GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 09:54:02 PM

Title: Best footballer ever from your county.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 09:54:02 PM
Love starting a wee bit of debate...so imho these are the best ever from each of the 32...I picked them from own opinion, in some cases from general opinion e.g. Jack Brattan and Seán Purcell and others were just pure guesses from a vague knowledge of your county's football history ....if anyone wants to suggest a player from London and NY feel free..

So away ye go lads...let me have it.....give good arguments if you disagree...and tell me why I'm talking shite if that is the case..I have a thick skin.

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Fermanagh - Peter McGennity
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tipperary - Declan Browne
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Waterford - Liam Ó Lionáin
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Sorry this one has me snookered :-\

Title: Re: Best footballer ever from your county.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:05:43 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 21, 2014, 09:57:29 PM
Jimmy Barry Murphy for Cork??

I'll give you that one. Took my eye of the ball. Who's your pick then?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 21, 2014, 10:07:31 PM
Kevin O'Brien -Wicklow
Post by: Rossfan on February 21, 2014, 10:13:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 09:54:02 PM
Love starting a wee bit of debate...so imho these are the best ever from each of the 32...I picked them from own opinion, in some cases from general opinion e.g. Jack Brattan and Seán Purcell and others were just pure guesses from a vague knowledge of your county's football history ....if anyone wants to suggest a player from London and NY feel free..

So away ye go lads...let me have it.....give good arguments if you disagree...and tell me why I'm talking shite if that is the case..I have a thick skin.

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr Gerry O'Malley or Bill Carlos
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Post by: Blowitupref on February 21, 2014, 10:15:15 PM
Seán Flanagan or Tommy Langan (Mayo) instead of Ciarán McDonald and J. J. O'Reilly Cavan?
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2014, 10:16:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2014, 10:13:48 PM

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr Gerry O'Malley or Bill Carlos
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde

Ya fooleen. He had it in one.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 21, 2014, 10:21:39 PM
Mick O'Connell might have been good for his day, but he wouldn't make my top 5.

1. Jacko
2. Spillane
3. Moynihan
4. Maurice Fitz
5. Cooper

That could change every hour of the day, but Jacko is the best I've seen.
Post by: moysider on February 21, 2014, 10:23:37 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:05:43 PM

JBM not a bad shout from what I remember seeing. But his career was brief as well as brilliant.
Hard to look past Thompkins for Cork I suppose.

McDonald in Mayo probably most people's choice from recent times. But Carney, Langan, Flanagan, Morley and others would have to be considered.
Purcell probably stands alone in Galway and anywhere else for that matter.
Gerry O Malley in Roscommon would push Earley. Ditto Packie McGarty and Mickey Martin in Leitrim. Eamonn O Hara in Sligo was as influential as Mickey Kearins. Kearins was a great, no doubt about it though.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:25:09 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 21, 2014, 10:21:39 PM

1. Jacko
2. Spillane
3. Moynihan
4. Maurice Fitz
5. Cooper

GRMA CT. Note to other contributors  ...see above...just don't say you're talking shite 5 Sams give me your alternatives.
Post by: Schkite on February 21, 2014, 10:25:53 PM
Hard to argue with Nudie alright.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:27:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2014, 10:23:37 PM

JBM not a bad shout from what I remember seeing. But his career was brief as well as brilliant.

McDonald in Mayo probably most people's choice from recent times. But Carney, Langan, Flanagan, Morley and others would have to be considered.
Gerry O Malley in Roscommon would push Earley. Ditto Packie McGarty and Mickey Martin in Leitrim. Eamonn O Hara in Sligo was as influential as Mickey Kearins. Kearins was a great, no doubt about it though.
Good stuff Moysider..now we're motoring. Wait till the Tyrone lads get back from the barn dances...then the crack will start ;)
Post by: moysider on February 21, 2014, 10:33:20 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:27:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2014, 10:23:37 PM

Good stuff Moysider..now we're motoring. Wait till the Tyrone lads get back from the barn dances...then the crack will start ;)

Yeah, most will want Peter The Great and who could blame them.
McKenna was a savage player too. Won All Stars at midfield, half forward and full forward if memory serves me correctly. And then there was Iggy Jones! Christ, this could take some time  ;D
Post by: stew on February 21, 2014, 10:47:50 PM
Johnny Corvan for me in relation to Armagh, I never seen jack  Bratten play but it was a great guess five Sam's.

Mo Fitz was the best Kerry player I ever saw and I thought it a disgrace the way they treated him at the end of his inter county career.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:53:02 PM
Quote from: stew on February 21, 2014, 10:47:50 PM
Johnny Corvan for me in relation to Armagh, I never seen jack  Bratten play but it was a great guess five Sam's.

Mo Fitz was the best Kerry player I ever saw and I thought it a disgrace the way they treated him at the end of his inter county career.

+1 on all counts. Big statement about Mo Fitz. Cant disagree with you. BUT Moynihan and all the Ó Sés would feature in my best evers for Kerry...among many others.Corvan was a superb player. Peter Loughran?? Big Joe??
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 21, 2014, 10:59:22 PM
Limiting it to players I've seen.

Antrim - JP O'Kane
Armagh - Martin McQuillan
Carlow - Johnny Nevin
Cavan - Jim Reilly
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Larry Tompkins
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Tony Boyle
Down - Greg Blaney
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Fermanagh - Barry Owens
Galway - Ja Fallon
Kerry - Maurice Fitzgerald
Kildare - Larry Tompkins
Kilkenny - Ned Byrne
Laois - Leo Turley
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - JP O'Kane
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Graham Geraghty
Monaghan - Kieran Hughes
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley
Sligo - Eamonn O'Hara
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Waterford - Brick Walsh
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Kevin O'Brien
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2014, 11:02:58 PM
For our Lovley neighbours it's hard to look beyond Emlyn Mulligan. Most skilled player in Connacht with vision only equalled by Gooch. If I could nab any player in the country for my team he'd be very near the top of the list.
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 21, 2014, 11:04:19 PM
Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Steven McDonnell
Carlow - Barney Hennessy
Cavan - Larry Reilly
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Larry Tompkins
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - Paddy Doherty
Dublin - Jimmy Keavney
Fermanagh - Barry Owens
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Jack O'Shea
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny -
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Emelyn Mulligan
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Paddy Keenan
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Martin O'Connell
Monaghan - Paul Finlay
Offaly - Matt Connor
Sligo - Eamonn O'Hara
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Waterford - John Mullane*
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn

Agree with quite a few of 5Sams picks, changed a few, had to resort to google for Carlow and left Kilkenny blank.

*Mullane played minor football for Waterford**

** I may have made that one up
Post by: moysider on February 21, 2014, 11:12:44 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 21, 2014, 10:59:22 PM

Antrim - JP O'Kane
Armagh - Martin McQuillan
Carlow - Johnny Nevin
Cavan - Jim Reilly
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Larry Tompkins
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Tony Boyle
Down - Greg Blaney
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Fermanagh - Barry Owens
Galway - Ja Fallon
Kildare - Larry Tompkins
Kilkenny - Ned Byrne
Laois - Leo Turley
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - JP O'Kane
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Graham Geraghty
Monaghan - Kieran Hughes
Offaly - Matt Connor
Sligo - Eamonn O'Hara
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Waterford - Brick Walsh
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Kevin O'Brien

Is that the prop?
Post by: trileacman on February 21, 2014, 11:38:32 PM
I'd be very tempted to go for Peter Canavan too.

Can I make an accusation about your list there too, and it is strongly reflected in the wider Irish psyche, alot of them whilst hugely talented didn't match that with success. It's as if we reminisce more fondly on the lads who pissed it away on drink, through injury or just never had the lads round them to finish the job. I'm pretty sure that if Canavan had not have won an All-Ireland in 03 he'd be on that list instead of Frank.

Again the others there, Matt Connor - struck down in his prime,
Jim McKeever - didn't get his All-Ireland,
Peter McGinnity - didn't get the recognition or plaudits of later players (McGrath/Owens),
John Doyle,
Tommy Murphy - always referred to "the best player never to win an All-Ireland",
Declan Browne,

Just a point I thought I'd make.

I would nearly say Cavanagh is at McGuigan's level, especially seeing him drag Tyrone around last year. He has the size, fielding, can score off both feet, has a dummy figured very well to match McGuigan (probably not exceed him though) and he is probably faster than McGuigan. Now I'm not saying that Cavanagh is the best player around at the minute (he's up there but a clear level off the best) but I think we wax too lyrically about our flawed heroes.

Ps: Would John Joe Reilly not out pip Gunner Brady? And I'd fairly rate Steven McDonnell a clear distance ahead of any of those Armagh bunch I seen.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 21, 2014, 11:57:03 PM
Larry Tompkins is a Kildare man.
Post by: ck on February 22, 2014, 12:06:48 AM
I was born in Fermanagh so I'd say PETER MCGINNITY
I have Belfast parents (Antrim and Down) so I'd say PADDY O'HARA and JAMES McCARTAN
I spent my teenage years in Sligo and will always say EAMON O'HARA
I now live in Dublin so will say PAUL CURRAN
I work between Dublin and Tyrone so I'll also add PETER CANAVAN
Post by: moysider on February 22, 2014, 12:13:06 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 21, 2014, 11:57:03 PM

That s right. And so is Shay Fahy. But Thompkins is stiill in many people's opinion Cork's best player in living memory. Cork unlikely to have won those AIs without them.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2014, 02:07:16 AM

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Moses Coffey was about the best Wicklow ever had.
Post by: thebandit on February 22, 2014, 02:21:53 AM

Antrim - cant think of one
Armagh - Oisin
Carlow - Brendan Murphy
Cavan - Big Dermot
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Tompkins
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - Mickey Linden
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Fermanagh - Marty McGrath
Galway - Joyce
Kerry - Tomás
Kildare - Dermot Earley
Kilkenny - ?
Laois - Beano as a minor
Leitrim - Mulligan
Limerick - The midfielder...... Can't think of his name
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Keenan
Mayo - McDonald
Meath - Giles
Monaghan - Tommy
Offaly - Niall McNamee
Roscommon - Frankie Dolan
Sligo - Eamonn O'Hara
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Waterford - Hurney
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Kevin O'Brien
Post by: seafoid on February 22, 2014, 07:47:37 AM
Quote from: trileacman on February 21, 2014, 11:38:32 PM
I'd be very tempted to go for Peter Canavan too.

Can I make an accusation about your list there too, and it is strongly reflected in the wider Irish psyche, alot of them whilst hugely talented didn't match that with success. It's as if we reminisce more fondly on the lads who pissed it away on drink, through injury or just never had the lads round them to finish the job. I'm pretty sure that if Canavan had not have won an All-Ireland in 03 he'd be on that list instead of Frank.

Again the others there, Matt Connor - struck down in his prime,
Jim McKeever - didn't get his All-Ireland,
Peter McGinnity - didn't get the recognition or plaudits of later players (McGrath/Owens),
John Doyle,
Tommy Murphy - always referred to "the best player never to win an All-Ireland",
Declan Browne,

Just a point I thought I'd make.

