GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on January 20, 2014, 08:24:49 PM

Title: An Lú v Ard Mhacha, NFL Div 2 Round 1, Drogheda, Sunday 2nd February 2014
Post by: BennyCake on January 20, 2014, 08:24:49 PM
Where is the ground exactly? Not been there before.

What's this about cheaper pre-purchased NFL tickets being cheaper than paying at the turnstiles? Will pre-purchasing of tickets be required for Drogheda? I hear its a small enough venue.
Title: Re: An Lú v Ard Mhacha, NFL Div 2 Round 1, Drogheda, Sunday 2nd February 2014
Post by: armaghniac on January 20, 2014, 09:22:51 PM
If you ever drove into Drogheda from the North (on the old main road), you can pretty much see the ground (https://maps.google.ie/maps?q=drogheda&hl=en&ll=53.723555,-6.360172&spn=0.003326,0.008948&sll=53.32432,-6.251695&sspn=0.214905,0.572662&hnear=Drogheda,+County+Louth&t=h&z=17)

It isn't the biggest place. Louth people might turn out on the basis that Armagh are shite, not sure about Armagh people. The ould season ticket is handy if they do impose some sort of ticketing.

Hopefully Armagh will not disgrace themselves like their recent game.

Title: Re: An Lú v Ard Mhacha, NFL Div 2 Round 1, Drogheda, Sunday 2nd February 2014
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 22, 2014, 09:52:49 AM
Tickets ordered through Centra/Supervalue/tickets.ie are €10 up to the day before the game, it'll be €15 at the ground if you walk up on the day. Small ground so could sell out if it's a fine day.

If you plan on sitting in the stand:

a) get there early
b) go to the jacks on the way in, else you'll have a walk back around the pitch at half time
Post by: JP on January 23, 2014, 10:25:39 PM
Setanta must know something the rest of us don't. Showing 4 of the Armagh games live, the same amount as Dublin footballers and more then everyone else.
Post by: mackers on January 24, 2014, 10:17:57 AM
I suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh play.
Post by: armaghniac on January 24, 2014, 11:26:48 AM

QuoteI suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh play.

I suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh don't play!!

Post by: illdecide on January 24, 2014, 11:29:01 AM
Quote from: mackers on January 24, 2014, 10:17:57 AM
I suppose they are guaranteed plenty of scoring when Armagh play.

Yes and they seem to come from the team Armagh are playing
Post by: Agent Orange on January 28, 2014, 05:48:59 PM
If ever there was a game with draw written all over it then this is it.
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 09:24:38 AM

Is there an Armagh Squad list knocking about? or are they all injured?
Post by: Orior on January 30, 2014, 09:58:04 AM
I remember back in the early seventies my Dad saying "and they couldnt even beat Louth".

He may be saying the same thing 40 years later.

Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 10:42:13 AM

i don't know what you are basing this on?

Louth are going into the game missing at least 8 players that featured in last years win
Brennan, White, Lennon, McGuinness Carroll, and Crilly started
while mcEneaney and Byrne came on as subs

while Armagh have gained Mallon, Vernon
and Dyas is back on the panel now too!

i think Paul Grimley has played the poor mouth perfectly!
Post by: mackers on January 30, 2014, 01:59:34 PM
We'll see your 8 injured players and raise you 12! ;)

Vernon may be back but he'll probably be playing full back which is not a position that suits him.  We'll have a very inexperienced back line aside from Charlie and Andy Mallon so Louth can expect to get scores on the board.  I wouldn't expect Dyas to start as he would be miles behind in fitness.  It has been a gruelling pre-season training regime for the rest of the panel.
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 03:05:14 PM
ha i heard it was 20!

who will definitely be out for ye?

McKeever with a broken Wrist? and Donaghy with a knee injury?
Post by: illdecide on January 30, 2014, 03:25:01 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 03:05:14 PM
ha i heard it was 20!

Both teams are clearly depleted for Sunday but there will still be 30 men on the field at throw in and there can be no excuses from either side, the winner will be who has the best squad (if that makes sense). It will def be a tight div 2 this year and you couldn't put your hand on your heart and say who was going to be relegated and who is going to be promoted. If you can get off to a good start it lifts the pressure of you and a chance of making the top 4, 2 defeats from your first 2 games and your staring down the barrel.
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 03:46:31 PM

''but there will still be 30 men on the field at throw in and there can be no excuses from either side''
excellent point

Jamie Clarke will be the best player on the field he could swing it Armagh's way
Post by: mackers on January 30, 2014, 03:49:11 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 03:05:14 PM
ha i heard it was 20!

