GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on January 22, 2014, 03:53:18 PM

Title: Doire v Tir Eoghain, Celtic Park, Sat 1st Feb & on Setanta Sports 1
Post by: Fuzzman on January 22, 2014, 03:53:18 PM
Derry will be sporting their new strip for this exciting first round encounter. Playing under Tyrone man McIvor no doubt Derry will be looking forward to the visit of their near neighbours Tyrone who haven't beaten Derry at Celtic park for ? number of years?
With most of their big guns back playing and no Bradleys to distract them as Skinner is still playing ground ball then Derry will be hoping to use the league as a good springboard this year and could surprise a few people, including having a special welcome for the Dubs on Paddy's weekend, 16th.

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTSxtkZlqip1mBY4HqLfBExJzQBkq_geNxijJOgt_j1beFf-NFA) (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BaLgY3xIAAAMapp.jpg:large)

Tyrone have got off to their usual flying start of the year, unbeaten so far in the McKenna cup with all the Uni boys controversially on board to add to our already popularity in Ulster.
Most of us have forgotten the post match blues and feeling on inevitability after last years defeat to Mayo. The new year brings new hope with all the fresh faces and excitement of a new dawn with only a few all Ireland winners left in the squad.
It will be interesting to see what team Mickey lines out, especially with so little of the older heads playing so far this year. You would expect both Cavanaghs, Mark Donnelly, Conor Gormley and Mattie Donnelly being the main team leaders now although if big Joe is fit to play he too will prove a big help.
History would point to a Derry win but I'm gonna stick my neck out and say Tyrone to show their new attacking force and to win in a very open game for a change.
Title: Re: Doire v Tir Eoghain, Celtic Park, Sat 1st Feb & on Setanta Sports 1
Post by: clarshack on January 22, 2014, 03:58:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 22, 2014, 03:53:18 PM
Tyrone who haven't beaten Derry at Celtic park for ? number of years?

pretty sure tyrone (seniors) have never won in celtic park. think the minors won there in 1992.
Post by: Estimator on January 22, 2014, 04:31:40 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 22, 2014, 03:58:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 22, 2014, 03:53:18 PM
Tyrone who haven't beaten Derry at Celtic park for ? number of years?

pretty sure tyrone (seniors) have never won in celtic park. think the minors won there in 1992.

I hate stats like that.  How many games would that extend to? 5/6? 
The last championship encounter played at the venue between the to sides was probably in 1992.
Title: Dóchreidte
Post by: drici on January 22, 2014, 04:53:46 PM
AnAlligatorWouldn'tSwallowThis (http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2006/0208/ireland/kelly-defends-gaa-pay-per-view-deal-459207643.html)

Kelly defends GAA pay-per-view deal

Wednesday, February 08, 2006

By Jim O'Sullivan

THE GAA did not appreciate that a significant number of supporters would be precluded from watching live NFL games when it signed an agreement with Setanta Sports, President Sean Kelly said yesterday.

However, he stressed the channel had only been given "minimal" rights to six games. He argued having Setanta involved in the last "auction" of rights strengthened the GAA's hand in negotiating with RTÉ.

Kerry fans were upset when they learned last week that they would not be able to see Saturday night's floodlit game with Mayo unless they were subscribers to Setanta.

"People were annoyed because they were used to TG4 coverage," said Mr Kelly.

Interestingly, however, it's believed to have swelled the attendance in Tralee and the same factor is likely to come into play for Saturday's floodlit game between Cork and Kerry in Páirc Uí Rinn, which will also be shown on Setanta.

Mr Kelly accepted it would not be in the GAA's interests if young people were being drawn into pubs to watch live games.

Mr Kelly said there had been "no real competition" to RTÉ until Setanta entered the market.

"Setanta were able to bid for all the rights the last time. It meant we were in a position to bargain with RTÉ and do as good a deal as we did. We owed it to Setanta to give them something."
Post by: EC Unique on January 22, 2014, 11:57:33 PM
Garvaghy training complex will be open from 9 until 12 the day of the match for any travelling Tyrone supporters wanting immunisation injections.
Post by: rrhf on January 23, 2014, 12:10:57 AM
The winners of this match will win the all ireland
Post by: J OGorman on January 23, 2014, 09:27:54 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 22, 2014, 11:57:33 PM
Garvaghy training complex will be open from 9 until 12 the day of the match for any travelling Tyrone supporters wanting immunisation injections.

as usual, dont forget to bring your paypackets
Post by: tbrick18 on January 23, 2014, 09:54:04 AM

Plenty of travellers in tyrone alright (I think it's something to do with the widespread practice of inbreeding in Tyrone making them feel more accepted).
Very kind of Club Tyrone to fund immunisations for them.
Post by: sheamy on January 23, 2014, 10:00:54 AM

Be careful taking those things at such high altitude.
Post by: orangeman on January 23, 2014, 10:49:06 AM
Has anybody here got Setanta sports channel ?

Is it worth getting ?
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 27, 2014, 11:07:26 PM
Any predictions for the Tyrone team for this one? Based on the McKenna Cup I'd like to see something like this:
Morgan
McKenna
Clarke
Tierney
McGinley
Harte
McNabb
Grugan
McBride
PJ Lavery
McGuigan
S Cavanagh
McCurry
Donnelly
McAliskey

Exciting enough team which rewards boys who did well in McKenna Cup. Ronan O'Neill would be unlucky not to start but great option to come off the bench. Sean Cavanagh is the one player who if fit I'd throw straight back in due to the difference he'd make. Would be interesting to see how midfield would do and McGuigan and PJ Lavery would be exciting additions to the half forward line. Still not sure about the full back line.
Post by: rrhf on January 28, 2014, 07:04:01 AM
Yes well done
Post by: God14 on January 28, 2014, 09:50:32 AM
The bookies have this one relatively even matched
Derry 5/4
Tyrone 4/5
Draw 15/2

Normally I wouldn't touch this game for a bet, but the 4/5 for Tyrone is very tempting - even at Celtic Park. Celtic Park has been a graveyard for us down the years but especially if the Cavanagh's are available as is rumoured, I reckon its a good bet

I thought Derry showed a lot more of their hand in the McKenna game the last day. Fergal Doherty & Niall Holly ought to win the midfield battle once more in terms of primary possession, but I cant see us getting cleaned out on breaking ball to the same extent.
Niall Morgan is normally worth a few points plus his accuracy from kickouts can at least temper the influence of big Fergal.
Post by: sensethetone on January 28, 2014, 12:39:34 PM
having tyrone up first in the league suits derry, they'll have been focused on this fixture for a while had their homework done on possible tyrone tatics and personell. last year they got caught by galway in the first round they'll not want to start the league with  a defeat, tyrone will really have to be a step ahead to win in celtic park.
Post by: Under Lights on January 28, 2014, 02:05:36 PM
Sean Cavanagh won't play any part. Hasn't returned to training with the county yet.
Post by: EC Unique on January 28, 2014, 03:14:36 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on January 28, 2014, 12:39:34 PM
having tyrone up first in the league suits derry, they'll have been focused on this fixture for a while had their homework done on possible tyrone tatics and personell. last year they got caught by galway in the first round they'll not want to start the league with  a defeat, tyrone will really have to be a step ahead to win in celtic park.

The people within Tyrone could not even make a guess at the Tyrone team and tactics so I doubt if Derry will have much of a clue!
Post by: BennyHarp on January 28, 2014, 03:29:45 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 28, 2014, 03:14:36 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on January 28, 2014, 12:39:34 PM
having tyrone up first in the league suits derry, they'll have been focused on this fixture for a while had their homework done on possible tyrone tatics and personel. last year they got caught by galway in the first round they'll not want to start the league with  a defeat, tyrone will really have to be a step ahead to win in celtic park.

The people within Tyrone could not even make a guess at the Tyrone team and tactics so I doubt if Derry will have much of a clue!

I dont think Tyrone are too keen on starting the league with a defeat either - should be a good game! EC is right, its difficult enough to call Mickey's teams at the best of times, never mind this time of the year.
Post by: BennyCake on January 28, 2014, 08:46:32 PM
What's the latest with Sean Cavanaghs injury?
Post by: Fuzzman on January 29, 2014, 01:42:21 PM
How many of the more experienced lads are back training and likely to start?

What about McMahons? Gormley? Carlin?
Is Cassidy there or out injured again? What about Coney?
Has the Strabane lad played his way into a starting spot? Has he got what it takes. I've never seen him play.

I'd like to see a FF line of Ronan, Mattie & McCurry.
Post by: Under Lights on January 29, 2014, 01:46:47 PM
Cassidy out injured. Probably March before he is back in contention.
Sean Cavanagh probably won't feature this weekend as he hasn't returned to training.

The full forward line is likely to be McCurry/McAliskey, Mattie and Ronan O'Neill.

Post by: screenexile on January 29, 2014, 01:48:10 PM
FYI Tickets available here for the match @ £9... They'll be available at £13 on the night!

http://gaa.tickets.ie/Listing/EventInformation/17754/allianz-leagues-gaa-football-derry-v-tyrone-celtic-park-derry-1-February-2014
Post by: Fuzzman on January 29, 2014, 02:00:21 PM
Is the feeling in Derry that ye can make the league semis or do you think you'll struggle to stay up?
I'd say yer glad to have Fergal Doherty back and no doubt you will dominate there again on Sat night.

