GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: moysider on March 11, 2014, 10:15:21 PM

Title: Mayo V Cork. 16/03/13. McHale Park
Post by: moysider on March 11, 2014, 10:15:21 PM

Huge weekend of sport to look forward to.

Cork are always difficult and often formidable at all grades. I suppose that is what made the U21 win in 2006 a bit special.

Still I m expecting Mayo to win this at home. I posted a team on the last thread that I d like to see start. I m sure other people have a different take on things?

Any Cork posters about?
Title: Re: Mayo V Cork. 16/03/13. McHale Park
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2014, 10:16:16 PM
Zulu is close to being from Cork...
Post by: moysider on March 11, 2014, 10:31:46 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 11, 2014, 10:16:16 PM
Zulu is close to being from Cork...

Close never bulled a cow.

We need a proper langer.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 12, 2014, 12:22:02 AM
The Cork Senior Football team to play Mayo on Sunday at 2.30pm in McHale Park, Castlebar, will line out as follows:

1. Ken O'Halloran (Bishopstown)
2. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr's - Captain)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
5. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
6. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Alan Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
8. Andrew O'Sullivan (Castletownbere)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
10. Colm O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
12. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
13. Colm O'Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Donncha O'Connor (Ballydesmond)

Subs
16. David Hanrahan (Douglas)
17. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)
18. James Loughrey (Mallow)
19. Kevin O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
20. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
21. Micheál O Laoire (Naomh Abán)
22. Barry O'Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
23. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
24. John O'Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
25. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
26. Daniel Goulding (Eire Óg)

Unusual step by Cuthbert, naming 2 Under 21s the day before they play a big c/ship match..puts a bit of pressure on them.
Clancy is a defender so could play as sweeper.
Post by: moysider on March 12, 2014, 12:43:11 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 12, 2014, 12:22:02 AM
The Cork Senior Football team to play Mayo on Sunday at 2.30pm in McHale Park, Castlebar, will line out as follows:

1. Ken O'Halloran (Bishopstown)
2. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr's - Captain)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
5. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
6. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Alan Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
8. Andrew O'Sullivan (Castletownbere)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
10. Colm O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
12. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
13. Colm O'Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Donncha O'Connor (Ballydesmond)

Subs
16. David Hanrahan (Douglas)
17. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)
19. Kevin O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
21. Micheál O Laoire (Naomh Abán)
24. John O'Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

Unusual step by Cuthbert, naming 2 Under 21s the day before they play a big c/ship match..puts a bit of pressure on them.
Clancy is a defender so could play as sweeper.

Looking at a new (new to me anyway) Cork team is like looking at an unfamiliar All Black line up. You dont know a lot about them but you know they ll have the quality to really mess you up unless you re clued in.

What s the story with Cuthburt Ciarrai thuaidh? I m hearing he s a bit of a Maoist. Going back to basics and losing a lot of the backroom stuff. Injured players doing stats and stuff. Not that I m against that or anything?
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 12, 2014, 02:57:16 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 12, 2014, 12:43:11 AM

Looking at a new (new to me anyway) Cork team is like looking at an unfamiliar All Black line up. You dont know a lot about them but you know they ll have the quality to really mess you up unless you re clued in.

What s the story with Cuthburt Ciarrai thuaidh? I m hearing he s a bit of a Maoist. Going back to basics and losing a lot of the backroom stuff. Injured players doing stats and stuff. Not that I m against that or anything?

He's a smart enough fella. Has assembled a good backroom staff, has cleared out the deadwood (or most of it) and has a decent batch of players in their early 20's who are eager to prove themselves, so prospects are decent for Cork, if not this year then medium term at least. He has brought in stuff like you mentioned, players who won't participate in a given match are told to play with their clubs..this is a huge change from previous management. They are playing with more attacking players and a more fluid and attacking stlye. For a team with such power and potential, some of the football Cork offered in recent years was very unintelligent, this appears to be changing, but summer will test this out ultimately.

Issues they do have include:
- Dual players. Cuthbert went with the flow at the start and said ok..but making noises lately that he could pull the plug after league if it's not working. Surprising that he'd take on the board (board is mainly hurling people) but the results have given him ammo.
- Midfield. Tied into dual issue (Walsh is the go-to man in midfield) but also they need a second midfielder. Have a number of candidates, but the one who was best placed, Deane, did his ACL. Also, Walsh himself has been very hit and miss in past 3 years. Needs to be on top from or they'll struggle.
-Defence. Chronic lack of natural corner backs has seen Cork deploy Noel O'Leary, Kissane, Tom Clancy and others there in recent years..all half backs. Some untested options which will need to be graded before Cork can take on the top teams in Croker. Also finding best position for Shields, probably in half back line ultimately. Cadogan is a major asset when fit, also hurling though.

They have potentially the best forward line in the business. Colm O'Neill, Hurley, Kerrigan, Kelly all top notch players at their best. Goulding is a lethal scorer and freetaker if not on the same level. Young talent like Mark Collins, Cathal Vaughan and Donal Og Hodnett pushing for inclusion aswell.

