GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Any craic on January 28, 2014, 03:59:51 PM

Title: 2014 Sigerson
Post by: Any craic on January 28, 2014, 03:59:51 PM
See Queens beat UL this afternoon at the Dub in the Prelim Round.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljxXL5xO7AA&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljxXL5xO7AA&feature=youtu.be)
Title: Re: 2014 Sigerson
Post by: Any craic on January 28, 2014, 05:21:50 PM
Here's a one minute report from today's game at Queens - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDUXkUFmmeo&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDUXkUFmmeo&feature=youtu.be)
Post by: 5 Sams on January 28, 2014, 11:59:48 PM
Was James Donoghue playing for UL?
Post by: Any craic on January 29, 2014, 12:13:44 AM
yes, he scores a point on the video linked to
Post by: ck on January 29, 2014, 12:29:26 AM
ITSligo play UUJ tomorrow. ITS aren't half bad this year from what I hear and could be dark horses.
UUJ will probably have a few "students" in for the day for a game of football  8)
Post by: stronghold on January 29, 2014, 12:48:11 PM
Quote from: ck on January 29, 2014, 12:29:26 AM
ITSligo play UUJ tomorrow. ITS aren't half bad this year from what I hear and could be dark horses.
UUJ will probably have a few "students" in for the day for a game of football  8)
Or maybe a couple of apprentices in Sligo or a solicitor or two in Queens
Post by: ck on January 29, 2014, 01:06:38 PM
lmao Predictable as ever Stronghold, blame all others whilst UUJ flaunt the rules yet again. I hear yee lads are at it again this year. Hope Jamie Clarke doesn't miss any classes now!
Post by: mick999 on January 29, 2014, 03:11:29 PM

Sligo GAA ‏@sligogaa 56 secs @ITSligoGAAClub 0-10 @JordanstownGaa 0-14 55 mins #sigersoncup
Post by: Blowitupref on January 29, 2014, 03:16:56 PM
FT UUJ 1-15 IT Sligo 0-11 was  UUJ 0-6 IT Sligo 0-8 at HT.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 29, 2014, 03:30:01 PM
Tralee v NUI gone to extra time
Post by: Any craic on January 29, 2014, 04:10:33 PM
Video: See Conor McAliskey score Jordanstown's only goal in today's IDM Sigerson win over Sligo  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoYtdXo6rVg&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoYtdXo6rVg&feature=youtu.be)
Post by: stronghold on January 29, 2014, 04:12:19 PM
Quote from: ck on January 29, 2014, 01:06:38 PM
lmao Predictable as ever Stronghold, blame all others whilst UUJ flaunt the rules yet again. I hear yee lads are at it again this year. Hope Jamie Clarke doesn't miss any classes now!
At least he has classes to go to and will complete his masters. Not working in solicitors office etc. unlike you not the forum for naming names yet!
Post by: Any craic on January 29, 2014, 05:04:37 PM
See all the best bits in a one minute report from today at UUJ, including Jamie Clarke's drag back..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpdoXH8dfOA&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpdoXH8dfOA&feature=youtu.be)
Post by: ck on January 29, 2014, 05:29:02 PM
Trinity UCC game called off tonight folks. Was hoping to catch it too.
UUJ beat ITS today, I hear the ref was disallowing points and the whole lot, stronghold probably has him in on an aoul scholarship for the day too  ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on January 30, 2014, 03:53:59 PM
Quote from: ck on January 29, 2014, 05:29:02 PM
Trinity UCC game called off tonight folks. Was hoping to catch it too.
UUJ beat ITS today, I hear the ref was disallowing points and the whole lot, stronghold probably has him in on an aoul scholarship for the day too  ;D

At least our 5 or so county players can now focus on the main job of winning a few games in Div3 rather than this fantasy GAA competition.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 03, 2014, 09:12:09 PM
Tuesday Sigerson Cup First Round

IT Blanchardstown v NUI Maynooth, IT Blanchardstown GAA pitch, 3pm
Cork IT v Carlow IT, Cork IT GAA pitch, 7.30pm

Wednesday Sigerson Cup First Round

DCU v NUI Galway, DCU Sportsground, 2pm,
Queen's University v GMIT, The Dub, 2pm,
Dublin IT v St Mary's, Parnell's GAA club, Coolock, 2.30pm,
Trinity College v UCC, Mallow, 3pm

Post by: rodney trotter on February 04, 2014, 07:38:50 PM
Maynooth were comfortable winners today against IT Blanchardstown http://www.thescore.ie/michael-darragh-macauley-maynooth-sigerson-1273460-Feb2014/

Cork IT v Carlow tt down for 7.30 was calld off, flooded pitch
Post by: Mourne Rover on February 05, 2014, 03:33:52 PM
FT from the Dub - QUB 0-8 Galway/Mayo IT 2-6. The hosts did not make it through to the quarter finals of the Sigerson.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 05, 2014, 03:38:12 PM
A surprise win for GMIT, they now meet Maynooth in the Quarter finals. DCU beat NUI 4-15 to 0-11
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 05, 2014, 04:22:39 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 04, 2014, 07:38:50 PM
Maynooth were comfortable winners today against IT Blanchardstown

A game that had the current footballer of the year and some forty year old.

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF198/829326.jpg)
Post by: rodney trotter on February 05, 2014, 04:25:54 PM
Yeah there was a full back from Cavan to mark the 40 year old.

Report from DCU game today http://thescore.thejournal.ie/dcu-sigerson-nuig-1301430-Feb2014/
DIT game http://www.thescore.ie/dit-sigerson-tomas-oconnor-1301499-Feb2014/
Gmit and Queens http://www.thescore.ie/queens-gmit-1301297-Feb2014/
Post by: Rossfan on February 05, 2014, 05:14:47 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 05, 2014, 03:38:12 PM
DCU beat NUIG 4-15 to 0-11

Syfín will be back on the Moyna bandwagon. Hope he hasn't wet himself ;D
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 05:30:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 05, 2014, 05:14:47 PM

Next Ros manager once we get the futuristic facility in Oran built.
Post by: Rossfan on February 05, 2014, 07:05:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 05:30:06 PM

Next Ros manager
Stop being silly :-[.
No matter how well Club Rossie does we'll never be able to afford such a high paid acedemic/scientist.
Are you giving up on "NIGE" as you call him  ::)
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 07:09:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 05, 2014, 07:05:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 05:30:06 PM

Next Ros manager
Stop being silly :-[.
No matter how well Club Rossie does we'll never be able to afford such a high paid acedemic/scientist.
Are you giving up on "NIGE" as you call him  ::)

The Nige is going to be busy being the top non-Ming Castlerea politician when the job comes up again. He made a strong opening statement for my #1 vote in the Hastings, now he just has to follow-through.
Post by: Any craic on February 05, 2014, 07:11:39 PM
See a report from GMIT's win today at Queens - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSGJzuHaXfk&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSGJzuHaXfk&feature=youtu.be)
Post by: ck on February 05, 2014, 08:21:08 PM
I was at the DCU game today, have to say it's possibly the weakest DCU team I've seen in many years. Still strong as Sigerson teams go but it wouldn't be a patch on team of the last few years. Sigerson would appear to be wide open this year which is a good thing for the competition as many would agree that Sigerson has lost its appeal to the wider public with the bigger colleges dominating with their so called "scholarships" and the likes.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 05, 2014, 08:33:30 PM
Quote from: ck on February 05, 2014, 08:21:08 PM
I was at the DCU game today, have to say it's possibly the weakest DCU team I've seen in many years. Still strong as Sigerson teams go but it wouldn't be a patch on team of the last few years. Sigerson would appear to be wide open this year which is a good thing for the competition as many would agree that Sigerson has lost its appeal to the wider public with the bigger colleges dominating with their so called "scholarships" and the likes.

Here's today's DCU team.

QuoteDCU: James Farrelly (Cavan); Edwin Murray (Galway), Donal Wrynn (Leitrim), Ciaran Cafferkey (Roscommon); Pete Dooney (Monaghan), Craig Dunleavy (Dublin), Fintan Kelly (Roscommon); Eoin O'Connor (Louth), Brian Donnelly (Louth); Michael Quinn (Longford), Pat Fox (Meath), Davy Byrne (Dublin); Conor McHugh (Dublin), Conor McGraynor (Wicklow), Gary Kelly (Galway).