I would nearly say Cavanagh is at McGuigan's level, especially seeing him drag Tyrone around last year. He has the size, fielding, can score off both feet, has a dummy figured very well to match McGuigan (probably not exceed him though) and he is probably faster than McGuigan. Now I'm not saying that Cavanagh is the best player around at the minute (he's up there but a clear level off the best) but I think we wax too lyrically about our flawed heroes.

Ps: Would John Joe Reilly not out pip Gunner Brady? And I'd fairly rate Steven McDonnell a clear distance ahead of any of those Armagh bunch I seen.

Football is a team sport. If you restrict the criteria to all Ireland winners it means there are 150 players per decade who qualify.
And every all Ireland team has a passenger or two. Or even three.
In the hurling Michael O'Halloran was a back on the Clare team in 95. To say he was better than all the losers that played intercounty hurling in 95 would be insane.
Tyrone had some fabulous players in 03-05-08 but do they automatically trump every single player who ever put on the jersey going back 100 years.? 
Those boys brought recognition and kudos to Tyrone but the excellence was there in individual cases long before.
You need 3 or 4 stars to win an all Ireland .  If you only have 2 it doesn't mean the 2 fellas are less good than those that won.

I like that thing the Follower said - "they will be remembered by their people"
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 22, 2014, 08:02:19 AM
I think the point was that quite often players get more credit and built up for not playing and messing about during their career and a dedicated successful footballer. Canaan delivered time and time again for Tyrone over a long period of time. He helped inspire a log of young footballers in Tyrone in 95 and went on to help them win the all Ireland. Mcguigan was a brilliant footballer but didn't deliver often of wasn't available for long enough to make him the best in my opinion.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 22, 2014, 08:13:39 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on February 22, 2014, 08:02:19 AM
I think the point was that quite often players get more credit and built up for not playing and messing about during their career and a dedicated successful footballer. Canaan delivered time and time again for Tyrone over a long period of time. He helped inspire a log of young footballers in Tyrone in 95 and went on to help them win the all Ireland. Mcguigan was a brilliant footballer but didn't deliver often of wasn't available for long enough to make him the best in my opinion.

Exactly - if we are discussing Tyrone's best footballer, it has to be Canavan. He delivered nearly every time over a period spanning almost 15 years. McGuigan was a massive talent but didn't necessarily fulfill that talent in a Tyrone jersey over a consistent period of time to warrant being in the same bracket as Canavan. If we were discussing the greatest talent to come out of each county then that might be a different argument.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 22, 2014, 08:43:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 22, 2014, 12:13:06 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 21, 2014, 11:57:03 PM

That s right. And so is Shay Fahy. But Thompkins is stiill in many people's opinion Cork's best player in living memory. Cork unlikely to have won those AIs without them.

True but it states from your County Tompkins played for Cork he is from Kildare.
Post by: blanketattack on February 22, 2014, 12:35:52 PM
Have swapped a dozen times between Tomás Ó Sé, Maurice Fitz, Jack O'Shea, Mick O'Connell and Paddy Kennedy and from prioritizing greatest talent, most influential or most consistent. In the end going for Jack O'Shea as he was consistently brilliant in virtually every game for about 10 years winning player of the year an incredible 4 years. He had an advantage over Tomas Ó Sé in that a midfielder will have huge involvement in a game while Tomas would regularly have completely dominated his man, had a good few bursts upfield and it would be put down as a quiet or normal performance.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 22, 2014, 02:02:53 PM
Hell, Matt Connor the best player on this thread
Post by: Feckitt on February 22, 2014, 02:11:31 PM
Francie
Post by: Beantown on February 22, 2014, 02:19:33 PM
Tyrone - Canavan.
Post by: orangeman on February 22, 2014, 02:20:27 PM
The Bear.
Post by: Feckitt on February 22, 2014, 02:22:00 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 22, 2014, 02:02:53 PM
Hell, Matt Connor the best player on this thread
Did they ever make a Laochra Gael programme on Matt Connor?
Post by: 5 Sams on February 22, 2014, 04:20:37 PM
Yep about 10 years ago. No sign of it though online :( :(
Post by: seafoid on February 22, 2014, 04:23:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 22, 2014, 02:20:27 PM
The Bear.
He have it
Post by: Asal Mor on February 22, 2014, 04:45:54 PM
Galway - PJ
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2014, 05:59:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 21, 2014, 11:02:58 PM
For our Lovley neighbours it's hard to look beyond Emlyn Mulligan. Most skilled player in Connacht with vision only equalled by Gooch. If I could nab any player in the country for my team he'd be very near the top of the list.
Packy McGarty, Cathal Flynn or Mickey Martin would give him a run for his money any day.
Post by: Hardy on February 22, 2014, 06:54:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 22, 2014, 04:23:28 PM
The Bear.
He have it

I'd be a Lukey man meself.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on February 22, 2014, 07:22:56 PM
Canavan would be in my top 3 all time players, from an armagh man thats saying something. As a youngster i used to watch videos of him playing his movement both on and and off the ball was sublime his vision was as good as any and his finishing was the best.  We hear stories about the Frank Mcguigans and the Johnny Corvans but a definition of a true great in my eyes also includes length at the top and the ability to play with several generations/teams. a class act.

Armagh is a tough one, Mcgrane has a shout.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2014, 07:36:00 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on February 22, 2014, 04:45:54 PM
Galway - PJ

PJ in my lifetime certainly. I never saw Sean Purcell play but I know the older generation would say Purcell was the greatest. Full stop.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 07:49:35 PM
Surprised by two things.One that the greatest natural footballer ever produced, Paddy Moriarty hasn't been mentioned.and two,John Corvan has.Corvan was a player of outstanding ability who unfortunately never displayed it in a County Jersey, and was a major disappointment on the big occasions, ie All Ireland semi final in 82, NFL Final in 83 and the Ulster Final in 84 which was billed as a shoot out between him and Mc Guigan,and we know who won that one.I am struggling to recall even one outstanding game from John in a County Jersey. I wouldn't even have him near. Armagh's best ever team never mind best player.
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 07:54:23 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2014, 05:59:41 PM
Packy McGarty, Cathal Flynn or Mickey Martin would give him a run for his money any day.
Ah now Lar - poor oul Syfín is only 13. He wouldn't be aware of the existence of them lads.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2014, 08:15:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 07:54:23 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2014, 05:59:41 PM
Ah now Lar - poor oul Syfín is only 13. He wouldn't be aware of the existence of them lads.
Didn't know ye were twins! ;D

While I'm at it, Gerry O'Malley was the best Rossie I ever saw.
Post by: seafoid on February 22, 2014, 08:16:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 22, 2014, 06:54:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 22, 2014, 04:23:28 PM
The Bear.
He have it

I'd be a Lukey man meself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=041zVudSEhs
Post by: fearglasmor on February 22, 2014, 08:47:49 PM
Brian Mullins
Matt Connor
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 08:56:03 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 22, 2014, 08:15:58 PM

A lot of the old timers swore by Bill Carlos but I think Gerry shades it as he played for 17 years and often with very poor teams.
Carlos went of to America while young so only played for a few years and was surrounded by excellent players.
Carney or Langan best of yours? McDonald or Joe Corcoran in the running?
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 09:12:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 08:56:03 PM

A lot of the old timers swore by Bill Carlos but I think Gerry shades it as he played for 17 years and often with very poor teams.
Carlos went of to America while young so only played for a few years and was surrounded by excellent players.

I suppose it'll blow you mind to learn 20 years is longer than 17 years  :-*

Just because the answer to this question is obvious doesn't make it any less true. O'Malley may come close but Dermot was a leader without equal not just in Roscommon GAA history. It sets him apart from the other greats when you need to choose a number one.
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 09:31:24 PM
Taking my cue from the title of the thread - O'Malley was a much better footballer than Dermot. FULL STOP Gasúinín.
Now have your batheen and go to bed.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 10:25:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 09:31:24 PM
Taking my cue from the title of the thread - O'Malley was a much better footballer than Dermot. FULL STOP Gasúinín.

So you're saying to make O'Malley number one you have to divorce other elements that make a great footballer, their leadership, attitude in training, how much team-mates responded to them. Makes zero sense.

You only need to ask any of Dermot's team-mates how much he meant to them to know he was the central cog in the whole machine, in play and emotionally. O'Malley by all accounts was a great leader too but it's hard to argue Dermot wasn't the most inspirational player Roscommon football has ever seen. There was an eloquence to Dermot's leadership that few men in any field possess.

You might heard, but he could play a bit of ball too. I know which player I'd fancy if they were running at a defence in their pomp.
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 10:36:27 PM
In my time:

1. Canavan
2. Cavanagh
3. Jordan

I didn't see enough of Frank. McKenna was pivotal to his side but Sean won an All-Ireland final by grabbing it by the knackers.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 10:56:27 PM
Ach Shane,didn't you go to school with Iggy Jones?

Moriarity was the only Armagh player in 1977 that wouldn't have looked out of place on the Dublin or Kerry team of that era,a truly great player,who was consistently good in a county jersey for 12 long years 72 to 84),plus wasn't out of place at either half back or full forward.By a mile the best player ever to wear an Armagh jersey
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 11:10:44 PM
The old people would tell us The Gallant John Joe was the greatest ever Cavan player. Of course I never saw him play. Probably Dermot McCabe or Stephen King was the best Cavan player in my time.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 22, 2014, 11:16:01 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 11:10:44 PM
The old people would tell us The Gallant John Joe was the greatest ever Cavan player. Of course I never saw him play. Probably Dermot McCabe or Stephen King was the best Cavan player in my time.

Many old folk would contend that his brother Tom was the better footballer.
Post by: thejuice on February 22, 2014, 11:17:06 PM
Leitrim - Aughavas' finest surely

(http://cdn2.independent.ie/migration_catalog/article28827912.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/4c54c0ab-0ec2-446b-aba1-4ce9f30aabcd.jpg)
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 23, 2014, 12:07:30 AM

It's Gerry for me alright. Like you say, he played for 17 years and most of the Ross and Connacht sides he played on were piss poor. Dermot was an exceptional player and sound skin to boot but he was a member of a very good side and I often wondered how he'd make out if he play with some of the duds  O'Malley was stuck with.
I never saw Carlos play or heard much about him so I'm not qualified to judge his ability.
Same as Gerry, Ciaran Mac played on some awful bleddy teams whereas Carney and Langan were on the team that won two All Irelands so I'd have to give him the nod.
Post by: Syferus on February 23, 2014, 12:16:04 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 23, 2014, 12:07:30 AM

It's Gerry for me alright. Like you say, he played for 17 years and most of the Ross and Connacht sides he played on were piss poor. Dermot was an exceptional player and sound skin to boot but he was a member of a very good side and I often wondered how he'd make out if he play with some of the duds  O'Malley was stuck with.
I never saw Carlos play or heard much about him so I'm not qualified to judge his ability.
Same as Gerry, Ciaran Mac played on some awful bleddy teams whereas Carney and Langan were on the team that won two All Irelands so I'd have to give him the nod.

