Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 02:50:41 PM

Title: Unionist wants GAA jerseys banned from universities
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 02:50:41 PM
TUV leader Jim Allister says students wearing GAA jerseys to university are "creating a substantial chill factor".

More and more Catholic students are opting to don club, county and college jerseys on campus at the north's universities and - claiming to have received complaints from students at University of Ulster - Allister says the proliferation of GAA jerseys in intimidating members of the Protestant community.

A ban could now be imminent...

In response to the Traditional Unionist Voice chief's complaints, UU is to review its policy of allowing students to wear GAA tops, with minister for employment and learning Stephen Farry telling The Irish News that plans have been put in place to develop a good relations policy in conjunction with the Students' Union:

"The University of Ulster has now advised that a working group has been established to develop this policy.

"An action plan has been developed, which will be presented to the relevant university committee in April. The policy will cover inter alia, political expression, culture, language and dress code."
Title: Re: Unionist wants GAA jerseys banned from universities
Post by: OakleafCounty on April 08, 2014, 03:02:38 PM
I doubt they could ban GAA jerseys without banning soccer and rugby tops as well. And also, what sort of person over the age of 17 wears football jerseys as a dress code.
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2014, 03:06:49 PM
This is ridiculous, as usual.

Does Abercormbie and Fitch not create a chill factor for those clothed by San Benardino?

Could people not wear anything with a logo on it?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 03:09:24 PM
its still amazes me that people actually vote for this moron
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2014, 03:13:23 PM
God help the gombeens up in Stormont... we have massive problems with our Health Service, Unemployment, Education but howl on a few lads are wearing football jersies so let's get that sorted!
Post by: NAG1 on April 08, 2014, 03:17:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 08, 2014, 03:13:23 PM
God help the gombeens up in Stormont... we have massive problems with our Health Service, Unemployment, Education but howl on a few lads are wearing football jersies so let's get that sorted!

A member of the tax paying public should be allowed to slap a politician (of any colour) every time they come up with this type of crap. That would soon stop them wasting tax payers money on such drivel.
Post by: Muzz on April 08, 2014, 03:18:06 PM
He's dead right!!!  The mall full of jerseys with girls the main culprit.  Short skirts and tight tops that what you want to be seeing.
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2014, 03:24:49 PM
Quote from: Muzz on April 08, 2014, 03:18:06 PM
He's dead right!!!  The mall full of jerseys with girls the main culprit.  Short skirts and tight tops that what you want to be seeing.

My favourite is the doll we saw walking down the Ormeau into the Hatfield in September time at about 9 in the evening... Tattyreagh/Eskra/Urney or some shitbag Tyrone Club top she was wearing, tight jeans, clarried in make up and fake tan and to top off the ensemble she was wearing f**king black underarmour!! What's that about!!
Post by: God14 on April 08, 2014, 03:27:25 PM
Quote from: Muzz on April 08, 2014, 03:18:06 PM

That's true, its  remarkable the amount of GAA jerseys you will see in the mall at UUJ.
Post by: Muzz on April 08, 2014, 03:30:51 PM
You arent wrong there screenexile!  Mickey Colemans song about the Holylands says it all (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOdevNC0Lec (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOdevNC0Lec)).  The latest craze them GAAGLE sweatpants...Who taught these girls to dress!
Post by: orangeman on April 08, 2014, 03:40:40 PM
Elections coming up ??
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 08, 2014, 03:42:30 PM
Quote from: Muzz on April 08, 2014, 03:30:51 PM
You arent wrong there screenexile!  Mickey Colemans song about the Holylands says it all (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOdevNC0Lec (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOdevNC0Lec)).  The latest craze them GAAGLE sweatpants...Who taught these girls to dress!

They are all from Tyrone and like fudball more than Derry men!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 03:44:38 PM
I'd ban all the tops, they do in most gyms anyway so what's the problem? We've banned them years ago at work and the students just get on with it
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2014, 03:46:05 PM
QuoteI'd ban all the tops, they do in most gyms anyway so what's the problem? We've banned them years ago at work and the students just get on with it

This kind of thing is ridiculous. In universities and gyms all over the world people wear sportswear. And universities in particular have no place banning things, it is not Iran.
Post by: The Trap on April 08, 2014, 03:49:21 PM
Anybody got any pictures of a girl in a GAA jersey looking good???????????????????????
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2014, 03:52:45 PM
Quote from: The Trap on April 08, 2014, 03:49:21 PM
Anybody got any pictures of a girl in a GAA jersey looking good???????????????????????