Subs: Gary Sweeney (Dublin) for Dunleavy (26), Colin Compton (Roscommon) for Fox (h.t.), Scott Oates (Roscommon) for Kelly (40), Fionn O'Shea (Cork) for Dooney (43), Tom Flynn (Galway) for Quinn (50), Conor Moynagh (Cavan) for Donnelly (50).
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 08:38:45 PM

Moyna isn't buying the Sigerson and is still winning?!
Post by: ck on February 05, 2014, 09:57:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 08:38:45 PM

Who said Moynas not buying Sigersons? Of course he's still at it, just getting worse players for his money this year. They are still probably the strongest team in the Sigerson but nothing compared to previous
Post by: stronghold on February 05, 2014, 10:00:03 PM
CK such crap. I have been watching the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon competitions for nearly forty years. They have not lost their appeal to the wider public because they never had it. They are player tournaments and always have been. Only the real derby games attract any sort of a crowd. Like all competitions only a handful of teams will ever win with a few exceptions over the years. Maybe with the exception of Mary's all colleges have scholarships. If no ulster teams at the dub there will be very few in attendance and that has always been the case
Post by: ck on February 05, 2014, 10:13:03 PM
Yeah would agree that they are player competitions, of course. However Sigerson would have had a strong passing interest in that people wouldn't be motivated to attend but would be interested in the results. I feel that passing interest has now gone.
People are now very cynical when they think Sigerson and it has lost its respect due to colleges pulling in players, legal, illegal and otherwise on all sorts of sweeteners.
You will disagree I'm sure but I've felt this for some time. I feel certain colleges have no respect for the rules and as a result the wider public have no respect for the competition.
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 10:16:15 PM
Quote from: ck on February 05, 2014, 09:57:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 08:38:45 PM

Who said Moynas not buying Sigersons? Of course he's still at it, just getting worse players for his money this year. They are still probably the strongest team in the Sigerson but nothing compared to previous

BS to be honest, every college uses scholarships to entice top players. That's the cost of doing business and it's only of the few real world benefits for being a talented gaelic footballer or hurler.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 05, 2014, 10:19:39 PM
Colm Begley should be back in the DCU side for the UCD quarter final, he would be a big name anyways. They have no Murphy or Paul Flynn this year but still a very strong side
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 10:26:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 05, 2014, 10:19:39 PM
Colm Begley should be back in the DCU side for the UCD quarter final, he would be a big name anyways. They have no Murphy or Paul Flynn this year but still a very strong side

They have some of the best young players from smaller counties and perhaps that's blinding CK to their quaility. They'd give any of the recent DCU sides a run for their money. David Keenan may be fit to play a part if DCU keep winning and at this stage he's one of the most experienced Sigerson players in the country.
Post by: ck on February 05, 2014, 11:12:59 PM
Yee lads can look at them (DCU) on paper and draw your conclusions. I saw them in the flesh today and wasn't impressed, or maybe that's what's "blinding me to their quality" 8)
They were up against a poor NUIG side today.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 05, 2014, 11:40:24 PM
Should they all be Galactico names? A lot of that team are County players, from Louth ,Cavan, Wicklow, Longford, Leitrim, Roscommon, lesser Counties but all good footballers. Davy Byrne of Ballymun is a very good player,Conor McHugh will probaly be involved with Dublin later in the year,

Not the stongest side DCU ever had but not bad.  UUJ would be the favs for the Sigerson, but they will be well tested by DIT next week.
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 11:55:21 PM
Blame Ulster Council and Mickey Harte for Queens premature exit.
Post by: ross4life on February 06, 2014, 12:09:22 AM
CK Last year on the Sigerson cup thread you claimed DCU had star studded team when in fact they weren't. The penny is finally dropping with you, star studded college teams comes and goes you should know that with IT Sligo.

Wide open Sigerson cup anyone of 5 or 6 teams could win it this year.

Post by: ck on February 06, 2014, 12:36:39 AM
Don't know what point you're trying to make here. DCU were ultra star studded last year and whilst they didn't win they had a few grade A performances. (I was at two of their games last year) I saw them today and they were not impressive.
My point being that for a college who blatantly hangs it's hat on running after county players via scholarships and freebies then maybe this is a poor return? Let's see how they get on but I predict that UCD will best them.

The fact that 5 or 6 teams can win it this year is a very good thing. I hope it's the case.
Post by: ross4life on February 06, 2014, 01:25:09 AM
Apart from aforementioned Murphy,Flynn DCU were no more star studded last year than now. On paper DIT were stronger than them last Feb & thats why they defeated them.

The likes of Conor McHugh (Dublin) Garry Kelly (Galway) are two players with plenty of potential & are as good if not better than Chris McGuinness,Antoin McFadden,Philly Ryan who were getting starts for DCU last year.

For whatever reason you are hung up with all things DCU, i'm sure you know full well other colleges get players via scholarships too & a number of students will choose Dublin colleges nowadays as that's where most of the work is when these lads finish their studies.
Post by: southdown on February 06, 2014, 09:36:54 AM
Can someone name the QUB and UUJ lineups from their most recent starting 15s?
Post by: nrico2006 on February 06, 2014, 10:31:12 AM
UUJ look to have the strongest team this year.  Can see them winning it.
Post by: shark on February 06, 2014, 10:45:01 AM
I think it's fair to say that DCU, while still strong, are not near the level they were at in 2012 when they won it last. That team was so far ahead of the competition that it was almost a non event.  CIT pushed them hard in the first round and then they hammered DIT, UUJ and NUIM. Their 'marquee' players were on good scholarships, but were all doing legit college courses so no issue in that regard.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 06, 2014, 02:01:42 PM
I see Danny McBride scored a 1.01 for St Marys yesterday from CHB

Post by: nrico2006 on February 06, 2014, 02:16:32 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 06, 2014, 02:01:42 PM
I see Danny McBride scored a 1.01 for St Marys yesterday from CHB

Its been said a few times that he should be given a chance there for Tyrone.  More defensively secure than Harte and it would release him to WHF or WHB.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 06, 2014, 05:12:52 PM
Surprised at the attitude towards Sigerson by a few here..still one of my favourite competitions, years after I left college. Yes, some colleges have taken recruitment to the extreme, but thankfully there appears to be something done about in recent years, what with Aidan Walsh ruled ineligible last year for example.
Some people seem to use scholarships as a basis for arguing against the Sigerson/Fitzgibbon..that holds no water in my view. Scholarships would be a max of what, €2k per annum or thereabouts? That would barely cover a fraction of the cost for any decent course and the expenses involved.
Post by: Dangleberrys on February 07, 2014, 12:25:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 11:55:21 PM
Blame Ulster Council and Mickey Harte for Queens premature exit.
So don't blame Queens ::)
Post by: ck on February 07, 2014, 05:58:55 PM
If what I'm hearing is true then Jordanstown GAA are in big big trouble. Freshers game abandoned yesterday, usual UUJ antics. If they aren't pulling in illegal players they are now bullying referees.
Post by: Syferus on February 07, 2014, 08:09:09 PM
Quote from: ck on February 07, 2014, 05:58:55 PM
If what I'm hearing is true then Jordanstown GAA are in big big trouble. Freshers game abandoned yesterday, usual UUJ antics. If they aren't pulling in illegal players they are now bullying referees.

A college full of Moynas.
Post by: CSC on February 07, 2014, 09:01:21 PM
Quote from: ck on February 07, 2014, 05:58:55 PM

What did the poly do to you ck? You seem to have an obsession with them.
Post by: ck on February 07, 2014, 10:31:12 PM
Not to me personally but they've tried their antics with IT Sligo on manys an occasion. None more so than the last few weeks. Yesterday they were 4 points down in a freshers game and they purposely tried to get the game abandoned, and were successful. Absolutely disgraceful. They'll get their just rewards though. Rest assured.
Post by: Syferus on February 07, 2014, 11:02:01 PM
Quote from: ck on February 07, 2014, 10:31:12 PM
Not to me personally but they've tried their antics with IT Sligo on manys an occasion. None more so than the last few weeks. Yesterday they were 4 points down in a freshers game and they purposely tried to get the game abandoned, and were successful. Absolutely disgraceful. They'll get their just rewards though. Rest assured.