Post by: screenexile on January 29, 2014, 02:04:50 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 29, 2014, 02:00:21 PM
Is the feeling in Derry that ye can make the league semis or do you think you'll struggle to stay up?
I'd say yer glad to have Fergal Doherty back and no doubt you will dominate there again on Sat night.

Hard to know. In my opinion I would be happy enough to stay up in the League I think that would be a major achievement. It's definitely possible. Certainly Tyrone are there for the taking on Saturday and with their injuries and us at home it's a massive chance to get 2 points on the board and take the pressure off early.

Looking forward to having some of the big guns back up to Derry: Tyrone, Kildare & Dublin at home should hopefully get a bit more of our support out!
Post by: rrhf on January 29, 2014, 07:24:31 PM
sickening sickening arrogance, Tyrone shouldnt be turning up if ye go by the Derry wans. 
Post by: BennyCake on January 29, 2014, 10:11:54 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 29, 2014, 07:24:31 PM
sickening sickening arrogance, Tyrone shouldnt be turning up if ye go by the Derry wans.

Aye, because it's not like Tyrone 'wans' to be arrogant.
Post by: GJL on January 29, 2014, 10:29:36 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 29, 2014, 10:11:54 PM

We have earned that right!
Post by: ONeill on January 29, 2014, 10:34:51 PM
When did Tyrone last win in Derry?
Post by: BennyCake on January 29, 2014, 10:37:39 PM
Quote from: GJL on January 29, 2014, 10:29:36 PM

Tyrone wans were always arrogant. Not just recently.
Post by: cadhlancian on January 30, 2014, 02:48:05 AM
Bennycake strikes again. Seriously, I don't think it's possible to hate something as much as he/ she hates Tir Eoghain ;D
What's up man / mam? Did ya get a couple of kickins around the Glenavon or the clubland?
Post by: tbrick18 on January 30, 2014, 10:09:00 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 29, 2014, 10:37:39 PM
Quote from: GJL on January 29, 2014, 10:29:36 PM

Tyrone wans were always arrogant. Not just recently.

Maybe not always arrogant....but definitely always ignorant.  ;)

I think we'll struggle for scores this year in general so the only team in Div 1 I'd be reasonably confident of beating would be Westmeath.
Anyone else, I think we have to perform at our best to be in with a chance of getting anything.
I think this year its particularly hard to predict how these games will go with the new black card rule in place. Teams who you think could do well might not adjust, whereas other "weaker" teams might be better able to adapt to the new rules and so pick up wins where they wouldn't have otherwise.

Looking forward to it.
Hon Derry ye boys ye!
Post by: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 10:17:42 AM
Tyrone's last league win in Derry was in 1982.
Can't see that changing this weekend.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 30, 2014, 10:42:26 AM
How many league games has there been in Derry between the two since 1982?  Doesn't matter anyway, Tyrone will win this weekend.  'Home' advantage isn't going to be a factor.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 10:48:31 AM
Just checked there,it was 1st of Feb 1981 when we last won there.5 league games in Derry since.
Post by: screenexile on January 30, 2014, 10:53:16 AM
Tyrone without:

Gormley
Cassidy
McCarron
O'Neill,
2 Cavanaghs,
2 McMahons,
Carlin,
Penrose
Donnelly
Coney

All missing (maybe a couple just back from injury). . . I know the inbreds have a few young lads who showed up well in the McKenna cup but if we have any aspirations of staying up in this league we need to win on Saturday night!
Post by: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 10:54:41 AM
A Ballinascreen man calling us inbreds ;D
Post by: God14 on January 30, 2014, 11:08:00 AM
By Declan Bogue – 30 January 2014. [copied & pasted from Belfast Telegraph]

Here's a statistic for you; Tyrone's Sean Cavanagh has never won a game of football in Celtic Park.

This Saturday night, he gets a chance to put that right. Speaking at the Allianz National Leagues launch in Belfast yesterday, Cavanagh stated that Tyrone will be looking to repeat last year's start to the league, when two opening wins away to Down and Mayo provided a momentum that they sustained all the way to late August.

"Up in Celtic Park, Derry make life difficult," said the new Red Hands captain.

"There would be an awful lot of our boys around Ardboe and Cookstown and for them, Derry are number one with the rivalry.

"They don't really care about Donegal and Armagh, whereas I would be different (Armagh forming the local rivalry for the Moy man).

"The crowd is very close to the pitch, it is a tight pitch and yeah, it will be tough on Saturday night, no doubt."

It's a busy time for Cavanagh.

As well as the annual rush to process tax returns that the accountant is "swamped" in, he has been in intensive recuperation from the osteo-pubis that has bothered him since last summer, a persistent twinge in the knee and an abductor muscle problem.

With all that hampering him, he admits it would be unlikely he will play much of a part in Saturday's night's opener, although he hopes to see some action before the three-week break.

He said: "I have been training the last couple of nights. The body has been coming on rightly now although the fitness isn't as good as I would like it to be at this time of year, but I am on the road to full fitness.

"The last couple of sessions I have been back with the boys.

"I have been doing a bit of training on my own for a couple of weeks before that. But it needs a bit of time to get that match-sharpness.

"I hope over the next couple of weekends I get a bit of gametime and take it from there. But I will be ready to be in full flight after the break."

The time spent on the sidelines has allowed him a perfect perspective on the progress of the fringe players who acquitted themselves with distinction in January, reaching the McKenna Cup final.

"Tyrone always do well in the McKenna Cup, but whenever I looked at the Tyrone team to face Donegal, you were almost a wee bit frightened," he admitted.

"You can only admire how some of our guys performed against seasoned campaigners.

"I think we knew and I have been saying it for a couple of years now that we know the talents is there because you can see it in training every night. You are marking these boys in training every time you go out."

"You see the likes of Ronan O'Neill (pictured) coming in last year, Ronan McNabb, but they were coming in after injuries and they weren't firing on all cylinders.

"But we've known for a long time and can see that there has been quality around the squad, who are getting to express that now."

As a player who is often given to taking alternative viewpoints on the game, Cavanagh had some interesting things to say when it was put to him that Tyrone may struggle in having to play four of their seven league games away from home for the second successive year.

"We actually manage to play really well away from home last year. Omagh, sometimes it nice to have the home support and whatnot, 9,000 people there it gives you a massive lift.

"In terms of surface, sometimes the games we play away allows you to play a bit more football and I always thought that maybe suits us a little better.

"Down through the years, Healy Park was a fortress for us and it suited us well. But there has been indifferent form since that and for some reason we might thrive away from home. But you play the cards you are dealt and we will not worry too much if we are home or away."

Last year after the All-Ireland semi-final loss, Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice suggested that it had felt like an 'All-Ireland year' to him. Cavanagh cautions against that kind of talk in January, but adds, "I am an optimistic person anyway, but I know we have the talent and the quality within the squad.

"It's like every year, you strive to get the team tipped into a bit of gear through the National Leagues, but it's only really when you hit May, June, July that you really feel it."
Post by: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 04:23:15 PM
Glad to hear Sean might figure at some stage on Sat night
Would be great if Mickey threw him in at FF and told him to take it handy but I can't see that happening.

Club Rossa just curious where did you look up to see when we last beat them there?
Us boys from the Strabane & Aughabrack area aren't huge fans of the Derry lads too
Myself & Dooher went to school in Derry and I'm still not right yet.
Post by: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 04:38:10 PM
Is the team named tonight
I'll go for

Morgan
McKenna
Clarke
McNamee

McGinley
Harte
McNabb

Grugan
McBride

N.McKenna to help a struggling MF
Shea McGuigan
Laverty

Ronan
Mattie D
McCurry

Post by: theticklemister on January 30, 2014, 05:36:27 PM
You can type cant ye Fuzzman.

Youse Tyrone boys coming up here taking our educations.
Post by: Man Marker on January 30, 2014, 05:39:53 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 04:38:10 PM
I'll go for

Morgan
McKenna
Clarke
McNamee

McGinley
Harte
McNabb

Grugan
McBride

Shea McGuigan
Laverty

Ronan
Mattie D
McCurry

It's Lavery, Mc Aliskey is more reliable than O'Neill, McKenna who is struggling to help a struggling midfield is not the answer, if he can't play MF and hold his own, he shouldn't play.
Post by: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 06:08:41 PM
Fuzzman,the full list of league meetings was published in the match programme from the 2010 meeting in Celtic Park.
Post by: God14 on January 30, 2014, 08:31:14 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on January 30, 2014, 05:39:53 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 04:38:10 PM
I'll go for

Morgan
McKenna
Clarke
McNamee

McGinley
Harte
McNabb

Grugan
McBride

Shea McGuigan
Laverty

Ronan
Mattie D
McCurry

It's Lavery, Mc Aliskey is more reliable than O'Neill, McKenna who is struggling to help a struggling midfield is not the answer, if he can't play MF and hold his own, he shouldn't play.