O'Malley played from 1947 to 1964, in other words he played with many of the greats of the 40's, made the 1962 AI final and won a total of five Connacht senior titles. Let's not over-egg it - O'Malley wasn't the lone diamond in those teams and he could have had the misfortune to have been born in a far worse era for Roscommon football.

I'm being put in the unenviable position of questioning the status of one of my footballing heroes but I really do feel on this topic alot people try to be cute and avoid the obvious choice because it's too simple and doesn't stand out. Dermot was the sort of player who could be great in an era without much of any change - could anyone say the same about O'Malley? Physically alone he wouldn't be able to match up with Dermot's power and exceptional fitness.

For all of O'Malley's mazy runs from HB if you ask his fellow backs he always had that great HB tendency; running up the field with the ball, losing it and having his fellow backs scrambling backwards with a free man running at them.

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF604/436832.jpg)
(Dermot aged 37 feckin' years old, no less)

(http://historical.glynnsphotography.com/img/s3/v39/p232830321-4.jpg)
Post by: babarino on February 23, 2014, 01:26:36 AM
Antrim - Dunno
Armagh - Joe Keanan - he was like a battering ram in the forward line
Carlow - Dunno
Cavan - Don't care (but Cian Makey is good)
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Not O'Halpin
Derry - Bradley (the less obnoxious one)
Donegal - Daniel
Down - Mickey Linden
Dublin - Barney Rock
Galway - Padraig Joyce
Kerry - Jack O'Shea
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Dunno
Laois - Dunno
Leitrim - Dunno
Limerick - Dunno
Longford - Dunno but your man Paul Barden sounds familiar
Louth - Paddy Keenan
Mayo - Dunno
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Hughes - a Maradonna when we didn't have much else, but we've certainly come on. Understand why some are suggesting Finlay and Hughes.
Offaly - Matt Connor
Sligo - Dunno
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Waterford - Dunno
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - this one has me snookered too
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2014, 07:32:31 AM
Quote from: babarino on February 23, 2014, 01:26:36 AM
Antrim - Dunno
Armagh - Joe Keanan - he was like a battering ram in the forward line
Carlow - Dunno
Cavan - Don't care (but Cian Makey is good)
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Not O'Halpin
Derry - Bradley (the less obnoxious one)
Donegal - Daniel
Down - Mickey Linden
Dublin - Barney Rock
Galway - Padraig Joyce
Kerry - Jack O'Shea
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Dunno
Laois - Dunno
Leitrim - Dunno
Limerick - Dunno
Longford - Dunno but your man Paul Barden sounds familiar
Louth - Paddy Keenan
Mayo - Dunno
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Hughes - a Maradonna when we didn't have much else, but we've certainly come on. Understand why some are suggesting Finlay and Hughes.
Offaly - Matt Connor
Sligo - Dunno
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Waterford - Dunno
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - this one has me snookered too

You Dunno much.
Post by: seafoid on February 23, 2014, 08:05:42 AM
Laochra Gael is another way of looking at it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laochra_Gael

Louth - Dermot O'Brien
Cavan - John Wilson
Kerry - Paidi, Pat Spillane, the Bomber, Jack O Shea, Mikey Sheehy, Seamus Moynihan 
Donegal - wee Martin
Down - Paddy Doherty , Mickey Linden
Armagh -  Oisin
Kildare- Glen Ryan
Roscommon- Dermot Earley
Galway  - Enda Colleran, Ja, Purcell, PJ , Mattie McDonagh, De Paor
Dublin- Jimmy Keaveney , Charlie Redmond , Tony Hanahoe
Leitrim- Colm O'Rourke
Offaly- Matt Connor , Tony McTague
Cork- Billy Morgan, Dinny Allen  , Ray Cummins, Teddy McCarthy
Meath - Peter McDermott , Mick Lyons, Liam Hayes
Tyrone- Frank McGuigan , Cormac McAnallen , Canavan
Sligo - Mickey Kearns
Monaghan - Nudie
Derry - Brolly , Anthony Tohill
Mayo - Willie Joe Padden
Tipp - Declan Browne

Post by: rrhf on February 23, 2014, 05:00:48 PM
Bets footballer from my county and Ill include Derry, Armagh and most others was Peter the Great Canavan. 
Post by: trileacman on February 23, 2014, 05:25:00 PM
Surprised Nudie rules the roost over Eamon Mc Aneneny in Monaghan, thought he'd at least get a mention.
Post by: ross4life on February 23, 2014, 07:02:04 PM
Threads like this our most famous son Dermot Earley will nearly always get our only mention, fair fcuks to Lar,Rosfan for giving O'Malley a mention but its a shame the likes of Aidan Brady,Harry Keegan,Pat Lindsay,Danny Murray,Gerry Connellan,Eamonn Boland,Jimmy Murray,Tony McManus,Bill Carlos,Phelim Murray etc get ignored even though all were outstanding footballers.
Post by: Syferus on February 23, 2014, 07:36:52 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 23, 2014, 07:02:04 PM
Threads like this our most famous son Dermot Earley will nearly always get our only mention, fair fcuks to Lar,Rosfan for giving O'Malley a mention but its a shame the likes of Aidan Brady,Harry Keegan,Pat Lindsay,Danny Murray,Gerry Connellan,Eamonn Boland,Jimmy Murray,Tony McManus,Bill Carlos,Phelim Murray etc get ignored even though all were outstanding footballers.

Keegan was mentioned only days ago in a similar thread and O'Malley is hardly an obscure figure in GAA lore, Ross.

See no mention of Francie in the above either..
Post by: timmyot501 on February 23, 2014, 07:41:36 PM
Nudie with 3 all stars over ten years from 79 to 88, one as a corner back and 2 as corner forward is going to get the farney nod every time. The 80s team had some other great players like mceneney mccarville David Byrne the Murrays ray mccarron and big Eamonn murphy. But I think nudie will always get the nod as the best of that era
Post by: Schkite on February 23, 2014, 08:27:59 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 23, 2014, 05:25:00 PM
Surprised Nudie rules the roost over Eamon Mc Aneneny in Monaghan, thought he'd at least get a mention.

This topic may cause some debate in other counties, but Nudie will always be a clear winner when it comes to discussing Monaghans greatest player.

Had a good laugh at the post saying Kieran Hughes was the best Monaghan player they'd seen. Is last year's Ulster final the only Monaghan game they've seen? Even at that I thought Dessie was better.
Post by: ross4life on February 23, 2014, 09:00:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 23, 2014, 07:36:52 PM

Keegan was mentioned only days ago in a similar thread and O'Malley is hardly an obscure figure in GAA lore, Ross.

Never said he was & not the point i was making. Francie as in Grehan? he would make it onto our best team of the last 20 years however i doubt he would be in the bracket as those named above.
Post by: Syferus on February 23, 2014, 09:14:54 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 23, 2014, 09:00:25 PM

Never said he was & not the point i was making. Francie as in Grehan? he would make it onto our best team of the last 20 years however i doubt he would be in the bracket as those named above.

Francie was very versatile. If you were making a real team he'd easily make the first 15 because he could be a quality player in six or eight positions and you'd need to be switching players if something is going wrong.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 23, 2014, 09:27:39 PM
Always thought Derek Dougan was a very good roscommon player, or was the long range point against mayo in the 91 final the reason i remember so much when thinking of roscommon players, still have that game on tape, might point
Post by: Syferus on February 23, 2014, 09:34:27 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 23, 2014, 09:27:39 PM
Always thought Derek Dougan was a very good roscommon player, or was the long range point against mayo in the 91 final the reason i remember so much when thinking of roscommon players, still have that game on tape, might point

Derek suffered a lot of injuries after '91, never got to showcase his talents properly. Was still lining out for Castlerea up until around ten years ago.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on February 23, 2014, 11:59:34 PM
Surely Kevin O'Brien or Leighton Glynn for Wicklow, in my tiem anyway.

JD a fair call for Kildare though couldn't argue if someone went with Glenn Ryan. Nuckser probably more talented than both.
Post by: trileacman on February 24, 2014, 12:53:42 AM
Quote from: Schkite on February 23, 2014, 08:27:59 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 23, 2014, 05:25:00 PM

This topic may cause some debate in other counties, but Nudie will always be a clear winner when it comes to discussing Monaghans greatest player.

Had a good laugh at the post saying Kieran Hughes was the best Monaghan player they'd seen. Is last year's Ulster final the only Monaghan game they've seen? Even at that I thought Dessie was better.

Yeah even with the excuse of "in my time" anyone over the ages of 15 would have to give the nod to Tommy Freeman who achieved alot.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 24, 2014, 01:23:47 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on February 23, 2014, 11:59:34 PM
JD a fair call for Kildare though couldn't argue if someone went with Glenn Ryan. Nuckser probably more talented than both.

I think Glenn and Johnny were the only two of our most talented players of the last 30 years or so who reached their true potential in a Kildare jersey.

Nuxer was injured after the Leinster Final in 98 and was then lost to emigration when he should have been at his peak. He was the most naturally talented Kildare footballer I have seen apart from Martin Lynch who was almost unplayable as a midfielder when he was in the right mood. He won an All Star at midfield as a 20 year old. I don't think he ever scaled those heights again afterwards because we had to make a forward out of him where he was never as influential. 

Cork saw Larry's best years rather than Kildare. He never got a chance to shine on a poor Kildare team in the eighties but could have made a big difference on the team during Micko's first stint in the early nineties. Fahy likewise.

Dermot Earley probably only had two injury free years in his entire career and won an All Star in both of those years.

As consistently excellent as Johnny has been for 14 years I would have to go with Glenn as the best Kildare footballer I have seen. I think Glenn was one of the best players in his position of his generation but I'm not sure I could say the same about Johnny. Micko said that Glenn's display against Laois in 97 was the greatest performance from a centre half back that he had ever seen in Croke Park. That's good enough for me.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 24, 2014, 08:55:24 AM
QuoteLongford - Paul Barden

Or Dessie Barry?  Or Sean Donnelly?
Post by: Club Rossa on February 24, 2014, 09:22:45 AM
You can make a very strong case for both McGuigan and Canavan.Peter contributed more to Tyrone's cause over the years.Frank spent a good few years in the States but for sheer footballing ability I would say Frank.
I met Micheal O'Muireheartaigh a few years ago and asked him if there was one place left in the full forward line who would he pick at no.15,Frank or Peter.He replied"Thats an easy one to answer.It would be Peter as Frank would be wearing 14"
He covered himself well with that answer lol.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 24, 2014, 09:51:45 AM
My take on this. I think we did something similar a while ago, but I can't remember what I said then :) Only lads I can remember seeing, so no Mick O'Connell, Sean O'Neill or Sean Purcell etc.