Cricket season will soon be upon us..
Post by: stronghold on February 08, 2014, 01:08:43 PM
Quote from: ck on February 07, 2014, 10:31:12 PM
CK I agree you are totally obsessed with the Poly. To the best of my knowledge there has never been an incident with Sligo IT and relations are excellent. Don't play each other very often, the last Sigerson game before this year was was some time ago in Sligo and ended in penalties. No problems at this years Sigerson game either. many Sligo IT players end up in Jordanstown completing their Masters.  As usual you have got your knickers in a twist over the Freshers game, wrong information , wrong score and both teams and managements at fault. Jordanstown and Sligo in communication. Not slabbering over the airwaves.
Post by: ck on February 08, 2014, 05:08:30 PM
lol good girl stronghold, UUJ spin doctor extraordinaire!
I sat on the HE committee many moons ago and saw at first hand the stuff UUJ were at. My obsession is with fair play and seeing smaller colleges having a chance against those who aim to buy success and then try to cover things up by whatever means.

As for the freshers incident this week. My ITS sources would paint a very different picture than the one you are trying to depict. It'll all come out in the wash.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 08, 2014, 05:36:02 PM
Wendesday 12th Feb , Sigerson Quarter Finals

3pm                 

GMIT V Maynooth                                     DIT  V UUJ

Venue: Carnmore Hurling Club                   Parnells Gaa Club

Referee: Michael Duffy                               Refereee: Anthony Nolan

Thursday 13th

3pm

UCD V DCU                              UCC V CIT

Belfield - Ucd                           Venue - Mardyke

Referee: Cormac Reilly              Referee: Conor Lane

Post by: stronghold on February 08, 2014, 05:45:24 PM
Quote from: ck on February 08, 2014, 05:08:30 PM
lol good girl stronghold, UUJ spin doctor extraordinaire!
I sat on the HE committee many moons ago and saw at first hand the stuff UUJ were at. My obsession is with fair play and seeing smaller colleges having a chance against those who aim to buy success and then try to cover things up by whatever means.

As for the freshers incident this week. My ITS sources would paint a very different picture than the one you are trying to depict. It'll all come out in the wash.
CK Again Totally obsessed with the Poly , your obviously an armchair mouth piece. Someone has to counteract your obsessions and lies.  I wonder where you graduated from and your underhand motives, more like academic snobbery and jealousy than the Robin Hood of the smaller college. St Mary's are the only small college playing in Division 1 and needed no help from you.
Your ITS sources must also be full of bull shit. Both colleges have already been written to by Croke Pk and both have some explaining to do, could both be kicked out. The ref was an ITS graduate before you question his integrity also.
Give it a rest this academic snobbery has no place in the modern era.

Post by: ck on February 08, 2014, 07:19:21 PM
Robin Hood? Academic snobbery? Ah jayses what ya on about bud? lol
Tell ya what - here's my email address. Cristoirkane@hotmail.co.uk Pop me an email and we can have an honest conversation and I can tell you exactly what my motives are. Instead of this nonsense
Post by: stronghold on February 08, 2014, 11:18:22 PM
Quote from: ck on February 08, 2014, 07:19:21 PM
Robin Hood? Academic snobbery? Ah jayses what ya on about bud? lol
Tell ya what - here's my email address. Cristoirkane@hotmail.co.uk Pop me an email and we can have an honest conversation and I can tell you exactly what my motives are. Instead of this nonsense
CK you started and always start this nonsense always having a go and obsessed with the Poly which you appear to know absolutely nothing about. I will send you and email next week sometime, will be delighted to put you straight on a few things if your not totally brainwashed or living in a bye gone era. Anyone talking about the traditional universities in relation to Gaelic Games is obviously living in the past. Would love to invite you up to Jtown to see and discuss anything you want. Then you can pontificate from an informed position instead of delusional myths.
Post by: Dangleberrys on February 12, 2014, 11:02:51 AM
Have heard both games due to be played today, have been postponed for 24hrs...just an fyi
Post by: rodney trotter on February 12, 2014, 04:04:14 PM
Can't see any games going ahead tomorrow either
Post by: Any craic on February 13, 2014, 05:00:52 PM
Ronie O'Neill 30-second Video Interview Clip: 'Did he really mean his cheeky goal to beat DIT in today's IDM Sigerson Cup?!' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEHCS4RhJMQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEHCS4RhJMQ)
Post by: ross4life on February 13, 2014, 05:02:41 PM
A result that ck will be delighted with, UCD 3-11 DCU 3-10 seriously though it sounded like a great game UCD were leading by 11 at HT & just held on in the end.

Other results DIT 1-6 UUJ 1-9, GMIT 0-9 NUIM 1-10, UCC 1-13 CIT 1-5
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2014, 05:12:02 PM
Alas poor Syfín....... :'(
Post by: The Worker on February 13, 2014, 06:06:16 PM
Any times for the semis ?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 13, 2014, 07:13:34 PM
Had a free afternoon so went along to the GMIT v Maynooth game today. To be honest GMIT left it behind them. They recovered well from an early McBrearty penalty but missed 3 or 4 great goal chances themselves. Still lead by a point with 10 minutes to go but they should have been out of sight. In fairness to Maynooth they finished strongly in the last 5 minutes as GMIT seemed to run out of gas a little. Think they kicked 3 or 4 points in the last few minutes.
Post by: Syferus on February 13, 2014, 07:18:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 13, 2014, 05:12:02 PM
Alas poor Syfín....... :'(

First big loss of the year for the Ros. Far be it for me to question Moy but why was noted Ros sympathiser FOC and the Fresher PotY Endaeen Smith on the bench? Should have been enough to over-turn a one point deficit.
Post by: retiredgael on February 13, 2014, 08:26:04 PM
ye would wonder if there are any appeals going in

what course did jamie clarke start in january if he has been in the states until christmas?
Post by: Syferus on February 13, 2014, 08:33:10 PM
Quote from: retiredgael on February 13, 2014, 08:26:04 PM

what course did jamie clarke start in january if he has been in the states until christmas?

Usually some courses beginning for the second semester in January. It could be a part-time Masters too and those can be done in evening classes. CK'd know if Jamie is driving one of the DCU-sthyle Mercs, though.
Post by: shark on February 13, 2014, 09:23:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 13, 2014, 08:33:10 PM

Usually some courses beginning for the second semester in January. It could be a part-time Masters too and those can be done in evening classes. CK'd know if Jamie is driving one of the DCU-sthyle Mercs, though.

Part time Masters don't have enough credits as they are spread out over (usually) 2 years.
Post by: Syferus on February 13, 2014, 09:29:15 PM
Quote from: shark on February 13, 2014, 09:23:59 PM

Part time Masters don't have enough credits as they are spread out over (usually) 2 years.

So there's a credit minimum to play for college teams? Didn't know that! Makes me think how is Graham G eligible unless he's doing a full-time course?
Post by: rodney trotter on February 13, 2014, 09:30:56 PM
Geraghty is doing a full time course.
Post by: stronghold on February 13, 2014, 10:20:04 PM

Jamie Clarke is doing a full time Masters. Many colleges North and South offer courses, post grads and PGCEs which can start in January. That is why final registration has always been 31st January.
Post by: retiredgael on February 13, 2014, 10:31:15 PM
be interesting to see what are the january courses in the poly

uk pass should uncover that handy enough, be interesting to see if DIT were squeaky clean too

the other interesting point would be to see what is the actual % of these masters students actually complete and graduate
Post by: ck on February 13, 2014, 10:56:02 PM
Interesting results today. The heart is bleeding for poor DCU. Think they need a few more scouts at Dublin airport spotting lads coming back from Aus rules contracts.   :P
Stronghold I hope young Clarke is fully registered and yeer not up to ur funny business again!  8)
Post by: rodney trotter on February 13, 2014, 10:59:15 PM
Quote from: The Worker on February 13, 2014, 06:06:16 PM
Any times for the semis ?

Friday 21st Queens, think the first Semi is at 2pm.
Post by: shark on February 13, 2014, 11:02:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 13, 2014, 09:29:15 PM

So there's a credit minimum to play for college teams? Didn't know that! Makes me think how is Graham G eligible unless he's doing a full-time course?

I think it's a 60 credit minimum.  I know when I did my part time Masters it was 90 credits over two years.  I was hoping to play a bit of ball (more than likely intermediate) but was told I wasn't eligible.
Post by: retiredgael on February 13, 2014, 11:03:49 PM
Quote from: ck on February 13, 2014, 10:56:02 PM
Interesting results today. The heart is bleeding for poor DCU. Think they need a few more scouts at Dublin airport spotting lads coming back from Aus rules contracts.   :P
Stronghold I hope young Clarke is fully registered and yeer not up to ur funny business again!  8)

i think if DIT remain quiet it says one of 2 things they were up to mischief too or dont have enough to go against the big spending poly

heart bleeds for dcu at the minute not
Post by: take_yer_points on February 14, 2014, 09:13:52 AM
Quote from: shark on February 13, 2014, 11:02:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 13, 2014, 09:29:15 PM

I think it's a 60 credit minimum.  I know when I did my part time Masters it was 90 credits over two years.  I was hoping to play a bit of ball (more than likely intermediate) but was told I wasn't eligible.

