Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on March 20, 2014, 02:55:33 AM

Title: The latest annoying social media trend thread
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 20, 2014, 02:55:33 AM
Today it's make-up-free selfies.  FFS.
Title: Re: The latest annoying social media trend thread
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 20, 2014, 04:38:10 AM
No make-up selfies for breast cancer awareness and now sock on a c**k for testicular cancer awareness. Are both for real?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 20, 2014, 04:46:03 AM
Haven't seen the sock on a c**k one, but the no-makeup one is harmless enough.

A few on my newsfeed are donating money as they put up the selfie so to my mind that's a few dollars that Cancer research, or a hospice or some other charity wouldn't have received otherwise

http://news.uk.msn.com/selfie-windfall-for-cancer-charity (http://news.uk.msn.com/selfie-windfall-for-cancer-charity)

Edit: Added link
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 20, 2014, 08:03:52 AM
I am finding these no makeup selfies quite annoying but have not had my usual rant against facebook trends or acts of daftness as a good % actually appear to be making donations and this is supported by cancer research and support groups in several countries.

Basically, as it is actually doing some good I am biting my tongue on facebook.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 20, 2014, 08:11:20 AM
Me too. Beats the hell out of neknomination. Although I have my doubts about some charities too, but that's another thread.
Post by: Olly on March 20, 2014, 12:22:48 PM
Can we not do something on the board? What about posting pictures of our wives or girlfriends or boyfriends in bed wearing nothing but the jersey of your county or club (with boxer shorts etc obviously). Then we donate something to somewhere if we like the picture. The more provocative the picture the more we donate.

EG, say if hardstation posts a picture of his wife in an Antrim top with maybe a cheeky glance then we can donate if it pleases us and he can have tallies alongside his name. Then this will maybe encourage people who like to win things like Fearon to go a step further with his missus. It could lead to some deadly crack.

eg:

(http://www.contactmusic.com/pics/lf/style_to_rock_tv_2_020812/nicola-roberts-style-to-rock-tv-press_5887583.jpg)
Post by: theskull1 on March 20, 2014, 01:28:12 PM
Quote from: Olly on March 20, 2014, 12:22:48 PM
What about posting pictures of our wives or girlfriends or boyfriends

Reminds me of a work colleagues quip (twas a bit like yourself Olly) at a Christmas do when another (more god fearing) colleague was leaving as his wife had just pulled up outside.

"Sure bring her in so we can all give her marks out of 10"

Very Christian of him for not reporting him to HR

Also heard him tell another (this time female) colleague based in London "All of a sudden I find you much taller and better looking" when she happened to mention the value of her parents house when talking about property prices.

Not wise..but very funny
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 20, 2014, 05:13:12 PM
€200,000 raised so far.
Post by: BennyCake on March 20, 2014, 05:46:11 PM
Is social media the f**king bane of society or what?
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 20, 2014, 06:00:28 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 20, 2014, 05:46:11 PM

You do see the irony there?

Or did I miss it?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 20, 2014, 06:09:44 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 20, 2014, 05:46:11 PM

I agree champ.....................................even our gaa brethren from all counties come across as proper c***ts with there tweeting twattering
Post by: TabClear on March 20, 2014, 06:20:17 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on March 20, 2014, 01:28:12 PM

Reminds me of a work colleagues quip (twas a bit like yourself Olly) at a Christmas do when another (more god fearing) colleague was leaving as his wife had just pulled up outside.

Also heard him tell another (this time female) colleague based in London "All of a sudden I find you much taller and better looking" when she happened to mention the value of her parents house when talking about property prices.

Not wise..but very funny

No harm but anyone who reports either of those comments to HR needs to catch themselves on. Obviously don't know the individuals or the context but both those comments are harmless and said directly to the person in banter. Like you say Skull, very funny and a bit ofCraic.

It's one of my pet hates, people who run off whining to HR about the slightest little thing.