Fermanagh - Peter McGinnity
Antrim - Kevin Brady
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Armagh - Oisin McConville
Down - Mickey Linden
Cavan - Stephen King
Donegal - Karl Lacey
Monaghan - Nudie Hughes

Louth - Paddy Keenan
Meath - Mick Lyons
Dublin - Bernard Brogan
Wicklow - Kevin O'Brien
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Carlow - Brendan Murphy
Kilkenny -
Laois - Joe Higgins
Offaly - Matt Connor
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Longford - Dessie Barry

Cork - Anthony Lynch
Tipperary - Declan Brown
Waterford - Gary Hurney
Clare - Odhran O'Dwyer
Limerick - John Galvin

Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Mayo - Ciaran McDonald
Leitrim - Emlyn Mulligan
Galway - Pauric Joyce
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2014, 04:34:48 PM
Derek Dougan was a soccer player.
Derek Duggan was a Ros player who was magic at 19 but injuries and playing on poor teams meant he faded away.
As for Francheen Grehan being in the running for best ever Ros player - even for Syfín that's some sh1te.
( don't take it personally Freddie- I always admired your spirit -but let's have realism)
Post by: Syferus on February 24, 2014, 05:42:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2014, 04:34:48 PM
Derek Dougan was a soccer player.
Derek Duggan was a Ros player who was magic at 19 but injuries and playing on poor teams meant he faded away.
As for Francheen Grehan being in the running for best ever Ros player - even for Syfín that's some sh1te.
( don't take it personally Freddie- I always admired your spirit -but let's have realism)

You seem to have mistake 'best Roscommon player' with the 'best Roscommon team'. Back to school, or are you out on the rag?
Post by: Rossfan on February 24, 2014, 10:31:46 PM

Where does it say team in that y'eejitín
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 24, 2014, 11:40:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 24, 2014, 09:51:45 AM
My take on this. I think we did something similar a while ago, but I can't remember what I said then :) Only lads I can remember seeing, so no Mick O'Connell, Sean O'Neill or Sean Purcell etc.

Antrim - Kevin Brady
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Down - Mickey Linden
Cavan - Stephen King
Donegal - Karl Lacey
Monaghan - Nudie Hughes

Louth - Paddy Keenan
Meath - Mick Lyons
Dublin - Bernard Brogan
Wicklow - Kevin O'Brien
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Carlow - Brendan Murphy
Kilkenny -
Laois - Joe Higgins
Offaly - Matt Connor
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Longford - Dessie Barry

Cork - Anthony Lynch
Tipperary - Declan Brown
Waterford - Gary Hurney
Clare - Odhran O'Dwyer
Limerick - John Galvin

Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Mayo - Ciaran McDonald
Leitrim - Emlyn Mulligan
Galway - Pauric Joyce

If you're old enough to remember Tohill, Linden etc, I assume you saw Tompkins, Steven O'Brien, Niall Cahalane play? Not jumping on you or anything, but can't see how you would pick Lynch over those 3 at least?
Post by: downjim on February 25, 2014, 12:39:16 AM
Although they never won all Ireland's the two naturally gifted players I have ever seen playing in Down were Shorty and Benny.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2014, 09:44:41 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 24, 2014, 11:40:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 24, 2014, 09:51:45 AM

Antrim - Kevin Brady
Tyrone - Peter Canavan
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Down - Mickey Linden
Cavan - Stephen King
Donegal - Karl Lacey
Monaghan - Nudie Hughes

Louth - Paddy Keenan
Meath - Mick Lyons
Dublin - Bernard Brogan
Wicklow - Kevin O'Brien
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Carlow - Brendan Murphy
Kilkenny -
Laois - Joe Higgins
Offaly - Matt Connor
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Longford - Dessie Barry

Cork - Anthony Lynch
Tipperary - Declan Brown
Waterford - Gary Hurney
Clare - Odhran O'Dwyer
Limerick - John Galvin

Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Mayo - Ciaran McDonald
Leitrim - Emlyn Mulligan
Galway - Pauric Joyce

If you're old enough to remember Tohill, Linden etc, I assume you saw Tompkins, Steven O'Brien, Niall Cahalane play? Not jumping on you or anything, but can't see how you would pick Lynch over those 3 at least?

I never got the Larry Tompkins thing. A good player, but I never really enjoyed him as much as other people. Steven O'Brien is a good shout alright, but I just thought Anthony Lynch was a great player for Cork teams that probably never won as much as they should have. It's all subjective I suppose, but if I was picking a team I'd have Anthony Lynch on it before I'd have Tompkins. I might review on the Stephen O'Brien one alright. Niall Cahalane I wouldn't have put in with the others at all.
Post by: EC Unique on February 25, 2014, 10:16:47 AM
Can't understand this talk of McGuigan better than Canavan? Canavan IMHO is the best that has ever played the game never mind Tyrone. This is no insult to McGuigan as he was quality but not better than PTG.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2014, 10:19:57 AM
I think Peter Canavan was a great player, no doubt, but I don't think I'd call him the best to ever play the game. It's hard to compare backs and forwards, midfielders and backs etc etc, I think it's really only fair to compare in the same position. Even in the forwards though I can think of a couple that I would put just ahead of Canavan, great and all as he was.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 25, 2014, 10:24:08 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 25, 2014, 10:19:57 AM
I think Peter Canavan was a great player, no doubt, but I don't think I'd call him the best to ever play the game. It's hard to compare backs and forwards, midfielders and backs etc etc, I think it's really only fair to compare in the same position. Even in the forwards though I can think of a couple that I would put just ahead of Canavan, great and all as he was.

what forwards would you put ahead of canavan?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2014, 10:34:38 AM
Maurice Fitzgerald, Gooch, Matt Connor, John Egan, maybe even the likes of Kevin O'Brien and Dessie Barry. if they were from a different county, would have gotten more notice and more big games. Talent wise those two were lethal as well. Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of Peter Canavan, and in his prime it was basically himself and Gooch that were the marquee forwards, before Brogan came good, and slightly ahead of Declan O'Sullivan at his best (a different type of player).

Post by: orangeman on February 25, 2014, 10:50:16 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 25, 2014, 10:16:47 AM
Can't understand this talk of McGuigan better than Canavan? Canavan IMHO is the best that has ever played the game never mind Tyrone. This is no insult to McGuigan as he was quality but not better than PTG.

All a matter of opinion and debate.

Mc Guigan didn't even work at his game and look how good he was.
Had Frank been around today and had the benefit of modern day training regime, nutrition, diet, strength and conditioning etc etc, it's scary to think of the type of player he'd have been such was the natural raw talent that he possessed.

The same would apply to a good few others of that era it is fair to say as well.

Peter was an incredible player as well. He worked hard at it and trained and practiced at length.

So it's hard to say who was best given the different eras.

I know who had the most natural raw talent.

O'Muireachartaigh put Canavan in the corner and Frank in the middle.

Imagine had Mc Guigan been in the middle feeding Canavan instead of Canavan having to win his own ball before finishing ?.

Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2014, 10:51:59 AM
Frank McGuigan taught me the dummy solo, I saw it on the Sunday Game that day he scored 0-11 (I think) against Armagh (I think). I just remember thinking it was class. I used it a lot over the years and I have to say it got me a fair few scores. Thanks Frank.
Post by: orangeman on February 25, 2014, 10:58:31 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 25, 2014, 10:51:59 AM
Frank McGuigan taught me the dummy solo, I saw it on the Sunday Game that day he scored 0-11 (I think) against Armagh (I think). I just remember thinking it was class. I used it a lot over the years and I have to say it got me a fair few scores. Thanks Frank.

You're welcome.  ;)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 25, 2014, 11:02:14 AM
Quote from: orangeman on February 25, 2014, 10:50:16 AM

Had Frank been around today and had the benefit of modern day training regime, nutrition, diet, strength and conditioning etc etc, it's scary to think of the type of player he'd have been such was the natural raw talent that he possessed.

The same would apply to a good few others of that era it is fair to say as well.

Peter was an incredible player as well. He worked hard at it and trained and practiced at length.

Imagine had Mc Guigan been in the middle feeding Canavan instead of Canavan having to win his own ball before finishing ?.

i take your point about mcguigans natural ability, but for me Canavan delivered for tyrone pretty much every time he set foot on the pitch and over a sustained period of time.
As well as his ability he was a leader and set the standard for those young lads of that 97-98 minor time coming into the senior ranks.
For me , he is hands down Tyrones greatest player, although mcguigan was certainly special
Post by: nrico2006 on February 25, 2014, 11:19:44 AM
All that is ever really said about McGuigan is the 11 points against Armagh.  How good were Armagh then anyway?  How many more games did Canavan contribute as much if not more?  I'd say he did it alot.

I think we all forget how good Canavan was.  You always tend to remember the player as he was near the end, and while Canavan was still brilliant in the noughties he was untouchable in the mid 90s.  There are a few videos of him on youtube that simply amaze me when I watch them again.  Countless examples of him fetching a ball, going on Messi-esque runs around defender after defender and scoring points galore.  The Gooch is one of the all time greats, but neither him or McGuigan were as good as Canavan was at his best.
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 25, 2014, 11:24:41 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 25, 2014, 11:19:44 AM
All that is ever really said about McGuigan is the 11 points against Armagh.  How good were Armagh then anyway?  How many more games did Canavan contribute as much if not more?  I'd say he did it alot.

I think we all forget how good Canavan was.  You always tend to remember the player as he was near the end, and while Canavan was still brilliant in the noughties he was untouchable in the mid 90s.  There are a few videos of him on youtube that simply amaze me when I watch them again.  Countless examples of him fetching a ball, going on Messi-esque runs around defender after defender and scoring points galore.  The Gooch is one of the all time greats, but neither him or McGuigan were as good as Canavan was at his best.

I'm not taking away from how good Canavan was, he caused Derry all sorts of bother until Sean Marty came on the scene :) What you fail to point out is that there were no blanket defences in the early/mid 90's. The Gooch would have ran riot had he been around in that period. However it should be also noted that Kerry werent as strong then.
Post by: under the bar on February 25, 2014, 11:31:37 AM
A testimony as to how good Canavan was is that men used to drive up regularly from Cork and Kerry to watch Errigal Ciaran league matches just to witness the little maestro in action!   
Post by: Main Street on February 25, 2014, 01:45:31 PM

1. Jacko
2. Spillane
3. Moynihan
4. Maurice Fitz
5. Cooper

I realise you are spoilt for choice down there, but is Micko excluded because he was before your time or you rate Jacko above him, having seen Micko in the 1960's?
Post by: EC Unique on February 25, 2014, 02:20:01 PM

Canavan scored 11 points for Tyrone in a senior Championship game as well! Happened to be an All-Ireland final.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 25, 2014, 02:50:12 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 25, 2014, 02:20:01 PM

Canavan scored 11 points for Tyrone in a senior Championship game as well! Happened to be an All-Ireland final.

That jumps out but how many were from play.  In saying that, a lot of Canavans frees in those days were ones he won himself and were chances he was likely to score from prior to being fouled.

