But will he be put away you know?
Quote from: T Fearon on April 30, 2014, 10:13:53 PM
But will he be put away you know?
Read the other thread and you'll find out.
Although congrats on making the right week.
Just had a bag of Roysters T bone Steak crisps
Delightful. Would definitely eat them again like
I'd a mug of tea and half a shell if an Easter egg.
Trying to get rid of them. Felt guilty though.
Tasty all the same.
Worth it's own thread. The hate for tony is ridiculous!
What weight is he ?
Quote from: JimStynes on April 30, 2014, 10:40:04 PM
Agree.
How can the Shinners wail that it's "political policing" if he presented himself by prior arrangement ?
Listening to politicians would drive you insane!!! Waiting for Frampton and Barry coming on and have to listen to this crap!! Pure boke
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2014, 10:44:05 PM
Agree.
It's like schoolyard bullying.
Boring at this stage.
Agree, Well worth it's own thread
I agree. Bottom line is he's the only one here prepared to let his identity be known
What hate?
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on May 01, 2014, 12:32:05 AM
I agree. Bottom line is he's the only one here prepared to let his identity be known
Bollix. There's quite a few of around here for quite a while and if you have a modicum of common sense a few glances at our contributions will reveal who we are. You don't have to be "billy big bollix this is what my name is" to reveal your identity.
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 01, 2014, 12:38:10 AM
Bollix. There's quite a few of around here for quite a while and if you have a modicum of common sense a few glances at our contributions will reveal who we are. You don't have to be "billy big bollix this is what my name is" to reveal your identity.
Agreed. Many posters know each other and some have met through the board.
Quote from: muppet on May 01, 2014, 12:41:34 AM
I know several posters on here who know me and I know them and we have never met.
True, I've met quite a few from the board. Yet to meet KeadyChick.
Quote from: ziggysego on May 01, 2014, 12:46:43 AM
Mealy hick or a chick from Keady ?
I get a Keady loaf the odd time. Lovely when it's fresh.
Quote from: orangeman on May 01, 2014, 12:49:29 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 01, 2014, 12:46:43 AM
Mealy hick or a chick from Keady ?
I get a Keady loaf the odd time. Lovely when it's fresh.
She was the love of my life from here, but she never wanted to meet. Eventually she left the board.
Hope it was nothing I said.
Do you think she was a balding redhead from the Loughshore direction maybe?
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 01, 2014, 12:44:34 AM
I know several posters on here who know me and I know them and we have never met.
A classic from a gaaboarder on Twitter on Sunday, .....when I said Monaghan by 3 at HT he wasn't happy." ;)
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 01, 2014, 10:27:12 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 01, 2014, 12:44:34 AM
;D ;D
A classic from a gaaboarder on Twitter on Sunday, .....when I said Monaghan by 3 at HT he wasn't happy." ;)
Will he be charged? That's the big question.
Quote from: Lecale2 on May 01, 2014, 01:43:30 PM
According to this RTE report (http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0501/614157-adams-mcconville/) in recent months, 5 others have been detained and questioned, while Ivor Bell has been charged. It doesn't say whether the other 5 have since been released. Anyone know?
Quote from: muppet on May 01, 2014, 01:57:33 PM
According to this RTE report (http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0501/614157-adams-mcconville/) in recent months, 5 others have been detained and questioned, while Ivor Bell has been charged. It doesn't say whether the other 5 have since been released. Anyone know?
muppet, I'm aware of three who were "released unconditionally".
Quote from: AQMP on May 01, 2014, 02:16:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 01, 2014, 01:57:33 PM
muppet, I'm aware of three who were "released unconditionally".
Cheers, maybe this will also happen to Adams if they have nothing on him.
Two consecutive nights in a cell.Gerry's one more night away from being interned.
Quote from: Apparently so on April 30, 2014, 10:34:04 PM
Just had a bag of Roysters T bone Steak crisps
Delightful. Would definitely eat them again like
How is this relevant to the thread?
Adams presented himself, but why now after so long. Yes the psni have to do their job, but coincidentally at the same time as the unionist ard fheis....
at best this is the law being fecking slow and rubbish, but I think they did wait until they could get maximum exposure to damage the shinners in the north (and the south too).
sf will be helped by adams leaving (funnily enough mcguinness is now seem to be seen as a good guy or bad guy turned good )
but adams wont leave until after 1916 commemorations id expect.
unless Gerry was in the room (unmasked) and can be identified by the kids present at the time, then I don't think they can charge or do Gerry Adams with anything.