(http://pieleague.files.wordpress.com/2011/09/get-behind-your-tea_621360g21.jpg?w=600)

(http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g302/panda100/394057.jpg)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 03:54:07 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 08, 2014, 03:46:05 PM
QuoteI'd ban all the tops, they do in most gyms anyway so what's the problem? We've banned them years ago at work and the students just get on with it

This kind of thing is ridiculous. In universities and gyms all over the world people wear sportswear. And universities in particular have no place banning things, it is not Iran.

Works for us, a lot of people in this (Norn Iron) place are very sensitive about colours, ya wouldn't believe it i know but people have ended up getting their heads kicked in for wearing different coloured football tops!! I mean ya couldn't make it up.

Honestly though I couldn't care less, I worked in a place that was decked out in Union jacks the size of soccer pitches, means nothing to me, others? hmmm well some people might be
Post by: sheamy on April 08, 2014, 03:55:28 PM
Good man Trap. The thread was always headed this way. Here we go.... ;D
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 03:56:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 03:54:07 PM

Works for us, a lot of people in this (Norn Iron) place are very sensitive about colours, ya wouldn't believe it i know but people have ended up getting their heads kicked in for wearing different coloured football tops!! I mean ya couldn't make it up.

Honestly though I couldn't care less, I worked in a place that was decked out in Union jacks the size of soccer pitches, means nothing to me, others? hmmm well some people might be

so do we ban all soccer /rugby jersies as well?
do we stop people wearing poppies?

Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2014, 03:58:00 PM
Could the Unionists not wear IFA jerseys ?

This is a good time for an Apres Match link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEkjeVzL34
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 04:07:19 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 03:56:34 PM

Like I said it works for us, as the kids I look after have problems with lads from the 'other' side and this could result in some lad getting a kicking (it's happened before), some places have a duty of care to their students, now I wouldn't want to deal with a student getting a hiding and then explain this to their parents.

Norn Iron unfortunately is full of smicks who'll give someone a kicking based on their tops, EC would be going ape shit in Liverpool given half the chance ;)

Should they be banned? No should we have normal lives where our children wear what they want, express views without reprisals? Yeah course we do, but this is Norn Iron and some cnut is always going to be offended by some other cnut
Post by: Keyser soze on April 08, 2014, 04:13:12 PM
I predict a riot. Of Mucksavagery..
Post by: red hander on April 08, 2014, 05:10:39 PM
Why doesn't he sponsor a Private Member's Bill at Stormont and use someone to front it?
Post by: imtommygunn on April 08, 2014, 05:15:58 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on April 08, 2014, 03:17:05 PM
A member of the tax paying public should be allowed to slap a politician (of any colour) every time they come up with this type of crap. That would soon stop them wasting tax payers money on such drivel.

That's a great idea NAG. Where's the queue?!

There was something in a paper the other week there which I didn't see much about on here - Ian Paisley junior accused SF of voting for losing jobs when they voted that adults should not be allowed to smoke in cars with kids in them. Several slaps would be due there also.

Though there's no point in starting a list as it'd be a long one.
Post by: Syferus on April 08, 2014, 05:16:16 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on April 08, 2014, 03:02:38 PM
I doubt they could ban GAA jerseys without banning soccer and rugby tops as well. And also, what sort of person over the age of 17 wears football jerseys as a dress code.