When did you do your masters? I finished mine 6 months ago and it was 180 credits - 90 per year for 2 years. Most modules will have either 10 or 20 credit points so as little as 3 modules could bring someone up to 60 credits. Assuming 3 semesters that could be as little as 1 module per semester
Post by: shark on February 15, 2014, 11:38:47 PM
In UCD all Masters 90 credits. Generally 7.5 credits per module and dissertation worth about 30.
Post by: INDIANA on February 15, 2014, 11:52:07 PM
Quote from: ck on February 13, 2014, 10:56:02 PM

wasn't a stellar DCU team by their standards
Post by: take_yer_points on February 16, 2014, 07:43:15 AM
Quote from: shark on February 15, 2014, 11:38:47 PM
In UCD all Masters 90 credits. Generally 7.5 credits per module and dissertation worth about 30.

It must be different in the north - I think it's generally 60 credits for a post grad certificate, 120 credits for a postgrad diploma and 180 credits for the masters. There are exceptions of course but I think most run like that
Post by: retiredgael on February 16, 2014, 09:31:21 PM
sure what does it matter about clarke, nothing will be done as always, anyway the poly have mcguckin on the exec so not many will cross him although he will be hurting after ballinderrys result yesterday
Post by: stronghold on February 18, 2014, 10:05:53 PM
Quote from: retiredgael on February 16, 2014, 09:31:21 PM
sure what does it matter about clarke, nothing will be done as always, anyway the poly have mcguckin on the exec so not many will cross him although he will be hurting after ballinderrys result yesterday
Retiredgael what part of this do you not or are incapable of understanding Jamie Clarke is doing a full time Masters worth 180 credits and doing 120 credits this year.
As for Mc Guckin on the CA exec he can not get involved in anything concerning Jtown same as Jack Devaney can not get involved with Queens and Ryan Mallon
Post by: Blowitupref on February 18, 2014, 10:20:07 PM
Friday

Sigerson Cup Semi-Finals

NUI Maynooth v UCC,  3.30pm
UUJ v UCD , 5.30pm

Saturday

Sigerson Cup Final 6.45pm

All games played at the Dub Queen's university
Post by: on the sideline on February 19, 2014, 10:06:22 AM
Who is the P. Hughes on the UUJ team? Is it Peter Hughes who is on the Tyrone panel?
Post by: retiredgael on February 19, 2014, 10:29:05 AM
Quote from: stronghold on February 18, 2014, 10:05:53 PM
Quote from: retiredgael on February 16, 2014, 09:31:21 PM
Retiredgael what part of this do you not or are incapable of understanding Jamie Clarke is doing a full time Masters worth 180 credits and doing 120 credits this year.
As for Mc Guckin on the CA exec he can not get involved in anything concerning Jtown same as Jack Devaney can not get involved with Queens and Ryan Mallon

touched a nerve? should be a good match v UCD, need a strong ref for that given sideline antics

so what masters is the said player starting in january? what does it matter with Queens they are already out

Post by: bogball88 on February 20, 2014, 10:25:41 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 19, 2014, 10:06:22 AM
Who is the P. Hughes on the UUJ team? Is it Peter Hughes who is on the Tyrone panel?

I believe so, back at the Poly finishing off his Construction course part time
Post by: stronghold on February 20, 2014, 07:22:33 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on February 20, 2014, 10:25:41 AM

Bog ball don't be such an asshole. The P Hughes is Pat Hughes of Sligo. By the way I think Peter Huhes did Physiotherapy
Post by: bogball88 on February 20, 2014, 09:43:51 PM
Quote from: stronghold on February 20, 2014, 07:22:33 PM

Bog ball don't be such an asshole. The P Hughes is Pat Hughes of Sligo. By the way I think Peter Huhes did Physiotherapy

Stronghold your right Peter Hughes did do physio however you will also find that before he started his physio degree he had completed 2 years of a Construction Engineering Management degree and since completing his physio degree a couple of years ago he has returned part time to complete his original degree. Sorry for getting the wrong P Hughes though.

Asshole a bit strong, no? :o
Post by: ck on February 20, 2014, 09:46:01 PM
Clarke must be operating out of the Crossmaglen campus. Courses there start in January.
Stronghold you should stop being so defensive, you'd swear you had something to hide  8)
Post by: stronghold on February 21, 2014, 08:27:33 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on February 20, 2014, 09:43:51 PM
Quote from: stronghold on February 20, 2014, 07:22:33 PM

Stronghold your right Peter Hughes did do physio however you will also find that before he started his physio degree he had completed 2 years of a Construction Engineering Management degree and since completing his physio degree a couple of years ago he has returned part time to complete his original degree. Sorry for getting the wrong P Hughes though.

Asshole a bit strong, no? :o
Agree a bit strong. Peter Hughes is a very genuine fella.
Thought you where having a go at him.
Post by: stronghold on February 21, 2014, 09:34:25 AM
Quote from: ck on February 20, 2014, 09:46:01 PM
Clarke must be operating out of the Crossmaglen campus. Courses there start in January.
Stronghold you should stop being so defensive, you'd swear you had something to hide  8)
CK what is your problem apart from living in the dark ages. You claim to have served on the Higher Education Committee. If that is the case then you should know that many many courses and students start in January. I only respond to counteract your lies. We know you are obsessed with the Poly, are you now also obsessed with Jamie as well. Don't have to be defensive your every post stinks of your normal obsession, jealousy and the usual academic snobbery. Then again you claim to be from Sligo, support the traditional universities! and listen to Stephen Nolan each morning.

Post by: Any craic on February 21, 2014, 01:28:26 PM
See Ciaran Kilkenny set up a goal for St Pats vs Oisin McConville's DkIT at the Irish Daily Mail Trench Cup. This is from the first-half.. they're in the second-half now... St Pat's are winning easy, second goal by Cormac Costello -  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZB1XsgpuVgc
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2014, 01:32:40 PM
The Maynooth and UCC game looks to be a goodin, Bookies can't separate them, So I've plumbed for the draw at 7/1, any streams for these games or radio?
Post by: Any craic on February 21, 2014, 01:52:37 PM
This is better from Ciaran Kilkenny, scoring a great point and setting up a third goal to seal the win for St Pat's here at Queens
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H50V7UAuVY4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H50V7UAuVY4)
Post by: rodney trotter on February 21, 2014, 01:55:26 PM
Few Cavan lads on both teams. St Pats do well in Trench every year, but never go up to Sigerson which is strange
Post by: ck on February 21, 2014, 02:45:35 PM
Quote from: stronghold on February 21, 2014, 09:34:25 AM
CK what is your problem apart from living in the dark ages. You claim to have served on the Higher Education Committee. If that is the case then you should know that many many courses and students start in January. I only respond to counteract your lies. We know you are obsessed with the Poly, are you now also obsessed with Jamie as well. Don't have to be defensive your every post stinks of your normal obsession, jealousy and the usual academic snobbery. Then again you claim to be from Sligo, support the traditional universities! and listen to Stephen Nolan each morning.

Ah now Stronghold ur awful easy wound up. My obsession is with colleges who play illegal players, simple as that. Sigerson is a terrific gaa tradition and long may it continue.
If you (I'm assuming you are one of the UUJ back room team?) have legal players this year then good luck to you.
Post by: ck on February 21, 2014, 02:47:27 PM
Anyone have teams for semi finals? Also is the final being televised on tg4?
Post by: NAG1 on February 21, 2014, 03:55:21 PM
Quote from: ck on February 21, 2014, 02:47:27 PM
Anyone have teams for semi finals? Also is the final being televised on tg4?