Would be very wary of meeting Cork this year as they seem to have thrown off the shackles a bit. And have the firepower up front to win any game. They have changed things a bit for this game Sunday and rotated starting team slightly, so depends on whether their defensive tactics work or not. Cronin is not cut out for this level, Colm O'Driscoll either IMO, Dorman and Crowley playing under 21 tomorrow night..If Mayo can target those weak links they'll win.
Post by: highorlow on March 12, 2014, 11:50:26 AM
I'll make a bold prediction on this one. It will be that the only negative comments left for people on this site is to say that we have peaked too early. Mayo to win by double figures.
Post by: Syferus on March 12, 2014, 02:34:15 PM
Wasn't a fan of Cuthbert's appointment. Seemed very wrong-headed to be head-hunting the new guy from a much-maligned regime.

Cork are benefiting from a lot of the older players calling it a day and the younger lads getting a fair shake but we'll see if their inexperience shows when summer arrives. Hopefully CO'N can survive the season fit and healthy.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 12, 2014, 03:26:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 12, 2014, 02:34:15 PM
Wasn't a fan of Cuthbert's appointment. Seemed very wrong-headed to be head-hunting the new guy from a much-maligned regime.

Cork are benefiting from a lot of the older players calling it a day and the younger lads getting a fair shake but we'll see if their inexperience shows when summer arrives. Hopefully CO'N can survive the season fit and healthy.

He was there for 1 year only..last year and clearly wasn't going to make any moves until he was in the hotseat himself.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 12, 2014, 10:09:52 PM
What do u make of John Hayes?
Nice lad but small and let's face it old to be starting at this
Post by: moysider on March 12, 2014, 10:57:12 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 12, 2014, 10:09:52 PM
What do u make of John Hayes?
Nice lad but small and let's face it old to be starting at this

Is that the same John Hayes that was there in the Cork team before? What age is he?
Post by: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 11:03:28 PM
He is 29, . Back on the panel after a 3 absence.
Post by: rosnarun on March 13, 2014, 04:19:09 PM
well manage the first 15 ok , it when the subs come on that mayo could be in trouble ,
some bench that has  all these on it  . have they seen enought for the league and are looking for a way out

Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 14, 2014, 09:28:27 AM
Anyone want to use my season ticket for the match on Sunday, wont be home and could do with the attendance be checked off! PM me if you're interested
Post by: macdanger2 on March 14, 2014, 08:47:49 PM
Any team named yet??
Post by: moysider on March 14, 2014, 10:21:28 PM

Can t get one anywhere.

But there is a doubt about Andy Moran fitness for this one too after missing Westmeath match. Injured his shoulder against Kerry aooarently. Pity because he needs games to have any chance of getting back to where he was 2011.
Post by: maigheo on March 14, 2014, 10:51:02 PM
Team to face the rebels is  Hennly,Harrison,Caff,Mchale,Keegan,Vaughan,Boyle,O'se,Gibbons,Higgins,Doc,Mclaughlin,Oconnor,Freeman, Sweeney
Post by: macdanger2 on March 14, 2014, 11:00:58 PM
Decent side, at least 9 of those are championship starters I'd say. Will be interesting to see how mikey Sweeney gets on
Post by: moysider on March 14, 2014, 11:08:12 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 14, 2014, 11:00:58 PM
Decent side, at least 9 of those are championship starters I'd say. Will be interesting to see how mikey Sweeney gets on

Sweeney deserves a bit of time. Did ok the last day in filthy conditions.

Decent side as you say. Switch Cillian and Doc and it would be better again. Yeah 9/10 Championship starters.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 12:20:04 AM
Quote from: maigheo on March 14, 2014, 10:51:02 PM
Team to face the rebels is  Hennly,Harrison,Caff,Mchale,Keegan,Vaughan,Boyle,O'se,Gibbons,Higgins,Doc,Mclaughlin,Oconnor,Freeman, Sweeney

I think ten of them are odds-on starters for the championship. 

Hennelly, Caff, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, O'Sé, Higgins, McLoughlin, O'Connor and Freeman, barring injury, will be there.
I think each of them is a positive addition to the team but the fact is that all of them, and probably the remaining six, will have featured in last year's AI final.
The worry for me is that with the possible exception of Adam Gallagher, there will be no new faces on the starting line up. I can't see any of the others, listed for action tomorrow, getting a first team place.
Last year's side was good but ultimately not good enough to go the whole way. Unless James H come up with a change of tactics up front or gets an incisive forward or two, the outlook is dire.
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 12:33:15 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 12:20:04 AM
Quote from: maigheo on March 14, 2014, 10:51:02 PM

I think ten of them are odds-on starters for the championship. 

Hennelly, Caff, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, O'Sé, Higgins, McLoughlin, O'Connor and Freeman, barring injury, will be there.
I think each of them is a positive addition to the team but the fact is that all of them, and probably the remaining six, will have featured in last year's AI final.
The worry for me is that with the possible exception of Adam Gallagher, there will be no new faces on the starting line up. I can't see any of the others, listed for action tomorrow, getting a first team place.
Last year's side was good but ultimately not good enough to go the whole way. Unless James H come up with a change of tactics up front or gets an incisive forward or two, the outlook is dire.

