfan on May 14, 2014, 05:19:39 PM
I'm sure Johneen knows what he's at but no doubt he'll read your posts (IF we bate Layhtrum) to make sure he get's it right the next day.
He's fairly praising the U21 lads in the Herald and I suspect he'll have the 2 fit lads Enda and Diarmuid on at some stage. Conor Daly isn't fit and Donie Smith probably needs a bit of TLC. Fintan Kelly's injured, Corcoran has just been elevated to the panel while Nally's not of the required standard.
Post by: ross4life on May 14, 2014, 06:02:04 PM
Evans more or less going with what was used in league final but this time with more options on the bench. Looking at the Leitrim team they are going defensive as expected both McWeeneys for example are defenders not forwards.
Post by: 45GoneShort on May 14, 2014, 08:38:11 PM
Leitrim are going to line up in a very defensive mode next Sunday. 

1. Cathal McCrann Gortletteragh
2. Barry Prior Aughawillan
3. Donal Wrynn Fenagh St Caillins
4. Paddy Maguire Glencar Manorhamilton
5. Wayne McKeon Ballinamore Seán O'Heslin's
6. Gary Reynolds Carrigallen
7. Paul Brennan Melvin Gaels
8. Darren Sweeney Glencar Manorhamilton
9. Damian Moran Bornacoola
10. Kevin Conlon St Patrick's Dromahair
11. Robert Lowe St Mary's Kiltoghert
12. Barry McWeeney Aughnasheelin
13. Emlyn Mulligan (Captain) St Brigids
14. James Glancy Glencar Manorhamilton
15. Sean McWeeney Aughnasheelin

http://www.leitrimobserver.ie/sport/gaelic-games/mcweeney-brothers-start-for-leitrim-1-6059952

Both McWeeneys will act as extra defenders with Sean probably assisting on the breakaway attack.  It's a bit over the top as it will allow Roscommon to double up on Mulligan and with it any hope of really threatening the Rossies on the scoreboard.    Robbie Lowe has had a poor League by his standards but will need him at his best if he's going to carry the workload in the forwards.  Won't be too surprised to see Ray Cox and Conor Beirne sprung from the bench if the game is showing any sign of getting away from us in the opening half.  Cox has a great linkup with Mulligan and with the potential for large open gaps of space in our forward area this would be ideal for Cox's fast running game.

If we're to pull off a win it won't be pretty but any win over the Rossies will be celebrated regardless of the means!
Post by: larryin89 on May 14, 2014, 08:46:13 PM
Will be hoping the Ross win this one.

Nothing like beating them in the Hyde when they think they have a chance.
Post by: Rossfan on May 14, 2014, 09:08:35 PM
So that's ye're ambition for this year then?
More realistic and less painful for ye than going up to Croker full of sh high hopes..... :D :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2014, 10:57:13 PM
I remember the last time Mayo scraped by Leitrim back in 06 in Carrick, this fella in a Leitrim jersey - I don't know if he was drunk but he proceeded to sing bellow at the top of his voice 'Oh I'd rather be a Paki than a Rossie'. I didn't know what to make of him to be honest. Moral of the story...are Roscommon hated that much by Leitrim? Or only this fella?
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 11:07:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2014, 10:57:13 PM
I remember the last time Mayo scraped by Leitrim back in 06 in Carrick, this fella in a Leitrim jersey - I don't know if he was drunk but he proceeded to sing bellow at the top of his voice 'Oh I'd rather be a Paki than a Rossie'. I didn't know what to make of him to be honest. Moral of the story...are Roscommon hated that much by Leitrim? Or only this fella?

I don't think people outside Roscommon and Leitrim really know how intense the rivalry is. I guess Leitrim see us as easier pickings than Mayo or Galway and always fancy their chances when they play us. The fact so much of the population of Leitrim are crowded around Carrick on the Roscommon border obviously contributes. Roscommon people would be much more concerned with Mayo and that probably winds them up even more.

I've heard more wind-up chants directed at Roscommon players in matches against Leitrim than I can count. Poor Geoffrey Claffey got the classic GEOFF.. REY.. GEOFF.. REY.. chant the last time we rolled up to Carrick in the championship. Some half-naked Leitrim man ran on the field in the torrential rain too. The stewards couldn't catch him.