The semi finals are being streamed for a small fee, I am sure a quick google search could lead you to the site.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2014, 03:58:05 PM
UCC 4 up. 0-5 to 1-6
Post by: rodney trotter on February 21, 2014, 03:58:24 PM
Aertv is the site. Sigerson Final is live on Tg4 tomorrow.
Post by: Any craic on February 21, 2014, 04:56:06 PM
Video: See first-half action from today's Irish Daily Mail Semi-final at Queens between NUIM and UCC.   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IA5VYmj5Qk4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IA5VYmj5Qk4)
Post by: angstrom on February 21, 2014, 05:17:28 PM
Anyone got the exact link to the streaming channel.
Post by: ross4life on February 21, 2014, 06:05:59 PM
Quote from: Any craic on February 21, 2014, 01:52:37 PM
This is better from Ciaran Kilkenny, scoring a great point and setting up a third goal to seal the win for St Pat's here at Queens
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H50V7UAuVY4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H50V7UAuVY4)
Good play from Senan Kilbride on that Kilkenny point & is that final pass on the 3rd goal from Diarmuid Murtagh?
Post by: Syferus on February 21, 2014, 06:09:40 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 21, 2014, 06:05:59 PM
Quote from: Any craic on February 21, 2014, 01:52:37 PM
Good play from Senan Kilbride on that Kilkenny point & is that final pass on the 3rd goal from Diarmuid Murtagh?

Generous Ros men.
Post by: retiredgael on February 21, 2014, 07:32:28 PM

well said CK stronghold wouldnt be biting as much if he didnt have something to hide

according to a few lads in the ranch jamie's course started in september when he was over the pond

he must be some student
Post by: ck on February 21, 2014, 07:34:54 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 21, 2014, 03:58:24 PM
Aertv is the site. Sigerson Final is live on Tg4 tomorrow.

Thanks bud. Good to see coverage continuing
Post by: bannside on February 21, 2014, 07:50:43 PM
Come on the Poly.
Post by: Any craic on February 21, 2014, 08:01:24 PM
Video: See UUJ's best 1st half points in 2nite's Irish Daily Mail Sigerson Cup win https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNDWEB8fzBMl (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNDWEB8fzBMl)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 21, 2014, 09:04:30 PM
Jordanstown winning at Queens :P  should be some craic if they win the final lol
Post by: Blowitupref on February 21, 2014, 10:06:29 PM
4 Sigerson cup finals in the last 5 years UCC have now reached under Billy Morgan. After all these years a top manager still showing his worth.
Post by: ck on February 22, 2014, 12:13:12 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 21, 2014, 10:06:29 PM
4 Sigerson cup finals in the last 5 years UCC have now reached under Billy Morgan. After all these years a top manager still showing his worth.

UCC as far as I can see do not have any big names. They do things right and do not run after big name players to their credit. Morgan is the daddy alright. A great record. Anyone know how long he's managing UCC?
I suspect that the UUJ globe trotters will have too much experience and power for them tomorrow though.
Post by: theticklemister on February 22, 2014, 12:26:26 AM
Quote from: ck on February 22, 2014, 12:13:12 AM

They have a full forward line that would grace any county team around

UCC as far as I can see do not have any big names. They do things right and do not run after big name players to their credit. Morgan is the daddy alright. A great record. Anyone know how long he's managing UCC?
I suspect that the UUJ globe trotters will have too much experience and power for them tomorrow though.
Post by: ck on February 22, 2014, 12:28:32 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 22, 2014, 12:26:26 AM

They have a full forward line that would grace any county team around

Who are they? I didn't recognise the names? Tell us more ticklmaster. Thanks
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 12:36:16 AM
Morgan is the daddy alright. A great record. Anyone know how long he's managing UCC?

Has been their manager since October 2009. Morgan has already managed UCC to Sigerson final win over UUJ http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2011/0305/277216-ucc_uuj/ though tomorrow the favourites UUJ should win.
Post by: theticklemister on February 22, 2014, 12:40:27 AM
Geaney and cox both line out for kerry and quivinlan is the young lad who was star on the minor and u21 excellent tip teams.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 12:55:12 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 22, 2014, 12:40:27 AM
Geaney and cox both line out for kerry and quivinlan is the young lad who was star on the minor and u21 excellent tip teams.

Conoreen is the son of a true West Ros man too. That's where his football skills come from.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 11:48:59 AM
Quote from: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 12:55:12 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 22, 2014, 12:40:27 AM

Conoreen is the son of a true West Ros man too. That's where his football skills come from.

;D You're a gas man to be fair!

Conoreen is Listowel and Kerry to the core...same as the Brogan's and Johnny Sexton.  ;)
Post by: Cosmic Fool on February 22, 2014, 12:52:23 PM
Are all uuj starting 15 inter county players?
Post by: 5 Sams on February 22, 2014, 06:16:00 PM
Joe Brolly winding the Poly lads up over on Twitter :D VV funny ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on February 22, 2014, 06:38:51 PM
Any links for the streaming? Cheers
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 22, 2014, 06:40:06 PM
good to know Charlie`s Irish is up to scratch
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 22, 2014, 06:50:24 PM
No-one tell big Niall McKeever u get a back card for drag down type tackles, hes very rash, Cox was fairly handy against derry, probably be to the fore the nite again for UCC
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 07:01:49 PM
16 mins gone UCC well organised and leading 0-3 to 0-0
Post by: our_fella on February 22, 2014, 07:13:37 PM
Only turned match on 4-5 mins...

Jesus McQuillan is an aul bollux. Jtown not getting anything from him. Esp that black card, and the foul against hughes
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 07:17:37 PM
HT UCC 0-6 UUJ 0-2
Post by: Kidder81 on February 22, 2014, 07:21:28 PM
As Brolly said the students are doing well against the semi pros
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 07:22:26 PM
Quote from: our_fella on February 22, 2014, 07:13:37 PM

Jesus McQuillan is an aul bollux. Jtown not getting anything from him. Esp that black card, and the foul against hughes

Are you saying it WASN'T a black card?
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:22:47 PM

Ah stop will ya, that was a black card and even if you could argue otherwise everybody could surely see how McQuillan felt he pulled the man down. The ref has been fine, the team defending against a strong wind will always concede more frees than they get.
Title: Leabhar
Post by: drici on February 22, 2014, 07:27:27 PM
Rewind to 25:18 on TG4 and it is very clear that it is not a black card.
Referee holds up a small closed notebook instead.
Title: Re: Leabhar
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 07:30:30 PM
Quote from: drici on February 22, 2014, 07:27:27 PM
Rewind to 25:18 on TG4 and it is very clear that it is not a black card.
Referee holds up a small closed notebook instead.

Post by: Family guy on February 22, 2014, 07:41:03 PM
Walsh is an out and out corner back,what's he doing playing were he is,wasted there especially when there getting destroyed inside
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 22, 2014, 07:41:46 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 07:22:26 PM

i didnt think it was either.  ???
I didnt see it as a deliberate attempt to pull down the opponent.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 07:43:43 PM
40 mins gone  UCC 0-9 UUJ 0-2
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:48:37 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on February 22, 2014, 07:41:46 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 07:22:26 PM

i didnt think it was either.  ???
I didnt see it as a deliberate attempt to pull down the opponent.

He left the hand in, though you couldn't say for sure from the replay if he had a hold of the jersey. If it wasn't a black card, and I thought it was, you could see why a ref would think it was.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:51:49 PM
Jordanstown have been incredibly poor in the second half. They may still win this but they're not playing a vintage UCC team and they've lacked the ability and imagination so far to break them down.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 22, 2014, 07:53:03 PM
UCC are playing like a team unlike the other made up team
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 22, 2014, 07:53:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:51:49 PM
Jordanstown have been incredibly poor in the second half. They may still win this but they're not playing a vintage UCC team and they've lacked the ability and imagination so far to break them down.
ronan oneill is the only player that looks like he could make things happen.
good to see him playing at 11
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 07:54:54 PM
51 mins gone UCC 0-9 UUJ 0-5
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 07:55:02 PM
Nice dive by Clarke there. :(
Post by: retiredgael on February 22, 2014, 07:55:15 PM
jamie clarke going down like a ballerina for that free
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 07:59:56 PM
4mins remaining  UCC 0-9 UUJ 0-8, 6 scores in a row from UUJ
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 22, 2014, 08:02:45 PM
outrageous from oneill there
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 08:04:02 PM
Real Roscommon vision by Conoreen on the final pass there.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2014, 08:05:30 PM
Against the odds an master class from Billy Morgan and his team FT UCC 0-10 UUJ 0-9.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 08:07:07 PM
Over to you, CK..
Post by: retiredgael on February 22, 2014, 08:08:07 PM
stronghold ?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2014, 08:09:30 PM
Billy says they have "33 genuine students".
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 08:10:09 PM
Wow, what a finish! Thought it was extra time, but some composure from UCC to hold the ball and create the chance for Dorman. Great win..deserved it I thought.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 08:10:29 PM
Billy going in with two feet there.
Post by: retiredgael on February 22, 2014, 08:11:44 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2014, 08:09:30 PM

you cant buy success too
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 22, 2014, 08:11:53 PM
UUJ only played well in the final fifteen minutes. Best side won well done to UCC.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 22, 2014, 08:12:04 PM
UCC by far the better team, for all the names playing on the UUJ team, they played like a bunch of strangers, the postioning of alot of the ulster team i question, How many county men on the UCC team,
Post by: rrhf on February 22, 2014, 08:13:00 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2014, 08:09:30 PM
You would wonder how the canteen stays open..
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 22, 2014, 08:17:05 PM
Brolly is having a field day on twitter.."UCC 0-10  UUJ Interflora 0-9. Just goes to show, you don't always get what you pay for.".. ;D
Post by: shark on February 22, 2014, 08:32:25 PM
Prior to Billy Morgan taking the reigns for the 2010 competition UCC hadn't won a Sigerson match for 3/4 years. He has brought them to 4 finals in 5 years, winning 2. I thought they were gone tonight when O'Neill landed that point.
Post by: Bingo on February 22, 2014, 08:35:07 PM
Is sigerson over hyped by the playing of intercounty "students".