Last year's team was good enough to win. Jamesy just lost the plot with his selections and substitutions in the final. Mental fatigue is the real danger I see for Mayo this year rather than any major lack of players at a given position.
Post by: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 07:31:22 AM
I hope Mayo don't share your delusion. Blaming the manager is to ignore the real issues.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 11:36:23 AM
Quote from: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 07:31:22 AM
I hope Mayo don't share your delusion. Blaming the manager is to ignore the real issues.
I'm afraid many do.
For them, it's a classic case of the emperor with no clothes syndrome.
Mayo lost the AI in 2012 and 2013 because the forwards weren't good enough- plain and simple. Horan knows this and has been doing his damndest to come up with a workaround to minimise the problem  but with limited success to date.
It would greatly help the cause if both Andy Moran and Cillian O'Connor were fully fit and in top form but that's by no mean a given in either case.
I don't think we're absolutely beaten before the championship begins either as luck is a  variable and can go either with or against us  and it has never been kind to us in recent years.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on March 16, 2014, 11:49:51 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 11:36:23 AM
I'm afraid many do.
Mayo lost the AI in 2012 and 2013 because the forwards weren't good enough- plain and simple. Horan knows this and has been doing his damndest to come up with a workaround to minimise the problem  but with limited success to date.
It would greatly help the cause if both Andy Moran and Cillian O'Connor were fully fit and in top form but that's by no mean a given in either case.
I don't think we're absolutely beaten before the championship begins either as luck is a  variable and can go either with or against us  and it has never been kind to us in recent years.

You're contradicting yourself there Lar. If Mayo don't have the forwards, then it doesn't matter how fit or in form they are, as they'll never be good enough. If, however, Moran and O'Connor being fully fit and in form is the difference-maker, then Mayo have had the forwards all the time, and the argument that Mayo don't have the forwards isn't true. You can't have it both ways.

Besides. You can't throw a brick in Cork without hitting a forward and how much good has that done them lately? Zools?
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 11:59:00 AM

Everyone anyways close to what happened last September can see Jamesy's few weaknesses as a manager showed after two years of excellent management. There isn't complex reasons behind Mayo losing last year's AI final; if they named their best team and kept it on the field for the majority of the game the one point deficit at the end would probably have been reversed.

Last year wasn't a case of Mayo not being good enough to win, it can't be thrown into the pile with Kerry '97, '04, '06, even Donegal '12. It was there for the taking and poor management impeded their challenge after good management had ignited it.

If you can't see how small the margins were that day and how much an impact Horan's decisions had then I'm afraid you either don't have the full story or you can't see the obvious.
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 01:45:13 PM
I see where Cathal Carolan has gone down with the dreaded ACL injury.Bad blow for a player who was just starting out on his inter county career.
Post by: joemamas on March 16, 2014, 02:37:05 PM
switch on midwest john maughan in for john casey, they better get an extra microphone
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 02:43:52 PM
Mayo 0.00  Cork 0.04
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 03:13:24 PM
Mayo 1.09  cork 0.06. Jason Doc with the goal  HT
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 03:43:21 PM
Mayo 3.12 cork  0.09   20 min to go. Freeman and Gibbions with the goals
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 03:48:19 PM
The young Aughamore man had another good day.
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 03:50:45 PM
The Tanned One is 'delighted' Cork scored a goal ;D
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 03:50:54 PM
Fintan Gould black carded. 3.12 to 1.11
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 03:53:54 PM
Cillian OConnor with a goal.4.12 to 1.11
Post by: maigheo on March 16, 2014, 04:04:38 PM
FT mayo 4.12 cork 2.14
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 04:11:50 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on March 16, 2014, 11:49:51 AM
I'm afraid many do.

You're contradicting yourself there Lar. If Mayo don't have the forwards, then it doesn't matter how fit or in form they are, as they'll never be good enough. If, however, Moran and O'Connor being fully fit and in form is the difference-maker, then Mayo have had the forwards all the time, and the argument that Mayo don't have the forwards isn't true. You can't have it both ways.

Besides. You can't throw a brick in Cork without hitting a forward and how much good has that done them lately? Zools?

Bedad, Iolar, an rud is annamh is iontach!
I seldom disagree with you but this is one of those times. I'm in Zulu's corner on this one.
I said, "Mayo lost the AI in 2012 and 2013 because the forwards weren't good enough- plain and simple."
I see nowt wrong with that. The stats are there. Look at the scoring returns (from play) of the Mayo forward in both games and you'll see what I mean.
Of the six that started against Donegal, only Kevin Mac (0-2) and  Mick Conroy (0-1) scored from play.
Donegal didn't even bother to contest Mayo kickouts (kicks out?) in the second half; they were confident that the Mayo forwards wouldn't score a goal. They were well and truly proved  right.
Only Andy (1-2) and Keith (0-1) scored from play against the Dubs.
I did say that if Andy and Cillian had been fit, it might have made all the difference last year-  but mainly because the Dubs had only 13 fit men for the final 20 minutes.
Those ain't the sort of returns that win All Irelands.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on March 16, 2014, 04:24:29 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 04:11:50 PM
I'm afraid many do.

