GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 12:36:28 PM

Title: The first match you saw in Croke Park
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 12:36:28 PM
What age were you?
Who was playing, what year  ?
Who did you go with ?
Do you remember anything about it ?
Title: Re: The first match you saw in Croke Park
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 12:55:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 12:36:28 PM
What age were you?
Who did you go with ?
Do you remember anything
about it ?

7 years old.
Mayo v Meath (1987) All-Ireland Semi-Final.
Both my parents.
The Cusack Stand.

(Mayo v Galway in Tuam Stadium is the first Mayo match I can remember, the first rivalry I can remember is Mayo-Roscommon).
Post by: sheamy on March 03, 2014, 12:59:23 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 12:55:40 PM
What age were you?
Who did you go with ?
Do you remember anything
about it ?

7 years old.
Mayo v Meath (1987) All-Ireland Semi-Final.
Both my parents.
The Cusack Stand.

Derry played Meath in the 1987 semi-final
Post by: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 01:01:49 PM
88 he means obviously .
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 03, 2014, 01:03:36 PM
Lenister hurling semi final, not sure who Kilkenny were playing but we couldn't have been much older than 12 (30 years ago!!), Hillary McDaniel's (our juvenile manager right through to minor) took us, mad Kilkenny fan not sure we paid in, remember vaguely being carried over the stiles or squeezing through two/three at a time!!

What I remember about this? Getting stung by a bee ffs!! and the wooden seats and taking the piss from some header, the other thing that sticks in my head was the cursing strangely, crossing the border at Newry was always interesting ;D ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on March 03, 2014, 01:06:21 PM
1986 Tyrone v Galway aged 9. Don't remember too much except the Prince's glorious penalty!
Post by: deiseach on March 03, 2014, 01:07:05 PM
What age were you? 22
Who was playing, what year  ? Waterford v Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final, 1998.
Who did you go with ? All my siblings. I also got tickets for a 'friend' and a friend from Finland.
Do you remember anything about it ? Everything (http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/1998/07/26/7/). It was a wonderful day (not so good for you, seafoid), right down to the old woman beside me asking who I was. I thought she was mad but told her anyway and it turned out she was as far as you can get from mad. She had recognised the children of the woman who she had known growing up and the man who had moved into digs on the street all of 34 years before. After the debacle of the Munster final replay the previous week . . . God, I'm welling up just thinking about it. Quite possibly the best day of the lot following Waterford. Certainly the most consistently enjoyable. I knew we'd win from the moment the team ran on the pitch.
Post by: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 01:09:51 PM
What age were you?
Who did you go with ?

8 years old.

Mayo v Dublin , 1985 semi final. ( typing 1985 there made me realise how fuckin ancient I am now).

Aul boy and a shit load of relations back from England for the game.

Sat in the hogan stand  looking out for willie joe .
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2014, 01:12:02 PM
What age were you?  11

Who was playing, what year  ?  Abbey Grammar in a Hogan Cup match v St Mels Longford

Who did you go with ? My mum

Do you remember anything about it ?  My brother was playing and I was due to go to the school the following year so it had to be 1987
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 01:12:08 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 01:01:49 PM
88 he means obviously .

Yip I do and I would have been 8, as I said only remember the stands from that game.

I remember the Semi v Tyrone the following year very well. Amazing difference a year makes.
Post by: aontroim abu on March 03, 2014, 01:19:00 PM
What age were you?
Who did you go with ?

8 Years old
Armagh v Dublin 1977 AI Final
Dad
Paddy Cullen saving a penalty from Paddy Moriarty
Post by: FermGael on March 03, 2014, 01:19:27 PM
What age were you? 7
Who was playing, what year  ? Tyrone v Kerry, 1986 All Ireland final
Who did you go with ? Father and uncle
Do you remember anything about it ? Plunkett Donaghy's perm. 
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2014, 01:22:02 PM
What age were you? 23
Who was playing, what year? Tyrone v Fermanagh, 2003
Who did you go with? My Da
Do you remember anything about it? Blown away by the stadium

* Didn't go previous years, as Croke Park wasn't suitable for disabled people
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 01:25:46 PM

What age were you? 7
Who was playing, what year  ? Galway vs Offaly, 1980
Who did you go with ? The ould lad and his uncle and John Tull Dunne
Do you remember anything about it ? Seeing the word "Gaillimh" on the scoreboard and wondering what it meant.The queues for the toilets and the speed required, Crisps and Fanta, leaving the sisters at home and partaking in the world of big men
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 01:27:50 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 03, 2014, 01:07:05 PM
What age were you? 22
Who was playing, what year  ? Waterford v Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final, 1998.
Who did you go with ? All my siblings. I also got tickets for a 'friend' and a friend from Finland.
Do you remember anything about it ? Everything (http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/1998/07/26/7/). It was a wonderful day (not so good for you, seafoid), right down to the old woman beside me asking who I was. I thought she was mad but told her anyway and it turned out she was as far as you can get from mad. She had recognised the children of the woman who she had known growing up and the man who had moved into digs on the street all of 34 years before. After the debacle of the Munster final replay the previous week . . . God, I'm welling up just thinking about it. Quite possibly the best day of the lot following Waterford. Certainly the most consistently enjoyable. I knew we'd win from the moment the team ran on the pitch.
That was such a sickener, Deiseach. And a marker for everything that followed.
Played Waterford 14 times and never won. FFS.
Post by: joemamas on March 03, 2014, 01:33:19 PM
What age were you? 6  I am now officially old
Who was playing, what year? Kerry V Meath All-ireland final 1970
Who did you go with? My father, sat on his knee in upper hogan,
Do you remember anything about it? Stiil remember it, it was such a treat, tall buildings in Dublin, crowd at game, Din Joe Crowley goal

Post by: Sidney on March 03, 2014, 01:36:22 PM
What age were you? 6
Who was playing, what year  ? 1986 All-Ireland Club Finals, Kilruane McDonaghs v Buffer's Alley, Burren v Castleisland Desmonds
Who did you go with ? My Da
Do you remember anything about it ? Was in the upper deck of the Hogan. Buffer's Alley were winning by a good bit and let it slip.
Post by: deiseach on March 03, 2014, 01:39:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 01:27:50 PM

Cheer up, it's only 10 times (http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/senior-hurling-championship/)!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 01:46:10 PM
What age were you?  8

Who was playing, what year  ?  Offaly v Galway, 1981 AIHF

Do you remember anything about it ?  On the old Canal end, right back in the corner. We only decided to go up that morning after mass. Da brought camping stool from our trailor tent, and I stood on it during the match. I also remember stopping in Harry's of Kinnegad on the way home.
Post by: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 01:54:09 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 01:12:08 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 03, 2014, 01:01:49 PM
88 he means obviously .

Yip I do and I would have been 8, as I said only remember the stands from that game.

I remember the Semi v Tyrone the following year very well. Amazing difference a year makes.

Yep very true , if I'm honest 88/89 are the first years I remember about the actual football , the occasion is different , I remember specific things about the day in 85 when we beat the Ross in the Hyde but not the actual game, same as 87 game v Galway in Castlebar remember been so unimpressed with the low scoring I kept thinking the scoreboard was wrong. Lol
Post by: 5 Sams on March 03, 2014, 01:54:27 PM
What age were you? 13
Who was playing, what year  ? Down minors 1977
Who did you go with ? Lads from the club.
Do you remember anything about it ? Down won, it pissed rain and Dublin hammered some other crowd in the other match ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on March 03, 2014, 02:00:02 PM
What age were you? 12.
Who was playing, what year?  Mayo V. Meath 1998 AI Senior Football Semi Final. Actually don't think I've been to Croker with that brother since.
Who did you go with? My brother and the rest of our county champion U-12 winning squad and mentors.
Do you remember anything about it?  Mayo lost. Trying to see Michael Lyster in the box behind us in the Nally Stand.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 02:05:38 PM
You were 12 in 1998? Away outta that mebollix.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 02:07:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 03, 2014, 02:00:02 PM
What age were you? 12.
Who was playing, what year?  Mayo V. Meath 1998 AI Senior Football Semi Final. Actually don't think I've been to Croker with that brother since.
Who did you go with? My brother and the rest of our county champion U-12 winning squad and mentors.
Do you remember anything about it?  Mayo lost. Trying to see Michael Lyster in the box behind us in the Nally Stand.