I don't know if UCC had any intercounty players, likely a good few U21's, but they played like a club team who have together for a while and have a team bond. UUJ look like they bound in the gym when at "college" on a break from their intercounty duties.

Many years a go we had serious craic playing college ball, you played with lads in the college who got their on merit and everyone got stuck in and enjoyed it for what it was. We only ever played trench but had a few intercounty players who done their bit.

Fair play to the intercounty players who may get a good degree or masters out of it but in the greater scheme of things I don't think the rest of intercounty football should stop for it.
Post by: skeog on February 22, 2014, 08:36:30 PM
what is the definition of a genuine student that billy morgan was talking about
Post by: retiredgael on February 22, 2014, 08:45:07 PM
someone who goes to classes and doesnt just register for a masters and maybe doesnt attend, or does home study

stronghold will tell us we are all paranoid, so what does joe brolly know that the rest of us may only think?

Post by: CD on February 22, 2014, 08:55:19 PM
Game was totally destroyed by the wind but I suppose it boiled down to who played it best and UCC were far more cohesive and effective. UUJ just weren't direct enough and didn't use the huge amount of ball that the excellent Niall McKeever won in the second half. Well done UCC and particularly there management and tactical team who really did their homework on their opponents and on the conditions. A deserved victory.
Post by: ballinaman on February 22, 2014, 08:56:23 PM
Quote from: skeog on February 22, 2014, 08:36:30 PM
what is the definition of a genuine student that billy morgan was talking about
The usual stuff...loo roll as kitchen towels, soup and pasta for lunch, scabb lifts home ect I reckon...
Post by: Any craic on February 22, 2014, 08:57:41 PM
This is the winning score from my low angle camera... was it over?  I think so, to be honest.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=No6kc6yMkCo
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 08:58:34 PM
Presumably a cohesive bunch of "genuine student" lads will always do better than a made up team with a load of County lads who are more interested in their County duties.
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 09:02:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 09:00:52 PM
It bores the balls off me tbh. It doesn't matter who wins it.
+1.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 09:19:45 PM
I really enjoy it and have seen some great games over the years. I'm pretty sure UCC have a few Cork seniors and Quinivan is a start for Tipp.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 22, 2014, 09:35:19 PM
UCC have 4 players on the Cork Senior Panel, Tom Clancy, Conor Dorman, Alan Cronin who was suspended from yesterdays Semi and Brian O Driscoll.

Clancy was starting last year against the Dubs in the All Ireland quarter final, was on the u21 team that reached the All ireland final last year too, so was Cronin.

Conor Cox and Paul Geaney are on the Kerry Senior panel this year too.
Post by: reddog on February 22, 2014, 10:00:04 PM
Two things...ucc deserve a lot of credit over the weekend, worthy winners.but firstly that point was a good 4ft wide. Secondly , the clock wasn't stopped at all in second half yet the hooter blew up on 30 mins therefore there wasn't one second of injury time played.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 10:04:50 PM
I thought it looked good as it seemed to land in the pitches behind the match pitch so although it looked to have landed wide I think that is deceiving. There was no added time in the first half either so I presumed the clock was stopped a la rugby when the ref indicated it. Time keeping in the GAA is farcical, a ref running down the length of the field to talk to the umpires is not added to time unless the ref deems it to be an abnormal delay of time - daft.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 10:14:00 PM
Quote from: reddog on February 22, 2014, 10:00:04 PM
Two things...ucc deserve a lot of credit over the weekend, worthy winners.but firstly that point was a good 4ft wide. Secondly , the clock wasn't stopped at all in second half yet the hooter blew up on 30 mins therefore there wasn't one second of injury time played.

..so not worthy winners, then.
Post by: reddog on February 22, 2014, 10:14:30 PM
That was what was meant to happen but clock didn't stop. Morgan was out of order. Not the way to celebrate a win. Typical of the man
Post by: reddog on February 22, 2014, 10:15:41 PM
I must qualify that I think ucc were worthy in the way they played over the weekend. The timekeeping and call at the end wasn't down to them
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 10:29:44 PM
Quote from: shark on February 22, 2014, 08:32:25 PM
Prior to Billy Morgan taking the reigns for the 2010 competition UCC hadn't won a Sigerson match for 3/4 years. He has brought them to 4 finals in 5 years, winning 2. I thought they were gone tonight when O'Neill landed that point.
O'Neill is a hoor and near 40. Should be nowhere near Sigerson.
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 10:32:56 PM
Not near 40.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 10:34:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 10:32:56 PM
Not near 40.
Post by: ck on February 23, 2014, 12:44:58 AM
Tonight's Sigerson win was a victory for... As Billy Morgan put it "genuine students".. That was Billy's direct dig at UUJ who as everyone knows had players playing today who are not legit students. They try to pull in "stars" year after year and what does it get them?.. Just a bad name.
UCC were a real college team typifying Sigerson metal. Massive congrats to their integrity and honest endeavour. Sigerson is a terrific competition, and as long as it's won by honest teams like UCC then it has a great future
Post by: RandyDupree on February 23, 2014, 12:49:37 AM
So who are these non-genuine students then?  ???

Name and shame.
Post by: retiredgael on February 23, 2014, 02:26:10 AM
Quote from: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 10:04:50 PM
I thought it looked good as it seemed to land in the pitches behind the match pitch so although it looked to have landed wide I think that is deceiving. There was no added time in the first half either so I presumed the clock was stopped a la rugby when the ref indicated it. Time keeping in the GAA is farcical, a ref running down the length of the field to talk to the umpires is not added to time unless the ref deems it to be an abnormal delay of time - daft.

let the poly appeal we could have some serious fun if they do

sore losers despite the moneybags

Post by: rrhf on February 23, 2014, 02:27:45 AM
Polytechnics or priest refinerys should not be allowed at sigerson level.
Post by: CD on February 23, 2014, 07:36:44 AM
Quote from: reddog on February 22, 2014, 10:00:04 PM

From the stand where I was sitting it (the UCC winning point) looked ok but the reaction of the UUJ keeper suggested he was sure it was wide - although I lost all sympathy for him when he faffed around with the ball for the next few minutes rather than getting it up the field where it was needed. What was he doing?
Also couldn't understand why he was taking 45metre frees with a gale force wind at his back. Surely any player in the UUJ team could have hit these wide just as easily? He scored one and took at least 90 seconds each time. He waited for an outfield player to summon him forward each time so they clearly didn't have a management agreed strategy for long range frees. Even u12 teams have agreed free takers these days.
UUJ hit at least 12 wides and scored 7 points in the second half and the UCC keeper rightly (because the UUJ keeper did it in the first half) took his time with each kickout - 40 seconds at least each time - over 12 minutes in total for kickouts and the clock didn't stop once. Not once!
Post by: Mid Down Gael on February 23, 2014, 11:16:38 AM
As a jordanstown fan I must say they have only themselves to blame. UCC played the better football and where much more economical in front of goals.
Rory Beegan fucked up big time at the end, with near two mins left he fluffed a short kickout, and made a balls of another pass. This wasted near a minute when a long kickout was the only option.
UUJ kicked 17 wides which is atriocious. Too many of their players played like individuals and passing the ball to a better placed player was never an option. Mcaliskey, Donnelly and Kieran Hughes employed the shoot on site method much too often and trying to be Heros.
For the management uuj have I thought their tactics and system of play in second half especially where poorly conveyed. Direct football to oboyle and Clarke with players playing of them would have reaped some rewards, but instead they continued with soloing and hand passing. for the players they had he management also need to take a long look in the mirror, no way should that side have been loosing that match.
On the new hooter system what a disaster. Not once did that clown mcquillan raise his hands for the clock to be stopped during injuries meaning not a second of additional time was played in either half.
This is going to cause some bother in year ahead unless the rule is refined and the timekeeper is fully in charge. There is no doubt in my mind mcquillan forgot clean all about raising his hands to signal stoppages last night. Another stupid rule going to cause controversy.
Post by: Throw ball on February 23, 2014, 12:23:06 PM
Quote from: retiredgael on February 22, 2014, 07:55:15 PM
jamie clarke going down like a ballerina for that free

Interesting how people pick up on this rather than the times he got the jersey pulled off his back and did not get a free. Sadly in football now it does not pay to stand on your feet.