Ciaran McKeever had a broken wrist, he may be on the bench on Sunday though. Donaghy has a long term knee injury alright. AK out for the foreseeable future with an Achilles tendon problem. James Morgan and Paul McKeown from Cross also out so a lot of our main defenders are injured.  Illdecide is right though, it will give players like Mickey Murray and Paul Hughes a chance to step up to the next level.  They have both performed really well at club level so hopefully they can prove themselves on Sunday.
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 03:57:57 PM

Murray with Cullyhanna?

who will lead the forwards? Brian Mallon?
Post by: mackers on January 30, 2014, 04:38:20 PM
Yes Murray is from Cullyhanna.
The fact that Jamie Clarke has been named captain has thrown some doubt onto Brian Mallon's involvement.
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 04:55:47 PM

Brian Mallon vice captain is he?

Post by: mackers on January 30, 2014, 05:03:02 PM
I didn't hear who the vice captain is.
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 05:04:56 PM

Why do say Mallon is out if Clarke is confirmed captain

as a Louth fan i don't follow
Post by: Throw ball on January 30, 2014, 06:02:42 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 30, 2014, 05:04:56 PM

Why do say Mallon is out if Clarke is confirmed captain

as a Louth fan i don't follow

Mallon was captain in the McKenna Cup. It would have been reasonable to assume that this would continue until McKeever was back.
Post by: rrhf on January 30, 2014, 10:30:31 PM
When did Jamie Clarke get back.  That's a huge boost for Armagh.
Post by: mattockranger on January 31, 2014, 09:43:49 AM

4 injured players start for ye!  ;)

any sign of the bench

Louth team was named also http://louthandproud.blogspot.ie/ (http://louthandproud.blogspot.ie/)
Post by: Orior on January 31, 2014, 11:37:47 AM
Louth can go for goals and win it easy
Post by: Cold tea on January 31, 2014, 11:55:08 AM
Quote from: rrhf on January 30, 2014, 10:30:31 PM
When did Jamie Clarke get back.  That's a huge boost for Armagh.

He may as well be on his travels for all the ball he sees.
Post by: mackers on January 31, 2014, 02:18:03 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 31, 2014, 09:43:49 AM

any sign of the bench

Louth team was named also http://louthandproud.blogspot.ie/ (http://louthandproud.blogspot.ie/)
The only player that I heard that was injured that is listed on the team is Ethan Rafferty.  That is a major boost for me though, he's developing into a very good midfield option which we really need.
AFS is right, there may be all sorts of positional changes although the one thing I can't get my head around is Rory Grugan at WB.  I didn't make any of the O'Fiaich Cup matches but I hear that experiment didn't work well.  He should be centre half forward but Johnny Hanratty ain't a WB and there are no other possible swaps jumping off the page at me.
Post by: mattockranger on January 31, 2014, 02:40:11 PM

2 dromintee men in goals for both sides!!

who is the clubs number 1?
Post by: Throw ball on January 31, 2014, 06:06:29 PM
Quote from: mackers on January 31, 2014, 02:18:03 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 31, 2014, 09:43:49 AM

any sign of the bench

The only player that I heard that was injured that is listed on the team is Ethan Rafferty.  That is a major boost for me though, he's developing into a very good midfield option which we really need.
AFS is right, there may be all sorts of positional changes although the one thing I can't get my head around is Rory Grugan at WB.  I didn't make any of the O'Fiaich Cup matches but I hear that experiment didn't work well.  He should be centre half forward but Johnny Hanratty ain't a WB and there are no other possible swaps jumping off the page at me.

Rory played rightly switching between HB and HF with Forker in the Down game. He did struggle in the final against Derry. Undoubtedly a forward but think injuries are such that the other options for that position I can think of are also forwards - Dyas and Rafferty.
Post by: stew on January 31, 2014, 07:11:42 PM
I am excited to see how we do in the league and I think grimley is going to have a strong squad at his disposal for the championship. Prediction. Louth 1-11 Armagh 1- 11. 

Don't usually post with the phone and don't know how that happened. :-[
Post by: Orior on January 31, 2014, 08:17:02 PM
Quote from: stew on January 31, 2014, 07:11:42 PM
I am excited to see how we do in the league and I think grimley is going to have a strong squad at his disposal for the championship. Prediction. Louth 1-11 Armagh 520-409-12.