You have just done what I did earlier and got your years mixed up. Galway won Connacht in 1998.

Do you mean the 1988 match I was talking about earlier?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 02:09:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 02:05:38 PM
You were 12 in 1998? Away outta that mebollix.

I think he means 1988, must have had a traumatic influence on us Connacht men, as none of us can get the year right.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 02:10:19 PM
I guessed that. I'd be putting in a retrospective appeal if I lost that U12 final :D
Post by: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 02:12:45 PM
What age were you? 13
Who was playing, what year?  Dublin v Kilkenny in the Leinster Hurling Semi-Final 97
Who did you go with? Club u-14 hurling team on the way back from the All Ireland Feile NaGael in Waterford
Do you remember anything about it?  Seeing DJ Carey for the first time.
Post by: Any craic on March 03, 2014, 02:18:07 PM
same as Aontroim Abu, 1977 All Ireland Final, in the Canal End. A life-changing experience.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 03, 2014, 02:23:56 PM
What age were you? 8
Who was playing, what year?  Dublin v Kerry in the 1975 All Ireland Football Final.
Who did you go with? Me Da. Hoisted over turnstiles and sat on his knee at the very back of the Upper Cusack
Do you remember anything about it? Everything. The rain. The rain. Mickey Ned getting poleaxed. Spillane lifting Sam. The crush getting out after.
Post by: borderfox on March 03, 2014, 02:27:36 PM
Mayo v Dublin 1985 semi final. Kevin mcstay ( I think) pointed a 45 or free to level  for a draw.
I went with my da, (he is originally from Mayo). I was 9 years old.  We were seated in the hogan stand lower around the 45 closest to the hill.
Ive rarely gone to a game with so much excitement and tension since.
Post by: waterfordlad on March 03, 2014, 02:28:54 PM
First game in Croke Park was Clare v Offaly All Ireland hurling final in 1995. I was 18. I went with my father a Clareman and a load of relations from Clare although we weren't sitting together. Great occasion though not a great game. Ended up on the pitch afterwards with thousands of Clare people for the celebrations.
First Waterford game at Croke Park was like deiseach the All Ireland quarter final v Galway in 1998. That was Waterford's first championship appearance at Croke Park since 1963 and we beat Galway easily with Tony Browne giving a great display.
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 02:31:02 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 03, 2014, 01:39:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 01:27:50 PM

Cheer up, it's only 10 times (http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/senior-hurling-championship/)!
Is that all? Ah, that's much better.
But I read in the IT it was 14.
Post by: Hereiam on March 03, 2014, 02:39:04 PM
I was about 15yrs old
It was an All Ireland club Final on St Patricks Day in the early nineties
Went with two friends
I remember the hails stones battin the face of me.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 02:39:57 PM
Birr v Dunloy ? I seem to remember one of Birr's AI wins (although I think this was a draw) had awful cold weather.
Post by: JBM on the 21 on March 03, 2014, 02:59:45 PM
What age were you?  16
Who was playing, what year  ?  1988 - Cork/Meath replay
Who did you go with ? The Uncle
Do you remember anything about it ? Sitting in old Cusack - half time went to bathroom to find hundreds of lads just piss*ng up against the wall - urine flowing all over the place.
Post by: johnneycool on March 03, 2014, 03:01:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 02:39:57 PM
Birr v Dunloy ? I seem to remember one of Birr's AI wins (although I think this was a draw) had awful cold weather.

And the wind blowing the hoardings over at the Cusack stand which was then under construction..

First trip was to a NFL game, Dublin vrs Kildare some time in the winter of the early 80's with a school mate and his ma and da who took us to Dublin for a weekend and got to Croke Park on the sunday. Frozen stupid in the old Hogan stand.

Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 03:06:19 PM
I seem to remember it always being cold on SPD for the club finals. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 03, 2014, 03:14:21 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 03:06:19 PM
I seem to remember it always being cold on SPD for the club finals.

Our club final against Salthill was the worst, not only for the shit result and how we underperformed that day :( :( :( :( but the weather was the worst I've ever attended, played in worse but .......
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 03, 2014, 03:19:47 PM
So it looks like I am provisional oldest lemon here until some auld timers like Hardy and Lar naParka row in.

I would guess Hardy was at the 1967 AIF at the very least (perhaps the Leinster final that year)  whereas LnP was surely there in for the AI semi in 1967 or 1969.
Post by: Estimator on March 03, 2014, 03:21:23 PM
What age were you?

Who was playing, what year?
National League Semi Finals: Derry v Meath and Dublin v Tyrone

Who did you go with?
Father and Brother.

Do you remember anything about it?
Derry winning.
Sat in the lower Hogan almost on the half way line. 
Not a massive crowd for the two games.
Standing at the back of the lower Hogan waiting on the final whistle to go in the second game to start the run/sprint for the car so we could beat the north bound traffic.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 03, 2014, 03:32:48 PM
What age were you?

1994 National League Final Armagh v Meath

Who did you go with?
Father Uncles and Brother. 7 of us in a 5 seater.

Houly hitting the bar, McGurk missing a peno. Didnt have tickets, got pulled under the turnstiles. Hard to comprehend now but if Armagh had of won that the place would have went mental. Also the height of the crane on the Cusack stand end really stuck with me.
Post by: rosnarun on March 03, 2014, 03:39:34 PM
What age were you? 10
Who was playing, what year  ? Mayo V Down NFL semi final 1978
Who did you go with ? Father and 2 Brothers
Do you remember anything about it ? Train we went on went from Heustion  to Connolly bring us Right by Croke park and the 1st view of the stadium is still probably the mos impressive sight i ahve yet scene. Also we bought a Rad and green teddy bear who still comes to big games
Post by: MusclesMagoo on March 03, 2014, 04:08:57 PM
What age were you? 7
Who was playing, what year  ? Dublin v Galway All Ireland Final 1983
Who did you go with ? Father
Do you remember anything about it ? Got lost under the Cusack Stand while going to the jacks on my own. Goes to show how times have changed!!
Post by: aontroim abu on March 03, 2014, 04:10:28 PM
Quote from: Any craic on March 03, 2014, 02:18:07 PM
same as Aontroim Abu, 1977 All Ireland Final, in the Canal End. A life-changing experience.

sitting on my da's knee in the lower Hogan, lifted over the stiles. Feck I'm old
Post by: sensethetone on March 03, 2014, 04:16:56 PM
What age were you?
Who did you go with ?

aged 11
tyrone vs mayo 1989 ai semi-finall
uncle and his mates in a saab
eugene mc kennas goal
Post by: ardal on March 03, 2014, 04:30:12 PM
10 years old

Armagh vs Roscommon (1980 I think)

There with the lads from the athletics club

Sitting in the Hogan watching my dad walking around the edge of the pitch at the same time as the teams took the field, as he'd arrived late
Post by: passedit on March 03, 2014, 04:56:19 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 03, 2014, 03:19:47 PM
So it looks like I am provisional oldest lemon here until some auld timers like Hardy and Lar naParka row in.

I would guess Hardy was at the 1967 AIF at the very least (perhaps the Leinster final that year)  whereas LnP was surely there in for the AI semi in 1967 or 1969.

My money's on Ballela Angel, win double for the best story as well. Don't let me down now BA!