I seldom disagree with you but this is one of those times. I'm in Zulu's corner on this one.
I said, "Mayo lost the AI in 2012 and 2013 because the forwards weren't good enough- plain and simple."
I see nowt wrong with that. The stats are there. Look at the scoring returns (from play) of the Mayo forward in both games and you'll see what I mean.
Of the six that started against Donegal, only Kevin Mac (0-2) and  Mick Conroy (0-1) scored from play.
Donegal didn't even bother to contest Mayo kickouts (kicks out?) in the second half; they were confident that the Mayo forwards wouldn't score a goal. They were well and truly proved  right.
I did say that if Andy and Cillian had been fit, it might have made all the difference last year-  but mainly because the Dubs had only 13 fit men for the final 20 minutes.

You're confusing "aren't good enough" with "didn't play well enough." They're not the same things.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 16, 2014, 05:48:40 PM
Good win! Cork were up and down. Missed plethora of goal and point chances. Scoreline was strange. We ended up only winning by 4 in the end and if Cork who were Jeckyl and Hyde had a bit more guile then we could have been in trouble. The changes made (when  the game was over) watered us down a bit too much and we struggled with possession. In the end the Goal from O'Connor settled the ship. We are now taking shape and you can see who is coming into contention for the summer and who will struggle to make the starting line up or even the squad. Higgins has to stay in the half forward line. Gibbons is hot at the moment and hopefully he carries this into the summer. Had a walk on the pitch after the game. Very lumpy and dead. I suppose the Under 21's on Wednesday dug it up a bit. To mention only a few.... Freeman and Doc were immense. 
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 06:39:09 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on March 16, 2014, 04:24:29 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 04:11:50 PM
I'm afraid many do.

You're confusing "aren't good enough" with "didn't play well enough." They're not the same things.
I think you are confusing tenses here.
I said , "the forwards weren't good enough" and I was referring to the scores from open play (by the forwards)  in both AIs.
Given the stats I quoted, I'm happy with what I've said.
Post by: moysider on March 16, 2014, 07:34:15 PM
For the second game in a row it was like watching 2 different Mayo teams in the one match.

When were in full flow we were irresistible and should (not could) have had scored 4 more goals.

But for the first 10 mins we were nowhere and for the last 20 we were hanging on.

The bad start. We had a great goal chance to settle us in but blew it. We also got the match ups at the back sorted after Hurleys great start to the game and when Caff was switched we grand after that. The last 20 mins can be put down to the replacing of Higgins, Freeman, Gibbons and O Shea maybe. We also got bogged down with players trying to run through bodies. When we moved the ball we were unplayable. Why we drift away from that I dunno. We ve made a habit of becoming idle while ahead. A few lazy errors let Cork in for soft scores late on. I suppose Cork had to respond as well because they were looking at a serious beating.

Some serious performances today again. Thought Caff was brilliant. Keegan and Boyle again. Gibbons had a great game. So had McLoughlin who looks back to his clever best. Cillian O Connor may need a few games to get up to speed but showed some glimpses of class. Freeman threatened all the time and could have had a 3 goal haul. He should be left at ff and just get on with it. Doc had some quality scores and I heard Midwest Radio gave him man of match. A good run in the team would see him improve even more. I agree with Bunker that Higgins is definately giving us something in the half forward line. This was his best showing and he is obviously getting back up to speed. As Bunker said things are starting to take shape. With the Castlebar lads to return we re not looking too bad.

I know likes of Zulu and Lar do not rate out forwards but if I was to choose a set from today's game I d have taken our lot. Hurley gave Caff less grief than Freeman gave Cadogan. It was nice to see that, unlike a few years ago, the Mayo players not taking any shite from likes of Cadogan.
As things stand the leading forwards at the moment are McLoughlin, O Connor, Higgins, Freeman and Doherty.
Surprised Gallagher did not get a run today.
Andy is injured.
Dillon has not come back yet.
Conroy, Varley, Coen and Sweeney have got some time with mixed results.
Post by: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 07:48:54 PM
Moy I think it's unfair to say myself and Lar do not rate the forwards. Lar is well able to speak and think for himself but I'd suggest he shares my opinion that the Mayo forwards are good but not exceptional. You don't make two All Irelands in a row without good forwards but the top class ones tend to deliver on the big days. In my opinion Mayo have a team capable of winning the All Ireland but there are a few forward lines better than Mayo's. This means Mayo have to dominate 1-9 to win All Irelands and that is a big ask against the top teams. Mayo haven't a single forward who would definitely make the 'Irish' forward line, whereas Dublin have possibly 2-3, Donegal 1-2, Kerry 1-2, Cork 1 (at least) and it is these teams who are challenging for the All Ireland. COC may become one of these players but by the time he does Dillon and Moran will probably be gone.
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 07:58:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 07:48:54 PM
Moy I think it's unfair to say myself and Lar do not rate the forwards. Lar is well able to speak and think for himself but I'd suggest he shares my opinion that the Mayo forwards are good but not exceptional. You don't make two All Irelands in a row without good forwards but the top class ones tend to deliver on the big days. In my opinion Mayo have a team capable of winning the All Ireland but there are a few forward lines better than Mayo's. This means Mayo have to dominate 1-9 to win All Irelands and that is a big ask against the top teams. Mayo haven't a single forward who would definitely make the 'Irish' forward line, whereas Dublin have possibly 2-3, Donegal 1-2, Kerry 1-2, Cork 1 (at least) and it is these teams who are challenging for the All Ireland. COC may become one of these players but by the time he does Dillon and Moran will probably be gone.