There really are some joyless feckers out there in the world.
Post by: seafoid on April 08, 2014, 06:34:18 PM
Dress code for Grace Neill's pub in Donaghdee

No football jerseys
No visible tattoos
No hooded tops
No baseball caps

Post by: Rossfan on April 08, 2014, 06:40:22 PM
Good old twisted bigot Allister at it again.
He doesn't want SF votes to count for Ministerial jobs in Stormont and now doesn't want any visible signs of "Taigs" being about the place.
I suppose the one way to sort this out would be for every Catholic/Nationalist/Fair minded Student to turn up with a GAA jersey and see would they be stopped - with TV cameras present of course - similar to the black Student who tried to get into the Uni in Mississippi back in the day.
Post by: Bensars on April 08, 2014, 06:46:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 08, 2014, 03:58:00 PM
Could the Unionists not wear IFA jerseys ?

This is a good time for an Apres Match link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEkjeVzL34

No superdry jackets would be enough to identify. The unionists love Superdry!
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2014, 06:55:13 PM
Thankfully this is what passes as tit-for-tat nowadays. I am offended by your (frankly embarrassing) poppy, but yet I can't for the life of me understand what you don't like me wearing my identity on my chest.

Still, it's better than the 70s & 80s version of tit-for-tat.
Post by: BennyCake on April 08, 2014, 06:59:45 PM
Other than stirring the shite like this dick, what exactly do those wankstains in Stormont do?
Post by: general_lee on April 08, 2014, 07:12:43 PM
First off, hat tip to screenexile for the gussy pics ;) much appreciated.

As for Jim Allister, this is the same type of pretentious p***k that would support hundreds of loyalists gathering to march through villages like Rasharkin and think nothing of it re feelings of people that actually live there.

I'm sure there are more pressing issues to be worrying him, for example the poor academic achievement of young working class males in his 'community'. Maybe if he made a better effort to address this there wouldn't be the situation where a few students feel offended by GAA jerseys.

It's borderline pathetic that a university like UUJ with such a strong reputation for it's sporting excellence is considering these moves based on the rant of some gobshite bigot still stuck in the 1690s.
Post by: EC Unique on April 08, 2014, 07:35:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2014, 04:07:19 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2014, 03:56:34 PM

Like I said it works for us, as the kids I look after have problems with lads from the 'other' side and this could result in some lad getting a kicking (it's happened before), some places have a duty of care to their students, now I wouldn't want to deal with a student getting a hiding and then explain this to their parents.

Norn Iron unfortunately is full of smicks who'll give someone a kicking based on their tops, EC would be going ape shit in Liverpool given half the chance ;)

Should they be banned? No should we have normal lives where our children wear what they want, express views without reprisals? Yeah course we do, but this is Norn Iron and some cnut is always going to be offended by some other cnut
I don't think Everton jerseys would bother me that much.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 08, 2014, 07:52:19 PM
So would you not be allowed to wear the UUJ Gaelic football top then?

At my university people walked around in sweatshirts with the name of their club on the back.  I don't know what the setup is at UUJ but would they have to allow all athletes representing the college to wear that kind of sweatshirt, all except the footballers?
Post by: EC Unique on April 08, 2014, 08:52:53 PM
This reminds me of the best thread this board ever had.... The Mucksavage thread. It was class.
Post by: DownFanatic on April 08, 2014, 09:25:40 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on April 08, 2014, 08:52:53 PM
This reminds me of the best thread this board ever had.... The Mucksavage thread. It was class.

I think I started that one :)
Post by: laoislad on April 08, 2014, 09:42:03 PM

(http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/543674_499571726776088_1113792377_n.jpg)
Post by: JimStynes on April 08, 2014, 09:44:56 PM
unreal
Post by: BennyCake on April 08, 2014, 10:11:00 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 08, 2014, 09:42:03 PM

(http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/543674_499571726776088_1113792377_n.jpg)

Who the feck is she!?!
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2014, 10:22:35 PM
QuoteWho the feck is she!?!

Show us a picture with the jersey removed to see how Jim Allister's plan would work.
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2014, 10:32:14 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 08, 2014, 10:22:35 PM

Show us a picture with the jersey removed to see how Jim Allister's plan would work.

+ 10000
Post by: Main Street on April 08, 2014, 10:47:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 08, 2014, 10:32:14 PM

+ 10000
And if she was your daughter, you would feel the same?
Post by: muppet on April 08, 2014, 10:49:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 08, 2014, 10:47:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 08, 2014, 10:32:14 PM

+ 10000
And if she was your daughter, you would feel the same?