What were his biggest tallies for Tyrone?  What did he get in the U-21 Final v Kerry?
Post by: EC Unique on February 25, 2014, 02:52:24 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 25, 2014, 10:50:16 AM

He would also come against much better defending!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 02:54:18 PM
Have to say I disagree strongly on a few things...

1. Tompkins - In the AI final of 1988 (if you can find it somewhere.) In the drawn game Tompkins gives a performance that only Maurice Fitz in 1997 and Joyce in 2001 come close to equalling in my time watching finals. He was majestic. Absolutely dominated the game against a very good Meath team. Came into midfield fielding ball, got forward and kicked some massive scores aswell. He was absolutely brilliant for those 4 years 87-90, winning 3 Allstars and should have got the 4th probably aswell. His profile will have suffered a bit because after 1990 Cork slipped massively, caught on the hop by us in 1991, well beaten in 1992 and average thereafter for a few years. I hated the man as a young fella but he was absolute class.

2. Canavan - I would put him on a pedestal with Maurice Fitz and Gooch as the 3 best forwards I've seen. Stevie O'Neill was as talented as them in spurts, but not on same level due to inconsistency and unfortunate injuries. You could have arguments (and I have had many!) over who was better, but I'd rather just agree that they were 3 marvellous players to watch..slightly different the 3 of them, but brilliant in their own ways.
Fitz would just glide past people (sometimes forgotten he was a big man and played midfield a fair bit) and then with a languid flash of the boot would swing scores over from any angle.
Canavan would throw 4 dummy solos, ship 3 kicks in the ankles and still kick a score with either foot.
Gooch, would throw 3 defenders off course with one movement of his hands, swing over scores with either foot or throw cross field passes to team mates with ease.
All different styles, but all great to watch.

Matt Connor, I've only seen footage of, but was obviously an excellent player before his career ending accident. Pity we didn't get to see more of him.
Egan just beat fellas with raw power, the man was a tank! He could finish with both feet of course and threw a lovely dummy aswell. Amazing to think what the likes of him COULD have done with modern training, but we'll never know. Like some other sportsmen, John was also unfortunately never playing at his full potential as he had a serious drinking problem which contributed to his sad passing at a young age. Indeed 3 of the great Kerry team have left us all in their mid to early 50's.

Sorry, rambled a bit, but basically just think Fitz/Gooch/Canavan in no order are on a different plain to any forwards I've seen play the game.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 02:58:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 25, 2014, 01:45:31 PM

1. Jacko
2. Spillane
3. Moynihan
4. Maurice Fitz
5. Cooper

I realise you are spoilt for choice down there, but is Micko excluded because he was before your time or you rate Jacko above him, having seen Micko in the 1960's?

Mick O'Connell? Way before my time. To me though, you can't compare football back in those days with the modern game as its not fair or equal...BUT, in my mind, Mick O'Connell was a great fielder, great free taker, yes..but couldn't compare to Jack O'Shea or Darragh in terms of overall skill. I mean I know it was rare at that time to be two footed, but when kicking with the left foot Micko just threw the ball up with his right hand and hoofed it..in the modern game he would be blocked/dispossessed multiple times trying that.

It isn't fair comparing anyone from that era like I said, different game altogether, but won't hear of any argument that O'Connell was better than Jacko personally. Have war with the grandfather over this all the time..and thats before we get into talking about Paddy Kennedy!
Post by: mad tan on February 25, 2014, 03:00:09 PM
Every one has their own favourite player. From my own County Paul Barden is up there with the best. But Dessie Barry and Frank McNamee form the 80s. Going further back to the 60s Jim Hannify,  Sean Murray, Jimmy Flynn and Bobby Burns can not be ingored
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 25, 2014, 03:06:04 PM
This thread should be closed page 7 and no mention of Larry Reilly. 
Post by: nrico2006 on February 25, 2014, 03:39:00 PM
Stephen O'Neill is the player that could have been up there if his career hadn't been decimated with injury.  He rose to prominence at an early age but University committments etc curtailed his involvement in 2003, although he came on to kick 2 points that took Tyrone home.  In 2005 he had a summer no player has matched since.  He was untouchable that year and in my time watching football there has been no player better at scoring off either foot.  Unfortunately, the beginning of 2006 saw the start of the saerious knee and hamstring injuries that were to affect him for the rest of his career.  He still had a lot of good moments, but to be honest was never the same player again due to training restrictions and long term impact that the injuries had on his speed and agility. 
Post by: seafoid on February 25, 2014, 03:55:42 PM

Frank McGuigan was away in the States before 84 and he had a car crash that ended his career shortly afterwards

This song was written about people like him
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsNTmjlf1vI

Canavan was sensible but Frank showed him the way

Kieran Shannon's article on Frank McGuigan, printed in the Sunday Tribune on 21 September 2003 and reproduced here, has won this year's McNamee award for the best GAA article in a national newspaper.

The rise, fall and rise again of Tyrone's greatest player Brian McGuigan's father Frank is a true legend of the game, despite a career overshadowed by alcoholism A boy goes to a match with his father. It's in Clones, the 1984 Ulster final, his own Tyrone playing Armagh. It leaves him mesmerised. At full-forward for Tyrone is Frank McGuigan, the man just back from America. It's as if he's never been away. Armagh put three men on him and it makes no difference. Eleven times the ball is played into him, 11 times he scores. Five with his right, five with his left, one with his fist. The 13 year-old goes home to Glencull that night. He makes a decision. He wants to be a two-footed player. He wants to be Frank McGuigan. So he hits the local pitch and starts kicking ball after ball over thea posts. A few weeks later, a video of the match is floating around Tyrone. His father gets it for him. The boy studies it "three to 70 times". He keeps going to that pitch in Glencull, working on his left, his right, his dummy solo. Nineteen years later, that same boy kicks 11 points in an Ulster final. He's captain of his team the same day. When he collects the cup, he thanks his father who has just passed away for bringing him to Clones all those years ago. Peter Canavan never played underage club football. He didn't have to. A vision of Frank McGuigan was enough.
"'84, yeah. Ach, I did rightly but I was past my best at that stage. It was a thing I never got too excited about, to be honest, football. I always took it as something that you had or you hadn't. I wasn't prepared to work with it like. I could drink on a Saturday night and go out and play on the Sunday and it wouldn't seem to bother me. I wish I had been about today when I'd have known the importance of winning an All Ireland; I could have made a fortune out of it. In our time winning Ulster was the big thing. Like, f**k it after that. Because we drank and we drank and we drank. Especially me. I try to preach to the young boys now, OEFuck the drink.' I'm five years not drinking now and I'm the happiest I've ever been. I wouldn't have what I have with Brian and the kids if I hadn't done something. But see me there when I was drinking? I wouldn't have cared if the house was on fire. "Looking back, I'll never understand why I drank after the accident. I sometimes wonder if I hadn't got hurtS That's my one regret, that I let myself crash. When Brian and the boys were starting out in that school field back there, I couldn't go down with them. I'm not talking about coaching them like, I mean just kicking around with them. But then I probably would have been too busy drinking anyway. I might go without it for six months, then drink for three weeks. And I mean three weeks of pure f**king drink. Christ, you talk about George Best!S"
In Ulster football, Frank McGuigan is George Best; either the best player you've seen or the best you've never seen. Damien Barton says possibly the greatest privilege in his career was to come on for Derry in a McKenna Cup game in Cookstown and be on the same pitch as Frank McGuigan; Barton has won an All Ireland. Barton's old coach, Eamon Coleman, would cross the county bounds just to see McGuigan play. Only Mick O'Connell and Jim McKeever, Coleman reckons, could catch a ball as well as McGuigan. It was as if he was floating in the air, a skill McGuigan himself puts down to his parents' house in Ardboe; it mightn't have had any electricity, but it had a roof which he'd throw a tennis ball onto time and time again. Noel McGinn, who played with McGuigan in that famous Ulster final in 1984, swears that in one under-21 game against Cavan in Dungannon, a pile of players were around the square waiting for this high ball to come in when McGuigan just hung in the air, took it down with one hand and waltzed out with it. Mickey Harte played with the Tyrone minor team which McGuigan captained to an Ulster title in 1972. McGuigan, he says, was the most versatile and gifted player he has ever seen. He could catch a ball as if he had never left the ground. He could point with either foot. And he had that dummy solo. Harte maintains it should be called the McGuigan dummy. He's seen plenty of players, from Tony McManus to Canavan, perfect it since McGuigan. No one had even tried it before McGuigan. Martin McHugh can appreciate that. He played with McGuigan in the 1984 Railway Cup final. That day McGuigan had his back to goal and made this swivel with his hips which Connacht's Stephen Kinneavy bought completely. That goal won Ulster the Railway Cup. "I'd never seen a move like it before," says McHugh, "and I've never seen anything like it since." In Tyrone, they hadn't seen anything like him either. By the time he was 16, he already had legions of grown men who'd go anywhere in the county just to see him play. One day they went to see Ardboe against Carrickmore in the championship. There was a strong breeze that day. In the first half, Ardboe were playing with it, so they put McGuigan centre-forward where he ran up a big score to give Ardboe a considerable lead. In the second half they moved him to centre-back to defend it. He did. Sixteen year-olds weren't meant to do that against Carrickmore. Seventeen year-olds weren't meant to destroy Bellaghy either. That's what McGuigan did though in one Ulster club championship game. Coleman reckons that it was as good a display from midfield as the one McGuigan gave from full-forward against Armagh in '84. McGuigan himself thinks it was even better.
And so it continued. By the time he was 18 he had captained the Tyrone minors to the Ulster title and come on for the seniors the same day. By the time he was 19 he had once again been up the steps in Clones, this time to claim the title for the seniors. By the time he was 23 he had already been a four-time All Star replacement. He was a legend. He was also an alcoholic. The two went hand in hand. Frank McGuigan didn't have to buy a drink. Everyone loved his affable manner and everyone loved to say they bought Frank McGuigan a drink. After a match he'd be having a whiskey, when he'd look around and there would be another 10 glasses around him. Some were concerned. Jody O'Neill, McGuigan's old friend and county coach, says that in 1973, the same year McGuigan inspired Tyrone to the senior and under-21 Ulster titles, the county board told O'Neill to cut McGuigan. O'Neill, the county manager, said that if McGuigan went, so would he. Drink didn't seem to affect McGuigan on the pitch. The Saturday night before an All-Ireland under-21 semi-final in Galway, supporters found McGuigan lying drunk on a pavement; he was Tyrone's best player the next day. He had a habit of that. Johnny Hughes of Galway tells a story about the man he reckons was the greatest player and character he ever came across. One year on an All Star trip, Hughes knocked on McGuigan's door, wondering if he'd be able to play after an hour-and-a-half of sleep. "Frank got up and destroyed Brian Mullins. He was head and shoulders above everyone else that day." Some days he wasn't. McGuigan recalls one Ulster championship against Derry in '76. He had come home loaded at five in the morning. A few hours later the taxi appeared to bring him to the game in Clones. "My father never told me what to do or not to do about football in his life. But that morning he said, OESon, do the team a favour. Don't go to that game.' I was still drunk in the dressing room. I got a point but I can't remember anything about it. Derry won and ended up winning Ulster. We'd have won it if I hadn't been drunk. But again, I never put a pile of thought into it." Then he went to America and became the king of Gaelic Park. "Went." He laughs at that. Makes it sound like a decision. He tells how he "went" to America. In 1977, he was an All Star replacement. They arrived in Kennedy Airport on the Friday night and basically drank until the game that Sunday. After the game they drank some more until the bus came to bring them back to JFK. "Go on to f**k, I'm staying," McGuigan laughed to Sean Doherty. And he did. The next thing he was waking up in an apartment in the Bronx and the lads from Cookstown were away to work. That's how he "went" to America. For six years. He enjoyed it there. Met a girl, Geraldine, got married, had kids. Got a job in construction ("Didn't do a lot, I can assure you. The best job any man could have!"). No one bothered him there. He liked that, the neighbours not knowing who he was. At home, everyone did. Everyone does. Earlier this year Brian went out with his girlfriend and a few clubmates in Cookstown. Some of the clubmates got drunk. The next day Mickey Harte was asking Brian had he drank. Brian hadn't. Why had someone told Mickey he had?
Tyrone flew Frank McGuigan home to help them out in '82 and '83. Then they asked him to move home for good. He did; the kids would soon be starting school. The following July he kicked those 11 points. He hadn't lost it. Other habits hadn't faded either. One Saturday that November, he took a few hours from building his house to play a club league game for Ardboe. It was in the Moy against the Moy; Sean Cavanagh's father, Teddy, marked him. After the game he jumped into his Hiace van and was on the way home when he looked to his right and spotted a few Ardboe cars outside a pub. He turned round and had a few there. When he finally left for Ardboe, it wasn't for the house but for Forbes' bar, the place where he works now. They tell him that they actually had the keys off him but that somehow he got them back. By the time he came round he was in an ambulance on the M2 to Belfast. He couldn't understand why he couldn't walk. Then they told him that he crashed into the local church wall, that his right leg was completely shattered and that he could never play football again. He was just glad to be alive. "I was a very, very lucky boy. I'm able to get around the place, even if one leg is shorter than the other. Like, Matt Connor was in a crash the month after and it left him paralysed. I'd be grateful for things like that. And that I didn't hurt anyone else." He thinks of all the other things he could have been doing. Ireland were having trials for the Compromise Rules series that day but McGuigan had turned down the invite, telling the selectors that he was too busy building his house. "Normally," he laughs, "I wouldn't put work ahead of anything!" As that day turned out, he still put the drink ahead of it. The drink would continue to be put ahead of everything. When the little boy Canavan played in the 1995 All Ireland final, McGuigan didn't even see it; instead he lay in his car in Dublin, drunk. Once he managed to give it up for about a year when he went off to Clare for a golfing weekend. "We were in the clubhouse after our first round when I said, OEOkay, I'll have one of those nice pints of Guinness, no more and go back to the hotel.' I didn't play golf for the rest of the trip. I actually slept on the bus, all the way from Clare to here, and it's a long, long way from Clare to here." A fall-out was inevitable. One day when he finished a lengthy binge, he found Geraldine was gone and had taken the kids with her. He immediately turned to the drink again but realised there were no solutions in it. It was the problem. So he went for help in a clinic in Derry. For six weeks. Not to get Geraldine back, but to get Frank McGuigan back. He hated Frank McGuigan when he drank. All those years, they weren't fun. At times he thought they were, but they weren't. "How can you be having fun if you can't remember?" He's a new man now, this past five years.