To my knowledge he didn't (or couldn't have) ordered anything.
Having recently heard/read Brendan Dark Hughes statement on this, I believe that this has been misinterpreted.
so the only way Adams can be done or is culpable in any way, is if he was along with or one of the lifting party.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 02, 2014, 12:03:50 PM
Adams presented himself, but why now after so long. Yes the psni have to do their job, but coincidentally at the same time as the unionist ard fheis....
at best this is the law being fecking slow and rubbish, but I think they did wait until they could get maximum exposure to damage the shinners in the north (and the south too).
sf will be helped by adams leaving (funnily enough mcguinness is now seem to be seen as a good guy or bad guy turned good )
unless Gerry was in the room (unmasked) and can be identified by the kids present at the time, then I don't think they can charge or do Gerry Adams with anything.
Having recently heard/read Brendan Dark Hughes statement on this, I believe that this has been misinterpreted.
so the only way Adams can be done or is culpable in any way, is if he was along with or one of the lifting party.
Both for whatever reason chose to do the opposite regarding their past.
Gerry denies some stuff but has come clean on nothing afaik. Martin came clean on some stuff.
To my mind one shows real leadership and not the other.
Oscar Wilde:
Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.
Quote from: muppet on May 02, 2014, 12:12:35 PM
Gerry denies some stuff but has come clean on nothing afaik. Martin came clean on some stuff.
To my mind one shows real leadership and not the other.Oscar Wilde: Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.
Gerry Adams has been and is one of the greatest political leaders of our time. Perhaps some day, we'll look back and recognise this.
In the meantime, to suggest that not coming clean about some stuff detracts from everything else he does, is just plain silly.
Quote from: haranguerer on May 02, 2014, 12:19:28 PM
To my mind one shows real leadership and not the other.Oscar Wilde: Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.
Gerry Adams has been and is one of the greatest political leaders of our time. Perhaps some day, we'll look back and recognise this.
In the meantime, to suggest that not coming clean about some stuff detracts from everything else he does, is just plain silly.
FFS catch a grip
Who has done more? Haughey? Enda?
You mean Irish political leaders of our time?
A bit more than that. Not world stage, but more than Ireland I think. Possibly euro championships :P. I mean, hes not Mandela, but the north prior to (and during) the troubles was no place to be nationalist - now its a very different place, and, whether anyone is willing to admit or not, thats largely down to the republican movement, and especially their move to peaceful politics, which is largely down to Adams. That hes managed this with mininmal splitting and dissenters, is a remarkable political achievement.
Hes not as marketable as McGuinnes, and he is aware that unionists reserve a special vitriol for him; thats why McGuinness is deputy first minister and not Adams. What is strange though is that, as in the Muppets post, it seems that because McGuinness has this civic position, he has managed to move to the realm of respectability, while Adams hasn't.
Quote from: haranguerer on May 02, 2014, 01:51:10 PM
Hes not as marketable as McGuinnes, and he is aware that unionists reserve a special vitriol for him; thats why McGuinness is deputy first minister and not Adams. What is strange though is that, as in the Muppets post, it seems that because McGuinness has this civic position, he has managed to move to the realm of respectability, while Adams hasn't.
I would think that one of the main reasons he is not deputy is that as party leader it would be political weakness to be 'deputy' to another party's leader. He is just as marketable than McGuinness, if not more, but I also think that the plan was for him to have a different role.
He will not be charged with anything, the word of a dead man is no word at all. He will answer the questions and deny everything and without any real evidence he will walk. A lot of political posturing going on here.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 02, 2014, 02:04:07 PM
He will answer the questions and deny everything and without any real evidence he will walk.
I used to think that but now I'm not so sure. If they had nothing then Mary Lou and Martin wouldn't be so perturbed by it and simply let it play out. There was a change in Shinner opinion at the highest level yesterday which, to me, seems to suggest that word got out that they have something and the top brass had to get their excuses in early. Plus they couldn't hold him for 2 full days just asking him "Did ya kill her" over and over again, they must have some evidence to work with and it looks like its more than the Boston tapes. I don't expect him to be charged but they certainly have more "evidence" than the Boston tapes. Eammon Mallie said last night they are not just focusing on the McConville case and it's moving out to a wider investigation.
Quote from: trileacman on May 02, 2014, 02:34:55 PM
He will answer the questions and deny everything and without any real evidence he will walk.