Absolutely great buzz at all the Roscommon-Leitrim games, be it FBD, minor or U21. Alongside Mayo-Galway and Roscommon-Mayo it'd have to be the most passionate of the Connacht rivalry games, and that's saying something. The best way to begin any championship for Roscommon is to bate the heads off Leitrim. Tis grand.
Post by: Rossfan on May 15, 2014, 07:55:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2014, 10:57:13 PM
I remember the last time Mayo scraped by Leitrim back in 06 in Carrick, this fella in a Leitrim jersey - I don't know if he was drunk but he proceeded to sing bellow at the top of his voice 'Oh I'd rather be a Paki than a Rossie'. I didn't know what to make of him to be honest. Moral of the story...are Roscommon hated that much by Leitrim?

We are  - but what really pisses the smelly hoors off is that we barely recognise their existence at all  ;D :D and certainly don't consider them rivals in a football sense.
I recall a gang of them singing that Paki song at a game against the some years ago. I suppose they don't want to spend all their lives being Laythrums - the poor sods  :-\
Post by: 45GoneShort on May 15, 2014, 09:37:22 PM
The rivalry is very strong alright which adds to the occasion of any meeting against Roscommon for us but especially come Championship time. 

I suppose the fact that the Rossies have far more bragging rights gives us the apathy towards Roscommon when it comes to football.  Throw in the Geography of Rooskey, Dromod, Drumsna, Carrick, Leitrim Village, Drumshanbo & Drumkerran equals a good daily banter when it comes to football.  Both 2nd Level schools in Carrick & Drumshanbo draw their student population from a 50/50 split of Roscommon and Leitrim students which does set the seeds of rivalry for a lifetime.  I know from Leitrim supporter celebrate all rare championship matches victories but when it's against Roscommon it is all the sweeter!

The "paki" chants have really grown legs over the past decade (I don't remember these chants before that time)... i think that while no harm may be meant by the small minority signing it, they should wise up as it not funny anymore.
Post by: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:23:02 PM
Should be a good crowd at this.
The senior championship debut of the new bus should add a couple of thousand to the gate.
Post by: DJGaliv on May 16, 2014, 07:53:55 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:23:02 PM
The senior championship debut of the new bus should add a couple of thousand to the gate.

Yeah, really looking forward to this. I wonder where it will park
Post by: commonman on May 16, 2014, 10:00:28 AM
Quote from: DJGaliv on May 16, 2014, 07:53:55 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 15, 2014, 11:23:02 PM

Yeah, really looking forward to this. I wonder where it will park

its expected that there will be a  bus  parked in front of the roscommon full forward line
Post by: Rudi on May 16, 2014, 03:34:53 PM
Seniors probably won't get to use the bus this year. First game at home to Leitrim, if we beat them as we expect to do, we have Mayo at home. We then (all those except Sy) expect to lose this one. After that we will have Tyrone ( >:() in the Hyde for the qualifiers, which we will expect to lose aswell.
Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 08:30:53 PM
Anyone know if Mango has joined the management team yet? T 'would be a timely boost to have the big man patrolling the sideline, the whole panel have huge respect for him.
Post by: Rossfan on May 16, 2014, 08:54:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 08:30:53 PM
Anyone know if Mango has joined the management team yet? T 'would be a timely boost to have the big man patrolling the sideline, the whole panel have huge respect for him.
As a player perhaps. Let him learn the art of management/mentoring at a club first -assumeing he has any interest in such things.
What would he do now -throw in bottles of water - even you could do that Syfín.
Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 09:08:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2014, 08:54:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 08:30:53 PM
As a player perhaps. Let him learn the art of management/mentoring at a club first -assumeing he has any interest in such things.
What would he do now -throw in bottles of water - even you could do that Syfín.

Evans already said he was joining the coaching team in the summer. He's obviously not going to be making big calls but he's a smart lad who the younger players will listen to, you can't have too many people like that involved with a team. David Casey did a good job in a similar role at underage and Mayo were full of praise for James Nallen in that sort of role in recent years.