I would if she was wearing a bloody Tipp jersey!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 08, 2014, 10:54:46 PM
Its been said before, and il say it again.
RESURECT THE FOOKIN MUCKSAVAGE THREAD.
Tyrone & Derry mucksavvi were huge culprits and main drivers in this area.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 08, 2014, 10:57:20 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 08, 2014, 10:54:46 PM
Its been said before, and il say it again.
RESURECT THE FOOKIN MUCKSAVAGE THREAD.
Tyrone & Derry mucksavvi were huge culprits and main drivers in this area.

I have it saved lads if anyone wants it. Pm me...its fcukin hilarious.
Post by: orchard 8195 on April 08, 2014, 11:08:18 PM
Why was it banned?
Post by: Gold on April 08, 2014, 11:09:43 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 08, 2014, 10:11:00 PM

Who the feck is she!?!

Una Healy from The Saturdays
Post by: Estimator on April 09, 2014, 08:29:44 PM
Quote from: Gold on April 08, 2014, 11:09:43 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 08, 2014, 10:11:00 PM

Who the feck is she!?!

Una Healy from The Saturdays

She is Una Foden now!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 09, 2014, 08:50:00 PM
Mayo people suffer from this affliction worse than any other county I reckon. While a Tyronie will scout a Tyrone jersey and alternate it with their club, a Wexford one, a Dublin one, a Mayo one a Kilkenny one and back to a Tyrone one, in contrast a Mayohead will start with a Green and red Mayo one, followed by a red and green one, followed by a white with green and red trim, followed by the 1989 one, followed by the 1996 one, followed by the 2004 one, followed by the 2006 one, followed by a 1950 retro one, followed by last one before the current one etc. etc.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 09, 2014, 08:59:21 PM
ah, we have a winner
Post by: T O Hare on April 09, 2014, 09:33:32 PM
The mucksavage thread was unreal lol maybe Jim was about Renshaws in the early turn off the century seeing young women after a few hours of three for a fiver in their carrickmore jerseys heading to Temps for a feed  ;D
Post by: JimStynes on April 09, 2014, 09:46:34 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on April 09, 2014, 09:33:32 PM
The mucksavage thread was unreal lol maybe Jim was about Renshaws in the early turn off the century seeing young women after a few hours of three for a fiver in their carrickmore jerseys heading to Temps for a feed  ;D
You escorted a few home as well Tom. Gentleman that you are and all!!
Post by: Apparently so on April 09, 2014, 09:52:44 PM

Yes

Aye
Post by: tiempo on April 09, 2014, 10:01:05 PM
Unionist wants GAA jerseys banned from universities

a unionist wants thread wud be appropriate to pool all this shite in the one place, they're on a permanent weekly gripe/crisis/identity crisis mode
Post by: T O Hare on April 09, 2014, 10:21:29 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 09, 2014, 09:46:34 PM
Quote from: T O Hare link=topic=24512.msg1340127#msg1340127 dat=1397075612
You escorted a few home as well Tom. Gentleman that you are and all!!

Just looking after the fellow gaels Jim. Perfect gentleman lol
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 06:42:46 PM
Is this the response? Equally ridiculous and narrow-minded.

Queen's University Students' Union is set to vote tonight on a controversial motion to ban the sale of poppies on its premises.

Student and Sinn Fein activist Sean Fearon is expected to propose the ban and has slated the Poppy Appeal as "politically charged".

The motion, which will be seconded by Kelly Ann McAteer, states: "This Council recognises that the Students' Union is an inclusive and neutral space for all students at Queen's University and therefore must offer a politically neutral environment regarding issues of the past to avoid offence and a sense of exclusion."

The motion concludes: "This Council, therefore, instructs the VP [vice-president] Equality & Diversity and the Union President to end the sale of poppies in the Students' Union to provide an end to political sponsorship of the Poppy Appeal, in the name of peace, inclusivity and progressivism."

The union's representative council is set to vote on the motion in a secret ballot.

Council members who are members of unionist parties have said they will vote against it.

SDLP-minded members have also indicated they will oppose it.