Fuzz was close enough! Good call with McKenna in the half forwards
Post by: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 08:49:12 PM
What do you think of those corner backs lads?
I've a feeling you could see McNeice as a sweeper.
Post by: cornerback on January 30, 2014, 09:08:20 PM
The Derry team to play Tyrone in Saturday's Allianz NFL game at Celtic Park (7pm) is as follows:
1. Thomas Mallon (An Lúb)
2. Declan Brown (Baile Eachaidh)
3. Chrissy McKaigue (Leacht Néill)
4. Dermot McBride (Baile na Scrine)
5. Aidan McAlynn (An Lúb)
6. Mark Lynch (Beannchar) (C)
7. Sean Leo McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
8. Fergal Doherty (Baile Eachaidh)
9. Patsy Bradley (Leacht Néill)
10. Gerard O'Kane (Gleann an Iolair)
11. James Kielt (Cill Ria)
12. Enda Lynn (Grainlocha)
13. Ciaran McFaul (Gleann)
14. Emmett McGuckin (Machaire Fíolta)
15. Benny Heron (Baile na Scrine)
16. Eoin McNicholl (Gleann an Iolair)
17. Oisin Duffy (Forghleann)
18. Karl McKaigue (Leacht Néill)
19. Mark Craig (Dún Geimhin)
20. Charlie Kielt (Cill Ria)
21. Kevin Johnston (Dún Geimhin)
22. Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua)
23. Cailean O'Boyle (Leamhaigh)
24. Declan Mullan (Eoghan Rua)
25. Ciaran McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
26. Aaron Kerrigan (Clóidigh)
Post by: ONeill on January 30, 2014, 09:30:30 PM
Sean Cav not on bench?
Post by: tyroneman on January 30, 2014, 09:55:17 PM
Tyrone Team announced......

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
3 – Conor Clarke – An Omaigh
4 – Barry Tierney – An Omaigh
5 – Ciaran McGinley – Aireagal Chiaráin
6 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
7 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
8 – Danny McBride – An Srath Ban
9 – Conan Grugan – An Omaigh
10 – Niall McKenna – An Domhnach Mór
11 – Shea McGuigan – Ard Bó
12 – PJ Lavery – Cluain Eo
13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
14 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac
15 – Patrick McNeice – Oileán a'Ghuail
16 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo
17 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
18 – Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
19 – Plunkett Kane – Oileán a'Ghuail
20 – Kevin Gallagher – An Baile Nua
21 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo
22 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
23 – Emmett McKenna – Eaglais
24 – Ryan McKenna – Eaglais
25 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh
Post by: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 09:57:13 PM
For any of ye that haven't read the Tyrone team yet
Maybe big Sean is out of the 1st 26
Is Sparky or Penrose not there either?
Post by: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 09:58:00 PM
Looking at the respective teams,Derry are much stronger.Tyrone will struggle badly in this one.
Post by: tyroneman on January 30, 2014, 10:02:11 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 09:58:00 PM
Looking at the respective teams,Derry are much stronger.Tyrone will struggle badly in this one.

Well...if ever there was a time for the younger lads to stand up and be counted......

What's the story with Kyle Coney? Is he back training?
Post by: Club Rossa on January 30, 2014, 10:09:04 PM
No better a game to blood them.They'll soon find out what it's all about.
I don't actually know what the story is with Coney,I would guess he's a good bit away from featuring yet.
Post by: EC Unique on January 30, 2014, 10:18:04 PM
Tyrone will win.
Post by: rrhf on January 30, 2014, 10:22:54 PM
It's not often I agree with you.
Post by: Man Marker on January 30, 2014, 11:17:47 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 30, 2014, 08:49:12 PM
What do you think of those corner backs lads?
I've a feeling you could see McNeice as a sweeper.
Good call Fuzz, but if Mc Kenna can't cut it MF, he certainly won't are whf.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 30, 2014, 11:25:56 PM
I'd be happy enough with that team. Still early days and fellas like Grugan, Lavery, McGuigan and Tierney all have the potential to push strongly for championship places. Will be interesting to see how they adapt to this next step up.
Post by: theticklemister on January 30, 2014, 11:40:01 PM
COME ON DAY BUCK THE OAKLEAF AAAAGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Post by: DennistheMenace on January 31, 2014, 09:10:35 AM
If Tyrone beat us with that team, i'd be very impressed with their squad depth.
Post by: God14 on January 31, 2014, 10:25:04 AM
Key battle for me will be James Kielt v Peter Harte
Im not sure Harte has the defensive know how to deal with marking Derrys danger man? If Peter was to come out on top there I think Tyrone would be well on the road to victory. That's a very big IF though. Advantage Kielt in my opinion.

Funnily enough I expect Shay McGuigan to have some joy against Mark Lynch in the opposing battle. Lynch seemed to have wintered well as they say & could be a weakness coming up against a hungry & mobile McGuigan. If McGuigan see's much ball I fancy the Tyrone full forward line to wreak havoc.

Im surprised to see Patsy Bradley starting ahead of Niall Holly. I rate Patsy but his recurring injuries looked to have restricted his mobility. Derry have aerial & muscular prowess in the midfield pairings, but could get found out over the hard yards.

As fuzzman pointed out it will be interesting to see what role Paddy McNiece takes up. Lots of hints around Tyrone that they are dropping the sweeper system, but old habits dire hard!

Maybe "its only the league" but its great to have it back  ;)  Tyrone have the greater scoring threat, but probably have more uncertainties in their defence as well. Which makes it quite difficult to call. Tyrone by 2 for me.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 10:40:14 AM
How likely is McNeice to start?  Been a few changes so far compared to the named teams.  Would like to see Ronan O'Neill in there instead as he has linked up well with McGuigan when they have played together.  Is McNulty in the squad?  Is Lafferty off the panel?
Post by: EC Unique on January 31, 2014, 10:40:36 AM
Giving a really bad day weather wise, could have a bad effect on the game if it even goes ahead! :-\
Post by: Rois on January 31, 2014, 10:42:45 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 10:40:14 AM
Is Lafferty off the panel?

I heard last night that he opted out.
Post by: Under Lights on January 31, 2014, 11:04:13 AM
Lafferty opted out to concentrate on his studies.
Post by: clarshack on January 31, 2014, 11:29:50 AM
that's an ordinary enough tyrone team tbh. wouldnt be confident of beating derry in celtic park with that starting 15.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 11:33:00 AM
Quote from: clarshack on January 31, 2014, 11:29:50 AM
that's an ordinary enough tyrone team tbh. wouldnt be confident of beating derry in celtic park with that 15.

Dunno how it can be classed as ordinary when its effectively the new generation coming through and is filled with youth.  The majority of them are unproven at senior level but have had major success at underage level.  Im glad that Harte is giving them the game time as the more they play and play together at this level then the quicker they will find their feet and excel, something which I am confident they will do.  Harte did the same back in 2000 to 2003 in the league, and it took a lot of games for the like of Mulligan, SON, BMG etc to relaly find their feet and stand out.
Post by: J OGorman on January 31, 2014, 12:17:09 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 11:33:00 AM
that's an ordinary enough tyrone team tbh. wouldnt be confident of beating derry in celtic park with that 15.

Dunno how it can be classed as ordinary when its effectively the new generation coming through and is filled with youth.  The majority of them are unproven at senior level but have had major success at underage level.  Im glad that Harte is giving them the game time as the more they play and play together at this level then the quicker they will find their feet and excel, something which I am confident they will do.  Harte did the same back in 2000 to 2003 in the league, and it took a lot of games for the like of Mulligan, SON, BMG etc to relaly find their feet and stand out.

in terms of a team being rated, say poor / ordinary / good, I'd say ordinary is decent in terms of a description of this Tyrone team. You cant class them as poor and they havent done (had time) to do enough to be described as good

You're fierce sensitive  / confident when it comes to Tyrone. Be nice if Derry tanked you bucks the mora night. Paypacket spent on new Rocksolid denims and no points :-)
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 12:35:55 PM

Errr Harte took charge in 2003 and even the most optimistic Tyrone fan surely doesn't think this crop are anywhere near the level of the aforementioned.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 01:35:07 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 12:35:55 PM

Errr Harte took charge in 2003 and even the most optimistic Tyrone fan surely doesn't think this crop are anywhere near the level of the aforementioned.

Yes he did, but my point was that from 2000 on there was a plethora of the underage stars who were given a lot of game time in order to get comfortable at that level.  Its ok looking back now and knowing how good Steven O'Neill, Brian McGuigan, Mulligan became, but at the turn of the century they were in the same boat as a lot of the younger players coming through now.  They all have experienced similar levels of success, and who can say that in ten years time people won't be talking about Ronan O'Neill, Shay McGuigan, Peter Harte, Conan Grugan etc.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 01:41:04 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 01:35:07 PM

Yes he did, but my point was that from 2000 on there was a plethora of the underage stars who were given a lot of game time in order to get comfortable at that level.  Its ok looking back now and knowing how good Steven O'Neill, Brian McGuigan, Mulligan became, but at the turn of the century they were in the same boat as a lot of the younger players coming through now.  They all have experienced similar levels of success, and who can say that in ten years time people won't be talking about Ronan O'Neill, Shay McGuigan, Peter Harte, Conan Grugan etc.