It helps if you keep your starting forward line on for more than 15 minutes.
Post by: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 08:04:31 PM
There isn't a single manager in the history of sport who doesn't make mistakes or wouldn't change a few things with hindsight. However, that's not the main reason Mayo didn't win, the main reason is they didn't take enough of their chances. They had plenty in the first half of last years All Ireland but missed them. Even today Moy says they should have had 4 more goals, the elite forwards take more of these than the Mayo lads.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 16, 2014, 08:06:06 PM
moy, I agree with your assessment of the match 100%. I suppose Horan wanted to change the players to give opportunities to fellas who were borderline (in his mind anyway). A win is a win at this stage and it's 2 points in the bag.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 16, 2014, 09:13:20 PM
Quote from: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 08:04:31 PM
There isn't a single manager in the history of sport who doesn't make mistakes or wouldn't change a few things with hindsight. However, that's not the main reason Mayo didn't win, the main reason is they didn't take enough of their chances. They had plenty in the first half of last years All Ireland but missed them. Even today Moy says they should have had 4 more goals, the elite forwards take more of these than the Mayo lads.

If Mayo had a forward like Bernard Brogan they would have won the last two All Irelands.
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 09:16:05 PM
New hat on Jamesy today.
Post by: sans pessimism on March 16, 2014, 09:28:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 09:16:05 PM
New hat on Jamesy today.
Go away
Post by: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 09:40:46 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 16, 2014, 09:28:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 16, 2014, 09:16:05 PM
New hat on Jamesy today.
Go away

No.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 10:16:41 PM

Of course I agree with you. I've been saying more or less the same thing all along.
The Mayo forwards as a unit don't pack enough punch to win an All Ireland. I'll qualify by saying that I base this statement on the form shown in the finals of last year and the previous one.
That's not to say that they are all useless or anything approaching it but "good" forwards are not, well, good enough to win an All Ireland.
Donegal had Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden; Dublin had Bernard Brogan, Diarmuid Connolly and Paul Flynn, not forgetting young Kilkenny. While some of those had a relatively quiet AI, you knew that if one was shackled, another would step up to the mark. If Moran and O'Connor weren't performing, I can't think of any one else who'd up his game and assume command-  a case of good foot soldiers but very few generals. Keith Higgins may well join the elite but it's too soon to say that just yet.
Kevin Mac and Freeman have their good days; Varley has exquisite ball control (at times) and you could say positive things about everyone else who play up front but all if Mayo manage to end the long wait this year, the forwards will have to play their part- no good leaving it to 1-9  as in previous years.
Post by: moysider on March 16, 2014, 10:21:54 PM

Don t mind me Zulu - only letting off steam after a very satisfactory run of results this weekend so far.
You know by now that I don t subscribe to the theory that a special forward, or lack of, was the reason we failed to win AIs. Not going back over that.

The Dillon and Moran scenario may be more immediate than we would like to think. A few weeks ago Spillane - for what his opinion is worth - said that Moran and Conroy, while good footballers, lack the pace for championship football. Dillon s lack of full fitness has been exposed by pacy players like McCarty and Lacey playing at wing forward. Both Moran and Dillon were well shy of their best form last year for understandable reasons. If both gat back to their best they will be championship starters. If not maybe we should move on.
Conroy replaced Freeman in final in what looked like in hindsight a panic substitution to get Conroy on the pitch. Looking at the 2 players now that looks a very dodgey call. Conroy was a goalscorer in 2004 AI final but his best years he was out in the cold. What made him when he was younger was his pace and his ability to burn defenders off and go for goal. That pace seems to have deserted him and his confidence seems to be down.

I d say that the 10 and 12 positions will be between McLoughlin, Feeney, Higgins and Gallagher with the 2 in bold in pole position. O Connor should emerge as the 11. Freeman and Doherty have earned time. There is no championship 13 in the squad even though there is a very obvious one in the county. But that bird has flown so no point going there.
A fit Dillon and Andy is bonus territory at this stage.
Post by: moysider on March 16, 2014, 11:11:14 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 16, 2014, 10:16:41 PM

Of course I agree with you. I've been saying more or less the same thing all along.
The Mayo forwards as a unit don't pack enough punch to win an All Ireland. I'll qualify by saying that I base this statement on the form shown in the finals of last year and the previous one.
That's not to say that they are all useless or anything approaching it but "good" forwards are not, well, good enough to win an All Ireland.
Donegal had Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden; Dublin had Bernard Brogan, Diarmuid Connolly and Paul Flynn, not forgetting young Kilkenny. While some of those had a relatively quiet AI, you knew that if one was shackled, another would step up to the mark. If Moran and O'Connor weren't performing, I can't think of any one else who'd up his game and assume command-  a case of good foot soldiers but very few generals. Keith Higgins may well join the elite but it's too soon to say that just yet.
Kevin Mac and Freeman have their good days; Varley has exquisite ball control (at times) and you could say positive things about everyone else who play up front but all if Mayo manage to end the long wait this year, the forwards will have to play their part- no good leaving it to 1-9  as in previous years.