Cliona McCarney, who is a member of the SDLP, told the Belfast Telegraph she believed the motion is "very unhelpful".

"We are voting against the motion, it's not out of any great love for the symbol of the poppy, it's just the fact that the motion is discriminatory against a large section of students," she said.

"Equally if it was a motion to ban GAA tops – which came about at the University of Ulster at Jordanstown – I was completely against that as well.

"The union is constitutionally mandated to be a safe place for all students, and if we take the right away, where does it end?"

She said the council would be better discussing proposals to increase tuition fees.

Unionist parties have slammed the motion. DUP European candidate Diane Dodds said it was "regressive, backward-looking and an attempt to politicise the poppy".

Ulster Unionist Lisburn councillor Alex Redpath said he was "really disappointed" by the motion. Mr Redpath, who was speaker of the students' council in 2010, said he believed it has become a "less accepting" place.

"This sort of petty sectarianism has been displayed in the past by the University of Ulster Students' Union and the UUP's Youth Wing the Young Unionists successfully fought a campaign to stop the ban," he said.

TUV council candidate and Samuel Morrison said he was disgusted by the motion.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/queens-university-students-to-debate-on-poppy-sale-ban-30250072.html
Post by: armaghniac on May 07, 2014, 07:09:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 06:42:46 PM

Proper order. A student's union in a place like NI is no place selling any sort of political stuff.
Note the proposal is not to ban the wearing, only the selling.
Post by: Main Street on May 07, 2014, 08:13:15 PM
QuoteCliona McCarney, who is a member of the SDLP, told the Belfast Telegraph she believed the motion is "very unhelpful".
"We are voting against the motion, it's not out of any great love for the symbol of the poppy, it's just the fact that the motion is discriminatory against a large section of students," she said.
"Equally if it was a motion to ban GAA tops – which came about at the University of Ulster at Jordanstown – I was completely against that as well.

Since when does a proposed ban on wearing GAA tops equate with a motion asking for an end to student union political sponsorship of the sale of the poppy?
SDLP student member unwittingly gives out an idiot alert warning,
'I'm a moron, therefore I vote.  I didn't take the time to comprehend the motion and I make really weird connections in the universe that I inhabit'

Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 08:47:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 07, 2014, 08:13:15 PM
QuoteCliona McCarney, who is a member of the SDLP, told the Belfast Telegraph she believed the motion is "very unhelpful".

Since when does a proposed ban on wearing GAA tops equate with a motion asking for an end to student union political sponsorship of the sale of the poppy?
SDLP student member unwittingly gives out an idiot alert warning,
'I'm a moron, therefore I vote.  I didn't take the time to comprehend the motion and I make really weird connections in the universe that I inhabit'
I don't even know what they mean by political sponsorship.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 08:56:01 PM
Defeated 15 votes to 40.
Post by: muppet on May 07, 2014, 08:56:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 07, 2014, 07:09:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 06:42:46 PM

Proper order. A student's union in a place like NI is no place selling any sort of political stuff.
Note the proposal is not to ban the wearing, only the selling.

Who decides whether a poppy or a Gaa jersey are political?
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 07, 2014, 09:14:49 PM
Really stupid and narrow minded from students union. My big problem with the poppy thing is the ramming it down your throat so that a person would almost feel like an outcast if they didn't wear one in certain places (TV etc). Refusing to sell them is just ramming another position down peoples throats.
Post by: armaghniac on May 07, 2014, 09:22:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 07, 2014, 08:56:42 PM

Common sense suggests that an emblem of an armed organisation is political while that of a sporting organisation is sporting. But some people oppose common sense.

Refusing to sell them is just ramming another position down peoples throats.

The students union should not be supporting one military group in a conflict. This is hardly "ramming".

Post by: mylestheslasher on May 07, 2014, 09:24:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 07, 2014, 09:22:39 PM

Common sense suggests that an emblem of an armed organisation is political while that of a sporting organisation is sporting. But some people oppose common sense.