The one difference with their peers is the U21 step up. Tyrone have failed at this grade for a number of years now despite their minor success.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 02:08:02 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 01:41:04 PM

The one difference with their peers is the U21 step up. Tyrone have failed at this grade for a number of years now despite their minor success.

That would point to a problem in management as much as anything else.  Another factor I think that is overlooked often is the u-21 championship since 2005 or 2006 has been run off very early in the year in wintry conditions which suits the more physical, strong and well drilled teams as opposed to the best footballing teams.     
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 02:13:47 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 02:08:02 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 01:41:04 PM

That would point to a problem in management as much as anything else.  Another factor I think that is overlooked often is the u-21 championship since 2005 or 2006 has been run off very early in the year in wintry conditions which suits the more physical, strong and well drilled teams as opposed to the best footballing teams.     

Post by: The Trap on January 31, 2014, 02:22:28 PM
Is there any chance of this game being rained off?????????
Post by: God14 on January 31, 2014, 04:56:40 PM
Pitch inspection tomorrow morning at 9am

Post by: Club Rossa on January 31, 2014, 05:49:02 PM
Hopefully the heavens will open this weekend and we'll get a few of the more experienced boys back for the re-fixture ;)
Post by: theticklemister on January 31, 2014, 06:21:18 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on January 31, 2014, 05:49:02 PM
Hopefully the heavens will open this weekend and we'll get a few of the more experienced boys back for the re-fixture ;)

What about the shopping trip?
Post by: trileacman on January 31, 2014, 07:23:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 31, 2014, 02:08:02 PM

Dunno how you could say that. Munroe and Donnelly won the AI minor but couldn't make the respective step up when it came to U-21. They were easily the most qualified for the job at the time.
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 31, 2014, 08:50:38 PM
Hope the games goes ahead and I'm happy enough none of the older boys are back starting. The younger boys did everything asked of them in the McKenna cup and more so deserve their chance at this level. I'm looking forward to seeing how all the debutants get on and Mcbride at midfield. Also curious as to how the mattie Donnelly experiment at full forward will go.

Having said all that wouldn't be surprised if there is no game on!
Post by: Fuzzman on January 31, 2014, 09:02:09 PM
I'm the same Santa. These young lads deserve their chance and have done well so far this year. This game will do them the world of good, win, lose or draw. Mickey used to say you learn more usually from defeats but can you imagine how this young team would feel if they came away with a win.
Nothing to lose and loads to gain. I might be a fair weather supporter lately but I hope the game goes ahead.
Tyrone by one. ;-)
Post by: God14 on January 31, 2014, 09:04:24 PM
Doubt very much this game will go ahead due to current & forecast weather conditions.
I predict an announcement that the game is definitely on circa 11am
...followed by a second announcement at 3pm that there is no way the game can be played.
(GAA style)
Post by: shawshank on January 31, 2014, 09:30:22 PM
Be very surprised if Celtic park isn't playable, it's a quality pitch, and failing that you can travel down the road to Owenbeg, another quality pitch with excellent spectator facilities.
Post by: J OGorman on January 31, 2014, 09:40:41 PM
Quote from: shawshank on January 31, 2014, 09:30:22 PM
Be very surprised if Celtic park isn't playable, it's a quality pitch, and failing that you can travel down the road to Owenbeg, another quality pitch with excellent spectator facilities.

No chance celtic wont be playable. I had a look at her today, looks superb as always
Post by: Fuzzman on January 31, 2014, 11:13:10 PM
i see Mattie has really filled out and is captain of UUJ. I see McBride is captain of St Marys as well. I hope with the new rules and our new young lads finally getting their chance that Mickey moves on from the defensive system and we can risk playing a more expansive game. Yeah our defence may be lacking especially in the full back line but we sure have some exciting forwards again.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2014, 11:20:18 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 31, 2014, 11:13:10 PM
i see Mattie has really filled out and is captain of UUJ. I see McBride is captain of St Marys as well. I hope with the new rules and our new young lads finally getting their chance that Mickey moves on from the defensive system and we can risk playing a more expansive game. Yeah our defence may be lacking especially in the full back line but we sure have some exciting forwards again.

C Mc Kaigue is capt of UUJ.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2014, 12:17:36 AM
Maybe you're right cnoc but on page 18 of the Gaelic Life it shows Danny McBride captain of St Marys and Mattie captain of UUJ.
can't find it anywhere else though online, even the UUJ GAA website.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 01, 2014, 12:23:42 AM
They must rotate it. Donnelly was captain in the Ryan Cup final win against UCD. He wouldn't have played in the McKenna Cup being with Tyrone., Mc Kaigue must have been captain then, and followed on into Sigerson
Post by: shawshank on February 01, 2014, 12:59:25 AM
And that would also be the right thing, as he wouldn't play for the uni he was captain of, therefore he should not be captain in the sig.
Post by: EC Unique on February 01, 2014, 08:06:47 AM
Quote from: shawshank on February 01, 2014, 12:59:25 AM
And that would also be the right thing, as he wouldn't play for the uni he was captain of, therefore he should not be captain in the sig.

He will be gutted I'm sure.
Post by: orangeman on February 01, 2014, 09:27:39 AM
On or off ?
Post by: God14 on February 01, 2014, 09:35:35 AM
Still no word orangeman
Post by: God14 on February 01, 2014, 09:37:53 AM
Game goes ahead according to official derry GAA twitter

I'd still wait til 3pm though
Post by: on the sideline on February 01, 2014, 10:16:49 AM
Lads never been to a game in Celtic Park before but heading tonight. Any advice on where to park? Or anywhere to avoid?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 01, 2014, 10:51:05 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 01, 2014, 10:16:49 AM
Lads never been to a game in Celtic Park before but heading tonight. Any advice on where to park? Or anywhere to avoid?

a hoor of a place to  get in and out off, unless you head around now and not in a hurry home !
Post by: J OGorman on February 01, 2014, 12:33:54 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 01, 2014, 08:06:47 AM
Quote from: shawshank on February 01, 2014, 12:59:25 AM

He will be gutted I'm sure.

I'd hazard a guess that captaining your college in the Sigerson would be very proud achievement for a young man
Title: Re: Doire v Tir Eoghain, Celtic Park, Sat 1st Feb & on Setanta Sports
Post by: God14 on February 01, 2014, 03:29:04 PM
Who will the conditions suit more? Derry look to hve a 'bigger' team out. Certainly more experienced side out anyway, but a lot of big men around the middle. Lynch, patsy, fergal and Kielt - who has bulked up massively in the last 18month form a formidable diamond in the centre..
A heavy pitch may well suit Derry, but if the surface is slick is say the advantage will be with a very pacey Tyrone.

Anyway I hear road conditions are good, glenshane is fine.
Post by: Johnny Tightlips on February 01, 2014, 05:27:59 PM
Any streams going? considering the game is on setanta?
Post by: SBH1983 on February 01, 2014, 06:11:13 PM

http://tykestv.eu/streams/
Post by: ONeill on February 01, 2014, 06:55:46 PM
http://nutjob.eu/njtvx38.html
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2014, 07:08:12 PM
not working here, any other ones
Post by: Oraisteach on February 01, 2014, 07:26:23 PM
radio coverage?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 01, 2014, 07:34:31 PM
http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/236765/1/watch--gaa-gaelic-football:-live-gaa-natinal-league-derry-vs-tyrone-.html
Post by: ONeill on February 01, 2014, 07:42:01 PM
That was a strong breeze in Tyrone's favour. 2 points a precarious lead if Derry have their shooting boots with them.

Some poor ball into Donnelly and McNeice with only McCurry coming out having any joy.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2014, 07:46:17 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 01, 2014, 07:34:31 PM
http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/236765/1/watch--gaa-gaelic-football:-live-gaa-natinal-league-derry-vs-tyrone-.html

Which link? Is it on Setanta? Can't find the link
Post by: ONeill on February 01, 2014, 07:48:01 PM
Sober up ffs.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2014, 07:53:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 01, 2014, 07:48:01 PM
Sober up ffs.

Haven't touched a drink
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2014, 08:09:45 PM
That's as good a save as I've ever seen!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 01, 2014, 08:35:50 PM
Enjoyed that - neither team deserved to lose - a draw a fair result.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 01, 2014, 08:38:43 PM
Fantastic game considering the conditions. Agree with the above that no team deserved to lose. Some top quality point and goal scoring.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 01, 2014, 08:42:46 PM
Very enjoyable game despite the poor conditions and whilst both teams will feel they could have won it but a draw was probably a fair outcome. Colm won some good ball around the middle after coming on and provided leadership, but once again he didn't always use it as well as he might. Suppose he hasn't had much football so far this year. Morgan and McCurry exellent. If these boys continue to develop and we can get the likes of Gormley, Joe and big Sean etc back to fitness over the next couple of months then we will be looking ok for the summer.
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2014, 08:47:13 PM
A draw probably fair on reflection although we dominated the last 20 mins and probably should have won ...