I can't wait for Sunday so we can burn through the bad diesel left over after the U21 final. A win and everyone can look towards the summer and not backwards.

Michael Finneran is apparently a doubt for Sunday and Evans has said Thomas Corcoran (off to the States with the de-bearded Colm Lavin, I think) isn't on the panel after all so we are really shorn for options at the middle. I assume if we want a change there it'll be moving Donie into the middle proper and putting someone else at CF.
Post by: neilthemac on May 16, 2014, 10:57:56 PM
Mark Nally and Enda Smith can put in a shift in midfield too.
Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2014, 11:16:18 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on May 16, 2014, 10:57:56 PM
Mark Nally and Enda Smith can put in a shift in midfield too.

Enda's a future midfielder in terms of fielding ability and athletic ability, the lad has pace to burn. Just dunno if this year it'd be wise to match him up against the sorts of beasts patrolling the middle at senior.

Nally would be the player I'd choose off those on the bench to come on in the middle, the lad is an absolute gamer and he's probably most suited to a role at MF rather than at HF like Evans was trying him at earlier in the league.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 16, 2014, 11:57:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2014, 07:55:13 PM

We are  - but what really pisses the smelly hoors off is that we barely recognise their existence at all  ;D :D and certainly don't consider them rivals in a football sense.

So what you're saying is that it's akin to how Mayo view the rossies??
Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2014, 12:09:59 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 16, 2014, 11:57:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2014, 07:55:13 PM

So what you're saying is that it's akin to how Mayo view the rossies??

For a county who don't care ye seem to have an unhealthy fascination with our bus.
Post by: Ringfort on May 17, 2014, 01:02:16 AM
Regarding the Ros Leitrim rivalry.....

When I first became aware of football around 90/91 we seemed to play nobody but Leitrim. I'm not looking up the stats but that's the impression left on me. Perhaps as a young boy I just happened to be brought to a couple of Ros v Leitrim games and it's made me think we played them all the time around then. Anyway I certainly regarded them as our primary rivals from a young age. Being from north of the country with Carrick as the closest 'major' town had its influence naturally.

I went to a secondary school with plenty of Ros and Leitrim folk. The Leitrims were hands down the best craic. There's a bit of an independent hippy streak to them that is rarer in the Roscommon people I knew. Ye know the sort of crusty Galway punk/hippy? ( I haven't been in Galway in over 10 years, I assume they are still ubiquitous)Leitrim has a bit of that too.

I played a game of tennis in Carrick on the recent May bank holiday while on a visit home. Beautiful summer evening sunshine, boats bobbing gently on the Shannon in the near background, chilled electro music coming from some random festival that was on nearby, people milling about supping beers and walking with the family-you could have been in Spain or France.

I don't want to piss on the fire but I have a rather benign view of the rivalry. After Ros, Leitrim is my second favourite team   8)

All the best to both sides, hope its a good game and I'll be tuning in with interest to the bould Willie for an all-over-the-shop account of the action where it's rarely clear who has possession, never clear where on the field the ball is, and occasionally clear if it's a score or not or has the umpire got it wrong.
Post by: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 01:42:41 AM
Wet & windy weather for this game, will do well to get any decent performance out of those type of conditions i suppose the sunny championship weather we see in the adverts is another few weeks away? no rumours of any late changes for us the very best of luck to all the Roscommon players and management.
Post by: larryin89 on May 18, 2014, 02:00:11 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 01:42:41 AM
Wet & windy weather for this game, will do well to get any decent performance out of those type of conditions i suppose the sunny championship weather we see in the adverts is another few weeks away? no rumours of any late changes for us the very best of luck to all the Roscommon players and management.