A happy man, bursting with his life. Brian, Tommy and the youngest lad, 11 year-old Shay, are all back with him. It's a different life; when they come home at five o'clock, he's there. Gerry and himself are still friends. So are all the kids. When he sees fellas who he knows are drinking too much, he tells them they won't believe the benefits of coming off it. He's been to America twice, Portugal three times, golfing. He plans to go to Australia sometime. Things he'd never have been interested in if he were drinking. That's why he's not afraid to tell his story. People must know how lethal drink can be. He's concerned with the culture that goes with the GAA. Ardboe have a match two weeks after the All Ireland. Last week they had a team meeting where they agreed that if Tyrone won the All Ireland, they'd be off the drink by the Thursday. "It's very bad saying you're going to drink from Sunday to Wednesday. Why not just say, OEWe'll quit on Wednesday if we drink that length of time at all?'" McGuigan is coaching that Ardboe team. It's his first year involved and it's going well; that's a county semi-final they're playing in a fortnight's time. He says it's not him helping out Ardboe; it's Ardboe helping him. His sons Brian, Tommy and Frank all play for the club. It's another way of making up for lost time. "When I was drinking, I hurt people. Especially the kids. I had no patience when I drank. I wouldn't have gone to parent-teacher meetings, things like that. It's the least I owe them." The young lads are generating some folklore themselves. Last year Ardboe scored a goal that featured seven passes. Only the McGuigans were involved in it; no one else was on their wavelength. Twenty-five year-old Frank is on the senior panel. Nineteen year-old Tommy won a minor All Ireland two years ago and is on the county under-21 team; he'll be something else, maintains Frank Senior, if they can come up with a way to pay for the operation needed to sort out his knee once and for all. And then there's 23 year-old Brian. Frank says he doesn't give him any advice, that's what Mickey Harte is for. Harte maintains he has to say very little either; only Peter Canavan, the Tyrone manager reckons, has the same footballing brain. Art McRory once said it was impossible to give Frank McGuigan a bad pass; the current Tyrone team say it's impossible for Brian McGuigan to give one. "I've never seen him have a bad game this year," says his own father. "One pass and he can turn a game. He turned the Ulster final on it's head. For people to even say that the man-of-the-match that day was anyone else angers me. He should be recognised for the player he is. He's not and it's not fair. Like, the last day in Croke Park they announced him as OEBrian McGuigan, son of Frank McGuigan.'" Neither of them should take any offence that he was described as Frank's son. As Canavan would agree, in a way, every Tyrone footballer is.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 03:59:16 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 25, 2014, 03:39:00 PM
Stephen O'Neill is the player that could have been up there if his career hadn't been decimated with injury.  He rose to prominence at an early age but University committments etc curtailed his involvement in 2003, although he came on to kick 2 points that took Tyrone home.  In 2005 he had a summer no player has matched since.  He was untouchable that year and in my time watching football there has been no player better at scoring off either foot.  Unfortunately, the beginning of 2006 saw the start of the saerious knee and hamstring injuries that were to affect him for the rest of his career.  He still had a lot of good moments, but to be honest was never the same player again due to training restrictions and long term impact that the injuries had on his speed and agility.

I agree..some of the scores, against Armagh and Dublin in particular, that he got that year were just outrageous. As good as anything or anyone I've ever seen. Pity that the injuries restricted him from there on.
Post by: Beantown on February 25, 2014, 09:23:13 PM
Imagine a full forward line of Gooch Fitz Canavan.  3 of the greatest forwards we are likely to see.. Unplayable...

On another note, Stephen ONeill has scored some of the best points corker has ever seen and was a joy to watch, pity injuries have taken their toll..

These days, Bernard Brogan is probably the only one who is near that level
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on February 25, 2014, 10:30:06 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 24, 2014, 01:23:47 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on February 23, 2014, 11:59:34 PM

I think Glenn and Johnny were the only two of our most talented players of the last 30 years or so who reached their true potential in a Kildare jersey.

Nuxer was injured after the Leinster Final in 98 and was then lost to emigration when he should have been at his peak. He was the most naturally talented Kildare footballer I have seen apart from Martin Lynch who was almost unplayable as a midfielder when he was in the right mood. He won an All Star at midfield as a 20 year old. I don't think he ever scaled those heights again afterwards because we had to make a forward out of him where he was never as influential. 

Cork saw Larry's best years rather than Kildare. He never got a chance to shine on a poor Kildare team in the eighties but could have made a big difference on the team during Micko's first stint in the early nineties. Fahy likewise.

Dermot Earley probably only had two injury free years in his entire career and won an All Star in both of those years.

As consistently excellent as Johnny has been for 14 years I would have to go with Glenn as the best Kildare footballer I have seen. I think Glenn was one of the best players in his position of his generation but I'm not sure I could say the same about Johnny. Micko said that Glenn's display against Laois in 97 was the greatest performance from a centre half back that he had ever seen in Croke Park. That's good enough for me.

Couldn't disagree. If longevity is a factor - and I think it has to be - then I'd go Glenn first, John second. However I think Nuckser at his best was a cut above any other Kildare player I've seen in terms of raw ability, the fact that he got an All-Star in a year Kildare were knocked out in the Leinster semi-final shows how unplayable he was that year. We never got the best from Lynch, though he did play a major role in 1998, "winning" so many frees. There was more in him though.
Post by: Rossfan on February 26, 2014, 11:01:41 AM
When did "ever" start ladeens? 1998? (or 2003 in Tyrone's case??)
I presume Kildare's best EVER would have been from 1927/28.
Post by: seafoid on February 26, 2014, 12:23:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 26, 2014, 11:01:41 AM
Larry Stanley

I think the Lilies have 4 senior all Irelands
Post by: Syferus on February 26, 2014, 12:32:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 26, 2014, 11:01:41 AM

Sure those were bad years for football. All the best teams of all-time played in the 40s.
Post by: OakleafCounty on February 26, 2014, 02:19:12 PM
Based on what I've seen. Had to leave a few out.