Possible Clarification

Louth: 1 goal and 11 points
Armagh: 520 miles chasing shadows, 409 committed fouls, 0 goals, 12 points
Post by: BennyCake on January 31, 2014, 08:37:25 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 31, 2014, 08:17:02 PM
Quote from: stew on January 31, 2014, 07:11:42 PM
I am excited to see how we do in the league and I think grimley is going to have a strong squad at his disposal for the championship. Prediction. Louth 1-11 Armagh 520-409-12.

Possible Clarification

Louth: 1 goal and 11 points
Armagh: 520 miles chasing shadows, 409 committed fouls, 0 goals, 12 points

I think...

- 520: the number in Armagh's backroom team.
- 409: players we have injured
- 12: the number of Louth players that will mark Jamie Clarke
Post by: BennyCake on January 31, 2014, 08:53:01 PM
This is probably the first time this has been asked on GAA Board. But here goes.

Heading to the match on Sunday. Thought I'd kill two birds etc... Where exactly is the church that has the head of St Oliver Plunkett? Learnt about him in school, and never got around to seeing it. Is it near the ground? Handy to get to by car? etc
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 31, 2014, 09:08:51 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 31, 2014, 08:53:01 PM
This is probably the first time this has been asked on GAA Board. But here goes.

Heading to the match on Sunday. Thought I'd kill two birds etc... Where exactly is the church that has the head of St Oliver Plunkett? Learnt about him in school, and never got around to seeing it. Is it near the ground? Handy to get to by car? etc

The shrine is in St Peter's on West Street, which is the main street in the town. Go on past the Gaelic Grounds until you come to the traffic lights at the Trinity Arms, turn left on to West street and the church is a few hundred yards on the left, you can't miss it.

http://www.mypois.ie/mpoi.php?n=shrine-of-st.-oliver-plunkett&i=151161
Post by: BennyCake on January 31, 2014, 09:22:48 PM
That's great. Thanks.
Post by: armaghniac on January 31, 2014, 10:51:57 PM
QuoteIt is further into town from the pitch looking at google maps, but wouldn't take you long to get to.

It makes me feel old that there are people who don't know their way through Drogheda, back in the last century Gaels queued up in the town many's the time.

In any case the shrine to Cross' 13 in a row Armagh victories in Oliver Plunkett Park should be enough for anyone.
Post by: T Fearon on February 01, 2014, 12:06:50 AM
Can only ever recall seeing Armagh play in Drogheda once,and that was in the early 90s against Dublin in a play off (think it was relegation) and we lost in a fairly robust game.

Also recall Armagh playing in Dundalk against Louth in 1977 just a few months after contesting the AI final, and suffering a surprise defeat which caused great rejoicing all over the ground and no doubt across the whole of the wee county
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2014, 12:23:48 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 31, 2014, 10:51:57 PM
QuoteIt is further into town from the pitch looking at google maps, but wouldn't take you long to get to.

It makes me feel old that there are people who don't know their way through Drogheda, back in the last century Gaels queued up in the town many's the time.

In any case the shrine to Cross' 13 in a row Armagh victories in Oliver Plunkett Park should be enough for anyone.

I think the long queues at Drogheda (and Dundalk) on matchdays before the motorway arrived, is partly the reason for not visiting the town more. I know Dundalk reasonably well, but not Drogheda so much. I am a frequent visitor to the wee county, but it tends to be the Omeath/Carlingford areas.
Post by: armaghniac on February 01, 2014, 01:36:24 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 01, 2014, 12:06:50 AM
Also recall Armagh playing in Dundalk against Louth in 1977 just a few months after contesting the AI final, and suffering a surprise defeat which caused great rejoicing all over the ground and no doubt across the whole of the wee county

Louth back in the hunt for honours (4/12/1977)

Louth 1-10  Armagh 1-7

Louth scored one of their best wins in several months when defeating Ulster champions Armagh, 1-10 to 1-7 in a very competitive National Football League match at Dundalk yesterday. The points put Louth back in contention in Division II 'A" North and also deprived Armagh of their undefeated record. The Dundalk game ended on a ' sour note with Dublin referee, Paul Kelly, attacked by some Armagh supporters as .he made his way to the dressing room. Louth officials, who had come to his rescue were also abused. The Ulster champions, who held only a one point advantage (0-5 to 0-4) at half time after having had the use of the wind, were quickly overtaken by on Louth on the restart. but in the 16th minute Armagh fought back to level (1-6 to 0-9) thanks to a fine goal from centre-half Paddy Moriarty. There followed an exchange of points between J. P. O'Kane and Sean Devlin, leaving the position still deadlocked (24 minutes). But a minute later, veteran Louth full forward. Mick McKeown had the clinching score of the match -with a very well executed goal following a Matt McDermott pass. With only a minute remaining. Armagh came very close to getting a draw when a thundering free by full forward  John Corvan, crashed off the crossbar.