I used to think that but now I'm not so sure. If they had nothing then Mary Lou and Martin wouldn't be so perturbed by it and simply let it play out. There was a change in Shinner opinion at the highest level yesterday which, to me, seems to suggest that word got out that they have something and the top brass had to get their excuses in early. Plus they couldn't hold him for 2 full days just asking him "Did ya kill her" over and over again, they must have some evidence to work with and it looks like its more than the Boston tapes. I don't expect him to be charged but they certainly have more "evidence" than the Boston tapes. Eammon Mallie said last night they are not just focusing on the McConville case and it's moving out to a wider investigation.
Yes they could, I have been there when they have done similar things and they will hold him for as long as they are entitled to. If they seek further time to question him then it might be a different story but I can't see that happening either. If it does move out to a wider investigation it will all be based on the word of a dead man again, which as I said earlier is no word at all.
It's funny how, coming up to elections, that something is dragged up to harm SF. I wasn't planning on voting, but I am now, and SF will get my vote. But unfortunately, thousands of people won't see through this charade.
QuotePlus they couldn't hold him for 2 full days just asking him "Did ya kill her" over and over again
Given the company he kept over the years, Adams "might" know something about any number of unfinished investigations. If they aren't in court in the next 30 mins looking for an extension then he is out for the long weekend.
QuoteI wasn't planning on voting, but I am now, and SF will get my vote. But unfortunately, thousands of people won't see through this charade.
Anyone with half a wit knows what Adams is, this is neither here nor there.
I would think that one of the main reasons he is not deputy is that as party leader it would be political weakness to be 'deputy' to another party's leader. He is just as marketable than McGuinness, if not more, but I also think that the plan was for him to have a different role.
He will not be charged with anything, the word of a dead man is no word at all. He will answer the questions and deny everything and without any real evidence he will walk. A lot of political posturing going on here.
Hes definitely more marketable in the US for e.g., prob England too, but I mean to a northern audience in particular BC. Most unionists have no time for SF, many hate them, but I was surprised by the special level of hatred there is reserved for Adams by almost all of them I've ever chatted to about it; far and away above any other SF member, and not just due to him being, as leader, the figurehead. I think Adams knew he could never be accepted cross-community (in as much as any politician is here) in the north, which is why he avoided the assembly, and eventually moved south.
Not massively aware of the ins and outs of this.
But was this not a coherent strategy at some point by SF, to have on one hand Gerry denying everything and appealing to one section of support and Martin admitting some stuff carrying with him another section of the support or was it not thought through as far as that and just happened organically.
Just curious.
A bit more than that. Not world stage, but more than Ireland I think. Possibly euro championships :P. I mean, hes not Mandela, but the north prior to (and during) the troubles was no place to be nationalist - now its a very different place, and, whether anyone is willing to admit or not, thats largely down to the republican movement, and especially their move to peaceful politics, which is largely down to Adams. That hes managed this with mininmal splitting and dissenters, is a remarkable political achievement.
Fr Alec Reid, "chaplain to the peace process", described Adams as "the most capable politician we have and one of the most capable politicians in Europe,"
Quote from: NAG1 on May 02, 2014, 02:59:30 PM
Not massively aware of the ins and outs of this.
But was this not a coherent strategy at some point by SF, to have on one hand Gerry denying everything and appealing to one section of support and Martin admitting some stuff carrying with him another section of the support or was it not thought through as far as that and just happened organically.
Just curious.
They are coming from two different arenas. McGuinness was charged and served time for being in the IRA leaving him free to talk openly about his past. Adams never has been charged with being a member of the IRA leaving him open to prosecution if he outed himself.
So there was no choosing involved.
If you can't do the time..
This is better than a million election posters. Ger will walk.. Next time gimp kenny mentions ira or mrs mc conville he'll get fukd off leaving him having to actually having to answer the question. This is perfect timing and a politcal masterstroke.
Adams will come out say that he cooperated fully and had no objections to further questioning as he wanted his name cleared once and for all.. Blah blah he supports the police.. And will help any way he can.. Of course the rest of sinn fein will jump up and down drawing attention to gers "situation" but its just milking it. Put it another way if the psni asked him to cooperate and he refused gimp and the rest would destroy him. So unless the cops have something to pin on ger he'll be untouchable after this
Oscar Wilde: Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.
This is just it muppet!