The students union should not be supporting one military group in a conflict. This is hardly "ramming".
They are not supporting anything, just selling it and giving people the option to support it or not.
Post by: Main Street on May 07, 2014, 10:14:46 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 07, 2014, 09:24:16 PM

They are not supporting anything, just selling it and giving people the option to support it or not.
If that's the case I suppose the SU shop has a section dedicated to selling republican paraphenalia stuff?
I like that,  'we (SU shop) just have the stuff, you decide to buy it and if you want to wear it on your chest, more fool you'.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 10:46:36 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 07, 2014, 10:14:46 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 07, 2014, 09:24:16 PM

If that's the case I suppose the SU shop has a section dedicated to selling republican paraphenalia stuff?
I like that,  'we (SU shop) just have the stuff, you decide to buy it and if you want to wear it on your chest, more fool you'.
What would republican paraphernalia be?
Post by: foxcommander on May 07, 2014, 10:49:11 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 10:46:36 PM

Easter Lillies, T-Shirts etc.
Boy you are thick.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 10:50:47 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 07, 2014, 10:49:11 PM

Boy you are thick.
And you're limited to insults.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2014, 10:52:50 PM

Boy you are thick.
T-shirts are republican paraphernalia?!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2014, 10:55:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2014, 10:52:50 PM

Boy you are thick.

you can get them in most colours

(http://ts4.mm.bing.net/th?id=HN.608040727847830142&pid=1.7)
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2014, 10:58:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2014, 10:55:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2014, 10:52:50 PM

Boy you are thick.

you can get them in most colours

(http://ts4.mm.bing.net/th?id=HN.608040727847830142&pid=1.7)
Tasteful and stylish. I wonder do they have them in my size (medium  :P)
Post by: muppet on May 07, 2014, 11:10:28 PM

Firstly, the poppy is not an emblem for the British Armed Forces. Secondly the GAA is not a political organisation. But unfortunately there are people who swear by the blood of their forefathers that the opposite in both cases.

Thus an innocuous football jersey or a harmless little flower become inflammatory items to the common sensually challenged. So I am afraid I don't buy the common sense argument.

Post by: All of a Sludden on May 07, 2014, 11:14:35 PM
The motion to ban the sale of poppies in the students union has been defeated.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 11:16:44 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 07, 2014, 11:14:35 PM
You're on the ball  :P
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 07, 2014, 11:22:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 11:16:44 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 07, 2014, 11:14:35 PM
You're on the ball  :P

In fairness I only checked this page, your post sneaked in at the bottom of the previous page.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 11:24:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 07, 2014, 11:10:28 PM
Quote from: muppet link=topic=24512.msg1349547#msg1349547quote date=1399492602

Firstly, the poppy is not an emblem for the British Armed Forces. Secondly the GAA is not a political organisation. But unfortunately there are people who swear by the blood of their forefathers that the opposite is the case.

Thus an innocuous football jersey or a harmless little flower become inflammatory items to the common sensually challenged. So I am afraid I don't buy the common sense argument.
As ever, common sense isn't very common.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 07, 2014, 11:54:54 PM
some newbie calling Maguire with nearly 9000 post thick, any chance you these newbies with low IQ kindly f**k off!!
Post by: tiempo on May 08, 2014, 12:03:24 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 11:24:43 PM

Firstly, the poppy is not an emblem for the British Armed Forces. Secondly the GAA is not a political organisation. But unfortunately there are people who swear by the blood of their forefathers that the opposite is the case.

Load of tit for tat bullshit on the face of it, but in reality its more than that, lack of tolerance from the student body at QUB is shocking, i thought wans went to Uni to broaden their mind, embarrassing
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 08, 2014, 12:06:00 AM
2 sides as bad as each other, any chance these people representing political parties would deal with real issues like my rates going up every year yet the house price goes down, waiting for months on a hospital waiting list, education all over the place, my friends unemployed and struggling for work, racists looking any excuse to kick the shit out of the Poles, gay bashing, the list of day to day issues is endless.

Whats the Dup policy for Europe? we don't want 2 nationlist parties in Europe, pure scaremongering to an idiot population, can Peter exactly say why this is bad for Northern ireland for a political view? no cause his party cant think of any reason why his own party is best to represent people.