First for me was 78 AISF. Cathal Digney got the line in the first half, ref got a shower of half drunk coke cans at half time from the Hogan stand and Down got stuffed.
Post by: ONeill on March 03, 2014, 05:33:45 PM
Monaghan 0-6 Cork 1-14, 1988
Derrytresk club trip
Think Canavan played for Tyrone minors.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2014, 05:36:32 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 03, 2014, 02:39:04 PM
I was about 15yrs old
It was an All Ireland club Final on St Patricks Day in the early nineties
Went with two friends
I remember the hails stones battin the face of me.

1994, Bellaghy in the football final and there was a fierce snow storm.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 03, 2014, 05:38:57 PM

I'm afraid to say you're not...see my reply earlier... :-X

What age were you? 13
Do you remember anything about it ? Down won, it pissed rain and Dublin hammered some other crowd in the other match
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 03, 2014, 05:47:56 PM
What age were you? 9
Who was playing, what year? Mayo and Meath 1996 AIF (draw)
Who was with you? My Dad
What do you remember? Being stuck in the second row from the back of the Upper (New) Cusack Stand. Dad opening a bottle of coke and it fizzing out on some poor person's jacket! The view over Dublin when we first took our seats. Mary Robinson getting a great reception from the Mayo fans. The silence at the end of the game.
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on March 03, 2014, 05:49:00 PM
What age were you? 8
Who was playing, what year ? Galway v Kilkenny All-Ireland hurling final, 1987
Who did you go with ? My dad
Do you remember anything about it ? Virtually nothing of the match apart from the reaction in the crowd when Noel Lane scored Galway's goal, though couldn't actually see the goal. Clearest memory is the scoreboard flashing up the news Stephen Roche had won the World Championship
Post by: Don Corleone on March 03, 2014, 05:54:19 PM
Age: Not telling, but old enough to have my own ticket. :(
Game: 1956 AI Final Galway defeated Cork and Dublin routed Leitrim minors. :(
With: Poppa Don and older brother Francesco.
Memories: The huge crowd obviously. Frank Stockwell unerring. A monumental fetch by Denis Bernard of Cork over Purcell and Mattie Mac. The Cork f/f Neilly Duggan blazing wide with it in the melting pot. The late Des Foley of Dublin ruling the roost in the minor final. Poppa Don effing and blinding that he was surely 21/22.

As a footnote, I was about 5 rows back in the old Cusack directly behind Louth's Kevin Behan the following year when he pointed a 40yd. sideline ball off his "bad" side. Cork again the victims.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 03, 2014, 06:16:02 PM
About 18.
Mayo v Australia in 1967.
A gang of mates from St Pat's, Drumcondra.
It was a tremendous spectacle from start to finish with the Aussies giving an exhibition of high fielding at its best and running Mayo ragged with their superior speed and physical toughness.
The "Galahs" won by 2-12 to 2-5 and the margin would have much greater  if their kicking had been on a par with their fielding and handling.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 06:16:56 PM
Quote from: Estimator on March 03, 2014, 03:21:23 PM
What age were you?

Who did you go with?
Father and Brother.

Derry winning.
Standing at the back of the lower Hogan waiting on the final whistle to go in the second game to start the run/sprint for the car so we could beat the north bound traffic.

Was Derry and Tyrone in the final that year, pretty sure the whole Mitchels underage and maybe the adult teams went to the league final that year. I was quite puzzled by a guy who kept shouting come on Londonderry (I think he was a Londonderryman brought to the match by his Derrywoman wife).
Post by: Throw ball on March 03, 2014, 06:25:23 PM
Age 8
Match: Armagh v Roscommon 1977 semi final replay.
With: Dad, uncle and brother.
Memory: returning to the car to find it had been broken in to.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2014, 06:27:17 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 03, 2014, 06:01:52 PM
'92 AI Final
On the father's lap, sleeping.
Woken up as the minor game entered injury time 'to see Armagh get the cup'. Meath fluke a goal to win by one and Armagh don't get the cup.

Feck,  I always thought you were someone a lot older than that!!!! 
Post by: Estimator on March 03, 2014, 06:29:15 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 06:16:56 PM
Quote from: Estimator on March 03, 2014, 03:21:23 PM
What age were you?

Who did you go with?
Father and Brother.

Derry winning.

Was Derry and Tyrone in the final that year, pretty sure the whole Mitchels underage and maybe the adult teams went to the league final that year. I was quite puzzled by a guy who kept shouting come on Londonderry (I think he was a Londonderryman brought to the match by his Derrywoman wife).
Yeah, Derry / Tyrone final. Derry won by two after a brilliant goal from Tohill from 45yds.
Was in the Upper Hogan for that.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 03, 2014, 06:32:37 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 03, 2014, 02:07:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 03, 2014, 02:00:02 PM
What age were you? 12.

You have just done what I did earlier and got your years mixed up. Galway won Connacht in 1998.

Do you mean the 1988 match I was talking about earlier?

Yeah - it's gas cos when I read your post I immediately said - it must have been 1988! Then I go and make a typo!
Post by: Tubberman on March 03, 2014, 06:38:23 PM
Who was playing: Roscommon v Cork 1990 AISF. (We were living in Roscommon at the time).
Who did you go with: Dad and a couple of his friends. The guy driving had a merc and it had a carphone in it. Was fascinated, he even let me ring home.
Do you remember anything: Mainly being up so high, in the old Hogan stand. Remember thinking Roscommon had done alright.

If you asked my father, he'd say my first match. He's adamant he brought me to the final in 89, but I vividly remember watching it on telly at home. Wouldn't forget that one....
Post by: Hardy on March 03, 2014, 06:53:36 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 03, 2014, 05:38:57 PM

I'm afraid to say you're not...see my reply earlier... :-X

What age were you? 13
Do you remember anything about it ? Down won, it pissed rain and Dublin hammered some other crowd in the other match

I have a hazy memory of Parnell chucking in the ball between two lines of skinny lads in caps like small umbrellas.

Post by: Oraisteach on March 03, 2014, 07:04:59 PM

1967 Oireachtas Hurling Final between Kilkenny and Clare

Went with juvenile team (Armagh Cuchulainns)

Remember seeing Pa Dillon getting a shocking dig in the mouth and seeing him later at a hotel where both ourselves and the Kilkenny team were having a meal
Post by: ardchieftain on March 03, 2014, 07:08:02 PM
Dublin v Galway all ireland final, 1980 something?[ not sure of the year ], the one where Duff kicked one of the Galway lads in the head. Went with the u12 team, i was 9/10. we were on Hill16 and it scared the life out of me, the atmosphere was horrible. The few Galway supporters on the Hill being spat on and in one case assaulted. Unsurprisingly, i ended up strongly disliking Dublin for many years after that experience.
Post by: Main Street on March 03, 2014, 07:31:20 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 03, 2014, 06:16:02 PM
About 18.
It was a tremendous spectacle from start to finish with the Aussies giving an exhibition of high fielding at its best and running Mayo ragged with their superior speed and physical toughness.
The "Galahs" won by 2-12 to 2-5 and the margin would have much greater  if their kicking had been on a par with their fielding and handling.
That must have been my first at Croke Park as well, I was about 8 at the time, visiting relatives in Dublin and went to it with my brother  It was a sunny  Saturday afternoon, cost 6d to get in and there was a big crowd,  over 30,000.
Mayo had Langan at full forward but who roamed everywhere and a rock at CHB, Jackie Morley, who would eat Francie Bellew before breakfast. On the football, the Australians were huge and outplayed the Mayo lads.
Post by: CD on March 03, 2014, 07:32:30 PM
What age were you? I'd have been 10
Who was playing, what year  ? 1986 Tyrone V Galway in the All Ireland Semi-Final. I was there a few months earlier on a School Trip and we got to play on the pitch - scored a point at the Hill before the groundsman called us ashore!
Who did you go with? My Dad and two brothers and a clatter of uncles. I'm fairly sure that as kids we didn't pay in and there were about three people to a seat. I clearly remember the old wooden seating at the top of the Hogan.
Do you remember anything about it? Good memory of the cavalcade of cars heading over the boarder and taking over an hour to go through Aughnacloy. I'd say it was a good four hour drive then.
Also remember McCabe's penalty and stopping in Ardee for the chips on the way home.