Mcguinness has convinced the general public that he's a good guy after what most poster on here ( esp southerners) say they despise about the IRA killing war bombs etc
He was never for politics but assigned a job by the IRA to watch that Adams didn't give too much
Adams was a good talker and the ideal man so his good friends in long kesh agreed that he was to be the political face of the republicans as they themselves were not up to it and just war mongrels and soldiers. Adams held the same ideals and was art so could run this.
Adams never had the guts to be involved in any IRA activity. Membership by association is as close as he got!
So he couldn't have ordered any killing of jean mcconville
- I think Hughes statement is very misinterpreted
That the police psni /ruc remanants are widening their questioning shows the motive is try try and find a way to make or set Gerry Adams up as a member of IRA and do him for a former event.
Undermining his credibility and sf in the process
However either way sf wins.
If the cops fail - sf and Adams get huge milage north and south out of this - and yes inda will have to answer questions rather than sledging
If the cops pin something on Adams - then sf elect a new leader and it may be Mary Lou
- this becoming more appealing to the electorate here at least.
Mcguinness will continue to appeal and appear now to people as whiter than the Dalai Lama - and will go for and possibly win the next presidential election ( which is what all this craic inc shaking hands with English queen was about)
And I will laugh !
Mcguinness is like any other former revolutionary head turned statesman
Degaulle Castro Churchill Washington etc etc
Anyhow they are upping the ante on Adams and I think they are shooting themselves in the foot ( though with no British army guys to assist these days, they could very well miss)
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 03, 2014, 09:09:31 AM
Oscar Wilde: Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.
This is just it muppet!
Mcguinness has convinced the general public that he's a good guy after what most poster on here ( esp southerners) say they despise about the IRA killing war bombs etc
He was never for politics but assigned a job by the IRA to watch that Adams didn't give too much
Adams was a good talker and the ideal man so his good friends in long kesh agreed that he was to be the political face of the republicans as they themselves were not up to it and just war mongrels and soldiers. Adams held the same ideals and was art so could run this.
Adams never had the guts to be involved in any IRA activity. Membership by association is as close as he got!
So he couldn't have ordered any killing of jean mcconville
- I think Hughes statement is very misinterpreted
That the police psni /ruc remanants are widening their questioning shows the motive is try try and find a way to make or set Gerry Adams up as a member of IRA and do him for a former event.
Undermining his credibility and sf in the process
However either way sf wins.
If the cops fail - sf and Adams get huge milage north and south out of this - and yes inda will have to answer questions rather than sledging
If the cops pin something on Adams - then sf elect a new leader and it may be Mary Lou
- this becoming more appealing to the electorate here at least.
Mcguinness will continue to appeal and appear now to people as whiter than the Dalai Lama - and will go for and possibly win the next presidential election ( which is what all this craic inc shaking hands with English queen was about)
And I will laugh !
Mcguinness is like any other former revolutionary head turned statesman
Degaulle Castro Churchill Washington etc etc
Anyhow they are upping the ante on Adams and I think they are shooting themselves in the foot ( though with no British army guys to assist these days, they could very well miss)
McGuinness is more like where Mandela was just after he came out of prison imho.
Yes muppet. I'd agree- that's what sf are attempting ( and succeeding) to portray McGuinness as.
But that's what cracks me up!
Adams was distrusted by any serious IRA man during the conflict and indeen even now as he was 'not one of them'
Mcguinness we know was more Castro than Mandela.
But now it's Adams who gets all the bad press and so on- and he actually did feck all wrong himself in the war!
A lot of republicans don't like Adams because he made a lot of money selling books and has a couple of holiday homes - whereas most others ploughed that money back into the party etc
A lot would be happy to see him go.
The next leader will bring the party on massively.
I laugh at inda when he has a go at Mary Lou about IRA , deaths, sf track record ( rem it was the IRA not sf!!!) etc. - inda prob knows more IRA men than she does!!
Next leader if Gerry does 'have' to go...
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
Apart from McGuinness who is now like Mandela/ Dalai Lama/ ghandi
The rest have no IRA 'baggage' and south of border will certainly make big increases in voters
In the north not much will change - might be a few voters got from moderate 'castle' Catholics.
Unionists despise Adams as he is the figurehead that crumbled their totalitarian apartheid-esque pseudo statelet.
Adams could go down for something. Not the first time people will testify somewhat innaccurately - though I dont think it will be the mcconville issues he is done for. Tax evasion possibly?
The Brit gov are currently interested as the norths politicians and their votes in Westminster are crucial again as the English parties are back to being close again.