Are you serious Lar? Football is a team sport involving manager, coaches, players, tactics, attitude, selection, discipline and a performance. Ye can t just sweat it down to a star forward or two. That s far too tabloidy.
In 2012 Andy Moran s injury doomed our year. But if he was fit for the final and still flying, Keane would still have got burned by Murphy in a very iffy match up. Mcfadden still would have had his moment of good fortune which nearly earned him player of the year ::). We would still have allowed the Lacey/Dillon and McBrearty/ McLoughlin match-ups that killed us. Today we had a cameo where Hurley was burning young Harrison who s still an apprentive cb learning the ropes. When Caff went on him the fire was put out. Get a match up wrong like that in September and it s big trouble and that is what we ve been doing wrong.
2013 final and we failed, not just because of not having a Suarez or a Sturridge, but because we allowed Dublin to dictate things tactically by limiting the dominance of our big middle 2. As a result stifling our running game which was the game that got us there.
Anyway, if we have a good run without injuries, there are signs that we will be better this year. The Freeman as a target is vital to this and he s coming along nicely and management need to stick with it. The running game will still be the A game and at times today it was scintillating. Marquee forwards are all fine and well but how many teams can do that? Not many and there s more ways to win an AI like there are more ways to kill a cat than having to choke him with butter.
I m not worried about forwards - or indeed backs either.... As long as they don t get injured. I was just thinking earlier that the much maligned Cafferkey is now virtually irreplacable. Gibbons is playing great stuff and it just shows what a run and the confidence that comes with it can do. Doherty looks like he can go to a different level too. Always had the talent and if he gets the belief he will be very dangerous.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 16, 2014, 11:32:46 PM
Question:

If Mayo do not have the forwards then how come they have beaten Galway, Cork, Dublin, Tyrone, Donegal, Down in the championship over the last couple of years?

(P.S. I also think we don't have great forwards, but where are these results coming from?)
Post by: moysider on March 16, 2014, 11:38:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 16, 2014, 11:32:46 PM
Question:

If Mayo do not have the forwards then how come they have beaten Galway, Cork, Dublin, Tyrone, Donegal, Down in the championship over the last couple of years?

(P.S. I also think we don't have great forwards, but where are these results coming from?)

Rhetorical question I assume?

You know only one game counts. Lose an AI and yer shite.
Post by: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 11:54:20 PM
Question:

From a very fine team though I'd suggest Galway and Down are no great shakes and Donegal were very poor last year. Mayo are a top quality team but they don't have exceptional forwards, is that such a stretch? If I could pick a team from every footballer in Ireland then Keegan, Boyle, Higgins, Clarke and A O'Se would all be high on my list but I'm not sure I'd have any Mayo forward and I don't think I'd be alone in that.

I think Mayo forwards can be compared with those British boxers Sky like to hype up who look great against some decent boxers but when put in the ring with a Mexican or top level American fighter are found out.

If these Mayo forwards are good enough, why haven't they produced in two finals?
Post by: stephenite on March 17, 2014, 12:09:13 AM
Quote from: Zulu on March 16, 2014, 11:54:20 PM
If these Mayo forwards are good enough, why haven't they produced in two finals?

The hoodoo
Post by: moysider on March 17, 2014, 12:21:05 AM
Question:

From a very fine team though I'd suggest Galway and Down are no great shakes and Donegal were very poor last year. Mayo are a top quality team but they don't have exceptional forwards, is that such a stretch? If I could pick a team from every footballer in Ireland then Keegan, Boyle, Higgins, Clarke and A O'Se would all be high on my list but I'm not sure I'd have any Mayo forward and I don't think I'd be alone in that.

I think Mayo forwards can be compared with those British boxers Sky like to hype up who look great against some decent boxers but when put in the ring with a Mexican or top level American fighter are found out.

You know as well as I do that there is more to this than forwards not performing in finals. You ve seen the other issues but keep coming back to this.

So Mayo forwards are good enough to beat Dublin in a semi but not a final.
Good enough to beat a Cork/ Donegal in a quarter or semi but not a final.

Why is this?

Different ball? different size pitch? different rules perhaps?

No. Sorry! Good enough  to beat teams in June, July and August but other forwards needed in September! Lovely. Very logical.
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 12:27:55 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 17, 2014, 12:21:05 AM
Question:

You know as well as I do that there is more to this than forwards not performing in finals. You ve seen the other issues but keep coming back to this.

Why is this?

No. Sorry! Good enough  to beat teams in June, July and August but other forwards needed in September! Lovely. Very logical.

It's down to very, very small margins I would say. Mayo could have had 2 all Ireland's in recent times glass half full, well one at least.