Was lucky enough to go to the final as well. Was on the Hill and remember being amazed by the crowd of people jammed in there. A garda held me in front of him on a crush barrier so I could see the game. Have such a vivid memory of Pat Spillane that day with the bandaged knee
Post by: 5 Sams on March 03, 2014, 07:39:52 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on March 03, 2014, 07:08:02 PM
Dublin v Galway all ireland final, 1980 something?[ not sure of the year ], the one where Duff kicked one of the Galway lads in the head. Went with the u12 team, i was 9/10. we were on Hill16 and it scared the life out of me, the atmosphere was horrible. The few Galway supporters on the Hill being spat on and in one case assaulted. Unsurprisingly, i ended up strongly disliking Dublin for many years after that experience.

1983. The dirty dozen or the 12 apostles depending on where you're from.
Post by: Beantown on March 03, 2014, 08:14:02 PM
Age ? 4 or 5
I think it was a league semi final between Kerry v Meath in 1979 ish, I may be corrected on this.
Went with my parents and distinctly remember sitting in the Hogan Stand Upper Deck and Kerry wore Blue, and we were amazed by Jack O Shea...Plus my Dad bought me a Kerry strip after the match from a street vendor. He laughed when we asked for a Tyrone strip, so a Kerry strip was purchased!
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2014, 08:30:31 PM
1977 AI semi final Armagh V Roscommon

Memories include £2.50 return train fare from Portadown to Dublin.3 punts admission to Hogan and a brilliant comeback by Armagh to earn a draw! Craic coming home on train was something else!
Post by: pbat on March 03, 2014, 08:39:50 PM
1983 National League Final Armagh Vs Down.

With my da and uncle.

8 years old.

Remember there was serious trouble on the train home and the guards had to get on somewhere outside Dublin and stay on it until Dundalk. We got of there as well but heard that when the train got to Lurgan it was burnt out. My Da refused to use the train ever again. 
Post by: The Boy Wonder on March 03, 2014, 09:21:48 PM
What age were you?  Teenage 
Who was playing, what year  ?  1973 Leinster SFC - Laois Vs Meath
Who did you go with ?  Bus from local club
Do you remember anything about it ? Brilliant displays by Willie Brennan, Laois and Ken Rennicks, Meath. The Royals won  :(
Post by: inexile on March 03, 2014, 09:24:44 PM
What age were you? I'd have been 15
Who was playing, what year  ? 1977 Dublin v Armagh in the All Ireland Final
Who did you go with? Schoolmates and a teacher
Do you remember anything about it? Main memory is coming down Gardiner Street and seeing some thug being egged on by a group of mates kick a NI reg car with a family (incl 2 small Children who looked terrified) in it. A terrible way for them to end a big adventure.
Post by: Syferus on March 03, 2014, 09:30:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 01:25:46 PM

What age were you? 7
Do you remember anything about it ? Seeing the word "Gaillimh" on the scoreboard and wondering what it meant.The queues for the toilets and the speed required, Crisps and Fanta, leaving the sisters at home and partaking in the world of big men

Do you know young Cyril Dunne? Should as him about Tadg Mannion, Gerry O'Malley's Brigids and Roscommon HB partner and the hat incident.

Wear a hard-hat. ;D
Post by: Orior on March 03, 2014, 09:35:37 PM
I have a hazy memory of going to see a hurling match when I was 7 or 8 years old

What age were you? 7 or 8
Who was playing, what year? No idea, circa 1968
Who did you go with? Dad, Mum, brothers and sisters
Do you remember anything about it? Yes, a hurl got broken and was thrown over to the touchline. My Dad told my older brother to go down and pick it up. We took it home and tried to glue it together, but it never really worked.

What age were you? 14 or 15
Who was playing, what year? St Colmans College Newry, against Summerhill Co Meath (I think) , circa 1975
Who did you go with? The school, on the bus
Do you remember anything about it? Freezing cold. And there were girls. I discovered girls.
Post by: Upthecut on March 03, 2014, 09:50:43 PM
What age were you? 12
Who was playing, what year  ? Derry V Meath - All-Ireland Semi-Final, 1987
Do you remember anything about it ? McNicholl's bandage and the Down Minor team. Apparently i told my Da that was the best team i had ever seen.
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 09:55:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 03, 2014, 09:30:12 PM

What age were you? 7

Do you know young Cyril Dunne? Should as him about Tadg Mannion, Gerry O'Malley's Brigids and Roscommon HB partner and the hat incident.

Wear a hard-hat. ;D
syf

I couldn't give a flying f### about Roscommon fuball, even though the mother is from Ros. Go and win an all Ireland so you have something more recent than 1944 to regale us with.   
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2014, 10:03:28 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 03, 2014, 07:31:20 PM
About 18.
That must have been my first at Croke Park as well, I was about 8 at the time, visiting relatives in Dublin and went to it with my brother  It was a sunny  Saturday afternoon, cost 6d to get in and there was a big crowd,  over 30,000.
Mayo had Langan at full forward but who roamed everywhere and a rock at CHB, Jackie Morley, who would eat Francie Bellew before breakfast. On the football, the Australians were huge and outplayed the Mayo lads.

Probably Joe Langan RIP. The Team of The Century Tom would have been long retired.

The Morley would would have been John Morley - one of the finest players of his generation. A guard, shot in cold blood along with Henry Byrne while on duty in 1980. His son Gordon also played for Mayo.
Post by: Syferus on March 03, 2014, 10:04:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 03, 2014, 09:55:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 03, 2014, 09:30:12 PM

What age were you? 7

Wear a hard-hat. ;D
syf

I couldn't give a flying f### about Roscommon fuball, even though the mother is from Ros. Go and win an all Ireland so you have something more recent than 1944 to regale us with.

Oh, it's very much about Galway football..
Post by: naka on March 03, 2014, 10:17:46 PM
age 9
all Ireland semi final replay 1977 Armagh v Roscommon( we won by a point)
missed mass for the first time to get the bus(£2.50 return), had a wooden rattly, and a white tee shirt which had up Armagh written on it in black marker
went with my 18 year old brother our first time ever in dublin
remember the pitch invasion and I got my photo in the final day programme( my mother kept it in the house til she died)
Post by: inexile on March 03, 2014, 10:23:21 PM
Quote from: naka on March 03, 2014, 10:17:46 PM
age 9
missed mass for the first time to get the bus(£2.50 return), had a wooden rattly, and a white tee shirt which had up Armagh written on it in black marker
remember the pitch invasion and I got my photo in the final day programme( my mother kept it in the house til she died)

Nice memory.
Post by: moysider on March 03, 2014, 10:41:21 PM
Age - go away from around me! Depressed enough as it is.

1978 - Mayo lose a high scoring game to Dublin. The habit started early for me. Back then a league title meant a bit.

Attended with 2 brothers.

Memories. Liam Donoghue scored 2 goals. I m sure we were a rabble though. Fine players in our team but Dublin were organised. We had so many top players in 60s and 70s that were let down so badly by ???? as well as letting the real supporters and kids like me down. The last 25 years are a golden era in comparison. It was a mess.