It's usually fairly decent for august weekend, oh shit just noticed that's a Rossie that posted that, august ffs sure.
Post by: Westside on May 18, 2014, 02:07:32 PM
So what's the story with this game is it being streamed anywhere? I assume if it's been shown in Australia it can be found online somehow...
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 02:23:19 PM
Beautiful weather at the Hyde so far.
Post by: Hound on May 18, 2014, 02:29:20 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 18, 2014, 02:07:32 PM
So what's the story with this game is it being streamed anywhere? I assume if it's been shown in Australia it can be found online somehow...
I thought it was only the games being shown on RTE and Sky that would be live in Oz - which wouldn't include this game
Post by: maigheo on May 18, 2014, 03:07:41 PM
Ros off to a good start. 0.4 to 0.01
Post by: maigheo on May 18, 2014, 03:19:40 PM
0.9 to 0.03.Leitrim have not scored from play.
Post by: maigheo on May 18, 2014, 03:31:18 PM
Listening to Donie Shine sr on Shannonside would do your head in.Ros ahead 0.11 to 0.05
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 03:34:24 PM
Never mind the match . How's the bus looking ? Do the pictures do it Justice ?
Post by: maigheo on May 18, 2014, 03:36:19 PM
wish they would put Donie sr on the bus and lock him in there until the game was over
Post by: maigheo on May 18, 2014, 03:40:10 PM
game over 1.12 to 0.05. HT.Will Mayo be able to keep it kicked out to the rossies in a few weeks time?
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 03:40:27 PM
Ros 1-12 Leitrim 0-05 HT

Luverly.

Leitrim only scoring from frees, and the ref has it in for Roscommon in true Duffy style.

Some georgous points by just about everyone - Caff, Daly, Murt, Cathal Shine, Higgins but Senan is a class apart today. Good team goal before the half should kill the game off.

Cathal Shine obviously injured, probably best to sub him out during the break even though we have no midfielders on the bench.
Post by: Itchy on May 18, 2014, 03:48:17 PM
Ros for Sam. New bus will bring Sam home.
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 03:49:18 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 18, 2014, 03:48:17 PM

We had a specially made seat-belt commissioned for it.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 03:50:19 PM

Can other teams book it as well ?
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 04:54:40 PM
Ros 1-18 Leitrim 0-13 FT.

Lost our shape in the middle after Cathal Shine for injured. FB line played a stormer and the forwards looked dangerous the few times we did get the ball in in the second half.

Plenty to work on, job done for the day.
Post by: bucko on May 18, 2014, 04:56:11 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 03:50:19 PM

Can other teams book it as well ?
If it was a quick change colour scheme ye could make some of the money back on it leasing it out from July...... :P
Post by: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 04:57:40 PM
Full time.. Ros 1-18, Leitrim 0-13...Ros going nowhere with second half like that.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 05:01:44 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 04:57:40 PM
Full time.. Ros 1-18, Leitrim 0-13...Ros going nowhere with second half like that.

They are going on the bus .
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 05:05:21 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 05:01:44 PM

And what a bus.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 05:09:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 05:05:21 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 18, 2014, 05:01:44 PM

And what a bus.

For sure , all roscommon fans should sit back and enjoy this years championship and the journey their team will bring them on.
Post by: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 06:47:54 PM
Job done 8 point win scoring 1-18 which is a decent total and i think 11 different scorers but our sluggish display in the 2nd half can't be ignored in fairness to Leitrim they went down fighting & brought the game to us. Mulligan led by example a top forward arguably the best in Connacht. Kevin Higgins our best player on show today.

Well done to our lads. I said at the start of the year our targets should be promotion to div 2 & win at least two championship games then anything else would be a bonus.  We are well on track for that.

P.S WTF is up with this strange obsession with our lovely bus.
Post by: larryin89 on May 18, 2014, 06:50:18 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 06:47:54 PM
Job done 8 point win scoring 1-18 which is a decent total and i think 11 different scorers but our sluggish display in the 2nd half can't be ignored in fairness to Leitrim they went down fighting & brought the game to us. Mulligan led by example a top forward arguably the best in Connacht. Kevin Higgins our best player on show today.

Well done to our lads. I said at the start of the year our targets should be promotion to div 2 & win at least two championship games then anything else would be a bonus.  We are well on track for that.