Mayo aren't that far away. A wee bit of luck and the bounce of the ball and Mayo will get over the line.

I'd be delighted to see Mayo win it. And so would everybody else apart from their opponents in the final. The whole world was praying that Mayo would win it last September.

Where they got all the tickets from last year God only knows.
Post by: Zulu on March 17, 2014, 12:32:59 AM
But if Mayo are good enough (manager and everything else) "to beat Dublin in a semi but not a final. Good enough to beat a Cork/ Donegal in a quarter or semi but not a final." Then why is it so illogical to suggest it's lack of real quality forwards as opposed to decision making by the sideline. Why is Horan making poor decisions in a final when, if Mayo are winning, he is not in semi and quarter finals?
Post by: Syferus on March 17, 2014, 12:42:32 AM
Quote from: Zulu on March 17, 2014, 12:32:59 AM
But if Mayo are good enough (manager and everything else) "to beat Dublin in a semi but not a final. Good enough to beat a Cork/ Donegal in a quarter or semi but not a final." Then why is it so illogical to suggest it's lack of real quality forwards as opposed to decision making by the sideline. Why is Horan making poor decisions in a final when, if Mayo are winning, he is not in semi and quarter finals?

The decisions he made in the final were bizarre and some even had no precedent. Dublin was really the only team that could have beaten Mayo last year and the margin for error was pretty huge in all their other championship games. Jamesy's mistakes got exposed at the worst possible moment last year.

I think Horan is an exceptional manager and the best Mayo have had in my time watching Connacht football. He's not perfect, though, and if Mayo have any chance this year he needs to learn the lessons of last year's final. The team have to perform too but they did that to a good enough level (against a sub-par Dublin performance) that Horan not having a 'mare would probably have sealed the deal.

That's sport, it's cruel. You can do a mountain of good work and see it undone because of a few poor choices. To ignore that very real facet and blame it on something as nebulous as 'the forwards not being there' doesn't really wash in my eyes.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 17, 2014, 01:24:40 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 17, 2014, 12:21:05 AM
Question:

Why is this?

The ability to beat defending champions and reach All Ireland finals yet maybe Mayo need to find a way to stop peaking before AI finals?
Post by: moysider on March 17, 2014, 01:25:03 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 17, 2014, 12:42:32 AM
Quote from: Zulu on March 17, 2014, 12:32:59 AM

The decisions he made in the final were bizarre and some even had no precedent. Dublin was really the only team that could have beaten Mayo last year and the margin for error was pretty huge in all their other championship games. Jamesy's mistakes got exposed on the worst stage possible last year.

I think Horan is an exceptional manager and the best Mayo have had in my time watching Connacht football. He's not perfect, though, and if Mayo have any chance this year he needs to learn the lessons of last year's final. The team have to perform too but they did that to a good enough level (against a sub-par Dublin performance) that Horan not having a 'mare would probably have sealed the deal.

That's sport, it's cruel. You can do a mountain of good work and see it undone because of a few poor choices. To ignore that very real facet and blame it on something as nebulous as 'the forwards not being there' doesn't really wash in my eyes.

Correct Syferus.
James has been great for us but not perfect. Who is?
There was the Dublin comeback in 2012 when we were out of sight. He didn t shore things up. It was like watching a car crash.  The Tyrone squeeze last year when we just prayed our way out of trouble and Alan Freeman came up thrumps but somebody did not take it on board. What I realise now is that we are still learning. Even today as Bunker pointed out we watered out the team with subs too early. That s grand now after we won.

But there were positive things with the subs. Seamie for Aidan instead of the soft option. But I d have left Gibbons and Freeman on for the full because they deserve it. Freeman got a great ovation from the crowd and rightly so. Mikey Sweeney got a good hour and rightly so. Great vision again. His size at this level might go against him but he can play.
In fairness to Horan his team had to learn fast because he inherited a mess. Good players but players that couldn t beat Longford and Sligo within weeks of each other. 24 months later play in an AI. And yes we were naieve both on the line and on the pitch.

Anyway today we were 5 points down and flat. Then the crowd got impatient, but expressed it in a positive way and the players responded and put in a seriously impressive 40 mins. The Cork lads lost their strutt and sense of entitlement that comes with their peerage.
Not writing this county off yet >:(
Post by: larryin89 on March 17, 2014, 02:03:57 AM
Cork didn't give a toss about the game today. Mayo are in decline and will have to rebuild after 2014 under a new manager . We will not beat Roscommon in Hyde park in June . Too many forwards that are simply shite , how in the name of Christ that Garrymore lad still gets a run , the excitement surrounding that agahamore forward is bordering madness ,he'll be hiding come summer time and how is drake even classed as a footballer the man can't even kick a ball.

Not one find since 2012 , it will be the same shitebags out there again this year.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 17, 2014, 02:24:10 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 17, 2014, 02:03:57 AM
Cork didn't give a toss about the game today. Mayo are in decline and will have to rebuild after 2014 under a new manager . We will not beat Roscommon in Hyde park in June . Too many forwards that are simply shite , how in the name of Christ that Garrymore lad still gets a run , the excitement surrounding that agahamore forward is bordering madness ,he'll be hiding come summer time and how is drake even classed as a footballer the man can't even kick a ball.