Is there any chance politicans will deal with real shit, instead of trying to ban poppies and gaa Jerseys in uni, they sell poppies in at my work place every year, i try my best to go out of my way to be offended this year.
Post by: Main Street on May 08, 2014, 12:23:58 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2014, 11:24:43 PM

Yes it is a 'harmless' little flower used to commemorate the dead british soldiers, to support the british army vets and their families.
On its own, that's a political statement in NI, that statement ranges from very mild to bombastic.
The poppy charity is not looking after the descendant of republican dead are they? The purchase of the poppy is not for all army dead, all the vets and their families, of the conflict/war in Ireland.
It is a selective symbol of support, just like the easter lily is a selective symbol of support.

Wearing the poppy equates to wearing a republican symbol to commemorate  republican dead, it's supporting  a republican charity. On its own, that's a political statement.

Wearing a GAA shirt is what?  Well, In the mind of the sdlp member who voted against the motion, wearing the gaa shirt has a political bias and equates it to wearing the poppy.
Now, the motion was to prevent the SU from sponsoring the sale of the poppy, the motion was not saying you can't wear it on the campus.
I suppose in some peoples' mind, there's no difference between that motion and a motion to ban the actual wearing of GAA shirts on campus.

Again, I say I have no issue with people wearing the poppy,  but if the SU are not selling charity republican based paraphernalia, then they are taking a politically biased position on the matter.  They are saying, we support the vets of one side of the conflict. How can that not be political, from a group which purports to be a union of a  large body of students?
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2014, 12:44:35 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 07, 2014, 11:54:54 PM
some newbie calling Maguire with nearly 9000 post thick, any chance you these newbies with low IQ kindly f**k off!!
Didn't realise there was a quota required before you were allowed to comment!!!

Wouldn't go as far as to say maguire was thick but his comments on 06 politics lack historical knowledge as he wasn't there for the wonderful experience it was - he's lucky in many respects.
Still there's no issue with his tuppence worth - even though he's an sdlp man and soon to be DUalliance ! ;)
Post by: foxcommander on May 08, 2014, 02:35:29 AM

Hahahah...did Maguire have to resort to getting his cheerleaders to stand up for him?
Pathetic.

I stand by my "thick" comment.

It was a good exercise to oppose poppy selling in Queens..this way Allister's motion will never get off the ground at universities plus a raft of other concessions will have to be made. I look forward to the same vendors selling lillies in a couple of years, just in time for the 1916 100-year anniversary.

Post by: oakleafgael on May 08, 2014, 09:16:46 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2014, 12:44:35 AM

Wouldn't go as far as to say maguire was thick but his comments on 06 politics lack historical knowledge as he wasn't there for the wonderful experience it was - he's lucky in many respects.
Still there's no issue with his tuppence worth - even though he's an sdlp man and soon to be DUalliance ! ;)

Pot, kettle, black.
Post by: muppet on May 08, 2014, 09:47:56 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 08, 2014, 02:35:29 AM

Hahahah...did Maguire have to resort to getting his cheerleaders to stand up for him?
Pathetic.

It was a good exercise to oppose poppy selling in Queens..this way Allister's motion will never get off the ground at universities plus a raft of other concessions will have to be made. I look forward to the same vendors selling lillies in a couple of years, just in time for the 1916 100-year anniversary.

Immitation is the sincerest form of flattery.
Post by: Ulick on May 08, 2014, 10:00:14 AM

Pathetic.

Universities in the north are closed the week before Holy Week so even if there was a will to sell Easter Lilies in the SU shop, there would be no one to selll them to.
Post by: johnneycool on May 08, 2014, 10:17:10 AM
Quote from: Ulick on May 08, 2014, 10:00:14 AM

Pathetic.

Universities in the north are closed the week before Holy Week so even if there was a will to sell Easter Lilies in the SU shop, there would be no one to selll them to.

Sure just extend the time for wearing them to the full month just like the poppy..
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2014, 10:30:19 AM
Quote from: Ulick on May 08, 2014, 10:00:14 AM

Has anyone attempted to sell Easter Lilies in the SU? Selling one thing but not the other is not "politically biased" if there's no attempt to sell the other.