That's why , it's just so lovely.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 07:46:52 PM
According to my programme from today, these were the Ros scorers.,S Kilbride 0-3, K Higgins 0-3, R Stack 1-0, C Murtagh 0-2, N Daly 0-2, D Shine 0-2 (1f), C Cregg 0-1, C Cafferky 0-1, C Shine 0-1, SUBS...D Murtagh 0-2 (1f), C Burns 0-1...I'm open to correction.
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 08:00:15 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 07:46:52 PM
According to my programme from today, these were the Ros scorers.,S Kilbride 0-3, K Higgins 0-3, R Stack 1-0, C Murtagh 0-2, N Daly 0-2, D Shine 0-2 (1f), C Cregg 0-1, C Cafferky 0-1, C Shine 0-1, SUBS...D Murtagh 0-2 (1f), C Burns 0-1...I'm open to correction.

Sounds about right. All three of Senan's were collector's items. To be fair you couldn't fault the lads' accuracy (ok, Donie aside!) today, some excellent points scored.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 08:12:48 PM
Having scored freely throughout the league, Cathal Cregg's scoring touch appears to have deserted him. After failing to score against Cavan in Croke Park, he scored 0-1 today. I know he works tirelessly for the team, but a return of 0-1 from two games after being named at full forward, isn't going to cause Ger Cafferky many sleepless nights.
Post by: Syferus on May 18, 2014, 08:21:00 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 08:12:48 PM
Having scored freely throughout the league, Cathal Cregg's scoring touch appears to have deserted him. After failing to score against Cavan in Croke Park, he scored 0-1 today. I know he works tirelessly for the team, but a return of 0-1 from two games after being named at full forward, isn't going to cause Ger Cafferky many sleepless nights.

Was surprised he was played pretty much as a genuine 14 for the majority of today's game. There was some mad balls sent in on top of him, the lad gets a battering most games and Lane in this one in particular seemed to have no intention to offer him any protection.

Get the ball in Cregger's hands and good things will happen. Hopefully he's let drift around more against Mayo, it suits him better.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 18, 2014, 08:34:55 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 18, 2014, 06:47:54 PM

I've seen mulligan a lot better than today, he was way out of position most of the day, but when he got himself in scoring positions he wasn't as acurate as usual, his miss at 5pts down was fatal, Leitrim had a grip on the game and another score would of made it interesting, what was there manager thinking starting Paul Brennan on Kilbride, and then he did the stupidest thing I've seen, he takes off Brennan when he was key In driving Leitrim on second half, how did Berne stay on so long, so wasteful, stupid goal attempt first half, Roscommons backs give up way to much space, yere forwards are awesome almost unstoppable at times. Once Leitrim played them from the front it was tougher, thought the ref was horrendous and favoured Leitrim but his reffing style lowered the intensity which suited Roscommon but I doubt he realised this, mayo game will be interesting
Post by: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 09:00:03 PM
Congrats to the Sligo Juniors Sligonian.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 18, 2014, 09:04:15 PM
I listened to Willie Hegarty for most of the 'cummintry' in Shannonside and not once, not effing once, did he 'minchin' the bus.

FFS! >:(
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 18, 2014, 09:10:13 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 18, 2014, 09:00:03 PM
no congrats necessary shrewdness, one of worst matches I've ever seen, shocking bad from us, never felt as pissed off after a win, look a lot of people will say ye won there's no pleasing you but 5/6 possible starters against Galway we should be a lot better than that. It was awful stuff. It's a nothing competition, I just look for form and who can potentially play senior and tactics but nothing more. The win is meaningless.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 19, 2014, 11:17:50 AM
Reading today that Senan Kilbride and Cathal Shine were on antibiotics for the past week. That could explain why Kilbride went off after 53 minutes because he didn't seem injured.
Post by: Collie Brolly on May 19, 2014, 11:35:31 AM
Cathal Cregg should have been takin off yesterday.He was very poor.Maybe he should be redeployed at 11 with Donie takin midfield off Cathal Shine.The gun had a great game,he could have had 5/6.Improvement needed big time,second half was very slack.Anyone any updates on injuries?
Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 08:23:15 PM
Well we saw off the lesser smelly neighbours in a routine expected victory in a subdued atmosphere to say the least.
Not that many Layths around as they obv expected to get bet and the heavy rain around earlier probably put off lukewarm followers. Still 8,000 out of the 2 Cos. combined population of 90,000 is some going and will be bigger than 6 or 7 of the Leinster games I suspect.
Excellent football from our lads in the first half, dopey oul D3 sh1te in the second as we had it more than sewn up. half a dozen of our lads didn't perform, a couple of mad substitutions, Donie couldn't hit the mouth of the Shannon yesterday, We only played for half the game  - yet won by eight points.
2 points in particular from Senan and Ciarán Murtagh were very special. Good work from our FB line, HB line poor, Midfield hit and miss, Cregg and Donie awful, Senan retired after 25 minutes or so, Stackeen steady and in the right place for the goal, C Murtagh well worth his starting place., D Murtagh excellent when he came on, Enda Smith ok, O'Gara middlin, Nally and Burns ... nice to see them get a run but won't be let near the pitch v Mayowestros (plusabitofSligo now as well).