Post by: bennydorano on March 03, 2014, 10:42:28 PM
I was 8 or 9 when Down beat Armagh in the Nfl final in 82/83. I had to wiki it there to check that it wasn't monaghan as my 2 earliest Croke Park memories are 2 League Final defeats! Monaghan came in 85. I remember the Monaghan match more clearly as there was a looney Monaghan fan quite close to us who was lucky he wasn't threw overboard from our Upper Hogan perch. I can smell the stale drink, fag smoke & cheese & onion from here.
Post by: rrhf on March 03, 2014, 10:50:03 PM
85 national league semi final draw v monaghan. Age 9. With my father and a few club men.  I remember getting over the turn styles and a cheeky dub steward getting grabbed by the throat by a monaghan man for some reason. Monaghan won the replay in Armagh.
Post by: Hardy on March 03, 2014, 10:52:41 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 03, 2014, 10:03:28 PM
About 18.

Probably Joe Langan RIP. The Team of The Century Tom would have been long retired.

The Morley would would have been John Morley - one of the finest players of his generation. A guard, shot in cold blood along with Henry Byrne while on duty in 1980. His son Gordon also played for Mayo.

That's right on all counts, Moysider. I was at that match too and at the Aussies' hammering of newly crowned  All- Ireland champs Meath the previous  Sunday. And it was Gaelic football, not any compromise rules (though I think I remember the Aussies were allowed to pick up). They were huge muscular monsters and won by sheer physical force.

Meath did a Tour of Australia in the following Spring and won all five gaelic matches against Aussie Rules clubs.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 04, 2014, 12:10:59 AM
Age 7, National League Final 1987, Kerry v Dublin.

There was a decent crowd at it and I remember the noise if not too much about the game. First concrete memories would be the 1991 semi v Down. Remember Maurice Fitz hitting the crossbar twice in the first half and the noise and colour of the Down fans. Wasn't the best day but glad I got to see that Down team play in the flesh, especially Linden..one of my all time favourite players.
Post by: rosnarun on March 04, 2014, 12:40:07 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 03, 2014, 08:30:31 PM
1977 AI semi final Armagh V Roscommon

Memories include £2.50 return train fare from Portadown to Dublin.3 punts admission to Hogan and a brilliant comeback by Armagh to earn a draw! Craic coming home on train was something else!

no need for punts im 1977
Post by: ross4life on March 04, 2014, 01:21:55 AM
About 18.

Yes John Morley is regarded as one of Mayos best ever centre half backs.

Gordon kicked his first football in the same town as Shane Curran,Mickey Freyne,Harry Keegan,Derek Duggan etc..  Moved to Galway & won All Ireland with Salthill-Knocknacarra in 2006 hes currently one of their selectors.
Post by: ballela-angel on March 04, 2014, 03:11:45 AM
"So it looks like I am provisional oldest lemon here until some auld timers like Hardy and Lar naParka row in - My money's on Ballela Angel, win double for the best story as well. Don't let me down now BA!"

I think I am from the submittals so far - 1959 AI semi-final, Down V Galway - We got stuffed! - I was 7 and cried my eyes out watching Leo Murphy have an awful day against Sean Purcell, as Leo was best buddies with the fella who was dating one of my sisters at the time - I remember the rake of bicycles in Dublin on Clonliffe Road - Not sure which story's Passedit is referring to
Post by: ballela-angel on March 04, 2014, 03:17:40 AM
Oops! Apologies to Don Corleone there - I just read his post and he beat me by a couple of years - Looks like we're both old geezers!
Post by: passedit on March 04, 2014, 07:40:28 AM
Quote from: ballela-angel on March 04, 2014, 03:11:45 AM
"So it looks like I am provisional oldest lemon here until some auld timers like Hardy and Lar naParka row in - My money's on Ballela Angel, win double for the best story as well. Don't let me down now BA!"

I think I am from the submittals so far - 1959 AI semi-final, Down V Galway - We got stuffed! - I was 7 and cried my eyes out watching Leo Murphy have an awful day against Sean Purcell, as Leo was best buddies with the fella who was dating one of my sisters at the time - I remember the rake of bicycles in Dublin on Clonliffe Road - Not sure which story's Passedit is referring to
Wrong on both counts for me which is why I don't gamble. Was thinking of a great seat you had for one of the games, now thinking that wasn't Croke. Memory not what it used to be!
Post by: T Fearon on March 04, 2014, 09:49:15 AM
I'll bet Hardy was there on Bloody Sunday, but he's not letting on! ;D
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 04, 2014, 10:06:44 AM
My first match was the centenary cup semi final against Monaghan in1984, from memory I think it went to extra time before we got beaten
Post by: naka on March 04, 2014, 10:29:30 AM
Quote from: inexile on March 03, 2014, 10:23:21 PM
Quote from: naka on March 03, 2014, 10:17:46 PM
age 9

Nice memory.
thanks it was
I was a blondy then
now a grey haired bitter man
Post by: Club Rossa on March 04, 2014, 10:41:06 AM
1984 All Ireland semi final,Tyrone v Dublin.Can remember it like it was yesterday.Sat in lower Hogan near midfield.Remember the Dubs having running battles with the Garda on the Hill.Then Tyrone came out and went straight to the Hill,followed shortly by the Dubs.Gerry Hargan wanted McGuigans jersey so much that he spent the entire game trying to tear it off him.Tyrone were denied a clear penalty in the 1st half when Patsy Kerlin was taken out of it when through on goal.We got a penalty in the 2nd half but McKenna blazed it over the bar.Dublin were far too good and won easily.Barney Rock finished with 1-7.Final score was 2-11 to 0-8.The other thing that sticfks in my mind was John Lynch hanging Kieran Duff in the wire at the Hogan Stand side.
Post by: Chimley on March 04, 2014, 12:15:51 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 03, 2014, 10:41:21 PM

1978 - Mayo lose a high scoring game to Dublin. The habit started early for me. Back then a league title meant a bit.

Memories. Liam Donoghue scored 2 goals. I m sure we were a rabble though. Fine players in our team but Dublin were organised. We had so many top players in 60s and 70s that were let down so badly by ???? as well as letting the real supporters and kids like me down. The last 25 years are a golden era in comparison. It was a mess.

Snap. Still remember Willy Nallys mop of hair and the fact that we were second best to a supremely confident Dublin team.
Post by: ballela-angel on March 04, 2014, 12:21:20 PM

"Wrong on both counts for me which is why I don't gamble. Was thinking of a great seat you had for one of the games, now thinking that wasn't Croke. Memory not what it used to be!"
I believe you're thinking of 1968 when I was in the dug-out

Post by: joemamas on March 04, 2014, 01:12:10 PM
Quote from: Chimley on March 04, 2014, 12:15:51 PM

Snap. Still remember Willy Nallys mop of hair and the fact that we were second best to a supremely confident Dublin team.

I assume the game you are referring to is the league final, i was also at it picked up at boarding school on the way , it was like getting out of jail. Did Billy fitz not score one of the goals into the canal end in that game, a low shot that completley wrong footed Paddy Cullen. ?
Post by: passedit on March 04, 2014, 01:19:41 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on March 04, 2014, 12:21:20 PM

"Wrong on both counts for me which is why I don't gamble. Was thinking of a great seat you had for one of the games, now thinking that wasn't Croke. Memory not what it used to be!"
I believe you're thinking of 1968 when I was in the dug-out

That's the one!
Post by: Don Corleone on March 04, 2014, 02:03:56 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on March 04, 2014, 03:11:45 AM

I think I am from the submittals so far - 1959 AI semi-final, Down V Galway - We got stuffed!

Good one Ballela, I was at the final that year and it was my 1st. time to see Mick O'Dwyer. He was giving about 6" to Joe Young and destroyed him. Micko was always a tremendous wing-back and would be up there with any of them.