Rant over! ;)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 20, 2014, 07:39:13 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 20, 2014, 06:09:44 PM
I agree champ.....................................even our gaa brethren from all counties come across as proper c***ts with there tweeting twattering

Their.
Post by: trileacman on March 20, 2014, 11:34:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on March 20, 2014, 01:28:12 PM

Not wise..but very funny

That lad's a top man, witty hoor.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 21, 2014, 02:18:57 AM
Seems like now it's going to be sellotape selfies.  ::)
Post by: southdown on March 21, 2014, 10:54:16 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 21, 2014, 02:18:57 AM
Seems like now it's going to be sellotape selfies.  ::)

Nothing on Bebo so far....you sure?
Post by: Sidney on March 21, 2014, 06:53:10 PM
Just wait until sock on a c**k, neknomination and make up-free selfies are combined into one giant social media craze that will take the world by storm.

Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 21, 2014, 08:16:01 AM
Usually the social media trends elicit no more of a response from me than a casual shrug of the shoulders or shake of the head, but the latest one made me angry enough to resurrect this old thread.

A neighbour of mine from home, who recently had a baby, posted the following status on Facebook:
"I just found out I've been cheated on this last 5 months"

Now, I would be old fashioned enough to think that this kind of thing has no place on such a public forum, but each to their own and all that. She received a few comments along the lines of "Sorry to hear that" "Hope you're ok" etc.

The next day, she posts the following:
"OK before poor (boyfriend's name) gets any more call texts he has not cheated it's a cancer awareness "secret" message but thanks everyone for the support!!"

What the actual fck. This poor fella doesn't have a Facebook account, but he has to field all these calls etc about him cheating on his pregnant girlfriend.

Apart from the fact that these stupid things don't contribute anything for cancer 'awareness' (I would have thought people are pretty aware of cancer anyway and it would be better to organise fundraising for a hospice or something) this kind of thing is dangerous in my opinion.
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 09:36:45 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on July 21, 2014, 08:16:01 AM
Usually the social media trends elicit no more of a response from me than a casual shrug of the shoulders or shake of the head, but the latest one made me angry enough to resurrect this old thread.

A neighbour of mine from home, who recently had a baby, posted the following status on Facebook:

Now, I would be old fashioned enough to think that this kind of thing has no place on such a public forum, but each to their own and all that. She received a few comments along the lines of "Sorry to hear that" "Hope you're ok" etc.

"OK before poor (boyfriend's name) gets any more call texts he has not cheated it's a cancer awareness "secret" message but thanks everyone for the support!!"

What the actual fck. This poor fella doesn't have a Facebook account, but he has to field all these calls etc about him cheating on his pregnant girlfriend.

Apart from the fact that these stupid things don't contribute anything for cancer 'awareness' (I would have thought people are pretty aware of cancer anyway and it would be better to organise fundraising for a hospice or something) this kind of thing is dangerous in my opinion.

Some of the dung that people put on Facebook would really have you worrying about the future of  the human race. Idiots
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 09:49:35 AM
Quote from: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 09:36:45 AM

Some of the dung that people put on Facebook would really have you worrying about the future of  the human race. Idiots

Those people always existed,  they just now have a 'smart' phone and a wifi connection!!!
Post by: supersub on July 21, 2014, 10:03:05 AM

Really?
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 10:10:10 AM
No not really,but it does (for me at least) make a lot more friends seem like absolute idiots than i had previously believed to be the case.
Post by: Under Lights on July 21, 2014, 10:11:42 AM

Really? I'm sure they will always manage to work out how to breed- plenty of instructional videos online.
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 10:21:01 AM
How many times is "Really?" going to pop up,was answering once not enough?  ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2014, 01:36:47 PM
Quote from: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 10:21:01 AM
How many times is "Really?" going to pop up,was answering once not enough?  ::)
I Really don't know.
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 01:43:58 PM
Really?
Post by: Syferus on July 21, 2014, 08:57:15 PM
I necknominate Beer Baron to prove he really doesn't mean it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 21, 2014, 11:19:28 PM
"What happened next will amaze you", red arrows and red circles drawn on the thumbnail, and other clickbait gimmicks.
Post by: ziggysego on July 24, 2014, 01:17:51 PM
The 'Like' and 'Share' sob stories. Hate them with a passion. Wrote a blog about one in particular.