For the record Clarke stays on his feet more than most.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 23, 2014, 01:10:31 PM
It bores the balls off me tbh. It doesn't matter who wins it, the talk is always about the same thing - who is pulling a flanker.

That quality of football bores the balls off you? Fairly ridiculous statement to make if you ask me, but you're entitled to your opinion I suppose. Personally have got huge enjoyment out of watching Sigerson over the years.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 23, 2014, 01:13:13 PM
The year i was at Uni UUj had 27 county men on the panel, dont think they won it them 2 year either, this  back round 95/96, brian and Eamon Burns were at the uni doing masters i think and didnt even bother to play that year, so who excately on the UUJ team is there under dodgy circumstances? Clarke?. As someone said a team with this panel of players should not be losing that game, some star players had nightmares
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 23, 2014, 01:25:17 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 23, 2014, 01:13:13 PM
The year i was at Uni UUj had 27 county men on the panel, dont think they won it them 2 year either, this  back round 95/96, brian and Eamon Burns were at the uni doing masters i think and didnt even bother to play that year, so who excately on the UUJ team is there under dodgy circumstances? Clarke?. As someone said a team with this panel of players should not be losing that game, some star players had nightmares

Well if it was around 96, Tralee won the Sigerson and had probably 20 county players aswell!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 23, 2014, 01:31:32 PM
Think Jim McGunniees won afew down there on his sports travels, then 1 one at UUJ when he came back up, not sure the years, Jim nearly managed a 10yr career at uni lol
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 23, 2014, 01:49:44 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 23, 2014, 01:31:32 PM
Think Jim McGunniees won afew down there on his sports travels, then 1 one at UUJ when he came back up, not sure the years, Jim nearly managed a 10yr career at uni lol

Yeah he was there for Tralee's first anyway in 1997 and the second one down in Tralee in 98, don't think he was there for the 3rd one. Captained UUJ then in 2001 the year the foot and mouth meant there was no weekend. Then he went off to John Moores for the Psychology masters I think..some spell in college alright! Fair play to him though, he was working towards a real goal and got there..not like some of the more high profile "students" in recent years.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on February 23, 2014, 02:17:52 PM
Whatever happened UUC? (Coleraine). Wouldn't be Sigerson level now obviously, but I haven't seen them feature at any level recently?

Heard a rumour that (Tommy) Joe Stalin decreed that they and Magee should be annexed into the Great UU Collective in pursuit of Sigerson glory? Wouldn't go down well in the NW I'm sure, if true, and a real slap in the teeth for those that put so much effort into the clubs up there (and not for the Sigerson glory). The manner of yesterday's defeat wouldn't help matters much either.

How many of yesterday's UUJ team are on courses based in the Coleraine/Derry campuses? If so, why are they still called UUJ and not just UU?
Post by: rodney trotter on February 23, 2014, 02:19:34 PM
McGuinnes situation was different anyway, left school at 15, and returned at 23 completed  Leaving Cert at 25, and progressed on from Tralee to Jordandstown to Liverpool for a degree http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCcQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.ie%2Firish-news%2Fgaa-star-jim-mcguinness-tells-of-his-late-return-to-school-29023066.html&ei=7gIKU-SWHq7T7AaomIGICA&usg=AFQjCNH4fuBD1gscLba9wP19H-9d6gLdMw

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=9&cad=rja&ved=0CE4QFjAI&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.ie%2Fsport%2Fgaelic-football%2Fmcguinness-journey-of-a-lifetime-now-reaching-final-destination-28811157.html&ei=8QMKU4a9L_Og7Aak34CYBw&usg=AFQjCNF2ev527S2dXRMJLrpGHqTm8gP8iQ
Post by: our_fella on February 23, 2014, 02:30:56 PM
Any chance Queens can get Billy Morgan up from UCC??

1 win in 6 years.. Dreadful
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on February 23, 2014, 02:54:39 PM
Quote from: our_fella on February 23, 2014, 02:30:56 PM
Any chance Queens can get Billy Morgan up from UCC??

1 win in 6 years.. Dreadful

1 win in 8 years for QUB
1 win in 7 years for UUJ

UUJ will probably be looking for a replacement for big Adrian some time soon (was this his 17th season with them?) although I "genuinely" don't think Billy Morgan could be persuaded  ;D
Post by: ck on February 24, 2014, 11:40:34 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 09:02:52 PM
+1.

So why are you even on this thread if it bores you so much?
Post by: bogball88 on February 24, 2014, 01:57:03 PM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on February 23, 2014, 02:17:52 PM
Whatever happened UUC? (Coleraine). Wouldn't be Sigerson level now obviously, but I haven't seen them feature at any level recently?

Heard a rumour that (Tommy) Joe Stalin decreed that they and Magee should be annexed into the Great UU Collective in pursuit of Sigerson glory? Wouldn't go down well in the NW I'm sure, if true, and a real slap in the teeth for those that put so much effort into the clubs up there (and not for the Sigerson glory). The manner of yesterday's defeat wouldn't help matters much either.

How many of yesterday's UUJ team are on courses based in the Coleraine/Derry campuses? If so, why are they still called UUJ and not just UU?

UUC are alive and kicking, beat by 8 points in the Trench Cup quarter final by an inspired Ciaran Kilkenny  St Pats Dromcondra side who went onto win the Trench Cup
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on February 25, 2014, 03:12:25 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on February 24, 2014, 01:57:03 PM
UUC are alive and kicking, beat by 8 points in the Trench Cup quarter final by an inspired Ciaran Kilkenny  St Pats Dromcondra side who went onto win the Trench Cup

Good to hear. That they're alive and kicking, not that they were beaten, obviously...
Post by: Rossfan on February 25, 2014, 03:41:17 PM
Quote from: ck on February 24, 2014, 11:40:34 AM
+1.

Because I can if I want to and secondly so that I can annoy lúders .....
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 04:00:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 25, 2014, 03:41:17 PM
+1.

So, anyone not agreeing with you that the Sigerson is shit is a "lúder"?  ::)
Post by: Rossfan on February 25, 2014, 05:22:36 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 04:00:26 PM
+1.

No.
I would have thought that a Kerryman would be cute enough to see who I mean. ;)
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 05:54:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 25, 2014, 05:22:36 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 25, 2014, 04:00:26 PM
+1.

No.
I would have thought that a Kerryman would be cute enough to see who I mean. ;)

Ah, I see.  ;D

Well, if its just that angle your on, then work away..but I was just responding to you saying Sigerson bored the balls off you...anyway, as you were.
Post by: shawshank on February 25, 2014, 06:57:34 PM
UUJ are a team of individuals, some greedy gits on that team, worst offenders are Donnelly and Clarke with Hughes the worst.
Post by: ck on February 25, 2014, 08:15:58 PM
Heard today that next years Sigerson may be moved to before Christmas. That will probably be the end of the colleges in the January county tournaments I would have thought.
Post by: Zulu on February 25, 2014, 08:37:08 PM
Where did you hear that? I doubt very much that is the case as I would imagine that something like that would have to be agreed at a fairly high level. The university competitions in Britain would have to be adjusted to have representatives for the Trench cup and that hasn't been proposed so I'd be shocked if a change of that magnitude is in the immediate future.
Post by: Syferus on February 25, 2014, 08:52:59 PM
Quote from: ck on February 25, 2014, 08:15:58 PM
Heard today that next years Sigerson will be moved to before Christmas. That will probably be the end of the colleges in the January county tournaments I would have thought.