Enjoy the travel pass....Hold on.....Not yet I fear..... :(
Post by: dec on March 04, 2014, 03:20:03 PM
What age were you? 10
Who was playing, what year  ? 1977 All-Ireland Football semi-final replay Armagh v Roscommon
Who did you go with ? My Dad
Do you remember anything about it ? Up by three points near the end, then two, then one but we held on.
Post by: Chimley on March 04, 2014, 03:29:54 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 04, 2014, 01:12:10 PM
Quote from: Chimley on March 04, 2014, 12:15:51 PM

I assume the game you are referring to is the league final, i was also at it picked up at boarding school on the way , it was like getting out of jail. Did Billy fitz not score one of the goals into the canal end in that game, a low shot that completley wrong footed Paddy Cullen. ?

According to Willie Joes archive, you are right. It's a dim and distant memory at this stage.
Post by: OakleafCounty on March 04, 2014, 03:34:22 PM
What age were you?  9
Who was playing, what year  ? Derry v Dublin All Ireland Semi Final, 1993
Who did you go with ? Parents
Do you remember anything about it ? That it was probably one of the closest and most exciting games ever played in Croke Park. I remember Derry going 3 points up at the start and then being 9-4 down at half time. I remember staring at the ground for the majority of the second half until Seamus Downey scored our 14th point and I'll never forget going 15-14 ahead and jumping on my mothers back when the final whistle went. Sheer joy would be an understatement. The actual final didn't match the feeling I think most Derry fans had at the end of that game.
I also remember the feeling of awe I had when entering the old Cusack Stand. One of the best days of my life!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 04, 2014, 04:45:54 PM
What age were you?  8
Who was playing, what year  ? Galway v Cork All Ireland Hurling Final, 1986
Who did you go with ? The aul lad
Do you remember anything about it ? Dropping the siblings off at Dublin Zoo for the day and sitting in the front of the car with a smug grin on my face going up the North Circular Road. The first big roar coming up to the stadium, the wondering of what just happened and the irresistible feeling of wanting to get inside that continues to this very day. Getting lifted over the waist high stile. The wooden benches in the Hogan Stand. The watch and wait for the teams to come out from the old corner of the Hogan and the Canal End. The arm nearly getting yanked out of its socket by the aul lad in the rush to get the flag I was holding in the air every time Galway scored. The silence in the car on the way home.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 04, 2014, 04:53:04 PM
First time at Croke Park was league final - Down v Meath 1990

First memory of Croke Park on TV - Kerry v Tyrone 1986

First memory of Croke Park on radio (on holiday in the Free state) - Tipp v Antrim 1989

Post by: Armaghtothebone on March 04, 2014, 04:53:58 PM
What age were you?  9
Who was playing, what year  ? Armagh v Clare Div 3 playoff 1975
Do you remember anything about it ? Not really
Post by: tbrick18 on March 04, 2014, 04:57:53 PM
What age were you?  15
Who was playing, what year  ? National League Final 1992 Derry v Tyrone
Do you remember anything about it ? Anthony Tohill taking one of his soon to be trademark 65s and it dropping into Plunket Donaghy's hands on the goal line when he decided to drop it on into the net to give derry a goal and ultimately victory! A Good Day!
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2014, 06:37:32 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2014, 01:12:02 PM
What age were you?  11

Who was playing, what year  ?  Abbey Grammar in a Hogan Cup match v St Mels Longford

Do you remember anything about it ?  My brother was playing and I was due to go to the school the following year so it had to be 1987

Was that 1987? We lost to Mel's by a point in the final in '87, but that was played in Roscommon. Ye feckers didn't get a semi in Corker did ye? Was Tom Fagan playing for the Abbey at that stage?

A few mates
I remember sitting on the top of the Canal End wall and thinking that the wall was very narrow, and sloped the wrong way, and that I would die instantly if I fell.

Looking back I remember someone describing Willie Joe as the last great folk hero of the Gaa. I had no idea what he was talking about but I have a better idea now. More innocent times.
Post by: thejuice on March 04, 2014, 07:18:30 PM
What age were you?
3 or 4

Meath vs Dublin, might have been a league game. Might have been 1985-1986. Fairly vague memories, upper Cusack possibly. Seemed really high up to little me.

Who did you go with ?
Me Dad and Brother. Lifted over the turnstyles.

The smell of pipe smoke, crepe paper caps held together with staples and the field turning to a mud bath. By the end it was hard to tell some of the players apart such was the muddiness.
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on March 04, 2014, 09:21:40 PM
What age were you? 8 (about to turn 9)
Who was playing, what year  ? Offaly v Kerry, 1980 All Ireland Semi Final (the 4-15 to 4-10 one
Who did you go with ? My father.
Do you remember anything about it ?  Hardly anything about the match. Remember parking in the Phoenix Park, then discovering we forgot the milk for the tea, spotting a family from town and Dad borrowing "a sup of milk for the young fella".
Dad buying me a crepe paper hat around Mountjoy Square.
Thinking the pitch was fierce small (I'd expected the pitch to be at least twice the size of the pitches I'd been to at home).
Dad preparing me for the worst pre-match "shure you won't be disappointed if they're beaten by the mighty Kerry today" and being devastated when Offaly lost.
A Kerryman near us in the Lower Hogan shouting "Aboy Jacko" and me thinking it was funny.
Thinking it was odd that everybody applauded the Kerry player as he was stretchered off the pitch.
Going for a walk up to the Upper Hogan after the match (during the Minor hurling replay that took place after Offaly v Kerry).
Traffic crawling on the way home.
Being fascinated with the match programme.  It was the first of hundreds.
Post by: seafoid on March 04, 2014, 10:05:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 04, 2014, 06:37:32 PM
What age were you?  11

Was that 1987? We lost to Mel's by a point in the final in '87, but that was played in Roscommon. Ye feckers didn't get a semi in Corker did ye? Was Tom Fagan playing for the Abbey at that stage?

A few mates
I remember sitting on the top of the Canal End wall and thinking that the wall was very narrow, and sloped the wrong way, and that I would die instantly if I fell.

Looking back I remember someone describing Willie Joe as the last great folk hero of the Gaa. I had no idea what he was talking about but I have a better idea now. More innocent times.
I'd say Dan Shanahan or Mullane would be  modern day folk heroes. The Tyronies probably have a few as well. Francie Bellew would be another.
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2014, 10:08:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 04, 2014, 10:05:10 PM
What age were you?  11

A few mates

I'd say Dan Shanahan or Mullane would be  modern day folk heroes. The Tyronies probably have a few as well. Francie Bellew would be another.

Dunno, Dan the Man and Mullane got a lot of abuse from their own at times. Ciarán McD quit for a while because of the stick.

Willie Joe, after a few early career falters, seemed to be immune from that from his fans. The worship was untainted.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 05, 2014, 09:29:44 AM
Dan the man got abuse from Waterford lads alright, but I don't think Mullane got much of that. He cared so much, and obviously so, that I think Waterford lads would have forgiven him anything.
Post by: naka on March 05, 2014, 10:31:08 AM
What age were you?  11

I played that day
It wAs  in navan Easter Sunday
Broken crossbar where did your brother play
We were getting beaten by two points and big tony mc Mahon pulled down in the square
Ref give a 14 yard free
We lost by a point
Post by: deiseach on March 05, 2014, 10:48:03 AM
Quote from: muppet on March 04, 2014, 10:08:35 PM
Dunno, Dan the Man and Mullane got a lot of abuse from their own at times. Ciarán McD quit for a while because of the stick.