http://www.mywayaccess.com/blog/facebook-likes-and-shares-can-hurt/ (http://www.mywayaccess.com/blog/facebook-likes-and-shares-can-hurt/)
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 14, 2014, 11:45:30 PM
Pouring water over yourself ::)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 15, 2014, 12:08:31 AM
well it's raised $4million from 70,000 donations in just over 2 weeks - so it's doing something
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 15, 2014, 12:27:22 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 15, 2014, 12:08:31 AM
well it's raised $4million from 70,000 donations in just over 2 weeks - so it's doing something

Suppose. How long till they find the cure?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 15, 2014, 12:39:24 AM
It won't be tomorrow - but what harm is there in raising awareness ???
Post by: stew on August 15, 2014, 02:14:58 AM
Gab you are absolutely correct. ALA is an awful disease and God bless those who donate to rid the world of thid affliction!
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 08:12:19 AM
The end doesn't always justify the means. Its attention seeking shite and does my head in.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 15, 2014, 08:25:31 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 08:12:19 AM
The end doesn't always justify the means. Its attention seeking shite and does my head in.

Perfect for FB and the like then if it's attention seeking
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 08:45:17 AM

Serious question. What harm does it do? I've seen a tenuous article that questions it's impact, but in general what harm does it do? As far as I'm concerned I don't watch the videos, unless it's a cool one like Paul Bissonette (the Coyotes' hockey player), but at least it's not like the neknomination one where the potential for harm was obvious.
Post by: johnneycool on August 15, 2014, 08:53:22 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 08:45:17 AM

Serious question. What harm does it do? I've seen a tenuous article that questions it's impact, but in general what harm does it do? As far as I'm concerned I don't watch the videos, unless it's a cool one like Paul Bissonette (the Coyotes' hockey player), but at least it's not like the neknomination one where the potential for harm was obvious.

Ah FFS, its just a bit of craic whilst raising a few quid for a charity, no harm in it, just like the non makeup one.

Now that neck nomination one was always going to lead to a bit of harm for someone..
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:06:48 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 15, 2014, 08:53:22 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 08:45:17 AM

Ah FFS, its just a bit of craic whilst raising a few quid for a charity, no harm in it, just like the non makeup one.

Now that neck nomination one was always going to lead to a bit of harm for someone..
That's my feelings on it too. I wouldn't do it myself, nor would I post anything about it on Facebook. But sure live and let live. I have some friends that post all this stuff to/about their wife on it and I can't understand that at all. Why not just say it to the girl?
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 09:27:40 AM
http://www.myfoxtwincities.com/story/25487940/dnr-dont-rise-to-cold-water-challenge

http://qz.com/249649/the-cold-hard-truth-about-the-ice-bucket-challenge/

I'm not calling for it to be banned, I'm just saying it sickens my hole.

Its got very little to do with charity - charity is merely the camouflage for the attention seeking individuals who start this sh*t.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:28:50 AM
But how can you say it's got little to do with charity, if the charitable donations to the 'cause' are up so much as a result?
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 09:41:37 AM
Its about intentions. Thats very much a secondary consequence imo. Also, read the second link

Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 09:43:47 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:06:48 AM

But sure live and let live.

That's my only way of finding a way to understand these things.

It's like when people post their undying love for someone, be it a son or a mother or whatever, and the object of their affection isn't even on that particular social platform and most likely won't see it....then who was that proclamation actually for? But, live and let live.

Or selfies or pics of their children/house/dinner....or letting their world know that they feel great.....but live and let live as you say. Or turn it off.

I need to go back to work.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:46:37 AM
The second link seems to be from a lad who runs a different non profit, and he is giving out because people are donating to these crazes instead of his own. That's fair enough, but sure that's the same reason why all these charities advertise and all. At the end of the day, they are all competing for a finite amount of cash, and whatever makes you donate to them is worth it as far as they are concerned.

I'm not a major fan of them or anything, and I wouldn't acknowledge a nomination, but I don't think they do any real harm.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:48:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 09:43:47 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:06:48 AM

But sure live and let live.

That's my only way of finding a way to understand these things.

It's like when people post their undying love for someone, be it a son or a mother or whatever, and the object of their affection isn't even on that particular social platform and most likely won't see it....then who was that proclamation actually for? But, live and let live.

Or selfies or pics of their children/house/dinner....or letting their world know that they feel great.....but live and let live as you say. Or turn it off.