Antrim - Kevin Madden
Armagh - Kieran McGeeny
Carlow -
Cavan - Dermot McCabe
Clare -
Cork - Shea Fahey
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - James McCarten
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Fermanagh - Rory Gallagher
Galway - Sean og de Poar
Kildare - Glen Ryan
Kilkenny - 
Laois - Ross Munnelly
Leitrim -
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth -
Mayo - Aiden O'Shea
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Tommy Freeman
Offaly - Ciaran McManus
Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Tyrone - Sean Cavanagh
Waterford -
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn
Post by: Bingo on February 26, 2014, 02:34:51 PM
Nudie Hughes would be Monaghans. Could play anywhere and excel at it.
Post by: Mikhailov on February 26, 2014, 03:47:46 PM
top half dozen footballers that I have seen in my lifetime are in no particular order;

Larry Tompkins (Cork) - awesome player who brought a level of performance and fitness that was rarely matched by any other player of that time. Had some great battles with the Meath men
Peter Canavan (Tyrone) - almost impossible to mark for entire game and only needed a sniff to be able to score. Great leader also. Arguably the best of all time....
Anthony Tohill (Derry) - Collosus of a man who despite his size had great skill, brilliant from the dead ball and had great fielding ability - was one of the first to step it up a gear in terms of prep and fitness
Kieran McGeeney (Armagh) - Great player & leader who done his talking on the pitch, quiet man who never failed to deliver when it mattered except 2005 AI semi if you are Joe Kernan
Trevor Giles (Meath) - brilliant player who had super vision and passing ability but deceptively very strong. Seemed to go thru games in slow motion such was his elegance.
Maurice Fitzgerald (Kerry) - like Giles, was supremely elegant and could play anywhere and score from anywhere as well. Should have won much more in terms of titles etc

Also considered;

Paul Curran (Dublin) - the first attacking half back and boy could he do it. Still reportedly going strong for Dublin 40+
Colm O'Rourke (Meath) - super player, strong, accurate and immense in the big games
Ja Fallon (Galway) - again a super player who could play anywhere and deliver the goods. Mighty left peg on him
Steven O'Brien (Cork) - could play anywhere on the pitch, very strong, dependable player. Much better defender though
Aaron Kernan (Armagh) - IMHO the best and most influential club player in Ireland by a mile. Due to Armagh going through a rough patch, does not get recognition he deserves
Niall Buckley (Kildare) - brilliant fielder with super skills who was lost to USA - is he still in the states....?
Brian McGuigan (Tyrone) - best performance in an AI final in 2005 that I have ever witnessed. Didn't get the plaudits he deserved

Post by: J OGorman on February 26, 2014, 03:56:47 PM

100%..., very few have  lit up Croke Pk like O'Neill on his day. As naturally a gifted footballer that has ever played the game. Some player. The black card will bring more of the silky players to the fore again
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 26, 2014, 05:00:30 PM
Ciaran McDonald
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Tom Langan
Sean Flanagan
Peter Brogan
Paddy Prendergast
Padraig Carney
Sean Lowry
Henry Gavin
Kenneth Mortiomer
Peter Burke
Joe Corcoran
Kevin O'Neill
Tommy O'Malley
Noel Connelly
Colm McManamon
Willie Casey
John Morley
Gabriel Irwin
Ray Dempsey
Keith Higgins
Eugene Lavin
Andy Moran
Pat Fallon
Conor Mortimor

Post by: LeoMc on February 26, 2014, 05:05:16 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on February 26, 2014, 02:19:12 PM

Antrim - Kevin Madden
Armagh - Kieran McGeeny
Carlow -
Cavan - Dermot McCabe
Clare -
Cork - Shea Fahey
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - James McCarten
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Galway - Sean og de Poar
Kildare - Glen Ryan
Kilkenny - 
Laois - Ross Munnelly
Leitrim -
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth -
Mayo - Aiden O'Shea
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Tommy Freeman
Offaly - Ciaran McManus
Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Tyrone - Sean Cavanagh
Waterford -
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn

By the age profile of the other players ion your list I am assuming you mean James McCartan Junior?

No Canavan?
Rory Gallagher?
Post by: Don Corleone on February 26, 2014, 07:40:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 09:31:24 PM

I'm not about to interfere between genuine followers of Connacht football here, all making valid points, but just to say that Gerry O'Malley was the only player I've seen who could consistently subdue Sean Purcell. The fact that it was a bleak spell for Roscommon speaks volumes about O'Malley's colleagues. Dermot Earley was surrounded by better players, many of whom here mentioned in a subsequent post in fairness.

Galway: Sean Purcell.
Leitrim: Packy McGarty.
Mayo: Willie Casey.
Roscommon: Gerry O'Malley.
Sligo: Mickey Kearnes.

I can't fathom the Down nominations. Sean O'Neill is head and shoulders above all suggestions. (It must be an age thing) :-[
Post by: DuffleKing on February 26, 2014, 10:39:30 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on February 26, 2014, 03:47:46 PM
top half dozen footballers that I have seen in my lifetime are in no particular order;

Larry Tompkins (Cork) - awesome player who brought a level of performance and fitness that was rarely matched by any other player of that time. Had some great battles with the Meath men
Peter Canavan (Tyrone) - almost impossible to mark for entire game and only needed a sniff to be able to score. Great leader also. Arguably the best of all time....
Anthony Tohill (Derry) - Collosus of a man who despite his size had great skill, brilliant from the dead ball and had great fielding ability - was one of the first to step it up a gear in terms of prep and fitness
Kieran McGeeney (Armagh) - Great player & leader who done his talking on the pitch, quiet man who never failed to deliver when it mattered except 2005 AI semi if you are Joe Kernan
Trevor Giles (Meath) - brilliant player who had super vision and passing ability but deceptively very strong. Seemed to go thru games in slow motion such was his elegance.
Maurice Fitzgerald (Kerry) - like Giles, was supremely elegant and could play anywhere and score from anywhere as well. Should have won much more in terms of titles etc

Also considered;

Paul Curran (Dublin) - the first attacking half back and boy could he do it. Still reportedly going strong for Dublin 40+
Colm O'Rourke (Meath) - super player, strong, accurate and immense in the big games
Ja Fallon (Galway) - again a super player who could play anywhere and deliver the goods. Mighty left peg on him
Steven O'Brien (Cork) - could play anywhere on the pitch, very strong, dependable player. Much better defender though
Aaron Kernan (Armagh) - IMHO the best and most influential club player in Ireland by a mile. Due to Armagh going through a rough patch, does not get recognition he deserves
Niall Buckley (Kildare) - brilliant fielder with super skills who was lost to USA - is he still in the states....?
Brian McGuigan (Tyrone) - best performance in an AI final in 2005 that I have ever witnessed. Didn't get the plaudits he deserved

That's embarrassing. Without leaving the same club, Oisin McConville & John McEntee easily more influential and that's without trying. Wouldn't register in Armagh's best 50 players.
As an aside, it's amazing how people perceive the best club players to somehow always be playing for teams who win championships. Most of the best club players i've encountered over the years are performing heroics carrying mediocre teams on their back and keeping their club competitive in lower leagues.
Post by: moysider on February 26, 2014, 11:12:57 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 26, 2014, 05:00:30 PM
Ciaran McDonald
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Tom Langan
Sean Flanagan
Peter Brogan
Paddy Prendergast
Padraig Carney
Sean Lowry
Henry Gavin
Kenneth Mortiomer
Peter Burke
Joe Corcoran
Kevin O'Neill
Tommy O'Malley
Noel Connelly
Colm McManamon
Willie Casey
John Morley
Gabriel Irwin
Ray Dempsey
Keith Higgins
Eugene Lavin
Andy Moran
Pat Fallon
Conor Mortimor

What's that?
Post by: Don Corleone on February 26, 2014, 11:59:35 PM
Early possibilities for the local elections....Peter Brogan  ::)
Post by: North Longford on February 27, 2014, 03:20:54 AM
I see everyone is going with Paul Barden in Longford. Would argue its a very close run thing between Paul and Dessie Barry. Dessie would have played on any county team in Ireland. Some of the goals he scored were incredible including one very heartbreaking one from my own perspective!!!!
From a pure talent point of view I've seen very few footballers with the natural ability Declan Reilly possesses. I think he is completely wasted playing corner back for Longford but then he is the best corner back in Longford. The club tried an experiment a few years ago where he played full forward for 2 consecutive club league games and he scored a combined total of 16 pts. The experiment failed because they needed Declan Reilly out the field to kick the ball in to Declan Reilly!!! And speaking of Paul Barden he is the only player I have seen completely outplay Paul and he's done it more than once. Pity is of all the experts on this website you wouldn't find 10 who would recognize him if he walked past them......the problem with coming from an unfashionable little county!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2014, 09:15:16 AM
Ahem. I went with Dessie Barry.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2014, 09:55:34 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 26, 2014, 11:12:57 PM
Ciaran McDonald
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Tom Langan
Sean Flanagan
Peter Brogan
Paddy Prendergast
Padraig Carney
Sean Lowry
Henry Gavin
Kenneth Mortiomer
Peter Burke
Joe Corcoran
Kevin O'Neill
Tommy O'Malley
Noel Connelly
Colm McManamon
Willie Casey
John Morley
Gabriel Irwin
Ray Dempsey
Keith Higgins
Eugene Lavin
Andy Moran
Pat Fallon
Conor Mortimor

What's that?

Just a reminder that we have had other great players not just Ciaran.
Post by: Canalman on February 27, 2014, 10:15:55 AM
Can't comment too much on most counties but would go as follows

Tyrone   Sean Cavanagh
Kildare   Anthony Rainbow
Cork      Anthony Lynch
Donegal Brian Roper (massively underrated imo )
Wexford Mattie Forde
Armagh    Stevie McDonnell
Derry      Anthony Tohill
Laois       Paraic Clancy

As for Dublin, Kerry , Meath  I couldn't really pick one out of the many great players they have had over the years. Probably seen these counties play the most .

Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 27, 2014, 10:17:13 AM
Quote from: Canalman on February 27, 2014, 10:15:55 AM
Can't comment too much on most counties but would go as follows

Tyrone   Sean Cavanagh
Kildare   Anthony Rainbow
Cork      Anthony Lynch
Donegal Brian Roper (massively underrated imo )
Wexford Mattie Forde
Armagh    Stevie McDonnell
Derry      Anthony Tohill
Laois       Paraic Clancy

As for Dublin, Kerry , Meath  I couldn't really pick one out of the many great players they have had over the years. Probably seen these counties play the most .

as good a player as cavanagh is , i cant see how anyone could pick him ahead of PTG  ???
Post by: haranguerer on February 27, 2014, 11:33:40 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 26, 2014, 05:05:16 PM

Antrim - Kevin Madden
Armagh - Kieran McGeeny
Carlow -
Cavan - Dermot McCabe
Clare -
Cork - Shea Fahey
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - James McCarten
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Galway - Sean og de Poar
Kildare - Glen Ryan
Kilkenny - 
Laois - Ross Munnelly
Leitrim -
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth -
Mayo - Aiden O'Shea
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Tommy Freeman
Offaly - Ciaran McManus
Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Tyrone - Sean Cavanagh
Waterford -
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn

By the age profile of the other players ion your list I am assuming you mean James McCartan Junior?

No Canavan?
Rory Gallagher?

Probably the most gifted. Still holds the record for the highest score in a match in championship football, 3 goals and 9 points is tight going, especially in the Ulster Championship for a minnow like Fermanagh.

Raymie was some player too. Scored a goal against Cavan in the late 90s which is the best goal I've ever seen (and was in the last few minutes while 3 points down, i.e. necessary, with all the pressure that brings), and in a thread discussing such scores, I saw a few cavan posters saying the same.