Anyway I'm a bit disappointed as that was effectively a Tyrone reserve team but a point is better than none. Sean Leo was superb!
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2014, 09:14:24 PM
Great game of football, especially considering the weather conditions and the time of the year. Would have been a difficult game to lose, but was a fair enough result at the end of the day.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 01, 2014, 09:40:54 PM
Decent game but I'm struggling work out the advantage rule. It was applied twice for Derry but on two occasions Colm Cavanagh was fouled with men bursting through with clear a advantage to be had but the play was called back. Also, if during the period of advantage the attacking team has a clear shot on target but misses, should this be called back? Surely having a clear shot mean you took advantage of letting the play go? Especially if it's a goal chance.
Post by: God14 on February 01, 2014, 09:46:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 01, 2014, 08:47:13 PM
A draw probably fair on reflection although we dominated the last 20 mins and probably should have won ...

Anyway I'm a bit disappointed as that was effectively a Tyrone reserve team but a point is better than none. Sean Leo was superb!

Tyrone were not full strength but that's far from a reserve team. I was impressed with derry. With 20mins on the clock could see nothing but an away win!
Conor Clarkes toughest 70 in a Tyrone Jersey
Tierney did well, certainly best of the debutants
Pj lavery, Shea McGuigan, McNiece all struggled
McCurry was excellent. Didn't get enough ball tho, but some operator
Grugan did well but played outta position. Will do well at 10 or 12
Niallmckenna struggled after shipping a big hit too.

Plenty for tyrone to work on.
Post by: sam03/05 on February 01, 2014, 09:57:55 PM
Think Mattie Donnelly is wasted in Full Forward. He is not really a full forward and will be easily marked by a good full back. Much more effective out the field (His brother is a better option at FF)
Thought McNeice was poor, but Ronan O'Neill and McCurry were excellent.
We struggled to win breaking ball at times, and need to find some tight marking corner backs.

The big question is this?
Has Mickey Harte changed his tactics?
7 points ahead with 15 minutes to go, most times we would see one or two sweepers
Drop back to fill up that space, but it didnt happen.
Full back line was left wide open.
Post by: tyroneman on February 01, 2014, 09:58:53 PM
Quote from: God14 on February 01, 2014, 09:46:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 01, 2014, 08:47:13 PM

Tyrone were not full strength but that's far from a reserve team. I was impressed with derry. With 20mins on the clock could see nothing but an away win!
Conor Clarkes toughest 70 in a Tyrone Jersey
Tierney did well, certainly best of the debutants
Pj lavery, Shea McGuigan, McNiece all struggled
McCurry was excellent. Didn't get enough ball tho, but some operator
Grugan did well but played outta position. Will do well at 10 or 12
Niallmckenna struggled after shipping a big hit too.

Plenty for tyrone to work on.

Any time you are 7 points up you should be fit to close out a game. End of.

Thought Shea did well to be honest. Put some lovely ball in. Plenty others deserved the curly finger before him.

Too many forwards wanted to shoot from inside the 20. Have a go from distance ffs rather than run up blind alleys, which was all we seemed to do for the last 20.

Too many kick outs won by a Derry man without a Tyrone player within 10 yards. Colm and Grugan bullied all second half.

Very disappointing to come away with a draw given the position we were in.

McQuillan awful as usual.
Post by: SuperHo on February 01, 2014, 10:05:18 PM
ah lads. dire stuff. derry are a bad team other than the good ball in to the forwards.tyrone 7 pts in front n threw it away. read report derry won 7 kick outs in a row.  how many times did morgan kick the ball straight to an unmarked derry man. how often did the ball come straight back out the field in the last 15. would use excuse of lack of experience but derry are in the same boat. thank god skinner picked filthy lucre.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2014, 10:14:45 PM
I'll second all of that Tyroneman. At seven up I genuinely thought we would win handy enough against the bulky Derry men. So many of them look more like body builders that footballers. Was very disappointed with lavery and thought Mattie had a quiet game though he was often double marked. Thought McCurry was very sharp and loved Grugan's sliced point though he should have had the winner near the end. I've probably not saw enough of him but have yet to see what Mickey sees in McNeice.
Still I'd taken a draw at the start and in such bad conditions a point is a great achievement with your reserve team
Post by: Club Rossa on February 01, 2014, 10:15:06 PM
Very happy with a point,I honestly thought Derry would have won comfortably against that Tyrone team but credit to our boys they stepped up to the mark tonight against a strong Derry team.
Draw was a fair result and both teams deserve huge credit on a difficult night to play football.Tierney played rightly,Grugan is a real threat going forward and McCurry when he gets good ball put in will give any defence trouble.Would have liked to have seen McAliskey on earlier.Shay and PJ will be the better for that tonight,it's all well and good starring in McKenna cup football but league football is a different ball game.It will take them a wee bit of time to find their feet.
McKaigue is a class footballer,marked Matty very well and SL McGoldrick was very good again tonight as he was in Omagh a few weeks ago.
Post by: on the sideline on February 01, 2014, 10:15:58 PM
Cheers for the directions skeog, great to miss out the city.

Enjoyed that, exciting last 10 or 15 and decent game given conditions. What a save by Morgan. Would love to see it again but my initial reaction was that it was one I beat saves I've ever seen in Gaelic football
Post by: ONeill on February 01, 2014, 10:20:15 PM
McCurry can score but he needs to cut out the Hollywood pass. Almost cost the game twice late on.

Tierney was the most impressive of the defenders, as he was v Armagh. After a ropey start McGinley played ok.

McNabb never got going for some reason and apart from a couple of possessions McKenna was AWOL. I'd still persist with both.

Thought Cavanagh, O'Neill and McAliskey were used at the right time.

Derry missed a few frees that should have seen 2 league pts in their favour.

What did ye think of McBride's black? I thought he stupidly bought it.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 01, 2014, 10:27:51 PM
I think the black was deserved O'Neill,he had no need to run into Kielt but would like to see it again.What about Kielt's challenge on McKenna,accidental or deliberately high?I hadn't the best view of it.
Post by: ONeill on February 01, 2014, 10:30:40 PM
I thought Kielt was honest.

McBrides - ok, even if it was his fault, for me it showed how some will take advantage - purposely run towards an opponent and hit the deck.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 01, 2014, 10:36:17 PM
Did ye see Patsy Bradley trying to shoulder/push Grugan into the crowd. Without Colm Cav we would have lost I think. Thought the black card was very harsh.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 01, 2014, 10:36:58 PM
I'm sure we'll see plenty of that before the year's out and no doubt some of our own boys will be at it too lol.
Post by: J OGorman on February 01, 2014, 10:41:50 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 01, 2014, 10:14:45 PM
I'll second all of that Tyroneman. At seven up I genuinely thought we would win handy enough against the bulky Derry men. So many of them look more like body builders that footballers. Was very disappointed with lavery and thought Mattie had a quiet game though he was often double marked. Thought McCurry was very sharp and loved Grugan's sliced point though he should have had the winner near the end. I've probably not saw enough of him but have yet to see what Mickey sees in McNeice.
Still I'd taken a draw at the start and in such bad conditions a point is a great achievement with your reserve team

Bodybuilders? We've maybe the shortest midfield about, both with a ferocious appetite to win but not hugely built. Lynch has lost half a stone. Most of the team are lean. Must have looked big against you boys. Name one derry player who remotely looks like a bodybuilder
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 02, 2014, 12:13:25 AM
Derry will be regretting all the misses. Missed enough to win two games.  Mc Neice very poor tonight I thought. Mc curry is great with good ball in but will he win the dirty ball? Looked like he pulled out of a few tonight. Mc brides black card deserved but two Derry men done the same thing second half and nothing happened. Think the Black card suited Tyrone as Big Cav was a better presence around the middle than Mc Bride. Ronan O neill looked good when he come on but was receiving the ball to far from goal. Would like to see him and Mc Curry close to goals.
Post by: sam03/05 on February 02, 2014, 12:55:21 AM
Cavanagh
Gormley
McMahon x2
Penrose
PJ Quinn
Carlin
Stevie O'Neill
Kyle Coney
Cassidy
Mark Donnelly

All to come back for Tyrone. Most of them will be starters or big impact players come summer.
Tyrone have a serious squad of players if get everyone back fit.
Post by: God14 on February 02, 2014, 01:00:13 AM
Sam - max 4 of those will start the championship.
Post by: Man Marker on February 02, 2014, 01:05:33 AM
Quote from: sam03/05 on February 02, 2014, 12:55:21 AM
Cavanagh
Gormley
McMahon x2
Penrose
PJ Quinn
Carlin
Stevie O'Neill
Kyle Coney
Cassidy
Mark Donnelly

All to come back for Tyrone. Most of them will be starters or big impact players come summer.
Tyrone have a serious squad of players if get everyone back fit.