I need to go back to work.

Well I can see how pics of holidays etc are interesting to friends. I do that myself :) And I like looking at friends pictures of things like that.

The whole 'I love you so much, you're the best in the world, blah blah', that I don't understand. some things should remain between the two people involved :)
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 09:50:26 AM
I'm not talking about killing them all off.

And if anyone actually started following that little motto of 'live and let live' this and all discussion boards would cease to exist.
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 09:51:50 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:46:37 AM
I'm not a major fan of them or anything, and I wouldn't acknowledge a nomination, but I don't think they do any real harm.

Nor do I, but they sicken my hole so I'm venting
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 09:52:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:48:07 AM
The whole 'I love you so much, you're the best in the world, blah blah', that I don't understand. some things should remain between the two people involved :)

Ah sure live and let live ;)
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 09:52:41 AM
Go fcuk yerself.

Sorry. LALL.
Post by: Asal Mor on August 15, 2014, 09:55:18 AM
I find the biggest downside of facebook and similar sites is when I have too much time on my hands and start snooping on people I lost touch with years ago. I wonder how that wan that knocked me back years ago is getting on? Ah, she got fat, ha ha feckin' delighted etc.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2014, 09:56:00 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on August 15, 2014, 09:55:18 AM
I find the biggest downside of facebook and similar sites is when I have too much time on my hands and start snooping on people I lost touch with years ago. I wonder how that wan that knocked me back years ago is getting on? Ah, she got fat, ha ha feckin' delighted etc.

Downside or upside????  I am confused ???
Post by: Asal Mor on August 15, 2014, 10:01:28 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2014, 09:56:00 AM

I'd still call it a downside. It's a kind of stalking that you can get away with but it's not healthy.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 10:08:50 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 09:52:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 09:48:07 AM

Ah sure live and let live ;)

Yep, live and let live alright, but I just don't get it :)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 15, 2014, 10:58:05 AM
Seriously contemplating deleting my facebook account but just cant bring myself to do it. The nosy b*astard in me is saying no but it is just depressing the life out of me...
Post by: Christmas Lights on August 15, 2014, 11:45:32 AM
The seethe that Facebook is creating here is quite amusing  ;D
Post by: deiseach on August 15, 2014, 11:51:24 AM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on August 15, 2014, 11:45:32 AM
The seethe that Facebook is creating here is quite amusing  ;D

It's a hipster thing.
Post by: Sidney on August 15, 2014, 11:55:02 AM
It's the biggest downside, but also the only real reason to have an account.
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 12:41:32 PM
So, break it down:

Why does someone put a photo of themselves on Facebook (not profile but a regular occurrence)?

a) They like how they look and want to share it
b) They feed off compliments
c) They are bored
d) Just/Why not

Why do people put photos of their children on it (again, sort of regularly)?

a) They are proud of them and want to share that pride with people
b) They want compliments
c) Just

Not criticising here - just wondering what the natural psyche is - and it must be natural enough.
Post by: deiseach on August 15, 2014, 12:44:08 PM
e)/d) All of the above
Post by: Hereiam on August 15, 2014, 12:48:14 PM
O'Neill if you have family around the world its a quick way of updating them with pics of family members etc.
As for the whole water over head etc..... I don't get it. I'm sure if someone posted a video of them putting their hand in the a fire you would have people doing the same plus some. Crazy world we live in.
Post by: Sidney on August 15, 2014, 12:51:09 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 12:41:32 PM
So, break it down:

Why does someone put a photo of themselves on Facebook (not profile but a regular occurrence)?

c) They are bored
d) Just/Why not

b) They want compliments
c) Just

Not criticising here - just wondering what the natural psyche is - and it must be natural enough.
"The Century of the Self" by Adam Curtis explains it, I think.
Post by: haranguerer on August 15, 2014, 12:57:30 PM
Facebook is going to be a record of your life. I seldom update, but there are some occasions when I put photos up because I want to make sure they're recorded. Its more for me to look back at, in the same way I would with a photo album, than it is for anyone else.
Post by: Orior on August 15, 2014, 01:19:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2014, 09:56:00 AM