I never saw much of McGinnity, I'm pretty sure he wasn't going for that goal everyone talks about though. The likes of Paul Brewster and Paddy McGuinness were serious players, and the only thing that prevents them from being spoken with in the same breath as any of these is the relative lack of success during their time. Ryan McCluskey too could be considered, Owens suffered a lot through injury but was a hero, for me for Fermanagh though its Marty McGrath. Had his share of injuries too, but gave Fermanagh a presence they lacked, and was just a real leader.
Post by: blanketattack on February 27, 2014, 11:58:55 AM

I agree what a great talent Stephen O'Neill but as far as the best two-footed player of recent times, Maurice Fitzgerald is the undoubted king in my opinion.
Take this for a free off the ground with his 'weaker' foot. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwEdA5yR5Ec
How many players would be even able to come close to doing that off the ground with their weaker foot in a challenge match never mind have such ability that they'd be confident enough to do it in an All-Ireland final?
The best I saw was in a UCC match when he scored a 45 off both, a sideline kick off both and a point from play off both.
I've seen a fair few players who were two footed from play, but very few players who were two footed from dead ball kicks off the hands as well, and nobody else except Maurice Fitz who were two footed from play, dead ball kicks off the hands and dead ball kicks off the ground. I know Stephen O'Neill took a lot of frees but I don't recall him ever taking one with his right?
Post by: nrico2006 on February 27, 2014, 02:55:44 PM
I remember hearing that Mark Lynch used to hit frees off both feet too.  Didn't Connolly take one this year of his weaker foot?
Post by: Mikhailov on February 27, 2014, 03:21:26 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 27, 2014, 02:55:44 PM
I remember hearing that Mark Lynch used to hit frees off both feet too.  Didn't Connolly take one this year of his weaker foot?

Yea he possibly did but 'blanketattack' refers to the skill of doing it off the deck - only a very few players have ever tried it at senior county level.....lots can do it from the hands but off the deck is a much tougher skill
Post by: Billys Boots on February 27, 2014, 03:34:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2014, 09:15:16 AM
Ahem. I went with Dessie Barry.

Ahem, ahem, I mentioned 3 players of which they were two.  :P
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2014, 03:46:03 PM
Yeah, but you're from fecking Longford :)
Post by: mb80b60 on February 27, 2014, 04:25:45 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 27, 2014, 11:33:40 AM

Antrim - Kevin Madden
Armagh - Kieran McGeeny
Carlow -
Cavan - Dermot McCabe
Clare -
Cork - Shea Fahey
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - James McCarten
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Galway - Sean og de Poar
Kildare - Glen Ryan
Kilkenny - 
Laois - Ross Munnelly
Leitrim -
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth -
Mayo - Aiden O'Shea
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Tommy Freeman
Offaly - Ciaran McManus
Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Tyrone - Sean Cavanagh
Waterford -
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn

No Canavan?
Rory Gallagher?

Probably the most gifted. Still holds the record for the highest score in a match in championship football, 3 goals and 9 points is tight going, especially in the Ulster Championship for a minnow like Fermanagh.

Raymie was some player too. Scored a goal against Cavan in the late 90s which is the best goal I've ever seen (and was in the last few minutes while 3 points down, i.e. necessary, with all the pressure that brings), and in a thread discussing such scores, I saw a few cavan posters saying the same.

I never saw much of McGinnity, I'm pretty sure he wasn't going for that goal everyone talks about though. The likes of Paul Brewster and Paddy McGuinness were serious players, and the only thing that prevents them from being spoken with in the same breath as any of these is the relative lack of success during their time. Ryan McCluskey too could be considered, Owens suffered a lot through injury but was a hero, for me for Fermanagh though its Marty McGrath. Had his share of injuries too, but gave Fermanagh a presence they lacked, and was just a real leader.

Here is the clip Harang:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFS2Ds6pxTM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFS2Ds6pxTM)

Brilliant stuff!
Post by: stew on February 27, 2014, 05:35:53 PM
It.One that the greatest natural footballer ever produced, Paddy Moriarty hasn't been mentioned.and two,John Corvan has.Corvan was a player of outstanding ability who unfortunately never displayed it in a County Jersey, and was a major disappointment on the big occasions, ie All Ireland semi final in 82, NFL Final in 83 and the Ulster Final in 84 which was billed as a shoot out between him and Mc Guigan,and we know who won that one.I am struggling to recall even one outstanding game from John in a County Jersey. I wouldn't even have him near. Armagh's best ever team never mind best player.

Tony based on the criteria set forth by the title of the thread Johnny can be in the mix. The only player I ever saw in my life with a footballing brain as good as Johnny was Peter the great!

In the grand scheme of things he is not considered close to being an Armagh great, he simply had too short a career however he had the ability to make your jaw drop with his incredible intelligence and skill. Paddy Mo is a legend
Post by: seafoid on February 27, 2014, 05:48:03 PM
Quote from: stew on February 27, 2014, 05:35:53 PM
It.One that the greatest natural footballer ever produced, Paddy Moriarty hasn't been mentioned.and two,John Corvan has.Corvan was a player of outstanding ability who unfortunately never displayed it in a County Jersey, and was a major disappointment on the big occasions, ie All Ireland semi final in 82, NFL Final in 83 and the Ulster Final in 84 which was billed as a shoot out between him and Mc Guigan,and we know who won that one.I am struggling to recall even one outstanding game from John in a County Jersey. I wouldn't even have him near. Armagh's best ever team never mind best player.
Stew

What is that DVD of Armagh 03 that you watch regularly ?
Is there anything that gives the background to what the win meant to the county ? 

Tony based on the criteria set forth by the title of the thread Johnny can be in the mix. The only player I ever saw in my life with a footballing brain as good as Johnny was Peter the great!

In the grand scheme of things he is not considered close to being an Armagh great, he simply had too short a career however he had the ability to make your jaw drop with his incredible intelligence and skill. Paddy Mo is a legend
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 27, 2014, 06:05:20 PM
Greg McCartan could take it on the ground off either foot, hes the only one out of Maurice Fitz i seen do it
Post by: moysider on February 27, 2014, 09:46:26 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 27, 2014, 06:05:20 PM
Greg McCartan could take it on the ground off either foot, hes the only one out of Maurice Fitz i seen do it

Kevin McStay was ambipedalous. Saw him kick frees off ground with both feet in championship in early eighties. Enda Colleran remarked on it on The Sunday Game at the time.

Post by: moysider on February 27, 2014, 10:45:12 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2014, 09:55:34 AM
Ciaran McDonald
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Tom Langan
Sean Flanagan
Peter Brogan
Paddy Prendergast
Padraig Carney
Sean Lowry
Henry Gavin
Kenneth Mortiomer
Peter Burke
Joe Corcoran
Kevin O'Neill
Tommy O'Malley
Noel Connelly
Colm McManamon
Willie Casey
John Morley
Gabriel Irwin
Ray Dempsey
Keith Higgins
Eugene Lavin
Andy Moran
Pat Fallon
Conor Mortimor

What's that?

Not really the thread for this but if you re going down that road why exclude recent players like James Nallen and James Horan? Likes of Peter Forde, Martin Carney and TJ from the 80s? Johnny Carey, Ger Feeney, Ted Web and Joe McGrath from 70s? And thats before we go back to the glory days of the 30s-50s.
Not saying any on your list are not worthy but ...........
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2014, 11:04:13 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 27, 2014, 10:45:12 PM
Ciaran McDonald
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Tom Langan
Sean Flanagan
Peter Brogan
Paddy Prendergast
Padraig Carney
Sean Lowry
Henry Gavin
Kenneth Mortiomer
Peter Burke
Joe Corcoran
Kevin O'Neill
Tommy O'Malley
Noel Connelly
Colm McManamon
Willie Casey
John Morley
Gabriel Irwin
Ray Dempsey
Keith Higgins
Eugene Lavin
Andy Moran
Pat Fallon
Conor Mortimor

What's that?

Not really the thread for this but if you re going down that road why exclude recent players like James Nallen and James Horan? Likes of Peter Forde, Martin Carney and TJ from the 80s? Johnny Carey, Ger Feeney, Ted Web and Joe McGrath from 70s? And thats before we go back to the glory days of the 30s-50s.

I left a lot of the current players off because they are still playing (Andy and Keith got on my list). To be fair TJ Kilgallon and a few other players could have as easily made that list. Personally I always admired Maurice Sheridan and Michael Fitzmaurice.
Post by: moysider on February 27, 2014, 11:57:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2014, 11:04:13 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 27, 2014, 10:45:12 PM
Ciaran McDonald
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Tom Langan
Sean Flanagan
Peter Brogan
Paddy Prendergast
Padraig Carney
Sean Lowry
Henry Gavin
Kenneth Mortiomer
Peter Burke
Joe Corcoran
Kevin O'Neill
Tommy O'Malley
Noel Connelly
Colm McManamon
Willie Casey
John Morley
Gabriel Irwin
Ray Dempsey
Keith Higgins
Eugene Lavin
Andy Moran
Pat Fallon
Conor Mortimor

What's that?

I left a lot of the current players off because they are still playing (Andy and Keith got on my list). To be fair TJ Kilgallon and a few other players could have as easily made that list. Personally I always admired Maurice Sheridan and Michael Fitzmaurice.

Yeah. At the end of the day it s about individual perspective. When I was a kid the likes of Moclair, Burke, Courell, Flannelly, Carney etc were still around - never mind the kids from 50/51.
Post by: ONeill on February 27, 2014, 11:58:25 PM

Antrim - Kevin Madden
Armagh - Kieran McGeeny
Carlow -
Cavan - Dermot McCabe
Clare -
Cork - Shea Fahey
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - James McCarten
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Galway - Sean og de Poar
Kildare - Glen Ryan
Kilkenny - 
Laois - Ross Munnelly
Leitrim -
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth -
Mayo - Aiden O'Shea
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Tommy Freeman
Offaly - Ciaran McManus
Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Tyrone - Sean Cavanagh
Waterford -
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn

No Canavan?
Rory Gallagher?

I was watching this the other day. A very young Raymondo Gallagher - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvvB99iNaEo
Post by: North Longford on February 28, 2014, 04:32:30 AM
QuoteAhem. I went with Dessie Barry.
..AZ you're even wiser than I thought.

As for Billy ......but you left out the wrong one although in your defence I expect you are one of the ones that would recognise him

As for me in future when I start 9 pages into a thread I will either read it a little more carefully...or not at all!!
Post by: muppet on February 28, 2014, 06:48:06 PM

Antrim - Kevin Madden
Armagh - Kieran McGeeny
Carlow -
Cavan - Dermot McCabe
Clare -
Cork - Shea Fahey
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Michael Murphy
Down - James McCarten
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton
Galway - Sean og de Poar
Kildare - Glen Ryan
Kilkenny - 
Laois - Ross Munnelly
Leitrim -
Limerick - Stephen Kelly
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth -
Mayo - Aiden O'Shea
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Tommy Freeman
Offaly - Ciaran McManus
Sligo - Eamon O'Hara
Tyrone - Sean Cavanagh
Waterford -
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Leighton Glynn

No Canavan?
Rory Gallagher?

I always thought that was Frankie Donnelly. (I met his son in college years ago and that is where I heard about his scoring record).

Just looked it up on wiki and it confirms him scoring 4-11 against Fermanagh but it doesn't say in what competition. Anyone know?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frankie_Donnelly (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frankie_Donnelly)

Edit: found this: http://www.hoganstand.com/Tyrone/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=74341 (http://www.hoganstand.com/Tyrone/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=74341)

It was in something called the Dr. Lagan Cup apparently.