Absolute joke. Unfortunately republicans have a history or ruining positive propaganda with nonsense like this. Keeping mouths on idiots like this shut and letting Fraser, Bryson et al rumble on would do a far greater service to the pursuit of a united Ireland than engaging in tit for tat shite.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 06:03:58 PM
No, just a bit of civility, whether it's your first post or your 20,000th.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 06:08:56 PM
Ah, that old chestnut again, despite the fact that i've lived in NI since the 1980s, and the fact that many people who lived here throughout the worst of it share similar views to myself.

Not to mention the fact that i'm countering the views of some students who were probably in nappies when the GFA agreement was signed, and as such, by your argument, must be totally ignorant.
Post by: foxcommander on May 08, 2014, 06:45:15 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 06:08:56 PM
must be totally ignorant.
Don't be so hard on yourself :D
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 07:38:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 08, 2014, 12:23:58 AM
Now, the motion was to prevent the SU from sponsoring the sale of the poppy, the motion was not saying you can't wear it on the campus.

Again, I say I have no issue with people wearing the poppy,  but if the SU are not selling charity republican based paraphernalia, then they are taking a politically biased position on the matter.  They are saying, we support the vets of one side of the conflict. How can that not be political, from a group which purports to be a union of a  large body of students?
You keep referring to the SU 'sponsoring' the sale of the poppy. What does that mean?
Unless i'm missing something, a box of poppies would be sitting on a counter, beside a money-box. If someone wants to buy a poppy, they take one from the box and make their donation. Is that what constitutes 'sponsorship'?
And unless the SU has refused to allow a box of Lillies and a collection box sit on their counter, then where's the bias? (Also, out of genuine interest, what charity does the Lily fund? Who administers it?)

I also agree with you, that there's a difference between wanting to ban the wearing of GAA tops and wanting to ban the selling a of a poppy. But the common thread is intolerance of difference, and it's a poor reflection that this is an issue among those who should be among our most highly educated. It also reflects poorly on a party whose mission is supposedly to create an 'Ireland of Equals'. It's as convincing as the 'Catholic outreach' we hear from the other side of the house.
Post by: foxcommander on May 08, 2014, 07:48:40 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 07:38:29 PM
And unless the SU has refused to allow a box of Lillies and a collection box sit on their counter

So theoretically would you support selling lillies in supermarkets and shared facilities such as universities?
If so I'll buy you one and send it to you for next year to wear proudly.

Post by: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2014, 09:06:24 PM
Ah, that old chestnut again, despite the fact that i've lived in NI since the 1980s, and the fact that many people who lived here throughout the worst of it share similar views to myself.

Not to mention the fact that i'm countering the views of some students who were probably in nappies when the GFA agreement was signed, and as such, by your argument, must be totally ignorant.
Civility works both ways!

Yep that old chestnut alright.
You did miss out on being there when most of not all the 'craic' was going on effectively by your own admission.
Yes you obv are entitled to an opinion- as we all are, but don't act all sage when discussing times when you were nowhere near the place! That's all.

I'd also agree with Main Street that allowing the sale of poppies is to sponsor their sale.
Easter lollies or poppies shouldn't be on sale in a SU
IMO
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 10:17:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2014, 09:06:24 PM

Have i not been civil?

You did miss out on being there when most of not all the 'craic' was going on effectively by your own admission.
Yes you obv are entitled to an opinion- as we all are, but don't act all sage when discussing times when you were nowhere near the place! That's all.
Who's acting all sage? I'm giving my opinion. It's perfectly valid.

IMO
I don't agree. If a student has been off sweets for all of Lent, I have no problem with them being able to buy an Easter lolly in the SU.
Post by: theticklemister on May 10, 2014, 09:15:58 AM
Main Street knocked it on the head on the last page.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 10, 2014, 11:28:01 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 10:17:52 PM

Have i not been civil?

IMO
I don't agree. If a student has been off sweets for all of Lent, I have no problem with them being able to buy an Easter lolly in the SU.
Ice lollies or lolly pops?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 10, 2014, 12:41:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 10, 2014, 11:28:01 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2014, 10:17:52 PM

Have i not been civil?

IMO
Ice lollies or lolly pops?

I don't think it would make any difference so long as they were green and not orange!