LOUTH—G. Farrell, P. McCarthy, L. Toal, B.. Byrne. B. Coyle. T. Lennon, D. Culligan, A. Wiseman, J. P O'Kane (0-2), A. Hoey, (IY-3). M. McDermott. B. Gaughran, P. Lennon (0-1), M. McKeown (1-0), D. Reid (0-4). Subs.—D. Murray (for McCarthy, E. Marmion (for Coyle).

ARMAGH—B. McAlinden, D. Stevenson, P. Loughran. T. Cassidy, K. Rafferty, P. Moriarty. J. Donnelly (1-0), 3. J Kernan (0-1), C. McKinstry, N. Marley. J. Smyth, S. Devlin (0-1), P. Loughran. J. Corvan (0-2), P. Trainor (0-3).

Referee_P. Kelly (Dublin).
Post by: T Fearon on February 01, 2014, 07:09:06 AM
Remember this as if it was yesterday.Huge crowd at the game and I remember Jimmy Smith quoted in the paper that morning saying that "Armagh will show Louth no mercy". Also vividly recall Corvan's free kick at the end,a soccer scenario,with a free kick from thirty yards from which a goal was needed to save the game,and his powerful shot crashed against the bar.

Armagh Co Board was fined later for the abuse supporters meted out to Dublin referee Paul Kelly,who a few years earlier had incurred the wrath of Derry supporters.He definitely didn't like Northern teams.

However I don't recall any Armagh full back by the name of P Loughran? Wonder was it Jim Looughran?
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2014, 11:34:21 PM
Can anyone advise the best place to park for tomorrow's game?
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 02, 2014, 12:56:05 AM
Anywhere on the North Rd, between the Gaelic Grounds and the roundabout. Straight back on to the M1 afterwards, assuming you have already been to see Oliver Plunkett.
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 09:23:56 AM
I hear Louth people are still trying to get the head of Martin Sludden...just to keep Oliver company!
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2014, 02:45:53 PM
The ground in Drogheda is reminiscent of the 1970s and the standard of Armagh play is about 1975.
Post by: lawnseed on February 02, 2014, 03:02:00 PM
Getting a lesson in football by the sounds of it. Armagh played louth in sheelagh at the opening of the pitch in 2002 I think. Armagh played their full team against a makey uppey sheelagh/louth county team. Armagh got slaughtered
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 04:57:29 PM
Great comeback to draw after trailing by 8 points! At the end of the game Aidan O'Rourke was about as popular with Louth supporters as Gerry Adams would be in an Orange lodge!
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2014, 05:05:22 PM
Good comeback, like Wexford last year, but to have been so far behind is not satisfactory. Louth will not be happy as they lost their shape after some good work.
Post by: Orior on February 02, 2014, 05:11:11 PM
I think we need to take the negatives from this game, and work on them.
Post by: BennyCake on February 02, 2014, 05:19:27 PM
Brutal for 40-50 minutes. We hadn't a feckin' clue. Gallant comeback though.

Any word on Aidan Forker's injury?
Post by: armaghniac on February 02, 2014, 05:25:12 PM
I think Armagh should leave the negatives of this game in Drogheda and expand the last 10 minutes to 75 mins.
Post by: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 05:48:54 PM
9 point lead should be enough to hold on.

Armagh v Down this Friday night should be tasty.
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 07:11:57 PM
Louth fans must be gutted, it was as poor an Armagh performance as I've ever witnessed, cleaned out at midfield, and only Shields,Rafferty and Campbell consistently good for the whole game.Never saw Andy MalLon having as bad a game, and I hope Ciaran Mc Keever's performance was due to him carrying a significant injury.