In past labour and then conservative govs, they were landslides so northern block vote didn't matter. It does now so Brit gov needs to keep in with unionist voters so will lend a hand in Adams issue for their own political parliament voting gain
This whole episode intrigues me at least. Anyhow sf will come out better off either way!
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 03, 2014, 10:28:25 AM
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
The rest have no IRA 'baggage'
The next leader is Mary Lou. I think the fact that she has stated her willingness to be so is down to the fact that the decision has been made and she has been permitted to say it publically. Up until that, leadership debates were not a subject ever even mentioned in relation to SF. She would hardly be going on a solo run on the topic about her ambitions, unless the party was happy for her to.
As for the "no IRA 'baggage'" bit - Conor Murphy is a former Volunteer and ex-prisoner. To quote Jarlath Burns at one of Martin McGuinness's presidential election rallies (when talking about the Carragher family):
"when Peter Joseph John Caraher's father fought in the War of Independence in 1919-21 the M.P. for Armagh was Michael Collins. The M.P. for Armagh today is here tonight Ladies and Gentleman, Conor Murphy, and he also fought in the War of Independence let nobody tell you any different."
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 03, 2014, 10:56:51 AM
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
The next leader is Mary Lou. I think the fact that she has stated her willingness to be so is down to the fact that the decision has been made and she has been permitted to say it publically. Up until that, leadership debates were not a subject ever even mentioned in relation to SF. She would hardly be going on a solo run on the topic about her ambitions, unless the party was happy for her to.
As for the "no IRA 'baggage'" bit - Conor Murphy is a former Volunteer and ex-prisoner. To quote Jarlath Burns at one of Martin McGuinness's presidential election rallies (when talking about the Carragher family): "when Peter Joseph John Caraher's father fought in the War of Independence in 1919-21 the M.P. for Armagh was Michael Collins. The M.P. for Armagh today is here tonight Ladies and Gentleman, Conor Murphy, and he also fought in the War of Independence let nobody tell you any different."
Jarlath also stated in that speech that Caraher ruled south armagh from his back kitchen.
I woud like to know how did Caraher get the authority to rule anybody from his back kitchen.
The inevitable You tube video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeCAZqkWlSE
Quote from: Gaffer on May 03, 2014, 12:46:26 PM
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
As for the "no IRA 'baggage'" bit - Conor Murphy is a former Volunteer and ex-prisoner. To quote Jarlath Burns at one of Martin McGuinness's presidential election rallies (when talking about the Carragher family): "when Peter Joseph John Caraher's father fought in the War of Independence in 1919-21 the M.P. for Armagh was Michael Collins. The M.P. for Armagh today is here tonight Ladies and Gentleman, Conor Murphy, and he also fought in the War of Independence let nobody tell you any different."
Jarlath also stated in that speech that Caraher ruled south armagh from his back kitchen.
I woud like to know how did Caraher get the authority to rule anybody from his back kitchen.
Because he did, simple as that.
Quote from: orangeman on May 03, 2014, 12:47:16 PM
Excellent.
Quote from: muppet on May 03, 2014, 01:20:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 03, 2014, 12:47:16 PM
Excellent.
Even by NI comedy standards, that is pathetic.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2014, 01:15:23 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on May 03, 2014, 12:46:26 PM
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
Because he did, simple as that.
In his own head.
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
I've never heard anything about Murphy and without any info in the guy, just thought he was locked up for 'membership' ( and like plenty more- may not have actually been one ).
Ok so he was a vol.
His star has waned a bit- low enough profile the past few years- but IMO was the best choice for sf a few years ago.
Mary Lou prob sf best bet now to increase votes and lead !
Mary Lou isn't particularly popular. SF were succeeding in spite of their leadership.
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 05:28:34 PM
Mary Lou isn't particularly popular. SF were succeeding in spite of their leadership.
I'd prefer Pearse Doc as leader myself but I think Mary Lou had already been chosen for when the time comes but personally again, despite what the media would continue to tell us, SF have experienced continuous growth under Gerry Adams and I'd be in no rush to see him replaced. As for Mary Lou not being popular, I think that was more the case a few years back. Her work on the Public Accounts Committee has seen her receive considerable kudos. Even the Irish times have said that she "shines on it".
mary lou is popular enough around the south
seen as the new wave of sf
sf putting a woman up as leader will get the female vote and soften the party's image
id prefer pearse , caoimhin or murphy but she is very capable and driven
nice woman too and often used to chat to her after mass.