Backside - rule 1 please
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 01:19:43 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 15, 2014, 12:51:09 PM
So, break it down:

c) They are bored
d) Just/Why not

b) They want compliments
c) Just

Can't speak for anyone else, but I put it up so my friends, at home and abroad can see the odd update from me with the kids or whatever. Birthday parties, on holidays, notable events. Whatever. That's it really.
Post by: Orior on August 15, 2014, 01:24:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 01:19:43 PM
So, break it down:

c) They are bored
d) Just/Why not

b) They want compliments
c) Just

Can't speak for anyone else, but I put it up so my friends, at home and abroad can see the odd update from me with the kids or whatever. Birthday parties, on holidays, notable events. Whatever. That's it really.

Ditto - you've just spoken for me.
Post by: Zip Code on August 15, 2014, 03:02:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 01:19:43 PM
So, break it down:

c) They are bored
d) Just/Why not

b) They want compliments
c) Just

Of your 700+ friends of whatever, 10 of which you might phone / meet - how many want to see pictures of you and your family?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 03:07:21 PM
I know the vast majority of them well. Either grew up with them, played ball with them, worked with them in America or was friends with them over there, whatever. And sure if they don't want to see them, they can just 'unfollow' me. But my friends are distributed across the world at this stage, like most people, between US, Europe, Canada and Australia, as well as being spread throughout Ireland with kids and families of their own. So it's hard to meet in the local and swap war stories these days.
Post by: Zip Code on August 15, 2014, 03:23:32 PM
I was being flippant off course for someone like yourself in far off lands social media is great, for those with 700+ friends, most of whom they have never met and updating every 5 minutes - Jesus wept. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2014, 03:26:59 PM
I'm actually in Tipp. It's not that far off :) But I have friends in far off lands. I get your point though, I do wonder at some of the stuff people put up there. Pictures of their dinner and all. Madness :)
Post by: Syferus on August 15, 2014, 03:37:03 PM
I have on-going group chats that are a year or older, it's pretty much replaced texting for me too. Facebook is only the current evolution of a basic fact of life - humans are social creatures. Same reason there's a forum here.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2014, 03:38:35 PM
FWIW AZ is kinda like me with a lot of friends that he would have known over the years through sport etc that he keeps in contact with.  I did a wee stress test there to see how many of my FB friends I have been in direct contact with in the last month or so either speaking, chatting on FB for a sustained period or sending e-mails.  49 in total out of just over 300 and of those 49 I spoke to at least 20 of them and was out socializing with at least 10 of them and maybe more.  I post the odd picture about my family, repost and share a fair bit of political campaign stuff, and sometimes post on sports things.  If people want to post about pouring a bucket of ice-water over their heads well then away ye go.  What f**king odds to you and I if they do,  by people tut-tutting about their 'attention seeking'  they have achieved their goal (if that is what you genuinely think they are at.)
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 11:35:31 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2014, 03:38:35 PM
FWIW AZ is kinda like me with a lot of friends that he would have known over the years through sport etc that he keeps in contact with.  I did a wee stress test there to see how many of my FB friends I have been in direct contact with in the last month or so either speaking, chatting on FB for a sustained period or sending e-mails.  49 in total out of just over 300 and of those 49 I spoke to at least 20 of them and was out socializing with at least 10 of them and maybe more. 

That's feck all to do with what we're discussing.

As for the posting photos to show people in foreign lands how your children are progressing - why would they want to see that? If someone I met rarely gave me pictures of their children and asked me to look through them at my leisure it'd be a bit weird of that person to think I'm interested. Unless I was a woman.
Post by: Sidney on August 15, 2014, 11:52:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 15, 2014, 11:35:31 PM
If someone I met rarely gave me pictures of their children and asked me to look through them at my leisure it'd be a bit weird of that person to think I'm interested. Unless I was a woman.
If someone I met often gave me pictures of their children and asked me to look through them at my leisure it'd be a bit weird of that person to think I'm interested. Unless I was a woman.
Post by: Hardy on August 16, 2014, 12:01:52 AM
I was that woman.