Agree with Sligonian - that Junior game was bloody awful stuff. :'(
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 19, 2014, 08:42:55 PM
I only caught the part where Tommy Marren was previewing his show on the Breakfast Show on MWR this morning, but €30 for a preliminary match for the stand?? €25 for terrace, no wonder there was a smallish crowd at it. Rossfan said it all, only played for half the game yet won by 8. I think it'll be a while again before Ros only play for half the game...
Post by: ross4life on May 19, 2014, 09:07:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 19, 2014, 08:42:55 PM
I think it'll be a while again before Ros only play for half the game...
We only played for 15-20 minutes against ye last year which was half a half....  :-\

Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 08:23:15 PM
Senan retired after 25 minutes or so
His championship average is 3 points per game he knew his game was up after his 3rd point yesterday  ;)

Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 08:23:15 PM
Agree with Sligonian - that Junior game was bloody awful stuff

Thankfully missed it sounded like a shocking game alright TBH hard to have much interest in that competition when our bucks choose not to compete.
Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 09:28:53 PM
€30 for a preliminary match for the stand?? €25 for terrace,
I had me season ticket .... but wasn't it €25 and €20 ????
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 19, 2014, 09:45:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2014, 09:28:53 PM

You could be right. The bit I heard was about a lady who brought her son along and didn't have enough to get in.
Post by: Syferus on May 19, 2014, 09:52:52 PM

Were those feckin' reserved seats for ye posh lads? The ould lad was about to suplex the cocky steward after hearing about this reserved shite.

I see the gold Club Rossie lads have taken over the industrial unit on the county home road.
Post by: Rossfan on May 20, 2014, 11:09:47 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 19, 2014, 09:52:52 PM

Were those feckin' reserved seats for ye posh lads? I see the gold Club Rossie lads have taken over the industrial unit on the county home road.

Nothing's too good for us superfans  8) 8)

Wait till the new Hyde comes along with it's "Platinum Suite" -- they'll have a special pen for me few sheep as well ....
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2014, 12:54:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 18, 2014, 09:10:13 PM
no congrats necessary shrewdness, one of worst matches I've ever seen, shocking bad from us, never felt as pissed off after a win, look a lot of people will say ye won there's no pleasing you but 5/6 possible starters against Galway we should be a lot better than that. It was awful stuff. It's a nothing competition, I just look for form and who can potentially play senior and tactics but nothing more. The win is meaningless.

I've heard it was terrible stuff alright from numerous sources. Looking at the pictures of the presentation of the cup and motm award the two recipients look seriously pissed off, not like lads who won a match! Never recall seeing that before.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 21, 2014, 02:29:19 PM
Tbh I took heart from those photos, the was no hiding the disgust and in fairness to Martyn he did well and Rooney was by far the best player on show, but anyman with an honest bone in his body would not want there name associated with that performance
Post by: ross4life on May 21, 2014, 06:20:19 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 20, 2014, 12:54:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 18, 2014, 09:10:13 PM

I've heard it was terrible stuff alright from numerous sources. Looking at the pictures of the presentation of the cup and motm award the two recipients look seriously pissed off, not like lads who won a match! Never recall seeing that before.

Did they look as pissed off as much as this fella last July?

(http://f2.thejournal.ie/media/2013/10/andy-moran-lifts-the-trophy-391x500.jpg)