Fleggers on the ball again.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdeKEbTQt0s&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Yes muppet. I'd agree- that's what sf are attempting ( and succeeding) to portray McGuinness as.
But that's what cracks me up!
Adams was distrusted by any serious IRA man during the conflict and indeen even now as he was 'not one of them'
Mcguinness we know was more Castro than Mandela.
But now it's Adams who gets all the bad press and so on- and he actually did feck all wrong himself in the war!
A lot of republicans don't like Adams because he made a lot of money selling books and has a couple of holiday homes - whereas most others ploughed that money back into the party etc
A lot would be happy to see him go.
The next leader will bring the party on massively.
I laugh at inda when he has a go at Mary Lou about IRA , deaths, sf track record ( rem it was the IRA not sf!!!) etc. - inda prob knows more IRA men than she does!!
Mary Lou
Conor Murphy
Mcguinness ( unlikely)
Caoimhin o'C
Pearse
The rest have no IRA 'baggage' and south of border will certainly make big increases in voters
In the north not much will change - might be a few voters got from moderate 'castle' Catholics.
Unionists despise Adams as he is the figurehead that crumbled their totalitarian apartheid-esque pseudo statelet.
Adams could go down for something. Not the first time people will testify somewhat innaccurately - though I dont think it will be the mcconville issues he is done for. Tax evasion possibly?
The Brit gov are currently interested as the norths politicians and their votes in Westminster are crucial again as the English parties are back to being close again.
In past labour and then conservative govs, they were landslides so northern block vote didn't matter. It does now so Brit gov needs to keep in with unionist voters so will lend a hand in Adams issue for their own political parliament voting gain
This whole episode intrigues me at least. Anyhow sf will come out better off either way!
Maybe he has a hidden bank account somewhere but there's not much evidence of it. the Adams holiday home in Donegal cost about 60k and has been remortgaged a year ago because he couldn't make the payments.
If anyone begrudges the Adams' family, a mortgaged to the hilt holiday home, that problem is not with Gerry.
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2014, 05:28:34 PM
With the way FF and FG along with their coalition partners have ruled in the south over the last two decades it should be no wonder SF have gained ground, the next step is to show that they've real alternatives in economic policies than the other two that is an option for the middle ground in the south.
Mary Lou and Pearse may be better placed to do that and still probably not weaken their strength in the north with wee Marty in deputy mode.
Gerry was an exceptional leader during the hostile years in the north and his media persona help garner support for Sinn Fein outside the local arena as he always come across as measured and reasonable even when faced with very partisan, hostile audiences and TV show panels. He must have had the hide of a rhino.
Gerry was good alright. A brass neck helped. He was well able to fight his corner especially when there was fighting going on.
But 16 years on from the GFA all unionists and other dark forces want to do is to rake up the past. It's one of the few sticks they have left to beat SF with.
Take those away and sure what gave they to moan about ?.
Quote from: orangeman on May 06, 2014, 10:01:20 AM
Gerry was good alright. A brass neck helped. He was well able to fight his corner especially when there was fighting going on.
But 16 years on from the GFA all unionists and other dark forces want to do is to rake up the past. It's one of the few sticks they have left to beat SF with.
I think on the flipside, if Gerry is proven innocent (and it seems, according to William Crawley, he has been/will be) then there really isn't anything that they can beat him with.
Quote from: stibhan on May 06, 2014, 10:39:55 AM
I think on the flipside, if Gerry is proven innocent (and it seems, according to William Crawley, he has been/will be) then there really isn't anything that they can beat him with.
Shit sticks.
For those who don't want to accept he's innocent, there will always be the allegations surrounding Jean Mc Conville, the tapes and his denials of membership etc.
Unionism has always maintained the moral high ground over Sinn Fein and the 'terrorists' who ruined their wee ideal statelet.
This moral high ground has been called into question with the likes of the historical enquiries, Bloody Sunday apologies, collusion and so on has eroded that somewhat so they're holding onto whatever bit of whataboutery they can.
Their claims of erosion of their culture and all else still gets a by ball by the main media outlets, but they're unionist as well, so its hardly surprising.
They chose to ignore Terence O'Neills utterances of treating catholics correctly and they'll behave like protestants then and still now.
Quote from: stibhan on May 06, 2014, 10:39:55 AM
Luckily enough in UK and Ireland, he doesn't have to prove his innocence (as that may have caused some difficulty!).
However, he will be presumed innocent if they haven't enough evidence to charge/convict.