Won't that technically be this year!? UUC win the title and UUJ just use their money to buy a second shot at the title..
Post by: ck on February 25, 2014, 09:36:58 PM
Yeah I guess there will be all sorts of implications should it go through. There is one college who has proposed it to Croke so all it will need is the backing of other colleges. Not sure if it will get that but who knows.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 26, 2014, 03:43:41 PM
I think this proposal has been mooted a while now. Was in part of the recommendations that came out along with the porposed moving of countres to other provinces?

Seems like common sense. Get the college football finished up before Christmas so the ridiculous county v. college stuff is ended. Exams will probably be thrown up as a reason against this I suppose (insert relevant joke/accusation here....)  :D
Post by: Zulu on February 26, 2014, 04:44:15 PM
There are many good reasons not to move Sigerson to pre-Christmasbut the point, and it should be for everything, is the Sigerson shouldn't be changed in isolation. Any changes to the University competitions should be made as part of an overall review of the season at every level. There is no one competition that's causing problems, every competition is feeding in to a season that makes less sense by the year.
Post by: Syferus on February 26, 2014, 04:45:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 26, 2014, 03:43:41 PM
I think this proposal has been mooted a while now. Was in part of the recommendations that came out along with the porposed moving of countres to other provinces?

Seems like common sense. Get the college football finished up before Christmas so the ridiculous county v. college stuff is ended. Exams will probably be thrown up as a reason against this I suppose (insert relevant joke/accusation here....)  :D

A bunch of colleges have exams in January after Christmas rather than before so they can't use that as a reason against or even in general.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 26, 2014, 04:55:12 PM
How would fit it in with the Ryan Cup before Christmass? or do plan to scrap the League and just have the Sigerson. Some preparation that is.
Post by: Sidney on February 26, 2014, 11:55:28 PM
It bores the balls off me tbh. It doesn't matter who wins it, the talk is always about the same thing - who is pulling a flanker.
+2

Nobody outside those directly involved gives a shit about it.
Post by: Sidney on March 01, 2014, 12:46:25 AM
WIT's superior fitness today outwitted LIT in a match that lit up this year's Shitgibbon Cup semi-finals, certainly for the 15 people in attendance. They are now pitted against CIT, who shocked UCC, who presumably thought they'd have a bit to spare in their all-langer semi-final, by a point. Great to UCC's disrespect in breaking the rhyming theme of the tournament punished.

The WIT-CIT final is live tomorrow on TG4 and that should be a real ratings hit.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 01, 2014, 01:01:18 AM
Quote from: Sidney on March 01, 2014, 12:46:25 AM
WIT's superior fitness today outwitted LIT in a match that lit up this year's Shitgibbon Cup semi-finals, certainly for the 15 people in attendance. They are now pitted against CIT, who shocked UCC, who presumably thought they'd have a bit to spare in their all-langer semi-final, by a point. Great to UCC's disrespect in breaking the rhyming theme of the tournament punished.

The WIT-CIT final is live tomorrow on TG4 and that should be a real ratings hit.

http://www.thescore.ie/lit-wit-fitzgibbon-cup-1338277-Feb2014/ (http://www.thescore.ie/lit-wit-fitzgibbon-cup-1338277-Feb2014/)
Waterford IT defeat Limerick IT in epic Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final that features 43 scores

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=210648 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=210648)

Fitzgibbon Cup: WIT win amazing semi-final

Dry your eyes mate.

Post by: ck on March 01, 2014, 11:08:31 AM
Quote from: Sidney on February 26, 2014, 11:55:28 PM
+2

Nobody outside those directly involved gives a shit about it.

Yes I'd say that's a fair assessment Sidney. It's played during the week during college time so will never get the following however anyone who knows anything about football will know and appreciate what it stands for. Generally good players want to test themselves out and no better place than playing for their college, especially for those who haven't quite made it to county yet.
Post by: Any craic on March 01, 2014, 11:41:57 AM
Superb games and drama at the Fitzgibbon Cup yesterday - here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJgXGHm8QmU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJgXGHm8QmU)  & here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MA5KnfFLNY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MA5KnfFLNY)
Post by: orangeman on March 01, 2014, 11:50:51 AM
Quote from: Any craic on March 01, 2014, 11:41:57 AM
Superb games and drama at the Fitzgibbon Cup yesterday - here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJgXGHm8QmU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJgXGHm8QmU)  & here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MA5KnfFLNY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MA5KnfFLNY)

The ref must have lost his whistle during that last five minutes of Cit v UCC game.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 01, 2014, 02:12:49 PM
Quote from: Any craic on March 01, 2014, 11:41:57 AM

Thanks for all the videos you've shared with us Jerome,appreciate it.

Looking forward to watching Fitz final on TG4 now.
Post by: billabong on September 03, 2014, 01:34:02 PM
I see Martin Clarke is expected to line out for UUJ this coming year  ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)
Post by: ck on September 03, 2014, 03:32:34 PM
Quote from: billabong on September 03, 2014, 01:34:02 PM
I see Martin Clarke is expected to line out for UUJ this coming year  ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

Sure didn't they have a team of All-star players last year and they still couldn't win the thing.  ;) As Billy Morgan said last year, it was good to see a college team of real students win.  :P
Good luck to Clarke all the same. Hope to see him back in the Down colours, they badly need him.
Post by: billabong on September 03, 2014, 03:55:02 PM
Waiting for Stronghold to take the bait and bite ;D
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 03, 2014, 04:00:27 PM
I thought it said in GL that he would play for UUJ but not until next season?
Post by: rodney trotter on September 03, 2014, 08:44:21 PM
Yeah GL said he won't be playing Sigerson until 2016,. He will be in UUJ this year though.BBC had it as playing Sigerson this year. Mooney to attend UUJ as well.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 10:24:56 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on September 03, 2014, 08:44:21 PM
Yeah GL said he won't be playing Sigerson until 2016,. He will be in UUJ this year though.BBC had it as playing Sigerson this year. Mooney to attend UUJ as well.
Id say that there is a fair chance that James McCartan could influence where clarke and mooney turns up...not a cert that it is UUJ...QUB have somer serious talent lined up for this year as well...allegedly....tho UUJ always have the cream it seems...wasnt clarke at St Marys and then walked in 2010??
Post by: rodney trotter on September 03, 2014, 11:07:41 PM
Yeah he was, only for a few months though, dropped out of the course. didn't play Sigerson.
Which names are playing for QUB this year? Michael Murphy was mentioned last year but that didn't happen.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:09:43 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on September 03, 2014, 11:07:41 PM
Yeah he was, only for a few months though, dropped out of the course. didn't play Sigerson.
Which names are playing for QUB this year? Michael Murphy was mentioned last year but that didn't happen.

i think murphy again...but yeah, he was down for a few a places last year...
Post by: rodney trotter on September 04, 2014, 09:32:06 AM
In the Gaelic life that Mooney is to play with UUJ this year http://t.co/HuL8CLIT3h
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 04, 2014, 10:41:36 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on September 04, 2014, 09:32:06 AM
In the Gaelic life that Mooney is to play with UUJ this year http://t.co/HuL8CLIT3h

Ah yeah - they will be working hard to get the down players in there eesp withTommy Joe about.

Last year in the final v UCC they shot 19 wides all game with some of the best players at college level playing...UCC were amazing in last years competition...and a great set of lads too...bumped into a few of them in cork earlier this year...will be hard for the north colleges to compete i think, but you would live in hope!
Post by: Syferus on September 26, 2014, 10:44:46 PM
Martin McHugh is returning to manage IT Sligo again, was the man who took them to their first Sigerson back in 2002. Both his boys are still in ITS, as is James Horan's persona non grata Evan Regan.

Good pieces to work with, albeit a college that actually has to operate within normal constraints. Would be nice for the Sigerson to come west for a change..
Post by: rodney trotter on September 26, 2014, 10:47:32 PM
Mark McHugh has been there a while at this stage, must be his final year now?. I think another McHugh, Eoin is there too, excellent player, u21 again next year. He is a nephew of Martin McHugh.
Post by: Syferus on September 26, 2014, 10:54:06 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on September 26, 2014, 10:47:32 PM
Mark McHugh has been there a while at this stage, must be his final year now?. I think another McHugh, Eoin is there too, excellent player, u21 again next year. He is a nephew of Martin McHugh.

Think he was in his final year last year, dunno if it was a three or four year course so he could either be on an add-on year or a Masters or the like.

Was surprised to see his face pop up in my Facebook feed from ITS' promotional stuff for the new year but he's some buck to have.

No Connacht college has even made the Sigerson final since ITS last won it in 2005..