You are deluding yourself mate, Coney Ffs don't make me laugh. Cavanagh and Joe Mc Mahon, Gromley and O Neill are the only four who will an improvement to the team, the rest are no better than the lads out there tonight. How long do you want to watch Cassidy, Carlin Penrose, time to move on.
Post by: kickingmule on February 02, 2014, 01:41:27 AM
Cassidy if injury free the best midfielder around, Time to cull mckenna's x3 + Mc neice, Mc bride, no where near county standard and
Harte needs to get his act together or he could be joining them.
The rest of the new comers have been very impressive.
Con Grugan looks a great prospect, but disappointed with Ronan O'Neills  workrate when interduced.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 02, 2014, 01:53:18 AM
Truth is, Penrose, Justin McMahon, M pentrose and mark Donnelly are the only ones out of that set that will start next summer, O`Neill, Gormley, J McMahon and a few of the other will be on the bench, you gota move with the times, kerry great players of the same age group has mostly retired outside of 3/4 of the younger ones from that time, the days of relying on O`Neill, Gormley etc are over, and best they will offer is a big lift coming off the bench, if Tyrone is to get the best out of them
Post by: BennyHarp on February 02, 2014, 05:55:46 AM
Quote from: kickingmule on February 02, 2014, 01:41:27 AM
Cassidy if injury free the best midfielder around, Time to cull mckenna's x3 + Mc neice, Mc bride, no where near county standard and
Con Grugan looks a great prospect, but disappointed with Ronan O'Neills  workrate when interduced.

Jesus wept, we won each game in the McKenna cup showing great promise and one game into the NFL, after not even losing an away fixture to a fairly decent Derry team, with a number of experienced heads missing and you're talking of culling the squad and getting rid of Mickey? There really is a fair few lads in our county who would need to catch themselves on.

Gormley, Cavanagh, Joe McMahon, maybe Mark Donnelly and O'Neill from the bench will make a massive difference to any team. I thought there was many very positive signs last night in difficult conditions and perhaps the lack of experience (which the returning lads will provide) cost us from seeing the game out. But with 10 mins to go we showed good fighting spirit not to lose that game as the tide had most certainly turned in Derry's favour. Mickey is clearly tinkering with a new, more offence style of play and should be praised for this and given a bit of time to see how it develops. Or alternatively we could just sack him??
Post by: Club Rossa on February 02, 2014, 08:15:00 AM
I reckon a fit Conor Gormley would be on Mickey's starting 15 as would Sean,Joe and Donnelly and possibly PJ Quinn.Don't think we will see much of Stevie,tortured with injuries.The others would strengthen the bench considerably and add great experience.

Who was missing for Derry last night that would be a possible starter in championship,McCloskey,Bell,Barry McGoldrick?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 02, 2014, 08:52:16 AM
Bennyharp, think Kicking mule was referring to Petey Harte and not Mickey.
Post by: sam03/05 on February 02, 2014, 09:11:58 AM
I did say they would be starters or big impact players to bring on.
If we had them on the bench last night we would have won.
Serious experience and game management skills.
They will all have a part to play come summer.
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 02, 2014, 09:33:03 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 02, 2014, 08:15:00 AM
I reckon a fit Conor Gormley would be on Mickey's starting 15 as would Sean,Joe and Donnelly and possibly PJ Quinn.Don't think we will see much of Stevie,tortured with injuries.The others would strengthen the bench considerably and add great experience.

Who was missing for Derry last night that would be a possible starter in championship,McCloskey,Bell,Barry McGoldrick?

I'd say Mc Kinless, Mc Closkey, Ryan Bell, Emmet Bradley, A Devlin, B Mc Goldrick.......Skinner will all be in contention come summer.
Post by: rrhf on February 02, 2014, 10:02:00 AM
Decent game some good moments some not so good. Mr curry was class midfield was roasted but some of that may have come from very poor kick outs. Derry done a fine job on Tyrone s main men from the my Kenn a cup. there's no sending offs in gaelic games when mc quillan would let kielt stay on the field for taking a man out.   All in all I'm happy but a huge step up from before.
Post by: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 10:19:26 AM
Joe Mc Quillan would not have sent the Tyrone man off if it had not been for the linesman who brought it to the ref's attention.

It seems clear to me that the body checking foul is the really obvious, easier to see black card offence. The others, the trip, pull done, shouting at the ref and opponents will rarely be called.
Post by: quiganmaster on February 02, 2014, 11:27:40 AM
Good game which both sides can take plenty of positives from, good comeback from 7 points down. Would have taken a draw but gutted we couldn't get that win which would help us to safety. The doc dominated midfield and some fine performances from SL, Gerard OKane and Mckaige. Enough of these Tyrone boyos whinging about the ref, he had an iffy enough game for both sides but remember, it is Joe Mcquillan... Tyrone have some big players to come back to their team but not the 7-8 that some are claiming will start in the championship. Derry have Bradley, the ballinderry outfit(nevin, bell, mckinless, devlins, wilkinson,) PJ, skinner and mcgoldrick all to come back, of which I'd be expecting at least 5/6 to start come championship time. I have to say don't think Tyrone will be far away!(hopefully very far but haha!) All in all, a very good game played on good spirit in difficult conditions! If the games are to be like this all summer well I can't bludy wait! Great night for both young teams to get experience. Doire Abú
Post by: Fuzzman on February 02, 2014, 11:37:14 AM
Yeah Stevie will probably continue to be riddled with injuries again this year but will no longer be the main target man any more but surely its worth having him as an impact sub for the last twenty mins in the summer. With the game in the balance he could turn a game around if he's fit. I'm delighted to see Mickey giving all these new young lads their chance as they will learn a lot from this league campaign.
I thought young McCurry was excellent last night not only his shooting but his work rate. He has obviously learned to curb his ego and bust his ass tackling back.
A few of ye last year were saying to play Mattie in at FF but does he seem very slow to others too? I know he was well marked last night but my question is, is that his best position. I was very impressed with him last year but would he be better on the 40?
I hope Lavery gets another start next week as we need goal scorers in the team. Will be interesting to see how long Mickey persists with no sweeper. Also was impressed with young Tierney as never saw him before.
Mayo will be another step up next week

Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 02, 2014, 11:48:46 AM
Donnelly best position is at No.6 see how Tyrone dont give him a run in that position, Harte when put on the back foot cant really defend and probably better suited to wing back or wing forward
Post by: screenexile on February 02, 2014, 12:26:56 PM
Having thought about it since my opinion hasn't changed. We should have won that!

Will we get another opportunity like that to get 2 pts in this Division? Maybe Westmeath but I can't see many more. Young Brown got roasted and I don't understand why he was left on McCurry for so long. Midfield was excellent and we didn't get enough ball forward but there are things to work on and hopefully we can improve for Kerry next week.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 02, 2014, 01:09:31 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 02, 2014, 12:26:56 PM
Having thought about it since my opinion hasn't changed. We should have won that!

Will we get another opportunity like that to get 2 pts in this Division? Maybe Westmeath but I can't see many more. Young Brown got roasted and I don't understand why he was left on McCurry for so long. Midfield was excellent and we didn't get enough ball forward but there are things to work on and hopefully we can improve for Kerry next week.

Tyrone should have won it too. 7 points up half way through a game isn't a game we should have lost. Derry can count themselves lucky a young, inexperienced Tyrone team didn't finish them off.
Post by: God14 on February 02, 2014, 01:53:43 PM
Yeah I've woken up & thought about it and very dissapointed we didn't win that game. Derry huffed & puffed and battled well for a draw.. But at the end of the day we were 7 points up in the second half.

Whilst both sides were missing say 5 men - the caliber of the men we were missing was much more significant than derrys. For example Sean Cav could have fielded the odd kick out when we lost 7 I'm a row. He'd have kicked a few scores as well. We are missing foer allstars and footballers of the year like!
Gormley would have organised the defence better. We could have done with the athleticism of the Mahons too.
Had mickey really wanted to close it out we would have deployed a sweeper fr the final 25 mins
Dissapointed.
A point lost.
Post by: Estimator on February 02, 2014, 02:17:53 PM
Derry gifted Tyrone 2 goals. First from extremely slack marking and the second from a shocking defensive mistake. Tyrone scored 7pts from deadballs, Derry only managed 3pts. Derry kicked a bucket full wide from decent positions, the most glaring one I can remember is Lynch just before  half time. Morgan made a superb save from Doc to deny a certain goal. McBride deserved the black card, Kielt stood his ground and McBride ran into to him, it's not like he couldn't have seen Kielt standing there. McQuillan chicken out of a penalty decision when Morgan pushed a player over in a goal mouth scramble. That was just one of the various inconsistencies from Joe, sometimes the surrounded player got the free, sometimes the free was blown against them. Too many players kept trying to bounce the ball, despite the evidence  illustrating that it was not going to arrive back in their hands. Too many players carried the ball into contact with the opposition and underfoot conditions was not conducive to a quick getaway. Regardless of the comeback from 7pts down, Derry should have won that game. They had enough opportunities.
Post by: Silver hill on February 02, 2014, 03:11:44 PM
Credit to both teams, excellent game given the conditions. From a Derry perspective, it's definitely a point lost as we had more than enough chances to win the game in the last 20 mins especially. Will never, ever, question patsy Bradley's commitment or endeavour, however his use of the ball and execution of even the basic 10 yard fist pass is poor. Thought our keepers kick outs were poor and his mistake for Tyrone's 2nd goal was unforgivable at this level. Where was the marking for the 1st goal? Midfield were AWOL. Gerard Okane wants to eat the ball, over carried and turned over on 3 occasions in 1st half alone. Scored a good point in 2nd half but in my opinion, a very over rated player who believes his own hype. At best a corner back who should be given a man marking job and be told to stick to it. Emmet mcguckin was excellent, superb handling and a great target man at 14. Lynn also was effective though not sure what happened in 2nd half when he seemed to play a more withdrawn role. We didn't win any breaking ball for 40 mins, kielt needs to give us much more at 11 from general play.  Overall very encouraging start, if we beat Westmeath and Kildare, we'll survive.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 02, 2014, 04:20:17 PM
On reflection, I've changed my opinion, Tyrone were lucky to hold on for a point against Derry who I would install as All Ireland favourites.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 02, 2014, 05:04:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 10:19:26 AM
Joe Mc Quillan would not have sent the Tyrone man off if it had not been for the linesman who brought it to the ref's attention.