Dan was quoted after the Clare game in 2008 saying that "he will now ask his child to stay away from his games in the future (http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/scapegoat-dan-desperate-to-prove-critics-wrong-26454223.html)". Yet two matches later against Wexford:

(http://www.comeonthedeise.ie/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/wexdanchloe.jpg)

Anyone who gives a player stick needs some stick themselves. But Dan is not the most reliable of witnesses.
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 05, 2014, 04:26:21 PM
What age were you? 11
Who was playing, what year  ? 1972 Kerry/Offaly All-Ireland Final Replay
Who did you go with ?  Dad
Do you remember anything about it ?  SOmeone had a transistor radio near us and we sang along with whatever songs were on before teh game.  Not much about the game...but teams wore the wrong colours.  Offaly in green, Kerry in blue.  Thought Willie Bryan was magnificent - and he must have been to outplay Mick O'Connell.

Best day in Croke Park was 1980 semifinal Kerry 4-15 Offaly 4-10.

Worst day was same opposition 2 years later...

Post by: deiseach on March 05, 2014, 04:30:25 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on March 05, 2014, 04:26:21 PM
What age were you? 11
Who was playing, what year  ? 1972 Kerry/Offaly All-Ireland Final Replay
Who did you go with ?  Dad
Do you remember anything about it ?  SOmeone had a transistor radio near us and we sang along with whatever songs were on before teh game.  Not much about the game...but teams wore the wrong colours.  Offaly in green, Kerry in blue.  Thought Willie Bryan was magnificent - and he must have been to outplay Mick O'Connell.

Best day in Croke Park was 1980 semifinal Kerry 4-15 Offaly 4-10.

Worst day was same opposition 2 years later...

A good friend of mine is the son of a Kerry fanatic. He was just too young to go the 1986 All-Ireland final. "Never mind," he was told, "we'll take you next year". Oops.
Post by: seafoid on March 05, 2014, 05:10:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 04, 2014, 10:08:35 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 04, 2014, 10:05:10 PM
What age were you?  11

A few mates

Willie Joe, after a few early career falters, seemed to be immune from that from his fans. The worship was untainted.
(Brendan) "Lynshkey"
He wasn't the most elegant of hurlers but he was a legend and the fans will never ,ever, forget him
Tipp lads would remember him as well. They were so sure in 87

"I'm trying to say this without blowing a head gasket," he sighs. "But there's a problem here in Galway..."
You ask Lynskey is he pessimistic? "Very," he says bluntly.
Having served as a selector during Loughnane's first season as Galway manager, the teak-tough former All Star centre-forward believes the county inculcates too many bad habits in its young players.
"Galway win an All-Ireland minor and, all of a sudden, these lads' heads become as big as buckets," says Lynskey. "They're on Galway Bay FM, they're down in Supermacs, they're opening up this, opening up that, signing jerseys. There's too much made of them.
"We're making superstars out of middling hurlers in Galway, blowing up bad hurlers as good.
"And they end up putting on the jersey as if they're entitled to it. They're not entitled to it.

We need someone like him again

I'd SAY Ciaran Carey would have qualified as well.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 05, 2014, 07:06:13 PM
What age were you? 15
Who was playing, what year  ? Hogan Cup final, St Pat's vs St Jarlath's
Who did you go with ? A bus load of fellow pupils from Glenullin and Swatragh
Do you remember anything about it ? Mark Butler's winning point. The final score 0-10 to 2-3. 50p in for 'schoolboys'
Post by: laoislad on March 05, 2014, 07:15:09 PM
What age were you? 6
Who was playing, what year  ? 1985 Leinster Final Laois v Offaly
Who did you go with ? The Da,Ma and brother
Do you remember anything about it? Laois lost(badly) and my Uncle was the Laois goalkeeper.

I was probably in Croke Park way before that but that's my first memory.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on March 06, 2014, 10:20:00 AM
What age were you?  5

Who was playing, what year ? Donegal V Galway AllIreland Semi 1983

Who did you go with ? Dad & Uncles

Do you remember anything about it ? Val Daly. The instant noise... the atmosphere.

My WDL ratio in Croke park(football and hurling championship games only) is Won 11 drew 3 Lost 10. Not a bad record on paper for a Galway fan. Its masks the carnage of Thurles and other graveyards of hope.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2014, 12:37:31 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on March 04, 2014, 04:57:53 PM
What age were you?  15
Do you remember anything about it ? Anthony Tohill taking one of his soon to be trademark 65s and it dropping into Plunket Donaghy's hands on the goal line when he decided to drop it on into the net to give derry a goal and ultimately victory! A Good Day!

SNAP TBRICK18
I really wanted to go to the AI semi and final in 1986 but I was only 13 and my older brother went with his mates. Didn't make it on 1989 either so 2002 was my first time.
I went to the league final with 2 other club mates and one of their Derry cousins and his GF and the craic was great having a Derry man to pick on the whole game
Sadly my enthusiasm was curbed as a price came up and sat next to me and so my usual colourful chit chat was majorly subdued.

I remember being worried about how our MF would do against Tohill and McGilligan but Ciaran Corr played an absolute brilliant game and made loads of clean catches. I was in total awe.
The other clear memory I have was when we left the match totally dejected I heard Joe Brolly who played at 13 being interviewed and him saying
"We were out played in midfield, outplayed in the forwards and outplayed in defence and we still won"

I learned that day that being a Tyrone fan was always gonna be troublesome and have lots of ups and downs. I didn't think though that Donegal would go on to win the AI that year or that Derry would win it the year after, or that we would have to wait 11 years for our first big day.

http://inpho.ie/assignment/National-Football-League-Final-1992/s_ozJ6zCxIrxqWld6_W1Sw..a (http://inpho.ie/assignment/National-Football-League-Final-1992/s_ozJ6zCxIrxqWld6_W1Sw..a)
Post by: straightred on March 06, 2014, 01:46:09 PM
What age were you?
Who did you go with ?

Scotstown Nemo Rangers 1979 AI club final
Family
St Patricks day, snow and sadly losing
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 06, 2014, 02:00:42 PM
Age 8
Tyrone Galway 86 semi final.
Whole family packed into car and went
Mc Cabes goal and also remember one of the Tallys from Galbally getting pick pocketed after game inside the stadium.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 06, 2014, 06:42:12 PM
Antrim offaly ai semi final 1989

Hasn't got better since :-\
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2014, 08:34:56 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 06, 2014, 06:42:12 PM
Antrim offaly ai semi final 1989

Hasn't got better since :-\

Tommy Murphy cup and teh Christy Ring, That's our level and at the minute all we can hope for!!

89 was my first year having a pint in Dublin with my da, I remember my uncle looking at me as my dad got me a pint!! Priceless
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 06, 2014, 08:46:29 PM
Offaly v Kilkenny in the Leinster hurling champ semi final replay in 85, then back for the final Offaly v Laois  a week later. If I can remember correctly We were escaping the 12th fortnight in the North on holiday and the oul Fella brought us. Begged him to bring me to the AI final in Sep btw Offaly and Galway. Never forget it.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 06, 2014, 08:57:53 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 06, 2014, 12:37:31 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on March 04, 2014, 04:57:53 PM
What age were you?  15

SNAP TBRICK18
I really wanted to go to the AI semi and final in 1986 but I was only 13 and my older brother went with his mates. Didn't make it on 1989 either so 2002 was my first time.
I went to the league final with 2 other club mates and one of their Derry cousins and his GF and the craic was great having a Derry man to pick on the whole game
Sadly my enthusiasm was curbed as a price came up and sat next to me and so my usual colourful chit chat was majorly subdued.