On plus side the whole squad must take confidence from salvaging a draw from what looked like an impossible situation.
Post by: zoyler on February 02, 2014, 07:24:00 PM
Not at the game today but T Fearon's remarks about the 1977 game sparked my own memories of Paul Kelly on that day.  i was in the company of a Cavan man who remarked of his display 'That if Wicklow were the visitors and subjected to a refereeing display like that he would have been seriously harmed and could have no complaint'  He was so one sided it was hard to believe.  He appeared to take particular delight in giving grief to Ulster teams.
Post by: under the bar on February 02, 2014, 07:45:00 PM
Is McGeeney back yet?
Post by: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 07:47:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 07:11:57 PM
Louth fans must be gutted, it was as poor an Armagh performance as I've ever witnessed, cleaned out at midfield, and only Shields,Rafferty and Campbell consistently good for the whole game.Never saw Andy MalLon having as bad a game, and I hope Ciaran Mc Keever's performance was due to him carrying a significant injury.

On plus side the whole squad must take confidence from salvaging a draw from what looked like an impossible situation.

Worst performance you ever witnessed ?

You weren't in Omagh a few weeks ago then ?
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 07:52:49 PM
No, but only count league and c'ship games
Post by: JP on February 02, 2014, 09:19:50 PM
Was very disappointed that naive tactics were on show. Until McKeever came on it was like watching the Cavan match all over again with the corner backs left isolated giving Louth's forwards acres of space. Thought Murray played well despite this.

Overall it was a very poor and disappointing performance. We were very lucky to come away with the draw. I think Lavery needs to be used sparingly according to the opposition. He lacks the required mobility to play against most sides and players run past him way to easily. On the bright side Ethan Rafferty is shaping up to be really good player and Brian Mallon played a big role in our comeback, I'm hoping he will start against Down.
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 09:46:19 PM
Was impressed with Shields,Rafferty, Campbell,Murray.However Tasker,Carragher and Hughes still have a lot to do to prove they're county standard. Also wish Jamie would release the ball more,he simply isn't physically equipped to fend off multi challenges or work his was out of crowded areas in possession.Also wondering if Andy Mallon's year out has done him fatal damage.Worst game ever in an Armagh jersey today,his man was first to the ball on each and every occasion.
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 02, 2014, 09:49:20 PM
Louth were coasting, took their foot off the pedal and allowed Armagh back into the game. A point dropped from a Louth perspective.
Post by: T Fearon on February 02, 2014, 09:53:20 PM
Definitely.Moved behind the goals from the seated stand, just as Armagh scored the goal.Louth supporters far from pleased and a lot of derogatory comments aimed at O'Rourke.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 02, 2014, 11:31:43 PM

Only if you're from Ardee apparently...
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2014, 07:32:15 AM
O Rourke's position is safe, can't see Hughie sacking him.
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2014, 07:36:40 AM
In retrospect Armagh were bound to suffer a hangover from the heavy defeat by Tyrone yesterday.Hopefully the character displayed in the great comeback will be a confidence booster to get that out of the system,and progress.No matter about the performance a point against Louth is an improvement on last year's league defeat against the same opposition.
Post by: mattockranger on February 03, 2014, 10:01:37 AM

The starting Armagh team were dire.....

we showed our hand for 51 minutes and ran out of steam.
regardless of the timing our subs were significantly worse than the players they were replacing

Armagh on the otherhand introduced McKeever Harold ForkerX2 and Mallon made them a completely different side throw in momentum and you get a great comeback and us hanging on for a draw.

Post by: BennyCake on February 03, 2014, 10:49:08 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 03, 2014, 07:32:15 AM
O Rourke's position is safe, can't see Hughie sacking him.

Does he look like a man that would sack anybody? 

(http://webradio.bg/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/huey_morgan.jpg)
Post by: Orior on February 03, 2014, 02:23:28 PM
Grimley admitted that Armagh forwards were too light for the conditions. He realised this at half time, and changed things for the second half.
Post by: Qwerty28 on February 03, 2014, 02:28:41 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 31, 2014, 02:40:11 PM

2 dromintee men in goals for both sides!!

who is the clubs number 1?

Heard this mentioned on RTE radio yesterday....where does the lad who isnt the club keeper usually play and how come hes county keeper?
Wonder has this ever happened before?!
Post by: T Fearon on February 03, 2014, 03:28:00 PM
Wonder will they slag each other at club training, Mc Evoy saying "You let a goal in and I didn't nanananana!"
Post by: mattockranger on February 04, 2014, 11:09:17 AM

McCoy made a great save from campbell's shot? for forker's goal.....