It seems clear to me that the body checking foul is the really obvious, easier to see black card offence. The others, the trip, pull done, shouting at the ref and opponents will rarely be called.

It may have been the stream I had - but I think there was a tackle shortly after halftime in the same part of the field pretty much identical to the Tyrone black card in the first half that was missed by the referee and linesman.

Anyone remember the incident?
Post by: currychip on February 02, 2014, 08:46:23 PM
 You're right.  That one free cost Tyrone the game.  Bloody ref. 
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 02, 2014, 05:04:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 10:19:26 AM

It may have been the stream I had - but I think there was a tackle shortly after halftime in the same part of the field pretty much identical to the Tyrone black card in the first half that was missed by the referee and linesman.

Anyone remember the incident?
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2014, 12:32:37 AM
How many steps did Beefy take for that equalising score at the end? Whinge whinge
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2014, 08:45:31 AM
Very good game given the conditions and time of year. We played well at times but also went out of the game for 2 longs spells which is something that needs to be worked on. Was disappointed in the half forward line. If we're going to win anything this year we need to get better at winning break ball which is very important for the half forward line. I think Donnelly might have to come back out here next week. Colm Cavanagh definitely helped midfield when he came on. Seemed to run out of steam a little as a result of it being his first game and this may have been a factor in the poor last 15 minutes round the middle.

The forwards did play some nice football at times and McCurry is showing well. Another good game from Morgan. I think Harte needs to look at his defence. If we're going to go man to man then Peter Harte needs to move to the wing as he's too attacking for centre half. Someone like Joe McMahon might be better suited to holding this area. Clarke at full back struggles to get out in front of his man.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 08:46:59 AM
The main aim for Tyrone is to get the younger players as many games as possible in division one and retain division one status.  A lack of experience cost Tyrone the other night, they will learn collectively and individually from it.  The main aim is to improve as the games come.   

Post by: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 08:48:32 AM

McBride looks a better prospect at this stage than Cassidy to be honest.  Why persist with a man in the squad who makes Darren Anderton look like Robocop?
Post by: sensethetone on February 03, 2014, 09:27:09 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 08:48:32 AM

McBride looks a better prospect at this stage than Cassidy to be honest.  Why persist with a man in the squad who makes Darren Anderton look like Robocop?
saw peter harte mark cassidy in the championship last year- cassidy never got near harte then went of injured before half time.
grugan and c cavanagh are probably the best mid field pairing atm, add in one of the mc mahons and conor gormley to roam around the middle would be helping.
Post by: DennistheMenace on February 03, 2014, 11:59:45 AM
A few points.

1) Excellent game of football, credit to both sets of players serving up the qualirt in dire conditions, shame about our lack of support though.

2) Derry should have won with the opportunities they had.

3) That was by no means a 'reserve' Tyrone side, yes they were missing players and Derry had a stronger team out but Derry will have a serious squad once Ballinderry players come back on board as well as other key players to come back in for the summer.

4) Derry will survive in Division 1, Tyrone could potentially win the league.

Post by: sensethetone on February 03, 2014, 01:19:15 PM
only asking.. which ballinderry players would be considered starters for derry and from the team who played tyrone who would they replace?
Post by: DennistheMenace on February 03, 2014, 01:39:02 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on February 03, 2014, 01:19:15 PM
only asking.. which ballinderry players would be considered starters for derry and from the team who played tyrone who would they replace?

It's all opinion really isn't it? I'd have McKinless, Nevin and Bell starting. Devlin as sub probably, outside of BDerry you'd have PJ McCloskey and Skinner two starters come Championship and possibly McGoldrick and Heavron.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 01:45:55 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on February 03, 2014, 01:39:02 PM

It's all opinion really isn't it? I'd have McKinless, Nevin and Bell starting. Devlin as sub probably, outside of BDerry you'd have PJ McCloskey and Skinner two starters come Championship and possibly McGoldrick and Heavron.

Have Nevin or McKinless ever played for Derry before even?  I don't think Derrys championship team will be that much different from the team at the weekend. 
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 03, 2014, 01:47:57 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 01:45:55 PM

Have Nevin or McKinless ever played for Derry before even?  I don't think Derrys championship team will be that much different from the team at the weekend. 

Nor will Tyrones.
Post by: sheamy on February 03, 2014, 01:49:26 PM
Quote from: God14 on February 02, 2014, 01:53:43 PM
Yeah I've woken up & thought about it and very dissapointed we didn't win that game. Derry huffed & puffed and battled well for a draw.. But at the end of the day we were 7 points up in the second half.

Whilst both sides were missing say 5 men - the caliber of the men we were missing was much more significant than derrys. For example Sean Cav could have fielded the odd kick out when we lost 7 I'm a row. He'd have kicked a few scores as well. We are missing foer allstars and footballers of the year like!
Gormley would have organised the defence better. We could have done with the athleticism of the Mahons too.
Had mickey really wanted to close it out we would have deployed a sweeper fr the final 25 mins
Dissapointed.
A point lost.

No harm to big Sean but he wouldn't win a single ball off PJ McCloskey in the air.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 02:16:10 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on February 03, 2014, 01:47:57 PM

Nor will Tyrones.

Tyrone will more than likely start Ronan O'Neill, McAliskey, Cavanagh, Joe McMahon and Conor Gormley.  Justin McMahon will also start if he ever gets a free run at it injury wise. 
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2014, 02:41:43 PM
Ye Derry lads sure are funny.
Some of ye told us before the game that this is Tyrone reserves and come the summer all the experienced lads will be back. Ye were telling us how ye expect to beat us easy enough as we never win there, which was true.
Ye shot into an early lead and looked very good but then from about 20 mins on ye were playing catch for the rest of the game.

Now you're saying this was Tyrone's first choice team and ye were unlucky not to beat us. We got 2 jammy goals and depended too much on Morgan and McCurry.

Over Christmas if you had been told you will play Tyrone in Celtic park without Sean Cavanagh, S.O'Neill, 2 McMahons, Conor Gormley, Penrose, Mark Donnelly, Aidan Cassidy, Carlin & Cathal McCarron would you not have thought you would win handy enough? I think you would.

On another note, what did ye all think of the advantage rule. I think it's going to take a bit of time for players and fans to get used to it and it will no doubt lead to a lot of frustration where the ball will be called back after a player doesn't get the advantage.
Post by: J OGorman on February 03, 2014, 02:42:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 02:16:10 PM

Nor will Tyrones.

Tyrone will more than likely start Ronan O'Neill, McAliskey, Cavanagh, Joe McMahon and Conor Gormley.  Justin McMahon will also start if he ever gets a free run at it injury wise.

the McMahons and Gormley are done, best to stop thinking they are the final piece of the jigsaw. MH knows what he's at
Post by: shawshank on February 03, 2014, 02:45:29 PM
The one thing that I noticed on sat was the amount of supporters who hadn't a clue what the black card was for, and if this is the form, there will be some refs at club level who will get some verbals from supporters who simply have not taken time to understand what the black card is actually for.
Post by: tyroneman on February 03, 2014, 03:03:43 PM
Quote from: shawshank on February 03, 2014, 02:45:29 PM
The one thing that I noticed on sat was the amount of supporters who hadn't a clue what the black card was for, and if this is the form, there will be some refs at club level who will get some verbals from supporters who simply have not taken time to understand what the black card is actually for.

Unfortunaltey McQuillan, who lectured the club referees about the black card (along with Pat McEnany) doesn't seem to have a clue either based on Saturday nights performance.
Post by: screenexile on February 03, 2014, 03:18:15 PM

I agree... people were talking about Kielts tackle on McKenna being a black card. It wasn't shoulder to shoulder but there was no malice in it and it certainly doesn't fall under the banner of the Black Card!!
Post by: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 03:22:24 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on February 03, 2014, 02:42:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 02:16:10 PM

Nor will Tyrones.

the McMahons and Gormley are done, best to stop thinking they are the final piece of the jigsaw. MH knows what he's at

Joe McMahon is far from done, and Justin has a good few years left in him yet if he gets over his injuries.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2014, 03:23:15 PM
Show what you know JOG with yer biased Derry glasses
He might have slowed up a good bit but Conor Gormley was still our best defender last year.
Yeah his man might beat him the odd time but he's still a class act and if we meet again in the summer ye might appreciate this a bit more.
Joey also is one of our top performers as he can play almost anywhere. He's had his fair share of injuries but he played a good bit last year.
Justy I'm afraid has never been the same since 2008 and maybe he will turn it around but I think you might be right about him. I hope not as he's a class act but should he get fit those three would certainly go straight into any defence in the country but of course you're too biased to see that.