It all started when ... oh wait. Wrong forum.
Post by: BennyCake on August 16, 2014, 12:03:57 AM
I don't get the Facebook thing at all. I really don't. I've had numerous requests to join it. When I tell people I'm not on it, nor won't be, they look at me as if I have two heads.
Post by: Sidney on August 16, 2014, 12:11:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 16, 2014, 12:01:52 AM
I was that woman.

It all started when ... oh wait. Wrong forum.
Try WeddingsOnline.ie, mate.

I think I still have an account there from when An Fear Rua posters trolled the place about 6 years ago.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 16, 2014, 07:24:52 AM
Speaking of childer and FB, you know what really grinds my gears? People putting pictures of their offspring up as their own profile picture. WTF is up with that?
Post by: Sidney on August 16, 2014, 01:09:39 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 16, 2014, 07:24:52 AM
Speaking of childer and FB, you know what really grinds my gears? People putting pictures of their offspring up as their own profile picture. WTF is up with that?
It's fooking weird, that's what it is.
Post by: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 12:58:03 PM
Might be fake but still good: https://vine.co/v/M3tMlVB0zUb
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 02:12:15 PM
Outraged thejournal.ie users have set up an "outrage page" on Facebook to vent their frustration at anonymous readers pressing the "thumbs down" button in response to comments under articles.

Mary Duffy of Monaghan said "something had to be done". "I was reading an article about a 78 year old man who died after being knocked down by a car in Cork. I left a comment "so sad, rip." Then a minute later I saw somebody had given a thumbs down sign to my comment. So I responded again asking why somebody would do that. Then that comment got a thumbs down sign, and the whole comment section then turned into a row about people giving thumbs down signs and asking why people would do such a thing. This is about the tenth time this has happened to me after I left an "RIP" comment about somebody dying after being knocked down."

When I asked "Anonymous", who didn't say where he/she lived, why they give thumbs down signs to such comments, they responded: "Because I'm f**king bored, have no life, and because I get a laugh out of making other people who have no life but are clearly very stupid act like children on the INTERNET over a matter of no f**king importance whatsoever."

"I felt I had to do something, so I set up a Facebook page to deal with the problem", said Mary. " I don't know why people do this sort of thing. But it has to be stopped." The Facebook page currently has three followers and six "likes".

Mary will be on Liveline today to discuss this growing problem.
Post by: orangeman on August 21, 2014, 10:54:35 PM
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/als-ice-bucket-challenge-cofounder-corey-griffin-drowns-aged-27-30525335.html

Sad end.

Post by: Sidney on August 21, 2014, 10:59:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2014, 10:54:35 PM
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/als-ice-bucket-challenge-cofounder-corey-griffin-drowns-aged-27-30525335.html

Sad end.
A man who knew that he could exploit the shallow, vacuous, attention-seeking nature of modern western society for charitable gain. A visionary.

Sadly, what he was diving in wasn't as shallow as the minds of most social media devotees.
Post by: seafoid on August 21, 2014, 11:22:20 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2014, 10:54:35 PM

Sad end.
The man who invented the Segway died in a Segway accident

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1315518/Segway-tycoon-Jimi-Heselden-dies-cliff-plunge-scooters.html

Post by: ballinaman on August 22, 2014, 08:33:35 AM
Not going to lie....I laughed...a lot.

http://youtu.be/K4qADFNsDxE
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 25, 2014, 10:57:01 PM
Palestinian version of the bucket challenge:

http://disinfo.com/2014/08/rubble-challenge-palestinian-response-ice-bucket-challenge/ (http://disinfo.com/2014/08/rubble-challenge-palestinian-response-ice-bucket-challenge/)
Post by: laoislad on August 25, 2014, 11:06:29 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 22, 2014, 08:33:35 AM

Not as much as I laughed at this one I bet.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoLbdQi3MIg
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 25, 2014, 11:21:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 25, 2014, 11:06:29 PM

Lolz. Dopey bitch. Seen one on the missus phone yesterday where the dolls swimsuit top fell downbunder the weight of the water  :D
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2014, 11:28:02 PM
Think someone lost their life doing it today.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2014, 11:28:02 PM

In Scotland I believe. RIP.
Post by: Syferus on August 25, 2014, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2014, 11:35:18 PM