Not one find since 2012 , it will be the same shitebags out there again this year.

Larry I have to say i agree with you. It looks like we will not find anybody new this year! Looks like it will be the same old crew when championship arrives. There are a couple of lads on the panel that Horan did not trust to bring on last year when Cunniffe got injured in the AI final and there are a couple of forwards he has put too much trust in. But change in a players form can be like finding a new player and the bonus is that he has been with the panel already, has a bit of experience, knows the system and knows the way things work. A new player is not properly conditioned and only learning the ropes. So it's not as negative as you may think?

As for Cork not giving a toss. Maybe! But could the same be said of Mayos first two league games v Tyrone and Kildare? It's gas when we beat a team then its the opposition who don't give a damn. But when we lose it just down to being useless?
Post by: maigheo on March 17, 2014, 02:25:21 AM
jeez Larry come back from the edge.It still amazes me that we have so many supporters who constantly see the glass as half empty.And come to think about it you should withdraw those comments about those players you have just named as they are an absolute disgrace and have no place on this or any forum.I doubt you have kicked a ball in your life and you are  probably one of those so called supporters who think the Mayo team owe you some thing when in realty they have ,in a sporting context, given us some of the best days of our lives.For me the simple reason we have not won the all ireland in the last 2 years is that Donegal and Dublin have been better than us and there is no shame in that.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 17, 2014, 02:59:15 AM
Some people will laugh but from what I've seen so far this year we'll win gbe AI.
Two marque forward in freeman and COC.
Post by: sans pessimism on March 17, 2014, 09:57:47 AM

shitebags you say....you're a real hero
Post by: Tubberman on March 17, 2014, 01:10:59 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on March 17, 2014, 09:57:47 AM

shitebags you say....you're a real hero

He's obviously fishing for a reaction. Or was pissed writing the post, which still doesn't make him anything more than a shitebag himself.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 17, 2014, 01:48:09 PM
Quote from: maigheo on March 17, 2014, 02:25:21 AM
jeez Larry come back from the edge.It still amazes me that we have so many supporters who constantly see the glass as half empty.And come to think about it you should withdraw those comments about those players you have just named as they are an absolute disgrace and have no place on this or any forum.I doubt you have kicked a ball in your life and you are  probably one of those so called supporters who think the Mayo team owe you some thing when in realty they have ,in a sporting context, given us some of the best days of our lives.For me the simple reason we have not won the all ireland in the last 2 years is that Donegal and Dublin have been better than us and there is no shame in that.
Bang on, maigheo, Most of that is so elf-obvious that I see no reason to add anything to it.
However, I've bolded your last sentence because, when all is said and done, that's the truth of the matter. There's no shame in being beaten by a better side and as long as the team and management give their best, I won't complain.
Without pointing the finger at anyone in particular, the lack of scoring power up front was the main reason why Mayo came up short on both occasions. In the 2012 final, only two forwards scored from play; Kevin Mac and Mickey C got 3 points between them.
In last year's final, Keith got 0-1 and Andy got 1-2   and no other forward scored from play, including the four subs who cam on.
These sort of returns don't win All Irelands.
Now, whether we need new forwards or new tactics or whatever, we'll haven't a hope of winning this year either unless the forwards can up their performance. There's no escaping from that reality.
There's no point in blaming Horan for poor match ups or the forwards for choking oneach occasion or the cranky oul' priest in Foxford either.
If lessons can be learnt from the past experiences and moves are made to remedy them, I'll accept the result whatever  it may be.
Post by: Bod Mor on March 17, 2014, 02:15:36 PM
Dublin were a better team than us last year but had an off day in the final, it was their worst performance of the year and the mistakes we made on the sideline handed them the game. It's as simple as that.
We have to learn and move on. Horan definitely is the man for the job and he's a man that means business this year, unfinished business.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 17, 2014, 02:40:51 PM
I keep saying 'if Richie Feeney had played more than he had done in 2 AIFs, we could have won both. Ach sin scéal eile. He mustn't be a good forward...
Post by: Tubberman on March 17, 2014, 08:32:05 PM
So after the club final I would say 1) Patrick durcan is a fantastic footballer and should be called up, 2) Barry Moran shouldn't threaten Freeman for ff, 3) Tom cunniffe will add a lot to mayo full back line, 4) eoghan o'Reilly has earned another chance.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 17, 2014, 08:35:47 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 17, 2014, 08:32:05 PM
So after the club final I would say 1) Patrick durcan is a fantastic footballer and should be called up, 2) Barry Moran shouldn't threaten Freeman for ff, 3) Tom cunniffe will add a lot to mayo full back line, 4) eoghan o'Reilly has earned another chance.

You're some chancer! ANd you know what I'm talking about!!!!! ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 19, 2014, 02:59:24 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 17, 2014, 02:59:15 AM
Some people will laugh but from what I've seen so far this year we'll win gbe AI.
Two marque forward in freeman and COC.

Clearly posted at about 3am on St.Patrick's Eve ;D