I think it's very hard for refs now trying to see what is deliberate and what isn't.
Did any of ye see Aidan O'Sheas tackle on the Kildare man. Even watching it on slow mo it's hard to say did he mean it or did his man pull him down on top of him as he fell.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 03, 2014, 03:28:52 PM
Totally agree Fuzzman,Gormley was very good last year and him and Joe will be starting come the championship.
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2014, 03:36:09 PM
Conor Gormley is still the best defender in Tyrone. He got club player of the year in 2013. Anyone who was at the league final this year would have seenhow slow he is. He clawed back at least 10 yards over a 30 yard stretch to get a tackle on an Ardboe player. All the young lads are good players but someone please tell me one of them that is better than Gormley yet?
Post by: Club Rossa on February 03, 2014, 03:40:49 PM
People have been saying for the last 5 years that Gormley is done.Plenty left in him yet.
Post by: EC Unique on February 03, 2014, 03:45:02 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 03, 2014, 03:18:15 PM

I agree... people were talking about Kielts tackle on McKenna being a black card. It wasn't shoulder to shoulder but there was no malice in it and it certainly doesn't fall under the banner of the Black Card!!

Malice has nothing to do with black card. To send him off for that tackle he would have to have shown him a red.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 03, 2014, 03:46:01 PM
The Armagh & Derry lads have been praying for our demise for years now lads and will be delighted to see the back of Block and Co.

Was watching the highlights on RTE last night and the commentary from what's his face was terrible as Grugan hit that point over from the left wing with outside of his foot but yer man failed to mention it. Whereas on Setanta on Sat night yer man give it great praise.
I hope Grugan stays fit all year as I have high hopes for him. Am yet again disappointed with Niall McKenna but it's early days.
Post by: J OGorman on February 03, 2014, 03:49:56 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 03, 2014, 03:45:02 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 03, 2014, 03:18:15 PM

Malice has nothing to do with black card. To send him off for that tackle he would have to have shown him a red.

Mcquillan got that call spot on. Wasnt a black card and a red would have been harsh

Done I say!!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 03, 2014, 03:57:05 PM
U hardly going to get Cathal McCarron back soon Fuzzman, i believe hes on the london team now,
Post by: God14 on February 03, 2014, 04:03:18 PM
JOG is right McQuillan got the two decisions right, according to the letter of the law at least

However it can appear very unjust when you see the likes of McBrides evening ruined for a fairly minor innocuous challenge - if you could even call it a challenge, whereas Kielts action was on the face of it considerably more severe (i.e very late & hard hit) yet he can play on for the duration of the game?

I think it will lead to more frustration in the stands this summer. On the flip side we were treated to a clinker of a game considering weather conditions & time of the year & I wonder how much of an impact did the rules changes have.

Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on February 03, 2014, 04:07:44 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2014, 03:36:09 PM
Conor Gormley is still the best defender in Tyrone. He got club player of the year in 2013. Anyone who was at the league final this year would have seenhow slow he is. He clawed back at least 10 yards over a 30 yard stretch to get a tackle on an Ardboe player. All the young lads are good players but someone please tell me one of them that is better than Gormley yet?

Gromley wasn't the club player of the year, he got the team talk player of the year, in which Clonoe's two best players vote was split to allow him in the door. I saw him in the semi and final of the championship, he didn't stand out, but only for his name his performances in those two games was forgettable. But I am agreed that none of the young lads are better than him yet. He has a big role to play for Tyrone, and it should be CHB, if Mickey could for one minute fall out of love with the nephew and put him to the wing where he would flourish.

Post by: theticklemister on February 03, 2014, 04:09:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 03, 2014, 03:57:05 PM
U hardly going to get Cathal McCarron back soon Fuzzman, i believe hes on the london team now,

wing back yesterday.

Good job London don't have many supporters who have to leave their house and travel to away games
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2014, 04:12:20 PM
I disagree. Gormley had a super final and was involved in almost all off Carrickmores scores and had the ball more than anyone else on the field! Granted he had a tough time in the semi but he was marking Sean Cavanagh in great form. No defender in Ireland can handle Cavanagh on his day.
Post by: DennistheMenace on February 03, 2014, 04:13:40 PM
We (Derry) are improving under McIver without doubt and i'm confident we'll have a good year ahead with key men to come back into the squad competition for places will be hot come the summer.

Tyrone will be a major force this year, very impressed with their strength in depth and I expect another semi-final apperance at least. Both teams are in a good place at this time of year. Can't be bothered with this we're missing X player or X amount anymore, very rarely do you have your strongest 15 out anymore, it's a squad game.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 03, 2014, 04:30:19 PM
The Dubs have the squad that puts the rest in the shade, and thats what count come september
Post by: red hander on February 03, 2014, 05:14:51 PM
Niall Morgan's a great asset for us as a shot stopper and dead ball specialist, but the kick-outs will have to be worked on with his midfielders as Derry won everything in the second half coming from his direction and it was bloody frustrating to watch
Post by: Real Talk on February 03, 2014, 05:23:24 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 03, 2014, 05:14:51 PM
Niall Morgan's a great asset for us as a shot stopper and dead ball specialist, but the kick-outs will have to be worked on with his midfielders as Derry won everything in the second half coming from his direction and it was bloody frustrating to watch

It was interesting to note (in general) that Tyrone could won Derry's kick-outs and Derry could won Tyrone's but neither team could won their own
Post by: Estimator on February 03, 2014, 07:59:01 PM
Morgan was kicking into the breeze in the second half. The midfielders and half back line should have been giving him a lot more options. It all seemed very static , it appeared that the Tyrone midfield  wanted to go toe to toe on the high ball against the Derry pairing... They lost that battle.
Post by: red hander on February 03, 2014, 08:45:45 PM
Quote from: Estimator on February 03, 2014, 07:59:01 PM
Morgan was kicking into the breeze in the second half. The midfielders and half back line should have been giving him a lot more options. It all seemed very static , it appeared that the Tyrone midfield  wanted to go toe to toe on the high ball against the Derry pairing... They lost that battle.

Big style ... thing is, they looked comfortable on the occasions they did play the short ball and move it out from the back, dunno why they didn't stick to this, especially against that wind
Post by: Estimator on February 03, 2014, 08:53:05 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 03, 2014, 08:45:45 PM
Quote from: Estimator on February 03, 2014, 07:59:01 PM

Big style ... thing is, they looked comfortable on the occasions they did play the short ball and move it out from the back, dunno why they didn't stick to this, especially against that wind
That would have been the sensible option. Maybe it's part of Harte's new attacking game plan.  I also thought moving a sweeper in for even 10/15mins could have consolidated the 7pt lead.  Tyrone could have easily countered and picked off scores as Derry attempted to get back into the game.
Post by: Man Marker on February 03, 2014, 09:37:54 PM
Have to agree with, the game was lost on the line, all Mickey was to do was play a sweeper, cut down the scoring opportunities and counter attack to play the game and time down.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2014, 09:57:14 PM
People can't complain about Harte being too negative and then also complain about not playing a sweeper cause it cost us a league game. If he's trying new tactics you can't change your ways every time the pressure comes on during the league. I'd be more concerned about our lack of ability to win break ball around the middle which is putting us under pressure.
Post by: EC Unique on February 03, 2014, 10:04:22 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2014, 09:57:14 PM
People can't complain about Harte being too negative and then also complain about not playing a sweeper cause it cost us a league game. If he's trying new tactics you can't change your ways every time the pressure comes on during the league. I'd be more concerned about our lack of ability to win break ball around the middle which is putting us under pressure.

Tyrone crowded the midfield for a period and this helped to curb Derry's dominance in the area. Then when a good lead was built up there was no crowding and Derry won a lot of possession and got back in the game.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2014, 10:40:11 PM
Sometimes I don't understand during games why we don't get more bodies round the middle for the breaking ball at kick outs. We rarely catch ball in midfield so breaks are hugely important for the team.

Overall I think there are a lot of encouraging signs though. 2 fit cavanaghs, joe McMahon and gormley would add lots to the team. Ideally justy and oneill too but hard to be to confident of that. Will be interesting to see if there's still places in the team for mark Donnelly and penrose.
Post by: kickingmule on February 03, 2014, 10:46:39 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2014, 09:57:14 PM
I totally agree, Tyrone tro the years excelled winning dirty ball in this area, Forget sweepers, we need the half backs
working harder, intencenty for the full seventy minutes has always been the hallmark of good tyrone sides, the players
are there to do the job. midfield has always been a problem area for years on end, but we do need to sort out the central defence and not depending on conor gormley to be a saving grace.
All said some smashing young talent in that forward line.
Post by: cadhlancian on February 04, 2014, 04:14:42 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 03, 2014, 04:09:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 03, 2014, 03:57:05 PM

wing back yesterday.

Good job London don't have many supporters who have to leave their house and travel to away games
please elaborate? Hope you are not going where I think you are??
Post by: Fuzzman on February 04, 2014, 11:51:49 AM
Please don't
Post by: cadhlancian on February 04, 2014, 06:16:09 PM
That's my point Fuzz. That was an extremely inappropriate post? Or, am I seeing it differently??