..how?
Post by: beer baron on August 25, 2014, 11:43:21 PM
I think the Germans are the best at it https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=808791272474319&set=vb.204149912938461&type=2&theater
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 26, 2014, 07:07:11 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 25, 2014, 11:21:03 PM

Lolz. Dopey bitch. Seen one on the missus phone yesterday where the dolls swimsuit top fell downbunder the weight of the water  :D

Rules are rules. Link please.
Post by: ziggy90 on August 26, 2014, 10:26:40 AM

That's a beauty LL.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 26, 2014, 10:56:42 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 25, 2014, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2014, 11:35:18 PM

..how?
Young lad drowned in a quarry. It "may" be linked to the icebucketchallenge.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 26, 2014, 11:11:35 AM
Nothing wrong with this........until Marty joins in :-\

http://balls.ie/gaa/video-rachel-wyse-ice-bucket/
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 26, 2014, 11:24:02 AM
I am sure the sight of Marty would get her wet even more  ???
Post by: muppet on August 26, 2014, 11:50:04 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 26, 2014, 11:24:02 AM
I am sure the sight of Marty would get her wet even more  ???

I think she thought he was so dry he would do as a towel.
Post by: screenexile on August 26, 2014, 11:55:39 AM
Load of bullshit... bunch of sheep following the herd. I've just been nominated as well. They can go f*ck themselves!!

I don't mind giving to charity but the ice bucket thing has been clogging the newsfeed for over a week now surely it has run its course!!!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 26, 2014, 11:58:08 AM

thats hilarious
Post by: charlieTully on August 26, 2014, 12:07:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 26, 2014, 11:55:39 AM
Load of bullshit... bunch of sheep following the herd. I've just been nominated as well. They can go f*ck themselves!!

I don't mind giving to charity but the ice bucket thing has been clogging the newsfeed for over a week now surely it has run its course!!!

Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 26, 2014, 12:29:38 PM
(https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10551096_590179521108454_7738375751181409659_n.jpg?oh=8e17cac8ec49135157471f6ca90d527b&oe=546CD3E5)
Post by: orangeman on September 02, 2014, 09:02:48 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/special-reports/2014/0901/640771-redemptoristine-nuns-take-ice-bucket-challenge/
Post by: ziggysego on September 02, 2014, 11:31:10 AM
The most annoying social media trend is people jumping on the bandwagon to complain about a trend.
Post by: HiMucker on September 02, 2014, 12:04:49 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 26, 2014, 11:11:35 AM
Nothing wrong with this........until Marty joins in :-\

http://balls.ie/gaa/video-rachel-wyse-ice-bucket/
I think at the end your man hands out the coat to Rachel who puts her arms out to get it and then Marty goes in for the hug!  lol
Post by: Zip Code on September 02, 2014, 02:13:38 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 02, 2014, 11:31:10 AM
The most annoying social media trend is people jumping on the bandwagon to complain about a trend.

Or people jumping on the bandwagon, complaining about people complaining about an annoying trend!
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2014, 08:23:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 02, 2014, 11:31:10 AM

Well I started this complaining on here about it anyway haha.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 29, 2014, 10:07:03 PM
'5 things you probably don't know about me' is appearing on my fb newsfeed!
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on September 29, 2014, 10:16:25 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on August 26, 2014, 12:07:47 PM

Like it or loath it it's raised millions.

The ice bucket was the catalyst.

Do it or don't do it......but don't whinge about something that's actually done something good for a change...

Whinge about some f*cking ridiculous like neck nominate etc......
Post by: pullhard on September 30, 2014, 10:00:08 AM
The Paste Thread on this board
Post by: haranguerer on September 30, 2014, 10:33:13 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on September 29, 2014, 10:16:25 PM

Do it or don't do it......but don't whinge about something that's actually done something good for a change...

Lance raised a lot of money for charity. Perhaps we shouldn't whinge about him either?
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on September 30, 2014, 03:09:54 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on September 30, 2014, 10:33:13 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on September 29, 2014, 10:16:25 PM

Lance raised a lot of money for charity. Perhaps we shouldn't whinge about him either?

I'd like to think that many people performing the ice bucket challenge wont take performance enhancing drugs or whatever but I can be too sure..........

If there caught....throw the book at them as well!