I remember being worried about how our MF would do against Tohill and McGilligan but Ciaran Corr played an absolute brilliant game and made loads of clean catches. I was in total awe.
The other clear memory I have was when we left the match totally dejected I heard Joe Brolly who played at 13 being interviewed and him saying
"We were out played in midfield, outplayed in the forwards and outplayed in defence and we still won"

I learned that day that being a Tyrone fan was always gonna be troublesome and have lots of ups and downs. I didn't think though that Donegal would go on to win the AI that year or that Derry would win it the year after, or that we would have to wait 11 years for our first big day.

http://inpho.ie/assignment/National-Football-League-Final-1992/s_ozJ6zCxIrxqWld6_W1Sw..a (http://inpho.ie/assignment/National-Football-League-Final-1992/s_ozJ6zCxIrxqWld6_W1Sw..a)

Which Price? Katie? Vincent?
Dermot Heaney played midfield that day with McGilligan.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2014, 09:04:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tHbGYbl608g&feature=player_embedded
Post by: fearglasmor on March 07, 2014, 01:35:21 PM
What age were you? - 9/10
Who was playing, what year  ? Offaly v Donegal 1972/3 Grounds Tournament
Who did you go with ?  Da
Do you remember anything about it ? Running  on with me little autograph book when the teams were kicking in and getting autographs from Martin Furlong, Paddy McCormack, Mick Ryan, Martin Heavey, Willy Bryan and Tony McTeague
Post by: Main Street on March 07, 2014, 04:43:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 03, 2014, 10:52:41 PM
About 18.

That's right on all counts, Moysider. I was at that match too and at the Aussies' hammering of newly crowned  All- Ireland champs Meath the previous  Sunday. And it was Gaelic football, not any compromise rules (though I think I remember the Aussies were allowed to pick up). They were huge muscular monsters and won by sheer physical force.

Meath did a Tour of Australia in the following Spring and won all five gaelic matches against Aussie Rules clubs.
I got my Morleys mixed up, Jackie Morley was a soccer player for the celebrated Waterford team around the same time, was also teak tough and played at centre half.
Post by: CD on March 07, 2014, 05:30:08 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on March 06, 2014, 02:00:42 PM
Age 8
Tyrone Galway 86 semi final.
Whole family packed into car and went
Mc Cabes goal and also remember one of the Tallys from Galbally getting pick pocketed after game inside the stadium.

Same game for me!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2014, 09:40:21 PM
Best thread in ages on this board. Kudos to seafoid and all contributers.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 07, 2014, 11:33:07 PM
What age were you?   6
Who was playing, what year? Offaly v Galway, 1971 All Ireland Final
Who did you go with?  With my late Dad - was lifted over the turnstile and sat on my Dad's knee in the Hogan Stand.
Do you remember anything about it? Remember walking along the concourse under the Hogan Stand and hearing a roar from the crowd watching the Minor match which stopped me in surprise and made my Dad laugh at the look of shock on my face!

Was at many of the All Ireland Finals in the seventies including the 1972 replay - my earliest vivid recollection of the actual football was at the 1973 All Ireland Final between Cork and Galway - Upper Hogan, on the 14 yard line at the Canal End - me on my Dad's knee, and seated either side my mum and the late John Daly, who was then Armagh Harps manager. In my mind's eye I can still see the shot for a Galway goal that Billy Morgan let cross the line in the Canal End.
Post by: whitey on March 08, 2014, 01:51:18 AM
1985-Mayo V Dublin AISF

Age 14

Admission-£1 hogan stand for kids

A gang of about 50 of us took the train up from Castlebar without parental supervision

My first introduction to underage drinking

The train on the way home had no lights, so some people used it as an opportunity to play fvck.

The following spring, Mayo played in the League Semi Final V Monaghan. The same crew of characters reassembled and again took over a carriage on the train.  i vividly remember one of the gang gaining access to the intercom and making some very entertaining public service announcements
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 08, 2014, 10:17:30 AM
Quote from: whitey on March 08, 2014, 01:51:18 AM
1985-Mayo V Dublin AISF

Age 14

Admission-£1 hogan stand for kids

A gang of about 50 of us took the train up from Castlebar without parental supervision

My first introduction to underage drinking

The train on the way home had no lights, so some people used it as an opportunity to play fvck.

The following spring, Mayo played in the League Semi Final V Monaghan. The same crew of characters reassembled and again took over a carriage on the train.  i vividly remember one of the gang gaining access to the intercom and making some very entertaining public service announcements

That train sounds like the one that took the Mitchels supporters home Paddys Day 1994. The chaos on the train was worsened by train getting delayed, then because we were behind having to let all the regular trains pass, then some eejits started pulling the emergency stop. There was alot of drinking and shifting going on as I remember.
Post by: T Fearon on March 09, 2014, 12:24:16 PM
Why didn't you all get the train to the league quarter final v Armagh in 1986? Were we not good enough, or did you just think you hadn't a chance?
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on March 09, 2014, 11:04:25 PM
The one when Paddy McCormack sustained the eye injury that ended his career?
Quote from: fearglasmor on March 07, 2014, 01:35:21 PM
Do you remember anything about it ? Running  on with me little autograph book when the teams were kicking in and getting autographs from Martin Furlong, Paddy McCormack, Mick Ryan, Martin Heavey, Willy Bryan and Tony McTeague
Post by: mrhardyannual on March 10, 2014, 12:45:49 AM
1968 AIF Down v Kerry Age 9.
With Father and three of his mates.
Stopped in Longford on the way home. An old man said "Mayo ye're like ourselves(Longford). Ye'll win nothin". Was outraged at the time. Hard to recognise a prophet!
Post by: ballela-angel on March 10, 2014, 02:06:06 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on March 10, 2014, 12:45:49 AM
Stopped in Longford on the way home. An old man said "Mayo ye're like ourselves(Longford). Ye'll win nothin". Was outraged at the time. Hard to recognise a prophet!

Post by: ballela-angel on March 10, 2014, 02:06:51 AM
Quote from: ballela-angel on March 10, 2014, 02:06:06 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on March 10, 2014, 12:45:49 AM

It could well have been a Longford Down AIF if Longford hadn't had their key mid-fielder injured in the Leinster Final
Post by: fearglasmor on March 10, 2014, 01:44:50 PM
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on March 09, 2014, 11:04:25 PM
The one when Paddy McCormack sustained the eye injury that ended his career?
Quote from: fearglasmor on March 07, 2014, 01:35:21 PM

It could be Plain. Don't remember it but remember me father talking about it when we were in McCormacks pub in Edenderry around the late 70's or early 80's.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 10, 2014, 01:48:58 PM
QuoteIt could well have been a Longford Down AIF if Longford hadn't had their key mid-fielder injured in the Leinster Final

This is a well held view in Longford and I'll go one step further. We would have beaten Down.

But the world is full of mebbess, aunts with balls, what ifs etc so we don't dwell on it.

Says he, dwelling on it!
Post by: Main Street on March 10, 2014, 03:02:01 PM
I have a vague memory of attending a Kerry v Longford game  in Croke Pk,  Kerry won but it was close exciting game, Mick O Connell era of classic GAA football at its best. I don't know what competition is was?  surely not an AI semi final?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2014, 03:06:38 PM
Did Longford win Leinster in 1968 or so? That would have been Micko era.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 10, 2014, 03:09:36 PM
It was Main St.

1968 All Ireland semi final.

Final score Kerry 2-13 Longford 2-11
Post by: Heshs Umpire on March 10, 2014, 11:33:23 PM
The 1979 All Ireland final between Kerry and Dublin.
I was 12, my two uncles squeezed me in beside them in the Old Hogan Stand.
Paidi got the line. Kerry won handy. I was hooked!
Post by: ballela-angel on March 11, 2014, 02:27:14 AM
"It could well have been a Longford Down AIF if Longford hadn't had their key mid-fielder injured in the Leinster Final

This is a well held view in Longford and I'll go one step further. We would have beaten Down.

But the world is full of mebbess, aunts with balls, what ifs etc so we don't dwell on it.

Says he, dwelling on it!"

That has been believed for a long time and I first heard it expressed a long time ago, 8 days after Longford were beaten when a member of the team attended a Down wedding - You can imagine the craic at the wedding with Down scheduled to play Galway 10 days after the wedding and 4 members of the Down 1960 there